The Orkney Caravan Park (Pickaquoy)

201 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 201 reviews in the last 12 months

99% would recommend this site

97% would stay here again

Excellent

70%

Very Good

26%

Average

4%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Just one night"

Mrs S Thain - Stayed with friends, Mar 2020

18/03/2020

Very helpful staff

Excellent value

All equipment in good order

Spotlessly clean facilities

Well stocked kitchen

Cosy lounge area

Lovely toilet facilities

"Convenient"

Anonymous - Stayed Mar 2020

16/03/2020

Very reasonable prices, good pitches, very clean utility block and next door to a leisure centre with cinema!

Short walk from town centre and shops/supermarkets nearby.

"The pods are excellent value"

Mrs Y Carroll - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

01/11/2019

We were going to camp, but for £35 we decided on a pod as we were arriving after dark. It was great value, a good set up. The sofa bed was a bit uncomfortable though, we had to use the mattresses......Read more.

We were going to camp, but for £35 we decided on a pod as we were arriving after dark. It was great value, a good set up. The sofa bed was a bit uncomfortable though, we had to use the mattresses from the other beds. We would recommend. We'd also recommend one of the bunks with a double on the bottom and single on top for couple, that would be more comfortable than the sofa bed. Facilities were very good. Arriving late was no problem....Read less.

"Mixed views"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

29/10/2019

The fan extractors in the shower rooms are not powerful enough to deal with the steam from the showers. This means the windows have to be opened, if you can reach them. Orkney is a windy place and......Read more.

The fan extractors in the shower rooms are not powerful enough to deal with the steam from the showers. This means the windows have to be opened, if you can reach them. Orkney is a windy place and the wind whips through from one side of the building to the other. Spending money on hearing a building is a complete waste of money if you then leave the windows open.

There was no hot water in the shower rooms one morning.

The road to pitches 20 upwards is in need of repair. It is full of potholes and you can get very muddy on your way to and from the amenities block....Read less.

"A great week"

Mrs L Milroy - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

25/10/2019

Great site and ideal for touring the area. We’ll be back!

"Wet"

O Budge - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

25/10/2019

Due to the weather conditions the area around the pitches was very wet, there seems to be no drainage as the grassed areas had puddles in them - even when it wasn't raining. This made it very......Read more.

Due to the weather conditions the area around the pitches was very wet, there seems to be no drainage as the grassed areas had puddles in them - even when it wasn't raining. This made it very difficult to keep everything clean and cars had to be parked off site in the leisure carpark....Read less.

"MotorhomeWatson"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

22/10/2019

Very handy site for walking into Kirkwall town centre (10-15mins) and 5 mins walk for 3 large supermarkets.

"Best site on Orkney!"

J Martin - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

17/10/2019

Excellent site for accessing Kirkwall and for touring mainland Orkney. Great showers/toilets and free Wi-fi also provided.

"A shorts week in Orkeny"

Mr A Gibson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

16/10/2019

n/a

"Very pleasant campsite."

Mr B Bahout - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

14/10/2019

Drunk youngsters came during a night, broke in a lodge... Rather unpleasant till the police came.

Extremely clean facilities.

Very pleasant campsite in October.

Very cleverly laid out.

"Excellent park"

Mr A Booth - Stayed Oct 2019

09/10/2019

An ideal base for exploring mainland Orkney and beyond

"Back at Pickaquoy - great no hassle camp site, plug in electric, and water and relax."

Mr A Dewar - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

04/10/2019

The Orkney Caravan/Campsite is in an excellent situation for a pleasant break - biggest asset for me, and virtually next door, is the Pickaquoy Sports centre with an excellent swimming pool. The......Read more.

The Orkney Caravan/Campsite is in an excellent situation for a pleasant break - biggest asset for me, and virtually next door, is the Pickaquoy Sports centre with an excellent swimming pool. The site is also very close to the centre of Kirkwall Centre where there's access to shops of all kinds along with the wonderful St Magnus Cathedral at the centre of it all. If on holiday the Orkney Campsite makes for an excellent hub point - most of the islands/ferry points and key interest spots are but a few miles away eg Birsay - no more than a 20 minute drive. If the weather is good with a spot of sun then excellent - but the wind and the rain can be invigorating and the peace is wonderful. Some lovely coffee shops and restaurants in Kirkwall and Stromness and a superb range of handcraft jewellery outlets. Lovely place to spend a week or two and the camp site provides an unobtrusive back stop to travels and visits. Excellent situation and pleasant staff who seem to be well on top of daily day maintenance of the Orkney Campsite facilities....Read less.

"Weekend stay"

Mr I Craig - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

03/10/2019

Campsite is fine, good indoor facilities washing kitchen and lounge.

Showers are good nice hot water.

Good to have leisure centre right next door.

"Excellent campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

02/10/2019

Excellent campsite with fantastic facilities - showers etc. Warm and spacious. Lounge on site, campers kitchen and laundry facilities. Tv reception good and free WiFi. Adjacent to local leisure......Read more.

Excellent campsite with fantastic facilities - showers etc. Warm and spacious. Lounge on site, campers kitchen and laundry facilities. Tv reception good and free WiFi. Adjacent to local leisure centre. Tesco, Co-op and Lidl’s within a few minutes walk. Perhaps not the most scenic campsite but very practical....Read less.

"Very happy"

Mrs L Stanworth - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

30/09/2019

We loved staying very dog friendly brilliant to have everything in one place very peaceful site

"Stayed for a few days. Great facilities, close to town and shops. Would visit again."

Mr D Lettice - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

30/09/2019

Really enjoyed the stay. Great campsite facilities, clean and very well appointed. Only criticism was that there was no staff on the day we arrived (shortages apparently) and we had to go into the......Read more.

Really enjoyed the stay. Great campsite facilities, clean and very well appointed. Only criticism was that there was no staff on the day we arrived (shortages apparently) and we had to go into the adjacent leisure centre to register etc. Clearer signage when no staff cover would be appreciated....Read less.

"Orkney is the problem, not the park"

D Houston - Stayed Sep 2019

30/09/2019

Geared for cruise-ships. Lack of lay-bye's, lack of decent road signage and places of interest. Lack of consideration fro needs of hikers, campers; in fact any visitor other than those on hosted (ie......Read more.

Geared for cruise-ships. Lack of lay-bye's, lack of decent road signage and places of interest. Lack of consideration fro needs of hikers, campers; in fact any visitor other than those on hosted (ie Cruise ship buses) trips. V poor campsite options (outwith Kirkwall). Very dog unfriendly everywhere (pubs, cafes etc) All land fenced and farmed ...v little open space to roam. Most beaches appalling and v poor signage to those that actually have sand on them. Hackneyed craft trails etc but not enough visitor facilities outside the towns. Will never visit Orkney again....Read less.

"security"

Mrs R Watt - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

28/09/2019

Do not like the fact that motorhomes/caravans can come and empty chemical toilets fill with water and use showers after warden has finished for evening. {not wardens fault} A slight security issue ?......Read more.

Do not like the fact that motorhomes/caravans can come and empty chemical toilets fill with water and use showers after warden has finished for evening. {not wardens fault} A slight security issue ? Have been asked for code to shower block but have refused to give it they just wait until someone enters then follow. possibly a barrier at entrance would stop this....Read less.

"autumn caravan trip"

Mr T Middleton - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

27/09/2019

We both love a visit to Orkney, mainly to visit attractions on the islands. This time we concentrated on the mainland. This included South Ronaldsay, Birsay and Deerness. At the site we used the......Read more.

We both love a visit to Orkney, mainly to visit attractions on the islands. This time we concentrated on the mainland. This included South Ronaldsay, Birsay and Deerness. At the site we used the cinema twice and the swimming pool most days. I also attended an excellent body balance class. Staff were so helpful. We both recommend Orkney and specifically Pickaquoy - the campsite is top notch and the leisure centre great. Our only problem is what to do with the caravan on the last day of the holiday - you have to leave campsite by noon, but the ferry leaves Stromness at 4.45pm. We used the leisure centre car park for 2 hours, but this is hardly fair on leisure centre users and we will not do this again.

To sum up, a great holiday. But I recommend avoiding any holding time before ferries, by timing the return journey to avoid holding. We would use the 6am ferry....Read less.

"Review of Caravan Park"

Mr P Murphy - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

We had a great time on Orkney but the site left a little to be desired.

On the plus side its only 10 minutes walk from Kirkwall Town Centre and the facilities there - in fact Tesco and Lidl......Read more.

We had a great time on Orkney but the site left a little to be desired.

On the plus side its only 10 minutes walk from Kirkwall Town Centre and the facilities there - in fact Tesco and Lidl dominated the view from our caravan window. Equally its only 10 minutes walk away from Kirkwall Ferry terminal for ferry's to the northern Orkney Islands. So essentially we'll situated centrally to the southern islands.

Here are the downsides though. Although it says it is a caravan park it caters more for Motorhomes. The pitches are small with no space for cars to be parked alongside. Many are tarmac pitches which make it impossible to put up an awning. In fact, I think best description for pitches would be large car parking spaces with electric hook up!

The toilet block is in need of some refurbishment and is very cold as windows have to be left open to clear moisture. Also, very unusual in that they are all individual rooms. Some have showers, some don't, but, all have washbasins and toilets.

Although there is a barrier code there is no barrier on the exit side and, given that it is located close to the sports centre, tends to get used as a walk through by the public making it feel a very insecure site. Because of this, we noticed at times Motorhomes coming after the office closed and leaving the next morning before it opened which made use wonder if they had paid!

Whilst we were there the chemical waste disposal area was clearly not cleaned as there were small pieces of human excrement on the floor for the duration of our stay.

Wardens are only part time (11am to 5pm) with out of hours support till 11pm via the local sports centre.

In summary, good location but poor facilities....Read less.

"Na"

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2019

25/09/2019

Na

"Lovely campsite. The best bathrooms!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

23/09/2019

This was a lovely campsite. Easy to walk into town and the private bathrooms were the best we’ve seen. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Kitchen facilities were very good and the room was......Read more.

This was a lovely campsite. Easy to walk into town and the private bathrooms were the best we’ve seen. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Kitchen facilities were very good and the room was toasty warm....Read less.

"Holidat"

Mr J Sommerville - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

23/09/2019

Our overall impression of the campsite was good. Despite arriving very late at night and in the rain and struggling to find the site once we saw it in daylight it was so easy to find. It is in a......Read more.

Our overall impression of the campsite was good. Despite arriving very late at night and in the rain and struggling to find the site once we saw it in daylight it was so easy to find. It is in a great position for walking into Kirkwall and has 3 supermarkets in easy reach served by a huge car park. We loved the fact that the toilet block had all the facilities in one cubicle although the shower curtains were very tired looking and parts of the trims needed a good clean. It was great to have the Pickaquoy Centre next door and use of the facilities there....Read less.

"General comments"

F Rutlidge - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

23/09/2019

The site is very clean and professionally run with all the necessary amenities. We visited a number of sites throughout the UK during this trip and the Orkney site was amongst the best we stayed at.

"Home from Home in Orkney"

Rev M Randall - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

21/09/2019

One of the best non-Club sites we've used. We particularly liked the "wet room" arrangement. Cost was reasonable given the quality of the facilities.

Our one slight quibble would be that the pitches......Read more.

One of the best non-Club sites we've used. We particularly liked the "wet room" arrangement. Cost was reasonable given the quality of the facilities.

Our one slight quibble would be that the pitches were rather "tight". Even with a 6m camper van it was quite hard to avoid putting a wheel on the grass. And surely, the pitches could not ever be expected to accommodate a caravan plus tow-car....Read less.

"Orkney holiday"

Mr S Klatschak - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

20/09/2019

Very well situated and clean and well run, but pitches need to be a bit bigger and easier accessed on the non tar pitches..I had bother trying to pitch my caravan without running on to the grass......Read more.

Very well situated and clean and well run, but pitches need to be a bit bigger and easier accessed on the non tar pitches..I had bother trying to pitch my caravan without running on to the grass which because of the recent wet weather caused damage to the grass edges.......Read less.

"Great central location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

20/09/2019

.

"excellent place to stay"

Dr H Ward - Stayed Sep 2019

19/09/2019

nice campsite with good shelter belts, very friendly and helpful staff and excellent facilities for washing and relaxing in warm common room area - a short pleasant walk to local shops and town centre

"."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

19/09/2019

.

"Kirkwall"

Mrs L Winchester - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

17/09/2019

Excellent site. Friendly staff, easy access to town centre, clean showers and great waste disposal and recycling

"Pick the Pickaquoy"

Mr S Williams - Stayed Sep 2019

17/09/2019

Outstanding facilities, clean and well maintained, ideally placed for touring the island, three supermarkets within 400 MTRS next to main road but no disturbance.I have no hesitation in recommending......Read more.

Outstanding facilities, clean and well maintained, ideally placed for touring the island, three supermarkets within 400 MTRS next to main road but no disturbance.I have no hesitation in recommending this site....Read less.

"excellent site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

16/09/2019

The best rates for this campsite. Excellent facilities and commodities. Unfortunately, we can't rate the staff due to our late arrival. However, we received an email including all the information we......Read more.

The best rates for this campsite. Excellent facilities and commodities. Unfortunately, we can't rate the staff due to our late arrival. However, we received an email including all the information we needed to locate our pitch and use all facilities. Excellent place to stay....Read less.

"Orkney Adventure"

Mr C Moxham - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

15/09/2019

Great experience

"Good campsite"

R Petty - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

14/09/2019

Very well located and well kept. There were lots of facilities I didn't use which are included in the price. So I found it slightly expensive for what I wanted.

"."

Mr J Young - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

14/09/2019

.

"Camping in Orkney"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

13/09/2019

The campsite is perfect for visiting Orkney, due to its central location and the state and cleanliness of the amenities.

"clean, well maintained easily accessible site with staff on hand"

Mr P Baker - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

13/09/2019

this was our first foree into motorhoming so we stuck mainly to formal sites. This one in Kirkwall was very well laid out, signposted very well from the road and the online site map allowed us to......Read more.

this was our first foree into motorhoming so we stuck mainly to formal sites. This one in Kirkwall was very well laid out, signposted very well from the road and the online site map allowed us to get a good look before arrival and book a good pitch. The washing facilities were the best we found working our way up Scotland and on to the islands, with good sized individual washing facilities, which were obviously cleaned regularly.

The site is partnered with and positioned next to a family activity centre, which is great if you have kids, or want a swim, but when we were there, was noisy with kids till their group leaders dragged them off the playpark.

The staff at the site were on hand and knowledgeable and if they weren't immediately available, the office, lounge and kitchen/laundry was well appointed and had all the likely info you might need during your stay.

Really enjoyed our first time motorhoming and would definitely use this site again. in fact, all the sites we used in Orkney were great and in general terms, Orkney's mainland has lots of good sites and loads of public toilets dotted about, making staying over very easy, wherever you decide to sleep!...Read less.

"Excellent site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

11/09/2019

This is the best, cleanest and well laid out campsite we have stayed in.

"Gladly again"

P Schaerz - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

11/09/2019

We had a wonderful trip to the Orkneys. The place was the best for last. We'll be back for sure.

"Centrally placed"

Dr. M Fyfe - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

10/09/2019

Good facilities, close to amenities, good base for touring.

"Handy site for the town and the ferry"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

09/09/2019

Good for the access to town and the ferry terminal. Facilities generally good.

"Review"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

09/09/2019

Fine

"A nice kitchen and lounge, showers were hot and facilities good."

Mr M Hourston - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

09/09/2019

see above

"Lovely site"

E Clarke - Stayed Sep 2019

09/09/2019

,unfortunately had to camp in the bit without tar and due to wet weather it was really muddy at times. Otherwise a lovely visit. Used to get free entry to swimming pool before but now get a 10% off......Read more.

,unfortunately had to camp in the bit without tar and due to wet weather it was really muddy at times. Otherwise a lovely visit. Used to get free entry to swimming pool before but now get a 10% off certain food voucher,definitely a backward step in my opinion...Read less.

"Lovely place to stay"

Mrs J Thompson - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

08/09/2019

Great position on edge of Kirkwall. Lovely washing facilities, kitchen and lounge to sit in. Lots of board games to borrow.

"Two day stay"

Mr J Hilton - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

We chose the park as it is only a short walk into Kirkwall where we were meeting up with friends to attend the Orkney Rock festival. A good weekend!

Unfortunately it rained most of the time and we......Read more.

We chose the park as it is only a short walk into Kirkwall where we were meeting up with friends to attend the Orkney Rock festival. A good weekend!

Unfortunately it rained most of the time and we ended up with a large puddle round our van but to be fair, it was difficult to walk anywhere without splashing through puddles. I’m sure this would be a lovely spot to stay in dryer weather!

The site is well laid out and clean, and the location was quiet....Read less.

"Orkney camping pod excellent"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

Really good facilities and level of cleanliness of the pod and facilities. Had an excellent week. Brilliant to be able to get supplies delivered by Tesco after we arrived. Campsite staff very helpful......Read more.

Really good facilities and level of cleanliness of the pod and facilities. Had an excellent week. Brilliant to be able to get supplies delivered by Tesco after we arrived. Campsite staff very helpful and friendly. An inventory of what is provided in the pod would have been useful as we had limited space and brought some things we didn't need....Read less.

"Fantastic Stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

03/09/2019

Had a brilliant stay. Everything on hand, especially the warm shower block and lovely hot showers.

Nice quiet location even with road & sports centre nearby.

"A nice and practical campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2019

03/09/2019

I've really enjoyed my stay at the campsite for these 26 nights. I was excavating at the Ness of Brodgar at the same time, and the facilities such as the clean showers and the ability to wash our......Read more.

I've really enjoyed my stay at the campsite for these 26 nights. I was excavating at the Ness of Brodgar at the same time, and the facilities such as the clean showers and the ability to wash our clothes, although this is a bit pricey, really helped in making my stay easy and enjoyable. Kirkwall is very central to orkney and you can get the busses from the travel centre to the different parts of the island but also ferries to other islands. It's a great location and has a lot of historical and archaeological attractions, some of them are free. The green area of the campsite allows some degree of privacy and quietness, which I have enjoyed. The staff has been lovely and comprehensive. The price per night is a bit high in season but still reasonable compared to any other accomodation in Orkney. It's also close to supermarkets, cafés and a very nice walk to Wideford Hill which I highly recommend. Bikes can be hired from Kirkwall.

One of the things I have the most enjoyed was the common room / lounge in the campsite. Being there for a while, it was great to be able to chat with other people and stay in the warmth of this nice room. I met interesting travelers thanks to this communal space and never felt too lonely in evenings. This is a great idea ! The site is also very safe and access to a microwave and kettle made my cooking faster and easier when the weather was terrible.

As a whole, great campsite....Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead