Llanungar Caravan and Camping

109 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 109 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

98% would stay here again

Excellent

73%

Very Good

27%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"A great holiday."

Mrs C Bray - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

04/11/2019

The caravan, Grassholm, was well-equipped and clean. We were impressed with eveything about the caravan; its cleanliness, cosiness and comfort. The view from the decking is just incredible. The......Read more.

The caravan, Grassholm, was well-equipped and clean. We were impressed with eveything about the caravan; its cleanliness, cosiness and comfort. The view from the decking is just incredible. The facilities are top notch - great oven, enough utensils etc. We will definitely be returning. Loved it....Read less.

"Short stay 5days"

Mr G Stout - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

20/10/2019

Nice, clean and quiet campsite in a beautiful part of Wales.Walking distance to beach, restaurant and pubs.Handy local shop.

"Lovely quiet site"

J Licursi - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

03/10/2019

This site ticked all the boxes for us, ideal only for couples as their is no entertainment for kids, lovely quiet site not too big with views of the sea, the first week was glorious sunshine but......Read more.

This site ticked all the boxes for us, ideal only for couples as their is no entertainment for kids, lovely quiet site not too big with views of the sea, the first week was glorious sunshine but sadly deteriorated so much the 2nd week we had to leave a day early due to weather warnings, will definitely return and enjoy the beautiful surroundings of Solva and St David’s great walks from the site too along the Pembrokeshire coastal path....Read less.

"Our second stay at Llanungar"

W Jones - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

30/09/2019

First class venue and facilities. Peaceful, and comfortable.

"Fantastic!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

30/09/2019

Well maintained, clean and friendly site. Perfect location to explore the Welsh Coastal path and Saint David’s peninsula.

We wished we could have stayed longer!

"Weekend break"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Nice tidy campsite with helpful staff. Facilities are good I.e wash rooms. For motorhomes it would be nice to have a grey waste drain. Access road is a little narrow and uneven. However, overall a......Read more.

Nice tidy campsite with helpful staff. Facilities are good I.e wash rooms. For motorhomes it would be nice to have a grey waste drain. Access road is a little narrow and uneven. However, overall a nice site....Read less.

"Nice site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

26/09/2019

Very friendly welcome from friendly knowledgeable staff. Field is good for caravans and tents with a play area in the centre. The site is vulnerable to winds so strap and peg down well. Shower block......Read more.

Very friendly welcome from friendly knowledgeable staff. Field is good for caravans and tents with a play area in the centre. The site is vulnerable to winds so strap and peg down well. Shower block is basic but clean and the showers are hot and free! Location is great for St David’s and Solva and within driving distance of some fabulous beaches. There is a local shop within 10/15 minutes walk which sells a variety of goodies. Good walks from the site for dog owners. The only suggestion I would like to make would that they could make it easier for emptying waste water for caravaners. We ventured out to a couple of restaurants, one in Solva ( The Cambrian Inn) which was excellent if some what a little expensive especially for drinks. The other was The Shed in Porthgain where we probably had the best fish and chips ever....we went back for the A’la Carte and again it was great. So generally the site is a great holiday destination....Read less.

"A quick trip to Pembrokeshire"

S Hughes - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

We stayed at Llanungar on a recent trip to West Pembrokeshire. We booked having read other reviews and because the campsite was dog-friendly. I booked over the phone and the lady was incredibly......Read more.

We stayed at Llanungar on a recent trip to West Pembrokeshire. We booked having read other reviews and because the campsite was dog-friendly. I booked over the phone and the lady was incredibly helpful and friendly.

The campsite has a beautiful location above Solva village adjacent to a working farm with distant views to the sea. There are a reasonable number of static caravans there but the campsite is kept quite separate although toilet and shower facilities are shared. The camping field is reasonably small with the pitches arranged around the perimeter with the office and toilet block at one end. The office is cosy and full of maps and leaflets for local attractions but was unattended when we were there. The showers and toilets were clean. There aren’t really any other facilities that we could see but it is really meant as a quiet base for exploring the incredible unique wild

coastline. I did walk down into Solva in the afternoon which is a very pleasant 20 minute stroll through the farm and then quiet country lanes and then a footpath down to the harbour. All in all it is a great base and we will definitely return....Read less.

"a"

Mr C Green - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

25/09/2019

a

"Fantastic scenery"

G Long - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

25/09/2019

Very good showers the best I've seen friendly staff quite location dog friendly good sized pitches value for money and fantastic scenery and walks

"Lovely well kept site"

J Hanson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

19/09/2019

Went with our motorhome, lovely tidy, well kept site, only a couple of showers in the ladies toilet block but never had to wait, so not an issue. A very relaxing stay, if you enjoy walking it's ......Read more.

Went with our motorhome, lovely tidy, well kept site, only a couple of showers in the ladies toilet block but never had to wait, so not an issue. A very relaxing stay, if you enjoy walking it's perfectly placed near to the Pembrokeshire coastal path which is quite stunning,have already recommended this site to friends....Read less.

"Well kept site"

A Wilson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

16/09/2019

The owners were very friendly and helpful and the site is well maintained and clean. The camping field has views of the coast, it is large with plenty of space for each pitch. We were able to cycle......Read more.

The owners were very friendly and helpful and the site is well maintained and clean. The camping field has views of the coast, it is large with plenty of space for each pitch. We were able to cycle via a quiet road into St Davids and Whitesands Bay and also to walk along the cliff tops into nearby Solva....Read less.

"Lovely site, great staff"

T Mottershead - Stayed with friends, Sep 2019

14/09/2019

Enjoyed our stay here. A quiet site with a short walk to the very picturesque Solva harbour and beautiful coastal path - a two hour walk to the smallest City in Britain, St. David's. Was not able to......Read more.

Enjoyed our stay here. A quiet site with a short walk to the very picturesque Solva harbour and beautiful coastal path - a two hour walk to the smallest City in Britain, St. David's. Was not able to get any TV channels, not that this was a problem as there is a well equipped hut with 'book swap' and games to play. We would definitely return if we travelled to this area again....Read less.

"Stunning site"

R Morgan - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

14/09/2019

The quality of this site is second to none, close to beautiful surroundings and easy pleasant walks. The site is kept immaculate in every respect. A warm friendly welcome greets you upon arrival. ......Read more.

The quality of this site is second to none, close to beautiful surroundings and easy pleasant walks. The site is kept immaculate in every respect. A warm friendly welcome greets you upon arrival. A further improvement would be laying tarmac to the camping approach rather than sharp chipping that could possibly puncture a heavy caravans tyre....Read less.

"Another great stay at Llanungar"

Mrs N Hughes - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

13/09/2019

This was our second visit to Llanungar and it won't be the last! Lovely little site within easy walking distance of the gem that is Solva. A friendly welcome, good clean facilities, nice level......Read more.

This was our second visit to Llanungar and it won't be the last! Lovely little site within easy walking distance of the gem that is Solva. A friendly welcome, good clean facilities, nice level pitches and a sea view!...Read less.

Rachel, replied to this review on the 13 September 2019

Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide......Read more.

Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Your comments are appreciated by us all.

Best wishes,

Rachel, Dan, Jude, Mac....Read less.

"Hols"

K Stock - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

12/09/2019

Excellent

"First visit in motorhome to anywhere ever!"

Mr R Mole - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

10/09/2019

Great location and very easy to book - totally happy with pour stay there and would definitely return as the area is beautiful

"Our stay at St David’s"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

09/09/2019

Stayed 5 nights and found site clean and spacious, nice easy walk to Solva from the park all downhill, not as easy on way back. Solva pretty with several galleries and places to eat but no shops for......Read more.

Stayed 5 nights and found site clean and spacious, nice easy walk to Solva from the park all downhill, not as easy on way back. Solva pretty with several galleries and places to eat but no shops for food supplies. Only negative would be the showers they are a bit tatty and cold, a few cobwebs hanging above and walls needed painting, would recommend these were improved. Owner helpful and easy to contact if not around....Read less.

Rachel, replied to this review on the 09 September 2019

Thank you for posting your anonymous review, feedback is always much appreciated. I will address a......Read more.

Thank you for posting your anonymous review, feedback is always much appreciated. I will address a number of your points below:

* Solva has a great little convenience store for general supplies. It is a 1km away, an easy 15 minute walk, which is relatively flat. Instructions on how to find the shop are detailed in the joining instructions we send to all guests and also on the printed copies in the information room;

* We will remove any cobwebs that have formed:

* Since adding central heating to the wash block condensation is forming above the showers. As you can see 6 inch holes have been drilled to introduce an automatic dehumidifying system; we are awaiting the return of our electrician to finish these works, the walls will then be repainted.

* Central heating system will come on if the wash block drops below 21 degrees.

* Showers are 8.5kW electric heated units, so the temperature of the water is controlled by turning the temperature knob, so should never be cold, sorry if you found it so.

Kind Regards,

Dan

...Read less.

"First visit"

C Bayley-White - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

07/09/2019

Absolutely wonderful place to say, brilliant location and looked after well. Female toilets and wash area are adequate.

"Pleasant stay"

Mr A Thomas - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

07/09/2019

Well kept site with natural hedges all round providing shelter from the wind. Plenty of space on each pitch and because it was fairly quiet after school holidays were over we were able to pick our......Read more.

Well kept site with natural hedges all round providing shelter from the wind. Plenty of space on each pitch and because it was fairly quiet after school holidays were over we were able to pick our own pitch....Read less.

"We had a blast !"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

06/09/2019

We have just got back from a weeks camping on your site with family and friends and already can’t wait to return.

We have long loved Solva but have historically camped in St David’s so to have crab......Read more.

We have just got back from a weeks camping on your site with family and friends and already can’t wait to return.

We have long loved Solva but have historically camped in St David’s so to have crab fishing , coastal walks and fabulous places for lunch within walking distance was an absolute treat .

We celebrated 2 birthdays whilst with you and I am sure it will be remembered by my now 7 year old as his best birthday ever ! (Adam recommended the escape rooms at at St David’s to us ).

Thanks all...Read less.

"Llanungar Review"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

The campsite was very full on arrival but there was plenty of space on our level, grass pitch. We were greeted soon after arrival by Adam who was very friendly and helpful. The ladies' shower block......Read more.

The campsite was very full on arrival but there was plenty of space on our level, grass pitch. We were greeted soon after arrival by Adam who was very friendly and helpful. The ladies' shower block was clean & tidy but 2 showers are insufficient for busy periods and I had a long wait The site bin station was quite a walk from the touring field which was inconvenient with having 2 dogs to clean up after and carrying rubbish bags & sorted recycling in very windy weather. It would have been much better if one general rubbish & one recycling bin were closer to the field. There are washing facilities (washing machine & tumble drier) on site, which we didn't use, but I did need a sink to do some hand-washing and as none were available I had no option but to use the washing up sink. The site was good & I would recommend it to anyone staying in the area....Read less.

"Perfect family holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

04/09/2019

We had a fantastic holiday-the staff are so helpful the accommodation was excellent.

Great location-easy walk to Solva. Perfect location to explore the amazing coastline and lovely town of Solva and......Read more.

We had a fantastic holiday-the staff are so helpful the accommodation was excellent.

Great location-easy walk to Solva. Perfect location to explore the amazing coastline and lovely town of Solva and St David.

The caravan was clean /comfortable and had great views....Read less.

"Family holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

We very much enjoyed our stay at Llanungar. A friendly, comfortable site with all the essentials. A good, clean wash facility. Great location with views of sunsets and starry night skies. Plenty of......Read more.

We very much enjoyed our stay at Llanungar. A friendly, comfortable site with all the essentials. A good, clean wash facility. Great location with views of sunsets and starry night skies. Plenty of room with well laid out pitches. Friendly, helpful staff.

Only thing we’d change is to have more privacy in the wash rooms. A family room or wash basins in cubicles to let you wash in private without taking a shower....Read less.

"Lovely campsite"

Mr M Clayton - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

Good location as a base for sea kayaking. We ended up as a large group staying at the campsite, so they gave us the overflow field which was perfect for us. Plenty of space and room to park.

Very......Read more.

Good location as a base for sea kayaking. We ended up as a large group staying at the campsite, so they gave us the overflow field which was perfect for us. Plenty of space and room to park.

Very friendly and helpful staff....Read less.

"Second time not a disappointment"

A Walker - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

This was a return visit to Llanungar and we were not disappointed. The site is clean and well managed. Our fellow campers were friendly and considerate. The campsite, just outside of Solva is useful......Read more.

This was a return visit to Llanungar and we were not disappointed. The site is clean and well managed. Our fellow campers were friendly and considerate. The campsite, just outside of Solva is useful if you want to explore the St David’s peninsula, Whitesands Beach etc. We are already planning our return visit....Read less.

"Wonderful"

H Farmer - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

We love this camping site. Large pitches, huge grass area for families/kids to play. All the facilities you need. The staff are friendly, helpful and fab.

The only thing I would say is to provide......Read more.

We love this camping site. Large pitches, huge grass area for families/kids to play. All the facilities you need. The staff are friendly, helpful and fab.

The only thing I would say is to provide non slip mats in the shower trays as it can be slippy. Also a notice for guests to leave the facilities clean after their use....Read less.

"Storms didn’t put us off"

Mr T Mayes - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

26/08/2019

Even with massive winds and heavy rain didn’t put us off having a great weekend camping.

A good pitch, very tidy and helpful and friendly staff what else could ask for.

"Excellent place to stay"

S Oakley - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

23/08/2019

We only stopped for one night as just passing through. We lived it and will definitely be back.

Really is a great site and we thoroughly recommend it

"Overall"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

Chose this campsite as our regular one nearby suddenly decided to have a no dog policy. Owners really friendly and helpful. Washrooms clean. Although only 2 showers in female washroom we never found......Read more.

Chose this campsite as our regular one nearby suddenly decided to have a no dog policy. Owners really friendly and helpful. Washrooms clean. Although only 2 showers in female washroom we never found a queue. Cabin on site really useful - enjoyed the games in there when very wet and windy day. Very useful that they have washing machine and tumble drier - remember 20 pences for the drier! Hairdryer installed in washroom whilst we were staying there. Walkable to solva. Large area in the camping field for children (and adults) to play in.

Great campsite. Would recommend....Read less.

"Night away in motorhome"

Mrs K Tolley - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

18/08/2019

What a lovely site, large pitches around a completely flat field. 20 mins walk to Solva and a great little convenience store near the site. Would definitely recommend and will be definitely returning.

"Historically great"

L New - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

17/08/2019

On arrival very friendly staff, pitches very clean, booked for 3 nights and stayed another 3 nights, only downside was we had to move after the 3 nights, but that wasn’t a problem as they have a back......Read more.

On arrival very friendly staff, pitches very clean, booked for 3 nights and stayed another 3 nights, only downside was we had to move after the 3 nights, but that wasn’t a problem as they have a back up place in the next field, there are plenty of walks all around, and to our surprise the place was used by the USA as a landing site during the war, you can clearly see the runways all around, and a circle of standing stones, there was a local shop and prices were very good, will definitely be going back, there is a beach nearby where dogs are allowed to go on....Read less.

"Llanungar camping: Very happy campers"

J Walker - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

16/08/2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The area was stunning and the site was very peaceful. The pitches were spacious and there was lots of space in the field for the children to play. The owners where......Read more.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The area was stunning and the site was very peaceful. The pitches were spacious and there was lots of space in the field for the children to play. The owners where very friendly and helpful and the shed for customers use with the plug sockets, games, books and information was a very welcome little extra. Definately recommend this site to anyone looking for relaxing and peaceful holiday but there are plenty of activities nearby for a good day out....Read less.

"Llanungar camp site"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

14/08/2019

This is one of the best camp sites we have stayed at. The main attraction is the size of the pitches and the main field is limited to twenty pitches. Lots of space, especially in front of the tents.......Read more.

This is one of the best camp sites we have stayed at. The main attraction is the size of the pitches and the main field is limited to twenty pitches. Lots of space, especially in front of the tents. Nice walk into Solva and not far from St Davids. The airfield at back of the campsite was fabulous for birds, flowers and insects. It was great the main paths had been paved which was great as one of our party was in a wheel chair.

The cabin was great for a quiz night, but it would be good if there was a mirror in there (No electric sockets in toilets so most women were drying their hair in there, using the reflection off the notice boards!!)

Adam the manager was great, friendly and very helpful.

We had a lovely, peaceful and very restful holiday and have already recommended the camp site and we will be back soon, just wished it was a bit closer to home....Read less.

"Rowland Family"

Mrs. M Rowland - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

Loved this site. Friendliest welcome I've ever received when we arrived! Immaculate site. Big pitches...around a big area kept free for families and kids to play. Lovely information room with......Read more.

Loved this site. Friendliest welcome I've ever received when we arrived! Immaculate site. Big pitches...around a big area kept free for families and kids to play. Lovely information room with leaflets, maps, weather reports, book swap, board gamesetc. Facilities all great. Handy having an electric kettle and plug for charging in the wash up room. We walked into Solva. Beautiful walk along tracks and along cornfields....ideal for dogs. (There was a quicker way too. ) We loved Solva, lots of walks, crabbing, swimming, places to eat and drink. Loved our stay here. Quiet and relaxing. We would definitely be back xx...Read less.

"Great location"

A Barker - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

Lovely place to stay, but lacking a little in facilities, especially for children - a play park would be a good addition!

"29-30th August"

D Hinks - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

13/08/2019

Very impressed with the manager, Adam. friendly and helpful and a very nice place to stay for a few days on our adventure in Pembrokeshire. Recommend the coastal walk down to Solva and the bus back!

"Facilities"

D Stride - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

13/08/2019

Great campsite, pitches are a good size, hook up was easy to reach.

Only criticism please think about supplying a larger freezer and a large fridge.

Will defo be returning

"Lovely park"

N Davies - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

10/08/2019

Had a great weekend here for the Edge festival so didn’t spend a lot of time at the campsite. Had a lovely welcome on arrival and shown to our pitch. Pitches are fab as they are separated from your......Read more.

Had a great weekend here for the Edge festival so didn’t spend a lot of time at the campsite. Had a lovely welcome on arrival and shown to our pitch. Pitches are fab as they are separated from your neighbours by an overgrown strip of grass which was a brilliant idea. Plenty of room for each pitch. Clean facilities. Only had 3 toilets and 2 showers in the ladies which I thought was going to be an issue but it was fine. A really well kept clean site. We will definitely go back!...Read less.

"Great stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

09/08/2019

This is the second time we stayed at the site. Great location for the edge festival and getting into solva. We had to book three nights but only stayed for two of those nights. This was something......Read more.

This is the second time we stayed at the site. Great location for the edge festival and getting into solva. We had to book three nights but only stayed for two of those nights. This was something which was compulsory this year. Hopefully will be returning next year....Read less.

"Great for Solva"

Mrs V Ralfs - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

06/08/2019

Perfectly placed site for Solva and St David’s. Tidy, lovely view

"Holiday"

R Summers - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

06/08/2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Had a lovely time.. If there is one criticism both water taps were barricaded in by chairs, washing lines, guide ropes, barbecues, which meant it was impossible to ......Read more.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Had a lovely time.. If there is one criticism both water taps were barricaded in by chairs, washing lines, guide ropes, barbecues, which meant it was impossible to maneouvre the water butt when it was full around the obstacles. The only alternative as to go to the tap by the toilet.

Everything else was fine hope to see you next year....Read less.

"A very relaxing stay."

Mr M Falconer - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

05/08/2019

Great campsite, didn't feel busy even when full as the generously sized pitches are only situated around the outer edge of the field. Friendly staff, good value and only a 10 minute stroll to the......Read more.

Great campsite, didn't feel busy even when full as the generously sized pitches are only situated around the outer edge of the field. Friendly staff, good value and only a 10 minute stroll to the coast path....Read less.

"Lovely, peacerful, well appointed campsite"

A Bellamy - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

05/08/2019

We stayed in the school summer holidays so expected the campsite to be busy. We were pleasantly surprised and welcomed by the space that was allocated between pitches and didn't feel hemmed in. Also,......Read more.

We stayed in the school summer holidays so expected the campsite to be busy. We were pleasantly surprised and welcomed by the space that was allocated between pitches and didn't feel hemmed in. Also, despite being busy it was still very peaceful and other campers were respectful of each other. Never had to queue for use of the 2 showers. Our children made lots of friends.

We were provided with a warm welcome from the owner and he was always around to check all ok.

Facilities were clean and tidy and whilst basic the little things matter such as a kettle for boiling water, fire pits and charge points for mobiles for example. We also liked and took full advantage of the pizza takeaway and ice cream van that appeared once each whilst we were there.

Location wise, it was a 10 minute walk to the coastline and a 10 minute walk to the local shop (it stores everything and more!). Lovely to stroll down to the coast of an evening. Easy access to other attractions during the day by car.

If you like basic campsites which have plenty of space, peaceful, well maintained and simple (in a good way) then this is the place for you....Read less.

"Fantastic caravan!"

E Taylor - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Lovely caravan, fabulous location, views of the sea from decking, caravan is on a quiet site. We had a fabulous relaxed week, caravan well equipped and spotless. Will definitely return. Thank you!

"Family friendly campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

My son had a great time and made new friends amongst the other children on this safe site with plenty of space for children to play.

"Good clean and friendly"

Mrs R Gromett - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Staff very friendly and welcoming.Site was very clean and tidy all the time.

"St David's stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Good site to use

"First visit"

N Boyd - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Found Llanungar using Pitch Up - lots of sites in the area specify minimum stay and we were only looking for one night at a decent price. Good facilities and a nice flat pitch. Check in system where......Read more.

Found Llanungar using Pitch Up - lots of sites in the area specify minimum stay and we were only looking for one night at a decent price. Good facilities and a nice flat pitch. Check in system where pitch allocation was written on the office door was useful. Recommended site - would stay again if we were in the area....Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead