Church Stile Farm & Holiday Park

188 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 188 reviews in the last 12 months

96% would recommend this site

96% would stay here again

Excellent

71%

Very Good

22%

Average

4%

Poor

2%

Terrible

0%

"First Stay at Church Style Farm"

Mrs J Gill - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

01/11/2020

Picked for its location and we were not disappointed. Stunning location, fabulous walks on doorstep. We stayed in a static caravan which was very clean and well equipped Great pub 5 minutes walk......Read more.

Picked for its location and we were not disappointed. Stunning location, fabulous walks on doorstep. We stayed in a static caravan which was very clean and well equipped Great pub 5 minutes walk away which serves good food and dogs welcome. We will certainly be returning to the park for its location, scenery and peace and quiet.

Would highly recommend...Read less.

"Lighting!"

Mrs P Burgess - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

30/10/2020

No outside lighting at all.. From entrance to caravan.. In Autumn months.. Pitch black.. In my opinion an accident waiting to happen.

Absolutely no outside contact on mobiles..

BUT.. A beautiful......Read more.

No outside lighting at all.. From entrance to caravan.. In Autumn months.. Pitch black.. In my opinion an accident waiting to happen.

Absolutely no outside contact on mobiles..

BUT.. A beautiful site and area.. Wouldn't hesitate to return in the lighter months...Read less.

"Camp with friends"

Mr C Crosby - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

24/10/2020

I chose Church Style Farm Camp Site fir it’s location and I was not disappointed - excellent site for exploring Scafell Pike and surrounding areas.

The pitches were good, very helpful and friendly......Read more.

I chose Church Style Farm Camp Site fir it’s location and I was not disappointed - excellent site for exploring Scafell Pike and surrounding areas.

The pitches were good, very helpful and friendly staff and the facilities were also very good.

The pub round the corner is an added bonus

Overall I couldn’t fault the site and would highly recommend to anyone.

Hope to see you again soon...Read less.

"Fantastic 3 nights"

Mr R Pontefract - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

19/10/2020

Brilliant

"Beautiful area"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

18/10/2020

This is a beautiful area to stay. Very relaxing, great walks and away from the usual tourist hot spots. The team are always happy to resolve any queries. We love it.

"Helpful staff, clean facilities"

Miss N Foldhati - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/10/2020

We spent 5 nights here. The staff was friendly and very helpful. (Our car broke down and they helped us to sort it.) The farmshop has everything that you need and the products are high quality.......Read more.

We spent 5 nights here. The staff was friendly and very helpful. (Our car broke down and they helped us to sort it.) The farmshop has everything that you need and the products are high quality. Location is beautiful and the facilities are clean.

Truly enjoyed our stay, thank you!...Read less.

"Great site in a stunning location."

Mr A Costello - Stayed Oct 2020

16/10/2020

Lovely site with helpful staff. Everything explained on arrival and shown where to pitch. Set in a stunning location only a short walk to wast water lake. Then back to one of 2 pubs right outside the......Read more.

Lovely site with helpful staff. Everything explained on arrival and shown where to pitch. Set in a stunning location only a short walk to wast water lake. Then back to one of 2 pubs right outside the campsite for a well earned drink. Would definitely recommend this site and will be returning asap for a longer stay. Thanks...Read less.

"Great location for walks from campsite"

Mrs C Bandak - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

16/10/2020

The campsite has high quality showers and outdoor play equipment for children over a safe bark surface. It is in an ideal location for walks on either Middle Fell or to Wast water.

"Lovely site in beautiful area"

Mr D Callow - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

16/10/2020

Just stayed 1 night, it will be longer next time! Well positioned for local walks. Clean and adequate facilities. Excellent wifi reception on verandah outside the nice farm shop. NB it's necessary to......Read more.

Just stayed 1 night, it will be longer next time! Well positioned for local walks. Clean and adequate facilities. Excellent wifi reception on verandah outside the nice farm shop. NB it's necessary to book in advance at the good-looking village pub, we didn't so couldn't get in....Read less.

"Review"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

We know the site is in abrilliant location. The new shop is lovely and the site was coping pretty well with Covid restrictions. However, we do not remember drainage being such a problem. Some of the......Read more.

We know the site is in abrilliant location. The new shop is lovely and the site was coping pretty well with Covid restrictions. However, we do not remember drainage being such a problem. Some of the new hardstandings dont really work....Read less.

"Amazing views"

A Santos - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

13/10/2020

Thums up!

"Long time camper"

Mr S Atkinson - Stayed Oct 2020

12/10/2020

I first used this site to camp in the 1970s. Obviously much has changed. Then the farmer memorably let us use the cow byre to repair my mini on a wet day. I have camped and stayed in motor homes......Read more.

I first used this site to camp in the 1970s. Obviously much has changed. Then the farmer memorably let us use the cow byre to repair my mini on a wet day. I have camped and stayed in motor homes ever since. Brilliant location and staff still friendly and helpful....Read less.

"First time there"

L Pelc - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

12/10/2020

Great site and location

"Trip to the Lakes"

T Courtney - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

11/10/2020

Great site with good clean and modern facilities, good co-vid safety measures in place. Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area.

"Fantastic Campsite in stunning location"

A Norman - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

09/10/2020

Can’t fault or recommend this campsite enough! One of the most stunning locations I’ve been to, with access to so many great walks/hikes/runs and a lovely cafe down the way, The Saw Mill. Staff......Read more.

Can’t fault or recommend this campsite enough! One of the most stunning locations I’ve been to, with access to so many great walks/hikes/runs and a lovely cafe down the way, The Saw Mill. Staff couldn’t do enough for you...friendly and quick to help if something was amiss. Stayed in a caravan..they were clean, comfy, loads of space, warm, had all the amenities you would need...I’m normally a tent camper so this was a little bit of luxury for me and I’ll definitely be back!...Read less.

"Beautiful location"

Mrs P Holden - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

08/10/2020

I was using Church Stile as a base for running for the weekend. The staff were friendly and helpful. The site and facilities were clean, functional, well maintained and litter free. The location......Read more.

I was using Church Stile as a base for running for the weekend. The staff were friendly and helpful. The site and facilities were clean, functional, well maintained and litter free. The location is fabulous. Waking up to sunrise over mountains is awesome. Both the on-site cafe/shop (with WiFi) and the lovely local cafe, the Sawmill had just what I needed...Read less.

"Beautiful site, ideal location for walking/climbing."

R Boulter - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

08/10/2020

Lovely park in wooded area, good size hardstanding pitch. Good facilities, well stocked small shop, friendly staff. Good toilet/ shower block, although a little more heating would be good. Excellent......Read more.

Lovely park in wooded area, good size hardstanding pitch. Good facilities, well stocked small shop, friendly staff. Good toilet/ shower block, although a little more heating would be good. Excellent location for beautiful walks, ideal for climbing Scafell pike just 5 miles away. Overall a lovely quiet location/site highly recommended....Read less.

"Great camp site"

J Dobb - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

07/10/2020

Stayed for a weekend break in the lakes. lovely clean site and friendly staff

"Great Location, Great Layout, Friendly Team and Good Facilities"

J Roberts - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

05/10/2020

Found this site by chance via PitchUp online portal. Was after somewhere with showers/ loos at fairly short notice in the Lakes for specific dates, for 2 campervans, so the options were limited, but......Read more.

Found this site by chance via PitchUp online portal. Was after somewhere with showers/ loos at fairly short notice in the Lakes for specific dates, for 2 campervans, so the options were limited, but delighted I chose Church Stile. The relaxed layout, variety of use (shepherds huts, pods, tents, campervans & caravans) means that there is a less-regimented layout to the pitches here which we loved. Lots of green - grass and trees - and well-sign-posted waste and recycling areas. Loo/shower block was airy and well-looked after on the whole. Just needed an additional visit by the staff to clean on busy days, like the Saturday we were there, I would suggest. Men's loos ran out of handsoap and the floors left rather grassy due to the damp weather and numbers of people in and out. But the covid-avoidance system was effective and at no time did we need to wait to use showers or loos. Everyone working together to make it ok.

The location of the site is amazing - walking distance (1-5-2m) of Wastwater. Lots of walks direct from site up into the Fells and surrounding fields, so the views from the site are worth having on their own! Local Farm shop and cafe - The Sawmill (also owned by the site) - is definitely worth a visit too. Just 0.5m from gate, if that. We will definitely be back 👍...Read less.

"Vangocamp"

Mr A Hallworth - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

05/10/2020

Good value for money and facilities are very good and clear. Good level pitch and ground and good access to next tent. Good location for walking.

"Great place for family holidays and short breaks"

Mrs B McMillan - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

04/10/2020

What can I say we just love it! We keep coming back with my young son visited 4 times already and looking forward to booking more! We love this place for its location, friendly staff and facilities.......Read more.

What can I say we just love it! We keep coming back with my young son visited 4 times already and looking forward to booking more! We love this place for its location, friendly staff and facilities. Created many unforgettable family memories up there. Thank you...Read less.

"Motorhome stay"

Mrs L Butler - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

04/10/2020

What a fabulous site friendly staff that clearly love their jobs nothing was too much trouble . Possibly the cleanest toilets and showers I have seen in a long time felt very safe plenty of......Read more.

What a fabulous site friendly staff that clearly love their jobs nothing was too much trouble . Possibly the cleanest toilets and showers I have seen in a long time felt very safe plenty of sanitizers everywhere

Lovely walks on the doorstep

Well stocked shop with fresh pastries made just up the road ,visited the pub next door Where again felt very safe . Can’t wait to visit this lovely campsite again next year...Read less.

"Good location for lakes and walking,"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

Chosen for location on our way to Scotland, lovely friendly staff, location and views stunning. could do with grey waste dump area. The bio septic tank and waste soakaway with bins was a bit smelly......Read more.

Chosen for location on our way to Scotland, lovely friendly staff, location and views stunning. could do with grey waste dump area. The bio septic tank and waste soakaway with bins was a bit smelly and wouldn't have been impressed in height of summer, would stay again but would ask for a pitch away from that. Wi-Fi across the site would be a big plus...Read less.

"Well organised site"

Ms D Shearer - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

Well organised site. Clean and tidy. Lovely setting. Only stayed one night, was there for only 18 hours so can't say much more.

"What a lovely picturesque site with lots of friendly campers."

D Deegan - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

Arrived to reception/farm shop lots of nice produce to buy.

Had a lovely camper van pitch with electric and lovely views.

Pub very close .

"Great site"

S Howarth - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

30/09/2020

What no WIFI??!! Joking! Saw some of the previous reviews about lack of Wifi on the site and thought it was hilarious. Sometimes it's great to get away and not be tied to a phone or laptop! I don't......Read more.

What no WIFI??!! Joking! Saw some of the previous reviews about lack of Wifi on the site and thought it was hilarious. Sometimes it's great to get away and not be tied to a phone or laptop! I don't see it as being a negative about a site that's in the depths of the Lake District to be honest. Site is larger than I thought it would be but nicely spaced out. It's a lovely setting with views of the local mountains and a woodland walk which myself and my partner used to access the road and then another track to walk to Wast Water. Glad we walked as it was packed with cars due to everyone piling to the Lakes this year (of Covid). We had a bite to eat sat on a little mound well away from everyone but with a great view of the lake. The site was well handy for the local pub. There are two pubs facing each other but only one open due to the pandemic but it wasn't a problem. Neither was not being able to book a table for food as with prior research I already knew of the difficulties and took enough food to cater for ourselves. The site was clean, as were the facilities and the shop was well stocked. Staff that we dealt with were friendly and helpful. Will definitely return. And not just to bag the Wainwrights we didn't manage to bag this time due to me falling on wet rocks and breaking my arm on our first day lol...Read less.

"Very Enjoyable Weekend"

Mr M McMinn - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

29/09/2020

We travelled only a short distance to Church Stile as we live relatively local. Having stayed here twice before it was great to come back following the Covid lock down. The site is in a fantastic......Read more.

We travelled only a short distance to Church Stile as we live relatively local. Having stayed here twice before it was great to come back following the Covid lock down. The site is in a fantastic location and on this occasion we thoroughly enjoyed the dark sky on the clear cool evenings. Whilst there we travelled the short distance to Wastwater to paddle board. really enjoyed our stay and felt very safe in the social distancing. Site was quite busy but very peaceful. Lovely place with friendly staff. We intend to return as there are more walks we want to do from the site. Stayed in our motorhome on a hard standing without electricity..perfect....Read less.

"Family trip to climb Scafell Pike"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

28/09/2020

Peaceful location, deep in the countryside, approached by narrow lanes so make sure you plan your route carefully if travelling with a motorhome/caravan Great location if wanting to climb Scafell as......Read more.

Peaceful location, deep in the countryside, approached by narrow lanes so make sure you plan your route carefully if travelling with a motorhome/caravan Great location if wanting to climb Scafell as only a short drive from Wasdale car park. Beautiful mountain surroundings and no light pollution so amazing skies on a clear night. Staff were all lovely and very helpful. Pub within walking distance but otherwise a car is essential. Internet/phone reception very limited, but a ‘hotspot’ is available at reception if needed. Shower/toilet facilities plentiful and well kept. We’ll be returning for another shot at the mountain, as the weather turned against us.

...Read less.

"Biker on tour."

Mr A Shaw - Stayed Sep 2020

27/09/2020

A lovely site very clean and tidy in a fantastic position for exploring a beautiful part of the lake district. I will be visiting here again and would highly recommend to others, as I have done on......Read more.

A lovely site very clean and tidy in a fantastic position for exploring a beautiful part of the lake district. I will be visiting here again and would highly recommend to others, as I have done on my motorbike forums. 5*****😊...Read less.

"Lovely and peaceful"

Mrs R Brailsford - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

27/09/2020

This is a lovely site, easy to find but tucked away with stunning views wherever you look. Its a small site but the pitches are well distanced and its quiet and peaceful, the shower / toilet block......Read more.

This is a lovely site, easy to find but tucked away with stunning views wherever you look. Its a small site but the pitches are well distanced and its quiet and peaceful, the shower / toilet block are clean and well maintained.

Staff could not be more helpful and are clearly knowledgeable about the area, we had a really warm welcome and the little shop has a good selection of essentials.

When we visited the 2 local pubs were only serving food to their residents so we tried The Bridge at Santon Bridge 5 minutes drive away, lovely old pub and great food.

...Read less.

"Holiday HIghlight"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

26/09/2020

Dark skies, plenty of stars - what a shame campers these days feel the need to light their whole plot with bright electric lights!

"Shepherds Huts are fun!"

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

25/09/2020

I got a great bargain on 4 nights in a Shepherd Hut. Much more comfortable than a tent, very secure as it locked up and was able to park alongside. Also I had a wood stove to keep......Read more.

I got a great bargain on 4 nights in a Shepherd Hut. Much more comfortable than a tent, very secure as it locked up and was able to park alongside. Also I had a wood stove to keep warm!

Reception/shop staff were very friendly and helpful....Read less.

"Church stile-three years on from our 1st visit."

N Crosbie - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

Things were very good the 1st time we stayed with you, however you have improved thing like access, accomodation and the site is clean tidy and well managed, alltogether a good experiance, especially......Read more.

Things were very good the 1st time we stayed with you, however you have improved thing like access, accomodation and the site is clean tidy and well managed, alltogether a good experiance, especially in view of the awfull Corvid 19 virus. My 1st visit to this area was in 1958 staying at the Outwood School in Eskdale, the area since then has hardly changed and I'm still in love with it!! Neil Crosbie,...Read less.

"Very nice one night stay"

Mr T Seban - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

We loved our stay at Church Stile Farm, I have rarely seen so clean facilities, especially in this Covid season, they managed it very well.

The staff was very helpful and helped us find the perfect......Read more.

We loved our stay at Church Stile Farm, I have rarely seen so clean facilities, especially in this Covid season, they managed it very well.

The staff was very helpful and helped us find the perfect walk/hike in the surrounding area. Thanks again!...Read less.

"great oppertunity to visit the much mist west lakes"

Mr P Orme - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

excelent site for location, views, walking and access to the lakes

"Recommended campsite."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

Excellent, nice and quiet.

"Great place"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Very good campsite, facilities and amenities great. Good spot for going to Scafell Pike.

"Back Again"

Mr M Upfold - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

A lovely place, great people, two good pubs at the end of the road. Views & location are wonderful, if you like walking & climbing its perfect, enjoy a pint of errrrm (yes that really is its name) in......Read more.

A lovely place, great people, two good pubs at the end of the road. Views & location are wonderful, if you like walking & climbing its perfect, enjoy a pint of errrrm (yes that really is its name) in the pubs, food in the pubs is plentyful & very tasty. Highly recommend a ride on the Ravenglass to Eskdale railway, especially when the flowers are in full bloom.

I will be back....Read less.

"Church stile Farm friendly helpful site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Very helpful and friendly staff. Site is in a beautiful location. The apptoach roads are passable but tight in parts for a large motorhome. Good facilities. Will definitely book again.

"Location"

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

23/09/2020

Friendly welcoming was the that of first impression and at the site cleanliness and a good facility were also another welcoming. Of all having stayed there has changed my understanding of camping

"Beautiful site in amazing location."

Mr N Mountford - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

23/09/2020

Stumbled across this gem of a site on google maps when looking for alternatives to a camp site that was full. The facility’s are excellent and very clean which during the Pandemic is re-assuring.......Read more.

Stumbled across this gem of a site on google maps when looking for alternatives to a camp site that was full. The facility’s are excellent and very clean which during the Pandemic is re-assuring. Being able to park your car on your pitch is great along with ability to rent a fire pit.

The location is spectacular in Nether Wasdale with Wast water a 5 minute drive away. Great location for hikers like me and my partner to bag more Wainrights! Will be returning next year and for years to come....Read less.

"Feet up and enjoy the sunshine"

Mr D Armstrong - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

Love this campsite, great location and facilities and easy access to any type of walk you want to muster up

"Motorhome parking"

Mrs A Cameron-Mcintosh - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

There were no on site facilities for Motorhomes to empty waste water. Some of the hard standing plots don’t give a wide enough turning circle therefore the grass edges were very churned up.

"2 nights camping stay"

Ms D Deutsch - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

Peaceful and clean, it's everything we wanted. Thanks.

"Lovely surrounding views"

L Parkinson - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

21/09/2020

Church Stile campsite is fairly standard campsite. Seems to largely accommodate tents, though couple of hard standing pitches for hook up.

As no mobile phone reception, would benefit from WiFi......Read more.

Church Stile campsite is fairly standard campsite. Seems to largely accommodate tents, though couple of hard standing pitches for hook up.

As no mobile phone reception, would benefit from WiFi throughout site

Wash facilities basic standard...Read less.

"Excellent site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

21/09/2020

Very clean, friendly staff, nice little shop with plenty of essentials, walking distance to wastwater and 2 pubs on the doorstep (only 1 open for food and drink at the moment) 15 mins drive to the......Read more.

Very clean, friendly staff, nice little shop with plenty of essentials, walking distance to wastwater and 2 pubs on the doorstep (only 1 open for food and drink at the moment) 15 mins drive to the coast and obviously plenty of walks and fells also on the doorstep. Spot on!...Read less.

"Shepherd hut"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

20/09/2020

Great price for the location stayed in the shepherd hut which was ideal has everything you need And very warm with the fire, plus a bbq only issue was we arrived and the fire pit hadn’t been cleaned......Read more.

Great price for the location stayed in the shepherd hut which was ideal has everything you need And very warm with the fire, plus a bbq only issue was we arrived and the fire pit hadn’t been cleaned and was wet from the rain, bathrooms are a short walk away they get cleaned every day but there’s still cob webs everywhere, overall it was still a great stay and worth the price for the area....Read less.

"Dissatisfied with service"

M Taylor - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

20/09/2020

Very dissatisfied with site as we called and requested a late arrival Due to bad weather conditions and traffic conditions ,despite this we We’re categorically told we couldn’t get entry despite us......Read more.

Very dissatisfied with site as we called and requested a late arrival Due to bad weather conditions and traffic conditions ,despite this we We’re categorically told we couldn’t get entry despite us offering to carry our camping kit in . This left us stuck with nowhere to go . We eventually found a farm campsite who sorted us out ....Read less.

Kirsten, replied to this review on the 21 September 2020

Thank you for your review. Last arrivals is 8pm and we do expect people to aim to arrive by then,......Read more.

Thank you for your review. Last arrivals is 8pm and we do expect people to aim to arrive by then, however, we do permit arrivals until 9pm to allow for any delays. I am sure you can appreciate that we don't want lots of people checking in at the farmhouse after hours in a covid-19 world. We do not permit arrivals after 9pm as you were aware and certainly not after 11pm which you said you were 'hoping' to arrive by. You were given a full refund and also directed to an alternative site which was more suited to your timeframe for arriving late. We do not have a designated late arrivals field and do not want other campers being disturbed by people hammering in tent pegs at whatever time of night....Read less.

"One night stay to walk ScAfell peak"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

19/09/2020

First class site weather was warm and dry which made for lovely night Ideal location for walking local hills

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead