Barrhill Holiday Park

78 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 78 reviews in the last 12 months

97% would recommend this site

97% would stay here again

Excellent

72%

Very Good

23%

Average

4%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Hidden Gem 😊"

M Rice - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

24/07/2021

Nestled between Newton Stewart and Gibran this holiday park is an excellent choice for a short break we stayed in one of the Pods which was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for a......Read more.

Nestled between Newton Stewart and Gibran this holiday park is an excellent choice for a short break we stayed in one of the Pods which was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for a peaceful and relaxing few days away and only 40 minutes from home we will definitely a be back highly recommended...Read less.

"Short break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

23/07/2021

Camping with mod cons & without the hassle of a tent, ideal for taking kids & Hottub is an added bonus. Park owner is always around and helpfull if anything is needed.

"Pod"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

22/07/2021

Great 2 night stay in a pod. Very friendly atmosphere

"great little site"

Mr R Hardy - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

20/07/2021

a great, clean, well maintained and friendly site

"Excellent accommodation"

Mr & Mrs I Ashwood - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

15/07/2021

Nephew stayed in pod while visiting along with extended family. This gave us greater flexibility re sleeping arrangements. All worked out perfectly.

"friendly staff,clean & great value for money."

Miss G Wardle - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

12/07/2021

Would definitely stay here again I would highly recommend for family’s and couples.

"5 stars"

Ms L Bent - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

11/07/2021

This is my 2nd stay in the glamping pods at Barrhill and I'll definitely be back. Great rural location, and Phillip and family couldn't be more accommodating. Highly recommended.

"Lovely little site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

11/07/2021

Nice site but a bit out of the way. Only used for an overnight stopover so don’t have too much to say

"Fun with friends"

Mr L Gallacher - Stayed with family, Jul 2021

09/07/2021

Had a great weekend with friends glamping at Barrhill the pods are great and the kids loved the play park, the park is clean and tidy and the pods are clean and we loved the hot tubs

"First impressions"

Mrs C Barlow - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

06/07/2021

Spotlessly clean

Very welcoming and friendly

Hot tub is fab with privacy around them.

Central to Newton Mearns Girvan and Portpatrick for a day trip.

Philip, replied to this review on the 06 July 2021

Thanks for the great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Barrhill Holiday Park is a great......Read more.

Thanks for the great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Barrhill Holiday Park is a great base for exploring South Ayrshire and Dumfries and Galloway. Phil...Read less.

"Will definitely be back"

Mrs K Arnott - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

06/07/2021

I stayed with my Husband and two sons for two nights. Philip was very helpful on arrival and let us check in early as our pod was ready. My two boys absolutely loved the hot tub and the fire pit. ......Read more.

I stayed with my Husband and two sons for two nights. Philip was very helpful on arrival and let us check in early as our pod was ready. My two boys absolutely loved the hot tub and the fire pit. We visited the park at Barrhill and had a trip to Ayr and Girvan too. We will definitely be back again. The pod was very clean and the beds were comfortable....Read less.

Philip, replied to this review on the 06 July 2021

Thanks for the lovely review, we are happy to help in whatever way we can. Glad you and your family......Read more.

Thanks for the lovely review, we are happy to help in whatever way we can. Glad you and your family enjoyed the break and we hope to see you again soon. Phil...Read less.

"Fabulous campsite"

Mrs J McKibbin - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

03/07/2021

This is a fabulous campsite, quiet, relaxing and staff are so friendly and helpful. We have been here previously and will definitely be back. We would recommend this campsite

Philip, replied to this review on the 03 July 2021

Thanks for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again. Philip

"Love this park"

Miss D Borthwick - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

03/07/2021

Lovely park, very quiet and peaceful, we have been a couple times now and love it.

Could benefit from larger play park or other activities for the kids but we manage to entertain ourselves really......Read more.

Lovely park, very quiet and peaceful, we have been a couple times now and love it.

Could benefit from larger play park or other activities for the kids but we manage to entertain ourselves really well.

Hot tub could have benefited a clean as loads dog hair about and grit at the bottom, however it was fine.

Staff are lovely and very helpful if needed will defo return again in the future....Read less.

Philip, replied to this review on the 03 July 2021

Thanks for your review. For the size of our park we couldn't justify putting other activities on......Read more.

Thanks for your review. For the size of our park we couldn't justify putting other activities on for kids, we just don't have the time. Our hot tubs and filters are cleaned out every single change over, I don't understand how dog hair would be in it. If you had of said I'd have cleaned it again for you.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Philip...Read less.

"Review"

Miss J Rendle - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

30/06/2021

Excellent stay at Barrhill and would love to return. Due to weather conditions, it would be good to have an outdoor space with cover. Attentive staff, great space and good location.

"Perfect short escape"

Miss K Hendry - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

28/06/2021

Had an amazing time in pod with hot tub cannot recommend it enough! The park is peaceful and very much surrounded by nature making a peaceful relaxing getaway.

"First stay"

Mrs C Slaven - Stayed with family, Jun 2021

27/06/2021

The pod and hot tub were excellent.

The location was very remote and you really need to be driving to access anywhere else . The only thing that I picked up on is that there is nowhere to hang......Read more.

The pod and hot tub were excellent.

The location was very remote and you really need to be driving to access anywhere else . The only thing that I picked up on is that there is nowhere to hang jackets or towels inside the pod ? Small gripe !...Read less.

"Lovely chilled out break."

Mr G McPhail - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

20/06/2021

I was working locally and drove by Barrhill Holiday Park. Having checked online, I booked for my wife and I, so we could relax for a couple of days. We had a lovely time. Phillip was a great host.......Read more.

I was working locally and drove by Barrhill Holiday Park. Having checked online, I booked for my wife and I, so we could relax for a couple of days. We had a lovely time. Phillip was a great host. The accommodation was clean and the hot tub was perfect for relaxing. Just make sure to take decent insect repellent as the midges hunt in packs!!

We'll definitely be back....Read less.

"Retired couple, no children"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

18/06/2021

Friendly site

"Friendly site"

V Jones - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

17/06/2021

Lovley owners ... family run met father and son who were most helpful and chatty...very clean facilities...cleanest Elson I have ever seen !!! .. quiet camp .bus stops outside for visiting Port......Read more.

Lovley owners ... family run met father and son who were most helpful and chatty...very clean facilities...cleanest Elson I have ever seen !!! .. quiet camp .bus stops outside for visiting Port Patrick which is beautiful ......Read less.

"Amazing Staycation"

Miss S Rajakhan - Stayed with family, May 2021

14/06/2021

Firstly the pod was absolutely fantastic. The hot tub was just amazing. We enjoyed ourselves so much. We had the most amazing time. Phillip was really helpful and on hand always. His a lovely person......Read more.

Firstly the pod was absolutely fantastic. The hot tub was just amazing. We enjoyed ourselves so much. We had the most amazing time. Phillip was really helpful and on hand always. His a lovely person and it was lovely to have met him and his family. He continously asked us if we are ok or if we need anything. He told us about everything around the area. The hot tub was clean and everything was just perfect. The cooking facilities were great. Beautiful views around the area. To be honest we could not have had a better time. Everything was stop on. We will definitely be going back. The kids also had an amazing time. Would 100% recommend this place!!!

...Read less.

"General"

Mrs R Serrels - Stayed with partner, Jun 2021

12/06/2021

Picnic tables and benches were old looking and looked as though they could do with being painted.

"Outstanding in Everyway"

Mr P Sweeney - Stayed with family, May 2021

08/06/2021

Discovered Barrhill Holiday Park last August when we were looking for a staycation due to restrictions not allowing us to visit family in Ireland.Loved it so much we recently returned.

Beautiful &......Read more.

Discovered Barrhill Holiday Park last August when we were looking for a staycation due to restrictions not allowing us to visit family in Ireland.Loved it so much we recently returned.

Beautiful & Peaceful.Lovely listening to birds in the countryside.Honestly cannot fault anything.Everything exceptional.Phillip & Laura are so obliging.You receive such a warm welcome & such a homely feel to the site.A real hidden gem.

South Ayreshire and Dumfries & Galloway are scenically stunning.Barrhill is a great base for exploring.It’s very close to the breathtaking Galloway Forest Park which has so many different walks, mountain biking routes & Bruce’s Stone.Girvan has a fantastic clean beach & cycling hire.Plus the stunning view of Alisa Craig! You can also take a boat trip there.The Mull of Galloway with its lighthouse is another amazing place we visited.Port Patrick, and Maybole lovely places to visit with lovely eating places.

We have really fallen in love with South Ayreshire.You would never tire of places to go & see & do with Barrhill as a base.The people are so lovely,friendly & helpful & the area beautiful.

Barrhill Holiday Camp is a real family affair.So homely with high standards.I think that makes it so unique plus it’s peaceful and beautiful setting....Read less.

"Great park"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2021

06/06/2021

Nice hideaway location, very clean park and does exactly as it says on the tin.

"Great short break"

Miss M Rossborough - Stayed with family, May 2021

04/06/2021

Lovely park, child and dog friendly. Hot tub was fab! Owner friendly and helpful. Would definitely consider returning.

"Definitely would return"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2021

03/06/2021

Great place, easy to find, lodge was spotless and bed comfortable

"short summer break"

Mr C Young - Stayed with partner, May 2021

02/06/2021

2 night completely chilled spent most of time in hot tub

"Relaxing break"

S Donnelly - Stayed with family, May 2021

31/05/2021

Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. Our twins loved the swing park at the caravan park and in the beautiful wee village of Barrhill. We will definitely......Read more.

Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. Our twins loved the swing park at the caravan park and in the beautiful wee village of Barrhill. We will definitely return😁...Read less.

"Motorhome for one night"

Mr D Bell - Stayed with partner, May 2021

27/05/2021

Very satisfied. Just a quick passing visit but facilities were very good and very clean.

"Thoroughly enjoyed, booked again"

Miss A Anderson - Stayed with partner, May 2021

23/05/2021

Stayed for two nights through the week and wow what a great wee find. Me and my partner had the orion pod and hot tub. Very clean, spacious, good facilities, comfy sleep, heater and windows to adjust......Read more.

Stayed for two nights through the week and wow what a great wee find. Me and my partner had the orion pod and hot tub. Very clean, spacious, good facilities, comfy sleep, heater and windows to adjust temperature, hot tub was amazing although our hot tub lights weren’t working. Phillip and his parter and daughter were lovely, very friendly, attentive and helpful, booked to go again whilst checking out and excited to return in the next month again :) highly recommend...Read less.

"Clean friendly value for money"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2021

22/05/2021

No club for entertainment also no bar and shop. However the park is clean and everyone is friendly. I was told the site has a plan for the future by putting shuttle service to and from Barrhill......Read more.

No club for entertainment also no bar and shop. However the park is clean and everyone is friendly. I was told the site has a plan for the future by putting shuttle service to and from Barrhill village. Great idea...Read less.

Philip, replied to this review on the 23 May 2021

Hi, thanks for your review.

Our park is a small park and people come here for peace and quiet. We......Read more.

Hi, thanks for your review.

Our park is a small park and people come here for peace and quiet. We have never had a clubhouse, pub or shop and have no plans for anything like that.

To clarify we won't be doing a shuttle service to and from Barrhill, it's the community that's took over the pub that are thinking of putting a shuttle on for the pub.

Glad you enjoyed your stay....Read less.

"Fantastic site"

C O'Rourke - Stayed with family, May 2021

20/05/2021

Friendly staff they cannot do enough for you also the facilities are spotless and are cleaned all the time

Philip, replied to this review on the 23 May 2021

Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay

"Excellent stay at barrhill"

Mrs G McMillan - Stayed with partner, May 2021

20/05/2021

We stayed for the weekend at barrhill and had a great stay, pods were roomy enough and we also had our own toilet which was better. Would definitely go again.

Thanks philip

Philip, replied to this review on the 23 May 2021

Your very welcome, it was a pleasure having you. Philip

"Excellent Stay - Can't Wait To Be Back"

Miss E O’doherty - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

10/05/2021

We've stayed here 3 times now and the park just keeps on improving each time we go back. We stayed in the pod with shower and toilet in cabin. All very clean and tidy. Hottub was great and always up......Read more.

We've stayed here 3 times now and the park just keeps on improving each time we go back. We stayed in the pod with shower and toilet in cabin. All very clean and tidy. Hottub was great and always up to temperature. The perfect stay for a weekend breakaway with friends or family. Wifi wasn't the best in some areas around the cabin but it didnt really bother us. The whole park is really well kept and owner is always seen out and about- and very helpful! They've just got new cabins so hoping to book another trip later in the year to check them out!...Read less.

"Very Relaxing"

Ms K Findlay - Stayed with partner, May 2021

10/05/2021

Stayed for 4 nights here at the start of May. The Pod was easy to find. Philip was very helpful and friendly. Everything was spotless and we loved the Hot tub. The weather was not great but that did......Read more.

Stayed for 4 nights here at the start of May. The Pod was easy to find. Philip was very helpful and friendly. Everything was spotless and we loved the Hot tub. The weather was not great but that did not spoil anything for us. Site was very quiet which made for a very relaxing break. We made use of the fire pit and enjoyed barbqueing our dinner on it.

Only downside was the lack of anywhere to hang jackets or wet towels. We bought some easy to remove stick on hooks. Forgot to remove them but they will come in handy for anyone else who stays there...Read less.

"Pod"

K Maxwell - Stayed with partner, Nov 2020

12/11/2020

Had a brilliant weekend overall however the hot tub seems to have had too many chemicals in it and burnt all out skint, both red, itchy and sore and had to get cream and tablets prescribed from......Read more.

Had a brilliant weekend overall however the hot tub seems to have had too many chemicals in it and burnt all out skint, both red, itchy and sore and had to get cream and tablets prescribed from doctors, this would put me off from returning as my skin still not normal....Read less.

Philip, replied to this review on the 12 November 2020

Hi, we are sorry to hear you've came out red and itchy. One thing we are very careful about the......Read more.

Hi, we are sorry to hear you've came out red and itchy. One thing we are very careful about the amount of chemicals we use in the hot tubs and only use the recommended doses. Please accept our sincerest apologies, and hopefully you will return again as this is the first time we've had this happen in our 3 & half years. Philip...Read less.

"First visit"

Mrs L Lee - Stayed with friends, Nov 2020

07/11/2020

My friend and myself wanted a quiet couple of days away and Barrhill holiday park was recommended by my daughter. It was so peaceful, the staff were on hand for anything we needed and nothing was a......Read more.

My friend and myself wanted a quiet couple of days away and Barrhill holiday park was recommended by my daughter. It was so peaceful, the staff were on hand for anything we needed and nothing was a problem, the accommodation was immaculate as was the hot tub. Amazing place for a complete recharge and relaxation. Will be booking again...Read less.

"Relaxing"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

05/11/2020

I spent 2 nights in one of the pods with a hot tub. It was fab. Pod was comfortable and cosy. Will definatley return.

"Amazing stay"

Miss K McNaught - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

01/11/2020

Perfect 2 night stay to relax and unwind from day to day life! The stay were really helpful and very kind, the facilities on site are amazing and very clean. Would definitely return

"Staycation"

Miss B Murray - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

We stayed for 2 nights in the luxury pod with hot tub it was great and brilliant value for money. The pod was very clean and everything worked great. A lovely quiet camp site and just what we......Read more.

We stayed for 2 nights in the luxury pod with hot tub it was great and brilliant value for money. The pod was very clean and everything worked great. A lovely quiet camp site and just what we wanted.

We wished we had taken extra towels for the floor after getting in from the hot tub, maybe a mat at the door would help, and some hooks to hang swimsuits and wet towels, but apart from that it was perfect. We will definitely be staying again....Read less.

"Just what we needed."

Miss A Byers - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

24/10/2020

We really enjoyed our glamping experience, we had a comfortable, warm and relaxing time. We toasted marshmallows and relaxed in the hot tub in the rain. The beds were very comfortable and the kettle......Read more.

We really enjoyed our glamping experience, we had a comfortable, warm and relaxing time. We toasted marshmallows and relaxed in the hot tub in the rain. The beds were very comfortable and the kettle was well used for many cups of tea. We went a lovely walk around Fairy Knowe in Barr we were enchanted by the rivers and waterfall.

The only thing I would have liked to have seen was either more of detailed introduction to the site/area on arrival by staff or a welcome pack in the pod to say what would be recommended to do for visitors to the area, also how to move around or access facilities around the park.

We genuinely had a lovely time...thank you....Read less.

"Nothing to entice us back!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

21/10/2020

Pitch wasn’t in any way attractive - we felt that we were in an area that was more like a “work area” . We were opposite the play park which we didn’t have a problem with but site owners do need to......Read more.

Pitch wasn’t in any way attractive - we felt that we were in an area that was more like a “work area” . We were opposite the play park which we didn’t have a problem with but site owners do need to set some rules on hours of use and noise levels on site after 9pm .

We visited site during Covid restrictions and were extremely disappointed that there were some people totally disregarding the restrictions as set out by the Scottish Government. Noisy get-togethers disturbed us well into the night!!...Read less.

"Hot tub and pod experience"

Mr E Burnett - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

11/10/2020

First time ever trying out the glamping/hot tub experience, this site although a bit remote was lovely and quiet The weather as always plays a part in a Scottish break and it was difficult to fully......Read more.

First time ever trying out the glamping/hot tub experience, this site although a bit remote was lovely and quiet The weather as always plays a part in a Scottish break and it was difficult to fully use the hot tub or light a fire outside because there’s no cover,but we still made the best of it ,the wee cookhouse that the pod clients get to use is a godsend,all equipped and very clean , the village shop is unfortunately poorly stocked of things you might need so bring all with you ,or take a drive into Girvan ,all in all a great wee break...Read less.

"A good point on a route"

D Bamford - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

09/10/2020

I was walking the Whithorn Way with a friend, on a pilgrimage, and this was conveniently located between Maybole and New Luce. It was also very economically priced and equipped with a cookhouse and......Read more.

I was walking the Whithorn Way with a friend, on a pilgrimage, and this was conveniently located between Maybole and New Luce. It was also very economically priced and equipped with a cookhouse and shower block. The one point I would question is the use of the adjective 'luxury' to describe the pod....Read less.

"Good place to stay"

Mr M Hollins - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

06/10/2020

Very clean and new facilities, although we didn't use them, had a peep and found them extremely clea n. Phil very helpful and has plans for further improvements.

"First visit to Barrhill Holiday Park"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

We stayed at the park for a weekend with a few friends. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the hot tub was great! Lovely site and staff were friendly and approachable.

"Barrhill Weekend"

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

03/10/2020

Lovely site for a short stay in my campervan. Nicely located for coast and Glen Trool.

"First visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

29/09/2020

Pod was lovely but a few accessories in the bathroom would have been lovely. A small shelf for toiletries and hooks for towels. Overall a lovely place to visit, well maintained, lovely, helpful staff......Read more.

Pod was lovely but a few accessories in the bathroom would have been lovely. A small shelf for toiletries and hooks for towels. Overall a lovely place to visit, well maintained, lovely, helpful staff and hottub made the visit even better....Read less.

"Fleeting visit"

Mr R Young - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

26/09/2020

Excellent location and typical Norn Iron hospitality in the middle of one of Scotland's loveliest and most underused areas. On this occasion we brought a tent along. Unwise, as we'd never put it up......Read more.

Excellent location and typical Norn Iron hospitality in the middle of one of Scotland's loveliest and most underused areas. On this occasion we brought a tent along. Unwise, as we'd never put it up before and the weather was a little too cold in the evening for comfort in something that had not been erected properly. That was the reason why we cut short our overnight stay and on a future visit we would aim for one of the excellent static caravans....Read less.

"Wonderful caravan in a peaceful location."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

The host was very amicable and flexible, and it was the vest presented caravan I have ever stayed in. If I were to make any comments about room for improvement, it might centre on some untidiness......Read more.

The host was very amicable and flexible, and it was the vest presented caravan I have ever stayed in. If I were to make any comments about room for improvement, it might centre on some untidiness around the site, eg. with bits of timber an old farm equipment lying about. The pitch did leave us at the mercy of traffic noise from the road, but that's can't be helped by the camp.

The standard of the caravan and the warmness of the welcome more then made up for it!...Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead