Hillcroft Park

286 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 286 reviews in the last 12 months

99% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

89%

Very Good

10%

Average

1%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Very well organised"

Mrs L Wilson - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Arrived and was told where we was able to pitch our tent. Warden or grounds man came round later the first evening to check that everything was okay. Slight noise but only through people enjoying......Read more.

Arrived and was told where we was able to pitch our tent. Warden or grounds man came round later the first evening to check that everything was okay. Slight noise but only through people enjoying themselves didn’t cause us any concern. Next day warden came round to ask if noise bothered us but it didn’t. Facilities extremely clean and felt very COVID safe....Read less.

"Outstanding"

P Bainbridge - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Stayed at ullswater house and it was one of the best holidays I've had. Everything was catered for. Well stocked kitchen. T.v with everything on it. Exceptionally clean. Hot tub was fabulous.......Read more.

Stayed at ullswater house and it was one of the best holidays I've had. Everything was catered for. Well stocked kitchen. T.v with everything on it. Exceptionally clean. Hot tub was fabulous. Location couldnt be better. ....and staff are so nice. Would highly recommend and will most definitely be back...Read less.

"Deeks"

Mrs K Deeks - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Pitches large and private. , facility block excellent

"Clean friendly family run site"

Mrs L Whitehouse - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Have stayed here for a couple of weeks for the last three years. The site is very clean and tidy, lodges are exceptionally clean. Site shop nearby and fish and chips on a weekend plus breakfast butty......Read more.

Have stayed here for a couple of weeks for the last three years. The site is very clean and tidy, lodges are exceptionally clean. Site shop nearby and fish and chips on a weekend plus breakfast butty wagon. Would definitely recommend this site. Always had low noise and beautiful surroundings....Read less.

"Fabulous facilities"

Mrs H Arkley - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

This is the third time We have stayed at Hillcroft. This time in a pod. Very basic but comfortable and warm. The washrooms are fantastic. Not as clean as usual. However the site was a lot busier......Read more.

This is the third time We have stayed at Hillcroft. This time in a pod. Very basic but comfortable and warm. The washrooms are fantastic. Not as clean as usual. However the site was a lot busier then it has been on previous visits. They was a large group of people who had use of the 5 pods next to us. They made a lot of noise until the early hours of the morning. However the site manager did deal with it. Lovely friendly staff. Lovely site. Highly recommended and will definitely be back...Read less.

"Our favourite campsite in the Lake District"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

This is our 2nd stay at Hillcroft Park and we love it. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly. The facilities are second to none. The toilet block is fabulous ... it has plenty of spacious......Read more.

This is our 2nd stay at Hillcroft Park and we love it. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly. The facilities are second to none. The toilet block is fabulous ... it has plenty of spacious showers, copious hot water, underfloor heating and it is spotless. It even has a lovely soundtrack that plays to you with country noises, birds singing, sheep bleating ... it's lovely.

There are plenty washing up sinks and even a dog shower. It has all of the usual waste facilities but also a proper drive over grey waste emptying bay. The touring pitches with hardstanding and EHU are really good as well as level, plus they have a hedge around each pitch for a bit more privacy.

All of this has been done with Covid security in mind and a clocking in and out system for the shower blocks.

The site is surrounded by beautiful countryside and just a short walk into the lovely village of Pooley Bridge. It was unfortunate that both the road and footbridge were closed during our stay which was a little inconvenient, but the new bridge is under construction and hopefully open soon.

I look forward to our next visit....Read less.

"Bobbydazzler"

Miss A Molyneux - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

Beltin.

"Good"

Mr J Rooke - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

No

"Impressed - would definitely return"

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

16/09/2020

Never have I been to a campsite with such luxurious bathroom facilities! The level of cleanliness was undertaken to very high standard which is most reassuring during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Good......Read more.

Never have I been to a campsite with such luxurious bathroom facilities! The level of cleanliness was undertaken to very high standard which is most reassuring during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Good range of and choice of accommodation offering throughout park.

Noise levels were quiet in the evening with no anti-social behaviour.

Friendly, helpful staff....Read less.

"Hillcroft"

Mrs G Lisgo - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

Lovely site, if a little hilly but hence the name, clean and friendly

"Excellent site"

Mr M Little - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Excellent site excellent facilities

"First Impressions"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

A very well kept site. Was very happy with everything provided.

"DOG SHOWERS"

Mr D Lee - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

WE LOVE THE OUTDOOR DOG SHOWER NEXT TO THE SHOWER/TOILET BLOCK. AFTER A MUDDY DAY ON THE FELLS WE HAVE NICE CLEAN DOGS BEFORE WE GO DOWN TO THE PUB & WE ARE READY FOR THE NEXT DAY TO GET FILTHY DIRTY......Read more.

WE LOVE THE OUTDOOR DOG SHOWER NEXT TO THE SHOWER/TOILET BLOCK. AFTER A MUDDY DAY ON THE FELLS WE HAVE NICE CLEAN DOGS BEFORE WE GO DOWN TO THE PUB & WE ARE READY FOR THE NEXT DAY TO GET FILTHY DIRTY AGAIN WITHOUT HAVING TO WORRY ABOUT HOW TO GET THEM CLEAN !...Read less.

"No need to go abroad"

J Metcalfe - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Had two lovely nights in a camping pod, all the facilities were really clean and they have very good systems in place to follow all the current guidelines.

Easy access to Pooley bridge and......Read more.

Had two lovely nights in a camping pod, all the facilities were really clean and they have very good systems in place to follow all the current guidelines.

Easy access to Pooley bridge and surrounding walks....Read less.

"Beautiful campsite"

Mrs L Myers - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

The campsite is beautiful and very clean. Big thanks to John for lending us a rucksack so we could walk the Ullswater Way.

Showers are very clean and spacious and facilities for kids look great......Read more.

The campsite is beautiful and very clean. Big thanks to John for lending us a rucksack so we could walk the Ullswater Way.

Showers are very clean and spacious and facilities for kids look great despite the indoor room not being currently open.

The fish and chips van and the breakfast van are great...Read less.

"great location and facilities"

Mr C Yung - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

11/09/2020

toilet and shower block is amazing

"Field b"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

11/09/2020

Only issue was that field b is steep on some particular pitches and this made it a little awkward especially if you have a large tent.

"Fantastic site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

11/09/2020

We extended our booking to two nights and so glad we did. This is a superb site and well maintained. The hardstanding pitches are a good size and very private. The shower block is the best we've seen......Read more.

We extended our booking to two nights and so glad we did. This is a superb site and well maintained. The hardstanding pitches are a good size and very private. The shower block is the best we've seen on a camp site,so clean with amazing shower facilities. The staff are very helpful. We arrived at 9pm on our first night and it was no trouble. Think we'll try one of the pods next time!...Read less.

"Super Pitch"

Mr D Griffiths - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

We stayed on a super pitch in our motor home. This was a great bonus, as we had our own water supply and grey water drain. This helped a great deal during the Corona Virus outbreak, as we could use......Read more.

We stayed on a super pitch in our motor home. This was a great bonus, as we had our own water supply and grey water drain. This helped a great deal during the Corona Virus outbreak, as we could use our own shower etc, without any issues with water or drainage. The site is well situated, it only takes 10 minutes to walk into Pooley Bridge. Also there are some stunning walks around Ullswater and over to Lowther Castle. We were very pleased with our stay and will definitely be going back....Read less.

"Loved it"

Mrs C Olley - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay despite the iffy weather!

My only disappointment was the facilities for bathing my 21 month old daughter. We stayed for 3 nights and was disappointed that there was no......Read more.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay despite the iffy weather!

My only disappointment was the facilities for bathing my 21 month old daughter. We stayed for 3 nights and was disappointed that there was no bath for me to wash my daughter. We tried to book your bath facilities, however they were fully booked.

Trying to shower with a 21 month old on my own is no easy thing and was very stressful so I am very unhappy at the lack of facilities for washing younger children. We are wanting to come back for a week next Summer and shouldn't have to pay £12 per night to bath my child....Read less.

"Pooley Bridge"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

09/09/2020

The camp was immaculate with excellent facilities the only downside was the necessity to pay for WiFi we never had to do this before on any other site. The surrounding area will be back to perfect......Read more.

The camp was immaculate with excellent facilities the only downside was the necessity to pay for WiFi we never had to do this before on any other site. The surrounding area will be back to perfect when the bridge is rebuilt. Great stay great place...Read less.

"Best caravan site"

Mrs T Elsdon - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

09/09/2020

Tried many times to book. Always full. Eventually had 5 night stay last week on a super pitch. Fantastic Pitch was the biggest we have stayed on. Everywhere was immaculate . So peaceful shower ......Read more.

Tried many times to book. Always full. Eventually had 5 night stay last week on a super pitch. Fantastic Pitch was the biggest we have stayed on. Everywhere was immaculate . So peaceful shower block Fantastic. Very high standard of cleaniness and done to a high end. Defently will return. Well done to all the staff. EVERY ONE MUST TRY IT...Read less.

"Our trip to Hillcroft"

Mr N Ashlee - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

08/09/2020

We loved our stay at Hillcroft. The facilities are top notch, clean and excellent covid 19 processes in place.

I can highly recommend Hillcroft and will definitely be returning in the future.......Read more.

We loved our stay at Hillcroft. The facilities are top notch, clean and excellent covid 19 processes in place.

I can highly recommend Hillcroft and will definitely be returning in the future.

Thanks for a great stay....Read less.

"Great, even with current restrictions."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

08/09/2020

Great site only 10 minutes walk to Pooley Bridge. Outstanding wash facilities and park very tidy. Childrens playground good and facilities ok even under current restrictions.

Will be going again.

"Stay at Hillcroft Park"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2020

08/09/2020

Had a great stay in a pod, with my puppy, at the beginning of September, was a shame the breakfast and super bar only open on certain mornings but plenty of places to eat in the village, great......Read more.

Had a great stay in a pod, with my puppy, at the beginning of September, was a shame the breakfast and super bar only open on certain mornings but plenty of places to eat in the village, great location, shower block fantastic, dog shower brilliant, the only thing missing for me would be an area for the dogs to run around of the lead, an enclosed doggy area would be great but very happy with my stay and would go back...Read less.

"A lovely relaxing break"

Miss K Wigham - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

07/09/2020

We stayed in a pod for 2 nights, end of August . We’ve stayed here before a few years ago so knew the layout and area pretty well. Our pod was clean and everything in working order (light, heater). ......Read more.

We stayed in a pod for 2 nights, end of August . We’ve stayed here before a few years ago so knew the layout and area pretty well. Our pod was clean and everything in working order (light, heater). The new shower block is a lovely addition to the park. Very clean, modern and warm, very well set out.

The use of the toilets and showers were well organised (Due to covid) With the use of small cards to show the cubical is in use, this way the block didn’t become crowded with people waiting. Sanitation station placed outside of the block.

We like staying here as it’s not too crowded or noisy. The park itself is very well kept and clean. It’s in an ideal location to walk to the village.

It would be nice if the old shower block was still open for people camping or in the pods at the bottom end of the park.

The morning we were leaving our car wouldn’t start and the lady at reception kindly asked one of the gentleman who work there to jump start us.

The staff here are very friendly and nothing is too much bother for them.

I would definitely recommend staying here and we will be back again soon for sure....Read less.

"Hillcroft Park 5star rating"

Mr S Young - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

07/09/2020

Hillcroft Park is a welcoming and well organised site. All the safety points are well noticed and the toilet/shower block system is well thought out and kept clean to a very high standard. We had an......Read more.

Hillcroft Park is a welcoming and well organised site. All the safety points are well noticed and the toilet/shower block system is well thought out and kept clean to a very high standard. We had an excellent stay and would choose this park again when we return to ullswater.

The cleanliness and layout made us feel so at ease during this difficult time.

The staff were very welcoming and the reception check in told us everything we needed during our stay...Read less.

"Hillcroft"

Mr S Nelson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

06/09/2020

Enjoyed the site yet again and look forward to many more visits

"Lovely park in a superb location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

05/09/2020

I cannot fault the caravan park, it’s staff and facilities. However, if you want a quiet time I would suggest you avoid bank holidays and importantly avoid the camping field. At other times this......Read more.

I cannot fault the caravan park, it’s staff and facilities. However, if you want a quiet time I would suggest you avoid bank holidays and importantly avoid the camping field. At other times this site is second to none and I can thourghly recommend it....Read less.

"Holiday lodge"

Mr P Cawthorne - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

05/09/2020

Fantastic holiday in a beautiful lodge. Amazing staff and ideal for Pooley Bridge.

"Great camping!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

Loved the camp site! Spectacular views and location. Spotlessly clean and warm shower block. Well spaced pitches. Couldn’t have wished for any more!

"Visit - Bank Holiday Weekend"

Miss R Oldfield - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

-

"Our favourite Lake District campsite"

Mrs C Shepherd - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

Great Location . Kept well and very clean . Amazing Toilet and shower facilities. Friendly staff . Easy walk to Pooley Bridge

"Hill Croft"

Mr S Gough - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

Excellent

"We will be back"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

We booked next years stay while we were there. Although the weather had been awful leading up to our visit. Staff kept us fully informed. The site itself was spotless and even though we spent to......Read more.

We booked next years stay while we were there. Although the weather had been awful leading up to our visit. Staff kept us fully informed. The site itself was spotless and even though we spent to weekend in wellies the toilets and showers didn’t have show any signs of the muddy grass. John and his wife were extremely friendly.

The site also felt very covid secure...Read less.

"Very nice"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

Nice but very far from the village need a pub a little closer as wen walking back on an evening it’s ver dark and scary and no taxi available would be ideal if a little pub on site

"fantastic service staff where amazing"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

03/09/2020

We had a great stay. staff are amazing so helpful and friendly.

"hillcroft caravan site"

Mr S Ellershaw - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

03/09/2020

very clean, good facilities and nice setting

"Short break after lockdown"

Mr J Coleby - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

We stayed in a Lodge. The fixtures, fittings and equipment was of very high standard and we were well pleased with it. The staff are always pleasant, efficient and very helpful and we will......Read more.

We stayed in a Lodge. The fixtures, fittings and equipment was of very high standard and we were well pleased with it. The staff are always pleasant, efficient and very helpful and we will definitely return....Read less.

"Great site in perfect location"

Mr S Wallace - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

We stayed for four nights in August, in our touring caravan.

Although this is a large site, it's design conceals this well. We were on camping site B which is well-maintained, has good-sized......Read more.

We stayed for four nights in August, in our touring caravan.

Although this is a large site, it's design conceals this well. We were on camping site B which is well-maintained, has good-sized well-separated pitches for tourers and which is handy for the amenity block.

The site has Covid rules in place, especially for toilets and showers, and these worked well with few delays except for the morning rush. The showers and toilets are the best we've come across, and were kept spotlessly clean by pleasant and hard-working staff.

Pooley Bridge, with shops, tea rooms and pubs is a very short walk away, as are numerous walks across the moors beside the lake.

A very nice site we will visit again....Read less.

"Things have changed"

Mrs D Bullock - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

Park has changed substantially this past 2 years.New pitches and toilet blocks are very impressive. The access road is fine but stopping on hill with fully laden caravan and then restarting you do......Read more.

Park has changed substantially this past 2 years.New pitches and toilet blocks are very impressive. The access road is fine but stopping on hill with fully laden caravan and then restarting you do need a solid clutch. Small changes not for the better is that they no longer police the site for noise after 11,. The new toilet block area has become a place for children to play when it is raining and if you are on a caravan pitch nearby it is quite disturbing. Always loved this site but they are becoming very dear now it is a major company owning it and very disappointed when they have decided not to pass on Government tax relief as other sites have done....Read less.

"Lovely place"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

We have been a few times now and love the place we stayed in the cottage this time with hot tub and ticked every box apart from the boiler breaking and being without hot water and heating for the......Read more.

We have been a few times now and love the place we stayed in the cottage this time with hot tub and ticked every box apart from the boiler breaking and being without hot water and heating for the best part of two days so boiling kettle to have a wash and with it raining most of the time and we could not dry all our clothes and shoes was not brilliant but we made the most of it and it was nice to get away after the year we have had. These things can happen anywhere at anytime but for the amount of money we spent it was a shame it happened to us. Fingers crossed if we come back again we get some better luck with the weather and accommodation...Read less.

"Lovely site"

Miss M Chung - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

New toilet block is fantastic, easy to follow Covid safety measures. Site very clean, and staff wonderful. We left a day early due to the relentless rain but we'll definitely go back!

"Staycationing"

Mrs S Pennington - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

The lodge spotlessly clean as always the owners took into consideration all things for staying safe in the covid pandemic A fantastic place to stay

"Excellent campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

Excellent campsite, extremely clean shower facilities, we will definitely be going back

"Clean and tidy"

Mr D Rodgers - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

The toilet block was regularly cleaned and had an effective Covid system to avoid over crowding. We took a campervan and soon hooked up for the night.

The entrance to the park was tight, but so are......Read more.

The toilet block was regularly cleaned and had an effective Covid system to avoid over crowding. We took a campervan and soon hooked up for the night.

The entrance to the park was tight, but so are the nearby roads.

Helpful and friendly staff, thank you.

...Read less.

"Late Summer break"

Mrs C Crouch - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

The rain was relentless but the campsite was kept spotless. A site manager kept coming around to check our camping ground was OK. Everyone was generally very helpful. The only downside was that the......Read more.

The rain was relentless but the campsite was kept spotless. A site manager kept coming around to check our camping ground was OK. Everyone was generally very helpful. The only downside was that the drying room was closed due to protection measures for Covid....Read less.

"Clean and tidy campsite"

Mrs S Farnaby - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

31/08/2020

We hadn’t visited since there used to be real birds in the toilets and not just bird sounds played through speakers and oh man how’s it changed. There have been so many additions made to the campsite......Read more.

We hadn’t visited since there used to be real birds in the toilets and not just bird sounds played through speakers and oh man how’s it changed. There have been so many additions made to the campsite it’s suitable for every groups needs. Perfect location to visit attractions and sites in Windermere and Ullswater or just have a walk into Pooley Bridge and beyond. The staff are friendly and helpful and everyone who happened to be there during our stay adhered to all guidelines regarding noise and Covid implications. Would highly recommend this site and would definitely be visiting again....Read less.

"Weekend break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

31/08/2020

A nice friendly site, will deffinatly stay again.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead