Fakenham Racecourse Camping And Caravan Site

171 Reviews

4.3 / 5 overall rating based on 171 reviews in the last 12 months

96% would recommend this site

95% would stay here again

Excellent

51%

Very Good

37%

Average

9%

Poor

1%

Terrible

0%

"Stay after raceday"

Miss D Clayton - Stayed Oct 2020

21/10/2020

Booked for one night following a race meeting to avoid a long drive home and see North Norfolk the next day. Very helpful staff going over and above with excellent advice on where to go birdwatching,......Read more.

Booked for one night following a race meeting to avoid a long drive home and see North Norfolk the next day. Very helpful staff going over and above with excellent advice on where to go birdwatching, get the food I wanted and generally very helpful. Site was spotless, well lit, vehicles well spaced out, quiet and secure. I found it ideal as a base to go out from both in the evening on the day of arrival and the following day. Also good covid precautions. Will definitely return. Thankyou...Read less.

"Gem of a site far from the "Madding Crowds"."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

20/10/2020

Site is in a beautiful and convenient location for North Norfolk. It is also within easy walking distance of the attractive town of Fakenham.

"October - 4 night stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

19/10/2020

One problem we encountered was that the pitch we were on (53) was across a large area of grass from the toilet and shower block. Ok in the summer months but not in the Autumn and Winter. It means to......Read more.

One problem we encountered was that the pitch we were on (53) was across a large area of grass from the toilet and shower block. Ok in the summer months but not in the Autumn and Winter. It means to avoid going across the grass a very long walk around the perimeter path to the facilities. To rectify this problem they need to run either a path or even stepping stones across the grass area. Problem solved....Read less.

"Fakenham adventure"

Mr G Parnell - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

14/10/2020

We are new to motorhoming and found Fakenham to be picturesque, facilities on site were clean and within easy reach. The town was only a few minutes walk from the site which is useful when the site......Read more.

We are new to motorhoming and found Fakenham to be picturesque, facilities on site were clean and within easy reach. The town was only a few minutes walk from the site which is useful when the site shop is closed. We all had an enjoyable few days and we are looking forward to visiting again....Read less.

"Quiet site in good location for touring"

Mr G Smith - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

08/10/2020

My wife and I have stayed on this site for about 11 years and try to visit twice a year when possible. Originally we stayed in our tent, but for the past few years we now have a caravan. The site is......Read more.

My wife and I have stayed on this site for about 11 years and try to visit twice a year when possible. Originally we stayed in our tent, but for the past few years we now have a caravan. The site is very neat and well kept, as you would expect as it is based at the Fakenham racecourse, also the toilet and washroom facilities are always very clean. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Vicky and Amanda in the reception. Ideally located on the edge of Fakenham the walk into the town centre with its many shops and other facilities takes about 15 minutes to walk, or less than 5 minutes by car. We like the site for its position in central Norfolk because it is great for touring the area by car. Wells-next-the-Sea is the closest seaside town at 10 miles away. There are also many great walks close to the site.

On site there are no facilities for children, apart from a field for ball games, so the site does not necessarily attract families, but this makes it a nice quiet site for those of us looking for a slightly more peaceful break (apart from the rather noisy rooks!).

This is a site that we would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a restful stay or as a base for visiting further afield....Read less.

"convenient"

Mr Alford - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

08/10/2020

Very convenient for the local area with plenty of places to see.

"Nice stay at Fakenham"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

07/10/2020

Very enjoyable stay with friends. Handy for lots of places to visit. Rooks a bit noisy but didn’t spoil our stay.Clean & tidy site. Will return.

"Short break in Fakenham"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

07/10/2020

The site is very well kept, despite the fact that we arrived during very wet and windy weather. The toilet facilities were spotless and everywhere was very Covid secure, in fact, the best we've......Read more.

The site is very well kept, despite the fact that we arrived during very wet and windy weather. The toilet facilities were spotless and everywhere was very Covid secure, in fact, the best we've encountered anywhere. Staff were pleasant but unobtrusive.

The site is well placed to visit the north Norfolk coast and Fakenham itself is a pleasant little town....Read less.

"Location, Location, Location."

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

06/10/2020

I have my van serviced by the manufacturer in Melton Constable yearly. The site is convenient, clean and value for money. Items not rated were not used due to Covid-19.

"Enjoyable stay, good value for money."

Mr J Fraine - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

04/10/2020

Good campsite. A short walk from town.

Facilities on site are good.

Plenty of space.

"Norfolk Tour"

Mr Pilling - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

Really impressed with your site & ease of walking into town.

Now knowing the setup would like to know where you move the vans on racedays ??

"Great site in great location"

Mrs E Higlett - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

We stopped here for 3 nights and were really impressed with the site. The pitches are really spacious and spread out. Showers were spotless and free with lots of hot water. Weather was terrible so......Read more.

We stopped here for 3 nights and were really impressed with the site. The pitches are really spacious and spread out. Showers were spotless and free with lots of hot water. Weather was terrible so we didn't walk into town, although it looks like an easy stroll. Would stay here again as easy access to town, North Norfolk coast and Pensthorpe....Read less.

"Happily surprised"

Mrs J Higson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

We have just returned from a week staying at Fakenham Racecourse.

The weather varied from cloudless blue skies and 27degrees to 36 hours of non stop rain and gales and 7 degrees!! So we saw the site......Read more.

We have just returned from a week staying at Fakenham Racecourse.

The weather varied from cloudless blue skies and 27degrees to 36 hours of non stop rain and gales and 7 degrees!! So we saw the site at its extremes.

The staff were really helpful and the spot we were given was idillic... lots of room and our own shower and toilet block!!

We enjoyed our bike rides around the area were able to hire a car from a very local garage to enable us to explore Norfolk further.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back next time we are in Norfolk....Read less.

"1st time at Fakenham."

Mr S Ellis - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

30/09/2020

Stayed here for 6 nights end of Sept, I have never seen so many crows and the noise was deafening.

Also never seen so many daddy long legs, couldnt shower without them.

"Good area"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

29/09/2020

Neat little site with handy bowls club for ok food and good position for North Norfolk exploration.

"6 nights"

Mr A Smith - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

28/09/2020

On arrival the staff were very helpful, however we had booked a hard standing and none was available. The option was a car park space adjacent to the tent field or a hard area opposite reception in......Read more.

On arrival the staff were very helpful, however we had booked a hard standing and none was available. The option was a car park space adjacent to the tent field or a hard area opposite reception in the tent field. We chose the tent field which proved to be satisfactory. In future if I did return to the site I would hope I would be offered the pitch I booked and not be fobbed off with alternatives. Having said that we had an enjoyable stay and visited all the places on our list....Read less.

"Very nice place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

27/09/2020

This is our second visit. I would recommend opting for a grass pitch s you get a better location and more space than a (cheaper) hard standing pitch. The facilities were very good and they have......Read more.

This is our second visit. I would recommend opting for a grass pitch s you get a better location and more space than a (cheaper) hard standing pitch. The facilities were very good and they have worked hard to keep them Covid secure, taping off every other cubicle, shower etc within the toilet block and providing hand sanitsier. Easy access to Fakenham on foot and loads of places to go and see near abouts, plus the coastline in abundance....Read less.

"Very clean tidy park"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

Very tidy and clean. Efficient . Check that your TV aerial point will work. Ours was broken and TV reception non existent. Staff perfectly polite but could have smiled a bit more!!

"Good site and location"

Mr P Bostock - Stayed Sep 2020

25/09/2020

Friendly and helpful staff. Good location for exploring and nice town to visit. Showers toilet block a bit tired.

"Good site but with poor policies"

Mr T Colls - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

My wife and I have stayed at this site for over 30 years, and have been delighted with it - hence the repeated visits. Last September we went to the office and managed to book pitch 67, which we......Read more.

My wife and I have stayed at this site for over 30 years, and have been delighted with it - hence the repeated visits. Last September we went to the office and managed to book pitch 67, which we like, for September this year. I was told that there was not one booking already made and this was for the pitch we wanted and on the dates we wanted. We therefore book for one week later. I tried to do the same on this visit, I.e to book pitch 67 for dates in September 2021, but was told that no bookings could be made until 2021 prices had been published, due to a change in policy. I was also told that the choice of pitch couldn’t be guaranteed, because, if the persons on the pitch before us wanted to extend their stay, we would have to accept another pitch not of our choice. I have been caravanning for 40 years, and have only requested an extension to my stay on one occasion. Having made the request, I was told that someone had booked that pitch the week after we were there, and that if we wanted to extend our stay, we would have to move our outfit to another pitch. The procedure for booking this years stay appeared to be perfectly easy, and everything went well. Why anyone on a pitch should take precedence over someone who has booked the same pitch on the following week, is beyond me. I don’t know how many people have tried to book onto the Fakenham site for September 2021, but I must be one of the very few who have. As such I would logically expect the ‘first come, first served’ principle to apply.

The facilities at the site to be improved, leaving aside any COVID 19 problems, specifically the showers in the washroom below the stand. I started using the shower on the right as you look from the door. First of all, I found that there was one half peg in the cubicle, on which to hang my shirt, shorts, underpants, wash bag and towel. Two double hooks would have been much better. The shower head was fixed, and the water kept switching off every ten seconds. This shower and cubicle deserve a good look at, and an update to present Caravan Club standards!...Read less.

"Xxxxxxx"

Mrs J Neal _smith - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Xxxxxxxxxvvvvmmm

"Nothing further to say"

Ms K Raspin - Stayed Sep 2020

24/09/2020

This should not be obligatory. My boxes ticked say all I wish to say.

"Weekend trip with family"

Miss K Higgins - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Had a lovely weekend camping at Fakenham. Met with the family and camped together, not too far from attractions and shops.

Will definitely visit again if we were to come back and camp in Norfolk......Read more.

Had a lovely weekend camping at Fakenham. Met with the family and camped together, not too far from attractions and shops.

Will definitely visit again if we were to come back and camp in Norfolk again....Read less.

"Our stay at Fakenham Racecouse caravan site, Sept 2020"

Mr R Stiles - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

23/09/2020

I was cautious as it was the only site I enquired with that had available pitches for that week. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. Although I turned up during the Wardens lunch break, I had......Read more.

I was cautious as it was the only site I enquired with that had available pitches for that week. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. Although I turned up during the Wardens lunch break, I had been pre-allocated a pitch and was able to set up.

The facilities are clean and fairly intact but could do with being modernised to 2020 standards. That said I used them every day, never had a cold shower and only once queued even though the site was full.

we had a thoroughly enjoyable time and will be back at some stage....Read less.

"Well organised and laid out site, friendly staff."

Mr A Foster - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

23/09/2020

We stayed for two nights. It's a bit of a case of parking in lines but there is plenty of space and our pitch was pretty level. The motorhome service point was a definite plus for us. Would consider......Read more.

We stayed for two nights. It's a bit of a case of parking in lines but there is plenty of space and our pitch was pretty level. The motorhome service point was a definite plus for us. Would consider using it again if we were in the area....Read less.

"FACILITIES."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

23/09/2020

The wash rooms and showers are still in need of an upgrade.

"Great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

23/09/2020

Great location to explore and good value

"Nothing to say"

Mrs R Prettyman - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

23/09/2020

Nothing to say

"Pleasant"

Mrs Clarke - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

We had a pitch at the edge of the race course, which was lovely. The free wi-fi was much appreciated. We would definitely return to the site.

"Fekenham stay Sept 2020"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

21/09/2020

We had a great stay at this caravan and campsite. Larger site than we'd expected but it wasn't full. Owners helpful when we requested to move as the initial pitch wasnt good crammed between 2 Van's......Read more.

We had a great stay at this caravan and campsite. Larger site than we'd expected but it wasn't full. Owners helpful when we requested to move as the initial pitch wasnt good crammed between 2 Van's looking at the back of someone's toilet. We moved to the edge of the camping field which is large and had only 3 other tents and our campervan had a nice plot and view of the field. Facilities clean, alternate toilets open but only one shower due to coronovirus. 2 washing rooms with doors which was good. Had to wait a couple of times for shower so would be worse if a busier site. Site not too far to visit the coast with beautiful scenery and beaches and we visited National Trust too which was really good. Overall a very enjoyable first stay in Norfolk and would return again to the campsite again....Read less.

"nice norfolk"

Mr R Seager - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

20/09/2020

A well kept camping site, clean and tidy. Good to be able to walk into town. Drinking water taps have no associated drain so grey water has to go into the facility provided for emptying toilets. This......Read more.

A well kept camping site, clean and tidy. Good to be able to walk into town. Drinking water taps have no associated drain so grey water has to go into the facility provided for emptying toilets. This entails lifting more than 40 kilos (90lbs) vertically some 2 feet. It is ridiculous to ask people of all ages to do this. Ground level drains are badly needed.

Some pitches whilst being adequate are situated amongst a variety of buildings and have a view which is not conducive to enjoying one's stay....Read less.

"Super location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

19/09/2020

First time in this beautiful area, would definitely visit again

"first time caravanning"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

19/09/2020

very welcoming and friendly good access

"Spacious, Clean, Tidy and Friendly."

Mr D Carter - Stayed Sep 2020

19/09/2020

A lovely quiet location, good pitch spacing, pleasant riverside 10 minute walk into town, and easy access to North Norfolk Coast.

Fakenham is an interesting, historic town with a large Thursday......Read more.

A lovely quiet location, good pitch spacing, pleasant riverside 10 minute walk into town, and easy access to North Norfolk Coast.

Fakenham is an interesting, historic town with a large Thursday Market, and good variety of shops, including four major supermarkets. There’s also an outlet shop in the town from the chocolate factory who make for M&S.

Safe Dog Walking facilities in a large mown meadow within the site, and adjacent Golf Course, Indoor Bowling, Restaurant and licensed Bar welcomes visitors.

A visit is a very pleasant experience and I always look forward to another stay there.

...Read less.

"Fakenham"

Mr H Edwards - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Quite a lovely site in the middle of a nice area and within easy access to the little town with a footpath nearby and the town reached easily in 10 minutes by foot or even less on a bike.

"Lovely clean and friendly site"

Mrs Ward - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Very impressed with the facilities and how clean & safe we felt.

The only downside was the lack of information on what other leisure facilities were available to those on site - running routes, use......Read more.

Very impressed with the facilities and how clean & safe we felt.

The only downside was the lack of information on what other leisure facilities were available to those on site - running routes, use of the sports centre etc, we only found out about the sports centre the day we left. But that is my only grumble!...Read less.

"Good caravan park"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Within easy walking distance of Fakenham and easy drive to many of Norfolks many charming coastal towns and villages.

"Fakenham"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Good large pitch only downside which is out of the campsite control is the noisy crows nesting in trees. This would not stop us staying again .

"First visit to N. Norfolk"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

On pitch 41 - no sun at all and no shelter from the strong wind which blew down our shade awning.

Drinking water tap located a fair distance away - why can't you run a pipe up to the tent field as......Read more.

On pitch 41 - no sun at all and no shelter from the strong wind which blew down our shade awning.

Drinking water tap located a fair distance away - why can't you run a pipe up to the tent field as they also have to go some distance for water. Can't comment on wash/toilet facilities as we didn't use them during our stay....Read less.

"Quiet site close to town"

Mr M Morrey - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Recently returned from a pleasant three night stay at this quiet well located site. Staff were helpful and friendly and the site was spacious and well maintained. A Gentle stroke led to the small......Read more.

Recently returned from a pleasant three night stay at this quiet well located site. Staff were helpful and friendly and the site was spacious and well maintained. A Gentle stroke led to the small but pleasant town with a range of shops bars and restaurants. An excellent place to relax and unwind or as a base for visiting the local area....Read less.

"Fakenham Site is a good bet."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

A lovely, clean and friendly stopover.

"Visit during Covid pandemic"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

The pitch was large with only a slight slope. The park was clean, tidy and very quiet. Only a short walk into town where there are excellent bus links around the area.

Our only concern was the......Read more.

The pitch was large with only a slight slope. The park was clean, tidy and very quiet. Only a short walk into town where there are excellent bus links around the area.

Our only concern was the toilet and washrooms. These were only cleaned once a day. There were no restrictions on how many people could use them at any one time. All other sites we have visited this summer are cleaned more frequently and have systems indicating how many people are using them at any time. In one block a sink was blocked. When we left two days later it was still blocked....Read less.

"Camping at Fakenham Racecourse"

Mrs M Charlton - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

We have stayed at Fakenham Racecourse campsite twice now and will definately stay again when in the area all facilities are spotlessly clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. It’s only a......Read more.

We have stayed at Fakenham Racecourse campsite twice now and will definately stay again when in the area all facilities are spotlessly clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. It’s only a short walk into town if we need any shopping and the Golf Club Bar is just next door to the site...Read less.

"great site"

Mr J Ellis - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

enjoyed our stay, the staff were very helpful and polite. will definitely be visiting again.

"Covid"

Mr G Hardy - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

Did not use facilities.

"mish mash pitches"

Mrs J Marshall - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

computer needs tweeking it was putting large vehicles on small pitches coursing havoc trying to get around. Pitches all over the place, some up against walls and sheds. Staff worked hard to rectify......Read more.

computer needs tweeking it was putting large vehicles on small pitches coursing havoc trying to get around. Pitches all over the place, some up against walls and sheds. Staff worked hard to rectify this...Read less.

"Quiet Stay"

Mr D Howard - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

Pleasant stay on uncrowded site.

"First time visit"

Mr A Hickingbotham - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Booked for campsite on recommendation of family. Really impressed, pitches with electric hookup available, great showers, really friendly and helpful staff especially when car broke down in middle of......Read more.

Booked for campsite on recommendation of family. Really impressed, pitches with electric hookup available, great showers, really friendly and helpful staff especially when car broke down in middle of holiday and we had to return home for 2 days and then go back to campsite. Very accommodating including personal visit from the chief executive to check we were ok, first class service and definitely recommended....Read less.

"Local to our requirements"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Ideal for our visit to relatives in Fakenham and to enjoy local attractions. We will definitely visit again in the future.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead