Tyn yr Onnen Farm

45 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 45 reviews in the last 12 months

98% would recommend this site

98% would stay here again

Excellent

71%

Very Good

27%

Average

2%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Autumn short break"

Mrs N Vivash - Stayed Oct 2020

17/10/2020

The site was very quite being towards the end of the season which meant I had choice of pitches! Views were amazing and the location great for getting out and about

"Fantastic small campsite"

Mr D Dunnett - Stayed Oct 2020

14/10/2020

Great location and lovely views straight from your caravan door.

"Great stay"

Mr R Longdon - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

07/10/2020

Great facilities, clean, secure, well organised, great location, will be back for sure

"Excellent set up"

Mrs W Dobbin - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

04/10/2020

The booking system was clear and efficient to keep all guests safe.

We made the mistake of booking a grass pitch in wet weather and the site manager was so helpful and it was no trouble to come and......Read more.

The booking system was clear and efficient to keep all guests safe.

We made the mistake of booking a grass pitch in wet weather and the site manager was so helpful and it was no trouble to come and tow us out.

Such lovely people....Read less.

"Excellent Site"

Mr A Hagerty - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

Loved our stay. Thankyou.

"Brilliant campsite. And brilliant for kids."

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

Will stay here again.

"Return to caravaning"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

29/09/2020

The lane approaching the campsite is extremely narrow and should we have met another caravan I don't know what we would have done. The site has several old caravans which are permanently sited and......Read more.

The lane approaching the campsite is extremely narrow and should we have met another caravan I don't know what we would have done. The site has several old caravans which are permanently sited and were nt nice to look out at. The rubbish had been put into 3 skips which had nt bee emptied for awhile. The pitch we were on was very close to the next pitch and was nt level. It was a beautiful location and the staff were very friendly and helpful however we would nt return to this site...Read less.

Len, replied to this review on the 29 September 2020

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry that you felt that your pitch was close to others, but......Read more.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry that you felt that your pitch was close to others, but all of our pitches are at least 6 m apart and we are fully compliant with the local authority guidelines.

Our normal waste management system is not functioning at present as we are trying to protect our staff from having to handle waste. Therefore we have asked our customers to put their waste directly into the skips provided to minimise handling by our staff.

We do not empty the skips until they are full in an attempt to reduce our carbon footprint.

Regards and Best Wishes

Len...Read less.

"Lovely holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

Had a non-electric grass pitch which was spaced out well from other pitches. Staff welcomed you and explained about fire pits, etc. Unfortunately due to COVID the entertainment areas were closed, but......Read more.

Had a non-electric grass pitch which was spaced out well from other pitches. Staff welcomed you and explained about fire pits, etc. Unfortunately due to COVID the entertainment areas were closed, but showers and toilets were cleaned regularly. Lovely site, with easy access to the National Park and surrounding areas a short drive away. Would definitely recommend, particularly with the variety of pitch options available....Read less.

"First stay"

Mr M Tipler - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

This was our first stay at the site and will most definitely not be our last. Amazing views and fantastic walks to be had. Wonderful staff. Wonderful facilities. We will be back.

"Great campsite..."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

23/09/2020

Lovely views, really clean, great facilities and good covid-19 regulations, felt much safer and cleaner than other campsites during this time!

Would definitely recommend a visit :)

"Best site you will ever visit"

M Martin - Stayed Sep 2020

22/09/2020

Always been going to this site since I was old enough to camp and would never go anywhere else amazing facilities amazing staff and amazingly kept site I recently did 2 nights and within an hour of......Read more.

Always been going to this site since I was old enough to camp and would never go anywhere else amazing facilities amazing staff and amazingly kept site I recently did 2 nights and within an hour of leaving I was already on the phone booking to go back in the coming weeks can’t stress enough how much you should try this site you will not be disappointed...Read less.

"Amazing"

K Race - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

Had the best week in this campsite, very clean, beautiful views and staff very friendly and will do anything to help. Didn’t want to come home and can’t wait to return.

"1 night stay before we climbed Snowdon"

Mr J Lyons - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

21/09/2020

If you are looking for a 1 night stay (or even a week's stay in fairness) this is a great little campsite. Tucked away from the main roads etc so is nice an peaceful and has wonderful views of the......Read more.

If you are looking for a 1 night stay (or even a week's stay in fairness) this is a great little campsite. Tucked away from the main roads etc so is nice an peaceful and has wonderful views of the countryside. Pub which is in walking distance as well which is helpful after a long drive!

Found the staff really friendly and helpful. Site was well maintained and kept which made it a really great night! Will definitely visit again!...Read less.

"Beuatiful VIews"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Stayed for 3 nights in our caravan. Positives were the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, quality and cleanliness of the facilities, Covid-19 management arrangements and of course the......Read more.

Stayed for 3 nights in our caravan. Positives were the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, quality and cleanliness of the facilities, Covid-19 management arrangements and of course the location. Negatives (although not massive) the very narrow lane that leads to the site can be a bit tricky if you are towing a caravan as there are hardly any passing spaces, sloping pitches, and noise - the people in a couple of the pitches next to ours didn't bother with keeping noise to a minimum after 11pm - in fact on the weekends there tends to be larger groups so it can be bit noisy generally....Read less.

Len, replied to this review on the 18 September 2020

We are very disappointed by this review since it seems to imply we are a noisy site. We walk round......Read more.

We are very disappointed by this review since it seems to imply we are a noisy site. We walk round the site at 2200 and 2300 and remind people that we are surrounded by mountains, that there is no ambient noise other than sheep and the stream which flows near the site, and therefore sound travels a long way.

We have quiet time between 2300 and 0700 and we work hard with our guests to make sure this happens. Loud Music is not allowed, and camp fires must be put out by 2300.

Regards Len...Read less.

"Weekend with friends in a lovely campsite"

Ms D Hewitt - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Really friendly staff, nothing was any trouble, even when we needed to move tent pitches. They gave us good recommendations for places to visit nearby and told us how to get to the pub (an essential......Read more.

Really friendly staff, nothing was any trouble, even when we needed to move tent pitches. They gave us good recommendations for places to visit nearby and told us how to get to the pub (an essential part of the trip of course). The showers were great - really hot and very clean and I appreciated that they weren't the timer showers that you have to keep pressing to keep on. View from the top of the campsite was stunning with the mountains in the background. There is a lot of space so you don't hear other visitors so great for families. Would definitely recommend....Read less.

"Camping trip with family"

C Regan - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Excellent service, great help with booking arrangements. Clean facilities and great cleaning and booking ahead planning during Covid. Thank you to Tyn y Onnen.

"Great value for money"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

Great value for money

"Very nice campsite with beautiful views"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

13/09/2020

This was our first campsite and we were very satisfied with our stay. The campsite has very good surroundings with beautiful views. The showers at the site were very good free to use during our stay.......Read more.

This was our first campsite and we were very satisfied with our stay. The campsite has very good surroundings with beautiful views. The showers at the site were very good free to use during our stay. The shower facilities were using a booking system during peak times due to COVID-19. We used the showers out of peak time so this didn’t really affect us. After each peak time, the showers were closed for an hour in order to do a deep clean which was very nice being the first person to use it afterwards! Some of the other facilities such as game/TV room were closed, but this wasn’t an issue. Staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. There was a park for use for children which was a nice addition....Read less.

"Amazing"

M Singleton - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

13/09/2020

Can’t recommend enough

Couldn’t fault it in anyway

Had the best time and a big thank you to Len and Darren for being so helpful and always finding the time to make our stay as good as it could be.......Read more.

Can’t recommend enough

Couldn’t fault it in anyway

Had the best time and a big thank you to Len and Darren for being so helpful and always finding the time to make our stay as good as it could be. And the views are amazing btw...Read less.

"Fantastic"

R Brown - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

09/09/2020

We really enjoyed our stay, the site is kept very clean and tidy

"Scenic and peaceful"

Mr P Allen - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

07/09/2020

Quiet couple retreat. Good base for snowdon and caenarfon

"Would definitely return!"

C Joshi - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

The staff, accommodation, cleanliness and location were all spot on and completely met our needs which considering there were 13 members in our party ranging from 7 to 73 was a great achievement!......Read more.

The staff, accommodation, cleanliness and location were all spot on and completely met our needs which considering there were 13 members in our party ranging from 7 to 73 was a great achievement! Thank you we had a wonderful time....Read less.

"wet & windy but wonderful"

Mr M Cunningham - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

28/08/2020

Excellent stay, first time here, very impressed with welcome and facilities. great stay

"Nice Park beautiful location"

E Gamble - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

27/08/2020

Nice Park in a stunning location with amazing views. Toilet /washroom facilities were immaculate.

Priced reasonably will definitely stay again.

"Covid staycation"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

26/08/2020

The campsite isn't too easy to access with it being a one car wide road, if anything should be oncoming it's difficult to get passed one another.

There weren't many activities available, although......Read more.

The campsite isn't too easy to access with it being a one car wide road, if anything should be oncoming it's difficult to get passed one another.

There weren't many activities available, although there was a park and some donkeys the children could go to, it was nothing like it had been previously and I should imagine this being due to covid restrictions.

Staff were helpful and friendly as ever, always seemed busy with their workload but always made time to answer any questions anyone should have, and offer any reassurance.

I loved the idea of having to book the shower block to be able to use the facilities. Under the current circumstances and considering it was the only place people would be crossing paths, it offered my family the security we needed.

We visited the nearby beach Dinas Dinlle and also Caernarfon Centre which was nice to do as it was all outside and felt very safe. We found the only place we didn't feel safe was the supermarkets when buying our food which I understand the campsite can do nothing about but it would have been nice if their shop were open.

Overall, another lovely stay, always recommend the campsite to friends and family, and will definitely be staying again....Read less.

"Brilliant nt"

P Tilsley - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

23/08/2020

A super little spot, tidy clean not crowded and peaceful. Very helpful staff working in difficult conditions through COVID-19 cannot recommend it enough.

"Lovely picturesque place to stay"

Mrs J Patterson - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

21/08/2020

absolutely beautiful place

"Beautiful views of the mountains"

J Wakeham - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

21/08/2020

Me and my husband had a lovely 4 days we will definitely be going back. Darren and B eth where so lovely and very helpful with local walks and pubs .

Mr and Mrs Burns from Golborne

"Lovely site nestled in the mountains"

Mrs A Robinson - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

19/08/2020

We spent a fantastic week at Tyn Yr Onnen. We received a friendly and helpful welcome with a good explanation of Covid arrangements for the toilet/shower blocks. The facilities were extremely clean, ......Read more.

We spent a fantastic week at Tyn Yr Onnen. We received a friendly and helpful welcome with a good explanation of Covid arrangements for the toilet/shower blocks. The facilities were extremely clean, and the showers plentiful and hot with lots of hooks for clothes etc. Unfortunately due to Covid the microwave, fridge and freezer were out of use but would be very handy- especially if you camp without electricity like us.

The campsite has wonderful mountain views but is also only 20 mins from the nearest beach, Dinas Dinlle, and delightful Caernarfon is only 10 mins drive.

Free WiFi is provided but the signal was weak further away from the Reception block. You can pay a small charge for a fireplace and logs. The wardens patrol to ensure all fires are doused by 11pm....Read less.

"Amazing pitch"

Mr R Chinamora - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

19/08/2020

An excellent pitch. Toilets and showers very clean. Amazing staff, friendly, open and very helpful. Will recommend to anyone going to enjoy the lovely scenery. The whole family had a very good time.

"Great stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

19/08/2020

Well organised during these unusual times.

"Great place"

Mrs N Oxbrow - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

18/08/2020

Fantastic place to stay, we loved it, really good facilities and location is perfect for enjoying the local area

"First camping trip"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

17/08/2020

Very good first camping trip. We thought the booking time slots for the bathrooms and toilets was particularly useful and would suggest it is kept this way permanently

"Can’t leave blank"

Mr A Plaskett - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

17/08/2020

Good

"Fantastic site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

16/08/2020

We stayed in July 2020 on a super pitch in a tent. I cannot fault the staff there especially the gentleman who was there everyday of our stay I did not catch his name. He was so friendly and helpful......Read more.

We stayed in July 2020 on a super pitch in a tent. I cannot fault the staff there especially the gentleman who was there everyday of our stay I did not catch his name. He was so friendly and helpful with everyone i saw him talking to. Already recommended to family and friends. We will definitely be returning hopefully when things are back to "normal" as we are hoping to be able to enjoy the full facilities of the animals and games room etc. We especially enhjoyed the open fires. Very clean and very well ran site. Thank you so much for a lovely break! Diolch yn fawr i iawn !...Read less.

"Unlucky with the weather"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

15/08/2020

As we our in unprecedented times at the moment it was difficult to try and get a campsite for just one night in the Llanberis region. Tyn yr Onnen had opened and was offering a minimum of a 3 night......Read more.

As we our in unprecedented times at the moment it was difficult to try and get a campsite for just one night in the Llanberis region. Tyn yr Onnen had opened and was offering a minimum of a 3 night stay which I had to take. In the end this turned out ok. My friend and I were planning on tackling Snowdon on Tuesday 4th August and another walk on the 5th, as previously we were booked for 3 nights with 3rd being our first night. Unfortunately my friends plans changed and we could only go in the Tuesday. The weather for getting up Snowdon was forecasted to be dreadful on the Tuesday but really nice Monday. So I decided to set up the tent in the nice weather then drive back to Warrington and pick up my friend and go in the Tuesday. So arrived at campsite and spoke to the owner who told me what to do - very friendly and advised that he would be popping out. I set up my tent at a designated pitch which had enough room to park car next too. Campsite wasn’t busy and the owners had systems in place for showers to be booked during certain times of the day in line with COVID-19 secure. Everywhere was clean although one shower block was out of order for the three days that I saw. It has changed in the last ten years since I was last here but you can’t complain about the location nestled down a single track road and ten minute walk to the pub. The weather was horrendous on the Tuesday and after getting up Snowdon it was relief to come back to a tent already set up and attempt to dry off. We in the end did not use the showers nor the utility room, although seeing as we only had the clothes on backs which were dry that may have been a mistake. The campsite has numerous walks starting close by and there is a small nature reserve just a little further down the road past the pub. Parc Dudley is small but a nice little warm up/down walk. I’m looking to take the children back but it was booked for the dates I wanted at the end of August as urs a good base to explore the area but you still feel your in the middle of nowhere....Read less.

"Review July 2020"

F Vaughan - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

13/08/2020

This was our 4/5 time at this campsite and we love it, and so do the children. My husband and I were considering trying another campsite to change things around but we have decided to go back to this......Read more.

This was our 4/5 time at this campsite and we love it, and so do the children. My husband and I were considering trying another campsite to change things around but we have decided to go back to this site it's excellent. The staff are lovely and friendly and have worked hard during this time of uncertainty. Thank you for making our holiday brilliant as usual....Read less.

"Fab location"

Mrs T Murray - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

11/08/2020

We enjoyed our stay at this camp, the facilities were fantastic, clean and tidy at all times. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We chose this site as close to Mount Snowdon Ranger Path......Read more.

We enjoyed our stay at this camp, the facilities were fantastic, clean and tidy at all times. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We chose this site as close to Mount Snowdon Ranger Path which was a ten minute drive. The site is surrounded by hills making it very scenic. We would definitely stay here again....Read less.

"Amazing stay"

A Chisnall - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

09/08/2020

Stunning views all around. Friendly donkeys and staff were very helpful. Close enough to Snowdon. Would recommend and stay again

"Another lovely stay."

R Sizer - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

09/08/2020

Fourth visit here now. It’s perfect location for walking and scenery just keeps bringing me back, only this time we were in a caravan rather than the pod. It’s a little bit nerving driving a caravan......Read more.

Fourth visit here now. It’s perfect location for walking and scenery just keeps bringing me back, only this time we were in a caravan rather than the pod. It’s a little bit nerving driving a caravan up the very small road but it was fine really. Had a lovely size corner pitch (although rather uneven), but someone had camped literally on our allocated pitch whilst we were out and our car wasn’t there one day. Not a problem though our neighbours were lovely!

Only down side was I have never visited in summer and there are A LOT of kids. Which you expected but the vast majority were left unsupervised on the play equipment and weren’t social distancing. This is due to parenting and not the campsite itself.

New booking shower system idea is great although requires managing by staff to stop families just booking every shower block ALL evening (in advance) and leaving no times for everyone else. But it’s nice to know that you had a shower to yourself and don’t have to worry about social distancing etc.

We will be back, but definitely out of school time. I normally come here for a quiet escape from my children haha!...Read less.

"Best camping in Snowdonia"

Mrs C Seymour - Stayed with friends, Jul 2020

08/08/2020

Tenting in July and had a fantastic time, best campsite we have stayed at for ages and definitely the best one in Snowdonia. Super friendly staff and a quiet campsite. Clean site and very aware of......Read more.

Tenting in July and had a fantastic time, best campsite we have stayed at for ages and definitely the best one in Snowdonia. Super friendly staff and a quiet campsite. Clean site and very aware of Covid precautions so we all felt safe. Loads to do in area, beaches, walking and Quarry Karts was brilliant. Definitely be back 👍...Read less.

"Lovely helpful staff"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

07/08/2020

The staff were lovely and considering the restrictions due to Covid 19 we were happy with the site, the only thing which wasn't great was we were expecting 'lots of walks directly from the site',......Read more.

The staff were lovely and considering the restrictions due to Covid 19 we were happy with the site, the only thing which wasn't great was we were expecting 'lots of walks directly from the site', however the footpath at the end of the lane was closed off and the one out the top of the site was too, unfortunately the locals didn't seem to appreciate visitors at this time, which was a shame. We had researched lots of walks and we unable to access the footpaths....Read less.

"Excellent family campsite"

A Carne-Ross - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

05/08/2020

We stayed with two young kids and it was perfect, good location, things to do, all the facilities we needed and friendly staff. Have recommended to lots of friends!

"If you want a Second Home"

Mrs A Worthington - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

10/11/2019

The relaxed atmosphere, the friendly staff, the location and the stunning views just make you relax as soon as you enter the campsite

Having spent at least 7 holidays there (4 in the last 18 months)......Read more.

The relaxed atmosphere, the friendly staff, the location and the stunning views just make you relax as soon as you enter the campsite

Having spent at least 7 holidays there (4 in the last 18 months) it's like a second home. It's perfect for summer or winter walking holidays and for family holidays. We stayed regularly when our kids were small and now return for equally enjoyable holidays without them...Read less.

"Stunning accommodation in an idyllic location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

25/10/2019

We stayed in a self-catering lodge that is just around the corner from the main site. Accommodation is very high spec and it is beautifully furnished with every possible kitchen utensil/gadget you......Read more.

We stayed in a self-catering lodge that is just around the corner from the main site. Accommodation is very high spec and it is beautifully furnished with every possible kitchen utensil/gadget you can think off. Beds were more comfortable that our own at home. The location and views are stunning. The lodge has its own outdoor area with BBQ and plenty of sitting. We can’t wait to go back next year for a longer stay....Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead