Town Farm Campsite

233 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 233 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

88%

Very Good

12%

Average

1%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Town farm camp site"

I Atkinson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

19/10/2021

The campsite is in a good location, there are good walks straight from the campsite. The showers were very clean with lots of hot water. I think it would be useful to have a dog waste bin somewhere......Read more.

The campsite is in a good location, there are good walks straight from the campsite. The showers were very clean with lots of hot water. I think it would be useful to have a dog waste bin somewhere on the site....Read less.

"Kirsty"

Mrs K Clarke - Stayed Oct 2021

14/10/2021

Super for overnight stay. Would definitely use it again.

"Happy camping"

Mr R Stephenson - Stayed with friends, Oct 2021

14/10/2021

Would recommend this site to caravanners

"great views, clean facilities and friendly staff!"

P Lazaro - Stayed Oct 2021

07/10/2021

I was staying on my own and a bit apprehensive about feeling safe there but the staff and atmosphere made me feel really safe :) It was great !

"Would definitely recommend"

C Simmons - Stayed Sep 2021

06/10/2021

Rural campsite, beautiful location with extensive views of Ivinghoe Beacon and the surrounding countryside.

Ideal campsite for cyclists, walkers and outdoor enthusiasts with the Ridgeway, Icknield......Read more.

Rural campsite, beautiful location with extensive views of Ivinghoe Beacon and the surrounding countryside.

Ideal campsite for cyclists, walkers and outdoor enthusiasts with the Ridgeway, Icknield Way and extensive paths and trails running alongside.

The owners, living in the adjoining farmhouse, are welcoming and helpful.

The spotlessly clean toilet and shower facilities along with washing up rooms with: fridges, freezers, powerpoints, microwaves, kettles make this site one I would return to without hesitation....Read less.

"Excellent stay"

Mr S Weston - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

06/10/2021

Facilities were excellent and views were stunning. We will be back.

"Town Farm"

Ms C Miles - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

05/10/2021

We have been staying have camped many times at Town Farm, mostly in tents, and have always liked the site and the facilities, although it is a windy place. The views are amazing and the walk to the......Read more.

We have been staying have camped many times at Town Farm, mostly in tents, and have always liked the site and the facilities, although it is a windy place. The views are amazing and the walk to the Beacon is a great pleasure....Read less.

"Excellent"

Mr P Douglass - Stayed Sep 2021

30/09/2021

Went there as a base to explore. There are miles of footpaths directly from the site, including access to Ivinghoe Beacon and the Ashridge Boundary trail. Also a short walk to the Rose & Crown in......Read more.

Went there as a base to explore. There are miles of footpaths directly from the site, including access to Ivinghoe Beacon and the Ashridge Boundary trail. Also a short walk to the Rose & Crown in Ivinghoe which was very pleasant.

The welcome from staff was friendly, after which they were unobtrusive but available if required.

Facilities block I used looked newly refurbished. I asked for a quiet spot and almost had the town field to myself but there was also a main field with a nice family buzz about it.

Overall a great weekend and I’d be happy to go back....Read less.

"First amazing trip to the beacon"

Mr J Egan - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

30/09/2021

It won't be the last. George was a lege. Great site. Thanks so much.

"Excellent Site"

Mrs J Porter - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

29/09/2021

Beautiful campsite with stunning sunset views. Exceptionally clean and well maintained site with excellent facilities. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here & I will return soon.

"Fantastic site"

Ms S Cameron - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

29/09/2021

Just returned from our 4th visit to Town Farm. We love everything about the place but especially the big skies and great views of ivinghoe beacon. The facilities are excellent, the family who run......Read more.

Just returned from our 4th visit to Town Farm. We love everything about the place but especially the big skies and great views of ivinghoe beacon. The facilities are excellent, the family who run it are so helpful and friendly. The site is only 20 miles from our home in London and we visit, and will continue to do so, when we need some down time in glorious surroundings. The Rose and Crown pub is only 15 mins walk down the hill through the sheep field and great place for a pint and delicious meal....Read less.

"Great site"

Mr G Rowell - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

23/09/2021

Initially visited due to proximity to Whipsnade Zoo. However will return due to the site itself. Great location, amazing views and good facilities too including a games room for the kids who also......Read more.

Initially visited due to proximity to Whipsnade Zoo. However will return due to the site itself. Great location, amazing views and good facilities too including a games room for the kids who also enjoyed excellent WiFi from the far side of the field....Read less.

"Beautiful"

Mr I Elson - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

23/09/2021

Lovely first time there.

"My stay"

Ms M Pastor - Stayed Sep 2021

23/09/2021

Fantastic place. Tops my camping experience so far.

"Excellent place to stay - couples, families and DofE!"

C Coking - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

23/09/2021

I am yet to stay somewhere where the facilities are as good as Town Farm - you never have to queue for toilets, showers and washing facilities - and they're always clean! The views for sunrise and......Read more.

I am yet to stay somewhere where the facilities are as good as Town Farm - you never have to queue for toilets, showers and washing facilities - and they're always clean! The views for sunrise and sunset are amazing! Excellent base for walks and local pubs/restaurants are a walk away....Read less.

"Glorious views"

Mrs C Moss - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

We were very lucky with the weather. Glorious views, lovely sunshine. Many fields for walking and Ivinghoe Beacon and Tring woods nearby. My dog loves the place too. Stayed before and always......Read more.

We were very lucky with the weather. Glorious views, lovely sunshine. Many fields for walking and Ivinghoe Beacon and Tring woods nearby. My dog loves the place too. Stayed before and always impressed with the helpful friendly staff. Had a fire pit this time which was great....Read less.

"Short stay wish it had been longer"

Mrs S Brooks - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

21/09/2021

Very much like this campsite. Wonderful views and as a walking base. Bird life is stunning murmurating starlings and gathering swallows.

Ravens and Red Kites. A real joy to see.

"Good stay"

Mr I Harvey - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

18/09/2021

Chosen for proximity to RAF Halton where we had a visit.

All in all good, but, we normally avoid sites with camping in tents, that concerned me, and the one thing which was close to putting me off......Read more.

Chosen for proximity to RAF Halton where we had a visit.

All in all good, but, we normally avoid sites with camping in tents, that concerned me, and the one thing which was close to putting me off altogether was FIREPITS! A combination of those and tents is the polar opposite of what we want.

Fortunately there were only a few, distant, tents and no firepits while we were there!...Read less.

"3 day stay over August bank holiday weekend"

Mrs H Baron - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

15/09/2021

We found the site to be larger than we had expected and there were a number of fields to choose from to pitch our tent. We had a warm and friendly reception from a staff member who gave a run down on......Read more.

We found the site to be larger than we had expected and there were a number of fields to choose from to pitch our tent. We had a warm and friendly reception from a staff member who gave a run down on how the fields/camping areas were allocated, ie family, groups or quieter areas. We opted for a quiet field (which I believe is a recent addition to the site) which is on a slope but level areas can be found. It's also a little walk to the shower/toilet block. Around 5 mins from the bottom of the field where we were. Shower/toilet block was very clean and well maintained considering it was a busy weekend.

Easy access to a walk, from the site, up to Ivinghoe Beacon; around 3 miles as an up and back.

Enjoyed coffee and breakfast from the mobile cafe. Breakfast baps were excellent!

Overall a great campsite and we enjoyed our stay. Just a couple of things to note, the road next to the site is busy and can be noisy at night and also the site is on the flight path from Gatwick or Heathrow which again is noisy up until 10/11pm....Read less.

"Pleasant weekend with friends and children"

Dr A Shirley - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

13/09/2021

Nice location and great staff. I was in a caravan and my friends were in tents. Some of the caravan pitches are fully serviced, but mine wasn’t. Not ideal to have to use the chemical waste disposal......Read more.

Nice location and great staff. I was in a caravan and my friends were in tents. Some of the caravan pitches are fully serviced, but mine wasn’t. Not ideal to have to use the chemical waste disposal point to drain grey waste. It would be better to have a drain at the water point for that. Also, who thought it was a good idea to put the tap at the back of the chemical waste disposal point? You have to stand in the trough to reach it, or reach over the wall from behind....Read less.

"x"

Ms S Woodbridge - Stayed Sep 2021

13/09/2021

x

"Great weekend"

R Knott - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

11/09/2021

Great campsite with local walks, pubs and fun for kids. Loved the coffee van that came every morning during our stay - such a treat to have good coffee and a delicious breakfast whilst camping. And......Read more.

Great campsite with local walks, pubs and fun for kids. Loved the coffee van that came every morning during our stay - such a treat to have good coffee and a delicious breakfast whilst camping. And super friendly service from the coffee ladies, thank you!...Read less.

"Great campsite"

Mr G Elsey - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

10/09/2021

Another visit to this excellent site, with great views all around. Great team, nothing is too much trouble. Beautiful area to visit. Would recommend wholeheartedly.

"Dog Friendly"

Mrs K Forbes - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

10/09/2021

There is a lovely walk to a village pub that is also dog friendly. Our only criticism was there was no designated dog walk on the park and no dog waste bins. We had a lovely time and the staff were......Read more.

There is a lovely walk to a village pub that is also dog friendly. Our only criticism was there was no designated dog walk on the park and no dog waste bins. We had a lovely time and the staff were very helpful and obliging. A little bit pricey. The toilet facilities were spotless. We will return....Read less.

"Superb campsite for families in a beautiful location"

M Peirce - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

Absolutely loved my stay here with my lad and a couple of friends. Fantastic facilities, lovely location and a great, open feeling to it with plenty of space. Beautiful views and nice walks available......Read more.

Absolutely loved my stay here with my lad and a couple of friends. Fantastic facilities, lovely location and a great, open feeling to it with plenty of space. Beautiful views and nice walks available from the site. Chip van in evening and breakfast van in morning a huge bonus. Fridges to chill beers and milk ask superb. Will hopefully return here again and again...Read less.

"Weekend with friends and family at Town Farm"

Mr P Sharrocks - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

Great place to stay - friendly, easy to check in and not overcomplicated. Great to have an open fire. Facilities were good especially having fridges, freezer, microwaves and kettle. Most of all the......Read more.

Great place to stay - friendly, easy to check in and not overcomplicated. Great to have an open fire. Facilities were good especially having fridges, freezer, microwaves and kettle. Most of all the kids (aged 10, 6 and 3) loved the playground and everyone loved the table football and table tennis in the games room. We'll be back....Read less.

"Excellent"

Mrs B Gregory - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

There are so many good things to say it's hard to know where to begin. But I'll start with cleanliness because we are still in the midst of Covid and Town Farm are taking this very seriously. The......Read more.

There are so many good things to say it's hard to know where to begin. But I'll start with cleanliness because we are still in the midst of Covid and Town Farm are taking this very seriously. The toilets and facilities were being cleaned almost continuously. They are working very hard to keep everyone safe. The staff are all so efficient and super friendly. The campsite itself is a gorgeous place to stay. The views and sunsets from the upper fields are just beautiful and a great place to unwind. There is lots of space for playing games and with a rainy day games barn plus playground for little ones, there is plenty to do. And with firepits delivered to your tent for the evenings there's almost no reason to leave the site at all. The facilities are superb with great showers and a large utility area with plenty of sinks, washing machines, microwaves and fridge freezer space. There are some lovely walks (with stunning hilltop views) and pubs nearby though plus a Go Ape 20 mins away for the more adventurous. All just under an hour away from London too so a perfect weekend getaway. Thank-you Town Farm!...Read less.

"Friendly, professional, clean campsite with great playground and facilities."

Ms J Tabraham-Johnson - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

I've been here twice now as I really like it. The rules are straightforward, allow everyone to enjoy the site, but are not too draconian. The staff are genuinely friendly and happy to help. The pitch......Read more.

I've been here twice now as I really like it. The rules are straightforward, allow everyone to enjoy the site, but are not too draconian. The staff are genuinely friendly and happy to help. The pitch sizes are generous and bespoke to the group you are with. There is a good choice of different areas e.g. by the playground, further from the facilities, great views etc. The views from all the pitches are incredible of Ivinghoe Beacon and the surrounding countryside. Sunsets are beautiful. The toilets are the cleanest campsite ones I have ever seen, with regular cleaning by staff. Good fridges and freezers with one microwave and lots of sinks for washing-up. Fires are allowed and you just need to stop feeding them fuel after 11pm, which means most people go to sleep by midnight. The playground is brilliant. Fantastic walks nearby to the pub in the nearby village or up Ivinghoe Beacon, which is a great walk. I came with family and camped with a group of friends. We all had such a good time. Would really recommend this place....Read less.

"Enjoyable camping holiday, but a bit pricey."

Mrs J Gibson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

08/09/2021

We camped here with our friends over the Bank Holiday weekend and we have a 9 and 10 year old between us. We were happy for the kids to roam around making use of the play parks and play rooms and......Read more.

We camped here with our friends over the Bank Holiday weekend and we have a 9 and 10 year old between us. We were happy for the kids to roam around making use of the play parks and play rooms and they loved having independence to roam in a safe environment. The staff were great and it's really lovely to be able to have camp fires. The communal kitchen facilities with huge washing up sinks, fridges, freezers and kettles were very cleanand useful as we didn't get an electric pitch. The surrounding area is lovely for exploring and we did lots of walking.

Slight downsides - The new toilet block nearest the non electric field is very modern, but the sloping shallow sink with only a long slit for drainage and only just enough room to wash your hands under the taps seemed an unusual choice for a busy campsite. The shower cubicle walls are very glossy so every hair, bits of fluff etc stick to it which is a bit off putting especially as the changing dry area is quite narrow.

This is the most expensive campsite we stayed at this summer and at the other two we had electric pitches....Read less.

"Love the site - clean and well maintained."

Miss J Grant - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

07/09/2021

We have been before and had another lovely stay. You can't fault the site....from the kettles for a quick early morning brew, to microwaves for reheating food this site is well equipped.

Our only......Read more.

We have been before and had another lovely stay. You can't fault the site....from the kettles for a quick early morning brew, to microwaves for reheating food this site is well equipped.

Our only slight reservation was that they seem to have moved the flight path to Luton Airport and we did notice the airplanes....especially the 12:30 am one both nights. Obviously this is not down to the camp site and can be resolved with ear plugs....Read less.

"Another great break"

Mrs M Garbutt - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

05/09/2021

Had our second visit and can’t wait to return. A lovely local site for our family to enjoy. Site has everything you need and love the food trucks which help with meal ideas.

"Lovely site in a good spot with views."

Mr C Thomas - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

05/09/2021

Our family loves to stay at this site. Unfortunately, there was no hot water in the showers after 09.00 on the first day of our stay, though believe this was an issue being investigated.

"Breath taking views"

Mrs H Frazer - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

05/09/2021

Always love Town Farm come back a lot as the views and walks are so good

Everyone is so helpful and the camp especially the toilets are spotless nothing is to much trouble and we live having an......Read more.

Always love Town Farm come back a lot as the views and walks are so good

Everyone is so helpful and the camp especially the toilets are spotless nothing is to much trouble and we live having an evening campfire

Will be returning again...Read less.

"A very good site"

Miss K Smith - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

05/09/2021

I chose Town Farm because it wasn’t too far away from home and I needed a nice site for my child and dogs.

This site provides a proper camping experience along with good amenities. EHU if you have......Read more.

I chose Town Farm because it wasn’t too far away from home and I needed a nice site for my child and dogs.

This site provides a proper camping experience along with good amenities. EHU if you have it but plenty of appliances available to use if you don’t. Staff were great, I used the firewood run every night. Town Farm is very clean and well looked after. The coffee van and visiting catering vans are great!

Local pub, The Rose and Crown in Ivinghoe is also great, very friendly staff and great service.

Can’t fault our stay at all....Read less.

"Town Farm is great!"

Ms N Pritchard - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

04/09/2021

Highly recommend

"Bank Holiday Stay"

Mr H Waeland - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

03/09/2021

A great site to stay at. All staff were friendly and welcoming. We were shown a perfect spot for us to pitch with our needs taken in to account. On-site facilities were good and it was really great......Read more.

A great site to stay at. All staff were friendly and welcoming. We were shown a perfect spot for us to pitch with our needs taken in to account. On-site facilities were good and it was really great to have the outside catering vans for pizzas, breakfast and fish and chips coming in which we used too Definitely, will come back....Read less.

"Very friendly"

Mrs P Wickenden - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

03/09/2021

Very friendly welcoming site No marked pitches and large area allocated for our family group so we could all pitch together Fire-pits a lovely addition Plenty of space for playing ball games......Read more.

Very friendly welcoming site No marked pitches and large area allocated for our family group so we could all pitch together Fire-pits a lovely addition Plenty of space for playing ball games Facilities clean and tidy

This was our fifth visit which says it all !...Read less.

"Real camping"

Mrs Y Rowland - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

01/09/2021

We love Town Farm Camping. Small and perfectly formed. Staff really helpful, facilities excellent and always clean, beautiful countryside location and good value for money. We’ll be back 👍🏻

"Well run, clean, convenient, beautiful sunsets"

A Boswell - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

01/09/2021

Had a great 5 night stay with a big group of friends/families, we were impressed with the quality of the facilities, toilet and shower blocks were kept very clean and functional, good to have some......Read more.

Had a great 5 night stay with a big group of friends/families, we were impressed with the quality of the facilities, toilet and shower blocks were kept very clean and functional, good to have some leisure and indoor facilities in case of wet weather, nice to have play equipment in the lower field as well as the big playground near the entrance. Staff were friendly and helpful. One of the main drawbacks for me was the enthusiastic promotion of fire pits - it was so smokey in the evenings, even a long way from any tents/fires as the smoke blew across the campsite. Also being under the Luton airport flightpath was quite noisy, not quite 24 hours a day but there were still some very late and early flights that woke some of our group, plus the road is quite busy during the day so there is the constant drone from the road with occasional bursts of loud engine noise into the evening. It was a great introduction to camping for some of the newbies in our group with all the good facilities and the sunsets from the hillside were amazing, but it is a trade-off with road and air traffic noise, likewise having firepits permitted is a highlight in some ways but the smokiness is the trade-off for your toasted marshmallows. The smokiness is probably less on the upper fields as it seemed the prevailing wind was from the upper fields down towards the lower fields (at least while we were there)....Read less.

"Third stay at this lovely site"

Mrs C Fantozzi - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

We love this campsite. The views are wonderful, the staff are friendly and attentive. The facilities are clean, really accessible and plentiful. Best of all are the firepits!

"Excellent site"

Mrs S Dungate - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

Lovely campsite with amazing views, excellent facilities and very friendly helpful staff. Definitely worth a visit.

"Camping Feedback"

B Wilson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

I couldn't fault the staff or the cleanliness as per my scores above, but the tents you rent moving right into the very bottom of the furthest field this was troublesome with 3 young children under 7......Read more.

I couldn't fault the staff or the cleanliness as per my scores above, but the tents you rent moving right into the very bottom of the furthest field this was troublesome with 3 young children under 7 who wanted to use the Toilet or to wash especially when it got dark. Its also right on a flight path with big planes, these are every 15-20 minutes and breaks the peace and quiet of the great outdoors. For these two reasons, we wouldn't stay again unless they were moved back up to the main fields nearer the facilities....Read less.

"First time stay"

Mr C Gray - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

30/08/2021

Great location, easy walking distance to local village. Clean and tidy facilities, very friendly staff on site. Great place to stay . Highly recommended

"Not the first time, nor the last"

Mr M Williams - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

30/08/2021

A great campsite with excellent views and amenities. Friendly, helpful staff. Easy access, clean washrooms & close to a lovely local village pub. Good cycling and walking nearby. All in all a good......Read more.

A great campsite with excellent views and amenities. Friendly, helpful staff. Easy access, clean washrooms & close to a lovely local village pub. Good cycling and walking nearby. All in all a good value site that we will definitely return to....Read less.

"Lovely few days"

Mrs C Varley - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

30/08/2021

Excellent base for discovering the Chilterns. Beautifully clean and lots of amenities so no waiting around.

"Excellent campsite"

Mrs L Meek - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

27/08/2021

Our 1st time at Town Farm but we will return in our campervan. Views amazing, plenty of space. Toilets and showers spotless. Lots of walks and had food in the local pub which was really good. Had an......Read more.

Our 1st time at Town Farm but we will return in our campervan. Views amazing, plenty of space. Toilets and showers spotless. Lots of walks and had food in the local pub which was really good. Had an amazing 2 night break....Read less.

"Great to be back!"

Mr G Meech - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

27/08/2021

Great to be back after a few years away from camping. See you again soon

"Great campsite"

Mrs C Griffin - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

26/08/2021

We had a brilliant stay here, perfect for children, plenty of space, clean facilities, fantastic hot showers and beautiful views. Definitely want to come back. Thank you.

"Spotless facilities lovely staff very family friendly"

Mrs L Drage - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

26/08/2021

Bathrooms were absolutely spotless. Really hands-on approachable staff. Lovely family feel

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead