Friars Court

Oxfordshire, England

92 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 92 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

67

Very Good

24

Average

1

Poor

0

Terrible

0

"Beautiful tranquil site"

Hitchcox, Jemma - Stayed with Friends, September 2022

23/09/2022

Such a lovely well maintained site, with nature all around.

The owner was very welcoming. We loved the peace and quite over looking the river. Lovely that the site doesn’t accommodate many so you......Read more.

Such a lovely well maintained site, with nature all around.

The owner was very welcoming. We loved the peace and quite over looking the river. Lovely that the site doesn’t accommodate many so you feel like you have lots of space and privacy....Read less.

"One of my favourite places"

Mann, John - Stayed with Friends, September 2022

23/09/2022

Total peace and quiet, great

"Family trip to the cricket bat field"

Matthews, Bryn - Stayed with Family, September 2022

22/09/2022

Charles is always on hand and very helpful

Could do with a waste bin down by the Elsan point on the cricket bat site

"Fantastic location."

Bottomley, David - Stayed with Family, September 2022

22/09/2022

Lovely location set alongside the river thames in the cricket bat CL , The site is kept clean and tidy at all times and the owners are very helpful, a very small complaint would be the requirement of......Read more.

Lovely location set alongside the river thames in the cricket bat CL , The site is kept clean and tidy at all times and the owners are very helpful, a very small complaint would be the requirement of bins for your rubbish nearer the site ....Read less.

"Great for older generation"

Bryant, Graham - Stayed with Partner, September 2022

22/09/2022

A excellant campsite, Very quiet grass is always cut owner or manager has always come to see us during our stay and both are very friendly and helpful, I would not recommend for children but......Read more.

A excellant campsite, Very quiet grass is always cut owner or manager has always come to see us during our stay and both are very friendly and helpful, I would not recommend for children but brilliant for older generation plenty of places to see within 20 miles...Read less.

"Return to an old friend"

Steel, John - Stayed with Friends, August 2022

20/09/2022

Always a warm welcome from Charles to the Cricket Bat field. Fun on the river as usual

"Perfect spot for fishing"

Walton, Judy - Stayed with Partner, September 2022

18/09/2022

This was a perfect spot for my fishing husband and also great to have the pub so close. All good, thanks.

"Great site next to the Thames"

Brown, Andrew - Stayed with Family, September 2022

18/09/2022

Fantastic site and especially good is like us you canoe, kayak, paddle board or walk. Have been several times and will go back.

"late holiday"

Blake, Robert - Stayed with Family, August 2022

15/09/2022

Lovely quiet site right by the river,

"Perfect peace"

Nelligan, Sean - Stayed with Family, September 2022

14/09/2022

A little piece of paradise, perfect to unwind and get away from it all.

"Lovely location met friends thete"

Wise, Roxanne - Stayed with Partner, September 2022

09/09/2022

Lovely location on the river quiet and unspoilt

"It was ashame that the last night there was 6 vans and not5 but everything els was perfectthank you for a loverly stay"

Trinder, Alison - Stayed Self, August 2022

07/09/2022

There was not any bad bit really

Owner replied to this review

Thank you for your review for my caravan site, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I'm sorry you had......Read more.

Thank you for your review for my caravan site, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I'm sorry you had to see six vans on my Island CL instead of the required five. This was owing to someone arriving, not checking their booking confirmation properly and accidently pitching in the wrong field. I attempted to contact them as soon as I discovered their mistake but was unable to reach them (they replied to my messages to apologise for their error after they had departed). I would like to reassure you this is not a normal occurrence on my CL and look forward to seeing you again....Read less.

"Love the site"

Hobbs, Stephen - Stayed with Partner, September 2022

07/09/2022

Could do with a dustbin area on the site as bin is some distance away

"Another great stay"

Wood, David - Stayed with Friends, August 2022

07/09/2022

Peaceful location on the rivers edge

"Very accommodating"

Rodrigues, Lee - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

05/09/2022

There was some confusion(on my part ) as to my actual booking date and we arrived a day early.

Originally booked for the Island site but fortunately there was room for us in Cricket Bat .

The second......Read more.

There was some confusion(on my part ) as to my actual booking date and we arrived a day early.

Originally booked for the Island site but fortunately there was room for us in Cricket Bat .

The second night we moved to The Island for a comparison.

Both nights were excellent as were the walks to the local hostelries .

We can’t make our minds up which we preferred so will have to return for a rematch !

As the heading states our hosts Ian and Charles couldn’t be anymore accommodating..

Thank you...Read less.

"Lovely stay on the river"

Marchant, Stephen - Stayed with Family, August 2022

03/09/2022

Had a lovely stay kayaking and paddle boarding, will definitely arrange to go back.

Thank you.

"Absolutely love it there"

James, George - Stayed with Family, August 2022

03/09/2022

Very pleased with the site peaceful pub close by if needed nice walks and fun on the river

"Fabulous location"

Atkinson, Garry - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

02/09/2022

We now stay quite regularly, it is ideal for canoe & fishing. The facilities are clean and tidy.

Charles & Ian are very accommodating, they make us feel very welcome. Thank you !

There are some great......Read more.

We now stay quite regularly, it is ideal for canoe & fishing. The facilities are clean and tidy.

Charles & Ian are very accommodating, they make us feel very welcome. Thank you !

There are some great walks along the river & a pub nearby ( although we do not use much as self sufficient.

This month we would have stayed 4 times ....Read less.

"Stop over"

Arnold, Ian - Stayed with Family, August 2022

01/09/2022

We decided to pitch here for a couple of days on a stop over on our way to the midlands, it was so nice we nearly decided to cancel the planned trip and stop here for the week instead, we will......Read more.

We decided to pitch here for a couple of days on a stop over on our way to the midlands, it was so nice we nearly decided to cancel the planned trip and stop here for the week instead, we will definitely be back!!...Read less.

"Good time"

Geil, Conrad - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

31/08/2022

Had a very nice time usual off grid site, clean and tidy.

The only improvement would be some sort of recycling and if possible some sort of landing area's to make it easier to get in and out of......Read more.

Had a very nice time usual off grid site, clean and tidy.

The only improvement would be some sort of recycling and if possible some sort of landing area's to make it easier to get in and out of Kayak/Canoe would need several.

Please do not increase the price...Read less.

"Peaceful riverside site"

Davey, Tina - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

30/08/2022

A lovely site, big enough to spread out and enjoy the river. Good communication from the owner. Nice pub nearby

"Peaceful and relaxing"

Garfitt, Elaine - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

30/08/2022

We Have just spent 18 lovely nights at Friars Court and loved it due to the proximity of the Thames. It was lovely to watch the boats passing. I even paddle boarded straight from the caravan.

It did......Read more.

We Have just spent 18 lovely nights at Friars Court and loved it due to the proximity of the Thames. It was lovely to watch the boats passing. I even paddle boarded straight from the caravan.

It did get noisy at weekends from the camping across the river, but really didn't bother us. It was always quite by 11pm. We even had Madness playing at the pub next door one night. We found the people who keep their boats there were very friendly.

Can't wait to return, hopefully next year....Read less.

"Relaxing and friendly"

Grabham, Andrew - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

29/08/2022

Excellent value for money. So laid back and relaxing

"Motorhome at Friars Island"

Munt, Roger - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

28/08/2022

We only stayed one night (out of 2 planned) due to threatened rain but it was a nice level pitch with moored boats to the north and the Thames to the south with another sort of campsite on the other......Read more.

We only stayed one night (out of 2 planned) due to threatened rain but it was a nice level pitch with moored boats to the north and the Thames to the south with another sort of campsite on the other side of the Thames. It is only licensed for the usual 5 pitch's but there is loads of room so unlikely to feel cramped. While we were there there were a few boats going up and down the Thames and quite a bit of activity across Thames but peaceful on the Friars Island side....Read less.

"2nd visit and it didn’t disappoint"

Cowles, Jacky - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

28/08/2022

Lovely relaxing site and very welcoming

"Beautiful site!"

Von Memerty, Candice - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

27/08/2022

Just such a gorgeous site with the river right in front of you and plenty of grass to relax on. Quiet and not to far from a pub. A great spot!

"Great spot for a peaceful rest"

Garlick, Brian - Stayed Self, August 2022

27/08/2022

Great place watching the boats canoeing and paddle boards go by.

Lots of Swans and the odd kingfisher can be spotted.

This is a basic site with water and disposal of waste points.

Good dog walking.

"A haven of peace a"

Sole, Paul - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

15/08/2022

A haven of peace and tranquility

"One of our favourite places."

Clewley, Bob - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

15/08/2022

This is a fantastic little site. No frill but extremely friendly and stunning location

"We love this place"

Manley, Michael - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

12/08/2022

Having stayed before for a short break in springtime, we booked 2weeks in August. We had a brilliant time, it’s very peaceful there and not at all crowded (which we like). We spent most of the time......Read more.

Having stayed before for a short break in springtime, we booked 2weeks in August. We had a brilliant time, it’s very peaceful there and not at all crowded (which we like). We spent most of the time just sitting and watching boats etc go up and down on the river. You can choose where to park and how close you want to be to the water, it’s just lovely. Lots of lovely walks to go on in the area. Charles and Ian are so lovely and can’t help you enough. We will definately return....Read less.

"Faultless"

Richards, Simon - Stayed with Friends, August 2022

11/08/2022

We have stayed here several times now, it is an absolutely fantastic setting with everything required for a stressful break.

"Stunning location"

Bradley, Roger - Stayed with Friends, August 2022

10/08/2022

Beautiful, secluded site. We’ve stayed there 5 times in the last year we love it so much.

"Pleasant site with good facilities"

Wright, Kay - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

10/08/2022

Pleasant site with good facilities. Large field to choose from, although 2 caravans did decide to site within 6 metres of us but this is nothing to do with friars court, just some caravaners herding......Read more.

Pleasant site with good facilities. Large field to choose from, although 2 caravans did decide to site within 6 metres of us but this is nothing to do with friars court, just some caravaners herding mentality

Lovely to sit in the sunshine and watch the boaters on the river Thames.

We have 2 dogs and lots of walks plus dog friendly pub close by...Read less.

"Rally at the Cricket Bat field"

Nolan, Margaret - Stayed with Friends, July 2022

09/08/2022

Lovely peaceful location on banks of Thames with plenty to see and do if only from the river bank .Swans and Geese & cows entertaining as were the countless boats and river craft. Good......Read more.

Lovely peaceful location on banks of Thames with plenty to see and do if only from the river bank .Swans and Geese & cows entertaining as were the countless boats and river craft. Good cafe/bakery/postoffice in Clanfield just up the road and lots of good walks from the site. An ideal venue for everyone....Read less.

"Peaceful setting! Nature at its best."

Oman, Sophia - Stayed with Partner, August 2022

08/08/2022

We stayed at Cricket Bat Field. It was super easy to check in and later on Ian came to make sure all was ok.

Lots of easy walks around with lunch at the nearby pub.

Above all, what we loved was not......Read more.

We stayed at Cricket Bat Field. It was super easy to check in and later on Ian came to make sure all was ok.

Lots of easy walks around with lunch at the nearby pub.

Above all, what we loved was not to be crowded and total peace and quiet with the company of ducks and swans.

We will definitely go back there!...Read less.

"Absolute gem of a site"

Macfarlane, Suzy - Stayed with Family, July 2022

01/08/2022

I am slightly hesitant in writing this review as it is an absolute gem of a site & don’t want it to always fully booked 😂, we have already rebooked to stay again, you pitch up (No EHU) right on the......Read more.

I am slightly hesitant in writing this review as it is an absolute gem of a site & don’t want it to always fully booked 😂, we have already rebooked to stay again, you pitch up (No EHU) right on the river Thames, watch the boats/barges etc

There is a lovely pub right next door,

I had a broken foot at the time so couldn’t get out much but really enjoyed the passing boats, swans etc...Read less.

"Great place"

Hess, Richard - Stayed with Family, July 2022

31/07/2022

Such a lovely site on a spacious island field with good walks from the site and canoe launching from the site. Site is very efficiently and seriously managed.

"Lovely location"

Bracey, Mike - Stayed with Family, July 2022

28/07/2022

Surrounding areas

"Serene surroundings"

Steel, Thomas - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

25/07/2022

We explored this historic area surrounding this most splendidly serene site.

The river is accessible from Cricket Bat field and we had super times canoeing both directions - including using the......Read more.

We explored this historic area surrounding this most splendidly serene site.

The river is accessible from Cricket Bat field and we had super times canoeing both directions - including using the locks!

The flora and fauna is interesting and diverse.

For those enjoying aircraft - no shortage!

The little grocery shop on one of the fields is well stocked and the service there is very friendly.

We are planning on returning next season.

Have already recommended the site to several people....Read less.

"Beautiful Setting by the River Thames"

Spencer - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

20/07/2022

Beautiful setting by the River Thames on an island with access to walks and pub close by. Area steeped in history with Radcot Bridge and Ye Olde Swan next door. Very quiet and exclusive site.

"Lovely location"

Marshall, James - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

19/07/2022

Lovely location next to the river, great for watching the boats and the antics of the novice paddleboarders!! Very peaceful at night, very spacious site with freedom to pitch wherever you choose.

"Idyllic"

Pass, Theresa - Stayed with Friends, July 2022

18/07/2022

We've stayed here several times & it never disappoints. Absolutely blissful site - shading from the trees makes it a perfect balance for everyone - including the pupz. Access to the rives makes......Read more.

We've stayed here several times & it never disappoints. Absolutely blissful site - shading from the trees makes it a perfect balance for everyone - including the pupz. Access to the rives makes swimming, kayaking & paddleboarding easy & lovely walks around the wider fields for the pupz. Back home all relaxed & booking our next trip!...Read less.

"Parking on the riverbank with great views and ideal for paddle boarding"

Mann, Stephen - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

18/07/2022

Basic site with water and Elsan. The owner and manager both welcomed us making sure everything ok. Only thing to be aware of is the geese poo by the riverbanks

"Fabulous location in a quiet wooded area next to the river .With stunning walks for the dog. 2 minute walk to the local pub that serves great food with views over the river. Will definitely be coming back to this site with its peaceful location"

Steele, Elaine - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

17/07/2022

Clean and well kept grounds

Easy access

Well maintained by owners

"Willows"

Smith, Allison - Stayed with Friends, July 2022

15/07/2022

We are repeat visitors to this site

Beautiful setting with pitches beside the River

Peaceful with the odd swan or narrow boat going by

"Glad we pitched on the Cricket Bat site as more sheltered for us and the dog. We didn't realise that only 8 campers were allowed on the Cricket Bat Field so there was still plenty of space around us."

Thames, Angela - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

12/07/2022

Probably due to security issues but would have been easier to have the small side gate opening rather than keep using the keypad. But no problem really. Also maybe a waste bin on the cricket bat......Read more.

Probably due to security issues but would have been easier to have the small side gate opening rather than keep using the keypad. But no problem really. Also maybe a waste bin on the cricket bat field might be an idea. But again no problem just to take it to the bins by the entrance gate.

Very nice site lovely location by the river. So a good week had by us....Read less.

"Magic"

Ward - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

10/07/2022

We met Charles and he was very very helpful the campsite is excellent quite beautiful evenings by the river what more could you want

"Lovely peaceful location"

Waterman, Debbie - Stayed with Partner, July 2022

10/07/2022

We had a relaxing couple of days at Friars Court. Originally on the CL but we asked to move to the cricket bat field which we preferred. There are lovely walks along the Thames in both directions. We......Read more.

We had a relaxing couple of days at Friars Court. Originally on the CL but we asked to move to the cricket bat field which we preferred. There are lovely walks along the Thames in both directions. We walked to the pub at Tadpole Bridge on evening and had drinks in the Olde Swan next to the site the other evening. We would definitely return...Read less.

"Excellent CL site"

Martin, John - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

06/07/2022

Have stayed on Friars Court CL site many times and have always found it to be of an excellent standard.

There can sometimes be noise from campsite on opposite side of the river. Which is obviously......Read more.

Have stayed on Friars Court CL site many times and have always found it to be of an excellent standard.

There can sometimes be noise from campsite on opposite side of the river. Which is obviously out of Friars Court's control....Read less.

"Tranquil haven"

Kauert, Nicola - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

01/07/2022

From the moment we booked online with a slick booking system, we were emailed with full instructions for our arrival and various opportunities available locally during our stay.

We met the site......Read more.

From the moment we booked online with a slick booking system, we were emailed with full instructions for our arrival and various opportunities available locally during our stay.

We met the site manager who was very helpful and settled down to a blissful weekend, watching the wildlife and passing boats....Read less.

"Friars Court visit"

Fathers, John - Stayed with Family, June 2022

01/07/2022

Very nice and well managed site

"wonderfull"

Farrow, Paul - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

29/06/2022

Riverside pitches country Riverside pub within 1 mins walk fantastic walk along the Thames path shops a short drive away what more could you want .

"The cuckoo"

Saunders, G - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

29/06/2022

The staff were excellent friendly helpful even if they were not feeling to good getting on to the site was easy Space was plenty

It was so pecefull and our small brown friend love it yes we will be......Read more.

The staff were excellent friendly helpful even if they were not feeling to good getting on to the site was easy Space was plenty

It was so pecefull and our small brown friend love it yes we will be going back

But most of all we heard the cuckoo for the first time in twenty years that alone was worth the stay...Read less.

"Peaceful, beautiful setting"

Young, Valerie - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

28/06/2022

We stayed at Cricket Bat Field in our motorhome. We pitched just a few metres from the River Thames and had a clear view across the river to open fields and enjoyed watching and listening to the......Read more.

We stayed at Cricket Bat Field in our motorhome. We pitched just a few metres from the River Thames and had a clear view across the river to open fields and enjoyed watching and listening to the curlews. It was a great base for walking and canoeing....Read less.

"Back to Nature"

Rollett, Graham - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

28/06/2022

This is a site with very basic facilities, water tap, chemical toilet disposal and waste disposal, but having said that it is a lovely place to relax and enjoy nature and a spot of fishing. Staff are......Read more.

This is a site with very basic facilities, water tap, chemical toilet disposal and waste disposal, but having said that it is a lovely place to relax and enjoy nature and a spot of fishing. Staff are friendly and helpful and the size of the site ensures plenty of space between units. There is a pub within a short stumble and the local village of Clanfield (1.5mls) has a shop, post office and very good fishing tackle shop. The Thames path provides walking opportunities either upstream or down and the town of Lechlade is well worth a visit. The Aircraft movements from Brize Norton can be a bit noisy but are also fascinating in their own right and are occasional rather than continuous. The only cautionary word relates to the Geese and their droppings. The island is home to some Canada geese who graze on its grass and leave behind their poo. We found that pitching back from the rivers edge took us out of the worst of the droppings and once camped the geese avoided us. Will go again....Read less.

"Great site, minimum facilities but excellent location."

Woodward, Rosie - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

21/06/2022

Lovely site just 11 miles from our home. The Island CL (we used to moor our boat there) is good but not as peaceful as the Cricket Bat field. Main problems are the goose poo on the bank and we......Read more.

Lovely site just 11 miles from our home. The Island CL (we used to moor our boat there) is good but not as peaceful as the Cricket Bat field. Main problems are the goose poo on the bank and we would imagine it might be more noisy at weekends with the campsite opposite, the pub and the pub hires paddle boards and possibly kayak (a problem when we moored there).. The Cricket Bat field is more peaceful - curlews on the meadow opposite, the cuckcoo in the background and more conducive to fishing - certainly during the week.. Military aircraft from Brize Norton do fly circuits over the site at some times but not too much of a problem. Convenient for local stores (Aldi, Tesco and Waitrose in Faringdon) and a superb cafe/deli (Blakes Kitchen (https://www.blakeskitchen.com/) plus easy access to a number of local pubs, etc and local places of interest - Kelmscott Manor, the Cotswolds including Blenheim Palace, Burford and much more. Good helpful staff....Read less.

"Impressions"

Osman, Angela - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

20/06/2022

If you are looking for peace and tranquillity in a beautiful setting you will not be dissapointed!

"Perfect Chill Place"

Rausch, Alistair - Stayed with Family, June 2022

20/06/2022

This is a lovely, quiet spot right on the Thames, with a great pub next door and plenty of flat country walks. Watching the sun go down over the river is a perfect way to do justice to a bottle of......Read more.

This is a lovely, quiet spot right on the Thames, with a great pub next door and plenty of flat country walks. Watching the sun go down over the river is a perfect way to do justice to a bottle of wine....Read less.

"Fabulous for a relaxing few days watching the world float by"

Pattison, Lisa - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

18/06/2022

Fabulous chilled few days watching geese, ducks, swans, and activities on the river Thames. Only downside is the amount of goose poo in the field where a massive herd of geese wander about to graze......Read more.

Fabulous chilled few days watching geese, ducks, swans, and activities on the river Thames. Only downside is the amount of goose poo in the field where a massive herd of geese wander about to graze every day. We just cleared an area for the awning and it was fine.

Great pub 100m away and lovely circular walk along the river over the old man’s bridge and back.

Loads of space in the field, parked right on river edge with view between the trees. Field with basics, water, bins and chemical disposal point.

We enjoyed our stay, loved watching the boats, swimmers, kayakers and activities on the river....Read less.

"We stayed in the beautiful cricket bat field which provides shade, tranquil setting and peace and quiet. We specifically choose this site as we have dogs and here we are away from everyone in order not to disturb others."

Pakeman, Sue - Stayed with Friends, June 2022

17/06/2022

Peaceful, great access to river, local walks and near town facilities should we need them.

Owner and manager are very helpful and genuinely nice people. We hire our own toilets (when a large group)......Read more.

Peaceful, great access to river, local walks and near town facilities should we need them.

Owner and manager are very helpful and genuinely nice people. We hire our own toilets (when a large group) as there aren't any in Cricket Bat field and the trek to the rubbish bins is a bit tiresome but other than that we love it here. Tap for water on site and a new waste tank for the disposal of caravan/motorhome portables.

River is accessible to launch paddle boards, canoes, although careful getting in and out, we've ended up in the river more than once! Take a buoyancy aid for your own safety as the river can flow rapidly at times when its windy.

The weather helps though. Not sure whether is would be so lovely if it was pouring with rain all weekend?? But that's not under the control of the owner so we will let him off xx

We love it here. Great for all the family. Bird watching paradise. Swans, geese, moorhens. Watch where the little ones walk though!...Read less.

"Clean well run friendly"

Anderson, Jill - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

17/06/2022

Upon arrival we were welcomed and given clear instruction where to go and what to do we were on the Cl so were given information how to use the facilities etc...

Site was well manicured lawns cut.......Read more.

Upon arrival we were welcomed and given clear instruction where to go and what to do we were on the Cl so were given information how to use the facilities etc...

Site was well manicured lawns cut. Had everything we needed. Shower was lovely hot water clean and close to cl site fishing was good. Cambridge was a good day out used the Milton Park and ride very easy. Used the hop on hop off bus to see the city lovely day out.

3 tuns pub quite local but need to drive to Nice for a pint.

All round a good holiday....Read less.

"Have booked another break!!!"

Cowles, Jacky - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

16/06/2022

Beautiful location and lovely nearby walks

"What a wonderful place."

Higgs, Nicolette - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

14/06/2022

We had a lovely stay in a beautiful place, the folks on the moorings were friendly. With a pub on the doorstep too. The only thing we would have liked was E.H.U. although that wouldn’t stop us from......Read more.

We had a lovely stay in a beautiful place, the folks on the moorings were friendly. With a pub on the doorstep too. The only thing we would have liked was E.H.U. although that wouldn’t stop us from staying again, hopefully for longer next time. All in all a great place...Read less.

"Tranquility at its best"

Lewis, Sally - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

13/06/2022

We stayed in Cricket Bat field for the third time. We pitched right by the Thames with geece, swans and ducks for companions! Loved watching the narrow boats. Great pub. We cycled miles to the local......Read more.

We stayed in Cricket Bat field for the third time. We pitched right by the Thames with geece, swans and ducks for companions! Loved watching the narrow boats. Great pub. We cycled miles to the local villages. Charles is an excellent host, putting an appearance in most days, he even managed to organise someone with a metal detector to locate my lost ring! We love it at Cricket Bat and highly recommend staying. We'll be back!...Read less.

"Cotswolds Retreat"

Hurry, Graeme - Stayed with Partner, May 2022

10/06/2022

Over the years we have visited the Island CL at Friars Court many times. It never changes and we never tire returning here.

The CL offers the essential basics of a CL (fresh potable water, elsan and......Read more.

Over the years we have visited the Island CL at Friars Court many times. It never changes and we never tire returning here.

The CL offers the essential basics of a CL (fresh potable water, elsan and grey water disposal, rubbish disposal and decent access) yet punches above its status owing to its location being bang on the bank of the Thames. The required essentials are impeccably maintained.

The layout is informal but all caravans tend to pitch next to the river's bank which is wonderful as it is so relaxing to watch the wildlife and boats pass by. The Thames footpath runs nearby as do other footpaths. We even managed to launch our inflatable canoe from the CL.

Clanfield is charming, Faringdon and Bampton are the closest locations for shops. The owner is charming and visits you to ensure you know where the facilities are located but is never intrusive.

No EHU or toilets / showers, and all the better for it!

The CL is firmly one of our favourites and return visits will happen!...Read less.

"Beautiful spot"

Timberlake, Janice - Stayed with Partner, June 2022

07/06/2022

Well maintained, interesting location. Lovely welcome.

"Peace & tranquility"

Wilkins, Annette - Stayed with Family, May 2022

03/06/2022

We stayed on the Cricket Bat field this time, and 2 weeks before we stayed on the Island site. They are both absolutely lovely, although very different. On balance I think I prefer the Cricket Bat......Read more.

We stayed on the Cricket Bat field this time, and 2 weeks before we stayed on the Island site. They are both absolutely lovely, although very different. On balance I think I prefer the Cricket Bat field - we'll probably stay again soon, just to double check!...Read less.

"Unique CL"

Attridge - Stayed with Partner, May 2022

30/05/2022

An excellent CL in a unique position. Adjacent footpaths for walking, easy road access for trips further afield and direct river access to launch canoes etc. Plenty of wildlife and activity on the......Read more.

An excellent CL in a unique position. Adjacent footpaths for walking, easy road access for trips further afield and direct river access to launch canoes etc. Plenty of wildlife and activity on the river if you prefer to sit and watch. Quiet and peaceful despite proximity to road, pub and commercial campsite. Will visit again....Read less.

"Beautiful"

Matthews, Bryn - Stayed with Family, May 2022

26/05/2022

Could do with rubbish bins at cricket bat field

"Location, location, location"

Marchant, Stephen - Stayed with Family, May 2022

23/05/2022

What a great site right on the Thames ideal for canoeing, fishing etc and a pub on your doorstep what more could you ask for.

"What an idyllic site"

Nelligan, Sean - Stayed with Partner, May 2022

21/05/2022

Simply a beautiful location. Pitches beside the Thames on a gorgeous rural site. Could not have been more perfect, we will be back soon. Thank you to Charles too for a warm and friendly welcome 😊

"Super site"

Ledbury, Lisa - Stayed with Partner, May 2022

16/05/2022

Really lovely location which is kept very neat and tidy. Great for walks from the site, for spotting wildlife and generally relaxing. Life on the river was quite subdued (early season) so lended to......Read more.

Really lovely location which is kept very neat and tidy. Great for walks from the site, for spotting wildlife and generally relaxing. Life on the river was quite subdued (early season) so lended to the tranquility of our stay. Ian was most welcoming and passed on local info for walking, eats etc. We are looking forward to our next stay, will definitely be back. Nice to be off grid!...Read less.

"Relaxing Bank Holiday Break"

Edinborough, Antony - Stayed with Family, April 2022

06/05/2022

This is a great CL, we stayed on the Island Park and for 5 units, it's huge. You can pitch right up along the banks of the Thames and just watch the world go by. Very Relaxing, and of course,......Read more.

This is a great CL, we stayed on the Island Park and for 5 units, it's huge. You can pitch right up along the banks of the Thames and just watch the world go by. Very Relaxing, and of course, having a great Pub on your doorstep is a bonus too....Read less.

"Excellent Stay"

Lockyer, Lesley - Stayed with Partner, April 2022

30/04/2022

Stayed on the Island CL site. Lovely feild, great to be able to set up where you like and be next to the river. Quiet location with nice sunny aspect and river views. The site warden, Ian was a......Read more.

Stayed on the Island CL site. Lovely feild, great to be able to set up where you like and be next to the river. Quiet location with nice sunny aspect and river views. The site warden, Ian was a lovely bloke, excellent welcome. Water, elsan and rubbish, but no recycling unfortunately. We loved it and would definitely return for a few quiet days by the river....Read less.

"Gem"

Burgis, Marilyn - Stayed with Partner, April 2022

27/04/2022

Couldn’t believe we hadn’t discovered this site before, in the CMC directory says adjoining undenied water. To be right on the Thames was just amazing. Very peaceful, so much so we never heard the......Read more.

Couldn’t believe we hadn’t discovered this site before, in the CMC directory says adjoining undenied water. To be right on the Thames was just amazing. Very peaceful, so much so we never heard the traffic a few hundred yards. Away although the wind direction probably had something to do with that. Can imagine there might be a bit of camping noise on weekends/school holidays from across the river camping field. Cricket Bat field also seemed to offer river frontage and further away from the road and the opposite camping field. Thames walks in both directions, you may have to walk through fields of cows but apart from being inquisitive, leave you alone. Ye Olde Swan looked lovely but we were too late for food after our walk....Read less.

"Lovely spot by the peaceful River Thames"

Martin, Heidi - Stayed with Partner, April 2022

24/04/2022

We were blown away by how lovely Cricket Bat Field is! The planted grove of willows is beautifully kept and there is direct van access to firm ground right at the water’s edge! There were plenty of......Read more.

We were blown away by how lovely Cricket Bat Field is! The planted grove of willows is beautifully kept and there is direct van access to firm ground right at the water’s edge! There were plenty of ducks and swans on the river. We saw the full moon rise over the fields on the opposite bank, and it was lovely sitting with breakfast or a cuppa and watching boats, barges, canoes and paddleboards gently float by. The pub and historic bridge are worth a visit and you have direct access to the Thames Path in both directions. Lovely 😊 We will definitely be back!...Read less.

"Fantastic find close to home."

Chapman, Julie - Stayed with Partner, April 2022

24/04/2022

This was a fantastic peaceful site to find and just on our doorstep too. Lovely spot on the cricket bat field, right next to the river, sat relaxing watching the boats go by. You can get right back......Read more.

This was a fantastic peaceful site to find and just on our doorstep too. Lovely spot on the cricket bat field, right next to the river, sat relaxing watching the boats go by. You can get right back to basics and cook outside or the local pub is just a short walk away.

The only downside was the rubbish bins were a long walk away, but then you are getting exercise.

Would be nice to see recycling bins too.

We are definitely going to come back soon....Read less.

"."

Hynes, Simon - Stayed with Partner, April 2022

22/04/2022

Charles is great.

The site is so spacious and huge credit to the owners for not packing in more guest pitches than 8 in the Cricket Bat field by the thames.

Nice new Elsan point very welcome.

Only......Read more.

Charles is great.

The site is so spacious and huge credit to the owners for not packing in more guest pitches than 8 in the Cricket Bat field by the thames.

Nice new Elsan point very welcome.

Only the lack of electric hook up stopped us from staying longer than 4 days

Nice walks and pubs. Great breakfast at Blakes cafe in Clanfield...Read less.

"Weekend at Friars Court"

Secker, Adriana - Stayed with Family, April 2022

22/04/2022

We wanted a weekend away with easy access to Oxford. The island looked amazing and the pitch alongside the Thames was fantastic. We say out with a beer and watched the kayaks, paddle boards and......Read more.

We wanted a weekend away with easy access to Oxford. The island looked amazing and the pitch alongside the Thames was fantastic. We say out with a beer and watched the kayaks, paddle boards and boats pass by.

The pub next to site was good and Sunday lunch very good.

Will definitely return...Read less.

"So lovely"

Downey, Katherine - Stayed with Partner, April 2022

22/04/2022

So lovely that I don’t want others to find it!

"Love it !"

Atkinson, Garry - Stayed with Partner, April 2022

22/04/2022

A bit reluctant to tell other people about this fantastic location , plenty of space, great for the canoe & fishing.

"Wind in the Willows"

Thompson, Eric - Stayed with Partner, April 2022

21/04/2022

A lovely quiet site, professionally run, with direct access to footpaths and local attractions. Best suited for quiet Campers who wish to escape the hub bub and be! Very friendly staff who couldn't......Read more.

A lovely quiet site, professionally run, with direct access to footpaths and local attractions. Best suited for quiet Campers who wish to escape the hub bub and be! Very friendly staff who couldn't have been more attentive. Will return soonest....Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Manley, Michael - Stayed with Partner, April 2022

16/04/2022

We really enjoyed our stay at Friars Court Island CL so much that we have rebooked for 2 weeks in the summer. Right on the Thames, the views are lovely and it suits us that there are few facilities......Read more.

We really enjoyed our stay at Friars Court Island CL so much that we have rebooked for 2 weeks in the summer. Right on the Thames, the views are lovely and it suits us that there are few facilities and only 5 campers can stay on the 3 acre site at any time so will never be crowded. The pub next door has good food and overall the price of the pitch is very reasonable. Love this place....Read less.

"Perfect Location"

Mullen, Martin - Stayed with Family, April 2022

08/04/2022

Sitting on the banks of the river Thames and surrounded by beautiful villages, this is the perfect location for water activities or easy flat cycling around the countryside. Early season campers......Read more.

Sitting on the banks of the river Thames and surrounded by beautiful villages, this is the perfect location for water activities or easy flat cycling around the countryside. Early season campers should be wary of the soft ground when wet and should choose their pitch location with care....Read less.

"Fantastic location"

Smith, Jonathan - Stayed with Family, April 2022

07/04/2022

An incredible place to stay.

"Fantastic location"

Collins, J - Stayed with Partner, October 2021

19/10/2021

Very accommodatiing host, beautiful setting , clean and very well tended.

"Joy"

Hudson - Stayed with Partner, September 2021

08/10/2021

Peaceful and gentle, in the shadow of the oldest bridge across the Thames. Area is steeped in history - timeless.

A man who cannot be happy at Radcot may find it difficult to be happy anywhere.

"3rd visit"

Hodgkinson - Stayed with Friends, September 2021

05/10/2021

As usual great holiday my friends commented on pitches not being vacated despite after lunchtime arrival as we were late due to a breakdown we had no problems but I understand that's something you'll......Read more.

As usual great holiday my friends commented on pitches not being vacated despite after lunchtime arrival as we were late due to a breakdown we had no problems but I understand that's something you'll be looking into so looking forward to a return visit next year Chris and Trev Hodgkinson...Read less.

"Peaceful and tranquil"

Rowe, Billy - Stayed with Friends, September 2021

30/09/2021

Love this place very peaceful dy the river Thames visited occasionally by an otter and other wildlife I didn’t recommend because I don’t want it to busy and over flowing with to many people !!! I......Read more.

Love this place very peaceful dy the river Thames visited occasionally by an otter and other wildlife I didn’t recommend because I don’t want it to busy and over flowing with to many people !!! I think that would ruin it . It needs to be looked after,...Read less.

"Friars Court"

Ashdown - Stayed with Partner, September 2021

28/09/2021

Lovely spot, peaceful and pretty. We were on way home so only stayed one night. Would like to use return.

"Beautiful riverside location"

Head, Tim - Stayed with Friends, September 2021

28/09/2021

We have visited this site many times now, mainly on rallies but it has never disappointed. Lovely site right on the river, a great place to spend the weekend with friends.

"Perfick!"

Pass, Theresa - Stayed with Friends, September 2021

28/09/2021

I'm reluctant to put a positive review as would love to keep this as a hidden gem. The location is just perfect - beautiful surroundings, access to the river, dog walks, sun & tree shade. The......Read more.

I'm reluctant to put a positive review as would love to keep this as a hidden gem. The location is just perfect - beautiful surroundings, access to the river, dog walks, sun & tree shade. The stress just washes away as soon as we get on site. Thanks again for an amazing few days - hooman and doggie campers had a blast 💜...Read less.

© 2006 - 2022 CampStead