Tyn yr Onnen Farm

31 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 31 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

74%

Very Good

23%

Average

3%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Amazing stay"

A Chisnall - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

09/08/2020

Stunning views all around. Friendly donkeys and staff were very helpful. Close enough to Snowdon. Would recommend and stay again

"Another lovely stay."

R Sizer - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

09/08/2020

Fourth visit here now. It’s perfect location for walking and scenery just keeps bringing me back, only this time we were in a caravan rather than the pod. It’s a little bit nerving driving a caravan......Read more.

Fourth visit here now. It’s perfect location for walking and scenery just keeps bringing me back, only this time we were in a caravan rather than the pod. It’s a little bit nerving driving a caravan up the very small road but it was fine really. Had a lovely size corner pitch (although rather uneven), but someone had camped literally on our allocated pitch whilst we were out and our car wasn’t there one day. Not a problem though our neighbours were lovely!

Only down side was I have never visited in summer and there are A LOT of kids. Which you expected but the vast majority were left unsupervised on the play equipment and weren’t social distancing. This is due to parenting and not the campsite itself.

New booking shower system idea is great although requires managing by staff to stop families just booking every shower block ALL evening (in advance) and leaving no times for everyone else. But it’s nice to know that you had a shower to yourself and don’t have to worry about social distancing etc.

We will be back, but definitely out of school time. I normally come here for a quiet escape from my children haha!...Read less.

"Best camping in Snowdonia"

Mrs C Seymour - Stayed with friends, Jul 2020

08/08/2020

Tenting in July and had a fantastic time, best campsite we have stayed at for ages and definitely the best one in Snowdonia. Super friendly staff and a quiet campsite. Clean site and very aware of......Read more.

Tenting in July and had a fantastic time, best campsite we have stayed at for ages and definitely the best one in Snowdonia. Super friendly staff and a quiet campsite. Clean site and very aware of Covid precautions so we all felt safe. Loads to do in area, beaches, walking and Quarry Karts was brilliant. Definitely be back 👍...Read less.

"Lovely helpful staff"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

07/08/2020

The staff were lovely and considering the restrictions due to Covid 19 we were happy with the site, the only thing which wasn't great was we were expecting 'lots of walks directly from the site',......Read more.

The staff were lovely and considering the restrictions due to Covid 19 we were happy with the site, the only thing which wasn't great was we were expecting 'lots of walks directly from the site', however the footpath at the end of the lane was closed off and the one out the top of the site was too, unfortunately the locals didn't seem to appreciate visitors at this time, which was a shame. We had researched lots of walks and we unable to access the footpaths....Read less.

"Excellent family campsite"

A Carne-Ross - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

05/08/2020

We stayed with two young kids and it was perfect, good location, things to do, all the facilities we needed and friendly staff. Have recommended to lots of friends!

"If you want a Second Home"

Mrs A Worthington - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

10/11/2019

The relaxed atmosphere, the friendly staff, the location and the stunning views just make you relax as soon as you enter the campsite

Having spent at least 7 holidays there (4 in the last 18 months)......Read more.

The relaxed atmosphere, the friendly staff, the location and the stunning views just make you relax as soon as you enter the campsite

Having spent at least 7 holidays there (4 in the last 18 months) it's like a second home. It's perfect for summer or winter walking holidays and for family holidays. We stayed regularly when our kids were small and now return for equally enjoyable holidays without them...Read less.

"Stunning accommodation in an idyllic location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

25/10/2019

We stayed in a self-catering lodge that is just around the corner from the main site. Accommodation is very high spec and it is beautifully furnished with every possible kitchen utensil/gadget you......Read more.

We stayed in a self-catering lodge that is just around the corner from the main site. Accommodation is very high spec and it is beautifully furnished with every possible kitchen utensil/gadget you can think off. Beds were more comfortable that our own at home. The location and views are stunning. The lodge has its own outdoor area with BBQ and plenty of sitting. We can’t wait to go back next year for a longer stay....Read less.

"Very pleasant stay."

Mr I Hawiey - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

24/10/2019

Excellent site with good value for money. Beautiful views, great facilities, awesome showers. Lovely children's play area with an adjoining field with very tame donkeys. Nice welcome by owner......Read more.

Excellent site with good value for money. Beautiful views, great facilities, awesome showers. Lovely children's play area with an adjoining field with very tame donkeys. Nice welcome by owner and altogether a very nice stay....Read less.

"I absolutely love this site."

Miss N Bandey - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

10/10/2019

I absolutely love this site. Me, my partner and our 3 year old stayed here beginning of October for 5 nights in a hut. It was lovely and clean, the staff were kind and fantastic, also very......Read more.

I absolutely love this site. Me, my partner and our 3 year old stayed here beginning of October for 5 nights in a hut. It was lovely and clean, the staff were kind and fantastic, also very knowledgeable about the local places to visit. Beautiful mountain views the sound of the steam train tooting and lovely animals. Would definitely recommend and can’t wait to visit again 10/10 from me x (just one very small criticism is the games room pool table only has a few balls and broken cues and it was cold in there) but ping pong table was great fun x...Read less.

"Peaceful, scenic location with great facilities"

Mr P Hibberson - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

27/09/2019

The site is accessed from the village by a narrow road which is mostly used by farm traffic, so there is no road noise - especially good at night and you are woken only by the birds and sheep! It......Read more.

The site is accessed from the village by a narrow road which is mostly used by farm traffic, so there is no road noise - especially good at night and you are woken only by the birds and sheep! It would be tricky meeting a vehicle in the opposite direction but luckily we never did.

The site owners are friendly and helpful and we were able to choose our own pitch, most of which are quite level and not too rocky underneath. BBQs and contained campfires are allowed in the bottom field. You can hire fire pits from the office which doubles as a small shop selling essentials, including BBQ food from the freezer. The kids playground and games room were popular with my 9 and 4 year olds. No complaints at all about the Washing, shower and toilet facilities, although we were there the week after spring bank so it wasn't busy. There were also fridge, freezer and laundry facilities. Waunfawr is a stop on the Welsh Highland Railway which was a good day out travelling to Porthmadog and back. There are various walking routes into the mountains straight from the site, which had I not been with 2 young children would have tried. The nearby beach at Dinas Dinlle is well worth a trip on a sunny day.

There is a pub in the village which served good food. Nearest large supermarkets are at Caernarfon but for a few essentials there's a grocery at a service station a few miles outside the village - turn right out of the site access road.

Overall it is a great little campsite which, unlike some others you don't feel like you are constantly being told what you can't do. We've been twice now and wouldn't hesitate to book again!...Read less.

"2 night stay"

Miss B Bown - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Excellent stay, lovely surrounding area. Hosts very friendly and welcoming.

"Stay whilst walking Snowdon."

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2019

19/09/2019

We stopped here after walking Snowdon. It’s a bit of a drive from Llanberis but would highly recommend as a place to camp.

"Perfect!"

Mrs E Wagner - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

19/09/2019

A great camp site with lovely facilities, helpful staff and amazing views. The animals are an added bonus!

"Access"

D Boyce - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

18/09/2019

There was a small country lane leading to the site that may of been tricky to get down. However the site and its views were everything we could've asked for.

"Great place"

Miss A Klar - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

06/09/2019

Can not recommend highly enough. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Shower facilities clean and tidy.

"/"

M Smets - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

/

"Nice small campsite pefect for the family"

Mr D Bembridge - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

Park was very clean, showers were fantastic. Very quite with lovely views. Will be returning.

"August Bank Holiday Weekend"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

01/09/2019

Len and the staff were terrific. Very welcoming and friendly, lots of advice and tips for things to do in the area.

The location was great for us as we had come to climb mount Snowdon.

The toilets......Read more.

Len and the staff were terrific. Very welcoming and friendly, lots of advice and tips for things to do in the area.

The location was great for us as we had come to climb mount Snowdon.

The toilets and shower block is probably the area that needs the most improvement. I’ve been to other campsites with larger, cleaner and more modern blocks. It was ok, ok but the area that let the campsite down a little. No coin operated showers so plus there.

Other than that, we had a great trip and would recommend to others. The location was great....Read less.

"5* stay"

J Osman - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

Beautiful location, fantastic helpful staff, and very clean facilities - I wouldn’t change a thing! It was a wonderful break at a brilliant price considering it was the August bank holiday weekend......Read more.

Beautiful location, fantastic helpful staff, and very clean facilities - I wouldn’t change a thing! It was a wonderful break at a brilliant price considering it was the August bank holiday weekend too! I also made a little cock up with our booking, we were then swapped to a pod and it was resolved by Len so quickly and efficiently! Would highly recommend staying here, we had a wonderful time!!...Read less.

"Brilliant site!"

Miss S Oxley - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

A lovely site in a fantastic location. Easy access to loads of beautiful places. Owners couldn’t have been more helpful, we would definitely visit again.

"Fantastic site!"

Mr D Tongue - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

Stayed 3 nights over the August bank holiday weekend with our 2 year old grandson. Great site, just a nice size...not too big, not too small. Lovely hot rainfall showers, nice and clean facilities. ......Read more.

Stayed 3 nights over the August bank holiday weekend with our 2 year old grandson. Great site, just a nice size...not too big, not too small. Lovely hot rainfall showers, nice and clean facilities. Really friendly and helpful staff. Small but well stocked on-site shop, really enjoyed the lamb leg steaks. Beautiful location, lovely walks for all ages and abilities amongst amazing scenery. Wonderful smell of campfires at night. Near to Welsh Highland Railway station with the steam trains going through. Good playground for children and friendly donkeys that you can groom. Would definitely recommend....Read less.

"Great site, fab stay!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

Great site with amazing showers and super friendly staff. There's a pub within walking distance and the site's brilliantly located for loads of attractions in the area.

"Amazing holiday"

D Hynes - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

29/08/2019

Lovely site clean and friendly nothing is too much will definitely be going again

"Loved feeding the donkeys!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

23/08/2019

Very friendly staff members who were happy to show us around the farm. We loved all the animals especially the donkeys. There is a donkey feed stand where you are welcome to feed them (food available......Read more.

Very friendly staff members who were happy to show us around the farm. We loved all the animals especially the donkeys. There is a donkey feed stand where you are welcome to feed them (food available at reception!). Very good showers and facilities. The only negative point is the narrow road to get there, but then it's in the countryside after all. Overall great campsite, highly recommended!...Read less.

"Great place"

Mr J Stringer - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

Great place to stay, local to Snowdon, quiet and friendly for children

"Excellent campsite"

J Visser - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

Spend two weeks here with family. Lots to do nearby such as Caernarfon, snowdonia mountains, slate museum and treetop climbing next to museum (very cool!).

Clean campsite, very friendly staff always......Read more.

Spend two weeks here with family. Lots to do nearby such as Caernarfon, snowdonia mountains, slate museum and treetop climbing next to museum (very cool!).

Clean campsite, very friendly staff always helpfull! Will definitely come back here....Read less.

"Stunning location"

S Read - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

15/08/2019

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and although the weather was very wet and windy we enjoyed our stay, The campsite has everything you need. Shop, Play area, Games room, clean toilets and shower.......Read more.

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and although the weather was very wet and windy we enjoyed our stay, The campsite has everything you need. Shop, Play area, Games room, clean toilets and shower. Perfect....Read less.

"David & Family"

D Bonser - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

Good facilities, clean and tidy site with good amenities for children,hardly saw them all holiday.Would have liked to have been able to stay outside caravan with friends and family later than......Read more.

Good facilities, clean and tidy site with good amenities for children,hardly saw them all holiday.Would have liked to have been able to stay outside caravan with friends and family later than 2300.Power supply to van not adequate kept tripping out but was soon sorted.Despite all the rain the site was well drained and was never waterlogged all in all we had a very enjoyable break and would return...Read less.

"Summer holiday camping break with the kids"

K Schofield - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

The site was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. The site was very cute and pretty, and we loved the fact that there was a park and all the animals. There were brilliant amenities. It’s......Read more.

The site was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. The site was very cute and pretty, and we loved the fact that there was a park and all the animals. There were brilliant amenities. It’s definitely been our best choice yet and would recommend to others....Read less.

"Fabulous - despite the storms!"

Miss S Nicholas - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

A fantastic place. We spent 10 nights here and cannot recommend highly enough. The owners and staff are extremely helpful and friendly, onsite facilities are great - the showers are the best I have......Read more.

A fantastic place. We spent 10 nights here and cannot recommend highly enough. The owners and staff are extremely helpful and friendly, onsite facilities are great - the showers are the best I have seen on a campsite and the overall atmosphere is chilled and relaxed. Easy access to all the main attractions but far enough to feel away from it all. Will come back for sure!...Read less.

"Two weeks in Ty Bach"

V Lawson - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

14/08/2019

We had a lovely two weeks staying in Ty Bach with our dog. The accommodation provided everything we needed and was clean and well resourced. The site's location is brilliant for both the mountains......Read more.

We had a lovely two weeks staying in Ty Bach with our dog. The accommodation provided everything we needed and was clean and well resourced. The site's location is brilliant for both the mountains and the sea, although you can leave the car on site and do some amazing walks from Tyn yr Onnen itself (eg Moel Eilio, Mynydd Mawr). The owners and staff were all lovely - very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would definitely recommend this site and hope to return in the near future....Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead