Friars Court

Oxfordshire, England

66 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 66 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

56

Very Good

10

Average

0

Poor

0

Terrible

0

"Beautiful spot..."

Fidler - Stayed Self, June 2024

12/06/2024

Maybe a pass to your gardens would be welcome. I only discovered them this year even though I have stayed there a few times now...

"Gem of a site"

Barnes, Kath - Stayed with Partner, June 2024

09/06/2024

This is a lovely location right beside the Thames with lots of countryside walks and a pub on the doorstep with a few more in the nearby village within a mile of the site. There is also a marina so......Read more.

This is a lovely location right beside the Thames with lots of countryside walks and a pub on the doorstep with a few more in the nearby village within a mile of the site. There is also a marina so plenty of boat watching too. The CL filed (where we stayed) is very big so even if full to it max of 5 there would be loads of space. You could easily fit 20 and still have spacious pitches. Lovely warm welcome too. It was recommended to us by friends and we would have no hesitation recommending to others....Read less.

"Peaceful break by the Thames"

Geerah, Tony - Stayed Self, June 2024

09/06/2024

Very large pitches ideal setting next to the river Thames. Great for dog walks and for cycling plenty of flat routes through pretty Oxfordshire countryside and villages.

"Peace and tranquility nestled in with the Geese and Owls"

Philippo, Marc - Stayed with Partner, May 2024

06/06/2024

We spent 2 blissful nights camped on the cricket bat field with its lush green grass, the tranquil river and sounds of nature. On arrival we were welcomed and learned about the history of Friars......Read more.

We spent 2 blissful nights camped on the cricket bat field with its lush green grass, the tranquil river and sounds of nature. On arrival we were welcomed and learned about the history of Friars Court, local walks and the locality of the Thames path. There are adequate facilities for fully contained campers such as fresh water and an elsan point. Don’t need much more than that other than the Swan for a pint which is a 10 minute walk. We were sad to leave....Read less.

"Summer 24 Road Trip"

Cooper, Paul - Stayed with Partner, May 2024

03/06/2024

We always like staying at Friars Court, it's so tranquil. Cricket Bat pitches are our favourite. The Swan serves good food in pleasant surroundings with friendly staff and there are lovely walks......Read more.

We always like staying at Friars Court, it's so tranquil. Cricket Bat pitches are our favourite. The Swan serves good food in pleasant surroundings with friendly staff and there are lovely walks along the river Thames. We try and get there at least once a year....Read less.

"Perfect for a relaxing weekend away, very quiet site in a great location."

Luker, Adrian - Stayed with Partner, May 2024

28/05/2024

Basic facilities for off grid caravaning/camping but more than adequate. Very reasonable pitch prices in a perfect location to explore the Thames River and nearby villages and pubs. Recommended !

"Excellent location tranquil setting"

Bailey, Melanie - Stayed with Friends, May 2024

24/05/2024

Beautiful tranquil setting for a no frills campsite. Set in a field along side a river the campsite is a perfect setting if you have your own facilities and looking for a peaceful getaway.

"Perfect with the cuckoo for company."

Cumiskey, Gail - Stayed with Friends, May 2024

23/05/2024

We were on the Cricket Bat field and that in itself is stunning. We were very lucky with the weather the sun shone on us all weekend!

The Thames path walk is great walking! Also the site is only 5......Read more.

We were on the Cricket Bat field and that in itself is stunning. We were very lucky with the weather the sun shone on us all weekend!

The Thames path walk is great walking! Also the site is only 5 min walk from a great pub, withs food!

You will need your own Loo and shower!

Such a peaceful and restful weekend, just perfect....Read less.

"Riverside Caravan Site"

Lukehurst, Bryan - Stayed with Partner, October 2023

20/10/2023

If you want to fish then the River Thames is outside of your unit.

If you want to walk then the countryside is all around you.

If you just want peace you are in a tranquil and spacious site.

If you......Read more.

If you want to fish then the River Thames is outside of your unit.

If you want to walk then the countryside is all around you.

If you just want peace you are in a tranquil and spacious site.

If you want, or need, a pub then it is a very few minutes walk away.

If you want, or need, to shop then it is only a few minutes drive away.

If you are concerned regarding security you are behind a locked gate.

If you like a well kept site then this is where to go.

Minimal facilities and hope it is always kept that way (no electric hook ups), a perfect site for a quiet holiday....Read less.

"Great spot"

Brown, Andrew - Stayed with Partner, October 2023

17/10/2023

Peaceful riverside beautiful condition. Will be back.

"Great Riverside Location!"

Leech, Christopher - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

16/10/2023

We recently spent a 9 night break on the island CL which totally lived up to my expectations. We were extremely lucky to enjoy the exceptional warm weather in mid September and it was great to be......Read more.

We recently spent a 9 night break on the island CL which totally lived up to my expectations. We were extremely lucky to enjoy the exceptional warm weather in mid September and it was great to be able to to full advantage of this wonderful riverside location. Both Charles and Ian visited us during the course of our stay and both were extremely friendly and welcoming. Would would not hesitate to recommend this site and hope to visit again in the future!...Read less.

"Tranquil setting"

Ghijben - Stayed with Partner, October 2023

15/10/2023

Lovely tranquil setting overlooking the river Thames . Friendly helpful owner came and said hello .We were the only motorhome there on a monday and Tuesday in October so we could park anywhere and......Read more.

Lovely tranquil setting overlooking the river Thames . Friendly helpful owner came and said hello .We were the only motorhome there on a monday and Tuesday in October so we could park anywhere and great for our puppy to run on his log leash . Lots of wildlife . we sported herons and swans with their cygnets .

Friendly old pub next to the site .

The grass was quite long but that is a small niggle .

Relaxing few days in the last of the warm weather ....Read less.

"Stunning location"

Pailor, Mandy - Stayed Self, October 2023

13/10/2023

It is a shame that the public footpath from the old man's bridge to the campsite is closed....as it made a lovely circular dog walk

Owner replied to this review

I quite agree that the path from Old Man’s Bridge down to the caravan site makes for a lovely walk.......Read more.

I quite agree that the path from Old Man’s Bridge down to the caravan site makes for a lovely walk. However, this route is not a public footpath and was solely for use by caravanners staying on my site. Unfortunately, owing to an issue with the number of other walkers using this route, we have had to restrict access to ensure we could maintain the privacy and security of the site. A public footpath does cross Friars Court farmland, and this runs from Old Man’s Bridge down to the main road near Clanfield. If you would like to continue using the old route please ask us about it when you next come to stay....Read less.

"Peaceful."

Spencer - Stayed with Family, September 2023

06/10/2023

Excellent peaceful location. Grass could have been cut a bit shorter on cricket bat field

"Fantastic location"

Atkinson, Garry - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

29/09/2023

One of the best sites we use, we are regularly there.

"Unspoilt and unbelievably quiet part of the Thames"

Funnell, Carol - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

24/09/2023

We stayed on the island cl site on a rather blustery day in September. The pitches front the riverside and it would have been delightful to sit out on a warm summers evenibg and watch the world go......Read more.

We stayed on the island cl site on a rather blustery day in September. The pitches front the riverside and it would have been delightful to sit out on a warm summers evenibg and watch the world go by. No facilities aside from water refill and grey and black water emptying . Charles came by to greet us and explained a little about the area . We loved it and would most certainly return if down this way...Read less.

"We have been going to this site for over 30 yrs to enjoy the quiet and the Thames."

Mann, John - Stayed with Friends, September 2023

23/09/2023

Best about this site is there is nothing fancy, just water and disposal.

"Well kept without spoiling this natural environment."

Ball, John - Stayed with Friends, September 2023

22/09/2023

Can't fault the site, ots management or the local area.

"Great"

Bridge - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

21/09/2023

Great place and friendly host.

"Peace and quiet"

Bryant, Graham - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

21/09/2023

every year we go to Friars court and never tire of going back, It is always so quiet and peaceful we certainly intend to go back for many more years, We have no complaints on how the site is or how......Read more.

every year we go to Friars court and never tire of going back, It is always so quiet and peaceful we certainly intend to go back for many more years, We have no complaints on how the site is or how it is run, Electric hook up would make it a site hard to beat but that would also raise the price so stay as you are...Read less.

"Peaceful site"

Hobbs, Stephen - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

18/09/2023

Have been before and it suits us well. Perhaps bin could be nearer site.

"Riverside Site"

Robbins, Sheila - Stayed with Friends, September 2023

17/09/2023

Excellent site to either sit and relax by the river or under the shade of the trees.

Go for a walk aling the river and have a pint or two on the way back.

"Another great stay"

Richards, Simon - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

15/09/2023

This was our first time staying on the island, we have stayed many times on the cricket bay field but thought we would give the island a try, it didn’t disappoint, beautiful location with well kept......Read more.

This was our first time staying on the island, we have stayed many times on the cricket bay field but thought we would give the island a try, it didn’t disappoint, beautiful location with well kept field and water and waste services nearby, we thought we might get noise from campsite across the river but that wasn’t the case. Looking forward to returning next year!...Read less.

"Riverside heaven"

Ralph, Geoff - Stayed with Partner, September 2023

14/09/2023

A warm welcome from both the owner and the manager who both clearly care that there guests are happy.

It would be difficult to be anything other than happy on this wonderful site on the upper......Read more.

A warm welcome from both the owner and the manager who both clearly care that there guests are happy.

It would be difficult to be anything other than happy on this wonderful site on the upper reaches of the Thames, ample space for all to have a Riverside pitch without encroaching on others.

Beautiful walks through rural Oxfordshire both up and down river to the picturesque locks.

The nearby pub with a Riverside garden provides a variety of food at reasonable prices so all in all a perfect place to relax....Read less.

"Super place"

James, George - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

08/09/2023

Very pleased with the site and the staff are so friendly

"Radfest weekend"

Marsh - Stayed with Friends, September 2023

07/09/2023

There was only 1 thing that really upset us, on Saturday 2nd Sept I was crossing the bridge back to the road with my puppy on her lead when coming the other way was a lady who was camping there too......Read more.

There was only 1 thing that really upset us, on Saturday 2nd Sept I was crossing the bridge back to the road with my puppy on her lead when coming the other way was a lady who was camping there too with a black dog was off the lead a savagely attacked my puppy , my dog was screaming me and my friend had to drag the dog away and the woman just walked off never said a word or even looked back to apologise for it, my puppy is only 6 months old and since Saturday won't go near another dog at moment, surely if you know your dog is like that they should be on a tight lead,I know who the person was and see them a couple of times on Sunday morning and she walked passed us sat there not even a good morning funny that how every body else there even people on boats did, this was very upsetting for us and really put a dampener on us staying on island again if there is people like that there. Sorry to say that but thought you had to be told...Read less.

"Motorhome with paddleboards and dog"

Barrett, Mark - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

01/09/2023

Charles is an excellent and attentive host. He came to introduce himself to us shortly after arrival and we also met him out on a walk. Charles is a passionate custodian of a very interestingly......Read more.

Charles is an excellent and attentive host. He came to introduce himself to us shortly after arrival and we also met him out on a walk. Charles is a passionate custodian of a very interestingly managed estate. I regret not finding out more about it before arrival.

In future I would select the Cricket Bat field on busy BH weekends due to the activity on the campsite accross the water managed by the pub.

The pitches are right on the water's edge and ideal for safe swimming and paddleboarding which is very rare....Read less.

"Peaceful tranquility clean site"

Moore, Louisa - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

29/08/2023

Wow … our stay at friars court Cl was so easy to book deposit paid final payment paid all the needed information was in e mail completed to high attention to detail and all any one need to know is in......Read more.

Wow … our stay at friars court Cl was so easy to book deposit paid final payment paid all the needed information was in e mail completed to high attention to detail and all any one need to know is in there … easy to find beautiful area all surrounding areas we walked were just so beautiful and peaceful wildlife if quiet on your feet is glorious…. We we walked to bampton gentle 3 hour walk stopping as was hot fir refreshments in the local shop …. Lovely lady full of spirit served us such a pleasure to meet her … one can only assume she has and will live a very filled life with laughter all the way the shop has everything one chord need if forgotten something …. The river is stunning lots gush ducks swans signets geese crows owls wood or lots more to name a few deer and cattle on route to walk river …… met two lovely lady’s if staff at the loch called rushy loch do an amazing job looking after swans and the land all round it not to mention helping the boaters through the loch ,...Read less.

"Peacefull haven as always"

Hutson, Adrian - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

29/08/2023

Hard to find any faults and we always enjoy our trips. If we had to find anything that could enhance the site it would be waste bin facilities on the cricket bat field and possibly extra water points......Read more.

Hard to find any faults and we always enjoy our trips. If we had to find anything that could enhance the site it would be waste bin facilities on the cricket bat field and possibly extra water points scattered about. Both nice to haves but will not stop us visiting again....Read less.

"2nd stay and never been disappointed"

Ballard, Kay - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

29/08/2023

Stayed on the Cricket Bat Field. Such a lovely, peaceful spot. No sound of traffic on our pitch which was a real treat. Great walks from site too. Owner. Was very friendly and accommodating. Will......Read more.

Stayed on the Cricket Bat Field. Such a lovely, peaceful spot. No sound of traffic on our pitch which was a real treat. Great walks from site too. Owner. Was very friendly and accommodating. Will definitely be returning here soon....Read less.

"Happy days"

Hedges, Jennifer - Stayed with Family, August 2023

24/08/2023

Quiet relaxing get away

"My favourite site"

Macfarlane, Suzy - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

23/08/2023

This is one of my favourite places to stay, we try to visit every year, also good value, I love the views & sit & watch the boats, paddle boarders etc going up & down the Thames 👌

"Lovely serene riverside campsite"

Woodward, Rosie - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

22/08/2023

Great local campsite for us. Right by the river so great for fishing (tackle shop just up the road in Clanfield, together an excellent deli/cafe). Lots of shade on the Cricket Bat Field if it is......Read more.

Great local campsite for us. Right by the river so great for fishing (tackle shop just up the road in Clanfield, together an excellent deli/cafe). Lots of shade on the Cricket Bat Field if it is really hot. Good to now see another chemical disposal point on this section of the site. Can be exposed if a strong wind is blowing from the east or south east so bring a windbreak. Generally peaceful but sometimes planes from RAF Brize Norton do fly round. Lots of wildlife including curlews which this year have nested on the wildlife field next door. Cuckoo usually in attendance in the spring. Thames path runs on the opposite side of the river with access from the bridge by the entrance to the site. Also excellent pub by the bridge. Faringdon has a variety of supermarkets, butchers, petrol station, etc....Read less.

"Great place for piece and quiet"

Garlick, Brian - Stayed Self, August 2023

19/08/2023

Although this is a basic site with no electric,showers etc. It has waste disposal and water and bins.

The river Thames runs past the site, great for paddle boards, canoes etc.

The Swan pub is near......Read more.

Although this is a basic site with no electric,showers etc. It has waste disposal and water and bins.

The river Thames runs past the site, great for paddle boards, canoes etc.

The Swan pub is near the gateway to the site on the side of the river.

A place to relax to the sounds of boats going past and ducks and Swans.

Highly recommended....Read less.

"Fantastic location"

Wade, David - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

15/08/2023

Great location, well cared for site. Owner takes pride in his asset.

"Walking cycling fishing boating"

Wilkins, Robert - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

14/08/2023

Well maintained picturesque spacious level Pleasant site. plenty to see and do such as walking cycling fishing paddle boarding adjacent is the Ye Olde Swan inn. Thoroughly recommend to all

"Cricket Bat Field"

Wise, Roxanne - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

12/08/2023

Beautiful location on the River Thames with boats ducks and swans passing by .

Early in the year hear and see cuckoo's.

Riverside pub within walking distance.

Bins water.and chemical disposal......Read more.

Beautiful location on the River Thames with boats ducks and swans passing by .

Early in the year hear and see cuckoo's.

Riverside pub within walking distance.

Bins water.and chemical disposal provided...Read less.

"Perfect place of peace and tranquility"

Rosewell, Michelle - Stayed with Partner, August 2023

12/08/2023

We usually stay on the Island but it was full with a rally so we stated on the Island and wasn't disappointed, beautiful location and uuninterrupted sunshine, when it blessed us with its company !......Read more.

We usually stay on the Island but it was full with a rally so we stated on the Island and wasn't disappointed, beautiful location and uuninterrupted sunshine, when it blessed us with its company ! Short walk to elsan and water points. The camping field opposite of the swan was quiet however as there was a recent tragedy there, possibly wouldn't of been so pleasant for us if it was busy but we did manage to get a pitch at the far end which stuited us. We will return, thanks again for letting us "pitch up" x...Read less.

"We love this place and right on the Thames."

Manley, Michael - Stayed with Partner, July 2023

10/08/2023

Love this place. Not overcrowded and really quiet. Well kept and a great pub next door. The owner is very friendly and really helpful too.

"Beautiful site well organised"

Perrins, Eileen - Stayed with Family, August 2023

08/08/2023

We chose the site as it was very good value,in a beautiful spot and close to Great Barrington where we were taking our grandchildren to Gifford's circus.

It was extremely well ordered and......Read more.

We chose the site as it was very good value,in a beautiful spot and close to Great Barrington where we were taking our grandchildren to Gifford's circus.

It was extremely well ordered and organised,in that payment was in advance, we could get in and out securely and the water and black water area was clean and tidy.

The site also seems well drained considering it is on a river.

Our youngest Granddaughter particularly liked the blue canoe...Read less.

"Charles welcoming helpful and accessible as always"

Steel, John - Stayed with Friends, July 2023

06/08/2023

Island CL is well kept and is an amazing space to be shared by so few outfits. Good walks from site and in surrounding areas. Ideal for meeting up with friends or to spend some quality quiet time.

"Relax by the Thames."

Geerah, Tony - Stayed Self, July 2023

05/08/2023

Peaceful relaxing spacious site. The owner gives a truly personal welcome visiting all customers on their first day on site. The location is excellent for walking, cycling, and also being on the......Read more.

Peaceful relaxing spacious site. The owner gives a truly personal welcome visiting all customers on their first day on site. The location is excellent for walking, cycling, and also being on the banks of the river Thames you have the opportunity to do water sports like paddle boarding or canoeing. Also adjacent to the site is Ye Olde Swan Pub....Read less.

"As always a fantastic place to stay"

Clewley, Bob - Stayed with Family, July 2023

01/08/2023

We have stopped here a few times now and love it.

"Beautiful campsite, very calm and laid back! only 10 miles away from home but feels like a real holiday!"

North, Sharon - Stayed with Friends, July 2023

26/07/2023

We have stayed with you many times before and hope for many more breaks away from reality! Its peaceful, pretty and the pub is with walking distance, what's not to like!

"Fantastic Setting"

Pass, Theresa - Stayed with Friends, July 2023

24/07/2023

We love staying in the Cricket Bat Field - absolutely perfect surroundings. Just stunning. Handy for exploring the local area and having a pub within walk/paddle distance is brilliant.

"Brilliant small and simple site next to the river."

Blanshard, Derek - Stayed with Friends, July 2023

21/07/2023

A field, some trees and a river. Overall a perfect peaceful site. Has a tap and somewhere to empty your loo, what more could you need? There is a pub within walking distance if you would like it.

"Perfection"

Hollingworth, Stephen - Stayed with Partner, July 2023

20/07/2023

This place is amazing the perfect place for a peaceful tranquil stay.

Can not wait to return .

"Fabulous"

Atkinson, Garry - Stayed with Friends, July 2023

20/07/2023

This by far one of the best sites we have used, great walks, canoeing on the Thames , what more could you ask for !

"Lovely welcome and wonderful spacious site by the river."

Pudney, Jackie - Stayed with Family, July 2023

17/07/2023

Unfortunately watched our neighbours throwing banana skins and orange peel into the river. It should be unnecessary but maybe you need to put a notice at the gate to remind people that this is not......Read more.

Unfortunately watched our neighbours throwing banana skins and orange peel into the river. It should be unnecessary but maybe you need to put a notice at the gate to remind people that this is not acceptable behaviour ?...Read less.

"Peaceful"

Odonnell, John - Stayed with Partner, July 2023

17/07/2023

Great next to river

"Our annual holiday"

Hughes, Corrine - Stayed with Friends, July 2023

17/07/2023

We always return to friars court campsite as it's our favourite and always will as the fates allow.its our favourite place.the welcome is second to none.we can pitch right next to the river with......Read more.

We always return to friars court campsite as it's our favourite and always will as the fates allow.its our favourite place.the welcome is second to none.we can pitch right next to the river with plenty of space.for paddle boards and inflatables.the weather never spoils the holiday as there's so many beautiful walks around .houses to visit and villages and towns to enjoy .we've been coming for about 20 yrs and hope it never changes .just perfect.thankyou to all involved in the running of the beautiful unspoilt campsite.see you again next year .many thanks for the beautiful scones a,homemade jam and cream .they were delicious....Read less.

"Famous views, quite, right on the river. Owner extremely helpful."

Coombes, Christine - Stayed with Family, July 2023

14/07/2023

All of it was perfect.

"Fabulous setting"

Vaughan, Tina - Stayed with Partner, July 2023

13/07/2023

Had a lovely 5 night stay on the cricket bay field pitched facing the river. Very peaceful and loads of space. Water tap and Elsan at entrance of field so need to fill up before you pitch or you will......Read more.

Had a lovely 5 night stay on the cricket bay field pitched facing the river. Very peaceful and loads of space. Water tap and Elsan at entrance of field so need to fill up before you pitch or you will have to move. Bit of a distance to rubbish bins which are near the entrance close to the CAMC CL and was surprised there was no recycling in place, but I just used a black sack and deposited it on way out. Owner walked round to check everything is ok and there’s a pub with plenty of outdoor seating and pizza oven at entrance and overlooks the river. Would definitely return and lots of places nearby. We had a day at Blenheim Palace and Cirencester (we have a scooter). The weather could have been better but the site is perfect we loved it....Read less.

"Perfect riverside pitch"

Howard, Roy - Stayed with Family, July 2023

09/07/2023

Spacious; firm ground even in wet weather; nice walks and good pub nearby. Will bring canoe next time - lovely spot to explore the river from. Well organised booking process and information.

"Brilliant relaxing site"

Eardley, Pauline - Stayed with Friends, June 2023

08/07/2023

We were very satisfied with the site. It’s a beautiful, relaxing place to be. We can’t wait to come back.

"A little piece of Heaven"

Morgan, Dennis - Stayed with Partner, June 2023

03/07/2023

We arrived on a sunny Sunday afternoon and with only 4 other units in this vast, well maintained camping field we choose a lovely spot just 4 meters back from the river bank - altho we could have......Read more.

We arrived on a sunny Sunday afternoon and with only 4 other units in this vast, well maintained camping field we choose a lovely spot just 4 meters back from the river bank - altho we could have gone anywhere we wanted as the area is huge. The gound was level and mown and the only facilities are fresh water and waste disposal but that's all we needed.

We spent 4 nights here and just relaxed, watching the boats and paddle boarders glide by on the river - watched the wildlife and listened to the curlew, cuckoo, and numerous song birds and learnt some new species of demoiselles and dragon flies and even spotted a grass snake swimming down stream. It was just the perfect break for us and with daily visits from either Ian or Charles to check everything was ok, we couldn't have wished for better. We will certainly be back again and again....Read less.

"Loved the peaceful and relaxing site."

Smith, Paul - Stayed with Partner, June 2023

02/07/2023

Loved the site. Great for gentle walks, and the peace and quiet of the riverside pitches. Basic facility suits us well.

Nice to be welcomed on first day.

"Superb natural riverside location"

Haines, Brice - Stayed with Family, June 2023

30/06/2023

A non commercial & peaceful unique site in the dappled shade of young willow trees

"Recommended by friends as quiet and good for launching paddle boards to go along river"

Bromley, Jo - Stayed with Family, June 2023

29/06/2023

Lovely sight. Noise from campsite across the way was initially loud but we were on island and parked up far end. It was fine and would not stop us coming back.

Was Nice that the warden also popped......Read more.

Lovely sight. Noise from campsite across the way was initially loud but we were on island and parked up far end. It was fine and would not stop us coming back.

Was Nice that the warden also popped over to check everyone was all ok soon after we arrived.

Definitely will return...Read less.

"A really good non electric CL"

Smallbone - Stayed with Partner, June 2023

25/06/2023

This CL is well worth a visit.You have a choice of pitch Riverside or shaded under the trees. Access is perfect. We stayed onthe cricket field which is 300 yards down river so nice and......Read more.

This CL is well worth a visit.You have a choice of pitch Riverside or shaded under the trees. Access is perfect. We stayed onthe cricket field which is 300 yards down river so nice and quiet..

Wildlife is plentiful with an option to fish The

Lovely village of Clanfield is a mile away with coffee shop and good pub

All in all a 10 out of 10 site...Read less.

"Great Setting"

Ramsey, Anthony - Stayed with Partner, June 2023

22/06/2023

Great pitched by the river, excellent walks along the Thames Path and a pub next door, what's not to like.

Cotswold towns nearby to explore too.

"Idyllic Site"

Hedley, Gideon - Stayed with Family, June 2023

22/06/2023

We stayed at the riverbank on he Cricket Bat Field. An absolutely idyllic site, perfect for launching our paddleboards and just getting away from it all. Very peaceful and picturesque. Pub only half......Read more.

We stayed at the riverbank on he Cricket Bat Field. An absolutely idyllic site, perfect for launching our paddleboards and just getting away from it all. Very peaceful and picturesque. Pub only half mile walk away and straight onto the Thames path for walking/running. Will def be coming back....Read less.

"Wonderful Riverside caravaning ."

Farrow, Paul - Stayed with Partner, June 2023

21/06/2023

Perfect Riverside retreat pub within 2min walk fishing kayaking great walks .

"Great place for peace and quiet"

Brown, Andrew - Stayed with Partner, June 2023

20/06/2023

Right next to the thames with pub close by and many walks in the area.

"Great place"

Cowles, Jacky - Stayed with Partner, June 2023

19/06/2023

Lovely stay again, very peaceful. Only issue was saw large grass snake opposite moorings and have a phobia about snakes-won’t walk that way again 🤣

"tranquil island stay"

Woodhouse, Graeme - Stayed with Partner, June 2023

18/06/2023

Second visit to the Island site, and just as good as before. The owner is always welcoming. Lots of land to pitch on, so you are not crammed in beside other campers. Its a nice place for walks, or to......Read more.

Second visit to the Island site, and just as good as before. The owner is always welcoming. Lots of land to pitch on, so you are not crammed in beside other campers. Its a nice place for walks, or to just watch the river life and nature....Read less.

© 2006 - 2024 CampStead