Ruthern Valley Holidays

129 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 129 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

98% would stay here again

Excellent

71%

Very Good

26%

Average

3%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Second time stay"

Mrs N Sloman - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

16/08/2018

Stayed here before in a pod which was great fun. Had an additional child this time so opted for a bungalow. Lovely place to stay, the cooker was a bit slow to get going so we opted to cook things on......Read more.

Stayed here before in a pod which was great fun. Had an additional child this time so opted for a bungalow. Lovely place to stay, the cooker was a bit slow to get going so we opted to cook things on the hob but otherwise facilities were great.

A good place to stay for a base-camp for days out....Read less.

"Lovely campsite."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

14/08/2018

We stayed for 4 nights at Ruthern Valley (camping in a tent) & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is a small, peaceful & well maintained site with a small shop, woodland areas, animals & play area for......Read more.

We stayed for 4 nights at Ruthern Valley (camping in a tent) & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is a small, peaceful & well maintained site with a small shop, woodland areas, animals & play area for the children. Showers & toilets were adequate & when we raised an issue about cleanliness with the staff it was dealt with promptly. Staff were friendly & attentive throughout, always available to help if needed. Great central location, within easy reach of local attractions & facilities. Would definitely stay again & recommend to others....Read less.

"peaceful attractive campsite in a good location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

14/08/2018

we stayed in one of the wood pitches, which were secluded and peaceful. I liked the site as it was low key, simple, and peaceful. it was well located for the activities we wanted to do (bike hire on......Read more.

we stayed in one of the wood pitches, which were secluded and peaceful. I liked the site as it was low key, simple, and peaceful. it was well located for the activities we wanted to do (bike hire on the camel trail, the wonderful beach down Bedruthern steps - highly recommended). The showers were hot, and the washing up area clean....Read less.

"Warm and friendly family run park"

Miss N Svensson - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

13/08/2018

Having booked last minute we had not read much about Ruthern Valley.

We were pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome, attentiveness of the staff and cleanliness of facilities and accommodation.

Me......Read more.

Having booked last minute we had not read much about Ruthern Valley.

We were pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome, attentiveness of the staff and cleanliness of facilities and accommodation.

Me my partner and four children stayed in a wigwag. Just perfect! Comfortable seating/bedding and lovely outdoor area. Explored the surroundings after a BBQ- kids loved the park and pigs.

After an amazing stay we called to rebook for another night but were fully booked- would definetly stay again and recommend to others.

Massive thumbs up to the family of Ruthern Valley!...Read less.

"Lovely place to stay!"

Mr R Bodilly - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

13/08/2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to this lovely, quiet, small campsite and would definitely stay there again! The quiet, safe nature of this site enabled our son to learn to ride his bicylcle! ......Read more.

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to this lovely, quiet, small campsite and would definitely stay there again! The quiet, safe nature of this site enabled our son to learn to ride his bicylcle! Beautifully set amongst the trees, the whole campsite was well maintained and all facilities were kept very clean. Lovely to have a kiddies play area, maybe this could be improved with a few outdoor games for families to enjoy? Our son particularly enjoyed using the football pitch, it was a great place for him to make new friends! The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful which made our stay all the better!...Read less.

"Recommended"

Miss K Lillywhite - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

09/08/2018

Easily the quietest and most relaxing campsite we stayed in whilst in Cornwall. Good facilities and super convenient bike hire for the Camel Trail. Would have no qualms recommending.

"Perfect get away!"

Miss E Stephens - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

08/08/2018

This holiday camp is always perfect! This was my third time visiting here and I’ve never been disappointed. It’s peaceful and the perfect place to relax after a day of exploring the coast line.......Read more.

This holiday camp is always perfect! This was my third time visiting here and I’ve never been disappointed. It’s peaceful and the perfect place to relax after a day of exploring the coast line.

Andrew and Nicola are lovely people and very helpful with everything. Their knowledge on the surrounding area is outstanding.

Thank you for a lovely time and we will be back next year!...Read less.

"Beautiful Hidden Gem"

Mrs L Williams - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

06/08/2018

The park is wonderfully quiet and laid back - like being in the middle of a forgotten forest. The layout gives as much personal space for each plot as you could want but there are also lovely wide......Read more.

The park is wonderfully quiet and laid back - like being in the middle of a forgotten forest. The layout gives as much personal space for each plot as you could want but there are also lovely wide open spaces for the children to play in and tracks for them to explore. Our tech hungry teenagers loved it! (Not to mention the Wifi availability LOL).

Thank-you for ticking all our boxes for a great last minute getaway. Being only 30 minutes away from Padstow and amazing beaches was the icing on the cake. We will definitely be back....Read less.

"Peaceful, quiet, clean site with friendly staff"

J Upton - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

01/08/2018

Fantastic campsite. Clean and well maintained. Great spot to base yourself to explore Cornwall. Cheap bike hire and close to camel trail was a bonus. Clean free showers.

"Really satisified with our stay"

Ms K Williams - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

31/07/2018

We only stayed for 2 nights and after the first night I was begging to stay an extra night, but unfortunately time for us did not allow. We loved that it was a small, very quiet and rather relaxed......Read more.

We only stayed for 2 nights and after the first night I was begging to stay an extra night, but unfortunately time for us did not allow. We loved that it was a small, very quiet and rather relaxed site. Once we got the tent up we knew we were in a place that you could just chill in. Our son loved the little woodland walk ways and the little bridge was a real find for him. The facilities were all very clean and the showers were powerful and very hot - best I have had. We long to get back very soon and stay a little longer. It is a place that I could escape just with my son for a few days and feel I could manage on my own. A really little gem of a place if you are after somewhere to pitch your tent, and have peace and quiet and just relax. Thank you for a great place to stay, we will be back.

...Read less.

"Our stay at Ruthern Valley Holidays"

N Matthews - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

31/07/2018

Stayed for a week late July so that we could explore a little of Cornwall and cycle a bit of the Camel Trail.

Access is a bit of a challenge if you are not used to driving on very narrow lanes......Read more.

Stayed for a week late July so that we could explore a little of Cornwall and cycle a bit of the Camel Trail.

Access is a bit of a challenge if you are not used to driving on very narrow lanes between tall hedges. Luckily we are, and Cornwall is made up of this type of minor road network so no problem for use.

From the outset, the welcome was lovely, the wigwam we hired was just what we expected and wanted, the valley location itself was wonderful, particularly as it is set in woodlands so the heat the rest of the country was experiencing was not as bad. Dappled shade, fresh breeze, less direct sunlight.

Facilities were clean and well looked after, if a little dated, but this all added the the lovely atmosphere of the site.

Kids play area was simple but good, and my boys met several other children and made friends, with loads of room to play safely.

All in all, a lovely site which is well looked after by the friendly owners, and well located to explore the furthest reaches of Cornwall. We would definitely go back....Read less.

"Lovely location"

J White - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

31/07/2018

Lovely spot, hidden in a valley with neat layout and plenty for kids to do

"Pleasant stay"

Mrs H Knight - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

30/07/2018

Overall we were pleased with the site and our stay. We particularly liked the spacious layout. We liked the natural environment and efforts made to work with nature.

On the negative side the chalet......Read more.

Overall we were pleased with the site and our stay. We particularly liked the spacious layout. We liked the natural environment and efforts made to work with nature.

On the negative side the chalet was a bit tired. No working bedside lights in double room.(broken) Mattress was very firm. Would have appreciated some kind of sun lounger/deck chairs as picnic bench was,of course, very useful but not comfy for sitting out....Read less.

"Fantastic Relaxing Stay"

P Neal - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

29/07/2018

This was our first time staying in a pod and we will defiantly do it again. The ensuite facilities were amazing , the bed was comfortable and all the thought that had gone into what one might need......Read more.

This was our first time staying in a pod and we will defiantly do it again. The ensuite facilities were amazing , the bed was comfortable and all the thought that had gone into what one might need had been put in even the log to place you BBQ on. The quiet time after 10.30 meant everyone could get a good night's sleep after a busy day exploring Cornwall that that we did . Throughly recommend the site to everyone partners and families alike and the owners are super helpful to all your needs !!!...Read less.

"Peaceful countryside retreat"

Mr A Tarrant - Stayed Jun 2018

28/07/2018

Excellent lodge with everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Easy to get to from the main roads and you still feel like you are in the middle of the countryside. Good place to just......Read more.

Excellent lodge with everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Easy to get to from the main roads and you still feel like you are in the middle of the countryside. Good place to just sit and watch the local wildlife. Definitely intend to go back....Read less.

"Happy Valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

26/07/2018

We joined family visiting from abroad, (originally from Bodmin) , as they had chosen the site. It was an excellent choice, the position is superb and the management of the whole area excellent. Our......Read more.

We joined family visiting from abroad, (originally from Bodmin) , as they had chosen the site. It was an excellent choice, the position is superb and the management of the whole area excellent. Our grandson was absorbed by the bugs and "nature stuff" and the other children were all such a happy friendly crowd it was a pleasure to listen to them playing. Maybe we were lucky but I think that the place itself gives off good vibes!

For ourselves we enjoyed the position of our cabin and the cleanliness was excellent, I think the best we have experienced when self-catering. We may not wait for the family to visit again!!!...Read less.

"thanks"

Mr A Arribas - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

26/07/2018

thanks

"Beautiful, tranquil location with friendly staff"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

22/07/2018

Very scenic and tranquil, lovely outlook from the pine lodge we stayed in. Peaceful and relaxing ambiance. Good parking on site, be sure to follow the instructions from the park and not your sat nav......Read more.

Very scenic and tranquil, lovely outlook from the pine lodge we stayed in. Peaceful and relaxing ambiance. Good parking on site, be sure to follow the instructions from the park and not your sat nav as some of the roads are very narrow! Well-positioned for trips to Northern Cornwall favourites like Padstow and Port Isaac. Would recommend staying here if you want a quiet holiday, and children will enjoy playing in the open spaces / playground....Read less.

"Lovely peaceful site"

Mrs A Harris - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

22/07/2018

Stayed in a lodge for a week with our teenage daughters. The free wi-fi was great, but the site was also lovely and peaceful for just sitting around reading a book and watching the birds. The......Read more.

Stayed in a lodge for a week with our teenage daughters. The free wi-fi was great, but the site was also lovely and peaceful for just sitting around reading a book and watching the birds. The location, near Bodmin, is handy for getting to both coasts and also riding bikes on the Camel Trail. The shop on site supplied most basics and the owner kindly gave us some of his own Duck Tape when we had an incident with the wing mirror on our car. This was our second visit to the site and we enjoyed it just as much as the last time, 4 years ago....Read less.

"Review"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2018

19/07/2018

Really enjoyed return visit. Will visit again

"Our two night stay at Ruthern Valley"

Mrs F Johnston - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

16/07/2018

When we arrived the key was ready for collection. The caravan was easy to find. Although the caravan was not modern it was very clean and tidy and everything to meet our needs. Also it was in a very......Read more.

When we arrived the key was ready for collection. The caravan was easy to find. Although the caravan was not modern it was very clean and tidy and everything to meet our needs. Also it was in a very good position and was very peaceful to sit out in the evening with a drink at the picnic table. We went out one day and enjoyed the local scenery and we had a lovely coffee at the Duchey Garden Centre. Thank You...Read less.

"Anniversary Weekend getaway"

Mr J Sheehan - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

12/07/2018

Me and the wife wanted to go glamping for our anniversary and found ruthern valley on Google search and booked ourselves two nights in a megapod which is absolutely fantastic and would recommend it......Read more.

Me and the wife wanted to go glamping for our anniversary and found ruthern valley on Google search and booked ourselves two nights in a megapod which is absolutely fantastic and would recommend it to anyone it's very cosy and comfortable and a lovely location....Read less.

"Wigan stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

11/07/2018

Stayed for 1 night , found wigwam comfortable

Great to have kettle, fridge and microwave.

Narrow roads leading in and out of area caused a bit of problem with few passing areas but once at campsite......Read more.

Stayed for 1 night , found wigwam comfortable

Great to have kettle, fridge and microwave.

Narrow roads leading in and out of area caused a bit of problem with few passing areas but once at campsite very relaxing and peaceful....Read less.

"A beautiful location..."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

11/07/2018

We live locally and this was our 3rd visit to Ruthern - it's such a peaceful and friendly place. Plenty of space between pitches, hook-up if needed, great little shop for food, wine, gas etc. Will......Read more.

We live locally and this was our 3rd visit to Ruthern - it's such a peaceful and friendly place. Plenty of space between pitches, hook-up if needed, great little shop for food, wine, gas etc. Will definitely be going back....Read less.

"Our stay at Ruthern Valley Holidays"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

11/07/2018

I would definately recommend staying here, I cannot fault our stay and was great value for money!

We stayed in one of the bungalows on the site, the accommodation was clean and comfortable, with......Read more.

I would definately recommend staying here, I cannot fault our stay and was great value for money!

We stayed in one of the bungalows on the site, the accommodation was clean and comfortable, with great facilities within the accommodation, it’s own shop (came in very handy), also with free WiFi, and in a very peaceful countryside area.

The site was close to most of the coast lines in Cornwall and local attractions we set out to visit such as Padstow, Newquay (great for surfing), St Austell, Tintagel and close to great attractions such as; Eden project, Bodmin jail, Lanhydrock house, Jamaica Inn and Tintagel castle to name a few.

We will definitely stay here again as we enjoyed it so much, the owners of the site were very friendly and accommodating, would recommend this holiday to anyone....Read less.

"Excellent"

M O'Connor - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

10/07/2018

Very tranquil and clean and tidy.. good for the price

"Happy Days"

Mr G Milsom - Stayed Jun 2018

06/07/2018

Very nice site and very easy to book online 👍🌞🚲🚐

"Ruthern Valley Holiday"

Mr R Willson - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

04/07/2018

Central location with good access to the rest of Cornwall. Owners were always helpful and polite. Cabin was clean with equipment supplied for a self catering holiday. Only down side was the sofa......Read more.

Central location with good access to the rest of Cornwall. Owners were always helpful and polite. Cabin was clean with equipment supplied for a self catering holiday. Only down side was the sofa bed that was not comfortable to sit on for any length of time. Will go back again. Play area for children. Site was always clean and tidy and well maintained. Parking for cars. Curfew for noise so all can enjoy their stay....Read less.

"Such an idyllic spot in the woods."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

02/07/2018

Had the best weekend camping here. Such an idyllic little spot in the woodland surrounded by birds, squirrels and beautiful trees. It was heaven! Nicky was super friendly and helpful in helping us......Read more.

Had the best weekend camping here. Such an idyllic little spot in the woodland surrounded by birds, squirrels and beautiful trees. It was heaven! Nicky was super friendly and helpful in helping us find the best pitch on site for our campervan needs. Having the camel trail just down the road was great for exploring. We've already booked to go back just 2 weeks after our first stay and can't wait!...Read less.

"Nice and quiet"

M Snell - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

28/06/2018

Great if you want to take young children on a bike ride along the camel trail, nice and flat. Close to the coast too

"Lovely place to stay!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

26/06/2018

Lovely place to stay! Me and my partner stayed in one of the basic pods which was a gift from family members, it was better than expected with electric and our own private section to have a bbq and......Read more.

Lovely place to stay! Me and my partner stayed in one of the basic pods which was a gift from family members, it was better than expected with electric and our own private section to have a bbq and sit around. Slightly tricky to find and narrow roads surrounding so would recommend using the directions that the campsite supply rather than a sat-nav. A car would be needed to get around to surrounding attractions and places as is out on its own a little bit but very pretty and a wide range of walks and trails close by. Extremely clean and well kept facilities as well as friendly staff. Would 100% recommend....Read less.

"Break in Cornwall"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

26/06/2018

Great facilities in the mega pod. Had everything we needed.

"Nice quiet place to stay"

A Munday - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

24/06/2018

Great two-day break and very little to criticise. Stayed in Wigwam 2 - door blind a bit dirty and mouldy and floor could possibly do with a coat of varnish but otherwise very good. Shower area good......Read more.

Great two-day break and very little to criticise. Stayed in Wigwam 2 - door blind a bit dirty and mouldy and floor could possibly do with a coat of varnish but otherwise very good. Shower area good but could do with something to stand on when getting out of the shower. Surprised at no recycling facilities for cardboard....Read less.

"Short break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

21/06/2018

A perfect site to escape from it all.

"holiday"

B Smith - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

21/06/2018

very good I will be back again maybe next year B SMITH

"Friendly, Peaceful, Tidy Campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

21/06/2018

We stayed for one night due to being in the area for an event. We found staff to be very friendly, the site was well maintained and very peaceful after a hectic day. Will definitely consider staying......Read more.

We stayed for one night due to being in the area for an event. We found staff to be very friendly, the site was well maintained and very peaceful after a hectic day. Will definitely consider staying again if we come ba k for the same event next year....Read less.

"June 2018"

Mrs K Wiseman - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

18/06/2018

Great site. Great holiday. Central to the sites of Cornwall. Lovely laid back atmosphere. Beautiful surroundings.

"Tranquility"

Mrs J Frost - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

18/06/2018

We all had a lovely time and were very pleased with the site and the cabin. The only negative would be that there was a fair amount of mold in the grouting of the bath tiles.

"."

J Witchell - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

16/06/2018

.

"nice place to camp"

B Williamson - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

13/06/2018

Had a good time, easy to get to coast, quiet

"June break"

H Neal - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

13/06/2018

We really enjoyed staying at Ruthern valley. Perfect place to recharge your batteries. Excellent facilities and very friendly.

"Wigwam"

Anonymous - Stayed Jun 2018

13/06/2018

Had 3 nights here, very peaceful. Mattress was comfortable. Basic facilities in the wigwam where excellent and all I needed. Lots of storage areas. Washing block only a short stroll. Surrounded by......Read more.

Had 3 nights here, very peaceful. Mattress was comfortable. Basic facilities in the wigwam where excellent and all I needed. Lots of storage areas. Washing block only a short stroll. Surrounded by bird song and trees....Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mrs N Jones - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

12/06/2018

We had a lovely time. The site was well laid out, so visitors weren't on top of each other- lots of little individual spaces. It was so peaceful and the facilities were all that we required. The......Read more.

We had a lovely time. The site was well laid out, so visitors weren't on top of each other- lots of little individual spaces. It was so peaceful and the facilities were all that we required. The wigwam was lovely and clean too. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The children enjoyed the play area and exploring the little woodland walk. We would definitely recommend staying here....Read less.

"Quiet, well presented site, ideal for a night or two"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2018

03/06/2018

Well kept site. Lovely people. Lodges looked awesome. Our pitch was plenty big enough, plenty of space for everyone. Small, secluded site, nice and quiet. Good on site shop.

Not so easy to get to......Read more.

Well kept site. Lovely people. Lodges looked awesome. Our pitch was plenty big enough, plenty of space for everyone. Small, secluded site, nice and quiet. Good on site shop.

Not so easy to get to with the very narrow country lanes. Miles from anywhere, which can be it’s appeal but not for us unfortunately. Wash facilities (ladies) really let everything down sadly. Light didn’t work but just enough from the outside light to get by. Two very small sinks, one side-long to wall meaning coat hooks were in the way. Very squashed if two of you are trying was wash etc at the same time. Nightmare if anyone else comes in as not enough space to move around. Washing and shower facilities seem to be in need of an update....Read less.

"Camel Trail Camping"

R Paget - Stayed with family, May 2018

03/06/2018

Great little site. Close to the Camel Trail. Beautiful setting. Great for kids. Very well stocked and reasonably priced shop. Bike & wet suit hire. Super find.

"Ruthern Valley"

Mr L Kavanagh - Stayed with family, May 2018

03/06/2018

Stunning place for a relaxing holiday with great owners. We have been many times and never dissapointed, will be back again.

"Great Short Stay For An Amazing Price"

Miss E Massey - Stayed with partner, May 2018

31/05/2018

The location was perfect - woodland area so felt like proper camping even though we had a microwave and other electrical appliances! Pods were a bit close together so lacked desired privacy. Also the......Read more.

The location was perfect - woodland area so felt like proper camping even though we had a microwave and other electrical appliances! Pods were a bit close together so lacked desired privacy. Also the pod seems as if it hadn't been properly cleaned with spiders hiding in shelves and on the ceiling.

Mattress was lush and all the items inside were of high quality - wifi was also a bonus....Read less.

"Best campsite visited!"

Anonymous - Stayed May 2018

30/05/2018

This is a beautiful and well maintained peaceful, quiet site, with immaculate clean and tidy facilities, fantastic showers/toilets and in a great location. Very friendly staff and great range of......Read more.

This is a beautiful and well maintained peaceful, quiet site, with immaculate clean and tidy facilities, fantastic showers/toilets and in a great location. Very friendly staff and great range of camping variations too choose from. Very well run and organized. I HIGHLY recommend!...Read less.

"This is a little gem of a campsite, situated in peaceful countryside."

R Cowell - Stayed May 2018

29/05/2018

This is a little gem of a campsite, situated in a peaceful countryside location a few miles west of Bodmin and very convenient for the Camal Trail (cycle path) which can be reached via quiet......Read more.

This is a little gem of a campsite, situated in a peaceful countryside location a few miles west of Bodmin and very convenient for the Camal Trail (cycle path) which can be reached via quiet country lanes about a mile away. The site is mostly lodges, a few camping pods and a small camping field. I was allocated a quiet corner pitch, almost level and with electric hook up. The shower / toilet block is very close by with hot powerful showers and there are dish washing facilities and (coin operated) washing machines. WiFi is free and signal was just about OK where I was parked. I have no hesitation in recommending this site and hope to stay there again now I've found it....Read less.

"Exactly what we were hoping for"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2018

29/05/2018

We spent a week in a lodge at Ruthern Valley with our young toddler. It was exactly what we were hoping for. A great location, close to the Camel trail, but in a really peaceful spot. North and south......Read more.

We spent a week in a lodge at Ruthern Valley with our young toddler. It was exactly what we were hoping for. A great location, close to the Camel trail, but in a really peaceful spot. North and south coasts were both within easy reach. We were provided with a cot and high chair for our toddler which saved us a lot of hassle. The lodge itself was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed during our week. There are some great green spaces for kids to play and our little girl was particularly fond of the chickens and the swings. Our only small gripe is that one of the bedside lights didn't work and we didn't the double bed especially comfortable. However, this definitely wouldn't stop us going again. We thought it was superb value for money and hope to book another stay before too long....Read less.

"Brilliant time with our family on our first glamping break"

Mrs M Ayling - Stayed with family, May 2018

24/05/2018

this was our first time glamping and we were very impressed with the megapod we stayed in. The pod was of an exceptionally high standard and all facilities were good. Shower block was very clean.......Read more.

this was our first time glamping and we were very impressed with the megapod we stayed in. The pod was of an exceptionally high standard and all facilities were good. Shower block was very clean. Site was very peaceful and we could not fault it at all. Our 2 young boys loved it and enjoyed the use of the football goal and enjoyed seeing the chickens. We would definitely return without hesitation...Read less.

"Lovely stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

21/05/2018

Stayed here many years back decided to return with my now family and they loved it will highly recommend to everyone

"Ruthern valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2018

11/05/2018

Lovely park very quiet, very peaceful and beautiful surroundings. Immaculately clean! Only negative we had was that the mattress in the double bedroom was very springy and uncomfortable so much so......Read more.

Lovely park very quiet, very peaceful and beautiful surroundings. Immaculately clean! Only negative we had was that the mattress in the double bedroom was very springy and uncomfortable so much so my husband slept on the bottom bunk as it was hurting his back would return as lovely just think a new mattress would make it perfect 😀...Read less.

"Regularly stay..."

Mr P Dudley - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

07/05/2018

Great place to stay quiet comfortable and clean

"Beautiful campsite"

Mrs S Disley - Stayed with partner, Apr 2018

07/05/2018

Couldn't be happier with our stay such a lovely location and fantastic value for money

"Fantastic!"

Miss S Reith - Stayed with friends, Apr 2018

06/05/2018

I was very impressed with Ruthern Valley. The price was good so I expected a low standard but I was delighted with the quality of the accommodation! Everything was well thought out and it was lovely......Read more.

I was very impressed with Ruthern Valley. The price was good so I expected a low standard but I was delighted with the quality of the accommodation! Everything was well thought out and it was lovely and cosy. I will definitely be coming back as soon as possible....Read less.

"April stay"

S Tidiman - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

28/04/2018

Great weekend stay. Clean facilities & good base to explore cornwall.

"Great family friendly base for exploring Cornwall"

Mrs K Keen - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

18/04/2018

We had a wonderful time exploring Cornwall from our base at Ruthern Valley holidays. Well equipped, well presented and family friendly, we will recommend to others and plan to return.

"Fantastic stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

18/04/2018

We had another lovely Easter break at Ruthern Valley. The wigwam was clean and warm and the facilities were great. Looking forward to coming back in the summer :)

"Great Stay!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

18/04/2018

Fabulous place to get away from it all. Megapod we stayed in was clean, cosy and well appointed.

Great location to venture off to both North and South Cornwall coast. It is in a remote location with......Read more.

Fabulous place to get away from it all. Megapod we stayed in was clean, cosy and well appointed.

Great location to venture off to both North and South Cornwall coast. It is in a remote location with narrow roads on the approach so would recommend planning meals e.g. where to go, shopping etc. Shop on site for all the basics is handy....Read less.

"Excellent stay"

S Watts-Lynch - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

13/04/2018

We had a wonderful short break here staying in a Wigwam! This is one of the best sites I have stayed on and I take about 5 trips every year. We had booked a basic pod (we camp in our tent in the......Read more.

We had a wonderful short break here staying in a Wigwam! This is one of the best sites I have stayed on and I take about 5 trips every year. We had booked a basic pod (we camp in our tent in the summer) but the owner offered us an upgrade at a very reasonable price indeed. The site is beautiful, thoughtfully laid out, well tended, exceptionally clean and had everything we needed. A very quiet and peaceful site, highly recommended for any like minded campers. There's a great play area for children and a small football pitch. Chickens you can feed (the shop sells food 50p). There is a small stream for paddling in, communal fire pit area, and small wooded walks. It is clear to see why the site has won so many David Bellamy awards. Excellent place for star gazing with no light pollution - so ensure you bring a torch! Andrew the owner was very friendly and welcoming, he clearly works hard keeping everything up together. There are lots of facilities we didn't make use of such as cycle hire and laundry. The onsite shop was open mornings and afternoons and sold a variety of food stuff and camping things. The wigwams and megapods all had their own picnic tables - very handy. It was bliss being able to enjoy a peaceful breakfast and a pot of tea with only the sounds of birds and the occasional sheep! Oh and great free WiFi that my daughter discovered! My two children age 14 and 11 thoroughly enjoyed it. We were only here for 4 nights - shame it wasn't a week....Read less.

"Easter 2018"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

11/04/2018

Very pleased as with all previous visits.

Hope to be back soon.

"Fabulous Holiday"

Mr A Ross - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

09/04/2018

Full of wild life and lovely surrounding s

"A lovely site"

Mr C McFarlane - Stayed with family, Mar 2018

04/04/2018

We stayed in one of the lodges which was very nice. The owners are very helpful. This is the 6th time we have stayed here and hope to return again soon.

"Everything you need for a cosy, peaceful break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2018

04/04/2018

We have stayed at Ruthern Valley half a dozen times over the last decade and it never fails to deliver a welcomed peaceful and comfortable retreat in an outstanding location. Andrew and Nicola are......Read more.

We have stayed at Ruthern Valley half a dozen times over the last decade and it never fails to deliver a welcomed peaceful and comfortable retreat in an outstanding location. Andrew and Nicola are excellent hosts, everything is always well maintained and the views across the site from many of the log cabins is beautiful....Read less.

"holiday"

J Featherstone - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

04/04/2018

site was great .to remote roads of access is not great

"A true oasis"

Mr J Cotterill - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

27/03/2018

We had a wonderful stay at Ruthern Valley and would highly recommend to couples or families who enjoy nature. Staying out of peak season for us was perfect as we prefer the quiet and also meant we......Read more.

We had a wonderful stay at Ruthern Valley and would highly recommend to couples or families who enjoy nature. Staying out of peak season for us was perfect as we prefer the quiet and also meant we stayed for what we consider amazing value. The site is set in the gorgeous untouched countryside, it’s peaceful, full of wildlife and not too far from anything! We loved this place and will certainly be returning in the future!...Read less.

"First impression"

L Walker - Stayed with family, Mar 2018

17/03/2018

We found this site excellent even though we where only there a couple of days, we would like to come back closer to summer an stay even longer.

"Lovely peaceful campsite with extremely friendly & helpful staff!"

Miss A Badcock - Stayed with partner, Feb 2018

23/02/2018

There isn’t anything you can dislike about this campsite! My parter & I have stayed in a lodge, Megapod & wigwam & loved all 3! The family are lovely and always willing to help. The facilities are......Read more.

There isn’t anything you can dislike about this campsite! My parter & I have stayed in a lodge, Megapod & wigwam & loved all 3! The family are lovely and always willing to help. The facilities are always clean & tidy. If you enjoy a peaceful location this is perfect & it is great value for money! We will once again be returning next year!...Read less.

"Lovely little campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Feb 2018

22/02/2018

We have visited before but we camped, this time we decided to stay in a mega pod as it was our anniversary, the owners are friendly and it felt really homely. The mega pod was clean and great value......Read more.

We have visited before but we camped, this time we decided to stay in a mega pod as it was our anniversary, the owners are friendly and it felt really homely. The mega pod was clean and great value for money! We really enjoyed our stay and will be returning with our family for a stay soon!! The only thing, which I forgot to mention on departure was the lights outside of our pod weren’t working, but it wasn’t a big problem. We would definitely be recommending this site. Thanks for a great stay....Read less.

"Family holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Feb 2018

19/02/2018

Had a lovely family half term break, weather wasn't very good but the kids loved it. Accommodation was nice and clean and had everything we needed.

Thankyou

"Loved it!"

Mrs M Wells - Stayed with family, Feb 2018

19/02/2018

This was our second stay - last time in a pod but found it a bit cramped for 4 of us so went with the wigwam. We really loved it and it suited us well. We come for the Eden project and surrounding......Read more.

This was our second stay - last time in a pod but found it a bit cramped for 4 of us so went with the wigwam. We really loved it and it suited us well. We come for the Eden project and surrounding areas which didn’t disappoint. Really friendly and handy shop - just could do with a few more toilets/showers. Not a problem at this time of year but is in the summer....Read less.

"January holiday"

S Harris - Stayed with family, Jan 2018

14/02/2018

Clean friendly peaceful. Really nice site

"A Great Place to Stay"

E Templar - Stayed Feb 2018

14/02/2018

Beautiful place to stay.Owners friendly and helpful. Stayed in a well equipped lodge - had everything I needed - it was warm with plenty of hot water and good WiFi. Will definitely return.

"Can't fault with the value of money and location"

Mr D Gurung - Stayed with partner, Feb 2018

09/02/2018

We stayed for 4 nights on first week of February. We wanted to visit few places at Cornwall area. So, we were looking for cheap accommodation with short distance of our visit. This came with the best......Read more.

We stayed for 4 nights on first week of February. We wanted to visit few places at Cornwall area. So, we were looking for cheap accommodation with short distance of our visit. This came with the best price and at great location. When we went there, the log cabin was very nice and clean. We enjoy our stay for 4 nights....Read less.

"Good clean site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jan 2018

01/02/2018

Visited in January very clean and well maintained site with very friendly and helpful owners. Very large hardstanding with electric hook up. A bit outdated and small toilet/shower block, we think it......Read more.

Visited in January very clean and well maintained site with very friendly and helpful owners. Very large hardstanding with electric hook up. A bit outdated and small toilet/shower block, we think it could be a bit busy in the summer when site is full. However the showers was hot and large. The site was in an amazing Location with plenty of wild life but within easy reach of the local towns....Read less.

"Mrs"

Mrs L Duder - Stayed with friends, Dec 2017

09/01/2018

We had a lovely time and the walks are Beautiful and we would come back

"new year"

Mrs M Loader - Stayed with family, Dec 2017

08/01/2018

This site was chosen as it is central to all areas of Cornwall. Also we were there for new year and was very mindful of strong winds as we were in caravan. Although a named storm came in and the......Read more.

This site was chosen as it is central to all areas of Cornwall. Also we were there for new year and was very mindful of strong winds as we were in caravan. Although a named storm came in and the winds were strong we were very sheltered....Read less.

"New Years break"

Mr S Hollier - Stayed with family, Dec 2017

05/01/2018

Highly recommend A*

"Christmas Glamping"

Mr E Crimp - Stayed with family, Dec 2017

02/01/2018

Had a magical Megapod Christmas at Ruthern Valley. Lovely site, great accommodation and fantastic hosts. Hired bikes onsite and enjoyed a Boxing Day cycle to Padstow as ideally situated close to......Read more.

Had a magical Megapod Christmas at Ruthern Valley. Lovely site, great accommodation and fantastic hosts. Hired bikes onsite and enjoyed a Boxing Day cycle to Padstow as ideally situated close to Camel Trail. We will definitely be back again!...Read less.

"Lovely for short breaks"

Mrs G Hall - Stayed with family, Nov 2017

24/11/2017

Lovely setting for a short break. Easily accessible to visiting any part of Cornwall and a real gem hidden in the beautiful countryside. We will definitely be back for another visit soon.

"Another lovely stay at Ruthern Valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

09/11/2017

Second time staying there this year and we booked again for next year. A nice site, accommodation and very helpful owners.

Very handy and quiet location. About 1 mile to the nice Camel Trail for......Read more.

Second time staying there this year and we booked again for next year. A nice site, accommodation and very helpful owners.

Very handy and quiet location. About 1 mile to the nice Camel Trail for walking and cycling. Would thoroughly recommend it....Read less.

"Great place to stay for peace & quiet"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

06/11/2017

Spent a week at Ruthernbridge lodge and it was delightful. Would recommend.

"Will be back soon!"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Oct 2017

03/11/2017

Stayed in a Megapod October 2017, utterly loved it! So peaceful and tranquil on site, loved sitting in the cost warm pod watching the autumn leaves fall and the birds flutter around.

Geographical......Read more.

Stayed in a Megapod October 2017, utterly loved it! So peaceful and tranquil on site, loved sitting in the cost warm pod watching the autumn leaves fall and the birds flutter around.

Geographical location is good - near equidistant from plenty of places to explore on the north or south coast or surrounding areas inland - spoilt for choice for outings really, or enjoying podlife and not going far at all! Price was great - excellent value for money. And the Megapod itself - brilliant!! Big enough not to be cramped but small enough to be, well, a comfortable glamping pod... Very much appreciated the comforts of toilet/kitchenette and electricity/heating/wifi - I was sad to leave and that's the best sign of a good break - reluctant to hand over the key to close our holiday but reassured the lovely, friendly member of staff (owner?) that helped us on arrival and departure that we'll definitely be back.

Peaceful retreat away from the world, special, quirky alternative to a hotel base or a combination of the two - spot on! Thank you!...Read less.

"Great back to basics camping experience"

R Clark - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

02/11/2017

A superb little site. We stayed in a wig wam which for a first time experience was superb. Comfortable, warm and cosy. Free Wi-fi was also a added bonus. Excellent customer service from the owners.......Read more.

A superb little site. We stayed in a wig wam which for a first time experience was superb. Comfortable, warm and cosy. Free Wi-fi was also a added bonus. Excellent customer service from the owners. We hired wetsuits on site and the trust of paying for them upon our return from the beech was a breath of fresh air. We will definitely be returning in the future....Read less.

"Caching in Cornwall"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

31/10/2017

Perfect spot for us to attempt the 360° compass series

"AUTUMN HALF-TERM"

Mrs. L Rhodes - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

30/10/2017

Relaxing break in a very chilled peaceful area. The supplies in the on site shop are reasonably priced and good quality. Plenty of space for children to run around. Perfectly placed to join the camel......Read more.

Relaxing break in a very chilled peaceful area. The supplies in the on site shop are reasonably priced and good quality. Plenty of space for children to run around. Perfectly placed to join the camel trail....Read less.

"Great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

30/10/2017

Great location and facilities

"October weekend"

Chapman Burrell - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

21/10/2017

We four and our baby grandson were attending a friend's wedding so Ruthern Valley was well placed for us. Delighted to find such reasonably priced accomodation for us all. Am now thinking that our......Read more.

We four and our baby grandson were attending a friend's wedding so Ruthern Valley was well placed for us. Delighted to find such reasonably priced accomodation for us all. Am now thinking that our other, teenage, grand-children would enjoy the park and surrounding activities. We could be back!...Read less.

"very nice surroundings for a peaceful break."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

14/10/2017

Lovely, well maintained grounds. A variety of types of accommodation, well spaced and equipped.

Will come back for another break.

"Nice Location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

13/10/2017

Nice and Quiet

"Pod Holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

12/10/2017

.

"Rural idyll"

Mrs A Radford - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

06/10/2017

So peaceful, beautiful surroundings, lovely wildlife. Not for those that want a hectic nightlife. Ideally placed for exploring Cornwall. Nothing ever a problem. Only criticism? It's a long haul from......Read more.

So peaceful, beautiful surroundings, lovely wildlife. Not for those that want a hectic nightlife. Ideally placed for exploring Cornwall. Nothing ever a problem. Only criticism? It's a long haul from Yorkshire, but we'll be back!...Read less.

"Exceeded expectations"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

05/10/2017

We arrived and checked in with a very helpful friendly gentleman that was looking after the things while the owners are away. We had some friends that had no where to stay and he helped accommodate......Read more.

We arrived and checked in with a very helpful friendly gentleman that was looking after the things while the owners are away. We had some friends that had no where to stay and he helped accommodate them without any hesitation.

Showers were very clean and warm.

Will definitely return and recommend....Read less.

"Rural idyll"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

05/10/2017

Our journey to the site took us through the rundown town of Bodmin but it was such a pleasant surprise to get out into the countryside surrounding it. Ruthernbridge is well off the beaten track and......Read more.

Our journey to the site took us through the rundown town of Bodmin but it was such a pleasant surprise to get out into the countryside surrounding it. Ruthernbridge is well off the beaten track and the site suffers little in the way of noise, allowing us to enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside. The site does not endeavour to appeal to those seeking activities onsite but with cycle hire available many can enjoy more leisurely travel to some of nearby coastal resorts....Read less.

"Brilliant"

Mr S Brimble - Stayed with family, Sep 2017

04/10/2017

Lovely place best holiday park

"Charming, quiet camping and chalet site in the countryside"

Mr M Morris - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

04/10/2017

In the middle of the countryside between Bodmin and Wadebridge, Ruthern Valley Holidays is a charming and secluded site that offers everything you need for a wonderful stay. Friendly hosts and a well......Read more.

In the middle of the countryside between Bodmin and Wadebridge, Ruthern Valley Holidays is a charming and secluded site that offers everything you need for a wonderful stay. Friendly hosts and a well equipped shop make the experience pleasant. The grounds are well tended and looked good for camping, the camp pods and the chalets, the chalets were nicely set and tidy too. Being so central meant that many locations weren't more than a 30 min drive away - Wadebridge (nearest Tesco I think), Padstow, Polezeth, Newquay and obviously Bodmin all relatively close-by. You were also no more than a 20 min drive from the A30 to get deeper into Cornwall quickly. Would highly recommend a visit here, you won't be disappointed and we'll definitely be back!!...Read less.

"Beautiful quiet campsite!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

26/09/2017

We were passing through the area and came across this wonderful campsite. Really beautiful little site with private bays for campers available. Toilets and showers clean and modern. Washing up area......Read more.

We were passing through the area and came across this wonderful campsite. Really beautiful little site with private bays for campers available. Toilets and showers clean and modern. Washing up area is more than adequate with plenty of room and hot water. Little shop is nicely stocked. Staff were lovely and even helped us out with a bit of engine oil for the van! Although we came to this campsite by chance I would definately be back!...Read less.

"Perfect getaway"

Miss M Seymour - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

26/09/2017

We only live in Newquay but staying at ruthern valley made us feel like we were a million miles away, great value for money (especially in comparison to other campsites) perfect well equipt mega pod......Read more.

We only live in Newquay but staying at ruthern valley made us feel like we were a million miles away, great value for money (especially in comparison to other campsites) perfect well equipt mega pod with gorgeous quiet surroundings, we loved staying and are planning our next trip to stay again within the next few months! Thank you :)...Read less.

"Lovely stay at a quiet and clean site"

Miss T Riggall - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

22/09/2017

We had a peaceful stay here which was why we booked a quiet site.

The wigwam we stayed in was clean and comfortable.

The facilities were fine and what we needed.

it was good value for money and the......Read more.

We had a peaceful stay here which was why we booked a quiet site.

The wigwam we stayed in was clean and comfortable.

The facilities were fine and what we needed.

it was good value for money and the staff were helpful.

Would recommend to others....Read less.

"Glamping (pod)"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2017

21/09/2017

Very nice and quit place to stay. Good and clean facilities and everything very nicely set up. Great for nature!

"A perfect place to stay to relax and chill out"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

20/09/2017

It is a lovely site. So peaceful, well kept and a great place to recharge!

"Log cabin"

Mr M Lawrance - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

16/09/2017

The cabin was adequate but a little 'tired' The mattresses were the most uncomfortable I've slept on in all my years of travelling.

"Great location for a weekend away!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

16/09/2017

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay at Ruthern Valley campsite in the mega pod. There was everything that we needed for a few days holiday. We were greeted by the friendly staff at reception......Read more.

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay at Ruthern Valley campsite in the mega pod. There was everything that we needed for a few days holiday. We were greeted by the friendly staff at reception and had an information booklet at the pod which included all the information needed about the site and local area which was very helpful, although may need to be updated as one of the walks took us in the wrong direction! The pod was very clean, could not find any faults with cleanliness. However the showers could have possibly been cleaner as there was some mud and leaves inside the cubicle and cobwebs, although it is an outside shower so was to be expected. The local fish and chip shop was lovely although would have liked to be closer to more beaches and local attractions as we had to drive about 30 minutes to most attractions. The campsite is surrounded by many narrow uneven roads on the way in which may limit accessibility. A lovely 3 night stay and would recommend to anyone!...Read less.

"Escape to the country"

K Hopes - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

16/09/2017

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2017., curtesy of a glamping voucher given to us as a present. We had about 20 sites to choose from around the country and chose this one as we love Cornwall and......Read more.

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2017., curtesy of a glamping voucher given to us as a present. We had about 20 sites to choose from around the country and chose this one as we love Cornwall and Bodmin is fairly central. Had a warm welcome and directions to our glamping wigwam. There are 4 wigwams and several other types of accomodation, lodges, pods and a main field for camping.

The wigwam was cosy...weather sunshine and showers but the wigwam was well insulated. There is a heater which we put on for an hour and then did not need to use again. Microwave, kettle and fridge were useful luxuries. Toilet and shower facilities were close by and plentiful. There are also washing machines (we didn't need to use these) Mattresses were comfortable and we slept well. Bench table outside front door for alfresco eating but again we didn't use these. Site was lovely, in woodland with a small shop which sold the basics. We ate out in Roche, the Victoria Inn, about 12 mins drive, which we would recommend. The location of Ruthern valley is good for both the North (30 min drive to Newquay) and South (40 min drive to St Austell) Cornwall. I would recommend this site if you want to get away from it all and go back to nature but still have good links to places of interest....Read less.

"Excellent secluded location"

Mr A Bedford - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

14/09/2017

A nice quiet tranquil site. we stayed in our caravan, and found it very handy for cycling on the camel trail to Padstow. The lanes on the approach were a ittle narrow for the caravan, but not too......Read more.

A nice quiet tranquil site. we stayed in our caravan, and found it very handy for cycling on the camel trail to Padstow. The lanes on the approach were a ittle narrow for the caravan, but not too bad.

One piece of advice - if there is a choice of pitches, go for the middle of the field - the squirrels knocked acorns from the top of the tree onto our roof and we jumped every time at the noise!...Read less.

"Mega pod"

Miss T Murkin - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

12/09/2017

Mega pods are spacious clean and very well kept ! Had everything you need for a cozy break away, Would stay in them again. On site showers could do with some maintenance very dated and water was......Read more.

Mega pods are spacious clean and very well kept ! Had everything you need for a cozy break away, Would stay in them again. On site showers could do with some maintenance very dated and water was running cold. Other than that had a lovely stay.Thankyou....Read less.

"Great Skys"

K Stamp - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

08/09/2017

The campsite is not crowded, quite after 9 when the kids all go to sleep. Great star watching. The owners were really helpful. The shop is good apart from it could do with a bit of veg and fruit.......Read more.

The campsite is not crowded, quite after 9 when the kids all go to sleep. Great star watching. The owners were really helpful. The shop is good apart from it could do with a bit of veg and fruit. There does need to be another wash room that has a sink in and chairs In the shower rooms.

There is no mobile reception so not so good for teenagers but they coped! ...

Close to both coasts, Heligan, Eden and Lanhydrock.

Lovely friendly site....Read less.

"Fab week"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

08/09/2017

Great quiet campsite, with space for the kids to roam free safely. Lovely staff and good location for access to north and south coast's. The boys cycling down for warm bread/ croissants in the morning

"Small and friendly"

Mr T Sanderson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

06/09/2017

Ruthern Valley

"Super family campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

06/09/2017

A lovely safe site and at the same time great for the children to go off and explore. The right balance of facilities (a shop, washing machines, tumble dryers) but not taking away the camping /......Read more.

A lovely safe site and at the same time great for the children to go off and explore. The right balance of facilities (a shop, washing machines, tumble dryers) but not taking away the camping / outside experience. We have visited many times and there are many more visits to come....Read less.

"Ruthern Valley Wigwam"

Mrs G Lawson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

05/09/2017

We had a lovely stay in one of your wigwam. Very spacious and comfortable inside. Quiet campsite. Would definitely recommend.

"Close to Camel Trail"

Miss Y Fox - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

04/09/2017

Very convenient for the Camel Trail. I stayed in a wooden lodge with my 3 children. The lodge was ok, could do with a revamp, damp, a bedroom door hanging off and a bedside light and outside light......Read more.

Very convenient for the Camel Trail. I stayed in a wooden lodge with my 3 children. The lodge was ok, could do with a revamp, damp, a bedroom door hanging off and a bedside light and outside light not working.

The kids had a great time every evening making friends, playing in the park and seeing the animals.

Not sure if I'd go back until updated more....Read less.

"Quiet, beautiful campsite very well taken care of!"

B Clarkson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

04/09/2017

This has been our favourite campsite this year, we will be back. Piches were flat, it was a quiet site despite lots of families. We had a restless nights sleep but from what we assume was a hen group......Read more.

This has been our favourite campsite this year, we will be back. Piches were flat, it was a quiet site despite lots of families. We had a restless nights sleep but from what we assume was a hen group though coming home at 1am drunk, but thats not your fault. The pitches were great and flat, I thought the wash facilities were a real draw and the toilets maybe didnt live up to the shower/kitchen facilities but that is really nit picking. We also loved the chalkboard with information. Great central location for exploring Padstow, Fowey, Newquay and Eden so was exactly what we wanted as a couple....Read less.

"Glamping in Cornwall"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

03/09/2017

We were delighted with the experience we had for four nights - too brief to do justice to all that was on offer. The information in our accommodation was brilliant and signposted several really......Read more.

We were delighted with the experience we had for four nights - too brief to do justice to all that was on offer. The information in our accommodation was brilliant and signposted several really useful tips including a fabulous family beach. Thank you very much for such hospitality and helpfulness, we definitely intend to be back!...Read less.

"Short stay wished it could have been longer!"

P Walden - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

02/09/2017

As soon as we arrived at the park we knew we had made the right choice, safe, clean and family friendly all wrapped up in the most beautiful setting

The Walden's

"Great Getaway"

A Tomuli - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

01/09/2017

Last minute trip to get away from the grind. Found this via Air BnB. Comfortable, clean and cosy.

"Summer 2017"

D Field - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

31/08/2017

Spent a week in August, expecting a busy week, although the site was busy we had a relaxing week. Kids loved the park and trail through the woods. Location is great for exploring both coast lines and......Read more.

Spent a week in August, expecting a busy week, although the site was busy we had a relaxing week. Kids loved the park and trail through the woods. Location is great for exploring both coast lines and the camel trail. Site facilities are well placed to get away from the rat race, they are not luxury but theye are fit for purpose and functional. Great site to visit Cornwall with the kids....Read less.

"Awesome place!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

30/08/2017

Best campsite we've ever been to! Enough said.

"Our stay at Ruthern Valley"

R Wieringa - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

29/08/2017

We had a very pleasant stay at R V. It was easy to find and the campsite is very green and friendly. We hired a log cabin. We had a problem with one of the matrasses, the staff helped us very quickly......Read more.

We had a very pleasant stay at R V. It was easy to find and the campsite is very green and friendly. We hired a log cabin. We had a problem with one of the matrasses, the staff helped us very quickly and friendly. The environment is beautiful and it's easy to go to the sea....Read less.

"Idyllic place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

29/08/2017

I used to visit Ruthern Valley every year as a child and have just started visiting again as an adult. It is an idyllic, beautiful place to stay – it feels like a hidden secret, away from the hustle......Read more.

I used to visit Ruthern Valley every year as a child and have just started visiting again as an adult. It is an idyllic, beautiful place to stay – it feels like a hidden secret, away from the hustle and bustle of Cornwall's tourist hotspots. The owners have done a great job maintaining and improving the site, with new facilities like bike hire, fresh bread and pastries and a campfire area. The only improvement I would suggest is having more toilets and showers for campers. Would highly recommend!...Read less.

"Sustainable camping site, peaceful yet friendly"

A Holmes - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

28/08/2017

Smaller than expected but not disappointing, beautifully set deep in a Cornish valley. Our tent pitch (without electrics) was ample for our needs and hard-standing parking was next to or nearby for......Read more.

Smaller than expected but not disappointing, beautifully set deep in a Cornish valley. Our tent pitch (without electrics) was ample for our needs and hard-standing parking was next to or nearby for all pitches. Our young children could play happily with others in the woods and the play area without us worrying about safety. Other campers were equally friendly and considerate. The showers were a decent heat and enough of them for everyone to use without huge queues. Also available were washing up sinks, disposal points, recycling bins, compost bin and drinking water tap. The washing machines and tumble drier were available for a very reasonable cost. All were in a one block for use by both campers an those using wigwams but facilities weren't busy even in mid august. The campsite shop is well stocked and good value for money. We particularly enjoyed warm bread and croissants from there most mornings! Some of the lanes in the area are very narrow so not surprisingly there were few caravans and only two hard-standing for campervans. The site is remote but we visited the most popular areas easily by car: Padstow (Park and Ride), Eden Project, Lanhydrock House (Parkrun on Saturdays), Bodmin. All great places but best of all was a day out to Lappa Valley. Steam and diesel train rides, boating, crazy golf, a peddle car track for toddlers, brilliant adventure playground, paved maze, two refreshment buildings and picnic tables: everything to suit all family members set around interesting historical tower of a disused mine. We cannot fault our holiday to Ruthern Valley and would love to visit again....Read less.

"Lovely stay"

Mrs K Dennison - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

26/08/2017

It's in a beautiful rural setting,quite central for using as a base to explore Cornwall. We stayed in a lodge, it's basic but comfortable with everything you need. The bird feeder on the patio on......Read more.

It's in a beautiful rural setting,quite central for using as a base to explore Cornwall. We stayed in a lodge, it's basic but comfortable with everything you need. The bird feeder on the patio on arrival was a nice touch we watched all sorts of birds feeding. Robins tits and nuthatches. Would definitely stay there again....Read less.

"Staying in a pod."

Mrs A Sibley - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

We picked Rutgers Valley because of its closeness to the Camel Trail and thought we would give a pod ago as during August it was just under £50.00 a night compared to a popular inn coming in at......Read more.

We picked Rutgers Valley because of its closeness to the Camel Trail and thought we would give a pod ago as during August it was just under £50.00 a night compared to a popular inn coming in at £125.00 a night.

On arrival early evening,they opened the shop up for us , so that we could buy essentials. Very kind. The shop was extremely basic but we had food. If we weren't so fussy about what we ate, there wouldn't have been a problem.

Our pod was clean enough but on closer inspection there was quite a lot of dirt around the edges, which shouldn't really of been there. Oh well we were camping.

We had a large and secluded plot to ourselves, under a thick canopy of trees. The down side of this was that it was rather dark and cool and we were jealous of the tourers sitting in the sunny field.

The toilet and washing facilities were clean and in good working order and we were fortunate enough to be quite close. However in our opinion two male and two female toilet plus one unisex and four showers is not enough for the occupants of the site. We exprianced queues for the showers.

Staying in a pod was fun but more cramped than a decent sized tent, would have been better if the door was bigger, you had to step over a high threshold and duck your head. We stayed 5 nights, that was enough....Read less.

"Hazel Elks"

Mrs H Elks - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

Spent a great week here on a family holiday. Between us all we had 2 bungalows, 3 lodges and the caravan. The owners of the site from booking until we left were very helpful and friendly. We......Read more.

Spent a great week here on a family holiday. Between us all we had 2 bungalows, 3 lodges and the caravan. The owners of the site from booking until we left were very helpful and friendly. We arrived early and were allowed access to our bungalow, which was very clean. Would defiantly recommend this site and will hopefully return....Read less.

"A great place for a large extended family to meet up and spend time together"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

We booked a week at Ruthern and packed a lot into it. Great location in Cornwall, a lovely site with lots of outdoor activity opportunities for older teenagers as well as young primary age children......Read more.

We booked a week at Ruthern and packed a lot into it. Great location in Cornwall, a lovely site with lots of outdoor activity opportunities for older teenagers as well as young primary age children in our group. Lovely owners, always helpful and friendly, quick to respond to any questions. We particularly liked the mature trees, bird feeders and open feel to the site - it's the opposite to the "pack 'em in and make lots of money" places that we always avoid....Read less.

"A lovely campsite in a great area"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

A great campsite with lots of local attractions and places to go. We stayed in a pod, which was warm, dry, clean and perfect for a camping getaway. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and......Read more.

A great campsite with lots of local attractions and places to go. We stayed in a pod, which was warm, dry, clean and perfect for a camping getaway. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and are a great source of knowledge of the local area....Read less.

"best campsite we've ever stayed on"

Mrs A Murphy - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

absolutely loved it

"Very good"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

22/08/2017

A lovely quiet site which is great for families.

My only quibble is the shower rooms, they all need to have a seat/stool, a shelf and hooks.

© 2006 - 2018 CampStead