Bucklegrove Holiday Park

260 Reviews

4.2 / 5 overall rating based on 260 reviews in the last 12 months

87% would recommend this site

81% would stay here again

Excellent

51%

Very Good

30%

Average

16%

Poor

3%

Terrible

0%

"A hidden gem"

J Harris - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

04/12/2021

A really lovely stay in our touring caravan. All staff were welcoming and helpful. Wash block a little dated but very clean. Very pleased and will return.

"Wonderful"

Mrs S Strange - Stayed with friends, Nov 2021

03/12/2021

Lovely lodges, excellent views, staff friendly, peace and quiet

"Closed"

J Alders - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

03/12/2021

We were sited next door to the toilets and bins. No views other than the hedges either side. The swimming pool was closed and bar/restaurant only open on a Friday or Saturday. Too difficult to walk......Read more.

We were sited next door to the toilets and bins. No views other than the hedges either side. The swimming pool was closed and bar/restaurant only open on a Friday or Saturday. Too difficult to walk anywhere ie the local pub as no pavements....Read less.

"Lovely clean and quiet"

P Carthew - Stayed with family, Nov 2021

02/12/2021

We stayed here in our camper van so we could take the children into Bath and then to Wookey Hole for Xmas.

Well located for all the attractions, clean and tidy site with friendly helpful staff. ......Read more.

We stayed here in our camper van so we could take the children into Bath and then to Wookey Hole for Xmas.

Well located for all the attractions, clean and tidy site with friendly helpful staff. Good food in the bar.

I'll definitely be back to explore some more....Read less.

"Stay"

Mr E Darkins - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

23/11/2021

Good stay very helpful staff

"Week end break"

Mrs M Lewis - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

19/11/2021

Had a very enjoyable weekend. Caravan was brilliant, bedding excellent, staff very approachable. Check in could be abit earlier. One downfall was clubhouse, although I know out of season not a lot......Read more.

Had a very enjoyable weekend. Caravan was brilliant, bedding excellent, staff very approachable. Check in could be abit earlier. One downfall was clubhouse, although I know out of season not a lot of selection on food menu & no atmosphere inside, felt awkward being there , went in once did not go back....Read less.

"Nice place"

A Owen - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

17/11/2021

We stayed on a week day so it was quiet. The toilet block was very clean and the showers were good. However, there aren't that many and in busier times I imagine it would be difficult to get a......Read more.

We stayed on a week day so it was quiet. The toilet block was very clean and the showers were good. However, there aren't that many and in busier times I imagine it would be difficult to get a shower.

The site shop does not seem to have much practical stock so any food stuffs would need to be bought in Wells or Cheddar.

It would be great if the bin floor areas had some covering to avoid having to get muddy shoes that then gets transferred to your caravan!...Read less.

"Excellent child friendly site"

F Dunckley - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

16/11/2021

We had a fantastic stay in a holiday home with a hot tub. Friendly welcome, very neat and clean accommodation, everything worked well. The clubhouse was great, they'd gone all out for Halloween and......Read more.

We had a fantastic stay in a holiday home with a hot tub. Friendly welcome, very neat and clean accommodation, everything worked well. The clubhouse was great, they'd gone all out for Halloween and the party was perfect for entertaining the kids. Lots of fun things to do in the area and lovely scenery. Only disappointment was the pool was closed over half term which was bad timing....Read less.

"Wonderful staff!"

Mrs L West - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

16/11/2021

The staff were very kind & helpful, great location too. Only let down by the crumbling pitch surface which transferred into our caravan every time we went in & out!! Hope they re-surface soon :)

"Would recommend"

C Morgan - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

11/11/2021

Very helpful staff, clean, easy accessible site with a very good club house. Very good good served.

"nice site"

G Baker - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

11/11/2021

enjoyed our stay and will definitely return .

"Great pitches with the most fantastic views and full facilities on site."

D Croxford - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

10/11/2021

First stay with you and very impressed. Nice flat hard standing for Motorhome with all facilities near by. Staff friendly and charming. Bathrooms basic but clean and how lovely having a bath......Read more.

First stay with you and very impressed. Nice flat hard standing for Motorhome with all facilities near by. Staff friendly and charming. Bathrooms basic but clean and how lovely having a bath available. Our only down side was the state of the road on site. The pot holes were awful and hard to avoid.

Having said that, we loved our stay. We were impressed by the site and would definitely return again....Read less.

"Staff saved it."

Mrs H Budd - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

09/11/2021

Thankfully the staff were excellent, site was neat and tidy. Caravan was very standard considering we selected a luxury van, the mattresses in both rooms were awful we all left with sore backs. The......Read more.

Thankfully the staff were excellent, site was neat and tidy. Caravan was very standard considering we selected a luxury van, the mattresses in both rooms were awful we all left with sore backs. The fact the pool was closed after being shut for so long due to covid was annoying especially since the pool was the main reason I chose the site....Read less.

"Swimming pool"

Mr C Bafico - Stayed with family, Nov 2021

09/11/2021

The reason why site was chosen was for the swimming pool and was very disappointed that it was closed due to maintenance. However the surrounding area was stunning, facilities and amenities very good.

"Nice place"

G Howard - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

09/11/2021

Staff were very friendly, toilet/shower block clean & warm (very cold outside). The lodge food was plentiful & good, all in all a lovely site to explore the surrounding areas.

"A very convenient and pleasant stay"

C Lingard - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

07/11/2021

We went to a funeral in Cheddar, an area we didn't know at all. We found the campsite on the internet and it proved to be excellent .At this time of year you could expect campsites to look run down......Read more.

We went to a funeral in Cheddar, an area we didn't know at all. We found the campsite on the internet and it proved to be excellent .At this time of year you could expect campsites to look run down and in need of tlc, but Bucklegrove still had high standards of cleanliness and the staff were still working to keep it tidy and welcoming....Read less.

"Another holiday to Bucklegrove"

Mrs C Allen - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

06/11/2021

We have been here many times before . My husband and I went in the October half term week. This was honestly probably the best holiday we have had at Bucklegrove. The difference with previous years......Read more.

We have been here many times before . My husband and I went in the October half term week. This was honestly probably the best holiday we have had at Bucklegrove. The difference with previous years was the atmosphere it was fantastic . They have a lodge bar and restaurant onsite it was very busy in a good way . The food is very good and an excellent size portion real value for your money. Plenty of things for your children to do and they even had a disco on site for halloween. The staff are very friendly and helpful and work exceptionally hard in all aspects for this site from the grounds maintenance cleaning of holiday homes running the bar and restaurant etc. Infact it’s the managers and their team that make this park successful. Yes admittedly the site needs updating slightly but we know speaking to the managers that this is planned for the near future. We will definitely be returning....Read less.

"Appalling campsite, worst ever stayed in and camping for over 10 years! Poo on floors!"

Mr J Kruger - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

02/11/2021

I wrote an email about my experience, poo on the toilet floor was not cleaned up and was told it was, but the next day still there and told by the facilities manager someone else must have done it......Read more.

I wrote an email about my experience, poo on the toilet floor was not cleaned up and was told it was, but the next day still there and told by the facilities manager someone else must have done it again. Unbelievable! Facilities were dirty, not maintained, no staff seen. Hedges not maintained and stricted camping space. Never saw any security. Worst experience ever. Pool closed and only offered £25 refund after been there for a whole week and they emailed me back saying more or less it was my fault for not raising with them on-site. I did with the poo, but that wasn't dealt with! Terrible worst experience in my life! Kids hated it!!!...Read less.

"Convenient for local attractions"

Mr N Green - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

02/11/2021

This was an enjoyable stay, but we couldn’t give five stars for children’s facilities - explained below. We stayed here in October with two grandsons because it was close to Wookey Hole and also......Read more.

This was an enjoyable stay, but we couldn’t give five stars for children’s facilities - explained below. We stayed here in October with two grandsons because it was close to Wookey Hole and also because of the indoor heated swimming pool. The site itself was good, with friendly, helpful staff, very clean facilities etc, but we were very disappointed that the pool, which was a major reason for choosing this site at this time of year over others in the area, was closed. A small reduction in site fees may have been a nice gesture, but wouldn’t have alleviated the disappointment of the ten year old and eight year old boys....Read less.

"5 star break"

Mrs N McRitchie - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

02/11/2021

Arrived here on a Monday , extremely friendly staff member, willing to help as much as he could .

Food in the bar is really lovely and good value .

Park is lovely and quiet with amazing views .......Read more.

Arrived here on a Monday , extremely friendly staff member, willing to help as much as he could .

Food in the bar is really lovely and good value .

Park is lovely and quiet with amazing views .

Couldn’t recommend enough ....Read less.

"Good location with friendly staff, but needs some TLC"

W Osullivan - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

31/10/2021

Liked:

The site’s staff were very friendly and it felt like a reasonably sized site which suits as as didn’t seem too busy despite being half term.

There is a small play park roughly suited to......Read more.

Liked:

The site’s staff were very friendly and it felt like a reasonably sized site which suits as as didn’t seem too busy despite being half term.

There is a small play park roughly suited to children under 10 which was nice to have as the site’s outside of close by villages where you might otherwise access nearby amenities.

The clubhouse / restaurant was a nice addition and we ate there once. The offering was typical pub style food such as fish and chips, burgers, pizza at £10 an adult meal and £6 for kids and although not necessarily our sort of thing the staff were friendly and had made an effort with Halloween decorations. Although I know it was October the doors and Windows were all closed which was one of the reasons we didn’t feel particularly comfortable in returning to the venue.

It was only open evenings too which was a surprise in half term as I think they were potentially missing opportunity for coffees etc I’m the morning / daytime - especially being next to to the children’s park.

There is a small path with a short ‘dinosaur trail’ with plastic dinosaurs along it which the children liked and it was nice to be able to keep them off the site roads (although quiet) to cut between the two main parts of the site.

Some tidying of this area and addition of signs for all the dinosaurs would further improve this part.

The shop was well stocked and fairly reasonably priced. All staff we came across on site greeted us in passing and were always smiling, which I think is the best part of the site and they are its redeeming feature.

Disliked:

Although warned via email prior to arrival unfortunately the Pool was not working, this was very disappointing especially in half term and was the driving factor as to why we booked the site. We didn’t see anyone working to try and resolve the issue during our four day stay either.

Despite the pool not working we weren’t offered any goodwill gesture like shop or restaurant credit as we have been at other sites when major facilities are out of order.

The entry barrier was also broken (always being up) during our four day stay which, although the area seemed nice enough, would have meant that non residents would have had no trouble driving straight in. It was being fixed on our departure day.

In general the buildings on entry to the site looked a little tired and with the the pool and barrier out of order and some areas needing some maintenance (paths and washrooms) it just gave an overall impression of a site that needed a little more TLC.

The area on first entry where the statics were and by the clubhouse were well lit but our section (to the left by the seasonal pitches end) was very dark which wasn’t ideal when accessing the facilities at night.

The facilities were not necessarily dirty but I think they could benefit from brightening up / redecoration and maybe some colour as they appear dated and a little worn. Many of the soap dispensers were out of soap in the main gents facilities.

There was a family bathroom (bath sink changing table) which is always a bonus with two small children (bath reasonably priced at £1 for 15 mins hot water - no charge for showers). Please consider leaving some cleaning spray and mop in facilities though for people to use before and after use.

Wifi signal non existent at top of site where we were (seasonal pitch end near the lodge)...Read less.

"Great location and facilities"

G Hunt - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

28/10/2021

We chose Bucklegrove for its proximity to Cheddar Gorge and for the fully serviced pitches and it did not disappoint, pitches were a very good size, onsite restaurant with eat in or take away service......Read more.

We chose Bucklegrove for its proximity to Cheddar Gorge and for the fully serviced pitches and it did not disappoint, pitches were a very good size, onsite restaurant with eat in or take away service was very good, onsite shop was quite comprehensive - would recommend and stay there again if returning to the area....Read less.

"Bromley 11"

Miss M Dyson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

26/10/2021

When we arrived was clean and tidy but when we went to sit down found dead flys on sofa and there was a fly 🪰 problem for the first nite after we bought fly spray it wasn't a problem for rest......Read more.

When we arrived was clean and tidy but when we went to sit down found dead flys on sofa and there was a fly 🪰 problem for the first nite after we bought fly spray it wasn't a problem for rest of holiday. The only other problem we had was no Internet or dvd player in our caravan and there should have been but staff were friendly and helpful was disappointed there was no pool even tho we go told when arrived there was . But overall we had a good holiday and would go back ....Read less.

"Well set out, tidy park in great location. Would visit again."

V Feveyear - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

22/10/2021

Had a very lovely stay at this Park. Great location and on bus route for nearby attractions and towns. facilities clean and well maintained. Lovely views and walks from site.

"Enjoyed our stay"

M Fulker - Stayed with friends, Oct 2021

21/10/2021

Enjoyed our stay

"Overnight Stay whilst attending Shepton Mallet Toy Fair"

C Parsons - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

14/10/2021

Very nice pitch with nice views of surrounding countryside. Easy checkin with pitch number and security code sent in advance on the day Well lit site with illuminated woodland dinosaur walk to the......Read more.

Very nice pitch with nice views of surrounding countryside. Easy checkin with pitch number and security code sent in advance on the day Well lit site with illuminated woodland dinosaur walk to the spacious onsite bar/restaruant where we had an excellent meal which was really good value; bar had a nice atmosphere with very friendly staff....Read less.

"First visit"

Mr M Foster - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

14/10/2021

Enjoyed. Will return

"Great place to meet up with family"

Mrs T Wood - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

12/10/2021

Chose Bucklegrove to meet up with family from Wales as we live in Norfolk. We booked at static caravan for our son and family whilst we stayed in our motor home. Satisfied with all aspects of the......Read more.

Chose Bucklegrove to meet up with family from Wales as we live in Norfolk. We booked at static caravan for our son and family whilst we stayed in our motor home. Satisfied with all aspects of the site. Only disappointment was the lack of dog walks nearby given the lovely countryside surrounding the site....Read less.

"Lodge"

Mrs T Hockham - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

12/10/2021

Lodge lost points because there was a lot of cob webs , and the toilet seat in the on suite was broken

"September touring stay"

T Johnson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

11/10/2021

The pool was amazing, though the shower in the ladies change room was permanently cold!

The park would benefit from having a designated dog walk area, especially given the num her of people paying......Read more.

The pool was amazing, though the shower in the ladies change room was permanently cold!

The park would benefit from having a designated dog walk area, especially given the num her of people paying to bring their dogs onsite.

...Read less.

"A nice couple of nights."

Mrs D Gulliford - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

05/10/2021

We only spent a couple of nights on the sight but we were impressed. The staff are really helpful and friendly. We forgot our levelling blocks for our motorhome and the young lady in reception......Read more.

We only spent a couple of nights on the sight but we were impressed. The staff are really helpful and friendly. We forgot our levelling blocks for our motorhome and the young lady in reception said we could borrow some that she had and just to return them to reception when we left. The facilities were always clean. The swimming pool looked nice too. We did not use the on site restaurant so can not comment . We went in September and the site was quite quiet which suited us perfectly. We will return....Read less.

"Lovely Park"

Mr M Holt - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

04/10/2021

A lovely park close to Wells and on the main bus route. Surprised to see the swimming pool but made great use of it.

"Misrepresentation"

Dr. H Butcher - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

03/10/2021

We chose Buckle grove because of the swimming pool. I wasn't aware it wouldn't be available until the booking was confirmed.

"Weekend break"

Mrs T Pettitt - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

03/10/2021

This was our 4th stay at Bucklegrove, everything was perfect for us as usual,super helpful staff, special mention to Kieran who was very friendly and informative, we will be returning again .

"Absolutely love it here"

Miss A Hadley - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

02/10/2021

My family and I really do love it here. The location is perfect for us. It’s not an over crowded site and the country views are sensational. It’s fab if you like to visit Glastonbury, Cheddar or......Read more.

My family and I really do love it here. The location is perfect for us. It’s not an over crowded site and the country views are sensational. It’s fab if you like to visit Glastonbury, Cheddar or Brean and has so much to offer. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The site is maintained beautifully. We try to visit as much as we can!...Read less.

"Disappointed is an understatement"

Mrs P McCulloch - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

01/10/2021

I emailed the site on my return home, and heard nothing back about how awful the cabin we stayed in was, we didn’t use the outside cooking area as cooker look so dirty and in disrepair, and the so......Read more.

I emailed the site on my return home, and heard nothing back about how awful the cabin we stayed in was, we didn’t use the outside cooking area as cooker look so dirty and in disrepair, and the so called cupboard with all the pots and pans in was black with what look like mould, and the back screen was covered in what look liked grease, The cabin didn’t look like anything that was advertised on your site, the outside needed a paint the table and chairs has seen better days, just awful and how you can still charge people for this cabin is beyond me, we left a day earlier than we paid for as we were just so fed up with microwave meals due to the fact we couldn’t/ didn’t want to use the awful outside space. Inside the curtain had a stain on, and cobwebs everywhere. I can honestly say I won’t be back and will not be recommending your site to anyone, even people I’m not keen on!!!...Read less.

"Second stay at this lovely holiday site."

Mrs S Richardson - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

01/10/2021

Enjoyed a lovely weekend here staying in Luxury 3 bed static caravan. Luxury it wasn't but it was clean, tidy, comfortable, had all the equipment necessary and of course a Hot Tub. The staff were......Read more.

Enjoyed a lovely weekend here staying in Luxury 3 bed static caravan. Luxury it wasn't but it was clean, tidy, comfortable, had all the equipment necessary and of course a Hot Tub. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we had an issue with the TV which was sorted out within an hour. This time we did venture up to the onsite bar. It was a little noisy with little children running around but the food was delicious and generous portions. We will defiantly be staying here again...Read less.

"I loved it my back didn't"

Miss H John - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

01/10/2021

We really enjoyed our stay here. However a newer mattress wouldn't go a miss the springs were digging in to us. We struggled to get a good nights sleep. But everything else was perfect.

"Lovely time"

L Reynolds - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

01/10/2021

Great!!

"September stay"

C Rowland - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

30/09/2021

used this site twice while traveling to Cornwall,frendly staff lovely flowers, toilets cuold be cleaner.

"Tidy, clean and Friendly"

Mrs T Dracup - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

29/09/2021

Staff were very friendly from the minute we arrived late evening. Quality of the evening meals good and value for money. The Staff were on the go all the time looking after the site. Nothing was......Read more.

Staff were very friendly from the minute we arrived late evening. Quality of the evening meals good and value for money. The Staff were on the go all the time looking after the site. Nothing was to much trouble. We had not been to this site for a few years and found that the new owners Management team were 100% in making your break/holiday a very enjoyable experience and even taking time out to ask for your opinions for ways to offer more. Nothing was to much trouble. Would recommend and looking forward to returning.

The only thing we found was the showers on the Grove are very clean and hot but a bit old and need a update, but saying that did not stop us using them every day. Nothing that can't be improved in time....Read less.

"NA"

Mrs A Cooper - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

29/09/2021

NA

"September getaway"

I Dubuis - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

28/09/2021

Lovely setting, with some gorgeous views. Easy to get to, and near lots of stunning walks. Good sized, level pitches; main shower block very good, reviews had mentioned 'tired' facilities in need of......Read more.

Lovely setting, with some gorgeous views. Easy to get to, and near lots of stunning walks. Good sized, level pitches; main shower block very good, reviews had mentioned 'tired' facilities in need of updating in older block which I agreed with, but they were perfectly usable. Friendly helpful staff. We didn't use the swimming pool but it looked lovely. Nice play area for children....Read less.

"3night stay"

D Faulkner - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

24/09/2021

On arrival was very satisfied with the reception and as a whole it was very good throughout the stay, the young chap that was there was very helpful. We were rather disappointed with the site, it was......Read more.

On arrival was very satisfied with the reception and as a whole it was very good throughout the stay, the young chap that was there was very helpful. We were rather disappointed with the site, it was rather small compared to others and tucked right in next to the toilet and Elsan point. We had to encroach on the next door site for the EHU which wasn’t good. First night was quiet but on the Friday it felt like we were looking out at Glastonbury field with tents etc very close together with very little space firebreak inbetween . Booked through pitch-up but probably won’t return

...Read less.

"Lovely park"

T Parish - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

24/09/2021

Clean with good facilities and very friendly helpful staff.

"1st motorhome trip"

R Scadding - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

24/09/2021

Lovely relaxing stay, can’t fault the place

"friendly but tired"

Mrs S McLaughlin - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

23/09/2021

We had originally got this booked for 4 nights over bank holiday weekend earlier in the year but it needed to be postponed due to covid restrictions. We could only amend to 2 nights as we already had......Read more.

We had originally got this booked for 4 nights over bank holiday weekend earlier in the year but it needed to be postponed due to covid restrictions. We could only amend to 2 nights as we already had other camping trips booked. We were visiting wookey hole on the saturday so arrived friday evening but ended up only staying for one night but will explain later.

Firstly the positives:

Staff are lovely and friendly - cannot state this enough. They were pleasant and politeful at all times

Pitch was fantastic - well laid out, views amazing and nice little fence around pitch to provide privacy

Children's facilities seemed great - we did not get chance to try but the dinosaur trail and play area looked good

Food was surprisingly good - we only had a late meal on the Friday night but portions were large - food is clearly frozen and not homemade but it did a job

Negatives:

The facilities are dirty and tired with cobwebs everywhere. I appreciate the block may be old but it was seriously unpleasant to use

The pool area - the photographer for the website must have been a very good one - I don't think I need to add anymore!

Noisy - you not only could not hear yourself think when in the restaurant as everyone is so loud! I mean loud! You don't need to shout at each other when you are only sitting next to each other!

Then at night, there was a pack of dogs somewhere nearby and they literally did not stop howling ALL night! To the point that we did not sleep more than an hour on and off.

Then the farmer in the field next door decided to start ploughing and spraying his crop from 6am - it honestly sounds like we had a helicopter right over our heads! At 7:30 I gave up trying to sleep and got up.

It may sound snobby but the facilities are tired and the site attracts a certain type. If you are more "sun newspaper" holiday makers then this may suit you very well. It's a shame as the location is amazing and it has tremendous potential but for us, it's not one to return to....Read less.

"Good position"

J Tyler - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

23/09/2021

Great position for our weekend. The only downside was some fellow campers on a seasonal pitch who had a drinking session till 1 in the morning getting louder and louder

"Short and sweet"

B Donovan - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

Enjoyable stay with family and dogs. Basic eminities but beautiful area to visiting explore. Cheap and very friendly staff.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead