Ruthern Valley Holidays

142 Reviews

4.5 / 5 overall rating based on 142 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

98% would stay here again

Excellent

69%

Very Good

27%

Average

4%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"nice place to camp"

B Williamson - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

13/06/2018

Had a good time, easy to get to coast, quiet

"June break"

H Neal - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

13/06/2018

We really enjoyed staying at Ruthern valley. Perfect place to recharge your batteries. Excellent facilities and very friendly.

"Wigwam"

Anonymous - Stayed Jun 2018

13/06/2018

Had 3 nights here, very peaceful. Mattress was comfortable. Basic facilities in the wigwam where excellent and all I needed. Lots of storage areas. Washing block only a short stroll. Surrounded by......Read more.

Had 3 nights here, very peaceful. Mattress was comfortable. Basic facilities in the wigwam where excellent and all I needed. Lots of storage areas. Washing block only a short stroll. Surrounded by bird song and trees....Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mrs N Jones - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

12/06/2018

We had a lovely time. The site was well laid out, so visitors weren't on top of each other- lots of little individual spaces. It was so peaceful and the facilities were all that we required. The......Read more.

We had a lovely time. The site was well laid out, so visitors weren't on top of each other- lots of little individual spaces. It was so peaceful and the facilities were all that we required. The wigwam was lovely and clean too. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The children enjoyed the play area and exploring the little woodland walk. We would definitely recommend staying here....Read less.

"Quiet, well presented site, ideal for a night or two"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2018

03/06/2018

Well kept site. Lovely people. Lodges looked awesome. Our pitch was plenty big enough, plenty of space for everyone. Small, secluded site, nice and quiet. Good on site shop.

Not so easy to get to......Read more.

Well kept site. Lovely people. Lodges looked awesome. Our pitch was plenty big enough, plenty of space for everyone. Small, secluded site, nice and quiet. Good on site shop.

Not so easy to get to with the very narrow country lanes. Miles from anywhere, which can be it’s appeal but not for us unfortunately. Wash facilities (ladies) really let everything down sadly. Light didn’t work but just enough from the outside light to get by. Two very small sinks, one side-long to wall meaning coat hooks were in the way. Very squashed if two of you are trying was wash etc at the same time. Nightmare if anyone else comes in as not enough space to move around. Washing and shower facilities seem to be in need of an update....Read less.

"Camel Trail Camping"

R Paget - Stayed with family, May 2018

03/06/2018

Great little site. Close to the Camel Trail. Beautiful setting. Great for kids. Very well stocked and reasonably priced shop. Bike & wet suit hire. Super find.

"Ruthern Valley"

Mr L Kavanagh - Stayed with family, May 2018

03/06/2018

Stunning place for a relaxing holiday with great owners. We have been many times and never dissapointed, will be back again.

"Great Short Stay For An Amazing Price"

Miss E Massey - Stayed with partner, May 2018

31/05/2018

The location was perfect - woodland area so felt like proper camping even though we had a microwave and other electrical appliances! Pods were a bit close together so lacked desired privacy. Also the......Read more.

The location was perfect - woodland area so felt like proper camping even though we had a microwave and other electrical appliances! Pods were a bit close together so lacked desired privacy. Also the pod seems as if it hadn't been properly cleaned with spiders hiding in shelves and on the ceiling.

Mattress was lush and all the items inside were of high quality - wifi was also a bonus....Read less.

"Best campsite visited!"

Anonymous - Stayed May 2018

30/05/2018

This is a beautiful and well maintained peaceful, quiet site, with immaculate clean and tidy facilities, fantastic showers/toilets and in a great location. Very friendly staff and great range of......Read more.

This is a beautiful and well maintained peaceful, quiet site, with immaculate clean and tidy facilities, fantastic showers/toilets and in a great location. Very friendly staff and great range of camping variations too choose from. Very well run and organized. I HIGHLY recommend!...Read less.

"This is a little gem of a campsite, situated in peaceful countryside."

R Cowell - Stayed May 2018

29/05/2018

This is a little gem of a campsite, situated in a peaceful countryside location a few miles west of Bodmin and very convenient for the Camal Trail (cycle path) which can be reached via quiet......Read more.

This is a little gem of a campsite, situated in a peaceful countryside location a few miles west of Bodmin and very convenient for the Camal Trail (cycle path) which can be reached via quiet country lanes about a mile away. The site is mostly lodges, a few camping pods and a small camping field. I was allocated a quiet corner pitch, almost level and with electric hook up. The shower / toilet block is very close by with hot powerful showers and there are dish washing facilities and (coin operated) washing machines. WiFi is free and signal was just about OK where I was parked. I have no hesitation in recommending this site and hope to stay there again now I've found it....Read less.

"Exactly what we were hoping for"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2018

29/05/2018

We spent a week in a lodge at Ruthern Valley with our young toddler. It was exactly what we were hoping for. A great location, close to the Camel trail, but in a really peaceful spot. North and south......Read more.

We spent a week in a lodge at Ruthern Valley with our young toddler. It was exactly what we were hoping for. A great location, close to the Camel trail, but in a really peaceful spot. North and south coasts were both within easy reach. We were provided with a cot and high chair for our toddler which saved us a lot of hassle. The lodge itself was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed during our week. There are some great green spaces for kids to play and our little girl was particularly fond of the chickens and the swings. Our only small gripe is that one of the bedside lights didn't work and we didn't the double bed especially comfortable. However, this definitely wouldn't stop us going again. We thought it was superb value for money and hope to book another stay before too long....Read less.

"Brilliant time with our family on our first glamping break"

Mrs M Ayling - Stayed with family, May 2018

24/05/2018

this was our first time glamping and we were very impressed with the megapod we stayed in. The pod was of an exceptionally high standard and all facilities were good. Shower block was very clean.......Read more.

this was our first time glamping and we were very impressed with the megapod we stayed in. The pod was of an exceptionally high standard and all facilities were good. Shower block was very clean. Site was very peaceful and we could not fault it at all. Our 2 young boys loved it and enjoyed the use of the football goal and enjoyed seeing the chickens. We would definitely return without hesitation...Read less.

"Lovely stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

21/05/2018

Stayed here many years back decided to return with my now family and they loved it will highly recommend to everyone

"Ruthern valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2018

11/05/2018

Lovely park very quiet, very peaceful and beautiful surroundings. Immaculately clean! Only negative we had was that the mattress in the double bedroom was very springy and uncomfortable so much so......Read more.

Lovely park very quiet, very peaceful and beautiful surroundings. Immaculately clean! Only negative we had was that the mattress in the double bedroom was very springy and uncomfortable so much so my husband slept on the bottom bunk as it was hurting his back would return as lovely just think a new mattress would make it perfect 😀...Read less.

"Regularly stay..."

Mr P Dudley - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

07/05/2018

Great place to stay quiet comfortable and clean

"Beautiful campsite"

Mrs S Disley - Stayed with partner, Apr 2018

07/05/2018

Couldn't be happier with our stay such a lovely location and fantastic value for money

"Fantastic!"

Miss S Reith - Stayed with friends, Apr 2018

06/05/2018

I was very impressed with Ruthern Valley. The price was good so I expected a low standard but I was delighted with the quality of the accommodation! Everything was well thought out and it was lovely......Read more.

I was very impressed with Ruthern Valley. The price was good so I expected a low standard but I was delighted with the quality of the accommodation! Everything was well thought out and it was lovely and cosy. I will definitely be coming back as soon as possible....Read less.

"April stay"

S Tidiman - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

28/04/2018

Great weekend stay. Clean facilities & good base to explore cornwall.

"Great family friendly base for exploring Cornwall"

Mrs K Keen - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

18/04/2018

We had a wonderful time exploring Cornwall from our base at Ruthern Valley holidays. Well equipped, well presented and family friendly, we will recommend to others and plan to return.

"Fantastic stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

18/04/2018

We had another lovely Easter break at Ruthern Valley. The wigwam was clean and warm and the facilities were great. Looking forward to coming back in the summer :)

"Great Stay!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

18/04/2018

Fabulous place to get away from it all. Megapod we stayed in was clean, cosy and well appointed.

Great location to venture off to both North and South Cornwall coast. It is in a remote location with......Read more.

Fabulous place to get away from it all. Megapod we stayed in was clean, cosy and well appointed.

Great location to venture off to both North and South Cornwall coast. It is in a remote location with narrow roads on the approach so would recommend planning meals e.g. where to go, shopping etc. Shop on site for all the basics is handy....Read less.

"Excellent stay"

S Watts-Lynch - Stayed with family, Apr 2018

13/04/2018

We had a wonderful short break here staying in a Wigwam! This is one of the best sites I have stayed on and I take about 5 trips every year. We had booked a basic pod (we camp in our tent in the......Read more.

We had a wonderful short break here staying in a Wigwam! This is one of the best sites I have stayed on and I take about 5 trips every year. We had booked a basic pod (we camp in our tent in the summer) but the owner offered us an upgrade at a very reasonable price indeed. The site is beautiful, thoughtfully laid out, well tended, exceptionally clean and had everything we needed. A very quiet and peaceful site, highly recommended for any like minded campers. There's a great play area for children and a small football pitch. Chickens you can feed (the shop sells food 50p). There is a small stream for paddling in, communal fire pit area, and small wooded walks. It is clear to see why the site has won so many David Bellamy awards. Excellent place for star gazing with no light pollution - so ensure you bring a torch! Andrew the owner was very friendly and welcoming, he clearly works hard keeping everything up together. There are lots of facilities we didn't make use of such as cycle hire and laundry. The onsite shop was open mornings and afternoons and sold a variety of food stuff and camping things. The wigwams and megapods all had their own picnic tables - very handy. It was bliss being able to enjoy a peaceful breakfast and a pot of tea with only the sounds of birds and the occasional sheep! Oh and great free WiFi that my daughter discovered! My two children age 14 and 11 thoroughly enjoyed it. We were only here for 4 nights - shame it wasn't a week....Read less.

"Easter 2018"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

11/04/2018

Very pleased as with all previous visits.

Hope to be back soon.

"Fabulous Holiday"

Mr A Ross - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

09/04/2018

Full of wild life and lovely surrounding s

"A lovely site"

Mr C McFarlane - Stayed with family, Mar 2018

04/04/2018

We stayed in one of the lodges which was very nice. The owners are very helpful. This is the 6th time we have stayed here and hope to return again soon.

"Everything you need for a cosy, peaceful break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2018

04/04/2018

We have stayed at Ruthern Valley half a dozen times over the last decade and it never fails to deliver a welcomed peaceful and comfortable retreat in an outstanding location. Andrew and Nicola are......Read more.

We have stayed at Ruthern Valley half a dozen times over the last decade and it never fails to deliver a welcomed peaceful and comfortable retreat in an outstanding location. Andrew and Nicola are excellent hosts, everything is always well maintained and the views across the site from many of the log cabins is beautiful....Read less.

"holiday"

J Featherstone - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

04/04/2018

site was great .to remote roads of access is not great

"A true oasis"

Mr J Cotterill - Stayed with partner, Mar 2018

27/03/2018

We had a wonderful stay at Ruthern Valley and would highly recommend to couples or families who enjoy nature. Staying out of peak season for us was perfect as we prefer the quiet and also meant we......Read more.

We had a wonderful stay at Ruthern Valley and would highly recommend to couples or families who enjoy nature. Staying out of peak season for us was perfect as we prefer the quiet and also meant we stayed for what we consider amazing value. The site is set in the gorgeous untouched countryside, it’s peaceful, full of wildlife and not too far from anything! We loved this place and will certainly be returning in the future!...Read less.

"First impression"

L Walker - Stayed with family, Mar 2018

17/03/2018

We found this site excellent even though we where only there a couple of days, we would like to come back closer to summer an stay even longer.

"Lovely peaceful campsite with extremely friendly & helpful staff!"

Miss A Badcock - Stayed with partner, Feb 2018

23/02/2018

There isn’t anything you can dislike about this campsite! My parter & I have stayed in a lodge, Megapod & wigwam & loved all 3! The family are lovely and always willing to help. The facilities are......Read more.

There isn’t anything you can dislike about this campsite! My parter & I have stayed in a lodge, Megapod & wigwam & loved all 3! The family are lovely and always willing to help. The facilities are always clean & tidy. If you enjoy a peaceful location this is perfect & it is great value for money! We will once again be returning next year!...Read less.

"Lovely little campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Feb 2018

22/02/2018

We have visited before but we camped, this time we decided to stay in a mega pod as it was our anniversary, the owners are friendly and it felt really homely. The mega pod was clean and great value......Read more.

We have visited before but we camped, this time we decided to stay in a mega pod as it was our anniversary, the owners are friendly and it felt really homely. The mega pod was clean and great value for money! We really enjoyed our stay and will be returning with our family for a stay soon!! The only thing, which I forgot to mention on departure was the lights outside of our pod weren’t working, but it wasn’t a big problem. We would definitely be recommending this site. Thanks for a great stay....Read less.

"Family holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Feb 2018

19/02/2018

Had a lovely family half term break, weather wasn't very good but the kids loved it. Accommodation was nice and clean and had everything we needed.

Thankyou

"Loved it!"

Mrs M Wells - Stayed with family, Feb 2018

19/02/2018

This was our second stay - last time in a pod but found it a bit cramped for 4 of us so went with the wigwam. We really loved it and it suited us well. We come for the Eden project and surrounding......Read more.

This was our second stay - last time in a pod but found it a bit cramped for 4 of us so went with the wigwam. We really loved it and it suited us well. We come for the Eden project and surrounding areas which didn’t disappoint. Really friendly and handy shop - just could do with a few more toilets/showers. Not a problem at this time of year but is in the summer....Read less.

"January holiday"

S Harris - Stayed with family, Jan 2018

14/02/2018

Clean friendly peaceful. Really nice site

"A Great Place to Stay"

E Templar - Stayed Feb 2018

14/02/2018

Beautiful place to stay.Owners friendly and helpful. Stayed in a well equipped lodge - had everything I needed - it was warm with plenty of hot water and good WiFi. Will definitely return.

"Can't fault with the value of money and location"

Mr D Gurung - Stayed with partner, Feb 2018

09/02/2018

We stayed for 4 nights on first week of February. We wanted to visit few places at Cornwall area. So, we were looking for cheap accommodation with short distance of our visit. This came with the best......Read more.

We stayed for 4 nights on first week of February. We wanted to visit few places at Cornwall area. So, we were looking for cheap accommodation with short distance of our visit. This came with the best price and at great location. When we went there, the log cabin was very nice and clean. We enjoy our stay for 4 nights....Read less.

"Good clean site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jan 2018

01/02/2018

Visited in January very clean and well maintained site with very friendly and helpful owners. Very large hardstanding with electric hook up. A bit outdated and small toilet/shower block, we think it......Read more.

Visited in January very clean and well maintained site with very friendly and helpful owners. Very large hardstanding with electric hook up. A bit outdated and small toilet/shower block, we think it could be a bit busy in the summer when site is full. However the showers was hot and large. The site was in an amazing Location with plenty of wild life but within easy reach of the local towns....Read less.

"Mrs"

Mrs L Duder - Stayed with friends, Dec 2017

09/01/2018

We had a lovely time and the walks are Beautiful and we would come back

"new year"

Mrs M Loader - Stayed with family, Dec 2017

08/01/2018

This site was chosen as it is central to all areas of Cornwall. Also we were there for new year and was very mindful of strong winds as we were in caravan. Although a named storm came in and the......Read more.

This site was chosen as it is central to all areas of Cornwall. Also we were there for new year and was very mindful of strong winds as we were in caravan. Although a named storm came in and the winds were strong we were very sheltered....Read less.

"New Years break"

Mr S Hollier - Stayed with family, Dec 2017

05/01/2018

Highly recommend A*

"Christmas Glamping"

Mr E Crimp - Stayed with family, Dec 2017

02/01/2018

Had a magical Megapod Christmas at Ruthern Valley. Lovely site, great accommodation and fantastic hosts. Hired bikes onsite and enjoyed a Boxing Day cycle to Padstow as ideally situated close to......Read more.

Had a magical Megapod Christmas at Ruthern Valley. Lovely site, great accommodation and fantastic hosts. Hired bikes onsite and enjoyed a Boxing Day cycle to Padstow as ideally situated close to Camel Trail. We will definitely be back again!...Read less.

"Lovely for short breaks"

Mrs G Hall - Stayed with family, Nov 2017

24/11/2017

Lovely setting for a short break. Easily accessible to visiting any part of Cornwall and a real gem hidden in the beautiful countryside. We will definitely be back for another visit soon.

"Another lovely stay at Ruthern Valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

09/11/2017

Second time staying there this year and we booked again for next year. A nice site, accommodation and very helpful owners.

Very handy and quiet location. About 1 mile to the nice Camel Trail for......Read more.

Second time staying there this year and we booked again for next year. A nice site, accommodation and very helpful owners.

Very handy and quiet location. About 1 mile to the nice Camel Trail for walking and cycling. Would thoroughly recommend it....Read less.

"Great place to stay for peace & quiet"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

06/11/2017

Spent a week at Ruthernbridge lodge and it was delightful. Would recommend.

"Will be back soon!"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Oct 2017

03/11/2017

Stayed in a Megapod October 2017, utterly loved it! So peaceful and tranquil on site, loved sitting in the cost warm pod watching the autumn leaves fall and the birds flutter around.

Geographical......Read more.

Stayed in a Megapod October 2017, utterly loved it! So peaceful and tranquil on site, loved sitting in the cost warm pod watching the autumn leaves fall and the birds flutter around.

Geographical location is good - near equidistant from plenty of places to explore on the north or south coast or surrounding areas inland - spoilt for choice for outings really, or enjoying podlife and not going far at all! Price was great - excellent value for money. And the Megapod itself - brilliant!! Big enough not to be cramped but small enough to be, well, a comfortable glamping pod... Very much appreciated the comforts of toilet/kitchenette and electricity/heating/wifi - I was sad to leave and that's the best sign of a good break - reluctant to hand over the key to close our holiday but reassured the lovely, friendly member of staff (owner?) that helped us on arrival and departure that we'll definitely be back.

Peaceful retreat away from the world, special, quirky alternative to a hotel base or a combination of the two - spot on! Thank you!...Read less.

"Great back to basics camping experience"

R Clark - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

02/11/2017

A superb little site. We stayed in a wig wam which for a first time experience was superb. Comfortable, warm and cosy. Free Wi-fi was also a added bonus. Excellent customer service from the owners.......Read more.

A superb little site. We stayed in a wig wam which for a first time experience was superb. Comfortable, warm and cosy. Free Wi-fi was also a added bonus. Excellent customer service from the owners. We hired wetsuits on site and the trust of paying for them upon our return from the beech was a breath of fresh air. We will definitely be returning in the future....Read less.

"Caching in Cornwall"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

31/10/2017

Perfect spot for us to attempt the 360° compass series

"AUTUMN HALF-TERM"

Mrs. L Rhodes - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

30/10/2017

Relaxing break in a very chilled peaceful area. The supplies in the on site shop are reasonably priced and good quality. Plenty of space for children to run around. Perfectly placed to join the camel......Read more.

Relaxing break in a very chilled peaceful area. The supplies in the on site shop are reasonably priced and good quality. Plenty of space for children to run around. Perfectly placed to join the camel trail....Read less.

"Great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

30/10/2017

Great location and facilities

"October weekend"

Chapman Burrell - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

21/10/2017

We four and our baby grandson were attending a friend's wedding so Ruthern Valley was well placed for us. Delighted to find such reasonably priced accomodation for us all. Am now thinking that our......Read more.

We four and our baby grandson were attending a friend's wedding so Ruthern Valley was well placed for us. Delighted to find such reasonably priced accomodation for us all. Am now thinking that our other, teenage, grand-children would enjoy the park and surrounding activities. We could be back!...Read less.

"very nice surroundings for a peaceful break."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

14/10/2017

Lovely, well maintained grounds. A variety of types of accommodation, well spaced and equipped.

Will come back for another break.

"Nice Location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

13/10/2017

Nice and Quiet

"Pod Holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

12/10/2017

.

"Rural idyll"

Mrs A Radford - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

06/10/2017

So peaceful, beautiful surroundings, lovely wildlife. Not for those that want a hectic nightlife. Ideally placed for exploring Cornwall. Nothing ever a problem. Only criticism? It's a long haul from......Read more.

So peaceful, beautiful surroundings, lovely wildlife. Not for those that want a hectic nightlife. Ideally placed for exploring Cornwall. Nothing ever a problem. Only criticism? It's a long haul from Yorkshire, but we'll be back!...Read less.

"Exceeded expectations"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

05/10/2017

We arrived and checked in with a very helpful friendly gentleman that was looking after the things while the owners are away. We had some friends that had no where to stay and he helped accommodate......Read more.

We arrived and checked in with a very helpful friendly gentleman that was looking after the things while the owners are away. We had some friends that had no where to stay and he helped accommodate them without any hesitation.

Showers were very clean and warm.

Will definitely return and recommend....Read less.

"Rural idyll"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

05/10/2017

Our journey to the site took us through the rundown town of Bodmin but it was such a pleasant surprise to get out into the countryside surrounding it. Ruthernbridge is well off the beaten track and......Read more.

Our journey to the site took us through the rundown town of Bodmin but it was such a pleasant surprise to get out into the countryside surrounding it. Ruthernbridge is well off the beaten track and the site suffers little in the way of noise, allowing us to enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside. The site does not endeavour to appeal to those seeking activities onsite but with cycle hire available many can enjoy more leisurely travel to some of nearby coastal resorts....Read less.

"Brilliant"

Mr S Brimble - Stayed with family, Sep 2017

04/10/2017

Lovely place best holiday park

"Charming, quiet camping and chalet site in the countryside"

Mr M Morris - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

04/10/2017

In the middle of the countryside between Bodmin and Wadebridge, Ruthern Valley Holidays is a charming and secluded site that offers everything you need for a wonderful stay. Friendly hosts and a well......Read more.

In the middle of the countryside between Bodmin and Wadebridge, Ruthern Valley Holidays is a charming and secluded site that offers everything you need for a wonderful stay. Friendly hosts and a well equipped shop make the experience pleasant. The grounds are well tended and looked good for camping, the camp pods and the chalets, the chalets were nicely set and tidy too. Being so central meant that many locations weren't more than a 30 min drive away - Wadebridge (nearest Tesco I think), Padstow, Polezeth, Newquay and obviously Bodmin all relatively close-by. You were also no more than a 20 min drive from the A30 to get deeper into Cornwall quickly. Would highly recommend a visit here, you won't be disappointed and we'll definitely be back!!...Read less.

"Beautiful quiet campsite!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

26/09/2017

We were passing through the area and came across this wonderful campsite. Really beautiful little site with private bays for campers available. Toilets and showers clean and modern. Washing up area......Read more.

We were passing through the area and came across this wonderful campsite. Really beautiful little site with private bays for campers available. Toilets and showers clean and modern. Washing up area is more than adequate with plenty of room and hot water. Little shop is nicely stocked. Staff were lovely and even helped us out with a bit of engine oil for the van! Although we came to this campsite by chance I would definately be back!...Read less.

"Perfect getaway"

Miss M Seymour - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

26/09/2017

We only live in Newquay but staying at ruthern valley made us feel like we were a million miles away, great value for money (especially in comparison to other campsites) perfect well equipt mega pod......Read more.

We only live in Newquay but staying at ruthern valley made us feel like we were a million miles away, great value for money (especially in comparison to other campsites) perfect well equipt mega pod with gorgeous quiet surroundings, we loved staying and are planning our next trip to stay again within the next few months! Thank you :)...Read less.

"Lovely stay at a quiet and clean site"

Miss T Riggall - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

22/09/2017

We had a peaceful stay here which was why we booked a quiet site.

The wigwam we stayed in was clean and comfortable.

The facilities were fine and what we needed.

it was good value for money and the......Read more.

We had a peaceful stay here which was why we booked a quiet site.

The wigwam we stayed in was clean and comfortable.

The facilities were fine and what we needed.

it was good value for money and the staff were helpful.

Would recommend to others....Read less.

"Glamping (pod)"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2017

21/09/2017

Very nice and quit place to stay. Good and clean facilities and everything very nicely set up. Great for nature!

"A perfect place to stay to relax and chill out"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

20/09/2017

It is a lovely site. So peaceful, well kept and a great place to recharge!

"Log cabin"

Mr M Lawrance - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

16/09/2017

The cabin was adequate but a little 'tired' The mattresses were the most uncomfortable I've slept on in all my years of travelling.

"Great location for a weekend away!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

16/09/2017

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay at Ruthern Valley campsite in the mega pod. There was everything that we needed for a few days holiday. We were greeted by the friendly staff at reception......Read more.

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay at Ruthern Valley campsite in the mega pod. There was everything that we needed for a few days holiday. We were greeted by the friendly staff at reception and had an information booklet at the pod which included all the information needed about the site and local area which was very helpful, although may need to be updated as one of the walks took us in the wrong direction! The pod was very clean, could not find any faults with cleanliness. However the showers could have possibly been cleaner as there was some mud and leaves inside the cubicle and cobwebs, although it is an outside shower so was to be expected. The local fish and chip shop was lovely although would have liked to be closer to more beaches and local attractions as we had to drive about 30 minutes to most attractions. The campsite is surrounded by many narrow uneven roads on the way in which may limit accessibility. A lovely 3 night stay and would recommend to anyone!...Read less.

"Escape to the country"

K Hopes - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

16/09/2017

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2017., curtesy of a glamping voucher given to us as a present. We had about 20 sites to choose from around the country and chose this one as we love Cornwall and......Read more.

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2017., curtesy of a glamping voucher given to us as a present. We had about 20 sites to choose from around the country and chose this one as we love Cornwall and Bodmin is fairly central. Had a warm welcome and directions to our glamping wigwam. There are 4 wigwams and several other types of accomodation, lodges, pods and a main field for camping.

The wigwam was cosy...weather sunshine and showers but the wigwam was well insulated. There is a heater which we put on for an hour and then did not need to use again. Microwave, kettle and fridge were useful luxuries. Toilet and shower facilities were close by and plentiful. There are also washing machines (we didn't need to use these) Mattresses were comfortable and we slept well. Bench table outside front door for alfresco eating but again we didn't use these. Site was lovely, in woodland with a small shop which sold the basics. We ate out in Roche, the Victoria Inn, about 12 mins drive, which we would recommend. The location of Ruthern valley is good for both the North (30 min drive to Newquay) and South (40 min drive to St Austell) Cornwall. I would recommend this site if you want to get away from it all and go back to nature but still have good links to places of interest....Read less.

"Excellent secluded location"

Mr A Bedford - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

14/09/2017

A nice quiet tranquil site. we stayed in our caravan, and found it very handy for cycling on the camel trail to Padstow. The lanes on the approach were a ittle narrow for the caravan, but not too......Read more.

A nice quiet tranquil site. we stayed in our caravan, and found it very handy for cycling on the camel trail to Padstow. The lanes on the approach were a ittle narrow for the caravan, but not too bad.

One piece of advice - if there is a choice of pitches, go for the middle of the field - the squirrels knocked acorns from the top of the tree onto our roof and we jumped every time at the noise!...Read less.

"Mega pod"

Miss T Murkin - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

12/09/2017

Mega pods are spacious clean and very well kept ! Had everything you need for a cozy break away, Would stay in them again. On site showers could do with some maintenance very dated and water was......Read more.

Mega pods are spacious clean and very well kept ! Had everything you need for a cozy break away, Would stay in them again. On site showers could do with some maintenance very dated and water was running cold. Other than that had a lovely stay.Thankyou....Read less.

"Great Skys"

K Stamp - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

08/09/2017

The campsite is not crowded, quite after 9 when the kids all go to sleep. Great star watching. The owners were really helpful. The shop is good apart from it could do with a bit of veg and fruit.......Read more.

The campsite is not crowded, quite after 9 when the kids all go to sleep. Great star watching. The owners were really helpful. The shop is good apart from it could do with a bit of veg and fruit. There does need to be another wash room that has a sink in and chairs In the shower rooms.

There is no mobile reception so not so good for teenagers but they coped! ...

Close to both coasts, Heligan, Eden and Lanhydrock.

Lovely friendly site....Read less.

"Fab week"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

08/09/2017

Great quiet campsite, with space for the kids to roam free safely. Lovely staff and good location for access to north and south coast's. The boys cycling down for warm bread/ croissants in the morning

"Small and friendly"

Mr T Sanderson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

06/09/2017

Ruthern Valley

"Super family campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

06/09/2017

A lovely safe site and at the same time great for the children to go off and explore. The right balance of facilities (a shop, washing machines, tumble dryers) but not taking away the camping /......Read more.

A lovely safe site and at the same time great for the children to go off and explore. The right balance of facilities (a shop, washing machines, tumble dryers) but not taking away the camping / outside experience. We have visited many times and there are many more visits to come....Read less.

"Ruthern Valley Wigwam"

Mrs G Lawson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

05/09/2017

We had a lovely stay in one of your wigwam. Very spacious and comfortable inside. Quiet campsite. Would definitely recommend.

"Close to Camel Trail"

Miss Y Fox - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

04/09/2017

Very convenient for the Camel Trail. I stayed in a wooden lodge with my 3 children. The lodge was ok, could do with a revamp, damp, a bedroom door hanging off and a bedside light and outside light......Read more.

Very convenient for the Camel Trail. I stayed in a wooden lodge with my 3 children. The lodge was ok, could do with a revamp, damp, a bedroom door hanging off and a bedside light and outside light not working.

The kids had a great time every evening making friends, playing in the park and seeing the animals.

Not sure if I'd go back until updated more....Read less.

"Quiet, beautiful campsite very well taken care of!"

B Clarkson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

04/09/2017

This has been our favourite campsite this year, we will be back. Piches were flat, it was a quiet site despite lots of families. We had a restless nights sleep but from what we assume was a hen group......Read more.

This has been our favourite campsite this year, we will be back. Piches were flat, it was a quiet site despite lots of families. We had a restless nights sleep but from what we assume was a hen group though coming home at 1am drunk, but thats not your fault. The pitches were great and flat, I thought the wash facilities were a real draw and the toilets maybe didnt live up to the shower/kitchen facilities but that is really nit picking. We also loved the chalkboard with information. Great central location for exploring Padstow, Fowey, Newquay and Eden so was exactly what we wanted as a couple....Read less.

"Glamping in Cornwall"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

03/09/2017

We were delighted with the experience we had for four nights - too brief to do justice to all that was on offer. The information in our accommodation was brilliant and signposted several really......Read more.

We were delighted with the experience we had for four nights - too brief to do justice to all that was on offer. The information in our accommodation was brilliant and signposted several really useful tips including a fabulous family beach. Thank you very much for such hospitality and helpfulness, we definitely intend to be back!...Read less.

"Short stay wished it could have been longer!"

P Walden - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

02/09/2017

As soon as we arrived at the park we knew we had made the right choice, safe, clean and family friendly all wrapped up in the most beautiful setting

The Walden's

"Great Getaway"

A Tomuli - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

01/09/2017

Last minute trip to get away from the grind. Found this via Air BnB. Comfortable, clean and cosy.

"Summer 2017"

D Field - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

31/08/2017

Spent a week in August, expecting a busy week, although the site was busy we had a relaxing week. Kids loved the park and trail through the woods. Location is great for exploring both coast lines and......Read more.

Spent a week in August, expecting a busy week, although the site was busy we had a relaxing week. Kids loved the park and trail through the woods. Location is great for exploring both coast lines and the camel trail. Site facilities are well placed to get away from the rat race, they are not luxury but theye are fit for purpose and functional. Great site to visit Cornwall with the kids....Read less.

"Awesome place!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

30/08/2017

Best campsite we've ever been to! Enough said.

"Our stay at Ruthern Valley"

R Wieringa - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

29/08/2017

We had a very pleasant stay at R V. It was easy to find and the campsite is very green and friendly. We hired a log cabin. We had a problem with one of the matrasses, the staff helped us very quickly......Read more.

We had a very pleasant stay at R V. It was easy to find and the campsite is very green and friendly. We hired a log cabin. We had a problem with one of the matrasses, the staff helped us very quickly and friendly. The environment is beautiful and it's easy to go to the sea....Read less.

"Idyllic place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

29/08/2017

I used to visit Ruthern Valley every year as a child and have just started visiting again as an adult. It is an idyllic, beautiful place to stay – it feels like a hidden secret, away from the hustle......Read more.

I used to visit Ruthern Valley every year as a child and have just started visiting again as an adult. It is an idyllic, beautiful place to stay – it feels like a hidden secret, away from the hustle and bustle of Cornwall's tourist hotspots. The owners have done a great job maintaining and improving the site, with new facilities like bike hire, fresh bread and pastries and a campfire area. The only improvement I would suggest is having more toilets and showers for campers. Would highly recommend!...Read less.

"Sustainable camping site, peaceful yet friendly"

A Holmes - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

28/08/2017

Smaller than expected but not disappointing, beautifully set deep in a Cornish valley. Our tent pitch (without electrics) was ample for our needs and hard-standing parking was next to or nearby for......Read more.

Smaller than expected but not disappointing, beautifully set deep in a Cornish valley. Our tent pitch (without electrics) was ample for our needs and hard-standing parking was next to or nearby for all pitches. Our young children could play happily with others in the woods and the play area without us worrying about safety. Other campers were equally friendly and considerate. The showers were a decent heat and enough of them for everyone to use without huge queues. Also available were washing up sinks, disposal points, recycling bins, compost bin and drinking water tap. The washing machines and tumble drier were available for a very reasonable cost. All were in a one block for use by both campers an those using wigwams but facilities weren't busy even in mid august. The campsite shop is well stocked and good value for money. We particularly enjoyed warm bread and croissants from there most mornings! Some of the lanes in the area are very narrow so not surprisingly there were few caravans and only two hard-standing for campervans. The site is remote but we visited the most popular areas easily by car: Padstow (Park and Ride), Eden Project, Lanhydrock House (Parkrun on Saturdays), Bodmin. All great places but best of all was a day out to Lappa Valley. Steam and diesel train rides, boating, crazy golf, a peddle car track for toddlers, brilliant adventure playground, paved maze, two refreshment buildings and picnic tables: everything to suit all family members set around interesting historical tower of a disused mine. We cannot fault our holiday to Ruthern Valley and would love to visit again....Read less.

"Lovely stay"

Mrs K Dennison - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

26/08/2017

It's in a beautiful rural setting,quite central for using as a base to explore Cornwall. We stayed in a lodge, it's basic but comfortable with everything you need. The bird feeder on the patio on......Read more.

It's in a beautiful rural setting,quite central for using as a base to explore Cornwall. We stayed in a lodge, it's basic but comfortable with everything you need. The bird feeder on the patio on arrival was a nice touch we watched all sorts of birds feeding. Robins tits and nuthatches. Would definitely stay there again....Read less.

"Staying in a pod."

Mrs A Sibley - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

We picked Rutgers Valley because of its closeness to the Camel Trail and thought we would give a pod ago as during August it was just under £50.00 a night compared to a popular inn coming in at......Read more.

We picked Rutgers Valley because of its closeness to the Camel Trail and thought we would give a pod ago as during August it was just under £50.00 a night compared to a popular inn coming in at £125.00 a night.

On arrival early evening,they opened the shop up for us , so that we could buy essentials. Very kind. The shop was extremely basic but we had food. If we weren't so fussy about what we ate, there wouldn't have been a problem.

Our pod was clean enough but on closer inspection there was quite a lot of dirt around the edges, which shouldn't really of been there. Oh well we were camping.

We had a large and secluded plot to ourselves, under a thick canopy of trees. The down side of this was that it was rather dark and cool and we were jealous of the tourers sitting in the sunny field.

The toilet and washing facilities were clean and in good working order and we were fortunate enough to be quite close. However in our opinion two male and two female toilet plus one unisex and four showers is not enough for the occupants of the site. We exprianced queues for the showers.

Staying in a pod was fun but more cramped than a decent sized tent, would have been better if the door was bigger, you had to step over a high threshold and duck your head. We stayed 5 nights, that was enough....Read less.

"Hazel Elks"

Mrs H Elks - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

Spent a great week here on a family holiday. Between us all we had 2 bungalows, 3 lodges and the caravan. The owners of the site from booking until we left were very helpful and friendly. We......Read more.

Spent a great week here on a family holiday. Between us all we had 2 bungalows, 3 lodges and the caravan. The owners of the site from booking until we left were very helpful and friendly. We arrived early and were allowed access to our bungalow, which was very clean. Would defiantly recommend this site and will hopefully return....Read less.

"A great place for a large extended family to meet up and spend time together"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

We booked a week at Ruthern and packed a lot into it. Great location in Cornwall, a lovely site with lots of outdoor activity opportunities for older teenagers as well as young primary age children......Read more.

We booked a week at Ruthern and packed a lot into it. Great location in Cornwall, a lovely site with lots of outdoor activity opportunities for older teenagers as well as young primary age children in our group. Lovely owners, always helpful and friendly, quick to respond to any questions. We particularly liked the mature trees, bird feeders and open feel to the site - it's the opposite to the "pack 'em in and make lots of money" places that we always avoid....Read less.

"A lovely campsite in a great area"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

A great campsite with lots of local attractions and places to go. We stayed in a pod, which was warm, dry, clean and perfect for a camping getaway. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and......Read more.

A great campsite with lots of local attractions and places to go. We stayed in a pod, which was warm, dry, clean and perfect for a camping getaway. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and are a great source of knowledge of the local area....Read less.

"best campsite we've ever stayed on"

Mrs A Murphy - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

absolutely loved it

"Very good"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

22/08/2017

A lovely quiet site which is great for families.

My only quibble is the shower rooms, they all need to have a seat/stool, a shelf and hooks.

"Fabulous!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

20/08/2017

This is the second time I have stayed here, the first having been a few years ago and it just keeps getting better. We stayed in the megapod, just brilliant. Highly recommended for those who want a......Read more.

This is the second time I have stayed here, the first having been a few years ago and it just keeps getting better. We stayed in the megapod, just brilliant. Highly recommended for those who want a glamping holiday in tranquil surroundings....Read less.

"Heidi"

Mrs H Winser - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

19/08/2017

Very nice location and beautiful setting.

"Cheap relaxing campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

19/08/2017

Lovely relaxing campsite , full of tress and simple but clean showers and washing facilities . The owners Father greeted us and was charming and informative . We picked this place due to ease of......Read more.

Lovely relaxing campsite , full of tress and simple but clean showers and washing facilities . The owners Father greeted us and was charming and informative . We picked this place due to ease of getting to Newquay , Padstow and wadebridge .

We had a lovely email three days before hand explaining how to get to them which was fantastic cause the Sat nav got us lost !

The site is kept clean and tidy and any problem is sorted quickly .

We didn't have children with us but the children that was on site all seemed happy .

Loads of wildlife about to see , a robin befriended us which was so lovely .

Will very much be returning...Read less.

"Excellent family campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

17/08/2017

We booked a 3 night stay in the campsite and took our 2 children and all had a fantastic time. The campsite is lovely and peaceful. The children loved the woodland area, park and animals.

"No problems"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

17/08/2017

Well organised and looked after campsite, would recommend staying here if you are visiting the area

"Stay in August"

E Germano - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

17/08/2017

Good location and friendly staff, dissatisfied with toilet/shower facilities

Not cheap

"ease of access"

Ms S Bodger - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

16/08/2017

we did find it very difficult to find but this was due to lack of signposting on local roads rather than any fault of the site itself

"Very pleasant stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

16/08/2017

Nice facilities, could use more shower facilities

"In de natuur lekker camperen"

S Veltman - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

16/08/2017

Het is een simpele maar schone nette camping. Het veld is omringt met bomen je wordt gewekt door een haan en je hoord de schapen in de weilanden er achter. Heerlijk geen auto geluiden. Camping zelf......Read more.

Het is een simpele maar schone nette camping. Het veld is omringt met bomen je wordt gewekt door een haan en je hoord de schapen in de weilanden er achter. Heerlijk geen auto geluiden. Camping zelf simpel maar erg schoon. De douches zijn aangebouwd aan een ouder toilet huis met daarbij een nieuw toilet het is allemaal netjes alleen als je uit de douche komt sta je onder een golf platendakje droog buiten. Niks mis mee maar het is geen modern toilet en douche huis maar wel schoon en netjes. Verder zijn de eigenaren Andrew en Nicole zeer behulpzaam en reageren direct als er iets niet in orde is. Al met al een prima camping om een fijne vakantie te houden....Read less.

"2 night stay"

Jenkins - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

15/08/2017

Good site very friendly well stocked shop and lots of information on what to do and where to visit. Handy for the camel trail would highly recommend

"Always a great holiday"

Mrs L Lahive - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

15/08/2017

We are a family of four who have rented a bungalow in ruthern valley a few years in a row, we love the campsite

, the kids can run around the woods and farm area by them selves and the owners are......Read more.

We are a family of four who have rented a bungalow in ruthern valley a few years in a row, we love the campsite

, the kids can run around the woods and farm area by them selves and the owners are always very helpful and friendly, also the site has a small shop that sales local produce with sausage that taste amazing. While we are there we always cycle the camel trail , visit the beaches west of Padstow and body board, crab fish in loo and visit local attractions, there is always something to do....Read less.

"Overnight stay in Pod"

Mrs C Whatson - Stayed with friends, Aug 2017

15/08/2017

My friend and I stayed in one of the pods for one night as we were walking the Saints Way and it was the nearest accommodation we could get. Whilst it was a good mile and a quarter's detour to the......Read more.

My friend and I stayed in one of the pods for one night as we were walking the Saints Way and it was the nearest accommodation we could get. Whilst it was a good mile and a quarter's detour to the campsite, when we arrived we received a very friendly welcome from the owner who was most helpful. The pod was just as it looked online, however one side of our pod was damp and my belongings were not dry in the morning. Otherwise the campsite was well kept and the shower and toilet facilities were clean. Would definitely recommend this site to other campers....Read less.

"Fabulous campsite"

J Etele - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

13/08/2017

We booked this campsite very last minute and we were so pleased we managed to get a site. The owner managed to squeeze us in for another night too. It is a lovely site with good facilities. The......Read more.

We booked this campsite very last minute and we were so pleased we managed to get a site. The owner managed to squeeze us in for another night too. It is a lovely site with good facilities. The Camel Trail is only a mile away from the site and we got to cycle to Padstow and Bodmin. We will definitely be back....Read less.

"Excellent holiday"

K Leck - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

12/08/2017

Had a great stay. Great location. Great lodges and very friendly helpful staff. Thanks for a great stay.

"Stayed for a weekend in the pods"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

11/08/2017

Well located, clean campsite

"Peace and quiet!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

11/08/2017

We only stayed for two nights but really loved the setting, woodland walks,peace and quiet, just what we were looking for! The owners were really friendly and we would most definitely return there.......Read more.

We only stayed for two nights but really loved the setting, woodland walks,peace and quiet, just what we were looking for! The owners were really friendly and we would most definitely return there. It's a nice mix of chalets bungalows, camping( which we did) and some intriguing "pods"!!...Read less.

"facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

09/08/2017

One of the showers does not have a light in it.at night time can be very dark and dangerous

"nature and comfort"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

07/08/2017

We loved staying in the bungalow - we were only there for two nights but it was brilliant. Within ten minutes of arriving Andrew came to welcome us and make sure we knew where everything was. The......Read more.

We loved staying in the bungalow - we were only there for two nights but it was brilliant. Within ten minutes of arriving Andrew came to welcome us and make sure we knew where everything was. The bungalow was definitely a home away from home, and we had everything we could have wanted. Oven, hob, fridge, toaster, microwave... in case you are there longer than we were would bring a laptop and hdmi or DVD player for in the evenings. We played boggle so we were fine :)

Would say to keep the heater on low through the night or bring a little extra bedding, and the mattress was a little uncomfortable but we are campers so we wernt too fussed.

It is a very picturesque and beautiful location with lots of trees and walks nearby. We also went to Eden Project, newquay beach and cairne caverns while we were there and highly recommend.

Thanks for such a great stay!!...Read less.

"Family friendly"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

3rd year staying at Ruthern Valley certainly won't be the last. Excellent value for money, perfect location for both coasts. Andrew and Nicola always very welcoming and happy to help you get the most......Read more.

3rd year staying at Ruthern Valley certainly won't be the last. Excellent value for money, perfect location for both coasts. Andrew and Nicola always very welcoming and happy to help you get the most out of your holiday with advice on good spots to visit. Perfect family holiday!...Read less.

"."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

.

"Altogether a very pleasant experience"

Mr I Murtagh - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

03/08/2017

Very clean, well run site with friendly staff and good facilities. Beautiful surroundings and abundant wildlife. A really relaxing experience all round. We would definitely stay again, and will book......Read more.

Very clean, well run site with friendly staff and good facilities. Beautiful surroundings and abundant wildlife. A really relaxing experience all round. We would definitely stay again, and will book another stay shortly. Site shop stocked with lots of local fresh produce was very convenient, keenly priced (and tasty too)

See you soon, Iain & Michael...Read less.

"Excellent last min booking"

Natas N Leoni - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

Really last minute summer booking. Very friendly campsite - both staff and other campers.

Having stayed in this kind of accommodation before I felt it was maybe a little higher priced than others......Read more.

Really last minute summer booking. Very friendly campsite - both staff and other campers.

Having stayed in this kind of accommodation before I felt it was maybe a little higher priced than others with less facilities (a mattress or sleeping matt). We were told to bring our own but the price should reflect this.

Very peaceful though and great that you can park outside the huts :)

Will be back, maybe booking the upgraded huts....Read less.

"On the Camel trail"

Mr D Watton - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

This is a great eco-friendly option if you want to camp in attractive woodland surroundings near the Camel trail. We hired bikes for the day from reception and were on the lovely trail to Padstow......Read more.

This is a great eco-friendly option if you want to camp in attractive woodland surroundings near the Camel trail. We hired bikes for the day from reception and were on the lovely trail to Padstow within minutes.

Ruthern Valley is very well laid out & maintained and nature is all around - I particularly enjoyed watching the bats skimming through the trees at dusk. The mini football field, playground and nature trail is a great place for kids to play independently while parents put their feet up with a nice beer or glass of wine at the end of the day.

Highly recommended!...Read less.

"fantastic place to stay"

Mr M Halden - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the glamping pod we stayed in. Very clean with all basic kitchen items that you need. Shower blocks are very clean and nice to use. The site is perfect and very quiet with a fab......Read more.

We thoroughly enjoyed the glamping pod we stayed in. Very clean with all basic kitchen items that you need. Shower blocks are very clean and nice to use. The site is perfect and very quiet with a fab family friendly feel. Kids already want to go back and it was a shame we had to leave to come home!...Read less.

"Good"

Mr J May - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

Good

"Perfect site with something for every traveller"

Miss S Barnard - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

01/08/2017

It's great location to access rest of Cornwall. We've camped there in a tent in there pods and in the Mega pods. Quiet and friendly and really helpful staff. Showers are hot and powerful - just what......Read more.

It's great location to access rest of Cornwall. We've camped there in a tent in there pods and in the Mega pods. Quiet and friendly and really helpful staff. Showers are hot and powerful - just what you need after a day surfing. Shop is well stocked with all you might need and really cheap too. Great that you can hire bikes and wetsuits with them also....Read less.

"Lovely base"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

01/08/2017

We have stayed here twice now and use it as a base. Lovely family run site. Quite and tranquil atmosphere. Children love the small park and animals. Stayed in the same bungalow both times perfect for......Read more.

We have stayed here twice now and use it as a base. Lovely family run site. Quite and tranquil atmosphere. Children love the small park and animals. Stayed in the same bungalow both times perfect for our needs....Read less.

"A very quiet and natural place"

H Timmerman - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

25/07/2017

When we arrived at the place, there was an older men, who seemed to be the father of the owner. He was very kind and helpful and it gave us directly the feeling that we were very welcome. The place......Read more.

When we arrived at the place, there was an older men, who seemed to be the father of the owner. He was very kind and helpful and it gave us directly the feeling that we were very welcome. The place is quiet and natural and the owner and his wife are very kind and helpful. The sanitary blocks are old but they are very well cleaned up, so we were very satisfied about this place....Read less.

"A relaxing stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

24/07/2017

A lovely quiet site, a bit difficult to find even after a few nights there. Nothing much locally but doesn't take too long to get to Wadebridge, Bodmin and Padstow. Facilities were clean, not sure......Read more.

A lovely quiet site, a bit difficult to find even after a few nights there. Nothing much locally but doesn't take too long to get to Wadebridge, Bodmin and Padstow. Facilities were clean, not sure what the availability of showers would be like in peak season as there didn't seem enough to go around but didn't effect our stay. We stayed in a wigwam which was clean and spacious and it was nice to have a kettle, microwave and mattresses to sleep on.

A good location for travelling about and seeing Cornwall but not much nearby. A nice country pub/tearoom within walking distance would have been good!...Read less.

"cleaning"

Mr R Rickard - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

22/07/2017

It was a good place to stay for us it was off the beaten track so very handy and I had originly came from bodwen which is not too far from Lanivet. I only wish you had left some cleaning gear in the......Read more.

It was a good place to stay for us it was off the beaten track so very handy and I had originly came from bodwen which is not too far from Lanivet. I only wish you had left some cleaning gear in the cabin and only one toilet roll. Thanks hope to see you again in the future....Read less.

"Exactly what we wanted"

Mr J Hill - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

20/07/2017

We were looking for a site that would enable us to park the car, set up the tent and then not need to drive at all for a few days, using just bicycles and the Camel Trail to visit Padstow, Wadebridge......Read more.

We were looking for a site that would enable us to park the car, set up the tent and then not need to drive at all for a few days, using just bicycles and the Camel Trail to visit Padstow, Wadebridge and Bodmin. Spot on.

We didn't want / need kids clubs, shows, amusement halls etc. There's a time and place for that, and this trip it was just me and my wife and we just wanted a peaceful base, away from the crowds, and (as it happens) good value.

We found the staff (may have been the owner!?) very friendly and relaxed. I liked that vehicles weren't allowed on the grass, kept everything looking lovely, and it wasn't a problem - it's only a small site. Lovely woodland, pretty woodland walk and a small, surprise un-signposted area with chickens & pigs.

Basic shower and loos setup, but clean. Washing machines and spin dryers came in useful. Basic shop stocked all you'd need in an emergency, no problem.

10 mile cycle to Padstow - first 1.5 miles on country roads and then the lovely Camel Trail. Bodmin maybe just 5 miles the opposite way, past the looming, imperious Bodmin Jail, which simply has to be visited. Very atmospheric.

Great places to eat / drink all along the Camel Trail - the vineyard, the Camel Trail Tea Garden near Nunstallon and a great carvery at the Borough Arms on the edge of Bodmin.

As it happens, we did use the car for a couple of evenings to eat out in Wadebridge - there are no pubs within walking distance of the site. The Raj in Wadebridge was rammed, but they squeezed us in one night and it was fantastic. We even spent a damp night at the cinema there which was good fun.

We'd certainly go back to Ruthern Valley. It's a perfect base for a quiet break and has a slightly 'undiscovered' feel about it. In a world of overcrowded big chain sites, I really hope that it stays this way.

...Read less.

"Ruthern valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

19/07/2017

very good stay Sign posting could be in proved in the area

"Country retreat"

Mrs J Robertson - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

14/07/2017

We booked a 4 night break to visit friends in Bodmin. No expectations, just convenient.

However amazed to find a tranquil, scenic spotless site. First break in years earplugs not required. Staff......Read more.

We booked a 4 night break to visit friends in Bodmin. No expectations, just convenient.

However amazed to find a tranquil, scenic spotless site. First break in years earplugs not required. Staff as laid back/chilled as the countryside....Read less.

"Ruthin valley"

Mrs C Carey - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

14/07/2017

We stayed in lodge one. The accommodation was spotless and had everything you needed for self catering.

My mattress was uncomfortable but after looking at reviews this could have been changed.

The......Read more.

We stayed in lodge one. The accommodation was spotless and had everything you needed for self catering.

My mattress was uncomfortable but after looking at reviews this could have been changed.

The only downside is, when sat outside, there isa smell of sewerage.

I will definitely return in the future and highly recommend....Read less.

"Excellent"

Willetts - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

13/07/2017

Booked one night but enjoyed our wigwam so stayed an extra night. We will definitely return.

"An oasis of peace and calm with lots to do!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

12/07/2017

The site is spacious, beautifully spread out and yet relatively small. The chalets are well equipped and very comfortable. The lanes leading to the site are quite narrow in places but no more so than......Read more.

The site is spacious, beautifully spread out and yet relatively small. The chalets are well equipped and very comfortable. The lanes leading to the site are quite narrow in places but no more so than many other sites in Cornwall. The Camel Trail is about a 15 minute stroll away and is a safe trail and for walking & cycling away from the roads. Tintagel, Padstow and Newquay are all within easy reach with glorious walks along the Coastal path and fabulous beaches....Read less.

"Lovely, relaxing place to get away from everything"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

12/07/2017

Our visit was great and we felt really relaxed when we left. The park is really well maintained. And i would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to escape the pressures of life. The only......Read more.

Our visit was great and we felt really relaxed when we left. The park is really well maintained. And i would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to escape the pressures of life. The only recommendations i can make is that they put the area of the communal fire pit on the site map, that they give out with pod and lodge bookings....Read less.

"First stay in Cornwall"

Mrs E Woodworth - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

10/07/2017

We were impressed even before we arrived with an email giving us clear and concise directions to Ruthvern Holiday Park. On our arrival we were made welcome by Andrew, who was both friendly and......Read more.

We were impressed even before we arrived with an email giving us clear and concise directions to Ruthvern Holiday Park. On our arrival we were made welcome by Andrew, who was both friendly and knowledgeable, giving advice on how to reach the Camel Trail. The campsite shop was well stocked and not over priced. All in all a good experience....Read less.

"Value"

Mr. D Metcalfe - Stayed Jul 2017

09/07/2017

I walked the St's Way and stayed at 4 different campgrounds along the way. I have to say that Ruthern Valley was by far the best in terms of Value for money. But also for good clean washrooms. And it......Read more.

I walked the St's Way and stayed at 4 different campgrounds along the way. I have to say that Ruthern Valley was by far the best in terms of Value for money. But also for good clean washrooms. And it also had a well stocked shop. The owners of the site were also very friendly and helpful.

I have camped in many different places all over Europe and beyond. This is one of the best....Read less.

"Wigwam Long Weekend"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

07/07/2017

We had a very warm welcome and the wigwam was cosy, clean and in a lovely woodland area. The onsite pigs were also very cute!

"Peace and Quiet"

Mrs P Morton - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

07/07/2017

Beautiful site.Very peaceful. Natural habitat for birds etc. Surrounded by trees so air vwery fresh. A little oasis of calm.

"Mini break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

03/07/2017

Have been here on several occasions. Never fails to please. Andrew and Nicky friendly and helpful. Accommodation spotless and in tip-top condition. Peaceful, quiet and in an attractive setting,......Read more.

Have been here on several occasions. Never fails to please. Andrew and Nicky friendly and helpful. Accommodation spotless and in tip-top condition. Peaceful, quiet and in an attractive setting, central to most tourist attractions...Read less.

"June camping stay"

Ms S Lock - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

02/07/2017

We found this campsite on a south west camping trip in June. Didn't have much of a set plan but were lucky enough to find this campsite when looking for somewhere to stay near the coast and Bodmin.......Read more.

We found this campsite on a south west camping trip in June. Didn't have much of a set plan but were lucky enough to find this campsite when looking for somewhere to stay near the coast and Bodmin. Both are only approx 20-30 min drive away. The campsite is very neat, tidy, welcoming and clean. It was really quiet and we were able to have the back part of the campsite to ourselves which was lovely. There isn't loads of pitches so I don't think it would feel too busy even if full as the pitches are well organised and have their own little clearings. The showers and toilets facilities were excellent, hot and powerful showers and so clean. The owner greeted us and was lovely. They even have a book swap and a shop on site with basics and beer! We had a sneaky play on the playground which I would recommend. Loved the quiet after 9pm rule We also met the pigs who we adored!!!! It rained a lot while we were there for 2 days and I could see no trouble with flooded pitches. They also have lovely cabins, wooden tipis and wooden camping pods dotted about. We would definitely come back....Read less.

"Wonderful place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

29/06/2017

Love this campsite! Pretty, peaceful, right next to the Camel Trail, staff really helpful. Thank you!

"Another nice stay at Ruthern Valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

27/06/2017

This is the forth time that we have stayed at Ruthern Valley and the second time in their lodge/bungalow accommodation, the first two times we camped and would recommend that was well. As previous......Read more.

This is the forth time that we have stayed at Ruthern Valley and the second time in their lodge/bungalow accommodation, the first two times we camped and would recommend that was well. As previous experience here, the site is nice and well maintained and the owners very friendly and helpful. We would have no doubt recommending or using this site again, infact we have booked to go back later this year.

Very handy for the excellent Camel Trail which is about one mile down a quiet road, they even hire bikes.

Loads to see and do in the area and Cornwall is such a nice county....Read less.

"Peace and Quiet in a Cornish Woodland"

Mr. P Madley - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

26/06/2017

We wanted a quiet week in Cornwall somewhere near to the Camel Trail and we could not have chosen better. We normally camp under canvas (and if we had then Ruthern Valley would have been one of the......Read more.

We wanted a quiet week in Cornwall somewhere near to the Camel Trail and we could not have chosen better. We normally camp under canvas (and if we had then Ruthern Valley would have been one of the nicest sites where we've ever camped) but this year for medical reasons we needed something more substantial over our heads and the 'Mega Pod" we rented was absolutely ideal.

We hired bikes from the site which were of good quality and cheaper than the rates in the local towns. The cycle route to Wadebrige is so much more convenient than the route you have to drive.

We would highly recommend this site....Read less.

"Our weekend holiday"

Mrs J Headings - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

24/06/2017

On arrival the site was very clean and the cabin had everything we needed .The beds were made up already so all we had to do was put the kettle on! The children loved the play area and found the pigs......Read more.

On arrival the site was very clean and the cabin had everything we needed .The beds were made up already so all we had to do was put the kettle on! The children loved the play area and found the pigs and chickens fascinating to watch .The owner of the site managed to impress the children with the size of the eggs that the cockerel had laid which made us laugh.

Thanks for a great weekend and we hope to return later in the summer...Read less.

"A quiet secluded site in a lovely wooded setting"

B Raven - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

23/06/2017

The site was great for 3 night stay whilst we walked parts of The Saints Way. Very friendly owners running a well kept site. We had a very comfortable lodge. Access roads quite narrow but site......Read more.

The site was great for 3 night stay whilst we walked parts of The Saints Way. Very friendly owners running a well kept site. We had a very comfortable lodge. Access roads quite narrow but site details give details of best ways to site. Living in Cornwall we are used to narrow lanes!...Read less.

"Tranquility"

Mrs S Henry - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

22/06/2017

We stayed in one of the lodges in June. The setting is stunning. Very peaceful and quiet. Great base for days out all around Cornwall. You do need a car as It's in the middle of no where, which is......Read more.

We stayed in one of the lodges in June. The setting is stunning. Very peaceful and quiet. Great base for days out all around Cornwall. You do need a car as It's in the middle of no where, which is why we chose to stay there. The lodge was immaculate. There is an small shop on site which sells bread milk etc and local produce such as bacon, sausages and eggs. Would definitely recommend Ruthern Valley. It's just beautiful!...Read less.

"Short break in log cabin"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

21/06/2017

Lovely place for a short break. Log cabin set up perfect for family with young kids. On site shop a real bonus and well stocked. Playground, animals and woodland walks a hit with the kids! Beautiful......Read more.

Lovely place for a short break. Log cabin set up perfect for family with young kids. On site shop a real bonus and well stocked. Playground, animals and woodland walks a hit with the kids! Beautiful setting....Read less.

"peaceful and relaxing"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

21/06/2017

Total peace and quiet in wonderful setting. Very friendly staff. Great location for North and South Cornwall with great access to Camel trail.

"Ruthern Valley"

Mrs J Webb - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

19/06/2017

The site is easily accessible. Good clear instructions of how to get to the site. Warning !! do not go via Bodmin moor because of the roadworks! It added on an extra half an hour to our......Read more.

The site is easily accessible. Good clear instructions of how to get to the site. Warning !! do not go via Bodmin moor because of the roadworks! It added on an extra half an hour to our journey....off peak period as well!

The 2 bed log cabin was comfortable and met our requirements. It was lovely just to watch the wildlife from the sofa. The birds appreciated the crumbs we put out on the decking.

Perfect location for Eden Project and Lanhyrock.

Would defiantly return soon....Read less.

© 2006 - 2018 CampStead