Friars Court

72 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 72 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

83%

Very Good

17%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Fantastic location"

J Collins - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

19/10/2021

Very accommodatiing host, beautiful setting , clean and very well tended.

"Joy"

Mr Hudson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

08/10/2021

Peaceful and gentle, in the shadow of the oldest bridge across the Thames. Area is steeped in history - timeless.

A man who cannot be happy at Radcot may find it difficult to be happy anywhere.

"3rd visit"

Mr Hodgkinson - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

05/10/2021

As usual great holiday my friends commented on pitches not being vacated despite after lunchtime arrival as we were late due to a breakdown we had no problems but I understand that's something you'll......Read more.

As usual great holiday my friends commented on pitches not being vacated despite after lunchtime arrival as we were late due to a breakdown we had no problems but I understand that's something you'll be looking into so looking forward to a return visit next year Chris and Trev Hodgkinson...Read less.

"Peaceful and tranquil"

Mr B Rowe - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

30/09/2021

Love this place very peaceful dy the river Thames visited occasionally by an otter and other wildlife I didn’t recommend because I don’t want it to busy and over flowing with to many people !!! I......Read more.

Love this place very peaceful dy the river Thames visited occasionally by an otter and other wildlife I didn’t recommend because I don’t want it to busy and over flowing with to many people !!! I think that would ruin it . It needs to be looked after,...Read less.

"Friars Court"

Mrs Ashdown - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

28/09/2021

Lovely spot, peaceful and pretty. We were on way home so only stayed one night. Would like to use return.

"Beautiful riverside location"

Mr T Head - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

28/09/2021

We have visited this site many times now, mainly on rallies but it has never disappointed. Lovely site right on the river, a great place to spend the weekend with friends.

"Perfick!"

Miss T Pass - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

28/09/2021

I'm reluctant to put a positive review as would love to keep this as a hidden gem. The location is just perfect - beautiful surroundings, access to the river, dog walks, sun & tree shade. The......Read more.

I'm reluctant to put a positive review as would love to keep this as a hidden gem. The location is just perfect - beautiful surroundings, access to the river, dog walks, sun & tree shade. The stress just washes away as soon as we get on site. Thanks again for an amazing few days - hooman and doggie campers had a blast 💜...Read less.

"Great get-away"

Mr G Bryant - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

26/09/2021

What a great ten nights I've just had Very quiet security very good Will be going back for many years

"Returning trips to Friars Court"

Mr S Turner - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

23/09/2021

We visited Friars Court for the 3rd time this year. Lovely peaceful site alongside the river. We also hold centre rallies there and have always had a friendly greeting from Charles the site owner.......Read more.

We visited Friars Court for the 3rd time this year. Lovely peaceful site alongside the river. We also hold centre rallies there and have always had a friendly greeting from Charles the site owner. Well worth a visit...Read less.

"2 night stopover"

Mrs J Banks - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

19/09/2021

A lovely peaceful spot with a pitch just feet from the river. The weather was inclemant but we still managed a walk along the Thames Path and regretted not having our SUP with us.

A basic site, well......Read more.

A lovely peaceful spot with a pitch just feet from the river. The weather was inclemant but we still managed a walk along the Thames Path and regretted not having our SUP with us.

A basic site, well maintained, perfect spot....Read less.

"Stunning location and friendly owners"

Mr W Reid - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

16/09/2021

This is our second trip to Friars Court and we absolutely love it! We stayed the first time on the Island CL and the second in the Cricket Bat field, which we preferred. Our only gripe is there is no......Read more.

This is our second trip to Friars Court and we absolutely love it! We stayed the first time on the Island CL and the second in the Cricket Bat field, which we preferred. Our only gripe is there is no Elson facility on the Cricket Bat field and it is quite a hike to empty the toilet. Apart from that, we just live the tranquility of watching the world float by. We will be back soon. It is our new favourite place and the owners are very friendly indeed. Thank you!...Read less.

"Adequate facilities, unspoilt and very friendly."

Mr S Moore - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

An unspoilt site, simple and as close to wild camping as I wish to be. Very helpful friendly owners.

"Great site right by the river, very quiet and peaceful"

Miss R Woodward - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

Both the Island CL and the Cricket Bat field are located right on the river bank, great for fishing, but we stayed on the Cricket Bat field with lovely trees for shade when it is really hot. ......Read more.

Both the Island CL and the Cricket Bat field are located right on the river bank, great for fishing, but we stayed on the Cricket Bat field with lovely trees for shade when it is really hot. Although hot, on the second day it was quite windy so a windbreak would not go amiss. Just a basic CL but on the Cricket Bat field there is only water so you have to drive up to the Island CL for chemical disposal and waste disposal which is not a problem. The Thames path runs on the other side of the river so riverside walks available. Fishing tackle shop, with bait, in the village of Clanfield, just down the road and also a lovely deli/cafe/Post Office to be found here together with the Plough Hotel and Clanfield Tavern. Swan Hotel/riverside pub just by the entrance and also pubs/supermarkets(Tesco/Waitrose/Aldi), pharmacies and butchers, garage, etc in nearby Faringdon. Beautiful setting when the weather is dry but only downside is you have to drive down a gravel track, with some potholes, to access the site and that can get very messy when it is wet. Also the access to the Island CL, just in front of the chemical disposal/water point, can get very muddy in times of heavy rain as the water runs down off the bridge....Read less.

"Loved the site"

Mr S Hobbs - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

Loved the site. Only criticism was the distance to the rubbish bins and toilet emptying facility; we decided to drive to it. One of the best sites we've been to.

"Holiday"

Mr G James - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

Very pleased with the site and the staff location all good

"Friars court"

Mr T Adams - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

12/09/2021

Very beautiful and tranquil site

"Lazy days by the river Thames"

Mr J Mead - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

12/09/2021

If you like plenty of room and great rural views with a river and paddling water activities near a good pub, look no further. Basic needs, water and waste disposal, are met with easy river access for......Read more.

If you like plenty of room and great rural views with a river and paddling water activities near a good pub, look no further. Basic needs, water and waste disposal, are met with easy river access for paddle boards and canoes. Or if you prefer just sit back and watch the various water craft cruise past with a friendly wave, There are also plenty of easy country walks nearby....Read less.

"Clanfield holiday"

Ms K Lella - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

Absolutely love Friars court , always go on the cricket bat field and we’re lucky enough to have riverside pitches x we ran a rally for the caravan club for ten days and also had 6 days extra as well......Read more.

Absolutely love Friars court , always go on the cricket bat field and we’re lucky enough to have riverside pitches x we ran a rally for the caravan club for ten days and also had 6 days extra as well x looking forward to three weeks next year 👍...Read less.

"Fantastic location for a weekend break"

Mrs Peedell - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

23/08/2021

We cannot recommend Charles and Friars Court enough. The Island CL location is second to none, right on the riverbank with wonderful views. We walked along the Thames Path for 4 miles to Tadpole......Read more.

We cannot recommend Charles and Friars Court enough. The Island CL location is second to none, right on the riverbank with wonderful views. We walked along the Thames Path for 4 miles to Tadpole Bridge and the scenery ~(apart from some cross cows) was simply stunning. Will definitely be making Friars Court regular visits over the next months and years....Read less.

"Another great stay!"

Mrs J Burgum - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

22/08/2021

We love the peace and quiet of the Cricket Bat Field. If we could change anything it would be the introduction of another exit so we wouldn't have the worry of meeting another vehicle coming the......Read more.

We love the peace and quiet of the Cricket Bat Field. If we could change anything it would be the introduction of another exit so we wouldn't have the worry of meeting another vehicle coming the other way at the gate and/or the turning towards the Cricket Bat Field....Read less.

"Thames path campsite"

Mrs J Sheasby - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

15/08/2021

Basic campsite offering good value for money in an ideal location for walking the Thames path. Pub providing food, drink and covered outdoor seating within a few minutes walk.

"Away from it all!"

Mrs S Coles - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

13/08/2021

Wonderful, peaceful location on the banks of the river, with lovely walks nearby.

Great pub just down the road, with a lovely outdoor area & good food.

A little gem of a campsite that we will......Read more.

Wonderful, peaceful location on the banks of the river, with lovely walks nearby.

Great pub just down the road, with a lovely outdoor area & good food.

A little gem of a campsite that we will definitely return to....Read less.

"Long weekend"

Mr D Blanshard - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

13/08/2021

Brilliant, site by the river. Simple and inexpensive. It has the river, trees and a tap. Chuck in some friends for the weekend and it's about perfect. If you need more this site is probably not for......Read more.

Brilliant, site by the river. Simple and inexpensive. It has the river, trees and a tap. Chuck in some friends for the weekend and it's about perfect. If you need more this site is probably not for you. Which is good as I get to go more often :-)...Read less.

"Weekend break"

Mr G Smith - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

12/08/2021

Great small site, close to river, ideal weekend away

"Lovely CL site in beautiful location"

Mrs S Cameron - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

10/08/2021

Lovely CL site in a beautiful location and great value at £10. Motorhome parked beside the Thames, handy for SUP board. Ian site manager very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

"N/A"

A Mitchell - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

06/08/2021

N/A

"Returning customer"

Mr P Morton - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

05/08/2021

Excellent position for access to the Thames for kayaking and fishing. Large field affording big separation between units. Field only (apart from fresh water and toilet emptying facilities) but would......Read more.

Excellent position for access to the Thames for kayaking and fishing. Large field affording big separation between units. Field only (apart from fresh water and toilet emptying facilities) but would highly recommend to people happy to be self sufficient....Read less.

"Peaceful on the river"

Mrs M Jones - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

04/08/2021

We love it at Friars court. This was our second visit and certainly won't be the last. Its a beautiful location on the river and very peaceful. Certainly worth a visit.

"The Cricket Bat Field"

Mr N Blake - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

03/08/2021

Beautiful setting right by the upper reaches of The Thames. Numbers of units on site is kept strictly limited so never overcrowded.

Please note - some of the star ratings do not apply to this......Read more.

Beautiful setting right by the upper reaches of The Thames. Numbers of units on site is kept strictly limited so never overcrowded.

Please note - some of the star ratings do not apply to this location so they are NOT no star ratings....Read less.

"Simple, peaceful and pretty"

Mr. S Fairbrass - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

02/08/2021

Lovely little tree filled field beside the Thames. No facilities apart from a cold tap, though waste can be dumped at their neighbouring site, 150 or so metres away. Perfectly quiet and peaceful......Read more.

Lovely little tree filled field beside the Thames. No facilities apart from a cold tap, though waste can be dumped at their neighbouring site, 150 or so metres away. Perfectly quiet and peaceful night, no crowds, in a pretty location....Read less.

"Riverside touring site"

Mr P Farrow - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

25/07/2021

Excellent 5van cl site easy Access loads of room two mins from swan Inn PH onsight fishing and kayaking river swimming.pleasant riverside walks short drive to local shops super market s ect .

"Beautiful"

Mr D Fidler - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

25/07/2021

Stunning Caravan and Motorhome Club CL on the banks of the river Thames. Beautifully kept with a very natural feel. Just metres from the water. Basic camping facilities but immaculately maintained. A......Read more.

Stunning Caravan and Motorhome Club CL on the banks of the river Thames. Beautifully kept with a very natural feel. Just metres from the water. Basic camping facilities but immaculately maintained. A few hundred metres from Ye Olde Swan pub. A lovely place with a great garden and kayak and paddle board hire....Read less.

"Beautiful CL"

Mrs G Hillier - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

24/07/2021

A lovely little find! We stayed on the Island CL. It is mown well but LOTS of stinging nettles boarder the water front, if those were cleared that would be the icing on the cake as you’d have a much......Read more.

A lovely little find! We stayed on the Island CL. It is mown well but LOTS of stinging nettles boarder the water front, if those were cleared that would be the icing on the cake as you’d have a much better view of the water & access to get in.

Everyone we spoke to had been returning for many years and I understand why.

We walked up to look at the cricket bat field & that is also lovely, much more shaded & more of a feeling of camping in the woods and very quiet, the Island CL you do hear the larger pub camp site opposite.

We really enjoyed our stay & will definitely return.

...Read less.

"Lovely secluded site"

L Richards - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

19/07/2021

Had a great weekend at Friars Court, we stayed on the cricket bat field which was good for fishing, it was a short walk to the elsan point which is located on the island but definitely wouldn't put......Read more.

Had a great weekend at Friars Court, we stayed on the cricket bat field which was good for fishing, it was a short walk to the elsan point which is located on the island but definitely wouldn't put us off returning it is a lovely peaceful site...Read less.

"Lovely place"

D Marsh - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

19/07/2021

Unique place to stay, lovely sitting watching the geese and ducks swim by along with the boats, we had a meal at the pub next door, if you don’t expect gourmet food it was ok.

"Peaceful, beautiful and back to nature"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

18/07/2021

We loved Cricket Bat Field which was well away from traffic (roads); the only ‘disturbance’ was the occasional passing boat, flock of Canada geese gliding along the river, inquisitive ducks and......Read more.

We loved Cricket Bat Field which was well away from traffic (roads); the only ‘disturbance’ was the occasional passing boat, flock of Canada geese gliding along the river, inquisitive ducks and swans. It is a haven for spotting wildlife. It was so peaceful that we slept soundly for 12 hours! It was our first ‘off grid’ camping experience. If we lived closer, we would go regularly. We hope to stay for longer next time (but will check if there is a rally planned before we book). We didn’t find out about cycle routes until the day before we left so we have more to explore....Read less.

"Lots of space and the beautiful Thames"

Mrs K Stayt - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

15/07/2021

Camping here you can choose the Island site or the Cricket Bat Field both of which are riverside and have chemical toilet disposal facilities and drinking water available . The island CL site is......Read more.

Camping here you can choose the Island site or the Cricket Bat Field both of which are riverside and have chemical toilet disposal facilities and drinking water available . The island CL site is closer to the pub and across the Thames from a lively family site which can get noisy at night and the Crocket Bat Field is far more secluded. Both have lots of room and Charles was very helpful in suggesting walks and local pubs etc

We also caught two Chubb in the river which was a nice start to a relaxing weekend away...Read less.

"Friars Court"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

15/07/2021

.

"Friars Court CAMC CL"

Mr Huckle - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

13/07/2021

Stayed overnight in this lovely CL as we needed an overnight stop on a long journey. Found it easily using the Caravan and Motorhome Club website. Delightful setting in a large grassy field alongside......Read more.

Stayed overnight in this lovely CL as we needed an overnight stop on a long journey. Found it easily using the Caravan and Motorhome Club website. Delightful setting in a large grassy field alongside the upper reaches of the Thames. Booked by a telephone call to Charles although looked to be an easy online system on the Friars Court website. Ian came by late afternoon with a welcoming postcard showing local walks. Very pleasant approach and very helpful. There is a linked additional site (Cricket Bat Field) a couple of hundred yards upstream which was very quiet and peaceful. We will recommend to others and come here again if we are in the area....Read less.

"Cricket Bat Field"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

13/07/2021

Very pleasant spot, peaceful lovely view.

"Idyllic location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

12/07/2021

Peaceful site with beautiful views

"Beautiful Riverside Site"

S Hope - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

10/07/2021

This site has beautiful Riverside plots. Very Peaceful and with a pub a short walk away, Beware there is a very short walk on the Road to get to it, it has all we need.

We have a Motorhome so have......Read more.

This site has beautiful Riverside plots. Very Peaceful and with a pub a short walk away, Beware there is a very short walk on the Road to get to it, it has all we need.

We have a Motorhome so have all facilities on board all we need it an Elsan & Fresh Water.

Lovely CL wonderful if u love a tranquil stay....Read less.

"Lovely - will return again."

Mrs T Chaplin - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

08/07/2021

Lovely peaceful setting, walking distance to a local pub. It would have been better if the grass had been cut as it makes it difficult balancing tables and chairs etc. Will definitely return though.

"very satisfied camper 😀"

Mr K Stead - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

08/07/2021

We will be back more than once hopefully 😉 b

"A return visit - need I say more"

Mr P Loughney - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

08/07/2021

As we have already rebooked to go back that says all that you need to know. This does however come with a caveat - only book this site if you want complete relaxation, beautiful views, friendly......Read more.

As we have already rebooked to go back that says all that you need to know. This does however come with a caveat - only book this site if you want complete relaxation, beautiful views, friendly campers, the river Thames, a pub next door and some lovely cycling rides and walks on your doorstep....Read less.

"Old visitor"

Mr B Thornton - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

07/07/2021

The fact I have been coming for so long speaks for itself. Absolute paradise.

"Beautiful site beside the Thames"

Mrs A Frost - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

07/07/2021

Have just enjoyed a return visit to this gem of a site with lovely walks fishing and just watching the soothing activities on the river

"Hidden Gem"

Mrs C Charlesworth - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

06/07/2021

Feel reluctant to write a review as I don’t want to tell anyone about this place so we can keep it a secret. Tranquility at its best, river bank views , walks , fishing and splashing around on the......Read more.

Feel reluctant to write a review as I don’t want to tell anyone about this place so we can keep it a secret. Tranquility at its best, river bank views , walks , fishing and splashing around on the river. Heaven 😊...Read less.

"Down by the Thames"

B Hornby - Stayed with friends, Jun 2021

03/07/2021

We have been to this site 4 times over the years and each year the site has got better and better.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead