The Hideaway @ Baxby Manor

104 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 104 reviews in the last 12 months

96% would recommend this site

96% would stay here again

Excellent

83%

Very Good

12%

Average

6%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Perfect family break"

Miss J Butler - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

Lovely location, peaceful (wildlife aside) and private sites, clean and high standard of facilities

Owner replied to this review on the 11 September 2021

Hi Joanne,

Thank you for your feedback, really glad you enjoyed your stay (despite the noise of......Read more.

Hi Joanne,

Thank you for your feedback, really glad you enjoyed your stay (despite the noise of abundant wildlife - we do advise people that the hedgehogs can be very noisy snuffling about, chuntering and crunching on slugs, the Owl Opera starts at dusk and the Morning Chorus is at dawn)

What can we say? Our wildlife is thrilled to be here and likes to sing about it and we are working on an agreement with our Happy Hooligan Hedgehogs to stop the nighttime visits.....but the Hoggies may not listen.

See you next time!

Glamping Chiefs...Read less.

"Baxby Manor"

Mrs E Pickersgill - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

You had a lot to live up to as our friends rated you very highly…..but we loved it too! Stayed on V2 pitch which felt lovely and secluded although still not far to walk to the facilities. Barney was......Read more.

You had a lot to live up to as our friends rated you very highly…..but we loved it too! Stayed on V2 pitch which felt lovely and secluded although still not far to walk to the facilities. Barney was very helpful and friendly. The shack’s food was delicious (and the bleeper for when your order was ready was a novelty for our 7 year old!).

Already recommended you to a fair few people who are already looking at booking. We will definitely be back! Thankyou...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 11 September 2021

We are really glad we lived up to your expectations, Emma, it makes all the hard work worth it when......Read more.

We are really glad we lived up to your expectations, Emma, it makes all the hard work worth it when we get positive feedback such as yours :-)

Looking forward to greeting you again soon, for another Magical stay at The Hideaway!

Glamping Chiefs...Read less.

"August 2021"

Mrs C Snowdon - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

02/09/2021

My wife and I saw the hideaway on a catch up edition of 4 in a bed , and with it only been an hour away from home we decided to book 2 nights in an eco pod and 2 in a hobbit house . Wonderful......Read more.

My wife and I saw the hideaway on a catch up edition of 4 in a bed , and with it only been an hour away from home we decided to book 2 nights in an eco pod and 2 in a hobbit house . Wonderful experience , staff couldn’t be more helpful and inviting . We booked another trip as soon as we got home...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 02 September 2021

Thank you Claire for your feedback.

And thank you for booking to stay with us again.

We are......Read more.

Thank you Claire for your feedback.

And thank you for booking to stay with us again.

We are pleased to read you had a wonderful experience and glad you found us helpful and welcoming, that’s what we aim for! :-)

See you again soon!...Read less.

"Beautiful"

Mrs S Pike - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

01/09/2021

Absolutely beautiful campsite. Lovely warm showers that where immaculately clean. Helpful staff and really lovely size pitches with the added bonus of a fire pit. Can’t wait for next years return......Read more.

Absolutely beautiful campsite. Lovely warm showers that where immaculately clean. Helpful staff and really lovely size pitches with the added bonus of a fire pit. Can’t wait for next years return visit...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 02 September 2021

Thank you Sadie!

We can't wait to see you again at Baxby manor. :-)

"Beautiful Campsite, with one major flaw..."

Mr A Ginn - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

01/09/2021

We (2 adults and a dog) had a mostly wonderful time at Baxby: it's a lovely area, with great walks, nice pubs, and some great little towns all within striking distance. But for us there was one major......Read more.

We (2 adults and a dog) had a mostly wonderful time at Baxby: it's a lovely area, with great walks, nice pubs, and some great little towns all within striking distance. But for us there was one major shortcoming in the whole experience: Pitch invaders!

Every day for the week of our stay, we had to try to stop children (and sometimes their parents) walking through/ across our pitch (like, between chairs and tent). We picked the site because it looked quite, remote and secluded - but the space our tent was in was very high traffic! One group of children were running through, we asked them not to, they returned with their parents demanding an explanation for why we stopped their children, saying that staff/ managers had advised them to access surrounding streams and woodlands via our pitch. We had email correspondence with management to say that (of course) people shouldn't be - but it was very regrettable that the bottom line on that correspondence was that we should tell people to keep off, rather than any sort of support/ intervention from the staff. All in all, it kind of ruins your holiday when you're sitting fireside with a G&T after a lovely day's walk, only to find yourself thrust in a confrontation with children and their parents - everyday. In the end, we were quite glad to go home.

From a security perspective, it was quite disconcerting to come back to our pitch every day and see evidence that lots of people had been running through - and even to see children running into our guy lines etc - potentially hurting themselves and damaging our camping equipment.

And just to clarify - I don’t think the problem was with a particular family - it was different families every day that were running through/ across our area. The problems are a) that they've tried to fit too many pitches on the site, at the expense of easy/ direct/ signed access to every pitch, b) inadequate children's play facilities on site, so one of the main things for children to do is play in / near the stream (which sucks if you're tent is next to the stream, as you get a wall of noise from 9am -6pm) and c) inadequate signage/ explanation of the acceptable routes around the site (e.g. something in the welcome pack that shows which paths/ route are public/ for everyone, or which are just for accessing pitches).

...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 02 September 2021

Hi Andrew,

Thanks for your feedback.

We are sorry you had to endure people walking through your......Read more.

Hi Andrew,

Thanks for your feedback.

We are sorry you had to endure people walking through your pitch.

As Barney explained on the phone when you called him this should not happen but as we did not hear anything from you after the phone call we assumed everything was OK. We wish you had come to Reception and told us you were still having issues as we would have sorted it and your stay with us would have been much improved.

We are actually running at a reduced capacity again this year and the area you were pitched on only has 6 out of the 10 pitches in use. Looking at the bookings whilst you were here shows no one on the two pitches next to you, T1 (your booked pitch), T2, and T3. So bar one tent for one night on the 26th on pitch T3 you actually had three pitches to yourself, that is an area of 23m x 23m, and these dimensions do not include the required 6m fire-safety space between pitches;

T1 10mx5m

T2 6mx10m

T3 7mx8m

The other pitch dimensions are stated below. Have you been to many other campsites, or are you new to camping? The reason we ask is our pitches are much more spacious than many campsites and as ten of these pitches are currently not bookable meaning everyone has even more space it is certainly not a case of us trying to fit in too many pitches. We have voluntarily reduced pitch numbers these last two years as we value our guests safety over income. You would be very hard-pushed to find a campsite that offered you as much space as we offer you at The Hideaway.

T4 6mx8m

T5 6mx8m

T6 6mx12m

T7 5mx10m

T8 5mx12m

T9 5mx10m

T10 5mx8m

T11 5mx8m

T12 5mx8m

T13 8mx7m

T14 6mx9m

T15 10mx12m

T16 8mx8m

T17 8mx8m

T18 10mx9m

T19 10mx9m

T20 10mx9m

T21 10mx9m

T22 10mx9m

T23 10mx9m

T24 12mx10m

T25 12mx10m

T26 12mx10m

T27 6mx8m

T28 6mx8m

T29 6mx8m

T30 8mx8m

TE1 7mx10m

TE2 7mx10m

TE3 6mx10m

TE4 8mx8m

TE5 8mx8m

TE6 8mx10m

TE7 10mx8m

TE8 10mx8m

V1 6mx8m

V2 6mx9m

V3 10mx9m

VE1 8mx8m

VE2 8mx8m

VE3 10mx6m

There are many things for children to do and we do not advertise as having a play area on site. Children (and parents!) are encouraged to embrace ’Natural play’ and we certainly endorse this at Baxby manor, it is what we are all about, as clearly stated on the website. As you were a young couple with no children can we suggest that should you stay with us again you consider looking at booking into The Sanctuary, our child-free camping area? Booking any camping trip in August (unless specifically an Adults only site) does mean you will come across a lot of children, that is unavoidable. This is the reason we created The Sanctuary, for people with no children, or for those who need a break from their own children!

We will certainly look into your suggestion of explaining to people/signage for routes to the stream, thank you for this.

Thanks again for your feedback and hopefully we will see you again, perhaps on a pitch in The Sanctuary next time :-)

Baxby Manor...Read less.

"Jacksons"

Mrs C Jackson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

01/09/2021

Another great stay at the hideaway, this time in a hobbit house instead of a tent. Accommodation was everything we needed and the pizzas from the shack are amazing, great stay at a fantastic site.

Owner replied to this review on the 02 September 2021

Thank you Charlotte,

Lovely to have you back and hopefully we will see you again soon!

Baxby manor

"Lovely little stay"

Mrs H Irwin - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

28/08/2021

Stayed for 1 night in a dog friendly hobbit house. Location great, amenities good. Wish the cafe on site had opened on the morning so I could have had a nice coffee. Staff all really friendly and......Read more.

Stayed for 1 night in a dog friendly hobbit house. Location great, amenities good. Wish the cafe on site had opened on the morning so I could have had a nice coffee. Staff all really friendly and helpful. Felt really secluded in our hobbit house which was great. Toilets and showers lovely and clean. Shop well stocked....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 28 August 2021

Hi Helen, thanks for taking the time to give us such great feedback-a well stocked shop, lovely......Read more.

Hi Helen, thanks for taking the time to give us such great feedback-a well stocked shop, lovely clean amenities, seclusion and friendly helpful staff are what we are all about.

I am sorry you were unable to get a nice coffee from Matt, but he was ill that day after his Covid jab-sadly, that was the only time off he has taken this season!

You would have been able to get a coffee from the vending machine, or buy coffee in the site shop as alternatives :-)

Glad you enjoyed your stay in the Hobbit Hut with your dog, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Glamping Chiefs...Read less.

"The Hideaway @ Baxby Manor"

S Adams - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

27/08/2021

The Hidaway is a beautiful park, with fantastic facilities and lovely staff. The pitches are great and it is great not to be in an open field. However that said I found it to be very unrealistic with......Read more.

The Hidaway is a beautiful park, with fantastic facilities and lovely staff. The pitches are great and it is great not to be in an open field. However that said I found it to be very unrealistic with the rules, I took my girls camping myself and the check in time of 2pm is late considering the check out is so early at 11am!!! It is not a hotel where you just have your suitcase to pack, it was quite a lot to manage and I wonder what the park needs to do in them 3 hours with the pitch? I understand having the times for the glamping pods so they can be cleaned. Also I found the rule to take shoes off to go the the toilet very strange, I understand it is the keep the facilities clean but I would always make my children put shoes on in a public toilet. All things aside we had a Lovely stay and would probably book again. We visited Monk Farm Park too which was fabulous, only 15mins drive from the site and definitely worth a visit...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 27 August 2021

Hi Stacey,

Thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback.

We are happy to read that you......Read more.

Hi Stacey,

Thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback.

We are happy to read that you found the facilities excellent and part of the reason for this is because we ask people to remove outdoor shoes. We do say on the website and in the confirmation email you receive when you book that we ask people to do this. It helps to keep it clean for your fellow campers. We do also suggest that you bring some flip-flops or crocs to change into, again this is mentioned in the booking confirmation email and the video you receive 24 hours before your arrival.

The checking in and checking out times are pretty standard for a campsite. We have to clean all the facilities, cut the grass/pitches and carry out any necessary minor maintenance in those three hours, which in all honesty is sometimes not long enough. We also have to go for supplies and because we are in the middle of nowhere we are unable to get deliveries to Baxby Manor so we have to drive into town and pick up supplies ourselves. This is a 35 mile round trip.

Hope that explains a little about the running of a campsite and you now understand why things are the way they are.

Hopefully we will see you again....Read less.

"Very controlled setting"

Mrs N Fry - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

26/08/2021

We were met on arrival with a long list of don’ts. Not the best manner and set the holiday off to a sour start.

The pitch was big and spacious. Wouldn’t stay here again due to lack of interesting......Read more.

We were met on arrival with a long list of don’ts. Not the best manner and set the holiday off to a sour start.

The pitch was big and spacious. Wouldn’t stay here again due to lack of interesting walks from campsite and no views. Also too far from both moors and Dales. Personally prefer a more relaxed off grid campsite....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 26 August 2021

Hello Naomi,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We always like to read guests’......Read more.

Hello Naomi,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We always like to read guests’ feedback, it makes us smile ??. Everyone loves a bit of non-constructive criticism! Lol

We’re not sure what this “long list of do’s and don’ts” is however the only things we ask of people, (and these few things are clearly set out on the website AND in the pre-arrival video sent out to you 24 hours prior to arrival so should come as no surprise) is;

Please abide by our no noise after 10pm policy; please keep all music personal so as not to annoy your neighbours; please wear masks inside the ablutions block and please clearly mark essential items for the fridge and freezer with your departure date.

The reasons for asking you to do these few things is, we believe, pretty obvious and more than likely the very reason for you rating the cleanliness, neatness, and the quality of the facilities highly? They are not for OUR benefit and safety but for the benefit and safety of your fellow campers. Perhaps that doesn’t concern you though.

As for the lack of interesting walks from the campsite; we have a long list of walks in reception, did you come to ask anyone in reception about walks? We would have gladly shown you some. There are hundreds of miles of walks from the campsite, you can even walk to the Moors from the site if you so wish! It is only 2 miles away….??

Unfortunately being too far from the Yorkshire Dales and the North York Moors (2 miles) is not something we can do much about, perhaps do a little more research next time before booking somewhere?

As for the “no views”; that’s not really something we can do much about either, and it is not something we say we offer. What we do offer is a secluded sheltered site bounded by trees and a stream in rural North Yorkshire. Again; research, Naomi.

Anyway I hope we have helped you in realising that doing a bit more research before you book somewhere is paramount to an enjoyable holiday.

We hope you find a great campsite in the future with good views and not too far from the Moors & the Dales....Read less.

"Great family holiday, will be back"

Mrs A Winstanley - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

26/08/2021

Great base for the week, very clean and loved the wild meadow between pitches to give a bit of shelter to each pitch. Great wildlife around and loved the pizza/ morning snack bar for a treat day......Read more.

Great base for the week, very clean and loved the wild meadow between pitches to give a bit of shelter to each pitch. Great wildlife around and loved the pizza/ morning snack bar for a treat day option.

Very close drive to lots of attractions and still a lot of things left to do so we will be back to visit again...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 28 August 2021

Good afternoon Alison,

We are so glad you had a 'great family holiday' and 'will definitely be......Read more.

Good afternoon Alison,

We are so glad you had a 'great family holiday' and 'will definitely be back' :-)

It makes all the hard work worth it when we hear that our guests have had a great time and found our hospitality and location 'a great base' for exploring the local area.

We have great staff and lots of local attractions 'a very close drive' despite our secluded environment. You have seen the benefit of our green policies and conservation ethos in the wild flower meadows and abundant wildlife on site.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback, we do appreciate all comments as we continuously strive to improve our offering to our guests, we take all feedback, positive and negative, seriously and act upon it :-)

We look forward to greeting you and your family again, soon!

All the best,

Glamping Chiefs...Read less.

"Relaxing break"

Mrs R Knagg - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

26/08/2021

We were not disappointed with the Hideaway! After a nightmare journey to get there, I was a bit put off by the rules and long induction, but after a few days I totally understood why it was so......Read more.

We were not disappointed with the Hideaway! After a nightmare journey to get there, I was a bit put off by the rules and long induction, but after a few days I totally understood why it was so important. The facilities were so clean and out her campers, so courteous and we had a fantastic stay.

My children loved ‘Reggie’ the cat and all the wildlife. We had a regular bunny visitor, lots of butterfly’s and a hedgehog. There was plenty of space for them to play safely.

The site is in a great location and we enjoyed exploring the abbey, Newby hall and Sutton Bank.

The food hut on site was amazing, absolutely 10/10, we had pizzas, breakfast buns and smoothies on our visit.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and we look forward to visiting again....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 28 August 2021

Good afternoon Rebecca,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback, we do appreciate......Read more.

Good afternoon Rebecca,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback, we do appreciate all comments as we continuously strive to improve our offering to our guests, we take all feedback, positive and negative, seriously and act upon it :-)

We are so glad you came to realise the usefulness of our site expectations and informative induction, as this is what keeps the site both peaceful and clean, which is so important to us and our guests in these stressful times!

It makes all the hard work worth it when we hear that our guests have had a great time and 'were not disappointed' by our hospitality and location. We have great staff, as you saw and lots of local attractions as well as a very courteous set of regular and new campers.

We look forward to greeting you and your family again, soon!

Take care

Glamping Chiefs...Read less.

"Great campsite, quiet and friendly"

J Mumford - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

25/08/2021

Lovely campsite, loads of space between pitches and safe for young kids to run around. Biggest problem was spending too much money on pizza in the food hut!

"Great pizzas and smoothies"

Mrs I Coppeard - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

25/08/2021

Everyone was very helpful, it was really clean with excellent washing up/ showering/fridge and freezer facilities.

The pizzas and smoothies sold fresh on site were amazing and the shop had anything......Read more.

Everyone was very helpful, it was really clean with excellent washing up/ showering/fridge and freezer facilities.

The pizzas and smoothies sold fresh on site were amazing and the shop had anything you may have forgotten.

We had a great day out in York via Park and Ride and visited two nearby National Trust properties and Barden Abbey ruins (,English Heritage but free)....Read less.

"Five days of bliss"

Mr L Johnston - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

24/08/2021

It is fair to say that my wife and I would not have chosen to spend five nights in a pod had it not been suggested by our sons. However within a minute of arriving on site we were smitten. We were......Read more.

It is fair to say that my wife and I would not have chosen to spend five nights in a pod had it not been suggested by our sons. However within a minute of arriving on site we were smitten. We were very warmly welcomed, given instruction as to where our pod was and we were off.

Our sons and grandchildren were in tents opposite and we were all able to be together in spacious surroundings where the only sounds were those of children playing and bird life, it did not take long for the stresses of everyday life to fade away.

The pod was clean and the bed comfortable. The site beautifully kept, the toilet and shower facilities were pristine and cleaned very well each day and the whole atmosphere was one of calm and contentment.

So helpful were the staff that when I broke a camping chair, they were able to source one for me to use until I was able to purchase a new one. An on site take away provided lovely food and coffee, the egg and bacon breakfast roll was to die for.

And what about the location? perfect, in stunning Yorkshire countryside yet within easy reach of York, Thirsk and beyond, we are still talking about our break and we have been back four days. There was nothing not to like....Read less.

"Good Holiday"

Mr R Hetherington - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

23/08/2021

Lovely park well maintained and friendly staff

"Tranquility"

Mr J Crooks - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

22/08/2021

A beautiful campsite with 5 star facilities. I have stayed here several times and the service, cleanliness and care for campers has never changed. Please keep it up, you have a faithful follower in......Read more.

A beautiful campsite with 5 star facilities. I have stayed here several times and the service, cleanliness and care for campers has never changed. Please keep it up, you have a faithful follower in me....Read less.

"Family time"

Mrs J Needham - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

22/08/2021

After see Baxby Manor on the tv show 4 in a bed it looked ideal for our family of 5, amongst us are 2 teenage boys who are hard to please. We enjoyed our 2 nights in the Hobbiton house, although a......Read more.

After see Baxby Manor on the tv show 4 in a bed it looked ideal for our family of 5, amongst us are 2 teenage boys who are hard to please. We enjoyed our 2 nights in the Hobbiton house, although a plug socket or 2 would have made it perfect. We enjoyed marshmallows on the fire and card game. Very enjoyable and loved the food shacks pizza and coffee....Read less.

"Review August 2021"

Mrs L Wood - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

13/08/2021

This site was recommended by friends . We stayed for 3 nights. Checking in took about 30mins in a queue. parking very tight between cars not enough room.to open doors without potentially hitting......Read more.

This site was recommended by friends . We stayed for 3 nights. Checking in took about 30mins in a queue. parking very tight between cars not enough room.to open doors without potentially hitting another car. Not enough room to reverse either.

You have to park your car away from your set up and use wheelbarrows to go back and forth which is a bit of a chore in itself. On arrival It was like being told off by the female owner for parking in the wrong bay and felt like I was treat like a child .

Nothing on site for children, no park or play area at all.

Toilets and washing area were however immaculate, showers were lovely and hot. There was a little takeaway shop that opened for limited time and sold takeaway pizzas which were nice.

The male owner wasn't friendly in my opinion, never greeted us or asked how we were etc at we were told there were hedgehogs on a nighttime who liked to roam.around, however judging by the noises we heard and the feet running away we r pretty sure these may have been water rats with it being by a river and NOT hedgehogs. On departure day we were late leaving the site by nearly an hour (even though nobody could check in u til 3pm that afternoon) . The lady owner came over with her notepad and never asked about our stay and asked very abruptly how long before we leave and again were spoken To like children. We would not stay here again or recommend it . It's not the campsite for us at all....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 29 August 2021

Thanks ever so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us, we like many others love......Read more.

Thanks ever so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us, we like many others love reading reviews such as yours.

It is made very clear throughout the booking process that parking spaces are limited at Baxby Manor and each booking includes parking for ONE car, extra cars will need to be paid for. There was little room for your TWO cars for one simple reason; you did not tell us you had two cars, not until we asked you, and not until you had parked it in someone else’s allocated space! You did not pre-book an extra car parking space but expected us to find space for you to park it during a full-to-capacity August weekend. Needless to say we went out of our way to find an extra space for your second car rather than asking you to park it off site, and yet you STILL decided to park it in the wrong place because the space we found for you didn't suit you! Perhaps because it was too far away from your pitch for you to carry your TV?

It is very hard not to treat someone like a child when they act like one themselves. Shouting at the Reception staff;

“I’ve never heard anything so ridiculous in my life!”

All because you had to wait 15 minutes (not half an hour!) to check in and for us to sort your extra car parking space whilst we went through details with other guests. (I am sorry there was not a play area on site for YOU to play in!).

We are all about getting back to nature here at Baxby manor, this is particularly clear on the website so you should have known what to expect. It’s not like we said there was a play-park on site and then decided to take it away without telling anyone. You did bring TV’s for your children I believe?! It is a shame they need plastic play areas and TV’s to keep them entertained when there is so much natural play here. If you had actually come to the shop just once during your stay Laura you would have seen the many items on offer for children and families.

The majority of guests who stay at The Hideaway find the owner very friendly as I am sure you have noted from the many other reviews on the website however as Barney, the owner, was away from site for the two days you were here and did not meet him we are not sure how you have arrived at the conclusion that he was not very friendly?

As for the “water-rats’ comment - LOVE this comment! This might even go in the book we are thinking of writing! Can I ask; is it a natural talent/skill, or is it something that you have learnt over time to be able to determine and differentiate between the footsteps of water-rats and those of hedgehogs in the dead of night? Chris Packham watch out, your job on Springwatch is under threat!

With regards checking out time; well, Laura....we both know that what you say isn’t quite true is it? You were nearly TWO hours late. Janet went over to your pitch at 12:40 when you hadn’t even started taking your tent down, (despite the fact that everyone else checking out that day managed to vacate their pitches by 11am and by this time the site was suspiciously quiet). The very clearly stated check out time on the website, on your booking confirmation emails, and on a large white-board at the entrance to the toilets and showers cannot be missed.

The reason there is a gap between checking out at 11am and checking in at 2pm (not 3pm as you incorrectly state) is because we need to clean, restock and carry out repairs during this time.

Anyway in conclusion I think we can both agree we are not the campsite for you and you deciding that you would not stay here again is the best outcome for all concerned.

Good luck in finding your next campsite....Read less.

"A fabulous Stay"

Mrs C Ambrose - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

13/08/2021

This is our 8th year staying at The Hideaway and it gets better and better each year. A massive shout out to Barney and his dedicated team.

"Relaxing, inclusive, friendly, beautiful"

Dr E Rushworth - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

13/08/2021

The hideaway provided us with a relaxing weekend with a grownup girls family holiday. Excellent facilities satisfied the less hardy campers and the location and focus on nature made sure we still......Read more.

The hideaway provided us with a relaxing weekend with a grownup girls family holiday. Excellent facilities satisfied the less hardy campers and the location and focus on nature made sure we still enjoyed feeling space and privacy and the local wildlife. Hearing hedgehogs snuffling round the tent at night was magical. On a clear night the sky's are so dark we could see the nebula. The on site coffee shop and homemade pizzas were perfect. A friendly family welcome, our dog enjoyed meeting noodles the owners greyhound too 😊. So many enjoyable things to do locally. Thirsk has some interesting walks, we painted pottery just outside Thirsk with a truly friendly welcome and the Yorkshire arboretum was fabulous. Thoroughly recommended, we will be returning too....Read less.

"Camping Heaven"

Mrs H Vest - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

10/08/2021

Thank you to Barney and his team and all the hard work you put in to make this site such a fabulous experience, truly a wonderful camp every time. We pre-booked the lido at Helmsley, what a glorious......Read more.

Thank you to Barney and his team and all the hard work you put in to make this site such a fabulous experience, truly a wonderful camp every time. We pre-booked the lido at Helmsley, what a glorious warm swim in the outdoors....Read less.

"Lovely site: long check in."

Mr J Kelly - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

10/08/2021

Baxby Mannor is lovely peaceful campsite. Ideal if visiting York and other local attractions but far enough away from the hustle and bustle.

Campfires always play a vital part of our camping trip......Read more.

Baxby Mannor is lovely peaceful campsite. Ideal if visiting York and other local attractions but far enough away from the hustle and bustle.

Campfires always play a vital part of our camping trip and with each pitch having its own was ideal.

The only downside was the 45 wait to check in. Whilst appreciating the sites decision to continue with Covid Rules after a long car journey all we wanted to do was put up our tent and relax. Given the great guidence sent prior to arrival this seemed ott.

To be clear we appreciated the rules and why they where in place just the wait was too long.

Also the size of cars appears to have outgrown the car park spaces.. not sure the site can do much about this.

Those minor points aside we would definitely consider staying again....Read less.

"Fourth visit and still awesome!"

Mrs S Parker - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

10/08/2021

Another great visit to The Hideaway with three generations of our family. As always, the site, accommodation and washrooms were meticulously clean and tidy. The staff were lovely as ever, and the......Read more.

Another great visit to The Hideaway with three generations of our family. As always, the site, accommodation and washrooms were meticulously clean and tidy. The staff were lovely as ever, and the recent addition of the food shack provided excellent breakfast and pizza choices. Grandchildren enjoyed playing in the stream, we had some wonderful walks, and two of our party tried the microlight flying experience at the nearby airsports club. A lovely break, would recommend this campsite to anyone who wants to enjoy the outdoors with their family....Read less.

"Peaceful haven"

Mrs E Ford - Stayed with friends, Jul 2021

09/08/2021

We love the Hideaway as it really upholds genuine biodiversity values and as a result is full of wildlife. The facilities are clean and well kept and the new food outlet was a great addition this......Read more.

We love the Hideaway as it really upholds genuine biodiversity values and as a result is full of wildlife. The facilities are clean and well kept and the new food outlet was a great addition this year. We love that there are never ‘too many’ people on site, and would certainly stay here again....Read less.

"Great stay"

Mrs G Sumner - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

08/08/2021

We had a brilliant five nights - thank you

"Lovely place to get away from it all"

Dr P Richardson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

08/08/2021

Feels like you are secluded on a campsite, can’t hear the road (a rarity nowadays), peaceful full of families and no music. Loved it.

"A nice place for families but dark and damp for couples"

Mr P Bulmer - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

07/08/2021

Initially this site looked very well run but after some considerastion we found the visit very "controlled"

We understand needing contact details, and vehicle registration number but why do the......Read more.

Initially this site looked very well run but after some considerastion we found the visit very "controlled"

We understand needing contact details, and vehicle registration number but why do the owners insist on knowing the exact ages of all visitors... surely a general age range woul be ok. Also why do they need to know your address ? are they going to burgle your house when you're on holiday... having got your address they then need your to tell them where in the country your home is located... but we've just told you our address... don't you have a map ?

The facilities were spotless...the family camping area was well spaced out and open to sunlight.

Sadly the "sanctuary" area set asside for adults proved to be totally shaded from any sunlight and subsequently was damp and poorly drained... to be fair each pitch was very private and did not suffer from passing footfall on the failry long walk to the facilities.

After a previous issue with visitors storing their beverages in the comunal fridge there was a strict policy of removing any foodstuff that was not dairy or meat. Offending items were placed in an ambient box beside the fridge. Whilst I fully understand this, as a chef I was horified to find that somones mayonaise had been removed and in so doing the site owners could potentailly have exposed their customers to several nasty medical conditions. Interestingly the site owners did not remove non-dairy milk

Whilst we fully acknowledge the owners need to make a living from the site in our opinion the "sanctuary" pitches did not offer value for money and will not be returning....Read less.

"Perfect hideaway"

Mrs F King - Stayed with friends, Jul 2021

07/08/2021

Baxby is a perfect hideaway camp site. We loved the fire pit and hiring a cauldron. With recycling and drying room, vending machine and onsite pizza place! It's a great place to stay.

"Perfect!"

Miss D Offen - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

06/08/2021

We really enjoyed our stay at The Hideaway.

"Simple, quality and peaceful"

Ms F Murphy - Stayed with friends, Jul 2021

06/08/2021

We've stayed here 3 times now and it's perfect for what we need. Sometimes we just want to camp out in nature not too far from home (Leeds) and to just spend time outdoors with friends and family.......Read more.

We've stayed here 3 times now and it's perfect for what we need. Sometimes we just want to camp out in nature not too far from home (Leeds) and to just spend time outdoors with friends and family. This site is perfect for that. Extremely generous sized pitches each with a fire pit. Clean and well maintained toilets and shower facilities. Great covid security measures. Good shop. Wonderful morning cafe and evening pizzas. Lots of nature and wildlife. Perfect!...Read less.

"Good trip"

Mr P Glendenning - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

03/08/2021

We had 4 nights away with 2 kids. Very much enjoyed our stay, little bit miffed as no toiletries in bathroom nor tea / coffee in kitchen however we were lucky we did bring some. Kids loved the den......Read more.

We had 4 nights away with 2 kids. Very much enjoyed our stay, little bit miffed as no toiletries in bathroom nor tea / coffee in kitchen however we were lucky we did bring some. Kids loved the den and we enjoyed relaxing,...Read less.

"Brilliant trip"

Mrs T Rowe - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

01/08/2021

As always, we had a brilliant time at the Hideaway. Great site, with great pitches providing us with enough privacy and distance from other campers with each of us having our own firepit. Excellent......Read more.

As always, we had a brilliant time at the Hideaway. Great site, with great pitches providing us with enough privacy and distance from other campers with each of us having our own firepit. Excellent facilities including the new hut which now sells homemade pizza (delicious) and smoothies providing that extra special something for our trip. Excellent facilities on site and great location. Would 100% recommend this site....Read less.

"Baxby Manor"

J Calvert - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

29/07/2021

Beautiful campsite. Really clean and lovely. The queue to check in was too long tho but everything else was perfect. I have never stayed in a campsite with such clean toilets and thought having to......Read more.

Beautiful campsite. Really clean and lovely. The queue to check in was too long tho but everything else was perfect. I have never stayed in a campsite with such clean toilets and thought having to take off shoes was a great idea....Read less.

"Been before, will come back again"

Mr J Roos - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

29/07/2021

We had another wonderful stay at the Hideaway. We love the tranquility, family friendliness, clean facilities and well looked after site. The smoothies were a hit too!

"Thoroughly enjoyable stay"

Mrs J Jones - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

29/07/2021

Peaceful and calm with spacious good quality pitches. Great location

"Great for Moors and Dales"

M Thompson - Stayed Jul 2021

28/07/2021

Baxby Manor has a good website and an easy booking process so there were no surprises on arrival. The site is flat and has clean and modern facilities, which I never found to be busy. The pitches are......Read more.

Baxby Manor has a good website and an easy booking process so there were no surprises on arrival. The site is flat and has clean and modern facilities, which I never found to be busy. The pitches are a good size and parking is nearby. Also on site is a pizza and breakfast cabin, the fresh oven baked pizzas are not to be missed. There isn't a great selection of places to eat and drink within walking distance though there us a pub in the village.

I had a very pleasant stay, as it seems did everyone else staying there. I would stay again and I would recommend the site...Read less.

"Great place"

K Stewart - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

28/07/2021

Peaceful quirky holiday, great location to travel to York. Friendly staff and nice new food shack. Lovely surroundings and great individual space. Love the fire pits to chill out round at night.

"Just love it here"

Mrs E Prescott - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

25/07/2021

We got married here back in 2015 and wanted to return with the children. It was just as we remembered it and loved every second. The facilities are excellent and there is so much to do in the......Read more.

We got married here back in 2015 and wanted to return with the children. It was just as we remembered it and loved every second. The facilities are excellent and there is so much to do in the surrounding area. We cannot wait to come back again....Read less.

"Perfectly peaceful."

Mr S Maddison - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

22/07/2021

We stayed at Baxby Manor in the Sanctuary. The pitch was secluded and we weren't disturbed by excesive noise although we could hear the children happily playing in the nearby Hideaway. The fire pit......Read more.

We stayed at Baxby Manor in the Sanctuary. The pitch was secluded and we weren't disturbed by excesive noise although we could hear the children happily playing in the nearby Hideaway. The fire pit is sensibly placed and allowed us to just sit chatting and staring into the flames without worrying about flames or sparks causing damage....Read less.

"First Couple Camp"

Mr R Newsome - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

22/07/2021

This was my first camping trip with my partner and despite the hot weather, the Sanctuary was the perfect location, didn't receive direct sun till 11ish am, lovely river and walks on site. Great on......Read more.

This was my first camping trip with my partner and despite the hot weather, the Sanctuary was the perfect location, didn't receive direct sun till 11ish am, lovely river and walks on site. Great on site pizza, drink/cocktail facilities and the shop staff are very helpful and friendly. Only thing I would suggest for future visits. Take some power source with you as Sanctuary has no power connections and bring insect repellent during summer months. Absolutely wonderful and will definitely be returning with my partner in future...Read less.

"Beautiful site"

Mrs A Lanaghan - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

22/07/2021

Love it

"Great Space"

Mrs S Grayson - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

20/07/2021

Fabulous space and you are not right next to others. We stayed in a duo Pod for 2. Clean and secure and no spiders!! Private Fire pit for each one and a bench to sit on. We hired a tripod from......Read more.

Fabulous space and you are not right next to others. We stayed in a duo Pod for 2. Clean and secure and no spiders!! Private Fire pit for each one and a bench to sit on. We hired a tripod from reception to cook over the pit which was great. Lovely breakfast facilities and stone baked pizza in the evening are really nice. Clean facilities. Reception give you a wheelbarrow to get your stuff to your tent/pod but its a very short distance anyway. The adult pitches in the woods look magical and I'd definitely stay there....Read less.

"Another Fabulous Stay"

Mrs T Gordon - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

13/07/2021

A fabulous peaceful stay what a great addition the Pizza Shack is ( which we used twice ) , can’t wait to return in September, as usual immaculate facilities & friendly staff.

"Very relaxing other than the screaming children"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2021

12/07/2021

The reason we have been going to the Hideaway for the last 6 years is the culture of keeping a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere

This time was not so peaceful as there were several families with......Read more.

The reason we have been going to the Hideaway for the last 6 years is the culture of keeping a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere

This time was not so peaceful as there were several families with children that started screaming at 6am not sure what can be done about this

We'll try the Sanctuary next year...Read less.

"Family camping trip"

Mrs E Barrow - Stayed with friends, Jun 2021

06/07/2021

Absolutely loved our stay at the hideaway once again, it’s our 3rd visit. Great for families, such a safe campsite, lots of room, beautiful surroundings, great facilities and obviously the use of the......Read more.

Absolutely loved our stay at the hideaway once again, it’s our 3rd visit. Great for families, such a safe campsite, lots of room, beautiful surroundings, great facilities and obviously the use of the fire pits makes the trip. The only thing (and it’s minor) that was not perfect was how slow check in was, but absolutely would recommend this campsite to others....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 06 July 2021

Hi Emma,

Thanks for the feedback.

So pleased you had another great time and enjoyed your third......Read more.

Hi Emma,

Thanks for the feedback.

So pleased you had another great time and enjoyed your third trip to Baxby Manor.

We empathise with regards the check-in process! It is not normally like this, (you may remember if you have stayed prior to Covid?), but obviously during Covid restrictions it is not only our duty as a responsible business to go through our safety measures with each and every one of our guests it is also a requirement to keep you and your fellow campers, and our staff, safe.

All we can say is; at least you only have to listen to it once - we have to listen to ourselves saying it 100 times a week, lol! I think we all say it in our sleep too! Trust us; we cannot WAIT until we don’t have to go through all of that anymore! Lol

See you again soon!

Baxby Manor customer happiness team!...Read less.

"Baxby hideaway"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2021

05/07/2021

Great time, partly because it was so quiet as did a mid week break, local places were easy accessed by cycle. Was told there were micro lights in next field, but fortunately didnt hear them! So all......Read more.

Great time, partly because it was so quiet as did a mid week break, local places were easy accessed by cycle. Was told there were micro lights in next field, but fortunately didnt hear them! So all quiet and an excellent break....Read less.

"First family camping holiday"

Mr J Wilkie - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

04/07/2021

Very happy with our first family camping trip to Baxby Manor, the site is beautiful and well set out with plenty of space between sites. We’ll definitely be back!

"Superb site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

02/07/2021

Stayed for a week with our four kids to visit family/local attractions and had a wonderful time. Facilities very clean, a beautiful nature friendly site with very helpful staff. Perfect location for......Read more.

Stayed for a week with our four kids to visit family/local attractions and had a wonderful time. Facilities very clean, a beautiful nature friendly site with very helpful staff. Perfect location for visiting York and surrounding attractions....Read less.

"Very Friendly, well organised site"

Mr B Ford - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

01/07/2021

Along with many others we formed the post work Friday evening rush, a friendly welcome, easy parking and the tent was up in short order. Fire pits are provided and logs for sale onsite, helps make......Read more.

Along with many others we formed the post work Friday evening rush, a friendly welcome, easy parking and the tent was up in short order. Fire pits are provided and logs for sale onsite, helps make each night special. The local pub Plum & Partridge is in easy walking distance (or a little longer route for those with dogs), with a good beer and food. The on-site pizza takeaway was available with a well stocked shop if needed. Looking forward to a revisit and will not forget queue, shoe, blue, loo…...Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead