Porthtowan Tourist Park

158 Reviews

4.9 / 5 overall rating based on 158 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

96%

Very Good

4%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Friendly stay, felt like home coming"

Mr M Plomp - Stayed with family, May 2022

21/05/2022

Beautiful grass and friendly owners. Loved id!

"Well kept site"

Mr N Skinner - Stayed with partner, May 2022

20/05/2022

Enjoyed our stay at this park. Site and facilities were well maintained and spotlessly clean

"Holiday"

G Erskine - Stayed with partner, May 2022

15/05/2022

Just so relaxing and excellent staff and facilities

Never used some facilities so not able to comment.

But would expect same high standard.

Will be back for two weeks next time.

Hopefully this......Read more.

Just so relaxing and excellent staff and facilities

Never used some facilities so not able to comment.

But would expect same high standard.

Will be back for two weeks next time.

Hopefully this review helps people book with confidence.

Many thanks....Read less.

"Outstanding Site"

S Dye - Stayed with partner, May 2022

13/05/2022

This site has to be the best we’ve ever stayed at. The whole park was spotless and the owners most helpful and very welcoming. Lovely big flat pitches, and a free games room which we had to......Read more.

This site has to be the best we’ve ever stayed at. The whole park was spotless and the owners most helpful and very welcoming. Lovely big flat pitches, and a free games room which we had to ourselves. Highly recommended....Read less.

"5 star all the way 👍"

Miss S Pearce - Stayed with partner, May 2022

12/05/2022

Can not reccomend highly enough. We stayed 6 nights and were so pleased with the warm friendly welcome, spotlessly clean toilets & showers and generally cleanliness of the whole campsite. The shop......Read more.

Can not reccomend highly enough. We stayed 6 nights and were so pleased with the warm friendly welcome, spotlessly clean toilets & showers and generally cleanliness of the whole campsite. The shop covers all the essentials but a short drive away there is a Tesco. It's a beautiful sea view walk to the beach approx 2 miles or road walk 1 mile. The village and beach is beautiful with choice of places to eat and drink. We just absolutely loved it....Read less.

"Friendly and Ultra clean."

C Hudd - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

07/05/2022

What a little gem this site is, if you're looking for somewhere that's fresh and spotlessly clean with friendly staff....you have just found it, you just can't fault it, the challenge would be to try......Read more.

What a little gem this site is, if you're looking for somewhere that's fresh and spotlessly clean with friendly staff....you have just found it, you just can't fault it, the challenge would be to try and find some dirt or dust or mould i bet you wont, i have never seen facilities so clean.

Its a credit to the owners, wish there were more like this....Read less.

"Maria"

M Walton - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

06/05/2022

Lovely site. Very clean. Great quality facilities . Fab location for St Agnes areas and Truro, and A30 for wider Cornwall. Will definitely visit again.

"Perfect, quiet family-run tourist park on the north coast of Cornwall."

Mr J Ruddlesden - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

06/05/2022

Spotlessly clean and extremely well-maintained site. Andrew and Angie do everything possible to make sure all facilities are of the highest order. The site has a small but well-stocked shop, but no......Read more.

Spotlessly clean and extremely well-maintained site. Andrew and Angie do everything possible to make sure all facilities are of the highest order. The site has a small but well-stocked shop, but no clubhouse or amusements.

There is a games room with free to use pool and table-tennis tables plus information brochures and free to borrow books and DVDs. This suits us ideally....Read less.

"Porthtowan Campsite Review JS April 2022"

J Sinclair - Stayed Apr 2022

02/05/2022

A very well run and spotlessly clean camp site. The team at the site were very friendly and welcoming. I haven't stayed in a camp site sine I was a small boy - what a contrast !

"Outstanding site"

Ms D Duthie - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

27/04/2022

Have been camping for 40 odd years,this is by far a 5 + star campsite.Pitchs are a good size,toilet block immaculate, infact the whole site was immaculate. Staff very friendly, and bouns a pizza van......Read more.

Have been camping for 40 odd years,this is by far a 5 + star campsite.Pitchs are a good size,toilet block immaculate, infact the whole site was immaculate. Staff very friendly, and bouns a pizza van came onsite, all freshly made.

Security was very good aswell.👍...Read less.

"5* Campsite 5* Stay"

Mr D Farmer - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

25/04/2022

Our 2 nd visit to the campsite which maintains high standards which is evident as soon as you arrive. Numerous signage of does and don'ts.

Standards are high but once on site you can be assured of a......Read more.

Our 2 nd visit to the campsite which maintains high standards which is evident as soon as you arrive. Numerous signage of does and don'ts.

Standards are high but once on site you can be assured of a lovely stay. It's quiet it's clean, the facilities are spotless.

A dog Excercise area has video surveillance 🤔 not sure if it's monitored but l have never found dog mess left so guess this speaks volumes that those who come to this campsite understand that standards are a priority and doesn't put campers off.

As we have a Motorhome the site isn't close to a beach. The nearest being Porthtowan. So unless you have a bike then it's a good walk approx 3/4 hour. By car then 10 minutes. Portreath is the next beach approx 4 miles away and St Agnes 6 miles. So no problem for those with a car as for buses we saw 2 in our one weeks stay so they do run but probably infrequent.

All in all a very nice campsite....Read less.

"Great quiet site"

Mr S Tuffley - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

23/04/2022

Great quiet site

"Excellent park"

N Pask - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

21/04/2022

We loved our stay and will be booking again beautiful park lovely people.

"First class site"

K Parrott-Edwards - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

17/04/2022

We had another wonderful stay at Porthtowan with our family. The location is perfect and facilitates immaculate. The site owners are fantastic hosts and we hope to be back again soon.

"Best campsite I’ve stayed at"

A Amato - Stayed Apr 2022

16/04/2022

I had some car trouble with traffic and calling out the AA on the way over to Cornwall and the owners were very understanding and came out to greet me way past last check in. They were so helpful......Read more.

I had some car trouble with traffic and calling out the AA on the way over to Cornwall and the owners were very understanding and came out to greet me way past last check in. They were so helpful explaining where to pitch my tent and how to work the barrier etc. the facilities were very very clean, and are throughly cleaned everyday. The campsite is well maintained and very secure. The location is great and super close to local beaches. Would really recommend!...Read less.

"Excellent"

L Keane - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

11/04/2022

Very clean and staff were very friendly and helpful.

"Perfect site for 10 days Holiday"

V Johnson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

05/10/2021

When we were looking to stay somewhere our list was close to beach, good facilities and amenities a walk away. Porthtowan and the campsite ticked every box and more. We loved our stay!

We arrived......Read more.

When we were looking to stay somewhere our list was close to beach, good facilities and amenities a walk away. Porthtowan and the campsite ticked every box and more. We loved our stay!

We arrived early after a long journey but we were welcomed allowed to use the facilities and luckily someone left so we were allowed to take their spot straightaway. The family run buisness and employees are just so lovely and very helpful! We would recommend this site to our friends and family - but not to many as we still want to get a space ourselves :)

We look forward to returning soon! Enjoy your own holiday and recoup before the holiday season starts again.

Victoria and Josh Johnson...Read less.

"Best night of our honeymoon"

Mr J Vincent - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

03/10/2021

We hired a camper van and stayed at a different location every night of the week, so Porthtowan was booked purely on location. However, this was by far the most welcoming and most comfortable stay of......Read more.

We hired a camper van and stayed at a different location every night of the week, so Porthtowan was booked purely on location. However, this was by far the most welcoming and most comfortable stay of the week - beautifully kept and level grounds, amazingly friendly greeting and conversation with the owners, clean and modern facilities. I’d wished we were there for more than one night so we could have tried out the games room and other facilities that we just didn’t have time for, and so next time we will be staying for a week, without question....Read less.

"great place"

Mrs E Willetts ( 1s ) - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

03/10/2021

great place to be

"Return visit"

Mr & Mrs R Martin - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

02/10/2021

Owners hospitality second to none have booked for next year site is central to most areas

"Excellent site"

M Harrison - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

30/09/2021

The site is spotless. Andrew and Angie work tirelessly to provide an excellent site. Good size plots, some hard standing and full service, others on grass.

This site gets booked up very early - a......Read more.

The site is spotless. Andrew and Angie work tirelessly to provide an excellent site. Good size plots, some hard standing and full service, others on grass.

This site gets booked up very early - a sign of returning customers....Read less.

"Roy"

R Gameson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

26/09/2021

Excellent

"Tidy . Clean. Friendly"

P Evans - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

26/09/2021

Nice friendly people. Site is well organised . Very clean and safe.

"Picturesque well run site"

Mr S Williams - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

26/09/2021

Well tended site run by a friendly, helpful crew. Spotless facilities and a well stocked little shop. Situated on a hill a mile or so from the coast and the village of Porthtowan with it’s surfers......Read more.

Well tended site run by a friendly, helpful crew. Spotless facilities and a well stocked little shop. Situated on a hill a mile or so from the coast and the village of Porthtowan with it’s surfers paradise beach....Read less.

"Lovely little find"

Mrs R Morley - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

Lovely clean and tidy caravan and camping park. Wouldn’t hesitate to return

"Enjoyable and relaxing Holiday"

Mr C Allott - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

Very friendly owners, nothing appears to be any problem, always on hand to give help when needed, site very clean and tidy. would recommend to anyone to try out the site.

"Great site, brilliant staff"

S Gibson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

First time on this site, and will definitely return next season. Helpful, friendly and welcoming staff, clean facilities and lovely hot showers!! Large pitch and everyone it well spaced out!

Highly......Read more.

First time on this site, and will definitely return next season. Helpful, friendly and welcoming staff, clean facilities and lovely hot showers!! Large pitch and everyone it well spaced out!

Highly recommended...Read less.

"Return to Porthtowan again"

Mrs* Higman - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

This site is, in our opinion, the best we've visited. Well laid out, very clean neat and tidy and friendly helpful staff.

The location is great to visit both coasts and Porthtowan beach itself is......Read more.

This site is, in our opinion, the best we've visited. Well laid out, very clean neat and tidy and friendly helpful staff.

The location is great to visit both coasts and Porthtowan beach itself is lifeguarded and beautiful....Read less.

"Perfect place for total relaxation"

Mr T Madeley - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

21/09/2021

This site is small, but has all the facilities that you could wish for. Pitches are a really good size and you are not overcrowded by your neighbours. Everything is kept very neat and tidy. The......Read more.

This site is small, but has all the facilities that you could wish for. Pitches are a really good size and you are not overcrowded by your neighbours. Everything is kept very neat and tidy. The toilets and showers are kept immaculately clean. We did not use the games room as we were usually out exploring the wonderful Cornish coastlines. Pizza mobile van was on site on Saturday when we first arrived so this was very welcome once we had everything set up. Very tasty. Andrew & Angela are very welcoming and work extremely hard to ensure that everything is kept in tip top condition....Read less.

"Excellent location and value for money"

H Mullarkey - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

20/09/2021

Staff,very kind and helpful. Location spot on for us. Site spotless. I would/have recommended to others.

"Summer holiday"

A Davies - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

19/09/2021

Excellent place to stay both where it is and the high standard of the park

"Thank you"

Miss E Ormiston - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

17/09/2021

We had a wonderful stay, the site was impeccable, the family running the site couldn't have done any more around the site. The facilities were kept very clean and checked regularly from early in the......Read more.

We had a wonderful stay, the site was impeccable, the family running the site couldn't have done any more around the site. The facilities were kept very clean and checked regularly from early in the morning to late at night. The pitches & the rest of the site were well looked after, very neat and tidy. The only thing I can think of is a light on the sign at the gates for finding the entrance in the dark. Great base for exploring Cornwall and we'd definitely choose to come again! Thank you very much :)...Read less.

"Porthtowan Tourist Park"

Mrs J Cromack - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

16/09/2021

Another great Hol. at Porthtowan.

Highlight- swimming in Porthleven outer harbour on a high tide.

Try the Hot Chocolate at the Hub in Portreath- Yummy!

"Very Clean but make sure you have transport"

N Hill - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

We are motorhomers and found the biggest drawback of this site is the fact there is not really that much to do within reasonable cycling distance (Cornwall’s road network is not somewhere for regular......Read more.

We are motorhomers and found the biggest drawback of this site is the fact there is not really that much to do within reasonable cycling distance (Cornwall’s road network is not somewhere for regular use of large motorhomes if you want your stress levels low!) We would also like to see a bigger dog walking area and more dog poo bins on site if possible.

The site itself is very good, friendly owners, immaculate toilets/showers and large well spaced out pitches. There’s also a pizza van that visits on weekends which is definitely worth trying.

It’s a very site so book well in advance to secure your reservation

In summary definitely recommended for those campers with van/cars/motorcycles to use to get around but not really recommended for longer stays if you’re pitching up your motorhome and are getting about on bicycles...Read less.

"Going Back AGAIN and Again and AGAIN!!!"

Mr. L Thompson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

Have stayed at Porth Towan Tourist Park twice a year for several years.The owners are brilliant and will do anything to help. Every time I return they have made further improvements which must be......Read more.

Have stayed at Porth Towan Tourist Park twice a year for several years.The owners are brilliant and will do anything to help. Every time I return they have made further improvements which must be hard as the site is perfect. Spotless facilities with large pitches. Brilliant site....Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mrs C Lawrence - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

Had a lovely stay here. Very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely will return.

"Lovely stay"

D Datson - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

14/09/2021

First time we towed a caravan to Cornwall , it’s a lovely clean site , nice and quiet with spotless shower blocks and facilities , a good walk to the beach for an evening drink if wanted but we were......Read more.

First time we towed a caravan to Cornwall , it’s a lovely clean site , nice and quiet with spotless shower blocks and facilities , a good walk to the beach for an evening drink if wanted but we were happy to spend the evenings basking in the evening sun or in awning....Read less.

"Super Campsite!"

Mrs N McCall - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

13/09/2021

We have been coming to this beautiful campsite for over 10 years and would highly recommend it! Great location for the local beaches and surrounding area.

Always very friendly staff and the owners......Read more.

We have been coming to this beautiful campsite for over 10 years and would highly recommend it! Great location for the local beaches and surrounding area.

Always very friendly staff and the owners Andy and Angie are always accommodating and helpful when ever we needed anything.

The washroom areas and toilets were immaculate any time of the day or night. Very impressed with the cleanliness of the campsite.

Family friendly site and one that we will keep returning year after year! Thanks for a great holiday again this year and will definitely see you next year! 5 star ⭐️ ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️...Read less.

"4th stay and superb every time!"

Mr J Quinlan - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

12/09/2021

This is probably the best campsite you could ever hope for - well layed out, never too crowded, nice flat, well drained pitches. Owner can not do enough for you and the facilities are always clean......Read more.

This is probably the best campsite you could ever hope for - well layed out, never too crowded, nice flat, well drained pitches. Owner can not do enough for you and the facilities are always clean and well stocked.

100% perfect!...Read less.

"Excellent site"

Mr A Kidd - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

12/09/2021

Spotlessly clean and tidy site in a good location. Highly recommended.

"Amazing site"

L Cameron - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

11/09/2021

Our second visit Andrew Angie And all of the rest of the team can not do enough to help you.

Site is immaculately clean this includes all of the communal washing areas.

No noise disturbance overnight......Read more.

Our second visit Andrew Angie And all of the rest of the team can not do enough to help you.

Site is immaculately clean this includes all of the communal washing areas.

No noise disturbance overnight all site rules adhered to by visitors

Would definitely recommend to friends and we have already booked our return visit next year...Read less.

"Truly excellent site!"

R Mackay - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

10/09/2021

We loved this site, the facilities were so clean and lovely. Loved the enclosed dog walking area. Staff were lovely

"Fantastic"

G Spedding - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

Fantastic, we had a grass pitch with electric hook up,pitches a great size even for the biggest of tents with car. Staff were so friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Facilities were......Read more.

Fantastic, we had a grass pitch with electric hook up,pitches a great size even for the biggest of tents with car. Staff were so friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Facilities were extremely clean and regularly checked. Enjoyed it that much we book for next year before we left 😊...Read less.

"Excellent campsite"

Mr A Thorne - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

09/09/2021

We really enjoyed our stay at Porthowan. This campsite is extremely well run, the pitches are Flat and immaculately looked after and the toilet and washing facilities are probably the cleanest we've......Read more.

We really enjoyed our stay at Porthowan. This campsite is extremely well run, the pitches are Flat and immaculately looked after and the toilet and washing facilities are probably the cleanest we've seen. Throw in friendly and very helpful staff and you're onto a winner. Great site....Read less.

"Warm welcome"

D Wallace - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

06/09/2021

We were given the warmest welcome when we arrived and the friendly staff were always on hand if we needed anything. It is a calm family atmosphere and close to some nice sandy surf beaches and......Read more.

We were given the warmest welcome when we arrived and the friendly staff were always on hand if we needed anything. It is a calm family atmosphere and close to some nice sandy surf beaches and footpath along the cliffs. The facilities and park were spotless and it was great to play a game of pool for free. Highly recommend Porthtowan Tourist Park and we will be back again!...Read less.

"Extremely clean and friendly site"

S Marren - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

06/09/2021

I cannot fault this park at all. The owners work very hard all day every day, keeping the site spotlessly clean and tidy. We will definitely be returning and I can’t rate this park highly enough.

"3rd visit"

Mr J Ward - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

05/09/2021

As always welcomed with a big smile, wonderful location and very peaceful and relaxing, plenty of things to do in the area. We love this site because it's so safe for children and the outstanding......Read more.

As always welcomed with a big smile, wonderful location and very peaceful and relaxing, plenty of things to do in the area. We love this site because it's so safe for children and the outstanding cleanliness of the onsite facilities...Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Mrs D Stanley - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

04/09/2021

Lovely campsite with all the facilities that you can possibly think of needing for a stay near the beach in Cornwall. All the pitches are flat, the toilet/shower block is clean and the showers are......Read more.

Lovely campsite with all the facilities that you can possibly think of needing for a stay near the beach in Cornwall. All the pitches are flat, the toilet/shower block is clean and the showers are free, hot and considerately laid out so that your clothes don't get wet while you're washing yourself (all bug bears of mine!) Andy and Angie are lovely and really helpful and are always about on site with a smile and greeting and will do their very best to keep everybody happy. I like the fact that kids have to be off the park by dark and everyone has to be quiet by 11, as all the pitches are close together and as you know, noise travels easily through canvas! The beaches nearby are great and there are Tesco's and Aldi a short drive away for big food shops. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back....Read less.

"Lovely place"

J Robertson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

04/09/2021

This was our second visit. Great spot in easy reach of lots of well known Cornwall treasures. I love that you can walk to the beach and be active as it’s next to the coastal path.

The site feels......Read more.

This was our second visit. Great spot in easy reach of lots of well known Cornwall treasures. I love that you can walk to the beach and be active as it’s next to the coastal path.

The site feels safe and everyone appears happy.

We enjoyed being able to get a pizza on Sunday....Read less.

© 2006 - 2022 CampStead