Town Farm Campsite

233 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 233 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

89%

Very Good

9%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Peaceful"

Mr K Pammenter - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

05/11/2020

We had just bought a new van and needed some were to park for the weekend. The weather stopped us from doing most things but Charles made us welcome and was very helpful.

"DofE Expedition Booking"

D Goss - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

04/11/2020

As always, another successful DofE expedition at Town Farm. Thank you.

"Superb site"

S Parkin - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

03/11/2020

Lovely views of the Beacon and surrounding country side. Facilities impeccable with amazing showers. All staff incredibly helpful. Even though very windy we thoroughly enjoyed the Firepit and so did......Read more.

Lovely views of the Beacon and surrounding country side. Facilities impeccable with amazing showers. All staff incredibly helpful. Even though very windy we thoroughly enjoyed the Firepit and so did our a Grandchildren!!!...Read less.

"Nice site - clean facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

02/11/2020

Lovely site with panoramic views over the chilterns. Beautiful setting. Very clean (albeit slightly small) shower facilities - needs a mop / water scraper to clean the floor after use to be......Read more.

Lovely site with panoramic views over the chilterns. Beautiful setting. Very clean (albeit slightly small) shower facilities - needs a mop / water scraper to clean the floor after use to be perfect.

Very friendly staff who were helpful from the moment we arrived. Highly recommended for visiting this area.

We stayed on a hard standing pitch with was fully serviced, very good electrical supply and perfectly level.

Play parks were very good which the children enjoyed. Clearly a lot of money invested.

We stayed in a very quiet period, only half a dozen caravans / motor homes and the site is huge - so no idea what a busier period world be like with only two wash blocks....Read less.

"A Beacon for all campsites"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

01/11/2020

We are fairly regular visitors to Town Farm as it is close to us and is excellent. They have the balance just right between providing a safe, secure, well organised campsite but with freedom to enjoy......Read more.

We are fairly regular visitors to Town Farm as it is close to us and is excellent. They have the balance just right between providing a safe, secure, well organised campsite but with freedom to enjoy yourself....Read less.

"review"

Mr S Pease - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

31/10/2020

A great easy stay at a good price.Thanks

"Nice open site - recommended"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

29/10/2020

Nice open site - recommended

"Local getaway"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

Fantastic local Campsite in a very pretty, central location for lots of walks and historical places. Would highly recommend this campsite the facilities were immaculate.

"Idyllic setting and location with the beauty of kites"

Mrs G Forty - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

24/10/2020

Well organised,gorgeous views all around. Ideal for visiting Waddesdon Manor and Stoe(NT).CuriousiTea a great Community Hub cafe.Lovely walk to Ivinghoe Beacon nearby and to village via route across......Read more.

Well organised,gorgeous views all around. Ideal for visiting Waddesdon Manor and Stoe(NT).CuriousiTea a great Community Hub cafe.Lovely walk to Ivinghoe Beacon nearby and to village via route across fields.

Really clean toilet and shower facilities.Tring reservoir, lake and canal nearby too.Great concrete hardstanding for the motorhome.water and drainage right next to pitch. Also saw the red kites circling around the site and up on the beacon.So graceful!...Read less.

"Good site !"

Mr D Corby - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

23/10/2020

Hi I thought every thing was good apart from being told the wi-fi would work but not every where on site but beings we were right next to all the amenities I would have thought it would have so bit......Read more.

Hi I thought every thing was good apart from being told the wi-fi would work but not every where on site but beings we were right next to all the amenities I would have thought it would have so bit disappointing !!

Maybe next time at this time of year a hard super pitch would be a consideration !

Owner of the site was very helpful, friendly !...Read less.

"Love the site and surrounding area"

Mr T Brown - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

22/10/2020

Charles and the staff are very friendly. Good facilities and getting better every year. Great location for walks, views and pubs.

"Town Farm Treat"

Mr J Carey - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

22/10/2020

Great site. Great views. Hard standing and grass pitches. Serviced too. Washroom spotless. Will was very helpful and friendly. We will return and also recommend to friends. Thank you.

"Lovely surroudings"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

21/10/2020

Found site easily. nice serviced plots.Excellent facilities. Nice quiet site with some nice walks.Value for money.Well organised for covid 19.

"Excellent site and location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

16/10/2020

We initially chose Town Farm in order to visit Bletchley Park, however we just loved the location of Ivinghoe for walking and the local villages. The site is well managed with good quality......Read more.

We initially chose Town Farm in order to visit Bletchley Park, however we just loved the location of Ivinghoe for walking and the local villages. The site is well managed with good quality facilities. fully recommended....Read less.

"Convenient places site in Chilterns"

Mrs C Ladd - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

16/10/2020

Good site but didnt like pitch 8 as it had no views.

"Local night away"

G Sabaté Navarro - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

16/10/2020

Mid October night away at a local campsite. Very clean and good toilet and kitchen facilities along with an excellent playground for children.

The pitch was a very good size and the fire pit rented......Read more.

Mid October night away at a local campsite. Very clean and good toilet and kitchen facilities along with an excellent playground for children.

The pitch was a very good size and the fire pit rented was one of the highlights of the stay while observing a stunning sunset....Read less.

"Well run excellent camping and motorhome site."

Mr K Tibbit - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

Excellent location and well run site. Endless walking straight from the site and well located for Dunstable and Aylesbury. Reasonably priced with good clean facilities,The only minor problems were......Read more.

Excellent location and well run site. Endless walking straight from the site and well located for Dunstable and Aylesbury. Reasonably priced with good clean facilities,The only minor problems were that the dryer was not working in the laundry facility and someone had taken the hose from the chemical loo facility making it impossible to clean and a little bit smelly and messy. Still an excellent site and highly recommended....Read less.

"Overnight with friends"

Mr D Lovell - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

Met up with friends from Hearts. 2x camper vans for one night. Nice walk up to the beacon then down to the pub! Had a bbq and then chatted round the campfire till midnight curfew. Nice quiet site at......Read more.

Met up with friends from Hearts. 2x camper vans for one night. Nice walk up to the beacon then down to the pub! Had a bbq and then chatted round the campfire till midnight curfew. Nice quiet site at this time of year, with good facilities. Great to be able to have a fire. It would have been nice to be able to put some music on quietly and I don't think that this would disturb other campers any more than our chat and laughter will have! Will be back....Read less.

"2 night stay."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

09/10/2020

This is a well set out, clean and tidy site set in wonderful countryside that gives access to many local walks.

The facilities are top notch, with excellent hard standing pitches and plenty of grass......Read more.

This is a well set out, clean and tidy site set in wonderful countryside that gives access to many local walks.

The facilities are top notch, with excellent hard standing pitches and plenty of grass pitches too. We were right next to the second toilet block on pitch 15, which was very handy. The block itself appeared very new with all sanitary ware and shower cubicles absolutely spotless. A covered outside washing up area was also extremely clean & tidy.

There were plenty of social distancing/covid measures in place with signage and anti-bacterial hand wash readily available.

The email I received prior to arrival was very informative giving good information about booking in, location of facilities, nearby eating establishments and attractions. Although we had to check out by 11am on the morning of our departure, the staff were more than happy for us to leave our camper van on site whilst we walked up the nearby Ivinghoe Beacon. Excellent customer service.

Overall this site is very good value for money and is well situated for exploring the Chilterns.

...Read less.

"It did what was needed!"

A Fuller - Stayed Oct 2020

06/10/2020

Super little stopover, arrived really late, they left the gate open for me. I slept showered and left, just what I needed and a great location too. ill for sure be back

"Lovely place"

T Wakeford - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

this is the 3rd time in 3 years we have been here and it has been great every time.

"Awesome."

Mrs N Smith - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

Visited as a group of cyclists, some camping and one in a rental tent.

The ground was beautiful, wash facilities were new and spotless (probably the nicest I have ever seen in a campsite!).

Staff......Read more.

Visited as a group of cyclists, some camping and one in a rental tent.

The ground was beautiful, wash facilities were new and spotless (probably the nicest I have ever seen in a campsite!).

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful both in email and in person when we arrvived.

Short walk to a pub across the fields, stopped for coffee in Tring the next day (cycled across).

Thank you very much for accommodating us and I will be back!

...Read less.

"Introduction to camping"

Ms T Compton - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

We enjoyed our stay at Town Farm.

It was our first time camping... and was a great introduction with minimum equipment. The bell tents where comfortable and spacious, the only minus was the distance......Read more.

We enjoyed our stay at Town Farm.

It was our first time camping... and was a great introduction with minimum equipment. The bell tents where comfortable and spacious, the only minus was the distance from the bathroom facilities. Lovely views and environment....Read less.

"Great weekend away with the family"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

We stayed over for two nights. It was incredibly windy! However, the kids didn't care and they were outside in all weathers playing on the playground and play trail. Loved the walking trail right......Read more.

We stayed over for two nights. It was incredibly windy! However, the kids didn't care and they were outside in all weathers playing on the playground and play trail. Loved the walking trail right from the campground into Pitstone. Access to National trust areas is a big plus. The kettles available in the kitchen area were a life saver when it was too windy to have a camp stove! Hot showers, too. Very clean. Only wish there were some farm animals to see (chickens maybe?). It was a great adventure and really look forward to going back....Read less.

"Excellent welcome."

Mrs J Barker - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

We booked to stay just one night here as we were meeting family for a day out at Ashridge National Trust nearby. We arrived around 6.00pm on a very windy Saturday evening to a lovely, smiley welcome......Read more.

We booked to stay just one night here as we were meeting family for a day out at Ashridge National Trust nearby. We arrived around 6.00pm on a very windy Saturday evening to a lovely, smiley welcome from a very helpful young lady. She promptly showed us our pitch and explained camp rules re Covid 19. We had no intention to go out anywhere to eat with such chilly weather conditions - however we did walk our dog Lola across the fields which she really enjoyed. As did we, the views were spectacular! Spent a cosy night in our motorhome listening to the howling winds, enjoying a glass of wine and reading. Would thoroughly reccomend this site, and will definitely return....Read less.

"So spacious"

Mrs A Johnson - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

29/09/2020

Nice tidy, clean site with masses of space; three peaceful nights, facilities spacious enough for no COVID 19 distancing concerns. Completely stress free.

"Favourite campsite in the Chilterns"

Mr J Heard - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

28/09/2020

We are fairly regular visitors to this fantastic campsite. Friendly, helpful and responsive staff are always on hand to help. Best of all is the setting - overlooking the glorious Chiltern scenery......Read more.

We are fairly regular visitors to this fantastic campsite. Friendly, helpful and responsive staff are always on hand to help. Best of all is the setting - overlooking the glorious Chiltern scenery from a great vantage point. Not to mention the open fire pits which complete the ultimate camping/outdoor experience....Read less.

"Best campsite ever, and 20 minutes from home!"

Mrs A Scott - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

26/09/2020

Stunning sunsets, friendly staff, great facilities, perfect location - the best campsite we have stayed in for years!

"Electric hook ups"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

26/09/2020

Pitches with hook ups were very close together which was surprising considering the space available.

"Great site"

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

26/09/2020

Lovely views, very clean facilities, friendly and helpful staff.

"Weekend away"

Ms J Lee - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

26/09/2020

Really lovely area

"Fab views"

Mrs S Pearce - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Just one night here for end of season stay. Chose top football field for the children who loved endlessly playing in the goals with other children.

Views amazing, downside was quite breezy as high......Read more.

Just one night here for end of season stay. Chose top football field for the children who loved endlessly playing in the goals with other children.

Views amazing, downside was quite breezy as high up. Also a deluge of daddy long legs which was unnerving.

Facilities clean and if we were staying longer, the fridge and freezer space would be very useful.

Staff appeared relaxed, informed and helpful....Read less.

"A lovely late summer weekend"

Mr M McDermott - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

We were looking for a local mini break near St Albans to get away and air the trailer tent and at least get out once during covid year. Neighbours recommended Home Farm. The welcome warm and......Read more.

We were looking for a local mini break near St Albans to get away and air the trailer tent and at least get out once during covid year. Neighbours recommended Home Farm. The welcome warm and friendly, the facilities spotless. Lovely staff.. We will go again....Read less.

"Trailer tenting"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Excellent location and place.

"Campervan Break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

23/09/2020

Beautiful location with wide extensive views. Liked the flexibility of choice of pitch. Large grassy fields with plenty of room and very nice clean toilets. Very friendly and accommodating staff.......Read more.

Beautiful location with wide extensive views. Liked the flexibility of choice of pitch. Large grassy fields with plenty of room and very nice clean toilets. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Just a 15 minute walk to Ivinghoe village and great pub (Rose & Crown). Definitely recommend....Read less.

"Sunset from Town Camp"

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

22/09/2020

Pleasant stay with lovely views of sunset - and great facilities in kitchen for a camper

"FABULOUS SUNSET"

Mrs D Orr - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

21/09/2020

Stayed 2 nights the beginning of September and the weather was perfect, lovely clean site and great facilities.

The views were amazing.

"Town farm"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

21/09/2020

.

"Lovely views Hilltop campsite"

Mr T Man - Stayed Sep 2020

20/09/2020

Stunned as to how beautiful this spot. The campsite fields are large and various footpaths to Ivinghoe and the walks along Ridgeway & Ashridge were explored in my brief stay 2 nights.

Lots more......Read more.

Stunned as to how beautiful this spot. The campsite fields are large and various footpaths to Ivinghoe and the walks along Ridgeway & Ashridge were explored in my brief stay 2 nights.

Lots more walking, running & hiking to be had. I didn't get time to try local eateries as I did my meals on my bbq (the king's head will be on my list to visit as will be the Rose & crown). I can reccomend Tring for a visit pretty high street.

Staff at Town farm are friendly and I was given a choice of pitches and reccomendations. I visited in Sept. Plenty of hand sanitisers to use and social distancing observed as well as information on C-19 safe practices....Read less.

"Very near family"

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

20/09/2020

Useful to meet up with family and friends

"Highly recommend"

Miss C Stanley - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

19/09/2020

We have been here three times now and will be back. Great place easy to get to great facilities wonderful location. Our first thought when we want a nice relaxing weekend away 👍👍

"Really lovely family site"

Mrs S Wilson - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

19/09/2020

We really loved camping here. Great facilities, lots for the kids to do and some really accessible walks from the site.

"."

Mrs A Parish - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

19/09/2020

.

"Far from the Maddening crowd"

Mrs M Cooley - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

I spent 3days with a friend at Town farm , Everything was great , wonderful staff , spotlessly clean facilities , amazing views , great campfire , very helpful staff , yes I will definitely ......Read more.

I spent 3days with a friend at Town farm , Everything was great , wonderful staff , spotlessly clean facilities , amazing views , great campfire , very helpful staff , yes I will definitely be visiting again , Nourishment for mind body and soul in the chilterns

Mary...Read less.

"Excellent"

Ms C Sweatman - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Wonderful site in the middle of stunning countryside. Ideal for walkers and cyclists.

Close to Whipsnade Zoo, Natural History Museum, Dunstable Downs, Mentmore.

Highly recommend

"Second visit as a family with young children"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

We visited this time last year and stayed for a night in one of the semi-permanent tents. We enjoyed that so much we returned this year with our own gear! We have a 1 year old and a 3 year old so......Read more.

We visited this time last year and stayed for a night in one of the semi-permanent tents. We enjoyed that so much we returned this year with our own gear! We have a 1 year old and a 3 year old so whilst they couldn't enjoy the older child facilities they still had a great time . Fortunately we arrived on a Thursday, and got some great advice from the host about where best to pitch. The Friday and Saturday nights were busier and access to the children's playground was difficult as at any one time there were groups of children, often above the 10 year age limit, occupying it....Read less.

"Superb weekend break"

Ms K Fox - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Town Farm campsite. We loved the incredible views over Ivinghoe Beacon to the east and the rolling countryside to the west, all enhanced by beautiful early Autumn......Read more.

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Town Farm campsite. We loved the incredible views over Ivinghoe Beacon to the east and the rolling countryside to the west, all enhanced by beautiful early Autumn sunshine! On our arrival, staff were super helpful and guided us to our field. We also received great tips about walks up to the beacon and down to Ivinghoe village - the online walking guide was very clear and helpful too. Our children loved the playgrounds and extensive green space to run around in and we enjoyed the firepits and the coffee van that arrived each morning. Thanks so much - we will definitely be returning!...Read less.

"Last minute get away"

Mrs S Murkin - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Booked last minute for two nights, Campsite was very large, good wash facilities. Adult field was great but with a field that large not sure why everyone seemed to be put at the bottom next to each......Read more.

Booked last minute for two nights, Campsite was very large, good wash facilities. Adult field was great but with a field that large not sure why everyone seemed to be put at the bottom next to each other, other than that it was such a relaxing stay...Read less.

"simple and clean, and very friendly"

P Ihle - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

We stayed with the family and our small dog. The staff was very helpful and we had the best of times.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead