Barrhill Holiday Park

46 Reviews

4.5 / 5 overall rating based on 46 reviews in the last 12 months

96% would recommend this site

96% would stay here again

Excellent

72%

Very Good

22%

Average

4%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Pod"

K Maxwell - Stayed with partner, Nov 2020

12/11/2020

Had a brilliant weekend overall however the hot tub seems to have had too many chemicals in it and burnt all out skint, both red, itchy and sore and had to get cream and tablets prescribed from......Read more.

Had a brilliant weekend overall however the hot tub seems to have had too many chemicals in it and burnt all out skint, both red, itchy and sore and had to get cream and tablets prescribed from doctors, this would put me off from returning as my skin still not normal....Read less.

Philip, replied to this review on the 12 November 2020

Hi, we are sorry to hear you've came out red and itchy. One thing we are very careful about the......Read more.

Hi, we are sorry to hear you've came out red and itchy. One thing we are very careful about the amount of chemicals we use in the hot tubs and only use the recommended doses. Please accept our sincerest apologies, and hopefully you will return again as this is the first time we've had this happen in our 3 & half years. Philip...Read less.

"First visit"

Mrs L Lee - Stayed with friends, Nov 2020

07/11/2020

My friend and myself wanted a quiet couple of days away and Barrhill holiday park was recommended by my daughter. It was so peaceful, the staff were on hand for anything we needed and nothing was a......Read more.

My friend and myself wanted a quiet couple of days away and Barrhill holiday park was recommended by my daughter. It was so peaceful, the staff were on hand for anything we needed and nothing was a problem, the accommodation was immaculate as was the hot tub. Amazing place for a complete recharge and relaxation. Will be booking again...Read less.

"Relaxing"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

05/11/2020

I spent 2 nights in one of the pods with a hot tub. It was fab. Pod was comfortable and cosy. Will definatley return.

"Amazing stay"

Miss K McNaught - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

01/11/2020

Perfect 2 night stay to relax and unwind from day to day life! The stay were really helpful and very kind, the facilities on site are amazing and very clean. Would definitely return

"Staycation"

Miss B Murray - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

We stayed for 2 nights in the luxury pod with hot tub it was great and brilliant value for money. The pod was very clean and everything worked great. A lovely quiet camp site and just what we......Read more.

We stayed for 2 nights in the luxury pod with hot tub it was great and brilliant value for money. The pod was very clean and everything worked great. A lovely quiet camp site and just what we wanted.

We wished we had taken extra towels for the floor after getting in from the hot tub, maybe a mat at the door would help, and some hooks to hang swimsuits and wet towels, but apart from that it was perfect. We will definitely be staying again....Read less.

"Just what we needed."

Miss A Byers - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

24/10/2020

We really enjoyed our glamping experience, we had a comfortable, warm and relaxing time. We toasted marshmallows and relaxed in the hot tub in the rain. The beds were very comfortable and the kettle......Read more.

We really enjoyed our glamping experience, we had a comfortable, warm and relaxing time. We toasted marshmallows and relaxed in the hot tub in the rain. The beds were very comfortable and the kettle was well used for many cups of tea. We went a lovely walk around Fairy Knowe in Barr we were enchanted by the rivers and waterfall.

The only thing I would have liked to have seen was either more of detailed introduction to the site/area on arrival by staff or a welcome pack in the pod to say what would be recommended to do for visitors to the area, also how to move around or access facilities around the park.

We genuinely had a lovely time...thank you....Read less.

"Nothing to entice us back!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

21/10/2020

Pitch wasn’t in any way attractive - we felt that we were in an area that was more like a “work area” . We were opposite the play park which we didn’t have a problem with but site owners do need to......Read more.

Pitch wasn’t in any way attractive - we felt that we were in an area that was more like a “work area” . We were opposite the play park which we didn’t have a problem with but site owners do need to set some rules on hours of use and noise levels on site after 9pm .

We visited site during Covid restrictions and were extremely disappointed that there were some people totally disregarding the restrictions as set out by the Scottish Government. Noisy get-togethers disturbed us well into the night!!...Read less.

"Hot tub and pod experience"

Mr E Burnett - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

11/10/2020

First time ever trying out the glamping/hot tub experience, this site although a bit remote was lovely and quiet The weather as always plays a part in a Scottish break and it was difficult to fully......Read more.

First time ever trying out the glamping/hot tub experience, this site although a bit remote was lovely and quiet The weather as always plays a part in a Scottish break and it was difficult to fully use the hot tub or light a fire outside because there’s no cover,but we still made the best of it ,the wee cookhouse that the pod clients get to use is a godsend,all equipped and very clean , the village shop is unfortunately poorly stocked of things you might need so bring all with you ,or take a drive into Girvan ,all in all a great wee break...Read less.

"A good point on a route"

D Bamford - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

09/10/2020

I was walking the Whithorn Way with a friend, on a pilgrimage, and this was conveniently located between Maybole and New Luce. It was also very economically priced and equipped with a cookhouse and......Read more.

I was walking the Whithorn Way with a friend, on a pilgrimage, and this was conveniently located between Maybole and New Luce. It was also very economically priced and equipped with a cookhouse and shower block. The one point I would question is the use of the adjective 'luxury' to describe the pod....Read less.

"Good place to stay"

Mr M Hollins - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

06/10/2020

Very clean and new facilities, although we didn't use them, had a peep and found them extremely clea n. Phil very helpful and has plans for further improvements.

"First visit to Barrhill Holiday Park"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

We stayed at the park for a weekend with a few friends. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the hot tub was great! Lovely site and staff were friendly and approachable.

"Barrhill Weekend"

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

03/10/2020

Lovely site for a short stay in my campervan. Nicely located for coast and Glen Trool.

"First visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

29/09/2020

Pod was lovely but a few accessories in the bathroom would have been lovely. A small shelf for toiletries and hooks for towels. Overall a lovely place to visit, well maintained, lovely, helpful staff......Read more.

Pod was lovely but a few accessories in the bathroom would have been lovely. A small shelf for toiletries and hooks for towels. Overall a lovely place to visit, well maintained, lovely, helpful staff and hottub made the visit even better....Read less.

"Fleeting visit"

Mr R Young - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

26/09/2020

Excellent location and typical Norn Iron hospitality in the middle of one of Scotland's loveliest and most underused areas. On this occasion we brought a tent along. Unwise, as we'd never put it up......Read more.

Excellent location and typical Norn Iron hospitality in the middle of one of Scotland's loveliest and most underused areas. On this occasion we brought a tent along. Unwise, as we'd never put it up before and the weather was a little too cold in the evening for comfort in something that had not been erected properly. That was the reason why we cut short our overnight stay and on a future visit we would aim for one of the excellent static caravans....Read less.

"Wonderful caravan in a peaceful location."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

The host was very amicable and flexible, and it was the vest presented caravan I have ever stayed in. If I were to make any comments about room for improvement, it might centre on some untidiness......Read more.

The host was very amicable and flexible, and it was the vest presented caravan I have ever stayed in. If I were to make any comments about room for improvement, it might centre on some untidiness around the site, eg. with bits of timber an old farm equipment lying about. The pitch did leave us at the mercy of traffic noise from the road, but that's can't be helped by the camp.

The standard of the caravan and the warmness of the welcome more then made up for it!...Read less.

"Excellent young owners"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

Found the park online as it was in the right area. Impressed by the efforts being put in to update a tired park into an acceptable modern park. Well done to the hard working owners.

"Superb"

J Hilland - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

First time ever doing the glamping thing,what a fantastic experience,easy to get to,very helpful and knowledgeable staff

Pod was spotless and well equiped,Hot Tub was warm and so relaxing

Kitchen......Read more.

First time ever doing the glamping thing,what a fantastic experience,easy to get to,very helpful and knowledgeable staff

Pod was spotless and well equiped,Hot Tub was warm and so relaxing

Kitchen facitilties spotless and well equiped

Shower Block and toilets very clean

Definetly will return...Read less.

"Perfect"

Miss K McIver - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

My partner and I had a lovely stay here. It was the perfect getaway in this current climate. We stayed in the deluxe pod which was very clean, tidy and spacious. The added luxuries of a fridge,......Read more.

My partner and I had a lovely stay here. It was the perfect getaway in this current climate. We stayed in the deluxe pod which was very clean, tidy and spacious. The added luxuries of a fridge, microwave, kettle, tv, shower and hot tub meant we could socially distance from others and felt very safe. I would highly recommend this facility to anyone looking to get a wee holiday just now. My family have also booked to go next month after our recommendation.

Thanks again to Philip and family for a wonderful stay....Read less.

"Barrhill holiday park"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

21/09/2020

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Barrhill holiday park,would recommend it to anyone who fancies a relaxing time away!

"Perfect place for a break"

Mr M Buchan - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

21/09/2020

After a longer than planned drive it was very refreshing to arrive to such a beautiful site and be welcomed by very friendly staff. Site was immaculate and despite the restrictions in place for......Read more.

After a longer than planned drive it was very refreshing to arrive to such a beautiful site and be welcomed by very friendly staff. Site was immaculate and despite the restrictions in place for Covid19 it was a perfect place to stay - just wish I had booked a longer stay.

Keep up the great work you guys are doing and will be back....Read less.

"Barhill"

H Backhouse - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Site and staff were excellent, only down side was the distance to travel to shops etc.

"A few days at barrhill"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

First time staying at barrhill. Good location for a base if want to travel around or if just looking for a few chilled nights away. Pods were very clean. Only thing that would be helpful is a mirror......Read more.

First time staying at barrhill. Good location for a base if want to travel around or if just looking for a few chilled nights away. Pods were very clean. Only thing that would be helpful is a mirror in the pod and some hooks for hanging clothes and storage boxes under beds. Hot tub was great as was the fire pit as lucky it remained dry the few days we were there. Good friendly staff. Would def recommend to others....Read less.

"Really enjoyed my stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

13/09/2020

The glamping pods are brilliant, really cosy and clean. Hot tub was amazing and the deluxe pods come with a shower and toilet facilities which really help! The site was very safe and family friendly.......Read more.

The glamping pods are brilliant, really cosy and clean. Hot tub was amazing and the deluxe pods come with a shower and toilet facilities which really help! The site was very safe and family friendly. I stayed here with my friend, neither of us drive/have a car so it was quite tricky for us to access shops, places for food and other things to do but we managed to get taxis to and from Girvan. The site is a lot more suited to people who can drive as it’s quite isolated, but other than that, it’s a lovely location and the staff are the loveliest people and were very helpful with check in. Would highly recommend! :)...Read less.

"Great Camping pods"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

12/09/2020

Excellent site, great location for Galloway forest. Accommodation was spotless. Hot tub was great for post bike rides! Would highly recommend!

"Good stop over for ferry"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

11/09/2020

We stayed only one night enroute to Cairnryan. Very nice owners and if you wanted a break in the countryside this is a good option.

"Great stay, would definitely go back"

Miss E Gibson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

Great little place, clean and plenty of nice place round about to explore

"Fantastic short break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

08/09/2020

Lovely stay, facilities spotlessly clean. Will definitely return. Philip & Laura are doing a great job!

"Lovely caravan park"

Mr J McKee - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

03/09/2020

Stayed there for a week with my husband cannnot fault anything about this site . Owners are lovely and very helpful , lovely well laid out spotlessly clean I would highly recommend this site to......Read more.

Stayed there for a week with my husband cannnot fault anything about this site . Owners are lovely and very helpful , lovely well laid out spotlessly clean I would highly recommend this site to anyone and would return again...Read less.

"Lovely site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

31/08/2020

Really clean and neat site. Site owner/warden is very helpful, I will definitely be returning.

"Gorgeous accomodation"

Miss S Haycock - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

31/08/2020

We stayed in the Astrologer Pod at Barrhill and the accomodation was great! We went as a family of 5, two teens a baby and us parents as well as the dogs! The room was plenty big enough and the......Read more.

We stayed in the Astrologer Pod at Barrhill and the accomodation was great! We went as a family of 5, two teens a baby and us parents as well as the dogs! The room was plenty big enough and the enclosed hot tub area was perfect for evenings together, the only thing I would say is watch your head as the toilet is like being in a cubby hole! But all in all a perfect stay! Firewood available on site at a good price and the use of a fridge, microwave and kettle were great with having a baby! The shower block was clean and tidy and the family wash room was ideal! Would love to return next year!...Read less.

"impressed"

H Stewart - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

29/08/2020

site owner was more than helpfull, cannot fault, suggestion, would be a good idea to have grab handles fitted in shower rooms especially for older patrons.

"Barrhill"

Miss D Andrew - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

28/08/2020

Enjoyed our weekend at Barrhill lovely quiet park with a playground for the wee one. The hot tub and starry nights are amazing and the pods are a good size and very t warm. Staff were lovely and......Read more.

Enjoyed our weekend at Barrhill lovely quiet park with a playground for the wee one. The hot tub and starry nights are amazing and the pods are a good size and very t warm. Staff were lovely and helpful. Would definately recommend....Read less.

"Lovely small park"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

27/08/2020

Lovely little touring park with a mixture of pitches for vans, motorhomes and camping pods. Very friendly onsite. Facilities were great and very close to pitches. Spotlessly clean throughout and......Read more.

Lovely little touring park with a mixture of pitches for vans, motorhomes and camping pods. Very friendly onsite. Facilities were great and very close to pitches. Spotlessly clean throughout and never too busy. Good access to the coast and Galloway Forest park. Very reasonable prices for the pitch facilities...Read less.

"First visit. Many more to follow"

Mr B McNicol - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

23/08/2020

Stayed at barrhill sadly only for one night on sat 15th aug. Wish we could have stayed longer.

On arrival check in was easy 1 phone call and we where met be Philip and directed to our pitch.

Great......Read more.

Stayed at barrhill sadly only for one night on sat 15th aug. Wish we could have stayed longer.

On arrival check in was easy 1 phone call and we where met be Philip and directed to our pitch.

Great size pitch. Plenty of space for our motorhome and enough space to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine.

Toilet facilities where spotless and cleaned often.

Had a wonder round the park and was very clean and tidy.

Will definitely be back again and no doubt will even have more family and friends book up with us.

Many thanks Brian, Nicola ,Gary and Nicole...Read less.

"overall view"

Mr G McGuire - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

23/08/2020

great value. spotless caravan. .owners very friendly. would return.

"Lovely wee site"

Mrs C Clark - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

22/08/2020

Would definitely recommend this site to others, the facilities are absolutely spotless. Very friendly people, and staff. Will be booking a stay at this site again very soon, without hesitation!

"Fantastic for a little time away"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

20/08/2020

We booked Barrhill for a little weekend get away and wasn’t disappointed - the pods were clean and fully equipped, lovely little play area.

The other campers were really lovely and friendly - the......Read more.

We booked Barrhill for a little weekend get away and wasn’t disappointed - the pods were clean and fully equipped, lovely little play area.

The other campers were really lovely and friendly - the park was fab for the kids.

Only 20mins from an Asda and restaurants and 40mins to Ayr.

The star gazers pods would be fab next time as the stars were amazing over Barrhill....Read less.

"Staycation at Barrhill"

Miss K Campbell - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

18/08/2020

Me and my fiancé booked for 4 nights in the luxury glamping pod! We are so glad we did! The weather was on our side and we loved spending our evenings with a BBQ followed by a dip in our private hot......Read more.

Me and my fiancé booked for 4 nights in the luxury glamping pod! We are so glad we did! The weather was on our side and we loved spending our evenings with a BBQ followed by a dip in our private hot tub followed by sitting round a fire roasting marshmallows! The nearby beach at Girvan was lovely during the day. The owners were lovely and really helpful! I’d definitely come again for a relaxing break!...Read less.

"Good value for money to explore the local area."

Mrs C Collingwood - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

14/08/2020

The shower and toilet facilities were immaculate, although a system to show how many people are using the facilities at any one point would help in the current climate. The notice did state that......Read more.

The shower and toilet facilities were immaculate, although a system to show how many people are using the facilities at any one point would help in the current climate. The notice did state that there should be only two people using them at one time but there is now way of knowing whether there is anyone else in there. some of the pitches are more level than others and I think that this is something the owners should consider when choosing where to put motor homes and caravans. Even with chocs we couldn't get our motorhome level on the first pitch we were given ( right by the entrance) but when we asked the owner to move to one of the other pitches on the other side of the trees we didn't have a problem. The only reason I wouldn't stay here again is that the places to walk my dogs are very limited - around or the park or along the busy road. #...Read less.

"Overall review"

Miss A Hutcheon - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

14/08/2020

Perfect 3 days away. Everything about the site was great park for children , shower rooms and bathrooms. The staff were always around if you needed them. The price for the pod itself was brilliant as......Read more.

Perfect 3 days away. Everything about the site was great park for children , shower rooms and bathrooms. The staff were always around if you needed them. The price for the pod itself was brilliant as this included the fridge, microwave, kettle , tv and the hot tub. I would highly recommend booking up with Barrhill holiday park....Read less.

"Very Relaxing Holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

10/08/2020

Park staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a fantastic break away and will be visiting again in future.

"Fantastic glamping pods"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

09/08/2020

We had 3 nights in a glamping pod with a hot tub which had everything we needed will definitely be back

"Our break away"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2020

09/08/2020

We all had holidays cancelled due to pandemic so booked a few nights away at Barrhill. Have stayed before in deluxe pod. This time we went for the Stargazer. Great for up to 6 ppl, only grump is the......Read more.

We all had holidays cancelled due to pandemic so booked a few nights away at Barrhill. Have stayed before in deluxe pod. This time we went for the Stargazer. Great for up to 6 ppl, only grump is the bathroom is quite small & wash hand basin, especially if 6 people sharing. Security is always great but it seemed people were using a separate exit across a burn to access the site, this could maybe be blocked off in future to improve safety.

Overall we enjoyed the break away & the use of the hot-tub which is why we booked....Read less.

"Barrhill holiday park"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

07/08/2020

Couldn't fault owners who were very friendly and helpful.Toilet and showers/laundry all spotless. (lot's of hand sanitisers) hot water free.Felt "safe".We had a Serviced pitch but all hardstanding so......Read more.

Couldn't fault owners who were very friendly and helpful.Toilet and showers/laundry all spotless. (lot's of hand sanitisers) hot water free.Felt "safe".We had a Serviced pitch but all hardstanding so felt like a carpark/storage area as no real separation between pitches.There was building rubble lying around opposite the pitches.My heart sank when we drove in as it didn't look like the website. Great play area for small kids but can get pretty noisy so avoid if that would bother you. The pitches with greenery and hardstanding ( ie the nicer bits!)were mostly taken up with seasonal pitches. The main reason we wouldn't rush back is you are a good 20-30 min drive on a very winding road to nearest town(Girvan..ASDA/petrol stations and takeaways available. Good chippie at harbour!) and the local village is a very tricky walk @1mile down a fairly busy and fast road with no pavement.The village pub is closed and the local village shop shuts at 2pm. To get around you need to drive. There is a bus from the site entrance but they are few and far between. Site is mostly statics and nearly all pitches are overlooked by them. If you don't mind driving then this site is great value for money but we are a family with 2 teenage kids who like to be able to walk to places from our pitch but that is a personal thing. There were quite a few dogs on site but they are meant to be on a lead and in the main they were. There are pods available to rent which have a constant turnover and they have outside picnic benches,fire pits and hot tubs and can get noisy. They are near the pitches and the play area so sometimes the kids aren't supervised(not the owners fault). There is no tv/radio /phone signal on most pitches. Most of the statics and seasonals have satellite dishes. Not a huge issue for us but might bother some. We got wifi (free) but not all pitches did.Clearly many people been coming here for years and love it. We prefer a quieter more scenic site but really can't fault the great value.Good for stopovers from ferry to Northern Ireland or enroute to Glentrool Forrest for bike trails....Read less.

"FIRST CLASS"

Mr J Macisaac - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

03/03/2020

FIVE *****

"Amazing glamping pods"

Miss S McIntyre - Stayed with partner, Feb 2020

20/02/2020

This holiday park was absolutely amazing for a chill weekend with your partner, on arrival we picked our keys up for the weekend and took straight to our pod with a bottle of Prosecco and chocolate‘s......Read more.

This holiday park was absolutely amazing for a chill weekend with your partner, on arrival we picked our keys up for the weekend and took straight to our pod with a bottle of Prosecco and chocolate‘s were waiting on us Inside, the pod was really warm and cosy. At night in the hot tub you could see endless amount of stars in the sky it was so pretty to look at not something you see often & the people were lovely highly recommend this holiday park I will be returning very soon....Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead