Herding Hill Touring, Camping & Glamping Site

232 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 232 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

88%

Very Good

11%

Average

1%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"First camping trip"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

19/06/2021

Cannot fault it this place is great. Lovely little campsite. Spotless clean. Every one really friendly and helpful. Well situated.

"Great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

18/06/2021

On the tourist bus route and within walking distance of hadrians wall.

"Fantastic stay at Herding Hill"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

17/06/2021

A lovely site in the beautiful Northumberland countryside. Staff were friendly and helpful. Covid precautions were in place. Facilities were spotless. We caught the AD122 bus from right outside the......Read more.

A lovely site in the beautiful Northumberland countryside. Staff were friendly and helpful. Covid precautions were in place. Facilities were spotless. We caught the AD122 bus from right outside the site entrance to Housteads and walked back along the incredible Hadrian’s Wall (around 3 1/2 hours) and stopped for a drink at the Milecastle Inn, just 10-15 mins walk from site. This is a great site for exploring the area, or just relaxing in beautiful surroundings....Read less.

"Lovely family run campsite, perfect for short weekend breaks!"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2021

17/06/2021

This campsite was lovely, the facilities were brilliant, lovely and clean and the pitches were a great size. Upon arrival there were lots of rules/regulations read out, but in general it was a......Read more.

This campsite was lovely, the facilities were brilliant, lovely and clean and the pitches were a great size. Upon arrival there were lots of rules/regulations read out, but in general it was a pleasant site with good facilities. The petting area/childrens play park was great. My only negative would be the 10.30pm quiet rule. On other camp-sites, this would be keep noise to a minimum/no loud chatter/music off etc but this site seemed to be 10.30pm came and you felt pressure to go to bed as the owners were doing their 'rounds'. This was also the same come check out time - the 'rounds' were done and there was a lot of pressure to get packed up and gone. The shop was a great addition to facilities, and in theory so were the pizza's but although homemade, the bases seemed frozen. Overall I would return as the site was very pretty and the facilities were super....Read less.

"lovely stay Herding Hill Farm"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

15/06/2021

Herding Hill Farm was our first break away in 2 years due to the covid-19 pandemic. The site was lovely, great facilities great location and a perfect place to re-charge the batteries. Highly......Read more.

Herding Hill Farm was our first break away in 2 years due to the covid-19 pandemic. The site was lovely, great facilities great location and a perfect place to re-charge the batteries. Highly recommend this lovely little site....Read less.

"First class facilities at Herding Hill Farm - but don't tell everybody ....."

Mr F Charlton - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

15/06/2021

We only stayed for two nights but everything was first class. The only recommendation we could make relates to Health and Safety. When stepping out of the wig wams, I feel it would be advisable to......Read more.

We only stayed for two nights but everything was first class. The only recommendation we could make relates to Health and Safety. When stepping out of the wig wams, I feel it would be advisable to clearly mark the edge of the steps with fluorescent tape or something similar for people to see the steps clearly....Read less.

"Worth a visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

15/06/2021

We enjoyed our stay and will probably return, well sited for Hadrian’s Wall, and well signposted.

"Short Trip Away"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

15/06/2021

Close to our home a delightful place to stay. Most amazing countryside with extensive walking opportunities. Campsite so relaxing with the cleanest facilities we have used over many years of camping.......Read more.

Close to our home a delightful place to stay. Most amazing countryside with extensive walking opportunities. Campsite so relaxing with the cleanest facilities we have used over many years of camping. Is there anyway of stopping the wind?!...Read less.

"Great Site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

14/06/2021

Stayed for one night in our Campervan. Great site and facilities were immaculate. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We were on a hardstanding pitch which was level and spacious. Site was quiet at......Read more.

Stayed for one night in our Campervan. Great site and facilities were immaculate. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We were on a hardstanding pitch which was level and spacious. Site was quiet at night. The Milecastle Inn is only 1/2 mie walk away and that was a great pub for a pint. Haltwhistle is walkable but the roads are steep. Great site to use as a base for walking, biking in a great part of the country. Will be planning a three night stay later in the year...Read less.

"Good location and clean facilities"

Mrs J Jones - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

12/06/2021

Easy access to Haltwhistle by a bus which stopped at the entrance to the site meant we could travel in and enjoy the walk up Haltwhistle Burn (thanks also to leaflet supplied by the site staff). The......Read more.

Easy access to Haltwhistle by a bus which stopped at the entrance to the site meant we could travel in and enjoy the walk up Haltwhistle Burn (thanks also to leaflet supplied by the site staff). The location was great for visiting the Roman sites on Hadrian's Wall too. The facilities were generally clean and water hot, but children kicking balls around late into the evening (and hitting our campervan) was annoying. We would avoid weekend visits in future for that reason. Drive over waste was easy to use and well positioned. Had a really nice meal at the Milecastle Inn - it is necessary to book....Read less.

"Family Getaway"

Mrs T Higson - Stayed with family, May 2021

11/06/2021

Great campsite at Herding Hill. Beautiful surroundings, peaceful and very clean. We had a brilliant few days. Would definitely go back.

"Week camping with family"

Mr C Harrison - Stayed with family, May 2021

10/06/2021

Stunning setting. Clean, quiet, beautiful site. Our 2 boys loved it too.

Would definitely recommend this place.

Amazing area to go with it and we will come back here.

"Herding Hill Farm"

Mrs R Wakefield - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

10/06/2021

Excellent place to camp. Lovely quiet surroundings and plenty to do.

Very Clean campsite with additional touches.

Will definitely be back

"Herding hill"

Mrs A Brown - Stayed with friends, May 2021

09/06/2021

Stayed in a pod with running water . Loved it for comfort and size and having the bathroom and kitchen sink was ideal.

"Such an enjoyable holiday"

J Harris - Stayed with family, May 2021

09/06/2021

This has to be one of my favourite places. The site is so clean and everyone is so friendly. The wardens can't do enough to help u, they are constantly busy making sure the site is tidy and will help......Read more.

This has to be one of my favourite places. The site is so clean and everyone is so friendly. The wardens can't do enough to help u, they are constantly busy making sure the site is tidy and will help you with anything that you need. Its lovely to see the animals and the location is beautiful. There are lovely walks into Haltwhistle and shops are close by. Hadrians walk is just down the road. I can't praise this site enough, it was just lovely being there. Can't wait to go back!...Read less.

"Beautiful surroundings and extremely helpful staff"

Mr R Waddell - Stayed with friends, May 2021

08/06/2021

The countryside is stunning. There is a lovely pub 15 minutes walk away. We had a problem with a leak in our motorhome and the staff were very helpful in trying to fix it.

"Return visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

07/06/2021

Its a gorgeous site with easy access to Hadrians wall and loads of places to go to, the only thing you need to prep for is the wind at night, as it will make your tent cold, even bringing extra......Read more.

Its a gorgeous site with easy access to Hadrians wall and loads of places to go to, the only thing you need to prep for is the wind at night, as it will make your tent cold, even bringing extra layers and stuff. Some windbreaks on the more exposed pitches might help this....Read less.

"Great for families with young children"

Mrs E Reily - Stayed with family, May 2021

06/06/2021

I would definately recommend this park for families with younger children. It is a lovely quiet site with no loud music and all goes quiet early so you still get a good night's sleep.

"A great mini break"

Mrs C Larter - Stayed with family, May 2021

04/06/2021

Super weekend. We loved every second. Thank you so much

"Lovely site"

Mrs V Fisher - Stayed with family, May 2021

03/06/2021

Lovely quiet safe site, not to big either. Staff very friendly. Toilets/ showers very clean. Nice size pitches too

"Fab Staycation"

H Knight - Stayed with family, May 2021

03/06/2021

Had an amazing break at Herding Hill Farm. The wardens went above and beyond to make the stay the best possible, they were extremely helpful with any of our odd questions!

Have recommended the site......Read more.

Had an amazing break at Herding Hill Farm. The wardens went above and beyond to make the stay the best possible, they were extremely helpful with any of our odd questions!

Have recommended the site to so many friends and hope to be back again soon....Read less.

"Much needed break"

Mrs L Barber - Stayed with partner, May 2021

03/06/2021

We stayed in Sycamore Gap, the running water wigwam with hot tub at the spring Bank Holiday weekend. It was an excellent choice as we were self sufficient. It was heaven getting in to the hot tub......Read more.

We stayed in Sycamore Gap, the running water wigwam with hot tub at the spring Bank Holiday weekend. It was an excellent choice as we were self sufficient. It was heaven getting in to the hot tub after an 11 mile walk, it was very clean and very hot. The wigwam was a nice size for 2 people. It is equipped with a good size fridge, big enough for food and beer! There was also a microwave, toaster, kettle and washing up sink. The toilet had a small wash basin which was sufficient to get washed in. The area was sublime, so quiet and the views were out of this world. The stars at night were mesmorizing, sat around the fire pit. The staff were all so friendly and approachable. The Roman Army museum was quite interesting but you don't spend more than hour in there, even with watching the 3D film. The walk along the Hadrians wall path and the Roman military path was really nice, the views were amazing with information boards giving interesting facts, however be aware that there are some very steep ascents and descents. The only downside was that there is no footpath on the 0.5 mile walk from the site to the Milecastle Inn pub, or the 1 mile to the wall. The Milecastle Inn is a really nice pub with beer garden, we didn't eat there but had a welcome drink after a long walk. Overall we had an excellent very welcomed break but the good weather really made it, it could be a very different story if the weather is not so good....Read less.

"Good base for Hadrians Wall walking."

Mr M Kershaw - Stayed with partner, May 2021

03/06/2021

Great site, friendly welcome and informal (in a good way!) atmosphere.

Nothing I’d particularly change without nit-picking and would return tomorrow!!!

"One of the best"

Ms H Parkin - Stayed with friends, May 2021

02/06/2021

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Herding Hill Farm even tho the weather wasn't great. The staff were always friendly and helpful and the site facilities and views excellent. We gave feedback that a......Read more.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Herding Hill Farm even tho the weather wasn't great. The staff were always friendly and helpful and the site facilities and views excellent. We gave feedback that a spinner for damp costumes might be welcome by those with a hot tub which they said they'd investigate. We think also some more pegs and shelving in the wigwam we had would be a help but apart from that... One of the best sites we've ever stayed at. Thank you...Read less.

"Glamping not my bag, but enjoyable experiance"

Mr G Spengler - Stayed with friends, May 2021

01/06/2021

I haven't been camping for over 30 years and I wasn't enthused at the thought of going but I have to say the accommodation and facilities where excellent and the staff where most helpful it is worth......Read more.

I haven't been camping for over 30 years and I wasn't enthused at the thought of going but I have to say the accommodation and facilities where excellent and the staff where most helpful it is worth a try...Read less.

"Pods with hottub"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2021

31/05/2021

We loved our stay at the park, the hottub was so relaxing, the only thing missing is a TV in the pod, as you has to be out hottub by 10.30 but apart from that was brilliant stay.

"Lovely campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2021

28/05/2021

We had a lovely two night stay in a running water wigwam. The wigwam was very cosy and clean. The site itself is small and very family friendly. The shared facilities were very modern and......Read more.

We had a lovely two night stay in a running water wigwam. The wigwam was very cosy and clean. The site itself is small and very family friendly. The shared facilities were very modern and immaculately clean. We definitely hope to return...Read less.

"A fantastic place to stay!"

Ms J Stuart - Stayed with family, May 2021

28/05/2021

Herding hill farm has everything you could possibly want and need on a short break. We stayed in the big Lodge, which we couldn't fault in any way. It has everything and more there to make your stay......Read more.

Herding hill farm has everything you could possibly want and need on a short break. We stayed in the big Lodge, which we couldn't fault in any way. It has everything and more there to make your stay as relaxing as possible.

We have stayed in the lodge before, and the decor has recently been updated - it is even more beautiful!

The staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make your stay as easy and enjoyable as possible. There was even the unexpected added bonus of homemade pizzas which made our weekend even easier!

Thank you Herding Hill - we will 100% be back to visit again and again....Read less.

"Herding hill"

L Bell - Stayed with family, May 2021

27/05/2021

Our stay was great. Everything was spotlessly clean. All facilities we needed were provided. Great to have the playground and animals onsite.

"Lovely stay"

S Carrott - Stayed with partner, May 2021

24/05/2021

Great place and location

"Fantastic"

Mrs K Schofield - Stayed with friends, May 2021

24/05/2021

Great location for Hadrian’s Wall, stunning countryside, very friendly and helpful staff. The facilities are spotless. 10 minute walk to a pub where you can just have a drink or go for a meal. My......Read more.

Great location for Hadrian’s Wall, stunning countryside, very friendly and helpful staff. The facilities are spotless. 10 minute walk to a pub where you can just have a drink or go for a meal. My husband said it was the best campsite he has ever stayed at!!...Read less.

"Flying visit"

Mr S O'Leary - Stayed with family, May 2021

24/05/2021

Whilst we only stayed 24 hours, Herding Hill Farm was the best of the 6 whistle stop sites we used during our 1st motorhome tour.

Friendly helpful staff, excellent bbq, food packs, great dog walking,......Read more.

Whilst we only stayed 24 hours, Herding Hill Farm was the best of the 6 whistle stop sites we used during our 1st motorhome tour.

Friendly helpful staff, excellent bbq, food packs, great dog walking, superb facilities....Read less.

"Camping near Hadrians Wall"

Anonymous - Stayed May 2021

23/05/2021

Had a lovely couple of nights at Herding Hill Farm. The site is in a great location for Hadrians wall. The staff were really helpful and the site and facilities very clean. The site has everything......Read more.

Had a lovely couple of nights at Herding Hill Farm. The site is in a great location for Hadrians wall. The staff were really helpful and the site and facilities very clean. The site has everything you need and is lovely and quiet....Read less.

"Five stars"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2021

22/05/2021

Excellent facilities in a lovely area. Very dog friendly with good walks from the site.

"Good access to Hadrian's Wall"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2021

21/05/2021

A peaceful rural site. Most facilities were closed due to COVID restrictions during our stay so can't comment on these but did get to use washroom on our final morning and it was very good. Easy to......Read more.

A peaceful rural site. Most facilities were closed due to COVID restrictions during our stay so can't comment on these but did get to use washroom on our final morning and it was very good. Easy to get to Hadrian's Wall sites nearby. A steep walk back from Haltwhistle....Read less.

"Weekend Away"

Mrs H Hamer - Stayed with family, May 2021

20/05/2021

Fantastic site and very family friendly with excellent facilities. Can’t wait to come back.

"Such a beautiful place"

Mr P Tanner - Stayed with partner, May 2021

17/05/2021

We used the site as a base to walk parts of Hadrian's Wall as some of the best parts are nearby. From arrival to leaving, everyone was so friendly and welcoming. The site is kept really well and the......Read more.

We used the site as a base to walk parts of Hadrian's Wall as some of the best parts are nearby. From arrival to leaving, everyone was so friendly and welcoming. The site is kept really well and the petting animals are fabulous. Really liked the dog walking area, especially the views from the top. Due to COVID restrictions, we couldn't use the shower facilities but the block looked really nice and clean. The pub up the road is really handy as is Haltwhistle. Some take away places also deliver to the site. We would not hesitate in returning to this lovely site in a wonderful part of the country....Read less.

"A lovely Stay in May 2021"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2021

16/05/2021

We stayed for 3 nights as pert of a north of England tour in our motorhome. As on every other occasion, the site was clean, well kept, friendly and quiet. There has clearly been more investment in......Read more.

We stayed for 3 nights as pert of a north of England tour in our motorhome. As on every other occasion, the site was clean, well kept, friendly and quiet. There has clearly been more investment in the site too, it's looking good....Read less.

"Great visit to Herding Hill Caravan Park"

Mr G Macfarlane - Stayed with partner, May 2021

14/05/2021

Just Great!

"Amazing, now we can relax"

Mrs A Doswell - Stayed with friends, Apr 2021

08/05/2021

Fantastic long weekend stay.

Wigwams were clean and comfortable enough space for a family of four with a dog.

Our children loved the animals, especially the donkey and piglets and the large field......Read more.

Fantastic long weekend stay.

Wigwams were clean and comfortable enough space for a family of four with a dog.

Our children loved the animals, especially the donkey and piglets and the large field

Staff were extremely helpful and made us feel welcome.

Thank you...Read less.

"Little Gem"

Mr R Duerden - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

08/05/2021

Had a really good stay at this site. We stayed during the pandemic lockdown time so some of the site facilities were unavailable, I have to commend the owners and staff as they were amazing.......Read more.

Had a really good stay at this site. We stayed during the pandemic lockdown time so some of the site facilities were unavailable, I have to commend the owners and staff as they were amazing. Everything was fully explained prior to arrival so we knew what to expect. The welcome was lovely and Covid safe. Advice about the site and local facilities was first class. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks All will definitely return here....Read less.

"Quality family time"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

07/05/2021

Very nice campground in a great location. But what set the experience apart was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They went out of their way to make sure all our needs are catered for......Read more.

Very nice campground in a great location. But what set the experience apart was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They went out of their way to make sure all our needs are catered for and where always open for a friendly chat....Read less.

"Beautiful setting, excellent facilities"

Ms J Littlewood - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

07/05/2021

Stayed in the lovely luxury lodge. Spacious, warm, spotlessly clean and well appointed inside and out.

Site is in a beautiful setting with pub in walking distance and Haltwistle nearby.

Warm......Read more.

Stayed in the lovely luxury lodge. Spacious, warm, spotlessly clean and well appointed inside and out.

Site is in a beautiful setting with pub in walking distance and Haltwistle nearby.

Warm welcome, including bottle of Prosecco, and friendly helpful staff.

...Read less.

"Another great stay"

Mr D Wright - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

04/05/2021

We have stayed in our touring caravan on about 6 occasions now, usually for 4-5 nights. Sometimes with grandchildren, or with friends with their caravans, or just us 2 alone. Every time we have a......Read more.

We have stayed in our touring caravan on about 6 occasions now, usually for 4-5 nights. Sometimes with grandchildren, or with friends with their caravans, or just us 2 alone. Every time we have a successful enjoyable visit, in spite of the weather.

Great on-site facilities/attractions, fabulous attractions nearby and very friendly helpful staff always make it a winning stay....Read less.

"Herding Hill"

Mr K Prendergast - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

03/05/2021

We visited while still in part lock down so can't comment on facilities because they were closed.

The camp site is in a stunning location, very clean, nice people will definitely go back at the......Read more.

We visited while still in part lock down so can't comment on facilities because they were closed.

The camp site is in a stunning location, very clean, nice people will definitely go back at the first opportunity.

Mr P....Read less.

"Herding Hill Touring, camping and glampimg site"

Miss R Finnegan - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

03/05/2021

Overall very satisfied with the campsite. We stayed for one night in a motor home. Some Covid restrictions were still in place, so the shower and toilet facilities were closed, but we were informed......Read more.

Overall very satisfied with the campsite. We stayed for one night in a motor home. Some Covid restrictions were still in place, so the shower and toilet facilities were closed, but we were informed about this when booking. Staff were friendly and helpful when we arrived. The surroundings are beautiful and there are little donkeys, alpacas and chickens on site, so this would be lovely for children. Hadrian’s wall is within walking distance and there is also a bus that takes you there. The Milecastle inn pub is also within walking distance....Read less.

"Perfect place to get away and relax"

Mrs A Dodds - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

30/04/2021

Lovely campsite situated in the countryside, with lovely views all around.

Very clean and well organised site, which was very dog friendly and my 2 little 4 pawed companions loved it. Great idea to......Read more.

Lovely campsite situated in the countryside, with lovely views all around.

Very clean and well organised site, which was very dog friendly and my 2 little 4 pawed companions loved it. Great idea to have a ring to secure the dogs on our pitch, took the stress out of worrying they may abscond!! Also loved the idea of being able to book add extras, like the fire pit and bbq etc, another great idea👍

Great that the local bus stops right outside and encourages people to use the local area, without having to climb that hill👍

First time away since restrictions started to lift and the perfect start for many more thank you...Read less.

"Can’t wait to return"

Miss K Smith - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

29/04/2021

We have stayed here many times and can’t recommend it enough! Staff go over and beyond and couldn’t be anymore helpful. Beautiful site which is so clean and tidy little touches that mean so......Read more.

We have stayed here many times and can’t recommend it enough! Staff go over and beyond and couldn’t be anymore helpful. Beautiful site which is so clean and tidy little touches that mean so much, dog poo bags at the start of the lovely dog walk and washing up liquid provided in wash area little things that show site thinks about guests. See you soon...Read less.

"Weekend stay"

Mr D Young - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

28/04/2021

We had a lovely weekend stay at Herding Hill. Due to COVID facilities were still closed. Site was beautifully kept and the staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely return.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead