Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre

68 Reviews

4.3 / 5 overall rating based on 68 reviews in the last 12 months

97% would recommend this site

96% would stay here again

Excellent

51%

Very Good

37%

Average

12%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"A Wonderful Find"

Mrs C Broughton - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

24/03/2020

We visited for two nights prior to bringing our Grandchildren at a later date. From arrival to departure we found the site to be great.

The Staff are very friendly and helpful and are keen for you......Read more.

We visited for two nights prior to bringing our Grandchildren at a later date. From arrival to departure we found the site to be great.

The Staff are very friendly and helpful and are keen for you to enjoy and get the most from your stay.

The whole site is family orientated although very relaxing and peaceful, if that is what you desire.

There is an entrance charge for the Farm and Other Activities. However, when you are camping, we consider it to be excellent value for money considering the one-off fee allows you to 'come and go' as mush as you wish throughout your stay (you are given wristbands to wear)

The activities for children are many and varied (even the adults enjoy them too!) and there is even the Indoor Play Barn should the weather be wet. This has a small Cafe for refreshments within.

The main Cafe/Restaurant is very good and caters for all tastes and appetites.

One of the 'standout' things for us was the amount of space around the tables - this makes it so much easier to navigate should you have a pram, pushchair or wheelchair.

All in all, Sacrewell Farm ticks so many boxes for Family activities and we will definitely be back again!...Read less.

"Experience"

Mrs L Smith - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

28/10/2019

We stayed recently our children enjoyed the farm and pumpkin picking. Although I thought it was over priced to be charged £25 per night plus farm entry and then pumpkin picking farm entry should be......Read more.

We stayed recently our children enjoyed the farm and pumpkin picking. Although I thought it was over priced to be charged £25 per night plus farm entry and then pumpkin picking farm entry should be included in camping at least I thought for that price the shop didn’t have essentials needed for campers staying the cafe only serve hot food 12-2 so we had to drive out to hot meal for our family and go to shop for items we had forgotten which was disappointing also think the campsite could be made more of a campsite and not in car park overall wasn’t happy with the camping side of things and prices...Read less.

"Family camping"

N Purdy - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

26/10/2019

Fabulous place, Scarewell for Halloween activities organised so well and great value. The farm and play area, maze and barn provided lots to do. The camping facilities are very good and the staff......Read more.

Fabulous place, Scarewell for Halloween activities organised so well and great value. The farm and play area, maze and barn provided lots to do. The camping facilities are very good and the staff friendly and helpful. Highly recommended will definitely be back for another camping trip as well as day trips....Read less.

"Family visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

24/10/2019

Poor that no play area for children camping, other than having to pay extra to go through to wooden play area. Would be extremely helpful if there was a sink in the shower area, and possibly a toilet......Read more.

Poor that no play area for children camping, other than having to pay extra to go through to wooden play area. Would be extremely helpful if there was a sink in the shower area, and possibly a toilet too, rather than being separate and in a different area! Nice of concession for campers to enter farm site....Read less.

"Ideal place for families"

Mrs A Betts - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

15/10/2019

Excellent for younger children included entry into the park during our stay

"Boys on tour"

Mr R Evans - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

11/10/2019

Good little campsite for me and my 5 year old. Rcomend it to other families

"Great camping for Families with young children"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

10/10/2019

Great camping for Families with young children. A rare mix of Farm Centre for kids and campsite.

"Great for children"

Ms J Peek - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

03/10/2019

We had a fantastic trip to Sacrewell Farm. The campsite was lovely and green with lovely big trees for the kids to run around under and the hookup spaces are spacious.

The farm is brilliant, lots of......Read more.

We had a fantastic trip to Sacrewell Farm. The campsite was lovely and green with lovely big trees for the kids to run around under and the hookup spaces are spacious.

The farm is brilliant, lots of well designed play areas and the old mill has been restored beautifully. Animals all seemed very happy and well looked after. The soft play is a good touch for the unpredictable British weather.

Washing up facilities worked well but we're not under cover so use was weather dependent.

The showers are a bit old and the first shower in the shower room near the washing up area was impossible to use as it went from freezing to boiling....Read less.

"on site"

Mrs W Eastwood - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

13/09/2019

would be nice to have a bar

"Great scenery"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

13/09/2019

Site has great open vista. Well set up for both caravan or tents with electric hook up. Also has area set aside for free camping ideal for an overnight stop. Showers in main block well sized and......Read more.

Site has great open vista. Well set up for both caravan or tents with electric hook up. Also has area set aside for free camping ideal for an overnight stop. Showers in main block well sized and plentiful hot water, clean but perhaps in need of a pick me up. Nice well maintained site all grass....Read less.

"Good location for Burghley - poorly organised facilities"

Mr P Scarlett - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

12/09/2019

Great field & quality of lawn to pitch on.

Let done significantly by:

1/ toothpaste & soap in the sinks there it the afternoon from the morning;

2/ toilets & sink room dusty & cobwebbed;

3/ 2 showers......Read more.

Great field & quality of lawn to pitch on.

Let done significantly by:

1/ toothpaste & soap in the sinks there it the afternoon from the morning;

2/ toilets & sink room dusty & cobwebbed;

3/ 2 showers in the field but no loos next to them, so, you get up in the morning & walk round to the loos, so may as well stay at the main block for a shower - so what's the point...?

4/ so you go to the loos but then have to come out of that room, around the outside of the main building, past the entrance to the reception/shop/cafe to go the shower rooms, which again have not sinks or loos;

5/ so you then have to go back around the outside to the toilet room to use a sink for a shave.

Soooo badly thought out - in fact NOT thought out...! Needs serious sorting out....Read less.

"Very appealing on arrival after an interesting drive"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

12/09/2019

All in all very pleased with our decision to stay at Sacrewell,

"Facilities"

Miss K Farmer - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

12/09/2019

The facilities seemed odd, the toilets felt as though they were classroom toilets I was using, not somewhere I felt comfortable having a wash etc.

There need to be more toilets, we were on pitch 21......Read more.

The facilities seemed odd, the toilets felt as though they were classroom toilets I was using, not somewhere I felt comfortable having a wash etc.

There need to be more toilets, we were on pitch 21 which is a very long walk to the nearest toilet.

The site is a nice enough place, the facilities just feel like a bit of an after though and are not fit for purpose....Read less.

"Lovely place to stay"

Miss L Tunstill - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

12/09/2019

Very clean efficient and in a beautiful setting. We’d definitely go back there.

"Friendly campsite, in a great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

12/09/2019

We have visited Sacrewell four times. We stay here whilst we visit the Burghley Horse Trials. The facilities are more than adequate. We really enjoy our time here. See you next year, no doubt.

"Location"

Mrs J Wells - Stayed Sep 2019

11/09/2019

Very convenient for visit to Burghley Horse Trials

"Great place for kids"

Mrs G Roy - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

06/09/2019

Really lovely setting with good facilities, my kids loved it

"Great campsite"

Mrs H Peacey - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

We stayed at this campsite in the last week of August 2019 and took my brother and his family on their first camping experience. They all loved Sacrewell Farm and we all really enjoyed our stay. It......Read more.

We stayed at this campsite in the last week of August 2019 and took my brother and his family on their first camping experience. They all loved Sacrewell Farm and we all really enjoyed our stay. It was lovely camping on the farm site with beautiful stunning views of the landscape around us. There are local attractions on your doorstep and we visited Nene Valley Railway during our stay. The campsite offers Pizza Night on Friday and Saturday nights which was a welcome surprise and enabled us to enjoy our camping experience all that more! It is such a lovely family friendly quiet site which we would highly recommend!...Read less.

"Excellent family gathering"

Mrs L Worthington-Nash - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

03/09/2019

Was a perfect venue to meet up with family. Very friendly staff and always there to help. Kids had a great time👍

"Camping with the family"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

01/09/2019

Very pleased with our stay in terms of how much space we had for the tent and the field for the kids to play in. There could have been access to the park closest to the playbarn later for the......Read more.

Very pleased with our stay in terms of how much space we had for the tent and the field for the kids to play in. There could have been access to the park closest to the playbarn later for the children even if the farm is closed. The toilet facilities could have been cleaner with possible access to the shop for longer....Read less.

"Bank Holiday Trip"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

Wonderful time in the sunshine at Sacrewell Farm. Would highly recommend

"Bank holiday stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

We had a lovely weekend and the staff were very friendly. There was pizza delivery service which was great on the first night.

It was a great weekend. Thank you

"A pleasant stay with children"

Mrs W Hanney - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

29/08/2019

Instructions about where to pitch tent wet vague -“pitch where you like” and we wee asked to move the tent which with a 4 years old and 10 month old was a pain

Toilets a bit far away from top field......Read more.

Instructions about where to pitch tent wet vague -“pitch where you like” and we wee asked to move the tent which with a 4 years old and 10 month old was a pain

Toilets a bit far away from top field and several campers using the hedges

Pizzas arrived 40 mins late which with 2 small children was a bit inconvenient

Large parties in tents creating noise till midnight which again with 2 small children was a pain

If I can w again I would book an proper marked pitch away and ask to be away from large groups and a bit near the toilets

Access to the play area from the campsite would be nice as the children climbed over the fence anyway and children so need this whilst camping in the evenings. May I suggest an appropriate gate to keep children out of the park but easy access to the play area only.

Nice flat pitches with well kept grass. A nice stay and all enjoyed very much

...Read less.

"A great stop off"

Mr J Warren - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

28/08/2019

We stopped off here for 2 nights and spend one day in the farm, it was great, lots to do. The toilets are a bit of a walk from the top field though.

"Unfortunate visitors"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

26/08/2019

On our second evening we had to abandon our accommodation due to an invasion of thousands of flying ants

"Nice Site, Easy access to A1, Countryside View"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2019

24/08/2019

Nice site - easy access from A1. Nice countryside view.

Site well laid and marked out.

Campers Toilets were not clean (or even flushed) both times I visited - so I stopped using them and used my......Read more.

Nice site - easy access from A1. Nice countryside view.

Site well laid and marked out.

Campers Toilets were not clean (or even flushed) both times I visited - so I stopped using them and used my caravan toilet all the time.

Extra mandatory charge for waste water was excessive....Read less.

"A great family campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

A delightful campsite with so much to keep children learning and entertained. Different activities to try from pond dipping, bug hunting treasure trails, tractor rides etc, plus a selection of......Read more.

A delightful campsite with so much to keep children learning and entertained. Different activities to try from pond dipping, bug hunting treasure trails, tractor rides etc, plus a selection of outdoor play areas so it is never overcrowded....not to mention all the lovely animals to see. The watermill has excellent information, videos & hands on activities. There is an indoor Playbarn -a soft play activity area too. There is a cafe serving coffees/meals open from 8.30am but but a bit pricey so we cooked for ourselves. On-site staff were very polite, helpful & looked after us well keeping everything clean. Peacocks were a bit noisy in the mornings! Nearby is Rutland Water with a beach area (in summer) & cycle paths & sailing centre, Flag Fen Archaeology Park, Peterborough Cathedral and museum, Nene Park (lovely lakes & pedalos) & Nene Valley steam railway, where you can ride with Thomas the Tank engine or other steam trains....Read less.

"Family weekend"

Mr C Flatters - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

Xx

"Family adventures"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

This is the second time we have camped here as an extended family, with three units! This time was a 4th birthday celebration for the oldest of our 4 granddaughters, so the farm park and indoor and......Read more.

This is the second time we have camped here as an extended family, with three units! This time was a 4th birthday celebration for the oldest of our 4 granddaughters, so the farm park and indoor and outdoor play areas are a great success with all of them!...Read less.

"Good for Kids and value for money."

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

Good value for money and generous pitch size. Good communication from staff before an during stay. Campsite facilities were very clean. It is a bit exposed compared to some sites if you are in a tent......Read more.

Good value for money and generous pitch size. Good communication from staff before an during stay. Campsite facilities were very clean. It is a bit exposed compared to some sites if you are in a tent in windy weather. Generous shower cubicle size with plenty of room to dress but it was a bit airless. Washing up facility is outside (but underneath a roof overhang) and only the one sink. There was a takeaway facility in the evening. The outside areas around the loos were well lit.

We enjoyed our stay and would return. The Campers Pass to the Farm Park saved us money and we were allowed to stay in the Park until it closed at 5.00 on our last day even though checkout was at 12 noon.The toilet facilities within the Farm Park were untidy at times but it was a busy Saturday in August. Generally the Park was clean and tidy with plenty to entertain young children....Read less.

"Lovely place for the family"

Mrs S McGettigan - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

Beautiful campsite and farm. Parks were great fun and the children never got bored. Highlights were the river where the children could paddle and the mill where there were items the children could......Read more.

Beautiful campsite and farm. Parks were great fun and the children never got bored. Highlights were the river where the children could paddle and the mill where there were items the children could play with.

Large camping area. I camped on my own with my 2 children and a baby and found the top campsite too far for the facilities. I would of felt more at ease if could have been given the option to camp closer to the toilets etc. The view from the top campsite was beautiful.

Would of been great if the children could still have access to the park next to the campsite after closing but understand it is part of the farm so no problem.

Price was good for the farm and camping. I thought the cafe was quiet expensive but not more than the average these days. Campsite with unlimited access to the farm very good value....Read less.

"Lovely setting"

Mrs L Holliday - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

15/08/2019

Lovely setting and facilitates to keep children entertained. Really impressed with farm and would definitely revisit.

Camping facilities could be improved, toilets far away, would be good to have......Read more.

Lovely setting and facilitates to keep children entertained. Really impressed with farm and would definitely revisit.

Camping facilities could be improved, toilets far away, would be good to have showers and toilets together and another block, toilets and showers could do with a refurb. All adequate just have stayed with much nicer and more convenient facilities....Read less.

"Camping holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

14/08/2019

Lovely campsite, very peaceful. Great views and lots for kids to do.

"Easy camping"

Mrs L Ellender - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

Had a great stay. A member of staff was camping beside us and couldn’t be more helpful. He really made our stay.

There is loads to do during the day and the night is quiet.

We will return next year.

"Camp at Sacrewell"

Mrs S Brown - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

09/08/2019

All staff were friendly and helpful. The showers and toilets were clean every time we used them, very impressed. My one slight niggle is the shop on the farm is only a gift shop, it didn’t sell any......Read more.

All staff were friendly and helpful. The showers and toilets were clean every time we used them, very impressed. My one slight niggle is the shop on the farm is only a gift shop, it didn’t sell any essential items such as milk & bread. Overall we had a fantastic stay camping here and will be returning next year....Read less.

"Great stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

08/08/2019

We loved it here. So much to do with a 2 Yr old

"August mini-break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

06/08/2019

We were very impressed by the farm at Sacrewell and it was fantastic to get discounted rates for the duration of our stay so that we could use it each day.

The campsite itself was pleasant and our......Read more.

We were very impressed by the farm at Sacrewell and it was fantastic to get discounted rates for the duration of our stay so that we could use it each day.

The campsite itself was pleasant and our pitch was great. I have a few constructive comments which would make the campsite even better:

1. The new eco showers (next to pitch 16) are great but the shower curtains weren't long enough and the shower didn't have a big enough lip to stop water splashing all over the cabin floor.

2. The hot water at the wash up station (next to pitch 16) was absolutely scalding but there was no warning sign. I very nearly burnt myself

3. It would be useful to have an additional toilet block near the camping pitches at the back of the site but I realise this would be a luxury

4. It's a shame that there isn't a play area for children to use after 5pm when the farm closes....Read less.

"Sacrewell Park Campsite"

H Booth - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

05/08/2019

We had a very pleasant stay at Sacrewell and would definitely consider returning to this site.

"Quiet clean and peacefull campsite"

Mrs J Kelly - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Campsite and farm were quiet and peaceful. We were lucky that the food festival was on the weekend that we stayed so there was plenty to do. Had the festival not been there I'm not sure we would have......Read more.

Campsite and farm were quiet and peaceful. We were lucky that the food festival was on the weekend that we stayed so there was plenty to do. Had the festival not been there I'm not sure we would have filled the whole weekend occupying the kids. The Campsite was clean and well maintained however the facilities were basic and a fair distance away from some of the pitches. We had to trail our hookup lead across someone else's pitch to plug in so I think there are improvements that can be made in the future. Once the farm is closed in the evening there is nothing to do on the campsite. Didn't bother us as we amused ourselves however some kids were turfed off the outdoor play area because it was "out of hours." You cant have an outdoor play area that the kids can see from their pitches and not expect them to play on it. Noted there is a small fence around it but even my 3 year old mastered climbing through the fence at one point. In Summary, lovely quiet campsite in a good location that is ideal for a weekend or stopover. We paid around the same for the weekend that we'd expect to pay for a parkdean type resort with evening entertainment and facilities....Read less.

"Great for Kids"

Ms K Lowden - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Great place to take children and value for money

"Well maintained camp and caravan site near the A1"

Mr I Rear - Stayed Jul 2019

03/08/2019

I stayed at Sacrewell due to its proximity to the Nene Valley Railway, somewhere I visit several times a year. For the price paid, the facilities are well maintained, there is water on tap, washing......Read more.

I stayed at Sacrewell due to its proximity to the Nene Valley Railway, somewhere I visit several times a year. For the price paid, the facilities are well maintained, there is water on tap, washing and toilet facilities, and everything I needed in terms of somewhere to pitch a tent, and spend the night. The site was quiet overnight, and I left feeling refreshed, and happy to return at a later date....Read less.

"Our stay at sacrewell"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

03/08/2019

We had a great time at sacrewell even though it rained the whole weekend! A beautiful setting and if you pay extra to go in the farm fantastic facilities. A park for children to play on once the farm......Read more.

We had a great time at sacrewell even though it rained the whole weekend! A beautiful setting and if you pay extra to go in the farm fantastic facilities. A park for children to play on once the farm closes would make a great addition. Friendly staff ....Read less.

"Lovely campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

01/08/2019

Great place to stay, fantastic for children !!!

"Peaceful easy feeling"

Mr J Devine - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Had a brilliant stay with you.

Please pass best wishes to handyman Dave who cheerfully helped me start my car.

Lovely clean park and facilities, keep it up.

"Family camping trip"

Mr M Collerson - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

A short camping trip with my young daughters - 8 and 6. Lovely big field for camping and great for games and running around. Shower facilities good and toilets ok too. The farm itself is great and......Read more.

A short camping trip with my young daughters - 8 and 6. Lovely big field for camping and great for games and running around. Shower facilities good and toilets ok too. The farm itself is great and we loved playing in and around the mill stream and having a picnic in the grounds of the mill. The indoor play was good too. Only downside for me was how early the park closes - 5:30pm - this is very early in the summer as the kids would love to use the outdoor play facilities a bit later and also if the cafe stayed open later too....Read less.

"Our stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Really enjoyed our 1 night camping at Sacrewell. Site was clean and tidy. Peaceful and quiet during the evening and night. Lovely places for bike rides, site felt safe and secure.

We didn't pay to......Read more.

Really enjoyed our 1 night camping at Sacrewell. Site was clean and tidy. Peaceful and quiet during the evening and night. Lovely places for bike rides, site felt safe and secure.

We didn't pay to enter the farm as the fees were a little high and the pitch was not exactly budget so maybe a concession on the farm for folks camping?

We would definitely come again and recommend. Thank for having us....Read less.

"Great campsite for families"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

18/07/2019

Having weekend access to the farm is great if you are travelling with children - and they can use the playbarn if it rains!

"Ideal in many ways"

L Hughes - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

18/07/2019

We had a wonderful weekend meeting up with friends. With such a lot to keep us busy we never left the site. We almost booked to return on a bank holiday weekend but thought that actually, at busier......Read more.

We had a wonderful weekend meeting up with friends. With such a lot to keep us busy we never left the site. We almost booked to return on a bank holiday weekend but thought that actually, at busier times though we might struggle with just one sink to wash up in and only a few showers and toilets....Read less.

"Family fun weekend turn in to disaster"

Mrs J Garratt-Pearson - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

The park was perfect for what we wanted it for which was trying out camping before our main holiday. The staff were lovely although few members of the reception team were rather rude and abrupt one......Read more.

The park was perfect for what we wanted it for which was trying out camping before our main holiday. The staff were lovely although few members of the reception team were rather rude and abrupt one in particular. The grass is rather uneven with various pot hole which should be warned about to fellow campers now the result of this has caused my husband fall with his foot still in a hole resulting him severely braking his ankle with ruined thee rest of our week end...Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead