Huntly Castle Caravan Park

227 Reviews

4.5 / 5 overall rating based on 227 reviews in the last 12 months

98% would recommend this site

97% would stay here again

Excellent

70%

Very Good

25%

Average

5%

Poor

1%

Terrible

0%

"Tour of Scotland"

Mrs M Wood - Stayed with partner, May 2022

20/05/2022

We chose this site because of its location. On arrival we were met by a very pleasant and helpful young man, who escorted us to our pitch and gave us directions to the town and supermarket etc.......Read more.

We chose this site because of its location. On arrival we were met by a very pleasant and helpful young man, who escorted us to our pitch and gave us directions to the town and supermarket etc.

Although the facilities were quite dated, they were spotlessly clean - in fact the whole of the site was very well maintained.

We will definitely be back!...Read less.

"Gorgeous campsite"

Kennedy - Stayed with partner, May 2022

15/05/2022

What a lovely place, very friendly and helpful warden, we loved our stay here and walk along the river. The local chippy good too! Next time we are up that way we will definitely stay here, can't......Read more.

What a lovely place, very friendly and helpful warden, we loved our stay here and walk along the river. The local chippy good too! Next time we are up that way we will definitely stay here, can't wait!...Read less.

"Nice park but town is very run down"

Mrs J Appleby - Stayed with partner, May 2022

15/05/2022

Park was clean and tidy, but local town was completely run down with no nice pubs or restaurants

"Highland caravan site"

Mr G Brabender - Stayed with partner, May 2022

14/05/2022

Excellent site, good size pitches, easy walk to Huntly, loads of walks direct from site, 2 big superstores on your doorstep with petrol stations,all in all a great site.

"peaceful"

Mr G Nicol - Stayed with partner, May 2022

13/05/2022

nice and peaceful long weekend with good neighbor's !

chilling and recharging the battery's !

"Peaceful stay"

Mr G Milne - Stayed with partner, May 2022

12/05/2022

Stayed at n the Adult area and had a nice peaceful dtay

"General comments"

Mr K Taylor - Stayed with family, May 2022

12/05/2022

Nice park, used many times before but the price charged per night has gone through the roof compared to pre-Covid times. Completely out of step with other Aberdeenshire sites price wise now, so......Read more.

Nice park, used many times before but the price charged per night has gone through the roof compared to pre-Covid times. Completely out of step with other Aberdeenshire sites price wise now, so probably won’t be using it very often. The fact the site was pretty empty and only one toilet block open in high season speaks volumes....Read less.

"lovely site"

Ms E Higgs - Stayed May 2022

11/05/2022

very peaceful clean and staff helpful

"Facilities and location very good"

Mrs L Innes - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

07/05/2022

The caravan park is well kept,clean and tidy.The only problem was the electrics in the adults only section which went off a few times but this was rectified. Asda and Tesco both have fuel stations......Read more.

The caravan park is well kept,clean and tidy.The only problem was the electrics in the adults only section which went off a few times but this was rectified. Asda and Tesco both have fuel stations and are very convenient. A pleasant stay here.

...Read less.

"Nice place to stay. Very clean. Definitely recommend"

Mrs E Stefanska - Stayed with friends, Apr 2022

06/05/2022

Nice place to stay. Very clean. Definitely recommend.

Only thing were missing is proper play ground for children.

"Fantastic site"

Mr P Sheils - Stayed with friends, Apr 2022

06/05/2022

Great site , friendly staff and clean facilities . Pitches plenty big and great walks close by .

"Nightmare"

Dixon - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

05/05/2022

Let us down on our trip, electric kept going off on site and the facilities are pretty dated but was the dearest site we stayed on. Dead rabbits on the grass which the staff ignored. All other sites......Read more.

Let us down on our trip, electric kept going off on site and the facilities are pretty dated but was the dearest site we stayed on. Dead rabbits on the grass which the staff ignored. All other sites up until now are showing Scotland at it’s best...Read less.

"Peaceful setting"

Mrs E Allan - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

02/05/2022

The site is well thought out with separate sections providing privacy for guests. Good walks direct from the site for walking dogs. Would benefit from dog waste bins located onsite though.

Close......Read more.

The site is well thought out with separate sections providing privacy for guests. Good walks direct from the site for walking dogs. Would benefit from dog waste bins located onsite though.

Close enough to walk to the town centre and a good base for the area. Clean facilities...Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mr D Strong - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

01/05/2022

Great, spacious pitches, facilities excellent.

"Convenient location for coast and castles"

Prof B Roberts - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

29/04/2022

This is a convenient location, allowing access to a variety of tourist spots including the various spots on the north coast of Aberdeenshire and Moray as well as the many castles, gardens and grounds......Read more.

This is a convenient location, allowing access to a variety of tourist spots including the various spots on the north coast of Aberdeenshire and Moray as well as the many castles, gardens and grounds in this part of Scotland....Read less.

"Told by other people"

Mr G Duff - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

29/04/2022

Often stay here for weerkend

"Excellent well-managed site"

Walker - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

25/04/2022

Beautiful, attractively laid out site. Toilet/shower facilities very clean and warm. Staff friendly and helpful. Quiet and peaceful.

"Peaceful Site"

Ms G Robertson - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

21/04/2022

Site is well cared for with spacious flat pitches. We stayed for a short break in our motorhome in the adult only area, it was quiet and peaceful and we woke to the sound of birds chirping in the......Read more.

Site is well cared for with spacious flat pitches. We stayed for a short break in our motorhome in the adult only area, it was quiet and peaceful and we woke to the sound of birds chirping in the trees. The toilet/shower block was immaculate with plenty hot water in the showers. There is some nice walks round about that we walked with our dog and the town is a short walk away where we went for a meal and drinks....Read less.

"Family Holiday"

Mr F Scott - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

21/04/2022

This is the 2nd time staying at Huntly. We have 3 children age 5 and below and the caravan site layout is excellent for us to allow them to play freely while still having good vision from the......Read more.

This is the 2nd time staying at Huntly. We have 3 children age 5 and below and the caravan site layout is excellent for us to allow them to play freely while still having good vision from the Caravan. The track in front of the vans is excellent for the bikes. The service, cleanliness and suitability of the facilities was excellent and of high standard. Location of site is also within easy reach 1hr drive of alot of amenity's from coastal to start of highlands and on to Aberdeen....Read less.

"Overnight Motorhome stop."

Mr R Jennings - Stayed with partner, Apr 2022

21/04/2022

There is no Wifi despite when staying there 2 years ago we were advised that a new system was being installed.

The access and facilities for motorhome "service point" are not fit for purpose, no......Read more.

There is no Wifi despite when staying there 2 years ago we were advised that a new system was being installed.

The access and facilities for motorhome "service point" are not fit for purpose, no facility for emptying toilet waste at the point, hard to access grey waste drainage then had to move again to the tap....Read less.

"Lovely Site"

Ms A May - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

18/04/2022

Clean site, 5 mins to Nordic Outdoor centre, bbq area, and large playpark. falconry centre and other attractions near by.

Play equipment on site for children too.

Facilities clean and family......Read more.

Clean site, 5 mins to Nordic Outdoor centre, bbq area, and large playpark. falconry centre and other attractions near by.

Play equipment on site for children too.

Facilities clean and family friendly

Local amenities at hand.

Can’t wait til we return in summer....Read less.

"nice quiet site"

Mr C Forbes - Stayed with family, Apr 2022

14/04/2022

We enjoyeyd a weekend break as it was quite local to ourselves with our touring caravan, park was quiet and peaceful. Staff very helpful and site was nice and clean.

Would definitely recommend to......Read more.

We enjoyeyd a weekend break as it was quite local to ourselves with our touring caravan, park was quiet and peaceful. Staff very helpful and site was nice and clean.

Would definitely recommend to others...Read less.

"Huntly caravan park"

Mrs G Goodyear - Stayed with partner, Mar 2022

13/04/2022

It was the very beginning of the season and the park was virtually empty. This coupled with snow and rain meant we didn’t see any of the staff so it is difficult to comment on their service. There......Read more.

It was the very beginning of the season and the park was virtually empty. This coupled with snow and rain meant we didn’t see any of the staff so it is difficult to comment on their service. There was no site entertainment. Everything was fine but we were driven home early mostly due to the weather....Read less.

"Passing Through"

Mr A Shaddock - Stayed Mar 2022

06/04/2022

Great location and excellent site.

"Perfect little campsite"

Eaton-Williams - Stayed Mar 2022

04/04/2022

A lovely campsite in a tranquil location, surrounded by trees and lots of wildlife.

As a solo traveller, I felt very safe and the manager of the site was very helpful and friendly.

Site was very......Read more.

A lovely campsite in a tranquil location, surrounded by trees and lots of wildlife.

As a solo traveller, I felt very safe and the manager of the site was very helpful and friendly.

Site was very clean and obviously well cared for.

Will definitely use Huntly Castle again...Read less.

"Excellent site"

Mr P Sheils - Stayed with friends, Oct 2021

29/10/2021

Have been returning here for years , just find it so peaceful and clean . Excellent base for day trips to surrounding areas . Staff are always more than helpful . Toilets and showers although a......Read more.

Have been returning here for years , just find it so peaceful and clean . Excellent base for day trips to surrounding areas . Staff are always more than helpful . Toilets and showers although a little dated are again always spotless along with the grounds . No shop on site but Tesco & ASDA just minutes away . Hopefully back again next year ....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 31 October 2021

Thank you Mr Shiels for a super review, we really appreciate it! See you again next year!

Kind......Read more.

Thank you Mr Shiels for a super review, we really appreciate it! See you again next year!

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"Great Location"

Mr W Hepburn - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

28/10/2021

We had a very peaceful stay at Huntly for a couple of nights. we also took the train into Aberdeen and had a great day there.

Owner replied to this review on the 31 October 2021

Thank you for your review Mr Hepburn, sounds like you had a great time here! Hope to see you again......Read more.

Thank you for your review Mr Hepburn, sounds like you had a great time here! Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"Overall impression"

Mr F Wolfe - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

26/10/2021

Oversight not being told only 10 amp power supply....would have planned better to avoid tripping...

Last 300 yds could do with some signage at junction...was not the only one who followed Sat Nav......Read more.

Oversight not being told only 10 amp power supply....would have planned better to avoid tripping...

Last 300 yds could do with some signage at junction...was not the only one who followed Sat Nav which was vague, and ended up wrong road....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 31 October 2021

Thank you for your review, Mr Wolfe, we note your comments and appreciate you taking the time to......Read more.

Thank you for your review, Mr Wolfe, we note your comments and appreciate you taking the time to review us.

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"Excellent Campsite"

Mr R Maclean - Stayed Oct 2021

25/10/2021

Very well kept and maintained campsite.

Owner replied to this review on the 31 October 2021

Thank you for your super 5* review, Mr Maclean. we hope to see you back again next year!

Kind......Read more.

Thank you for your super 5* review, Mr Maclean. we hope to see you back again next year!

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"Excellent park"

Mr N Watt - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

24/10/2021

Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxed weekend/week away. Very clean & tidy site with all facilities very close at hand.

Owner replied to this review on the 31 October 2021

Thank you for your lovely 5* review, Mr Watt, we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Kind......Read more.

Thank you for your lovely 5* review, Mr Watt, we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"Family Holiday"

Mr S Greig - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

23/10/2021

Been twice now and really like the layout of the site and booking website only very small criticism would be nice if there was an indoor play area for the kids if the weather was bad. But all in all......Read more.

Been twice now and really like the layout of the site and booking website only very small criticism would be nice if there was an indoor play area for the kids if the weather was bad. But all in all great site and we will be back at some point....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 31 October 2021

Thank you for your review, Mr Greig, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards, Shay

"Happy caravaners"

Mr R Knowles - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

21/10/2021

Enjoyed our stay and like the layout being in sections. Also not far to travel from home. Will be back next year

Owner replied to this review on the 22 October 2021

Thank you for your review, Mr Knowles, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards, Shay

"October visit"

Hampton - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

19/10/2021

Better signage directions for walking to the town centre would be helpful, especially for wheelchair users.

Owner replied to this review on the 22 October 2021

Thank you for your review and the comments regarding signage, which we note.

Kind regards, Shay

"Electric cut out"

Mr G Walkeer - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

18/10/2021

Staff very friendly and helpful. Site well looked after. Excellent dog walking. 15 minute walk into town which is rather run down. Unfortunately our electric kept tripping even when only using very......Read more.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Site well looked after. Excellent dog walking. 15 minute walk into town which is rather run down. Unfortunately our electric kept tripping even when only using very little energy....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 22 October 2021

Thank you for your review, Mr Walkeer. I was sorry to hear of your power issues - we did replace a......Read more.

Thank you for your review, Mr Walkeer. I was sorry to hear of your power issues - we did replace a breaker on Friday night during your stay but that was for a different area, so I'm unsure what was causing an issue on your pitch. I hope it didn't spoil your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"Park improvements"

Mr S Dodd - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

17/10/2021

We recently stayed on the site and to say the least it rained and rained, nothing that the site has any control over, I might say. The main roadway through the site is tarmacadam surfaced and good.......Read more.

We recently stayed on the site and to say the least it rained and rained, nothing that the site has any control over, I might say. The main roadway through the site is tarmacadam surfaced and good. However, when you turn into the touring pitch areas it is not and should be considered for having tarmacadam roadways installed. From entering the touring pitch loop and arriving at the pitch the car and caravan were covered in mud due to the weather conditions. This did not improve the appearance of my car as the successive rainy days that ensued and leaving and returning to the site only exacerbated the matter. Additionally would the site management improve pitch 51, which we were on as it was like a lake for the majority of the time we were there. I had noted that the other pitches around were draining without a problem, but not 51.

Please do not take this as a damning report, but rather suggestions for improvement to what is otherwise a great site, as mentioned at the beginning the site management have no control over the weather....if only....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 22 October 2021

Thank you Mr Dodd for your detailed review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your......Read more.

Thank you Mr Dodd for your detailed review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and are currently looking in to how we can improve the roads around the touring rings over the winter.

I'm glad you still enjoyed your stay in spite of what Mother Nature has thrown our way recently, and hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"A very wet stay but still lovely."

Mr M Salt - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

15/10/2021

All facilities were well kept and everything worked. The wardens were great and very knowledgeable of the local area. Well done.

Owner replied to this review on the 22 October 2021

Thank you for your super review, Mr Salt, I'm glad you had such a good time here. Hope to see you......Read more.

Thank you for your super review, Mr Salt, I'm glad you had such a good time here. Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"Huntly Adventure"

H Brymer - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

15/10/2021

Hi we were at Huntly Castle site last Thursday for 3nights. The site was very easy to find and we were welcomed by a friendly gentleman who was very helpful during our stay Weather wasn’t great but......Read more.

Hi we were at Huntly Castle site last Thursday for 3nights. The site was very easy to find and we were welcomed by a friendly gentleman who was very helpful during our stay Weather wasn’t great but we still managed to get out for a few awls Toilets and showers were very clean and well maintained We had a great time and we will definitely return cheers Mr Brymer Site 57...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 22 October 2021

Thank you for your lovely 5* review, Mrs Brymer, I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay! Hope......Read more.

Thank you for your lovely 5* review, Mrs Brymer, I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"Friendly site and easy walking distance to shops"

Mr Brand - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

11/10/2021

Scenic walks to castle and river areas

Owner replied to this review on the 22 October 2021

Thank you for your super 5* review!

Kind regards, Shay

"i will NOT be returning"

Mr Williamson - Stayed with friends, Oct 2021

10/10/2021

i found the showers luke warm there was nowhere to sit while getting dressed and it was cold. I was surprised they wanted money up front. 1 star

Owner replied to this review on the 11 October 2021

Thank you for your review, Mr Williamson, and your comments which we have noted. We have turned up......Read more.

Thank you for your review, Mr Williamson, and your comments which we have noted. We have turned up the showers (colder intake feed now the weather has turned) so they are nice and toasty. It's a shame you didn't mention it to us during your 4 night stay - we could have done it then and you'd have had nice hot showers!

Best wishes, Shay...Read less.

"Don't keep passing by - give it a try."

Mr I Campbell - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

09/10/2021

A very well set out site with seperate " loops "with about 15 or so pitches seperated by establshed shrubs and trees. Pitches are flat,spacious and well seperated.

Only 66 pitches but three shower......Read more.

A very well set out site with seperate " loops "with about 15 or so pitches seperated by establshed shrubs and trees. Pitches are flat,spacious and well seperated.

Only 66 pitches but three shower blocks . The one we used was very clean and showers were roomy though I had to run the water for a while until it got warm enough to use (stayed end of sept.) The site was not busy at that time.

Surrounded by woods with plenty of paths and the river, ideal for dogs and for once really is only a 10 minute walk from the town.

Good farmers market on the first saturday of the month. Bought some good crab, scallops, honey and butteries. Not much else in the town although the pubs were very friendly but the castle was closed and the Castle Hotel is under renovation to be opened for the shooting and fishing brigade.

Not ideally situated for the sites of the Grampions and the beautiful beaches of the North East of Scotland but all are do-able for a day trip.Excellent place to relax and plan your trip on the North 500.

Will not keep passing by and will definately stop again for another 4 or 5 days either end of the season (we live in Aberdeen but travel all over the UK)...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 11 October 2021

Thank you for your super and detailed review, Mr Campbell. I'm delighted you gave us a try and that......Read more.

Thank you for your super and detailed review, Mr Campbell. I'm delighted you gave us a try and that you enjoyed staying here so much, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mrs C Summers - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

08/10/2021

Huntly castle is a lovely quiet relaxing site with some lovely walks around the area.

Owner replied to this review on the 11 October 2021

Thank you for your lovely review Mrs Summers.

Kind regards, Shay

"Well presented caravan park"

Mrs E Black - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

07/10/2021

Very well presented site. Wardens very nice and helpful. Taken to our pitch by the wardens. Would recommend the site to anyone who was in the area. Nice walks in surrounding area. Easy walk......Read more.

Very well presented site. Wardens very nice and helpful. Taken to our pitch by the wardens. Would recommend the site to anyone who was in the area. Nice walks in surrounding area. Easy walk into town, however there was nothing open in town on a Saturday afternoon. We were travelling in a motorhome so not easy to get out to surrounding area for us. The park though was nicely kept and the wardens very friendly....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 07 October 2021

Thank you for your lovely review, Mrs Black. I'm glad you enjoyed the Park and hope we will see you......Read more.

Thank you for your lovely review, Mrs Black. I'm glad you enjoyed the Park and hope we will see you again soon.

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"Happy tourers"

Mr Badham - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

06/10/2021

We chose Huntly Castle campsite as it was a Caravan And Motorhome Affiliated site in a central position for touring that area of NE Scotland. We were not disappointed, with the delightful......Read more.

We chose Huntly Castle campsite as it was a Caravan And Motorhome Affiliated site in a central position for touring that area of NE Scotland. We were not disappointed, with the delightful countryside and coast in easy reach of the campsite including the whisky distilling area....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 07 October 2021

Thank you for your super review! I hope you'll be back again soon!

Kind regards, Shay

"Weekend Break"

Mr D Fleming - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

05/10/2021

Very pleased with the campsite. The only niggle was plot 42, where we got flooded with the heavy rain. Had we been told to situate the awning at the opposite side from the caravan our awning......Read more.

Very pleased with the campsite. The only niggle was plot 42, where we got flooded with the heavy rain. Had we been told to situate the awning at the opposite side from the caravan our awning furnishings would not have got destroyed with the rain, as our car was very dry underneath and the awning, we needed wellies to get out of the caravan....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 07 October 2021

Thank you for your review, Mr Fleming. I was sorry to read that you had a wet experience - we......Read more.

Thank you for your review, Mr Fleming. I was sorry to read that you had a wet experience - we really did get a downpour that night and it seems pitch 42 did not drain too well, so we will take a look at that. The water table is high here next to the river but I note your comments about the other side of the pitch staying drier for future planning.

I do hope it wont' deter you from visiting again.

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"Great Place to visit"

Mr D Duncan - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

01/10/2021

The grandkids young and old enjoy the playparks and visiting the Deveron river for a paddle.

The dog absolutely loves it !

Owner replied to this review on the 07 October 2021

Thank you for your super review, Mr Duncan, it sounds like you all had a lot of fun!

Kind regards,......Read more.

Thank you for your super review, Mr Duncan, it sounds like you all had a lot of fun!

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"my opinion"

Mr Roy - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

01/10/2021

hello park is very good but one member of staff bit short of patience as i could not find caravan club card in wallet as froof of membership i eventually found it and no more was said .

Owner replied to this review on the 07 October 2021

Thank you for your review, Mr Roy, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards, Shay

"Relaxed, spacious site"

Dr T Millum - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

01/10/2021

A great centre for exploring the area. Some lovely gardens nearby, the coast around Banff and of course the distilleries. The site is relaxed and there's a nice feeling of space.

Owner replied to this review on the 07 October 2021

Thank you so much for your 5* review, it means a lot to us! I hope we will be able to welcome you......Read more.

Thank you so much for your 5* review, it means a lot to us! I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"Weeks stay"

Mr R Key - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

01/10/2021

Great site clean, good location, near shops etc local wooded walks - dog friendly. Only complaint lack of disinfectant etc inside toilet blocks. Nothing to disinfect pre used loos, showers sinks etc.......Read more.

Great site clean, good location, near shops etc local wooded walks - dog friendly. Only complaint lack of disinfectant etc inside toilet blocks. Nothing to disinfect pre used loos, showers sinks etc. in the middle of a covid pandemic. All other recent sites used have had sprays, mop buckets containing disinfectants etc....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 07 October 2021

Thank you for your review, Mr Key. I have taken note of your comments, and hope that we will see......Read more.

Thank you for your review, Mr Key. I have taken note of your comments, and hope that we will see you again soon!

Kind regards, Shay...Read less.

"Good site"

Mr T Foster - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

01/10/2021

Very nice site

Owner replied to this review on the 07 October 2021

Thank you for your review

Kind regards, Shay

© 2006 - 2022 CampStead