Church Stile Farm & Holiday Park

165 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 165 reviews in the last 12 months

96% would recommend this site

96% would stay here again

Excellent

72%

Very Good

22%

Average

4%

Poor

2%

Terrible

0%

"One night stay to walk ScAfell peak"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

19/09/2020

First class site weather was warm and dry which made for lovely night Ideal location for walking local hills

"Ideal Scafell location"

P Garnett - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Great location to access the Scafell region. Clean and neat campsite, very friendly owners. Happy to recommend.

"Location was fab!"

Mrs P Herron-Duncan - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

My partner and I wanted a campsite where we could go for walks straight from the site and we’d been promised this on other sites but sadly it wasn’t the case BUT here you can absolutely go for......Read more.

My partner and I wanted a campsite where we could go for walks straight from the site and we’d been promised this on other sites but sadly it wasn’t the case BUT here you can absolutely go for stunning walks from the site. The staff were friendly when asked about local attractions. We order pizza one night from the Wild Olive which is a 5 minute drive away (book early if you want to sit in as it books up quickly!) and we had drinks at the local screes, which was located just outside the site. The facilities were clean and accessible. I would 100% go back and recommend to my family and friends....Read less.

"Wonderful location - very well organised covid system - helpful friendly staff"

Mr R Williams - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Arrived Friday afternoon.. was very clear these guys were well organised and things were in place to deal with the covid situation .. one in and one out of the reception when booking in..i was......Read more.

Arrived Friday afternoon.. was very clear these guys were well organised and things were in place to deal with the covid situation .. one in and one out of the reception when booking in..i was informed of where my pitch was but got lost as i always do !!.. so i stopped one of the staff members as i was driving around and asked for directions she directed me to my pitch she also had explained it had been raining heavily all night and most of the day so the consequence was that the ground was saturated and to be careful and she also explained she had to shuffle some people around so they didn't get swamped by the mud.. I set up on my pitch and quickly realised that my electric hook up wasn't long enough to reach the supply.. within five minutes she was at my pitch asking if everything was ok .. i explained about the EHU and she said she would go back to reception and fetch me an extension.. she returned and helped me get it set up... what a really nice and helpful Lady.!. the site views are simply stunning .. the location is perfect for hikers of all kinds.. the facilities were well organised (one way system) for the toilet and wash facilities .. and extremely clean and best of all Piping hot showers.. all in all was very well organised .. would definitely be going back soon.....Read less.

"stay september 2020"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

Enjoyed our time there, staff were helpful and facilities clean. Fire wood needed to be dried out as was a bit new.

"walking holiday"

Mr J Lloyd - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

Ideal spot for walking

"Nice site for a get away"

Miss M Toyne - Stayed Sep 2020

16/09/2020

Family friendly site. A great base for exploring the western lakes with a variety of walks available from the site. Facilities were good, and clean. Free hot showers are always a welcome sight to......Read more.

Family friendly site. A great base for exploring the western lakes with a variety of walks available from the site. Facilities were good, and clean. Free hot showers are always a welcome sight to see. Busier site than I normally use but all goes quiet well before their 11 o'clock no noise cut off....Read less.

"Site with stunning views"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

This campsite's location is fantastic, very rural, with stunning views. Facilities were fairly clean, the only thing that could be improved was the mop and bucket provided for guests in the shower......Read more.

This campsite's location is fantastic, very rural, with stunning views. Facilities were fairly clean, the only thing that could be improved was the mop and bucket provided for guests in the shower block - water was always very dirty, so was the mop.

Lack of mobile signal might be an issue for some, however there is free wifi at the reception.

There is a constant humming noise from some sort of generator or pump(?), so if you are hoping for complete quiet at night, you might be a bit disappointed.

All in all highly recomennded campsite!

...Read less.

"Church stile"

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Good location, well maintained, welcoming staff

Limited wash/toilet facilities for size of site (if site was full)

"Stunning"

Mr J Buchanan - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Lovely place to stay. We had a great time

"Campervan at Churchstile"

Mrs S Lowe - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Our first experience of hiring a campervan and we wished to sample different sites over the week. We enjoyed our stay at Churchstile finding all facilities kept throughly clean particularly important......Read more.

Our first experience of hiring a campervan and we wished to sample different sites over the week. We enjoyed our stay at Churchstile finding all facilities kept throughly clean particularly important in times of Covid -19. The staff were most friendly on arrival and helped us with phone calls when we ran out of gas. The location is perfect to view Scarfell from Wasdale lake. Our activities included kayaking, swimming and walks on The Screes’. Also really liked our coffee and cake at The Sawmill farm shop....Read less.

"Mid week break"

Mr I Bayles - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Good accommodation, lovely views excellent choice for outdoor enthusiasts

"Great views, shame about the other visitors"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

The quiet field is not very quiet due to the nearest of the other parts of the site, not helped by the other guests creating their own mini raves or festivals. The staff were great as was the ice......Read more.

The quiet field is not very quiet due to the nearest of the other parts of the site, not helped by the other guests creating their own mini raves or festivals. The staff were great as was the ice cream and pies from the site.

Very busy site, if you prefer a quieter stay, look more out of season or when the covid is over....Read less.

"First trip to the lakes"

Miss S Halman - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

We had a lovely stay at this campsite with a tent for two adults. There is plenty of access to facilities and the staff are helpful with any queries. Very good location for fell walks and the coast......Read more.

We had a lovely stay at this campsite with a tent for two adults. There is plenty of access to facilities and the staff are helpful with any queries. Very good location for fell walks and the coast for a beach day. Good WiFi spot at reception to catch up online but still able to turn off and enjoy the wonderful area. A shame the local pub is not doing food for holiday goers yet but still enjoyed a drink, situated perfectly down the road from the campsite. I would visit again and definitely recommend it!...Read less.

"Church Stile"

Mr S Atherfold - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

No grey water disposal facilities. Should be publicised on website. Not good.

Kirsten, replied to this review on the 14 September 2020

I am sorry but your review is incorrect. There is a grey water disposal facility, you need only......Read more.

I am sorry but your review is incorrect. There is a grey water disposal facility, you need only have asked at the reception. Although recently someone did let theirs drain on our driveway......Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mr M Jowett - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

Fab location with stunning views, clean toilet/shower block and always managed to get in with no queues, nice play area for the kids. Highly recommend The Sawmill just down the road for the lunch,......Read more.

Fab location with stunning views, clean toilet/shower block and always managed to get in with no queues, nice play area for the kids. Highly recommend The Sawmill just down the road for the lunch, the food is excellent....Read less.

"Excellent"

P Horner - Stayed Sep 2020

13/09/2020

Really nice location and very helpful staff had a good stay.

"Go go go. You won’t be disappointed."

Mr L Richardson - Stayed Sep 2020

12/09/2020

Lovely welcoming campsite.

Boldly taking COVID restrictions in its step.

During a partially damp spell (The Lakes!) I was welcomed, setup my pitch and was happy as a pig...

Shower and......Read more.

Lovely welcoming campsite.

Boldly taking COVID restrictions in its step.

During a partially damp spell (The Lakes!) I was welcomed, setup my pitch and was happy as a pig...

Shower and facilities including the shop were clean and deep cleaned every day.

Knowledgeable of the local area and excellent suggestions for some high top hiking and other places to visit.

I was due staying for one night, forwarding on to another campsite due to booking clashes. Busy times!

However due to a punctured car tyre (the road to Wasdale head is as busy as the M6, without a road, just pot “holes”) and no mobile phone signal, walked 5 miles back to the site to ‘borrow’ their WiFi to get my car recovered.

I was able to get 4 more nights here without issue. Ok, I ended up paying for two campsites, but I was not attempting the road again to the next one.

Helpful, accommodating during a rather unusual surge of visitors to parks at 50%.

I will be booking again when visiting the western Lakes. And look forward to it.

You can be assured the site is COVID safe.

BUT... don’t think you can get the same warm and helpful welcome from to local pub. “NO FOOD, NO WIFI, RESIDENTS ONLY” exclaim the owners. First time I’ve been turned away for business in an half empty pub with its own simple and ineffective COVID provisions.

The Lion and Lamb at Gosforth delivers most of its menu straight to the site and just a WiFi phone call away.

PS free WiFi in and around the shop was a hit with most of the visitors :)

My one and only gripe is have more food for those end of day hikes. Or a breakfast bap to get you on your way.

Go and enjoy yourself....Read less.

"Peaceful Location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

12/09/2020

A very nice little site. Just a couple of toilets and showers, but as it’s caravans/touring only they weren’t very busy as I guess most people were self-sufficient. They were also incredibly clean.......Read more.

A very nice little site. Just a couple of toilets and showers, but as it’s caravans/touring only they weren’t very busy as I guess most people were self-sufficient. They were also incredibly clean. Could be improved with some WiFi access, but being switched off from the world was part of its charm. Pitches were a good size. Very dog-friendly. Very good location for exploring the Dales (a short drive from Malham which has spectacular falls and coves)...Read less.

"n/a"

Mr M Bell - Stayed Sep 2020

12/09/2020

-

"Friendly site in beautiful location"

Mr M Grey - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

12/09/2020

Very much enjoyed my stay, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The site was operating at 50% capacity due to Covid, yet everything was well organised and all precautions in place.

The only......Read more.

Very much enjoyed my stay, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The site was operating at 50% capacity due to Covid, yet everything was well organised and all precautions in place.

The only thing I would say is that the toilet block is relatively small and if there were more people it might mean quite a lot of waiting. Showers were hot and free, and kept clean.

Definitely recommended....Read less.

"Excellent"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

11/09/2020

A very brief stay. All worked well. Very professional. Would happily return.

"Great little campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

11/09/2020

Beautiful campsite hidden away in the lakes. Stunning location. Cosy and clean site. Very friendly and helpful staff.

"Great stop on route"

Mrs C Thumwood-Browning - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

We chose to stop here for a couple of nights on route to Scotland. Campsite was quite noisy in the evenings. Lovely area for a stop over. Our dongal didn't work here, so had to use the Internet at......Read more.

We chose to stop here for a couple of nights on route to Scotland. Campsite was quite noisy in the evenings. Lovely area for a stop over. Our dongal didn't work here, so had to use the Internet at reception....Read less.

"Fantastic stay!"

Miss H Keller - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

We had a lovely stay! Staff were so friendly and helpful and everything was organised well.

"Ideal"

A Fletcher - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

Great site in beautiful location - lovely short walk to lake and eat access to pubs round the corner. Very handy on site shop and playground looked great for little ones.

"Honeymoon location"

Mrs F Hatfield - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

08/09/2020

We stayed at Church Stile for our honeymoon. The site was fantastic, and so clean, accessible, and location perfect.

"Amazing weekend away"

Mrs S Sobolewska - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

We spent 3 nights on the camp site...everything was great and definitely we will back there again...Very friendly staff and amazing views. Food in the pub next to camp site was ......Read more.

We spent 3 nights on the camp site...everything was great and definitely we will back there again...Very friendly staff and amazing views. Food in the pub next to camp site was delicious...Definitely see you next year......Read less.

"Nice site in great location"

Mr P Scarlett - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

Well drained pitches but soil not quite deep enough to avoid bent pegs. Great shelter from hedges.

Ablutions good but: 1/ could do with sinks in cubicles; 2/ benches in all the showers; 3/ mirrors......Read more.

Well drained pitches but soil not quite deep enough to avoid bent pegs. Great shelter from hedges.

Ablutions good but: 1/ could do with sinks in cubicles; 2/ benches in all the showers; 3/ mirrors above all sinks for shaving.

Team were really friendly & helpful.

Area around the bins a bit scruffy.

Occasional smells from the on-site cesspit - assumed....Read less.

"Lovely site"

Ms L Moore - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

We've just been for our 4th visit to this site, and it is just fantastic. Well situated for access to the local shop, lake and mountains.

A very clean and well maintained site, with excellent and......Read more.

We've just been for our 4th visit to this site, and it is just fantastic. Well situated for access to the local shop, lake and mountains.

A very clean and well maintained site, with excellent and clear social distancing rules. We had no issues, even the children were doing their bit.

The shower block is always clean and tidy with no queues as the site was at half capacity. Lovely hot showers, and good washing up/laundry facilities, and the Woodland Walk is really worth doing - the dog loved it, and the views at the top across to the mountains is stunning.

The staff are really friendly and welcoming, and will always stop for a chat or to answer any questions, and the shop is always well stocked.

This is our favourite site so far in the Lakes, and we will be returning a lot more in the future. Would recommend to anyone :)...Read less.

"Facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

Great campsite in fab location. The biggest let down is the showers. They aren’t hot enough and they only lasted 12 seconds before you were having to press the button again and again and again. No......Read more.

Great campsite in fab location. The biggest let down is the showers. They aren’t hot enough and they only lasted 12 seconds before you were having to press the button again and again and again. No pleasure in that after a day walking the fells.

The wash area for pots wasn’t the cleanest. It’s needs a lick of paint and a holder of blue roll so people can wipe down and dry the area after they have used it.

Besides the above every thing else was great, we couldn’t fault it. The area outweighs the niggles of the showers.

We would stay again. The Screes pub has fantastic food. The Sawmill is a stunning new addition to the area. We took advantage of the Takeaway service on the Friday evening.

Drigg beach is great for the kids, sand, pebbles, dunes and shells.

Lots to do and fabulous scenery.

...Read less.

"Great stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

03/09/2020

We came across the campsite due to location to Scafell mountain, and had a lovely stay, you have to travel on single track roads to reach the site but we didn’t mind, check in was easy and there is......Read more.

We came across the campsite due to location to Scafell mountain, and had a lovely stay, you have to travel on single track roads to reach the site but we didn’t mind, check in was easy and there is an onsite shop for any little bits you forget to bring aswell as food and drink items.

Toilets and showers were clean and water was warm, only think I will mention about the camping itself is we were told it was only half full due to current situation but I wouldn’t have wanted more tents on the plots as it would have felt a little packed in, but wonderful how it was...Read less.

"Decent site overall"

Mr D Wake - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

03/09/2020

Not a bad site. Although our tent pitch was thin grass topsoil on top of gravel - virtually impossible to get pegs in!

"Showers"

Mr S Crowther - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

03/09/2020

The site is excellent and I will be returning.

My only issue was the showers which were tepid and only came out in a trickle. I wasn't doing any physical activity on this visit so it was more of a......Read more.

The site is excellent and I will be returning.

My only issue was the showers which were tepid and only came out in a trickle. I wasn't doing any physical activity on this visit so it was more of a grumble but after a wet cold day on the fells or in a lake a hot shower is a god send.

...Read less.

"Quality of site"

Miss J Brown - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

The site really isn’t suitable for motorhomes. We were on a non electric pitch at the bottom part of the site which was just about big enough. The pitch was difficult to manoeuvre into due to the......Read more.

The site really isn’t suitable for motorhomes. We were on a non electric pitch at the bottom part of the site which was just about big enough. The pitch was difficult to manoeuvre into due to the width and angles of the hardcore. My partner referred to it as the sooty and sweep pitch.

We love visiting the area and the site is in a great location....Read less.

"Disappointing"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

Had such high hopes but was very disappointed with my week here. COVID made things much more difficult, but the staff weren’t very friendly or helpful. The smell was awful. The surrounding area was......Read more.

Had such high hopes but was very disappointed with my week here. COVID made things much more difficult, but the staff weren’t very friendly or helpful. The smell was awful. The surrounding area was beautiful but the people were rude. Toilets closed for too long at silly times....Read less.

"great stay at Church Stile Farm"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

as virgin campers we had such a great time!

"Great family campsite"

D Chisling De Burgh - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

Lovely staff, great pitch, beautiful surroundings.

"Beautiful location"

Mrs D Deane - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

An amazing week enjoying a quieter part of the Lake District.

Interactions with staff variable, some v helpful, some not so much.

"My stay at Churchstile"

Mrs S Williams - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

The site was lovely and clean as were the facilities. Loved the surroundings. I would possibly stay again but not in a shepherds hut as I wasn't keen on them. I felt hemmed in and had no room.

"Great little camp site"

Mr G Taylor - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

We stayed here to explore this side of Cumbria, great little campsite, all the facilities required. Children loved the park, the weather was poor at times expected in these parts but didn’t dampen......Read more.

We stayed here to explore this side of Cumbria, great little campsite, all the facilities required. Children loved the park, the weather was poor at times expected in these parts but didn’t dampen our spirits. Would recommend fitting in swimming and boating in Wast Water Lake, bring your own dingy. Many thanks...Read less.

"Holiday Camp"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

A beautiful campsite that doesn’t seem to be an over crowded one (just hope that’s not only due to COVID) we liked how it was quiet on a night an no family’s walking you up early been loud. Very......Read more.

A beautiful campsite that doesn’t seem to be an over crowded one (just hope that’s not only due to COVID) we liked how it was quiet on a night an no family’s walking you up early been loud. Very clean site and staff was happy to go above and beyond to make you happy. Be nice if there was two toilet blocks so when one is shut for the regular cleans you would have an alternative. The toilet/showers were kept very well my only slight downside was be better if showers were warmer I could cope but hard to get a three year old under. Definitely a campsite we would return to even if it’s just for the views around....Read less.

"Beautiful location, lovely site"

H Cordall - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

31/08/2020

This site had everything a young family wanted, great swings, clean showers and toilets, friendliest staff we’ve come across and cute little woodland walks onsite.

"Lovely stay"

Mrs K Wearing - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

30/08/2020

I stayed with my husband and dog for 3 nights in one of the Shepherds hut. We enjoyed everything about our stay. The hut had everything we needed and was very clean and positioned in a lovely spot......Read more.

I stayed with my husband and dog for 3 nights in one of the Shepherds hut. We enjoyed everything about our stay. The hut had everything we needed and was very clean and positioned in a lovely spot next to the woodland. The campsite facilities were very clean and all staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be booking to stay again....Read less.

"Good campsite"

Mr A Dodd - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

30/08/2020

Great shower and toilet blocks, well stocked little shop, all services we needed, well distanced during COVID, some nice pubs nearby with good food, pretty cheap for what you get, staff were great......Read more.

Great shower and toilet blocks, well stocked little shop, all services we needed, well distanced during COVID, some nice pubs nearby with good food, pretty cheap for what you get, staff were great gave fab advice about routes up Scafell Pike and stuff to do on our rainy day, will definitely stop by if doing the lakes again...Read less.

"Lovely setting!"

Mrs C Jones - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

30/08/2020

A really lovely, family friendly campsite, that also appeals to backpackers & hikers.

Stunning views.

Clean showers, toilets & pot washing area.

No phone or WiFi (bonus for us) unless you walk to the......Read more.

A really lovely, family friendly campsite, that also appeals to backpackers & hikers.

Stunning views.

Clean showers, toilets & pot washing area.

No phone or WiFi (bonus for us) unless you walk to the shop/reception.

Flat pitches, unfortunately we were camping during Storm Francis, so some ended up a little muddy.

Staff very friendly & helpful.

Only one criticism would be the chemical waste disposal area, the smell was very noticeable when walking past. We were thankfully some way from it, but had we been allocated a pitch closer,we would have had to move pitches.

We will return however, as it is such a fab campsite....Read less.

"Absolutely wonderful"

Mrs C Bamford - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

28/08/2020

We stopped here last year and fell in love with the site. We were due to go back at the beginning of July but that was cancelled due to COVID-19 and the booking was transferred are no extra cost......Read more.

We stopped here last year and fell in love with the site. We were due to go back at the beginning of July but that was cancelled due to COVID-19 and the booking was transferred are no extra cost until next year. Decided to book 2 weekends away this year instead and chose here as we knew it wasn’t very crowded and we were confident with the measures they had our in place. The lack of mobile phone signal was a bonus for us as it helped us get away. We did however walk to reception a couple of times to connect to their WIFI to check in at home. Loved it so much we’ve booked to go back for another weekend in a couple of weeks and of course we still have our 2 week holiday there next year...Read less.

"August 2020"

Mrs S Scott - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

27/08/2020

myself and my family really enjoyed our stay even with the poor weather. Facilities were clean and our 5 year old loved the park

"Brilliant site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

26/08/2020

Could not speak more highly of this site from the staff to the site itself. The staff, are very helpful, the site was cleaned three times a day couldn't have asked for more.

Sorry one thing, in......Read more.

Could not speak more highly of this site from the staff to the site itself. The staff, are very helpful, the site was cleaned three times a day couldn't have asked for more.

Sorry one thing, in this day and age the wifi could cover the whole site not just the shop....Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead