The Orkney Caravan Park (Pickaquoy)

95 Reviews

4.9 / 5 overall rating based on 95 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

93%

Very Good

7%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Close to main town"

Mrs S Dipper - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

24/07/2021

The site was very clean and tidy, but because of it's nearness to town also close to traffic. Unfortunately a lot of the shops and restaurants are either not open or have funny opening hours due to......Read more.

The site was very clean and tidy, but because of it's nearness to town also close to traffic. Unfortunately a lot of the shops and restaurants are either not open or have funny opening hours due to Covid I presume. You only appear to be able to eat between 12 & 2 in a lot of places so time your trips. The food when you get it is beautiful, the fish could not be fresher, we sure do suffer in the south!...Read less.

"Brilliant holiday"

Mr D Taylor - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

21/07/2021

Campsite ideally situated for Kirkwall and ferry's for other islands. Two weeks of great weather made visiting the many places of interest a great pleasure.

"Pickaquoy Campsite"

Ms C Van Geete - Stayed Jul 2021

20/07/2021

Excellnet facilities and pitches. Fantastic facilities and shower block. Safe and friendly. Quiet and relaxed. Very close to all island attractions and ferries. Would thoroughly recommend.

"*******"

Mr R Tucker - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

19/07/2021

******

"Island break"

Mr A Convery - Stayed Jul 2021

19/07/2021

1st time back North after Covid.

Great site well kept and spotlessly clean facilities cheery helpful staff nothing was a bother.

Superb camp site close to town & island ferry connections.

"Good clean facilities"

Mr J Brown - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

17/07/2021

Really good facilities and perfect location for touring and walking to town 👍

"Campervan holiday to Scotland and the Orkney Isles"

Mr M Smart - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

16/07/2021

I was visiting Orkney on route to Eday, where my late mother owned a Kirk. I needed somewhere close to Kirkwall as we were biking to Eday and needed to leave the Campervan on mainland. We found......Read more.

I was visiting Orkney on route to Eday, where my late mother owned a Kirk. I needed somewhere close to Kirkwall as we were biking to Eday and needed to leave the Campervan on mainland. We found Pickaquoy to be a lovely campsite with excellent facilities and very close to local amenities. The staff were friendly and helpful and the Covid precautions better managed than any of the other 5 sites we visited....Read less.

"Excellent site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

15/07/2021

The site is exceptionally clean with very helpful staff. Throughout the day the whole campsite is checked and cleaned.

"Lovely site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

15/07/2021

We had a great week, lots for the kids to do round about and it really was a lovely site. I would highly recommend and we will be back

"Road trip"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

15/07/2021

Myself and my family stayed at the site on our way to Shetland. The site was excellent and the staff helpful and friendly. The washing and shower facilities are probably the best we have used at a......Read more.

Myself and my family stayed at the site on our way to Shetland. The site was excellent and the staff helpful and friendly. The washing and shower facilities are probably the best we have used at a campsite and I highly recommend staying here....Read less.

"Great Location , Excellent Shower / Toilet facilities."

B Canning - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

14/07/2021

Located right on the edge of Kirkwall and easy walking distance to shops / town. Well kept site with good clean spacious Toilet / shower facilities. The neighbouring Sports centre, and Indoor pool,......Read more.

Located right on the edge of Kirkwall and easy walking distance to shops / town. Well kept site with good clean spacious Toilet / shower facilities. The neighbouring Sports centre, and Indoor pool, is a bonus . Offers good value for the location and facilities provided . I recommend this site for those seeking a close to Town site or those requiring use of a comunial Kitchen / lounge facility ( useful for campers in poor weather which is not unusual in Orkney ) . This is not a remote quiet country field type site but a good , well equipped and positioned base to explore Kirkwall ( by foot ) and from which to explore Orkney from by Public transport or your own means. ( Car, bike , whatever )...Read less.

"Gem of a campsite."

Ms C Grant - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

13/07/2021

Great location. 5 min walk to coop/tesco/lidl and 10 min walk to centre of Kirkwall. The pitches were flat and well spaced out. The washing/toilet/showering facilities are best we have stayed in to......Read more.

Great location. 5 min walk to coop/tesco/lidl and 10 min walk to centre of Kirkwall. The pitches were flat and well spaced out. The washing/toilet/showering facilities are best we have stayed in to date. Highly recommend....Read less.

"Fantastic managed campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

13/07/2021

Small campsite which is a 10 minute walk from Kirkwall town centre. On arrival I was given a friendly welcome and shown around all of the facilities in the block (TV room, freezers, toilets and......Read more.

Small campsite which is a 10 minute walk from Kirkwall town centre. On arrival I was given a friendly welcome and shown around all of the facilities in the block (TV room, freezers, toilets and showers). Also informed about the Covid procedures in place. During our two day stay there was constant cleaning taking place. There is a security code on the entrance gate and also for entry into the facilities block.

Campsite was quiet, staff were very friendly and helpful and the town was an easy 10 minute walk away. The only issue we encountered was most of Kirkwall's restaurants were closed on a Monday and Tuesday, so we had problems finding places to eat. Booking in advance is a must. This isn't just a Kirkwall issue though, we had the same problems all over Scotland, especially in Skye, as there is a staffing shortage.

TL/DR: Great campsite to use as a base for exploring Orkney...Read less.

"In General an excellent site."

R Coxon - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

12/07/2021

On the whole very satisfied with the site but had reservations about being placed on a plot for the last two nights which was clearly intended as car parking for a tent and not hard standing for a......Read more.

On the whole very satisfied with the site but had reservations about being placed on a plot for the last two nights which was clearly intended as car parking for a tent and not hard standing for a motorhome. This was admittedly partially my fault because I wanted to extend my stay and this was the only pitch available.

Site could be improved marginally by adding more electric hook ups as they seem to be in demand....Read less.

"Great park"

Mrs J White - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

12/07/2021

We stayed in a pod which was clean, spacious and comfortable. It was also great value for money and the toilet facilities were spotless. A great experience in Orkney - we shall be back!

"Great campsite"

A Taylor - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

11/07/2021

Had a great week here, no issues.

"Great camping pod and facilities"

Ms E Newton - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

11/07/2021

We stayed in the Grainbank Lodge camping pod and it was lovely - warm, cosy and clean - with heating, lights, kettle, fridge and microwave which made our camping really luxurious!

We really liked......Read more.

We stayed in the Grainbank Lodge camping pod and it was lovely - warm, cosy and clean - with heating, lights, kettle, fridge and microwave which made our camping really luxurious!

We really liked the washing facilities which had separate, private cubicles containing sink, shower and toilet which was great (who hasn’t got in the shower then decided you need the loo)!

Fantastic camping site with excellent facilities - will definitely be back!...Read less.

"A growing space"

Ms S Scarth - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

11/07/2021

There is plenty of room for everyone - including dogs. When the plants and shrubs have grown we can enjoy more birdsong too!

The facilities are excellent and the staff very friendly.

"An unexpected find"

Mrs L Butler - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

09/07/2021

After changing our plans and deciding to visit the Orkney isles we found the Orkney campsite fab

Good central location on the island to get about on our bikes and on the ferries

Plenty of shopping......Read more.

After changing our plans and deciding to visit the Orkney isles we found the Orkney campsite fab

Good central location on the island to get about on our bikes and on the ferries

Plenty of shopping nearby

The facilities on this site are very clean well planned and very private

The staff very helpful

The only negative point was it was very tatty around the edges I think weed killer had been put down and all th grass gone like straw so looked a bit messy but that didn’t stop us enjoying our time at this campsite

...Read less.

"Fabulous facilities"

Mrs M Brelsford - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

09/07/2021

The best site we have been on for facilities. Every campsite should have a facility block like this.

Only stayed the night to recharge, fill up and empty while touring Orkney. Would definitely use......Read more.

The best site we have been on for facilities. Every campsite should have a facility block like this.

Only stayed the night to recharge, fill up and empty while touring Orkney. Would definitely use again if in Orkney.

Kirkwall nice city, great indian 10min walk....Read less.

"Excellent Value for Money Site"

N Cameron - Stayed Jul 2021

09/07/2021

I find this site to be great value for money.

The site is well maintained and facilities are kept clean and tidy.

Strict Covid policy in place which was reassuring.

Site was quiet at night until I......Read more.

I find this site to be great value for money.

The site is well maintained and facilities are kept clean and tidy.

Strict Covid policy in place which was reassuring.

Site was quiet at night until I opened my camper van in the morning at 6am and the alarm went off 🤦‍♂️.

Great site, highly recommended 👌

...Read less.

"Orkney tour."

Mr K Cummings - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

09/07/2021

Stayed here for two nights. Not a problem. Easy stroll into town.

"Fantastic Place Well Worth a Visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

09/07/2021

We loved this campsite, the toilets and showers were some of the best we have seen, x the park is well set out x maintained. Its a short walk from Kirkwall Town centre where there are loads of......Read more.

We loved this campsite, the toilets and showers were some of the best we have seen, x the park is well set out x maintained. Its a short walk from Kirkwall Town centre where there are loads of restaurants x shops x things to see x do, highly recommended....Read less.

"Review"

Mrs E McGowan - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

08/07/2021

Although I’ve marked a couple of the categories as 1 star that’s only because I didn’t pay attention to those aspects as there were not relevant to our party.

Nice clean and friendly site.

"Great"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

08/07/2021

Great

"Best camping in uk"

C Pearce - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

06/07/2021

Facilities, wardens friendliness, pitches, proximity to town, harbour, shopping ( necessaries) And of course marvellous scenery and attractions, cycle riding, something for everyone. Proximity to......Read more.

Facilities, wardens friendliness, pitches, proximity to town, harbour, shopping ( necessaries) And of course marvellous scenery and attractions, cycle riding, something for everyone. Proximity to Stromness & Pier gallery in addition to all the archaeological works. Sadly no pipe band this year, but it’ll be back!with the Festival.

We LOVE this place, but better not to let the news out. It was bad enough this year!!...Read less.

"friendliness"

Mr D Lees - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

06/07/2021

terrific site and location, can't fault in any way, go on, pay it a visit, you will not be disappointed !!!!!

"Orkney trip"

R Bottomley - Stayed Jun 2021

06/07/2021

Well organised and tended to my needs perfectly

"A quality site"

Anonymous - Stayed Jun 2021

06/07/2021

Well designed site and facilities, allowing it to operate safely with higher capacity than some others.

Place was spotless. Only ask would be for more water points around the site.

Kirkwall is a......Read more.

Well designed site and facilities, allowing it to operate safely with higher capacity than some others.

Place was spotless. Only ask would be for more water points around the site.

Kirkwall is a great location itself, and for exploring the Orkney Isles....Read less.

"Very clean and well organised site"

Mr T Perkins - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

05/07/2021

A great accessible site, well maintained and clean and modern toilet/shower facilities. Close to several supermarkets and walking distance into town. One of the best sites we stayed on in our tour of......Read more.

A great accessible site, well maintained and clean and modern toilet/shower facilities. Close to several supermarkets and walking distance into town. One of the best sites we stayed on in our tour of Scotland....Read less.

"Excellent immaculate site!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

04/07/2021

This site is in a great location for walking into the centre of Kirkwall and for travelling around the island! There is a sports centre next door, but we didn’t make use of this so can’t comment on......Read more.

This site is in a great location for walking into the centre of Kirkwall and for travelling around the island! There is a sports centre next door, but we didn’t make use of this so can’t comment on the facility. The staff were excellent and very Covid secure. The site facilities, consisting of a large communal lounge, and a communal kitchen with free use of toaster, microwave and washing machines. All immaculate! We didn’t have kids with us so couldn’t comment on kids facilities but there was a very large playground area that looked excellent at the side of the site attached to the sports centre.

But as a camper, the toilet facility was the best I’ve seen anywhere in the UK!! Each ‘toilet’ is basically a small bathroom. Again totally immaculate, lovely hot shower and…….UNDERFLOOR HEATING! Wow superb, 💯 the place to stay of camping on the island!

Thank you Pickaquoy!...Read less.

"Cracking canpsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

03/07/2021

Had a great stay here, toilet/shower facilities were great, brilliant having your own shower and toilet in the same room and plenty available. Extremely clean which was a comfort during covid.

But......Read more.

Had a great stay here, toilet/shower facilities were great, brilliant having your own shower and toilet in the same room and plenty available. Extremely clean which was a comfort during covid.

But disappointed at how difficult it was to find places in Kirkwall that were dog friendly for eating out for dinner. Worth bearing in mind if you’re bringing your pooch with you....Read less.

"Spotless"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

03/07/2021

Camp was spotless, toilet facilities the best I have seen, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful

"Spotless site, with exceptional facilities block, and easy access to town centre."

Miss J Lang - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

02/07/2021

We stayed for 3 nights as a base to visit parts of Orkney. Fabulous facility block with strict cleaning protocols making us feel safe during these Pandemic times. Easy walking access to Town Centre......Read more.

We stayed for 3 nights as a base to visit parts of Orkney. Fabulous facility block with strict cleaning protocols making us feel safe during these Pandemic times. Easy walking access to Town Centre and the rest of the Islands for day trips. Two very tiny niggles - 1 the swimming pool was closed due to technical issues, which was disappointing, and 2 the showers operated on a push button giving approx 8 seconds per push and no way of changing temperature, not ideal with long hair!...Read less.

"Nice Campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

01/07/2021

Very pleasant good facilities and clean

"excellent"

D Gibson - Stayed Jun 2021

30/06/2021

Fantastic location - so very convenient when you get off the Shetland ferry at 11pm. Walking distance from the fleshpots(!) of downtown Kirkwall. Also very near Tesco, Lidl, Co-op. Online booking was......Read more.

Fantastic location - so very convenient when you get off the Shetland ferry at 11pm. Walking distance from the fleshpots(!) of downtown Kirkwall. Also very near Tesco, Lidl, Co-op. Online booking was easy, and confirmation email included info on accessing facilities when you arrive late off the ferry....Read less.

"First Trip to Orkney"

Mr M McKay - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

30/06/2021

This campsite (Pickaquoy) was excellent for so many reasons. Will definitely hope to return next year.

"Great stay at Orkney campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed Jun 2021

30/06/2021

The campsite is conveniently located with buses running along the road opposite. Facilities are clean and tidy, well organised, nice big lounge area with games and books, laundry and kitchen......Read more.

The campsite is conveniently located with buses running along the road opposite. Facilities are clean and tidy, well organised, nice big lounge area with games and books, laundry and kitchen facilities. Close to the Pickaquoy centre which has gym, pool and cinema. Would return....Read less.

"Great wee campsite ....felt safe and it was clean and tidy"

Mrs S Macleod - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

28/06/2021

We stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed it would recommend and go back

"amazing site and sooo close to centre of Kirkwall"

L Reid - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

28/06/2021

just an amazing clean and quiet site ....

"Top Quality."

Mr K Russell - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

28/06/2021

The best quality site we stayed in on our tour of the Orkneys and the north of Scotland. Superb toilet and shower facilities with top-level Covid protocol and cleanliness. The site is sheltered by......Read more.

The best quality site we stayed in on our tour of the Orkneys and the north of Scotland. Superb toilet and shower facilities with top-level Covid protocol and cleanliness. The site is sheltered by trees, and was very well organised and presented....Read less.

"Helpful staff"

S Williams - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

27/06/2021

Having been disappointed with a campsite previously booked, I searched for an alternative and found the member of staff on the phone to be very helpful. We booked two nights with this campsite and......Read more.

Having been disappointed with a campsite previously booked, I searched for an alternative and found the member of staff on the phone to be very helpful. We booked two nights with this campsite and were extremely happy with all the facilities, cleanliness and all members of staff. They made us feel very welcome....Read less.

"Orkney Caravan Park"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

27/06/2021

Great location and easy access to Lerwick on foot.

Site is clean and well kept along with helpful and friendly staff.

Would recommend

"Good overnight stop"

Dr A McWilliam - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

26/06/2021

Arrived in Kirkwall just before midnight off ferry (v close to site). Pitch was clearly indicated and easy to find. All facilities very good and very clean.

"Excellent site in great location"

Mr C McPherson - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

26/06/2021

We wanted a site that was close to Kirkwall and the ferries. Pickaquoy delivered on every count.

"Great spot."

Ms C Macinnes - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

25/06/2021

Showers and services are excellent. Will recommend and definitely return. Thank you

"Orkney Caravan Park"

J Downs - Stayed Jun 2021

24/06/2021

Probably the cleanest campsite facilities I've ever seen on a site. I'm a member of both national camping clubs with a very good reputation for great facilities. Outside of the clubs, facilities can......Read more.

Probably the cleanest campsite facilities I've ever seen on a site. I'm a member of both national camping clubs with a very good reputation for great facilities. Outside of the clubs, facilities can also be good, but don't usually meet the club standards. In the case of the Orkney Caravan Park the facilities surpass even those of the national clubs. The standard could be due to Covid 19 precautions, but I get the impression that this is their standard....Read less.

"a week's stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

24/06/2021

all very good

"One of few"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

23/06/2021

There are not too many sites on Orkney - and there is a vast difference between locations too.

We spent our first night in a hotel because we landed at 11pm but I wish I had known I could access......Read more.

There are not too many sites on Orkney - and there is a vast difference between locations too.

We spent our first night in a hotel because we landed at 11pm but I wish I had known I could access this site any time as it was far better than the hotel we stayed at.

The Site is well situated in the town viz a viz shops and access to the harbour area. We only stayed 2 nights but we were very happy with what was there.

The toilet facilities were very good, clean and accessible. The only problem were the guests who just could not flush a toilet properly or follow Covid regulations - like cleaning up after themselves. This occurred later in the evening or early mornings as the staff were on it the next day.

There was always hot water available for a shower and plenty of it.

The only drawback was the price of the washing machine at £4.00 this was twice as expensive as the ones on Shetland - we never used it - so we don't know how good it was or how long and how expensive the dryer was.

We were happy with the site - well cared for and very tidy....Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead