Herding Hill Touring, Camping & Glamping Site

262 Reviews

4.9 / 5 overall rating based on 262 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

98% would stay here again

Excellent

93%

Very Good

7%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Consistant"

Mrs A Walker - Stayed with family, Nov 2021

21/11/2021

Always brilliant here

4thccisit and will be back

"Lovely break"

Mrs L Gallagher - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

20/11/2021

We really enjoyed our stay - warm, cosy glamping pod and super hot tub. The kids enjoyed the playpark and animals.

"Dark Night Sky Watch"

Mr R Parker - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

19/11/2021

We have been here several times and enjoyed each time. We came to do some dark night sky watch and was recommended by the site staff to attend the sky watch at the Twice Brewed Inn, this was......Read more.

We have been here several times and enjoyed each time. We came to do some dark night sky watch and was recommended by the site staff to attend the sky watch at the Twice Brewed Inn, this was spectacular and was worh the trip up. The site at Herding Hill is fabulous and the staff are the best, we compare ll sites we visit to this site and look forward to returning in the new year....Read less.

"November break"

Mr M McConville - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

19/11/2021

Very quiet site, but it was November. Friendly and helpful staff godd clean facilities. Stars were great fab stay.

"Perfect location and lovely staff"

Mrs T Williamson - Stayed with friends, Nov 2021

19/11/2021

We loved our time at Herding Hill. We've never been glamping before- usually camp in a tent- so the luxury of hot water and a toilet in the wigwam was great in November. The staff were lovely: kind,......Read more.

We loved our time at Herding Hill. We've never been glamping before- usually camp in a tent- so the luxury of hot water and a toilet in the wigwam was great in November. The staff were lovely: kind, welcoming and helpful. Herding Hill is perfectly located for Hadrian's Wall and exploring Roman forts, and the site is indeed very dark at night, so great for stargazing and sitting out with a fire. Thank you so much!...Read less.

"Immaculate!"

Mrs J Allan - Stayed with family, Nov 2021

18/11/2021

This is the most immaculate, well kept site we have ever been on.

The scenery is beautiful, especially at sun set, and it is really peaceful and quiet despite it being a family friendly site that......Read more.

This is the most immaculate, well kept site we have ever been on.

The scenery is beautiful, especially at sun set, and it is really peaceful and quiet despite it being a family friendly site that also accepts dogs....Read less.

"Fab all round"

Mrs A Appleyard - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

17/11/2021

Fab people, fab place, fab animals, fab all round.

"Excellent Stay at Herding Hill"

Mr L Phillips - Stayed with friends, Nov 2021

11/11/2021

We had a wonderful weekend at Herding Hill, despite the extremely windy and wet weather. We came in 2019 for the Halloween and Bonfire event and liked it so much we returned this year and will be......Read more.

We had a wonderful weekend at Herding Hill, despite the extremely windy and wet weather. We came in 2019 for the Halloween and Bonfire event and liked it so much we returned this year and will be back next year. The staff are so warm and welcoming - it has a real family feel and they really go the extra mile to make sure you have a good stay. Even little touches like for the Childrens prizes, Sue arranged for different types of sweets for the really little ones who couldn’t eat the chewy or lolly sweets. Little things go a long way! Lovely facilities, excellent Halloween and Bonfire event activities for the kids and great firework display! Would definitely recommend anyone to come to Herding Hill! Liam Phillips, Whitley Bay....Read less.

"Awesome site with fabulous facilities and amazing friendly staff"

Miss L Taylor - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

10/11/2021

A perfect site for exploring Hadrian’s Wall and the surrounding area.

They’ve thought of everything from an awesome amenities block with actual baths, a room with seating, books, microwave, fridge......Read more.

A perfect site for exploring Hadrian’s Wall and the surrounding area.

They’ve thought of everything from an awesome amenities block with actual baths, a room with seating, books, microwave, fridge and washing up sink and vending machines for a hot drink or naughty bar of chocolate. Pitches are spacious with even a post to attach your dog to whilst you set up or chill out. Talking of dogs there is also a lovely dog walk to let your dog have a run with great views everywhere you look.

If animals are your thing there are sheep for neighbours as well as the on site alpacas, pigs, donkeys etc.

At night amazing views can be had of the stars. Take a torch if you plan to walk anywhere at night.

The staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful. Willing to answer any questions about the local area. I was impressed that the shop was still open mid week in the low season. That is a real plus. Himself reported some good local brews.

The wigwams look awesome from the outside (didn’t see inside as we were in our caravan) and the new ones like even more exciting. We hope to give them a try out on our next visit!! We will definitely be back.

Also wish to recommend the twice brewed pub which is a short drive away and provided excellent food and service.

...Read less.

"Best campsite we’ve been on"

T Moore - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

08/11/2021

Total luxury, we will be definitely be back soon

The whole site is very well designed, plenty of space for Van great,facilities, piped in music and under floor heating in toilets. And prices are......Read more.

Total luxury, we will be definitely be back soon

The whole site is very well designed, plenty of space for Van great,facilities, piped in music and under floor heating in toilets. And prices are excellent. The Hilton Hotel of campsites...Read less.

"Excellent facilities and stay"

N Elawady - Stayed with friends, Oct 2021

04/11/2021

We stayed at Herding Hill Farm during a weekend walk on Hadrian's Wall. We had booked a tent pitch but arrived to be told we would be given a free upgrade to a wigwam because the tent pitch was too......Read more.

We stayed at Herding Hill Farm during a weekend walk on Hadrian's Wall. We had booked a tent pitch but arrived to be told we would be given a free upgrade to a wigwam because the tent pitch was too boggy. We loved it! I enjoyed the wigwam so much that I would come back again and book that instead of a tent pitch. It was warm on a cold night with a microwave and kettle. The whole site itself is in a gorgeous location and very well kept. The toilets and showers are luxurious. We didn't want to leave. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to family and friends....Read less.

"Another amazing stay, our second time and did not disappoint"

Mrs B Lawrence - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

04/11/2021

Great facilities, very clean and tidy. Exceptionally friendly and the staff went out of their way to make Halloween weekend special with a bonfire, fireworks and a bbq thank you so much! Love the......Read more.

Great facilities, very clean and tidy. Exceptionally friendly and the staff went out of their way to make Halloween weekend special with a bonfire, fireworks and a bbq thank you so much! Love the animals and those and views and dark skies are just the icing on the cake. Love this place definitely somewhere we’ll visit each year...Read less.

"What a fab site"

Miss L Gardner - Stayed with friends, Oct 2021

04/11/2021

Stunning, went for dark skies and I got what I came for. Very peaceful, very clean and tidy. The animals were a added bonus. Lovely short walk to a nice pub. Thank you

"Halloween Weekend"

Mrs A Collier - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

04/11/2021

Had another fantastic weekend at Herding Hill. Pizzas on Friday Night were delicious, activities for the kids on Saturday were brilliant, kept them entertained for most of the day and the bonfire,......Read more.

Had another fantastic weekend at Herding Hill. Pizzas on Friday Night were delicious, activities for the kids on Saturday were brilliant, kept them entertained for most of the day and the bonfire, fireworks and bbq ended a lovely weekend.

Staff at Herding Hill really friendly and worked non stop. Had such a good time think of booking for next year ....Read less.

"Little gem of a campsite"

Mr D Clark - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

02/11/2021

Superb little campsite. Facilities are amazing, very well kept, clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing that let it down for our stay was the Northumberland weather but......Read more.

Superb little campsite. Facilities are amazing, very well kept, clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing that let it down for our stay was the Northumberland weather but hey, you can’t always have everything. Would definately return, the glamping pods and bbq hut look so cosy. Shame we missed out on the Halloween and Bonfire events but we know for next time! Highly recommended....Read less.

"Part of an amazing week away 🙂"

Miss L Miller - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

31/10/2021

Lovely site, staff couldn’t do enough. Facilities were spotless and the showers were amazing! Pods had everything you needed and were very clean.

"Great place"

Ms A Brown - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

31/10/2021

We stayed at Herding hill for one night in our camper van. It’s a lovely small place. Facilities were immaculately clean and provided exactly what we needed. We had a sauna which was a real treat in......Read more.

We stayed at Herding hill for one night in our camper van. It’s a lovely small place. Facilities were immaculately clean and provided exactly what we needed. We had a sauna which was a real treat in a rainy week. A very friendly place....Read less.

"Half term break"

Mrs S Brooks - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

31/10/2021

I stayed with my two children (age 12 and 10) 2 nights in one of the wig wams. We had the best time. The whole site was immaculately clean, everything was exactly as we’d hoped. The staff were all......Read more.

I stayed with my two children (age 12 and 10) 2 nights in one of the wig wams. We had the best time. The whole site was immaculately clean, everything was exactly as we’d hoped. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Seriously we couldn’t have asked for more. We’ll be back next year but the kids have requested 3 nights....Read less.

"Clean and very friendly"

Mr J Smith - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

30/10/2021

Superb location and facilities. All staff are friendly and welcoming with lots of advice. Everyone we met were happy to chat about camping and travels but I'm sure if you prefer privacy that would be......Read more.

Superb location and facilities. All staff are friendly and welcoming with lots of advice. Everyone we met were happy to chat about camping and travels but I'm sure if you prefer privacy that would be respected too. Quiet at night, easy to find, great pub 15 mins walk, Hadrian's Wall and museums on the doorstep, lovely showers and facilities. Anyone thinking about van life: hire from from Phil & Sue - great van, painless process, great location for a try before you buy. Would not hesitate to return or recommend....Read less.

"Very satisfied with Herding Hill Touring, Camping & Glamping Site"

Mr B Hopps - Stayed with friends, Oct 2021

29/10/2021

We were very satisfied with all aspects of the Herding Hill site, accessibility was easy, and from the outset staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities block was particularly noteworthy as it......Read more.

We were very satisfied with all aspects of the Herding Hill site, accessibility was easy, and from the outset staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities block was particularly noteworthy as it was clean and very tidy.

We were on a touring pitch and our party was made up of other people in campervans and some staying in lodges, everyone was happy with their stay....Read less.

"Excellent clamping site"

Dr P Dias - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

28/10/2021

Family trip. Plenty to keep children entertained. Good location. Facilities exceptional. Staff very helpful.

"Fabulous accommodation, great staff"

Ms J Littlewood - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

22/10/2021

A second stay in the luxury lodge at Herding Hill.

Excellent spacious comfortable and very well equipped lodge.

Lovely quiet site in gorgeous setting.

Staff very friendly and helpful but......Read more.

A second stay in the luxury lodge at Herding Hill.

Excellent spacious comfortable and very well equipped lodge.

Lovely quiet site in gorgeous setting.

Staff very friendly and helpful but unobtrusive

All in all fabulous...Read less.

"Weekend stay with family"

Mrs H Wear - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

22/10/2021

Another wonderful visit to Herding Hill.

"Great location and site"

Mrs R Greene - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

21/10/2021

Loved our stay at Herding Hill. Perfectly placed to visit Hadrian's Wall, The camping pod was very well equipped and very comfortable, warm and clean. The hot tub was a great treat. Highly recommend.

"A Gem of a Place"

Ms V Riddell - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

20/10/2021

We arrived late but were still made welcome. Delighted by the cosy and spotless toilet and shower facilities, and the very decent sound track piped in! It was also great to wash up in a spacious......Read more.

We arrived late but were still made welcome. Delighted by the cosy and spotless toilet and shower facilities, and the very decent sound track piped in! It was also great to wash up in a spacious dining area - also heated - before browsing the comprehensive info date n local activities and 2nd hand books. Site is in a pretty location nestled in the hills. Loved the animals live Ng next door including llamas (or alpacas?), And some cute little pigs. There is also an interesting footpath through the nearby hills... And for us just passing through, it was very handy for the m6 but far enough away to feel right in the countryside.... Would have over to explore more..... Maybe next time....Read less.

"Lovely location"

Mrs G Bowey - Stayed with friends, Oct 2021

20/10/2021

Hoped to see dark skies, but unfortunately it was cloudy on our visit. Showers etc were immaculate. Lovely to see the animals in the petting farm, the donkey and pigs were a delight at 4 30 calling......Read more.

Hoped to see dark skies, but unfortunately it was cloudy on our visit. Showers etc were immaculate. Lovely to see the animals in the petting farm, the donkey and pigs were a delight at 4 30 calling for their food. Really lovely place to stay. We stayed in Wigwam with running water. Cosy, warm, spotlessly clean. Would recommend....Read less.

"Nice family stay at Herding Hill Farm"

Mr D Bryer - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

19/10/2021

We stayed in the luxury lodge which was very comfortable and well equipped. The hot tub was great! Nice to see all the animals in the farm, although no feeding available at present. Staff very......Read more.

We stayed in the luxury lodge which was very comfortable and well equipped. The hot tub was great! Nice to see all the animals in the farm, although no feeding available at present. Staff very friendly. The surroundings are beautiful. Overall a lovely place I would thoroughly recommend....Read less.

"Lovely short break"

Ms S Fleck - Stayed with friends, Oct 2021

17/10/2021

Herding Hill was a lovely place to stay. The pitches hard standing pitches are great with Individual water taps. The animals are a charming feature. The shower block, sauna and washing facilities......Read more.

Herding Hill was a lovely place to stay. The pitches hard standing pitches are great with Individual water taps. The animals are a charming feature. The shower block, sauna and washing facilities were immaculate. The views stunning. The Milecastle Inn which was recommended by Herding Hill did delicious food. We enjoyed our walk to Haltwistle, but the town itself was a little shabby and disappointing. It would be a brilliant place to visit various attractions along Hadrian's wall. The only room for improvement I can think of is to provide some firetongs or a poker with the fire pit we hired....Read less.

"Friendly."

J Page - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

17/10/2021

An excellent stay.

"Amazing"

Mrs L Rothwell - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

14/10/2021

Just back from a lovely last minute 2 night stay at Herding Hill Farm. We stayed in a Glamping pod with hot tub and it was great. The pod was very clean and well equipped with kettle, toaster and......Read more.

Just back from a lovely last minute 2 night stay at Herding Hill Farm. We stayed in a Glamping pod with hot tub and it was great. The pod was very clean and well equipped with kettle, toaster and microwave. The hot tub was perfect for us and added that little bit of luxury to our stay. The facilities in the amenities block were exceptionally clean and again everything needed for a stay wether it be camping or in a pod. The walk around the site was lovely good little walk for dogs, our dog Daisy certainly enjoyed it. Staff on site were very welcoming and friendly.... We would highly recommend this site and we will definitely be returning for another stay soon. Thank you for such a lovely weekend. Andrew & Laura Rothwell...Read less.

"Lovey little site"

Miss K Maddison - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

14/10/2021

Stayed for 2 nights in a clamping pod and will definitely be returning the site is a lovely little site very clean and quiet with the warden going around in night to a make sure noise levels are......Read more.

Stayed for 2 nights in a clamping pod and will definitely be returning the site is a lovely little site very clean and quiet with the warden going around in night to a make sure noise levels are turned down, the pod was immaculate the staff were lovely very friendly and very helpful, can’t wait to come back and book a pod with hot tub next time....Read less.

"October break"

Mrs J Smith - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

14/10/2021

Lovely site. Appreciated the super clean showers and bathrooms after long walks. Very warm welcome. Our dog was ecstatic about the exercise area.

"Hadrian’s Wall stop over"

Mrs K Alexander - Stayed Oct 2021

13/10/2021

Fantastic campsite. State of the art!

"Perfect choice"

Mrs R Mannell - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

12/10/2021

Superb site. We were in our caravan and there is only a relatively small section for tents and caravans - just what we like. The facilities are first class and absolutely spotless. Reception for TV......Read more.

Superb site. We were in our caravan and there is only a relatively small section for tents and caravans - just what we like. The facilities are first class and absolutely spotless. Reception for TV and internet was good, staff very friendly and location excellent for Hadrian’sWall area with much to see and do that kept us well occupied for a week. We also enjoyed the number of animals kept by the site, even the occasional brays from the donkey. Nearby Greenhead Hotel provided excellent Sunday lunch. We would highly recommend the site One of the best.

...Read less.

"Short but sweet"

Mr T Cottam - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

09/10/2021

Stayed here for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer!

"Fab"

Y Lenormamd - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

09/10/2021

Fantastic site, helpful staff, lots to do.

"Excellent!"

Mr R Cox - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

08/10/2021

Location (proximity to Hadrian’s wall, Roman forts and museums), first class washroom facilities, friendliness and cleanliness. Couldn’t fault a thing.

"Beautiful spot and lovely staff"

Mrs S Foster - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

07/10/2021

This site is small and quiet, perfect if you want to get away from it all and enjoy the great outdoors. The facilities are fantastic, especially if you have little ones, and everything is always......Read more.

This site is small and quiet, perfect if you want to get away from it all and enjoy the great outdoors. The facilities are fantastic, especially if you have little ones, and everything is always spotlessly clean. What makes this place really stand out though is the people who run it. Super friendly, knowledgable, always there when you need them but not intrusive in any way, and they all seemed to love what they do. One of the most relaxing stays I’ve ever had and the local area is just stunning, so much to explore. Can’t recommend this place highly enough (but I want to keep it as my little secret and don’t want to share it!)....Read less.

"Fabulous facilities and excellent location"

Mr P Bentley - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

07/10/2021

The site staff are friendly and welcoming, offering advice on best walks around the historic area.

The facilities are well maintained and immaculately clean.

The touring pitches are well spaced with......Read more.

The site staff are friendly and welcoming, offering advice on best walks around the historic area.

The facilities are well maintained and immaculately clean.

The touring pitches are well spaced with hedges offering extra privacy.

There is a Hadrian’s Wall bus service ( AD122) right outside the entrance....Read less.

"Very clean and well run"

Mr D Graham - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

05/10/2021

There has clearly been alot of investment and care put into making this a very pleasant and well-serviced campsite.

"Herding hill"

C Wootton - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

05/10/2021

Beautiful location great night skies. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Best facilities I have ever experienced

"Lovely Setting"

Mr G Bird - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

04/10/2021

We had a lovely time at Herding Hill Farm

Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The shower blocks were probably the best we have ever had :-)

Loved the animals and short walk to the local pub.

"Excellent site in a great location"

Mr N Bailey - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

04/10/2021

The site is in a great location for seeing Hadrian’s wall or just enjoying the fantastic countryside around it. The facilities on the site are excellent, the staff very friendly and the site is quiet......Read more.

The site is in a great location for seeing Hadrian’s wall or just enjoying the fantastic countryside around it. The facilities on the site are excellent, the staff very friendly and the site is quiet and secure. With a really nice pub (real ales & good food) just ten minutes walk away what’s not to like!...Read less.

"Fantastic views"

K Edwards - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

04/10/2021

Best campsite we visited on our trip. Stunning scenery, great facilities with the added bonus of an under floor heating system in the toilet block alongside music .

"Exceptional campsite"

Ms S Edgar - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

04/10/2021

This may be the best site in the UK.

It rivals most French campsites in terms of facilities, security and cleanliness.

The smallholding farm animals are the cherry on the cake.

Thank you for a......Read more.

This may be the best site in the UK.

It rivals most French campsites in terms of facilities, security and cleanliness.

The smallholding farm animals are the cherry on the cake.

Thank you for a wonderful stay...Read less.

"Herding Hill Farm"

Mrs K Collman - Stayed Sep 2021

04/10/2021

Lovely site which is well maintained by friendly and helpful staff in gorgeous surroundings and plenty to do

"Quality site"

Mrs P Hawkins - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

03/10/2021

We were very impressed with the facilities at herding hill farm. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a couple of there breakfast packs to cook and really enjoyed them.b

"Breakaway for walking"

Mr J Allan - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

03/10/2021

Outstanding campsite.. What more can I say lovely staff, very spacious pitches, very clean amenities, village within walking distance, hadrians wall even closer will definately be back (5*).

"Everything thought out for a fantastic stay."

Miss R Orpen - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

03/10/2021

Couldn't fault a thing except the weather! The best site we've stayed at in terms of thoughtful touches to make a motorhome stay a great experience. Super everything from size of pitches, superb......Read more.

Couldn't fault a thing except the weather! The best site we've stayed at in terms of thoughtful touches to make a motorhome stay a great experience. Super everything from size of pitches, superb facilities and a donkey to warm your heart strings.

Fuel crisis and inclement weather forced us to leave early but Herding Hill is on top of our 'visit again' list....Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead