The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park

70 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 70 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

89%

Very Good

9%

Average

1%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Weekend getaway"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

17/10/2019

Nice flat hard standing pitch, clean new sanitary facilities, quiet adult only site in rural location. Friendly host, will revisit in future, highly recommend.

"Back again"

C Sanders - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

11/10/2019

Ideal venue satisfies myself for fishing and my son in law for cycling the area.

"Wow"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

29/09/2019

This was a great camping park for our campervan the toilet /shower block fabulous

The fishing was great we will definetly be using this park often

"Peaceful and relaxing break"

M Pearce - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

27/09/2019

If you require a get away from it all site then this is the place, no kids or dogs meant we could sit in the sun in peace, the toilet and shower block was spotless and my wife was happy sitting and......Read more.

If you require a get away from it all site then this is the place, no kids or dogs meant we could sit in the sun in peace, the toilet and shower block was spotless and my wife was happy sitting and studying while I was fishing ,we didn't want to leave...Read less.

"Peaceful"

S Bulmer - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Excellent quiet park. Superb fishing lakes. No dogs. Facilities are clean and of a good standard

"Perfect site for relaxing"

Mr G Laycock - Stayed with friends, Sep 2019

23/09/2019

Great site great fishing normally , this time the fish weren’t playing ball but probably due the first cold nights of the year. P.s can we have longer curtains in the showers as floor gets wet......Read more.

Great site great fishing normally , this time the fish weren’t playing ball but probably due the first cold nights of the year. P.s can we have longer curtains in the showers as floor gets wet outside of the tray minor detail really . Other than that no complaints...Read less.

"Fishing Vacation"

D Ash - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

19/09/2019

Great place will be returning

"Fishing excellent, peaceful, adults only"

Ms J Staniforth - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

09/09/2019

The site is beautifully laid out with good size pitches. The fishing lakes are easily accessed which suited my partner who has walking difficulties. Ideally located for sight seeing in North......Read more.

The site is beautifully laid out with good size pitches. The fishing lakes are easily accessed which suited my partner who has walking difficulties. Ideally located for sight seeing in North Yorkshire. The toilet block is brand new and fitted out to a high standard, clean and well maintained personally by the owners Sarah and Tom. Lovely quiet, peaceful site with no interference from the fishermen. The 10 lakes are a pleasure to walk around. There is a lovely, friendly cafe near the fishing lakes but no night entertainment which is not what we would use anyway. It is isolated so if you like hustle, bustle and a night life on your dòorstep it's not for you. Partner loved the fishing very much. Best of both worlds...Read less.

"Stunninng quiet site."

S Brownsword - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

01/09/2019

Surrounded by lovely countryside but yet within a short distance from York and Thursk this caravan park is excellent. Spotlessly clean with hard standing. The disabled facilities are outstanding.

"bank holiday break"

Mr R Holloway - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

chose site for access to north York moors and fishing all in all good site couple of gripes,

shower cubicles a bit small for our liking and fishing is for run matches rather pleasure fishing with......Read more.

chose site for access to north York moors and fishing all in all good site couple of gripes,

shower cubicles a bit small for our liking and fishing is for run matches rather pleasure fishing with most fish been small carp in all ponds...Read less.

"1St class site"

Mr G Gamble - Stayed Aug 2019

30/08/2019

Lovely quite well kept site 1st class clean toilet facilities. Highly recommended.

"Not to be missed."

A Robinson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

We returned to The Oaks Caravan Park to camp. Very straightforward and boy it was lovely. A brand new toilet /shower /washing up facility absolutely beautiful. Very tastefully kitted out and piped......Read more.

We returned to The Oaks Caravan Park to camp. Very straightforward and boy it was lovely. A brand new toilet /shower /washing up facility absolutely beautiful. Very tastefully kitted out and piped radio, very very clean. Because it is adults only it is quiet and the lakes for fishing are amazing. If you don't want to fish Thirsk is very close. Finally the staff are absolutely brilliant, very sociable and nothing is to much and Mary a d her helpers cook lovely breakfasts etc. We will be returning ASAP....Read less.

"Quiet Adults only great."

Mrs D Foti - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

Lovely quiet site surround by North Yorkshire countryside, no dogs or children allow which is just right for us. The only thing which would make it brilliant for us would be free wifi that had a......Read more.

Lovely quiet site surround by North Yorkshire countryside, no dogs or children allow which is just right for us. The only thing which would make it brilliant for us would be free wifi that had a strong signal, as we rely on that to check in with family. But other that than we had a great time ad it was so peaceful and relaxing also had the 10 lakes for people who want to fish. We just walked around them it was so beautiful....Read less.

"first visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

18/08/2019

excellent campsite

"Good site"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2019

13/08/2019

Very quiet site with lots of space.

"Clean and well maintained site"

Mrs C Clark - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

11/08/2019

Lovely quiet site with good and clean facilities

"What a lovely quiet and pleasant place to stay."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

10/08/2019

This has been our third time staying at Oak Lakes, it is such a lovely quiet peaceful place to stay. The lakes are lovely and both my husband and myself like to fish there. The cafe does a very good......Read more.

This has been our third time staying at Oak Lakes, it is such a lovely quiet peaceful place to stay. The lakes are lovely and both my husband and myself like to fish there. The cafe does a very good breakfast and the fishing tackle shop has everything you would ever need for fishing. Even if you don't want to go fishing this is a lovely place to stay. The owners are lovely and friendly. We will definitely be visiting Oak Lakes again....Read less.

"Lovely site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

05/08/2019

A lovely quiet site with amazing facilities block. Perfect for what we wanted, a child free couple of nights and a visit to York. We used the site as a base and reaching York park & ride was easy. ......Read more.

A lovely quiet site with amazing facilities block. Perfect for what we wanted, a child free couple of nights and a visit to York. We used the site as a base and reaching York park & ride was easy. Will return again....Read less.

"Relaxing Holiday"

Mr T Quinlivan - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

05/08/2019

we have been to Oaks Lakes 4 times now, always have a very good time here, well worth a visit.

"Tranquil break"

Ms S McEnteggart - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

05/08/2019

We spent three nights here in July, it was great for us to cycle around North Yorkshire villages. The site was lovely and clean and peaceful.

"Well done"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

05/08/2019

returning again after toilet block build, excellent .

Husband was returning for fishing which again lived up to expectations.

thankyou to Tom, Sara and staff for a great few days

"Enjoyable visit"

Mrs R Downs - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

We stayed for 5 nights camping in a tent. Pitches were a good size with hardstanding and grass next to each other for either tents or caravans. Facilities were new, clean and felt like showering at......Read more.

We stayed for 5 nights camping in a tent. Pitches were a good size with hardstanding and grass next to each other for either tents or caravans. Facilities were new, clean and felt like showering at home.

Didn't see owners till the last day but that was because we were out early everyday till late. She was very apolagetic and said she had come to our tent each day to try and introduce herself.

We were able to access different attractions around such as York and flamingo land as its location was fairly close. Local town Thirsk had an Aldi and Tesco as well as a few eating places and shops.

All in all we would definitely come back and stay again! Thank you for a lovely visit x...Read less.

"Excellent site, Highly Recommend."

Mr . Barton - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

This is a Super site which we were recommended by friends, perfect relaxing break, we will definitely be returning soon. There is also a Farm Shop and Pick Your Own Fruit at the end of the village......Read more.

This is a Super site which we were recommended by friends, perfect relaxing break, we will definitely be returning soon. There is also a Farm Shop and Pick Your Own Fruit at the end of the village of Sessay about a mile from site selling lovely coffees and cakes....Read less.

"Very good campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

It has anything you need: good showers and toilets and it is very calm ( no children). ( the water on taps is too hot).

"A good stopping off place."

I Tasker - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Good clean spacious caravan site…. One of a growing number of sites that we have stayed on which is not staffed. When we arrived we were not sure what to do or where to go. There was a sort of......Read more.

Good clean spacious caravan site…. One of a growing number of sites that we have stayed on which is not staffed. When we arrived we were not sure what to do or where to go. There was a sort of intercom at the entrance to the park but nobody answered it… a number of visitors to the site were irritated by this lack of welcome.

The owner made daily maintenance visits and was quite frienly.

The facilities were good if a bit limited. It was fairly quiet when we stayed I think there would have been problems if the site was full! The showers were lovely and warm.

There is little to do within walking distance of the site except fishing. We ran out of milk on one day and the owner recommended a farm shop some distance away. We drove to the shop but they had no milk! We ended up driving about 10 miles round trip to get some milk!

TV reception is good.

No WI Fi whatsoever.

Although the site is generally quiet there are a number of cocks nearby that disturbed our sleep quite consistently around 4am in the morning.

Within easy reach of the campsite is the city of Ripon, Thirsk, Fountains Abbey and Brimham rocks all worth a visit.

...Read less.

"Lovely holiday"

Mrs R Giffins - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

A lovely little site with very kind and helpful staff. Everything you need for a relaxing holiday. Fishing lakes were great and so much to do and see around the area. Would definitely visit again.

"Oaks"

I Warwick - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Very clean site, owners very friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed our walk around the fishing lakes and a quick browse in tackle shop. Would highly recommend this site

"Peaceful"

S Bulmer - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Love this site and visit as often as we can. Adult only and no dogs. Clean and tidy though a few more bins around the site would be useful especially during busy period. Definitely recommend if you......Read more.

Love this site and visit as often as we can. Adult only and no dogs. Clean and tidy though a few more bins around the site would be useful especially during busy period. Definitely recommend if you like fishing and peace and quiet. Good size pitches also....Read less.

"excellent break"

K Barker - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

23/07/2019

lovely clean and quiet site,brilliant fishing so relaxing

"4 day fishing trip"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

23/07/2019

Good quality fishing at very reasonable price had loads of carp 10lb smallest 18lb biggest would definitely recommend to any carp angler

"Grate stay"

Mr C Holland - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

19/07/2019

Thourly enjoyed the stay at this site

"Short break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

18/07/2019

Superb site and excellent facilities.

"Great Fishing site close to local villages of attraction"

Ms J York - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

15/07/2019

Great site everything neat and tidy, the fishing was excellent and they do a deal for fishing from 4.30pm until dusk which meant we could go out for the day and my husband could fish when we returned......Read more.

Great site everything neat and tidy, the fishing was excellent and they do a deal for fishing from 4.30pm until dusk which meant we could go out for the day and my husband could fish when we returned so we were both very happy. Other couples were doing the same. We have a caravan there were tents pitched also and the facilities are excellent clean and tidy and everything you need. We really enjoyed this break and would return hopefully before the end of this summer....Read less.

"A brilliant site for coarse fishing"

Mr G Allison - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

14/07/2019

A brilliant site for coarse fishing

A good cafe for food

A great tackle shop

"Recent visit"

D Burns - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

04/07/2019

Lovely clean park in lovely surroundings great value for money we will definitely be returning,the only criticism is the lack of recycle facilities and large bins on the site

"Lovely stay"

Mrs A Mullins - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

04/07/2019

Returned here for our second visit and since our last visit it was lovely to see the welcome addition of the new dedicated toilet/shower block for the caravan site which is kept spotlessly clean. We......Read more.

Returned here for our second visit and since our last visit it was lovely to see the welcome addition of the new dedicated toilet/shower block for the caravan site which is kept spotlessly clean. We love it here and will be returning as soon as we can....Read less.

"Another pleasurable visit to the oaks ."

S Marwood - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

03/07/2019

Perfect holiday as always. Love the new facilities so much better.

Peaceful and tranquil.

"Mr Brown"

Mr D Brown - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

25/06/2019

Beautiful new toilet block and showers

Fishing the best in Yorkshire

Peaceful week

Will be back for sure

"Fishing"

R Massey - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

22/06/2019

Love this place, fishing is second to one, will definitely be back.

"Fishing with the lads"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

20/06/2019

Night Fished the willows lake lovely set up very clean can drive straight to your peg no hassle will be goin again highly recommended

"Fantastic base for exploring"

S Graham - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

18/06/2019

Used the site as a base to explore the local area, Thirsk, Ripon, Northallerton and York. Lovely site, quiet and clean with good size pitches.

"Peaceful setting"

D Barratt - Stayed with partner, May 2019

02/06/2019

A quiet lovely adult only site. Ideal for a restful break, fishing or visiting nearby attractions and countryside.

Owners are friendly and clearly take pride in the site.

The toilet and shower......Read more.

A quiet lovely adult only site. Ideal for a restful break, fishing or visiting nearby attractions and countryside.

Owners are friendly and clearly take pride in the site.

The toilet and shower block were clean.

my only criticism is that 3 toilets and showers would have been better than 2.

Would certainly consider returning....Read less.

"Caravan"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

31/05/2019

Lovely park had a great stay

"Lovely Quiet Site, Secluded, Quiet. Good Facilities."

D Wilkinson - Stayed with partner, May 2019

31/05/2019

This is a great site for electric hook up camping, campervan or caravan use.

The shared facilities are of good standard and cleaned regularly.

Gutted we missed the fish and chip van!

"Weekend break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

31/05/2019

A very quiet, well kept and clean adult only campsite. The owner was very pleasant and helpful and the facilities were always clean.

Thank you

"Excellent site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

24/05/2019

Beautiful adult only site and dog free too (no barking...bliss) very peaceful and central to explore surrounding countryside villages and towns. Would highly recommend.

"Oaks lakes fishing and camping"

W Curtis - Stayed with partner, May 2019

23/05/2019

An absolutely fantastic site, with lots of well stocked lakes for fishing. Site and facilities for caravan or camping were spot on, generous plots, can’t fault the place at all.

Highly recommend it.

"Pitch up and relax"

D Kirsopp - Stayed with partner, May 2019

21/05/2019

Arrived at the site after a trip down tight country lanes purely due to the sat nav settings in the car won’t make that mistake again.You drive up a track with a fishing lake on your right beautiful......Read more.

Arrived at the site after a trip down tight country lanes purely due to the sat nav settings in the car won’t make that mistake again.You drive up a track with a fishing lake on your right beautiful then you bear right through a barrier and on to the site . Really large pitches perfectly level gravel for the caravan next to grass for canopy you can see how much work had been done to get it spot on. The toilet and shower block is all new and the site is very quiet. The fishing lakes are first class and there is a tackle shop on site along with a cafe. Everyone is very friendly and helpful the site main gate is locked at night and there is security who will open the barrier if required. Myself and my wife had a fantastic stay and will be returning in the future highly recommend....Read less.

"fabulous site and great fishing"

Mr G Laycock - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

20/05/2019

second time we have visited this camp site, nice and quiet, with no kids running about not that I am against them but it is a fishing venue and children and fishing ponds don't mix unless they are......Read more.

second time we have visited this camp site, nice and quiet, with no kids running about not that I am against them but it is a fishing venue and children and fishing ponds don't mix unless they are actually fishing too and I can imagine it being a logistical and health and safety nightmare for the owners if they were allowed on site.

Great site and we can highly recommend , 5 star...Read less.

"Good site"

Mr C Rawling - Stayed with partner, May 2019

19/05/2019

Great site and facilities excellent. Fishing very good.

"short break away"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

17/05/2019

Have been to this park many times it has all you need. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Pitches are great and well spaced out. They are in proses of building new shower block and loos and when......Read more.

Have been to this park many times it has all you need. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Pitches are great and well spaced out. They are in proses of building new shower block and loos and when finished will be great....Read less.

"Delightful site"

C Woolley-Brown - Stayed with partner, May 2019

16/05/2019

The site is so much improved, with new facilities. The owners are friendly and helpful..The fishing is an added bonus. We will be back soon.

"Fishin"

Mr W Herring - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

12/05/2019

Great week with great friends

"Oaks"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

10/05/2019

Lovely peaceful site , facilities well looked after , husband loves the fishing, everybody friendly and helpful , will definitely be returning soon

"Beautiful little haven"

C Holmes - Stayed with partner, May 2019

10/05/2019

Clean, beautiful little site

Shower and toilet blocks are immaculate

Beautiful area. Close to Thirsk

Highly recommend

"Love fishing love this place"

C Duggleby - Stayed May 2019

09/05/2019

What an amazing place for fishing such a choice of lakes. Had a great time and will definitely be returning.

"Super friendly"

D Roberts - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

29/04/2019

Great place to stay highly recommend this to anyone who wants a nice peaceful place to stay.

"PEACE AND QUIET"

P Seddon - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

28/04/2019

We love this camp site. It is very quiet and peaceful and we like the fact that it is an adults only site. The site is situated just behind one of the fishing lakes making it easy to carry fishing......Read more.

We love this camp site. It is very quiet and peaceful and we like the fact that it is an adults only site. The site is situated just behind one of the fishing lakes making it easy to carry fishing gear; especially if you have a motorhome as we do and we don't normally take a car. The only drawback of not having a car is that the nearest supermarket is in Thirsk about 15 minutes drive away. There is a café and tackle shop on site. The café sells wonderful breakfasts and breakfast baps and the lady in charge has offered to bring milk and bread for us if we needed it. It would be nice to see the café expand slightly to stock food essentials. Nonetheless we always have a lovely time here; it is our favourite place and we try to get there as often as we can. The management is very friendly, efficient and accommodating; the pitches are spacious; the new shower block is pristine and the price is very reasonable....Read less.

"Shaztel. Pleasantly surprised. Spacious pitches."

S Bulmer - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

27/04/2019

Stayed here Easter weekend for the first time. Very quit peaceful site as adult only and no dogs. As I need to use the disabled facility I would like to see a chair in there also nowhere to put......Read more.

Stayed here Easter weekend for the first time. Very quit peaceful site as adult only and no dogs. As I need to use the disabled facility I would like to see a chair in there also nowhere to put clothes as no pegs so we had to use handle of the door which wasn’t ideal. Also no bin for paper hand towels which are supplied. I hope this is not taken as criticism but something that needs addressing for the future. Room itself was clean and spacious with plenty hot water. Will definitely be returning over the coming months....Read less.

"The Oaks."

Mr A Barrett - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

27/04/2019

Lovely peaceful site.

"More bins required"

Mr J Pilcher - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

27/04/2019

The park really needs more dustbins in the caravan park and possibly allow for the separation of recycling materials

"First impression was clean and tidy site."

Ms S Boulton - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Site very good, decent size pitch, very clean.

"Easter weekend away"

B Fay - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Good fishing ,good local attractions.very tidy site with good facilities. Would I use it again YES

"Excellent site"

Mrs Tanfield - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

A lovely site peaceful and pretty

"Died and gone to fishing heaven"

S Sullivan - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

21/04/2019

Great sir, fantastic fishing, owners very helpful and friendly. Been to this site at least a dozen times.

"Quite friendly park"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

21/04/2019

The caravan park was very well laid out nice flat spacious pitches. New toilet/ shower block spotless free showers. It was very quiet lovely no kids and no dogs. When we were there only 2 other......Read more.

The caravan park was very well laid out nice flat spacious pitches. New toilet/ shower block spotless free showers. It was very quiet lovely no kids and no dogs. When we were there only 2 other pitches taken but it was before Easter so might get busy later. Great value for money and nice cafe near park entrance....Read less.

"Recent stay"

J Berresford - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

18/04/2019

Been before. Nice and quiet

"Excellent fishing"

D Hogg - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

15/04/2019

Site has just had new toilet and shower block built, this is top notch and very clean. I booked for the fishing that is available on the lakes this is top quality and only a stones throw for the camp......Read more.

Site has just had new toilet and shower block built, this is top notch and very clean. I booked for the fishing that is available on the lakes this is top quality and only a stones throw for the camp site. The hard standings are more than ample for any size Motorhome or caravan all in all a first class site to stay at....Read less.

"Lovely site"

V Pethard - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

15/04/2019

It's a lovely quiet site with plenty of lakes to choose from and walk around,well stocked tackle shop

The only downside is they don't allow dogs

"Return visit"

C Sanders - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

12/04/2019

Since our 1st visit the caravan plots have been increased with a second area now available. The shower and toilet blocks have been constructed and are very impressive

© 2006 - 2019 CampStead