Herding Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Site Ltd

122 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 122 reviews in the last 12 months

98% would recommend this site

97% would stay here again

Excellent

84%

Very Good

16%

Average

1%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Amazing stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2017

14/11/2017

I recently spend the weekend in a wigwam which was very clean warm and spacious the view was absolutely fantastic so peaceful and tranquil, the nearest village isn't too far away in the car which has......Read more.

I recently spend the weekend in a wigwam which was very clean warm and spacious the view was absolutely fantastic so peaceful and tranquil, the nearest village isn't too far away in the car which has shops supermarket and a few pubs an added bonus with the wigwam was a hot tub (extra cost) which was absolutely amazing, had a fantastic peaceful weekend and would definitely go back....Read less.

"Great stay"

Mr A Hart - Stayed with partner, Nov 2017

13/11/2017

All in all extremely impressed with the wigwam and park facilities along with the scenery and local walks. However it was felt that there was not a lot of lighting around hot tub area for night time......Read more.

All in all extremely impressed with the wigwam and park facilities along with the scenery and local walks. However it was felt that there was not a lot of lighting around hot tub area for night time use which left us feeling abit unsafe due to the whiteness of the park and inability of seeing around us. However all things considered would defiantly return and recommend...Read less.

"Holidaying at Hadrian's Wall"

Miss K Ruffles - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

13/11/2017

Great lcoation, great facilities.

Only disappointment being the curfew on the hot tub. One of the main reasons for choosing this site was for a cabin with hot tub, we found out once we arrived at......Read more.

Great lcoation, great facilities.

Only disappointment being the curfew on the hot tub. One of the main reasons for choosing this site was for a cabin with hot tub, we found out once we arrived at site that the hot tub had a curfew - bearing in mind you are out hiking for as long as possible during the day, then enjoying a meal out, then getting back to campsite, showering etc before you climb into hot tub - the curfew leaves you little time to actually enjoy the main attraction. Guests should be trusted to respect their surroundings and fellow neighbours without imposing a curfew. Unfortunately this did leave a bitter taste :(...Read less.

"Fab!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2017

09/11/2017

.

"Lovely site in great country location"

Ms E Foster Page - Stayed with partner, Nov 2017

07/11/2017

We stayed for Hadrian's Wall as I am sure most people do. It's a great location. Our motorhome is 8m but easy access and plenty of room. A beautifully kept site and loved the animals.

"Lovely stay at Herding Hill Farm"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

30/10/2017

Had a fantastic time at the campsite in The Lodge, clean, warm and dry, through a very wet weekend. Kids loved the animals and excellent location for Hadrians Wall. The Pizza night on arrival is a......Read more.

Had a fantastic time at the campsite in The Lodge, clean, warm and dry, through a very wet weekend. Kids loved the animals and excellent location for Hadrians Wall. The Pizza night on arrival is a fantastic idea!...Read less.

"Feedback"

K McConnell - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

30/10/2017

This is a fantastic campsite offering a variety of camping options, the facilities are super, warm, clean, a real pleasure. The area is lovely, esp watching the sun come up. Good facilities for dog......Read more.

This is a fantastic campsite offering a variety of camping options, the facilities are super, warm, clean, a real pleasure. The area is lovely, esp watching the sun come up. Good facilities for dog walking. We would most definitely come back and recommend this site...Read less.

"Perfect break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

29/10/2017

A lovely site which caters for caravaners,campers and glampers of all ages.The hot tub was the highlight for us after a long walking day.Sitting outside in red hot water with an outside temperature......Read more.

A lovely site which caters for caravaners,campers and glampers of all ages.The hot tub was the highlight for us after a long walking day.Sitting outside in red hot water with an outside temperature of 9 degrees, in the dark with a starlit sky it was a perfect way to end the day....Read less.

"Herding Hill - a delightful site."

Mrs Peel - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

28/10/2017

We will definitely add this site to our "must return to" list! Beautiful setting in the heart of Roman Wall country and ideally situated for visiting the many fascinating highlights of the area.

The......Read more.

We will definitely add this site to our "must return to" list! Beautiful setting in the heart of Roman Wall country and ideally situated for visiting the many fascinating highlights of the area.

The campsite is lovely - and the facilities are excellent - pleasant to use, spotlessly clean and warm.

There were children in our party and they thoroughly enjoyed the playpark, and taking part in the daily feeding routine of the site's resident animals!...Read less.

"Wonderful stay"

Miss V Garrett - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

26/10/2017

Lovely stay at Herding Hill Farm, would definitely return. Accommodation was lovely and clean and the views were amazing. Pizza onsite too with delivery!

"review"

Ms C Bethell - Stayed with friends, Oct 2017

26/10/2017

great place

"Couldn’t ask for better"

Mrs M Robson - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

26/10/2017

We wanted to combine a visit to Hadrian’s Wall with a weekend away and feel so lucky to have found Herding Hill Farm. The wigwam had everything we could possibly need and we had the added bonus of a......Read more.

We wanted to combine a visit to Hadrian’s Wall with a weekend away and feel so lucky to have found Herding Hill Farm. The wigwam had everything we could possibly need and we had the added bonus of a fire pit on our first night. The washing and toilet facilities were spotless and easily reached. The site felt so safe and secure that we were happy to let our two boys play outside and visit the facilities themselves. The weather was typically autumnal (windy and rainy) but we were completely cosy and didn’t even need the heater on overnight. I hope we can return to make more of the facilities you had on offer. It’s certainly a better option for families than a night squashed in a hotel room! Thank you!...Read less.

"Excellent campsite in beautiful Northumberland"

J Langton - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

24/10/2017

Excellent campsite. Large, level pitches. Plenty of hot water in the shower block. Good base for exploring Hadrian’s Wall. Nice pub 1/2 mile away with excellent food. Trains & buses from nearby......Read more.

Excellent campsite. Large, level pitches. Plenty of hot water in the shower block. Good base for exploring Hadrian’s Wall. Nice pub 1/2 mile away with excellent food. Trains & buses from nearby Haltwhistle if you want to leave your car behind. Plenty of activities for children. Petting zoo with variety of animals....Read less.

"A lovely site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

23/10/2017

We spent 2 nights at this site and were very happy with it. We didn't need the entertainment side of it, but we got what we wanted; quiet, well equipped and friendly.

"Autumn break"

Mrs N McIntosh - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

22/10/2017

Loved our stay in our wigwam with hot tub. No complaints..only thing we would have liked to have table & chairs rather than very low coffee table which wasn't ideal when we were eating. Would......Read more.

Loved our stay in our wigwam with hot tub. No complaints..only thing we would have liked to have table & chairs rather than very low coffee table which wasn't ideal when we were eating. Would definately return though. Great location for exploring the local area. Kids loved the animals and being able to be there for feeding times....Read less.

"Review"

Miss S Walton - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

16/10/2017

Herding Hill Farm

"herding hill campsite"

Mr M Grant - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

14/10/2017

glad to return to this very friendly site well situated for doing "the wall " and visiting all the roman and local attractions

We have stayed beofre and realy love the site and the area

The owners......Read more.

glad to return to this very friendly site well situated for doing "the wall " and visiting all the roman and local attractions

We have stayed beofre and realy love the site and the area

The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful

Showers and tiolet block must be the best in the area if not county

we will be back again at some point next year...Read less.

"Campsite"

Mr A Faulkner - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

13/10/2017

Most enjoyable. Very clean loved the baths and under floor heating. Stress free camping and that was what we found

"Amazing location and incredibly relaxing"

Mr M Tyler - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

12/10/2017

The site is so laid back and relaxing. I wish we could have spent all our days on site but we had other stuff planned.

Next time we'll leave the weekend free to enjoy it more!

"Quite a unique site"

Mrs S Heaver - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

11/10/2017

A lovely small site surrounded by nature. Chickens, goats, donkeys and a huge snoring pig all created a lovely atmosphere. The shower blocks were fabulous clearly a lot of money and effort has been......Read more.

A lovely small site surrounded by nature. Chickens, goats, donkeys and a huge snoring pig all created a lovely atmosphere. The shower blocks were fabulous clearly a lot of money and effort has been put into this site.

Ideal location for Hadrians Wall and Vindolanda just up the road. I would highly recommend it.

There is also a very good wooden built childrens play area....Read less.

"A well kept and secluded stop"

Mr J Robertson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

10/10/2017

Great for a centre to discover Hadrian’s Wall and the beautiful Northumberland countryside. Facilities are first rate and very helpful and friendly staff.

"On top of the world at Herding Hill"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

10/10/2017

This was our second visit to the site, and much more relaxing than our first trip last year when it was our daughter's wedding reception nearby and we were rushing around to ensure that everything......Read more.

This was our second visit to the site, and much more relaxing than our first trip last year when it was our daughter's wedding reception nearby and we were rushing around to ensure that everything went smoothly. It was a pleasure to return to the site and enjoy the luxury of your fantastic hot showers and underfloor heating after a very enjoyable but hectic time. We promised to return, and once again, the site delivered to the max. One slight niggle was that I was unaware that little local bus service is seasonal. No worries - we just enjoyed the site facilities and the nearby countryside of foot as far as my restricted mobility allowed. Last year we had a 20 year old caravan, this year we came in our brand new motor home. Well certainly be back again as it's undoubtedly one of the best ways to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return! The various animals are a really special attraction too - especially the Alpacas and their amazing range of facial expressions. Love the local beer and free range eggs... In fact, love everything at Herding Hill... We're a retired couple in our 60s, but the range of units and the super facilities ensure that the site is perfect for all ages. Our 2 elderly spaniels enjoyed it too - especially as the site is mostly level. My dentist is planning to visit with his wife and 2 very young daughters, and our daughter and her husband are also keen to visit. We'll certainly be back again and will be spreading the word. Thank you for your vision in setting up the site, and making it suitable for all....Read less.

"Ein sehr schöner, ruhiger,sauberer Campingplatz zum Abschluß unseres Urlaubs."

B Hennen - Stayed with family, Sep 2017

04/10/2017

Wir suchten einen Campingplatz in der Nähe von Newcastle.( Fähre nach Amsterdam ) Im Internet fanden wir dann Herding Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Site. Buchten per internet einen Stellülatz.Es war......Read more.

Wir suchten einen Campingplatz in der Nähe von Newcastle.( Fähre nach Amsterdam ) Im Internet fanden wir dann Herding Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Site. Buchten per internet einen Stellülatz.Es war ein Glückstreffer. Vernünftig befestigte Stellplätze, saubere Toilettenanlage und tolle Umgebung. Wir waren 3 Nächte hier die wir genossen. Püb in der nähe. Pizza service haben wir nicht genutzt. Wanderungen vom Campingplatz wurden uns bei Ankunft angeboten. Der Hadrians Wall war zu nahe, die Zeit zu kurz um sie zu gehen. Danke für die schöne Zeit auch wenn wir warscheinlich nicht wiederkommen.(der Weg ist sehr weit). ich kann diesen Campingplatz nur weiterempfehlen....Read less.

"Well set out touring site with good sized parking spaces and the best showers!"

Mr M Mallinson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

03/10/2017

Definitely a place to return to. We had a lovely welcome to this site and learned a lot about the facilities available. We had loads of space between us and our neighbouring van which was really......Read more.

Definitely a place to return to. We had a lovely welcome to this site and learned a lot about the facilities available. We had loads of space between us and our neighbouring van which was really lovely and not often found these days. The shower and toilet block was immaculately clean! and the showers provided powerful and hot water :).

We didn't need other facilities but there were lovely little touches available such as a sauna and a drying room which also housed a snacks machine and a drinks machine. A lovely quiet site tucked in the hillside and a 5 min drive into Haltwistle for supplies....Read less.

"Great Location for Hadrian's Wall"

Ms H Hall - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

27/09/2017

Quiet rural site, with excellent bathroom facilities. Free showers with a proper tap for a constant flow of water. There are even two full private bathrooms in the Ladies block. The only con was that......Read more.

Quiet rural site, with excellent bathroom facilities. Free showers with a proper tap for a constant flow of water. There are even two full private bathrooms in the Ladies block. The only con was that the Chem loo disposal is right outside the toilet block and not in a discrete location. However, it's part of the service area, so handy in that regard and one of the few of the many parks we have been to that have a hand sanitiser dispenser too....Read less.

"Good all round"

Mrs M Smith - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

25/09/2017

Pizza delivered to the van in the rain and delicious too. Only complaint was that the drying area was tiny , with all the walking and the rain getting the waterproof dry was a mission and a......Read more.

Pizza delivered to the van in the rain and delicious too. Only complaint was that the drying area was tiny , with all the walking and the rain getting the waterproof dry was a mission and a competition with a young lady having used the bath to wash her clothes....Read less.

"Additional comments"

Mrs A Stewart - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

22/09/2017

We spent a very happy couple of nights at Herding Hill Farm whilst we were walking Hadrian's Wall. One of the most important things at he end of a long day walking is good shower facilities - and......Read more.

We spent a very happy couple of nights at Herding Hill Farm whilst we were walking Hadrian's Wall. One of the most important things at he end of a long day walking is good shower facilities - and these were fabulous, with the addition of a couple of complete bathrooms - all very clean and with lots of hot water. A stunning environment, obviously, but everything was of the highest quality and really enhanced our walking holiday. Thanks to all the Staff!

Annie S...Read less.

"Great campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2017

21/09/2017

This was a stop off on the hadrians wall walk and would definitely use again.

"Stayed with a group of families"

Mrs E Slyderink - Stayed with friends, Sep 2017

20/09/2017

Great campsite with excellent facilities. Wigwams clean and well equipped. The location is beautiful and the kids loved the playground and feeding the animals. The only downside was the attitude of......Read more.

Great campsite with excellent facilities. Wigwams clean and well equipped. The location is beautiful and the kids loved the playground and feeding the animals. The only downside was the attitude of some of the staff when booking, it felt like they disapproved of us coming as a group, even though we were 4 families with young children. The site is also reasonably expensive compared to places with similar facilities....Read less.

"Hadrian's wall"

Mrs S Blackburn - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

19/09/2017

this site was close to Hadrian's wall which was where we wanted to visit, and the Milecastle pub which did excellent food. The bathroom facilities were excellent I especially enjoyed the radio whilst......Read more.

this site was close to Hadrian's wall which was where we wanted to visit, and the Milecastle pub which did excellent food. The bathroom facilities were excellent I especially enjoyed the radio whilst having a shower.

The animals were great and a loved stroking the donkeys....Read less.

"A wonderful end to a very wet day!!!"

Mr &mrs Jefferson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

18/09/2017

We had a week travelling around Northumberland in our Motorhome during Sept 2017 and had been staying at a different place each night. We had visited Housesteads Fort on Hadrians Wall on a very wet......Read more.

We had a week travelling around Northumberland in our Motorhome during Sept 2017 and had been staying at a different place each night. We had visited Housesteads Fort on Hadrians Wall on a very wet and cold day and decided to call it a day and find a local site. We tend to use Google and it showed a site very nearby, Herding Hill Farm. We can be self sufficient if needed so decided to take a chance and book in. We had no idea what to expect and what a very, very pleasant surprise!! The lady at reception was very polite, helpful and considering the weather, very cheerful. The shop is not very big but has lots of very useful items. I particularly liked the single laundry tablets. Very thoughtful idea. Our pitch in the touring park was directly opposite the showers but still felt private with plenty of space between pitches. We had a serviced pitch and the hard standing was good and flat. The weather was horrible so we didn't venture to far but did look around the lovely wigwam area. We checked out the drying room which housed a fridge, charging points and vending machines. An excellent idea and another nice touch. And lastly the showers. We have used a lot of different ones over the years and we think these are the best we've ever used! Plenty of hot water and space. Handy hooks and a tray for toiletries too. Then of course there's the underfloor heating which made it wonderfully warm and comfortable.

We went for a night as a stop gap but next time we'll be planning our travels around a longer stay at Herding Hill Farm. Thank you for a very pleasant stay....Read less.

"Great base to explore Hadrian's Wall"

Mr K Johnston - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

17/09/2017

Fantastic site for use as a base to explore Hadrian's Wall, surrounding areas and attractions.

Bring hard-ground pegs!

"Cycling heaven."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2017

16/09/2017

My 9yr old son and I were cycling Hadrians wall. (176 miles). We had decided to camp near the YHA/once brewed. We looked up all avalible sites within 5 miles or so on google maps.

We found Herding......Read more.

My 9yr old son and I were cycling Hadrians wall. (176 miles). We had decided to camp near the YHA/once brewed. We looked up all avalible sites within 5 miles or so on google maps.

We found Herding Hill Farm. Althought we though about Sheild wall and the others we dicided on here due to it being on route.

What a suprise we had. Animals to pet, pissa night and a cracking local pub.

Its with easy reach of some of the best section of the wall and all in all a great spot.

I must say they have the best shower block ive ever used on a campsite. A welcome relief after many hours in the sadal.

Thank you!...Read less.

"Excellent campsite!"

Mr B Morton - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

16/09/2017

This was our first visit to Herding Hill and would definitely go again. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful, the campsite is well organised, with top quality facilities and......Read more.

This was our first visit to Herding Hill and would definitely go again. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful, the campsite is well organised, with top quality facilities and wonderful surroundings. Highly recommend this site...Read less.

"September 7th&8th"

Mr A Meehan - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

16/09/2017

What a fantastic site!

We received a lovely friendly greeting upon arrival.

The site is in beautiful countryside, absolutely immaculate, shower facilities beyond expectation and far superior to any......Read more.

What a fantastic site!

We received a lovely friendly greeting upon arrival.

The site is in beautiful countryside, absolutely immaculate, shower facilities beyond expectation and far superior to any site we've stayed before, including the well known brands.

We don't have children but, equally enjoyed looking at the animals on site.

The site is situated within easy driving distance of Hadrian's Wall and National Trust park which we wished to visit.

We enjoyed a meal in the local pub which was a few minutes drive away.

We would certainly recommend this site to anyone that wants a quiet break and to people with young families....Read less.

"It was everything that I had hoped for"

Mr Jones - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

15/09/2017

This was a great site, my only issue was that we didn't stay long enough to enjoy the site and everything around it. We were using the site as a stopover on our way to Scotland. But we still......Read more.

This was a great site, my only issue was that we didn't stay long enough to enjoy the site and everything around it. We were using the site as a stopover on our way to Scotland. But we still managed to do 2 local walks provided by the site before we left. Thank you for the stay and hope to return again soon....Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mr A Skinner - Stayed with family, Sep 2017

14/09/2017

Lovely camping site. We came as a family of four with two young children and two dogs. We were all made very welcome. We were on a super pitch with our own caravan, our water pipe wouldn't fit to the......Read more.

Lovely camping site. We came as a family of four with two young children and two dogs. We were all made very welcome. We were on a super pitch with our own caravan, our water pipe wouldn't fit to the tap, the staff were very helpful and gave us a connector to attach it. The play park was brilliant and very well maintained. Our 3 year old daughter loved helping to feed the animals on the site and was thrilled to have a ride on the buggy to see the ducklings. We ordered a pizza which was cooked on site and delivered to our caravan. A lovely added touch to our stay, also very pleased that they did gluten free too as I am a coeliac. Would definitely recommend this site to anyone. We will be going back for another stay!...Read less.

"Wonderful wilderness."

Mr J Smith - Stayed with family, Sep 2017

14/09/2017

Stayed here for a couple of nights in a wigwam with hot tub . Can seriously recommend doing this to get away from everything and relax. Facilities were excellent, perfectly clean inside the wigwam......Read more.

Stayed here for a couple of nights in a wigwam with hot tub . Can seriously recommend doing this to get away from everything and relax. Facilities were excellent, perfectly clean inside the wigwam and around the site. The shower room and associated facilities were spotless and kept that way during the day . The addition of a drying room and snack machine was very welcome. The staff at reception were knowledgeable and helpful, and the location was perfect for walking on Hadrians Wall. There was also a BBQ hut and sauna area which you could hire. So an easy 5 star rating....Read less.

"Amazing!"

Mrs S Thompson - Stayed with family, Sep 2017

14/09/2017

Had a fabulous stay at Herding Hill as a family of 4 with young children. Everything was fabulous from start to finish; very clean, comfortable & friendly staff - we will definitely return!

"Very satisfied"

Mrs J Fisher - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

11/09/2017

We found the site very clean, probably the cleanest we have been on, toilet and shower facilities was very clean.

"Short stay in wigwam"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

09/09/2017

Very well equipped wigwam.

"Friendly cam relaxing site"

Mrs R Vipond - Stayed with friends, Aug 2017

08/09/2017

Fantastic site, only small but so friendly and kids had a lovely time in park and with animals. Felt very secure and kids could play freely and happily.

Lovely surroundings so pieceful and quiet.

"Good site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

07/09/2017

Very good site would recommend ot

"Herding Hill review"

Mrs. A Cottam - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

07/09/2017

A quiet, friendly campsite with good facilities for young children, plus the added bonus of takeaway pizza delivered to your pitch!!

"A very well kept site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

06/09/2017

The site is very well kept and facilities spotlessly clean. Our grandson very much enjoyed helping to feed the animals each morning and teatime. Staff friendly and helpful. Proximity to all Hadrian's......Read more.

The site is very well kept and facilities spotlessly clean. Our grandson very much enjoyed helping to feed the animals each morning and teatime. Staff friendly and helpful. Proximity to all Hadrian's Wall sites excellent....Read less.

"Lovely site"

Miss L Lewis - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

05/09/2017

Friendly staff and lovely facilities

"Enjoyable stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

05/09/2017

We had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Very clean.

"Walk on Hadrian's Wall."

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2017

05/09/2017

Excellent site with very clean warm facilities. Well located for the Wall and on the bus route.

"Family fun"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

04/09/2017

This was the first time I'd gone Glamping & I wasn't disappointed. My children loved it, the wigwam we stayed in was spotlessly clean & the other on site facilities were the same. Great park for the......Read more.

This was the first time I'd gone Glamping & I wasn't disappointed. My children loved it, the wigwam we stayed in was spotlessly clean & the other on site facilities were the same. Great park for the kids - we hired a hot tub too which was good fun! Staff are friendly & helpful, very quiet site. We loved it that much we are going back in October half term!...Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mrs S Henderson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

04/09/2017

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a really good time. My son loved the play area and being able to feed the animals.

The toilet and shower blocks were immaculately clean.

"Grandparents duties"

Mrs M Nicol - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

04/09/2017

We visited Herding Hill at the May bank holiday and thought it would make an ideal and secure site for our young granddaughters 6 & 3.

We returned with them in August for 5 days, they loved the......Read more.

We visited Herding Hill at the May bank holiday and thought it would make an ideal and secure site for our young granddaughters 6 & 3.

We returned with them in August for 5 days, they loved the play area.

In addition was Haltwhistle leisure pool, a little pricey but the kids loved it. We also visited the Roman site nearby and the cinema in Hexham.

The only problem we had was the location of our pitch, the part we requested was double booked, but it was eventually sorted out. The shower block was lovely with the helpful addition of 2 baths.

We would definitely return....Read less.

"Family trip!"

Massie - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

04/09/2017

Amazing place and staff there are great! My 3 year old loved feeding the animals every day and the staff were great with kids! Will be going back for sure!

"Fourth Visit to Herding Hill Farm"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

04/09/2017

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Herding Hill and we loved it again. Peaceful and well maintained with friendly staff. Our children love the animals and enjoyed helping out at feeding time.......Read more.

This is the fourth time we have stayed at Herding Hill and we loved it again. Peaceful and well maintained with friendly staff. Our children love the animals and enjoyed helping out at feeding time. Shower block is lovely - I couldn't get my daughter out of the shower she was enjoying it so much! The site is so close to lots of interesting museums and places for walks. We will definitely be back....Read less.

"Great stay"

Mrs L Marples - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

03/09/2017

V helpful staff

Walking distance to nice country pub

Feeding time for animals nice touch

"Excellent retreat"

Miss T Hetherington - Stayed Aug 2017

03/09/2017

Brilliant setting & location, lots of accomadation variety. Very welcoming & always on hand to help. Very quiet & idilac location. Brilliant adventure park for the children & animal feeding twice a......Read more.

Brilliant setting & location, lots of accomadation variety. Very welcoming & always on hand to help. Very quiet & idilac location. Brilliant adventure park for the children & animal feeding twice a day....Read less.

"Fantastic stay"

Mrs Fairbrother - Stayed with friends, Aug 2017

02/09/2017

This is really a great site, great position for visiting the wall.

The staff were really friendly and helpful.

The toilet and showers and not forgetting the baths, were spotless, the showers were hot......Read more.

This is really a great site, great position for visiting the wall.

The staff were really friendly and helpful.

The toilet and showers and not forgetting the baths, were spotless, the showers were hot and high pressure, the block was lovely and warm, loved the music as well - something to sing to in the shower !!!

This was a great dog friendly site and would defiantly return and recommend

Angie and Chris - Colchester Essex...Read less.

"great weekend."

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2017

02/09/2017

great weekend, stayed in one of the running water wigwams with hot tub. immaculately clean,excellent facilities in wonderful surroundings. will definitely return.

"Great base for exploring"

Miss A Miller - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

01/09/2017

A great campsite in great location with good clean facilities. We enjoyed the animals even though we don't have children! A good base for exploring the local area.

"Happy Holidays"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

01/09/2017

Our party consisted of two families (4 adults, 3 children aged 15,9 and 9 and 3 dogs) one camping, one wigwam. Both families were very satisfied with the campsite and would highly recommend. Already......Read more.

Our party consisted of two families (4 adults, 3 children aged 15,9 and 9 and 3 dogs) one camping, one wigwam. Both families were very satisfied with the campsite and would highly recommend. Already planning our next trip!...Read less.

"10 go Touring"

Ms M Twiselton-Mellor - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

01/09/2017

Our stay at Herding Hill was part of a trip from Cornwall up the west side across the middle back down the east side. We wanted to include Hadrians Wall and various Roman remains into our tour......Read more.

Our stay at Herding Hill was part of a trip from Cornwall up the west side across the middle back down the east side. We wanted to include Hadrians Wall and various Roman remains into our tour Herding Hill was ideally placed for this experience . I made a mistake with our booking but on arrival the chap on duty quickly did his best to help accommodate us and he did . We had The Lodge and a Wigwam the hot tubs were a fantastic bonus to the accommodations which were excellent. The animals were a delight especially the donkey who was ready shouting for his food an hour before it was due ! On our return home my 6 grandchildren all agreed Herding Hill was their favourite stay of our whole touring experience . Our other accommodations were provided by the YHA and Haven Holidays . We stayed in some beautiful locations but Herding Hill has it all ....Read less.

"brief escape"

O Sear - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

31/08/2017

We felt we needed a weekend away, and remembered how good the site was from a couple of years ago. You have maintained a very high standard, which is a rare and fine thing. Congratulations and many......Read more.

We felt we needed a weekend away, and remembered how good the site was from a couple of years ago. You have maintained a very high standard, which is a rare and fine thing. Congratulations and many thanks!...Read less.

"Excellent through and through"

S Paterson - Stayed with friends, Aug 2017

30/08/2017

Absolutely excellent from start to finish!!

"great family site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

29/08/2017

This was our third time at Herding Hill and we love it! We chose it for it's location, we went back because it suited us so well. The wigwam we stayed in was comfortable and clean, the shower/toilet......Read more.

This was our third time at Herding Hill and we love it! We chose it for it's location, we went back because it suited us so well. The wigwam we stayed in was comfortable and clean, the shower/toilet block is warm even during the night and the pizza was really tasty (& gluten free!!!!)....Read less.

"Fantastic campsite"

Mrs C Hewson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

28/08/2017

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 3 children and we all had a great time. The location is fab. It's a lovely campsite one of the best we've stayed at. The kids loved feeding the animals and really......Read more.

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 3 children and we all had a great time. The location is fab. It's a lovely campsite one of the best we've stayed at. The kids loved feeding the animals and really enjoyed the play area. All the facilities were spotlessly clean and tidy the ladies had 2 cubicles with baths in as well as showers and we also used the family bathroom. All the staff were friendly and helpful would defiantly stay here again....Read less.

"A wonderful wigwam holiday"

Mr D Lambert - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

28/08/2017

We had the most amazing time at this campsite. We were blessed with good weather, the wigwam we were staying in was clean and comfortable and our two boys could play out in total safety.

We chose a......Read more.

We had the most amazing time at this campsite. We were blessed with good weather, the wigwam we were staying in was clean and comfortable and our two boys could play out in total safety.

We chose a running water wigwam & paid a little extra for a hot tub which proved to be an excellent decision. On our second night we were lucky enough to have totally clear skies & as the sun set we sat in the hot tub with a glass of fizz and star gazed until it was time for bed.

The site is very family friendly & very quiet at night. We loved every minute & will definitely be back. Thank you!...Read less.

"A wonderful park...beautifully presented and great location"

B Harris - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

28/08/2017

A wonderful park...beautifully presented and great location.

My son ( 23 ) and I ( 60 plus ) spent a wonderful three nights in Foxglove at the end of the park...with the ducklings. Perfect location.......Read more.

A wonderful park...beautifully presented and great location.

My son ( 23 ) and I ( 60 plus ) spent a wonderful three nights in Foxglove at the end of the park...with the ducklings. Perfect location. The loos and shower were spotless as well as all the other communal areas.

I do think though for the top end price charged that there should be a set of crockery-knives and forks and plates etc included in the tent fee rather than as an extra. The BBQ worked fine after a couple of attempts to get it right...ie low gas, and then one that lit down the stem !!....maybe something to sort out for next year. All in all though cracking site and lovely crew on site, well done you guys and gals.....Brian and Jacob...from down south !!...Read less.

"Family stay"

Mrs K Newton - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

27/08/2017

We stayed in a wigwam and really enjoyed it. We had a hot tub which was great but ruined by having a fence all the way round so no view. A fence for privacy at the front would be good but not all the......Read more.

We stayed in a wigwam and really enjoyed it. We had a hot tub which was great but ruined by having a fence all the way round so no view. A fence for privacy at the front would be good but not all the way round. Last time we visited the pizza was better as the bases were home made we also liked being able to buy breakfast sandwiches which you can no longer do.

Overall great site but not as friendly and home from home as previously...Read less.

"Excellent"

M Corson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

27/08/2017

Lovely wee site, near to Hadrian's wall. Excellent toilet block.

"Awning Feedback"

Mrs J Glancy - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

25/08/2017

Hi,

I meant to mention this to you when we left but didn't get around to it......we did have a lovely stay, thank you, however we paid for an awning pitch and were surprised that we ended up in a......Read more.

Hi,

I meant to mention this to you when we left but didn't get around to it......we did have a lovely stay, thank you, however we paid for an awning pitch and were surprised that we ended up in a hard standing gravel pitch, my husband tried to put the awning up but it was very clear the pegs were not going to go in the ground!

Otherwise, a lovely campsite.

Jaemi...Read less.

"First time in a wigwam"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

25/08/2017

Our family of 5 (2 adults 3 children) spent a week at herding hill farm in a running water wigwam, as a base to explore the area with all the Roman historical places of interest, in particular......Read more.

Our family of 5 (2 adults 3 children) spent a week at herding hill farm in a running water wigwam, as a base to explore the area with all the Roman historical places of interest, in particular Hadrian's wall. We were very impressed with the site, its staff, facilities, cleanliness and safety for the kids to run around and play with their friends. We had a brilliant week and would recommend to anyone, seasoned campers or wigwam novices like us!...Read less.

"Brilliant place to stay"

Mr S Patrick - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

The staff are very friendly. The facilities are very good and the play park for kids is lovely. The feeding time of the animals for the kids is such a lovely thing. My 6 year old loves it. We will......Read more.

The staff are very friendly. The facilities are very good and the play park for kids is lovely. The feeding time of the animals for the kids is such a lovely thing. My 6 year old loves it. We will definitely go again....Read less.

"Walking the Wall"

Mr J Smith - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

My son and I were walking sections of Hadrian's Wall and chose Herding Hill due to its proximity to the Wall, and also the Milecastle Inn, a short walk away, where we dined twice. We arrived outside......Read more.

My son and I were walking sections of Hadrian's Wall and chose Herding Hill due to its proximity to the Wall, and also the Milecastle Inn, a short walk away, where we dined twice. We arrived outside the office opening hours, 09:00-10:00, 15:00-18:00) but encountered a helpful lady who opened the office, checked us in and enabled us to pitch our tent prior to a full day's walking. This was very convenient for us. We camped for two nights (16/17 Aug) and achieved all we wanted to in that time. If anything were felt to be lacking, it was 13 amp charging points for phones & tablets, and the necessity to buy vouchers for internet use. These facilities could be bundled into the price, which would enhance convenience....Read less.

"👍🏻👍🏻"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

22/08/2017

Good clean place. Stuff for kids and adults to do and adults. Great staff

"Lovely quiet site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

22/08/2017

Lovely quiet site, smart amenities and friendly helpful staff. Nice level gravel pitch and the little fences / shrubs between pitches is a nice touch. Lovely that the owners let the children help......Read more.

Lovely quiet site, smart amenities and friendly helpful staff. Nice level gravel pitch and the little fences / shrubs between pitches is a nice touch. Lovely that the owners let the children help feed the animals....Read less.

"Fantastic camp site"

Mrs W Abnett - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

22/08/2017

The facilities are second to none with the added bonus of a drying room!!!!!!!!! Lovely atmosphere and extremely clean and tidy. The animals are a lovely attraction and its dog friendly.

"Not enough space for tents"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

21/08/2017

Gorgeous campsite, perfect for glamping. Friendly staff, immaculate facilities. Not set out well for tents - pitches too close together and no space at all for young children to play near your tent.

"Lovely little place"

A Hutchinson - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

21/08/2017

Lovely little place. Friendly staff. Very well looked after. Clean and tidy and the showers/toilets are very clean and warm. A little cafe would go down a treat.

"Not great customer service"

Mrs V Smith - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

20/08/2017

On arrival we were assigned pitch 18 was not flat and a large incline with a dip in the middle this was unpitchable for the size of our tent. After assessing it it was not possible to pitch the tent......Read more.

On arrival we were assigned pitch 18 was not flat and a large incline with a dip in the middle this was unpitchable for the size of our tent. After assessing it it was not possible to pitch the tent with a flat area for sleeping. I asked to change pitch and after few minutes was told not possible. So we decided to go home with 2 very unhappy children. When I asked for a refund I was told this is not possible and we should be happy with the pitch as no one else had complained. This is not acceptable customer service. The woman on reception called the site owners but got no reply so as we had a journey home we set off. On way home my wife rang back to see if the manager of the site had returned call to be informed we could change pitch. So as not to upset children further we returned and the new pitch was much better. All the drama could have been avoided instead of us standing our ground and refusing to accept inferior service when clearly a level pitch was available, your customer service is not good once set up we had an enjoyable couple of days but we will not visit again....Read less.

"A wonderful site"

Mr R Brown - Stayed with friends, Aug 2017

20/08/2017

Amazing animals for the children to engage with, and showers were most impressive. On the outskirts of a very beautiful area with so many places of interest near by...we will certainly be back!

"Great place!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

19/08/2017

Loved this site. Facilities are spot on, the layout is great, glamping pods are nicely spaced and being able to BBQ, have a fire in a applied fire pit, a hot tub and even a (good) pizza delivered! It......Read more.

Loved this site. Facilities are spot on, the layout is great, glamping pods are nicely spaced and being able to BBQ, have a fire in a applied fire pit, a hot tub and even a (good) pizza delivered! It all adds up to being able to relax outdoors with ease when you don't fancy getting under canvas but want to be outdoors....Read less.

"Stunning location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

18/08/2017

Stunning location and very well kept site, reception staff very welcoming. Worth a visit to nearby Halsteads and the Sill.

"Another trip to Herding Hill Farm"

Mr M Edmonds - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

18/08/2017

This is rapidly becoming my favourite destination for a quick weekend away. Lots to do around Haltwhistle with the Roman thing and the most photographed tree in the world just along the road, along......Read more.

This is rapidly becoming my favourite destination for a quick weekend away. Lots to do around Haltwhistle with the Roman thing and the most photographed tree in the world just along the road, along with some other gems (Talkin Tarn just over the border into Cumbria near Brampton is one example).

Facilities are some of the best around, and the staff are lovely.

I would recommend this site but I don't want it to become somewhere where I can't get booked in!

I really hope our neighbour with the punchered camp bed got it replaced or repaired. It was like having a timer going off every two hours when they decided to use an air pump! :)

We will return (with ear plugs - just in case!)....Read less.

"A perfect weekend"

Mrs H Willan - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

18/08/2017

We booked a couple of nights in a running water wigwam as part of our summer road trip around Scotland and Northumberland. We were looking forward to a couple of days of rest and relaxation and......Read more.

We booked a couple of nights in a running water wigwam as part of our summer road trip around Scotland and Northumberland. We were looking forward to a couple of days of rest and relaxation and hopefully good weather for the hot tub and we were not disappointed.

The site is in a lovely area but we didn't leave the site as the weather was so good and we wanted to relax. Our dog was happy with frequent walks around and about and was tired by this point in our trip and we were thrilled with the small and relatively quiet site - some bigger family parties but this didn't really bother us at all.

We took advantage of the pizzas that are delivered to you and we enjoyed these and it made our first night easy not having to unpack and then consider cooking. They were tasty and clearly effort is put into the standard of them however we felt they were a bit expensive but would have them again.

Facilities on site were great but we did feel that the extras were quite steep in terms of price. It's great that a fire pit is delivered to you etc and taken away and replenished but that's £15 a night which we paid and would again in this location but have stayed at many other places where you can take your own materials or not pay as much. This also had to be out by about 11pm which we had no issue with but stops you perhaps making the most of it if for example your fire might have lasted a little longer but we totally understand that this keeps it quiet. We loved the hot tub and this was the main draw for us at this point on our trip - this is a £30 a night extra - so we wanted to make the most of it and we did and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Our stay was great and we would like to stay again and do the same or explore the area as we didn't feel we had time to do that on this trip. The views and peace and quiet were just what we needed. We would recommend the site to others however we did feel that some of the extra charges were a tad too much even though we understand and appreciate they might be needed to keep the business going etc....Read less.

"Excellent stay"

L Howell - Stayed Aug 2017

18/08/2017

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and even helped me transport my heavy rucksack to my pitch. The wash facilities were excellent and very welcome to a backpacker!

"Brilliant find in beautiful area."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

17/08/2017

Amazing facilities. It's obvious that a good deal of thought went into planning the wash block. Probably the best I've ever seen.

It is all just well thought out and our pitch was huge. We will......Read more.

Amazing facilities. It's obvious that a good deal of thought went into planning the wash block. Probably the best I've ever seen.

It is all just well thought out and our pitch was huge. We will definitely return....Read less.

"Family stay in wigwam"

Mrs T Thompson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

15/08/2017

Had a great stay for 4 nights in 2 wigwams. We had hoped to get one with a hot tub until we realised that the 2nd family would have to pay for use of the hot tub too, which seems a bit unfair. We......Read more.

Had a great stay for 4 nights in 2 wigwams. We had hoped to get one with a hot tub until we realised that the 2nd family would have to pay for use of the hot tub too, which seems a bit unfair. We would have liked the fire pits to be provided FOC as we have had this at other wigwam sites.

Overall the wigwam and facilities were great 🙂...Read less.

"Great site: amazing location, facilities and atmosphere, friendly staff"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

15/08/2017

Really great site with good facilities and a great service. Wigwams and amenity block were spotlessly clean and the whole site was tidy and very well kept. Plenty of space for everyone, beautiful......Read more.

Really great site with good facilities and a great service. Wigwams and amenity block were spotlessly clean and the whole site was tidy and very well kept. Plenty of space for everyone, beautiful views, nice play area and animals for kids. Good walks from the doorstep. Plus homemade pizzas are ace! Will be back....Read less.

"Cowan clan"

Mr S Cowan - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

14/08/2017

We came with my two great nieces aged 14 & 11. They both loved it. The site was well laid out and meticulously clean. Friendly helpful staff and fantastic location. Would use again and recommend.......Read more.

We came with my two great nieces aged 14 & 11. They both loved it. The site was well laid out and meticulously clean. Friendly helpful staff and fantastic location. Would use again and recommend. Well done....Read less.

"Immaculate"

Ms C Davies - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

14/08/2017

Five star rating did not disappoint, a lovely campsite with excellent facilities 😀

"."

D Chick - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

14/08/2017

.

"Best showers ever! We loved the snoring pig."

Dr P Weeks - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

14/08/2017

Very up-market campsite. Comfortable, clean, superb facilities, wonderful situation. One minor quibble - we booked a premium site but were placed on an overflow site (21A) that was smaller. are we......Read more.

Very up-market campsite. Comfortable, clean, superb facilities, wonderful situation. One minor quibble - we booked a premium site but were placed on an overflow site (21A) that was smaller. are we due a refund?...Read less.

"Well located"

Ms H Lewis - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

14/08/2017

We stayed for 2 nights in a lotus belle tent. These tents feel quite separate from the rest of the camp, as they are sort of separated by a high bank. The views from these tents are the best in the......Read more.

We stayed for 2 nights in a lotus belle tent. These tents feel quite separate from the rest of the camp, as they are sort of separated by a high bank. The views from these tents are the best in the camp. Wigwams are only looking at each other, whereas we had a great view of the sunset. The tent is spacious and you can stand up in it. It had a kettle and a toaster, a heater and a cool box.

It's definitely a family friendly place. Children played and wandered quite happily all around the camp, and people obviously felt safe there.

It's a short walk to Hadrian's wall, with a pub en route. Also fairly well placed if you want to drive further into Northumberland as we did.

It seemed very clean and well maintained and well organised....Read less.

"lots of hidden extras"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

14/08/2017

The place is absolutely spotless, beautiful setting, animals, park etc perfect for kids. All on level ground so no steep hills for toddlers etc. Not got a lot in the surrounding area e.g places to......Read more.

The place is absolutely spotless, beautiful setting, animals, park etc perfect for kids. All on level ground so no steep hills for toddlers etc. Not got a lot in the surrounding area e.g places to buy food etc. There were lots of hidden extras which really put us off, we have been to a few wigwam holidays in other places and never had to pay for a fire pit! surely that is part of the glampin experience and at £15 per night its not cheap, then £10 for a bbq which we got around 7pm at night after waiting couple hours, went out in the morning to get some sausages for breakfast on bbq but it was gone when we came back at 9.30am! when we askedd if it could be returned as we assumed when paying to hire it you actually get the use of it we were told its only for 1 evening so we would have to pay again to get it back, surely a 24hr hire would at least be more desirable. i mean we didnt even have it 12hours. We also had no stepping stones or pathway to walk along to get to hot tub so ended up in bare feet on rather jaggy chip stones, to which my 12 year old hurt his foot. Like i say we have been to other wigwam camps and never been charged as much as we had here so to have little sneaky extra costs is not fair i dont think, we would happily return to places like loch tay etc where we have stayed before but we wouldnt consider coming back here and we wouldnt recommend it due to these things....Read less.

"Great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

13/08/2017

An excellent find when in the area

"Excellent site in a wonderful location"

Mrs D Lagdon - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

11/08/2017

This is an ideal site to explore Hadrians Wall. The staff are really friendly and the petting farm is excellent for children as is the playground. The pizzas made on site at the weekend are really......Read more.

This is an ideal site to explore Hadrians Wall. The staff are really friendly and the petting farm is excellent for children as is the playground. The pizzas made on site at the weekend are really good. The nearby pub is really good value for money and has a good atmosphere and good quality food. Haltwhistle itself is a little disappointing as it appears to lack character and a number of shops were closed or shut early. It needs to be given a boost as it has the potential to be a lovely little town....Read less.

"A peaceful few days away"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

09/08/2017

Really enjoyed our 5 night stay ay Herding Hill Farm. Was really impressed with the site and all its facilities. The shower/toilet block was heated- which was lovely after a cold, wet andwindy day on......Read more.

Really enjoyed our 5 night stay ay Herding Hill Farm. Was really impressed with the site and all its facilities. The shower/toilet block was heated- which was lovely after a cold, wet andwindy day on the wall. There was a never ending supply of hot water -so no race to get there first before the hot water ran out! . The power showers were better than mine at home. Everything was spotlessly clean. Our pitch was flat and we had some amazing views of the surrounding area. Five minute drive or twenty minute walk from Hadrian's Wall. Ten minute walk to Haltwhistle or the nearby pub of Milecastle Inn. Hope to return in the near future with our son who will definitely enjoy looking at your menagerie of animals...Read less.

"best showers ever"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2017

07/08/2017

good site , turned up without booking after walking hadrians wall exellent showers better than most hotels excellent surrounding countryside few pubs near by would definately ......Read more.

good site , turned up without booking after walking hadrians wall exellent showers better than most hotels excellent surrounding countryside few pubs near by would definately consider returning nearby haltwhistle has train station...Read less.

"2 Night stay"

Miss C Lowrey - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

07/08/2017

fabulous 2 night stay with boyfriend and second night with friends. hot tub was brill! definitely recommend

"Excellent campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

07/08/2017

A

"Awesome place"

Mrs J Welsh - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

06/08/2017

Loved Herding Hill Farm, will definitely be back. My two sons aged 9 & 11 enjoyed it very much. Staff are helpful & lovely 😊

"Great place"

Miss A Douglas - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

04/08/2017

Lovely little campsite very much great for kids and families also dog friendly. Safe and spotless clean. Durning our 3 night stay cannot really find one thing needing improving.

"Ben"

Mrs H Allan - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

Great camping and caravan site. Lovely quiet spot. Fantastic scenery. Within walking distance of Haltwhistle and Hadrian's Wall. Would definitely stay again!

"Short break near Hadrian's Wall"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

Friendly, helpful staff. On-site pizza service was useful. Lovely pizzas. My brother's children enjoyed the play area. Wigwams were clean and the toilet was especially welcome for those of our group......Read more.

Friendly, helpful staff. On-site pizza service was useful. Lovely pizzas. My brother's children enjoyed the play area. Wigwams were clean and the toilet was especially welcome for those of our group who have small children. Campsite is close to Hadrian's wall and the recently opened visitor centre "The Sill". We had an acceptable lunch at the Twice Brewed pub which is next door to "The Sill".

It would have been nice to be able to have an open fire. (However, I believe that fire pits are acceptable)....Read less.

"Beatifiul environment"

Mister A Riedstra - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

Good camping Place. It was a pity that we has to pay for wifi.

"A great campsite"

Mrs C Stannet - Stayed Jul 2017

02/08/2017

For the second year in a row Herding Hill Campsite was a brilliant campsite. All the facilities were permanently immaculate, the staff both friendly and helpful, and the site well maintained. With......Read more.

For the second year in a row Herding Hill Campsite was a brilliant campsite. All the facilities were permanently immaculate, the staff both friendly and helpful, and the site well maintained. With the children's playground locked at 9:00pm, by 10:30pm the campsite was usually quiet, meaning that I could get a good nights sleep. The pizzas available on Friday and Saturday evenings are tasty and a novel touch. There are local shops and small supermarkets available just down the road in Haltwhistle, with larger supermarkets available nearby in Hexham. Hadrians Wall is within easy walking distance, although there are some steepish stretches en-route, and during the main tourist season, the local bus will drop you at the top of the road if you ask the driver. Having stayed at a number of campsites across the country over the years this has to be, in my opinion, one of the best I have stayed at....Read less.

"The Richards"

Mr S Richards - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

31/07/2017

Even though the weather was terrible it totally didn't spoil our time away, the park was perfect, fabulous surroundings and the cleanliness was remarkable. Can't fault the park at all

"Great Site with many positives"

Mr J Campbell - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

31/07/2017

I came to the site with my daughter to stay within one of the Wooden Wigwams for a bit of Glamping.

The location was easy to find, close to the lovely town of Haltwhistle. The staff were very......Read more.

I came to the site with my daughter to stay within one of the Wooden Wigwams for a bit of Glamping.

The location was easy to find, close to the lovely town of Haltwhistle. The staff were very friendly and the washroom amenities where of a really high standard and catered for everything you would need. With clean and well maintained washing and showering areas, My daughter also enjoyed the ability to help out feeding the animals they had at the site which looked in healthy and happy conditions.

The wooden wigwam itself was really clean and again well maintained, with plenty of room for just us two but could easily cater for a bigger number without difficulty.

Would easily go to this site again for future hoildays....Read less.

"July 2017"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

31/07/2017

We were really happy with Herding Hill - it was really top class! The facilities were definitely among the best we have encountered in any camp site (and we have stayed in quite a few)! Reakky......Read more.

We were really happy with Herding Hill - it was really top class! The facilities were definitely among the best we have encountered in any camp site (and we have stayed in quite a few)! Reakky excellent staff, a fantastic location and all-round excellent camp site! Thoroughly recommend it!...Read less.

"short stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

30/07/2017

Brilliant for families with under 12s. good local bus service and comfortable, secure camping pods. It would have been helpful to know in advance that pizzas were only available Fri and Sat or have......Read more.

Brilliant for families with under 12s. good local bus service and comfortable, secure camping pods. It would have been helpful to know in advance that pizzas were only available Fri and Sat or have more food options on site. We were saved by local pizza delivery. Otherwise, a fantastic visit....Read less.

"Windy"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

23/07/2017

Park is a bit bleak and doesn't have much shelter. Shop is not great and reception has no access at times

"Short Stay"

Mr J Reilly - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

22/07/2017

Just a Friday and Saturday night stay. Busy site. Very impressed. Will return.

"Well run site in beautiful location"

Mrs S Crosbie - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

22/07/2017

Lovely site close to Hadrian's Wall. Very clean and tidy. Loved the animals on site, the dog walking area and the walk to Haltwhistle. Hadrian's Wall bus stops right at the gate.

"Fantastic campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

18/07/2017

We camped for 3 nights in a tent and had a brilliant time. Toilet facilities were spotless as was the campsite. Our two boys loved helping to feed the animals. We will definitely return to this site.......Read more.

We camped for 3 nights in a tent and had a brilliant time. Toilet facilities were spotless as was the campsite. Our two boys loved helping to feed the animals. We will definitely return to this site. Staff were all very helpful and friendly....Read less.

"Great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

16/07/2017

Love the underfloor heating in the showers and the pizzas delivered to your pitch!

"Great location for Hadrian's Wall"

Mrs C Parsons - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

15/07/2017

We had a lovely stay at Herding Hill Farm. It's quiet at night and the wash facilities are excellent. Very helpful having laundry facilities too. Our kids loved the animals and the play area and......Read more.

We had a lovely stay at Herding Hill Farm. It's quiet at night and the wash facilities are excellent. Very helpful having laundry facilities too. Our kids loved the animals and the play area and the adults loved the nearby pub as the food was great. Very close to Hadrian's Wall and the museums and a challenging but rewarding walk through strikingly beautiful scenery. We will definitely be back here again....Read less.

"Unexpected Pleasure"

Mr A Jose - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

14/07/2017

I have lived in the north east all my life and I am so surprised I had not heard of this little gem earlier. Situated in the center of Hadrians country with easy access to Newcastle and Carlisle, as......Read more.

I have lived in the north east all my life and I am so surprised I had not heard of this little gem earlier. Situated in the center of Hadrians country with easy access to Newcastle and Carlisle, as well as the local attractions of Haltwhistle and Corbridge and Hexham it is the perfect base to explore Hadrians wall and the Dark skies around it. We stayed here for two nights just to get to the Haltwhistle Carnival easily but were wonderfully surprised by the neatness, cleanliness and friendliness of the facilities and staff. would definately visit again ITS A 10 FROM ME...Read less.

"Great for kids, booking management needed attention"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

14/07/2017

We had a great stay at Herding Hill. The site is perfect for children and well placed to explore Hadrian's Wall. The onsite warden made us welcome and we utilized the pizza delivery service which was......Read more.

We had a great stay at Herding Hill. The site is perfect for children and well placed to explore Hadrian's Wall. The onsite warden made us welcome and we utilized the pizza delivery service which was very convenient.

However, we had specifically booked to see friends who live in Australia and had asked for pitches in close proximity. On arrival we were allocated the only remaining pitch, with no acknowledgement of our arrangement and were informed that we needed to have arrived earlier to secure our preferred pitch, something that wasn't communicated in advance....Read less.

"Dad and Son weekend break 7-9 July 2017"

Mr D Raymont - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

14/07/2017

A fantastic weekend in a beautiful place on a great camp site. We have been coming to Herding Hill pretty much since it opened, and the overall offering has got better and better. We were blessed......Read more.

A fantastic weekend in a beautiful place on a great camp site. We have been coming to Herding Hill pretty much since it opened, and the overall offering has got better and better. We were blessed with the weather and it was lovely to see my boy roam round the site on his bike in complete safety, with the balance between car access and safety for kids maintained. The staff were excellent, pizzas great and you would struggle to find better wash facilities at any site. In years gone by you could get a cooked breakfast on site, and a return to this would yet further enhance what was a blissful weekend. See you next year!...Read less.

"Super weekend"

L Wittcomb - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

13/07/2017

Animals, walks, pubs, sunshine it's heaven, what can I say?

"Good family site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

12/07/2017

Great site for families with children. Lots of animals to see, great playground. Maybe a bit hectic at busy holiday times for older couples, especially if you are pitched right outside the......Read more.

Great site for families with children. Lots of animals to see, great playground. Maybe a bit hectic at busy holiday times for older couples, especially if you are pitched right outside the playground 😊...Read less.

"Best few nights away!"

D Bush - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

10/07/2017

Perfection

"Helpful staff"

J Briggs - Stayed with friends, Jun 2017

07/07/2017

It was windy when we went and on the Saturday afternoon, when we were out, our tent started to blow down. The staff, aided by fellow campers secured it firmly and emailed me to tell me what they had......Read more.

It was windy when we went and on the Saturday afternoon, when we were out, our tent started to blow down. The staff, aided by fellow campers secured it firmly and emailed me to tell me what they had done and why.

They are the best toilet facilities I have ever been to at a campsite - clean, lots of hot water and powerful showers....Read less.

© 2006 - 2017 CampStead