Hillcroft Park

313 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 313 reviews in the last 12 months

99% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

89%

Very Good

10%

Average

1%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Great one night stay"

Mr A Yates - Stayed with partner, Dec 2020

04/01/2021

Great site within easy walking distance of Pooley bridge, very clean and modern toilet/shower facilities, large and private touring pitches, on site out of hour wardens very helpful and friendly.

"No review"

Mr M Leary - Stayed with partner, Dec 2020

03/01/2021

No review

"Well run campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Dec 2020

27/12/2020

This is a well-run campsite that is in a lively position on the edge of the village with plenty of walking options from your door. Buses run from Pooley Bridge to Patterdale and Penrith.

"Really nice"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Dec 2020

23/12/2020

Really nice park in a lovely place

"Wonderful winter weekend"

Mrs D Swift - Stayed with partner, Dec 2020

19/12/2020

Stayed for 3 nights in December in our motorhome soon after lockdown ended. The site is really well laid out and whilst it was a quiet time of year, the facilities were all open and available.......Read more.

Stayed for 3 nights in December in our motorhome soon after lockdown ended. The site is really well laid out and whilst it was a quiet time of year, the facilities were all open and available. Amazing showers and washroom facilities. Pooley Bridge is a lovely village to visit with really welcoming hostelries. Best of all, the walking at any time of year is fabulous. We walked the length of Ullswater and caught the steamer back - a perfect day. We will be back....Read less.

"Returning customer"

Mrs C Davies - Stayed with partner, Dec 2020

18/12/2020

Absolutely love this site, immaculate facilities and staff very friendly and helpful.

"Brilliant friendly site"

Mr P McAleavy - Stayed with partner, Dec 2020

15/12/2020

Straight away from checking in everything was perfect, friendly helpful staff, beautifully tidy grass, hedges, wooded areas and all topped off by a shower and wash block that would gain a 6 star......Read more.

Straight away from checking in everything was perfect, friendly helpful staff, beautifully tidy grass, hedges, wooded areas and all topped off by a shower and wash block that would gain a 6 star review if it was possible....Read less.

"Superb site!"

Mr C Bethell - Stayed with partner, Dec 2020

11/12/2020

This was the first time I’ve stayed at Hillcroft Park, although I’ve stayed on many other sites around the Lake District.

The site was very to get to, having travelled from the M6 and we received a......Read more.

This was the first time I’ve stayed at Hillcroft Park, although I’ve stayed on many other sites around the Lake District.

The site was very to get to, having travelled from the M6 and we received a warm welcome from the gentleman on the reception desk. He couldn’t have been more helpful, providing advice about the site and facilities but also recommending cycling routes and places to visit.

The fully serviced large moho pitch was superbly located, with views towards Ullswater and the hills.

The toilet/shower block was superb. Very clean, spacious with the sound of birdsong and sheep piped in to add a great atmosphere.

The walk from the site into Pooley Bridge took just ten minutes and was very pleasant and we enjoyed a couple of very good meals in the pubs and coffee and cake in the cafe overlooking the river.

We took the opportunity of cycling whilst we stayed and are very much looking forward to returning to explore the area even more.

I can’t fault this site. It was a lovely place to stay....Read less.

"Weekend break in caravan"

Mr D Miles - Stayed with family, Dec 2020

10/12/2020

Very clean site, good size pitches. Showers etc were spotless. The site is ideally situated from pooley bridge

"A site that is well thought out and is the perfect touring site during the winter months"

Mrs A Paraskos - Stayed with partner, Dec 2020

10/12/2020

An excellent site with well thought out touring spaces that had privacy and decent space as well as outstanding facilities. Fortunate enough to visit in the middle of winter, it was quiet, which......Read more.

An excellent site with well thought out touring spaces that had privacy and decent space as well as outstanding facilities. Fortunate enough to visit in the middle of winter, it was quiet, which suited us as we were looking for a walking base with some comfort while touring in our Motorhome. The Shower facilities were amazing and very well thought out, obviously enjoyed the powerful showers and warm floors and the sound track of the animals. I normally don't use the facilities at a site but these were to good to not use. The staff were all very friendly too....Read less.

"Winter stay for the hills"

Mr G Collings - Stayed with partner, Dec 2020

10/12/2020

Just live in South lakes but found this site, great location, easy access off M6, superb facilities, affordable price and walking distance for a substantial meal in Pooley Bridge. Will be back

"Location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

23/11/2020

Great location, walking distance to local pubs. Toilet/shower facilities were excellent. Service pitches were very generous size.

"Great location and the park is kept to a very high standard"

Mr S Staples - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

18/11/2020

I have now stopped at the park twice this year, the site is situated in a great location with many local spots to visit, I will return again without a doubt

"Fantastic place.....just don't tell everyone"

Miss W Strachan - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

12/11/2020

Fantastic stay yet again! Staff always helpful and friendly and cannot praise them enough. Once again we were there when the country went into lockdown which is such a shame as not only them but the......Read more.

Fantastic stay yet again! Staff always helpful and friendly and cannot praise them enough. Once again we were there when the country went into lockdown which is such a shame as not only them but the shops/pubs in the village had such good stringent covid practice's in place....Read less.

"Great break away"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

07/11/2020

Had a great few days away with a friend glamping in one of the family size pods great location and facilities are fantastic, staff are very welcoming and go the extra mile to make your stay better

"Excellent"

Mrs C Messenger - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

05/11/2020

This site is very convenient for walking into the village. It was immaculate especially the shower blocks. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We will definitely stay here again.

"Great Location"

Mr A Day - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

05/11/2020

Hillcroft Park is in a great location within a few minutes walk to the village of Pooley Bridge and Ullswater lake. The facilities were outstanding and looked brand new. Will def be back once the......Read more.

Hillcroft Park is in a great location within a few minutes walk to the village of Pooley Bridge and Ullswater lake. The facilities were outstanding and looked brand new. Will def be back once the warmer months return....Read less.

"Half term break"

Miss L Chappell - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

03/11/2020

Lovely break away; site as clean as ever, site staff are very friendly. Some great walks around, it is in an excellent location.

"Half term break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

02/11/2020

Lovely site, brilliant location. Toilet/shower block is amazing, best facilities i have had the pleasure to use on a holiday park. Will definitely return.

"Another Level"

Mr G Piper - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

02/11/2020

Have holidayed extensivley in the surrounding area mainly staying elswhere, not anymore Hillcroft Park will be my 1st choice from now on.

"Excellent camp site"

Miss V Dumbrell - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

01/11/2020

We only stayed one night but would thoroughly recommend this campsite. We stayed in a pod which was clean , comfortable and spacious. The toilet and washing facilities were excellent - warm, clean,......Read more.

We only stayed one night but would thoroughly recommend this campsite. We stayed in a pod which was clean , comfortable and spacious. The toilet and washing facilities were excellent - warm, clean, lots of space and provision. All Covid precautions very well managed. Will definitely be back....Read less.

"Hill Croft glamping pod"

Mr C Tiffen - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

31/10/2020

Well maintained site, perfectly located we love hill Croft and will continue to visit

"Family break"

Mrs L Worgan - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

30/10/2020

Lovely stay in an Aspen lodge, very comfortable and cosy. All facilities were excellent. Shame about the weather and hence the kids park was very wet.

"Mini break"

Mr G Cape - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

29/10/2020

This holiday park is really well maintained to a high standard and the staff are absolutely brilliant especially mags@john all ways there to help well done hillcroft

"Lovely well kept site"

Mrs S Parker - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

29/10/2020

Only stayed for x1 night on way home from up North but will definitely return vert clean well cared for camping site.

"Home from home"

Mrs E Gibson - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

We’ve stayed at hilcroft many times over the last 5 years. It’s the perfect base for us as we have family nearby so it enables us to visit them whilst enjoying a short break too. The park is kept......Read more.

We’ve stayed at hilcroft many times over the last 5 years. It’s the perfect base for us as we have family nearby so it enables us to visit them whilst enjoying a short break too. The park is kept beautifully and the lodges are comfortable, modern and well equipped. The staff are always friendly and happy to help. It’s a perfect base to explore the beauty of the Lake District and local attractions. There’s a few pubs and cafes in walking distance and we love to feed the ducks around the lakeside. It’s become a well loved home from home for us....Read less.

"Lovely all year round"

Miss S Grufferty - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

Great site even in the autumn, the site staff try to keep it as tidy as possible.

"Ramsay's Anniversary"

K Ramsay - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

Had a fabulous time even covid did not spoil anything. Site spot on will be back

"Fantastic campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

This was our first visit, and we will be returning. What a lovely campsite, very quiet, lots of space, and incredibly well maintained with brilliant facilities.

"Autumn break"

Mr B Smith - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

Excellent location and clean comfortable well laid out accommodation. The banquette style sofas offer no support for those with bad backs, but this hasn’t been an issue in other units we’ve stayed......Read more.

Excellent location and clean comfortable well laid out accommodation. The banquette style sofas offer no support for those with bad backs, but this hasn’t been an issue in other units we’ve stayed in previously. We were on site the week that the new stainless steel bridge was finally opened. Access is now much better....Read less.

"A must, must, must visit"

Mrs C Leech - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

This is our second visit to Hillcroft and we can’t wait to go again. The site and facilities are top class and spotless. The staff are very friendly from the minute you arrive. Ideal location for......Read more.

This is our second visit to Hillcroft and we can’t wait to go again. The site and facilities are top class and spotless. The staff are very friendly from the minute you arrive. Ideal location for walking the lakes and the little village is brill....Read less.

"October camping"

Mrs D Brack - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

Love this site. Fabulous facilities but due to the corona virus the games room was closed. The measures put in place to keep visitors safe were spot on. A short walk into Pooley Bridge and sitting on......Read more.

Love this site. Fabulous facilities but due to the corona virus the games room was closed. The measures put in place to keep visitors safe were spot on. A short walk into Pooley Bridge and sitting on circular walks. Cant go wrong....Read less.

"Great location"

L Connolly - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

27/10/2020

.

"Luxury Lodges"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

We stayed in one of the Atlanta lodges and it was superb. Very modern and spacious.

We also loved the location of the park, a short walk to Pooley Bridge. We liked it so much

we have already booked......Read more.

We stayed in one of the Atlanta lodges and it was superb. Very modern and spacious.

We also loved the location of the park, a short walk to Pooley Bridge. We liked it so much

we have already booked for next year....Read less.

"Gorgeous and Spotless"

Miss K Simmons - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

This was our first holiday in our caravan and we were apprehensive to say the least. When booking, the staff were helpful to recommend a pitch with easy access and assured us that the roads to the......Read more.

This was our first holiday in our caravan and we were apprehensive to say the least. When booking, the staff were helpful to recommend a pitch with easy access and assured us that the roads to the site were no problem, they were right! Checking out the shower block (with great Covid rules) it was spotless, warm and with countryside music playing softly in the background. In the evening a lovely tree lit up the shower block area with a colour changing light (just another lovely thought to make a stay memorable). The dog shower was a great addition, with lovely warm water.

There are fantastic walks from the site in all directions. We also had some great food in Pooley Bridge, which is only a 10 minute walk from the far end of the site

We will definitely be visiting again! Thank you to everyone who made our stay so great....Read less.

"Excellent holiday at Hillcroft"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

The Portland accommodation was to a very high standard. The park is very well cared for. Pooley Bridge is a lovely village. Will definitely return.

"A quiet site situated by the fells"

Mrs. K Rodgers - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

26/10/2020

This lovely clean site was perfect for our Lakeland break in October. The hard pitch for our caravan was ideal and the toilet facilities outstanding. Will definitely stay again.

"Lovely stay"

Mrs K Coetzee - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

23/10/2020

We stayed for 2 nights in a pod. This was perfect since you still felt like you were camping but without having to put up a tent. Since it was raining heavily on our arrival we were very grateful to......Read more.

We stayed for 2 nights in a pod. This was perfect since you still felt like you were camping but without having to put up a tent. Since it was raining heavily on our arrival we were very grateful to be able to get into the pod straight away even though we were a little early in arriving. The shower facilities are just amazing, they are clean, warm and lots of hot water. The system they had in place to keep everyone distanced during the pandemic is really good. I always felt safe and distanced from everyone else. I will definitely recommend to others and we will most certainly come back here....Read less.

"Good base for visiting Ullswater area"

Ms D Oakley - Stayed Oct 2020

23/10/2020

The site is within easy walking distance of nearby Pooley Bridge. It has well maintained, flat hard standings with hedges between to give privacy. The facilities are clean. The motorhome service......Read more.

The site is within easy walking distance of nearby Pooley Bridge. It has well maintained, flat hard standings with hedges between to give privacy. The facilities are clean. The motorhome service point is rather basic and does not have a fresh water supply so is only useful for emptying grey water. There is only one chemical toilet emptying 'hut' which is very basic and quite a distance from pitches....Read less.

"great views"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

22/10/2020

stayed on premium pitch with superb view of the valley below from pitch B18 as you can pitch face in which is unusual but a good idea here. A small criticism is that although the pitch looks flat it......Read more.

stayed on premium pitch with superb view of the valley below from pitch B18 as you can pitch face in which is unusual but a good idea here. A small criticism is that although the pitch looks flat it has a large dip to one side needing a ramp to level up the van which makes things difficult when also trying to line up an Alko lock aswell ! This is easily sorted by some more materials and grading, otherwise excellent as usual and look forward to our next visit...Read less.

"weekend away"

Mrs D Sample - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

22/10/2020

Been to pooley bridge many times and never saw this campsite as we always stayed close to the lake, so glad we found it on our last visit, booked to stay for two nights , toilet / shower facilities......Read more.

Been to pooley bridge many times and never saw this campsite as we always stayed close to the lake, so glad we found it on our last visit, booked to stay for two nights , toilet / shower facilities out of this world, been to many sites and had to share facilities with cobwebs and spiders, would highley recomend Hillcroft Park , cant wait to visit again...Read less.

"Beautiful park"

Mr P Howden - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

22/10/2020

The best kept park we have visited in the UK

"5 star"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

21/10/2020

Very well laid out site,super clean and toilets that will put the Ritz to shame

"Oct week stay"

Mr R Murdoch - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

21/10/2020

Another Fantastic stay at Hillcroft Park

"One of the best site we've stayed on!"

C Cumbria Tourism - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

21/10/2020

Hillcroft was extremely well presented, clean and spacious! The team on reception couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and after a two day trip to Keswick we decided to return to Hillcroft......Read more.

Hillcroft was extremely well presented, clean and spacious! The team on reception couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and after a two day trip to Keswick we decided to return to Hillcroft for our final night in the Lake District!...Read less.

"Great Stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

21/10/2020

This is our second stay at Hillcroft. We returned as the location was perfect for our running/walking plans and we knew that the Campsite was clean and tidy as it was again this time. Covid......Read more.

This is our second stay at Hillcroft. We returned as the location was perfect for our running/walking plans and we knew that the Campsite was clean and tidy as it was again this time. Covid procedures were well in place and easy to understand. The surrounding area is beautiful and the range of eateries, coffee shops in the village are excellent. Overall a great location and excellent Campsite to stay at....Read less.

"Love the lakes"

R Perkins - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

20/10/2020

Very good

"Fab Midweek Break"

Mrs L Aird - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

20/10/2020

The lodge that we stayed in was fantastic with lots of space and was very clean and comfortable. Great location and a nice walk into Pooley Bridge where there is nice pub nd couple of shops. Due to......Read more.

The lodge that we stayed in was fantastic with lots of space and was very clean and comfortable. Great location and a nice walk into Pooley Bridge where there is nice pub nd couple of shops. Due to the fact that the bridge was being rebuilt in meant that we had to do a few detours to get to the other side of the Lake, will be better when Bridge reopened. Lovely walk up to see the Aira Force waterfall. Enjoyed our stay....Read less.

"Great stay at Hillcroft"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

20/10/2020

Fantastic clean park with full confidence keeping park facilities as clean as possible and ensuring all guests are safe. Great location and lovely gift shop on site. Only downside for us was......Read more.

Fantastic clean park with full confidence keeping park facilities as clean as possible and ensuring all guests are safe. Great location and lovely gift shop on site. Only downside for us was children’s park was very boggy and not much for them. Other than that it was brilliant and will be back and family have already booked on our recommendation....Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead