The Orkney Caravan Park (Pickaquoy)

Orkney, Scotland

288 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 288 reviews in the last 12 months

98.6% would recommend this site

98.6% would stay here again

Excellent

217

Very Good

64

Average

6

Poor

1

Terrible

1

"Incredible value with first class facilities"

Nash, Janet - Stayed Self, April 2024

17/04/2024

Lovely stay in Kirkwall. Site is well placed for visits to all attractions on mainland and beyond, wish I'd stayed every night without trying elsewhere. Excellent kitchen, lounge area, loos and......Read more.

Lovely stay in Kirkwall. Site is well placed for visits to all attractions on mainland and beyond, wish I'd stayed every night without trying elsewhere. Excellent kitchen, lounge area, loos and showers - all spotless and warm - and although site is between main road and leisure centre which on paper could be offputting, there was no disturbance. For a small van such as mine this site represents absolutely excellent value, cheaper than any CS or CL from either of the big clubs. No idea what bigger vans would cost though. Kirkwall shops, cathedral, harbour etc all within easy walking distance and easy to get to everything else. Staff were happy to amend my booking when I changed pitches. Will stay here for the whole of my next visit to Orkney - absolutely without doubt.

Just a small thing - ventilation in corridor between showers could be improved please....Read less.

"Brilliant facilities, great location"

Best, Charlotte - Stayed with Family, April 2024

16/04/2024

This is our second stay at Pickaquoy. The site is in a great location with an easy walk into Kirkwall, and a choice of supermarkets very close by. Equally, it is only a short drive to some of the......Read more.

This is our second stay at Pickaquoy. The site is in a great location with an easy walk into Kirkwall, and a choice of supermarkets very close by. Equally, it is only a short drive to some of the best spots on the mainland, or just 5 min to the harbour for a selection of inter-island ferries. The facilities are excellent - clean and modern: the individual bathrooms (ie, sink, loo and shower in one room) are great with plenty of space to get changed, especially with little ones in tow. The dishwash and laundry facilities are equally good quality. In the Orkney weather the lounge area is a welcome addition, with access to plug sockets and also the fridge and microwave in the kitchen area giving the opportunity for a warm dry microwave meal in comfort!...Read less.

"Great first stop on the mainland"

Kelday, Stuart - Stayed Self, April 2024

16/04/2024

Well run ,clean and well positioned site

"First motorhome holiday in Orkney"

Maclean, Craig - Stayed with Family, April 2024

15/04/2024

The Orkney Caravan Park (Pickaquoy) was a very well organized and very clean caravan park. The toilets, showers and communal areas were very warm and comfortable. The Orkney Caravan Park is in a......Read more.

The Orkney Caravan Park (Pickaquoy) was a very well organized and very clean caravan park. The toilets, showers and communal areas were very warm and comfortable. The Orkney Caravan Park is in a very good location within walking distance to the centre of Kirkwall.

My children enjoyed using the swimming pool at The Picky centre next door....Read less.

"Comfortable and easy access to town centre"

Barnard, Alan - Stayed with Family, April 2024

11/04/2024

Comfortable and warm shower block and the site is clean and well maintained. The site is near to Kirkwall town it’s restaurants cafes and shops and also from the ferry port to the isles

"Very well situated"

Cockton, Amanda - Stayed with Family, April 2024

10/04/2024

Well situated. Good, clean facilities. Nice showers.

"Well run small site in a convenient location."

Birchall, Ian - Stayed with Partner, April 2024

10/04/2024

The site is easy to get to and conveniently located. Facilities were warm, clean and well looked after. Excellent value for money and very convenient for Saturday morning Parkrun!

"Clean, Comfortable and good base for adventures"

McDougall, Paul - Stayed with Family, April 2024

09/04/2024

Good amenities, clean and comfortable . Close to town and local attractions. Good base for adventures.

"GREAT SITE!"

Rogers, Annette - Stayed with Partner, March 2024

09/04/2024

This is a great site on the Orkneys. Well spaced pitches. Clean and tidy site. Shower block modern and clean. Enjoyable stay 😊

"Excellent campsite"

Barker-Rourke, Rebecca - Stayed with Partner, March 2024

07/04/2024

Overall a brilliant stay. The campsite has excellent toilet/shower/wash-up facilities. Also a comfortable info/lounge room which is invaluable for tent campers. The site is on the grounds of the......Read more.

Overall a brilliant stay. The campsite has excellent toilet/shower/wash-up facilities. Also a comfortable info/lounge room which is invaluable for tent campers. The site is on the grounds of the leisure centre with a swimming pool, cinema and great playground. It is only a 10 minutes walk out of Kirkwall centre with supermarkets even closer! Will definitely return on our next visit to Orkney....Read less.

"Convenient location, good facilities, friendly people"

Hadden, Beth - Stayed with Family, March 2024

07/04/2024

We loved our stay on Orkney. The campsite was located very conveniently for the supermarkets and early ferries out of Kirkwall to other islands. It was more urban than we usually stay, but was cold......Read more.

We loved our stay on Orkney. The campsite was located very conveniently for the supermarkets and early ferries out of Kirkwall to other islands. It was more urban than we usually stay, but was cold windy weather so we chose here for the facilities as we could warm up and sit in the lounge area. It didnt feel busy or crowded and was quiet. It was occasionally a bit busy in the kitchen, but was handy having a kettle and microwave and fridges. Also plenty of sink space. The laundry drying room was handy for drying wet things. The kids loved the playpark being right next door....Read less.

"Camping in Kirkwall"

Rogers, Jacqueline - Stayed with Partner, April 2024

06/04/2024

Excellent facilities. Easy walk into town Would recommend

"Lovely site"

Banks, Linda - Stayed with Partner, March 2024

06/04/2024

Lovely clean and well maintained site. Perfect location for Kirkwall (walking distance) and the ferry terminal.

Staff were very helpful, I contacted them prior to booking to check if we could arrive......Read more.

Lovely clean and well maintained site. Perfect location for Kirkwall (walking distance) and the ferry terminal.

Staff were very helpful, I contacted them prior to booking to check if we could arrive late from the Aberdeen ferry, prompt positive respinse.

Woukd certainly recommend...Read less.

"Amazing facilities, good value and great location"

Lauder, Matthew - Stayed with Partner, March 2024

06/04/2024

Fantastic site. Highly recommend.

"Handy and well equipped campsite"

Lyons, Monica - Stayed with Partner, March 2024

05/04/2024

Excellent

"Well maintained campsite"

Huckerby, Lynne - Stayed with Friends, March 2024

05/04/2024

We had a two night stay over the Easter weekend. Facilities were clean and well maintained. It felt like luxury having your own cubicle to get washed and dressed in esp after several nights wild......Read more.

We had a two night stay over the Easter weekend. Facilities were clean and well maintained. It felt like luxury having your own cubicle to get washed and dressed in esp after several nights wild camping. We had a poor experience of the local restaurant Helgi’s and have provided trip advisor feedback. Would definitely recommend this site and reuse as a base for exploring Orkney...Read less.

"Very clean, good facilities and close to town"

Duffy, Christy - Stayed with Partner, March 2024

03/04/2024

Lovely site, very clean, plenty of space between electric hook up pitches. Good kitchen facilities, great laundry, and got clean showers. Only downside was the showers turn off very quickly, however,......Read more.

Lovely site, very clean, plenty of space between electric hook up pitches. Good kitchen facilities, great laundry, and got clean showers. Only downside was the showers turn off very quickly, however, I get the saving water and money. Overall excellent....Read less.

"Very good campsite with very nice facillities"

De Hoog, Romy - Stayed Self, March 2024

03/04/2024

stayed for 3 days with my tent. The facilities were great! I think this was the best campsite I’ve stayed during my 3 week trip in Scotland.

Definitely recommend!

"Unresponsive and inaccessible"

Giles, Timothy - Stayed Self, March 2024

28/03/2024

I couldn't actually make it to Orkney as the ferry stopped operating. No reponse to any email about moving the booking. No contact number. Hence, unresponsive and unaccessible. It could be a lovely......Read more.

I couldn't actually make it to Orkney as the ferry stopped operating. No reponse to any email about moving the booking. No contact number. Hence, unresponsive and unaccessible. It could be a lovely campsite when you get there but when there is a risk of the need for late rearrangement because of late cancellation of ferries they should have a process to respond. It is the only firm we booked with on Orkney that didn't respond and the only one that didn't offer a refund. Therefore, late booking appears to be encouraged....Read less.

"Excellent"

Kestrel, Sandra - Stayed with Family, March 2024

24/03/2024

Great campsite. Level piches. Lovely utility lodge. Everything you need is a short walk away.

"Lovely little park in a great location"

Meakin, Kevin - Stayed Self, March 2024

22/03/2024

Perfect location for exploring the Orkneys. The camping pods are very comfortable, although they could benefit from more gentle lighting at night. The lights are big and bright and don’t create a......Read more.

Perfect location for exploring the Orkneys. The camping pods are very comfortable, although they could benefit from more gentle lighting at night. The lights are big and bright and don’t create a relaxing atmosphere.

The wash block is superb. Heated floors and cubicles that are all geared for wheelchair access so are very generously proportioned....Read less.

"Excellent facilities and great use of swimming pool/sauna"

Huyton, Leslie - Stayed with Family, March 2024

21/03/2024

The pitches are flat and well laid out. The showers are warm with hot water. It’s the first time I’ve experienced shared facilities, so no male/female. Good laundry and a tv room. The weather was a......Read more.

The pitches are flat and well laid out. The showers are warm with hot water. It’s the first time I’ve experienced shared facilities, so no male/female. Good laundry and a tv room. The weather was a bit wet and windy, but it was March. Made use of the swimming pools/sauna and jacuzzi. There’s also a cinema. Our pitch was quieter than the other side as away from the road. I would recommend it....Read less.

"Ideal location"

Leimgruber, Daniel - Stayed with Partner, March 2024

20/03/2024

Friendly staff, clean and convenient facilities, next to various grocery stores, dog walks nearby, walking distance to Kirkwall and ideal location for visiting other sights on Mainland Orkney.

"Great time"

Morrison, Graeme - Stayed with Partner, March 2024

11/03/2024

Quiet, warm, clean and great location.

Good access to the island.

"Picky"

Morris, Conway - Stayed with Partner, October 2023

05/11/2023

A very nice site, one of the best shower/kitchen block’s I’ve been to, mostly level and close to the amenities

"Very nice"

Potgieter, Paul - Stayed Self, October 2023

01/11/2023

Everyone complains about the weather, but nobody does anything about it. - Mark Twain

"Great campsite"

Cain, Deborah - Stayed Self, October 2023

01/11/2023

Good facilities. Clean tidy campsite.

No cooking facilities inside but have sinks, kettle, microwave, toaster and fridges.

Warden not always on site. A couple of visitors were waiting for the warden,......Read more.

Good facilities. Clean tidy campsite.

No cooking facilities inside but have sinks, kettle, microwave, toaster and fridges.

Warden not always on site. A couple of visitors were waiting for the warden, not realising that there wasn't one on site. Particularly difficult if English not first language...Read less.

"Our 5th visit to this lovely site, close to the town"

Devlin, Charles - Stayed with Family, October 2023

31/10/2023

Everything perfect, would love it if you would stay open longer or even all year

"Wir kommen wieder"

Geber Hafke, Kimberly - Stayed with Family, October 2023

30/10/2023

Toller Platz um Kirkwall und die Insel zu erkunden

"Great location"

Smith, Jeffrey - Stayed with Partner, October 2023

27/10/2023

We were delayed due to a cancelled ferry. We found this site and absolutely loved its location. Very clean and tidy facilities and the booking process was so easy. Highly recommend this site to......Read more.

We were delayed due to a cancelled ferry. We found this site and absolutely loved its location. Very clean and tidy facilities and the booking process was so easy. Highly recommend this site to everyone travelling the Orkney isles....Read less.

"First timers"

Fulton, Andrew - Stayed with Partner, October 2023

23/10/2023

Well located. Centre was clean and tidy. Just wish there were separate men and women facilities - or at least a few independent women only ones for my wife.

"Perfect site."

Taylor, Ann - Stayed with Partner, October 2023

22/10/2023

Even though we stayed during a very stormy weekend the sie was well drained and sheltered from the worst of the weather. Showers & toilets were clean & warm.

Site is a short walk to the main area of......Read more.

Even though we stayed during a very stormy weekend the sie was well drained and sheltered from the worst of the weather. Showers & toilets were clean & warm.

Site is a short walk to the main area of Kirkwall but also easy to access the main routes for touring round the islands . Will definitely be back hopefully in better weather....Read less.

"Good central location for visiting mainland Orkney"

Smith, Gary - Stayed with Partner, October 2023

21/10/2023

We stayed here for two weeks as we wanted a good location to access the mainland and also ferry crossings to the other islands … and we weren’t disappointed. Great clean facilities with plenty of......Read more.

We stayed here for two weeks as we wanted a good location to access the mainland and also ferry crossings to the other islands … and we weren’t disappointed. Great clean facilities with plenty of shower/toilet facilities. There is also a laundry area and kitchen. For anyone camping there is a lounge area useful for wet evenings. Plenty of information and leaflets were left for information purposes. As an owner of a lively spaniel it was very handy to have good walks immediately off-site and a good beach to walk to. Kirkwall is a good spot for grocery shopping with 3 main supermarkets in walking distance and the town centre has some lovely shops and a spectacular cathedral. A huge plus for us was the Pickaquoy Centre .. 2 mins walk away. Fantastic Centre and a lovely place for a daily morning swim. We loved Orkney and hope to come back soon....Read less.

"A well thought out site, perfect."

Howland, Andy - Stayed with Partner, October 2023

17/10/2023

We were after a good clean quiet site. That is exactly what we got. Great showers and booking in and out we're so simple. The motorhome facilities on exit were great, well thought out, simplicity......Read more.

We were after a good clean quiet site. That is exactly what we got. Great showers and booking in and out we're so simple. The motorhome facilities on exit were great, well thought out, simplicity itself, an example to be copied by others. Thankyou....Read less.

"excellent caravan park,"

Bosman, Eddie - Stayed with Partner, October 2023

11/10/2023

Friendly staff, clean and luxury bathrooms. near city centrum and supermarkets.

"Great site"

Dixon, Steven - Stayed with Partner, October 2023

11/10/2023

Facilities clean and very good. 5 min walk to town centre.

"A good location"

Hotston, Jan - Stayed with Partner, October 2023

09/10/2023

Late in the season, so quiet, hard standing pitch. Facilities excellent and clean, included kitchen area with fridges for tent campers and sitting area. Water and waste etc on exit so able to stop on......Read more.

Late in the season, so quiet, hard standing pitch. Facilities excellent and clean, included kitchen area with fridges for tent campers and sitting area. Water and waste etc on exit so able to stop on way out (or in) and get all jobs done. Only slight negative was the warden on arrival, very brusque and too “busy” to do much for us….the site, however, is perfectly centrally located within reach of all Orkney greatest hits and the town of Kirkwall for eating out and shopping we’ll definitely go back to Orkney and will stay at this site....Read less.

"Excellent Facilities"

Chinnery, Susan - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

07/10/2023

I loved the lounge area and great kitchen and laundry rooms

"First Class"

Mason, Pauline - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

07/10/2023

The facilities at Orkney Caravan Park are the best I've come across. The spacious, clean toilets and showers are luxurious compared to many other caravan parks. Location is also ideal. Being able to......Read more.

The facilities at Orkney Caravan Park are the best I've come across. The spacious, clean toilets and showers are luxurious compared to many other caravan parks. Location is also ideal. Being able to park up and just walk to and from pubs and restaurants in Kirkwall is spot on....Read less.

"Well-kept, in town, and convenient"

Manasseh, Arlette - Stayed with Family, September 2023

05/10/2023

Everything was great except for the heavily plastic mattress covers but we quickly solved that problem by buying teddybear fleece fitted sheets from the Tesco supermarket nearby. Ideally, there would......Read more.

Everything was great except for the heavily plastic mattress covers but we quickly solved that problem by buying teddybear fleece fitted sheets from the Tesco supermarket nearby. Ideally, there would be an option on site to hire/rent (or be advised to bring one's own mattress protectors) for a more comfortable sleep. All in all, we all enjoyed staying here!...Read less.

"Orkney Adventure"

Poole, Richard - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

04/10/2023

Facilities block , kitchen,shower/loo and lounge very good. Site quiet even tho. close to road and leisure centre because of good landscaping.

Thoroughly enjoyed Kirkwall especially the upper floors......Read more.

Facilities block , kitchen,shower/loo and lounge very good. Site quiet even tho. close to road and leisure centre because of good landscaping.

Thoroughly enjoyed Kirkwall especially the upper floors tour of the Cathedral. Had a lovely dinner at The Kirkwall Hotel. Used the site as a base to explore the surrounding area. Lots of seabirds and beautiful beaches....Read less.

"Nice site"

Macdonald, Sheila - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

04/10/2023

All kept clean and tidy.

The door combination lock perhaps needs attention.

I overheard someone remark the handle had come off in their hand but they were able to secure it again?

"Excellent facilities, staff and convenient location."

Rimmer, Keith - Stayed with Family, September 2023

30/09/2023

Lovely stay at clean site with excellent facilities very conveniently located in Kirkwall, close to travel links and many of the islands attractions. Dead handy for both Tesco and Lidl so great for......Read more.

Lovely stay at clean site with excellent facilities very conveniently located in Kirkwall, close to travel links and many of the islands attractions. Dead handy for both Tesco and Lidl so great for self catering....Read less.

"Enjoyed our stay."

Robinson, Andrew - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

30/09/2023

Everything is clean and tidy. Hardstand pitch we used was tarmacked and we needed no ramps. Later on in the season, so the grass was a bit longer than it might have been. Not an issue .. Lots of tubs......Read more.

Everything is clean and tidy. Hardstand pitch we used was tarmacked and we needed no ramps. Later on in the season, so the grass was a bit longer than it might have been. Not an issue .. Lots of tubs with flowers in still.

Facilities, excellent. Toilets and showers are great, lovely hot water, good pressure, and very clean. Similarly the washing up/ kitchen area was spotless. I was amused by the notice that sharp knives should not be left unaccompanied though, great mental image, made me smile.

Great location, Kirkwall centre is not too far, and close to Tesco and Lidl if you need them.

Staff very friendly and pleasant....Read less.

"3 night stay"

Ronan, Gerry - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

30/09/2023

Lovely site, very well equipped and clean. Lots of spaceand friendly staff

"Everything you need and nothing you don't"

Holroyd, Rod - Stayed with Family, September 2023

26/09/2023

Efficient friendly reception and great location. Showers and toilets are immaculate including the accessible facilities. Although we didn't use leisure centre this was just next-door with a great......Read more.

Efficient friendly reception and great location. Showers and toilets are immaculate including the accessible facilities. Although we didn't use leisure centre this was just next-door with a great play area for kids and a park across the road was perfect for dog walking. A great site for all....Read less.

"Very good Camping Place"

Franz, Harald - Stayed Self, July 2023

26/09/2023

Best Toilets and shower solution I have Seen in two month of travelling England and Scotland.Very friendly and helpful staff.Very good Place

"Great campsite hand for Kirkwall"

Robertson, Andrew - Stayed Self, September 2023

26/09/2023

This was the 4th time staying here, the facilities are great, well kept and only a short walk to Kirkwall

"Great location"

Farrell, Nanette - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

25/09/2023

Spent a lovely week here. Nice campsite, well laid out. Water near pitches and good motorhome service point. Shower and toilet facilities excellent with individual cubicles.

Easy walk into Kirkwall......Read more.

Spent a lovely week here. Nice campsite, well laid out. Water near pitches and good motorhome service point. Shower and toilet facilities excellent with individual cubicles.

Easy walk into Kirkwall and great location for visiting other places of interest. Would definitely recommend!...Read less.

"Orkney camping."

Nelson, Ronda - Stayed Self, September 2023

25/09/2023

The site is spacious with good facilities. It is not too far away from Stromness and has easy access from Hatston pier.

"Extremely clean and well maintained site"

Lanham, Keith - Stayed Self, September 2023

25/09/2023

Toilet/ shower block was excellent & very clean. Great lounge & kitchen facilities especially if weather turns stormy. A good area for light weight campers such as motorcyclists, cyclists and......Read more.

Toilet/ shower block was excellent & very clean. Great lounge & kitchen facilities especially if weather turns stormy. A good area for light weight campers such as motorcyclists, cyclists and walkers, to chill out and make a hot drink. I would highly recommend the site, especially as there are public leisure facilities adjacent & a short walk into Town....Read less.

"Fantastic ancient history on the island."

Brown, Philip - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

25/09/2023

Good campsite. Hardstandings were a little too narrow to get the car alongside the caravan.

The biggest disappointment was being told thst we could not have a refund when we had to leave early. We......Read more.

Good campsite. Hardstandings were a little too narrow to get the car alongside the caravan.

The biggest disappointment was being told thst we could not have a refund when we had to leave early. We changed plans as things we hoped to do were fully booked so we needed to move on....Read less.

"Excellent site"

Allen, Pauline - Stayed with Family, September 2023

25/09/2023

I wasn’t happy the way some people leave all food waste in the sink, that’s not a site problem that’s lazy people who think others should clean up after them. We didn’t see any staff so can’t comment......Read more.

I wasn’t happy the way some people leave all food waste in the sink, that’s not a site problem that’s lazy people who think others should clean up after them. We didn’t see any staff so can’t comment on that. Location of the site is good quite close to Tesco. The only thing I could say is that possibly in summer months it could be quite noisy as it’s close to the centre. Only stayed 2 nights as we were travelling on. I think the price is a bit high for a nights stay....Read less.

"Great Place to stay"

Hörsch, Karl - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

23/09/2023

Nice clean place not to big, and proper sanitary

"Super time at lovely campsite"

Duncan, Ken - Stayed Self, September 2023

22/09/2023

The general area was very clean and tidy, facilities in the Pod were excellent. i was very pleased to have a microwave and fridge in the pod as it meant I could cook simple but gluten-free meals for......Read more.

The general area was very clean and tidy, facilities in the Pod were excellent. i was very pleased to have a microwave and fridge in the pod as it meant I could cook simple but gluten-free meals for myself at night. The shared ablutions block with common room was excellent and everything was kept clean and tidy. Only minor downside was that the campsite Wifi was a bit shaky, but it was ok for emails etc. The Pickaquoy Sports Centre, of which the campsite is part, had really good wifi and a nice cafe. surrounding areas were fine a nice walk into the centre of Kirkwall. big Tesco and Co-op nearby and on the bus route to Stroness and many of the historical sites.

Thank you Pickaquoy :)...Read less.

"Site review"

Bowsher, Graham - Stayed with Family, September 2023

22/09/2023

Camp site was very easy to find all amenities were spotless and tidy All the staff were very friendly and helpful

Couldn't wish for better site

"Perfect central location."

Pick, Alan - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

22/09/2023

All amenities were well maintained and clean,bathrooms amazing, and staff were very friendly and helpful, we even stopped an extra 2days as it’s central and easy to get to surrounding areas

"Beautiful clean caravan park"

McDougall, Christine - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

21/09/2023

All aspects of this caravan park are to the highest standard. The grounds are well kept and the facilities are exceptionally clean. Staff are very friendly and informative

"Site bien placé et calme. Accueil chaleureux à notre arrivée."

Destercke, Agnes - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

21/09/2023

Nous avons apprécié d'être à proximité de la ville Kirkwall.

"Lovely island"

Shaw, David - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

20/09/2023

Everything was first class except when I booked three weeks in advance and requested a south facing pitch and they said that was no problem they gave me an east facing one.

"Central for Kirkwall town"

Allan, Roddy - Stayed Self, September 2023

20/09/2023

Very friendly staff. Excellent showers. Good information boards. Could do with putting up signs for footpath to Pickaquoy centre. Enjoyable stay.

"Excellent facilities"

Kats, Martin - Stayed with Family, September 2023

19/09/2023

The camping has excellent facilities, a good communal space, good and always clean showers/toilets and kitchen. Reccommended.

"Nice site, good for Kirkwall"

Siddle, Ron - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

19/09/2023

A pleasant site, close to town but quiet mostly. The site is however used as a shortcut by locals. Some noise from them at night.

We had to book a day earlier than we needed because arrival time is......Read more.

A pleasant site, close to town but quiet mostly. The site is however used as a shortcut by locals. Some noise from them at night.

We had to book a day earlier than we needed because arrival time is 1400 but our ferry landed at about 0900.

Showers etc pretty good and a lounge to sit in if the weather gets bad. Our pitch was a bit tight and we have a small caravan.

Close to Tesco, Coop and Lidl....Read less.

"Great Spot"

Calder, Rachel - Stayed Self, September 2023

18/09/2023

A campsite with excellent facilities, a short walk to shops and the cathedral, handy leisure centre with pool and cinema next door.

"Fantastic facilities."

Naish, Mark - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

17/09/2023

Fantastic facilities, friendly helpful staff, and great position in the town.

"Well equipped. Good to be able to hire E Bikes, a definite plus!"

Comerford, Anna - Stayed with Friends, September 2023

16/09/2023

Nice and quiet. good facilities.

"Well serviced site with easy access to Kirkwall"

McArthur, Philip - Stayed Self, September 2023

16/09/2023

A spur of the moment decision to add Orkney to my NC 500 trip. Easy booking from the ferry and all as expected when I arrived. Thanks.

"Well run, campsite easily accessible to town centre"

Gwynne, Owen - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

16/09/2023

Very pleased that the cubicles are self contained so you can properly wash .

"Great site!"

Cosgrove, Mike - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

15/09/2023

Nicely laid out site with greenery and shrubs. Each pitch clearly marked and maintained. I would prefer it to be more secluded in the areas along the roadside where the wall is approximately 4’ and......Read more.

Nicely laid out site with greenery and shrubs. Each pitch clearly marked and maintained. I would prefer it to be more secluded in the areas along the roadside where the wall is approximately 4’ and other campers were entering the site by climbing over the wall from the Tesco end rather than walk through the barriers and passed reception. This is a potential hazard for children if they were to copy others....Read less.

"Excellent site perfect location"

Foote, Samuel - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

15/09/2023

Nice site perfect base to visit the islands from

"Clean"

Gray, Margaret - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

15/09/2023

Lovely clean campsite

Toilets/showers were very clean

Only gripe we were on pitch 17 it was off camber.

"ideal base for orkney"

Maclean, Fiona - Stayed Self, August 2023

13/09/2023

Best campsite facilities I have ever experienced. Helpful staff. The kitchen and lounge were more what I would expect from a good hostel. With the microwave, kettle and fridges and freezer in the......Read more.

Best campsite facilities I have ever experienced. Helpful staff. The kitchen and lounge were more what I would expect from a good hostel. With the microwave, kettle and fridges and freezer in the kitchen, I did not use my gas stove once! Bathrooms also well appointed and clean

It is located next to the leisure centre with cafe and cinema and only a very short walk to a Tesco and Lidl. Not far from a bus stop and only 10 to 15 minutes walk to Kirkwall's main shopping streets and bus station....Read less.

"Great stay"

Beverly, Angela - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

12/09/2023

We had a great stay at Pickaquoy caravan park, we stayed there for 3 nights

It’s a lovely central caravan park, very clean and tidy, loved the fact that the cubicles were shower, toilet and sink in......Read more.

We had a great stay at Pickaquoy caravan park, we stayed there for 3 nights

It’s a lovely central caravan park, very clean and tidy, loved the fact that the cubicles were shower, toilet and sink in one so you weren’t queuing for one then the other

Staff were very helpful and friendly

Ideally situated 10mins walk from the shops and grocery stores are just next door

Would highly recommend and I can’t wait to book my return visit in the future...Read less.

"Top notch site."

Donald, Keith - Stayed with Family, September 2023

12/09/2023

Great site to stay centrally on the mainland, within easy reach of all areas and attractions. Well laid out site with spotlessly clean facilities.

"Green Campsite near by the city and the sport and swimming arena"

Sadkowiak, Dagmar - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

11/09/2023

Late Check in was no problem. Facilities are clean and comfortable. Campsite offers much space

"Well equipped camping site"

Corbett, Gavin - Stayed with Friends, September 2023

11/09/2023

The site is well positioned and equipped with everything you need. I noted the grass could have done with a cut and that we had to register our arrival at the sports centre as there was no warden on......Read more.

The site is well positioned and equipped with everything you need. I noted the grass could have done with a cut and that we had to register our arrival at the sports centre as there was no warden on site which is strange leaving the poor guy behind the desk over stretched with having to look after the site

That is not fair at all to him or others being asked to do that

However overall a very pleasant stay and a good base to explore the islands...Read less.

"Very friendly and helpful staff"

Vormbrock, Heike - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

08/09/2023

Der junge Mann, der die Campsite verwaltet, war ausgesprochen nett und freundlich. Er hat mir alle Fragen geduldig beantwortet und auch mit Kleingeld für die Waschmaschine ausgeholfen. Die Maschinen......Read more.

Der junge Mann, der die Campsite verwaltet, war ausgesprochen nett und freundlich. Er hat mir alle Fragen geduldig beantwortet und auch mit Kleingeld für die Waschmaschine ausgeholfen. Die Maschinen sind übrigens prima.

Die sanitären Anlagen sind großartig, einziges Problem sind einige Nutzer, die nicht pfleglich damit umgehen. Sehr schade.

Der Platz ist klein und übersichtlich, hat ein paar Bäume und eine heimelige Atmosphäre. Der Aufenthaltsraum hat uns am Regentag sehr geholfen.

Ich fand es toll, dass man seinen Pitch vorher selbst aussuchen konnte. Der im Internet hinterlegte Plan war sehr hilfreich. Nebenan ist eine Schwimmbad. Wir waren nicht dort, aber für Familien ist das bestimmt toll.

Vielen Dank für den schönen Aufenthalt....Read less.

"Friendly site in a great location"

Belton, Gavin - Stayed with Friends, September 2023

08/09/2023

My friends and I stayed here in our vans for the Rock Festival. It was a great location with only a 10 minute walk into town.

The welcome was friendly when we arrived and everything made clear.

The......Read more.

My friends and I stayed here in our vans for the Rock Festival. It was a great location with only a 10 minute walk into town.

The welcome was friendly when we arrived and everything made clear.

The toilets and facilities were always clean and the showers were hot.

I'd definitely recommend this site....Read less.

"10 out 10"

Baker, John - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

06/09/2023

All very good

"Glamping Experience"

Jung, Hanna - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

05/09/2023

We arrived quite late but the very friendly staff was able to check us in without problems. We were assigned a tent pitch which was flat and without hills or holes. The grass was keep relatively long......Read more.

We arrived quite late but the very friendly staff was able to check us in without problems. We were assigned a tent pitch which was flat and without hills or holes. The grass was keep relatively long which locked up the moisture and rain of the night but we were there on a sunny day which made the tent dry of quickly, if it weren’t as sunny I assume the long grass and therefore wetness, could have been a problem.

We were able to dine at a provided bench and the bathroom facilities were very clean. The kitchen provided washing up facilities and fridges, apparently this was the only place you could get drinking water. I didn’t see any other place to get that on the campsite it self, but the way wasn’t terrible long. The most positive aspect of our stay was the friendly staff. Carol helped us to find our way around the facilities and the island, she is a ray of sunshine and helped us discover the most beautiful places along the island. She made us feel at home at the campsite....Read less.

"Brilliant stay, fantastic facilities and lovely warden"

Holden, Sandra - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

05/09/2023

Everything was excellent … lots of chairs and tables scattered around for campers and ideal having a room if whether is adverse and for waiting for midnight ferry to Aberdeen … very helpful warden as......Read more.

Everything was excellent … lots of chairs and tables scattered around for campers and ideal having a room if whether is adverse and for waiting for midnight ferry to Aberdeen … very helpful warden as well which made our stay 5 stars...Read less.

"Brief Stopover on way to Rousa"

Colquhoun, David - Stayed Self, August 2023

05/09/2023

Clean and tidy site. Excellent facilities, all well looked after. Friendly staff. Convenient for supermarkets. Easy walk into Kirkwall.

Perfect!

"Spotless"

Armstrong, John - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

05/09/2023

Well maintained and near amenities

"Great location in Kirkwall with good shower facilities."

Yeatman, Freyja - Stayed with Friends, August 2023

04/09/2023

This campground is great if staying in Kirkwall, close to the centre of town and very clean and beautiful park. My one big criticism is the lack of cooking facilities - we were assured when booking......Read more.

This campground is great if staying in Kirkwall, close to the centre of town and very clean and beautiful park. My one big criticism is the lack of cooking facilities - we were assured when booking that there was a cooker and equipment but we're disappointed by the kitchen, which only allows for washing up and microwaving....Read less.

"Location Location"

Smith, Rodney - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

03/09/2023

Perfect base for exploring Orkney. Convenient for supermarkets and buses. Short walk into Kiekwall which has everything you need.

Campsite facilities are good staff friendly and helpful.

Great......Read more.

Perfect base for exploring Orkney. Convenient for supermarkets and buses. Short walk into Kiekwall which has everything you need.

Campsite facilities are good staff friendly and helpful.

Great Location if you are touring....Read less.

"Quick stopover"

Hall, Jane - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

31/08/2023

Great clean facilities

"Great location, highly recommend"

Gibson, Karen - Stayed with Family, August 2023

31/08/2023

Facilities were ample and scrupulously clean at all times. Loved the individual washrooms with shower, sink and toilet in each. Well equipped kitchen with fridges and freezers - great idea to have......Read more.

Facilities were ample and scrupulously clean at all times. Loved the individual washrooms with shower, sink and toilet in each. Well equipped kitchen with fridges and freezers - great idea to have stickers to pop on food that you didn’t want/need so that others could use. Well priced washing machine and drier. Great location for exploring Kirkwall and east Mainland. Within Kirkwall itself we really enjoyed the vintage vehicle rally, St Magnus cathedral, earth grain house (ask for the key at Judith Glue) and a local craft market. Highly recommend the Real Food Cafe at Judith Glue, Lucano’s Italian restaurant and amazing ice cream from the lovely couple at Sinclair’s Ice Cream. Further afield, we had a great walk and picnic at Mull Head where we saw seals and dolphins (don’t forget cash for the honesty box shop), explored the Churchill barriers, visited the Italian chapel and the beach and sea at Sands of Wright....Read less.

"Simply the best"

Buckland, Stuart - Stayed with Family, August 2023

31/08/2023

First class site really helpful staff great location for town and leisure centre

"All Campsites should have a Lounge."

McMartin, Stuart - Stayed Self, August 2023

30/08/2023

I think this is the only campsite I've been to with a lounge. So handy when needing to plan your day or just relax for a while. Especially if the weather is poor.

Lots of fridges for perishables.......Read more.

I think this is the only campsite I've been to with a lounge. So handy when needing to plan your day or just relax for a while. Especially if the weather is poor.

Lots of fridges for perishables.

And always prefer the shower/toilet combo that Pickaquoy offers. Always clean.

A few minutes walk from all amenities and the town centre. Buses stop pretty much outside.

Great value too.

Probably the best campsite I've been to.

Struggling for a criticism... the green zone for tents is next to a house and there a tall fence but I think the campers and house owner would prefer a screen of bushes.

Perfect....Read less.

"Excellent Base"

Best, Colin - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

30/08/2023

We stayed at Picaquoy in mid August 2023. It is well situated to see all Orkneys delights and is well placed as you can walk in to Kirkwall and there are three superstores within 5 mins walk for......Read more.

We stayed at Picaquoy in mid August 2023. It is well situated to see all Orkneys delights and is well placed as you can walk in to Kirkwall and there are three superstores within 5 mins walk for supplies. The central community and amenity block was exceptional with 16 individual wet rooms, a laundry, kitchen and welcoming lounge, all kept immaculately clean and tidy. I will return to this campsite when I return to Orkney....Read less.

"Simple accommodation"

Moon, Adrian - Stayed with Family, August 2023

30/08/2023

The Pickaquoy site is a short walk from the centre of Kirkwall and three different supermarkets. Toilet and shower facilities are good.

We used the St Magnus camping pod for convenience rather than......Read more.

The Pickaquoy site is a short walk from the centre of Kirkwall and three different supermarkets. Toilet and shower facilities are good.

We used the St Magnus camping pod for convenience rather than sleeping in our campervan. As the pod has no cooking facilities, we prepared meals in our campervan.

We wouldn't recommend sleeping on the sofa bed which was extremely uncomfortable. Other facilities in the pod were adequate for our needs but the fridge was exceptionally noisy and one day malfunctioned and froze all of our food and milk (not a setting issue).

Orkney is a great place to visit but sadly has succumbed to the lure of the cruise liner and its daily hordes of passengers. It is possible to escape them of course but if heading for the main attractions it seems that independent travellers are secondary to the bulk bookings of the cruise trippers.

As a location for discovering Orkney the site is ideal - just don't expect a good night's sleep if you have to use that sofa bed....Read less.

"Great location and friendly staff site very clean"

Swansbury, Ian - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

29/08/2023

As above

"Another enjoyable stay at a well equipped site"

Prescott, Colin - Stayed with Family, August 2023

29/08/2023

Used for a base for a working holiday. It has all you need and is well layed out. The facilities block is excellent, clean with powerful showers.

Handy for walking in to town for the shops, pubs and......Read more.

Used for a base for a working holiday. It has all you need and is well layed out. The facilities block is excellent, clean with powerful showers.

Handy for walking in to town for the shops, pubs and chippys etc. Plenty of places to walk the dog nearby too. 3 supermarkets about a 5 minute walk away for all your provisions....Read less.

"Quick Visit!"

Mackie, Amy - Stayed with Family, August 2023

29/08/2023

a short one night stay, a clean & quiet site & would definitely return

"Great facilities"

Ball, Simon - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

29/08/2023

We were in a tent and the the weather was mixed so we appreciated the washing and drying facilities. The shower block is excellent and the shower cubicles are spacious with plenty of room to change.

"Facilities a bit run-down now?"

Carter, Margaret - Stayed Self, August 2023

26/08/2023

Excellent pitch and easy check-in process. First impressions of the kitchen on the first day was that it was very smelly. Didn't use it again, but managed to wash up in my van. Showers/toilets......Read more.

Excellent pitch and easy check-in process. First impressions of the kitchen on the first day was that it was very smelly. Didn't use it again, but managed to wash up in my van. Showers/toilets didn't seem quite as clean as usual. Shower cleaning 'brush' pushes the water around but doesn't do much for grass/hair deposits. Smelly drains? Dirty skirting boards? Hand driers that in the toilet cubicles that didn't work - or at least very intermittent. Sorry to be negative. Have been staying at your site for many years now....Read less.

"Good campsite"

Grimshaw, Helen - Stayed with Family, August 2023

26/08/2023

Good facilities, close to Kirkwall, campers kitchen and lounge useful. Warden has change for the laundrette. Pod was clean and comfortable.

"Orkney+Good Weather=Good Times"

Messer, Peter - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

25/08/2023

Very lucky with the weather, here a week and hardly any rain! Third time with the motorhome at this site, facilities always clean , helpful staff, good value. Really good location with everything......Read more.

Very lucky with the weather, here a week and hardly any rain! Third time with the motorhome at this site, facilities always clean , helpful staff, good value. Really good location with everything within easy walking distance - town centre, harbour, cathedral, shops, take-aways, bus station; supermarkets and petrol station almost on your doorstep, Pickaquoy Leisure Centre and Cinema actually on your doorstep! No kids with us but dog walking just across the road from the camp site on the paths around the Peedie Sea. Orkney has really good roads, very few potholes, with very little traffic considering the number of vehicles that seem to get off the ferries, where to they go? Lots to see, especially if you are into archaeology and history. Next year 2024, will be the last year to see the Ness of Brodgar, after that the site gets filled in again.

Guess where on Orkney we and our dogs (plus a few wild campers) found this deserted beach?...Read less.

"Great site"

Kelly, Kevin - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

25/08/2023

Great location, flat pitches, really good shower/toilet facilities, good kitchen and laundry facilities, really comfortable communal sitting room, pleasant staff, straightforward booking process,......Read more.

Great location, flat pitches, really good shower/toilet facilities, good kitchen and laundry facilities, really comfortable communal sitting room, pleasant staff, straightforward booking process, reasonable price, all in all, hard to beat....Read less.

"Excellent Facilities, uncomplicated check-in. Great location walking distance to town and supermarkets."

Overbury, Michael - Stayed Self, August 2023

25/08/2023

Very pleased that I could park my motorcycle next to my tent.

Another bench seat table in the tent area would be useful.

© 2006 - 2024 CampStead