Porthtowan Tourist Park

159 Reviews

4.9 / 5 overall rating based on 159 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

96%

Very Good

4%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Super Campsite!"

Mrs N McCall - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

13/09/2021

We have been coming to this beautiful campsite for over 10 years and would highly recommend it! Great location for the local beaches and surrounding area.

Always very friendly staff and the owners......Read more.

We have been coming to this beautiful campsite for over 10 years and would highly recommend it! Great location for the local beaches and surrounding area.

Always very friendly staff and the owners Andy and Angie are always accommodating and helpful when ever we needed anything.

The washroom areas and toilets were immaculate any time of the day or night. Very impressed with the cleanliness of the campsite.

Family friendly site and one that we will keep returning year after year! Thanks for a great holiday again this year and will definitely see you next year! 5 star ⭐️ ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️...Read less.

"4th stay and superb every time!"

Mr J Quinlan - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

12/09/2021

This is probably the best campsite you could ever hope for - well layed out, never too crowded, nice flat, well drained pitches. Owner can not do enough for you and the facilities are always clean......Read more.

This is probably the best campsite you could ever hope for - well layed out, never too crowded, nice flat, well drained pitches. Owner can not do enough for you and the facilities are always clean and well stocked.

100% perfect!...Read less.

"Excellent site"

Mr A Kidd - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

12/09/2021

Spotlessly clean and tidy site in a good location. Highly recommended.

"Amazing site"

L Cameron - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

11/09/2021

Our second visit Andrew Angie And all of the rest of the team can not do enough to help you.

Site is immaculately clean this includes all of the communal washing areas.

No noise disturbance overnight......Read more.

Our second visit Andrew Angie And all of the rest of the team can not do enough to help you.

Site is immaculately clean this includes all of the communal washing areas.

No noise disturbance overnight all site rules adhered to by visitors

Would definitely recommend to friends and we have already booked our return visit next year...Read less.

"Truly excellent site!"

R Mackay - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

10/09/2021

We loved this site, the facilities were so clean and lovely. Loved the enclosed dog walking area. Staff were lovely

"Fantastic"

G Spedding - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

Fantastic, we had a grass pitch with electric hook up,pitches a great size even for the biggest of tents with car. Staff were so friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Facilities were......Read more.

Fantastic, we had a grass pitch with electric hook up,pitches a great size even for the biggest of tents with car. Staff were so friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Facilities were extremely clean and regularly checked. Enjoyed it that much we book for next year before we left 😊...Read less.

"Excellent campsite"

Mr A Thorne - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

09/09/2021

We really enjoyed our stay at Porthowan. This campsite is extremely well run, the pitches are Flat and immaculately looked after and the toilet and washing facilities are probably the cleanest we've......Read more.

We really enjoyed our stay at Porthowan. This campsite is extremely well run, the pitches are Flat and immaculately looked after and the toilet and washing facilities are probably the cleanest we've seen. Throw in friendly and very helpful staff and you're onto a winner. Great site....Read less.

"Warm welcome"

D Wallace - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

06/09/2021

We were given the warmest welcome when we arrived and the friendly staff were always on hand if we needed anything. It is a calm family atmosphere and close to some nice sandy surf beaches and......Read more.

We were given the warmest welcome when we arrived and the friendly staff were always on hand if we needed anything. It is a calm family atmosphere and close to some nice sandy surf beaches and footpath along the cliffs. The facilities and park were spotless and it was great to play a game of pool for free. Highly recommend Porthtowan Tourist Park and we will be back again!...Read less.

"Extremely clean and friendly site"

S Marren - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

06/09/2021

I cannot fault this park at all. The owners work very hard all day every day, keeping the site spotlessly clean and tidy. We will definitely be returning and I can’t rate this park highly enough.

"3rd visit"

Mr J Ward - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

05/09/2021

As always welcomed with a big smile, wonderful location and very peaceful and relaxing, plenty of things to do in the area. We love this site because it's so safe for children and the outstanding......Read more.

As always welcomed with a big smile, wonderful location and very peaceful and relaxing, plenty of things to do in the area. We love this site because it's so safe for children and the outstanding cleanliness of the onsite facilities...Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Mrs D Stanley - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

04/09/2021

Lovely campsite with all the facilities that you can possibly think of needing for a stay near the beach in Cornwall. All the pitches are flat, the toilet/shower block is clean and the showers are......Read more.

Lovely campsite with all the facilities that you can possibly think of needing for a stay near the beach in Cornwall. All the pitches are flat, the toilet/shower block is clean and the showers are free, hot and considerately laid out so that your clothes don't get wet while you're washing yourself (all bug bears of mine!) Andy and Angie are lovely and really helpful and are always about on site with a smile and greeting and will do their very best to keep everybody happy. I like the fact that kids have to be off the park by dark and everyone has to be quiet by 11, as all the pitches are close together and as you know, noise travels easily through canvas! The beaches nearby are great and there are Tesco's and Aldi a short drive away for big food shops. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back....Read less.

"Lovely place"

J Robertson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

04/09/2021

This was our second visit. Great spot in easy reach of lots of well known Cornwall treasures. I love that you can walk to the beach and be active as it’s next to the coastal path.

The site feels......Read more.

This was our second visit. Great spot in easy reach of lots of well known Cornwall treasures. I love that you can walk to the beach and be active as it’s next to the coastal path.

The site feels safe and everyone appears happy.

We enjoyed being able to get a pizza on Sunday....Read less.

"3rd visit"

Miss C Jones - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

02/09/2021

Excellent Camping facilities in a clean well kept site. 1 mile from the beach, great location.

The staff always had a happy greeting. Lawns were mowed everyday. Rubbish collected everyday. Showers......Read more.

Excellent Camping facilities in a clean well kept site. 1 mile from the beach, great location.

The staff always had a happy greeting. Lawns were mowed everyday. Rubbish collected everyday. Showers cleaned everyday.

Cannot fault the park.

We didn't have children so cannot comment on facilities but sounded like they all made lots of new friends.

Definite 5 star site and would recommend it...Read less.

"Absolutely beautiful"

S Bancroft - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

02/09/2021

A fantastic site with really great owners. They were very welcoming and friendly. The site is in a great location for exploring the area. We would highly recommend and will return again.

"Very clean and friendly site"

S Scrivener - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

01/09/2021

We stayed here for our summer holiday, which I booked back in January.

Prior to the holiday we paid our balance as stated in the small print.

The only grudge was receiving an email within the last......Read more.

We stayed here for our summer holiday, which I booked back in January.

Prior to the holiday we paid our balance as stated in the small print.

The only grudge was receiving an email within the last week to say that would not able to use scooters, skateboards and bikes around the park, and only soft balls provided by them could be used. I know the reasons why, but sadly for us and our 9 yr old it was quite a big negative. For this reason we would not return, our son is quite shy to enter the play area alone I felt going round on his scooter would help socialise a little more.

But beautiful site which was very well maintained in a beautiful spot of Cornwall....Read less.

"Wonderful 3 nights"

S Hutchinson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

Angie and Andrew looked after us wonderfully, We arrived, 4 of us in out T6 Camper and were directed to a lovely pitch with power, and water a few paces away, with immaculate facilities a few more......Read more.

Angie and Andrew looked after us wonderfully, We arrived, 4 of us in out T6 Camper and were directed to a lovely pitch with power, and water a few paces away, with immaculate facilities a few more steps towards the entrance of the park. We had everything we needed, small shop, showers, wash room pots and pans and wash room for wet suits. Everything was easy, everyone was super friendly and helped us with modifying our stay to be longer, found us a pitch sorted it out while we were out for the day, let us know by email and a phone call that we were ok for that evening. Basically made our road trip work perfectly, even with 4 in a T6 LWB ! They are on my go to list from now on.

Steve, Lynne Amber, Lola and Pippa the dog...Read less.

"Friendly and well kept"

C Thomas - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

26/08/2021

Having visited before, we were keen to come back. The site is always very clean and Andrew and Angie are always friendly and helpful. Our kids love the site too and spend hours in the park!

"Excellent stay"

K Payne - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

25/08/2021

We had a fantastic stay at Porthtowan tourist park. The site was extremely well kept, the staff were very friendly and helpful (at all hours of the day) and we had a really relaxing time. I would,......Read more.

We had a fantastic stay at Porthtowan tourist park. The site was extremely well kept, the staff were very friendly and helpful (at all hours of the day) and we had a really relaxing time. I would, without a doubt recommend this site to others, brilliant site and good location....Read less.

"Best site I have ever been on."

Mr M Cullen - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

24/08/2021

We selected the site based on its location only, without too much research. I have been on camping holidays since I was a boy, all over the Europe. This trip was with my 11 year old son and my......Read more.

We selected the site based on its location only, without too much research. I have been on camping holidays since I was a boy, all over the Europe. This trip was with my 11 year old son and my sister, who was a first time camper. Site was the cleanest I have ever been on. The staff were always helpful and took time to talk and smile. The shared facilities were always very clean and available. My son had a great time in the outdoor play areas. Couldn't recommend this site more. We have booked to revisit next year for another 2 weeks....Read less.

"Practically perfect"

Mrs E Byrne - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

22/08/2021

Such a wonderful campsite and the owners were so friendly. Thank you

"Fantastic!"

Mrs K Lloyd - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

21/08/2021

Porthtowan Tourist park is a lovely park, we found it easy to get to and a good base to get around to different places. The facilities are clean and really well looked after as is the whole site, the......Read more.

Porthtowan Tourist park is a lovely park, we found it easy to get to and a good base to get around to different places. The facilities are clean and really well looked after as is the whole site, the owners and staff are friendly and are available to help and look after their guests in any way they can. I cannot fault a thing about this park we love it as do our children, we will definitely be going back for a 3rd year....Read less.

"Another great stay"

Mr P Wood - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

20/08/2021

Been to Porthtowan several times before and always use this site. Andrew and Angie are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much for them. Their work ethic is second to none and along with their......Read more.

Been to Porthtowan several times before and always use this site. Andrew and Angie are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much for them. Their work ethic is second to none and along with their staff, they help to keep the site in immaculate condition. I look forward to being back there next year, again!...Read less.

"Booked during covid-19 2020"

P Green - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

20/08/2021

Highly recommended. Having stayed last year during covid-19, the owners couldn't of done anything more to prevent the spread of covid-19. Hygiene was the main agenda and they didn't disappoint. the......Read more.

Highly recommended. Having stayed last year during covid-19, the owners couldn't of done anything more to prevent the spread of covid-19. Hygiene was the main agenda and they didn't disappoint. the site is well maintained and the owners are very helpful. Top marks from me and the family for a wonderful stay. We booked for this year (2021) before we left last year. To us this was a prefect site for travelling to Lands end, Newquay, St Ives, Michaels Mount and Falmouth and many more....Read less.

"Porthtowan Tourist Park"

J Nelson - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

19/08/2021

Another great stay at Porthtowan, the site is immaculate, not got a bad word to say about it.

I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a campsite in Cornwall

"Camping with Friends"

Mr S Chung - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

18/08/2021

Always clean and the team maintains a very high standard in terms of cleanliness, facilities and ensures everyone is considerate of others

"A proper family holiday"

Mr C Morton - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

18/08/2021

After the last year, we needed a proper holiday and we got that with with our trip here. We had stopped before but the site had changed hands since then but there was no need to worry.

The site is......Read more.

After the last year, we needed a proper holiday and we got that with with our trip here. We had stopped before but the site had changed hands since then but there was no need to worry.

The site is spotless and very clean. The facilities are great and make stopping in our camper very easy. The staff are helpful and even keep the kids under control.

We had a great time and would recommend this site to anyone...we booked again for next year!!...Read less.

"Best campsite in the area"

Mrs B Deavall - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

18/08/2021

Love staying at Porthtowan Touist park. We love that it’s a small site with very up to date, clean facilities. The owners are the happiest and most friendliest and nothing is too much for them to......Read more.

Love staying at Porthtowan Touist park. We love that it’s a small site with very up to date, clean facilities. The owners are the happiest and most friendliest and nothing is too much for them to help you with. Would highly recommend!...Read less.

"Great site"

E Pearce - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

18/08/2021

Recently stayed here with my family, brilliant camp site, spotlessly clean, staff were cleaning and maintaining the site thoroughly throughout the day. Staff and owners were lovely and friendly, very......Read more.

Recently stayed here with my family, brilliant camp site, spotlessly clean, staff were cleaning and maintaining the site thoroughly throughout the day. Staff and owners were lovely and friendly, very helpful. Will definitely be returning next year xx...Read less.

"Family holiday with teenage children"

T Carpenter - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

18/08/2021

This is the second time we have stayed at porthtowan and have booked again for next year.

Everything is brilliant. Staff are amazing everything is spotless no issues.

Highly recommend this site

"Excellent Site"

T Kybert - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

17/08/2021

I cannot recommend this site highly enough. The cleanest facilities that I have ever encountered on a campsite. The toilets were absolutely spotless as were the showers and wash up areas. The......Read more.

I cannot recommend this site highly enough. The cleanest facilities that I have ever encountered on a campsite. The toilets were absolutely spotless as were the showers and wash up areas. The staff were so committed to customer service and are always on hand.

Thankyou so much for such a great stay!!

Tracey & Gary...Read less.

"Another great holiday at Porthtowan"

G Yeoman - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

14/08/2021

This was our fourth year at Portbtowan. Andrew and Angje the owners work so hard to ensure facilities are first class no matter what time of day.

They are friendly, flexible and very considerate to......Read more.

This was our fourth year at Portbtowan. Andrew and Angje the owners work so hard to ensure facilities are first class no matter what time of day.

They are friendly, flexible and very considerate to ensure your stay is a 5 star experience.

Thank you and see you next year. 🤗😀🤗...Read less.

"Fantastic site"

L James - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

12/08/2021

This was our second visit to this site and have not been disappointed, the owners of the site (Andrew and Angie ) greeted us with a warm welcome and can’t do enough to help. The park is very clean......Read more.

This was our second visit to this site and have not been disappointed, the owners of the site (Andrew and Angie ) greeted us with a warm welcome and can’t do enough to help. The park is very clean and well looked after and facilitates are spotless. Location is close to several beaches and lots to do and see in the area. Would recommend this site to people who look for a relaxing break or for families who need a bit more, it’s a wonderful place to stay. So good we have booked to go back next year. A1+++++++++...Read less.

"fantastic clean camp site"

Mrs J Plant - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

12/08/2021

what an amazing place. Andrew and Angie cant do enough to help and support.

Clean, good facilities - thank you, hope to see you again next year

"The best holiday caravan and camping site for many a long mile"

D Tuffley - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

11/08/2021

We always come back to this site due to the quality of site facilities, the friendliness of the staff, and finally the position relative to a lot of the Cornish towns and beaches

"Absolutely brilliant site"

Mrs J Linton - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

11/08/2021

We had a wonderful week here; the site is lovely and roomy, well kept and the pitches lovely and flat. You don’t feel too close to another pitch at any part due to the layout. The owners are so......Read more.

We had a wonderful week here; the site is lovely and roomy, well kept and the pitches lovely and flat. You don’t feel too close to another pitch at any part due to the layout. The owners are so pleasant and friendly, nothing is too much for them and they work so hard to keep the park looking great and running smoothly. The facilities are spotless and I liked the separate vanity rooms from the showers and toilets. Great washing up area, never had to wait for a sink and plenty hot water even in peak season. Fab wee shop with everything you need. The games room is great for older kids and the park was the hub for our younger kids; they absolutely loved hanging out here and making new friends. As a result there is a lovely atmosphere on site.

The outsite wet suite rinse area is a good extra and the water and rubbish points and well placed around the park.

Finally great location to see the surrounding area; nearby porthtowan and portreath have stunning beaches and some shops and restaurants; all lovely and great value for money.

Highly recommend...Read less.

"2021 holiday"

D Heys - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

10/08/2021

What a fantastic touring park

So clean and tidy

The owners and staff are the best iv ever met .so helpful and always pleasant

Had such a nice holiday there

We will be back again that's for sure .

"Great camping and caravan site in Cornwall"

Dr J McLellan - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

10/08/2021

Fabulous site, immaculate amenities. Fantastic Play Park and a great Games room. All pitches large and level. Owners Andrew, Angie and young James extremely helpful and really friendly. Cannot fault......Read more.

Fabulous site, immaculate amenities. Fantastic Play Park and a great Games room. All pitches large and level. Owners Andrew, Angie and young James extremely helpful and really friendly. Cannot fault in anyway. Looking forward to next year's visit, which we have already booked. Would definitely rate 5 and highly recommend. Thank you for looking after so well it is appreciated. Dr James Mclellan...Read less.

"Two night stay - Lovely location"

Mrs N Silvester - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

10/08/2021

We stayed for two nights in our motorhome. The park is spotless, the pitches were spacious, WiFi was free and the children’s play area was perfect for our 5 and 7 yr olds. The wash facilities were......Read more.

We stayed for two nights in our motorhome. The park is spotless, the pitches were spacious, WiFi was free and the children’s play area was perfect for our 5 and 7 yr olds. The wash facilities were clean and well-managed. The park staff were very friendly and welcoming.

On our first day we walked down the main road to Porthtowan beach - the walk was mostly on grass verge with some small stretches of road, but perfectly manageable. On our second day we took the walk to Sally’s Bottom on the coast path and even spotted seals - well worth the walk! We then followed the coast path in the opposite direction down in to Porthtowan.

We will definitely return!

...Read less.

"Great family campsite - very clean"

Mrs H Patel - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

07/08/2021

Friendly staff, site wash areas cleaned daily, grass cut regularly, will definitely go again. Lovely beach just down the road

"Great campsites"

R Ellis - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

06/08/2021

Great campsite. Lovely location. The friendliest staff.

Highly recommend

"Super clean facilities and staff who go above and beyond!"

Mr & Mrs D Suddaby - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

04/08/2021

We cannot recommend Porthtowan Tourist park more highly. From its well equipped, super clean facilities to the staff who work 24/7 to ensure your stay is amazing. Thanks to Andy, Angie and James for......Read more.

We cannot recommend Porthtowan Tourist park more highly. From its well equipped, super clean facilities to the staff who work 24/7 to ensure your stay is amazing. Thanks to Andy, Angie and James for another amazing stay. We will definitely be back again next year!...Read less.

"Excellent site"

Mr K Rigby - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

02/08/2021

Porthtowan Tourist Park is an excellent site and offers a great base for exploring Cornwall. The site is very well maintained with spotless facilities. Andrew Angie and team are very friendly and......Read more.

Porthtowan Tourist Park is an excellent site and offers a great base for exploring Cornwall. The site is very well maintained with spotless facilities. Andrew Angie and team are very friendly and approachable work really hard and keep the site beautiful nothing is too much trouble. Porthtowan is a lovely beach and very accessible a short drive or walk from the site. There are a couple of pubs in the area offering good food and friendly service. The on-site shop is ok for your basics and there is a local shop in Porthtowan, but there is also a number of larger supermarkets only a few miles away. A pizza van visits the site once a week but maybe a few more visiting food outlets would be useful. This is our third visit and looking forward to returning soon. If you are looking for a peaceful well run friendly site Porthtowan Tourist Park is for you....Read less.

"Chilled caravaner"

B Gage - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

31/07/2021

Stayed 2 weeks had a very enjoyable stay,site very clean and staff very friendly.Also well located for touring caravans from main road compared with others we have used.Will certainly book for next......Read more.

Stayed 2 weeks had a very enjoyable stay,site very clean and staff very friendly.Also well located for touring caravans from main road compared with others we have used.Will certainly book for next year....Read less.

"Clean!"

Mr C Grant - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

31/07/2021

The park is very clean and tidy and is well looked after. The owners and staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. The rules really keep the site pleasant for all to enjoy.

The only issue I had is......Read more.

The park is very clean and tidy and is well looked after. The owners and staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. The rules really keep the site pleasant for all to enjoy.

The only issue I had is the lack of shade, the weather was very hot when we were there and the lack of shade meant we had no choice but to go out and find some....Read less.

"Happy Holiday"

Mrs C Dallimore - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

30/07/2021

What a lovely friendly family run site excellent pitches everything was neat, tidy and beautifully kept the owners were super friendly nothing was too much trouble if you needed anything. We......Read more.

What a lovely friendly family run site excellent pitches everything was neat, tidy and beautifully kept the owners were super friendly nothing was too much trouble if you needed anything. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Porthtowan Touring Park and it’s surrounding areas as a place of natural Cornish Beauty to stay...Read less.

"Beautiful clean well kept site"

J Hussey - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

28/07/2021

Porthtowen tourist park is a very clean well kept site, the staff were really friendly and the facilities were very clean and well maintained.

I only have 1 small thing that I think is worth......Read more.

Porthtowen tourist park is a very clean well kept site, the staff were really friendly and the facilities were very clean and well maintained.

I only have 1 small thing that I think is worth mentioning.

We stayed during a heatwave so for me the temperature of the showers could have been turned down a bit, a very hot shower on a very hot day was a problem for me.

We really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to book there again....Read less.

"Campervan holiday"

Mr M Hawke - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

28/07/2021

We were very impressed with the size of the pitches and the cleanliness of the facilities. We were welcomed on to the site by Andrew who was very informative and helpful. We would return to the site.......Read more.

We were very impressed with the size of the pitches and the cleanliness of the facilities. We were welcomed on to the site by Andrew who was very informative and helpful. We would return to the site. It has good access to the south west coastal path....Read less.

"First visit"

A Wilson - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

28/07/2021

Simple but very well kept site in a fabulous location and would definitely return.

"An excellent site with friendly, helpful owners and staff"

D Harris - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

28/07/2021

A very attractive and well maintained site. Quiet and relaxing with good facilites. Great play area for children of primary school age. Disabled shower facilities. Extremely helpful and friendly......Read more.

A very attractive and well maintained site. Quiet and relaxing with good facilites. Great play area for children of primary school age. Disabled shower facilities. Extremely helpful and friendly staff....Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead