Herding Hill Touring, Camping & Glamping Site

260 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 260 reviews in the last 12 months

98% would recommend this site

96% would stay here again

Excellent

86%

Very Good

13%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Weekend in motorhome"

Mrs C Powell - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

26/03/2020

Excellent facilities loved all the animals very close to hadrian wall.

"Brilliant"

Mr R Walker - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

26/03/2020

Dd

"First visit in campervan"

Mrs A Dixon - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

19/03/2020

We love staying here. It's a tranquil little site with everything you need. We found the wigwams were getting too expensive but stayed in campervan this time and price was reasonable. Immaculatly......Read more.

We love staying here. It's a tranquil little site with everything you need. We found the wigwams were getting too expensive but stayed in campervan this time and price was reasonable. Immaculatly clean shower block with the added bonus of a sauna. Perfect for those chilly nights or after a long walk. We will definitely be back!...Read less.

"Great family time"

Mrs P Thompson - Stayed with family, Mar 2020

12/03/2020

We stayed here for the first time last weekend the 7th march as a family of 5, we hired the wigwam with running water and hot tub. It was amazing it was our first time glamping and already looking to......Read more.

We stayed here for the first time last weekend the 7th march as a family of 5, we hired the wigwam with running water and hot tub. It was amazing it was our first time glamping and already looking to return. The man and woman were so friendly on site and were very helpful on arrival. We fed the alpacas the donkeys and goats. The wash facilities on the site were immaculate there was showers and toilets cor both men and woman but in the woman section there was also 2 baths which is fantastic, there is also a shared sauna that is on on an evening. Our wigwam was brilliant and cosy we had a toilet in with our wigwam so made it alot easier with us having kids. Hkt tub was nice and clean and kids loved that too,, we hired a fire pit for the evening and it was there waiting for us, everything was just so organised and already looking to go back...Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Miss A Durrant - Stayed with family, Mar 2020

12/03/2020

We have stayed at herding hill a few times now, we absolutely love the place. The wigwams are brill, very clean, warm and cosy. The staff are all lovely, they go out of their way to make sure you......Read more.

We have stayed at herding hill a few times now, we absolutely love the place. The wigwams are brill, very clean, warm and cosy. The staff are all lovely, they go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. We recently took our toddler with us and she loved the animals, hot tub and nearby walks. Its an ideal get away for anybody....Read less.

"Review"

Mr J Scherer - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

11/03/2020

Excellent site for exploring Hadrian's Wall and related attractions.

"Hadrian's Wall in early Spring"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

11/03/2020

This is one of the friendliest campsites that we know and within walking distance of one of the finest stretches of Hadrian's Wall - we will definitely be returning soon

"Luxury camping near Hadrian’s Wall"

L Marshall - Stayed with partner, Feb 2020

06/03/2020

Stayed here for 3 nights in February. First class camping facilities, very well thought out, immaculately clean and warm. Good WiFi. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Decent dog walks and off road......Read more.

Stayed here for 3 nights in February. First class camping facilities, very well thought out, immaculately clean and warm. Good WiFi. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Decent dog walks and off road walk into Haltwhistle. Only 1 mile from Hadrian’s Wall joining it at Cawfields Quarry and a good walk to Housesteads Roman Fort. Can be very muddy in places but well worth the effort, amazing scenery and good sections of the wall to follow. We even enjoyed a welcome coffee from a man in a van at Steel Rigg car park. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this site....Read less.

"One night in feb"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

05/03/2020

First booking in seemed expensive , but after seeing location and facilities probably worth the money

"Overnight stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Feb 2020

29/02/2020

Impulsive stay for one night with partner and two dogs.

Perfect getaway despite the wild weather with cosy accommodation and lovely hot tub, gazing at the stars when the clouds parted.

Staff......Read more.

Impulsive stay for one night with partner and two dogs.

Perfect getaway despite the wild weather with cosy accommodation and lovely hot tub, gazing at the stars when the clouds parted.

Staff couldn't be more welcoming and helpful.

...Read less.

"Great campsite"

Mr T White - Stayed with partner, Feb 2020

27/02/2020

Very friendly staff and extremely clean and tidy up to date amenity block, ideal location for all of Northumberland sites and activities.

"Highly recommended"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Feb 2020

27/02/2020

This was our 2nd visit to the site this winter to walk Hadrians Wall. Despite poor weather, we had a great time, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There was a bit of water on our pitch, which the......Read more.

This was our 2nd visit to the site this winter to walk Hadrians Wall. Despite poor weather, we had a great time, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There was a bit of water on our pitch, which the staff told us about. We were able to keep away from it, and it did drain off fairly quickly. The staff as before were very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended this site....Read less.

"Stie for Motor Home"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Feb 2020

27/02/2020

Lovely site with very helpful and friendly staff. We thought the animals were a lovely attraction, children would love helping at feeding time!

We enjoyed the onsite sauna and the short walk to......Read more.

Lovely site with very helpful and friendly staff. We thought the animals were a lovely attraction, children would love helping at feeding time!

We enjoyed the onsite sauna and the short walk to the nearby pub. We are looking forward to returning in the summer to explore more of the Hadrian's wall walks....Read less.

"Herding Hill Farm"

I Wild - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

27/02/2020

Excellent stay even though weather was awful. Sauna was much appreciated. Staff exceptional.

"Second time round"

Miss G Athey - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

27/02/2020

This is our second stay at this lovely site, haven't had the chance to experience this site in summer and at full swing so definitely wanting to try this. We also come during winter months for a nice......Read more.

This is our second stay at this lovely site, haven't had the chance to experience this site in summer and at full swing so definitely wanting to try this. We also come during winter months for a nice relaxing get away. We were welcomed with a big smile on our wet afternoon by the owners who were very friendly and told us all the information that we required eg. Sauna opening times and animal feeding times. It was deeply expressed to us if there was anything else we needed or any concerns to get in contact this is where you can see the passion of wanting to please all guests in making their stay as pleasant as possible. We got settled in out water running wigwam with hot tub basic but clean and comfy with the essential equipment microwave, kettle and toaster again optional extras eg.croc box, celebration package can be added to your stay if need be. This site has animals alpachas, sheep and chickens to name a few where you can pet and feed twice a day if you wish, children's playground, sauna opening times for this will be told on arrival for your duration. Thier is the option to hire the BBQ we are doing this next time we come here. For people without toilets in their cabins the main toilet and shower facilities are excellent, warm and clean. We enjoyed using the hot tub but can see this is starting to age with time and weather one of our seat inside the hot tub was stained quite badly looks quite off putting. This site is so peaceful and plenty of areas to wander to, can't wait to come back in the summer to gain full use of all the facilities on offer here...Read less.

"Excellent Family Break!"

Mrs D Bedir - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

26/02/2020

This place is great for families, we stayed in a running water wigwam with a hot tub. The wind and rain didn't put us off enjoying the hot tub. The shower/toilet facilities are top notch - the......Read more.

This place is great for families, we stayed in a running water wigwam with a hot tub. The wind and rain didn't put us off enjoying the hot tub. The shower/toilet facilities are top notch - the family bathroom came in very handy. Showers/baths all very clean. Our kids enjoyed the play area, even in the rain and wind, the hot drinks and sweet machine came in handy for a midnight feast. No need to pack loads of food, we stocked up on essentials in the nearby Sainsburys just a few minutes up the road. We will be back in the warmer weather! Had an excellent cosy family break....Read less.

"Family get together"

J Haynes - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

25/02/2020

Stayed at Herding Hill with our son, his wife and grandchildren, Lodge lovely and warm when we arrived, Check in easy and staff very friendly and informative, nothing too much trouble. The children......Read more.

Stayed at Herding Hill with our son, his wife and grandchildren, Lodge lovely and warm when we arrived, Check in easy and staff very friendly and informative, nothing too much trouble. The children fed the animals every morning and evening even though the weather was pretty wet, it just added to the fun. The Hot Tub was also a great success, we stayed for four nights and it was not long enough, will definitely be back....Read less.

"Amazing stay just wish we could have stayed longer"

Miss J Metcalf - Stayed with partner, Feb 2020

24/02/2020

We stayed in one of the wigwams with running hot water and hot tub and loved it! The owners are lovely and even printed us out a map of the best walks from the camp site to help us. It was ideally......Read more.

We stayed in one of the wigwams with running hot water and hot tub and loved it! The owners are lovely and even printed us out a map of the best walks from the camp site to help us. It was ideally situated only a short walk away from Hadrian’s Wall and Haltwhistle. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t great but that didn’t bother us as the hot tub soon warmed us up alongside the sauna in the 5* toilet block (so clean and played music which was a nice surprise). The wigwam itself was also very clean and more than what I’d hoped for when booking the trip. On the drive home we were even looking to see when we can go back! Highly recommend and will definitely be returning later on in the year....Read less.

"."

Dr I McKinnon - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

21/02/2020

.

"Perfect - will be going back!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Feb 2020

20/02/2020

Genuinely such a lovely place to stay - staff were helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. Had an amazing weekend and staying here definitely helped.

"Fabulous"

Mrs K Birch - Stayed with partner, Feb 2020

19/02/2020

Cannot recommend this site highly enough.

Site managers and wardens were so friendly and helpful and WC and shower facilities were spotless and super warm, the entire site was neat and tidy, even......Read more.

Cannot recommend this site highly enough.

Site managers and wardens were so friendly and helpful and WC and shower facilities were spotless and super warm, the entire site was neat and tidy, even in the midst of winter.

A 20 minute walk will bring you to one of the best preserved sections of Hadrian’s Wall, it snowed when we visited which was wonderful.

Already planning a return visit, a real 5 star site.

...Read less.

"A lovely get away with all ages."

Mrs J Milburn - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

16/02/2020

We decided to visit this lovely little campsite & stay in a wigwam. Non of us had done it before & it was definitely something we would do again (in the summer next time). Couldn’t fault the place,......Read more.

We decided to visit this lovely little campsite & stay in a wigwam. Non of us had done it before & it was definitely something we would do again (in the summer next time). Couldn’t fault the place, was so beautiful & well thought out, the fact you can feed the animals was one of my favourite parts as my daughter loved it, it was very cold so had to cut it short! I would suggest adding on the bedding, so much easier, clean & the pillows are out of this world!

My only negative was the little knocker on the door that’s meant to be used to hold the door open, they constantly made a noise during the night with the rain/windy ratterling it, we had to tie a t shirt around it in the end.

We will definitely be back, especially to try your pizzas out as we heard so much good things about them!...Read less.

Sue, replied to this review on the 16 February 2020

Thank you for your lovely review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, despite the......Read more.

Thank you for your lovely review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, despite the weather. We very much appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative and are keen to ensure we do whatever we can to make a stay with us a great experience for our Guests.

In answer to your comments about the metal ring on the door, which were added to the Wigwam cabins following comments from people about wanting to be able to keep the doors open, we will now be looking at ways of trying to stop the rattling especially when we have a wind on the site.

We look forward to seeing you all again in the not too distant future....Read less.

"Clean and warm"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

13/02/2020

Good stop , not much to do with kids around there apart from walking to the wall , small play park

"Amazing"

Mr R Fenby - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

13/02/2020

Took my 6 year old daughter and we Absolutely loved it.

The staff are amazing helpful and friendly . If you ring ahead and have a hot tub they will have it ready for you. In our case we had a pod......Read more.

Took my 6 year old daughter and we Absolutely loved it.

The staff are amazing helpful and friendly . If you ring ahead and have a hot tub they will have it ready for you. In our case we had a pod and they put the heating on for us and came out in the dark after normal hours to welcome us as we was running a little late .

When they feed the animals on site they interact brilliantly with the kids who can help.

The site is gorgeous and clean without being stuck up !

Amenities are super clean with baths showers family room heated floors the lot

Pods or wigwams are far better than I imagined with double glazing and black out blinds. Running water n toilet

It’s a 10 minute walk to the local pub for a family meal

You can hire fire pits and bbq if you want them . The list goes on . Beautiful place . Amazing people definitely going back in the summer.

1 little negative for the sake of honesty. WiFi not the best but 4g is fine and to be fair I didn’t miss it...Read less.

"Family"

S Wood - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

07/02/2020

We had a fabulous weekend visit to Herding Hill Farm family stayed in a pod with hot tub and we stayed in our caravan, the wardens were lovely and couldn't do enough for us the site is just right for......Read more.

We had a fabulous weekend visit to Herding Hill Farm family stayed in a pod with hot tub and we stayed in our caravan, the wardens were lovely and couldn't do enough for us the site is just right for a visit to many attractions around Hadrian's Wall.

The amenities were spotless with an added bonus of a sauna which we had to ourselves on the second night and was switched on just for us.

Our grandchildren loved the hot tub the playground and feeding time for the animals which was lead by a very friendly and patient warden.

Looking forward to visiting again and maybe joining in some of the events they hold...Read less.

"Family Fun in comfort"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jan 2020

06/02/2020

We were a family of 8 including Grandma and Grandad with the lodge and a touring pitch. Young and old alike had such a marvellous weekend together despite the awful weather. The lodge is spotlessly......Read more.

We were a family of 8 including Grandma and Grandad with the lodge and a touring pitch. Young and old alike had such a marvellous weekend together despite the awful weather. The lodge is spotlessly clean, has everything you could need and is large enough to host simultaneous conversations, Lego builds and board games amongst the group without you feeling you were on top of each other. The children loved their first outdoor hot tub experience (in the rain!). The site is beautiful, very peaceful and the touring pitches much larger than you get elsewhere. The highlight of the weekend is the animal feeding especially Bubble - the site managers and wardens are just brilliant with the kids. They let them collect the eggs from the chicken coop which the adults then enjoyed for breakfast! There is a pub serving delicious food just half a mile down the road and the local area is brilliant for walks and cafes. We have created some great memories as a family and will be back. Thanks Sue, Phil, Nigel, Jean, Clive and Jodie. You make the site as special as it is....Read less.

"Lovely site, lovely location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Dec 2019

09/01/2020

We wanted somewhere to stay for New Years Eve that was away from it all and this site fitted the bill perfectly. Peaceful, stunning place for stargazing, a mile from Hadrians Wall and a short drive......Read more.

We wanted somewhere to stay for New Years Eve that was away from it all and this site fitted the bill perfectly. Peaceful, stunning place for stargazing, a mile from Hadrians Wall and a short drive from some of the best visitor sites. We also drove to the seaside for the day! There's a friendly local 1/2 mile away. All in all, an ideal place for any length of stay. It's the second time we have stayed at Herding Hill and hopefully it wonlt be the last...Read less.

"Lovely site in special area."

Mr S Crossley - Stayed with friends, Dec 2019

08/01/2020

Great toilet block and spacious feel to pitches.

"New year caravanning"

Mrs L Sellers - Stayed with family, Dec 2019

07/01/2020

We spent 5 nights over new year in the site. Always clean and tidy. Excellent facilities. Nice big sinks for cleaning the cadac grill plate. Looking forward to going back again.

"Great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

07/01/2020

In the heart of Britain this is a great site for visiting the roman heritage

Friendly staff, clean facilities, plenty of walking trails, good size pitches

"Stunning site in a stunning location"

A Hall - Stayed with family, Dec 2019

06/01/2020

We booked in for New Year, with a group of friends and family, and could not have asked for more. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, staff were friendly, helpful and always available......Read more.

We booked in for New Year, with a group of friends and family, and could not have asked for more. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, staff were friendly, helpful and always available to deal with any enquiries. The Wigwam and hot tub were spotless as were the communal areas, which incidentally, were the best I've ever experienced on a site! We struck lucky with the weather which meant we spent our evenings stargazing from the comfort of a hot tub and our days taking in the stunning scenery along Hadrian's Wall. There's also a lovely walk to Haltwhistle through the dene where there are some lovely dog friendly pubs. The Milecastle Inn is the closest pub, but it's not dog friendly. Definitely worth venturing along to The Twice Brewed Inn for some really good beer (can't comment on the food, due to a power cut when we were there - typical) and super dog friendly! We'd stayed at Herding Hill before, but brought along 6 newbies and every one of them is planning a return visit - even the "I don't do camping" member of our group :)...Read less.

"A fantastic New Year’s Eve break"

Mrs D Hayward - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

06/01/2020

This is a beautiful site in an amazing location if you are in a motorhome you are quite isolated and may consider taking your car to tour some of the amazing local attractions in the area

"Amazing place"

R Soulsby - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

05/01/2020

We stayed for new years eve with our dog and we loved it. Lovely rural setting and very cosy wigwams with extra touches like heating on when you get there and hot tub ready to get in.

I even loved......Read more.

We stayed for new years eve with our dog and we loved it. Lovely rural setting and very cosy wigwams with extra touches like heating on when you get there and hot tub ready to get in.

I even loved that they put music on in the toilet block because it gives that little extra privacy and also makes any little noise disappear when your in alone and could get scared.

The 4 members of staff (sue and husband and the wardens - sorry forgot names!) were so friendly and helpful and really made the stay by going that extra mile. Already booked for next year!...Read less.

"Excellent campsite"

Mr M Bragg - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

05/01/2020

We booked this campsite as a last minute thing. It is priced at a slightly higher price rate than that of other sites, but once at the site you can understand why. The site & facilities are superb......Read more.

We booked this campsite as a last minute thing. It is priced at a slightly higher price rate than that of other sites, but once at the site you can understand why. The site & facilities are superb (Probably the best showering facilities I have experienced at a campsite). Everywhere was spotlessly clean & well maintained. Showers had really good water pressure & underfloor heating. Small things such as having a hairdryer are also helpful.

They also have a few extra luxuries such as a private sauna & hot tubs on request. We only used the sauna, which was good value for money at £5 for 1 hour of private use.

You are also invited to watch them feed the animals which would be great for families with children (llamas, donkeys, chickens were amongst the animals we saw around site).

All of the staff were very welcoming, friendly & helpful.

The surrounding area is simply beautiful. As keen walkers, we were excited to explore! A 20 minute walk & you can reach Hadrian’s wall. You are just a short car journey away from other attractions such as the Sill, Vindolanda & Lanercost Priory. There is also a pub a 5 minute walk from the site that serves hot food. We will definitely be back to explore some more!...Read less.

"Herding Hill Holiday"

Mrs A Farrier - Stayed with family, Dec 2019

03/01/2020

Just what we needed... a relaxing location during the busy holiday period to allow us to unwind and reconnect! Fabulous site with great staff and beautiful animals. Dark skies are brilliant and the......Read more.

Just what we needed... a relaxing location during the busy holiday period to allow us to unwind and reconnect! Fabulous site with great staff and beautiful animals. Dark skies are brilliant and the lodge and hit tub were perfect. We also use this site in summer with our campervan as the facilities are spotless. Looking forward to returning soon, The Farriers!...Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Dec 2019

01/01/2020

We stayed at Herding Hill over the Christmas period. We had a camper van and also booked one of the wigwam pods for our stay. We got a very friendly welcome on arrival. The facilities were fantastic......Read more.

We stayed at Herding Hill over the Christmas period. We had a camper van and also booked one of the wigwam pods for our stay. We got a very friendly welcome on arrival. The facilities were fantastic from the cleanliness of showers and toilets with added advantage of baths. The wigwam was spotlessly clean and well equipped. We took full advantage of the hot tub. Lots to see and do roundabout with some great walks.

Can not recommend this site enough....Read less.

"Perfect winter seclusion"

Ms C Gordon - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

19/12/2019

We did a last minute booking to Herding Hill and couldn’t have been more pleased. Sue and her crew were here extremely welcoming and helpful and the wigwam was perfect for our dogs and us. To sit......Read more.

We did a last minute booking to Herding Hill and couldn’t have been more pleased. Sue and her crew were here extremely welcoming and helpful and the wigwam was perfect for our dogs and us. To sit in the hot tub under the stars was magical....Read less.

"Peaceful site"

Miss L Waddilove - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

19/12/2019

Lovely place to wrap up, walk and watch the stars, good quality accommodation and facilities.

"Fall inGreat Britain"

Mr M Fitzgerald - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

14/12/2019

Very nice camp site internet was a bit sketchy I’m thinking because of the wind

"review"

Mr S Tombs - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

08/12/2019

Very helpful staff especially when all water pipes froze overnight.

"Beautiful Place"

Miss J Fisher - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

06/12/2019

The wigwam and hot tub were immaculately presented and both were readily warmed and cosy on arrival (even though it was -5 outside). The site owners are absolutely lovely and can't do enough to make......Read more.

The wigwam and hot tub were immaculately presented and both were readily warmed and cosy on arrival (even though it was -5 outside). The site owners are absolutely lovely and can't do enough to make your stay a pleasure. The amenities block is beautiful and well heated. We didn't get time to help with feeding the animals or exploring the local area, but we will definitely be back in the summer as we were blown away by the site, owners and scenery....Read less.

"Herding Hill Farm"

B Green - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

02/12/2019

We arrived at Haltwhistle late in the day and were recommended by a local business to try this site. We were very pleased with the ease of booking in, the site and facilities. We were scheduled to......Read more.

We arrived at Haltwhistle late in the day and were recommended by a local business to try this site. We were very pleased with the ease of booking in, the site and facilities. We were scheduled to travel North the next day but decided to stay for an extra night and spent a little more time exploring the local area....Read less.

"Dog walk"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

21/11/2019

Great place, great staff, great location, just great, but could do with an area to let your dogs off a lead.

"Walk on Hadrian's Wall"

L Donnelly - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

21/11/2019

We chose the campsite partly because of it’s location close to the section of the wall we wished to walk and more importantly because we had been recommended it by a friend and fellow camper van......Read more.

We chose the campsite partly because of it’s location close to the section of the wall we wished to walk and more importantly because we had been recommended it by a friend and fellow camper van owner

We were delighted with both the site and our walk

The staff were knowledgable and friendly and the facilities were excellent my wife especially loved a hot bath after our somewhat cold wet eight mile walk

The Milecastle Inn was another great asset only half a miles walk away with good food fine beer and wine

Open fire and friendly service

All in all a very successful weekend

We will be back...Read less.

"First and last trip unfortunately"

Miss C Blakey - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

14/11/2019

Wouldn’t recommend this place if you are a “night owl” - hot tub time curfew and “Noise police“ ie wardens patrolling the full area made us feel like children being put to bed. Being very cold we had......Read more.

Wouldn’t recommend this place if you are a “night owl” - hot tub time curfew and “Noise police“ ie wardens patrolling the full area made us feel like children being put to bed. Being very cold we had no choice but to sit in the small hut whispering. Completely ruined our time here so wouldn’t return. I suggest maybe an adults only area where you don’t have to be on lockdown by 10.30pm

Nice place especially if you have children. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. But it’s just not for a couple like us unfortunately so we won’t be returning...Read less.

Sue, replied to this review on the 19 November 2019

We are sorry that you felt that you could not enjoy our facilities or your stay with us to the......Read more.

We are sorry that you felt that you could not enjoy our facilities or your stay with us to the full. As you are aware, through our terms and conditions and welcome information, we are a family friendly campsite and we do ask our Guests to respect all other visitors who are staying on the site by keeping noise to a minimum between 10.30pm and 8am. Our Wardens do undertake a walk around the site around 10.45pm for several reasons;

• to complete an end of day safety and security check

• to ensure the Amenities Block is clean and equipped for our

guests for the following day

• to remind people, if necessary, of our quiet policy and request

they keep noise to a low conversation level.

Although we do ask our guests to vacate the hot tubs by 10.30pm many people then take the opportunity to sit, with a fire pit, outside their wigwam cabins to enjoy the night sky etc.

We do thank you for submitting your review as we appreciate all comments and feedback.

...Read less.

"Would recommend"

R Mackay - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

13/11/2019

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night in one of the wigwams with a hottub. The site was very easy to find, the staff were lovely and we were pleasantly surprised with how nice the wigwam was. It......Read more.

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night in one of the wigwams with a hottub. The site was very easy to find, the staff were lovely and we were pleasantly surprised with how nice the wigwam was. It was warm and cosy and there was plenty of room for the two of us and a large dog.

The hot tub was fantastic, very warm and closed off so we didn't feel too much of the cold (we stayed in November!)

Would recommend this to couples, families and groups of friends. A perfect little getaway!...Read less.

"Walking the wall"

J Phillips - Stayed with friends, Nov 2019

13/11/2019

We booked herding hill because it was central to walking the wall and a good base after a cold or wet days walking ..Warm clean and pet friendly with my 2 dogs .It is close to a pub and only a short......Read more.

We booked herding hill because it was central to walking the wall and a good base after a cold or wet days walking ..Warm clean and pet friendly with my 2 dogs .It is close to a pub and only a short drive to other eating establishments ....Read less.

"Clean and value for money"

Mr B Davison - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

11/11/2019

We only managed to stay 1 night due to a family emergency so left early however the facilities were more than suitable for us as a family with a young child. We hope to return again especially in the......Read more.

We only managed to stay 1 night due to a family emergency so left early however the facilities were more than suitable for us as a family with a young child. We hope to return again especially in the summer as I imagine it would be lovely....Read less.

"Fantastic weekend"

Miss S Patterson - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

07/11/2019

We stayed for the halloween/bonfire weekend and it was fab. We were really impressed with activities for the kids - halloween crafts and trail with prizes. Pizzas from the site were delicious,......Read more.

We stayed for the halloween/bonfire weekend and it was fab. We were really impressed with activities for the kids - halloween crafts and trail with prizes. Pizzas from the site were delicious, delivered to your caravan! The bonfire and short firework display were great followed by burgers and hot dogs. We had a great weekend. My little girl who is 2 and a half loved it, especially been able to feed the animals twice a day. We’ll be back...Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead