The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park

34 Reviews

4.5 / 5 overall rating based on 34 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

68%

Very Good

26%

Average

6%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Fishing at Oaks"

Mr W Herring - Stayed Sep 2018

16/10/2018

Excellent. Be even better when the new shower block is completed. I’ll be back.

"Love this place"

Mr T Haw - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

29/09/2018

Very relaxing and peaceful. Owners/staff are lovely

"Peaceful camping"

Mrs J Freeman - Stayed with friends, Sep 2018

06/09/2018

It’s a lovely quiet peaceful park, the shower is the best I have ever come across on any park (it stays on & doesn’t switch off every two minutes.) & there are no kids no dogs perfect.

"Super little camp site"

P Turner - Stayed Aug 2018

02/09/2018

Chose this site for a few days solitude and to get some fishing done. The camp site itself is quite small with I believe ten electric pitches and a couple of pitches without. The site is flat and......Read more.

Chose this site for a few days solitude and to get some fishing done. The camp site itself is quite small with I believe ten electric pitches and a couple of pitches without. The site is flat and very well maintained, each pitch has hard standing and grassed areas to accommodate either caravans or tents.

There is a café in the park a short walk from the site, although I did not use it myself.

The fishing is superb and every peg I tried proved very productive, the staff were very friendly and helpful and following their advice got the best of the fishing for me.

The only downside for me were the shower and toilet. Although clean there was only one of each and this could be a problem at peak times.

That said, it would not put me off returning....Read less.

"Fishing break"

M Capitano - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

28/08/2018

Only fault was I couldn't get the shower on hot everything else was first class

"Short w/e stay"

Mr C Oldfield - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

23/08/2018

Good facilities and great fishing other caravans couldn't get a hook up initially probably over booked but site sorted the problem

"Great place"

P Cooper - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

22/08/2018

Another great trip away at the oaks,tom and chris very friendly,and the fishing was great,and i love the crack with fred to 😊

"Excellent quiet site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

17/08/2018

Excellent quiet site if you like no frills but large open spaces

"Camp site"

C Sanders - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

16/08/2018

We chose this venue because it was ideally situated to cater for my son in laws cyccling and for me to fish. The choice of fishing areas was brilliant. It wasn’t too busy. Staff extremely friendly.......Read more.

We chose this venue because it was ideally situated to cater for my son in laws cyccling and for me to fish. The choice of fishing areas was brilliant. It wasn’t too busy. Staff extremely friendly. Overall an excellent experience. Looking forward to visiting again...Read less.

"The oaks lakes caravan park"

A Call - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

12/08/2018

Nice quiet site. Facilities kept clean and tidy. Large plots. Adult site and no dogs which was a bonus.

"Clean and great fishing"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

29/07/2018

The site is great for peace and quiet and fishing the pitch's are very roomy to only let down is the lack of a proper shower block the cafe was closed as well as the tackle shop for bate would be......Read more.

The site is great for peace and quiet and fishing the pitch's are very roomy to only let down is the lack of a proper shower block the cafe was closed as well as the tackle shop for bate would be nice if didn't close early or opening times were ready available at site a site shop would be very beneficial for campers with no means to get to local shops eg motorhomes had to make do with what we bought and if fishing in the day cafe was closed at 4pm couldn't get everything to eat after that and no shop for essentials...Read less.

"Ultimate get away from it all!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

24/07/2018

This is just the place for some quite time & if you get good weather as we did, it is just heaven

"Excellent fishing holiday"

A Bolton - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

19/07/2018

The lakes are well stocked and maintained with easy access to the bankside..

The washroom is basic but kept clean.

Being adult only meant the site was very relaxing and peaceful with friendly staff

"My stay on a silent site"

Ms E Wilson - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

18/07/2018

Very very quiet and peaceful

"Peaceful, tranquil and amazing"

Mr R Park - Stayed with friends, Jul 2018

17/07/2018

We came down to Thirsk from Aberdeen in Scotland and boy are we glad we took the 6 hour drive down there. The Oaks Lakes was truly stunning, it is everything we hoped for and more. The fishing was......Read more.

We came down to Thirsk from Aberdeen in Scotland and boy are we glad we took the 6 hour drive down there. The Oaks Lakes was truly stunning, it is everything we hoped for and more. The fishing was great fun although we didn’t catch much as beginners and the caravan park itself was perfect. The area was so quiet and lovely, the spot for our tent was great with toilet and washing facilities close by. Oh and the shower was amazing! Loved all of the nature around us too and the geese were great! Would defnintely recommend this place for a short or long stay as it is perfect. Only a 10 minute drive from Thirsk village centre and 40-50 minutes from main city York. Perfect place and thank you for having us. We will be back!...Read less.

"The Oaks Lakes"

J Smith - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

04/07/2018

This is a quiet adults only site perfect for a restful break. If you are an angler, there are a number of well stocked lakes with plenty of places to fish. It is widely used for matches and some......Read more.

This is a quiet adults only site perfect for a restful break. If you are an angler, there are a number of well stocked lakes with plenty of places to fish. It is widely used for matches and some lakes are not available for pleasure anglers. Access to surrounding areas is supported by a good road network which we found to be uncongested with many byroads to explore....Read less.

"Great place, second home!"

L Flint - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

04/07/2018

Lovely and friendly

"Week long stay at The Oaks"

J Mitchell - Stayed Jun 2018

26/06/2018

Clean, good size pitches, very quiet (no children / dogs) and the fishing was second to none and at reduced rates

"Hot water in shower room and other concerns"

S Powell - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

26/06/2018

Shower great but no hot water from tap in sink so shaving in tepid water from shower head. Also need a more powerful light for shaving. Also as mentioned before I think the separate toilets should be......Read more.

Shower great but no hot water from tap in sink so shaving in tepid water from shower head. Also need a more powerful light for shaving. Also as mentioned before I think the separate toilets should be for select use of caravan site people and not shared with fisher folk! Web site doesn't let u book Thursday with Friday and Saturday night at the same time. Loved the large plots thou.

...Read less.

"LOVELY SITE"

M Potter - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

26/06/2018

This is a lovely site, good value for the money. It has quite a few lakes on the site which is ideal for fishing, even though we don't fish we really enjoyed it as it was so peacefull and will......Read more.

This is a lovely site, good value for the money. It has quite a few lakes on the site which is ideal for fishing, even though we don't fish we really enjoyed it as it was so peacefull and will definitely stay here again.

We didn't see any staff when we were there, but we didn't need to as there were no problems....Read less.

"It's well worth a visit."

A Robinson - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

23/06/2018

We had a lovely time and stayed 5 nights instead of 4 .The staff are so helpful and very friendly. The ladies toilers were immaculate but the gents were okay but the lock didn't work and my partner......Read more.

We had a lovely time and stayed 5 nights instead of 4 .The staff are so helpful and very friendly. The ladies toilers were immaculate but the gents were okay but the lock didn't work and my partner was embarrassed when he walked in on a gentleman. There are other toilets which perhaps could do with an update particularly the ones near the car park.The bait store was fantastic and had loads to choose from. We will certainly be going again THANKYOU we had a lovely time....Read less.

"Oaks review"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2018

23/06/2018

Lovely flat campsite kept in perfect condition.

The fishing is excellent. The lakes are sheltered from the wind and are well stocked.

The only thing that is required in a larger shower/ toilet......Read more.

Lovely flat campsite kept in perfect condition.

The fishing is excellent. The lakes are sheltered from the wind and are well stocked.

The only thing that is required in a larger shower/ toilet block.

And I'm not sure why children are not allowed.

Well worth visiting.

...Read less.

"Relaxing break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

20/06/2018

We have stayed here quite a few times now, we enjoy the fishing lakes and caravan/camping space, only thing I can say to better our experience is better washing up facilities for campers

"peace and fishing"

P McAllen - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

19/06/2018

Lovely quiet site for access to fishing lakes, always peaceful stay with no hassle

"Lovely week"

C Woolley-Brown - Stayed with partner, May 2018

31/05/2018

Lovely site,fishing good.plenty to do in surrounding area. All in all very enjoyable week.

"long weekend fishing trip"

C Fieldhouse - Stayed with friends, Apr 2018

04/05/2018

great fishing spot

large pitches

the caravan park could do with its own toilet block ..

"Excellent"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Mar 2018

15/04/2018

Nicely run site. Owners very conscientious, friendly and helpful.

Will definitely be back

"Why we like THE OAKS LAKES CARAVAN SITE."

J Perry - Stayed with partner, Apr 2018

13/04/2018

1/ IT IS PEACEFULL . 2/ NO NOISY CHILDREN. 3/ NO BARKING DOGS. 4/ EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY.

5/ NEAR MY HOME TOWN , EASY TRAVELLING DISTANCE .

6/ NEAR THE ECML SO I CAN GO WATCH TRAINS WHEN I......Read more.

1/ IT IS PEACEFULL . 2/ NO NOISY CHILDREN. 3/ NO BARKING DOGS. 4/ EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY.

5/ NEAR MY HOME TOWN , EASY TRAVELLING DISTANCE .

6/ NEAR THE ECML SO I CAN GO WATCH TRAINS WHEN I GET FED UP OF LISTENING TO THE WIFE.

7/ CLOSE TO A DECENT PUB- " MOOR & PHEASANT " THAT DOES AN EXCELLENT CARVERY ON A SUNDAY .

8/ ONLY 20 MINUTES FROM THE NEW " ALDI " STORE -THIRSK ....Read less.

"T"

Mr I Richardson - Stayed with friends, Apr 2018

12/04/2018

Good site excellent fishing

"Excellent"

F Beamer - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

06/04/2018

Frank beamer

"Break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

30/03/2018

Exclusive toilets for caravan park would be an improvement as the gents toilets were quite busy at weekends with fishermen, other than that enjoyed our stay

"Washing up facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

29/03/2018

Would be really nice to have some hot water for the washing up

"Recent stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jan 2018

25/03/2018

The park is very quiet, just as we like and the owners are charming. It is a shame that the toilets are shared with the fishing lakes as it is difficult to keep them clean all day when they are used......Read more.

The park is very quiet, just as we like and the owners are charming. It is a shame that the toilets are shared with the fishing lakes as it is difficult to keep them clean all day when they are used by the fishermen. The park would benefit from a little lighting as it is very dark at night to find the toilets that are outside if the camping field. Overall a very peaceful site and a lovely weekend...Read less.

"*****"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

22/03/2018

*****

© 2006 - 2018 CampStead