Porthtowan Tourist Park

154 Reviews

4.9 / 5 overall rating based on 154 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

95%

Very Good

4%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Perfect site for 10 days Holiday"

V Johnson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

05/10/2021

When we were looking to stay somewhere our list was close to beach, good facilities and amenities a walk away. Porthtowan and the campsite ticked every box and more. We loved our stay!

We arrived......Read more.

When we were looking to stay somewhere our list was close to beach, good facilities and amenities a walk away. Porthtowan and the campsite ticked every box and more. We loved our stay!

We arrived early after a long journey but we were welcomed allowed to use the facilities and luckily someone left so we were allowed to take their spot straightaway. The family run buisness and employees are just so lovely and very helpful! We would recommend this site to our friends and family - but not to many as we still want to get a space ourselves :)

We look forward to returning soon! Enjoy your own holiday and recoup before the holiday season starts again.

Victoria and Josh Johnson...Read less.

"Best night of our honeymoon"

Mr J Vincent - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

03/10/2021

We hired a camper van and stayed at a different location every night of the week, so Porthtowan was booked purely on location. However, this was by far the most welcoming and most comfortable stay of......Read more.

We hired a camper van and stayed at a different location every night of the week, so Porthtowan was booked purely on location. However, this was by far the most welcoming and most comfortable stay of the week - beautifully kept and level grounds, amazingly friendly greeting and conversation with the owners, clean and modern facilities. I’d wished we were there for more than one night so we could have tried out the games room and other facilities that we just didn’t have time for, and so next time we will be staying for a week, without question....Read less.

"great place"

Mrs E Willetts ( 1s ) - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

03/10/2021

great place to be

"Return visit"

Mr & Mrs R Martin - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

02/10/2021

Owners hospitality second to none have booked for next year site is central to most areas

"Excellent site"

M Harrison - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

30/09/2021

The site is spotless. Andrew and Angie work tirelessly to provide an excellent site. Good size plots, some hard standing and full service, others on grass.

This site gets booked up very early - a......Read more.

The site is spotless. Andrew and Angie work tirelessly to provide an excellent site. Good size plots, some hard standing and full service, others on grass.

This site gets booked up very early - a sign of returning customers....Read less.

"Roy"

R Gameson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

26/09/2021

Excellent

"Tidy . Clean. Friendly"

P Evans - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

26/09/2021

Nice friendly people. Site is well organised . Very clean and safe.

"Picturesque well run site"

Mr S Williams - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

26/09/2021

Well tended site run by a friendly, helpful crew. Spotless facilities and a well stocked little shop. Situated on a hill a mile or so from the coast and the village of Porthtowan with it’s surfers......Read more.

Well tended site run by a friendly, helpful crew. Spotless facilities and a well stocked little shop. Situated on a hill a mile or so from the coast and the village of Porthtowan with it’s surfers paradise beach....Read less.

"Lovely little find"

Mrs R Morley - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

Lovely clean and tidy caravan and camping park. Wouldn’t hesitate to return

"Enjoyable and relaxing Holiday"

Mr C Allott - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

Very friendly owners, nothing appears to be any problem, always on hand to give help when needed, site very clean and tidy. would recommend to anyone to try out the site.

"Great site, brilliant staff"

S Gibson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

First time on this site, and will definitely return next season. Helpful, friendly and welcoming staff, clean facilities and lovely hot showers!! Large pitch and everyone it well spaced out!

Highly......Read more.

First time on this site, and will definitely return next season. Helpful, friendly and welcoming staff, clean facilities and lovely hot showers!! Large pitch and everyone it well spaced out!

Highly recommended...Read less.

"Return to Porthtowan again"

Mrs* Higman - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

This site is, in our opinion, the best we've visited. Well laid out, very clean neat and tidy and friendly helpful staff.

The location is great to visit both coasts and Porthtowan beach itself is......Read more.

This site is, in our opinion, the best we've visited. Well laid out, very clean neat and tidy and friendly helpful staff.

The location is great to visit both coasts and Porthtowan beach itself is lifeguarded and beautiful....Read less.

"Perfect place for total relaxation"

Mr T Madeley - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

21/09/2021

This site is small, but has all the facilities that you could wish for. Pitches are a really good size and you are not overcrowded by your neighbours. Everything is kept very neat and tidy. The......Read more.

This site is small, but has all the facilities that you could wish for. Pitches are a really good size and you are not overcrowded by your neighbours. Everything is kept very neat and tidy. The toilets and showers are kept immaculately clean. We did not use the games room as we were usually out exploring the wonderful Cornish coastlines. Pizza mobile van was on site on Saturday when we first arrived so this was very welcome once we had everything set up. Very tasty. Andrew & Angela are very welcoming and work extremely hard to ensure that everything is kept in tip top condition....Read less.

"Excellent location and value for money"

H Mullarkey - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

20/09/2021

Staff,very kind and helpful. Location spot on for us. Site spotless. I would/have recommended to others.

"Summer holiday"

A Davies - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

19/09/2021

Excellent place to stay both where it is and the high standard of the park

"Thank you"

Miss E Ormiston - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

17/09/2021

We had a wonderful stay, the site was impeccable, the family running the site couldn't have done any more around the site. The facilities were kept very clean and checked regularly from early in the......Read more.

We had a wonderful stay, the site was impeccable, the family running the site couldn't have done any more around the site. The facilities were kept very clean and checked regularly from early in the morning to late at night. The pitches & the rest of the site were well looked after, very neat and tidy. The only thing I can think of is a light on the sign at the gates for finding the entrance in the dark. Great base for exploring Cornwall and we'd definitely choose to come again! Thank you very much :)...Read less.

"Porthtowan Tourist Park"

Mrs J Cromack - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

16/09/2021

Another great Hol. at Porthtowan.

Highlight- swimming in Porthleven outer harbour on a high tide.

Try the Hot Chocolate at the Hub in Portreath- Yummy!

"Very Clean but make sure you have transport"

N Hill - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

We are motorhomers and found the biggest drawback of this site is the fact there is not really that much to do within reasonable cycling distance (Cornwall’s road network is not somewhere for regular......Read more.

We are motorhomers and found the biggest drawback of this site is the fact there is not really that much to do within reasonable cycling distance (Cornwall’s road network is not somewhere for regular use of large motorhomes if you want your stress levels low!) We would also like to see a bigger dog walking area and more dog poo bins on site if possible.

The site itself is very good, friendly owners, immaculate toilets/showers and large well spaced out pitches. There’s also a pizza van that visits on weekends which is definitely worth trying.

It’s a very site so book well in advance to secure your reservation

In summary definitely recommended for those campers with van/cars/motorcycles to use to get around but not really recommended for longer stays if you’re pitching up your motorhome and are getting about on bicycles...Read less.

"Going Back AGAIN and Again and AGAIN!!!"

Mr. L Thompson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

Have stayed at Porth Towan Tourist Park twice a year for several years.The owners are brilliant and will do anything to help. Every time I return they have made further improvements which must be......Read more.

Have stayed at Porth Towan Tourist Park twice a year for several years.The owners are brilliant and will do anything to help. Every time I return they have made further improvements which must be hard as the site is perfect. Spotless facilities with large pitches. Brilliant site....Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mrs C Lawrence - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

Had a lovely stay here. Very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely will return.

"Lovely stay"

D Datson - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

14/09/2021

First time we towed a caravan to Cornwall , it’s a lovely clean site , nice and quiet with spotless shower blocks and facilities , a good walk to the beach for an evening drink if wanted but we were......Read more.

First time we towed a caravan to Cornwall , it’s a lovely clean site , nice and quiet with spotless shower blocks and facilities , a good walk to the beach for an evening drink if wanted but we were happy to spend the evenings basking in the evening sun or in awning....Read less.

"Super Campsite!"

Mrs N McCall - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

13/09/2021

We have been coming to this beautiful campsite for over 10 years and would highly recommend it! Great location for the local beaches and surrounding area.

Always very friendly staff and the owners......Read more.

We have been coming to this beautiful campsite for over 10 years and would highly recommend it! Great location for the local beaches and surrounding area.

Always very friendly staff and the owners Andy and Angie are always accommodating and helpful when ever we needed anything.

The washroom areas and toilets were immaculate any time of the day or night. Very impressed with the cleanliness of the campsite.

Family friendly site and one that we will keep returning year after year! Thanks for a great holiday again this year and will definitely see you next year! 5 star ⭐️ ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️...Read less.

"4th stay and superb every time!"

Mr J Quinlan - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

12/09/2021

This is probably the best campsite you could ever hope for - well layed out, never too crowded, nice flat, well drained pitches. Owner can not do enough for you and the facilities are always clean......Read more.

This is probably the best campsite you could ever hope for - well layed out, never too crowded, nice flat, well drained pitches. Owner can not do enough for you and the facilities are always clean and well stocked.

100% perfect!...Read less.

"Excellent site"

Mr A Kidd - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

12/09/2021

Spotlessly clean and tidy site in a good location. Highly recommended.

"Amazing site"

L Cameron - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

11/09/2021

Our second visit Andrew Angie And all of the rest of the team can not do enough to help you.

Site is immaculately clean this includes all of the communal washing areas.

No noise disturbance overnight......Read more.

Our second visit Andrew Angie And all of the rest of the team can not do enough to help you.

Site is immaculately clean this includes all of the communal washing areas.

No noise disturbance overnight all site rules adhered to by visitors

Would definitely recommend to friends and we have already booked our return visit next year...Read less.

"Truly excellent site!"

R Mackay - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

10/09/2021

We loved this site, the facilities were so clean and lovely. Loved the enclosed dog walking area. Staff were lovely

"Fantastic"

G Spedding - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

Fantastic, we had a grass pitch with electric hook up,pitches a great size even for the biggest of tents with car. Staff were so friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Facilities were......Read more.

Fantastic, we had a grass pitch with electric hook up,pitches a great size even for the biggest of tents with car. Staff were so friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Facilities were extremely clean and regularly checked. Enjoyed it that much we book for next year before we left 😊...Read less.

"Excellent campsite"

Mr A Thorne - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

09/09/2021

We really enjoyed our stay at Porthowan. This campsite is extremely well run, the pitches are Flat and immaculately looked after and the toilet and washing facilities are probably the cleanest we've......Read more.

We really enjoyed our stay at Porthowan. This campsite is extremely well run, the pitches are Flat and immaculately looked after and the toilet and washing facilities are probably the cleanest we've seen. Throw in friendly and very helpful staff and you're onto a winner. Great site....Read less.

"Warm welcome"

D Wallace - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

06/09/2021

We were given the warmest welcome when we arrived and the friendly staff were always on hand if we needed anything. It is a calm family atmosphere and close to some nice sandy surf beaches and......Read more.

We were given the warmest welcome when we arrived and the friendly staff were always on hand if we needed anything. It is a calm family atmosphere and close to some nice sandy surf beaches and footpath along the cliffs. The facilities and park were spotless and it was great to play a game of pool for free. Highly recommend Porthtowan Tourist Park and we will be back again!...Read less.

"Extremely clean and friendly site"

S Marren - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

06/09/2021

I cannot fault this park at all. The owners work very hard all day every day, keeping the site spotlessly clean and tidy. We will definitely be returning and I can’t rate this park highly enough.

"3rd visit"

Mr J Ward - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

05/09/2021

As always welcomed with a big smile, wonderful location and very peaceful and relaxing, plenty of things to do in the area. We love this site because it's so safe for children and the outstanding......Read more.

As always welcomed with a big smile, wonderful location and very peaceful and relaxing, plenty of things to do in the area. We love this site because it's so safe for children and the outstanding cleanliness of the onsite facilities...Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Mrs D Stanley - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

04/09/2021

Lovely campsite with all the facilities that you can possibly think of needing for a stay near the beach in Cornwall. All the pitches are flat, the toilet/shower block is clean and the showers are......Read more.

Lovely campsite with all the facilities that you can possibly think of needing for a stay near the beach in Cornwall. All the pitches are flat, the toilet/shower block is clean and the showers are free, hot and considerately laid out so that your clothes don't get wet while you're washing yourself (all bug bears of mine!) Andy and Angie are lovely and really helpful and are always about on site with a smile and greeting and will do their very best to keep everybody happy. I like the fact that kids have to be off the park by dark and everyone has to be quiet by 11, as all the pitches are close together and as you know, noise travels easily through canvas! The beaches nearby are great and there are Tesco's and Aldi a short drive away for big food shops. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back....Read less.

"Lovely place"

J Robertson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

04/09/2021

This was our second visit. Great spot in easy reach of lots of well known Cornwall treasures. I love that you can walk to the beach and be active as it’s next to the coastal path.

The site feels......Read more.

This was our second visit. Great spot in easy reach of lots of well known Cornwall treasures. I love that you can walk to the beach and be active as it’s next to the coastal path.

The site feels safe and everyone appears happy.

We enjoyed being able to get a pizza on Sunday....Read less.

"3rd visit"

Miss C Jones - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

02/09/2021

Excellent Camping facilities in a clean well kept site. 1 mile from the beach, great location.

The staff always had a happy greeting. Lawns were mowed everyday. Rubbish collected everyday. Showers......Read more.

Excellent Camping facilities in a clean well kept site. 1 mile from the beach, great location.

The staff always had a happy greeting. Lawns were mowed everyday. Rubbish collected everyday. Showers cleaned everyday.

Cannot fault the park.

We didn't have children so cannot comment on facilities but sounded like they all made lots of new friends.

Definite 5 star site and would recommend it...Read less.

"Absolutely beautiful"

S Bancroft - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

02/09/2021

A fantastic site with really great owners. They were very welcoming and friendly. The site is in a great location for exploring the area. We would highly recommend and will return again.

"Very clean and friendly site"

S Scrivener - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

01/09/2021

We stayed here for our summer holiday, which I booked back in January.

Prior to the holiday we paid our balance as stated in the small print.

The only grudge was receiving an email within the last......Read more.

We stayed here for our summer holiday, which I booked back in January.

Prior to the holiday we paid our balance as stated in the small print.

The only grudge was receiving an email within the last week to say that would not able to use scooters, skateboards and bikes around the park, and only soft balls provided by them could be used. I know the reasons why, but sadly for us and our 9 yr old it was quite a big negative. For this reason we would not return, our son is quite shy to enter the play area alone I felt going round on his scooter would help socialise a little more.

But beautiful site which was very well maintained in a beautiful spot of Cornwall....Read less.

"Wonderful 3 nights"

S Hutchinson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

Angie and Andrew looked after us wonderfully, We arrived, 4 of us in out T6 Camper and were directed to a lovely pitch with power, and water a few paces away, with immaculate facilities a few more......Read more.

Angie and Andrew looked after us wonderfully, We arrived, 4 of us in out T6 Camper and were directed to a lovely pitch with power, and water a few paces away, with immaculate facilities a few more steps towards the entrance of the park. We had everything we needed, small shop, showers, wash room pots and pans and wash room for wet suits. Everything was easy, everyone was super friendly and helped us with modifying our stay to be longer, found us a pitch sorted it out while we were out for the day, let us know by email and a phone call that we were ok for that evening. Basically made our road trip work perfectly, even with 4 in a T6 LWB ! They are on my go to list from now on.

Steve, Lynne Amber, Lola and Pippa the dog...Read less.

"Friendly and well kept"

C Thomas - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

26/08/2021

Having visited before, we were keen to come back. The site is always very clean and Andrew and Angie are always friendly and helpful. Our kids love the site too and spend hours in the park!

"Excellent stay"

K Payne - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

25/08/2021

We had a fantastic stay at Porthtowan tourist park. The site was extremely well kept, the staff were very friendly and helpful (at all hours of the day) and we had a really relaxing time. I would,......Read more.

We had a fantastic stay at Porthtowan tourist park. The site was extremely well kept, the staff were very friendly and helpful (at all hours of the day) and we had a really relaxing time. I would, without a doubt recommend this site to others, brilliant site and good location....Read less.

"Best site I have ever been on."

Mr M Cullen - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

24/08/2021

We selected the site based on its location only, without too much research. I have been on camping holidays since I was a boy, all over the Europe. This trip was with my 11 year old son and my......Read more.

We selected the site based on its location only, without too much research. I have been on camping holidays since I was a boy, all over the Europe. This trip was with my 11 year old son and my sister, who was a first time camper. Site was the cleanest I have ever been on. The staff were always helpful and took time to talk and smile. The shared facilities were always very clean and available. My son had a great time in the outdoor play areas. Couldn't recommend this site more. We have booked to revisit next year for another 2 weeks....Read less.

"Practically perfect"

Mrs E Byrne - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

22/08/2021

Such a wonderful campsite and the owners were so friendly. Thank you

"Fantastic!"

Mrs K Lloyd - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

21/08/2021

Porthtowan Tourist park is a lovely park, we found it easy to get to and a good base to get around to different places. The facilities are clean and really well looked after as is the whole site, the......Read more.

Porthtowan Tourist park is a lovely park, we found it easy to get to and a good base to get around to different places. The facilities are clean and really well looked after as is the whole site, the owners and staff are friendly and are available to help and look after their guests in any way they can. I cannot fault a thing about this park we love it as do our children, we will definitely be going back for a 3rd year....Read less.

"Another great stay"

Mr P Wood - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

20/08/2021

Been to Porthtowan several times before and always use this site. Andrew and Angie are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much for them. Their work ethic is second to none and along with their......Read more.

Been to Porthtowan several times before and always use this site. Andrew and Angie are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much for them. Their work ethic is second to none and along with their staff, they help to keep the site in immaculate condition. I look forward to being back there next year, again!...Read less.

"Booked during covid-19 2020"

P Green - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

20/08/2021

Highly recommended. Having stayed last year during covid-19, the owners couldn't of done anything more to prevent the spread of covid-19. Hygiene was the main agenda and they didn't disappoint. the......Read more.

Highly recommended. Having stayed last year during covid-19, the owners couldn't of done anything more to prevent the spread of covid-19. Hygiene was the main agenda and they didn't disappoint. the site is well maintained and the owners are very helpful. Top marks from me and the family for a wonderful stay. We booked for this year (2021) before we left last year. To us this was a prefect site for travelling to Lands end, Newquay, St Ives, Michaels Mount and Falmouth and many more....Read less.

"Porthtowan Tourist Park"

J Nelson - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

19/08/2021

Another great stay at Porthtowan, the site is immaculate, not got a bad word to say about it.

I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a campsite in Cornwall

"Camping with Friends"

Mr S Chung - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

18/08/2021

Always clean and the team maintains a very high standard in terms of cleanliness, facilities and ensures everyone is considerate of others

"A proper family holiday"

Mr C Morton - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

18/08/2021

After the last year, we needed a proper holiday and we got that with with our trip here. We had stopped before but the site had changed hands since then but there was no need to worry.

The site is......Read more.

After the last year, we needed a proper holiday and we got that with with our trip here. We had stopped before but the site had changed hands since then but there was no need to worry.

The site is spotless and very clean. The facilities are great and make stopping in our camper very easy. The staff are helpful and even keep the kids under control.

We had a great time and would recommend this site to anyone...we booked again for next year!!...Read less.

"Best campsite in the area"

Mrs B Deavall - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

18/08/2021

Love staying at Porthtowan Touist park. We love that it’s a small site with very up to date, clean facilities. The owners are the happiest and most friendliest and nothing is too much for them to......Read more.

Love staying at Porthtowan Touist park. We love that it’s a small site with very up to date, clean facilities. The owners are the happiest and most friendliest and nothing is too much for them to help you with. Would highly recommend!...Read less.

"Great site"

E Pearce - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

18/08/2021

Recently stayed here with my family, brilliant camp site, spotlessly clean, staff were cleaning and maintaining the site thoroughly throughout the day. Staff and owners were lovely and friendly, very......Read more.

Recently stayed here with my family, brilliant camp site, spotlessly clean, staff were cleaning and maintaining the site thoroughly throughout the day. Staff and owners were lovely and friendly, very helpful. Will definitely be returning next year xx...Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead