Porthtowan Tourist Park

98 Reviews

4.9 / 5 overall rating based on 98 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

98%

Very Good

2%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"A complete holiday"

Mr D Gribble - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

04/05/2021

Every time we go to Porthtowan campsite we are met with the same excellent standard of welcome, support, cleanliness and superb facilities. The site is such a great centre for visiting the......Read more.

Every time we go to Porthtowan campsite we are met with the same excellent standard of welcome, support, cleanliness and superb facilities. The site is such a great centre for visiting the surrounding coastline and attractions.

The staff go beyond the level to make you feel welcome and at the time of visiting safe and secure....Read less.

"Brillant"

V Bhatti - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

30/04/2021

Wot lovely location . Friendly is a understatement . Cleanliness excellent . Will return god willing .

"Beautiful site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

29/04/2021

Spotless facilities. Large pitches. Well kept. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location for visiting the area. Would recommend .

"Karen and Andrew Bradley April 2021"

A Bradley - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

24/04/2021

So we pulled up at the barrier and was met by the park owner Andy dam fine chap and nice guy he gave us our entry fob and told us our pich number. You are given some idiot proof instructions which is......Read more.

So we pulled up at the barrier and was met by the park owner Andy dam fine chap and nice guy he gave us our entry fob and told us our pich number. You are given some idiot proof instructions which is a nice touch on your pitch area no confusion and nobody straying into your space.

The park itself is stunningly manicured with the gardens and plants dog walking area etc perfectly maintained and its very quite no noise after 11.00pm if I remember correctly and it's enforced which is great. All facilities wash / toilet / waste disposal / wetsuit wash / etc etc are immaculate Andy and his wife work tirelessly to keep it this way and ask you to leave it as you found it can't be fairer than that. I guess if you are looking for Butlins in Cornwall this is not for you find another place to stay if you are looking for the above in a stunning part of the UK with fantastic hosts give Andy a call....Read less.

"Quiet"

Mrs S Baker - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

20/04/2021

Quiet, clean and friendly

"Fab campsite"

Mrs A Marriott - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

12/11/2020

Loved the site and very nice area. Lovely staff and will definitely return here.

"Last visit until next year"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

05/10/2020

A good location from which to tour the county. However, always nice to be back on site where we can relax in the peace and quiet.

The location suits our needs - good for walking, with a good......Read more.

A good location from which to tour the county. However, always nice to be back on site where we can relax in the peace and quiet.

The location suits our needs - good for walking, with a good variation of towns, villages and countryside nearby.

The campsite is clean, tidy, well run snd we feel very safe - especially in the present situation....Read less.

"September Break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

05/10/2020

The location is quite central, large pitches. Site very well kept and exceptional cleanliness in the toilet and shower areas. Our stay was very near the end of season but even with all of the changes......Read more.

The location is quite central, large pitches. Site very well kept and exceptional cleanliness in the toilet and shower areas. Our stay was very near the end of season but even with all of the changes and regulations caused by Covid, nothing was too much trouble for Andrew, Angie or James. Their pride and hard work reflects in the site, will definitely be recommending and visiting them again. Worth every penny and thank you from pitch 41....Read less.

"1st class site"

Mr S Hill - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

04/10/2020

Best site in Cornwall. Been here several times and wouldn’t go anywhere else. Everything about the site is 1st class.

"Review"

B Appleby - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

What else do you want me to say?

"Great Caravan Park"

Mrs G Omeara - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

Great location and caravan park. Owners are friendly, efficient and helpful. Site is well tended and facilities are always clean.

"Super"

Miss D Ellis - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

Stayed for 2 weeks. Spotlessly clean in all areas, friendly staff, location good for getting about the area. Will definitely go back.

"Great site with excellent facilities and helpful and friendly staff"

T Salt - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

30/09/2020

Facilities were excellent, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed my stay there, no hesitation in returning or recommending to others. Extra mesaures put in place for COVID we......Read more.

Facilities were excellent, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed my stay there, no hesitation in returning or recommending to others. Extra mesaures put in place for COVID we excellent, regular deep cleaning on a daily basis, hand sanitiser located in all areas of the site....Read less.

"Simply brilliant"

Mr M Bellfield - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

30/09/2020

Thanks all

We had a great time , we will certainly return

"Excellent site. Worth a visit. we will certainly return when in the area."

T Ireland - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

30/09/2020

First impressions were very good during the booking process, staff are helpful and friendly. Our pitch was a generous size and flat and and my impression was that all the pitches were of the same......Read more.

First impressions were very good during the booking process, staff are helpful and friendly. Our pitch was a generous size and flat and and my impression was that all the pitches were of the same quality. Facilities were superb and very clean. The site is well managed and is in a great place for touring Cornwall. Its about a mile to the beach and the pub / restaurant. ( be aware its up hill on the way back ) but well worth a visit. During our stay we felt welcome and safe, (the safety precautions on site were well managed but not obtrusive)....Read less.

"Lovely clean campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

29/09/2020

Very well maintained site with friendly and helpful owners ready to go the extra mile.

Sanitary facilities were spotless and covid restrictions were adhered to.

Large pitches and pleasant......Read more.

Very well maintained site with friendly and helpful owners ready to go the extra mile.

Sanitary facilities were spotless and covid restrictions were adhered to.

Large pitches and pleasant surroundings

Good base for visiting all ares in this beautiful area...Read less.

"Friendy.clean site"

Mr & Mrs R Martin - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

28/09/2020

Had a great stay owners could not do enough to make your stay enjoyable site facilities spotless

"Fantastic"

F Whittley - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

28/09/2020

All around an incredible park, the facilities were absolutely spotless, staff the friendliest people ive ever met, the pitches were well kept and spacious. In a lovely location for nearby beaches but......Read more.

All around an incredible park, the facilities were absolutely spotless, staff the friendliest people ive ever met, the pitches were well kept and spacious. In a lovely location for nearby beaches but also for exploring Cornwall. 10/10...Read less.

"Its my 1st time in Cornwall"

Mr R Allen - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

26/09/2020

I wish i was still camping till the end off the season had such a good time definitely going back 1st chance I can

"Holiday"

Mr K Warren - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

26/09/2020

Such a lovely clean tidy quiet site, staff/owners are helpful friendly and hard working. Pizza van arrives once a week. Toilets/showers are spotless. Will and have been back

"Title"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

..

"First sighting."

Mr P Andrew - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

We were impressed immediately on our arrival.From being greeted by Angie and efficiently and quickly booked in.

All facilities first class, everywhere spotlessly clean.Under the current Covid......Read more.

We were impressed immediately on our arrival.From being greeted by Angie and efficiently and quickly booked in.

All facilities first class, everywhere spotlessly clean.Under the current Covid problems we felt quite safe with all the precautions they had in place.Site is well planned out and pitches generous.

The site is very well run by Andy and Angie who are so pleasant along with their staff.Situated in a lovely area ,ten minutes from a lovely beach and many attractions nearby.We will be back!...Read less.

"Lovely campsite"

A Clark - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

We stayed for two weeks from the 8th September. The site owners were welcoming and friendly. The site facilities were spotless. Covid regulations adhered to. Pitches large for our bell tent and......Read more.

We stayed for two weeks from the 8th September. The site owners were welcoming and friendly. The site facilities were spotless. Covid regulations adhered to. Pitches large for our bell tent and camper. The shop was handy for basics. Site in good position to reach the many attractions that Cornwall has to offer. Thanks to Andrew,Angela and their staff we had a lovely holiday....Read less.

"Enjoyable and relaxing Holiday"

Mr C Allott - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

We once again had a truly excellent and relaxing time at Porthtowan Tourist Park, the staff were very helpful and went out of there way to make the break relaxing and enjoyable.

Both my wife and......Read more.

We once again had a truly excellent and relaxing time at Porthtowan Tourist Park, the staff were very helpful and went out of there way to make the break relaxing and enjoyable.

Both my wife and myself would have no hesitation in recommending Porthtowan Tourist Park to others, look forward to going back next year....Read less.

"Lovely campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

23/09/2020

Great location for a walk to the beach ~20mins. Facilities were clean and although the park seemed fairly full were never really busy.

Plenty of signage regarding covid guidance and quick easy......Read more.

Great location for a walk to the beach ~20mins. Facilities were clean and although the park seemed fairly full were never really busy.

Plenty of signage regarding covid guidance and quick easy check-in. Would definitely go back!...Read less.

"Great level site, great location to reach much of Cornwall’s attractions"

G Moran - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

We booked Porthtowan at the last minute and with a view to finding a place that would allow us to visit most of South Cornwall’s attractions, and in 4 days we visited a lot of places we had never......Read more.

We booked Porthtowan at the last minute and with a view to finding a place that would allow us to visit most of South Cornwall’s attractions, and in 4 days we visited a lot of places we had never been before. I got to John O’Groats in 1982 so getting to Lands End in 2020, was a 38 year journey and one off my bucket list.

We were pleasantly surprised by the site as although it was at the top of a hill, the whole site was flat and each pitch was a generous size at least 10m x 10m. There are tall firs surrounding the site which give a sense of seclusion and reduced the wind. The toilet & shower facilities were of a good standard and there was good sense that the site owners cared about the site and wanted all to enjoy their stay. I would return if in Cornwall again....Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mrs L Davy - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

Thankyou to all the staff for a lovely stay. Really friendly helpful staff we will def stay again.

"Going Back AGAIN and Again and AGAIN!!!"

Mr. L Thompson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

21/09/2020

Must be one of the best touring caravan parks I have ever stayed at. The camp and the owners are brilliant.

"Great campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

19/09/2020

We spent 10 nights at this great family run campsite. Nice big pitch, clean facilities and solid Covid precautions. Will be back for sure.

"Great campsite with great service"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Checking in was a pleasure due to the very helpful lady meeting and greeting. During our stay we had a great pitch, mind you all the pitches are very appealing, plenty of space and a site which is......Read more.

Checking in was a pleasure due to the very helpful lady meeting and greeting. During our stay we had a great pitch, mind you all the pitches are very appealing, plenty of space and a site which is very well maintained. After talking several times to the lady on reception we decided to stay a further evening due to the great site and her great personal service. One of the best sites we have visited so far in Cornwall....Read less.

"Welsh invaders"

D White - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

17/09/2020

Andrew an Co always welcoming.

no problem to much for them to sort out,

Porthtowan tourist crew

always very friendly

Helpful but straight, No nonsense on

......Read more.

Andrew an Co always welcoming.

no problem to much for them to sort out,

Porthtowan tourist crew

always very friendly

Helpful but straight, No nonsense on

there site

loverly children play area,

pool/snooker room ect

full shower/toilets/washing

drying facilities /waste disposal

ect

brilliantly run site close to all

your favorite places

Dave-Lesley

The Welsh Invaders

Well deserved

AA Gold Award 2020--2021...Read less.

"Fabulous Trip"

Miss M Andrews - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

We loved our one week stay at the campsite, it had excellent clean facilities, large and well organised plots and was a lovely campsite on the whole. We didn't want to leave!

"Quiet well looked after & very friendly 👍"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Fab site Really enjoyed our stay , a little out of town if you don’t have a car , no path at the side of the road Which with a dog was a bit tricky , but found a coastal path (longer but better) ,......Read more.

Fab site Really enjoyed our stay , a little out of town if you don’t have a car , no path at the side of the road Which with a dog was a bit tricky , but found a coastal path (longer but better) , be prepared for lots of hills ...

worth it though as Porthtowan is a fab small surfing paradise, definitely be back to this site....Read less.

"Excellent, friendly site"

G Malone - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Loved our stay here. Our kind of site, small, beautifully kept. Facilities spotlessly clean, good COVID measured in place. Staff/owners really friendly and helpful. Only minor, minor point would be......Read more.

Loved our stay here. Our kind of site, small, beautifully kept. Facilities spotlessly clean, good COVID measured in place. Staff/owners really friendly and helpful. Only minor, minor point would be the mirrors in the ladies loos being too low/small (I am 6ft though). Will definitely be back....Read less.

"Why we keep returning"

Mr J Ruddlesden - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

We have stayed at Porthtowan on many occasions. Two years' ago, we decided to stop touring with our caravan, and we now keep our van stored at Porthtowan. The site offers everything we need. ......Read more.

We have stayed at Porthtowan on many occasions. Two years' ago, we decided to stop touring with our caravan, and we now keep our van stored at Porthtowan. The site offers everything we need. All the facilities are spotlessly clean, and Andrew and Angie, the owners, are always extremely friendly and helpful. We don't want a bar or clubhouse, which the site doesn't have, but it does have a small but well stocked shop. If you want a small, well maintained, friendly, family-run site in Cornwall, this site offers everything you are looking for....Read less.

"Stay at porthtowen tourist park"

S Martin - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

12/09/2020

Enjoyed our stay very much, exceptional well run site

"Sept trip"

Mr K Alexander - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

11/09/2020

Lovely long weekend camping trip, very friendly welcoming site. We will return hopefully 2021.

"Superb"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

11/09/2020

The site is a very good site with all level pitches, it is also nicely located for visiting other parts of Cornwall.

"Family holiday with adult children"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

11/09/2020

Lovely campsite with large level pitches. Helpful, efficient and friendly hosts. Scenery stunning, great local walks, lovely clean beach within walking distance, local surf school Eskinzo brilliant.......Read more.

Lovely campsite with large level pitches. Helpful, efficient and friendly hosts. Scenery stunning, great local walks, lovely clean beach within walking distance, local surf school Eskinzo brilliant. Would definitely consider going back....Read less.

"Great Campsite"

N Kent - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

11/09/2020

Well positioned site, could not be better maintaied and very friendly staff/owners.

Looking forward to our next stay. Kk

"We will be back again & again!"

Mr. A Jackson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

10/09/2020

My wife and I have stayed here a few times now and never had a bad experience. Access to the site is easy and secure. Lovely, clean well run site with wonderful management. Andrew & Angie always make......Read more.

My wife and I have stayed here a few times now and never had a bad experience. Access to the site is easy and secure. Lovely, clean well run site with wonderful management. Andrew & Angie always make you feel welcome.

Pitches are spacious and well marked out. Level and flat all over the site. Walk to the beach at Porthtowan along the coastal path is great (wear good trainers it gets a bit stoney once you are off the tarmac road) If you want a drink Andrew and Angie have negotiated discounted rates with local taxi firm. There is lot's of information on the camp site board. Wonderful addition of a visiting Pizza service during the week! Great site for families and those who just want some peace and quiet! Dogs are welcome (on leads) BBQ's are allowed. The location is awesome and pretty much 30 - 40 minutes from anywhere like Kynance Cove, Falmouth etc. Porthtowan beach has a large car park and a smaller honest box car park but that fills up quickly.

Portreath is another beach is within cycling or driving distance. (cash car park only nearest the beach). From almost outside the Tourist park you can get on the mining trail bike ride, if that's your thing. Popular site, book early!...Read less.

"Amazing place!"

Ms N Vieira - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

Very friendly staff and the cleanest camping I have ever been.

"Great campsite, value for money"

V Green - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

09/09/2020

Just come back from a 10 day holiday break at Porthtowan Touring Park. Site was very clean and followed good practices regarding the current COVID-19 issues, which made us feel safe during our stay.......Read more.

Just come back from a 10 day holiday break at Porthtowan Touring Park. Site was very clean and followed good practices regarding the current COVID-19 issues, which made us feel safe during our stay. The site has great facilities for children, with a games room, park/play area which also had a small area for ball game (with the use of soft balls only, supplied by the site).

Pitches are very spacious and some well sheltered. I would recommend the site as it's location is great for adventuring out to other main attractions and locations.

Was impressed with the site so much, we've already booked for next year and looking forward to our return....Read less.

"Porthtowan"

J Bryan - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

09/09/2020

Very good site and excellent hosts

"Excellent site - wornderful staff"

Mr S Vans-Colina - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

09/09/2020

Everything great and we will return. However just one thing would be that we used our shower in the caravan all week becuase the temperature on the main showers is set too low in both mens and......Read more.

Everything great and we will return. However just one thing would be that we used our shower in the caravan all week becuase the temperature on the main showers is set too low in both mens and ladies. We tried a couple of times each on different nights and it didn't change.

...Read less.

"Well kept site"

N Jakes - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

08/09/2020

Lovely owners nice park kids loved the freedom immaculate everyday but very expensive have stayed for two weeks for less could not fault apart from that plus bonus of everything being open as still......Read more.

Lovely owners nice park kids loved the freedom immaculate everyday but very expensive have stayed for two weeks for less could not fault apart from that plus bonus of everything being open as still covid rules...Read less.

"Lovely relaxing stay"

Mr I Scott - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

07/09/2020

This was our second time at Porthtowan Tourist Park & it didn’t disappoint.

The site & facilities are kept immaculately clean & tidy, lots of hand sanitizers positioned where you need them.

The......Read more.

This was our second time at Porthtowan Tourist Park & it didn’t disappoint.

The site & facilities are kept immaculately clean & tidy, lots of hand sanitizers positioned where you need them.

The pitches are a very good size & well spaced.

Lots to do & visit in the local area & beautiful beaches.

...Read less.

"Returning customer"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

06/09/2020

Have been going back to Porthtowan for pass 3 years and have been more expressed each time I go back! Staff are absolutely amazing, facilities are always spotless, site is well situated from beach, I......Read more.

Have been going back to Porthtowan for pass 3 years and have been more expressed each time I go back! Staff are absolutely amazing, facilities are always spotless, site is well situated from beach, I love it here and will definitely be returning again!

...Read less.

"4 night stay"

S Jones - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

06/09/2020

Absolutely the cleanest site we have had the pleasure of staying on. Lovely pitches, a bit bigger pitch would have been nicer as we ruled out staying here with our friends the week before due to max......Read more.

Absolutely the cleanest site we have had the pleasure of staying on. Lovely pitches, a bit bigger pitch would have been nicer as we ruled out staying here with our friends the week before due to max pitch size. But for us alone it was great. I was apprehensive with the email sent prior which sounded like a lot of rules and regulations and was worried the owners were going to be very strict/overbearing. This was thankfully not the case, Andy was a very friendly guy who happily advised us on the best position for our van/tent/awning combo- the rules and standards just make for a very well run, lovely site. We will be back...Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead