The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park

62 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 62 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

84%

Very Good

15%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Returning visit"

K Hemming - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

We have stayed at the campsite a few times now and will be returning again.

The pitches are hard standing and wide. The toilet facilities are good and really clean.

The staff are very friendly and......Read more.

We have stayed at the campsite a few times now and will be returning again.

The pitches are hard standing and wide. The toilet facilities are good and really clean.

The staff are very friendly and approachable. Its a good location as a base for visiting thirsk, Sutton Bank and surrounding areas

...Read less.

"Great Place for fishing"

D Ash - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

great place for fishing

"Fantastic site and facilities and GREAT fishing"

P Wilkinson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

Great site, HUGE pitches, fantastic well kept natural looking lakes with mature but well controlled growth, GREAT fishing, a great onsite tackle shop and café with very helpful staff, great......Read more.

Great site, HUGE pitches, fantastic well kept natural looking lakes with mature but well controlled growth, GREAT fishing, a great onsite tackle shop and café with very helpful staff, great management and they're now trialling allowing dogs on site which if ratified, is the final piece of the puzzle.

There's also minimal light pollution (Other than Thirsk - NW), so when the night sky is clear the site offers an amazing view of planets (We EASILY saw Mars, Saturn, Venus and the milky way just with the naked eye). It would therefore lend itself perfectly to star gazing with binoculars or telescope...And for security, the barrier is closed and locked in the evening to secure the site overnight. You couldn't ask for anything more!

I'll definitely be back with both by dog and telescope......Read less.

"Well kept, quiet site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

08/10/2020

Well kept, quiet site closer to Thirsk

"Peaceful"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

08/10/2020

The site is beautiful, level large pitches, shower and toilets are very clean. The fishing lakes are really good.

Only slight moan are the lights in the loos, they go off after about a minute, you......Read more.

The site is beautiful, level large pitches, shower and toilets are very clean. The fishing lakes are really good.

Only slight moan are the lights in the loos, they go off after about a minute, you are sat in the dark and you have to wave your arms madly to activate them again. Added to the experience though....Read less.

"Weekend stay."

P Janicki - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

Will definitely be going back.

The site is great.

"Good clean campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

27/09/2020

Good clean site

"The Oaks Lakes"

L Toole - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

27/09/2020

Lovely site, clean and Covid Safe, great for the avid fisherman and visiting local attractions. Staff extremely friendly and welcoming.

"Love it here"

Mr T Haw - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

We come here a lot as my husband thinks the fishing here is top class. Quiet,peaceful and such a lovely place to ‘chill out’

"Fishng mad"

M Willas - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

23/09/2020

Just needs a rail on steps to gents then perfect

"Friendly"

Ms A Whittaker - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

Other campers friendly very clean fasilatis , carnt wait for our next year visit

"Good fishing lakes"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

21/09/2020

Lovely adult only site. Owners very friendly and helpful. Pitches level. Exceptionally clean toilet block. Good fishing lakes. Nearest pub to walk to 40 mins away along a busy road. Site close to......Read more.

Lovely adult only site. Owners very friendly and helpful. Pitches level. Exceptionally clean toilet block. Good fishing lakes. Nearest pub to walk to 40 mins away along a busy road. Site close to thirsk. Would recommend...Read less.

"Oak lakes caravan park"

Mrs A Call - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

20/09/2020

A lovely quiet adult site. Facilities kept very clean. Owner Sarah is very friendly and helpful. Beautiful countryside and places to visit from the campsite.

"Fishing excellent, peaceful, adults only"

J Staniforth - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

This is our second stay and very happy with everything Tom and Sarah do. Although we couldn't have the pitch we requested Sarah made sure the alternative position suited our needs. Some lovely......Read more.

This is our second stay and very happy with everything Tom and Sarah do. Although we couldn't have the pitch we requested Sarah made sure the alternative position suited our needs. Some lovely fellow campers and carvanners. Good in cafe good as always and system dealing with Covid well thought out....Read less.

"Great pitches and amazing fishing"

Mr I Richardson - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Been fishing the oaks for years. Great fishery with plenty of lakes to choose from. Onsite tackle shop and cafe. The pitches are big, it’s adult only. Only negative are the showers run hot and cold a......Read more.

Been fishing the oaks for years. Great fishery with plenty of lakes to choose from. Onsite tackle shop and cafe. The pitches are big, it’s adult only. Only negative are the showers run hot and cold a lot. We all found this. Otherwise a great site with everything you need....Read less.

"Autumn stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

Enjoyed our 4 night stay on this lovely quiet adult only site. Hubby enjoyed the fishing and we did some nice quiet walks in the surrounding area. Good facilities and felt very safe!

"Perfectly adequate for camping"

Ms C Burton - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

This was a small site mainly occupied by caravans. The shower/ toilet block was basic, but spotlessly clean and perfectly adequate during our stay. Had there been more campers I think they would have......Read more.

This was a small site mainly occupied by caravans. The shower/ toilet block was basic, but spotlessly clean and perfectly adequate during our stay. Had there been more campers I think they would have been very used and lots of queues. The site was very clean and each pitch well spaced out. We did not see any staff (apart from one morning seeing the lady who cleaned the toilet). The whole site felt very secure re Covid. Our only criticism is the quality of the grass for our pitch. Our spot had been very well used and was muddy- so cleaning the groundsheet to pack was hard going. I would suggest a better rotation of caravans and tents in order that grass pitches have some recovery time....Read less.

"Fabulous"

Mrs J Patterson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

Stayed last week . The standards were very high the campsite was spotless very reassuring during the Covid 19 times will be returning very soon

"Fishing"

Mr C Rawling - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

Ideal site for fishermen. Bate shop on site and cafeteria. Caravan pitches very good and big.

"Fishing weekend with mates"

Mr M McWilliams - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

12/09/2020

Fantastic fishing ,great location ,great cafe and tackle shop ,clean site that's well looked after ,friendly staff

"Absolutely brilliant site!"

Mr S Wilson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

12/09/2020

What a lovely place! Sarah the owner was really friendly and helpful. The toilet and shower facilities were always immaculate. The disabled unit being nice and spacious. I had the best ever sausage......Read more.

What a lovely place! Sarah the owner was really friendly and helpful. The toilet and shower facilities were always immaculate. The disabled unit being nice and spacious. I had the best ever sausage and egg sandwich from the cafe, perfectly cooked and really tasty. The surroundings of this place with all the water and wildlife are wonderful. We will definitely be returning. Cannot fault it...Read less.

"Mid Week Break"

Mrs H Perkins - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

09/09/2020

We chose Oaks Lakes for the location and the facilities were all open as we were camping.

The site is well laid out with the toilet blocks only a few meters away from every pitch. Quiet location,......Read more.

We chose Oaks Lakes for the location and the facilities were all open as we were camping.

The site is well laid out with the toilet blocks only a few meters away from every pitch. Quiet location, with the occasional train but clean and tidy and we would definitely recommend it to friends and family travelling to North Yorkshire....Read less.

"Perfect"

C Hatfield - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

09/09/2020

Exactly as advertised so exactly what we wanted.

"The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park (they take tents too!)"

Mr C Carr - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

06/09/2020

Fabulous camp site! Level hardstandings with grass too and EHU. Great TV reception and a good 4g phone signal.

The facilities were new and immaculately presented and beautifully warm too.

If you're......Read more.

Fabulous camp site! Level hardstandings with grass too and EHU. Great TV reception and a good 4g phone signal.

The facilities were new and immaculately presented and beautifully warm too.

If you're into fishing it's next to the fishing lakes. If you're not into fishing it's still a brilliant site on it's own merits.

The nearest pub ( Ye Jolly Farmer, they serve food too ) is about 1.8 miles away and an easy cycle ride if you've got bikes!

Great place, we will definitely be going back here....Read less.

"Quiet peaceful site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

06/09/2020

Lovely site especially if you are interested in fishing. We only stayed for two nights but would definately return to stay longer.

"Peaceful & spacious"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

05/09/2020

Pleased with clean washroom and shower facilities. A quiet site surrounded bt trees with spacious flat pitches.

The on site cafe served excellent pies and a selection of breakfast items, with very......Read more.

Pleased with clean washroom and shower facilities. A quiet site surrounded bt trees with spacious flat pitches.

The on site cafe served excellent pies and a selection of breakfast items, with very friendly, helpful staff who swapped our freezer blocks over for us....Read less.

"Great fishing"

A Dobson - Stayed Aug 2020

02/09/2020

For good fishing with camping attached - perfect

"Fishing is great"

C Watkins - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

We liked this site but was a bit disappointed that tents were so close and on same side as caravans. We chose this site for the fishing and location and because it was Adult only, overall it was a......Read more.

We liked this site but was a bit disappointed that tents were so close and on same side as caravans. We chose this site for the fishing and location and because it was Adult only, overall it was a very nice site and we would visit it again....Read less.

"Nice"

Mr P O’neill - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

Cheap clean and open suited us great

"Love fishing? you will love it here."

Mr A Parrott - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

29/08/2020

Stayed @ the oaks for 3 nights met up with my brothers for some fishing. Weather was shocking but what a brilliant 3 days we had, caravan park is a lot better than some we have paid twice as much to......Read more.

Stayed @ the oaks for 3 nights met up with my brothers for some fishing. Weather was shocking but what a brilliant 3 days we had, caravan park is a lot better than some we have paid twice as much to stay @ shower and toilets A1 had everything we needed including a cafe on site. Well run no nonsense site I cant recommend this fishing venue highly enough. Tight lines.............Read less.

"Oaks brill"

Mr J Kitching - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

25/08/2020

Brill clean

"Nice area"

Mr S Stokes - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

25/08/2020

Very relaxing site to stay on.

They have plenty fishing also if that's what you want.

Handy for visits to famous places around Yorkshire.

Lovely Lady who keeps place in order, spotless clean showers,......Read more.

Very relaxing site to stay on.

They have plenty fishing also if that's what you want.

Handy for visits to famous places around Yorkshire.

Lovely Lady who keeps place in order, spotless clean showers, toilets.

Lady helped me out with an electric extension to my tent as mine was too short to reach outlet.

Our grass pitch was very flat with a gravel parking slot for car next to it.

We were in a corner opposite shower blocks, fresh water and waste plus dish washing.

Everything so handy and yet no noise or intrusion.

We will definitely return for another camp trip....Read less.

"Lovely site with big pitches"

G Mayfield - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

22/08/2020

This is a lovely site with really big pitches a combination of good hardstanding and grass. The facilities were immaculate, the site was managing the social distancing rules well and even though the......Read more.

This is a lovely site with really big pitches a combination of good hardstanding and grass. The facilities were immaculate, the site was managing the social distancing rules well and even though the site seemed almost full it was very quiet and tranquil. The site is located next to a number of fishing lakes so if you are a keen fisherperson this will be a great place to stay. It is about 12 mile round trip on pleasant country lanes to Thirsk we cycled it easiliy and we are not super fit. There is a pub in the village that does food (we didn’t use it) apparently you have to ring up in advance. Will definately return....Read less.

"A Fisherman’s dream!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

22/08/2020

We found this site whilst browsing the internet and decided to try it out. So glad we did and we will definitely be returning another time. I have never seen lakes that well stocked and each lake; no......Read more.

We found this site whilst browsing the internet and decided to try it out. So glad we did and we will definitely be returning another time. I have never seen lakes that well stocked and each lake; no matter the weather is sheltered if the weather is not so good. The showers and toilets were spotless. If you don’t want to fish there are plenty of local attractions and walks plus market towns nearby. The camping/caravaning area is not cramped. The pitches are huge. One small snag was that when we arrived, we could not get through on the intercom or mobile phone number provided for quite a while. However once we did get through we were told that our surname displayed on our peg. This will make things easier for next time having this information. Maybe a landline number for anyone needing to contact the owners in case of queries would be a good idea. Value for money; absolutely!!!...Read less.

"Sunday retreat"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2020

22/08/2020

Nice place with good flat plot size, relaxing site with nice clean facilities

"All very good"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

21/08/2020

Excellent spacious pitches and very clean facilities and very quiet

"Perfect site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

21/08/2020

.A clean spacious friendly site with excellent fishing & not far from Thirsk. One of the best sites we have been on.

A recycling bin would be handy. We will be back next year.

"Camper van stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

21/08/2020

Very quiet, clean and tidy

"excellent break for relaxing and fishing"

C Day - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

21/08/2020

great site in a good location with ample fishing facilities to keep you going

fab park

would recommend

"First impressions of oaks lakes"

Ms Y Ryan - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

19/08/2020

We had a fabulous time and will definitely be back

"Neat and tidy site."

Mrs S Bielby - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

19/08/2020

From the first impression of the layout of the pitches you knew you were onto something a bit special. Flat,well laid out and very well organised site. The booking in procedure was both safe and......Read more.

From the first impression of the layout of the pitches you knew you were onto something a bit special. Flat,well laid out and very well organised site. The booking in procedure was both safe and speedy. The facilities provided were spotless and well maintained....Read less.

"EXCELLENT...EXCELLENT...EXCELLENT"

R Wise - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

16/08/2020

A lovely and quiet park, facilities are of a high standard. Would definitely go back.

"Oaks lake caravan park"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

16/08/2020

Enjoyed our stay. Found Sarah very pleasant and very helpful. “The star of the site”

"Very good site"

Mrs C Forster - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

15/08/2020

Beautiful site, facilities good and well kept, would definitely use site again

"Fishing"

M Lee - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

15/08/2020

2nd visit to this Fabulous site. Large pitches. Toilet and showers spotless. Great fishing very friendly owners just wish it was a bit nearer home we would be there more often

"July 2020"

Mrs P Davies - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

14/08/2020

The site was quiet, clean and friendly . We do not fish but appreciate the space to walk around and enjoy.

"Oaks Lakes"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

14/08/2020

Very pleased with the site, clean and tidy facilities. Very quiet.

"Very peaceful and clean campsite"

Mrs J Luckman - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

14/08/2020

We had a pleasant stay at this campsite. The pitches were a good size . The facilities were always spotless and hand sanitiser was made available for use before entering toilet and shower blocks. We......Read more.

We had a pleasant stay at this campsite. The pitches were a good size . The facilities were always spotless and hand sanitiser was made available for use before entering toilet and shower blocks. We found the staff to be very polite and friendly. This was our first time of visiting this campsite and we would certainly recommend it and we would like to visit again in the future....Read less.

"Enjoyable stay"

M Ewing - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

12/08/2020

We stayed for one night only as passing thro and found the site very quiet & peaceful. Good hard standing bays. Excellent facilities and COVID guidelines adhered to. Can’t comment on the staff or......Read more.

We stayed for one night only as passing thro and found the site very quiet & peaceful. Good hard standing bays. Excellent facilities and COVID guidelines adhered to. Can’t comment on the staff or owners as didn’t see anyone. Good adult only site and brilliant if you like fishing. Would recommend this adult only site....Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead