The Orkney Caravan & Camping Site

190 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 190 reviews in the last 12 months

99% would recommend this site

98% would stay here again

Excellent

75%

Very Good

22%

Average

3%

Poor

1%

Terrible

0%

"Another enjoyable stay!"

Mrs J Taylor - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

20/10/2018

Stayed here several times as we live on Sanday. Very handy for town, great facilities too.

"Awesome"

Mr D Smith - Stayed with family, Oct 2018

19/10/2018

As always, an awesome site

"Enjoyable holiday in Orkney"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

17/10/2018

Park was clean, neat and tidy and a friendly atmosphere. Park is close to 3 supermarkets and walking distance to local restaurants really lovely shops and tourist attractions. The Cathedral is both......Read more.

Park was clean, neat and tidy and a friendly atmosphere. Park is close to 3 supermarkets and walking distance to local restaurants really lovely shops and tourist attractions. The Cathedral is both beautiful and serene.

We will hopefully have a return visit very soon....Read less.

"Fantastic place to stay in Kirkwall"

Ms K Lim - Stayed Oct 2018

12/10/2018

Fantastic location and facilities, but maybe can consider provide cooking kitchen because Kirkwall don't have so many restaurant and as a camper we very appropriate if the place could allow us to......Read more.

Fantastic location and facilities, but maybe can consider provide cooking kitchen because Kirkwall don't have so many restaurant and as a camper we very appropriate if the place could allow us to cook.

Thank you very much and keep it up

KAR

Malaysia

...Read less.

"Totally hassle free experience over the week parked up."

Mr A Dewar - Stayed with family, Oct 2018

12/10/2018

My experience of The Orkney Caravan Site was excellent - easy access, friendly staff and very near local amenities, including shops and sports facilities. The service area was excellent providing......Read more.

My experience of The Orkney Caravan Site was excellent - easy access, friendly staff and very near local amenities, including shops and sports facilities. The service area was excellent providing washing/shower facilities for people and general washing up, with tumbler dryers, washing machines etc. Access was very easy via 2 Codes for vehicle access and out of hours access to the Service Centre. Recycling zone was well marked and during our week there was no evidence of spilled litter/bottles etc. Waste disposal (for Elsan/Thetford units) was excellent with wash down and hose down facilities very easy to use and obviously hard wearing and, undercover....Read less.

"Great stay"

Mr D Main - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

04/10/2018

We had a great stay so easy to reach after late ferry from Shetland, great warm common area and very friendly helpful staff:)

"Great park"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2018

04/10/2018

We appreciated the cleanliness and space of the shower rooms.

The shower was set a little hot for me, but overall the best facilities we have visited.

The lounge room and wash area was lovely, warm......Read more.

We appreciated the cleanliness and space of the shower rooms.

The shower was set a little hot for me, but overall the best facilities we have visited.

The lounge room and wash area was lovely, warm and relaxing with games for the kids to play.

We will come back again....Read less.

"Our impressions of the site"

Mr P Fogg - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

28/09/2018

All the facilities are of an excellent standard

"An excellent example of a perfect site"

Mr P Hendy - Stayed Sep 2018

24/09/2018

This is probably one of the best camping / caravan sites in the UK. Really good value for money, superb facilities and helpful staff.

All round a very enjoyable experience, well done to everyone who......Read more.

This is probably one of the best camping / caravan sites in the UK. Really good value for money, superb facilities and helpful staff.

All round a very enjoyable experience, well done to everyone who works so hard to keep the site to such a high standard.

I will definitely return just as soon as I can. Thank you...Read less.

"holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

23/09/2018

every thing suited us thanks

"Excellent, wonderful, superb."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

23/09/2018

Excellent location on central Orkney less than 10 minutes from town centre, harbour and supermarkets. Wonderful spacious pitches on well draining ground. Superb spotless warm spacious facilities. ......Read more.

Excellent location on central Orkney less than 10 minutes from town centre, harbour and supermarkets. Wonderful spacious pitches on well draining ground. Superb spotless warm spacious facilities. The best value for money campsite we've ever stayed at. This campsite shows how it should be done. On top of all this, the staff are really well informed and friendly....Read less.

"Nice site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

20/09/2018

First class site but on a few occasions some showers/toilets were locked off and it ment queuing in the corridor.

This was probably to cut down on cleaning but needs to be addressed.

"Regular visitor"

Mr S Smith - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

18/09/2018

We have stayed here about ten times. We had a bad experience when the new pool was being constructed but apart from that it has always been excellent. The disabled facilities are magnificent and......Read more.

We have stayed here about ten times. We had a bad experience when the new pool was being constructed but apart from that it has always been excellent. The disabled facilities are magnificent and make life so much easier for us. The staff are all very friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

The access barrier system can be problematic but we have always managed to cope....Read less.

"Great campsite with excellent facilites"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

18/09/2018

We stayed in the St Magnus pod which was very clean, warm and comfortable. The pre-visit information was clear and told us all we needed to know. The pod is close to the main building where there......Read more.

We stayed in the St Magnus pod which was very clean, warm and comfortable. The pre-visit information was clear and told us all we needed to know. The pod is close to the main building where there are very nice showers, toilets and communal sitting area and kitchen. There are three supermarkets very close by and the leisure centre is right next door....Read less.

"Very near Northlink ferry terminal"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

17/09/2018

This site is just 5 minutes drive away from the Northlink ferry terminal. It was ideal for us when arriving off the ferry at 23:00.

"Orkney revisited"

Mr R McClafferty - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

17/09/2018

Weather was pretty bad for sleeping in a tent, very wet and extremely windy, as the site is quite open and exposed, but this lends itself in better weather to lovely views out over the water. ......Read more.

Weather was pretty bad for sleeping in a tent, very wet and extremely windy, as the site is quite open and exposed, but this lends itself in better weather to lovely views out over the water. Wardens Tim and Carol were more than helpful when we requested a move to a more secluded pitch. Even later in the week when we asked to move into one of the lodges, they were happy to oblige. The lounge, kitchen and laundry facilities are excellent and we spent most nights in the lounge chatting with other campers - Brilliant!...Read less.

"Gh"

Mr M Howitt - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

14/09/2018

Gh

"Ideal location"

M Arthur - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

11/09/2018

Arrived late off the evening ferry from Gils Bay in the dark and pouring rain so it was great to have all the facility codes by email in advance with good directions and a plan of the site to make......Read more.

Arrived late off the evening ferry from Gils Bay in the dark and pouring rain so it was great to have all the facility codes by email in advance with good directions and a plan of the site to make pitching up as easy as possible, the location is superb and within reach of the places we wanted to visit. These are excellent facilities but out of our price range for an extended family stay so moved on after two nights....Read less.

"Perfect base camp!"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2018

08/09/2018

The campsite was the best I've stayed in, and for a very reasonable price. Only two things I would change (and they were very minor): there is a picnic bench that makes it very difficult to drive......Read more.

The campsite was the best I've stayed in, and for a very reasonable price. Only two things I would change (and they were very minor): there is a picnic bench that makes it very difficult to drive into the "red" zone for tents, and there were bright lights shining in the area all night long. Complimentary wifi was nice, but the signal gets weak away from the facilities block.

Staff was super friendly and helpful, and the facilities were awesome!...Read less.

"Orkney Rocks!"

Mr. D Abernethy - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

07/09/2018

I stayed 3 nights over Orkney Rock Festival.

The festival itself was nothing short of amazing. If you are thinking of attending, just do it.

The campsite is flawless, absolutely ideal for this......Read more.

I stayed 3 nights over Orkney Rock Festival.

The festival itself was nothing short of amazing. If you are thinking of attending, just do it.

The campsite is flawless, absolutely ideal for this festival....Read less.

"Pickaquoy caravan site"

Mr B Peck - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

07/09/2018

We stayed 2nights in one of the pods, it was an excellent choice, plenty of room, kettle, fridge, toaster and microwave was a bonus plus having power was very handy for charging phones etc. The......Read more.

We stayed 2nights in one of the pods, it was an excellent choice, plenty of room, kettle, fridge, toaster and microwave was a bonus plus having power was very handy for charging phones etc. The toilets/shower rooms were some if not the cleanest I've used at any campsite. Swimming pool cinema right next door to site, Co-op, Tesco and Lidl less than 5minute walk away. Overall excellent site. Definitely be back again in future....Read less.

"Great location and facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

06/09/2018

The only negative about the site was the cleanliness of the showers. The air vents were clogged up with dust and the floors and walls needed a good scrub rather than a mop. Other than that we......Read more.

The only negative about the site was the cleanliness of the showers. The air vents were clogged up with dust and the floors and walls needed a good scrub rather than a mop. Other than that we thought the site was really great. Never had to queue for a shower or sink, nice staff, great location and everything you could need....Read less.

"Good"

Ms D Nicolson - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

05/09/2018

Good

"Contacting Pickaquoy Centre to book campsite"

Mrs A Simpson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

04/09/2018

We have stayed at the Pickaquoy Caravan Park several times over the years and it is a lovely place to stay. The staff on the campsite is lovely. Our only complaint is with the Pickaquoy Centre......Read more.

We have stayed at the Pickaquoy Caravan Park several times over the years and it is a lovely place to stay. The staff on the campsite is lovely. Our only complaint is with the Pickaquoy Centre Reception (not the campsite phones). When booking for this year my call was cut off 7 times. The eighth time I called, I had to plead with the receptionist to deal with my call, saying "please don't try to transfer me to the campsite, or put me on hold". The eight calls took a long time and the whole performance was very stressful. This has happened to me before, a few years ago, so there is definitely a problem there that needs to be investigated....Read less.

"fantastic scenery"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2018

03/09/2018

Great campsite ,close to various ammenities,plenty to do if weather is not favourable.

"Suggestion"

Mr M Hopkins - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

03/09/2018

It would be really helpful for people travelling on the ferry up to Shetland if a half day rate (or even quarter day) could be available so we could have Internet access, electric hook-up and......Read more.

It would be really helpful for people travelling on the ferry up to Shetland if a half day rate (or even quarter day) could be available so we could have Internet access, electric hook-up and somewhere to wait until the ferry check-in opens. We did enquire whether this would be possible but we're told we would have to pay £25 for another full 24 hours. Since the park was not busy you could have made a little extra money but would understand this would not be an option if the park was full....Read less.

"August 23rd, 6 nights."

Mr S Larson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

02/09/2018

Generally all very good. A superb campsite.

Only complaint would be the state other customers leave the kitchen sinks and surfaces.

"Non"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2018

31/08/2018

Non

"Excellent onsite facilities close to local amenities"

Mr J Lind - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

30/08/2018

Secure clean site with excellent shower and wash facilities within walking distance of local amenities.

"Orkney Caravan and Campsite"

Mr S Pollington - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

30/08/2018

This is a clean and well run site which is ideally located fro exploring both Kirkwall and the "Mainland" of Orkney

"Very tidy site"

Mr G Platt - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

30/08/2018

All the facilities you need, close to ferry terminal. Very helpful staff. (Tim)

"Excellent caravan site"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2018

30/08/2018

Well managed site with excellent shower facilities. Central location on Orkney mainland

"Lots of camper vans"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

29/08/2018

We were in a tent, lots of campers turned up, often late and setting up with lights blazing. Not for us. On the other hand the toilets and showers were clean and there was plenty hot water.

"The best campsite I've ever stayed at"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

29/08/2018

Great facilities.

Access to a warm lounge at any time of day or night was a real bonus.

"Excellent Park"

Miss A Young - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

28/08/2018

We booked late online, unfortunately there were no electric tent pitches left, however on arrival Tim was extremely helpful and relocated us to a pitch with electric. The facilities are kept clean......Read more.

We booked late online, unfortunately there were no electric tent pitches left, however on arrival Tim was extremely helpful and relocated us to a pitch with electric. The facilities are kept clean and tidy, I particularly liked the individual toilet/shower rooms. Really close to the town, within 10 walk to most hotels, pubs etc. would recommend a visit to the Gin Distillery!!

All in a great holiday, would highly recommend this site....Read less.

"Perfect spot, perfect facilities. Thank you."

Mrs A Vincent - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

28/08/2018

Orkney Caravan and Camping Site offered everything we were looking for in the middle of our Orkney motorhome holiday: great showers (!), great location just a short walk from the harbour and town,......Read more.

Orkney Caravan and Camping Site offered everything we were looking for in the middle of our Orkney motorhome holiday: great showers (!), great location just a short walk from the harbour and town, peace and washing machines! While we enjoy wild camping, having this site in the middle of Orkney Mainland is perfect for us, giving us a base for a few days with the extra facilities we don't have on board. The free swimming voucher at the nearby Picky Centre was also appreciated. What a wonderful facility to have next door!

We will come again!...Read less.

"Clean, facilities, but expensive"

I De-Groot - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

27/08/2018

The campsite is clean. There are a lot of facilities when it is raining and you are a backpacker. But the camping is very expensive!

"Great site"

Miss H McTomney - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

27/08/2018

Excellent facilities and quite site with easy access to local amenities and attractions.

"Everything you need"

Mr N Hawkes - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

27/08/2018

Excellent facilities with en-suite type wash rooms with heated floors, Ideal base to explore the Orkney mainland, main supermarkets within a short walk and a little further to the centre of Kirkwall

"Family holiday in caravan"

Mr T Middleton - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

27/08/2018

The wardens at Pickaquoy are really helpful when arriving or when problems arise. We found that our stay went smoothly and a good time was had by all. The close proximity of the centre really helped......Read more.

The wardens at Pickaquoy are really helpful when arriving or when problems arise. We found that our stay went smoothly and a good time was had by all. The close proximity of the centre really helped and the swimming pool is a great feature, as is the cinema.

Although there was nothing special going on in Orkney during our stay it is just a lovely place to be in and we would definitely recommend it to others.

...Read less.

"All good"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

27/08/2018

we were very happy about our staying there.

Point of improvement: wifi connection outside of the camping house is very poor.

"Awesome camp site!"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2018

26/08/2018

Overall very satisfied , great space for tents, cosy lounge area, clean and spacious showers.

"A lovely site"

Mrs R Johnson - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

26/08/2018

Stayed for a couple of days in one of the lovely camping pods. An excellent, very well run site and good value. Thank you.

"Good camping"

Sig.r A Marzagalli - Stayed Aug 2018

25/08/2018

It was ordinate, cleane and good

"Orkney holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

25/08/2018

Convenient site close to supermarkets and restaurants and within easy driving distance of all of Mainland Orkney's many points of interest

"A short stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

25/08/2018

We stayed 3 nights and were very happy with the campsite. Quiet at night clean nicely cut grass etc.

"1st time staying in Pod"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

24/08/2018

I was happy enough with the park but disappointed with the Pod accommodation as the floor was very wet when we arrived at 4pm although advised it had been washed an hour before hand. I could not......Read more.

I was happy enough with the park but disappointed with the Pod accommodation as the floor was very wet when we arrived at 4pm although advised it had been washed an hour before hand. I could not smell any chemicals to aid cleaning it. There was also a smell of dampness for the duration of our stay. Apart from that the showers and toilets were very clean and conveniently placed near Pod...Read less.

"A Great Campsite"

Dr J Uttley - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

24/08/2018

good place to stay, neat & tidy, next to the leisure centre (with pool & soft play & cinema) and very near supermarkets and town.

"Excellent site perfect for exploring Orkney"

Mrs N Smith-Stanger - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

23/08/2018

We were really impressed with the site and the facilities. The location was perfect because we could easily walk into town. The laundry and kitchen was warm and cosy and a great place to meet fellow......Read more.

We were really impressed with the site and the facilities. The location was perfect because we could easily walk into town. The laundry and kitchen was warm and cosy and a great place to meet fellow campers. We really enjoyed our stay.

The shower and bathroom arrangements are great with private shower rooms. The one tiny challenge was that you can't adjust the temperature of the shower and it was sometimes a wee bit too hot.

All in all an excellent site which we would highly recommend....Read less.

"showers/ arrival at night from ferry"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

22/08/2018

showers could do with a deep clean and air vent need cleaning out / on arrival at a camp site attendant would be good to get throught the gate in the dark . also when was the electric testing done ??

"Happy camper"

Mrs S Owens - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

22/08/2018

Following the directions from the website we arrived at the Orkney caravan and camping site from the ferry terminal no problem. As we had booked through the website everything was waiting for us with......Read more.

Following the directions from the website we arrived at the Orkney caravan and camping site from the ferry terminal no problem. As we had booked through the website everything was waiting for us with the warden, park map, facilities access code and barrier code . We found our pitch easily from the directions from the warden. The park itself was well laid out. Our pitch was tarmac and level although some vans were using levelling ramps. The facilities were really good shower rooms also had toilet and wash basin. The lounge had loads of information about the islands, transport timetables places to visit. The Pickaquoy leisure centre was right next to the campsite with swimming pool and it was a 10 minute walk to Tesco Lidl and Co-op stores and then another 10 minutes took you to the town centre of Kirkwall with it's individual shops and lovely quirky high street, harbour and lots of places to eat. Getting around was very easy as transport timetables had places to see beside relevant bus number. There was also a tour bus which toured around all major sites of interest. We will have to return as we didn't get to see everything we wanted to in the time we had. I would certainly use Orkney caravan and camping park again....Read less.

"Nice Site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

21/08/2018

Pleasant site, helpful warden

"Near to Everything"

A Kenyon - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

21/08/2018

Chose this campsite as near to the ferry terminals, however, extended our stay by 2 nights and added a third as it was so handy as a stop over while touring the island. The facilities were some of......Read more.

Chose this campsite as near to the ferry terminals, however, extended our stay by 2 nights and added a third as it was so handy as a stop over while touring the island. The facilities were some of the best we've seen, the shower rooms big and clean with lots of hot water. Ease of access on the site to toilets, water, etc. It's next to busy road it but we found the site peaceful. Just along the road there is a Co-op, Lidl and Tesco superstore, easy walking to town centre, shops, cafes and restaurants. Also a petrol station just around the corner. There is the Peedie sea just across the road from the campsite for dog walking and can get over to the harbour side from there too, watched cruise ships and ferries come and go. There were swans on the water. This site was ideal for us and are thinking of returning next year....Read less.

"Showers"

G Pearson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

21/08/2018

Under floor heating, wow

"Within easy walking distance of Kirkwall centre and range of shops"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

21/08/2018

Good easily accessible campsite, next to road but relatively quiet. We have used the campsite on two occasions and would happily stay there again.

"Excellent site."

Mr C Little - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

21/08/2018

We stayed for 10 nights, The facility's are very clean with nice hot showers but the water in the the hand basins is too cold and makes it hard to have a wet shave in the morning. There are super......Read more.

We stayed for 10 nights, The facility's are very clean with nice hot showers but the water in the the hand basins is too cold and makes it hard to have a wet shave in the morning. There are super markets just outside the site and the town centre is just a few minutes walk away....Read less.

"Orkney August 2018"

Mr K Elliott - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

20/08/2018

we were very satisfied with what Orkney has to offer and the ease of the campsite.

The staff were very helpful and you felt very welcome and safe.

"August 2018"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

20/08/2018

Central location in Kirkwall for touring and sightseeing. Facilities very good- ample toilets/showers for size of park. Also very clean. No interaction with wardens but very clear instructions......Read more.

Central location in Kirkwall for touring and sightseeing. Facilities very good- ample toilets/showers for size of park. Also very clean. No interaction with wardens but very clear instructions available for getting in touch with staff out of hours and warden office based during day and easily contactable if required. Site appeared to be fairly secure with keypad barrier in operation....Read less.

"Excellent location"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2018

16/08/2018

Very nice little centrally located camp site with excellent facilities.

"Visit to the Orkney County Show"

Ms M Roberts - Stayed Aug 2018

16/08/2018

Good place to stay - I'll certainly use it again

"Our stay at the campsite during the county show"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

16/08/2018

We enjoyed our stay here, picnic bench was good when some of our friends came an joined us for some drinks in the sun and luckily none of our neighbours complained about any noise or music

The grass......Read more.

We enjoyed our stay here, picnic bench was good when some of our friends came an joined us for some drinks in the sun and luckily none of our neighbours complained about any noise or music

The grass i think could be cut an trimmed more often and the bathrooms toilets and showers could be cleaned more often...Read less.

"Family Holiday"

Miss J Robertson - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

14/08/2018

Highly impressed by this clean and efficiently run campsite with excellent bathroom/kitchen/washing facilities. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It felt very safe for my children and the......Read more.

Highly impressed by this clean and efficiently run campsite with excellent bathroom/kitchen/washing facilities. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It felt very safe for my children and the Pickaquoy centre next door was great for affordable meals and entertainment. Thanks so much, we hope to come back some day....Read less.

"A wonderful Orkney experience"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

14/08/2018

During discussion with other campers from France, Germany and elsewhere in the UK, the common theme was that the Orkney campsite was one of the best in the UK. Particularly mentioned were the......Read more.

During discussion with other campers from France, Germany and elsewhere in the UK, the common theme was that the Orkney campsite was one of the best in the UK. Particularly mentioned were the facilities, the cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff. The staff are second to none, all are extremely helpful no matter what the query or request for assistance and they are all very knowledgeable about Orkney and everything it has to offer....Read less.

"exceptional facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

13/08/2018

The Orkney Caravan Park has the best facilities I have come across - bathrooms rather than showers/toilets; lounge with wifi; kitchen with microwave and toaster + washing up liquid. sheltered site......Read more.

The Orkney Caravan Park has the best facilities I have come across - bathrooms rather than showers/toilets; lounge with wifi; kitchen with microwave and toaster + washing up liquid. sheltered site (important in Orkney) next to the leisure centre. Convenient for northern isles ferries and centre of Kirkwall. My only caveat is that there is no view of Orkney's lovely scenery - but then it would not be likely to be sheltered and you can't have everything....Read less.

"Excellent camping in Orkney"

Mrs S Taylor - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

13/08/2018

This is one of the best campsites we have stayed at for on-site facilities , helpfulness of staff and value for money. The shower cubicles are numerous & roomy. They are stocked with soap & paper &......Read more.

This is one of the best campsites we have stayed at for on-site facilities , helpfulness of staff and value for money. The shower cubicles are numerous & roomy. They are stocked with soap & paper & are kept scrupulously clean. There is a kitchen area with a kettle, microwave & fridge & a lounge with books & games for children. Widi access is free.

The leisure centre next door has a pool & cinema. The campsite is a short walk from Kirkwall, with 3 supermarkets nearby for provisions. It is a great base to explore the rest of the island from....Read less.

"Motorcycle trip"

Mr M Wright - Stayed Aug 2018

13/08/2018

Wonderful site I intend to visit again

"Thanks"

Mr R Chandler - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

12/08/2018

Thanks

"Great position and well run"

Mrs J Brandon - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

11/08/2018

This clean, well organised site provides all the essentials. Perfect position on edge of town.

"july 2018"

Mrs A Clarke - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

08/08/2018

a lovely campsite, quiet, lovely washroom facilities always kept clean.

"Handy camp site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

08/08/2018

Very nice

"You have thought of everything"

Mrs L Cameron - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

08/08/2018

First class facilities and location. Best campsite experience by far.

"Great base near the ferry and town"

Mr. C Brown - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

08/08/2018

Quiet, spacious yet short walk into town. Good to be 10 mins from ferry if arriving at 11pm! Immaculate facilities.

"Great location."

Mr D Irvine - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

07/08/2018

Great location adjacent to sports centre. We have been several times and will return next year. We always enjoy our trips to Orkney. This time we continued our journey across the pentlandite firth to......Read more.

Great location adjacent to sports centre. We have been several times and will return next year. We always enjoy our trips to Orkney. This time we continued our journey across the pentlandite firth to Scrabster. Then on to Inverness and Strathclyde country park....Read less.

"Disappointed"

Mrs C Mackay - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

07/08/2018

When we arrived the lady could have looked pleased to see us. I was handed paper plan and told which number for hook up. That was it. Not shown or told where facilities ie toilets water etc......Read more.

When we arrived the lady could have looked pleased to see us. I was handed paper plan and told which number for hook up. That was it. Not shown or told where facilities ie toilets water etc were.

Just as we were leaving I saw one of the male attendants and if I hadn’t struck up a conversation with him he too not very welcoming.

Other camp sites very friendly and accomindating....Read less.

"Great facilities"

Ms R Ashcroft - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

07/08/2018

Visited with canpervan iin between wild camping. Very helpful and friendly staff, great washing and laundry facilities, and everything very clean. Good indoor lounge space. Dog friendly. Close to......Read more.

Visited with canpervan iin between wild camping. Very helpful and friendly staff, great washing and laundry facilities, and everything very clean. Good indoor lounge space. Dog friendly. Close to supermarket and town centre. Excellent base for seeing the sites....Read less.

"Well Run and Organised"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

07/08/2018

Site and facilities were clean and well maintained. Booking on line was easy, particularly liked the site plan and ability to choose from available plots. Good availability of warden. Location......Read more.

Site and facilities were clean and well maintained. Booking on line was easy, particularly liked the site plan and ability to choose from available plots. Good availability of warden. Location convenient for ferries and shops, central point for touring the islands. Well sheltered....Read less.

"Good Place to discover the Orkneys"

A Twardy - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

06/08/2018

Perfect Location to discover the islands.

"Great stay"

Mrs. L Bedder - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

06/08/2018

Superb facilities and ease of access to town centre and facilities. Would visit again thank you

"Great Location with excellent facilities"

Mr R Urquhart - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

02/08/2018

Visited with our young Grandaughter and were all very impressed with facilities. Central location was great for walking in to town and we were handy to go swimming each night. Loved the shower and......Read more.

Visited with our young Grandaughter and were all very impressed with facilities. Central location was great for walking in to town and we were handy to go swimming each night. Loved the shower and toilet facilities and laundry was great too and reasonably priced. Staff friendly and welcoming....Read less.

"Friendly staff, excellent facilities, walking distance to Kirkwall"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

01/08/2018

A most excellent site, the facilities are the best we have seen and we will definitely return here.

"Visit to Orkney"

Mrs S Gassner - Stayed with friends, Jul 2018

01/08/2018

This campsite is in a great central location for visiting all corners of Orkney. The facilities were modern and clean, with good sized pitches , hard standing in some areas and hookup.

Would......Read more.

This campsite is in a great central location for visiting all corners of Orkney. The facilities were modern and clean, with good sized pitches , hard standing in some areas and hookup.

Would definitely use this site again....Read less.

"Holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

30/07/2018

Lovely

"A no fuss style of booking and site management making your holiday a pleasant experience."

Mr A Dewar - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

30/07/2018

The camping and caravan site at Pickaquoy seemed to work on automatic - every required service was well noted on the point of entry leaflet - all key water/disposal areas were uncluttered and easy to......Read more.

The camping and caravan site at Pickaquoy seemed to work on automatic - every required service was well noted on the point of entry leaflet - all key water/disposal areas were uncluttered and easy to find. The situation is excellent for access to shops, garages, nearby Kirkwall and, of course, the superb swimming pool and exercise centre - but a few meters away. The site was kept tidy at all times - no windblown debris or rubbish, the campers lounge and laundry area must be one of the best ever witnessed and all in all an excellent base for a holiday or visit time to Orkney. Key factor in visiting Pickaquoy is that you can go virtually anywhere on the main island and return in the evening - no need to pack up and move to another base in the island every day. No hassle no interference and all functions that make a good site worked well - out of view....Read less.

"Orkney Experience"

Mrs V Davidson - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

30/07/2018

We enjoyed our stay at the site as it is in a suitable area for visiting attractions + town centre.. Toilets were clean most of the time but some people don't seem to clean up after them.. We highly......Read more.

We enjoyed our stay at the site as it is in a suitable area for visiting attractions + town centre.. Toilets were clean most of the time but some people don't seem to clean up after them.. We highly recommend visiting The Orkney Distillery.. Highland Park.. Skara Brae + Italian Chapel.. Helgis has fab cocktails.. Ayre Hotel for food along with The Reel..!!!...Read less.

"Picaquoy orkney"

Mrs F Mather - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

29/07/2018

A fantastic site to use in Kirkwall . It has everything nearby and the site wardens are friendly helpful and nothing is a bother. Good value for money .

"Great campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

27/07/2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our 6 night stay. Staff always friendly and helpful. Loved the individual toilet and showers. Within walking distance of the town centre and all amenities.

"Kirkwall Campsite Rules OK!"

Mrs R Johnson - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

26/07/2018

Conveniently located campsite with all the facilities we needed and more. Site staff very welcoming. Children loved the park and being so close to the Picky Centre. Fantastic to have big shops nearby......Read more.

Conveniently located campsite with all the facilities we needed and more. Site staff very welcoming. Children loved the park and being so close to the Picky Centre. Fantastic to have big shops nearby too. We could walk to shops, town centre attractions and landmarks really easily. Shower block was brilliant-lovely hot showers. It helped make Orkney affordable and accessible to us....Read less.

"First class site"

Mr A Lyall - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

25/07/2018

Ideal base for touring Orkney, friendly staff and well maintained facilities

"Exceĺlent site"

Miss H McWalter - Stayed Jul 2018

24/07/2018

Flat pitch

Clean

Electric plugs

Kitchen

Lounge

Wi-Fi

Cheap

"Superb Camping Experience"

Mr I Small - Stayed Jul 2018

23/07/2018

The Orkney Caravan Park at the Pickaquoy Centre is a superb caravan and camping site.

The facilities were extremely clean and very easy to use.

The staff are very welcoming and provide all relevant......Read more.

The Orkney Caravan Park at the Pickaquoy Centre is a superb caravan and camping site.

The facilities were extremely clean and very easy to use.

The staff are very welcoming and provide all relevant information regarding the site in a friendly and enthusiast manner.

Highly recommend this site to anyone planning a visit to Orkney and wish to use Kirkwall as their base.

...Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mrs K Jaszewski - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

21/07/2018

Stayed for 5 nights and can’t fault the facility. Sites are good size, showers brilliant and toilets block excellent too.

"Kirkwall splendid campsite"

Mr H Daniel - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

21/07/2018

We stayed for 1 night and returned a week later for 2 nights. We have a 7 m Motorhome and the facilities are excellent. This is one of a very few camping sites that are excellent in this particular......Read more.

We stayed for 1 night and returned a week later for 2 nights. We have a 7 m Motorhome and the facilities are excellent. This is one of a very few camping sites that are excellent in this particular area...Read less.

"Way too expensive"

Mr R McCulloch - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

21/07/2018

This is a nice enough site in prime location on outskirts of Kirkwall and ideal for motorhomers. Excellent washroom facilities but site could do with a bit of a tidy-up, roads, grass etc. Access to......Read more.

This is a nice enough site in prime location on outskirts of Kirkwall and ideal for motorhomers. Excellent washroom facilities but site could do with a bit of a tidy-up, roads, grass etc. Access to grey waste drain for motorhomes difficult due to bin placement. Overall a good site but way too expensive. Two council sites on the island are perfectly adequate but a fraction of the price....Read less.

"Visit July 2018"

Mr D Tullis - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

19/07/2018

Overall, this is a good site. The amenities were excellent with the only negative being the push button on the showers. Apart from this, the number of available showers were excellent. Wardens were......Read more.

Overall, this is a good site. The amenities were excellent with the only negative being the push button on the showers. Apart from this, the number of available showers were excellent. Wardens were friendly and helpful. Size of the pitches would pose a challenge to any units over 7.5m.

Summary: expensive for what you get. Best facilities in Orkney and Shetland (and the outer Hebrides for what it’s worth). Should be a source of pride for Orkney, unlike Point of Ness campsite facilities which are embarrassing to a Scots person....Read less.

"Ideal base camp for Orkney."

Mr M Wilkie - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

18/07/2018

Very friendly and well laid out camping site.

Showers/ toilets and kitchen facilities (tumble drier etc) were of a very high standard.

Great base for exploring Orkney.

"July camping"

G Watson - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

18/07/2018

Nice site, always hot water and no hidden fees.

"Pickaquoy Campsite Kirkwall"

Mr W Cunningham - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

17/07/2018

Clean and tidy campsite well placed for town and touring routes🙂.

"July 2018"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

15/07/2018

First class campsite, nice modern facilities.Staff very accomodating. Easy access to supermarkets, restaurants and pubs. Good base for exploring attractions in Orkney.

"Good Location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

15/07/2018

on outskirts of Kirkwall so easy access when towing. Good to be able to walk into town for an evening. Love the individual cubicles - basic but clean. Good price too!

"generally good but could do better"

Mr R Mitchell - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

13/07/2018

A good site let down by a few simple faults, my hard stand (HS31) was too shallow to allow me to park a 5.9m motorhome fully within the hard standing portion also its a pity no where for campers to......Read more.

A good site let down by a few simple faults, my hard stand (HS31) was too shallow to allow me to park a 5.9m motorhome fully within the hard standing portion also its a pity no where for campers to cook food - a simple brick built leanto would suffice - without this campers must either eat microwave food or risk cooking in their tents on the often wet and windy days...Read less.

"Fine place to stay"

B Dods - Stayed Jul 2018

13/07/2018

As above.

"Orkney campsite"

Mr P Maddocks - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

12/07/2018

Excellent site and faciliries

"Holiday"

Mrs V Laird - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

12/07/2018

The site was very good the only thing that was not good was there was no swings or chute for kids the park adjacent to the site is more for older kids not really for under 10

"Our first trip to Orkney"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

12/07/2018

Stayed at the Picky Centre for 2 weeks camping as it was a great location for seeing Orkney. Close to ferries and airport.Was not disapointed, fabulous facility block, very clean and neat......Read more.

Stayed at the Picky Centre for 2 weeks camping as it was a great location for seeing Orkney. Close to ferries and airport.Was not disapointed, fabulous facility block, very clean and neat site.

Information board updated daily with tons of info for visitors.

Only complaint, swiming pool was closed for our entire first week which was very disapointing for our children would have been good to have had a bit of advance warning for that.

Childrens play area was good but could have been doing with more equipment such as swings and slides to have keeped them interested.

All around a great place to stay and visit Orkney.

...Read less.

"Great campsite in great location"

Anonymous - Stayed Jul 2018

09/07/2018

Lovely well located for walking into Kirkwall and has great facilities.

"Brilliant time"

Ms W Watson - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

08/07/2018

Wonderful showers with piping hot water. Very helpful staff, especially Chris, who looked up telephone numbers for us and gave excellent directions to the local vet. Very clean and well cared for......Read more.

Wonderful showers with piping hot water. Very helpful staff, especially Chris, who looked up telephone numbers for us and gave excellent directions to the local vet. Very clean and well cared for site. Close to Kirkwall and very near a terrific cycle path that leads straight into town....Read less.

"Review Orkney camping site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

08/07/2018

Lovely camping site. great facilities and very clean. Would definitely stay again

"Best ever showers and toilets"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

08/07/2018

These have to be the best facsilities EVER!! Under floor heating in the whole shower block means very few wet floors, and the size of the individual rooms with shower, basin and loo made bathroom ......Read more.

These have to be the best facsilities EVER!! Under floor heating in the whole shower block means very few wet floors, and the size of the individual rooms with shower, basin and loo made bathroom life a veritable pleasure....Read less.

"Neat and tidy"

G Scrimgeour - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

08/07/2018

This campsite has the best shower/toilet facilities of any campsite we have used! We were ‘lazy’ campers and had one of the camping pods for four nights - a stylish and comfortable space.

We would......Read more.

This campsite has the best shower/toilet facilities of any campsite we have used! We were ‘lazy’ campers and had one of the camping pods for four nights - a stylish and comfortable space.

We would highly recommend the Orkney caravan and camping site....Read less.

"Perfect location"

K Bradley - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

07/07/2018

Perfect location for a stop over on our way to an other island .

Very friendly staff and an easy telephone booking with email confirmation.

"Orkney in the motorhome"

F Atkins - Stayed with partner, Apr 2018

05/07/2018

We really enjoyed our stay , the facilities were excellent and having a room to sit in would have been handy had we had some bad weather, being so convenient for supermarkets and the town and central......Read more.

We really enjoyed our stay , the facilities were excellent and having a room to sit in would have been handy had we had some bad weather, being so convenient for supermarkets and the town and central for drives around the mainland....Read less.

"Great little site"

Mrs K Thomas - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

03/07/2018

Fantastic location on the outskirts of Orkney, really handy for local shops, supermarkets and the Pickaquoy centre - although the swimming pool has been shut for maintenance both times we've stayed......Read more.

Fantastic location on the outskirts of Orkney, really handy for local shops, supermarkets and the Pickaquoy centre - although the swimming pool has been shut for maintenance both times we've stayed (seems to be last week in June, which coincides with the St Magnus Festival.) Plenty of large shower rooms with loo and sink in each, no problems with queueing. Water always hot - only criticism you have to keep switching button for shower back on every 20 seconds or so. Large sitting room for bad weather and kitchen with plenty of washing up sinks and microwave. Laundry facilities excellent too - perhaps another washing machine and dryer would be helpful to avoid queueing during busy periods. All facilities spotless....Read less.

"Excellent caravan site"

Ms S Heys - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

02/07/2018

Everything was really good.We had a most enjoyable and relaxing stay

"Excellent campsite in Kirkwall"

Mrs R Taylor - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

02/07/2018

We chose this site because of its situation - near to town centre - and were very pleased with this. However, we were very impressed with the facilities for campers and motorhomers: plenty of......Read more.

We chose this site because of its situation - near to town centre - and were very pleased with this. However, we were very impressed with the facilities for campers and motorhomers: plenty of shower/bathroom units, all very clean and with the most efficient drainage I have found on a campsite; good kitchen facilities for campers; excellent price laundry facilities and even more impressive a drying line outside! The layout of the water and waste facilities was also probably the best I've seen, with easy access to everything both on arrival and on departure. Many privately owned much pricier campsites could learn a lot....Read less.

"Lovely little camp site in great location"

Mrs H Richardson - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

02/07/2018

Nothing to fault, wonderful camping facilities, easy walking into town centre and very friendly staff.

"Best yet"

Mr E Walsh - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

01/07/2018

Of all the camp sites I have stayed "The Picky" is by far the best amenities I have ever stayed in. Clean toilet / shower rooms and every thing you need right on the door step.

"Good Site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

30/06/2018

We stayed for a week and would have been happy to have stayed longer as the site is well placed to explore the Orkney mainland and to access the ferries to the outer isles. The facilities were good......Read more.

We stayed for a week and would have been happy to have stayed longer as the site is well placed to explore the Orkney mainland and to access the ferries to the outer isles. The facilities were good and catered for all campers no matter what their means of transport!...Read less.

"Best Campsite."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

30/06/2018

Stayed at campsite now 2 years and I find it a very pleasant place, convenient for shops and the toilets, kitchen, laundry and sitting room the best I have ever stayed at.

"lovely Kirkwall"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

29/06/2018

We were pleasantly surprised to find a municipal campsite that had so many facilities ; full bathrooms, excellent kitchen and laundry, welcoming lounge with lots of information. It is a shame that......Read more.

We were pleasantly surprised to find a municipal campsite that had so many facilities ; full bathrooms, excellent kitchen and laundry, welcoming lounge with lots of information. It is a shame that lazy users do not always leave the facilities clean. I do not blame the management at all; they put enough notices around and have thought of everything you might need.

Kirkwall is a very pleasant town and there is a lot to do and visit in the area; plenty of ancient and modern historical sites ; food and drink; crafts; walks and wildlife; a music festival... We only stayed 5 days and that was nowhere near enough....Read less.

"Johns review"

Mr J Gourlay - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

27/06/2018

Perfect campsite with amenities close by

"Amacing"

Mrs S Waters - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

27/06/2018

A wonderful few days at this clean, well organised and safe site. Showers and toilets were in cubicles and plenty of them. Always very clean. Excellent kitchen facilities and washing machines.......Read more.

A wonderful few days at this clean, well organised and safe site. Showers and toilets were in cubicles and plenty of them. Always very clean. Excellent kitchen facilities and washing machines.

Position of drain to release waste water for the motor home was a little difficult but such a minor issue on a great site.

Well done...Read less.

"Outstanding facilities"

S Leask - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

26/06/2018

We stayed for 3 nights. Excellent facilities, superb abulitions.

Good camping divisions for various campers. We had the green area for cyclists.

Close to shops and bus services.

One of the best sites......Read more.

We stayed for 3 nights. Excellent facilities, superb abulitions.

Good camping divisions for various campers. We had the green area for cyclists.

Close to shops and bus services.

One of the best sites I have stayed at in Scotland and Europe.

....Read less.

"First impressions"

V Kerr - Stayed with friends, Jun 2018

26/06/2018

Easy to get in and out of, location excellent for shops and town, easy walk to ferries etc. Facilities very good, never had to queue for showers in the morning, a bit on the expensive side for......Read more.

Easy to get in and out of, location excellent for shops and town, easy walk to ferries etc. Facilities very good, never had to queue for showers in the morning, a bit on the expensive side for campsite but that’s because of its location. Staff were very friendly and helpful, would recommend this site, we stayed for a week.ferries to other islands very good....Read less.

"Happy caravanners"

Mr N Wares - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

24/06/2018

One of the best sites we have stayed at. Facilities excellent and never had to queue in the toilet/shower arrangements. .Pitches level and not too far from town for all the attractions.

"Centrally located."

Mr D Bramwell - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

24/06/2018

Close to the town centre and two supermarkets. The washing and showering facilities were in 15 separate cubicles, and the standard of privacy and cleanliness was very high, although at busy times one......Read more.

Close to the town centre and two supermarkets. The washing and showering facilities were in 15 separate cubicles, and the standard of privacy and cleanliness was very high, although at busy times one may have to wait for a cubicle to become vacant. The site is next to a leisure centre and a main road, but we did not notice too much noise.

The site is very convenient for touring the mainland and islands, and as long as you are not expecting a quiet secluded country site, this will suit very well. The wardens were exceptionally friendly and helpful....Read less.

"Orkney highlight"

Dr C Middleton - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

24/06/2018

Fantastic campsite right on the doorstep of Kirkwall. Leisure centre right next door to site. Three major supermarkets within very short walk. Kirkwall itself about 10 mins walk with lots of history,......Read more.

Fantastic campsite right on the doorstep of Kirkwall. Leisure centre right next door to site. Three major supermarkets within very short walk. Kirkwall itself about 10 mins walk with lots of history, shops, bars and restaurants. Much to do and see on Orkney - a place with great scenery, and historical sites ranging from ancient to modern....Read less.

"Handy site"

Mr T Thomson - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

24/06/2018

The campsite is ideal for a holiday on Orkney. It is only a short stroll into Kirkwall,has three supermarkets nearby

(and an excellent fish merchant on the small industrial estate close by). It is......Read more.

The campsite is ideal for a holiday on Orkney. It is only a short stroll into Kirkwall,has three supermarkets nearby

(and an excellent fish merchant on the small industrial estate close by). It is also no more than twenty minutes to anywhere on mainland Orkney. The site is very clean, has ample wash/toilet facilities and has a very good lounge/kitchen. We also used the lovely new adjacent swimming pool before breakfast. The walks at Birsay and Deerness were excellent,as was our stroll through Stromness, which was more quaint than Kirkwall. This was our second stay at the site and would thoroughly recommend it....Read less.

"xxxx"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

24/06/2018

xxx xxx

"Second Visit"

Mr R Drew - Stayed May 2018

24/06/2018

Excellent site and facilities with extremely pleasant, friendly and efficient staff.

"A very convinient solution if you have a tent and haven't pre-booked any other accomodation"

G Sela - Stayed Jun 2018

24/06/2018

Very tidy and clean place, nice lounge to chill in, great showers and toilets facilities. Close to town center and easily accesible from the main road.

"happy days"

Mr A Sandilands - Stayed Jun 2018

23/06/2018

this is an excellent site which is very well maintained.

I camped in a very quiet --tents only--zone and have no complaints whatever about this site

toilets/shower block were spotless and staff......Read more.

this is an excellent site which is very well maintained.

I camped in a very quiet --tents only--zone and have no complaints whatever about this site

toilets/shower block were spotless and staff friendly and keen to ensure your stay was enjoyable on the campsite

don't be put off by proximity to Kirkwall and 2 large supermarkets --in fact this is a bonus,especially if you are on foot.

great price too

...Read less.

"Caravanning at Orkney Caravan Park"

Mr I McCormick - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

21/06/2018

The Orkney Caravan Park is ideally placed as a base for exploring Orkney mainland and the outlying isles and is only a ten minute walk to the centre of Kirkwall for sightseeing, shops and eating......Read more.

The Orkney Caravan Park is ideally placed as a base for exploring Orkney mainland and the outlying isles and is only a ten minute walk to the centre of Kirkwall for sightseeing, shops and eating establishments. Supermarkets are even closer.

Our visit lasted eight days and included two days away from site (leaving caravan unattended) while we visited one of the North Isles. We relied upon our hitch lock and wheel clamp for security as the site entry barrier was inoperative and open 24 hours a day at the start of our stay but repaired by the time we got back: No resident staff on site, so site security was not of the highest order after about 4 or 5pm.

As a retired couple we have no need of childrens' play facilities, there are some adjoining the Park. A main road runs past the Park but noise was not a problem as the trees between the road and the pitching areas seem to do a good job of screening it out. I am slightly deaf so you might not want to take my word as gospel on this.

Generally the park is very tidy and well maintained, although during our 8 day stay I never saw anyone cutting the grass and by the end of our stay this was leading to very wet shoes each morning when collecting/disposing of fresh/grey water. On this point, a black mark for lack of signage indicating the location of grey water disposal facilities (there is no signage!). It is not even referred to on the site plan showing the pitches and other facilities, and when asked, the receptionist was not sure either.

The toilet and shower facilities are clean, warm and of a good size, excellent except for the colour scheme - Oh dear, even in full daylight and with the lights on they are quite dull - Institutional green!! Don't be fooled by the Gallery photos in the website, these were taken using flash or floodlit photography. We usually use our own caravan facilities to wash, shower and cook/clean up rather than any site facilities, however my wife did do a towel wash while on site and this proved quick and easy and very reasonably priced. The kitchen, wash-up and lounge area all look to be very good too.

The worst thing about this site however, is the overpowering smell and state of the Chemical Toilet Disposal facility. It comprises a tall stainless steel "toilet style" chute with a high level flush cistern and a hinge down grating on top of the chute. Alongside there is a large galvanised grating, about 3' x 2', set in the floor with a drain outlet clearly visible beneath it. Around this floor grating the walls have a stainless steel sheet splashback. Given the splashes on the splashback, it is doing its job, and whilst they might be approximately the same colour, I can assure you the splashes are not mud. A bib tap is located in the back panel; no hose is provided for rinsing purposes. When asked about a hose, a member of the site staff explained it had been stolen! Also there is no local provision made for hand washing after emptying your toilet cassette.

On my first visit to use this facility, a not entirely pleasant experience in any event, a previous user had obviously not raised the grating over the disposal chute and the grating was adorned with toilet paper and other miscellaneous matter. Two days later on another visit I saw that someone had used the floor drain as the disposal point. This is perhaps understandable, particularly if it had been a foreign visitor, as there is absolutely no signage to indicate what is to be used for what. The only sign displayed claimed that this was a "Self Clean Area". Management seem to consider this ample excuse for them to do nothing by way of cleaning. I don't know of any caravanners who carry the mops, brushes and cleansers needed to tackle this facility and hence its disgusting state.

In fairness to the staff member I spoke with he seems to have passed word on and some disinfectant has been applied, with a marked improvement in the smell from the area but no effort yet seems to have been directed at cleaning off the splashes.

As members of both the major UK caravan clubs, we are used to very high standards on site and this site could be up there too with some effort, but at the moment it isn't. Indeed, we have stayed on many licenced 5 van sites where the facilities have been way better than at The Orkney Caravan Park; equally true many have not been any better, but then they cost considerably less than half what is charged at Orkney.

As to value for money, for example on our journey north to Orkney, we stayed at two Club sites, one at a cost of £16.75 per night for two adults, car and caravan on hard standing with electric, the other at a cost of £18.50 for the same facilities. At Orkney Caravan Park this cost was £24.85 per night. Even without the Chemical Waste Disposal issue the numbers speak for themselves as to value for money, a 34 to 48 percent uplift on mainland club site prices is excessive. Seems to me that some commercial competition is needed.

Iain McCormick...Read less.

"Stay at Orkney Caravan Park"

Anonymous - Stayed Jun 2018

21/06/2018

A very good campsite with good facilities.

"Orkney holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

21/06/2018

Lovely park very well maintained. Great shower facilities but water pressure not so good. Most staff friendly and helpful except one who was a bit abrupt and unhelpful. The security barrier was often......Read more.

Lovely park very well maintained. Great shower facilities but water pressure not so good. Most staff friendly and helpful except one who was a bit abrupt and unhelpful. The security barrier was often left open ....Read less.

"Great facilities a hard to beat campsite"

Mrs L Gray - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

21/06/2018

Easy to find late at night arriving on the ferry from Aberdeen.

The indoor facilities are second to none. All other campsites could take this one as its benchmark.

The site would appear to be......Read more.

Easy to find late at night arriving on the ferry from Aberdeen.

The indoor facilities are second to none. All other campsites could take this one as its benchmark.

The site would appear to be well drained with no really muddy spots after some heavy rain.

I think the addition of some off ground cooking platforms would be appreciated by campers who chose to use BBQ or fire to cook on....Read less.

"Holidays"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2018

21/06/2018

I went in june 2018 for and was very disappointed I stayed in August 2017 for 2 weeks wee bit better I think I'll try somewhere else next year as they say there 4 star I don't think so more like 2......Read more.

I went in june 2018 for and was very disappointed I stayed in August 2017 for 2 weeks wee bit better I think I'll try somewhere else next year as they say there 4 star I don't think so more like 2 star...Read less.

"A great place to stay."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

20/06/2018

What a lovely place this is. So well kept and with outstanding facilities.

A easy walk into the town too.

"brilliant place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

20/06/2018

This place is absolutely faultless. Spacious pitches, friendly and helpful staff, scrupulously clean showers and loos and kitchen, nice lounge.

All we could have wanted was there except one thing -......Read more.

This place is absolutely faultless. Spacious pitches, friendly and helpful staff, scrupulously clean showers and loos and kitchen, nice lounge.

All we could have wanted was there except one thing - a sheltered bench outside for those of us who like to cook on a camping stove and it is too wet to be on the ground or a picnic table. Quite rightly use of stoves was not permitted in the kitchen. However we had nowhere sheltered to use our stove and cook (apart from the chemical waste area - not where I would want to prepare my dinner!!!)

Apart from that, I can honestly not make a single criticism of this place. We have not stayed at many sites as we usually wild camp, so I cannot compare it with others, but chat in the kitchen suggested it was a higher standard than many.

...Read less.

"Good place to stay."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2018

19/06/2018

A lovely campsite with great facilities and easy access to Kirkwall and mainland Orkney. The Pickaquoy centre is good for meals or snacks and close by. Pitches are well spaced and not far from the......Read more.

A lovely campsite with great facilities and easy access to Kirkwall and mainland Orkney. The Pickaquoy centre is good for meals or snacks and close by. Pitches are well spaced and not far from the immaculate facilities. The only downside is the proximity to the power station which can be heard more at night....Read less.

"Always happy here"

Mr H Gent - Stayed with family, May 2018

19/06/2018

Always happy here

"A lovely place to spend a few days"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2018

19/06/2018

We were delighted with our four nights at Pickaquoy. The staff were very friendly and efficient and came round the site regularly to check that all was OK. The washing / shower facilities were......Read more.

We were delighted with our four nights at Pickaquoy. The staff were very friendly and efficient and came round the site regularly to check that all was OK. The washing / shower facilities were amazing - we've never come across ensuite type facilities on a campsite before. Location was good - handy for supermarkets and for walking into town and yet set slightly off the beaten track. We will definitely be back!...Read less.

"Nice Site. Very close to Kirkwall"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

18/06/2018

Enjoyed our stay here. Had all the things we needed. short walk into town. Facilities very clean and warm. Plenty showers and hot water.

"The Park is excellent"

Mr D Barker - Stayed Jun 2018

18/06/2018

The park is excellent in all aspects. Less than £15 pounds a night peak season. Its tremendous value. Nothing more to be daid

"Convenient clean and helpful"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

17/06/2018

A one night stay before ferry home- just the job

"Annual Orkney Holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2018

17/06/2018

We first visited the park in 2009 and have continued to stay ther almost every year since. (The occasions we didn't stay were when we weren't on Orkney). We love the park and everything about it......Read more.

We first visited the park in 2009 and have continued to stay ther almost every year since. (The occasions we didn't stay were when we weren't on Orkney). We love the park and everything about it and will continue to stay there on any future visits. We love Orkney and the campsite....Read less.

"The Picky"

Mr D Evans - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

17/06/2018

Very helpful staff especially Carole.Excellent shower/WC facilities.But high season charges start a little early in the year.

"Annual visit to Orkney"

Mr D Beeson - Stayed with family, May 2018

17/06/2018

We love staying at the Pickaquoy, and love the camping pods and all the facilities at the Pickaquoy centre. The weather this year just made it extra special - who knew Kirkwall could be hot.

"Lovely Kirkwall site"

Mr A Munro - Stayed with partner, May 2018

17/06/2018

It was very nice clean and well kept. Good location

"Return to campsite after a 6 year break"

Mr G Kaye - Stayed with partner, May 2018

17/06/2018

Proximity to ferries was important to us as we wished to visit other islands, and the location also gave easy access to all of Mainland.

The quality of all facilities are second to none, and......Read more.

Proximity to ferries was important to us as we wished to visit other islands, and the location also gave easy access to all of Mainland.

The quality of all facilities are second to none, and proximity to the Pickaquoy Centre and Cinema was an advantage.

Our visit took place during an extraordinary spell of good weather, if we had been less fortunate the excellent facilities at the campsite would have been even more important....Read less.

"Ok"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

17/06/2018

Good facilities except for chemical toilet emptying. This was in a poor state of cleanliness as nothing was provided to clean the area. All other sites provide a hose for washing.

"Great Caravan and Camp Site in a Great Location"

Anonymous - Stayed May 2018

17/06/2018

Firstly I booked the campsite through the website and the information sent via email was excellent and accurate. When I arrived I was greeted by friendly staff and gave me all the necessary......Read more.

Firstly I booked the campsite through the website and the information sent via email was excellent and accurate. When I arrived I was greeted by friendly staff and gave me all the necessary information - the location is excellent being so close to the centre of Kirkwall. Is the ability to come and go as required is excellent as there was no curfew. The facilities were very good, with the showers being excellent....Read less.

"Nice park shame about the staff"

Mr G Clarke - Stayed with partner, May 2018

17/06/2018

On arrival two staff were in the office, I was made to feel I was interrupting their conversation. Other than give me a bit of paper there was no welcome or explanation of the site and it’s......Read more.

On arrival two staff were in the office, I was made to feel I was interrupting their conversation. Other than give me a bit of paper there was no welcome or explanation of the site and it’s facilities. As I left I turned to ask a question and the door, which had previously been open, was shut in my face. Clearly to stop further interruptions! All this was in stark contrast to the warm friendly welcomes we received at privately owned sites! The site itself was fine but let down by disinterested staff....Read less.

"Springtime in Orkney"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2018

17/06/2018

A well run site with excellent facilites

"Folk Festival Camping"

Mr L Bain - Stayed with partner, May 2018

17/06/2018

Absolutely brilliant campsite. Great position in Kirkwall with all local shops pubs restaurants and supermarkets close at hand. Leisure centre with swimming pool next door. Simply the best facilities......Read more.

Absolutely brilliant campsite. Great position in Kirkwall with all local shops pubs restaurants and supermarkets close at hand. Leisure centre with swimming pool next door. Simply the best facilities of any campsite I have visited....Read less.

"brilliant facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed May 2018

04/06/2018

lovely staff, immaculate park and facilities and a quiet peaceful location close to town. would highly recommend a stay here. one of the best camp sites I've ever stayed at.

"best facilieties"

Mr K Russell - Stayed with partner, May 2018

03/06/2018

excellent facilities one of the best i have stayed in

"Best facilities"

Mr G Drummond - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

02/06/2018

This must be the best amenities we have ever seen in over thirty years of caravanning! Orkney is an amazing place to visit and we were very sad to leave.

"Relaxing stay"

Ms J Cairns - Stayed with friends, May 2018

01/06/2018

Stayed in a pod here for three nights. Ideal when you are not sure of the weather and if you plan to be out all day. Perfect for somewhere to sleep and have breakfast. Could have done with a wee......Read more.

Stayed in a pod here for three nights. Ideal when you are not sure of the weather and if you plan to be out all day. Perfect for somewhere to sleep and have breakfast. Could have done with a wee table as only a narrow ledge to prepare toast etc. Very comfortable and would go again. Facilities amazing, Orkney out of this world....Read less.

"Two nights on Orkney"

Mr M Cawley - Stayed May 2018

30/05/2018

Always wanted to visit Highland Park Distillery and used this campsite as my base. Great choice, conveniently located for all of Kirkwall’s amenities. Friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

"Fantastic location and facilities."

Mrs R Macnab - Stayed with partner, May 2018

30/05/2018

One of our favourite sites with extremely helpful staff and great individual shower rooms.

Well situated for exploring local area and only a 10 minute walk into Kirkwall town centre where there is......Read more.

One of our favourite sites with extremely helpful staff and great individual shower rooms.

Well situated for exploring local area and only a 10 minute walk into Kirkwall town centre where there is something for everyone from great shops to the cathedral and very interesting museum.

The Pickaquoy centre itself has lots going on and I imagine must be well used and appreciated by families with children....Read less.

"Quick trip to Orkney"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2018

28/05/2018

The booking process, could have been handled better (had to book and pay three times for the consecutive nights).

The wardens on duty on arrival and on site were superb and friendly. The site is tidy......Read more.

The booking process, could have been handled better (had to book and pay three times for the consecutive nights).

The wardens on duty on arrival and on site were superb and friendly. The site is tidy and well kept. The toilet/shower block is superb, clean and warm .

I would stay again....Read less.

"in a league of its own"

Mr M Perham - Stayed with partner, May 2018

28/05/2018

one of the best sites we've ever visited......what a shame it is so very far north of our dorset coast home !

a wonderful visit....the only small snag was coming back to our pitch and finding it......Read more.

one of the best sites we've ever visited......what a shame it is so very far north of our dorset coast home !

a wonderful visit....the only small snag was coming back to our pitch and finding it taken, despite asking specifically whether we should leave an 'occupied' indicator, and being told "no need". but, we must stress, this is a site we would recommend wholeheartedly...a credit to orkney and scotland....(and to E.U. funding no doubt )

mike and lois...Read less.

"As Above"

Mr G Williams - Stayed with family, May 2018

24/05/2018

As Above

"The Orkney spirit"

K Styles - Stayed May 2018

22/05/2018

I was impressed at how nice the park and facilities were and being a damsel in distress ( I had forgotten my electric hook up ) I needed to go out and buy one the next day but a super helpful,......Read more.

I was impressed at how nice the park and facilities were and being a damsel in distress ( I had forgotten my electric hook up ) I needed to go out and buy one the next day but a super helpful, friendly member of staff Steve , loaned me his own lead to get me by for the whole week . I had booked late and so had to spend three nights in Stromness but Steve was happy for me to borrow his lead to save me buying one . I’m happy to say that after returning to Orkney after 32years , the Orkney spirit of generosity and helpfulness lives on . Can’t wzit to come again ( only this time I’ll book early and bring my lead ) many thanks Kerry...Read less.

"Week Stay"

Mr A Aitken - Stayed with partner, May 2018

22/05/2018

Absolutely loved this site, both my wife and I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a site in Orkney.

Centrally located within easy walking distance to the two main supermarkets. The staff......Read more.

Absolutely loved this site, both my wife and I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a site in Orkney.

Centrally located within easy walking distance to the two main supermarkets. The staff were super and willing to assist at the drop of a hat. We cannot fault this site in any respect and being based here it certainly made our holiday....Read less.

"First stay in Orkney"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2018

21/05/2018

Facilities excellent, always warm in shower cubicles, walk into Kirkwall, supermarkets, shops and restaurants. Good central base for our trip

"May holiday"

Mr A McDougall - Stayed with partner, May 2018

20/05/2018

Kirkwall is a lovely wee town with plenty small shops and attractions. The campsite is situated within easy walking distance. Next door is the Pickaquoy Centre with swimming pool, cinema and cafe. ......Read more.

Kirkwall is a lovely wee town with plenty small shops and attractions. The campsite is situated within easy walking distance. Next door is the Pickaquoy Centre with swimming pool, cinema and cafe. Further along the same road is the 3 main supermarkets. There is a large park and lake across the road suitable for dog walking.

The campsite itself has hardstanding, grass pitches, tent areas and a couple of cabins. The areas are clean and tidy with grass cut and collected. The facilities are in a modern building and are superb. Individual shower rooms with toilet and sink. A large laundry, tidy kitchen and lounge area with comfortable seating. The site wardens were all friendly and helpful. All in all, a great and popular facility for caravanners, motorhomes and campers....Read less.

"Nice convenient place to stay"

Mrs M Walsh - Stayed with family, May 2018

16/05/2018

Due to living on one of the outer North islands, the Picky Centre is a very convenient place to stay when needing to overnight before we can get the ferry home.

It is close to the town and the......Read more.

Due to living on one of the outer North islands, the Picky Centre is a very convenient place to stay when needing to overnight before we can get the ferry home.

It is close to the town and the Pickaquoy itself has a good range of facilities, which we have not tried out so can't comment on.

The park is fairly quiet despite the nearness of a busy road & play area. The staff are friendly & helpful. The warden was very helpful as we sorted out times with her....Read less.

"Excellent modern facilities"

Mrs P Jones - Stayed with partner, May 2018

14/05/2018

This site is well kept. It is conveniently located near Kirkwall town centre. It is next to the Pickaquoy leisure centre so would be ideal for families. The wash facilities are some of the best I......Read more.

This site is well kept. It is conveniently located near Kirkwall town centre. It is next to the Pickaquoy leisure centre so would be ideal for families. The wash facilities are some of the best I have seen, ideal for families and providing privacy and comfort....Read less.

"Couldn't be better"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2018

14/05/2018

The facilities were stunning. I have been motorcaravanning for 30 years and these are the best facilities I have come across. They have been well thought out and planned and have been kept immaculate......Read more.

The facilities were stunning. I have been motorcaravanning for 30 years and these are the best facilities I have come across. They have been well thought out and planned and have been kept immaculate by the staff. It was great to have the extra facilities at the Pickaquoy Centre right beside us and we did use the cafe and cinema on a few occasions. What a treat. The site location gave us the opportunity to explore easily the whole of the mainland of Orkney.

Thank you....Read less.

"Revisitng Stromness after 43 years...and it is still raining!!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2018

13/05/2018

What a lovely , friendly, helpful warden and the wonderful new hard-standing was just what we needed.

Lovely clean washing facilities also and plenty of time and hot water in the shower for 20p.

I......Read more.

What a lovely , friendly, helpful warden and the wonderful new hard-standing was just what we needed.

Lovely clean washing facilities also and plenty of time and hot water in the shower for 20p.

I doubt we will return to Orkney as it's 43 years since our last visit when we camped with a child's play tent and no ground sheet or fly sheet and a stream ran in under the back of the tent and out through the front!

We think the campsite has upgraded hugely since then and wished that the communal facilities and the lovely warm, welcoming ambience had been around all those years ago!!

Good to know that excellent facilities exist for the less able also....Read less.

"Pickaquoy Centre in May"

D Boggon - Stayed with family, May 2018

13/05/2018

Shower facilities could not be improved on. Relaxed friendly staff.ideally placed to access Kirkwall facilities and also the road out of town.

"Best in Orkney"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2018

12/05/2018

Had a farmers field booked but passed this site on drive through Kirkwall and checked it out on line and booked and cancelled farmers field. Important for us to be near town for meals out.as......Read more.

Had a farmers field booked but passed this site on drive through Kirkwall and checked it out on line and booked and cancelled farmers field. Important for us to be near town for meals out.as difficult to move motorhome just for meals out. Location excellent....Read less.

"no review"

Dr M Van Beinum - Stayed with partner, Apr 2018

01/05/2018

no review

"Best campsite facilities ever"

E Burgess - Stayed with partner, Apr 2018

29/04/2018

Having camped regularly for more than 40 years I have experienced a wide range of campsites and can honestly say the care and attention to detail which had gone into the Kirkwall facilities was......Read more.

Having camped regularly for more than 40 years I have experienced a wide range of campsites and can honestly say the care and attention to detail which had gone into the Kirkwall facilities was superb....Read less.

"Stay in Orkney"

Ms S Brewer - Stayed with partner, Apr 2018

26/04/2018

This is our 8th year staying on this camp site and we like it very much. Close to shops and attractions in Kirkwall to walk to. Only complaint we had was information on booking said we would be sent......Read more.

This is our 8th year staying on this camp site and we like it very much. Close to shops and attractions in Kirkwall to walk to. Only complaint we had was information on booking said we would be sent outcodes for gates, facilities and Wi-Fi before arrival but this did not happen...Read less.

"Orkney Surprise"

E Meakle - Stayed with partner, Apr 2018

21/04/2018

Great campsite next to new Leisure Centre with plenty activities to keep everyone happy short walk to town of Kirkwall .

The shower/ toilet block contains 12 individual private rooms each having a......Read more.

Great campsite next to new Leisure Centre with plenty activities to keep everyone happy short walk to town of Kirkwall .

The shower/ toilet block contains 12 individual private rooms each having a toilet ,shower, wash basin and other items , there is a very nice Kitchen ,Laundry room and a communal lounge area, all very nice.

This has to be five star camping....Read less.

"Orkney Trip"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Apr 2018

21/04/2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Orkney. Amazing, beautiful and magical place. Campsite enhanced our trip. Pod was ideal, great value. Facilities were top quality, staff very friendly and helpful.......Read more.

Thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Orkney. Amazing, beautiful and magical place. Campsite enhanced our trip. Pod was ideal, great value. Facilities were top quality, staff very friendly and helpful. Close proximity to swimming pool, supermarket and Kirkwall attractions, including pubs and restaurants. A great holiday 👍...Read less.

"Everything was fine and dandy"

R Westgate - Stayed with friends, Apr 2018

14/04/2018

The staff we're great - we were delayed a day due to van break down and they were very accommodating.

Everything at the site was clean and working fine.

"Orkney caravan park, pickaquoy centre"

Mr K Baptist - Stayed with family, Mar 2018

10/04/2018

My wife and i stayed on this site in march 2018 in our touring caravan. All was good, the warden was helpful. My only concern was that the CDP area was filthy it was covered in used tissue paper for......Read more.

My wife and i stayed on this site in march 2018 in our touring caravan. All was good, the warden was helpful. My only concern was that the CDP area was filthy it was covered in used tissue paper for the last 2 daysof oour stay. we left for home then. I would think this was an oversite and didnt happen often. And i would stay on this site again.

Kind regards kevin....Read less.

"Another comfortable stay!"

Mrs J Taylor - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

01/04/2018

Very good as always, no complaints!

"Ideal location"

C Freeman - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

31/03/2018

We were either going to wild camp or stay on a CL site some miles out of town when we saw this site. It is located within a 3min flat walk to a Tesco, Lidl and Coop. It is a 5min drive to the......Read more.

We were either going to wild camp or stay on a CL site some miles out of town when we saw this site. It is located within a 3min flat walk to a Tesco, Lidl and Coop. It is a 5min drive to the Northlink ferry terminal. Great showers and toilets....Read less.

"Love the campsite"

G Chalopek - Stayed Mar 2018

25/03/2018

+ very friendly and helpful staff

+ very clean and well maintained facilities

+ perfect entertainment at Pickaquoy Center (swimming pool, cinema, fitness)

+ delicious meals at Picky Cafe

- WIFI......Read more.

+ very friendly and helpful staff

+ very clean and well maintained facilities

+ perfect entertainment at Pickaquoy Center (swimming pool, cinema, fitness)

+ delicious meals at Picky Cafe

- WIFI doesn't work well all over the campsite area...Read less.

"Visit Orkney"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

16/01/2018

Worth spending a few days in Kirkwall. Campsite at Pickaquoy is excellent and well-located.

I hope to go back there again soon.

"No title"

Anonymous - Stayed Oct 2017

19/11/2017

Shame not open 12 months a year

"Door code issues!"

Mrs J Taylor - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

05/11/2017

We were given wrong door code, ( booked online aday before our stay) luckily a fellow camper gave us correct one as it was after 10pm and the main centre is closed. If we'd been the only ones there,......Read more.

We were given wrong door code, ( booked online aday before our stay) luckily a fellow camper gave us correct one as it was after 10pm and the main centre is closed. If we'd been the only ones there, what then? Raised this issue and got a quick reply the next day.

Very difficult to use key pad at night as the light in porch does not light it up enough. Should be an emergency tel number available I think for situations like this.

One barrier not there so anyone can drive in and out! Not very secure!

Otherwise all was fine....Read less.

"one small concern on an otherwise excellent site"

Mr R Bullock - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

29/10/2017

excellent site

perfect location

only downside was lack of security barrier which allowed anyone to drive onto site.

Only a small negative otherwise very happy with all aspects of the site

"Great location."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

29/10/2017

Excellent lounge, kitchen and laundry.

Most things within walking distance.

"Orkney Campsite"

S Hutcheon - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

25/10/2017

Great site. Good facilities and staff. The ground was very wet while we were there but the staff were flexible about pitches allowing us to pick a dry pitch. They were also flexible around arrival......Read more.

Great site. Good facilities and staff. The ground was very wet while we were there but the staff were flexible about pitches allowing us to pick a dry pitch. They were also flexible around arrival and departure times to accommodate ferry times. I am sure the sight is busy in the summer, visiting in the October holidays it was quiet and made a great base to tour Orkney. Being able to walk to town and having the leisure center next door have options when the weather was less than perfect. The site is relatively sheltered. Great site which I would not hesitate to recommend....Read less.

"Pickaquoy : Pro's & Con's"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

24/10/2017

Pro's : Well situated for town and leisure complex + has hard standings & wi-fi (dependent on pitch nearness to warden's office).

Good laundry facilities + kitchen facility for washing up.

Common......Read more.

Pro's : Well situated for town and leisure complex + has hard standings & wi-fi (dependent on pitch nearness to warden's office).

Good laundry facilities + kitchen facility for washing up.

Common room somewhat institutional in appearance, but reasonable stock of local information & books.

Con's : General lack of attention to cleanliness of facilities. Showers/wet-rooms require more than a wipe out with a soiled mop, and unit for disposal of chemical waste never seems to receive any cleaning at all!

Security frequently compromised by inoperative or absent barrier system.

Lighting throughout site minimal and inadequate.

...Read less.

© 2006 - 2018 CampStead