The Hideaway @ Baxby Manor

123 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 123 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

88%

Very Good

11%

Average

1%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Great family site"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2021

18/06/2021

This is a lovely family site. Each pitch has plenty of space and the site doesn't feel busy even when full. The pre-booked pitches are great for guaranteeing space next to friends and the facilities......Read more.

This is a lovely family site. Each pitch has plenty of space and the site doesn't feel busy even when full. The pre-booked pitches are great for guaranteeing space next to friends and the facilities are more than sufficient for the number of pitches. The unique thing about this site was that it was actually quiet between 11pm and 7am!...Read less.

"Relaxation at The Hideaway at Baxby Manor"

Mrs J Adams - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

16/06/2021

This site is perfect for getting away from it all, pitching up the tent, sitting round the camp fire and enjoying the peace and quiet of rural Yorkshire. It has lovely facilities and very friendly......Read more.

This site is perfect for getting away from it all, pitching up the tent, sitting round the camp fire and enjoying the peace and quiet of rural Yorkshire. It has lovely facilities and very friendly staff who can't do enough for you. It is easy access with a car to either lovely market towns (Thirsk, Ripon and Knaresborough), big cities (York and Harrogate) and only an hour to the coast of Scarborough so you can do everything you want to do or just sit and relax in the site. Definitely be back....Read less.

"Perfect"

Mr A Pickup - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

13/06/2021

A lovely site, well run, immaculately maintained, great attention to detail. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Very eco friendly. Well thought out covid plans. We'll definitely be back!!

"Sunny half term break"

Mr A Davies - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

11/06/2021

The site is beautifully maintained and the facilities are the highest quality I've ever used on a campsite.The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced and the food shack offers good quality......Read more.

The site is beautifully maintained and the facilities are the highest quality I've ever used on a campsite.The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced and the food shack offers good quality food,but opening hours are very limited. Tents are well spaced. I like the lack of artificial lighting.

Recommendations are to include local map+rough outljne of footpaths on the info leaflet provided.I do like the Eco ethos, but would be nice if footpaths surrounding site were cleared. Tried walking them,but impassable paths round site due to nettles.

EXcellent site on the whole,would recommend espevially to families....Read less.

"AMAZING"

Miss J Ryalls - Stayed with partner, May 2021

10/06/2021

We had an absolutely wonderful time, it is by far the best campsite we have been too and the staff are so welcoming! The facilities are fab also!

It had everything we needed and we enjoyed the......Read more.

We had an absolutely wonderful time, it is by far the best campsite we have been too and the staff are so welcoming! The facilities are fab also!

It had everything we needed and we enjoyed the Cider too! We will definitely be returning soon hopefully. Thank you Barney and the team....Read less.

"Another fabulous visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

10/06/2021

We regularly stay in the sanctuary. It’s the best location for a chilled out, peaceful break. As ever we loved the quiet and the bird life especially the woodpeckers this time and the song thrush......Read more.

We regularly stay in the sanctuary. It’s the best location for a chilled out, peaceful break. As ever we loved the quiet and the bird life especially the woodpeckers this time and the song thrush providing a beautiful soundtrack to the weekend. Really looking forward to our next visit in July....Read less.

"Excellent beautiful campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2021

10/06/2021

This was one of the best campsites we have ever stayed in. We will definitely be back!

"Great first visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2021

08/06/2021

Had a great first camp at Baxby pitch number VE3 Electric pitch, the hookup was further away than I would have expected, but I asked for an additional extension lead no problem. All facilities where......Read more.

Had a great first camp at Baxby pitch number VE3 Electric pitch, the hookup was further away than I would have expected, but I asked for an additional extension lead no problem. All facilities where very clean and up to date, shop had everything you could ask for and more ( beer, ice cream, inflatable beds etc). Great night sleep NO Noise after 11pm perfect.

Only thing I would ask is for maybe a little music or radio around the facilities.

Thanks Barney & team see you soon...Read less.

"Very enjoyable stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2021

08/06/2021

Very enjoyable stay. Such a peaceful place to stay.

"N/A"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2021

08/06/2021

N/A

"A perfect place to get away"

Mrs R Bickerdike - Stayed with family, May 2021

07/06/2021

The Hideaway at Baxby Manor is nothing short of idyllic! This was our second visit, having stayed in the Family Pod last summer, and this time we brought our tent. The pitch sizes are very generous......Read more.

The Hideaway at Baxby Manor is nothing short of idyllic! This was our second visit, having stayed in the Family Pod last summer, and this time we brought our tent. The pitch sizes are very generous and it was great to have the fire pit to roast marshmallows! The setting is beautiful and the kids can run free and play in the stream. The facilities were spotless and there is a brilliant covid-safe system with traffic lights to let you know when it is free to go in. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. We have already booked our next trip to Baxby and we can't wait!...Read less.

"Beautiful and peaceful"

Mrs K McCaughan - Stayed with family, May 2021

07/06/2021

A beautiful campsite full of sunshine and wildlife. Hobbit holes were brilliant. Showers lovely. River a bit steep to access and not the place for paddling I imagined, a few too many thistles, but......Read more.

A beautiful campsite full of sunshine and wildlife. Hobbit holes were brilliant. Showers lovely. River a bit steep to access and not the place for paddling I imagined, a few too many thistles, but great for cooling our beers. A few rules but all sensible and not too stressful at all, great recycling system. Could have done with a few more bbq supplies in the shop, and the cafe hut was only open for one of the 4 days we were there but that's not much complain about. A lovely campsite....Read less.

"Nice setting, a little over priced"

Miss R Wesley - Stayed with family, May 2021

06/06/2021

Nice site, calm and relaxing but over-priced compared to similar sites we’ve visited. Was looking forward to breakfast from the cafe which was advertised on the website as being open everyday of half......Read more.

Nice site, calm and relaxing but over-priced compared to similar sites we’ve visited. Was looking forward to breakfast from the cafe which was advertised on the website as being open everyday of half term. Upon checking in I asked the member of staff what time it would be open the next morning and was told that it would be open from 7.30 ... woke up the next day, had a walk over, and it was closed!!...Read less.

"Fabulous! Our children wish they lived there."

Mr J Moore - Stayed with family, May 2021

06/06/2021

.

"Wonderful stay"

Mrs J Brierley-Warren - Stayed with family, May 2021

05/06/2021

Lovely layout and well spread out . Love the natural feel of the place. Safe for children to run around. Facilities are clean and modern which makes camping a lot nicer for all. Helpful staff. Nice......Read more.

Lovely layout and well spread out . Love the natural feel of the place. Safe for children to run around. Facilities are clean and modern which makes camping a lot nicer for all. Helpful staff. Nice to see a good focus on the environment in the choices made within the campsite. Think there are opportunities for a children’s play park or some wooden climbing/balancing equipment in the future?...Read less.

"First stay at The Hideaway"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2021

04/06/2021

Fantastic campsite/eco glamping at The Hideaway. beautiful location on the edge of North Yorkshire moors so plenty to do & explore. We Stayed in the family pod which was very comfortable., loved the......Read more.

Fantastic campsite/eco glamping at The Hideaway. beautiful location on the edge of North Yorkshire moors so plenty to do & explore. We Stayed in the family pod which was very comfortable., loved the fire pit! The site has extremely clean facilities & also a convenient shop as well as takeaway coffee shop with various good food options. Will definitely be back!...Read less.

"Still the best campsite"

Mrs V Cummings - Stayed with family, May 2021

04/06/2021

Myself and my family have been to the Hideaway several times now and are already booked for next year. If you are looking for a bit of peaceful beautiful rural heaven then this is perfect. Barney and......Read more.

Myself and my family have been to the Hideaway several times now and are already booked for next year. If you are looking for a bit of peaceful beautiful rural heaven then this is perfect. Barney and his team are very helpful and have the campsite absolutely pristine. Each plot has loads of room and a fire pit. It never disappoints....Read less.

"Lovely site, great facilities, nice people"

Miss S Thompson - Stayed with partner, May 2021

29/05/2021

We've been a few times to the Hideaway and keep coming back as the charm of the place and the people never fail to impress. This is the first time we've stayed in a Hobbit House (usually camp) and we......Read more.

We've been a few times to the Hideaway and keep coming back as the charm of the place and the people never fail to impress. This is the first time we've stayed in a Hobbit House (usually camp) and we were very pleased. It was a lovely treat with the right mixture of glamping and camping as each house has a firepit for cooking in the outdoors but a lovely warm log burner for keeping the house warm throughout the night. We've already recommended to several friends. The staff at the Hideaway are lovely people who care lots about the environment and keep the site and facilities tip top. The facilities are one of the cleanest we've ever seen. We'll definitely be back....Read less.

"A stress free stay"

Mr K Thompson - Stayed with partner, May 2021

29/05/2021

I booked ecopod for my stay, but it was ashame I couldn't buy the weather. Staying in May, and not having the weather meant the pod was quite cold, and with no heating made for some chilly......Read more.

I booked ecopod for my stay, but it was ashame I couldn't buy the weather. Staying in May, and not having the weather meant the pod was quite cold, and with no heating made for some chilly mornings.

The only other challenge was the spiders. Now, the hut wasn't used for over a year due to covid, so a quick whisp around with a portable vaccum would have helped.

Despite these challenges, the staff were amazing, lovely and very accomodating. The site is well positioned and very calm and quiet. I love their no music policies - although our neighbors did have a TV on the last night - and you get to hear the music of the trees and birds for your stay.

Fire wood is well priced, and the shop has everything you need if you've forgotten anything. If you need a bit shop, Easwolding or Thirsk are your options. 15 and 30 minutes away.

The facility block is well equipped. Freezers and fridges and well maintained. There is a culture of taking shoes off before going into the loos - not had this at other campsites - but I like it. Not keen on the overshoes though which are communal - seems contradictory to handle these when covid is around and others have used them.

Finally, we missed the food hut which opened after we left. Great idea as it serves breakfasts and dinners - I can imagine it is good when you need a little help.

It's a good site, great to get away and relax. Perfect for children and families. But I'd go in a tent next time to avoid the spiders. ;)...Read less.

"Fire pit"

Mr G Pilkington - Stayed with partner, May 2021

27/05/2021

It was ace

"Rufus’s Roost"

Mrs L Virabi - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

30/04/2021

We’ve just spent an amazing weekend in Rufus’s Roost as a family of four.

We were married at the Hideaway 5 years ago in May and this is the first time we’ve managed to get back (between lockdown......Read more.

We’ve just spent an amazing weekend in Rufus’s Roost as a family of four.

We were married at the Hideaway 5 years ago in May and this is the first time we’ve managed to get back (between lockdown and having babies) it was an amazing site then and it’s even better now. Barney and the team have made some excellent improvements to the site, including the treehouse we were lucky to stay in.

We barely left the treehouse with the exception of pottering into the private woods to build a den and toast marshmallows in the fire pit each day and a walk down to the stream for the kids to play in.

The treehouse itself is perfect for adults and kids alike. The slide and Den kept the kids (who are both under five) entertained for hours and it would easily keep older kids happy. There is an Xbox, mini fridge, and loads of space to run about outside. We all loved the hot tub and staring out at the views as well as making our own pizzas in the pizza oven.

One evening we ordered food from Mark Westaby (recommended on the hideaways website) which arrived warm, plated and was delicious.

The space is really impressive. The beds are comfy and warm, it’s beautifully designed and has lots of lovely finishing touches. Everything is thought of, it feels homely and was immaculate on arrival.

I could easily come back to the treehouse or any other part of the site with the kids as a family or with friends.

Barney is a great host. As friendly as when we first met him over 6 years ago when we took a walk round the site to plan our wedding. You can tell he’s extremely proud of what’s he’s built here and so he should be. It’s a gorgeous place and we’ve made some memories for a lifetime.

Thanks Barney and the team.

Louise, Darius and the kids....Read less.

"Quick escape away"

Mrs K Beck - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

03/11/2020

We took the last minute opportunity of a one night stay in the Hobbit House. We were we a little dubious due to no electricity but to be honest this made our stay more enjoyable. We spent time......Read more.

We took the last minute opportunity of a one night stay in the Hobbit House. We were we a little dubious due to no electricity but to be honest this made our stay more enjoyable. We spent time chatting as a family around the outside firepit, toasting marshmallows. Inside was very clean and the log burner made for a cosy stay on a cold and wet October evening. A small portable gas ring and kettle was available for hot drinks. Wash and toilet facilities were immaculate. very friendly welcome on arrival and check out. Grounds were decorated for Halloween. I haven't scored certain comments as we did not use any of these. Will certainly be returning....Read less.

"Great communication"

Mrs C Arrowsmith - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

02/11/2020

Obviously everything is different at the minute with Covid. All the new measures were very clearly communicated to us before our arrival and were easy to follow once we were on site. The Hideaway is......Read more.

Obviously everything is different at the minute with Covid. All the new measures were very clearly communicated to us before our arrival and were easy to follow once we were on site. The Hideaway is a very special place to stay and this trip was no different. They even had a great spooky trail for the kids which we had a great time doing....Read less.

"Hobbiton stay"

Miss I Vallumroed - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

02/11/2020

Our family booked a last minute stay in the Hobbiton, and we all really enjoyed it! Nice and clean accommodation and wash facilities, we all loved the fire pit outside. Would definitely return.

"Loved our stay in the eco pod"

Mr I McIntosh - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

02/11/2020

We booked a much needed short break at the manor in an eco pod, and it was just what we needed.

Lovely ans quiet, the pod was great and the staff were amazing.

"Brief stay at the hideaway"

Mrs T Abbott - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

01/11/2020

We had a fantastic evening around the fire.

fabulous for young children around the site and local area. For more you had to get in the car. Would have been great for cycling, but weather not so good......Read more.

We had a fantastic evening around the fire.

fabulous for young children around the site and local area. For more you had to get in the car. Would have been great for cycling, but weather not so good at this time....Read less.

"Amazing Place To Stay"

Mr M Annison - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

29/10/2020

This is our third stay at The Hideaway and second in a Hobbit House. The staff are so friendly and helpful and have really worked hard to ensure the site still runs well and safely through these......Read more.

This is our third stay at The Hideaway and second in a Hobbit House. The staff are so friendly and helpful and have really worked hard to ensure the site still runs well and safely through these current times.

The Hobbit Houses are amazing fun and a great place to stay. They are very comfortable and cosy with the log burner....Read less.

"Our first visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

We had a great stay. The Hobbit holes are very cosy and although it was cold outside the fire kept us warm. The facilities are some of the best and cleanest that we've ever used, and lovely and warm......Read more.

We had a great stay. The Hobbit holes are very cosy and although it was cold outside the fire kept us warm. The facilities are some of the best and cleanest that we've ever used, and lovely and warm inside. There are lots of walks you can do straight from the campsite. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the recycling facilities amazing and very much appreciated. The only negative of whole stay was the smell of the Himalayan balsam which was was everywhere by the river....Read less.

"Regularly going back"

Mr A Goode - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

09/10/2020

This was the fifth time we had been to the Hideaway. Lots of space for pitches, fire pits to warm your feet at night and clean well looked after facilities. The surrounding countryside and villages......Read more.

This was the fifth time we had been to the Hideaway. Lots of space for pitches, fire pits to warm your feet at night and clean well looked after facilities. The surrounding countryside and villages with great pubs to eat in if you don’t want to cook make it a great place to stay. The campsite is spacious, quiet and as the name says hidden away from the world but only a short walk to a great pub. What more could you want....Read less.

"A wonderful campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

05/10/2020

This is a wonderful site to enjoy the simplicity of camping. Each pitch has a firepit and so every pitch is well spaced out. This site is always clean and much pride is taken in this. The owner......Read more.

This is a wonderful site to enjoy the simplicity of camping. Each pitch has a firepit and so every pitch is well spaced out. This site is always clean and much pride is taken in this. The owner and staff are happy, helpful and friendly.

A lot of thought has been taken in making sure they can stay open by adhering to the government's covid 19 guidelines. These new changes are not going to detract from your stay as really they are common sense and there to keep you safe.

The onsite shop is only small but has plenty to offer in basics, bits and bobs for the kids, camping essentials and local produce including cider.

It is the perfect site to unwind, enjoy nature, have a walk, nearby villages have pubs, a playpark and outdoor exercise equipment is close by in the village too....Read less.

"Resent stay"

Mrs W Robson - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

Loved our stay in the hobbit house

"Very peaceful but certain circumstances really ruined the holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

We stayed in the sanctuary which was very enjoyable and it was lovely to be so close to nature. We frequently saw barn owls and other wild life on our stay. I would say that the only issue that we......Read more.

We stayed in the sanctuary which was very enjoyable and it was lovely to be so close to nature. We frequently saw barn owls and other wild life on our stay. I would say that the only issue that we had with our stay was upon arrival, we was told that for almost the full duration of our stay, channel 4 would be there filming for four in a bed, upon been told this we didn’t mind, but even if we did, we had already arrived so there was not much we could about it. The next day when the camera crew arrived, they did seem to be situated infront of the main building a lot, this soon proved to present itself as an issue for us, as it made us feel like we were restricted in when and if we could use the main building, which contained the toilets and showers. I would say that this issue did impact our holiday quite a bit and on reflection, it seemed like more attention was paid to the camera crew and the show, than was to us and other paying customers on the site. It did unfortunately really ruin our stay and had we been told before we arrived, we may have changed our dates but unfortunately we were not made aware until we had already arrived....Read less.

"Magical woodland retreat in splendid isolation!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

The Treehouse exceeded expectations; even better than the photographs on the website! High end futures & fittings, thoughtful welcome hamper; comfortable beds . Stunning location with amazing views......Read more.

The Treehouse exceeded expectations; even better than the photographs on the website! High end futures & fittings, thoughtful welcome hamper; comfortable beds . Stunning location with amazing views from the hot tub. The hidden slide into the games room was a huge hit with adults & children alike!...Read less.

"Eco pod"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

Friendly, extremely clean and Covid secure

"Spacious pitches immaculate facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

30/09/2020

Lovely and quiet when we were there, EHU, campfires and chemical waste disposal, perfect for our campervan

"Little piece of paradise"

Mrs J Marley - Stayed Sep 2020

24/09/2020

If you want to be close to nature in a peaceful, secluded spot. This is the place for you. It’s a little slice of paradise.

"A lovely campsite"

Ms P Bradburn - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

We really enjoyed our stay at The Hideaway. A positive was the emphasis upon tents rather than caravans. Staff were friendly and helpful. The COVID-19 risk was managed well. It is well located to......Read more.

We really enjoyed our stay at The Hideaway. A positive was the emphasis upon tents rather than caravans. Staff were friendly and helpful. The COVID-19 risk was managed well. It is well located to access sites of interest in North Yorkshire....Read less.

"Last minute getaway"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Beautiful setting and being able to have a real campfire made this site special.

Beautifully clean and well kept.

"Great stay"

Mr T Crosland - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Great campsite with lovely facilities. Loved the layout of the campsite.

"Amazing ECO site"

Mrs K Wilkinson( nee Hughes) - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Beautifully maintained site. Quality of the products in keeping with the eco ethics is just wonderful. Stayed here 7 years ago & it’s just got better. Visited during COVID pandemic & probably never......Read more.

Beautifully maintained site. Quality of the products in keeping with the eco ethics is just wonderful. Stayed here 7 years ago & it’s just got better. Visited during COVID pandemic & probably never felt safer. Barney & his team are wonderful, super friendly & knowledgable. Can’t wait to return in 2021!...Read less.

"1st time camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

It was my 1st time camping for a lot of years found the park quiet and so relaxing and the surrounding areas wonderful .

"Lovely"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

The park was in a great location and the COVID precautions made us feel very comfortable and safe. Facilities are great and the washrooms and toilets spotless

"Great Campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

The best we’ve been to in the UK! So clean and well managed, and the plots are large and it’s very peaceful.

"Fabulous staycation"

Mrs T Gordon - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Fabulous well run site , a quiet retreat in a lovely area

"Immaculately clean and very well organised"

Mrs D Taylor-Woods - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

We had been wanting to stay in a hobbit house for ages and were very excited when we found availability. All the information and videos beforehand gave us a really good idea of what to expect. The......Read more.

We had been wanting to stay in a hobbit house for ages and were very excited when we found availability. All the information and videos beforehand gave us a really good idea of what to expect. The systems that had been put in place to make it safe were brilliant. Other customers seemed to respect it well too.

The hobbit house was big enough for 4 of us and comfortable. The log burner was very welcome as the evenings got cool.

We have stayed at loads of camping and glamping places and this is by far the cleanest and best organised! We will be back....Read less.

"Love the hideaway"

Mrs B Coverdale - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Yet another fantastic break at the hideaway. Barney and the team have made adjustments to the site to keep everyone safe during the pandemic,yet still allowing you the freedom to enjoy your stay .......Read more.

Yet another fantastic break at the hideaway. Barney and the team have made adjustments to the site to keep everyone safe during the pandemic,yet still allowing you the freedom to enjoy your stay . Much appreciated. Brenda and Ed....Read less.

"Would highly recommend"

Mrs D Brogden - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Absolutely amazing if you want to go back to nature. So peaceful, beautiful and extremely well looked after. We booked for 4 nights and ended up booking another 2 nights

"Beautiful site"

Mrs J Clark - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

We have stayed at The Hideaway lots of times and it never disappoints. It is thoughtfully and beautifully set out. The showers and loos are spotless with lovely hot showers, the washing up facilities......Read more.

We have stayed at The Hideaway lots of times and it never disappoints. It is thoughtfully and beautifully set out. The showers and loos are spotless with lovely hot showers, the washing up facilities couldn't be better. Due to covid we've missed the fridges and freezers and the (fabby!) drying room but Barney has given 110% into the safety of campers. Awesome traffic light system for the bathrooms with eco sanitizing products in every cubicle and shower - we couldnt have felt safer. The Hideaway is by far the best campsite that we've ever been to and we can't recommend it highly enough....Read less.

"Romantic, private camping pitches"

Ms F Ellis - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

13/09/2020

The whole place was lovely but I especially enjoyed our pitch in ‘The Sanctuary’ at the far end of the small site. We were celebrating our anniversary and sought a site with a private pitch......Read more.

The whole place was lovely but I especially enjoyed our pitch in ‘The Sanctuary’ at the far end of the small site. We were celebrating our anniversary and sought a site with a private pitch surrounded by trees with space to put a big bell tent up! The Hideaway did not disappoint. The bathrooms and showers were super clean, warm and comfortable - best campsite bathrooms I’ve ever visited! There is a very strict no noise policy - clearly not always adhered to if the many reminders are anything to go by 😅 fortunately we were there for peace and it was very quiet during our stay. We will definitely return and have already recommended the Hideaway to friends who have booked hem themselves in. Thanks Barney!...Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead