Herding Hill Touring, Camping & Glamping Site

209 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 209 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

88%

Very Good

11%

Average

1%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"First visit but won't be the last."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

20/10/2020

Very impressed with the site, the staff ,the facilities and the location . Definitely recommend this first class site.

"1st time Glamping!"

D Jamieson - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

20/10/2020

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Herding Hill.

Facilities that you offer are first class. Kids loved the hot tub & toasting marshmallows on the fire pit.

Lovely quiet area & friendly, welcoming......Read more.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Herding Hill.

Facilities that you offer are first class. Kids loved the hot tub & toasting marshmallows on the fire pit.

Lovely quiet area & friendly, welcoming staff.

Thanks again....Read less.

"Great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

20/10/2020

Fantastic location about a mile soouth of the Wall, and the local bus back (Easter to end Oct.) make one-way walks on Hadrians Wall a delight.

Lovely modern, spotlessly clean toilet and shower......Read more.

Fantastic location about a mile soouth of the Wall, and the local bus back (Easter to end Oct.) make one-way walks on Hadrians Wall a delight.

Lovely modern, spotlessly clean toilet and shower block.

Highly recommended...Read less.

"Perfect little getaway"

Miss E Wright - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

20/10/2020

We couldn't ask for anything more. Even with the covid restrictions, which put limits on the sauna and pizza oven etc, everything was lovely. The staff, the animals, the accommodation... and of......Read more.

We couldn't ask for anything more. Even with the covid restrictions, which put limits on the sauna and pizza oven etc, everything was lovely. The staff, the animals, the accommodation... and of course the hot tub, which I think speaks for itself! It's in a lovely little spot, and with a clear sky you can see so many stars. Its beautiful. We will be returning at some point in the future, I'm sure!...Read less.

"Very well cared-for"

Mrs N Tinker - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

19/10/2020

We love this camp-site. The staff are friendly and thoughtful, the facilities are clean and well-maintained, and they appear to have thought of everything. They've also gone to a lot of trouble to......Read more.

We love this camp-site. The staff are friendly and thoughtful, the facilities are clean and well-maintained, and they appear to have thought of everything. They've also gone to a lot of trouble to make everything COVID-secure. The site is dog-friendly too, with beautiful surroundings - what more could you want than to eat your breakfast while looking at an alpaca silhouetted against the skyline? Honestly, you should try it!

Out of all the sites we've been to, this is probably one of the best....Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Miss N Gordon - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

18/10/2020

Had a lovely time, wigwams are well kept and a good size, nice to have the hot tub too. Great location, close to hadrians wall. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only suggestion would be......Read more.

Had a lovely time, wigwams are well kept and a good size, nice to have the hot tub too. Great location, close to hadrians wall. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only suggestion would be ability to seal off the hot tub area so dogs have an outside area where they can be off the lead....Read less.

"Wonderful stay"

L Wood - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

18/10/2020

We stayed at the site last weekend with some friends. Our pod was very comfortable and we particularly liked the en-suite and kitchen facilities. Everything was very clean inside and the surrounding......Read more.

We stayed at the site last weekend with some friends. Our pod was very comfortable and we particularly liked the en-suite and kitchen facilities. Everything was very clean inside and the surrounding area was lovely. The shower block was very clean and showers were new. I would highly recommend this site for a restful stay in beautiful rural surroundings....Read less.

"Lovely stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

16/10/2020

Enjoyed a lovely stay. Dark skies were amazing. Site was well organised and clean. Great walks around the area.

"Fabulous stay"

Mrs C Morritt - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

Loved the site & close to town centre. SpotlessLy clean shower blocks. Loved the piped music.

Some amenities closed due to covid but the website made us aware before we booked to avoid......Read more.

Loved the site & close to town centre. SpotlessLy clean shower blocks. Loved the piped music.

Some amenities closed due to covid but the website made us aware before we booked to avoid disappointment.

Would of loved the option to pay a little extra to stay on until 4/5pm if our pitch wasn’t being used until next day( we left Sunday so possibly empty until Monday)...Read less.

"Excellent camping pod experience"

Anonymous - Stayed Oct 2020

15/10/2020

This was my first visit to Herding Hill based on friends’ recommendations. It was perfect for a short break on my own, very peaceful and quiet. The small wigwam was a perfect size and I loved having......Read more.

This was my first visit to Herding Hill based on friends’ recommendations. It was perfect for a short break on my own, very peaceful and quiet. The small wigwam was a perfect size and I loved having a fridge and kettle. The facilities were excellent, very clean, and thoughtful arrangements were in place to manage Covid without impacting on the enjoyment of my stay.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and gave me good recommendations for walks from the site. The Hadrian’s Wall path is less than a mile away, offering some glorious walks. Overall, a great experience....Read less.

"Excellent peaceful stay"

Mr P Taylor - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

This park is tucked nicely out of the way, so if you are wanting a well kept peaceful site this is for you. The shower block etc was immaculate, and the staff were friendly. I would stay here again......Read more.

This park is tucked nicely out of the way, so if you are wanting a well kept peaceful site this is for you. The shower block etc was immaculate, and the staff were friendly. I would stay here again without a doubt, just to relax and get away from it all....Read less.

"Great stay"

Mr I Lockwood - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

11/10/2020

A very friendly, clean and well organised park. Although a few things not operating due to COVID-19 this did not spoil our stay. The situation of the park is great, just a short walk to Hadrians......Read more.

A very friendly, clean and well organised park. Although a few things not operating due to COVID-19 this did not spoil our stay. The situation of the park is great, just a short walk to Hadrians Wall. Fantastic break...Read less.

"Lovely"

Mrs A Morton - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

08/10/2020

We had a 3 night stay as part of a touring holiday around the north of England. Herding Hill Farm is in a beautiful spot near to Hadrian's Wall. Quiet and peaceful, in a dark sky zone, with excellent......Read more.

We had a 3 night stay as part of a touring holiday around the north of England. Herding Hill Farm is in a beautiful spot near to Hadrian's Wall. Quiet and peaceful, in a dark sky zone, with excellent service facilities and a lovely amenity block. Underfloor heating in the shower block is a masterstroke, and plentiful hot water a real luxury. The village of Haltwhistle is a 20 minute walk away, though admittedly uphill coming back, and the site's resident animals are good to have around. If you hear loud snoring at night, it's not your neighbour, it's the pig and the donkey will make sure you don't have too long a lie-in! We strongly recommend you pay this charming little site a visit....Read less.

"Who doesn't love an alpaca?"

Mrs J Horsley - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

08/10/2020

We stayed for four nights at Herding Hill Farm for the first time as we wanted to visit Hadrian's Wall. It is only a short walk from the site to a very interesting part of the wall, and the little......Read more.

We stayed for four nights at Herding Hill Farm for the first time as we wanted to visit Hadrian's Wall. It is only a short walk from the site to a very interesting part of the wall, and the little bus that travels along the route of the wall to Hexham stops right outside the gates. The campsite is very spaciously laid out with huge pitches separated by hedges so we were not overlooked at all. It was fairly quiet while we were there at the end of the season and everything was well looked after. The facilities are excellent, the underfloor heating especially welcome on a very frosty morning! It was all Covid-secure with one each of the showers and toilets being put out of use, but there was no wait at all, especially as there are 2 bathrooms with showers over in the ladies. All spotlessly clean and up-to-date and the bliss of a proper shower where you can alter the temperature, height of the shower, and don't have to keep on pressing a button for the endless hot water. An added bonus were the alpacas, donkey, kunekune pig and various other farm animals in pens. Quite a menagerie. But a highlight was the mini-murmuration of starlings every evening where they perched en masse on the power lines over the field before flying round in formation for a while and then diving into the bushes on the site to roost. We had a lovely stay and would love to return some time....Read less.

"Lovely, friendly place to stay"

F McNeill - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

08/10/2020

The location is excellent and the park is very friendly and well organised. The facilities are clean and good quality. We enjoyed staying here.

"Herding Hill Hadrian’s Wall"

Mrs L Dunleavy - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

07/10/2020

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to you site. Washing facilities were impeccable.

Great location for visiting Hadrian’s Wall.

Just a one night stopover for us. Perfect.

Diolch yn fawr. Thank you......Read more.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to you site. Washing facilities were impeccable.

Great location for visiting Hadrian’s Wall.

Just a one night stopover for us. Perfect.

Diolch yn fawr. Thank you very much....Read less.

"Lovely and quiet just not much to do"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

06/10/2020

We stayed in the luxury lodge which was really lovely and clean and had lovely views of the animals , very easy to access. It was a shame that due to Covid certain elements couldn’t be provided such......Read more.

We stayed in the luxury lodge which was really lovely and clean and had lovely views of the animals , very easy to access. It was a shame that due to Covid certain elements couldn’t be provided such as the home made pizzas and bbq hut but I know that can’t be helped. Staff were really friendly. There isn’t much to do in the surrounding areas but if you are looking for a quiet peaceful getaway it’s perfect for that....Read less.

"Quiet"

G McLean - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

06/10/2020

Lovely quiet site

"Fantastic autumnal camping trip!"

C Stead - Stayed Sep 2020

06/10/2020

My stay at Herding Hill was fantastic! The site was extremely well maintained, the staff were friendly and very helpful and the location was perfect for walks and sightseeing along Hadrian's Wall.......Read more.

My stay at Herding Hill was fantastic! The site was extremely well maintained, the staff were friendly and very helpful and the location was perfect for walks and sightseeing along Hadrian's Wall. The amenities block had underfloor heating and baths which were perfect for warming up on a cold autumn evening, especially as I was camping in a tent! I would fully recommend staying here to anyone! (my dog Ted would agree too)...Read less.

"Lovely site and great value for money"

Ms S Penhallurick - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

05/10/2020

We stayed at Herding Hill Farm for three nights. We chose the site due to its price (£20 per night including EHU and free wifi) and location (close to one of the most preserved parts of Hadrian's......Read more.

We stayed at Herding Hill Farm for three nights. We chose the site due to its price (£20 per night including EHU and free wifi) and location (close to one of the most preserved parts of Hadrian's wall). All the facilities were top notch and very clean, and the pitch was spacious. We used the laundry facilities, which cost £6 for washing and drying. The site is about a 1-mile undulating walk into the town of Haltwhistle, which has some lovely pubs selling great quality food. We would definitely stay at the site again if ever in the area and highly recommend....Read less.

"Unbelievable views and super friendly staff"

Miss A Hopkinson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

04/10/2020

This stay was everything and more. When I found this place online I couldn't believe how affordable it was and booked it immediately, we were looking for a relaxing getaway and that's exactly what we......Read more.

This stay was everything and more. When I found this place online I couldn't believe how affordable it was and booked it immediately, we were looking for a relaxing getaway and that's exactly what we got. The wigwams were emacculate. We watched the team's cleaning operation one morning after a few cabins had checked out and were very impressed especially with the current climate and cleanliness being extra important. The views from the site are unreal and if you catch the sunset on a clear night like we did you're in for a spectacular treat! The staff were friendly and helpful, and the site itself was located very near to all of the places we wanted to visit during our stay which was ideal. The site email you trail options before your stay which was also super super helpful to find out what else was nearby etc. The amenities inside the wigwam were more than we expected, the fridge was a perfect size and we definitely got our use out of the toaster and kettle! Although you do have to pack as though you're camping in a tent as you will need sleeping bags, blankets, pillows etc. But there is also a small heater that doesn't take two minutes to warm the whole place up too should you need it. We had the running water hot tub cabin and would definitely re-book this accomodation again. Very good value for money, lovely place, lovely staff, highly recommend....Read less.

"Good place"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

04/10/2020

Bery good place to stay, staff are brilliant so friendly!!! Clean and tidy. Could mayne do with a t.v in pods, other than that cannot wait to return!

"Lovely site"

Ms L Bligh - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

04/10/2020

We visited in 2020. The staff had done everything possible to keep is safe . It waa spotlessly clean,and very well thought out. Even the dog walk was one way and there was hand sanitizer at the......Read more.

We visited in 2020. The staff had done everything possible to keep is safe . It waa spotlessly clean,and very well thought out. Even the dog walk was one way and there was hand sanitizer at the gates as well as all the obvious places. It is an ideal site for the wall. Please be aware this is a quiet site and not one for large noisy groups...Read less.

"Pleasure"

Mrs W Cowley - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

Our first stop on a site but we must say we were so impressed. Fantastic and we would not hesitate to recommend and we shall be back. Enjoyed the purchase of BBQ food and breakfast pack. The......Read more.

Our first stop on a site but we must say we were so impressed. Fantastic and we would not hesitate to recommend and we shall be back. Enjoyed the purchase of BBQ food and breakfast pack. The donkey was a bonus and we took apples for it. Was a trip to remember in this covid time. Very conscious of that and you showed that so were you. Well done we will be back to do more star gazing ... We have a motor home and you had everything we needed and it would also be a delight for campers and those who book your other onsite accommodation. Thank you...Read less.

"Beautiful glamping break"

Miss V Rhodes - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

We stayed in the Steel Rig wigwam which had running water and a hot tub. The site is beautiful, well maintained and the staff were lovely! We had contact with the female site manager and a young male......Read more.

We stayed in the Steel Rig wigwam which had running water and a hot tub. The site is beautiful, well maintained and the staff were lovely! We had contact with the female site manager and a young male warden, he was really helpful, friendly and professional. I love animals and he was so knowledgable about the animals in the petting farm. I enjoyed seeing the animals responding when they seen him nearby.

The wigwam was beautiful, exceptionally clean and the hot tub was perfect! We had our dog with us too and there’s a metal ring to attach the dog lead to which came in handy whilst we sat in the hot tub and he was able to sit outside with us.

The views are an added bonus, watching the sun rise and sun set was beautiful. On a clear day, you can see for miles over the fields which is enjoyable.

We will be returning for another relaxing break to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and enjoy some peace and tranquility (and the petting farm which I loved)...Read less.

"Excellent campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

Due to covid 19 some of the facilities were closed but that didn't stop us having a lovely weekend. My 2 year old grandson loved seeing the animals everyday and even said goodbye to the donkey before......Read more.

Due to covid 19 some of the facilities were closed but that didn't stop us having a lovely weekend. My 2 year old grandson loved seeing the animals everyday and even said goodbye to the donkey before we left. The staff were very friendly and we will definitely be looking to come again...Read less.

"A fantastic holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

We have thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break with our teenager and ten year old daughter. The site has a high standard or cleanliness, the wigwams are suitably spaced out so that you have your......Read more.

We have thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break with our teenager and ten year old daughter. The site has a high standard or cleanliness, the wigwams are suitably spaced out so that you have your privacy and the staff were very friendly and helpful....Read less.

"Lisa"

Miss L Greaves - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

I visit ever year. No matter what time of year, this glamping site is a perfect getaway for family and friends. Very quiet and dog friendly with lots of animals to feed and see.

"Beautiful place, friendly staffs"

Miss P Panahi - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

Beautiful place. Friendly staffs and a clean cabin. What else would you want from your campsite?

Will definitely go back

"Lovely site"

Mrs A Hetherington - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

Really lovely site nice and quiet. Lovely clean facilities will definitely return

"Charming campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

Very good site with well equipped and clean camping pods, excellent facilities and great location in Hadrian’s Wall country.

"Clean, quiet site with good sized pitches."

S Sayers - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

30/09/2020

We spent 3 nights at this campsite. It was clean, quiet and well run. Due to the Covid crisis we are unable to comment on the toilet facilites as we did not enter them.

The staff were fiendly and......Read more.

We spent 3 nights at this campsite. It was clean, quiet and well run. Due to the Covid crisis we are unable to comment on the toilet facilites as we did not enter them.

The staff were fiendly and happy to assist with any of our queries....Read less.

"Best we have visited"

Mrs T Tack - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

30/09/2020

This is the best site that we have been to. Well laid out, plenty of space, pretty level pitches, cleanliness etc. Only thing we had a problem with was filling our water container. The tap was very......Read more.

This is the best site that we have been to. Well laid out, plenty of space, pretty level pitches, cleanliness etc. Only thing we had a problem with was filling our water container. The tap was very high up and water is very heavy! I had to try to hold the container high up whereas if a flexible pipe was attached it would have been very helpful....Read less.

"Quiet and great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

29/09/2020

Very quiet site but really convenient for Hadrians Wall and easily accessible in the motor home. We enjoyed the breakfast pack that could be ordered at the site. The site was very clean and pitches......Read more.

Very quiet site but really convenient for Hadrians Wall and easily accessible in the motor home. We enjoyed the breakfast pack that could be ordered at the site. The site was very clean and pitches are flat and well laid out giving some privacy and most looking out to the surrounding hills....Read less.

"QUALITY, VALUE, PEACE. OUTSTANDING"

Mr B Byron - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

29/09/2020

We are motorhome owners from Sunderland. As Caravan and Motrhome Club members who stayed at most North East sites we think THIS SITE is best value and a real find in a lovely part of Northumberland .......Read more.

We are motorhome owners from Sunderland. As Caravan and Motrhome Club members who stayed at most North East sites we think THIS SITE is best value and a real find in a lovely part of Northumberland . Peace and quiet guaranteed . Generous size pitches and top quality toilet block and even a 24 hour vending machine sweets coffee all available. Open all year we will be back again . its a fairly steep climb uphill from Haltwhistle which is a great little town....Read less.

"Mike"

Mr M Kelly - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

28/09/2020

Very secure with great facilities. Not cheap but definitely value for money.

"."

Mr G Hunter - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

27/09/2020

.

"Excellent campsite"

Ms J Bennett - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

26/09/2020

Fabulous campsite and location. Incredibly clean. Great views.

"Brilliant campsite and lovely staff"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

26/09/2020

Great for camping, very Covid secure, lovely warm showers and toilet blocks. Stunning walks along Hadrians Wall nearby, and an amazing night sky when the sky is clear. Very impressed, thank you!

"Passing through on way to JohnOGroats"

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

26/09/2020

Good stay thank you. Due to Covid restrictions obviously thinks made a little more difficult. Great showers.

"Spotless camp and very friendly & helpful staff"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

Stayed for a week in September 2020. The site is lovely, well kept and a nice size. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful when we asked for advice on walks and places to eat. Excellent......Read more.

Stayed for a week in September 2020. The site is lovely, well kept and a nice size. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful when we asked for advice on walks and places to eat. Excellent toilet and shower facilities. Not everything was open due to Government covid requirements, but everything that was open was spotlessly clean.

Very quiet apart from the usual countryside noises and a very pleasant place to stay....Read less.

"Better than Expected"

Mr G Barratt - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

Very clean well maintained site, loved all the animals. It was nice to be on a quiet site and the noise rule being obeyed.

Wash facilities were spotless and information regarding Coronavirus was......Read more.

Very clean well maintained site, loved all the animals. It was nice to be on a quiet site and the noise rule being obeyed.

Wash facilities were spotless and information regarding Coronavirus was visible everywhere. The BBQ pack was good value and tasted nice.

Gravel pitches were rock hard and bent a few tent pegs but would definitely come here again....Read less.

"Our Excellent Stay"

Mr C Freeman - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Could not fault the site or staff EXCELLENT and bearing in mind the covid situation was by far the best site for

saftey of the ones we stayed on in that fortnight. Keep up the standards they were......Read more.

Could not fault the site or staff EXCELLENT and bearing in mind the covid situation was by far the best site for

saftey of the ones we stayed on in that fortnight. Keep up the standards they were top class. Chris & Annette Freeman....Read less.

"Lovely stay"

Z McLone - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Lovely peaceful weekend away

"Excellent Site"

Ms M Kirwin - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

23/09/2020

Great welcome, spotless facilities, stunning night sky... what more could you want. Fab for exploring nearby roman ruins and the wall. Definitely will return.

"Relaxing Break"

Mr S Brewerton - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

We spent a relaxing 4 nights at herding Hill staying in the 'Wigwam with Running water & Hot Tub'

Could not fault the helpfulness & friendliness of the staff. It is such a quiet area to stay but only......Read more.

We spent a relaxing 4 nights at herding Hill staying in the 'Wigwam with Running water & Hot Tub'

Could not fault the helpfulness & friendliness of the staff. It is such a quiet area to stay but only a 1/2 hr walk to Hadrians Wall. We had most facilities in our 'Wigwam' but also used the amenities block which was very well kept and clean. The additional Breakfast & Meat Packs were excellent and cooked well on the hired Gas BBQ.

The Hot Tub was great & relaxing, especially on a clear starry night.

Would definitely stay again, only downside being the over 6 hours travel time to get there.!!...Read less.

"Brilliant week"

Mr A King - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

I booked the holiday as it appeared to be something different than we normally do. I was apprehensive as to what to expect.

On my arrival I was met by staff at reception who fully explained the......Read more.

I booked the holiday as it appeared to be something different than we normally do. I was apprehensive as to what to expect.

On my arrival I was met by staff at reception who fully explained the layout of the site, where my cabin was etc. I felt really appreciated for my custom and staff were super friendly.

When I got to my cabin. It had the wow factor. It was a lot more than I expected and was clean, in fact gleaming.

I then went around the site and was struck by how neat and clean the site was. Even the toilets and amenities block was immaculate and would no way feel horrible about using them. Actually the opposite was true.

I had a great week. The staff were always on hand for any questions and chatted to you like they were your friends.

I would have no hesitation about going back and would thoroughly recommend this site to anyone including my friends and family. Top marks all round...Read less.

"Excellent"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

Clean safe environment

Making the most of the strange times we live in just now

"An enjoyable stay"

Mr M Parmenter - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

I chose this site because I had heard this area was good for a night sky. It certainly was! Covid restrictions meant we couldn't use some of the facilities but that is just one of those things. The......Read more.

I chose this site because I had heard this area was good for a night sky. It certainly was! Covid restrictions meant we couldn't use some of the facilities but that is just one of those things. The restrictions and precautions were all there for our safety....Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead