Leekworth Caravan & Camping Park

80 Reviews

4.4 / 5 overall rating based on 80 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

54%

Very Good

36%

Average

10%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Excellent site, wonderful helpful owners, has adult only field."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

18/03/2020

Great place to stay for access to the Pennines, high force etc, lovely to sit on a night time with a fire pit burning, just listening to the river. Adult only field is excellent idea.

"Historically stay"

M Oakley - Stayed Oct 2019

15/10/2019

I stayed at the cottage as it was nicely placed for a study day I attended and for visiting the surrounding area . It was quite , comfortable and I very much enjoyed my stay. I would definitely like......Read more.

I stayed at the cottage as it was nicely placed for a study day I attended and for visiting the surrounding area . It was quite , comfortable and I very much enjoyed my stay. I would definitely like to book again next year and maybe stay a little long as there is so much more I want to see...Read less.

"visit"

Mr J Pearse - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

14/10/2019

all excellent

"A good stopover"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2019

05/10/2019

We stayed here with friends for 1 night. Facilities were good. Shower was hot but was in the disabled toilet (wet room) and it flooded. The main block was closed.

The host was very friendly and......Read more.

We stayed here with friends for 1 night. Facilities were good. Shower was hot but was in the disabled toilet (wet room) and it flooded. The main block was closed.

The host was very friendly and chatty. The site had good sized pitches and was clean and tidy. Plenty of fresh water points. The access lane was very narrow with few passing places. A pleasant walk into the town. Lots of walking in the surrounding area...Read less.

"Great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Great site bit expensive but dont mind paying for a good site but charging 50 pence to have a shower is ridiculous when they are not that good to start with, been to sites for a lot less with better......Read more.

Great site bit expensive but dont mind paying for a good site but charging 50 pence to have a shower is ridiculous when they are not that good to start with, been to sites for a lot less with better facilities....Read less.

"Lovely Site, Excellent Location"

Mr P Edwards - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

19/09/2019

Really nice people, level site and quiet. If the midgies would stay away, it would be perfect.

"Short break on the river Tees"

Mrs A Conway - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

19/09/2019

This is a lovely park in a stunning location, the staff are friendly and very helpful. The facilities are exceptionally clean and well maintained. I would recommend this site to others.

"Pristine site, friendly staff, great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

17/09/2019

Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The site is kept beautifully and washrooms spotless. Well equipped with free wifi. Beautiful quiet location.

"Stay September 3019"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

17/09/2019

Lovely clean , spotless site. Very well maintained. New clean toilet and shower block.

Area beautiful. Lots of dog walks and hiking routes. 12 min walk to town.

Only down side borrow single track......Read more.

Lovely clean , spotless site. Very well maintained. New clean toilet and shower block.

Area beautiful. Lots of dog walks and hiking routes. 12 min walk to town.

Only down side borrow single track to get to, which can accommodate a large camper or caravan. Reason they insist no one books on until 1.30. Showers 50p. Free fishing . Loads of room on pitches and adult only field....Read less.

"Great site and great fishing."

Mr M Newton - Stayed Sep 2019

14/09/2019

Stayed for two nights to attend a fly fishing weekend hosted by local guide Jonathan Barnes witch I really enjoyed.

"Convenient for exploring area on foot or by car."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

12/09/2019

Excellent site can't wait to return.

"Stay in the stargazer tent"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

Loved the site, easily found, site clean and tidy. Warm welcome from host and facilities lovely clean and new. Tent was great fun, we had a clear night and opportunity to stargaze- spectacular. Tent......Read more.

Loved the site, easily found, site clean and tidy. Warm welcome from host and facilities lovely clean and new. Tent was great fun, we had a clear night and opportunity to stargaze- spectacular. Tent well equipped and loved the fire pit . Would definitely stay again. Lovely walks by the river and beyond....Read less.

"Child free campervan"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

Booked this site due to the availability of the adult only pitches. Had a great stay, location is fabulous, got a lovely pitch facing the river, staff very friendly and the hire of a fire pit with......Read more.

Booked this site due to the availability of the adult only pitches. Had a great stay, location is fabulous, got a lovely pitch facing the river, staff very friendly and the hire of a fire pit with logs for £5 very good value....Read less.

"Nice place lovely setting"

Mr C Winter - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

02/09/2019

Stayed at adult section of park, tent with electric hook up. Good space car up with you on pitch. Thin one vehicle width access road would be only concern but is managed in main by strict arrival and......Read more.

Stayed at adult section of park, tent with electric hook up. Good space car up with you on pitch. Thin one vehicle width access road would be only concern but is managed in main by strict arrival and exit timings . Heading off and back on off course you may meet and need to reverse to passing point. This was fine in car.

Lovely surroundings well ran and managed site. Shop with small but good range of essentials including beer fridge. Fire pit available from site. Right next to river. Helpful staff good new toilet and shower facilities well looked after and clean also. Would return....Read less.

"Camping trip to visit High Force"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

01/09/2019

Well kept picturesque site on the river Tees. Clean well maintained pitches and facilities lovely views.

"Okay for price"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

01/09/2019

Owner is welcoming but staff were rude! There are no activities or things in camp site for children which is disappointing. Value for money is a little high and it costs to have a shower and only......Read more.

Owner is welcoming but staff were rude! There are no activities or things in camp site for children which is disappointing. Value for money is a little high and it costs to have a shower and only sinks for brushing teeth are within the toilet area but the facilities are very clean...Read less.

"Really impressed"

Mr K Finan - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

A great site, very flat, very generous pitches, considering the recent downpours very well drained. Shower and toilet block very clean, well maintained and well above average, a pleasure to use.......Read more.

A great site, very flat, very generous pitches, considering the recent downpours very well drained. Shower and toilet block very clean, well maintained and well above average, a pleasure to use. Staff very friendly and helpful. Have used this site a couple of times and will continue for the foreseeable future......Read less.

"Camping by the river"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

Great site, Riverside lactation, good facilities and dark skies, amazing on a clear night.

"Lovely site, will definitely be back"

Mrs H Hudson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

Beautiful location, friendly owners/staff and good clean facilities. Loved the option of the adult only field and the location of pitches right on the river. Pitches were large and very well spaced.......Read more.

Beautiful location, friendly owners/staff and good clean facilities. Loved the option of the adult only field and the location of pitches right on the river. Pitches were large and very well spaced. The small site shop stocked allsorts from camping gear, to food and drink, to fire pit hire and the prices were very reasonable. Pub in the village did lovely food. Loads of great places to visit in the area. Will definitely be back....Read less.

"Easy to find nice site"

A Welsh - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

We enjoyed our stay at the site

"Lovely stay"

Miss A Sanbora - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

Stayed last year my son loves the river so we came back maybe a play park would’ve great for kids too but we really enjoyed our three days here.

"A lovely location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

26/08/2019

A lovely location at the side of the river, adult pitches available, Toilets and Showers are immaculately kept and plenty of hot water for your 50 pence, the lane to the site is very narrow and could......Read more.

A lovely location at the side of the river, adult pitches available, Toilets and Showers are immaculately kept and plenty of hot water for your 50 pence, the lane to the site is very narrow and could cause a problem other than that lovely site, but a little expensive we thought....Read less.

"Lovely location"

Mr P Lowes - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

Really nice location in Middleton in Teesdale. Not far to village centre! Access to caravan park is a little scary, as it’s a very narrow single track with not many passing places, luckily we didn’t......Read more.

Really nice location in Middleton in Teesdale. Not far to village centre! Access to caravan park is a little scary, as it’s a very narrow single track with not many passing places, luckily we didn’t come across another caravan when we were entering or exiting, which would’ve been difficult! Pitches are roomy, but not many water stands. Toilets and washrooms are adequate but not really luxurious as stated! Can’t get my head around having to pay 50p for a shower which the head is fixed to the wall! Not my idea of luxury! I think when a caravan site charges around £30 a night it shouldn’t charge for the showers!...Read less.

"Short holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

Very good site but £2.50 booking fee and 50p for showers not good. We had two tents to book in two x £2.50

"Highly recommend"

Ms H Davison - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

Happy to writhe this review for a well maintained campsite. Clean, flat and spacious camp spots. Lovely surroundings, easy 10 min walk to the town/village, immaculate toilet/shower block and very......Read more.

Happy to writhe this review for a well maintained campsite. Clean, flat and spacious camp spots. Lovely surroundings, easy 10 min walk to the town/village, immaculate toilet/shower block and very nice and helpful staff. Will definitely be returning....Read less.

"Peaceful, scenic campsite next to River Tees"

Mr. J Gemmell - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

19/08/2019

Very peaceful level and well-maintained campsite in beautiful location by the River Tees. Good clean facilities. Friendly owner- family run.

Good sized pitches and most with electric hookup.

Plant......Read more.

Very peaceful level and well-maintained campsite in beautiful location by the River Tees. Good clean facilities. Friendly owner- family run.

Good sized pitches and most with electric hookup.

Plant walk from site into Middleton in Teesdale.

NB although we were there during some very wet weather the site was well-drained and no problems despite being near the river....Read less.

"Very Nice Site"

Mr R Bell - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

15/08/2019

Very nice open site, with large pitches.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Very clean and spacious showers and toilets

Lovely views of surrounding hills

Accessing the site is a bit "hairy", as it is......Read more.

Very nice open site, with large pitches.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Very clean and spacious showers and toilets

Lovely views of surrounding hills

Accessing the site is a bit "hairy", as it is a long single track road, but we had no problems in or out....Read less.

"Quiet, riverside location but within easy walking distance of Middleton."

Mr B Eggington - Stayed Jul 2019

14/08/2019

My dog I needed a quiet & spacious site for our touring caravan holiday with easy access to off lead walks with electric hook up & basic but clean shower facilities & Leekworth ticked all our boxes.......Read more.

My dog I needed a quiet & spacious site for our touring caravan holiday with easy access to off lead walks with electric hook up & basic but clean shower facilities & Leekworth ticked all our boxes. Robin, his Mam & Gran made us feel completely at home, were available if required but otherwise, left us in peace, perfect. Tight access lane if your tourer is 2.5m wide....Read less.

"Family camping"

Mr K Spencer - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

Second visit - perfect for the Middleton Carnival weekend. A touch pricey but convenient and well managed site.

"Another lovely stay despite the weather"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

Stayed here at Easter & had red hot few days. Some fantastic dog walks straight from site. Lovely long walk to High Force. Came back in August and wandered into village for carnival, & watched the......Read more.

Stayed here at Easter & had red hot few days. Some fantastic dog walks straight from site. Lovely long walk to High Force. Came back in August and wandered into village for carnival, & watched the floats go by having a few drinks outside the Forresters Arms Lovely Sunday lunch at The Teesdale.

We stay on adult only field with our 2 dogs and really enjoy our time there.

...Read less.

"Leekworth stay"

Mr P Barrow - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

We stayed for three nights midweek, had a good pitch and although it had rained hard the ground drained very quickly. Great location for walking. Site very tidy, decent enough little shop and the......Read more.

We stayed for three nights midweek, had a good pitch and although it had rained hard the ground drained very quickly. Great location for walking. Site very tidy, decent enough little shop and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay again....Read less.

"Lotus bell tent"

A Cheetham - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

12/08/2019

We stayed two nights in the lotus bell tent which was excellent it’s located at the bottom of the campsite by itself and private the tent is very well maintained and clean there is a decking area out......Read more.

We stayed two nights in the lotus bell tent which was excellent it’s located at the bottom of the campsite by itself and private the tent is very well maintained and clean there is a decking area out side the tent with a picknick bench and a fire pit wich is great when it gets dark .the campsite has its own shop and just about has everything you need for camping if you forget anything and is reasonably priced .toilet facilities is probably the cleanest I have been to the campsite is and seems like a family run business and the staff are very helpful they have a nothing seems to be a problem attitude and we will definitely be back...Read less.

"John"

Mr J Lockwood - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

12/08/2019

Friendly staff and well kept site

"Lovely,Friendly Staff and Clean place to stay."

Miss L Hornbrook - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

08/08/2019

I've stayed at Leekworth caravan and camping site twice now. Once with my friends and also with my family. Lovely campsite. Clean toilets and shower block. Nice little river were you can go for a......Read more.

I've stayed at Leekworth caravan and camping site twice now. Once with my friends and also with my family. Lovely campsite. Clean toilets and shower block. Nice little river were you can go for a walk. Barnard castle town is only 10-15 minutes drive. Also can rent a fire pit with wood which we did both times. Friendly staff. The shop on site has everything you need. Will definitely return in the future....Read less.

"Middleton in Teesdale"

M Wyatt - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

06/08/2019

Nice site, able to get milk and basis essentials.

Would benefit from washing and drying facilities

East to walk into Middleton.

Would return again.

"2 night camping trip"

Mrs M Claringbold-Bell - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Unfortunately it was pouring with rain when we went but it is still a beautiful well run site. Very friendly staff and clean facilities.

"Riverside setting"

Mr I Saddington - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Family friendly site with lovely riverside walks and good selection of local dining opportunities. Fabulous location for exploring Teesdale and beyond. Beware of long narrow access road.

"Spacious"

Mr A Booth - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

The site is a mix of caravans, mobile homes, camper vans and tents. The pitches are all of a good size.

"A"

Mr D Harker - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Highly reccomended site,

"Views and wildlife"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

27/07/2019

We liked the site for its setting by the river and views of surrounding hills. Plenty of birds to watch including a barn owl hunting over a neighbouring field and we saw a hedgehog walk by our tent.......Read more.

We liked the site for its setting by the river and views of surrounding hills. Plenty of birds to watch including a barn owl hunting over a neighbouring field and we saw a hedgehog walk by our tent. You need an insect repellent or citron ella candle as the proximity to the river means there are a fair few biting insects about. The washrooms are new and modern but I did feel that when the site is busy the washing up facility would not be adequate for that ( only two sinks in a tiny room). It was quiet when we were there so it was not a problem. The nearby village of Middleton in Teesdale is really special and everyone so friendly. Great food at the Teesdale Hotel. A great area to stay in for walks, cycling and going to the Kynren show at Bishop Auckland....Read less.

"X"

Anonymous - Stayed Jul 2019

26/07/2019

X

"Claire"

Miss C Broere - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Toilet and shower block was to an exceptionally high standard, pitches were spacious. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Despite there being no play area for children we still had a fabulous weekend.......Read more.

Toilet and shower block was to an exceptionally high standard, pitches were spacious. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Despite there being no play area for children we still had a fabulous weekend. I would defiantly recommend this site...Read less.

"Camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Stayed at Leekworth because of child friendly pitches. Toilets etc spotless. Only downfall is the access road but warned before booking.

Will return

"Natural playground"

Miss N Irvin - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

We have been coming here for years. Myself for nearly 30 years!

The most appealing part of the site is the natural beauty of its situation. Set on the river with a pebble beach brilliant for making a......Read more.

We have been coming here for years. Myself for nearly 30 years!

The most appealing part of the site is the natural beauty of its situation. Set on the river with a pebble beach brilliant for making a rock pool, skimmers and trying to ‘dam off’ the Tees.

The Teesdale way runs along the site too and the footpath in both directions is an interesting walk. We found a lovely spot 10 minutes walk (away from Middleton) along the Teesdale Way where we just day and told stories. My 4 year olds imagination running wild with the fields, the forest, the river and the animals, bugs and bird life spotted along the route.

A short walk into Middleton (20mins to the Co-Op) which is a glorious little village with a few cafes, chippy, Forresters restaurant (really nice food and allows dogs, defo need to book) it also has McFarlane’s butchers which is amazing, a little antiques store and hardware store along with a few places to grab a drink.

The site itself is always kept immaculately clean, the ground is generally flat in the main field and the facilities are maintained to a high standard. No children’s facilities as such but we never struggle to keep our littl’un entertained!

...Read less.

"Lovely Area"

Mrs J Hall - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

24/07/2019

The campsite was quiet and clean even though there was some maintenance work going on in the grounds with Robin joking about holidaying on a building site, it was impressive that even though he was......Read more.

The campsite was quiet and clean even though there was some maintenance work going on in the grounds with Robin joking about holidaying on a building site, it was impressive that even though he was building a new road into the site it didn't disrupt your enjoyment at all.

Lovely view over the river and a nice dog walk along the river into town, only down side is that its a bit more expensive that other sites...Read less.

"room for improvement"

Mrs J Stock - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

24/07/2019

Dishwashing facilities a bit cramped if more than one person using them

However this was our second visit and we would definitley come again

"Walking Holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

20/07/2019

Lovely campsite, beautiful location. Look forward to returning at some time. Washing up facilities very cramped and could do with being a little bigger!

"Flies tiny ones"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

18/07/2019

The flies done my head in

"Well maintained clean site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

18/07/2019

Enjoyed our stay at Leekworth, good location washing facilities very clean, a little expensive at £63 for two nights and on top of that it’s 50p for a shower.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead