Fakenham Racecourse Camping And Caravan Site

233 Reviews

4.4 / 5 overall rating based on 233 reviews in the last 12 months

97% would recommend this site

97% would stay here again

Excellent

60%

Very Good

33%

Average

6%

Poor

1%

Terrible

0%

"Lovely site when quiet but probably overstretched when busy"

Mrs J Turner - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

23/07/2021

This is a lovely quiet campsite around the racecourse and so it uses the race course toilet facilities. These are a very long way from the tent fields. When we were there, it was less than half full......Read more.

This is a lovely quiet campsite around the racecourse and so it uses the race course toilet facilities. These are a very long way from the tent fields. When we were there, it was less than half full and so these were adequate but I think they would be over stretched when the site is full. They were kept very clean, with plenty of hot water, but maintenance seemed rather slow (toilet seat broken entire time we were there, only 1 sink had a plug)....Read less.

"Comfortable stay"

Mrs J Parker - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

22/07/2021

All ok

"Excellent camp site"

Mrs S Hobson - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

22/07/2021

Lovely clean site

"Clean and tdy"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

19/07/2021

Well maintained site good space restaurant on site and close to the town

"Beautiful peaceful campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

18/07/2021

Beautiful peaceful quiet campsite in easy reach of great coast, beaches, birdwatching, good places to eat and plenty to see and do. Great country for quiet backroad cycling and exploring of the......Read more.

Beautiful peaceful quiet campsite in easy reach of great coast, beaches, birdwatching, good places to eat and plenty to see and do. Great country for quiet backroad cycling and exploring of the wensum valley....Read less.

"Lovely place to stay"

Mr C Last - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

16/07/2021

We had previously stayed at Fakenham racecourse and it was just as good as before. Beautiful grounds, well maintained and very peaceful

"na"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

14/07/2021

We have stayed at Fakenham Race Course many times. The ambience is excellent and the position ideal for visiting North Norfolk. It is a very calm venue.

"A very pleasant and peaceful site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

14/07/2021

Short walk in to town.

North Norfolk beaches not too far away.

Very easy to find and access good.

"Spacious"

Mr M Beniston - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

11/07/2021

Plenty of room to excercise for everyone including the dog. Facilities spotless

"Great site at Fakenham"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

09/07/2021

Great unfussy site with well spaced out pitches. Located within easy reach of all the North Norfolk coast, Kings Lynn round to Comer. Comfortable walk into town following the footpath for pubs,......Read more.

Great unfussy site with well spaced out pitches. Located within easy reach of all the North Norfolk coast, Kings Lynn round to Comer. Comfortable walk into town following the footpath for pubs, shops, market and local busses. Definite recommendation....Read less.

"A good campsite"

Mrs M Langford - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

03/07/2021

Very much enjoyed our stay at Fakenham in our campervan. Facilities are good and the surrounding area is lovely.

"Great touring base"

Mrs R Davis - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

01/07/2021

Camping in own tent but staying with other friends and family.

Lovely clean, tidy site.

Great value for money. Near enough to walk into Fakenham and to drive to North Norfolk coast for day trips

"Quiet site."

Anonymous - Stayed Jun 2021

28/06/2021

Nice, quiet site. Clean and tidy. Good toilet/washing blocks. In middle of open countryside. Ideal for travelling by bus to explore surrounding area.

"Fakenham"

Mr S Horsfield - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

28/06/2021

Clean and friendly

"Pleasant site."

Mr J Cobley - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

23/06/2021

We stayed for 6 nights. Pitches are generous and we'll spaced out. Facilities are good, well kept and clean.

Easy walking from the site and cycle routes nearby but can involve using and or crossing......Read more.

We stayed for 6 nights. Pitches are generous and we'll spaced out. Facilities are good, well kept and clean.

Easy walking from the site and cycle routes nearby but can involve using and or crossing busy main roads. Nice walks along the River Wensum. Various restaurants in Fakenham catering to different tastes and prices. We particularly enjoyed the Crown Inn. Pizza van visits on Fridays.

We enjoyed our visit and would definitely visit again....Read less.

"Enjoyable stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

23/06/2021

Good location and excellent dog walks.

"Second Stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2021

21/06/2021

This is my second time staying at this campsite and both times I’ve been pleased with it. The whole site is very well kept and has a good atmosphere. The staff at reception we’re lovely and gave us a......Read more.

This is my second time staying at this campsite and both times I’ve been pleased with it. The whole site is very well kept and has a good atmosphere. The staff at reception we’re lovely and gave us a choice of where to pitch as we were the only booking. The tent site is very nice, with plenty of space to relax. The bathroom facilities were immaculate and some of the best I’ve seen at a campsite....Read less.

"Site review"

Mr S Andrews - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

20/06/2021

Overall very satisfactory

"Relaxing and peaceful."

Mrs V Hubble - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

19/06/2021

Staff on reception are so nice, lovely friendly welcome.

"Lovely holiday"

Mr R Jones - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

16/06/2021

Superbly maintained site, quiet with good facilities and the extra benefit of the Gallow for food and drink if you don't want to cook. Have been several times before and will visit again.

"Staycation"

Mr P Davies - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

16/06/2021

Great site. Very well kept, interesting place with the racecourse and the adjacent golf course. Facilities excellent. Staff friendly. Gallow bar food and staff service perfect.

"Lovely friendly site"

Mrs. E Howard - Stayed with partner, May 2021

12/06/2021

We've stayed at Fakenham for many years and really like it and will keep coming back because its such a friendly site and so well situated for the town and the beautiful Norfolk countryside. But we......Read more.

We've stayed at Fakenham for many years and really like it and will keep coming back because its such a friendly site and so well situated for the town and the beautiful Norfolk countryside. But we do feel the price increases year on year are not matched with improvements to the site's facilities. The recent renovations to one block are lovely but the other blocks are tired and in particular the ladies showers are very disappointing. As it's a large site segregating it into areas for families and quiet pitches especially for tents, we feel would be an extra advantage....Read less.

"Great site"

Mr C Lambert - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

12/06/2021

Park was neat tidy , washrooms and toilets excellent with plenty of very hot water.

Dog facility, poo bins exercise field were very good .

Shop shut due to covid rules but close to town anyway,......Read more.

Park was neat tidy , washrooms and toilets excellent with plenty of very hot water.

Dog facility, poo bins exercise field were very good .

Shop shut due to covid rules but close to town anyway, though the town can’t be seen from the site.

We were very impressed by the site...Read less.

"A very pleasant site backed up by very clean facilities and helpful staff"

Mr M Curry - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

09/06/2021

The overall impression was that it was a comfortable, relaxing place to stay. Fakenham is close at hand as are the main north Norfolk attractions.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and marked it down......Read more.

The overall impression was that it was a comfortable, relaxing place to stay. Fakenham is close at hand as are the main north Norfolk attractions.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and marked it down as somewhere to return to....Read less.

"another nice peaceful break"

Mr C Lees - Stayed with family, May 2021

08/06/2021

enjoyed stay as usual,possiblibly the highlight was seeing a deer on the drive only10 feet from the car,just stood watching us ,this happened last year as well,lovely to see

"Well organised secure sigth"

Mr T Allsop - Stayed with family, May 2021

07/06/2021

Noisy wildlife (Rookery)!

I am alover of the natural world and Rooks have a place in the Worl its just that it beacme a bit wearing after a tiime

"Lovely stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

07/06/2021

My girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights in June, we both through how well kept the campsite was and how friendly the staff where. Would recommend!

"Nice camp site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2021

06/06/2021

Nice and clean site, staff friendly and helpful, nice scenery in the local area, enjoyable few days.

"Very enjoyable stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2021

06/06/2021

Really enjoyed our stay. Good facilities in attractive surroundings.

"J R"

Mr J Rogers - Stayed with partner, May 2021

05/06/2021

VERY ENJOYABLE FEW DAYS WITH MY WIFE AND THE DOG

"Weekend break"

Mr J Manuel - Stayed with family, May 2021

05/06/2021

Value

"Lovely site away from Road noise peace and Quite"

Mr A McCaughan - Stayed with family, May 2021

05/06/2021

great use of the racecourse during closed season well kept plenty of clean toilets and showers on-site bar and restaurant ( would benefit from displaying a menu) Golf and Tennis on site lovely......Read more.

great use of the racecourse during closed season well kept plenty of clean toilets and showers on-site bar and restaurant ( would benefit from displaying a menu) Golf and Tennis on site lovely riverside walk to town 15 mins.

could just do with a few facilities for children...Read less.

"First stay"

Mr M Meehan - Stayed with partner, May 2021

05/06/2021

Excellent all round

"Returning visitor"

Mr I Anderson - Stayed with partner, May 2021

04/06/2021

Fakenham is a regular site for us, we have always found the staff very attentive, friendly and pleasant to speak to.

Several country walks on the doorstep and National Trust, English Heritage sites,......Read more.

Fakenham is a regular site for us, we have always found the staff very attentive, friendly and pleasant to speak to.

Several country walks on the doorstep and National Trust, English Heritage sites, and coastal areas within reasonable driving distance.

Whilst there has been an increase in families using this site over the last couple of years there may not be too much for children to do on site, except enjoy the open countryside and space, and relative security of being in the surroundings.

...Read less.

"Fakenham race course"

Mr K Canham - Stayed with family, May 2021

04/06/2021

Close to wells beach holkem beach both fantastic beaches

"Definitely will stay again"

Mrs J Cordy - Stayed with partner, May 2021

04/06/2021

This is my 3 visit in past year. Lovely and peaceful. Walking distance from Fakenham and shops.

Not far to coast.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and upgraded showers and toilets.

"My stay"

Mr S Owen - Stayed with partner, May 2021

04/06/2021

Very friendly staff. My partner and i arrived late on Friday night and were greeted and shown to our camping spot.

Facilities were very clean and covid secure.

The man who comes to the site to sell......Read more.

Very friendly staff. My partner and i arrived late on Friday night and were greeted and shown to our camping spot.

Facilities were very clean and covid secure.

The man who comes to the site to sell curry on Saturdays was a bit of a let down. The food was over priced and bland.

The pitch was lovely, and had a great view.

Overall a really good experience and I would highly recommend to others. I would've liked to be able to use the bar but that was out of action due to covid but honestly it was a lovely place to be and I was sad to leave...Read less.

"Campsite review"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2021

04/06/2021

very good facilities and a nice quiet atmosphere for a park of this size.

"Great campsite and surrounding area"

Mr C Bayliss - Stayed with friends, May 2021

04/06/2021

The campsite is clean and staff are very friendly. Onsite facilities are great, including toilets, golf course and restaurant. Local attractions are in easy reach (traffic depending). We have been to......Read more.

The campsite is clean and staff are very friendly. Onsite facilities are great, including toilets, golf course and restaurant. Local attractions are in easy reach (traffic depending). We have been to the site multiple times and enjoy it each occasion. A well run site....Read less.

"Excellent site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2021

04/06/2021

A lovely site to stay. Very helpful staff and very welcoming.

"brilliant stay"

Mrs Dunkley - Stayed with partner, May 2021

31/05/2021

Staff - nothing too much trouble, all we came in contact with during our stay helpful and friendly

Grounds - immaculate

Loved the wildlife and short walk into the town

"Our dogs first motor home stayvaction"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2021

29/05/2021

The staff were very helpful from start to finish. We requested a good pitch for our old grumpy dog and they didn’t disappoint at all. The booking process was excellent and helpful and when we arrived......Read more.

The staff were very helpful from start to finish. We requested a good pitch for our old grumpy dog and they didn’t disappoint at all. The booking process was excellent and helpful and when we arrived at the site in gale force winds and driving rain we found everything very comfortable even in bad weather. The day at the races was excellent and everything run like clockwork. Easy walk into town and all the facilities on site like golf and tennis are superb as well. We will be returning as soon as we can....Read less.

"Nice stay for the racing"

Mr I Beauchamp - Stayed with partner, May 2021

29/05/2021

We loved our stay,great day at the races then returned to peace and tranquillity in a flash, excellent site.

"Weekend stay"

Mrs M Hawkins - Stayed with partner, May 2021

28/05/2021

Very clean site and facilities. Good area for dog walk

"Fakenham racecourse"

Mr G Owen - Stayed with partner, May 2021

28/05/2021

Very good value, especially when a race meeting is on, but a great location for the local town (within walking distance) and for visits to other places such as Wells next the Sea and the Norfolk......Read more.

Very good value, especially when a race meeting is on, but a great location for the local town (within walking distance) and for visits to other places such as Wells next the Sea and the Norfolk coast....Read less.

"Overall"

Mr P Heck - Stayed with partner, May 2021

26/05/2021

Great site with good facilities and easy access to town.Brilliant market on Thursday .Noisy crows and falcons but not disturbing

"Excellent facilities"

Mr G Frosdick - Stayed with friends, May 2021

23/05/2021

The first time we had stayed at the racecourse campsite,even though we are familiar with the racecourse itself & the surrounding area.Found the site very clean,quiet & spacious,with friendly staff &......Read more.

The first time we had stayed at the racecourse campsite,even though we are familiar with the racecourse itself & the surrounding area.Found the site very clean,quiet & spacious,with friendly staff & very good facilities.Were particularly impressed with the toilet / shower block with key fob entry.Site is also within an easy picturesque walking distance to the town.Onsite restaurant looks worth a visit,which we shall do next time as it will be open post-lockdown restrictions.Any complaints?? ~ None whatsoever,apart from the noisy crows in the background trees,which can't be accounted for and we got used to them!!...Read less.

"Good views over Racecourse"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2021

23/05/2021

Friendly staff and acceptable facilities with a view over the Racecourse made for a relaxing stay.

The local 9 hole golf course is on-site and the Gallows Bar and Restaurant on site made us welcome.

"Good site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2021

21/05/2021

All very pleasing

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead