Newhaven Holiday Park

68 Reviews

4.5 / 5 overall rating based on 68 reviews in the last 12 months

97% would recommend this site

88% would stay here again

Excellent

60%

Very Good

35%

Average

4%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Newlands"

Dr M Roberts - Stayed Sep 2019

09/10/2019

Gents showers could do with a little more pressure.

Otherwise great stay and will be returning soon.

"Nice site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

A lovely site only slightly let down by the showers. We found them to be a little chilly even though it was not cold weather outside, and the cleanliness could have been improved. Not dirty by any......Read more.

A lovely site only slightly let down by the showers. We found them to be a little chilly even though it was not cold weather outside, and the cleanliness could have been improved. Not dirty by any means, but some grass and mud left behind even after the cleaner had left.

The site owners were lovely and helpful and the site shop very well stocked.

The site is well laid out, well maintained and tidy.

Only other comment is slight noise from the nearby roads as vehicles were accelerating and quite a few motorbikes....Read less.

"School friends Reunion with families - Friday 20th Sept 2019 - Sunday 22nd Sept 2019"

Mr P Smith - Stayed with friends, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

There was about 30 of us, including children who met for a school reunion. We travelled from all over and felt the Peak District was a good location for all. We wanted to have electric hook-up too......Read more.

There was about 30 of us, including children who met for a school reunion. We travelled from all over and felt the Peak District was a good location for all. We wanted to have electric hook-up too and so searched online and found Newhaven. Most of us arrived Friday around 5pm-6:30pm and were welcomed by Sue at the reception/shop. Sue was very friendly and guided us to her husband and staff member who showed us to our pitch. Anything that we wanted they were about to help us with all weekend. On Friday night we phone the nearest fish and chip shop who kindly delivered our food. Overall, the weekend was brilliant and could not have asked for more from the staff on site as they were extremely friendly and accommodating with everything. We would definitely come back if we decide to do the Peak District again next year. Thank you for a great weekend....Read less.

"Peaceful weekend - almost"

Mrs S Hall - Stayed Sep 2019

19/09/2019

I asked for a quiet pitch so I was pitched with no immediate neighbours which was great. I have a nervous dog, so he was fine. You can hear the road a little too much for my liking but the site is......Read more.

I asked for a quiet pitch so I was pitched with no immediate neighbours which was great. I have a nervous dog, so he was fine. You can hear the road a little too much for my liking but the site is surrounded by trees and well maintained....Read less.

"Rural and peaceful site"

Mr M Eardley - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

17/09/2019

We were given a nice flat hardstanding pitch with plenty of room for the car, the pitches were surrounded by trees and grassy area's but not too shaded, which was nice and good dog walking......Read more.

We were given a nice flat hardstanding pitch with plenty of room for the car, the pitches were surrounded by trees and grassy area's but not too shaded, which was nice and good dog walking choices.

Toilets and showers are modern and clean...Read less.

"Very friendly clean and pretty site"

Mrs Z Billings - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

08/09/2019

What a lovely weekend we had here very clean showers a very pretty surroundings and the staff are great very friendly and helpful,would highly recommend

"Great weekend away"

Mrs H Skivington - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

06/09/2019

A lovely campsite.

Facilities were exceptionally clean.

Play park was ideal for the little one

Only criticism is that the pitches allocated were very sloped so made for an interesting nights sleep.

"Great family location"

Mrs H Illingworth - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

We chose Newhaven as it was a great location for our two families to meet without either family travelling too far. The site is clean and tidy with good facilities. The pitches are fairly close......Read more.

We chose Newhaven as it was a great location for our two families to meet without either family travelling too far. The site is clean and tidy with good facilities. The pitches are fairly close together (we could hear snoring from both a caravan and Tent next to us!) but as it wasn’t too busy we didn’t mind too much.

There are two shower/toilet blocks. We didn’t use the ones near the reception but the other facilities looked fairly new. They were near the play area and key coded. Our only ‘negative’ was the lack of a mop in the block so we could wipe the showers over as we finished and help keep them cleaner so the shower floors were quite dirty. The showers were hot and strong though with room in the cubicle to dress.

Location is great for walking, trips to Alton Towers, Chatsworth house etc. A really stunning area....Read less.

"Family and friends"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

Our friends car was damaged by the rocks designed to guide traffic, they were hard do see when parking. Last time we came we were allowed space to camp this time we were told to pitch up inches from......Read more.

Our friends car was damaged by the rocks designed to guide traffic, they were hard do see when parking. Last time we came we were allowed space to camp this time we were told to pitch up inches from the tent next door...Read less.

"Bank Holiday Pressure"

Mr F Holmes - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

03/09/2019

We booked in for 4 nights arriving Bank Holiday Monday, although we were unable to book on line there were plenty of pitches. After we booked in and were shown to our pitch we did not see many staff......Read more.

We booked in for 4 nights arriving Bank Holiday Monday, although we were unable to book on line there were plenty of pitches. After we booked in and were shown to our pitch we did not see many staff for the rest of the stay, this also showed itself by way of details needing attention.

Toilet rolls lacking in all services, Soap dispensers empty. Bins overflowing needing to be emptied leading to animal visits at night. It does beg the Question are there enough facilities for a site with so many touring pitches? On a more positive note the children's play park was very good and well used while we were there....Read less.

"Could be more friendly"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

01/09/2019

It was a shame that even after cleaning there was no toilet roll Available in the toilets. When it was replaced we were told to be sparing as the children just waste it.

The cleanliness of showers......Read more.

It was a shame that even after cleaning there was no toilet roll Available in the toilets. When it was replaced we were told to be sparing as the children just waste it.

The cleanliness of showers wasn’t great a mop could be provided so that people can clean their shower ready for the next people. The code and weight of the door also made it difficult to access and get out of the toilets and showers unfortunately my daughter was stuck in there.

Marked out pitches for snappers would be helpful as would friendly staff. At times though staff were very friendly and helpful so it is possible! We got the impression that campers were an inconvenience....Read less.

"The site has potential to be great if improvements are made."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

Tent pitches are extremely small and right next to each other. We couldn't fit our tent porch on the pitch without it going into the road. The toilets were rarely cleaned and would be dirty all day.......Read more.

Tent pitches are extremely small and right next to each other. We couldn't fit our tent porch on the pitch without it going into the road. The toilets were rarely cleaned and would be dirty all day. On our last day there was only one toilet cubile with toilet paper in, this was the same all day. When we left at 6pm The toilets were filthy. I took my kids to use to other toilet block and it was the same in there. Tried to let the staff know but the shop/reception was closed both times I tried even when it said it would be open on the door. We very very rarely saw any staff around the site. It's like no one works there. As we were packing up our tent on bank holiday Monday we did see the groundsman wandering around. It was very hot that weekend but we thought it quite unprofessional to be working bare chested. Not a good look.

It would be a good idea to have a sign up on the toilets telling you when they intend to be closed for cleaning. It can be a long walk to the other toilet block for small children. They were closed at around 6pm one day which is quite a busy time in the playground which is right next to the toilet block, surely cleaning can be done during quiter times. Definitely needs doing more often. A mop for the showers would be a good idea. The floor was always filthy even when I went very early in the morning. Definitely could do with another toilet block on the top left of the campsite by the tent field. Only 2 toilets in the mens is no where near enough.

A barrier into the campsite would be a good idea. We saw people driving in just to have a look at the campsite.

When we arrived the staff were very accommodating when I asked if we could move pitches. There was a road directly behind our tent and we were concerned about that because we have young children.

The site was quiet at night which was good....Read less.

"Lovely park, great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

Very friendly staff and good facilities. We were on a non electric tent pitch which was lovely surroundings. The nearby road is a bit noisy but nothing a pair of ear plugs wouldn’t sort. Over all a......Read more.

Very friendly staff and good facilities. We were on a non electric tent pitch which was lovely surroundings. The nearby road is a bit noisy but nothing a pair of ear plugs wouldn’t sort. Over all a lovely site with lovely people!...Read less.

"Signs"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

28/08/2019

The access to the park was sign posted in a grey/green colour which is very stylish but doesn't stand out against the trees! We noted that it could be easily missed, another sign opposite the......Read more.

The access to the park was sign posted in a grey/green colour which is very stylish but doesn't stand out against the trees! We noted that it could be easily missed, another sign opposite the 'Carriages' pub would be useful as we weren't sure if we were heading in the right direction.

...Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mr V Martin - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

25/08/2019

Good washrooms. Mostly hardstandings but can be a challenge to get pegs to hold in the gravel

"FOUND A GEM"

Mr D Norman - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

24/08/2019

The first impression of the site when we drove in was that it looked to be a clean well maintained facility. We were not disappointed. The three staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and......Read more.

The first impression of the site when we drove in was that it looked to be a clean well maintained facility. We were not disappointed. The three staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and must be congratulated on keeping the large site so clean and well maintained. The site itself is a good central place to stay to explore the surrounding area. We highly recommend the site and will not hesitate to return....Read less.

"Wonderful Derbyshire Campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

23/08/2019

Had an impromptu stay at Newhaven last week as our other venue in Cheshire was under water! How lucky we were to get a pitch at Newhaven. The owners couldn’t have been more welcoming and the......Read more.

Had an impromptu stay at Newhaven last week as our other venue in Cheshire was under water! How lucky we were to get a pitch at Newhaven. The owners couldn’t have been more welcoming and the facilities were excellent especially the shower block which was clean and warm. My children absolutely loved the park also. All other campers were very considerate of everyone else’s privacy and space and we had a simply splendid time....Read less.

"playground"

Miss J Toole - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

20/08/2019

the playground area does have a few pieces of equipment for the children but in busy periods could be better if a few more things in it. staff very friendly and courteous, we camped on a bit of a......Read more.

the playground area does have a few pieces of equipment for the children but in busy periods could be better if a few more things in it. staff very friendly and courteous, we camped on a bit of a slant and was slippy as wet weather. but enjoyed the weekend still....Read less.

"Gibson family - August 19"

Mr L Gibson - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

19/08/2019

We were very satisfied with the campsite. We pitched our tent and the only thing was the big slope on the main field. Other than this it was a really nice camp site with very friendly staff.......Read more.

We were very satisfied with the campsite. We pitched our tent and the only thing was the big slope on the main field. Other than this it was a really nice camp site with very friendly staff. Facilities were very good....Read less.

"New haven"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

15/08/2019

Lovely site, well laid out with good size pitches, only issue was sleeping as ca Paige is on a slight hill so we found we were rolling down the beds! Friendly and helpful staff and good shop onsite.......Read more.

Lovely site, well laid out with good size pitches, only issue was sleeping as ca Paige is on a slight hill so we found we were rolling down the beds! Friendly and helpful staff and good shop onsite. Extremely clean toilets and showers...Read less.

"Camp haven"

Ms D Wilson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

This site was a great little find..very well maintained grounds, clean camping facilities, lovely helpful staff (James even helped me loosen a stuck tent pole).

It's a very quiet site, the loudest......Read more.

This site was a great little find..very well maintained grounds, clean camping facilities, lovely helpful staff (James even helped me loosen a stuck tent pole).

It's a very quiet site, the loudest noise we had was the wind in the trees, and a couple of tent neighbours banging their mallets and dismantling their wrecked gazebo to repair the wind damage at 7am waking us up but I guess that could be forgiven.

Ideal as a base to explore many beautiful surrounding areas and a decent pub a short walk away.

We would recommend this to anyone.

Thank you so much!...Read less.

"Ticked all our boxes"

Mr J Edgar - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

I was looking for a site near the High Peak Trail for cycling, family friendly but not too commercial, not Caravan club or Caravan and Camping Club as my family other than us are not members. We......Read more.

I was looking for a site near the High Peak Trail for cycling, family friendly but not too commercial, not Caravan club or Caravan and Camping Club as my family other than us are not members. We stayed 10 nights , my daughter stayed 5 nights and my son stayed 3 nights at different times. The site was not very busy and we really had a lovely stay. The owners/staff were very accomodating and flexible regarding arrival and departure times but I would imagine at busy times we would have, quite understandingly, had to stick to the rules a bit more. We were pitched side by side as appropriate so despite the dodgy weather we had a great holiday....Read less.

"Pitch"

Mr A Rogers - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

A little soft for our motor home

"Very clean and well managed"

Miss S Knowles - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

09/08/2019

Very tidy and organised site. Staff friendly and helpful. Only downside, tent pitches on bit of a slope.

"Very nice site"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Well maintained and with excellent washing facilities. Downside was no indoor space during the heavy rain.

"Great Site near Buxton"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

We enjoyed our couple of days at Newhaven Campsite. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t kind to us but we still managed a good day out in Buxton. Nearest regular bus stop is a little more than a mile......Read more.

We enjoyed our couple of days at Newhaven Campsite. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t kind to us but we still managed a good day out in Buxton. Nearest regular bus stop is a little more than a mile away in Biggin....Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mrs K Winn - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

26/07/2019

Good facilities and really helpful staff. Easy to get to in our tourer. The park for the kids was great and had a fence surrounding it. It was a large site but had the feeling of a smaller site.

"Friendly staff but not ideal for camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

23/07/2019

We did have a lovely stay but the tent pitches are on a slope. We would say if staying here make sure you can level your sleeping area. The park staff were very friendly and accomodating. The new......Read more.

We did have a lovely stay but the tent pitches are on a slope. We would say if staying here make sure you can level your sleeping area. The park staff were very friendly and accomodating. The new toilets and showers are great and the cubicles allow you to hang up your clothes. The site was very clean and there is an on site shop which stocks the usually essentials. The site is set back from the road so it wasn't too noisy. I dont think we would go back but only because of the sloping pitches. I would say it's better set up for caravans....Read less.

"Facilities & overall"

Mr S Evans - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

18/07/2019

The facilities at the bottom block have just been refurbished and are really nice however they are shut for ages in the morning / afternoon meaning you have to walk up to the old block which isn’t as......Read more.

The facilities at the bottom block have just been refurbished and are really nice however they are shut for ages in the morning / afternoon meaning you have to walk up to the old block which isn’t as nice and not enough showers, not sure why it takes so long to clean the toilets and showers at the new block.

Also the shop seems to be shut a lot, there is opening times on the door but on the Sunday it should of been open but was closed all day.

Apart from that though, the site is lovely, staff are very friendly and always around & there is enough spaces between each pitch so you don’t feel like the neighbours are invading your space, not sure what it’s like during busy periods though...Read less.

"Just what we needed!"

Mrs C Youds - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

16/07/2019

We camped at Newhaven Holiday Park for 6 nights. First impressions of the park were fantastic - extremely tidy and well maintained. We camped near the children's playground which was the best......Read more.

We camped at Newhaven Holiday Park for 6 nights. First impressions of the park were fantastic - extremely tidy and well maintained. We camped near the children's playground which was the best campsite playground we have come across to date. The children loved it. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We can't wait to return here as we had such a lovely week.

The ONLY thing I would suggest is a changing table as I had no where to change my daughters nappy after the shower. Extremely minor and didn't impact on anything, but would have been nice to have one :)...Read less.

"Newhaven"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

13/07/2019

Satisfied

"A Great Campsite"

Mr J Driver - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

13/07/2019

Very well maintained campsite with spacious plots and good clean facilities

"Good for caravaners"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

07/07/2019

The caravan spots looked very nice but unfortunately the motorhome pitches were not. They were all on gravel and largely shaded by trees. The motorhome water points were shared by everyone so......Read more.

The caravan spots looked very nice but unfortunately the motorhome pitches were not. They were all on gravel and largely shaded by trees. The motorhome water points were shared by everyone so people were filling up their water canisters next to our motorhome early in the morning and having a chat whilst doing it. The caravan spots were all on grass and well-kept with plenty of space so I would recommend them but this is not a site for motorhomers....Read less.

"Excellent base for weekend cycling"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

05/07/2019

Friendly welcome. Helpful staff. Great facilities. Thanks!

"dog paradise"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2019

07/06/2019

i came to stay at Newhaven with a group of friends and their dogs...….it was friendly people stopped and talked the staff showed me to my pitch and could not be more helpful.

the dogs didn't even......Read more.

i came to stay at Newhaven with a group of friends and their dogs...….it was friendly people stopped and talked the staff showed me to my pitch and could not be more helpful.

the dogs didn't even chase the ducks ....Read less.

Kim, replied to this review on the 13 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your stay at Newhaven. I am so happy to hear......Read more.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your stay at Newhaven. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon....Read less.

"Nice campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

07/06/2019

Lovely little site, a few pitches were on a slope but it wasn’t too bad.

Very clean and well maintained

Kim, replied to this review on the 13 June 2019

Thank you for your review.... I am really please that you enjoyed your time on the Park.

"Family trip"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

06/06/2019

Really enjoyed our stay here. The staff are friendly and helpful. The facilities are exactly what we needed. The showers and toilets were always clean. I would definitley recommend and stay again at......Read more.

Really enjoyed our stay here. The staff are friendly and helpful. The facilities are exactly what we needed. The showers and toilets were always clean. I would definitley recommend and stay again at this park....Read less.

Kim, replied to this review on the 13 June 2019

Thank you for your lovely comments about your visit to Newhaven. We hope to see you again soon.

"Great place to access cycle trails"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

05/06/2019

We’ve stayed here several times and love the rural location, good facilities and access straight on to the tissington trail.

Kim, replied to this review on the 13 June 2019

Thank you for your review. I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Yes we are......Read more.

Thank you for your review. I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Yes we are very lucky to be so close to the trails, which are great for cycling and walking. Hope to see you again soon....Read less.

"Camping with friends"

Mrs K Griffiths - Stayed with friends, May 2019

02/06/2019

Enjoyed a the bank holiday weekend with family and friends. The staff were very friendly and accommodating to our group of 6 tents. Campsite very well kept and lovely new shower block with never......Read more.

Enjoyed a the bank holiday weekend with family and friends. The staff were very friendly and accommodating to our group of 6 tents. Campsite very well kept and lovely new shower block with never ending hot water supply....Read less.

Kim, replied to this review on the 13 June 2019

Thank you for your lovely comments, I am really pleased to hear that you and your group enjoyed......Read more.

Thank you for your lovely comments, I am really pleased to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon....Read less.

"Newhaven campsite stay"

Anonymous - Stayed May 2019

01/06/2019

A clean looked after site , toilet facilities modern and clean .small site shop/reception never used but looks as if it had basics covered .

Unfortunately the site has quite a busy road around two......Read more.

A clean looked after site , toilet facilities modern and clean .small site shop/reception never used but looks as if it had basics covered .

Unfortunately the site has quite a busy road around two sides which is noticeable from about 6am - 10pm with works traffic etc , we were told upon booking the last pitch that this was one of our largest , saying that would be good as we have a dog that we stake out , when we arrived it was probably the smallest , which with even our tiny caravan was a squeeze to put up the awning .

We were not given the facilities codes when booked in so had to ask other campers for these , apparently we were not alone with this .

The water pressure had gone on our last day , so could have showers or anything .

Glad we weren't camping as a lot of the pitches were on slopes .

It's a well kept site but just not for us....Read less.

Kim, replied to this review on the 13 June 2019

Thank you for your review of our Park. I am sorry that it you were not given the codes for the......Read more.

Thank you for your review of our Park. I am sorry that it you were not given the codes for the shower block, every customer should be given a welcome leaflet which lists all the information about the Park. Going forward we will ensure that everyone receives it. I am sorry about the problem with the water pressure on your last day, which was due to a fault on the boiler. Fortunately it was only off for about 20 minutes, but I appreciate that was still very inconvenient for you....Read less.

"Camp site"

Mr A Clarke - Stayed with family, May 2019

01/06/2019

A lovely site nice and quiet would recommend and will definitely stay here again

Kim, replied to this review on the 13 June 2019

Thank you for your positive comments about the Park, it is great to hear.

"Lovely park for families or groups of friends"

Mr M Pope - Stayed with friends, May 2019

01/06/2019

We had a lovely weekend staying at Newhaven, there's plenty of space and the facilities are clean and nice. Brilliant access it to the Peak District National Park bring on the doorstep.

We found......Read more.

We had a lovely weekend staying at Newhaven, there's plenty of space and the facilities are clean and nice. Brilliant access it to the Peak District National Park bring on the doorstep.

We found that the large camping field got quite windy, but we put on an extra to and were fine.

Would happily come back, indeed I've recommended it to my brother already to get my niece and nephew into camping....Read less.

Kim, replied to this review on the 13 June 2019

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Newhaven and you enjoyed the......Read more.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Newhaven and you enjoyed the beautiful Peak District.

Look forward to seeing you again soon....Read less.

"Clean and enjoyable site"

Mr K Liszka - Stayed with family, May 2019

31/05/2019

Only stayed for 2 nights but was impressed by the site. I go camping annually and this may have been one of the best sites. It was easy to find, had clean and easily accessible facilities and we felt......Read more.

Only stayed for 2 nights but was impressed by the site. I go camping annually and this may have been one of the best sites. It was easy to find, had clean and easily accessible facilities and we felt comfortable leaving our things in the tent as workers patrolled the roads every so often. One of the toilet blocks was new and so pleasant to use. Only negative is that you cannot regulate the water temperature is n the showers( always warm)...Read less.

"Chris Reasbeck"

Mr C Reasbeck - Stayed with friends, May 2019

31/05/2019

Had a great time, everybody friendly and helpful. Impressed with security when an unknown car turned up. Toilets were clean at all times, would have preferred a mop in shower area but understood why......Read more.

Had a great time, everybody friendly and helpful. Impressed with security when an unknown car turned up. Toilets were clean at all times, would have preferred a mop in shower area but understood why not provided.

Cant comment on childrens area as adults only on this visit.

Would have liked designated dog walk in woods....Read less.

"Our bhol stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

31/05/2019

Great break. Lovely site and amenities

"Fantastic clean facilities and friendly staff"

Miss J Davies - Stayed with family, May 2019

31/05/2019

Fantastic clean facilities and friendly staff, we will defiantly be returning again

"Good friendly staff"

Mrs S Hallam - Stayed with family, May 2019

17/05/2019

Lovely site, helpful staff, we had problems with water pump on caravan they tried to sort it for us, faulty new pump, but we were close to the shower / toilet facilities so not a problem.

"Great campsite in a quiet location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

11/05/2019

Enjoyed our stay! lovely clean, well maintained site, friendly helpful staff nice modern toilet facilities although they needed more than 3 showers when the site is busy and they could do with a......Read more.

Enjoyed our stay! lovely clean, well maintained site, friendly helpful staff nice modern toilet facilities although they needed more than 3 showers when the site is busy and they could do with a large squeegee for the floor as I had to stand in other people's muddy foot prints. The only other small negative is the shop could have stocked more camping essentials like large bottles of water, batteries and small bin liners for those forgotten items but it didn't spoil our stay as we found a service station just accross the road that stayed open till late. Would definitely stay here again but you need a car as there isn't much to do in the area....Read less.

"Large site"

Mrs C Tudor - Stayed with partner, May 2019

10/05/2019

Some people would enjoy this site as it is clean and tidy but we prefer somewhere smaller and not so regimented. It was rather like being on a roadside with the site vehicles going passed every 10......Read more.

Some people would enjoy this site as it is clean and tidy but we prefer somewhere smaller and not so regimented. It was rather like being on a roadside with the site vehicles going passed every 10 minutes. Staff friendly and I'm sure site would suit some people just not us,sorry....Read less.

"Continually improving"

Mr V Martin - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

03/05/2019

Site is excellent with a lot of improvements being made.

Main Toilet facilities very good but were chilly

"Cleanliness/ toilets"

Mrs D Haywood - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

28/04/2019

On several occasions throughout the stay there were no toilet soap or toilet roll and no hand cleanser at the chemical toilet point which was quite alarming.

On the Bank holiday Monday there were no......Read more.

On several occasions throughout the stay there were no toilet soap or toilet roll and no hand cleanser at the chemical toilet point which was quite alarming.

On the Bank holiday Monday there were no hand cleaners in the toilets or chemical toilet plus very limited toilet roll.

This was very disappointing as the site could be excellent in all areas if these were addressed daily....Read less.

"Beautiful Easter camping weekend"

Mrs J Morris - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

28/04/2019

Me and my husband and 2 dogs camped at Newhaven for 4 nights over the Easter bank holiday weekend. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and made sure we were completely satisfied with our......Read more.

Me and my husband and 2 dogs camped at Newhaven for 4 nights over the Easter bank holiday weekend. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and made sure we were completely satisfied with our pitch location. They were knowledgeable of the area and gave us suggestions of where to visit with our 2 dogs in the heat. The washroom facilities were brand new and clean, and the onsite shop was open most of the time in case we needed something. The owners patrolled the site and occasionally checked in on us for a friendly chat and to make sure we were ok. Although we didn't have children with us, the site has great facilities for children, including 2 lovely play parks, some ducks, and a large sloping field for games and picnics. Lovely place and will definitely be coming back....Read less.

"."

Mrs C Leivers - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

.

"Fabulous Easter break"

Mrs K Green - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

We had a fabulous stay at the site over the Easter holidays . Excellent site , very clean and staff really friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this site .

"Easer break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

We booked this site as everywhere else was booked up. It's a nice site but far too big for us. The pitches are very close together, our awning looked right on to the next caravan so we couldn't roll......Read more.

We booked this site as everywhere else was booked up. It's a nice site but far too big for us. The pitches are very close together, our awning looked right on to the next caravan so we couldn't roll up the front in the good weather. Car has to be parked quite a way from van which we found inconvenient as we usually leave the dogs in there with the tailgate up while eating outside. No mood provided in showers so the floor was dreadful, very muddy and wet. We found people did not respect the facilities eg dishwashing sinks left full of grease and cooking scraps, washbasins left full of hair. As I said the site was ok but not the kind we would usually visit....Read less.

"Long Weekend"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

We stayed at Newhaven over the Easter weekend, check in was fast and easy and all the staff were very friendly and chatty and happy to help. The campsite itself is very well cared for and tidy and......Read more.

We stayed at Newhaven over the Easter weekend, check in was fast and easy and all the staff were very friendly and chatty and happy to help. The campsite itself is very well cared for and tidy and the toilet and shower blocks were always clean and tidy. There is a park for the children and a small shop which sells essential items. We all had a great time and would return again...Read less.

"Lovely surprise and looking forward to returning"

Mr C Cox - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

For a last minute booking we weren't left with a great choice for Easter weekend.

What a nice surprise we were met with.

Lovely site and we will definitely be coming back. Staff very helpful and......Read more.

For a last minute booking we weren't left with a great choice for Easter weekend.

What a nice surprise we were met with.

Lovely site and we will definitely be coming back. Staff very helpful and approachable. Constant presence on site and dealing with any potential issues before they become anything.

Facilities excellent and site shop well stocked for emergency use at not too extortionate costs.

Pitches were level although not the biggest we've been on. Room for caravan and awning but not much else. Grass to side and rear was nice to be able to utilize. Lots of water filling points throughout site.

Play area was fantastic although a little big for my daughter's (4&2) but will be great in a year or 2.

Shower block was nice and modern

Negatives.

Road noise was annoying especially from fast road bikes (not really sites fault though)

Shower block was sometimes wet and muddy footprints (bank hol weekend so busy footfall etc to be expected but facilities were clean.

No temperature control on showers so too hot for 2 year old (I loved them however and could've spent hours in there lol)

Toilet doors need soft close hinges fitting as make a bang (evening and night especially!) and can catch your ankles as you exit.

Looking forward to visiting again and hope the comments can be taken as a possible upgrade opportunity than solely negatives.

Thank you for a lovely stay....Read less.

"First time"

Mr N Jakes - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

We enjoyed staying here. The only complaint is that we didn't get the pitch that we had booked as someone had been wrongly put on it. Our pitch was slightly smaller and in not as good a location.

"Easter weekend"

Mr P Heard - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Just had a lovely Easter weekend 3 nights at Newhaven

Upon arrival was greeted by Sue and Paul , and was soon checked in , very helpful indeed and friendly

We were personally shown to our pitch no 86......Read more.

Just had a lovely Easter weekend 3 nights at Newhaven

Upon arrival was greeted by Sue and Paul , and was soon checked in , very helpful indeed and friendly

We were personally shown to our pitch no 86 , all hard standing , very level by James & John , unhitched the van , they even pitched it for us

The shower / toilet facilities were excellent , very new , really clean

The park itself is picturesque , very well kept and looked after

The staff all work hard to keep it looking good

We had a great weekend , was looked after , big thank you to Paul the manager , nothing was to much trouble

Would recommend and will return

Thank you again to Paul , Sue , James , John

...Read less.

"Fabulous!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

We had a fantastic Easter here.

There were 2 teeny tiny niggles - a mop in the showers would be good so you don't have to stand in other peoples muddy footprints.

Sadly not all dog walkers were great......Read more.

We had a fantastic Easter here.

There were 2 teeny tiny niggles - a mop in the showers would be good so you don't have to stand in other peoples muddy footprints.

Sadly not all dog walkers were great about clearing up after their dogs as my husband found out when he walked it through the caravan on his shoe!!!!!

Site was superbly located, we were within 30 minutes of everywhere we wanted to go. The pitch we had was perfect. The site team were ver present which was great to see.

Can't waot to go back next year :)

...Read less.

"Lovely place to stay"

N Protheroe - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

24/04/2019

We have just had a week at newhaven and it was a really relaxing week. Lovely positive, friendly staff clean facilities. Great park for kids to play on. What more do you need.

Would return and......Read more.

We have just had a week at newhaven and it was a really relaxing week. Lovely positive, friendly staff clean facilities. Great park for kids to play on. What more do you need.

Would return and recommend to friends....Read less.

"Lovely campsite"

M Castells Miro - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

24/04/2019

Lovely and clean. Quiet and lovely location. Great staff.

"Lovely, family friendly campsite"

Mrs V Rose - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

22/04/2019

We had a lovely three night stay at Newhaven. Welcomed from the moment we arrived at the campsite, we were shown directly to our pitch and key facilities were shown. Facilities are great and campsite......Read more.

We had a lovely three night stay at Newhaven. Welcomed from the moment we arrived at the campsite, we were shown directly to our pitch and key facilities were shown. Facilities are great and campsite is regularly cleaned and maintained. Good location for visiting the many destinations of the Peak District. Stayed here twice now and had a fab time both times! Definitely be back again soon!...Read less.

"First camping trip"

S Cooper - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

18/04/2019

This was our first camping trip as a family and it needed to be good to keep the kids positive. It definitely was. There is loads to do in the surrounding area and all within a 20 minute drive. The......Read more.

This was our first camping trip as a family and it needed to be good to keep the kids positive. It definitely was. There is loads to do in the surrounding area and all within a 20 minute drive. The site was set back from the roads and you couldn't hear any traffic. We were guided to our pitch and had all the facilities pointed out to us. The whole area was clean and tidy and we had no problem letting the kids, aged 8 and 6, go off onto the park alone as we could keep and eye on them from our pitch. The toilets and showers were lovely and clean. We would definitely stay again...Read less.

"Great, clean, well supervised, quiet campsite."

Mrs K Gore - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

16/04/2019

Advantages - clean, friendly, well organised, well run, quiet campsite. Washfacilities spotless.

Disadvantages - a few too many rules and signs everywhere - no scootering, cycling, fires, ball games......Read more.

Advantages - clean, friendly, well organised, well run, quiet campsite. Washfacilities spotless.

Disadvantages - a few too many rules and signs everywhere - no scootering, cycling, fires, ball games etc - makes for a quiet campsite, but as such lacks a little in atmosphere as everyone seemed to stay inside (especially in an April evening with no fires allowed). Inevitable you will be told off for something....Read less.

"Lovely site"

J Bartley - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

21/03/2019

Great site very well placed for Ashbourne and Matlock nice helpful staff,good pich nice surroundings we dont have children but we could see that it would be a good site for young children they are......Read more.

Great site very well placed for Ashbourne and Matlock nice helpful staff,good pich nice surroundings we dont have children but we could see that it would be a good site for young children they are currently upgrading the playarea.highly recommend this site....Read less.

"Very Satisfied"

K Abbott - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

07/03/2019

Our stay at Newhaven was better than we expected , staff were very friendly and helpful , facilities were excellent we didn’t go out as it was our first night out in our new motorhome but we will be......Read more.

Our stay at Newhaven was better than we expected , staff were very friendly and helpful , facilities were excellent we didn’t go out as it was our first night out in our new motorhome but we will be returning as we were very satisfied and enjoyed our stay....Read less.

"Long weekend break"

A Hayes - Stayed with family, Oct 2018

03/11/2018

Very quite site at end of season. Staff very attentive, even helped to push our caravan onto the pitch. Security seemed good, although we had visitors to the campsite on Sunday afternoon and was......Read more.

Very quite site at end of season. Staff very attentive, even helped to push our caravan onto the pitch. Security seemed good, although we had visitors to the campsite on Sunday afternoon and was unable to book them in as no-one was available in the shop, closed for lunch 1 hour early? Very clean and tidy site. Toilet block newly refurbished but no soap in dispensers. The local pub very welcoming and served lovely food. All in all fabulous relaxing weekend break. Would definitely recommend and return...Read less.

© 2006 - 2019 CampStead