Herding Hill Touring, Camping & Glamping Site

265 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 265 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

91%

Very Good

9%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Excellent Stay"

Mr M Anderson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

13/09/2021

A well run, well managed, superbly located, high quality site, with great public transport connections to all there is to see in this beautiful area.

"Another amazing stay that exceeds expectations"

Miss C Stead - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

13/09/2021

After staying last year with just my dog and a small tent I returned this year with my partner in a hot water wigwam - we will be back again!!! It's been another fantastic trip! Our accommodation was......Read more.

After staying last year with just my dog and a small tent I returned this year with my partner in a hot water wigwam - we will be back again!!! It's been another fantastic trip! Our accommodation was spotless, the hot tub was perfect and the skies gave us impressive sunsets and stunning views of the stars. The extra dog walking area on the hill was a fab addition too!

Our only complaint was we didn't spend enough time here, a longer stay is definitely on the cards....Read less.

"Wonderful stay"

Mrs C Jeans - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

13/09/2021

We've been camping at all kinds of places around the world over many years and Herding Hill has to be one of the best we've stayed at. Wonderfully peaceful, lovely site, very clean, thoughtfully......Read more.

We've been camping at all kinds of places around the world over many years and Herding Hill has to be one of the best we've stayed at. Wonderfully peaceful, lovely site, very clean, thoughtfully placed pitches and pigs!! What more could you want?...Read less.

"under a big sky"

Mrs K Booth - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

12/09/2021

Great place to stay to enjoy Hadrian's Wall and the surrounding area. Haltwhistle itself has most of what you need and a great sandwich/ice cream shop. The dog loved paddling in the pools of the......Read more.

Great place to stay to enjoy Hadrian's Wall and the surrounding area. Haltwhistle itself has most of what you need and a great sandwich/ice cream shop. The dog loved paddling in the pools of the Haltwhistle Burn. Adventurous types can do cross country running from the site up to and along parts of Hadrian's Wall. On site the facilities, washroom etc are ace. Loved the local beers/produce in the shop. Site staff were brilliant - knowledgeable about the area and friendly. Always helpful. The animals in the farm/petting area were amusing, especially the llamas and pigs. Thanks Herding Hill. We had a great stay....Read less.

"Tranquil stay"

Mrs K Purvis - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

12/09/2021

Loved this little site, tucked away into the hills but very accessible and close to attractions if required. We stayed one night and were really impressed. We received a very warm welcome from......Read more.

Loved this little site, tucked away into the hills but very accessible and close to attractions if required. We stayed one night and were really impressed. We received a very warm welcome from friendly staff and loved the layout and simplicity of the site, lots of pitch space, private and impeccably clean and roomy toilet/shower amenities, absolutely top class. We loved being able to see the animals on site and the sunset from the hill too benches was amazing as were the dark skies. 10/10. Thank you, highly recommended....Read less.

"Excellent"

Mrs G Macdonald - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

11/09/2021

Loved it here! Excellent site. Beautifully maintained.

"Won’t tell you how good it is in case you come and fill it up!!"

Mrs S Wood - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

11/09/2021

Beautiful setting, excellent facilities, excellent staff. On this site we have been frozen, flooded and nearly blown away. We still come back. (Flooding issues solved with new drains)

"An experience to Remember"

Ms H Woolley - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

11/09/2021

We have nothing but praise for the site, location and access to Hadrian's Wall, Roman Army Museum, Haltwhistle, Bellingham and lovely views. We particularly enjoyed the hot tub and the dark nights......Read more.

We have nothing but praise for the site, location and access to Hadrian's Wall, Roman Army Museum, Haltwhistle, Bellingham and lovely views. We particularly enjoyed the hot tub and the dark nights delightful star gazing kit and experience. Unfortunately we usually holiday in cottages or hotels so for us the accommodation felt very small and at times uncomfortable. I think this says more about us than Herding Hill. More experienced outdoor people would probably have opted for the fire pit, barbecue and food packages. I didn't feel confident with that so we had microwave meals and made sandwiches in our kitchen area. It is curious that although we felt a bit uncomfortable at night we did manage to sleep soundly in the complete dark and quietness and we chatted, read and laughed a lot. I don't think we would ever come back but I am glad of the memories and the laughter and am sure that others would find much to enjoy in this beautiful space....Read less.

"Loved everything about it"

Mrs H Brunn - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

10/09/2021

What a great find

1st visit but we will definitely go back

Loved everything about it

Very friendly staff

Top class facilities

Peaceful

AND loved the animals

"Lovely site"

D Powell - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

Our 3rd visit, and the site is clean and quiet as ever. Really helpful staff and great location for Hadrians Wall and Haltwhistle Town.

"Amazing little place"

Mrs R Atkinson - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

Perfect weekend break for me, my husband and 4 year old

"Motorhome Stay"

Mrs S Simington - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

08/09/2021

We were welcomed onto the site right from the start. Nothing was too much trouble - so refreshing where a camp site says ‘yes’ without too many stuffy rules.

A lovely site with amazing facilities -......Read more.

We were welcomed onto the site right from the start. Nothing was too much trouble - so refreshing where a camp site says ‘yes’ without too many stuffy rules.

A lovely site with amazing facilities - sauna/ hot tub. Fabulous...Read less.

"Amazing place for stay"

A Zubrawska - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

08/09/2021

Five stars campsite, they have everything you need and much more. Amazing and super clean facilities. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Pub is only 5 min walk from campsite.

"100% excellent all round."

A Goulding - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

07/09/2021

Can’t fault the place at all. Beautiful location within minutes of Hadrian’s Wall and Roman museums. Some great walks and good pubs and restaurants within 15 minutes drive. Family and child oriented......Read more.

Can’t fault the place at all. Beautiful location within minutes of Hadrian’s Wall and Roman museums. Some great walks and good pubs and restaurants within 15 minutes drive. Family and child oriented place with a strict curfew policy around playing music and noise after 10pm. If this isn’t for you then don’t book. It’s that simple. Excellent and very clean facilities. Super friendly staff. Will definitely return....Read less.

"Star struck"

Mrs J Pitman - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

07/09/2021

Lovely friendly place. A great base for walking and visiting the wall. Underfloor heating in the shower is great. We lay on the floor and watched the stars in a beautiful dark sky.

"Good location"

Mr R Roughead - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

06/09/2021

Great walks bus stops just outside site for longer travels good pub 10 minutes walk and only 15 minutes walk up to Hadrian wall also a must to see is a day at Vindolanda 10 minutes on the bus

"Highly recommend glamping!"

Mrs L Jackson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

05/09/2021

Only had a short 2 night break but wished we'd stayed longer. Our wigwam was so cosy and peaceful at night and perfect setting for a barbecue or night around the firepit. We also booked the star......Read more.

Only had a short 2 night break but wished we'd stayed longer. Our wigwam was so cosy and peaceful at night and perfect setting for a barbecue or night around the firepit. We also booked the star gazing package which we enjoyed as much as the kids and great value for money! The staff are all very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back....Read less.

"First time away from mum"

Ms H Morrison - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

05/09/2021

I took 3 grandchildren under 6 for their first time away from their mums. They had a fabulous time. Lots to do with play park and animals plus outdoor space for outdoor games. Weather not the best......Read more.

I took 3 grandchildren under 6 for their first time away from their mums. They had a fabulous time. Lots to do with play park and animals plus outdoor space for outdoor games. Weather not the best but they didn’t notice. It felt very safe for them there and they can’t wait to go back to see the stars as they couldn’t stay awake late enough!!...Read less.

"Good facilities and very clean"

Mr D Wade - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

01/09/2021

Good facilities

Very clean

Lovely farm animals

Helpful staff

"Superb 5 star site with animals, like being at a Zoo"

Mr C Clark - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

01/09/2021

Extremely pleased and surprised at the site. I will tell everyone about the site. The Donkey is the best, although at times he does sound broken. If I was to give any criticism it would be that we......Read more.

Extremely pleased and surprised at the site. I will tell everyone about the site. The Donkey is the best, although at times he does sound broken. If I was to give any criticism it would be that we where on plot no. One and there is not much privacy , it's a bit like being in a goldfish bowl, right at the entrance and furthest away from the facilities. But again this is only a slight niggle as we were the closest to all the animals and the site shop....Read less.

"Fabulous 5 Nights!"

Mrs K Bulman - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

We camped for 5 nights August 2021 and had an amazing time!

Our ages ranged from 70 to 5 and everyone had a great time!

Site is immaculate, staff are so friendly and helpful and the location is......Read more.

We camped for 5 nights August 2021 and had an amazing time!

Our ages ranged from 70 to 5 and everyone had a great time!

Site is immaculate, staff are so friendly and helpful and the location is lovely!

We will 100% return and we cannot wait!...Read less.

"Caravanning at Herdinghill farm"

Mrs V Black - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

Very clean site. Excellent shower block. Great to have access to a bathroom after a long day walking along Hadrian’s wall.

The petting farm was an added bonus.

I would certainly recommend it for......Read more.

Very clean site. Excellent shower block. Great to have access to a bathroom after a long day walking along Hadrian’s wall.

The petting farm was an added bonus.

I would certainly recommend it for exploring the local area & as a stop off point to Scotland....Read less.

"Lovely site"

Miss L Mowatt - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

Lovely site, clean facilities.

"Wonderful site"

P Cutter - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

30/08/2021

We stayed at this site due to it's proximity west and east of it for Roman history sites, there is even one at the end of the road!. Great site, tucked in a small valley so you are protected from......Read more.

We stayed at this site due to it's proximity west and east of it for Roman history sites, there is even one at the end of the road!. Great site, tucked in a small valley so you are protected from the worst of the weather. We went in August and it wasn't the greatest weather but the spotlessly clean toilet/shower block was always toasty warm. My elderly Mum really appreciated the accessible shower where she could sit to shower and as a a family with small children the baths were much appreciated. The children loved the animals, esp the alpacas and donkey. The site is only a short drive from Haltwhistle village with plenty of takeaways or a very well stocked Co-Op....Read less.

"Fantastic! The best we have visited!"

Mrs S Fawkes - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

30/08/2021

The best facilities we have visited! Small touches from washing up liquid at the wash sinks, dog bags at the dog bins, music in the wash room, little dog walking route. We also thought the indoor......Read more.

The best facilities we have visited! Small touches from washing up liquid at the wash sinks, dog bags at the dog bins, music in the wash room, little dog walking route. We also thought the indoor washing up/eating room with vending machines was a great idea. Luckily for us, the weather held out and we didn’t need to use it.

The children’s park was fantastic for the kids and it felt very safe.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I liked that the children were asked to leave the park before it got dark and were not allowed back in till 9am to consider those camping near the park. Also the area was checked regularly by staff but in a friendly way.

Amazing place. We will be returning again!...Read less.

"Fantastic"

Miss L Aynsley - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

29/08/2021

This was our first time camping so didn’t want to go too far from home. We weren’t disappointed at all, the site was extremely clean and well presented and the staff were always around and very......Read more.

This was our first time camping so didn’t want to go too far from home. We weren’t disappointed at all, the site was extremely clean and well presented and the staff were always around and very helpful. The only downside was due to the ages of our 3 children there wasn’t a lot for the older one to do but a trip out solved that. We will definitely return....Read less.

"Camper Hire & Stay"

D Bell - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

28/08/2021

Faultless from start to finish. Phil took time to talk us through the use of the campervan which made its use very straightforward across the weekend. Hightail impressive site facilities, the shower......Read more.

Faultless from start to finish. Phil took time to talk us through the use of the campervan which made its use very straightforward across the weekend. Hightail impressive site facilities, the shower & washroom block has been very carefully planned for visitors’ convenience. Phil & Sue very friendly & helpful. Thanks again....Read less.

"First time visit"

Mrs H Elshaw - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

26/08/2021

Although the roads are steep in places, the advance directions from the camp made sure we arrived without any issues. Everything was ready for our arrival and our allocated pitch was easy to settle......Read more.

Although the roads are steep in places, the advance directions from the camp made sure we arrived without any issues. Everything was ready for our arrival and our allocated pitch was easy to settle in to, with all the promised facilities available.

While our main interest was to undertake some walks on Hadrian’s Wall, we couldn’t have picked a nicer spot to be based at. Clean, tidy, quiet, relaxing and welcoming, this site gives everything it says on its website.

Can’t wait to return....Read less.

"Fantastic place to stay"

Mrs H Brown - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

25/08/2021

Fantastic location, stunning scenery and the facilities are excellent

"Great family stay"

Mr S Gare - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

25/08/2021

Wounderful location of activities around the wall, and star gazing. Would love to try the hot tub next time.

Great site facilities.

Simon.

"Second visit"

Mr C Geddes - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

24/08/2021

Not disappointed, excellent site

"Fab visit with family"

Ms K Harman - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

23/08/2021

We had a great time at Herding Hill Farm, one of the best campsites I’ve been to. Beautiful site with amazing views, and the shower/toilet blocks were immaculate. The animals were lovely, nice to......Read more.

We had a great time at Herding Hill Farm, one of the best campsites I’ve been to. Beautiful site with amazing views, and the shower/toilet blocks were immaculate. The animals were lovely, nice to stroke the pony, donkey and pigs. My daughters loved the park and that there were places to explore on site, safely due to the barrier meaning no one could enter who wasn’t staying there. We’ll definitely be back, thank you for a lovely stay....Read less.

"Stunning location"

Mrs J Banks - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

23/08/2021

This is our second visit, 4 years since our last. Mostly as we remembered but it with the fantastic addition of the dog walking field with amazing views!

All staff we spoke to were friendly, helpful......Read more.

This is our second visit, 4 years since our last. Mostly as we remembered but it with the fantastic addition of the dog walking field with amazing views!

All staff we spoke to were friendly, helpful and able to answer our queries and respond to our requests. The shared facilities such as showers were spotless and the daily clean/check of the hot tubs ensured they were perfect too.

We had a relaxing stay with our 15 yr old daughter and our two dogs in a running water wigwam with hot tub. Exactly what we needed.

Our only suggestion would be to ask you consider reviewing the music policy as no music at all outdoors seems a little harsh, possibly consider a volume policy instead? Of course we were able to have music on inside the wigwam, but on beautiful summer days and evenings round the fire pit, we’d have liked to have some outdoors too....Read less.

"A brilliant place to stay"

Ms A Kilpatrick - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

23/08/2021

This is the second time we’ve stayed here and we absolutely love it. We stayed in a wigwam with running water and a hot tub and it was perfect for all the family. We were even lucky enough to get a......Read more.

This is the second time we’ve stayed here and we absolutely love it. We stayed in a wigwam with running water and a hot tub and it was perfect for all the family. We were even lucky enough to get a clear night for star gazing after a very cloudy day.

A great location for local walks and suitable for all the family....Read less.

"Brilliant site"

Ms K Pearce - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

22/08/2021

Herding hill is a site I've visited many times now and in different accommodations. The site is great for families and friends and we return yearly. The wigwams are great and provide a much easier......Read more.

Herding hill is a site I've visited many times now and in different accommodations. The site is great for families and friends and we return yearly. The wigwams are great and provide a much easier camping/glamping experience. We have hired the bbq hut on site a couple of times which is great for a get together and indoor bbqing.

The toilet and shower/ cleaning facilities are second to none. Heated, clean and always space. Park on site, animals, dog walks, laundry, washing up and space for the kids to play. We have already rebooked for next year....Read less.

"Excellent Campsite"

Mr M Leeke - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

21/08/2021

We stayed for 2 nights and the campsite was beyond our expectations. Everything has been really thought about, with excellent dog walks close by, a brilliant shower and toilet block and really......Read more.

We stayed for 2 nights and the campsite was beyond our expectations. Everything has been really thought about, with excellent dog walks close by, a brilliant shower and toilet block and really friendly and helpful staff plus great hot food available from the shop. On top of that there's a superb pub in easy walking distance. Very pleased and we will definitely return....Read less.

"Great campsite in the heart of Northumberland"

Dr C Kemp - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

21/08/2021

High quality campsite with great amenities. Professional and helpful staff.

Great location for walks and trips to hadrians wall.

"Lovely site"

Mrs L Tidman - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

20/08/2021

Beautiful site in a lovely area. Great position for Hadrian's Wall. Nice walk into town. Really enjoyed our stay.

"Amazing place!"

Miss S McShane - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

20/08/2021

What a fantastic place, our big chief pod was great we went for the deluxe croc box additional extra which was worth every penny, it was the little extras that made all the difference, the staff......Read more.

What a fantastic place, our big chief pod was great we went for the deluxe croc box additional extra which was worth every penny, it was the little extras that made all the difference, the staff couldn’t have helped us enough, food packs were gorgeous, amenities were spotless, views incredible we can’t wait to return x...Read less.

"Dark Skies Heaven"

Mrs F McInnes - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

19/08/2021

Absolutely loved it! Excellent facilities especially the showers! Everything there for our chilled out holiday including pizzas, fries and garlic bread cooked on site. The children loved the play......Read more.

Absolutely loved it! Excellent facilities especially the showers! Everything there for our chilled out holiday including pizzas, fries and garlic bread cooked on site. The children loved the play area even though they are nine and twelve. The opportunity to access the Petting Farm was not missed (Covid restrictions) as there were plenty of other animals around to catch our attention (donkey’s morning bray, his pony sidekick and the alpacas). Sue and Martin work really hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable and nothing is too much trouble even delivering pizzas to our tent when they had been inundated with orders. Our chilled out camping trip was to spend time under dark skies and catch a glimpse of the Perseids meteor shower and we did!

Finally, this was our first choice campsite because of the facilities available as we wanted to convince a non camper that camping wasn’t so bad and it worked! Showers and proper loo paper were all he needed.

Thank you so much....Read less.

"Staycation 2021"

Mr S Lee - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

18/08/2021

We stayed for 14 nights for our staycation this summer instead of heading over to France as usual. What a fantastic gem this is, location is perfect to use as a base when exploring but also plenty of......Read more.

We stayed for 14 nights for our staycation this summer instead of heading over to France as usual. What a fantastic gem this is, location is perfect to use as a base when exploring but also plenty of local attractions & walks. We didn't use the children's facilities so haven't commented but those who did looked to be having fun. The dog walk route is great, just the perfect start to the day seeing the view over the town.

Really clean & well cared for site, will return again for sure....Read less.

"Holiday stay"

Miss D Gilbraith - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

18/08/2021

/

"Another great visit"

Mrs S Airey - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

17/08/2021

This remains a firm family favourite site to visit. It also remains spotless clean & well managed. The only downside was that despite the wardens trying very hard to reduce the speed around the site,......Read more.

This remains a firm family favourite site to visit. It also remains spotless clean & well managed. The only downside was that despite the wardens trying very hard to reduce the speed around the site, people still drive too fast! Strange considering most people staying there at this holiday have children with them! Maybe further needs to be done to curb this issue.

Otherwise a great place to stay...Read less.

"First stay at Herding Hill Farm Camp Site"

Mrs R Langford - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

17/08/2021

This was the first time we have stayed here, it was recommended to us by friends. We chose a large tent pitch for 2 adults and 3 children. Our friends booked a small glamping pod. Our pitch was......Read more.

This was the first time we have stayed here, it was recommended to us by friends. We chose a large tent pitch for 2 adults and 3 children. Our friends booked a small glamping pod. Our pitch was perfect, located right next to the park for the children, near to the reception shop and a small walk to the toilet/shower block. I can’t fault the site for cleanliness in the communal areas, nice and warm in the toilet/showers and excellent staff, very friendly and helpful! We ordered breakfast meat boxes which we found had more than enough food, very pleased. The location of the site was excellent, we were able to walk down to haltwhistle centre and got a bus back up which stopped directly outside. There’s a nice little pub near by for food and on site there were animals to keep the children happy. We all found the Donkey very amusing with its EEEE Awwww calls every morning :-) We had ordered a fire pit which was at our pitch on arrival. We would definitely stay here again, possibly in a glamping pod next time as we saw some had hot tubs!...Read less.

"Very happy"

Mr D Weston - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

17/08/2021

Very good facilities and staff

"Nice stay"

Mr S Honeyball - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

16/08/2021

The pitch was secluded with plenty of room, near the facilities.....visiting the local attractions i.e. Vindalanda & Wall.

Looks like the planned self contained camping pods will be interesting.

"A wonderful campsite in a spectacular location!"

Mrs H Harrington - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

15/08/2021

This year’s summer holiday was a staycation, my husband, son and I were all looking forward to exploring the area. It is one of most well managed sites we have ever visited-with friendly, helpful,......Read more.

This year’s summer holiday was a staycation, my husband, son and I were all looking forward to exploring the area. It is one of most well managed sites we have ever visited-with friendly, helpful, efficient and diligent wardens.

Our Wigwam was comfortable, clean, quiet and handy with running water and loo. Our dog was at well catered for too - with an excellent dog walking field.

We were grateful to stay somewhere where the wardens maintained the quiet times explained in the rules.

I’m almost loathed to write a review about this amazing place as it’s such a gem of a campsite I want to keep it just to ourselves!...Read less.

"Great campsite, lovely staff all in a fabulous location!"

Mrs L Moore - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

15/08/2021

We recently stayed at Herding Hill. This is a lovely campsite (not too big with great facilities, well kept & very clean). Travelling with younger children - the baths in the family bathrooms were......Read more.

We recently stayed at Herding Hill. This is a lovely campsite (not too big with great facilities, well kept & very clean). Travelling with younger children - the baths in the family bathrooms were a useful addition. All the facilities were very clean and there were good showers and a nice clean communal kitchen/wShing up room. A lot of effort had been put into the information provided for walks and other activities. We liked that each tent pitch was slightly divided with bushes/shrubs to give a bit more privacy. We'll done to all at Herding Hill for all your hard work!...Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mr D Kain - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

14/08/2021

Well run site. Immaculately clean facilities.

Lots of lovely walks around it to Hadrian's wall etc.

Sauna not in use when we were there but would hire if it was in use next time

Would go back

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead