Hillcroft Park

457 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 457 reviews in the last 12 months

98% would recommend this site

97% would stay here again

Excellent

86%

Very Good

11%

Average

2%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Hillcroft stay"

Mr R Harris - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

19/10/2021

Excellent facilities in lovely surroundings with helpful friendly staff

"Our first visit to Hillcoroft."

Mr D Dixon - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

19/10/2021

We stayed for 1 week in early October due to location to the lakes and surrounding area. The site and facilities were exceptional with immediate access to walks at all levels. It’s proximity to the......Read more.

We stayed for 1 week in early October due to location to the lakes and surrounding area. The site and facilities were exceptional with immediate access to walks at all levels. It’s proximity to the village and amenities meant we hardly used the car. We enjoyed it so much that we have already booked for the same time next year....Read less.

"October holiday"

Mrs M Ross - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

19/10/2021

My husband and I booked a break from Monday to Friday in a chalet.

The accommodation was lovely. We had lots of space and there was everything we needed to make meals. Having an en suite as well as a......Read more.

My husband and I booked a break from Monday to Friday in a chalet.

The accommodation was lovely. We had lots of space and there was everything we needed to make meals. Having an en suite as well as a main bathroom was ideal.

The main bedroom had ample wardrobe space. One minor negative point was the mattress in the main bedroom - a better quality mattress is needed.

We liked that we could walk into Pooley Bridge. The views of Ullswater are amazing.

...Read less.

"Nice quiet site"

Mr G Smith - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

17/10/2021

Nice clean spacious site

"A short relaxing holiday."

Mr I Rankin - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

15/10/2021

This is an excellent site. The caravan/lodge was very well furnished. It had all the amenities that need. There was milk in the fridge, tea coffee and sugar ready for you to make a cuppa on your......Read more.

This is an excellent site. The caravan/lodge was very well furnished. It had all the amenities that need. There was milk in the fridge, tea coffee and sugar ready for you to make a cuppa on your arrival. Excellent heating system that we had to use - unfortunately!!

However, all in all, a most enjoyable stay and I am to recommend Hillcroft to everybody....Read less.

"Pooley Bridge Finest"

Mr I Edge - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

14/10/2021

Lovely site

"Camping pod stay"

Mrs S Kelso - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

14/10/2021

The pod was ideal for a short trip when we didn't want the hassle of our tent. The toilet and shower facilities are the best we have ever used. Really clean and modern. Hot and powerful showers with......Read more.

The pod was ideal for a short trip when we didn't want the hassle of our tent. The toilet and shower facilities are the best we have ever used. Really clean and modern. Hot and powerful showers with ample space to get dried. Only downside was there is one washroom and due to Covid can't use sinks to brush teeth. Location is brilliant

easy to walk to Pooley Bridge. Definitely recommend and we will return....Read less.

"A must for weekend stop or the week"

Mr I Salkeld - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

14/10/2021

Looks like they are expanding if so could do with a couple of more chemical waste points

Overall lovely site

"Hillcroft Park"

Mr M Walden - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

13/10/2021

Excellent site with good facilities.

"First visit"

Mr R Nicolson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

12/10/2021

Best toilet facilities I've ever been in.

good large pitch size.

5 min walk to village.

"Stay at hillcroft park"

Mrs K Holland - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

12/10/2021

Lovely location beautiful park fantastic washing facilities however we as tourers were placed Infront of a workshop heard banging,drilling,and sawing from 9am to 6pm did complain but to no avail......Read more.

Lovely location beautiful park fantastic washing facilities however we as tourers were placed Infront of a workshop heard banging,drilling,and sawing from 9am to 6pm did complain but to no avail spoilt our holiday won't return...Read less.

"Five star"

Mrs L Dent - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

11/10/2021

Incredible campsite. Friendly staff, amazing toilet and shower facilities. Nice little shop for necessities. Private plot with beautifully kept hedge around each plot. There was a games room and a......Read more.

Incredible campsite. Friendly staff, amazing toilet and shower facilities. Nice little shop for necessities. Private plot with beautifully kept hedge around each plot. There was a games room and a children's playground which we didn't use but they looked really good. There was even a freezer for ice if you needed it. Worth every penny. Thank you 😊...Read less.

"Wet but goood"

Ms C Cook - Stayed with friends, Oct 2021

09/10/2021

Stayed over a very wet weekend in tent. I think due to time of year it was quiet games room shut. However it was a lovely clean and friendly site with the best shower toilet facilities you will......Read more.

Stayed over a very wet weekend in tent. I think due to time of year it was quiet games room shut. However it was a lovely clean and friendly site with the best shower toilet facilities you will find on any campsite. Just 10 minute walk to pooley bridge. No problems with pitch or ELHU. Would be nice to return in summer. Lovely site great location excellent showers...Read less.

"4 day stay"

Mrs D Paskin - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

08/10/2021

We stayed for 4 nights end of September/ October, pitch was fab size for our twin axel caravan and big car . Shower block the best I have ever seen and so clean . Loved the pizza van the pizza were......Read more.

We stayed for 4 nights end of September/ October, pitch was fab size for our twin axel caravan and big car . Shower block the best I have ever seen and so clean . Loved the pizza van the pizza were lovely. Nice small walk into pooley bridge and great for walking ullswater way . Was our first visit but definitely not our last...Read less.

"cost of the park"

Mr J Harris - Stayed Oct 2021

08/10/2021

Compared to other sites this site is very expensive for what you get

"Hillcroft Park"

Mr D Stokes - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

07/10/2021

Fabulous location. The accommodation was spotless clean and well stocked with everything you need such as bedding, cutlery etc. Loved the little touches such as milk and biscuits, tea and coffee. The......Read more.

Fabulous location. The accommodation was spotless clean and well stocked with everything you need such as bedding, cutlery etc. Loved the little touches such as milk and biscuits, tea and coffee. The Molten Brown soaps and shampoos were a lovely addition. Have stayed in the pods and love the location. Would definitely like to stay in the lodges again. Would definitely recommend. The only slight thing I would like to recommend is somewhere to hang waterproofs and wet jackets. Perhaps the walk in wardrobe could accommodate....Read less.

"Beautiful"

Miss A Hartley - Stayed with friends, Oct 2021

07/10/2021

Great site

"Beautiful lodge"

Mr M Isaac - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

05/10/2021

Lovely place to stay, we had lodge no 8 so peaceful and the decor and cleanliness was spot on, friendly staff and always very helpful looking forward to going back next year.

"Website difficult to use with mobile"

Mr C Uttley - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

05/10/2021

Super site, however website difficult to use for booking as we ended up paying extra for facilities we couldn't use.

"Great touring campsite"

Mr N Puddy - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

05/10/2021

Looking for a different site we stumbled upon this gem of a place. Only stayed one night but would highly recommend with great facilities - the best showers we have seen on a campsite and good......Read more.

Looking for a different site we stumbled upon this gem of a place. Only stayed one night but would highly recommend with great facilities - the best showers we have seen on a campsite and good pitches for tourers and tents. We will be back again for longer than 1 night next time....Read less.

"A good site to relax."

Mrs B Quinton - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

04/10/2021

Hillcroft is a wonderful site for motor homes although the majority of pitches are tight for large caravans with awnings plus car. The owners have planted young shrubs to enhance privacy between......Read more.

Hillcroft is a wonderful site for motor homes although the majority of pitches are tight for large caravans with awnings plus car. The owners have planted young shrubs to enhance privacy between many pitches in the future. The site was peaceful and clean when we were there and the shower block facilities are the best we have seen. Great access to Pooley Bridge and well worth a return visit....Read less.

"Nice site, nice area"

Mrs M Wharton - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

02/10/2021

Our first visit and it was great. Probably the best washroom facilities we have encountered in 12 years of motorhoming.

"Glamping pod"

Miss E Millen - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

01/10/2021

Me and my partner stayed in a glamping pod for 4 nights. The pod was very clean and had everything we needed. The site was very well looked after with lovely friendly staff. We had a great stay here......Read more.

Me and my partner stayed in a glamping pod for 4 nights. The pod was very clean and had everything we needed. The site was very well looked after with lovely friendly staff. We had a great stay here ! The site is a close walk to the lovely village. We did some lovely scenic walks. Would definatly recomend the site and the glamping pods we will definatly be back !!...Read less.

"Short break after lockdown"

Mr J Coleby - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

01/10/2021

Hillcroft Park is an ideal place for either a short break or a holiday. The facilities are immaculate and the site is well kept. We have stayed here five or six times now and have never been......Read more.

Hillcroft Park is an ideal place for either a short break or a holiday. The facilities are immaculate and the site is well kept. We have stayed here five or six times now and have never been disappointed. The Park is ideally situated so you can walk into Pooley Bridge but also is it fairly central for Penrith Glenridding and Keswick.

...Read less.

"Beautiful, tidy park"

Mrs N Patterson - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

01/10/2021

The hillcroft park is beautiful, within close walking distance of pooley bridge, with excellent facilities and lovely new shower block. There are lots of surrounding walks and you don’t have to go......Read more.

The hillcroft park is beautiful, within close walking distance of pooley bridge, with excellent facilities and lovely new shower block. There are lots of surrounding walks and you don’t have to go far to see a lake view. The only downside for us was that some of the touring pitches and the glamping pods sit in a circle around the camping area, which was more rowdy, particularly at the weekends, but this by no means spoiled our stay which was very enjoyable....Read less.

"1st visit to hillcroft"

Mr P Williams - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

30/09/2021

Booked at short notice had availability, to celebrate our 45th wedding aniversary

Hillcroft is an immaculate site facilities top notch

Enjoyed easy walk into village and cruise on the lake,

Fish and......Read more.

Booked at short notice had availability, to celebrate our 45th wedding aniversary

Hillcroft is an immaculate site facilities top notch

Enjoyed easy walk into village and cruise on the lake,

Fish and chips from mobile van saturday evening were fantastic would stay again definitely and only an hours drive from home 5*+...Read less.

"great location and great value"

Mrs H Day - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

30/09/2021

great location and great value for all the family

"Pod"

Mr A Nicholas - Stayed Sep 2021

30/09/2021

I stayed the weekend in a pod at Hillcroft, what a lovely and well run site. When I booked it, the website said that I needed to bring bedding. To be more accurate, it should have said I needed to......Read more.

I stayed the weekend in a pod at Hillcroft, what a lovely and well run site. When I booked it, the website said that I needed to bring bedding. To be more accurate, it should have said I needed to bring a bed! And a chair & a kettle etc etc! Annoyingly, because I do go camping, I had all this stuff readily to hand at home!

Anyway, my back is fine now thanks!! Seriously though, great campsite, wonderful location etc (just take an air bed!)...Read less.

"Good location and very clean"

Mr B Nixon - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

30/09/2021

Stayed for a couple of nights in a camping pod. Facilities on site were excellent and very clean. Staff friendly and helpful, very knowledgeable about the Ullswater Way walk we did

"Michael"

Mr M Collins - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

29/09/2021

Great site, location and facilities. Friendly, helpful staff. Nicest campsite we've visited. Will definitely be back next year.

"First impressions"

Mrs D Abbott - Stayed Sep 2021

29/09/2021

Loved the site would stay again

"Our favourite site"

Mrs K Hardy - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

29/09/2021

We found Hillcroft 4 years ago and have returned a few times per year since. Great facilities and super pitches. Also appreciate the 'dog shower'. Absolutely spotless site.

"Our third visit to Hillcroft."

Mrs T Astwood - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

29/09/2021

This was our third stay at Hillcroft and we were very satisfied again with our visit. Previously we have stayed on Super Pitches, but there were non left for this stay at the time of booking. Our......Read more.

This was our third stay at Hillcroft and we were very satisfied again with our visit. Previously we have stayed on Super Pitches, but there were non left for this stay at the time of booking. Our pitch was roomy and private, but our TV satellite could not find reception as we were at a low point of the site and under trees.

The facilities were clean and not over crowded even though the site was busy. Great to have the mobile hot food facilities available too, although we did not use them.

It was good to see improvements being made to the touring part of the site with the levelling of pitches, new hedging and a specific pathway to exit the site with dogs from 'C' field.

We like the site for the convenience of walking and easy access to the village.

We have introduced three other couples to Hillcroft who have all had or are planning a second visit to the site, and we will be back again....Read less.

"Gem of a camp site"

Mrs V Hall - Stayed Sep 2021

29/09/2021

Immaculate toilet block, staff always going round doing little jobs, close to Pooley Bridge just a really nice camp site

"An immaculate site in a very convenient location."

B McAvoy - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

29/09/2021

Nothing to complain about. Convenient for Pooley Bridge and superb facilities. If I had one comment it would be that, as it is not a cheap place, free WiFi would have been nice.

"Very nice stay at a wonderful touring park"

Mr S Kelly - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

28/09/2021

Although we did see the website we actually found this site whilst staying at another site close by.We decided to give it a try on next visit to pooley bridge...A very well laid out site which is......Read more.

Although we did see the website we actually found this site whilst staying at another site close by.We decided to give it a try on next visit to pooley bridge...A very well laid out site which is kept very clean and tidy by a team who seem to enjoy their place within the park...Toilets and showers were kept up to a high standard of cleanliness and all the grounds and pitches were kept free of litter and to a high standard.If i could find fault with this park it would be the fact of no bar on site,this was probably due to the fact of the last few sites we have visited had one and it was very enjoyable having a cool g&t sat outside in the good weather,however down in the village only 15 min walk there are numerous pubs,so only a small moan...I would recommend a stay at this site with your tourer, tent or even with the glamping pods available.....We shall be going back...Read less.

"Fantastic site with excellent amenities"

Mrs K Burns - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

28/09/2021

Stayed for the night in our Motorhome, good sized pitch. Washrooms, showers and toilets were second to none. Easy to find with what appears to be good children’s play area. Plenty of open areas to......Read more.

Stayed for the night in our Motorhome, good sized pitch. Washrooms, showers and toilets were second to none. Easy to find with what appears to be good children’s play area. Plenty of open areas to walk around with the dogs. We will return at the start of next season to tick off a few Ullswater Wainwrights...Read less.

"Perfect for Pooley"

Mr W Haworth - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

28/09/2021

Great site with great facilities , especially the super toilet and shower block , visited for many years. Perfect for visiting Pooley and the many cafes and bars . Fell walks just off the site and......Read more.

Great site with great facilities , especially the super toilet and shower block , visited for many years. Perfect for visiting Pooley and the many cafes and bars . Fell walks just off the site and the lake a 15 minute stroll . However, the site is now expanding more and with it comes more visitors and inevitably more noise and untidiness. Will probably visit again but not at a weekend. The camping field had a large party on it , very noisy with a drone flying around. Not for me ....Read less.

"Beautiful site"

Mr S Charlton - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

28/09/2021

A beautiful, clean and friendly site, we will definitely come back

"First Visit"

Mrs J Dawn - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

25/09/2021

Absolutely brilliant site, enjoyed every minute.

Couldn’t fault anything. Staff were very friendly and the shower & toilet block was immaculate.

We have already booked next year 😀

"Clean and tidy campsite"

Mr D Entwistle - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

24/09/2021

Our 3rd visit camping at this site. Everything we want. Clean showers and facilities, peaceful, tidy, close to ullswater and the pubs at pooley Bridge. Informative warden doing the rounds. Burger......Read more.

Our 3rd visit camping at this site. Everything we want. Clean showers and facilities, peaceful, tidy, close to ullswater and the pubs at pooley Bridge. Informative warden doing the rounds. Burger van, shop and fish and chips on site. Perfect 👌...Read less.

"17/09-20/09"

Mr A Robson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

24/09/2021

Had a great stay. Facilities are some of the best we have seen. Good accessibility for walking, eating etc. Will definitely return.

"Beautiful site"

Mr G Barker - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

23/09/2021

Hillcroft is the nicest caravan site we've ever been on. The site was immaculately kept. The Lodge we stayed in was fantastic. Spotlessly clean, very well equipped with everything we needed and very......Read more.

Hillcroft is the nicest caravan site we've ever been on. The site was immaculately kept. The Lodge we stayed in was fantastic. Spotlessly clean, very well equipped with everything we needed and very comfortable. The little extras like toiletries, milk and biscuits plus treats for our dogs were a lovely welcoming touch. An easy 10 minute walk into Pooley Bridge where there were plenty of options for eating. Also within easy walking distance of Ullswater Lake and the steamer boats. We can't wait to go back and have already booked for next year. The only thing that would add to this beautiful site for us would be an area where dogs could go off lead...Read less.

"Good location -short walk to village"

Mrs J Martin - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

23/09/2021

We only stayed two nights but nice location, liked the hedge screened touring pitches. noticed tent pitches were quite sloping though!

Short walk to village with nice pubs -beware of hill on the way......Read more.

We only stayed two nights but nice location, liked the hedge screened touring pitches. noticed tent pitches were quite sloping though!

Short walk to village with nice pubs -beware of hill on the way back (fine for us)

Nice staff and very clean washrooms/loos. Enjoyed the piped birdsong with occasional sheep :)...Read less.

"."

Mr A Hirst - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

23/09/2021

.

"Great week"

Mr S Moore - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

We had a great week at this site with our touring caravan. The site has everything you need and the option of food facilities on site certain days of the week is a great addition. It's a great......Read more.

We had a great week at this site with our touring caravan. The site has everything you need and the option of food facilities on site certain days of the week is a great addition. It's a great location to explore the Lakes. I would say that the only downside would be wifi but then again you can use cafe/pubs and restaurants close by to access....Read less.

"Steve B"

Mr S Bardy - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

Lovely quiet site and accommodation spotless.Very handy for pooley bridge Village and local walks Certainly planning to return.

"Short break in the Lakes"

Miss J Bell - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

Great park within walking distance to Pooley Bridge with its pubs and tea room and the shores of Lake Ullswater. Lovely clean, well equipped lodge with a few luxury touches. Park itself very tidy,......Read more.

Great park within walking distance to Pooley Bridge with its pubs and tea room and the shores of Lake Ullswater. Lovely clean, well equipped lodge with a few luxury touches. Park itself very tidy, quiet with lovely views. Would definitely recommend....Read less.

"Love Hillctoft"

Mrs J Holmes - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

21/09/2021

We have been before and always love staying . Staff are so friendly kind and always willing to help. We have a dog and he loves it too😀

The wash area is always kept so clean spotless all the time......Read more.

We have been before and always love staying . Staff are so friendly kind and always willing to help. We have a dog and he loves it too😀

The wash area is always kept so clean spotless all the time

The times we have stayed have always me a very memorable time

Thank you...Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead