The Orkney Caravan Park (Pickaquoy)

218 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 218 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

98% would stay here again

Excellent

86%

Very Good

12%

Average

2%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Great value for money"

Ms J Dudley - Stayed with partner, May 2022

21/05/2022

Pickaquoy is very centrally located to Orkney Mainland in general and Kirkwall in particular. We found the site management brilliant and the facilities were first class, and very covid safe.

"Lovely site"

Mrs A Johnston - Stayed with partner, May 2022

20/05/2022

Very neat and tidy site with lovely facilities.

"best place to stay on a budget"

Mr R Smith - Stayed May 2022

20/05/2022

Like any campsite, it is only as good as your fellow campers allow it to be. I have stayed at this site a number of times and this time it was extremely busy but most staying there were friendly and......Read more.

Like any campsite, it is only as good as your fellow campers allow it to be. I have stayed at this site a number of times and this time it was extremely busy but most staying there were friendly and considerate. I suspect the ones who aren't are a nuisance wherever they stay.

The facilities at the Pickaquoy are fantastic and this is easily the best campsite I stay on....Read less.

"Minor problems"

Mt J Milligan - Stayed with partner, May 2022

20/05/2022

Grass was overgrown. Someone disconnected our motorhome from the mains socket during the night.

"Brilliant"

Miss H Daykin - Stayed with family, May 2022

20/05/2022

This is the second time we’ve stayed in the pods and it was just as good as the first. Very good value for money compared to other establishments. Pods have all you need and the toilet block is very......Read more.

This is the second time we’ve stayed in the pods and it was just as good as the first. Very good value for money compared to other establishments. Pods have all you need and the toilet block is very clean and large so you’re never waiting for a shower. Great location, walkable to Kirkwall. We made use of the picky and went to inflatables and swimming, which the kids love. Will definitely be back if we’re needing an overnight stay in kirkwall from the north isles. Thank you!...Read less.

"Simply the best"

Mr I Whitmore - Stayed May 2022

18/05/2022

I kept leaving and ended up coming back again and again. Reminds me of a song.

"Good site to explore Orkney"

Mr M Burnett - Stayed with partner, May 2022

17/05/2022

Well organised site, toilets & showers always clean. Good dishwashing area and lounge. Arrived late first night, so never spoke to staff during the week, but they were around should I have needed to.......Read more.

Well organised site, toilets & showers always clean. Good dishwashing area and lounge. Arrived late first night, so never spoke to staff during the week, but they were around should I have needed to. Would visit again...Read less.

"7nights at Park."

D Southwell - Stayed May 2022

17/05/2022

Apart from rain ,wind and went home a day early . Was supposed to motorcycle island but weather had other ideas. Site perfect ,lots of clean showers toilets etc. will return and hope weather better.

"Quality Facilities made all the difference to a very wet stay"

Mr D Williams - Stayed May 2022

17/05/2022

Orkney has a "hyper oceanic" climate - and during my short stay it was exceptionally wet and windy. For a tent camper the communal kitchen and lounge area and the properly designed and engineered......Read more.

Orkney has a "hyper oceanic" climate - and during my short stay it was exceptionally wet and windy. For a tent camper the communal kitchen and lounge area and the properly designed and engineered shower/toilet modules made a positive difference....Read less.

"Orkney solo campervan trip"

J Mathison - Stayed May 2022

15/05/2022

Perfect central locatioñ as base for exploring Orkney mainland , I stayed four nights , staff very helpful , nice atmosphere throughout , really excellent toilet,shower laundry, kitchen and lounge......Read more.

Perfect central locatioñ as base for exploring Orkney mainland , I stayed four nights , staff very helpful , nice atmosphere throughout , really excellent toilet,shower laundry, kitchen and lounge all in one building , plenty of space .Short walk into Kirkwall for shops etc and sight seeing . Very well thought out and all well catered for , hikers , cyclists, motorcyclists caravan and campervans , motorhomes alike. I loved Orkney , wildlife , scenery and history and everyone I met so friendly , I will be back.

...Read less.

"Great place to camp"

Ms R Messam - Stayed with family, May 2022

15/05/2022

Great facilities, convenient location, friendly staff, and a fabulous base from which to explore Mainland, Orkney.

"Highly recommend"

Ms A Johnston - Stayed with friends, May 2022

14/05/2022

Friendly and efficient booking, good clean facilities, good value ......all round great campsite.

"Orkney by Motorhome - Kirkwall"

Mr A Thompson - Stayed with partner, May 2022

13/05/2022

A first class site close(walking) to super markets and Kirkwall city. The site was excellent with some of the best toilet and shower cubicles we have experienced in the UK. The manager (Carol) ......Read more.

A first class site close(walking) to super markets and Kirkwall city. The site was excellent with some of the best toilet and shower cubicles we have experienced in the UK. The manager (Carol) ensures this site maintains high standards....Read less.

"LIZ"

Mrs E Layhe - Stayed May 2022

13/05/2022

Great

"Additional parking spaces"

Mr R McDonald - Stayed with friends, May 2022

13/05/2022

We camped in the red zone, plenty of space but the ground was very soft. Fine for the tents but bad for parking the bikes. The campsite needs addition hard standing for either the bikes or those......Read more.

We camped in the red zone, plenty of space but the ground was very soft. Fine for the tents but bad for parking the bikes. The campsite needs addition hard standing for either the bikes or those camping with cars as in the rain the ground was just too soft....Read less.

"Pick Pickaquoy!"

Mrs J Readshaw - Stayed with partner, May 2022

12/05/2022

We stopped here for one night in early May to do some 'housekeeping' to our hired Motorhome after a few nights of wild camping. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and the shower/toilet......Read more.

We stopped here for one night in early May to do some 'housekeeping' to our hired Motorhome after a few nights of wild camping. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and the shower/toilet facilities were really clean. The only downside was the VERY short shower time which was a bit of a nuisance. There is a leisure centre and facilities for children close to the site - not used by us. All in all a really good choice....Read less.

"Excellent facilities and location"

Mr I Edwards - Stayed with partner, May 2022

12/05/2022

Central location for Kirkwall, excellent facility’s, reasonably priced.

"Everything you need, nothing you don't."

Mrs C Lawford - Stayed with friends, May 2022

11/05/2022

The site was quiet and friendly. The town was within walking distance, even for a 75 year old.

The community facilities and kitchen were a useful way of meeting other people if you wanted to. Also......Read more.

The site was quiet and friendly. The town was within walking distance, even for a 75 year old.

The community facilities and kitchen were a useful way of meeting other people if you wanted to. Also made a change from the campervan.

The showers were huge, which made getting clean perfectly unstressful....Read less.

"Well kept site with very good washrooms. Cancellation policy is a massive 30 days notice even out of season."

Mrs R Bulmer - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

09/05/2022

Very well kept site with very good washroom facilities, we were disappointed there was nowhere within walking distance to eat or drink and the area around the harbour was very unkempt, dirty and......Read more.

Very well kept site with very good washroom facilities, we were disappointed there was nowhere within walking distance to eat or drink and the area around the harbour was very unkempt, dirty and littered with rubbish. The cancellation policy is 30 days minimum for a refund which I feel is extensive. This site would be better suited for those with a car but going out to eat or drink in a motorhome can be difficult....Read less.

"excellent Campsite"

Mr M Engeldinger - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

08/05/2022

We really have appreciated this campsite, specially the facilities

"Good place to stay."

Mrs L Legg - Stayed with friends, Apr 2022

08/05/2022

Great site with exceptional washrooms, Brilliant idea having cloths & disinfectant in each facility for people to clean up after using. Ten minute walk into Kirkwall.

"My Scottish Tour"

Mr R Flahant - Stayed Apr 2022

06/05/2022

I set out on a month-long tour with the objective of reaching Orkney. The highlight of that stage of my trip was the ferry crossing on the MV Hamnavoe from Scrabster, but I was also pleased to find......Read more.

I set out on a month-long tour with the objective of reaching Orkney. The highlight of that stage of my trip was the ferry crossing on the MV Hamnavoe from Scrabster, but I was also pleased to find that the Orkney Caravan Park was a good place to base myself for visits to Kirkwall, The Stones of Stenness and The Ring of Brodgar. It's a well-kept park with good facilities and friendly staff, and I did not encounter any problems during my three night stay there....Read less.

"Orkney"

Mr A Daw - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

04/05/2022

The park was exceptionally clean, facilities spotless, good hot showers, space between pitches, excellent value for money.

"Great campsite"

Mrs S Burfoot - Stayed with friends, Apr 2022

04/05/2022

Excellent site ,plenty of shops near by ,highly recommend

"Central Kirkwall"

Mr D Morrant - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

01/05/2022

Good place to stay on Mainland island

"Lovely modern facilities"

Mrs E Woodhouse - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

27/04/2022

Stayed in one of the pods. Lovely accommodation

"."

Mr S Slack - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

25/04/2022

.

"Excellent base for exploring Kirkwall"

Mr M Harding - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

25/04/2022

An excellent site with great facilities, location, and pricing. Would happily stay there again without a moment's hesitation.

"Lovely central site"

Mr J Corlett - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

24/04/2022

Carole is lovely warden. Secure and safe site. Everywhere really clean: showers, kitchen, lounge area. The site is mostly level with hard standing, spaces are a wee bit tight to reverse into. Outside......Read more.

Carole is lovely warden. Secure and safe site. Everywhere really clean: showers, kitchen, lounge area. The site is mostly level with hard standing, spaces are a wee bit tight to reverse into. Outside the entry barriers there are service areas for ditching grey waste, empty toilet and fill with water. Non site users are welcome to use them for a small fee / donation. Lovely flat walk into Kirkwall....Read less.

"3 night stop for 4 adult motorcyclists"

Mr E Stewart - Stayed with friends, Apr 2022

20/04/2022

We selected both pods, two people in each. Both had basic kitchen facilities, such as a kettle, toaster, microwave and fridge. The pods are split into two rooms, outer with kitchen area and a 2......Read more.

We selected both pods, two people in each. Both had basic kitchen facilities, such as a kettle, toaster, microwave and fridge. The pods are split into two rooms, outer with kitchen area and a 2 seat settee, inner with bunk beds. Heaters supplied. You need bedding and towels, cutlery and crockery, and after that, it is what it is. Toilet block with hot showers and a kitchen and common room are within 20 metres. Everything was super clean and the park is within easy walking distance of supermarkets and the town. No interaction with staff while there, but on booking, Charlie was exceptional!...Read less.

"Park stay"

Mr R Fraser - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

20/04/2022

Great park. Great location never needed to speak to staff but im sure they would have been friendly

"A top quality campsite"

Mrs H Fitzakerly - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

17/04/2022

This is a lovely site with plenty of space between pitches and the best facilities we have ever experienced. There is an inside sitting area with books and DVDs to borrow, a kitchen area with......Read more.

This is a lovely site with plenty of space between pitches and the best facilities we have ever experienced. There is an inside sitting area with books and DVDs to borrow, a kitchen area with dishwashing sinks plus a kettle and toaster and a separate laundry room. The toilet facilities are brilliant - individual rooms with a shower, loo and basin which were warm and spotless. All this within 5 minutes walk of 3 supermarkets and the harbour and 10 minutes from the centre of Kirkwall. We would definitely recommend this site and will return. We’ll done Kirkwall for providing such great facilities....Read less.

"Kirkwall, Orkney"

Mr G Gascott - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

12/04/2022

Used the Pickaquoy site for 4 nights.

Kirkwall a short walk away and 3 supermarkets virtually next door. Everywhere on the mainkand is easily accesible by vehicle making this a good site to base......Read more.

Used the Pickaquoy site for 4 nights.

Kirkwall a short walk away and 3 supermarkets virtually next door. Everywhere on the mainkand is easily accesible by vehicle making this a good site to base yourself at. Facilities are very good standard....Read less.

"First time on Orkney"

Mr P Lockett - Stayed with partner, Mar 2022

28/03/2022

For a first time on Orkney with a motorhome and two dogs, we wanted something as near to Kirkwall as possible,

The site is approx 10 mins walk form the centre across park land which is handy to let......Read more.

For a first time on Orkney with a motorhome and two dogs, we wanted something as near to Kirkwall as possible,

The site is approx 10 mins walk form the centre across park land which is handy to let the dogs have a run.

Site was clean, tidy and the staff very friendly.

Would recommend....Read less.

"March Stopover on the Orkneys"

Mr D Harnett - Stayed Mar 2022

18/03/2022

.

"Great, but"

Mr J Porter - Stayed with partner, Mar 2022

17/03/2022

Dirst night the power hook up did not work. I reported it to the centre staff and we moved patch for the following night.

My issue is being charged for a service we did not receive. AND I don't......Read more.

Dirst night the power hook up did not work. I reported it to the centre staff and we moved patch for the following night.

My issue is being charged for a service we did not receive. AND I don't believe the member of staff knew how to refund me for the service, nor has he followed up my comment to him I.e. no refund has followed as far as I am aware.

Not a big issue, but lets the site down...Read less.

"Good Facilities"

Mr P Hayman - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

06/11/2021

We arrived late afternoon on a very wet 29.10.21. We were very pleased to be able to access this site as there didn't appear to be any other sites open at this time of year. There were 4-5 other......Read more.

We arrived late afternoon on a very wet 29.10.21. We were very pleased to be able to access this site as there didn't appear to be any other sites open at this time of year. There were 4-5 other units on site and we were able to select our own pitch with plenty to choose from. Hard standing was a bit small meaning it was not easy to reverse on without driving over the sodden grass area. Facilities were extremely good and therefore we would not hesitate in recommending this site. Good showers, toilets, washroom, laundry & it had a lounge. It was almost next to sports centre and within walking distance of Tesco's, the main store on the island....Read less.

"One night stop"

Mr S Stead - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

03/11/2021

Bad weather and a tent meant we needed somewhere warm, clean and ideally good priced to stop over. Price and the amenities are well worth it and it’s not far a walk to either the centre of town or to......Read more.

Bad weather and a tent meant we needed somewhere warm, clean and ideally good priced to stop over. Price and the amenities are well worth it and it’s not far a walk to either the centre of town or to the supermarket....Read less.

"Lovely site."

Mr L Coates - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

01/11/2021

We have stayed before and we knew that the facilities were second to none and they did not disappoint. The facilities are great at any time but even cleaner this time being COVID prepared. Excellent......Read more.

We have stayed before and we knew that the facilities were second to none and they did not disappoint. The facilities are great at any time but even cleaner this time being COVID prepared. Excellent location and very quiet site which I would recommend to anyone. See you next time....Read less.

"Excellent facilities"

Miss K Miah - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

31/10/2021

Very nice place to stay well organised and beautiful if you would like to venture out for a walk. The city centre is very close by and I bought some souvenirs

"A truly accessible site in the centre of Kirkwall."

Mr A Dewar - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

28/10/2021

I find the Orkney Caravan park so very attractive possibly because it's so easy to get to all facilities in the park and also because it is so near to the Pickaquoy Swimming/Sports centre and a range......Read more.

I find the Orkney Caravan park so very attractive possibly because it's so easy to get to all facilities in the park and also because it is so near to the Pickaquoy Swimming/Sports centre and a range of local shops and entertainments.

I use my car a lot for travelling around Orkney but the site at Orkney Caravan park is so near to Kirkwall and its attractions - ie dining/shopping - un-hindered by traffic. Also it's near to the amazing St Magnus Cathedral. Excellent all round site totally unique in ease of access to all facilities noted - particularly the range of craft (jewellery) orientated shops in Kirkwall....Read less.

"Camping IN October"

Mr R Shiach - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

27/10/2021

Booked a spot, and was contacted by the warden to suggest I go for a more sheltered option, so glad we listened as our tent almost got blown off the trailer. Excellent site, good facilities and......Read more.

Booked a spot, and was contacted by the warden to suggest I go for a more sheltered option, so glad we listened as our tent almost got blown off the trailer. Excellent site, good facilities and friendly staff. Will use again for sure....Read less.

"-"

Mr D Strang - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

24/10/2021

-

"Great warm good value camping pod"

Ms L Harding - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

22/10/2021

really enjoyed the facilities, have reviewed fully on Google maps

"Excellent facilities"

Ms L Hirst - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

20/10/2021

Top quality facilities. Excellent value for money

"Short stay"

Mr D Wallace - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

19/10/2021

We stayed here for 2 nights , staff we met were very pleasant and helpful, facilities were excellent very clean, it was an ideal location to explore Orkney 10 min walk into Kirkwall , 5 minutes walk......Read more.

We stayed here for 2 nights , staff we met were very pleasant and helpful, facilities were excellent very clean, it was an ideal location to explore Orkney 10 min walk into Kirkwall , 5 minutes walk to co op Tesco and Lidl , 25 mins drive from st Margaret’s hope ferry terminal , would highly recommend...Read less.

"Attendents"

Mrs L Hodge - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

17/10/2021

I never saw a Warden the apart from the day I arrived? Would have liked a left luggage room for leaving your bags before heading on boat at 11pm.

"Lovely peaceful, well kept site close to town centre."

Mrs S Robertson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/10/2021

It would have been a bonus if there was an access gate in the surrounding wall or fence from the other end of the site leading to the supermarkets instead of walking to the site entrance and then......Read more.

It would have been a bonus if there was an access gate in the surrounding wall or fence from the other end of the site leading to the supermarkets instead of walking to the site entrance and then walking back next to the main road. Shower and toilet facilities on site were superb and kept very clean and tidy....Read less.

"Orkney stopover"

Mrs J Butler - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

10/10/2021

We stayed at the campsite for 2 nights in October. It was clean and tidy. I loved the fact there was a lounge so that those in tents had somewhere warm to be if the weather was inclement. The shower......Read more.

We stayed at the campsite for 2 nights in October. It was clean and tidy. I loved the fact there was a lounge so that those in tents had somewhere warm to be if the weather was inclement. The shower rooms were very good but are there enough in peak season? The only down side was the position of the wastewater drainage for motor homes, it was difficult to manoeuvre the van over it. Otherwise we had a great time...Read less.

© 2006 - 2022 CampStead