Tyn yr Onnen Farm

107 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 107 reviews in the last 12 months

99% would recommend this site

97% would stay here again

Excellent

79%

Very Good

17%

Average

3%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Absolutely spot on"

Mr. I Livesey - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

13/06/2019

Stayed with my girlfriend, on arrival the chap walked us around the sites facility’s, friendly and welcoming. pitched the tent. We left to conquer snowdon, she injured herself. So didn’t get chance......Read more.

Stayed with my girlfriend, on arrival the chap walked us around the sites facility’s, friendly and welcoming. pitched the tent. We left to conquer snowdon, she injured herself. So didn’t get chance to use the facilities. So booked on with my Son two weeks later, again the lady who greeted us was fantastic. Pitched the tent. Spent the day enjoying Caernarfon castle. Went back to the campsite to play table tennis and pool. What a laugh.

Shower room brilliant,

pot wash facility brilliant,

everyone on the site friendly,

nothing was to much trouble for the lady looking after the site.

Slept well. So we conquered snowdon no problem no injuries this time 😂.

Would I use this campsite again. Absolutely yessss

I’ve driven past plenty of campsites in this neck of the woods and

Tyn-yr-Onnen is nicely hidden away overlooking beautiful scenery. Thanks guys see you soon....Read less.

"Fantastic place to camp"

C Rielly - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

12/06/2019

This was our 5th visit to the farm. We normally camp in a tent but this time we thought we'd try one of the Pods. It was nice for a change, we love our tent, but it was a nice treat not to have to......Read more.

This was our 5th visit to the farm. We normally camp in a tent but this time we thought we'd try one of the Pods. It was nice for a change, we love our tent, but it was a nice treat not to have to dismantle and pack it away the last day!.We love it here, our daughter loves the farm, she got to feed the lambs on this visit. The shower facilities are brilliant, so clean and lovely hot showers. There is a little park for the kids and the games room, and plenty of open space for the kids to explore safely. Just good old outside fun and a great way for kids to see a real working farm. There are some lovely walks, the one we do ends up at the local pub, which is highly recommended too.

You can hire fire pits and Swedish candles, great for the evening to sit around and toast your marshmallows. Also, you can buy fresh eggs and meat.

The views are amazing, its so relaxing here. We can't wait to visit again....Read less.

"Beautiful Site shame about access"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

12/06/2019

Lovely site but access to it was not good

"Lovely peaceful campsite."

M Farr - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

09/06/2019

Lovely site with stunning views. Excellent clean facilities, I would recommend this site without a doubt.

"Great spot on planet earth"

L Kunowski - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

07/06/2019

Well Len,his family and staff do great work. If you after peaceful rest, no parties, respect and great walks. This is the place to come. Scenery is breath talking !

Lukasz

"Peter"

P Angerman - Stayed with family, May 2019

07/06/2019

Stayed few times now and will definitely come back. Great atmosphere, good and clean facilities and very friendly team.

Thank you Len.

"End of May family and friends holiday"

L Sutcliffe - Stayed with family, May 2019

04/06/2019

Had a super time at Tyn yr Onnen Farm. Len, Helen and team are very friendly, helpful, welcoming and accommodating. This is our 3rd time of staying at Tyn yr Onnen Farm and we brought along new 2......Read more.

Had a super time at Tyn yr Onnen Farm. Len, Helen and team are very friendly, helpful, welcoming and accommodating. This is our 3rd time of staying at Tyn yr Onnen Farm and we brought along new 2 groups of friends.We have stayed in tents ,caravans, the Buarth Wern - 3 bedroom wooden lodge set away from the campsite, Llety'r Bugail - 2 bedroom wooden lodge, both of which have excellent facilities. The family say the showers are the best they've used on any campsite. Many thanks for a supertime and thanks again for rescuing our tent from the strong winds. All being well we'll be back next year....Read less.

"Review"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2019

03/06/2019

Lovely stay - would love electricity sockets in the ladies for a hair dryer

Great campsite - amazing views

"Nice place"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

03/06/2019

Great place to stay. Staff really friendly. Site on a bit of a slope so good idea to take something to level your van up (we didn't). A decent site in a lovely place.

"Lovely site in a beautiful location"

Mrs C Piercy - Stayed with family, May 2019

03/06/2019

We were lucky to get a last minute space over the bank holiday weekend. The owners were.kind enough to lend us some chocs to level our motorhome, we will definitely return.

"We love it here"

S Peterkin - Stayed with friends, May 2019

03/06/2019

It's a lovely campsite in a beautiful location. The farm is really good and Len shows you around and you can feed the lambs. Great for kids and adults alike. We'll be back again.

"Beautiful working farm with a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere"

A Knott - Stayed with family, May 2019

03/06/2019

We stayed in a pod for the third time and loved it as much as ever despite some very damp weather. The 12 & 15 year old still loved feeding and cuddling the lambs and visiting the piglets, ducks and......Read more.

We stayed in a pod for the third time and loved it as much as ever despite some very damp weather. The 12 & 15 year old still loved feeding and cuddling the lambs and visiting the piglets, ducks and hens, and of course also enjoyed the wifi and games/TV room. We love the views, the firepit, the surrounding area and the general chilled atmosphere, it remains one of our favourite campsites and I can't wait to go back....Read less.

"Friendly and helpful"

A Burns - Stayed with family, May 2019

02/06/2019

The park very friendly and helpful staff with great facilities.

"Will definitely return"

A Fawley - Stayed with family, May 2019

31/05/2019

What a friendly well kept site! We pitched a 6 berth tent in the lower field. Enjoyed a tour of the farm with Len which was very informative and interactive. We got to hold lambs! Good toilets and......Read more.

What a friendly well kept site! We pitched a 6 berth tent in the lower field. Enjoyed a tour of the farm with Len which was very informative and interactive. We got to hold lambs! Good toilets and showers. Great farm eggs. Fab location and views. Will be back. Thanks to all at Tyn yr Onnen from the Frawleys...Read less.

"Great localisation"

K Urbanski - Stayed with family, May 2019

29/05/2019

Nothing less than excellent. Tidy, lots of attraction in nearby towns. Stunning views.

"Great Spot"

G Blakeborough - Stayed with partner, May 2019

27/05/2019

We were lucky enough that the site was quiet so it was ideal for us as it was mid week. Very clean and well presented with lots of help from staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

Maybe would like......Read more.

We were lucky enough that the site was quiet so it was ideal for us as it was mid week. Very clean and well presented with lots of help from staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

Maybe would like more hooks/bench in the shower cubicles but that’s a minor issue.

Local pub is an easy walk with good food though lacking atmosphere mid week.

Good clean happy site....Read less.

"Great Snowdonia stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

18/05/2019

Really enjoyed our caravan stay. Clean van and bedding with everything you would need. Stunning scenery and lovely donkeys. Would definitely recommend this site.

"Impressive views"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

16/05/2019

Well maintained small site with excellent washing and toilet facilities. Generous pitches, many with EHU. Friendly and informative staff. Quiet location with an impressive backdrop.

"Stunning views"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

14/05/2019

Stunning views and very friendly staff . A lovely small site that we was more than happy with. i would highly recommend this site. It Even had a TV room and games room. However it had no heating in......Read more.

Stunning views and very friendly staff . A lovely small site that we was more than happy with. i would highly recommend this site. It Even had a TV room and games room. However it had no heating in there and was a very cold night. So didn't use it for very long....Read less.

"1st time here"

Anonymous - Stayed May 2019

12/05/2019

Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff, great location, campsite and facilities

"Great stay"

Mr M Hall - Stayed with partner, May 2019

11/05/2019

Stayed over the bank holiday staff very helpful with a lovely greeting on arrival. Great location easy to explore the surrounding area. Would recommend, and will be returning.

"Best family campsite"

Mr. M Stillwell - Stayed with family, May 2019

11/05/2019

We came here at the beginning of May because it is a working farm & thought that the children (g11 & b9) would enjoy feeding the lambs. The site far exceeded our expectations on all counts, the......Read more.

We came here at the beginning of May because it is a working farm & thought that the children (g11 & b9) would enjoy feeding the lambs. The site far exceeded our expectations on all counts, the facilities were clean & well maintained - the showers were actually AMAZING - steaming hot & no paying or push button that stops half way through a shampoo! The site is small enough for peace of mind that the kids are safe to go off to the play area / sand pit or tv room & for 25p you can feed the donkeys. Feeding the orphaned lambs was such a fantastic experience for us all, my daughter did it twice. The staff are all lovely, friendly & very helpful, they clearly care a great deal about everyone's holiday experience & work hard to run the farm & campsite. Shop on site is small but well stocked, in which they sell their own meat products. I really liked the fact that all campers were mixed in together, no field for tents on one side & campers/caravans in another area etc. They have pods too that you can hire. There is a nice 15 min walk to the pub nearby which we enjoyed but would have enjoyed more of there had been some IPA or guest lagers - absolutely nothing to do with Tyn-yr-Onnen Farm, obviously. There are lots of walks to enjoy, with varying difficulties, which the staff are more than happy to advise you on & the views all around the site are absolutely stunning. We will definitely be going again, hopefully with friends....Read less.

"Just Wow"

M Poonia - Stayed with partner, May 2019

11/05/2019

Upon arriving to the farm we were greeted and shown around the park with ease. My first impressions were wowed by the surrounding landscape and the sweet sound of lambs in the fields - perfect!

The......Read more.

Upon arriving to the farm we were greeted and shown around the park with ease. My first impressions were wowed by the surrounding landscape and the sweet sound of lambs in the fields - perfect!

The staff during our stay were great! I had a mini obsession with wanting to see/feed the lambs which they happily allowed me to do. Len really opened my mind to a few issues around farming which I was also thankful for.

Although only there for 3 nights I really felt at home. The showers were lovely and hot and clean.

The only downside to our stay was on the first night we found it almost impossible to sleep due to being next to a very excited large group. We were more than happy for them to enjoy their time but just wish we hadn’t been put right next to them. There appeared to be enough space for us to have been put further away but I guess you just don’t know how people will be. The next morning I just wanted to soak in the natural surroundings but it was drowned out by the large family next door but that’s just pot luck!...Read less.

"Friendly site with a wonderful location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

02/05/2019

Easily accessible from Llanberis and Bedgellert, we enjoyed amazing views of the surrounding mountains (in the dry). We stayed in Ty Bach, which was perfect for the two of us and gave enough room to......Read more.

Easily accessible from Llanberis and Bedgellert, we enjoyed amazing views of the surrounding mountains (in the dry). We stayed in Ty Bach, which was perfect for the two of us and gave enough room to get dried out after a day hiking.

Would definitely stay again....Read less.

"Caravan camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

28/04/2019

Very nice clean camp site , well maintained staff polite and helpful only bad point narrow road to site

"Pleasant for a short stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

27/04/2019

Site difficult to access in a large vehicle (motor home) due to overhanging branches on the access road.

Play area is really for toddlers and would benefit from some upgrading and equipment for......Read more.

Site difficult to access in a large vehicle (motor home) due to overhanging branches on the access road.

Play area is really for toddlers and would benefit from some upgrading and equipment for slightly older children.

Nice to have the sheep just over the fence....Read less.

"Lovely campsite"

O Wills - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Brilliant campsite, loving large pitches, clean facilities and beautiful views.

"Easter break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

An excellent campsite. Staff were really friendly and informative. You can buy fresh eggs (collected that very morning) - these made the best fried egg sandwiches! We went with 2 six year old boys,......Read more.

An excellent campsite. Staff were really friendly and informative. You can buy fresh eggs (collected that very morning) - these made the best fried egg sandwiches! We went with 2 six year old boys, they really enjoyed the park area and playing ping pong. In a morning you could help feed the lambs which my boys loved. Overall a great campsite....Read less.

"Pleasant"

Mr D Parkinson - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Nice, clean, quiet site. Short drive from Snowdonia and Caernarfon. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would go again.

"Crea Nolan"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Lovely site

"Fantastic cabin"

Mr J Sadler - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Such a lovely place, will definitely be back!

"Excellent find of a campsite!"

Mr C Tye - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

23/04/2019

We throughly enjoyed our stay here and even booked again for next year! Fantsic facilities and great setup for families. The farm animals were great too! Massive thanks to Len and the team here

"Fantastic location"

J Taylor - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

21/04/2019

Very helpful and friendly staff, we would love to go back

"Our second visit"

L Winson - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

17/04/2019

This is our second year staying on the farm and we will be back again next year. This year we stayed in the bigger caravan with family, 3 adults and 3 children (4, 7, 10). The place was beautifully......Read more.

This is our second year staying on the farm and we will be back again next year. This year we stayed in the bigger caravan with family, 3 adults and 3 children (4, 7, 10). The place was beautifully clean with everything we needed, the beds were comfortable and the views of the surrounding mountains are beyond compare. We loved feeding the donkeys, seeing the lambs and the children loved playing in the park. The farm is safe and staff are always about to help with anything, our toilet seat needed fixing and this was done quickly and happily. Lots to do in the surrounding areas, we visited The Great Orme, Llanberis slate museum, Llandudno and Bangor. We miss being on holiday and can't wait to return next year....Read less.

"Beautiful location"

S McInnes - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

15/04/2019

Loved my stay here. Beautiful location with the views of elephant mountain making it even more special. Friendly staff and clean facilities.

"The best !"

Mrs R Forsey - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

11/04/2019

From the kids “this campsite was brilliant, Len was very kind and we got to feed the animals, it had a good playground and was the best campsite ever “

We are On our way home from a week here and......Read more.

From the kids “this campsite was brilliant, Len was very kind and we got to feed the animals, it had a good playground and was the best campsite ever “

We are On our way home from a week here and it really was amazing , fantastic location and views , local pub within walking distance and also plenty of great walks from the site .The site is immaculately clean and the showers are the best campsite showers we have ever experienced ! What really makes this site special is the warm welcome and friendly staff , nothing was too much trouble and they were always around to offer advice on local walks , things to do . Len was so helpful especially when taking the awning down on a windy day 😬! If visiting north wales am certain there is no better site than this 😁 thank you for a lovely week at Tyn Yr Onnen !...Read less.

"Lovely site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

11/04/2019

We only stayed over night but would of loved to stay longer. We will definitely stay again.

"Weekend break"

G Leith - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

09/04/2019

Very well laid out park, facilities are spotless, received a very warm welcome

"Perfect getaway for a last minute short break."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

11/11/2018

I found the site by 'accident' on google maps as i was trying to find a hotel for a 2 night (much needed) break. I was suprised there was still some availability at the site with it being half term......Read more.

I found the site by 'accident' on google maps as i was trying to find a hotel for a 2 night (much needed) break. I was suprised there was still some availability at the site with it being half term so investigated further and booked Ty Bach. We didn't arrive until the evening and was greeted by Len who was most helpful. We were really pleased with the accommodation which was self catering and allowed us the option to cook in or eat out. The site is in a great location for exploring Anglesey or the mountains! The views are fantastic. We also got to meet the newborn piglets as we were leaving!

We would certainly recommend a stay here. The site offers a range of accommodation and the staff are really friendly and welcoming.

We look forward to visiting again soon!...Read less.

"10/10 stay"

J Tomlinson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

30/10/2018

Great location, beautiful farm, great staff, no problems it was awesome i loved it !

"Great location for all that North Wales has to offer"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2018

28/10/2018

The location of the site on the edge of Snowdonia is excellent and although we had a car, this was not essential.

While we were here we went to Llandudno, Llanberis for a bus and walk up Snowdon from......Read more.

The location of the site on the edge of Snowdonia is excellent and although we had a car, this was not essential.

While we were here we went to Llandudno, Llanberis for a bus and walk up Snowdon from pen y pass, Anglesey, Porthmadog and Beddgelert.

The local pub just a short walk does good quality, value meals and is very welcoming.

The site has a games , TV room which was excellent but lacked heating for early autumn, so was a bit chilly.

Darren, the site manager was most helpful with local walk knowledge and other things.

All in all a great site that we hope to come back to another day....Read less.

"Real good!"

E Walker - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

11/10/2018

The owner was really welcoming & friendly, the site itself has great facilities and all in obvious walking distance & lights that switch on when walking past. I enjoying walking around the animals.......Read more.

The owner was really welcoming & friendly, the site itself has great facilities and all in obvious walking distance & lights that switch on when walking past. I enjoying walking around the animals. Though be prepared for the narrow road going down to the farm. Defo be returning next year!...Read less.

"Tyn-Yr-Onnen"

Mr J Currie - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

10/10/2018

Fantastic facilities

"Brilliant place for a weekend away"

H Hall - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

30/09/2018

Stayed here for the weekend, great location close to Snowdon. Showers were kept very clean and were lovely and hot! Staff were very friendly and happy to help out with anything. Some lovely walks......Read more.

Stayed here for the weekend, great location close to Snowdon. Showers were kept very clean and were lovely and hot! Staff were very friendly and happy to help out with anything. Some lovely walks from the campsite with spectacular views....Read less.

"great location for a base, also nr other places too"

Mr J Alsop - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

25/09/2018

great site, and staff, very helpful too.

"Brilliant"

T Cullen - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

15/09/2018

Camp manager was super friendly and helpful.

"Great Weekend made easy"

K Watts - Stayed Sep 2018

14/09/2018

Arrived mid afternoon and greeted by Clive. Very helpful and actually walked me to my pitch personally.

Had a problem, no i had no lead for the electric hook-up, Clive sorted it.

Quiet for the time i......Read more.

Arrived mid afternoon and greeted by Clive. Very helpful and actually walked me to my pitch personally.

Had a problem, no i had no lead for the electric hook-up, Clive sorted it.

Quiet for the time i was there with all facilities spotlessly clean.

Well worth a visit, next time i am in the area i know where i will be staying....Read less.

"Great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

11/09/2018

Lovely place to stay

Would recommend

"Perfect for children"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

07/09/2018

We stayed at Tyn - yr -Onnen with family and friends for a long weekend and were extremely pleased with the locality of the accommodation on the farm in relation to the children’s play area and the......Read more.

We stayed at Tyn - yr -Onnen with family and friends for a long weekend and were extremely pleased with the locality of the accommodation on the farm in relation to the children’s play area and the animals. Our children were safe, in a large fenced area and could be seen at all times. They loved the animals and enjoyed their trip around the farm one morning.

The accommodation for our party was good, having booked the lodge and the 6 berth caravan. We also booked the podvan and were a little disappointed that the facilities inside were limited, especially due to the size of the bathroom and having no shower. I wouldn’t consider booking the podvan again, especially with children due the open plan nature of the accommodation.

All of the staff on the site were very helpful and attended to any problems we had immediately.

Perfectly located for Snowdon and surrounding areas,absolutely beautiful location!...Read less.

"Great stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

06/09/2018

We stayed in a pod....it was spacious and cozy for my husband and I, and our daughter and dog. Lovely views and a quiet site. Only about 15min from Llanberis. We only stayed for 2 nights but wish we......Read more.

We stayed in a pod....it was spacious and cozy for my husband and I, and our daughter and dog. Lovely views and a quiet site. Only about 15min from Llanberis. We only stayed for 2 nights but wish we could've stayed longer....Read less.

"Walking holiday"

M Thomas - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

05/09/2018

Ideally situated in beautiful surroundings

"Beautiful location, though needs updating."

R Barber - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

04/09/2018

I booked the 'Eilio' camping pod for 5 nights, for myself and my young Son. The pod was clean and adequate for us, though not large enough for family use.

Only one double electric socket is......Read more.

I booked the 'Eilio' camping pod for 5 nights, for myself and my young Son. The pod was clean and adequate for us, though not large enough for family use.

Only one double electric socket is provided, one socket of which, is taken by the convection wall heater. So make sure to bring extension sockets. The pod is completely unfurnished. So it really is camping in a comfortable shed. One ceiling light is provided.

This we found, shines into your eyes as is unshaded. Showers and toilets are cleaned regularly and of a good standard. Negatives are the utility facilities which need urgent investment. There isn't an oven provided. Only a very old microwave oven. This is somewhat of a nuisance on wet days, as you'd like to be able to heat a pizza for your kids. Two elderly top load washing machines machines and one tumble drier are available at extra cost. Again, the ability to do a quick wash in a modern machine and another tumble drier is badly needed to make your stay more comfortable; especially with children. The campsite shop consists of a few items stacked in the reception office. So make sure you have all you need, with you.

Entertainment facilities are sparce; a t.v room and pool table being the highlight and a playground adjacent to the reception area. You are allowed to walk in certain areas of the farm grounds. Don't forget your Wellington boots !

My Son and I enjoyed our stay by and large, though there is a need for some improvement and modernisation. Especially as the peel season rates for this site compare closely to hotels and guest houses in the area....Read less.

Len, replied to this review on the 05 September 2018

We rarely comment on reviews unless they are very unfair.

Our Pods are really very large at 5mx4m,......Read more.

We rarely comment on reviews unless they are very unfair.

Our Pods are really very large at 5mx4m, and there is a full description on our web site. I think suggesting they are a shed is somewhat inappropriate.

The utility room is well equipped, the machines referenced being less than 4 years old, and microwave new at the start of the season. Fridges and freezers also very new. There are no ovens as this would be a health and safety risk.

I am afraid we do not have a Waitrose Express on site, but we do try and stock the things people forget as well as sell our own meat products including bacon from the farm.

I think this person just chose the wrong place and would be much better off visiting a large camp site with clubs, bars, casino, supermarkets and swimming pools.

Our focus is people who like the outdoors, appreciate nature, spectacular views, mountains, beaches, farm animals and wildlife....Read less.

"Wonderful week away"

R Shepherd - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

04/09/2018

Fantastic location, welcoming, clean, fresh....beautiful animals!

"Fantastic clean and friendly campsite"

M Harrison - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

01/09/2018

We had a fantastic time staying here. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the local area, the facilities were clean, showers were fantastic and on a tap so no pushing buttons, play area......Read more.

We had a fantastic time staying here. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the local area, the facilities were clean, showers were fantastic and on a tap so no pushing buttons, play area for children and farm animals to see. Family washroom which was great for us camping with 8, 3 and 1 year old. Little shop on site selling things you may have forgotten and local produce. We had an amazing time and will definitely return in the future. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this site to anyone looking for a picturesque campsite with good facilities in North Wales....Read less.

"Perfect family site"

L Jackson - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

31/08/2018

What a fantastic site! Good value for money, excellent facilities and stunning views. This was a trip for the whole family - 3 tents & a campervan - and the youngest members (3 & 4) had a great time......Read more.

What a fantastic site! Good value for money, excellent facilities and stunning views. This was a trip for the whole family - 3 tents & a campervan - and the youngest members (3 & 4) had a great time feeding the animals and on the little park, and the oldest members (60+) enjoyed sitting by the camp fire admiring the rolling hills. Cannot thank Helen & Len enough, so friendly & helpful, full of info about the area and always on hand. If only they could control the weather!...Read less.

"Location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

29/08/2018

Lots to do in the surrounding area when you have a car.

"Family friendly site"

S Beard - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

29/08/2018

Lovely site with very helpful and friendly owners. The kids loved the play area and seeing the animals on the farm. Great site in the mountains!

"Fantastic"

Miss J Wright - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

28/08/2018

Unfortunately we experienced rain every day however due to Tyn yr Onnen campsite our trip away was still a great experience. Despite the bad weather and the campsite being at full capacity the......Read more.

Unfortunately we experienced rain every day however due to Tyn yr Onnen campsite our trip away was still a great experience. Despite the bad weather and the campsite being at full capacity the showers, toilets and utility block were still very clean, the surrounding views were still beautiful and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The campsite has a lovely atmosphere and our children throughly enjoyed playing on the park and interacting with the different animals on the farm.

Also the on site shop was very handy and the meat we bought was delicious and very reasonably priced.

We didn’t climb Snowdon, as we had our young daughter with us but we did manage a short hike straight from camp which was great and had lots of possible routes. We also had a lovely walk down the river in Beddgelert and ventured a little further (30mins Drive) for an afternoon of body boarding at a quiet beach on the Lynn Peninsula. Other activities we enjoyed was an afternoon of horse riding at the local stables which took us amongst some beautiful scenery and catching our tea at a nearby fishery.

This campsite has everything you need and more.... We will definitely be definitely returning....Read less.

"Convenient location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

22/08/2018

Nice quiet site. Stayed in one of the lodges - on the whole very good. However, freezer compartment in fridge would have been handy. WiFi very intermittent.

"Snowdonia camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

22/08/2018

Lovely campsite, super friendly and helpful staff and the facilities werw nice amd clean. Will come back! Thank you!

"Very nice campsite"

M Blanchard - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

21/08/2018

Although the road to the campsite is narrow. The welcome with a smile and the facilities, make you have a great time.

"first time camping"

Miss S Chesney - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

18/08/2018

Apart from the weather not being on our side our trip to Tyn-yr-Onnen was really good. the facilities were clean as was the campsite, the staff were helpful and the landscape was beautiful. The only......Read more.

Apart from the weather not being on our side our trip to Tyn-yr-Onnen was really good. the facilities were clean as was the campsite, the staff were helpful and the landscape was beautiful. The only thing I would say could be improved is maybe having a bench to sit on in the shower areas so you can dry your feet and put shoes on ect. Also being a dog friendly campsite it would be ideal if there was a field empty where we can exercise the dogs as all the fields had livestock in them which made it unsafe for both the dogs and livestock to roam in the same area.

overall we really enjoyed our first time camping and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to someone else....Read less.

"Hidden Gem"

J Desanti - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

18/08/2018

I booked this camp site as a two night stay in our motor home trip to North Wales. When we arrived the owner was so helpful and friendly and gave us lots of information about the surrounding area. I......Read more.

I booked this camp site as a two night stay in our motor home trip to North Wales. When we arrived the owner was so helpful and friendly and gave us lots of information about the surrounding area. I could find no fault whatsoever with the site, the showers and toilets were immaculate with lots of hot water. We had 3 grandchildren with us from 10 to 13 yrs and they also loved it. They could go round the farm looking and petting the animals or playing ball games in the big field. If you stay here it is a must to buy meat from the sites shop, we bought sausages, burgers, steak and lamb steaks for a BBQ and the meat was the best I have tasted....Read less.

"Picturesque plot"

A Finegan - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

17/08/2018

Stayed in the caravan/pod. Great welcome when we got to the site!, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Views were amazing and where situated we could go for some amazing walks straight from......Read more.

Stayed in the caravan/pod. Great welcome when we got to the site!, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Views were amazing and where situated we could go for some amazing walks straight from site.

Plenty to keep the kids occupied for the odd lazy day at site, and located in a spot which wasn’t too far away from the big attractions......Read less.

"Great place to stay in North Wales"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

15/08/2018

We stayed a week in a very comfortable lodge. Highly recommended. Great location to access Snowdonia and Anglesey.

"Wow"

C Juby - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

15/08/2018

Fantastic little site. hidden little gem recommended by a friend. Super Friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic views on and off site. Close too all attractions for days out. Deffinly being going

"Fijne camping"

G Wijma - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

11/08/2018

We hebben een week gekampeerd op de camping en vonden het een hele leuke en prettige camping.

We zijn heel hartelijk ontvangen. De campinghouders hebben ons enthousiast verteld over de omgeving.

De......Read more.

We hebben een week gekampeerd op de camping en vonden het een hele leuke en prettige camping.

We zijn heel hartelijk ontvangen. De campinghouders hebben ons enthousiast verteld over de omgeving.

De douches waren erg prettig en schoon. We hadden een mooi plekje op een grasveld....Read less.

"Love love love ❤"

D McShane - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

10/08/2018

Love this place, too many things to say can't wait to return 😁

"Little gem"

A McGinnigle - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

09/08/2018

Great little site

"Thankyou"

N Kelly - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

09/08/2018

Very friendly staff and help us by giving us a brillaint pitch for our son with autism

"More shower hooks needed."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

08/08/2018

One peg in the shower isn't enough to hold your PJ's, clothes & your towel. You can't put you clothes on the floor because they will get wet.

"Lovely site and staff"

D Bullock - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

06/08/2018

Wonderful site and very well ran. Lovely staff, very friendly and a very clean site. Will be returning.

"Absolutley banging camp site and freindly staff"

Mr A Gilbert - Stayed Jul 2018

05/08/2018

over the past few years i have stayed at this camp site as its local to caernarfon and only 22miles from porthmadog with black rock sands beach and you are allowed a camp fire which is a win win for......Read more.

over the past few years i have stayed at this camp site as its local to caernarfon and only 22miles from porthmadog with black rock sands beach and you are allowed a camp fire which is a win win for those who like a camp fire at night. The staff are extremingly freindly and the amenities are bob on. . Only thing that let my stay down this time was someones dog barking at 4.00 am and the owner screaming for it to shut up, hence why i left a day early. I would recamend this camp site to anyone, wether its camping, caravaning or camper van as they cater for all....Read less.

"Family get together"

E Eves - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

02/08/2018

We have visited the site before and will return again

"Relaxing"

S Woodward - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

01/08/2018

Amazing scenery, excellent service, excellent showers

"Perfect Camping Break!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

30/07/2018

We stayed at the campsite for the first time with family who had been there before and recommended it to us. Surrounded by beautiful views, close to the village and Caernarfon, everything you could......Read more.

We stayed at the campsite for the first time with family who had been there before and recommended it to us. Surrounded by beautiful views, close to the village and Caernarfon, everything you could ask for was available. Lovely walks and easy access to the mountains, very relaxing and friendly atmosphere on site....Read less.

"First taste of camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

29/07/2018

Never been camping before so this was the perfect introduction into understanding the joy and pleasure from being surrounded by nature. Site is beautifully located and easy to find.

Opted to stay in......Read more.

Never been camping before so this was the perfect introduction into understanding the joy and pleasure from being surrounded by nature. Site is beautifully located and easy to find.

Opted to stay in a pod, which was the perfect decision. Super clean and spacious, with easy to access plugs and heater (thankfully not needed to use).

All the facilities were super clean and easy to find and access.

Made to feel welcome and like nothing was too much trouble. Staff were warm and friendly, full of information and help and always able to find when needed. Although we had only a short stay, we definitely want to come back again and repeat the wonderful experience and try new adventures that are available in the surrounding areas....Read less.

"Peaceful campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

29/07/2018

We stayed for a weekend. Plenty of space for everyone. Facilities were basic and clean. Campsite had friendly staff.

We had a good time and will return for another visit.

"Lovely campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

29/07/2018

Exactly what we needed-clean showers and toilets, helpful staff who could recommend walks for us, fridge-great stay, thank you!

"Stay at campsite"

Mr J Shand - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

27/07/2018

Excellent campsite. Good clean facilities, beautiful view.

"Lovely place"

Mr W Williams - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

26/07/2018

Lovely campsite and facilities.

"Appallingly noisy fellow campers"

P Fenech - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

25/07/2018

Nice campsite but we left early (before the following weekend to avoid a repeat of the weekend hiatus and nights without sleep due to noise.

Len, replied to this review on the 27 July 2018

We only ever respond to reviews that are grossly unfair.

We are not a noisy campsite and have......Read more.

We only ever respond to reviews that are grossly unfair.

We are not a noisy campsite and have quiet time between 2300 and 0700 which is strictly enforced.

Our team works hard to ensure everyone enjoys their stay.

...Read less.

"A beatifull setting"

J Hayes - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

25/07/2018

Having a large motorhome, the staff could not be more helpful going in front of us to make sure we made it over the bridge, with inches to spare each side, they didn't try to hurry us, and on the way......Read more.

Having a large motorhome, the staff could not be more helpful going in front of us to make sure we made it over the bridge, with inches to spare each side, they didn't try to hurry us, and on the way out they stopped a lorry coming down. The free range eggs, and there own bacon we highly recommend. Plus a wonderful setting...Read less.

"Please see Pitchup.com review"

T Dixon-Maynard - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

24/07/2018

Please see my review already written on Pitchup.com.

"Wonderful campsite, brilliant facilities!"

Mr A Grey - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

23/07/2018

Our 3rd stay at Tyn Yr Onnen- perfect as ever. Spotless facilities, great welcome from Len and well placed for exploring Snowdonia. Will keep going back!

"Great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2018

23/07/2018

Great site, helpful and friendly staff, pods clean and comfortable, toilet facilities spotless

"Friendly campsite - lovely location"

Mr S Johnson - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

20/07/2018

Long weekend stay at this relatively small, family run campsite. We have a young family and this was a great place to stay. Friendly staff, helpful and welcoming. The facilities were very clean (good......Read more.

Long weekend stay at this relatively small, family run campsite. We have a young family and this was a great place to stay. Friendly staff, helpful and welcoming. The facilities were very clean (good showers!) The pitches were well laid out and we were given options. Not being able to park next to our pitch was a bit odd and did make a big car park in the middle of the site which, if we were pitched nearby, would have been a bit annoying.

There were some noisy people on site, playing music until late (well after 11pm), which the owner wasn't aware of on the first night we were there. We spoke to him the day after and he did ensure that it didn't happen again, although 'quiet time' is after 11pm so just be aware of this.

The shop is handy, especially for the farm produce (eggs, bacon, meat etc) and local supermarkets in Canaerfon aren't far away.

Would stay again for sure....Read less.

"Wonderful weekend in Waunfawr!"

Mrs D Turnbull - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

19/07/2018

We had a wonderful time celebrating our little boys third birthday at Tyn yr Onnen Farm. Our pitch was perfect, and it was so thoughtful that the owners had considered our request for a quieter pitch......Read more.

We had a wonderful time celebrating our little boys third birthday at Tyn yr Onnen Farm. Our pitch was perfect, and it was so thoughtful that the owners had considered our request for a quieter pitch (even though we had a little one, he was a little bit little for late night playing with other children, and we are indebted to the owners for having a pitch that was away from the main group of campers) That said, our fellow guests were wonderfully respectful and it was a calm but fun envirmonment in the main camping field. We've stayed at quite a few campsites where we've felt like prisoners amongst the other guests who have had music blaring and loud games going into the wee small hours, so it was a pleasure to be somewhere that was quietly and unobtrusively managed to ensure everyone had a great time. We loved the washing facilities. Immaculate and lots of lovely hot running water. The utility room was superbly laid out, and the play area and shop area were a lovely distraction for our little boy. The location was perfect for exploring the local area and we received some great advice about what to do and where to go, making our trip even better. We will without a doubt be returning - thank you so much for a wonderful stay....Read less.

"Family campsite"

M Kipping - Stayed with friends, Jul 2018

16/07/2018

Great facilities, area,

"Lovely peaceful birthday weekend"

Mrs H Meadows - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

13/07/2018

We stayed here last weekend and really enjoyed our break . The camping pods were bigger than normal and seemed to be insulated from noise . So we had peaceful sleep . My husband spent his days......Read more.

We stayed here last weekend and really enjoyed our break . The camping pods were bigger than normal and seemed to be insulated from noise . So we had peaceful sleep . My husband spent his days walking in the hills and mountains while so read and took in the view in the sunshine .

We asked for a late check out which we were given as no one was in the pod after us . This helped a great deal and my husband was able to fit in one more walk before leaving .

I would say bring a torch if you are likely to use the toilet during the night .

Would book again!...Read less.

"Amazing location amazing staff"

L Sandford - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

12/07/2018

Staff/management couldn’t have been more helpful and friendly, brilliant location and relaxed feel.

"A hidden gem"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

12/07/2018

This is a loverly camp site and the staff where so friendly. I would definitely recommend and will be going back xx

"Tyn-yr-Onnen Farm"

N Bryant - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

10/07/2018

I found this hidden little gem when searching on line. I picked it as it was near to Zip World and was located in a beautiful location at the base of the Snowdonia mountains.

The owners Len and......Read more.

I found this hidden little gem when searching on line. I picked it as it was near to Zip World and was located in a beautiful location at the base of the Snowdonia mountains.

The owners Len and Helen have bent over backwards to accommodate me, my family and dogs and we’re so helpful and friendly.

The farm is lovely with sheep, donkeys and pigs right outside our caravan. The quietness is beautiful and I couldn’t recommend it more.

I would definitely come back and hope that the sun shines as it did for us.

The road is a little narrow to the farm but Ok for cars but a little tight for caravans.

We loved our holiday here and visited some childhood places along the way.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Nicola and family and doggies...Read less.

"A"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

06/07/2018

A

"picturesque camping"

Mrs L Davey - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

04/07/2018

The site is surrounded by hills so very pretty. Facilities are very good with plentiful hot water. Tv room was nice to have and also farm produce. At the weekend the toilets and showers were a bit......Read more.

The site is surrounded by hills so very pretty. Facilities are very good with plentiful hot water. Tv room was nice to have and also farm produce. At the weekend the toilets and showers were a bit stretched in June so it might be very busy in the summer. Lots to see in the area and the weather was perfect....Read less.

"Very relaxed visit"

R Bundred - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

02/07/2018

Great location and the team very friendly

"Beautiful setting"

W Clarke - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

29/06/2018

We had a lovely stopover at this site after leaving one we'd stayed at the night before that was less than satisfactory. The welcome and information given was superb,, the pitch was perfect and the......Read more.

We had a lovely stopover at this site after leaving one we'd stayed at the night before that was less than satisfactory. The welcome and information given was superb,, the pitch was perfect and the showers were amazing and most welcome after a long drive. The reception sold produce from the farm, along with wood for a campfire if required. All we wanted was a break away from everything for the weekend and this site did not disappoint so we will definitely return in the very near future. I loved seeing the pigs, chickens and other animals too!...Read less.

"Overall good stay"

A Weightman - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

28/06/2018

I stayed for one night with my partner. We booked via pitch up.com and arrived later in the day. Very hospitable staff told me everything I needed to know and guided me to a big space to pitch my......Read more.

I stayed for one night with my partner. We booked via pitch up.com and arrived later in the day. Very hospitable staff told me everything I needed to know and guided me to a big space to pitch my tent. It said there were limited places on pitchup when booking but there was loads of space. Unfortunately, by bad luck, we ended up next to some uncultured, chav Eastern Europeans who were playing terrible, loud music through their car speakers at 11pm, were running around like school kids away from their parents for the first time and then proceeded to wake my partner having ridiculous loud sex at 4am. Again, not anything to do with the campsite and was just as luck, but put a slight downer on the trip. Overall in the future I would lookup other campsites nearer snowdon that were not available to consider on pitchup, but it is still close and good enough to be in the running....Read less.

"Lovely campingsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

28/06/2018

Lovely place for camp. Highly recommended 😊

"Fabulous place"

D Smith - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

28/06/2018

Absolutely loved staying here 5 ⭐️ All round, gona book for nxt ur later 😁😁

"na"

J Lee - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

28/06/2018

I have given full review on pitch up site

"Pleasant stay"

J Durney - Stayed with family, May 2018

26/06/2018

We wanted a peaceful but not to quiet site.

This was it. Everything we wanted great site.

"Perfect little getaway - highly recommend!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

26/06/2018

My partner and I spent 2 nights in the Onnen pod at the farm and found both the pod and the camping site wonderful! The pod was significantly bigger than pods I have stayed in before on other......Read more.

My partner and I spent 2 nights in the Onnen pod at the farm and found both the pod and the camping site wonderful! The pod was significantly bigger than pods I have stayed in before on other campsites and was much more comfortable with a clean spacious interior, heater and a double glazed window/door making me feel secure during the night.

The location of the campsite was perfect with just a short drive to Caernarfon and Llanberis. It was also right in front of the mountains with a beautiful view.

Toilets/showers were extremely clean and there were the added bonuses on site of the play area for children, communal TV lounge and farm for any animal lovers.

Will definitely be returning to this campsite for either another stay in the pods or the pitching of a tent.

Gentleman staff member on site was also extremely helpful and friendly....Read less.

"Fantastic!"

P Willers - Stayed with family, May 2018

20/06/2018

We had an amazing time at the beautiful Tyn yr Onnen campsite. The children absolutely loved the stream, space to play and the farm animals. The owners are lovely and really helpful and the......Read more.

We had an amazing time at the beautiful Tyn yr Onnen campsite. The children absolutely loved the stream, space to play and the farm animals. The owners are lovely and really helpful and the location is fantastic - we had lots of super family days out. We'll definitely go again!...Read less.

"Lovely Campsite"

J Barnicoat - Stayed with partner, May 2018

20/06/2018

We really enjoyed our stay at Tyn-yr-onnen.

We were here for 4 nights over a bank holiday weekend, which meant lots of poeple and tents. Despite this we never had to wait to use the shower/ toilet......Read more.

We really enjoyed our stay at Tyn-yr-onnen.

We were here for 4 nights over a bank holiday weekend, which meant lots of poeple and tents. Despite this we never had to wait to use the shower/ toilet block or the washing machine and drier. Everything was always clean. We would recommend this campsite to anyone....Read less.

"Really happy"

M Legal - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

20/06/2018

We are really happy with the place, all was lovely, the owners are really friendly and helpfull.

"Brilliant spot ."

B Costello - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

19/06/2018

Local farmer helpful about where to walk with our dog everyone very friendly . Liked the logs with wicks and being able to have a fire

© 2006 - 2019 CampStead