Friars Court

77 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 77 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

86%

Very Good

14%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"What an idyllic site"

Mr S Nelligan - Stayed with partner, May 2022

21/05/2022

Simply a beautiful location. Pitches beside the Thames on a gorgeous rural site. Could not have been more perfect, we will be back soon. Thank you to Charles too for a warm and friendly welcome 😊

"Super site"

Miss L Ledbury - Stayed with partner, May 2022

16/05/2022

Really lovely location which is kept very neat and tidy. Great for walks from the site, for spotting wildlife and generally relaxing. Life on the river was quite subdued (early season) so lended to......Read more.

Really lovely location which is kept very neat and tidy. Great for walks from the site, for spotting wildlife and generally relaxing. Life on the river was quite subdued (early season) so lended to the tranquility of our stay. Ian was most welcoming and passed on local info for walking, eats etc. We are looking forward to our next stay, will definitely be back. Nice to be off grid!...Read less.

"Relaxing Bank Holiday Break"

Mr A Edinborough - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

06/05/2022

This is a great CL, we stayed on the Island Park and for 5 units, it's huge. You can pitch right up along the banks of the Thames and just watch the world go by. Very Relaxing, and of course,......Read more.

This is a great CL, we stayed on the Island Park and for 5 units, it's huge. You can pitch right up along the banks of the Thames and just watch the world go by. Very Relaxing, and of course, having a great Pub on your doorstep is a bonus too....Read less.

"Excellent Stay"

Mrs L Lockyer - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

30/04/2022

Stayed on the Island CL site. Lovely feild, great to be able to set up where you like and be next to the river. Quiet location with nice sunny aspect and river views. The site warden, Ian was a......Read more.

Stayed on the Island CL site. Lovely feild, great to be able to set up where you like and be next to the river. Quiet location with nice sunny aspect and river views. The site warden, Ian was a lovely bloke, excellent welcome. Water, elsan and rubbish, but no recycling unfortunately. We loved it and would definitely return for a few quiet days by the river....Read less.

"Gem"

Mrs M Burgis - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

27/04/2022

Couldn’t believe we hadn’t discovered this site before, in the CMC directory says adjoining undenied water. To be right on the Thames was just amazing. Very peaceful, so much so we never heard the......Read more.

Couldn’t believe we hadn’t discovered this site before, in the CMC directory says adjoining undenied water. To be right on the Thames was just amazing. Very peaceful, so much so we never heard the traffic a few hundred yards. Away although the wind direction probably had something to do with that. Can imagine there might be a bit of camping noise on weekends/school holidays from across the river camping field. Cricket Bat field also seemed to offer river frontage and further away from the road and the opposite camping field. Thames walks in both directions, you may have to walk through fields of cows but apart from being inquisitive, leave you alone. Ye Olde Swan looked lovely but we were too late for food after our walk....Read less.

"Lovely spot by the peaceful River Thames"

Mrs H Martin - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

24/04/2022

We were blown away by how lovely Cricket Bat Field is! The planted grove of willows is beautifully kept and there is direct van access to firm ground right at the water’s edge! There were plenty of......Read more.

We were blown away by how lovely Cricket Bat Field is! The planted grove of willows is beautifully kept and there is direct van access to firm ground right at the water’s edge! There were plenty of ducks and swans on the river. We saw the full moon rise over the fields on the opposite bank, and it was lovely sitting with breakfast or a cuppa and watching boats, barges, canoes and paddleboards gently float by. The pub and historic bridge are worth a visit and you have direct access to the Thames Path in both directions. Lovely 😊 We will definitely be back!...Read less.

"Fantastic find close to home."

Mrs J Chapman - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

24/04/2022

This was a fantastic peaceful site to find and just on our doorstep too. Lovely spot on the cricket bat field, right next to the river, sat relaxing watching the boats go by. You can get right back......Read more.

This was a fantastic peaceful site to find and just on our doorstep too. Lovely spot on the cricket bat field, right next to the river, sat relaxing watching the boats go by. You can get right back to basics and cook outside or the local pub is just a short walk away.

The only downside was the rubbish bins were a long walk away, but then you are getting exercise.

Would be nice to see recycling bins too.

We are definitely going to come back soon....Read less.

"."

Mr S Hynes - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

22/04/2022

Charles is great.

The site is so spacious and huge credit to the owners for not packing in more guest pitches than 8 in the Cricket Bat field by the thames.

Nice new Elsan point very welcome.

Only......Read more.

Charles is great.

The site is so spacious and huge credit to the owners for not packing in more guest pitches than 8 in the Cricket Bat field by the thames.

Nice new Elsan point very welcome.

Only the lack of electric hook up stopped us from staying longer than 4 days

Nice walks and pubs. Great breakfast at Blakes cafe in Clanfield...Read less.

"Weekend at Friars Court"

Mrs A Secker - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

22/04/2022

We wanted a weekend away with easy access to Oxford. The island looked amazing and the pitch alongside the Thames was fantastic. We say out with a beer and watched the kayaks, paddle boards and......Read more.

We wanted a weekend away with easy access to Oxford. The island looked amazing and the pitch alongside the Thames was fantastic. We say out with a beer and watched the kayaks, paddle boards and boats pass by.

The pub next to site was good and Sunday lunch very good.

Will definitely return...Read less.

"So lovely"

Dr K Downey - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

22/04/2022

So lovely that I don’t want others to find it!

"Love it !"

Mr G Atkinson - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

22/04/2022

A bit reluctant to tell other people about this fantastic location , plenty of space, great for the canoe & fishing.

"Wind in the Willows"

Mr E Thompson - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

21/04/2022

A lovely quiet site, professionally run, with direct access to footpaths and local attractions. Best suited for quiet Campers who wish to escape the hub bub and be! Very friendly staff who couldn't......Read more.

A lovely quiet site, professionally run, with direct access to footpaths and local attractions. Best suited for quiet Campers who wish to escape the hub bub and be! Very friendly staff who couldn't have been more attentive. Will return soonest....Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Mr M Manley - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

16/04/2022

We really enjoyed our stay at Friars Court Island CL so much that we have rebooked for 2 weeks in the summer. Right on the Thames, the views are lovely and it suits us that there are few facilities......Read more.

We really enjoyed our stay at Friars Court Island CL so much that we have rebooked for 2 weeks in the summer. Right on the Thames, the views are lovely and it suits us that there are few facilities and only 5 campers can stay on the 3 acre site at any time so will never be crowded. The pub next door has good food and overall the price of the pitch is very reasonable. Love this place....Read less.

"Perfect Location"

Mr M Mullen - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

08/04/2022

Sitting on the banks of the river Thames and surrounded by beautiful villages, this is the perfect location for water activities or easy flat cycling around the countryside. Early season campers......Read more.

Sitting on the banks of the river Thames and surrounded by beautiful villages, this is the perfect location for water activities or easy flat cycling around the countryside. Early season campers should be wary of the soft ground when wet and should choose their pitch location with care....Read less.

"Fantastic location"

Mr J Smith - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

07/04/2022

An incredible place to stay.

"Fantastic location"

J Collins - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

19/10/2021

Very accommodatiing host, beautiful setting , clean and very well tended.

"Joy"

Mr Hudson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

08/10/2021

Peaceful and gentle, in the shadow of the oldest bridge across the Thames. Area is steeped in history - timeless.

A man who cannot be happy at Radcot may find it difficult to be happy anywhere.

"3rd visit"

Mr Hodgkinson - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

05/10/2021

As usual great holiday my friends commented on pitches not being vacated despite after lunchtime arrival as we were late due to a breakdown we had no problems but I understand that's something you'll......Read more.

As usual great holiday my friends commented on pitches not being vacated despite after lunchtime arrival as we were late due to a breakdown we had no problems but I understand that's something you'll be looking into so looking forward to a return visit next year Chris and Trev Hodgkinson...Read less.

"Peaceful and tranquil"

Mr B Rowe - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

30/09/2021

Love this place very peaceful dy the river Thames visited occasionally by an otter and other wildlife I didn’t recommend because I don’t want it to busy and over flowing with to many people !!! I......Read more.

Love this place very peaceful dy the river Thames visited occasionally by an otter and other wildlife I didn’t recommend because I don’t want it to busy and over flowing with to many people !!! I think that would ruin it . It needs to be looked after,...Read less.

"Friars Court"

Mrs Ashdown - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

28/09/2021

Lovely spot, peaceful and pretty. We were on way home so only stayed one night. Would like to use return.

"Beautiful riverside location"

Mr T Head - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

28/09/2021

We have visited this site many times now, mainly on rallies but it has never disappointed. Lovely site right on the river, a great place to spend the weekend with friends.

"Perfick!"

Miss T Pass - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

28/09/2021

I'm reluctant to put a positive review as would love to keep this as a hidden gem. The location is just perfect - beautiful surroundings, access to the river, dog walks, sun & tree shade. The......Read more.

I'm reluctant to put a positive review as would love to keep this as a hidden gem. The location is just perfect - beautiful surroundings, access to the river, dog walks, sun & tree shade. The stress just washes away as soon as we get on site. Thanks again for an amazing few days - hooman and doggie campers had a blast 💜...Read less.

"Great get-away"

Mr G Bryant - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

26/09/2021

What a great ten nights I've just had Very quiet security very good Will be going back for many years

"Returning trips to Friars Court"

Mr S Turner - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

23/09/2021

We visited Friars Court for the 3rd time this year. Lovely peaceful site alongside the river. We also hold centre rallies there and have always had a friendly greeting from Charles the site owner.......Read more.

We visited Friars Court for the 3rd time this year. Lovely peaceful site alongside the river. We also hold centre rallies there and have always had a friendly greeting from Charles the site owner. Well worth a visit...Read less.

"2 night stopover"

Mrs J Banks - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

19/09/2021

A lovely peaceful spot with a pitch just feet from the river. The weather was inclemant but we still managed a walk along the Thames Path and regretted not having our SUP with us.

A basic site, well......Read more.

A lovely peaceful spot with a pitch just feet from the river. The weather was inclemant but we still managed a walk along the Thames Path and regretted not having our SUP with us.

A basic site, well maintained, perfect spot....Read less.

"Stunning location and friendly owners"

Mr W Reid - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

16/09/2021

This is our second trip to Friars Court and we absolutely love it! We stayed the first time on the Island CL and the second in the Cricket Bat field, which we preferred. Our only gripe is there is no......Read more.

This is our second trip to Friars Court and we absolutely love it! We stayed the first time on the Island CL and the second in the Cricket Bat field, which we preferred. Our only gripe is there is no Elson facility on the Cricket Bat field and it is quite a hike to empty the toilet. Apart from that, we just live the tranquility of watching the world float by. We will be back soon. It is our new favourite place and the owners are very friendly indeed. Thank you!...Read less.

"Adequate facilities, unspoilt and very friendly."

Mr S Moore - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

An unspoilt site, simple and as close to wild camping as I wish to be. Very helpful friendly owners.

"Great site right by the river, very quiet and peaceful"

Miss R Woodward - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

Both the Island CL and the Cricket Bat field are located right on the river bank, great for fishing, but we stayed on the Cricket Bat field with lovely trees for shade when it is really hot. ......Read more.

Both the Island CL and the Cricket Bat field are located right on the river bank, great for fishing, but we stayed on the Cricket Bat field with lovely trees for shade when it is really hot. Although hot, on the second day it was quite windy so a windbreak would not go amiss. Just a basic CL but on the Cricket Bat field there is only water so you have to drive up to the Island CL for chemical disposal and waste disposal which is not a problem. The Thames path runs on the other side of the river so riverside walks available. Fishing tackle shop, with bait, in the village of Clanfield, just down the road and also a lovely deli/cafe/Post Office to be found here together with the Plough Hotel and Clanfield Tavern. Swan Hotel/riverside pub just by the entrance and also pubs/supermarkets(Tesco/Waitrose/Aldi), pharmacies and butchers, garage, etc in nearby Faringdon. Beautiful setting when the weather is dry but only downside is you have to drive down a gravel track, with some potholes, to access the site and that can get very messy when it is wet. Also the access to the Island CL, just in front of the chemical disposal/water point, can get very muddy in times of heavy rain as the water runs down off the bridge....Read less.

"Loved the site"

Mr S Hobbs - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

Loved the site. Only criticism was the distance to the rubbish bins and toilet emptying facility; we decided to drive to it. One of the best sites we've been to.

"Holiday"

Mr G James - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

Very pleased with the site and the staff location all good

"Friars court"

Mr T Adams - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

12/09/2021

Very beautiful and tranquil site

"Lazy days by the river Thames"

Mr J Mead - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

12/09/2021

If you like plenty of room and great rural views with a river and paddling water activities near a good pub, look no further. Basic needs, water and waste disposal, are met with easy river access for......Read more.

If you like plenty of room and great rural views with a river and paddling water activities near a good pub, look no further. Basic needs, water and waste disposal, are met with easy river access for paddle boards and canoes. Or if you prefer just sit back and watch the various water craft cruise past with a friendly wave, There are also plenty of easy country walks nearby....Read less.

"Clanfield holiday"

Ms K Lella - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

Absolutely love Friars court , always go on the cricket bat field and we’re lucky enough to have riverside pitches x we ran a rally for the caravan club for ten days and also had 6 days extra as well......Read more.

Absolutely love Friars court , always go on the cricket bat field and we’re lucky enough to have riverside pitches x we ran a rally for the caravan club for ten days and also had 6 days extra as well x looking forward to three weeks next year 👍...Read less.

"Fantastic location for a weekend break"

Mrs Peedell - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

23/08/2021

We cannot recommend Charles and Friars Court enough. The Island CL location is second to none, right on the riverbank with wonderful views. We walked along the Thames Path for 4 miles to Tadpole......Read more.

We cannot recommend Charles and Friars Court enough. The Island CL location is second to none, right on the riverbank with wonderful views. We walked along the Thames Path for 4 miles to Tadpole Bridge and the scenery ~(apart from some cross cows) was simply stunning. Will definitely be making Friars Court regular visits over the next months and years....Read less.

"Another great stay!"

Mrs J Burgum - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

22/08/2021

We love the peace and quiet of the Cricket Bat Field. If we could change anything it would be the introduction of another exit so we wouldn't have the worry of meeting another vehicle coming the......Read more.

We love the peace and quiet of the Cricket Bat Field. If we could change anything it would be the introduction of another exit so we wouldn't have the worry of meeting another vehicle coming the other way at the gate and/or the turning towards the Cricket Bat Field....Read less.

"Thames path campsite"

Mrs J Sheasby - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

15/08/2021

Basic campsite offering good value for money in an ideal location for walking the Thames path. Pub providing food, drink and covered outdoor seating within a few minutes walk.

"Away from it all!"

Mrs S Coles - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

13/08/2021

Wonderful, peaceful location on the banks of the river, with lovely walks nearby.

Great pub just down the road, with a lovely outdoor area & good food.

A little gem of a campsite that we will......Read more.

Wonderful, peaceful location on the banks of the river, with lovely walks nearby.

Great pub just down the road, with a lovely outdoor area & good food.

A little gem of a campsite that we will definitely return to....Read less.

"Long weekend"

Mr D Blanshard - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

13/08/2021

Brilliant, site by the river. Simple and inexpensive. It has the river, trees and a tap. Chuck in some friends for the weekend and it's about perfect. If you need more this site is probably not for......Read more.

Brilliant, site by the river. Simple and inexpensive. It has the river, trees and a tap. Chuck in some friends for the weekend and it's about perfect. If you need more this site is probably not for you. Which is good as I get to go more often :-)...Read less.

"Weekend break"

Mr G Smith - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

12/08/2021

Great small site, close to river, ideal weekend away

"Lovely CL site in beautiful location"

Mrs S Cameron - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

10/08/2021

Lovely CL site in a beautiful location and great value at £10. Motorhome parked beside the Thames, handy for SUP board. Ian site manager very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

"N/A"

A Mitchell - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

06/08/2021

N/A

"Returning customer"

Mr P Morton - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

05/08/2021

Excellent position for access to the Thames for kayaking and fishing. Large field affording big separation between units. Field only (apart from fresh water and toilet emptying facilities) but would......Read more.

Excellent position for access to the Thames for kayaking and fishing. Large field affording big separation between units. Field only (apart from fresh water and toilet emptying facilities) but would highly recommend to people happy to be self sufficient....Read less.

"Peaceful on the river"

Mrs M Jones - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

04/08/2021

We love it at Friars court. This was our second visit and certainly won't be the last. Its a beautiful location on the river and very peaceful. Certainly worth a visit.

"The Cricket Bat Field"

Mr N Blake - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

03/08/2021

Beautiful setting right by the upper reaches of The Thames. Numbers of units on site is kept strictly limited so never overcrowded.

Please note - some of the star ratings do not apply to this......Read more.

Beautiful setting right by the upper reaches of The Thames. Numbers of units on site is kept strictly limited so never overcrowded.

Please note - some of the star ratings do not apply to this location so they are NOT no star ratings....Read less.

"Simple, peaceful and pretty"

Mr. S Fairbrass - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

02/08/2021

Lovely little tree filled field beside the Thames. No facilities apart from a cold tap, though waste can be dumped at their neighbouring site, 150 or so metres away. Perfectly quiet and peaceful......Read more.

Lovely little tree filled field beside the Thames. No facilities apart from a cold tap, though waste can be dumped at their neighbouring site, 150 or so metres away. Perfectly quiet and peaceful night, no crowds, in a pretty location....Read less.

"Riverside touring site"

Mr P Farrow - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

25/07/2021

Excellent 5van cl site easy Access loads of room two mins from swan Inn PH onsight fishing and kayaking river swimming.pleasant riverside walks short drive to local shops super market s ect .

"Beautiful"

Mr D Fidler - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

25/07/2021

Stunning Caravan and Motorhome Club CL on the banks of the river Thames. Beautifully kept with a very natural feel. Just metres from the water. Basic camping facilities but immaculately maintained. A......Read more.

Stunning Caravan and Motorhome Club CL on the banks of the river Thames. Beautifully kept with a very natural feel. Just metres from the water. Basic camping facilities but immaculately maintained. A few hundred metres from Ye Olde Swan pub. A lovely place with a great garden and kayak and paddle board hire....Read less.

"Beautiful CL"

Mrs G Hillier - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

24/07/2021

A lovely little find! We stayed on the Island CL. It is mown well but LOTS of stinging nettles boarder the water front, if those were cleared that would be the icing on the cake as you’d have a much......Read more.

A lovely little find! We stayed on the Island CL. It is mown well but LOTS of stinging nettles boarder the water front, if those were cleared that would be the icing on the cake as you’d have a much better view of the water & access to get in.

Everyone we spoke to had been returning for many years and I understand why.

We walked up to look at the cricket bat field & that is also lovely, much more shaded & more of a feeling of camping in the woods and very quiet, the Island CL you do hear the larger pub camp site opposite.

We really enjoyed our stay & will definitely return.

...Read less.

"Lovely secluded site"

L Richards - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

19/07/2021

Had a great weekend at Friars Court, we stayed on the cricket bat field which was good for fishing, it was a short walk to the elsan point which is located on the island but definitely wouldn't put......Read more.

Had a great weekend at Friars Court, we stayed on the cricket bat field which was good for fishing, it was a short walk to the elsan point which is located on the island but definitely wouldn't put us off returning it is a lovely peaceful site...Read less.

© 2006 - 2022 CampStead