The Orkney Caravan Park (Pickaquoy)

Orkney, Scotland

236 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 236 reviews in the last 12 months

98.7% would recommend this site

98.7% would stay here again

Excellent

158

Very Good

75

Average

4

Poor

2

Terrible

0

"Nice campsite"

Bennett, David - Stayed Self, August 2022

14/08/2022

Nice place. Very clean and tidy. One of the wardens isn't very nice though. Very curt to the point of being rude. Apart from her it was a great stay.

"Great Caravan Park!"

Gillies, Rory - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

14/08/2022

We were down in Orkney working for four days and stayed at the caravan park. Not being regular "caravan people" we weren't sure what to expect but we had a wonderful stay. The amenities were......Read more.

We were down in Orkney working for four days and stayed at the caravan park. Not being regular "caravan people" we weren't sure what to expect but we had a wonderful stay. The amenities were excellent and we were very close to a drinking water tap so easy to fill up our container. The showers were very good (except for the push button which only lasted about 30 seconds per push), and everything you needed was on hand.

We had our dog with us and the park across the road was perfect for morning and evening walkies. There's three supermarkets within a short walk, and Kirkwall town centre is only a 10 minute walk away.

We would strongly recommend this caravan park and will be back for a holiday next time....Read less.

"Clean good facilities."

Walker, Shelley - Stayed with Family, August 2022

14/08/2022

Great location. Well kept campsite.

"Base for island exploration"

Pearson, Richard - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

13/08/2022

Needed to stay in Kirkwall as plans were for some days on islands using bikes hence needing to be near the ferry terminal. Location great and although a road runs by the site, it was very quiet.......Read more.

Needed to stay in Kirkwall as plans were for some days on islands using bikes hence needing to be near the ferry terminal. Location great and although a road runs by the site, it was very quiet. Friendly staff, no problems with booking in, all relevant information provided. Facilities excellent, nice hot showers, everything clean. Good laundry facilities which we made use of (at reasonable additional cost). Although the site was busy it didn't feel crowded. Van service facilities also excellent, drive over grey waste next to water station and opposite chemical waste disposal, all just outside the site barrier so you can use the facilities if not staying for a reduced price, good to know for off-site camping.

Location makes it easy to wander into Kirkwall, supermarkets just a few minutes walk away....Read less.

"very nice place, well equipped campsite, especially bathrooms"

Genre, Boris - Stayed with Family, July 2022

13/08/2022

Very nice bathrooms, playground for the kids directly nearby, facilities such as laundry and wash up by far better than most of the campsites. Flat ground, almost no slope.

Close to Kirkwall city......Read more.

Very nice bathrooms, playground for the kids directly nearby, facilities such as laundry and wash up by far better than most of the campsites. Flat ground, almost no slope.

Close to Kirkwall city centre and supermarkets...Read less.

"Beautifully maintained well located campsite"

Frith, Michelle - Stayed with Family, August 2022

13/08/2022

As the title says - a great campsite with great on site facilities and next to a lovely leisure centre and pool.

"Nice stay"

Vandercammen, Julien - Stayed with Family, August 2022

11/08/2022

-: No cooking facility.

+: Swimming pool. Near shops. Central location on the island. Proper campsite. Playground. Shower with hot water. Nice facilities. Electric kettle.

?: Good idea to gather......Read more.

-: No cooking facility.

+: Swimming pool. Near shops. Central location on the island. Proper campsite. Playground. Shower with hot water. Nice facilities. Electric kettle.

?: Good idea to gather toilet and shower in the same room? It could give low availability....Read less.

"Spacious quiet site with great facilities."

McLellan, Richard - Stayed with Friends, July 2022

11/08/2022

Convenient, rather than scenic location. Helpful staff and great, well maintained facilities. A larger freezer for ice packs would be nice.

"Facilities and Warden presence were excellent."

Montgomery, Ian - Stayed with Family, July 2022

11/08/2022

Very satisfied with this site, staff were very pleasant and helpful. Toilets and Showers were of a high standard of cleanliness.

"Staff and Facilities"

Thomson, Douglas - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

11/08/2022

Carol the manager was very accommodating.The toilets were very clean and the spray system VG and essential to maintain after COVID.

"The Orkney Caravan Park."

Gater, David - Stayed with Family, July 2022

10/08/2022

Without a doubt this is one of the best sites we’ve ever stayed on. Facilities were spotlessly clean on every occasion and plenty of them. The staff were friendly and helpful.

There’s a lounge room......Read more.

Without a doubt this is one of the best sites we’ve ever stayed on. Facilities were spotlessly clean on every occasion and plenty of them. The staff were friendly and helpful.

There’s a lounge room with games and books should you require them and then a kitchen and laundry/drying room, again both spotless and sinks aplenty to get your washing up or washing done.

I’d totally recommend this site the only thing I’d like to see and I guess comes with its own logistical and practical problems would be the sale of gas, but that’s far from being a deal breaker.

In terms of location again it’s fantastic within short walking range of 3 big supermarkets and it’s only a short walk further to the town centre. There’s a kids playground and a leisure centre just to the rear of the site.

So yes would totally recommend and the next time we’re on Orkney it’s the first place I’d book....Read less.

"Very clean well maintained amenities and well positioned"

Brookes, Lee - Stayed with Family, July 2022

10/08/2022

Let me start off with something that some might find weird, but the toilets and shower blocks are immaculate regularly cleaned and with clean cloths and disinfectant should you want to spray things......Read more.

Let me start off with something that some might find weird, but the toilets and shower blocks are immaculate regularly cleaned and with clean cloths and disinfectant should you want to spray things yourself. The showers are also really powerful and a really good temperature, I found them hot but I know heat is subjective. I was there with my Nieces and there was a surprising amount for them todo which didn't disrupt the rest of the campsite. A great playwark area with a multi use climbing frame and a multi use ball court.

The Camp felt very safe and there was always a Warden about during the advertised hours with helpful advice. Easy stroll into Kirkwall close to a Co-op a Tesco and an Aldi/Lidl

I am fairly sure we will stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone as a great base to explore Orkney from....Read less.

"Great facilities and good location"

Grout, David - Stayed Self, August 2022

08/08/2022

Only problem was kids playing football until 11pm.

"Grainbank pod"

Matheson, Neil - Stayed with Family, August 2022

08/08/2022

We stayed in Grainbank pod. We had a great stay and really enjoyed it. The pod and facilities block were spotless and well kitted out.

We can't wait for our next visit.

"4 day break"

Senior, Daniel - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

06/08/2022

Pod was comfortable and clean. Wardens were available and happy to help if needed. Shower facilities were clean and well maintained. Despite being busy, the site was mostly quiet and folk were......Read more.

Pod was comfortable and clean. Wardens were available and happy to help if needed. Shower facilities were clean and well maintained. Despite being busy, the site was mostly quiet and folk were friendly and respectful. Site was close to local supermarkets and 5 minute walk to town....Read less.

"Nice well kept site on the edgoe Kirkwall but within easy reach fo the town centre."

Hatten, Ian - Stayed Self, July 2022

06/08/2022

The site is very well laid out with ample space between the hardstanding pitches. The camping area is more open with plenty of spaces for non-electric hookup camping. The main building comprises an......Read more.

The site is very well laid out with ample space between the hardstanding pitches. The camping area is more open with plenty of spaces for non-electric hookup camping. The main building comprises an office for the wardens, a lounge, kitchen area and laundry area to one side and cubicles with showers, wash hand basins and toilets along with one cubicle for the disabled. Fresh water and grey water disposal are next to the entrance and chemical toilet disposal point to the outside of the main building. the whole facility is very clean and tidy and well looked after. The wardens on site are very friendly and helpful and I had no issues at all during my stay. Over the last 30 years, I have been to this site 5 times as I know exactly what to expect and I have never been disappointed....Read less.

"Sehr freundlich, sehr sauber, sehr gepflegt"

Kliemann, Gaby - Stayed with Family, July 2022

05/08/2022

Ein sauberer, gepflegter Platz. Freundliches Personal, grosse Parzellen...jederzeit wieder

"Excellent, well-maintained site"

Tucker, Derek - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

05/08/2022

Excellent site just a short walk from the centre of Kirkwall. The pitches are well spaced and the unisex shower and toilet block is both spotless and well-equipped. Would definitely recommend.

"Great location"

Johnson, Ian - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

05/08/2022

Good location great facilities and helpful staff good value for money

"Convenient and well equiped"

Smith, Caroline - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

03/08/2022

Very convenient location, well equiped with plenty of showers.

Just one complaint, we turned up early for our second stay (about 11.30) and asked the lady in the office if there was a chance we could......Read more.

Very convenient location, well equiped with plenty of showers.

Just one complaint, we turned up early for our second stay (about 11.30) and asked the lady in the office if there was a chance we could park up then. She said no because otherwise everyone would want the same and wouldn't even check if our pitch was free. We were a bit disappointed but I guess those are the rules. However, tge next day, as we were packing up (about 11), we noticed tge folk on the pitch next to us had been let in early! 😕...Read less.

"Fantastic park with great communal facilities"

McLaughlin, Ronald - Stayed Self, July 2022

03/08/2022

Loved my tent/camping stay at this lovely Camping park. The communal facilities comprised of Large kitchen, ample lounge, many private individual shower rooms / toilets, laundry facilities and more.......Read more.

Loved my tent/camping stay at this lovely Camping park. The communal facilities comprised of Large kitchen, ample lounge, many private individual shower rooms / toilets, laundry facilities and more. Staff were very friendly and obliging as were fellow residents. The park itself is very clean and well run. It is quite compact (but plenty of room for many vehicles and campers) so you are never far from communal block. I really can't fault anything. A few minor negatives - I arrived on late night ferry. I had difficulty finding the place. I probably didn't read instructions properly so make sure you do. It was pitch black when I arrived so wasn't sure where my pitch was - I think all the camp lights were switched off at that late hour, luckily I had a torch. Communal kitchen is great and had washing up liquid and scourers etc.. however you need you own cutlery, cups, plates etc. Park is well located - a 10 minute walk to town centre, a 5 minute walk to Tesco, Co-op, or LIdl. Great....Read less.

"Centrally located and within short walking distance to shops and cathedral"

McGarrigle, Pauline - Stayed with Family, July 2022

02/08/2022

Perfect location. Nice quiet site. Reasonably priced with plenty of hard standing and grass pitches. The only downside was lack of hose on the water tap and although the site warden was kind enough......Read more.

Perfect location. Nice quiet site. Reasonably priced with plenty of hard standing and grass pitches. The only downside was lack of hose on the water tap and although the site warden was kind enough to lend me one it was only about 3ft in length, which made filling the water tank on my mobike home a bit of a task, as I had to move the dustbins out of the way to get close enough to be able to use it. Another site user was using a watering can to fill his van - a longer permanent hose would be a better option. Great site overall and would definitely return....Read less.

"Superb site"

Plummer, Michael - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

02/08/2022

Very clean and well run site. Very close to Kirkwall centre. Level hardstanding. Superb idea of having disinfectant spray and cloths in each of the shower rooms ( toilet, basin and shower). There are......Read more.

Very clean and well run site. Very close to Kirkwall centre. Level hardstanding. Superb idea of having disinfectant spray and cloths in each of the shower rooms ( toilet, basin and shower). There are about 12...always clean.

Lovely friendly staff.

Motorhome facilities outside the gate.

Would return again if ever back on the Islands. Highly recommended....Read less.

"Nice site with good facilities"

Cooper, Andy - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

02/08/2022

Lovely site but we did have certain issues, the noise of the road being one. The main complaint is that we were near the entrance to the Pickaquoy centre and the ball play area. We had a football......Read more.

Lovely site but we did have certain issues, the noise of the road being one. The main complaint is that we were near the entrance to the Pickaquoy centre and the ball play area. We had a football come crashing into our awning one evening when two adults were in there, prior to the ball coming over they constantly bashed the ball against the metal screen. There was also a constant stream of youths using the site as a walkway/shortcut from the housing estate next door causing our dog to bark constantly as they passed by very close to our unit. I feel the layout in relation to access to the pickaquoy centre has been badly planned and thought out, I do not see the requirement to have access to it from within the site when the main entrance is so close along the road. It’s a shame as the site is lovely otherwise but would not return unless I could get a pitch in a better place. Don’t mind kids playing but not listening to a football crashing against a fence by two adults....Read less.

"Orkney caravan park ."

Young, Alan - Stayed with Family, July 2022

01/08/2022

This site is one of the best I have ever stayed at . The site itself is lush and green (probably due to a the rain ) the shower block is tidy and well maintained with a range of facilities for......Read more.

This site is one of the best I have ever stayed at . The site itself is lush and green (probably due to a the rain ) the shower block is tidy and well maintained with a range of facilities for everyone . The small (cosy ) lounge , the laundry and the dishwasher areas are scrupulously clean and everything works . The real delight on this site though are the staff who are helpful , cheerful and do their very best to be cheerful.....Read less.

"Well equipped facilities"

York, Lesley - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

01/08/2022

Very impressed with facilities, so much history on The Orkneys we could have spent the whole month we're travelling just up there! Lots of free sites to visit,such a magical historic place

"Clean, Compact and Central"

Paton, James - Stayed with Family, July 2022

01/08/2022

Spotlessly clean site. Excellent location to walk to town centre or drive to historical sites and landmarks.

Has a great swimming pool next door for family when they've been overloaded with......Read more.

Spotlessly clean site. Excellent location to walk to town centre or drive to historical sites and landmarks.

Has a great swimming pool next door for family when they've been overloaded with archaeology....Read less.

"Excellent"

Rae, Vivien - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

31/07/2022

Just completed NC500 including trip to Orkney, this was the best site we stayed at by far. Excellent location, close to town centre and all must see attractions. Good pitch in quiet area. Excellent......Read more.

Just completed NC500 including trip to Orkney, this was the best site we stayed at by far. Excellent location, close to town centre and all must see attractions. Good pitch in quiet area. Excellent facilities, toilets and showers very clean and good Covid measures in place. Highly recommend....Read less.

"Lovely Views"

Rice, William - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

31/07/2022

This site is very well kept. Josephine and Jim do a marvellous job. Very nice welcome and great advice on where to visit.

"Lovely campsite"

Campbell, Alexandra - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

31/07/2022

Great place to stay very near to town with great shops and museums and beautifull cathedral

Super clean facilities on campsite. Lovely staff and very nicely set out . Definitely be back next visit......Read more.

Great place to stay very near to town with great shops and museums and beautifull cathedral

Super clean facilities on campsite. Lovely staff and very nicely set out . Definitely be back next visit to beautiful orkney....Read less.

"Brilliant site and staff"

Warren, Paul - Stayed with Friends, July 2022

29/07/2022

Brilliant site easy walking distance into Kirkwall and 300 yards from 3 big supermarkets. Great amenities, showers were spot on always plenty of hot water, good sized shower room if you needed to get......Read more.

Brilliant site easy walking distance into Kirkwall and 300 yards from 3 big supermarkets. Great amenities, showers were spot on always plenty of hot water, good sized shower room if you needed to get the kids in there with you, always tidy considering the amount of footfall, same for kitchen/ washing up area, microwave, toaster, kettle fridge and freezer available. Also 2 each of big washing machines and tumble dryers. Good recycling area. Pitches were a good size and there’s a park opposite to walk the dog .

Wardens were very helpful and friendly, great kids playground....Read less.

"Perfect campsite"

Allan, Bryan - Stayed with Family, July 2022

28/07/2022

Lovely place to stay great location for touring any direction. Nice present staff highly recommended this site

"Peaceful"

Holmes, Robert - Stayed with Family, July 2022

27/07/2022

Great site,with lots to do around about.Will be back.

"July stay"

Hood, Andrew - Stayed with Family, July 2022

27/07/2022

Great site,

"Good campsite near town centre"

Gardner, Mike - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

26/07/2022

The campsite is great for exploring Orkney from. It is a ten minute walk to the town centre of Kirkwall and also five minutes from supermarkets. The site itself is clean and kept tidy, we liked our......Read more.

The campsite is great for exploring Orkney from. It is a ten minute walk to the town centre of Kirkwall and also five minutes from supermarkets. The site itself is clean and kept tidy, we liked our grassy pitch for our campervan, where we stayed for two nights....Read less.

"Lovely site close to town centre clean tidy very well maintained."

Devlin, Charles - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

25/07/2022

Really satisfied with everything, however you could turn the water temp down a bit for summer.

3rd time on this site and we will be back.

"Great site"

Cuthbertson, Andrew - Stayed with Family, July 2022

25/07/2022

Site v clean. Showers all had toilets too. Large Tesco 150m away and town center close by. Cannot get into site before 1400. Would definitely go back. Washing up area has microwave and toaster too

"Great service"

Junyent, Marti - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

25/07/2022

The camping facilities were very good and the customer service was outstanding.

"Stay at Orkney"

Teunissen, Bernadette - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

24/07/2022

Good facilities, nice environment and friendly people.

"Perfect campsite, very hepfull stuff"

Kasper, Kathrin - Stayed with Family, July 2022

23/07/2022

The campsite is real close to the City of Kirkwall. Everything is realy clean and comfortable.

There's enough space on the pitches.

The stuff is very helpfull and kind.

So I recommand this campsite......Read more.

The campsite is real close to the City of Kirkwall. Everything is realy clean and comfortable.

There's enough space on the pitches.

The stuff is very helpfull and kind.

So I recommand this campsite for a stay at the Orkneys....Read less.

"holiday site"

Berrall, Tim - Stayed with Family, July 2022

21/07/2022

Great facilities, close to the town, quiet comfortable night. Lovely showers and toilets..

"Spacious"

Crowther, Gary - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

19/07/2022

Only stayed one night but found the site to be very clean , well spaced out pitches and ideal location for all amenities.

"Pickaquoy site"

Stone, Barbara - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

18/07/2022

Excellent site - everything was clean, and we were made very welcome. Would definitely return when I can.

"Great place."

Meadows, John - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

17/07/2022

In difficult circumstances after an accident the staff, especially Carol, did everything they could to help. They went the 'extra mile'. It is a fabulous site in a fabulous place. I would have no......Read more.

In difficult circumstances after an accident the staff, especially Carol, did everything they could to help. They went the 'extra mile'. It is a fabulous site in a fabulous place. I would have no hesitation in recommending it highly....Read less.

"Excellent"

Cox, Stephen - Stayed with Family, July 2022

17/07/2022

Excellent campsite as a base for exploring the Orkney Islands.

Facilities were clean and the kitchens and common room very good.

"Very clean, well organised site"

Williams, Karen - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

14/07/2022

Really close to town centre, Kirkwall. Facilities very clean. Friendly staff. Toilet, sink and shower in each cubicle.

"Orkney 2022"

Ganson, Eva - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

14/07/2022

The site is kept in very good order. Facilities are clean, staff very helpful.

"Great facilities great value"

Hird, Barry - Stayed with Family, July 2022

13/07/2022

Wardens are helpful and friendly. Great facilities well maintained. Well situated with a short walk to the town centre. If the weather gets the best of you there's the common room to seek refuge in......Read more.

Wardens are helpful and friendly. Great facilities well maintained. Well situated with a short walk to the town centre. If the weather gets the best of you there's the common room to seek refuge in or a nice warming sauna at the leisure centre next door.

This was my 3rd time staking at the campsite and I'll definitely be back....Read less.

"Excellent site"

Coates, Ronnie - Stayed Self, July 2022

12/07/2022

Having stayed once before pre covid I wasn’t dissapointed facilities second to none so clean ,staff very professional

"Camping at Pickaquoy"

Perkins, Allan - Stayed Self, July 2022

11/07/2022

Nice campsite with plenty of space, and quite areas for tents away from the main hard standings. Very well run, with clear guidance provided beforehand for those arriving on the late night ferry.......Read more.

Nice campsite with plenty of space, and quite areas for tents away from the main hard standings. Very well run, with clear guidance provided beforehand for those arriving on the late night ferry. Plenty of showers/washrooms and a small kitchen with kettle, microwave and fridge, and high standards of hygeine re-Covid (disinfectant and cleaning cloths in every cubicle). Helpful and friendly staff. Overall, an excellent campsite for this with or without their own transport - very close to Kirkwall town centre for buses, ferries, etc....Read less.

"Extra verblijf op de Orkney-eilanden."

Ceuppens, Guido - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

10/07/2022

Oorspronkelijk geboekt voor 2 nachten, maar door het uitvallen van de Pentland-ferry voor de retour naar Schotland, hebben we 5 dagen extra op deze mooie camping verbleven. Enkel spijtig van het......Read more.

Oorspronkelijk geboekt voor 2 nachten, maar door het uitvallen van de Pentland-ferry voor de retour naar Schotland, hebben we 5 dagen extra op deze mooie camping verbleven. Enkel spijtig van het minder goede weer...Read less.

"Nice"

East, Nicole - Stayed with Family, July 2022

10/07/2022

Nice size

"Clean & well maintained / staffed."

Macdonald, Carol - Stayed with Family, July 2022

09/07/2022

Loved our stay, great facilities which were always clean. Roomy showers / toilets just perfect for showering with young kids and not noisy from your tent!

Great kitchen which we later discovered had......Read more.

Loved our stay, great facilities which were always clean. Roomy showers / toilets just perfect for showering with young kids and not noisy from your tent!

Great kitchen which we later discovered had a fridge for storing small items such as your pint of milk, perfect for us campers with kids & no elec!

Walking distance to play park / supermarkets / restaurants / swimming pool & cafe absolutely ideal.

Definitely recommend & will be back next year....Read less.

"X"

Knight, Keith - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

08/07/2022

X

"Perfect place to Explore thé mainland"

Tool, Yvonne - Stayed with Family, June 2022

08/07/2022

All tourist things

"Good Location"

Bailey, Alan - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

07/07/2022

Good location, near supermarkets, pity about the cruise ship passengers swamping Kirkwall.

"Great site in Kirkwall Town"

Sidley, Richard - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

06/07/2022

For a site a few hundred yards away from Tesco and Ludlow, it was very pleasant and neat and tidy, a mixture of grass and hard standing.

The services were excellent. Nice showers with self contained......Read more.

For a site a few hundred yards away from Tesco and Ludlow, it was very pleasant and neat and tidy, a mixture of grass and hard standing.

The services were excellent. Nice showers with self contained toilet and hand basin. Lounge area was welcoming and the wash facilities good.

Very friendly staff....Read less.

"Superb Location"

Silvey, Gill - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

06/07/2022

Excellent facilities and very well maintained. Close to town with good bus service.

"Fine stay"

Bullough, Luke - Stayed Self, June 2022

04/07/2022

All good: the facilities, the site, the staff and their email communication. There is nothing to fault. Very close to all the amenities, the town centre and not too far from the Northlink ferry......Read more.

All good: the facilities, the site, the staff and their email communication. There is nothing to fault. Very close to all the amenities, the town centre and not too far from the Northlink ferry terminal. I was down from Shetland to see my children competing in sports at the Picky centre - I quite literally couldn't have been closer to the pitches and the sports venue. Ideal. Thank you....Read less.

"Superb"

Hamilton, Diane - Stayed with Family, June 2022

04/07/2022

What a fantastic site, immaculate facilities that were constantly cleaned. Staff were lovely and friendly.

Absolutely everything was good including the indoor kitchen facilities and lounge......Read more.

What a fantastic site, immaculate facilities that were constantly cleaned. Staff were lovely and friendly.

Absolutely everything was good including the indoor kitchen facilities and lounge area.

Brilliant campsite...Read less.

"First visit to an excellent site."

Fox, William - Stayed Self, June 2022

04/07/2022

Everything was very satisfactory.

"Well set up and convenient site"

Helliwell, Chris - Stayed with Family, June 2022

03/07/2022

Stayed for four nights in June. Site is well set up with good level of facilities in the main building and easy access into Kirkwall. Helpful wardens on site until early evening, everything was......Read more.

Stayed for four nights in June. Site is well set up with good level of facilities in the main building and easy access into Kirkwall. Helpful wardens on site until early evening, everything was clean, hard to fault the site....Read less.

"An ideal base"

Melville, Alan - Stayed with Family, June 2022

03/07/2022

We stayed on the site for the whole duration of our visit to Orkney. It makes an ideal base to access most of the isles and be back on site the same day. The site is well run and all areas are......Read more.

We stayed on the site for the whole duration of our visit to Orkney. It makes an ideal base to access most of the isles and be back on site the same day. The site is well run and all areas are clean and tidy. The town of Kirkwall and local supermarkets are a short walk away. The local park opposite is fine for a short walk for your dogs but if they need more exercise off the lead, local options seem limited. We felt more information on suggestions for off-lead dog walks would be an asset. We used our cycles to tour locally and there is an excellent cycle shop in Kirkwall for spares and maintenance as well as hire. In all we would highly recommend The Orkney Caravan Park (Pickaquoy)....Read less.

"Orkney campsite"

Muir, Phyllis - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

02/07/2022

Campsite is well situated for access to the town, which has good restaurants, shops etc.

Staff are friendly, facilities are amongst the best I have experienced and very clean. Kitchen has microwave,......Read more.

Campsite is well situated for access to the town, which has good restaurants, shops etc.

Staff are friendly, facilities are amongst the best I have experienced and very clean. Kitchen has microwave, kettle, toaster for those in tents. There is a sitting room and laundry, in short, everything provided. Could not fault it. We have not stayed in a better campsite in the UK....Read less.

"Great place to stay."

Philip, Jackie - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

01/07/2022

Great location, excellent facilities, would highly recommend

"Easy walk into town"

Cook, Brian - Stayed Self, June 2022

29/06/2022

My only negative of the site. -

The Wi-Fi where I was was not fit for purpose it frustratingly kept dropping out, I spoke to the warden for a possible move but was told no one had ever complained......Read more.

My only negative of the site. -

The Wi-Fi where I was was not fit for purpose it frustratingly kept dropping out, I spoke to the warden for a possible move but was told no one had ever complained about it before. Was disappointed I wasn’t offered an alternative pitch or a solution....Read less.

"Superb base for exploring."

Bell, David - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

29/06/2022

Fantastic two weeks in an ideal location, which had everything we wanted and more! Everybody was helpful and welcoming and we encountered no problems whatsover. The facilities were first class and......Read more.

Fantastic two weeks in an ideal location, which had everything we wanted and more! Everybody was helpful and welcoming and we encountered no problems whatsover. The facilities were first class and were perfect for campers of all types. A well run, clean and tidy site and a credit to the islands of Orkney. Will definitely return to Orkney and Pickaquoy....Read less.

"Excellent Site & Friendly Staff"

Henderson, Keith - Stayed with Friends, June 2022

29/06/2022

The campsite and facilities are excellent and well maintained. Staff are friendly and helpful.

For kayakers, walkers, cyclists and motorcyclists, the lack of an area to dry wet kit is a down side. A......Read more.

The campsite and facilities are excellent and well maintained. Staff are friendly and helpful.

For kayakers, walkers, cyclists and motorcyclists, the lack of an area to dry wet kit is a down side. A drying room or access to clothes ropes (or similar) would be beneficial....Read less.

"Everything excellent"

Coghill, Stuart Burnett - Stayed Self, June 2022

28/06/2022

Very good facilitirs with everything clean and well maintained. Good location with esdy walk to town centre. The Indian Gatden (walk around the Peedie Sea) is the nearest restaurant is very good but......Read more.

Very good facilitirs with everything clean and well maintained. Good location with esdy walk to town centre. The Indian Gatden (walk around the Peedie Sea) is the nearest restaurant is very good but take your own booze as they are observant and do not sell alcohol. Do not miss St Magnus Cathedral.

Very hsndy for Orkney Ferries (see pucture )if you are going on to smaller islands....Read less.

"very nice"

Wiggins, Graham - Stayed Self, June 2022

28/06/2022

things I liked were the shower/toilet rooms, well planned and thought out.

The lounge area, kitchen and laundry are also very well done, neat, practical, and tidy. Shows the site was planned by......Read more.

things I liked were the shower/toilet rooms, well planned and thought out.

The lounge area, kitchen and laundry are also very well done, neat, practical, and tidy. Shows the site was planned by someone who has used campsites before

The only slight niggle, were a couple of noisy kids one night in the Picky's playground, but ...nothing really

Units / tents were well spread out, and for a new-to-cycle-camping person like me, having everything within an easy walk or ride was brilliant. choice of off site shops, and so much to do within a few miles too....Read less.

"Great Site!"

McGowan, Susan - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

28/06/2022

Delightful, well maintained abd managed Site. Close to supermarket and easy walking to Kirkwall Town centre.

"Beautiful clean tidy well run site"

Wright, Tony - Stayed Self, June 2022

28/06/2022

All amenities was spotless and the wash rooms are great having everything needed in one room and very close to the town and leisure facilities next door. It’s good that your keeping the prices......Read more.

All amenities was spotless and the wash rooms are great having everything needed in one room and very close to the town and leisure facilities next door. It’s good that your keeping the prices reasonable also...Read less.

"Impressive"

Morrison, Alec - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

27/06/2022

Friendly helpful staff. Efficiently run. Super clean with great facilities (e.g. hot showers, washing up area and common room). I think this is the best site we have stayed in. We'll be back for sure.

"Great location and facilities"

Williamson, Morag - Stayed with Friends, June 2022

27/06/2022

Very satisfied with:

the green and well-maintained environment. Plenty space between pitches.

excellent facilities, especially the shower rooms which were like normal home bathrooms instead of being......Read more.

Very satisfied with:

the green and well-maintained environment. Plenty space between pitches.

excellent facilities, especially the shower rooms which were like normal home bathrooms instead of being separate from toilets, and always spotless

great kitchen / washing-up facilities too, indoors, well-lit, water always hot; handy fridge and microwave

great location being next door to leisure centre with multiple facilities, and in walking distance of supermarkets and town centre, and on the main bus route

felt very safe, and good value

Somewhat dissatisfied with:

the slight slope of the pitch (in campervan).

the rather short shower bursts of 10 seconds

unreliable / weak wifi....Read less.

"return visit - would stay again"

Fricker, Elizabeth - Stayed Self, June 2022

26/06/2022

Great facilities

Good price for small tent - not overpriced like some places

Clean, good quality facilities - toilets, showers, kitchen, lounge

Someone on hand most of the day for any issues

"great services and friendly helpfull staff"

Iliffe, Cathryn - Stayed Self, June 2022

26/06/2022

lovely clean modern warm service block, a very welcome respite from the orkney weather. the site gives shelter from the wind. quiet location, and quiet visitors, tourers and hikers. There's a snug......Read more.

lovely clean modern warm service block, a very welcome respite from the orkney weather. the site gives shelter from the wind. quiet location, and quiet visitors, tourers and hikers. There's a snug lounge for people who want to spend time out of their tents, and washing up sinks and clothes washing machines. ferries, supermarkets and the town are a 5 minute cycle ride away....Read less.

"Lovely campsite"

Martin, David - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

26/06/2022

This campsite is just 10 mins walk from the centre of Kirkwall, supermarkets are even nearer, so a very convenient location. It is very well run with staff on site all day. The reception and toilet......Read more.

This campsite is just 10 mins walk from the centre of Kirkwall, supermarkets are even nearer, so a very convenient location. It is very well run with staff on site all day. The reception and toilet block are cleaned to a high standard and the free showers especially are hot and easy to use. There is also a lounge and kitchen area with a kettle and microwave but cooking on portable stoves is not allowed in the kitchen (quite rightly!) The washing and drying machines completes the list of excellent facilities. Friendly staff are happy to help and advise and leave a note of your pitch number if you arrive late.

Will definitely be back.

DM...Read less.

"A good base from which to explore"

Budd, Robert - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

26/06/2022

With its location in Kirkwall, within walking distance of the town centre and very close to 3 supermarkets, this makes a great base for exploring Mainland. The good facilities cater for all types of......Read more.

With its location in Kirkwall, within walking distance of the town centre and very close to 3 supermarkets, this makes a great base for exploring Mainland. The good facilities cater for all types of campers....Read less.

"Beautiful place to stay."

Mackinnon, Finella - Stayed Self, June 2022

25/06/2022

Beautifully laid out site with all one could wish for. Quiet in spite of being close to a main road which makes it so convenient.

Ideal to tour from being so central and close to all that Kirkwall......Read more.

Beautifully laid out site with all one could wish for. Quiet in spite of being close to a main road which makes it so convenient.

Ideal to tour from being so central and close to all that Kirkwall has to offer.

I didn't have much contact with staff, but was totally satisfied with all facilities I used.

Love Orkney and the Orcadians. Do hope I'll be able to return one day....Read less.

"Excellent, well-appointed site near to Kirkwall town centre"

Darnell, Derek - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

25/06/2022

Returned to the site after some eight years and pleased to note the expansion and improvements made in that time.

Easy to find and a short walking distance from the centre of town and local......Read more.

Returned to the site after some eight years and pleased to note the expansion and improvements made in that time.

Easy to find and a short walking distance from the centre of town and local amenities. Staff all very friendly and helpful, keeping the place clean & tidy.

Having the motorhome point and chemical disposal facility outside the site barrier and available to 'non-residents' for a fiver is a great idea in these days of increased camper van ownership....Read less.

"June holiday"

Chalmers, Andrew - Stayed with Family, June 2022

24/06/2022

Very clean and well maintained site very close walking distance to Kirkwall centre found site facilities very well kept constant cleaning in daytime with hardworking friendly staff who do Excellent......Read more.

Very clean and well maintained site very close walking distance to Kirkwall centre found site facilities very well kept constant cleaning in daytime with hardworking friendly staff who do Excellent job.

Would definitely consider this site in future if visited the beautiful Orkney islands again would recommend highly...Read less.

"One of the best."

Paterson, William - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

24/06/2022

The Orkney Caravan park is up there with the best sites we have stayed at. The staff were friendly and helpful. The toilets/showers were excellent, perhaps the only criticism was that the push button......Read more.

The Orkney Caravan park is up there with the best sites we have stayed at. The staff were friendly and helpful. The toilets/showers were excellent, perhaps the only criticism was that the push button showers had to be ‘re-pushed’ every 10/20 seconds. The dishwashing area was adequate and the microwave oven is a helpful addition. Overall 5 stars....Read less.

"Grainbank pod"

Bisset, Karen - Stayed with Friends, June 2022

23/06/2022

Comfy and warm. Remember your own water container as well as bedding and crockery etc.

"Lovely clean and today site, ideal for town."

Easton, Karen - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

22/06/2022

We managed a last minute booking when our plans changed and what a find. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The facilities are excellent and they even allow vehicle top up and emptying for a......Read more.

We managed a last minute booking when our plans changed and what a find. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The facilities are excellent and they even allow vehicle top up and emptying for a small fee for none residents. Definite recommendation...Read less.

"Really enjoyed Orkney"

Thompson, David - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

21/06/2022

Enjoyed Orkney, and Pickaquoy campsite complimented the trip.

"Brilliant that loo, sink and shower are all in one room"

Kidd, Fiona - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

21/06/2022

Great stay as ever. Friendly staff and good facilities.

"Clean, convenient campground"

Vogel, Marisa - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

21/06/2022

The campsite facilities were very clean and well appointed. We appreciated the individual shower rooms for privacy and the kitchen with the fridge and kettle. The social area was nice to spend time......Read more.

The campsite facilities were very clean and well appointed. We appreciated the individual shower rooms for privacy and the kitchen with the fridge and kettle. The social area was nice to spend time in as well and we could imagine it would be a welcome place for tent campers when the weather is bad (we were lucky enough to have sun for our entire stay). The campground was very secure and in a great location....Read less.

"Pickaquoy is in a brilliant location close to the town, not too large and with excellent amenities"

Nicholls, Tim - Stayed with Family, June 2022

21/06/2022

Location - excellent, close to the town for shops and restaurants

Facilities - excellent. Well thought through and kept perfectly clean. Campers lounge very useful when wet. Laundry was well......Read more.

Location - excellent, close to the town for shops and restaurants

Facilities - excellent. Well thought through and kept perfectly clean. Campers lounge very useful when wet. Laundry was well appointed

Pitches well spaced and good overall layout for tents

Staff available on site all day if needed

5 star site for me!...Read less.

"Overall a great site"

Greig, Douglas - Stayed Self, June 2022

21/06/2022

On arrival I discovered that pitches aren’t available until 2pm… why though? As my pitch was vacant I was allowed entry. Most hard standing pitches on sites are normally near enough level, not here.,......Read more.

On arrival I discovered that pitches aren’t available until 2pm… why though? As my pitch was vacant I was allowed entry. Most hard standing pitches on sites are normally near enough level, not here., dreadful camber and only just sorted with ramps.

Site is in Kirkwall, Tesco Lidl and Co op within 5 minutes walk, centre of Kirkwall 10 minutes, including ferry terminal and bus station. All facilities on site in great condition.

The site location makes this the ideal site for seeing everything Orkney has to offer....Read less.

"Great site,, convenient to town"

Schroeder, Peter - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

20/06/2022

Really good site, with very good facilities and very convenient to walk to local shops pubs and restaurants and also the ferries. The only disappointment on arrival to this site was customer......Read more.

Really good site, with very good facilities and very convenient to walk to local shops pubs and restaurants and also the ferries. The only disappointment on arrival to this site was customer relations. The warden in charge on our particular day on arrival was curt, unfriendly and on another day when they were on duty was rude. But we would still visit again and recommend the site, everyone is allowed a bad day or two....Read less.

"First class site would definitely return"

Riggs, Gill - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

20/06/2022

Staff very friendly. Cubicles with loo and showers of a very good size and quality. Number available means it is very unlikely one would not be available whenever visited. Good space between pitches.......Read more.

Staff very friendly. Cubicles with loo and showers of a very good size and quality. Number available means it is very unlikely one would not be available whenever visited. Good space between pitches. Location is good with easy access to open grass areas ,town and harbour worth a visit. Large Tesco very close. Motorhome service point is immediately after going through barrier making it difficult if queuing to use. More, importantly for the site owner this makes it available to non residents who could and probably do use this without paaying...Read less.

"Great facilities"

Stronach, John - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

20/06/2022

Great facilities and lovely base to explore Orkney

"Spotlessly clean, staff went the extra mile to be helpful."

Mickiewicz, Helen - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

20/06/2022

Spotlessly clean, value for money, friendly staff that went the extra mile to be helpful, excellent amenities.

"Second stopover on Orkney Tour"

Critchlow, Margaret - Stayed with Partner, May 2022

20/06/2022

Excellent facilities, brilliant location, helpful staff.

"WIFI"

Hawkins, David - Stayed Self, June 2022

19/06/2022

Any chance of extending the WIFI range to cover the whole site? Apart from that everything was fine.

"Park review"

Dougan, John - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

17/06/2022

Good clean well run site would use again

"Good base for exploring Orkney as fairly central. In walking distance of shops, bars and restaurants"

Dalton, David - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

16/06/2022

Good washing facilities with numerous individual bathrooms containing toilet, basin and shower.

"Brilliant campsite"

Hancock, Paul - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

16/06/2022

An excellent campsite, very conveniently located, with exceptional facilities, kept spotless by very knowledgable, friendly staff.

"Clean site close to city centre"

Farnell, Anne - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

15/06/2022

Clean site close to city centre, ferries & supermarkets. Open space close by if needed for dogs

"Sets the standards"

Page, Phil - Stayed with Friends, June 2022

15/06/2022

One of the best maintained sites, very clean, well managed and super location. Despite the main road, it’s very quiet, especially at night.

© 2006 - 2022 CampStead