The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park

73 Reviews

4.5 / 5 overall rating based on 73 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

97% would stay here again

Excellent

67%

Very Good

25%

Average

5%

Poor

1%

Terrible

0%

"Campsite"

Mr E Duerden - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

29/09/2021

Did not see any campsite staff. Lady's showers cold. Gents showers flood. Needed to mop large area. Easer to use caravan shower. Fishing good.

"Catavanning 😂 joy"

Mrs R Thomson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

28/09/2021

Good clean site fantastic fishing

"Lovely site"

L Wilberforce - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

27/09/2021

Lovely quiet site and well maintained. Facilities very clean. Would definitely stay again. My one negative, there was no recycling.

"Clean and excellent value for money"

Mr I Thwaites - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

21/09/2021

Clean, flat pitches, lots of fishing lakes, excellent value for money.

"Fishing holiday"

Mrs J Hodgkinson - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

18/09/2021

Great site great fishing great staff more than helpful, only down fall is you can't walk to a pub car drive only due to poor walkway on busy road , wash facility was so clean only a v small hitch was......Read more.

Great site great fishing great staff more than helpful, only down fall is you can't walk to a pub car drive only due to poor walkway on busy road , wash facility was so clean only a v small hitch was having woman shower problems with water temp but they are getting a different set up soon wasn't a prob at all , other than that great cafe ,red-hot breakfast was lovely , great tackle shop selling everything , lots of lakes to choose from unless it's weekend and then there could be a match on , only one lake we didn't get on you had to pre book that was a shame as we kept forgetting , fishing was good price 12,00 for two as we got a reduction for staying on site , the owners are doing a great job keeping the lakes quiet and clean the fish are in great condition thankyou will defo be returning 😀...Read less.

"Weekend break"

Mr D Linton - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

17/09/2021

This is a well kept and nice large hard standing, very quite area being only adults. The facilities were very clean. This site is also very good for people who like to fish with plenty of lakes in an......Read more.

This is a well kept and nice large hard standing, very quite area being only adults. The facilities were very clean. This site is also very good for people who like to fish with plenty of lakes in an around the campe site, also they have a cafe on site. We have now stopped here twice an will be staying again in the future....Read less.

"Spacious"

Mrs S Bielby - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

16/09/2021

Quiet and very peaceful. Very spacious and level site. Great place to use as a base for exploring the region. Thanks very much.

"Fishman"

Mr C Rawling - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

16/09/2021

Just finished another excellent 10 days at Oak lakes site very good and fishing great again. Somebody stated on a review in June that the lakes smelled but this is the 5th time we have stayed and it......Read more.

Just finished another excellent 10 days at Oak lakes site very good and fishing great again. Somebody stated on a review in June that the lakes smelled but this is the 5th time we have stayed and it is not the lakes that smell it is the farm next to the site and if people don’t like farm smells the should not stay in the countryside....Read less.

"Lovely base"

Mr D James - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

16/09/2021

Used this park as base as at a wedding in Thirsk. 10 mins drive into town, nice and peaceful site

"Fantastic site"

Mrs M Fearney - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

13/09/2021

Had a fantastic few days lovely peaceful site mangers fantastic couldn't ask for anything better. Especially the fishing if husband wanted to go .

Really looking forward to staying next year.

"Overnight stay"

Mr T Buxton - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

10/09/2021

Great site for overnight or even longer stay.

The site and facilities are spotless and good sized pitches close to facilities. Very peaceful picturesque. Small daytime cafe gave good value and nice......Read more.

Great site for overnight or even longer stay.

The site and facilities are spotless and good sized pitches close to facilities. Very peaceful picturesque. Small daytime cafe gave good value and nice food. Would definitely recommend for overnight stay when travelling on A1....Read less.

"Excellent stopover whilst meeting relatives from Thirsk"

Mr J Brown - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

Close to Thirsk. Lovely peaceful site and excellent & immaculate shower block

"Excellent quality"

Mrs S Ralphson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

08/09/2021

We stayed here last week did some fishing, it was so enjoyable we are returning this week, the staff are so helpful .the campsite is A1 .highly recommended to all

"Fantastic quiet park"

Mr M Tomlinson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

03/09/2021

Fantastic quiet clean park with great fishing lakes on site

"Great Stay"

Miss C Cheetham - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

03/09/2021

4th time staying at The Oaks and has been great every time. Nice clean site and facilities. Lovely and quiet

"Excellent site"

Mrs L Smith - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

02/09/2021

Excellent site, a quiet peaceful well maintained site, located near a little village will definitely go back.

"Enjoyed our stay"

Mr D Johnson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

01/09/2021

Enjoyed our stay and the pitches are a great size.

Only down fall I experienced was there is a farm near by and cockerel was doing what they do best early in the morning. Apart from that highly......Read more.

Enjoyed our stay and the pitches are a great size.

Only down fall I experienced was there is a farm near by and cockerel was doing what they do best early in the morning. Apart from that highly recommend the site and will go back in future....Read less.

"Few days fishing"

Mr C Milner - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

27/08/2021

Positives, big pitches, very neat site, really good fishing, good tackle shop. We didn't use cafe as tackle shop and cafe shut at 3pm and I fished from 4.30pm.

Negatives, showers were bordering on......Read more.

Positives, big pitches, very neat site, really good fishing, good tackle shop. We didn't use cafe as tackle shop and cafe shut at 3pm and I fished from 4.30pm.

Negatives, showers were bordering on cold in mens and ladies. The mop/squeegy was not very clean and covered in hair. The bins in my opinion were not up to other caravan parks standard. 2 small open bins labelled food only and 1 kitchen bin near shower block for everything else. Think the place is aimed at fisherman and the caravan site seems to take 2nd place....Read less.

"Very nice site"

Mrs D Richardson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

26/08/2021

This is a well maintained site ideally located within the grounds of fishing lakes and not far from the main routes north and south. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

However tents also use......Read more.

This is a well maintained site ideally located within the grounds of fishing lakes and not far from the main routes north and south. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

However tents also use the pitches - I was concerned that the “6 metre rule” wasn’t being followed since the tents camp on the grass beside the caravans - surely too close from a fire safety point of view?...Read less.

"Possible stopover going north."

Mr R Nicklin - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

21/08/2021

Expensive with run down facilities (lack of hot water and poor showers).

Large level pitch a bonus with quiet and peaceful walks around the lakes.

"A peaceful stay"

Miss C Dewhurst - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

19/08/2021

Lovely peaceful stay. Friendly staff. Nice big pitch. Well maintained on the whole. The major train line that runs close to the site can be noisy at night if you’re a light sleeper and the showers......Read more.

Lovely peaceful stay. Friendly staff. Nice big pitch. Well maintained on the whole. The major train line that runs close to the site can be noisy at night if you’re a light sleeper and the showers were sometimes cold but overall, we had a lovely stay....Read less.

"A great week fishing!"

Mrs Y Main - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

18/08/2021

Camp site toilets etc are spotless. Fishing toilets are basic. Lovely staff. Cafe is only open morning for breakfasts etc. Fully stocked tackle shop. Excellent fishing. Price of fishing reduced if......Read more.

Camp site toilets etc are spotless. Fishing toilets are basic. Lovely staff. Cafe is only open morning for breakfasts etc. Fully stocked tackle shop. Excellent fishing. Price of fishing reduced if staying on campsite.

Great venue whether you are fishing or just want somewhere quiet to stay....Read less.

"Stay at the oaks"

Mrs S Taylor-Hall - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

13/08/2021

We have been to oaks lakes a couple of times and will be back. Site is lovely and quiet adult only. My partner loves fishing here and I enjoy the peace haha. Nothing near us so only noise is from the......Read more.

We have been to oaks lakes a couple of times and will be back. Site is lovely and quiet adult only. My partner loves fishing here and I enjoy the peace haha. Nothing near us so only noise is from the farm animals nearby. Very clean and large pitches beautiful picturesque site...Read less.

"Oak lakes"

Mr R Holyhead - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

11/08/2021

Very quiet site facilities were basic but clean (ladies showers were cold). Pitches are large an mostly flat. Unfortunately no wardens on site and security barriers were never used.

"Fantastic time at The Oaks Lakes"

Mrs L Parkin - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

09/08/2021

Camping at The Oaks Lakes with my Husband, and what a brilliant stay we had, couldn't fault the facilities they were kept very clean and well maintained. Balif was extremely helpful as well as the......Read more.

Camping at The Oaks Lakes with my Husband, and what a brilliant stay we had, couldn't fault the facilities they were kept very clean and well maintained. Balif was extremely helpful as well as the owners giving us tips on fishing. Plenty of well stocked lakes to fish on which hubby was delighted with. Certainly the best caravan park we have stayed on and will deffenately be back soon....Read less.

"another fantastoic week"

Mr G Laycock - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

08/08/2021

the Oakes is a great place to stay with friendly owners sarah and Tom along with Chris who is a fountain of knowledge when it comes to the fishing along with Tom. definately an annual visit for me

"Newbie"

Mrs E Dickinson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

08/08/2021

Second time out with our van, lovely site, easy access, friendly staff, fairly priced

"Oaks Lakes"

Mr I Pearce - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

03/08/2021

Nice site, excellent and beautiful fishing lakes.

"A Great Fishing/ Camping Experience"

Miss E Crewdson - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

27/07/2021

My dad an I came to Oaks Lakes on a fishing trip in the motorhome. This was our first time staying at a site and the facilities were beyond our expectations. The showers and toilets were clean and......Read more.

My dad an I came to Oaks Lakes on a fishing trip in the motorhome. This was our first time staying at a site and the facilities were beyond our expectations. The showers and toilets were clean and well kept and the pitches were huge!

Will definitely be coming back!

...Read less.

"Amazing hidden gem in North Yorkshire"

Mrs T Dolan - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

18/07/2021

We spent 3 nights at Oaks Lakes in July 2021. We would happily reccommend the site and would happily return. Great price and facilities. Spotless showers and toilet facilities. We had a chat with......Read more.

We spent 3 nights at Oaks Lakes in July 2021. We would happily reccommend the site and would happily return. Great price and facilities. Spotless showers and toilet facilities. We had a chat with many other campers/caravanners who also really appreciated the peaceful and quiet adult only facilities. We also had a good chat with Sarah, who was very welcoming and pleasant indeed. A lovely weekend despite England not winning the final of Euro 2020! We will be back!...Read less.

"Good for the fishing"

Mrs L Barker - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

11/07/2021

A fisherman’s heaven, and a quiet secluded stay,would possibly stay again. Handy for touring the region. The only problem is the lack of rubbish bins, great they have food waste bin but the lack of......Read more.

A fisherman’s heaven, and a quiet secluded stay,would possibly stay again. Handy for touring the region. The only problem is the lack of rubbish bins, great they have food waste bin but the lack of rubbish bins is a pity, many people leaving bags of rubbish next to full dustbins with a sign saying £40 fine if caught.

The lack of people presence on site is a shame, even if it was a small office staffed an hour or two or somebody in the cafe/bate shop would be a great help. We did have a problem with the elsan point completely block I rang the number found in the shower room a helpful voice said help would sort it as soon as possible and was sorted a short while later. Would stay again but take plenty of bin bags....Read less.

"Park likes"

Mr D Hewstone - Stayed Jun 2021

11/07/2021

Disappointed with maintenance noise. So noisy one day had to leave.

"Oak lakes"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

08/07/2021

This was our second stay this year will definitely be back

"Disabled facilities"

Mr D Brownsword - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

06/07/2021

The only issues we had were that the light in the disabled toilet / shower wasn't working and the height of the key hung on the door would be impossible to reach for anyone in a wheelchair or below......Read more.

The only issues we had were that the light in the disabled toilet / shower wasn't working and the height of the key hung on the door would be impossible to reach for anyone in a wheelchair or below average height....Read less.

"Fishing Trip"

Anonymous - Stayed Jun 2021

06/07/2021

Lovely quiet site, beautiful spot.

"6 night caravan stay"

Mrs S Oldham - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

04/07/2021

The site was in an ideal location, with easy access to the A19, it was clean and tidy and the shower / toilet facilities were cleaned regularly. The weather was hot and there was a certain amount of......Read more.

The site was in an ideal location, with easy access to the A19, it was clean and tidy and the shower / toilet facilities were cleaned regularly. The weather was hot and there was a certain amount of smell presumably from the lakes. We never saw any wardens during our stay, but this was not a problem as two emergency numbers were provided on the board. The site could do with more rubbish bins as waste was piling up. Overall a pleasant, peaceful site that we would consider returning to....Read less.

"Fishman"

Mr C Rawling - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

04/07/2021

Very peaceful relaxing site. On site excellent fishing in many lakes. Adult only and no dogs aloud is a excellent bonus. Already booked again for later in the year.

"Newbies"

Mrs K Ramsey - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

03/07/2021

This was only our 2nd trip out in our new to us caravan, as soon as we arrived at Oaks Lakes everything was very easy for us, the pitches were large so my husband parked the caravan with ease,......Read more.

This was only our 2nd trip out in our new to us caravan, as soon as we arrived at Oaks Lakes everything was very easy for us, the pitches were large so my husband parked the caravan with ease, everyone we met were so kind, friendly and helpful, the toilets and showers were spotlessly clean , we stayed for 4 nights and didn’t want to leave , it was so lovely and quiet and peaceful, we will definitely be back....Read less.

"Fishing trip"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

02/07/2021

Easyness and access to fishing ponds

"Perfect in every way"

Mrs J Southwood - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

02/07/2021

Lovely site clean and well laid out

"Excellent peaceful quiet site"

Mr G Barton - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

01/07/2021

Love visiting this peaceful site with all the facilities you need for a short term break. Pitches are well kept and flat with parking next to your pitch.

"Entry Barrier"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

25/06/2021

I recently stayed at the caravan section of the site and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet and company of fellow campers.

However, my objective was to support my son who was competing against......Read more.

I recently stayed at the caravan section of the site and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet and company of fellow campers.

However, my objective was to support my son who was competing against the beast, a local endurance cycling competition of 203 miles across Yorkshire. Once again although due to the entry barrier being locked and opened at set times we were unable to leave the site and return at 4am when the event started. Sara and Tom very kindly allowed me to park my car on their drive outside the barrier.

I would suggest upgrading the barrier to one with a security code pad and recorded surveylance where the entry and exit code would only be given to the caravan site visitors on booking. This cost could be met through a grant from the local authority (tourism) and match funded by an application to the lottery. Being a commercial fishery the public would not have access to this code.

I had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend this site....Read less.

"Oaks lakes"

Ms A Whittaker - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

22/06/2021

This was our second time and where booked in for September, it's so very peaceful. Dave very happy with the fishing. A great place to see lots of new places to visit, some big stately homes, museum......Read more.

This was our second time and where booked in for September, it's so very peaceful. Dave very happy with the fishing. A great place to see lots of new places to visit, some big stately homes, museum s.not far from coast....Read less.

"How peaceful?"

Ms N Ryder - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

19/06/2021

Absolutely lovely site. So quiet and peaceful. We don't fish but the lakes were nice to walk around. Pitches were a little narrow if you have a large tent, and it would have been nice to meet or see......Read more.

Absolutely lovely site. So quiet and peaceful. We don't fish but the lakes were nice to walk around. Pitches were a little narrow if you have a large tent, and it would have been nice to meet or see the owners, but the facilities were very clean and very well maintained....Read less.

"Great for fishing and good location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

18/06/2021

I wasn’t happy regarding lack of recycling facilities and not enough / large enough general waste bins.

"Weekend stay."

Mr P Janicki - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

18/06/2021

Had a great weekend at the oaks.

Great weather & good fishing.

"Ideal for us as a base"

Mr D Stainton - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

18/06/2021

We used this site as a base to go to other places and served us well.

"Excellent"

Miss E Harding - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

17/06/2021

I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the facilities on site. Such a pretty little site. Very helpful owners. Loved the whole weekend.

Thanks oaks lakes

"Quiet and Idyllic"

Mrs C Joy - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

17/06/2021

What a great find. We were looking for somewhere to stop off for a night and were delighted with the place. It is totally tranquil, No screaming kids, No road noise, just the breeze gently......Read more.

What a great find. We were looking for somewhere to stop off for a night and were delighted with the place. It is totally tranquil, No screaming kids, No road noise, just the breeze gently whispering through the trees and the odd tweets from birds. Perfect. Will definitely come again but for longer....Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead