Ruthern Valley Holidays

119 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 119 reviews in the last 12 months

99% would recommend this site

97% would stay here again

Excellent

78%

Very Good

18%

Average

3%

Poor

1%

Terrible

0%

"Ruthern Valley a peaceful oasis"

Mrs T Puttock - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

17/10/2019

Our second stay at Ruthern Valley, both times we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Comfortable, cosy and clean accommodation in a beautiful rural setting; you feel like you are miles from anything......Read more.

Our second stay at Ruthern Valley, both times we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Comfortable, cosy and clean accommodation in a beautiful rural setting; you feel like you are miles from anything when in truth you can travel to just about anywhere in Cornwall with ease. Highly recommended to many friends already. Thank you for providing such a lovely break....Read less.

"Love this place"

Miss S Reith - Stayed Sep 2019

15/10/2019

This is my fourth time staying at Ruthern Valley. I love it. Andrew and Nicola are so friendly and helpful, any issues are sorted straight away. This time I stayed in the caravan rather than a lodge.......Read more.

This is my fourth time staying at Ruthern Valley. I love it. Andrew and Nicola are so friendly and helpful, any issues are sorted straight away. This time I stayed in the caravan rather than a lodge. It is rather dated but still clean, and perfectly suitable. The fire made it very cosy and the location at the end of the site made it very restful. Superb value for money....Read less.

"Lovely Long Weekend"

Mr C Humphreys - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

11/10/2019

The site was easy to find thanks to the directions provided, we accidentally took the SATNAV route back one day, not to be recommended! Accommodation was neat and clean and had everything we......Read more.

The site was easy to find thanks to the directions provided, we accidentally took the SATNAV route back one day, not to be recommended! Accommodation was neat and clean and had everything we required. The ambience was quiet and green. Great to have reliable free wifi. We were greeted by the owners who were very friendly. Easy access to the Camel trail which we walked part of. Very quick to get to places such as Lanhydrock, Rock (go to The Mariners and the RNLI shop) , Newquay, Falmouth. Other National Trust gardens and houses were well worth visiting, as was the Cornish Aviation Heritage Museum near Newquay....Read less.

"OUR BOLT-HOLE"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

02/10/2019

We have been regular visitors at Ruthern Valley for over 25yrs always (as far as possible) fitting in a week at the beginning and end of the summer. We have known the present owners since they took......Read more.

We have been regular visitors at Ruthern Valley for over 25yrs always (as far as possible) fitting in a week at the beginning and end of the summer. We have known the present owners since they took over and they continue to upgrade the facilities whilst retaining the quiet, rural appeal of the site.

The owners are very friendly and helpful (but not intrusive) and the site is well maintained and pleasant, located not far from the many attractions to be found in Cornwall....Read less.

"Peaceful and beautiful"

J Taylor - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

02/10/2019

Ruthern valley is a beautiful site in a wonderfully peaceful location. We have stayed in both cabins and bungalow, they are equally lovely and comfortable, well equipped and are very clean.

The......Read more.

Ruthern valley is a beautiful site in a wonderfully peaceful location. We have stayed in both cabins and bungalow, they are equally lovely and comfortable, well equipped and are very clean.

The camping field and amenities look fantastic as well, although we haven’t camped here yet. The whole site is very well looked after and has a very nice short woodland walk. It also has a play area for children.

We would thoroughly recommend Ruthern Valley...Read less.

"👍🏻"

M Exon - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

27/09/2019

👍🏻

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come again! Andrew & Nicky

"Lovely Park"

Mrs D Cook - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

25/09/2019

Spent a great week in a lodge at this small, wooded park with varied accommodation. Very quiet as was during term time. Tucked away in a valley and it's central location is good for discovering all......Read more.

Spent a great week in a lodge at this small, wooded park with varied accommodation. Very quiet as was during term time. Tucked away in a valley and it's central location is good for discovering all of Cornwalls many attractions....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

We're glad you took advantage of our site to discover Cornwall and perhaps we'll see you again!......Read more.

We're glad you took advantage of our site to discover Cornwall and perhaps we'll see you again! Best regards, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Peaceful times"

Mr Pike - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

25/09/2019

A wonderful find, and if we wish to visit this part of Cornwall again we would certainly stay at Ruthern Valley. The obvious love of nature, recycling and care for people staying will no doubt ensure......Read more.

A wonderful find, and if we wish to visit this part of Cornwall again we would certainly stay at Ruthern Valley. The obvious love of nature, recycling and care for people staying will no doubt ensure Ruthern Valleys future....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

We're very glad you found us and we look forward to seeing you again! Andrew & Nicky

"Fred and Wilma the big tour"

Mrs L Phillips - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

25/09/2019

Another great stay in your beautiful campsite. Updated shower and toilet facilities were welcome as was the added space and facilities in the wash/laundry area.

The park is one we have enjoyed for 10......Read more.

Another great stay in your beautiful campsite. Updated shower and toilet facilities were welcome as was the added space and facilities in the wash/laundry area.

The park is one we have enjoyed for 10 years. It has been great to see it develop and watch the whole family contribute to its success. Nothing has ever been too much trouble for Andrew and Nick.

A great family oriented campsite which we will continue to return too, as will our son:)...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It means a lot to us to see familiar faces each year and......Read more.

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It means a lot to us to see familiar faces each year and we'll continue updating for you! All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Lovely, quiet rural site"

Mrs M Wiscombe - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

24/09/2019

Very impressed with this small, well kept site. Online booking through the camp website was easy and the site was well described. A very easy cycle to the Camel Trail and onto either Bodmin or......Read more.

Very impressed with this small, well kept site. Online booking through the camp website was easy and the site was well described. A very easy cycle to the Camel Trail and onto either Bodmin or Padstow. The site itself is well laid out and very peaceful, just the sound of birdsong. There is a variety of pitches, most shaded by mature trees. The facilities were immaculately clean and tidy. There is a small shop selling basics at reception....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

Many thanks for your kind review. We hope you'll come again! Andrew & Nicky

"Very Pleasant Stoppover"

J Wood - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

22/09/2019

We only stayed one night in a 'Wigwam' but the experience was very good and although we are not seasoned campers we found the stay very enjoyable and look forward to returning for a longer visit

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

We're glad you enjoyed your glamping experience and hope we'll see you again for a longer stay! All......Read more.

We're glad you enjoyed your glamping experience and hope we'll see you again for a longer stay! All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Quiet peaceful valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

20/09/2019

Peaceful quiet place to stay, convenient for North and South coast being quite central in Cornwall.

We stayed in a lodge which was more than adequate for our needs, clean and comfortable.

Staff......Read more.

Peaceful quiet place to stay, convenient for North and South coast being quite central in Cornwall.

We stayed in a lodge which was more than adequate for our needs, clean and comfortable.

Staff welcoming and helpful although we were out a lot so did not really see them much but reassuring that they were close by if needed....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

We're happy you enjoyed the tranquillity of Ruthern Valley and we hope to see you again! Andrew &......Read more.

We're happy you enjoyed the tranquillity of Ruthern Valley and we hope to see you again! Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Great short break"

R Mulryne - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

19/09/2019

Just what we needed to recharge our batteries over the weekend. Close to the Camel trail, not far from the north coast and the moors, close to clip and climb and only an hour and a half from home so......Read more.

Just what we needed to recharge our batteries over the weekend. Close to the Camel trail, not far from the north coast and the moors, close to clip and climb and only an hour and a half from home so a great location for us. Really chilled campsite, beautiful woodland, lovely staff, more than adequate facilities. Our daughter enjoyed exploring the woods and playing in the park. Perfect for us. 2 adults, 1 child and 1 camper van....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

Many thanks for reviewing us and glad you enjoyed your stay! Best regards, Andrew & Nicky

"megapod"

G Dorling - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

18/09/2019

Fantastic place to stay ! Very clean beautiful surroundings and had everything there we needed !

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

So glad you had a great holiday and thank you for your review. We hope we'll see you again! Andrew......Read more.

So glad you had a great holiday and thank you for your review. We hope we'll see you again! Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"To improve..."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

15/09/2019

By no means a complaint we found the shower to be almost impossible to use as there was no pressure, also found most of the double electrical points only one side could be used the plugs would not......Read more.

By no means a complaint we found the shower to be almost impossible to use as there was no pressure, also found most of the double electrical points only one side could be used the plugs would not fit into other side. All glass front in living room could do with being frosted at the bottom to allow more privacy however none of the aforementioned would stop us staying again....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

Thank you very much for your review and we've taken your suggestions on board. We hope we'll see......Read more.

Thank you very much for your review and we've taken your suggestions on board. We hope we'll see you here again! Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Peaceful site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

12/09/2019

A very peaceful site, beautifully kept, close to the Camel Trail - access to which is a mile along very quiet lanes. Immaculate wash blocks, though as we were in low season there wasn't too much......Read more.

A very peaceful site, beautifully kept, close to the Camel Trail - access to which is a mile along very quiet lanes. Immaculate wash blocks, though as we were in low season there wasn't too much demand on them. There didn't appear to be many toilets and when the tent area is busy we can't imagine there would be enough. Excellent shop, not expensive, had everything you need without having to go to the shops. Friendly and helpful owners. The only reason we wouldn't return is that we found Cornwall too touristy for us , though this site at least is well away from any hotspots....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

Thank you very much for your review. There are more toilets around the back of the shower block,......Read more.

Thank you very much for your review. There are more toilets around the back of the shower block, which some people don't always find. We're sorry we won't see you in Cornwall again, but thank you for recommending us! Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Fantastic location and settings"

E Dewdney - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

12/09/2019

We booked this site due to its close proximity to Grogley Woods, then realised how close it was to the Camel trail as well! Brilliant location, we didn’t move the motorhome once and cycled......Read more.

We booked this site due to its close proximity to Grogley Woods, then realised how close it was to the Camel trail as well! Brilliant location, we didn’t move the motorhome once and cycled everywhere. Excellent to get onto the camel trail to head to the coast and to meet our friends for a meal in Bodmin Saturday night. We cycled up and over to Eden project with ease, minus the first big hill and then hit the Clay trails so again off road.

The facilities were excellent very clean showers/toilets/washing up area. Fast WiFi available on site in your camping bay.

Owners very accommodating and very friendly with a well stocked shop...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

Fantastic review. Thank you. We're so glad you could take advantage of our location and get to all......Read more.

Fantastic review. Thank you. We're so glad you could take advantage of our location and get to all those places by bicycle! We look forward to seeing you again. All the best, Andrew and Nicky...Read less.

"Megapod"

Mrs S Stankevich-Smith - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

10/09/2019

Great location & accommodation, would have been even better if the megapod had a shower ;)

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

Thank you for your review and we hope you can come again. Thinking about it, it wouldn't be so......Read more.

Thank you for your review and we hope you can come again. Thinking about it, it wouldn't be so 'eco-friendly' with a shower! ;-) All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Lovely Stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

We stayed here for one night in the wooden camping pods as a quick end of the holiday break. It was in the most lovely surroundings! Quiet and peaceful right in the Cornish country side. The pod was......Read more.

We stayed here for one night in the wooden camping pods as a quick end of the holiday break. It was in the most lovely surroundings! Quiet and peaceful right in the Cornish country side. The pod was more than adequate and clean, the campsite was really easy to get to, and easy to get to other places in Cornwall. Will definitely stay here again and recommend to our friends, a really great find....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

Thank you for such a lovely review. We're glad you found us and we look forward to seeing you......Read more.

Thank you for such a lovely review. We're glad you found us and we look forward to seeing you again! Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"beautiful holiday spot."

Mrs J Collins - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

04/09/2019

We camped here last year, a lucky find in it's peaceful and beautiful valley. We returned this year and stayed in a log cabin. We really enjoyed our stay and Andrew and Nicola are helpful and kind......Read more.

We camped here last year, a lucky find in it's peaceful and beautiful valley. We returned this year and stayed in a log cabin. We really enjoyed our stay and Andrew and Nicola are helpful and kind hosts. We will definitely be returning to these beautiful surroundings....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 09 October 2019

Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again! Andrew & Nicky

"Perfect"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

03/09/2019

Great place to stay for a cycle trip... next to camel trail and some amazing rides.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 04 September 2019

Yes, Nicky is a keen cyclist too and this is a great spot for seeing Cornwall by bike. We look......Read more.

Yes, Nicky is a keen cyclist too and this is a great spot for seeing Cornwall by bike. We look forward to seeing you again! Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Pretty and pricey."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

03/09/2019

Charming secluded, wooded site with a variety of accommodation choices, although all but the camping are expensive. Lovely hosts and a well stocked shop, but with little consideration for non meat......Read more.

Charming secluded, wooded site with a variety of accommodation choices, although all but the camping are expensive. Lovely hosts and a well stocked shop, but with little consideration for non meat eaters. Kids playground and mini football pitch are lovely, along with magical hidden paths, streams and dells in the surrounding woodland. Recommended overall....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 04 September 2019

Thank you for your review. We hope we'll see you again. Andrew and Nicky

"Lovely place to stay"

Ms K Williams - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

02/09/2019

We have stayed here before, had same pitch. We love it here, the woodland trail through the park, safe for our son to walk through to the play area. Facilities are great and clean. A lovely quiet......Read more.

We have stayed here before, had same pitch. We love it here, the woodland trail through the park, safe for our son to walk through to the play area. Facilities are great and clean. A lovely quiet site that isn't too big....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 04 September 2019

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again! Andrew & Nicky

"My stay"

J Fearn - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

This was a comfortable stay.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 04 September 2019

We're glad you enjoyed yourself and we hope we'll see you all again. Andrew & Nicky

"lovely, Quiet rural area, love the wigwam."

A Otusanya - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

Booked this holiday site for my first glamping/camping experience and it did not disappoint, set in a quiet rural environment. We booked 2 Wigwams for two families, 2kids and 2adults per family and......Read more.

Booked this holiday site for my first glamping/camping experience and it did not disappoint, set in a quiet rural environment. We booked 2 Wigwams for two families, 2kids and 2adults per family and it was adequate, the pods where next to each other. The grounds felt secure, shared bathroom/toilet was clean and never too congestion with queues. Will recommend.

...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 04 September 2019

We're very glad you enjoyed your first glamping with us and we hope we'll see you again! Andrew &......Read more.

We're very glad you enjoyed your first glamping with us and we hope we'll see you again! Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Great family friendly campsite"

Mrs Z Wickham - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

24/08/2019

This is our fifth time returning to Ruthern Valley and we loved it!! The new showers are a great addition. The site was welcoming clean and family friendly as always!

Andrew, replied to this review on the 27 August 2019

Lovely to see you again, as always! Thank you very much for your review. All the best, Andrew &......Read more.

Lovely to see you again, as always! Thank you very much for your review. All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Peaceful night"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

24/08/2019

We enjoyed a peaceful night in the beautiful setting with friends.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 27 August 2019

Thank you very much for your review and we hope we'll see you again! Andrew & Nicky

"Overall review"

Mrs T Gold - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

We stayed in a Pod, where we were pitched it was was lovely and quiet. Exactly what we wanted. We will return.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 27 August 2019

Very kind of you to review us. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you......Read more.

Very kind of you to review us. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you again! Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Mega pod fine static caravan definate NO"

Mrs A Wale - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

Mega pods were ok bit small for family of 4 for longer than a couple of nights. Need to be cleaned better ie under beds and sofa. Great they have their own toilets. I would advise anyone to NEVER......Read more.

Mega pods were ok bit small for family of 4 for longer than a couple of nights. Need to be cleaned better ie under beds and sofa. Great they have their own toilets. I would advise anyone to NEVER book the static caravan on this site you would not even let an animal sleep in there. Was damp, vile musty smell, grass on supposively clean quilts, wrappers under beds. Sofa was damp to sit on. Overall depressing. Only stayed 1 night had to leave first thing in the morning. Owner did offer us to go back after we had left into another mega pod but was severely put off after the terrible experiance in the caravan. The site itself was ok basic but good location for all of cornwall...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 27 August 2019

It is disappointing that this review is quite different to our conversations. When you extended......Read more.

It is disappointing that this review is quite different to our conversations. When you extended your stay, we did rush to get you into the Caravan from the MegaPod at 11 am, so you didn't have to lug your belongings around Cornwall with you until the afternoon, the normal time for arrivals. We can agree that there will be a difference between the experience in a new MegaPod and an older caravan. We're sorry it wasn't to your liking. Best regards, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Quiet and good value for money"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

20/08/2019

A quiet location and guaranteed sleep as no noise allowed over night!! Basic, clean and comfortable accomodation. Site owners very friendly and helpful. Lots of wildlife!! Could do with a few more......Read more.

A quiet location and guaranteed sleep as no noise allowed over night!! Basic, clean and comfortable accomodation. Site owners very friendly and helpful. Lots of wildlife!! Could do with a few more shelves and cupboards for personal belongings. Beds and mattresses need to be relifed a bit more often. Overall a great touring base which is great value for money....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Thank you very much for your lovely review and comments. We do look for space efficient wardrobes......Read more.

Thank you very much for your lovely review and comments. We do look for space efficient wardrobes and other furniture, but it's always a juggle between cupboards and other space. If you have any problems with your mattress, we can change it. We're glad you had a relaxing time and hope we'll see you again. All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Fantastic"

Mr M Keefe - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

19/08/2019

We have been looking for a site that promotes itself as peaceful ant tranquil and actually lives up to it! This is the place. It was truly idyllic. The site was fabulous with easy access to the camel......Read more.

We have been looking for a site that promotes itself as peaceful ant tranquil and actually lives up to it! This is the place. It was truly idyllic. The site was fabulous with easy access to the camel trail for cycling and walking. We loved it. The owners were brilliant and very helpful. We will be going back. If you want somewhere that has loads of entertainment, then this is not the site for you. Peace & quiet is the order of the day :)...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Thank you for your fantastic review and we look forward to seeing you again! Best regards, Andrew &......Read more.

Thank you for your fantastic review and we look forward to seeing you again! Best regards, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Great"

Mr D Milner - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

18/08/2019

Had a great few days away. Stayed in a wigwam which was clean and comfy.Showers and toilets very close by which was ideal. They were checked and clean regularly. Fab little shop too with good prices.......Read more.

Had a great few days away. Stayed in a wigwam which was clean and comfy.Showers and toilets very close by which was ideal. They were checked and clean regularly. Fab little shop too with good prices. Will definitely come again....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Thank you very much. Your review means a lot to us and we hope we'll see you again! All the best,......Read more.

Thank you very much. Your review means a lot to us and we hope we'll see you again! All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Pod stay"

Mr I Harris - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

18/08/2019

The one place we stay where WE have to wake up the grandkids! Wonderfully peaceful.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope we'll see you again. All the best, Andrew & Nicky

"A little corner of paradise"

Mr D Watton - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

15/08/2019

This small but well maintained site is set in a beautiful, sheltered valley surrounded by mature woodland. The quiet and beautiful setting is a perfect place for a relaxing getaway. With both the......Read more.

This small but well maintained site is set in a beautiful, sheltered valley surrounded by mature woodland. The quiet and beautiful setting is a perfect place for a relaxing getaway. With both the north and south Cornish coasts easily accessible, the location is ideal. Highly recommended!...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

We really appreciated the great review and hope we'll see you again! All the best, Andrew & Nicky

"Perfect for families"

Mrs L Cooper - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

This was our second holiday at Ruthern Valley. It is a lovely quiet campsite with plenty of open space & play areas for the children, woodland walks & a handy little shop for your daily essentials. A......Read more.

This was our second holiday at Ruthern Valley. It is a lovely quiet campsite with plenty of open space & play areas for the children, woodland walks & a handy little shop for your daily essentials. A perfect site for getting back to nature & relaxing in tranquil surroundings, but also within easy reach of local towns & attractions. We will be returning later in the year & would definitely recommend to others....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Thank you for a great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon! All the best, Andrew &......Read more.

Thank you for a great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon! All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Good site but tent area too crowded with no privacy"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

Great campsite, fun and sociable for children. Tent pitches too close together so that you can hear everything going on in next tent 3m away including snoring and arguements. Would be better if......Read more.

Great campsite, fun and sociable for children. Tent pitches too close together so that you can hear everything going on in next tent 3m away including snoring and arguements. Would be better if pitches further apart or ideally separated by small hedges for a bit more privacy. Otherwise nice site, goo facilities and very helpful and friendly staff. Would stay in a cabin next time but not camping again....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Thank you very much for your review and we hope you'll try out our glamping or cabins next time!......Read more.

Thank you very much for your review and we hope you'll try out our glamping or cabins next time! All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Clean tidy safe place to stay, lovely for the kids"

Miss K Fairclough - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

Love the campsite, play park and the little wooded area with paths through ity. Loved the pigs and chickens.

Shop could be a bit better stocked with basics. But generally a great place to stay.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Thank you for your great review. Nicky did a shop and we're fully stocked now (though a little late......Read more.

Thank you for your great review. Nicky did a shop and we're fully stocked now (though a little late for you!) Hope you'll come again! All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Megapod - Great staff"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

Great staff, good directions but small, winding single lane roads.

Most local facilities require a drive.

Megapod was well laid out and well appointed.

Cooking facilities were limited to microwave or......Read more.

Great staff, good directions but small, winding single lane roads.

Most local facilities require a drive.

Megapod was well laid out and well appointed.

Cooking facilities were limited to microwave or BYO bbq.

Small children's playground was quite fun....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Thank you for your review. We know Ruthern Valley's 'unique selling points' aren't for everyone. We......Read more.

Thank you for your review. We know Ruthern Valley's 'unique selling points' aren't for everyone. We hope you find a great place next time. All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Camping pod in the woods"

Dr B King - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

Excellent basic camping pods in a secluded part of the woodland on the campsite. Brilliant week with my teenage son.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Thank you very kindly for a fantastic review. We look forward to seeing you again! All the best,......Read more.

Thank you very kindly for a fantastic review. We look forward to seeing you again! All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Second Visit by family of 5 with teenagers"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

We stayed here a few years ago when our kids were pre teens and they loved being in a wigwam ! We returned for a couple of days before heading elsewhere and had a lovely stay as the facilities are......Read more.

We stayed here a few years ago when our kids were pre teens and they loved being in a wigwam ! We returned for a couple of days before heading elsewhere and had a lovely stay as the facilities are very clean and the wigwam was fine still even though the kids have grown and 2 are adult size! The shop is well stocked and we really enjoyed the Thursday curry night as a change from a BBQ!...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Very glad you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing......Read more.

Very glad you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again! Best regards, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Peaceful place to stay"

Mrs L Lahive - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

12/08/2019

We have been the Ruthernvally and stayed in this camp site about three time now and we love it. We tend to rent a little bungalow or cabin when we come. The accommodation is good value for money and......Read more.

We have been the Ruthernvally and stayed in this camp site about three time now and we love it. We tend to rent a little bungalow or cabin when we come. The accommodation is good value for money and always spotless when we arrive. It’s so peaceful and set in a wooded area where the kids can run around and play safely. The little shop on site sales the best local sausages and beer and they even hire out wet suits, body boards and bikes....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Thanks so much for your review. We hope we'll see you again soon. Andrew & Nicky

"Calm and tranquil"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/08/2019

Ruthern Valley is a gem of a campsite situated in an oasis of calm and tranquillity. The camp site is fairly small with other more permanent options such as chalets, pods and wigwams available to......Read more.

Ruthern Valley is a gem of a campsite situated in an oasis of calm and tranquillity. The camp site is fairly small with other more permanent options such as chalets, pods and wigwams available to other guests. The website booking system is clear and easy to navigate and gives a good idea of what to expect.

At peak times, the washing and toilet facilities could become overcrowded, so you had to pick your time carefully to use the facilities (only 2 toilets / hand basins for male/female and 1 'mixed'). However, the shower facilities were very good. Hand soap in all toilets would also be helpful as would a bin in the washing up area....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Thank you for a great review, though we're a bit confused because there are 6 loos at the shower......Read more.

Thank you for a great review, though we're a bit confused because there are 6 loos at the shower block, all with soap. We did at one time try bins in the washing up area, but they became so dirty and so fast, they made the area unpleasant. All the best, Andrew & Nicky....Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Mrs C Smith - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

11/08/2019

We stayed in a Mega Pod with our two grandsons aged 8 and 10. Loved clean accomodation, very well thought out, will definitely return. The owners are very friendly and helpful and do fresh baguettes......Read more.

We stayed in a Mega Pod with our two grandsons aged 8 and 10. Loved clean accomodation, very well thought out, will definitely return. The owners are very friendly and helpful and do fresh baguettes and croissants for breakfast !!...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

We're glad you and the boys enjoyed yourselves and we hope we'll see you again soon. Best regards.......Read more.

We're glad you and the boys enjoyed yourselves and we hope we'll see you again soon. Best regards. Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Good value for money"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

10/08/2019

Very calming area with a super clean log cabin which included two double bed bedrooms, bathroom, self catering kitchen and a convenient size hall. TV in a hall and comfortable sofa seats and......Read more.

Very calming area with a super clean log cabin which included two double bed bedrooms, bathroom, self catering kitchen and a convenient size hall. TV in a hall and comfortable sofa seats and additional chairs are very useful when you get back after long hours of entertainment. Very safe place with children playing area. The shop that sold all basics is a bonus. Viraj restaurant nearby is what we needed when away from home for nice curry and briyanis and nan rotti....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Your review means a lot to us. Thank you very much. All the best, Andrew & Nicky

"Holiday in our campervan, August 2019"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

09/08/2019

Ruthern Valley is a small but lovely family campsite, well located for visiting both the north and south coast. The main camping area is a beautifully tended lawn surrounded by trees, so is quite......Read more.

Ruthern Valley is a small but lovely family campsite, well located for visiting both the north and south coast. The main camping area is a beautifully tended lawn surrounded by trees, so is quite shady. The facilities were basic but clean and well maintained and we enjoyed the new showers that have been installed since our last visit. The owners were very friendly and helpful and there was loads of useful local information displayed in the washing up area. We took our bikes with us as it is an ideal base for access to the Camel Trail, approximately 1 mile away, and enjoyed three good days out cycling on the Camel Trail and some of Route 3. We stayed for 8 nights in total and, as well as our cycling trips, visited some of the lovely sandy beaches nearby, our favourite being Watergate bay approximately 15 miles away....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Thank you so much for your review and we hope we'll see you again! There is so much to explore when......Read more.

Thank you so much for your review and we hope we'll see you again! There is so much to explore when biking the Camel Trail! All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Ruthern Valley 2019 Summer Stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

09/08/2019

Beautiful peaceful site , not ideal if you want to be social after 10pm outside which is part of camping experience for us but would still highly recommend if this not as issue for you

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Yes, it's true; we are invested in the peace and tranquillity at Ruthern Valley. It is commented......Read more.

Yes, it's true; we are invested in the peace and tranquillity at Ruthern Valley. It is commented upon and appreciated by our guests. Thank you very much for your review and we hope we'll see you again. All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Great holidayweek"

Mr J De Jonge - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

08/08/2019

The campingsite Ruthern Valley is like an oase. At sunny days the sounds of birds and other -great and small- wildlife, the abundant presence of all the flower scents, the absence of roadsounds. The......Read more.

The campingsite Ruthern Valley is like an oase. At sunny days the sounds of birds and other -great and small- wildlife, the abundant presence of all the flower scents, the absence of roadsounds. The silence is hugely appreciated. Experiences at less sunny days, with the sound of fallling raindrops on our tentroof, accompanied with a nice cup of tea or coffee, are also pleasant. So, what does a man want more?

Nicola and Andrew are friendly, welcoming hosts. They do a good job in bringing holidayjoy to their guests, so helpful and friendly.

Quality of the facilities are great: what you really need is delivered. Good warm showers, laundryfacility is more than good, the shop well equipped with basic food, personal care and little camping gear.

Surrounings are great: a pleasure to walk through. Clean air, fantastic view over the countrysides.

So finally, certainly a place to go back to....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope we'll see......Read more.

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope we'll see you again! Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

08/08/2019

Have stayed here a few times and it is always pleasant. There are more pitches and people than appears at first glance but it never seems busy. The only issue is the lack of hot water in the showers......Read more.

Have stayed here a few times and it is always pleasant. There are more pitches and people than appears at first glance but it never seems busy. The only issue is the lack of hot water in the showers and washing up area at peak times. But at least there are more showers than three used to be!...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 20 August 2019

Apologies for the blip. The pilot light went out that morning and there was a shortage that day.......Read more.

Apologies for the blip. The pilot light went out that morning and there was a shortage that day. Usually it stays hot at all times! Thank you for your review and we hope we'll see you again. All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Lovely quiet campsite"

Mr B Andrews - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

08/08/2019

Andrew and Nicola run a fantastic quiet rural campsite. Great facilities, recently updated, and well run site. Great please to stay if you're looking for somewhere quiet without any commercial......Read more.

Andrew and Nicola run a fantastic quiet rural campsite. Great facilities, recently updated, and well run site. Great please to stay if you're looking for somewhere quiet without any commercial razzamatazz, this is a good choice. Within easy driving distance of all the major attractions in Cornwall.

This is our third stay there and we'd be happy to come back....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 14 August 2019

Thank you very much! We hope we'll see you again soon. Andrew & Nicky

"Fantastic Holiday as always"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

08/08/2019

It was the first time we had hired a lodge on the Ruthern Valley site after numerous times camping there. It’s a lovely setting off the beaten track but fantastic wildlife and so peaceful. We find......Read more.

It was the first time we had hired a lodge on the Ruthern Valley site after numerous times camping there. It’s a lovely setting off the beaten track but fantastic wildlife and so peaceful. We find it such a relaxing setting.The lodge was clean and modern and met our needs as a base to explore the surrounding area. My sons have always loved the football pitch on site too, so everyone’s happy!...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 14 August 2019

A lodge is quite different from a camping pitch. We're glad you enjoyed it and we hope we'll see......Read more.

A lodge is quite different from a camping pitch. We're glad you enjoyed it and we hope we'll see you again. Best regards, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Nice family Campsite"

Mr M Cottrell - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

07/08/2019

Good campsite with helpful staff

Andrew, replied to this review on the 14 August 2019

Thank you very much for your review. We hope you'll come again. Andrew & Nicky

"First trip to Ruthern Valley"

U Elmakbachi - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

07/08/2019

Stayed with my partner for 7 nights.

Wonderful area, secluded and quiet (apart from kids in the playground being very loud sone evenings), excellent facilities, helpful, warm and lovely owners always......Read more.

Stayed with my partner for 7 nights.

Wonderful area, secluded and quiet (apart from kids in the playground being very loud sone evenings), excellent facilities, helpful, warm and lovely owners always ready for a chat or suggestion.

Highly recommend their home grown meats too!

Will definitely return in the nearer future!...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 14 August 2019

It was very kind of your to review us. It means a lot. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look......Read more.

It was very kind of your to review us. It means a lot. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again! Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"A holiday escape"

Mrs H Hayers - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

03/08/2019

This was our 5th consecutive year at Ruthern Valley I think that speaks for itself. Friendly family run site fantastic location.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 14 August 2019

It's lovely to see familiar faces each year. Thank you very much for your review! Andrew & Nicky

"Nice place to stay"

Mr I Francis - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

03/08/2019

Stayed in a bungalow and also tent camped the previous year.

Pros: Nice looking site, Quiet, Good shop, Bodyboard hire, Handy for Eden Project, Reasonable distance from good beaches, decent......Read more.

Stayed in a bungalow and also tent camped the previous year.

Pros: Nice looking site, Quiet, Good shop, Bodyboard hire, Handy for Eden Project, Reasonable distance from good beaches, decent facilities for camping, bungalows had everything you need, Short distance to Bodmin.

Cons: Couple of miles of narrow roads to access, 30mins+ to beaches, Bodmin is a bit quiet....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 14 August 2019

Thank you for your review and we hope you'll come again! Andrew & Nicky

"2nd visit and still great"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

03/08/2019

Lovely campsite in the heart of Cornwall. Protected from the elements and easy access to the whole of Cornwall. You can hire bikes, wetsuits, bodyboards etc from the site at v reasonable prices. On......Read more.

Lovely campsite in the heart of Cornwall. Protected from the elements and easy access to the whole of Cornwall. You can hire bikes, wetsuits, bodyboards etc from the site at v reasonable prices. On the Camel trail and close to the Camel Vineyard....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 14 August 2019

Your review means a lot to us. Thank you very much and we hope we'll see you again! Andrew & Nicky

"A beauty of a spot"

Mrs D Higgins - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

03/08/2019

I'd forgotten how much I love this site. Stayed before in the pods. Stayed this time in our camper and our pitch was lovely. Under the trees, big pitch, hardstanding and grass.

We were going to......Read more.

I'd forgotten how much I love this site. Stayed before in the pods. Stayed this time in our camper and our pitch was lovely. Under the trees, big pitch, hardstanding and grass.

We were going to stay earlier in the week but I came down with a bug. They managed to change our booking without too much fuss which was a relief.

We'd been to the Eden project during the day which isn't too far away.

Quiet, clean and simple site. Perfect....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 14 August 2019

We're glad you came again and thank you for your kind review! Andrew & Nicky

"Very enjoyable stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

03/08/2019

We’ve been before and know that the setting is great, the facilities immaculate and good value for money

Andrew, replied to this review on the 14 August 2019

Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate it. See you again! Andrew & Nicky

"Our Cornwall Holiday 2019"

K Kosbar - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

22/07/2019

We really enjoyed our stay at your campground while in Cornwall. You are close to the sights we were interested in Port Isaac and Poldark filming sites. You pod was sparkling clean as where your......Read more.

We really enjoyed our stay at your campground while in Cornwall. You are close to the sights we were interested in Port Isaac and Poldark filming sites. You pod was sparkling clean as where your bathroom/shower facilities. We were glad we could rent bikes from you for the Camel trail and the staff was always friendly and helpful. Thanks for a great holiday!

...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

We're glad you enjoyed yourselves. Did you try the local Buttermilk Fudge from the site of Mrs.......Read more.

We're glad you enjoyed yourselves. Did you try the local Buttermilk Fudge from the site of Mrs. Tishell's Chemist Shop (Doc Martin) in Port Isaac? Thank you for your review and we hope we'll see you again soon! Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Another great visit"

Mr J Hill - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

18/07/2019

Always happy to stay here (been 3 or 4 times now). Clean, peaceful and on the edge of the Camel Trail, we love it. Friendly, helpful staff and simple facilities (no noisy arcades / bars etc). Look......Read more.

Always happy to stay here (been 3 or 4 times now). Clean, peaceful and on the edge of the Camel Trail, we love it. Friendly, helpful staff and simple facilities (no noisy arcades / bars etc). Look forward to heading back again soon....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

Many thanks for your lovely review. We hope we'll see you again soon! Andrew & Nicky

"A beautiful quiet part of Cornwall"

S Woods - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

17/07/2019

Fantastic mix of great location and relaxed atmosphere that complement the clean well planned facilities - resulting in a real feeling of getting away from it all.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

We really appreciate your review and we're glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you. Andrew & Nicky

"Idyllic Setting"

Mr M Johnson - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

14/07/2019

Spent five nights here with our touring caravan. Beautiful tranquil setting amongst trees. Very clean facilities in particular the new showers/toilets. Endless hot water, no time limit or charge for......Read more.

Spent five nights here with our touring caravan. Beautiful tranquil setting amongst trees. Very clean facilities in particular the new showers/toilets. Endless hot water, no time limit or charge for the showers. Free wi-fi, if you feel it necessary to be in contact with the rest of the world. The small woodland walk with the discovery of the pigs and hens was the icing on the cake. Very economical and would definitely stay here again....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

It was very kind of you to take the time to review us. Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you......Read more.

It was very kind of you to take the time to review us. Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Peaceful beautifully kept site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

13/07/2019

A beautiful peaceful site ideal for those wanting a quiet relaxing rest. Facilities great.

Location to the Camel Trail is ideal.

We found it lovely to be able to sit outside and the birds flew......Read more.

A beautiful peaceful site ideal for those wanting a quiet relaxing rest. Facilities great.

Location to the Camel Trail is ideal.

We found it lovely to be able to sit outside and the birds flew down and around.

...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

We're glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet and the birds (that are sometimes not so quiet, but it's......Read more.

We're glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet and the birds (that are sometimes not so quiet, but it's a different kind of noise, isn't it?). We hope you'll come again. All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Perfect for Eden project visit"

N Simpson - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

12/07/2019

Close to the Eden project which was our main reason for booking.

The pod and surrounding park were lovely. Clean, quiet and safe. We would definitely consider another visit.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

Eden is an amazing place. The more often we visit the more interesting plants and things we......Read more.

Eden is an amazing place. The more often we visit the more interesting plants and things we discover. Thank you for your review and we hope we'll see you again. Best regards, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Fab stay"

Anonymous - Stayed Jul 2019

12/07/2019

The campsite is wonderful, you can camp in the woods or camping field, shower and facilities new and spotlessly clean!

Good location for getting out and about, will definitely return!

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

Thank you very much for your lovely review and and for mentioning the showers Andrew worked so hard......Read more.

Thank you very much for your lovely review and and for mentioning the showers Andrew worked so hard on this winter. We look forward to seeing you again! All the best, Nicky & Andrew...Read less.

"Just perfect!"

V Mitus - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

09/07/2019

Staff very friendly, peaceful place, facilities awesome, close to Cornwell atractions!

Will come back for sure!

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

Many thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you again! Andrew & Nicky

"Terrible"

Mrs Good - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

09/07/2019

This place was awful, damp and musty, condensation on lounge windows , the outside space was filthy and unuseable The beds were awful, really old and impossible to sleep on! The furniture In the......Read more.

This place was awful, damp and musty, condensation on lounge windows , the outside space was filthy and unuseable The beds were awful, really old and impossible to sleep on! The furniture In the living room was uncomfortable and cheap !the fridge was tiny and the cupboards stunk, we had to clean them all out ! The owner was extremely rude and unhelpful!

After an argument the owner agreed to change one of the mattresses but not the other one so we had to borrow a blow up camp lilo from a friend who lives nearby . Worst place weve ever stayed...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

We understand that Ruthern Valley is not for everyone and it can be difficult when your holiday is......Read more.

We understand that Ruthern Valley is not for everyone and it can be difficult when your holiday is booked for you by someone else. We hope your next holiday is more to your liking. Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"A place to relax and unwind."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

04/07/2019

This site is quiet and provides the perfect place to unwind.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

Many thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again. Nicky & Andrew

"Beautiful location"

L Colome - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

01/07/2019

Ruthern Valley is a beautiful location and perfect for family's and couples. Very chilled and peaceful environment.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

Thank you for your kind review. We hope we'll see you again. Best regards, Nicky & Andrew

"Peaceful site with good facilities"

Miss E Le Roux - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

30/06/2019

We booked a last minute pitch here to camp for three nights. We were greeted y the owner on arrival who was very friendly and relaxed. We were able to choose our own pitch as long as it wasn't too......Read more.

We booked a last minute pitch here to camp for three nights. We were greeted y the owner on arrival who was very friendly and relaxed. We were able to choose our own pitch as long as it wasn't too close to the other people who were already there. The site itself was very peaceful and the shower block was clean with new showers. Stumps are provided to put your bbq on which was handy. We had a lovely stay here and would highly recommend to others....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

It was very kind of you to take the time to review us. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and we......Read more.

It was very kind of you to take the time to review us. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope we'll see you again soon. Nicky & Andrew...Read less.

"Lovely glamping break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

28/06/2019

Perfect for our needs

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

Thank you very much. We hope we'll see you again soon! Nicky & Andrew

"Beautiful"

N Hand - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

27/06/2019

The quiet setting and central location made this ideal. It is so friendly. The shop was great value for money and you can order bakery for the next day. We really relaxed

Andrew, replied to this review on the 30 July 2019

It's great to hear that you had a relaxing holiday. Thank you for your review and we hope we'll see......Read more.

It's great to hear that you had a relaxing holiday. Thank you for your review and we hope we'll see you again. Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Tranquil Setting"

Mrs K Burroughs - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

26/06/2019

Beautifully set amongst the trees, very tranquil, Lovely lodge had all the facilities we needed, spotlessly clean.

Shop on site if needed & bike hire

Andrew, replied to this review on the 26 June 2019

We really appreciate your lovely review and we hope we'll see you again soon. Andrew & Nicky

"Great place to unwind!"

Mr P Smith - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

21/06/2019

We have stayed 5/6 times previously and love the tranquility and rurality of the location. Accommodation is always clean and tidy and the owners’ are friendly and helpful.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 26 June 2019

Brilliant to see you again. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. See you again!......Read more.

Brilliant to see you again. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. See you again! All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Happy camping with a mattress"

S Goodman - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

20/06/2019

So, so comfortable and warm and clean.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 26 June 2019

We've very glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope we'll see you again. Best regards, Andrew & Nicky

"Stay at ruthern valley"

T Hall - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

17/06/2019

My partner was very apprehensive about going as he had never camped before, but we both had a brilliant time there. We stayed 3 nights in a wigwam with electricity in it. The place was so peaceful......Read more.

My partner was very apprehensive about going as he had never camped before, but we both had a brilliant time there. We stayed 3 nights in a wigwam with electricity in it. The place was so peaceful and tranquil on Bodmin moor. We had Robin's and Blue tits just hanging around outside our wigwam,

Andrew and Nicola where more than happy to help out if you needed them, and they had a lovely well stocked shop which had local products on sale.

So if your looking to go here please do, it's an amazing place, you can even stay in log cabins, mega pods or just taking your own tent, they definitely do cater for children there's a big play area, so great for everyone.

We went to Padstow 20 minutes away and there are amazing beaches near by.

...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 26 June 2019

We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to you coming again. Thank you very......Read more.

We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to you coming again. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. All the best, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"OUR BOLT-HOLE"

Mr N Adams - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

17/06/2019

Approx 25yrs ago friends recommended us to this Park and it has turned out to be our "local" holiday base on and off for every year since then.

We have seen the many different owners and all have bee......Read more.

Approx 25yrs ago friends recommended us to this Park and it has turned out to be our "local" holiday base on and off for every year since then.

We have seen the many different owners and all have bee welcoming and friendly, none more so than the present proprietors.

It is a secluded site catering more for people seeking a quiet holiday, although lots of amenities are within a short drive away....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 26 June 2019

It is very good of you to review us after visiting so often over the years. The review means a lot......Read more.

It is very good of you to review us after visiting so often over the years. The review means a lot to us, but much more so your enjoyment of our site. Many thanks and see you again! Best regards, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Ruthern valley"

Mr N Gillingham - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

13/06/2019

It was a lovely place. Owners where very helpful. Would definitely go back.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 26 June 2019

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope we'll see you......Read more.

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope we'll see you again soon. Yours, Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"."

Mr K Kuchta - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

11/06/2019

.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 26 June 2019

Thank you very much for reviewing us. We hope we will see you again. All the best, Andrew & Nicola

"Wonderful environment"

Mr A Bishop - Stayed with family, May 2019

07/06/2019

We have stayed at Ruthern Valley a few times and love it. It doesn't have the facilities of a big camp site, but is definately the place for peace and quiet. Everyone that works there is very......Read more.

We have stayed at Ruthern Valley a few times and love it. It doesn't have the facilities of a big camp site, but is definately the place for peace and quiet. Everyone that works there is very friendly and helpful....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 26 June 2019

Thank you very much for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again! Best regards,......Read more.

Thank you very much for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again! Best regards, Andrew & Nicola...Read less.

"first impressions"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

06/06/2019

Peaceful location. Toilets and showers very clean as was the laundry area

Staff were helpful on arrival.

There is a small shop on site for essentials . lovely site. Ideal for a relaxing......Read more.

Peaceful location. Toilets and showers very clean as was the laundry area

Staff were helpful on arrival.

There is a small shop on site for essentials . lovely site. Ideal for a relaxing weekend/midweek break....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 26 June 2019

Many thanks for your kind review. We hope we'll see you again! All the best, Andrew & Nicola

"Quiet, family campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

03/06/2019

A lovely quiet family campsite. We stayed for a few days and it was delightful. A safe and beautiful site, where the children could explore and play. Lots of friends were made! Woodland paths,......Read more.

A lovely quiet family campsite. We stayed for a few days and it was delightful. A safe and beautiful site, where the children could explore and play. Lots of friends were made! Woodland paths, rhododendrons in flower and pigs and chickens as well. Well stocked shop, nice pitches. No entertainment or loud music . Easy to get to many attractions. Wholly recommend....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 26 June 2019

We're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and we hope you'll come again. All the best, Andrew & Nicola

"Ruthern Valley"

Mr P Dudley - Stayed with family, May 2019

25/05/2019

Great place to stay

Andrew, replied to this review on the 28 May 2019

Very kind of you to review us. We look forward to seeing you again!

"Lovely spot surrounded by nature"

S Hyde - Stayed with family, May 2019

23/05/2019

Friendly accommodating staff and a well-stocked little shop. A lovely safe campsite for families. Very peaceful surroundings and we enjoyed watching the birds and squirrels. My only suggestion would......Read more.

Friendly accommodating staff and a well-stocked little shop. A lovely safe campsite for families. Very peaceful surroundings and we enjoyed watching the birds and squirrels. My only suggestion would be perhaps to refresh the kids' play area a bit and maybe add slide. Thanks for a lovely relaxing stay....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 28 May 2019

We're glad your family enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review and we have taken your......Read more.

We're glad your family enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review and we have taken your suggestions on board. We look forward to seeing you again!...Read less.

"Returning for second time"

Mrs S Gould - Stayed with partner, May 2019

19/05/2019

Having visited here last year we decided to return. If complete relaxation is what you want you will most definitely find it here

Andrew, replied to this review on the 28 May 2019

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed Ruthern Valley the second time......Read more.

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed Ruthern Valley the second time around and look forward to seeing you again! Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Lovely stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

13/05/2019

We stayed in a log cabin and really enjoyed the peace and quiet of the site and great location

Andrew, replied to this review on the 16 May 2019

Many thanks for your review. It means a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you again.

"Had a lovely family time"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

10/05/2019

Lovely location and very helpful staff. Ideal to camp or glamp and stay in foot or bicycle. Local roads are tiny so not ideal for local tourism.

Very convenient little shop on site and nightly food......Read more.

Lovely location and very helpful staff. Ideal to camp or glamp and stay in foot or bicycle. Local roads are tiny so not ideal for local tourism.

Very convenient little shop on site and nightly food truck available. Also appreciated under floor heated pods!!!...Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 16 May 2019

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad the Megapods were good and warm since we've had some......Read more.

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad the Megapods were good and warm since we've had some very chilly nights lately. We hope we'll see you again....Read less.

"Mega pod stay"

Mr L Upson - Stayed with partner, May 2019

10/05/2019

Excellent site and accommodation for the small price they charge. Been back every year for the past 5 years

Andrew, replied to this review on the 16 May 2019

Lovely to see you every year. Thank you very much for your review.

"Camping how it should be!!!"

Mrs J Crook - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

05/05/2019

Been staying at Ruthernbridge on and off for about 30 years and still a breath of fresh air. Its a one-off these days with no pool/club house but total relaxation, its location must be the envy of......Read more.

Been staying at Ruthernbridge on and off for about 30 years and still a breath of fresh air. Its a one-off these days with no pool/club house but total relaxation, its location must be the envy of most other sites in Cornwall, no traffic noise in the distance just singing birds and animal calls. It emits a friendly atmosphere as you drive in the entrance and that continues from check-in to departure. Our grown up sons have many memories of super times and still return when time allows, the current owners have made small improvements but not to its detriment, its just the small things we have come to expect these days, WILL BE BACK....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 16 May 2019

It was great to see you again. Your lovely review means a lot to us. Thank you!

"What they could improve"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

02/05/2019

It would be a massive help if on your website you stated what was included in the accommodation. I did not feel prepared coming as there was no where on the website that said whether or not my wigwam......Read more.

It would be a massive help if on your website you stated what was included in the accommodation. I did not feel prepared coming as there was no where on the website that said whether or not my wigwam had a kettle, a fridge, heating, bedding. Me and my boyfriend turned up with no food as we were unsure as to whether we would be able to put the food anywhere and we didn’t bring bedding....Read less.

Andrew, replied to this review on the 06 May 2019

We are sorry you did not feel prepared - we have spare bedding available, that if asked we could......Read more.

We are sorry you did not feel prepared - we have spare bedding available, that if asked we could have provided.

Not sure where you got your information from but we are usually congratulated on our website and clear communication.

In the last resort please call us!

Andrew & Nicky...Read less.

"Great place to stay!"

Miss M Seymour - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

02/05/2019

This was my third visit and I will happily return again, great value, great quality and so peaceful. we loved the chickens and pigs too!

Andrew, replied to this review on the 16 May 2019

Lovely to see you again. Many thanks for your review and we look forward to your return.

"Great value for money"

Mrs L Nunn - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

30/04/2019

Easy enough to find. My Motorhome was kindly situated next to the pod my daughters had hired even though I had not requested it. Small issue with the number of toilet facilities available, could be......Read more.

Easy enough to find. My Motorhome was kindly situated next to the pod my daughters had hired even though I had not requested it. Small issue with the number of toilet facilities available, could be an issue if the site is full but I understand that work is being done on this. On the day of leaving we were given some extra time as no one was booked into our spot. Very helpful. Wonderful stay....Read less.

"Megapod"

S Dalling - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

28/04/2019

We really enjoyed our stay here, very good location and value for money.

"Great Nature"

B Can Ziyrek - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Ruthern Valley is a great place to visit in Cornwall, it is quite central to all attractions.

"Great chalet stay"

Miss H Joynson - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

24/04/2019

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the chalet was perfect and exactly what we needed/wanted. The site was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

"Easter 2019"

Mr S Farrow - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

24/04/2019

Wonderful break as usual. Children enjoying the great outdoors on a well kept, friendly site. Will continue to return.

"Ruthern Valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

24/04/2019

Booked last minute. Fab location and service.

"Late Booking - Caravan"

Mrs C Smith - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

23/04/2019

Last minute booking, reduced price so good value. Location of caravan ideal in far end of site surrounded by trees and looking out towards a couple of pods. Really peaceful location, essentials on......Read more.

Last minute booking, reduced price so good value. Location of caravan ideal in far end of site surrounded by trees and looking out towards a couple of pods. Really peaceful location, essentials on site, ideal if you want to get on and do your own thing in tranquillity.

Accommodation good standard for a static caravan and adequate cooking facilities to cater for a family. Bit cold in one of the bedrooms but blankets available.

Like the eco friendly status also.

...Read less.

"Pod camping"

G Tolcher - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

23/04/2019

Loved our over night stay in a pod, beautiful surroundings, much better than a tent this time of year, with lamp and radiator included. Close to camel trail, we will definitely be back.

"Short break"

Mrs B Masters - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

18/04/2019

We had a lovely stay at this quite and peaceful park. The Kids loved all the wildlife. Facilities were nice & clean. Friendly & helpful staff. We will definitely visit again. Thank you

"My favourite campsite in Cornwall"

Anonymous - Stayed Apr 2019

12/04/2019

And I’ve been to many! Recently discovered this campsite is now open all year, it’s beautiful, peaceful and exceptional value for money. Good sized individual pitches with plenty of wildlife, no......Read more.

And I’ve been to many! Recently discovered this campsite is now open all year, it’s beautiful, peaceful and exceptional value for money. Good sized individual pitches with plenty of wildlife, no traffic noise. Small, no club house, good washing and bathroom facilities, perfect for families who prefer to not go to noisy, overcrowded busy campsites, couples who are looking for a quiet break or singles who just want to get away from it all. It’s the perfect location to visit Cornwall being centrally located just a couple of miles from the A30. Friendly helpful owners, a well equipped shop with the best sausages from their own pigs, I will definitely be returning....Read less.

"A lovely long weekend"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

28/03/2019

Simple and very peaceful. Stayed in a megapod and it was cute and had everything we needed.

"Our second stay at Ruthern Valley - definitely planning on returning"

Mrs K Weston - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

15/03/2019

We first stayed at Ruthern Valley last year, in one of the Mega Pods. We re-booked as we enjoyed it so much but unfortunately the Mega Pod was unavailable due to electrical issues so we were upgraded......Read more.

We first stayed at Ruthern Valley last year, in one of the Mega Pods. We re-booked as we enjoyed it so much but unfortunately the Mega Pod was unavailable due to electrical issues so we were upgraded free of charge to a lodge. We were a little disappointed as we'd specifically wanted the novelty factor of the Mega Pod, but we know it couldn't be helped. We had a great time at the lodge and couldn't fault it at all, very clean and well kept and very comfortable. The site is lovely and quiet and the staff are really friendly and helpful. We hired bikes from the site which were good value for money, and cycled the camel trail to Padstow and back. This really is a lovely place to stay and we would highly recommend it. We are currently planning our next stay!...Read less.

"Lovely relaxing place"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Mar 2019

14/03/2019

We have stayed at Ruthern Valley 3 times now and each time has been lovely. We have only stayed for 2 nights in a row and always in the chalets. I can't comment on the camping facilities as not used......Read more.

We have stayed at Ruthern Valley 3 times now and each time has been lovely. We have only stayed for 2 nights in a row and always in the chalets. I can't comment on the camping facilities as not used them, but have given 5 stars based on the standards of the chalets. Everytime we have been down we end up hiring bikes from the shop and enjoyed the convenience and close proximity to the Camel trail. We come as a group of friends and intend to make it an annual trip as the place is just lovely. Thank you for helping us make some amazing and cherished memories xx...Read less.

"Wonderful"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Feb 2019

28/02/2019

Wonderful place, everything was perfect. Some of the cutlery was unclean but that's not a massive issue.

"Relaxed family break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Feb 2019

24/02/2019

Tranquil location however close proximity to Camel Trail, Eden Project, Fowey and a number of other beautiful Cornish locations

"1st class experience"

M Seaden - Stayed with family, Feb 2019

21/02/2019

Searched for a place to stay near my father’s home and picked this as a little different.

The site was so clean it was untrue. Let’s be clear - you are staying in a wooded area. In February. And the......Read more.

Searched for a place to stay near my father’s home and picked this as a little different.

The site was so clean it was untrue. Let’s be clear - you are staying in a wooded area. In February. And the property was spotless!

The staff were so welcoming and helpful. Having forgotten cups I was provided with 3 to borrow rather than buy some from their own shop!

The accommodation had it all - fridge, microwave and plenty of sockets.

The site was lovely - a beautiful walk around the nature trail and you could what seemed like a dozen different birds.

In short - awesome....Read less.

"I love love LOVE it."

Miss J Woodward - Stayed with partner, Jan 2019

07/02/2019

I absolutely adored my stay here. Even though the snow was quite bad , the lodges are so cosy that it didn't matter because we could cook and watch TV. The view at night was unreal , the stars were......Read more.

I absolutely adored my stay here. Even though the snow was quite bad , the lodges are so cosy that it didn't matter because we could cook and watch TV. The view at night was unreal , the stars were so clear there. The staff are lovely , its great value for money and you have literally everything you could possibly need. Will definitely be coming back , thank you !...Read less.

"Great adventure"

Miss M Francks - Stayed with family, Jan 2019

23/01/2019

Lovely little camp site, me and my sister took our kids for a one night stay in a wigwam. The site was clean and well kept, our wigwam was perfect, warm (and it was January!),comfortable and clean.......Read more.

Lovely little camp site, me and my sister took our kids for a one night stay in a wigwam. The site was clean and well kept, our wigwam was perfect, warm (and it was January!),comfortable and clean. Already recommended to friends x...Read less.

"Lovely hideaway"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Dec 2018

02/01/2019

Stayed in winter over Christmas. Lovely owners. Lots to do in the local area and perfectly placed just outside bodmin abd within driving / cycling distance of both coasts.

"Lovely stay"

Miss L Jury - Stayed with family, Dec 2018

10/12/2018

Had a lovely weekend staying in the wigwam very cosy and warm, great facilities our two year old found it very exciting much easier than camping with little ones. Will definitely be returning 😃

"The place to stay"

Mrs. K Overton - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

30/11/2018

For the peace and tranquility we needed our stay was exceptional as always

"Woodland retreat"

Mrs M Legg - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

29/11/2018

A wonderful haven in the middle of nowhere!

"Can't wait to return"

Mrs R Postma - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

16/11/2018

Recently returned from a 3 night stay here and we are already planning when to go back! We stayed in a log cabin which was spotless and had everything you need. The freindly owners put the heating on......Read more.

Recently returned from a 3 night stay here and we are already planning when to go back! We stayed in a log cabin which was spotless and had everything you need. The freindly owners put the heating on before we arrived so it was toasty and warm when we got in. Perfectly situated for walks in the woods and the camal trail. Other things to do, ie: Newquay zoo only 20/30 mins drive away. We will definitely be returning...Read less.

"Location"

Ms M Nicholson - Stayed with family, Nov 2018

16/11/2018

Very peaceful location with only a short drive to great beaches, shops and other amenities.

"Mountain bike get away..."

Mrs L Lyndsell - Stayed with family, Oct 2018

06/11/2018

A fantastic holiday location for peace and tranquility. With amazing cycling right on your doorstep or a short drive away. We loved our short break and can't wait to return again next year.

"Our brief stay"

P North - Stayed with family, Oct 2018

01/11/2018

Quiet lovely warm wigwam just what you needed for our over night stay

"Photography on tour"

Mr M Smith - Stayed with friends, Oct 2018

31/10/2018

Great accommodation for 2 photographers on tour. Cycling Camel trail, walking coast path.

"Family weekend break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2018

28/10/2018

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the lodges, which has all the things you would need for a stay. The area is lovely and the staff very friendly and accommodating. Close access to some great walks and......Read more.

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the lodges, which has all the things you would need for a stay. The area is lovely and the staff very friendly and accommodating. Close access to some great walks and bike rides and plenty to do in the local area. Would definitely stay again....Read less.

"Hideaway"

Mr T Walling - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

22/10/2018

A small pleasant site, situated within a woodland near a quiet village. Unfortunately toilet block very basic and partly closed due to wall falling down. Had been very wet and at this time of year......Read more.

A small pleasant site, situated within a woodland near a quiet village. Unfortunately toilet block very basic and partly closed due to wall falling down. Had been very wet and at this time of year tree leaves falling so very damp. During the summer I am sure it is a wonderful hideaway. Ideal for a quiet relax after a visit to Cornish attractions. Lot of Lodges,bungalows and Pods as well. Owner very pleasant and helpful keeping small shop well stocked. Pleasant stay....Read less.

© 2006 - 2019 CampStead