Newhaven Holiday Park

50 Reviews

4.3 / 5 overall rating based on 50 reviews in the last 12 months

88% would recommend this site

86% would stay here again

Excellent

52%

Very Good

38%

Average

10%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Exceptionally clean toilets."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

31/10/2020

The toilet blocks are very clean and one is brand new. This looks like a site that has been allowed to run down and the new owners are sorting this. The playground looks new. There is building......Read more.

The toilet blocks are very clean and one is brand new. This looks like a site that has been allowed to run down and the new owners are sorting this. The playground looks new. There is building work going on and new pitches being added. When the work is finished this will be a fab site. The owners where very helpful and helped to sort out flat battery. Be careful though as some pitches are deceptively sloped....Read less.

"Newhaven caravan park"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

23/10/2020

Good for surrounding locations

"Excellent cleanliness of shower/toilet block"

Mrs S Knight - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

16/10/2020

The toilet and shower block were very modern and squeaky clean

"Ok but have been to better."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

14/10/2020

Stayed for 5 nights and apart from the last night was virtually deserted. COVID safe signs and info everywhere but the ladies shower facilities only appeared to have been cleaned once during our stay......Read more.

Stayed for 5 nights and apart from the last night was virtually deserted. COVID safe signs and info everywhere but the ladies shower facilities only appeared to have been cleaned once during our stay (dead fly on floor appeared on day two of stay and was still there when we left). Beware the speed humps!...Read less.

"Nice site"

Mr A Bednal - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

Visited on a weekend mid September, the site was relatively quiet, so it was peaceful. Large hard standing pitch, with EHU. For the price I was expecting water tap to each pitch but sadly not.

I......Read more.

Visited on a weekend mid September, the site was relatively quiet, so it was peaceful. Large hard standing pitch, with EHU. For the price I was expecting water tap to each pitch but sadly not.

I would recommend as there was nothing wrong with the site. Noted you could get WiFi if desired but I was away for the weekend and always pleased to be without it.

Facilities looked clean and smart, however we did not use them ourselves - stuck with our own facilities due to Covid....Read less.

"Tranquil spot"

Mrs S Turner - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

Beautiful area of the country. This park is well maintained with friendly and helpful staff. Entrance and exit to site couldn't accommodate passing units so take your time and hope it's not you who......Read more.

Beautiful area of the country. This park is well maintained with friendly and helpful staff. Entrance and exit to site couldn't accommodate passing units so take your time and hope it's not you who has to back up 😳 Roads have no footpaths but you can get to junction by walking through woods off lower field, a signpost for this would be useful. If you go this way you'll come out by a restaurant which itself is worth a visit. Site on slope so check when booking. Shower block clean but ambient temperature was a bit cold. Nice play area for children. Good waste facilities. Pitch was gravel and carried into motorhome so take a mat for outside. Would definitely recommend, if you want a quite break. Take the wine, a book and your bike you won't be disappointed...Read less.

"Great site"

Mr S Wells - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

28/09/2020

Lovely site in a good location along with the friendly and helpfull staff, we would be more than happy to stay here again and highley recommend.

"Poor wifi"

Mr & Mrs S Stuttard - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

The site was lovely. Unfortunately we had some noisy neighbours, playing loud music and shouting to one another but quietened down after warden/gardener came round. Guess someone else had complained.......Read more.

The site was lovely. Unfortunately we had some noisy neighbours, playing loud music and shouting to one another but quietened down after warden/gardener came round. Guess someone else had complained. WiFi was poor, especially at the weekend when the site was fairly busy and we would have liked to use it more. Very clean and modern facilities and grounds were pristine. Nice friendly staff....Read less.

"Sept 19th 2020"

Mrs C Lymbery - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

Family of 2ad 1ch (8) great area close to trail & lovely cafe at the end ! Pub within walking distance the carriages and a further walk takes you to the Waterloo inn 😊

"peak national park."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

good site with adequate facilities. quiet secluded site.

"Nice stay but put off by an incident on the second night"

Mr T Green - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

Firstly I would like to say we really enjoyed most of our stay, the park was clean, tidy and quiet and overall a really nice environment. Washing and toilet facilities were great as well.

The only......Read more.

Firstly I would like to say we really enjoyed most of our stay, the park was clean, tidy and quiet and overall a really nice environment. Washing and toilet facilities were great as well.

The only issue that put us off and would likely make us think twice about coming back was on the second night a lady quite obviously heavily inebriated wandered onto the park shouting a number of profanities and very disturbing accusations about park staff that made my wife and I very uncomfortable. I don't know if she is known to the park however if she is I would recommend this is dealt with as it is quite off-putting to us as first timers at the site....Read less.

"Lovely campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Excellent facilities which were kept spotless. Great playground. Staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly!

"Great location"

Mr B Schildhauer - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

Stayed here for a 5 night caravan break and pleasantly surprised on arrival. Sue had already called to see if we were arriving early but as we were running slightly late it was not an option. However......Read more.

Stayed here for a 5 night caravan break and pleasantly surprised on arrival. Sue had already called to see if we were arriving early but as we were running slightly late it was not an option. However the ‘meet & greet’ on arrival was really nice. Paul noticed some damage incurred to the connection when we got there, needed a new connection bought and then wired up. Paul was happily going to have one of the lads sort it without even a prompt. Through the time there they were always friendly and happy to help. The site itself was super clean and the shower/toilet blocks constantly checked and cleaned. All hard standing pitches set in a surround of trees. There does appear to be a lot of ‘seasonal’ units along with static accommodation but our pitch was in the area beyond so no major issues are had. Evenings were nice listening to owls ‘hooting’ and foxes barking. A tad noisy on the traffic side with the bikers having fun but I doubt you’ll escape that at ANY caravan/camping site tbh. Did have tv signal problems (which I’m sure could have been resolved) but used my iPad instead of the tv so not overly inconvenienced. Overall a great ‘base’ to explore the surrounding areas, we did Chatsworth and Heights of Abraham along with a trip out to reservoir dams and nature walks. I’d go back to this site quite happily and reading some of the other reviews can honestly say they must have stayed somewhere else and reviewed the wrong site. Paul/Sue thank you for a really nice comfortable few days away from it all....Read less.

"Good stay but could do better"

Mr C Harries - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

12/09/2020

The park managers were very helpful

We found some of the vehicle positioning in the lower field a bit clumsy as we were all grouped together when the park was clearly very quiet . Between thursday......Read more.

The park managers were very helpful

We found some of the vehicle positioning in the lower field a bit clumsy as we were all grouped together when the park was clearly very quiet . Between thursday and Saturday the ladies bathroom had no hand soap which was surprising considering the current covid situation however the bathrooms were very clean but also very cold as no heating seemed to be on...Read less.

"Drainage"

Mr & Mrs M Voysey - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

10/09/2020

Throughout our stay at the campsite there was quite a lot of rain. This meant that the grass was very wet and slippery. We noticed that there was no drainage system so the grass became extremely......Read more.

Throughout our stay at the campsite there was quite a lot of rain. This meant that the grass was very wet and slippery. We noticed that there was no drainage system so the grass became extremely boggy and water logged. This made it quite difficult to walk around the site safely. I fell over on the first night which was quite upsetting as I’m pregnant. Our friend also fell over later on during the week. I feel that something needs to be done about this situation urgently....Read less.

"NewHaven nightmare"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

Arrived at the site and had to telephone to get booked in. We were shown a pitch for our motorhome which was on a slope and extremely close to the pitch next door. We weren't allowed to drive into......Read more.

Arrived at the site and had to telephone to get booked in. We were shown a pitch for our motorhome which was on a slope and extremely close to the pitch next door. We weren't allowed to drive into the putch and had to reverse on meaning we were unable to get the motorhome anywhere level. After numerous attempts we left the site and found somewhere else to stay....Read less.

"Family friendly site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

The children's play area was excellent, friendly staff and clean facilities. Enjoyed our stay.

"Great few days away with the family despite the rain"

Miss K Lee - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

Nice, clean park. Large pitches, good washing facilities. Great location for surrounding attractions

"Excellent week camping!"

Mr R Sowry - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

We booked a last minute deal so there wasn't much choice of sites around so when we booked New haven we thought that anything would do. That wasn't the case, it turns out that New haven was just......Read more.

We booked a last minute deal so there wasn't much choice of sites around so when we booked New haven we thought that anything would do. That wasn't the case, it turns out that New haven was just perfect. A quiet site with a good mix of statics, caravans and good grass pitches with hookups. We had quite a large tent and was worried that it would be too big for a pitch but they assured me that it would fine, excellent grass area with plenty of gravel paths around to get about. The toilet and shower block near us were brand new and so clean, there was another block next to the shop and reception that even tho isn't as new is still in great condition and really clean. The location was great, only five minutes from bakewell and around twenty minutes from Matlock so really handy. We also felt really looked after while we were staying, you could always find a member of staff out and about doing their work such as keeping grass cut and general tidying and maintenance, they would always find time to help you as much as they could. Would definitely recommend this site and I will be definitely returning....Read less.

"Happy"

Mr M Blakeley - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

Very happy

"first camping trip"

Mrs. L Tomlinson - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

This was our first time camping, 2 adults 2 children. The site was easy to find. The owner friendly and helpful. The weather had been bad the day before our visit so the owner had rang to see if we......Read more.

This was our first time camping, 2 adults 2 children. The site was easy to find. The owner friendly and helpful. The weather had been bad the day before our visit so the owner had rang to see if we would like to change our booking as he wanted us to enjoy our time, we decided to go despite the weather and glad we did. The park was clean and tidy, clean showers and toilets. Childrens play area was lovely. Very nice for a few quiet nights away with family....Read less.

"Summer break"

Mrs K Green - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

31/08/2020

This was our second visit to the park and we were not disappointed. Everywhere is kept immaculate, wash rooms exceptionally clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely......Read more.

This was our second visit to the park and we were not disappointed. Everywhere is kept immaculate, wash rooms exceptionally clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this site as a base for the lovely Derbyshire tourist spots....Read less.

"Weekend stay at Newhaven campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

27/08/2020

perfect little site. Considering the current environment we have going on . I felt the staff were polite and the site had been made to be a safe as possible. Toilets and showers always clean and hand......Read more.

perfect little site. Considering the current environment we have going on . I felt the staff were polite and the site had been made to be a safe as possible. Toilets and showers always clean and hand sanitiser and poster with rules on for you to follow. Very simple following the rules will keep you safe this was my 2nd trip this year and will definitely be returning. Keep up the good work....Read less.

"Lovely but a shame"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

25/08/2020

Newhaven is a lovely site, well kept and a great location. However we were disappointed by the fact that groups were allowed especially during Covid 19. Next to us was a very noisy group that I had......Read more.

Newhaven is a lovely site, well kept and a great location. However we were disappointed by the fact that groups were allowed especially during Covid 19. Next to us was a very noisy group that I had to ask to keep the noise down. I mentioned to gentleman in shop who booked us in and he said he would mention it to management. They were still partying in two joined gazebos the next two nights. The site says there is a curfew at 10 .30 this was not monitored which is a real shame.

We still had a good holiday though....Read less.

"A Great Place to Stay"

Miss E Goold - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

24/08/2020

I've recently returned from a short camping break with my son and we would definitely recommend this site. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The park is very well kept and the toilet/shower......Read more.

I've recently returned from a short camping break with my son and we would definitely recommend this site. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The park is very well kept and the toilet/shower facilities were very clean and modern. They have a great children's playground my 9 year old loved it. The surrounding location is beautiful and it is very close to matlock and bakewell. We will definitely be back!...Read less.

"Good stop off point"

Mr C Brown - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

23/08/2020

Stop off point with the family to spend 2 days in the Peak District as part of a UK tour. Clean and simple with accommodating staff. Roadways tight for a long wheelbase motorhome and limited access......Read more.

Stop off point with the family to spend 2 days in the Peak District as part of a UK tour. Clean and simple with accommodating staff. Roadways tight for a long wheelbase motorhome and limited access to outside amenities, but perfect for our needs....Read less.

"Covid situation"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

22/08/2020

No access to laundry apparently because of vivid.no tourist info because all leaflets loved in laundry , these could have been on display in the shop.very disappointing.

"Great location"

Mr I Robinson - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

21/08/2020

The location was perfect to access local attractions. Myself and 2 kids enjoyed time at Carsington Water and Matlock and it was great to have a safe, clean site to come back to.

"An enjoyable stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

21/08/2020

A pleasant site with clean facilities. The children enjoyed the playground. The toilet and shower block was clean and warm. The site was in a good location. Though the site was busy it was very......Read more.

A pleasant site with clean facilities. The children enjoyed the playground. The toilet and shower block was clean and warm. The site was in a good location. Though the site was busy it was very quiet after 10pm. The only thing I didn’t like was having to pay for 3 nights over a weekend, even though it wasn’t a bank holiday! I would stay here again though if I was in the area....Read less.

"Great"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

19/08/2020

Definitely come back

"Kids first camping trip"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

19/08/2020

4 year old and 1 year olds first camping trip. Site was quiet so kids could run around, they loved the playground. Facilities spotless and met requirements. Didn’t use the shop but looked to be well......Read more.

4 year old and 1 year olds first camping trip. Site was quiet so kids could run around, they loved the playground. Facilities spotless and met requirements. Didn’t use the shop but looked to be well stocked.

Covid 19 measures well have obviously been well planned and implemented, without being over the top.

Have already recommended to others, and will return....Read less.

"Lovely quiet site"

Mrs S Mitchell - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

19/08/2020

Stayed here for 7 nights. Peaceful, quiet and clean. Toilet and shower facilities are great. Well maintained grounds and plenty of bins, recycling and water points.

The only small niggle was poor......Read more.

Stayed here for 7 nights. Peaceful, quiet and clean. Toilet and shower facilities are great. Well maintained grounds and plenty of bins, recycling and water points.

The only small niggle was poor wi fi in an area with a lack of phone signal but this was not just confined to the campsite...Read less.

"Holidaying during Covid."

Mr & Mrs V Marriott - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

18/08/2020

Ok site. Facilities reasonable. Very good children's play area. Part of the site is sloped. Very difficult for cars in wet weather tendency to slide down the hill. Our pitch was too steep for our......Read more.

Ok site. Facilities reasonable. Very good children's play area. Part of the site is sloped. Very difficult for cars in wet weather tendency to slide down the hill. Our pitch was too steep for our trailer tent....Read less.

"Lovely but could do with small improvements"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

18/08/2020

Good site in good location for Derbyshire Dale's, high peak and tissington trails etc. Great wash facilities. Some minor complaints - late check in time of 2PM means you basically lose day one. Early......Read more.

Good site in good location for Derbyshire Dale's, high peak and tissington trails etc. Great wash facilities. Some minor complaints - late check in time of 2PM means you basically lose day one. Early 11am departure is not great either. Staff / management are efficient, but a bit officious. Also a little bit strimmer happy. You may go out for the day and return to find grass clippings spattered up your caravan! You don't choose your pitch - you go where you are told, which always hacks me off a bit. Good play facilities if you have kids but they don't like your little ones cycling or skating round the park, and they get turned off the play equipment at 8PM, which I suppose some might think fair enough, but in the school holidays when the kids are allowed to stay up late and are having a good time seems a bit harsh. All in all though a great site - I would happily stay again and would recommend....Read less.

"August break"

Mr D Pickering - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

18/08/2020

Great park and location, definitely will return.

Value for money

"Weekend away"

Mr D Denford - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

17/08/2020

Easy to find, was contacted prior to our arrival to be sent all the arrival information

Easy to find, nice clean site and very very quiet which is what we wanted. Log cabin and hit tub was absolutely......Read more.

Easy to find, was contacted prior to our arrival to be sent all the arrival information

Easy to find, nice clean site and very very quiet which is what we wanted. Log cabin and hit tub was absolutely spotless with no issues at all. Would definitely come back...Read less.

"Campsite"

Mr C Warwick - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

17/08/2020

The site is very well kept and tidy. Only issue I had was quite a sloping pitch, but nearly all the camping pitches were.

"Family break in Peak District"

Mrs J Malpiedi - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

16/08/2020

A lovely clean campsite which is well positioned for visiting lots of attractions in the Peak District. There's not much to walk to, but plenty of great places a short drive away. A friendly, family......Read more.

A lovely clean campsite which is well positioned for visiting lots of attractions in the Peak District. There's not much to walk to, but plenty of great places a short drive away. A friendly, family vibe on-site. Our son enjoyed making friends and playing in the small park and surrounding woodland....Read less.

"A pleasant enough stay but we won't be returning"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

15/08/2020

Lovely new shower block at the bottom of the site but the showers and toilets were not cleaned frequently enough, particularly with Covid in mind. They were often found without toilet paper in too.......Read more.

Lovely new shower block at the bottom of the site but the showers and toilets were not cleaned frequently enough, particularly with Covid in mind. They were often found without toilet paper in too. The park was good for the children to play in and the pitches were spacious for tents (not so for caravans though)!

The staff were reasonably friendly upon entry, although they came across a bit disorganised. The shop was closed every time we tried to buy something, with no note in the window as to when we could expect to find it open. One member of staff was very abrupt when we asked him about it too.

A pleasant weekend but more could be done with customer service in mind....Read less.

"Not quite what we expected"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

14/08/2020

No opening times for the shop, pitches very close together, no set time for cleaning of the toilet/shower block so often caught out. Pitch was so uneven we couldn’t get the van level even with breeze......Read more.

No opening times for the shop, pitches very close together, no set time for cleaning of the toilet/shower block so often caught out. Pitch was so uneven we couldn’t get the van level even with breeze blocks: took nearly 2 days to get those after they were promised to us. Site internal road and check-in area are really tight and the position of some of the boulders is unhelpful....Read less.

"Great place to stay!"

Miss A Woodcock - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

14/08/2020

Amazing value for money with clean and tidy wash facilities. Nice and quiet, friendly staff and campers. Great location with good links to local tourist spots.

"A few days family camping"

Mr P Kershaw - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

13/08/2020

Lovely clean, well equipped site, staff very friendly and helpful. Site in a very good location for exploring the Peak District. Only slight downside was the steep pitches for the camping area which......Read more.

Lovely clean, well equipped site, staff very friendly and helpful. Site in a very good location for exploring the Peak District. Only slight downside was the steep pitches for the camping area which meant nothing stood up and slipping out of bed. Otherwise excellent site....Read less.

"Ideal location"

Mr B Longman - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

13/08/2020

Conveniently positioned to well known sites. Very clean campsite with new shower and loo block. Entrance to site rather narrow especially whilst towing a caravan. Very help and friendly staff. ......Read more.

Conveniently positioned to well known sites. Very clean campsite with new shower and loo block. Entrance to site rather narrow especially whilst towing a caravan. Very help and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend....Read less.

"Peak District Holiday"

Mr R Tiley - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

11/08/2020

Great site

"Enjoyable stay"

Mrs S Maginn - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

11/08/2020

Second visit in 3 weeks and both times had a lovely quiet, relaxing time.

"Tidy clean well run camp site"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2020

24/07/2020

Tidy clean well run camp site.

"First holiday after Lockdown"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

24/07/2020

It was with some trepidation that we embarked on our first touring caravan trip since Lockdown was lifted but we had no reason to worry. Newhaven had everything covered. The facilities were very,......Read more.

It was with some trepidation that we embarked on our first touring caravan trip since Lockdown was lifted but we had no reason to worry. Newhaven had everything covered. The facilities were very, very clean. The lady who booked us in was very helpful too. Everything seemed as if it had been recently refurbished to a high level which made the site a very attractive place to stay. Would highly recommend....Read less.

"Newhaven"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

24/07/2020

We have been going to this site for about 20 years going from camping with a young family to caravaning with friends and love the location for walks and other places to visit. I like this site has......Read more.

We have been going to this site for about 20 years going from camping with a young family to caravaning with friends and love the location for walks and other places to visit. I like this site has it feels easy going and not snobby with a nice family vibe , the staff have always been helpful and friendly.. my only downside was it felt a little too busy at the weekend with the virus pandemic and maybe the toilets could have been cleaned more often . The site is quite expensive compared with other sites ....Read less.

"Escape from Lockdown"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

14/07/2020

Our first trip after lock down, only able to stay 4 nights due to unavailable pitches at time of booking, i asked the owner if any pitches became available for the weekend could we stay. They......Read more.

Our first trip after lock down, only able to stay 4 nights due to unavailable pitches at time of booking, i asked the owner if any pitches became available for the weekend could we stay. They managed to accommodate us for the weekend, and so had an enjoyable week away in only our 2nd trip in new caravan...Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead