Tyn yr Onnen Farm

99 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 99 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

81%

Very Good

16%

Average

2%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"If you want a Second Home"

Mrs A Worthington - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

10/11/2019

The relaxed atmosphere, the friendly staff, the location and the stunning views just make you relax as soon as you enter the campsite

Having spent at least 7 holidays there (4 in the last 18 months)......Read more.

The relaxed atmosphere, the friendly staff, the location and the stunning views just make you relax as soon as you enter the campsite

Having spent at least 7 holidays there (4 in the last 18 months) it's like a second home. It's perfect for summer or winter walking holidays and for family holidays. We stayed regularly when our kids were small and now return for equally enjoyable holidays without them...Read less.

"Stunning accommodation in an idyllic location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

25/10/2019

We stayed in a self-catering lodge that is just around the corner from the main site. Accommodation is very high spec and it is beautifully furnished with every possible kitchen utensil/gadget you......Read more.

We stayed in a self-catering lodge that is just around the corner from the main site. Accommodation is very high spec and it is beautifully furnished with every possible kitchen utensil/gadget you can think off. Beds were more comfortable that our own at home. The location and views are stunning. The lodge has its own outdoor area with BBQ and plenty of sitting. We can’t wait to go back next year for a longer stay....Read less.

"Very pleasant stay."

Mr I Hawiey - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

24/10/2019

Excellent site with good value for money. Beautiful views, great facilities, awesome showers. Lovely children's play area with an adjoining field with very tame donkeys. Nice welcome by owner......Read more.

Excellent site with good value for money. Beautiful views, great facilities, awesome showers. Lovely children's play area with an adjoining field with very tame donkeys. Nice welcome by owner and altogether a very nice stay....Read less.

"I absolutely love this site."

Miss N Bandey - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

10/10/2019

I absolutely love this site. Me, my partner and our 3 year old stayed here beginning of October for 5 nights in a hut. It was lovely and clean, the staff were kind and fantastic, also very......Read more.

I absolutely love this site. Me, my partner and our 3 year old stayed here beginning of October for 5 nights in a hut. It was lovely and clean, the staff were kind and fantastic, also very knowledgeable about the local places to visit. Beautiful mountain views the sound of the steam train tooting and lovely animals. Would definitely recommend and can’t wait to visit again 10/10 from me x (just one very small criticism is the games room pool table only has a few balls and broken cues and it was cold in there) but ping pong table was great fun x...Read less.

"Peaceful, scenic location with great facilities"

Mr P Hibberson - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

27/09/2019

The site is accessed from the village by a narrow road which is mostly used by farm traffic, so there is no road noise - especially good at night and you are woken only by the birds and sheep! It......Read more.

The site is accessed from the village by a narrow road which is mostly used by farm traffic, so there is no road noise - especially good at night and you are woken only by the birds and sheep! It would be tricky meeting a vehicle in the opposite direction but luckily we never did.

The site owners are friendly and helpful and we were able to choose our own pitch, most of which are quite level and not too rocky underneath. BBQs and contained campfires are allowed in the bottom field. You can hire fire pits from the office which doubles as a small shop selling essentials, including BBQ food from the freezer. The kids playground and games room were popular with my 9 and 4 year olds. No complaints at all about the Washing, shower and toilet facilities, although we were there the week after spring bank so it wasn't busy. There were also fridge, freezer and laundry facilities. Waunfawr is a stop on the Welsh Highland Railway which was a good day out travelling to Porthmadog and back. There are various walking routes into the mountains straight from the site, which had I not been with 2 young children would have tried. The nearby beach at Dinas Dinlle is well worth a trip on a sunny day.

There is a pub in the village which served good food. Nearest large supermarkets are at Caernarfon but for a few essentials there's a grocery at a service station a few miles outside the village - turn right out of the site access road.

Overall it is a great little campsite which, unlike some others you don't feel like you are constantly being told what you can't do. We've been twice now and wouldn't hesitate to book again!...Read less.

"2 night stay"

Miss B Bown - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Excellent stay, lovely surrounding area. Hosts very friendly and welcoming.

"Stay whilst walking Snowdon."

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2019

19/09/2019

We stopped here after walking Snowdon. It’s a bit of a drive from Llanberis but would highly recommend as a place to camp.

"Perfect!"

Mrs E Wagner - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

19/09/2019

A great camp site with lovely facilities, helpful staff and amazing views. The animals are an added bonus!

"Access"

D Boyce - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

18/09/2019

There was a small country lane leading to the site that may of been tricky to get down. However the site and its views were everything we could've asked for.

"Great place"

Miss A Klar - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

06/09/2019

Can not recommend highly enough. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Shower facilities clean and tidy.

"/"

M Smets - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

/

"Nice small campsite pefect for the family"

Mr D Bembridge - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

Park was very clean, showers were fantastic. Very quite with lovely views. Will be returning.

"August Bank Holiday Weekend"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

01/09/2019

Len and the staff were terrific. Very welcoming and friendly, lots of advice and tips for things to do in the area.

The location was great for us as we had come to climb mount Snowdon.

The toilets......Read more.

Len and the staff were terrific. Very welcoming and friendly, lots of advice and tips for things to do in the area.

The location was great for us as we had come to climb mount Snowdon.

The toilets and shower block is probably the area that needs the most improvement. I’ve been to other campsites with larger, cleaner and more modern blocks. It was ok, ok but the area that let the campsite down a little. No coin operated showers so plus there.

Other than that, we had a great trip and would recommend to others. The location was great....Read less.

"5* stay"

J Osman - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

Beautiful location, fantastic helpful staff, and very clean facilities - I wouldn’t change a thing! It was a wonderful break at a brilliant price considering it was the August bank holiday weekend......Read more.

Beautiful location, fantastic helpful staff, and very clean facilities - I wouldn’t change a thing! It was a wonderful break at a brilliant price considering it was the August bank holiday weekend too! I also made a little cock up with our booking, we were then swapped to a pod and it was resolved by Len so quickly and efficiently! Would highly recommend staying here, we had a wonderful time!!...Read less.

"Brilliant site!"

Miss S Oxley - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

A lovely site in a fantastic location. Easy access to loads of beautiful places. Owners couldn’t have been more helpful, we would definitely visit again.

"Fantastic site!"

Mr D Tongue - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

Stayed 3 nights over the August bank holiday weekend with our 2 year old grandson. Great site, just a nice size...not too big, not too small. Lovely hot rainfall showers, nice and clean facilities. ......Read more.

Stayed 3 nights over the August bank holiday weekend with our 2 year old grandson. Great site, just a nice size...not too big, not too small. Lovely hot rainfall showers, nice and clean facilities. Really friendly and helpful staff. Small but well stocked on-site shop, really enjoyed the lamb leg steaks. Beautiful location, lovely walks for all ages and abilities amongst amazing scenery. Wonderful smell of campfires at night. Near to Welsh Highland Railway station with the steam trains going through. Good playground for children and friendly donkeys that you can groom. Would definitely recommend....Read less.

"Great site, fab stay!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

Great site with amazing showers and super friendly staff. There's a pub within walking distance and the site's brilliantly located for loads of attractions in the area.

"Amazing holiday"

D Hynes - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

29/08/2019

Lovely site clean and friendly nothing is too much will definitely be going again

"Loved feeding the donkeys!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

23/08/2019

Very friendly staff members who were happy to show us around the farm. We loved all the animals especially the donkeys. There is a donkey feed stand where you are welcome to feed them (food available......Read more.

Very friendly staff members who were happy to show us around the farm. We loved all the animals especially the donkeys. There is a donkey feed stand where you are welcome to feed them (food available at reception!). Very good showers and facilities. The only negative point is the narrow road to get there, but then it's in the countryside after all. Overall great campsite, highly recommended!...Read less.

"Great place"

Mr J Stringer - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

Great place to stay, local to Snowdon, quiet and friendly for children

"Excellent campsite"

J Visser - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

Spend two weeks here with family. Lots to do nearby such as Caernarfon, snowdonia mountains, slate museum and treetop climbing next to museum (very cool!).

Clean campsite, very friendly staff always......Read more.

Spend two weeks here with family. Lots to do nearby such as Caernarfon, snowdonia mountains, slate museum and treetop climbing next to museum (very cool!).

Clean campsite, very friendly staff always helpfull! Will definitely come back here....Read less.

"Stunning location"

S Read - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

15/08/2019

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and although the weather was very wet and windy we enjoyed our stay, The campsite has everything you need. Shop, Play area, Games room, clean toilets and shower.......Read more.

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and although the weather was very wet and windy we enjoyed our stay, The campsite has everything you need. Shop, Play area, Games room, clean toilets and shower. Perfect....Read less.

"David & Family"

D Bonser - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

Good facilities, clean and tidy site with good amenities for children,hardly saw them all holiday.Would have liked to have been able to stay outside caravan with friends and family later than......Read more.

Good facilities, clean and tidy site with good amenities for children,hardly saw them all holiday.Would have liked to have been able to stay outside caravan with friends and family later than 2300.Power supply to van not adequate kept tripping out but was soon sorted.Despite all the rain the site was well drained and was never waterlogged all in all we had a very enjoyable break and would return...Read less.

"Summer holiday camping break with the kids"

K Schofield - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

The site was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. The site was very cute and pretty, and we loved the fact that there was a park and all the animals. There were brilliant amenities. It’s......Read more.

The site was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. The site was very cute and pretty, and we loved the fact that there was a park and all the animals. There were brilliant amenities. It’s definitely been our best choice yet and would recommend to others....Read less.

"Fabulous - despite the storms!"

Miss S Nicholas - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

A fantastic place. We spent 10 nights here and cannot recommend highly enough. The owners and staff are extremely helpful and friendly, onsite facilities are great - the showers are the best I have......Read more.

A fantastic place. We spent 10 nights here and cannot recommend highly enough. The owners and staff are extremely helpful and friendly, onsite facilities are great - the showers are the best I have seen on a campsite and the overall atmosphere is chilled and relaxed. Easy access to all the main attractions but far enough to feel away from it all. Will come back for sure!...Read less.

"Two weeks in Ty Bach"

V Lawson - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

14/08/2019

We had a lovely two weeks staying in Ty Bach with our dog. The accommodation provided everything we needed and was clean and well resourced. The site's location is brilliant for both the mountains......Read more.

We had a lovely two weeks staying in Ty Bach with our dog. The accommodation provided everything we needed and was clean and well resourced. The site's location is brilliant for both the mountains and the sea, although you can leave the car on site and do some amazing walks from Tyn yr Onnen itself (eg Moel Eilio, Mynydd Mawr). The owners and staff were all lovely - very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would definitely recommend this site and hope to return in the near future....Read less.

"The best holiday of my life"

A Marchant - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

Tyn yr onnen farm is an absolutely awesome place and it is so friendly and convenient with everything i would like to come here every year and I was ultra sad when my mum told me we had to leave .

"We Loved it"

Miss D Shaw - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

11/08/2019

Everything was lovely. The setting, the staff, especially Beth she is lovely. The kids had an ace time.

"Excellent camping site in stunning surroundings"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

09/08/2019

Excellent camping site in stunning surroundings

"Great Location"

Mr D Peachey - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

07/08/2019

Great location on the quiet side of Snowdonia. Short drive (or bus or train) to Anglesey and its fantastic beaches and attractions. and the Snowdonia mountains.

"Great location spectacular views"

Mr M Krol - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

07/08/2019

Thank you very much for everything

We had a really great time at this campsite

Definitely we will recommend this to the friends.

"Lovely site"

Miss K Webb - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

06/08/2019

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were friendly and helpful, site kept clean and we liked that fires had to be out by 11pm so you didnt get loud groups until the early......Read more.

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were friendly and helpful, site kept clean and we liked that fires had to be out by 11pm so you didnt get loud groups until the early hours. The site is dog friendly too which was a selling point for us as we were taking Smudge our spaniel. Highly recommend and will definitely return....Read less.

"Fantastic site"

1998 C Sale - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

27/07/2019

This really is a fantastic site. We were a bit concerned when we arrived and the warden (Beth - who is completely gorgeous and so helpful) told us that they were rammed at the weekend, I had images......Read more.

This really is a fantastic site. We were a bit concerned when we arrived and the warden (Beth - who is completely gorgeous and so helpful) told us that they were rammed at the weekend, I had images of a tent right behind our motorhome back window as on other sites, however, this was most definitely not the case. The nearest tent was on the designated pitch across the way and there was no stuffing in tents wherever there was a space. Blissful!!!!!!!

The site is really well looked after and the facilities so clean. They make the effort to recycle which is great and not done on some other sites. It's very child-friendly and safe due to the clever road layout. It's also dog-friendly which is perfect for us.

It's brilliantly situated for so many different activities. On the days when the weather was inclement over the Mountains, we travelled over to Anglesey and the Llyn Peninsula (which has stunning beaches). On good days, we went inwards for the might of Snowdon. Then every evening, we would sit and watch the clouds flow over Moel Eilio, perfect viewing!...Read less.

"Weekend away"

J Robson - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

26/07/2019

Very happy with everything whilst there. Would highly recommend

"Beautiful time here."

Miss C Oconnell - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

We booked a loverly pod for 3 nights here at ty yr onnen farm, beautiful,clean,relaxing,everything we needed was to hand,warm clean showers!!all areas well kept,staff loverly,shop well priced,loverly......Read more.

We booked a loverly pod for 3 nights here at ty yr onnen farm, beautiful,clean,relaxing,everything we needed was to hand,warm clean showers!!all areas well kept,staff loverly,shop well priced,loverly scenic place to stay,loverly walks,pub close by,loverly food, shop off site 2 min drive,sells whatever you may need, loverly place, with loverly farm animals,would return😊...Read less.

"Great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Stayed here as a base for coasteering and white water rafting. Nice campsite, we’ll maintained and in a good area, especially for walkers

"Snowdon"

C Wildman - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

We stayed here for 2 nights the site was clean and tidy with beautiful views the staff were absolutely brilliant couldn’t help enough

"5* Campsite"

Mrs K Durrant - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Wonderfully friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Great location for walkers, shops just a five minutes' drive. Site kept immaculate, camp shop offers anything you can think of that you may......Read more.

Wonderfully friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Great location for walkers, shops just a five minutes' drive. Site kept immaculate, camp shop offers anything you can think of that you may forget to bring with you or want once on site. Very happy campers....Read less.

"Return camper"

Mrs A Worthington - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Another amazing stay at this campsite. This was our 5th time camping (plus one winter lodge stay) here and we still love it as much as when our kids were small. It is a fantastic place for kids, but......Read more.

Another amazing stay at this campsite. This was our 5th time camping (plus one winter lodge stay) here and we still love it as much as when our kids were small. It is a fantastic place for kids, but equally fantastic now we camp on our own.

The staff are so helpful and friendly. The views are just as spellbinding now as they were on our first stay in 1997.

It is secluded and safe yet so close to all amenities. It is also a perfect place for hill walking. The bus stop in the village and the train station at Rhyd Dhu make it so easy to set off walking/exploring if you don't have or don't want to use your own transport.

Will definitely be back again...Read less.

"Great Site"

Mr P Smith - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

23/07/2019

We really enjoyed our stay at this very pleasant site. Good for local walks and access to nearby Snowdon and Anglesey. The only improvemet I would ask for is a dedicated motothome service point.

"Friendly park."

Mr D Baker - Stayed Jul 2019

17/07/2019

In all the camp sites I have stayed at the staff here were definitely the friendliest and most helpful.

"Excellence within natural beuaty"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Family of 4 (12 and 14 year old kids) spent 3 nights here July 2019 and it was fantastic. Stunning views, great location for zip line and hikes up Snowdon; plenty to do in the area.

Site itself is......Read more.

Family of 4 (12 and 14 year old kids) spent 3 nights here July 2019 and it was fantastic. Stunning views, great location for zip line and hikes up Snowdon; plenty to do in the area.

Site itself is billed as being on a farm but you wouldn't really notice. It was spotlessly clean (no mean feat considering it was pretty well full for 2 days), good playground for younger kids, TV/pool table/table tennis room was excellent as well. Decent offering of supplies and fresh food, well kept washing up areas and fridges/freezers/ microwave/laundry as well. Which reminds me, we left our ice blocks in the freezer...oh well...

Len was very friendly and a fountain of good, accurate information. If we're ever in NW Wales again (7 hour drive so not sure) we would definitely stay here again.

One thing though, if you ask for weather advice from a local, such as "When do you think the mist will lift?" and they answer "By 1100..." just be sure to clarify which day they mean..!...Read less.

"A great site in a great location."

Mr D Saunders - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

A really nice, quiet, friendly and well ordered site. It’s ideally situated on ‘the less crowded’ side of Snowden and really convenient for holidays, climbing and walking activities.

The showers are......Read more.

A really nice, quiet, friendly and well ordered site. It’s ideally situated on ‘the less crowded’ side of Snowden and really convenient for holidays, climbing and walking activities.

The showers are the best ever!!!

We will definitely return....Read less.

"Fab site"

C Johnson - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Lovely friendly staff. Really neat tidy and well equipped site. Will definitely return!

"Excellent, clean facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Greeted with a smile. Fantastic cleaning and washing facilities. Well maintained fields. Amazing views.

"Great site"

Mrs V Dunbar - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

10/07/2019

I got eaten alive by mozzys in the evening...even with lots of deet, jungle spray and citronella. Apart from that, the camp was a lovely site and would I would return when it's not so warm so I don't......Read more.

I got eaten alive by mozzys in the evening...even with lots of deet, jungle spray and citronella. Apart from that, the camp was a lovely site and would I would return when it's not so warm so I don't get as many bites.

The staff are amazing and give you their undivided attention, very friendly and helpful!

Thanks for a great stay :)...Read less.

"Beautiful setting. With fantastic views"

Mr R Cornick - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

09/07/2019

This campsite is in a beautiful setting with fantastic views all around. Campsite facilities were spotless. Although we didn't use the tv room and the table tennis table it was there. Our......Read more.

This campsite is in a beautiful setting with fantastic views all around. Campsite facilities were spotless. Although we didn't use the tv room and the table tennis table it was there. Our granddaughter and other family members stayed in the lodge which was amazing., kitted out with everything you would ever need. The play park was well used and the donkey feeding a treat. Beth took our granddaughter to collect the chicken eggs in the morning. Which was a big hit. Staff lovely, friendly and helpful....Read less.

"Brilliant place to stay with young children"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

07/07/2019

We had an amazing short stay here. Beth was extremely helpful and friendly and let our toddler help her collect the eggs. The facilities were perfect for young children, including the donkeys we were......Read more.

We had an amazing short stay here. Beth was extremely helpful and friendly and let our toddler help her collect the eggs. The facilities were perfect for young children, including the donkeys we were able yo feed....Read less.

"Brief visit"

D Parnell - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

07/07/2019

We had a lovely stay in out motor home, friendly welcome, clean facilities, easy walk to pub for good food and beautiful surroundings.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead