Bucklegrove Holiday Park

210 Reviews

3.8 / 5 overall rating based on 210 reviews in the last 12 months

79% would recommend this site

74% would stay here again

Excellent

35%

Very Good

32%

Average

20%

Poor

8%

Terrible

3%

"Great stay"

Ms D Niblett - Stayed with family, Mar 2020

27/03/2020

Lovely place. Lovely staff.

Lodge was lovely with it's on hot tub.

Stunning surroundings. Great value for money.

"Just love this camp site"

Mr M O Neil - Stayed Mar 2020

24/03/2020

I have stayed a few times now and without doubt this site is the friendliest ,staff just can't do enough.

I was off season and i love the non busy pool .

Restaurant food and prices are great . A......Read more.

I have stayed a few times now and without doubt this site is the friendliest ,staff just can't do enough.

I was off season and i love the non busy pool .

Restaurant food and prices are great . A toilet / shower facility upgrade will make this site one of my favourite ....Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2020

20/03/2020

Stayed here many times and sure to return

"Great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2020

19/03/2020

Great site with good facilities. Really appreciated bar for food and drink on arrival after a long journey. Swimming pool was great and kids also enjoyed playing pool in the club house. Abundance of......Read more.

Great site with good facilities. Really appreciated bar for food and drink on arrival after a long journey. Swimming pool was great and kids also enjoyed playing pool in the club house. Abundance of wash facilities and large pitches...Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Feb 2020

15/03/2020

The Site is well maintained and clean, and everything easy to do for a motor home (CDP, waste water etc).

"Weekend Stay"

D Taylor-Steel - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

28/02/2020

Me, my brother and his girlfriend stayed a weekend at Bucklegrove holiday park in a camper-van. The facilities on site shower, toilets and hand sinks were very clean and kept very tidy and warm it......Read more.

Me, my brother and his girlfriend stayed a weekend at Bucklegrove holiday park in a camper-van. The facilities on site shower, toilets and hand sinks were very clean and kept very tidy and warm it was really nice walking into a clean toilet for a change. On are last night we went to the restaurant to have dinner the food was also very good and the same for the portion size. The staff were very helpful and smiled when they see you which is a big tick from me as i work in the hospitality industry. Thank you very much and keep up the good work....Read less.

"Very disappointed"

Mrs D Huckin - Stayed Feb 2020

27/02/2020

This site looks lovely on the website but is very shabby and needs some major TLC. I booked a hard standing pitch which turned out to be at the very top of the site on a hillside and although the......Read more.

This site looks lovely on the website but is very shabby and needs some major TLC. I booked a hard standing pitch which turned out to be at the very top of the site on a hillside and although the pitch had gravel and was levelish, I had to drive up a rough road to the top and down over the sloping muddy and slippery grass to get onto the pitch and could only get off by going down over some more bumpy grass and onto another little rough road as it was too slippery to reverse back. This is not so bad if you dont want to leave the pitch for the duration of your stay but I was going out in the van everyday. There was no motorhome point and all the taps were in awkward places where you couldn't park and use a hose so I ended up having to temporarily park on one of the empty pitches with it's own tap at the bottom of the site in order to fill up my water tank, also nowhere to empty the grey water if you had a motorhome with a built in tank. All drains and taps seemed to be behind the toilet blocks out of reach. On the upside the staff were friendly and polite and me and my dog enjoyed going to Cheddar which is a short drive from the site....Read less.

"The staff was very helpful."

S Paisey - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

27/02/2020

We had a problem with are caravan battery not changing so thay took the battery charged it up for us think this was over and above helpful for us pls the staff was helpful in any place u was on site.

"First time, not the last time!!"

A Plews - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

26/02/2020

Really lovely facilities, great location, free showers, loads of hot water, fab pools, lots for kids to do, great value for money, really happy and will book again.

"Best thing was the staff and friendliness to children"

C Eaton - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

25/02/2020

Very friendly staff excellent facilities

"Lovely location and comfortable caravan"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

25/02/2020

We were there the weekend of Storm Dennis so were doubtful about staying in a caravan with the weather forecast. However we found the caravan excellent, warm and comfortable with everything we......Read more.

We were there the weekend of Storm Dennis so were doubtful about staying in a caravan with the weather forecast. However we found the caravan excellent, warm and comfortable with everything we needed. We enjoyed the local attractions of Wells, Wookey Hole and Cheddar Gorge in spite of the rain and when the sun shone for a short time, views from the site were beautiful....Read less.

"Very Poor and substandard"

Mr D Wright - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

25/02/2020

This place hides behind the Wookey hole resort name in giving the impression it is a great holiday park.

Reality is an unkempt site, shower and toilet facilities not fit for use and especially kids,......Read more.

This place hides behind the Wookey hole resort name in giving the impression it is a great holiday park.

Reality is an unkempt site, shower and toilet facilities not fit for use and especially kids, dirty, worn out and overall substandard.

I could go on but there isn’t enough room. My personal advice, stay away. We were so disappointed and it spoilt a family holiday....Read less.

"Disappointing Swimming Pool!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

24/02/2020

Chose this site because it had a pool - children only used it once; even they were disappointed!

"Good stay"

Mr B Allen - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

24/02/2020

Great staff , Great pool and lodge . Shame on condition of main wash room with rising damp and miss fitting Lino in showers

"Amazing stay"

Mrs S Read - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

22/02/2020

Despite staying during the largest storm for many years we were safe. Had a brilliant time. Heated pool was brilliant as we had something to do no matter the weather. The bar was great good value......Read more.

Despite staying during the largest storm for many years we were safe. Had a brilliant time. Heated pool was brilliant as we had something to do no matter the weather. The bar was great good value food and atmosphere....Read less.

"Winter Weekend"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

20/02/2020

A very friendly site. Plenty of hot water. Food and drink was excellent value. Location great for visiting Cheddar and Wookey Caves.

Would definately recommend.

"Tired"

Ms W Paterson - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

20/02/2020

We chose Bucklegrove as we had our 2 grandchildren for the weekend and was attracted by the swimming pool. Checking in was easy however disappointed we couldn’t choose our own pitch. Grass overgrown.......Read more.

We chose Bucklegrove as we had our 2 grandchildren for the weekend and was attracted by the swimming pool. Checking in was easy however disappointed we couldn’t choose our own pitch. Grass overgrown. Dog mess on the path. Toilet block needs refurbished. Changing area in pool smelled of stale urine. Lighting poor walking through the park in the dark. Swimming pool was great. Nice and warm and food in the restaurant was amazing. Dinosaur hunt was fun. We would probably return for a night or two but not for any longer....Read less.

"First but not the last visit!"

Mrs S Webb - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

20/02/2020

Good mix of grass and hardstandings. Wonderfully helpful staff (we had electric issues!). The Lodge is a lovely place for a drink - food looked plentiful and popular. Loved the woodland walk, even in......Read more.

Good mix of grass and hardstandings. Wonderfully helpful staff (we had electric issues!). The Lodge is a lovely place for a drink - food looked plentiful and popular. Loved the woodland walk, even in the dark- great touch having the dinosaurs! Hopefully returning with friends and we'll have more time to explore nearby village and Wells. Great value site too!...Read less.

"Virgin motorhomers"

Mr A Gent - Stayed with partner, Feb 2020

06/02/2020

First trip in a motorhome.

Easy to find, very friendly staff. Only stayed the one night, close to many attractions and pubs in walking distance. Bus to Wells and Cheddar.

Everything as expected on......Read more.

First trip in a motorhome.

Easy to find, very friendly staff. Only stayed the one night, close to many attractions and pubs in walking distance. Bus to Wells and Cheddar.

Everything as expected on site, the only thing we couldn't find was a grey waste area....Read less.

"Bucklegrove"

Mr A Clayton - Stayed with partner, Jan 2020

31/01/2020

Enjoyed our stay . Loved the indoor swimming pool .

"The site is well positioned and staff were both friendly and welcoming."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jan 2020

30/01/2020

Thank you for an enjoyable stay at Bucklegrove. Staff were both friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed a dip in your indoor pool, a few games of pool and an evening meal on the Saturday night. Only......Read more.

Thank you for an enjoyable stay at Bucklegrove. Staff were both friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed a dip in your indoor pool, a few games of pool and an evening meal on the Saturday night. Only one disappointment was that there were only chips available to accompany the main dishes, having said that though I did have a rather lovely steak and large salad which I thoroughly enjoyed, thank you all....Read less.

"Winter break"

Mrs. B Goodenough - Stayed with partner, Jan 2020

30/01/2020

My partner and I wanted somewhere between both of our houses in Cornwall and Wales to stay. I came across Bucklegrove whilst searching for campsites with WiFi, electric hook up and a swimming pool.......Read more.

My partner and I wanted somewhere between both of our houses in Cornwall and Wales to stay. I came across Bucklegrove whilst searching for campsites with WiFi, electric hook up and a swimming pool. The place and price looked perfect!

The showers at the pool were freezing but the showers blocks next to our van were fantastically hot and steamy. The pool itself was a great temperature. The WiFi worked intermittently at the top of the site where we were sited (and we were warned of this on arrival and told we could move to the lower part of site if we wanted) All in all we were impressed by the site and the friendly and helpful staff and I would % return! Thank you for a lovely stay!...Read less.

"Short stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jan 2020

28/01/2020

Very good site, clean facilities, well set out, space. Lovely swimming pool, we had a winter stay so nice and quiet

"Kitchen equipment"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Dec 2019

14/01/2020

We stayed in lodge 1 for Christmas and we loved everything other than the lack of utensils, tableware cooking equipment, especially as it sleeps 6 people. We spent so much time washing up just so we......Read more.

We stayed in lodge 1 for Christmas and we loved everything other than the lack of utensils, tableware cooking equipment, especially as it sleeps 6 people. We spent so much time washing up just so we would have enough plated etc to use. Other then that it was great and would definitely return and recommend...Read less.

"Warm, clean and friendly"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jan 2020

09/01/2020

Visited out of season, so the park was relatively quiet which suited us. Lodge was pleasant place to spend a chilly evening for a drink and a game of cards. Kids enjoyed the indoor pool. Dog......Read more.

Visited out of season, so the park was relatively quiet which suited us. Lodge was pleasant place to spend a chilly evening for a drink and a game of cards. Kids enjoyed the indoor pool. Dog made very welcome too.

Lovely staff and very clean shower / toilet blocks. Plenty of hot water....Read less.

"Great staff and tidy place"

Mr C Aldridge - Stayed with family, Jan 2020

09/01/2020

We enjoyed our stay very much, staff were great and place was nice and tidy , needs a re model of toilet block very outdated , bar and swimming pool too really ... food was awful unfortunately.

"Dog walk"

Miss K Niblett - Stayed with friends, Jan 2020

09/01/2020

Its states it has a dog walking but it is not on site. You can walk dog around the park on lead but the area i was advised to go was out the back off the park onto a round with no pavements then 200......Read more.

Its states it has a dog walking but it is not on site. You can walk dog around the park on lead but the area i was advised to go was out the back off the park onto a round with no pavements then 200 yds there is a sty to go over and dogs and run in that field. There was no way i could lift my two large dogs over the sty plus it was a farmers field. Not ideal if you have dogs. Other than that the swimming pool was open which the kids used everyday and the small play area....Read less.

"Hidden gem in the centre of everywhere"

Mr A Appleby - Stayed with partner, Jan 2020

09/01/2020

Chose this site for its location and facilities, so we could visit the local attractions, the site, people and facilities are amazing, one of the best small sites I have ever visited. Unbelievable......Read more.

Chose this site for its location and facilities, so we could visit the local attractions, the site, people and facilities are amazing, one of the best small sites I have ever visited. Unbelievable value for money too, thank you for a great stay, Andy and Lynn...Read less.

"return visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Dec 2019

08/01/2020

have visited many times location superb have always had a really good time and hope to continue staying

"Short stay"

S Whittall - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

06/01/2020

Was ok shower not brilliant but adequate

"Just passing through"

S Holloway - Stayed with family, Jan 2020

06/01/2020

Had a one night stop here in Jan 2020. Generally it was fine and suited our needs (we were in a motorhome). However, there was an issue with hot water in the showers. Also, the grey water facilities......Read more.

Had a one night stop here in Jan 2020. Generally it was fine and suited our needs (we were in a motorhome). However, there was an issue with hot water in the showers. Also, the grey water facilities were not ideal. In fact, we saw more than one other user releasing their grey water on their pitch. The one place we were shown to release grey water was a small drain very close to one of the facilities.

Also, as it was low season, the restaurant and bar were only open on the weekend....Read less.

"Friendly atmosphere"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

06/01/2020

Our pitch was very good close to all facilities

"New Years Eve"

L Little - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

06/01/2020

Fantastic service from booking on line to arriving on site. Really helpful and friendly staff. The facilities fantastic although yet to use on return visit. New year was great fun really friendly and......Read more.

Fantastic service from booking on line to arriving on site. Really helpful and friendly staff. The facilities fantastic although yet to use on return visit. New year was great fun really friendly and with a fab disco. All the staff were fun and nothing too much trouble. Really enjoyed our short stay. We will definitely be returning soon....Read less.

"Pleasant surprise for first visit"

A Hobby - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

05/01/2020

We picked the site due to the availability of a New Years function but were very pleasantly surprised with the whole site and clubhouse. The views were superb and we would love to come back in better......Read more.

We picked the site due to the availability of a New Years function but were very pleasantly surprised with the whole site and clubhouse. The views were superb and we would love to come back in better weather to enjoy them more. There is plenty of walking opportunities and bus stops to Wells or Cheddar. The only serious improvement I could suggest is a better grey waste drain for Motorhomes and maybe a little TLC for the showers, but even without these we would still return later this year...Read less.

"Great location and amenities"

M Oddy - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

04/01/2020

We had 4 nights between Christmas and New Year here and it was a great location for us to visit Glastonbury, The Tor and Wells.

Clean shower block and nice to have a pool I door aswell. We had an......Read more.

We had 4 nights between Christmas and New Year here and it was a great location for us to visit Glastonbury, The Tor and Wells.

Clean shower block and nice to have a pool I door aswell. We had an evening meal at the site, which was lovely and good value for money.

The last at reception and then in the restaurant was very friendly and helpful also.

Great spot, we will return....Read less.

"loved it"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

12/12/2019

Overall a well presented, friendly and well run site . We will return for sure.

"Fab stay"

A Mulligan - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

05/12/2019

Excellent location, fab facilities, friendly and helpful staff. Overall - excellent!!

"Cosy caravan"

L Juffs - Stayed Nov 2019

03/12/2019

Very clean and cosy. I stayed as was working in the area and chose this instead of a bnb. Although the site restaurant etc was shut in the week there were plenty of places to visit for dinner if you......Read more.

Very clean and cosy. I stayed as was working in the area and chose this instead of a bnb. Although the site restaurant etc was shut in the week there were plenty of places to visit for dinner if you have a car. I chose to self cater in the caravan.

Shower was nice, bed very comfortable (I had a king size and all bedding and towels were supplied).

Nice and close to all the attractions in the area and great views stand walks from the park....Read less.

"Bucklgrove"

Mr R Jenkins - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

01/12/2019

Great location to Cheddar caves and wookey hole, not far to travel for clarks Village, beautiful location.

"My Halloween holiday"

Miss N Bridgman - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

27/11/2019

We stayed at Bucklegrove Park during Oct half term over Halloween. The park was fantastic. Stayed in a camping cabin and had a wonderful time. Entertainment for kids was great. Food in Lodge was......Read more.

We stayed at Bucklegrove Park during Oct half term over Halloween. The park was fantastic. Stayed in a camping cabin and had a wonderful time. Entertainment for kids was great. Food in Lodge was fantastic. Short bus journey into local town. Would definitely, come back again....Read less.

"First caravanning weekend"

Mr G Pryor - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

22/11/2019

Enjoyable 1st caravanning weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful with the choice of gas for our new "van". Hardstanding area nice and spacious whilst being hedged off to provide some......Read more.

Enjoyable 1st caravanning weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful with the choice of gas for our new "van". Hardstanding area nice and spacious whilst being hedged off to provide some privacy.

Only criticism would be mixed messages regarding dogs, literature stated no dogs in bar area, so we never went, only to spot a sign on the bar door saying dogs welcome but on the last day!

Overall a very enjoyable experience and would recommend the site....Read less.

"Great little Campsite"

D Jones - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

21/11/2019

We stayed here for two nights to visit the attractions of Cheddar. Great little campsite with everything that you would need. Great friendly staff that went out of their way to help us due to a......Read more.

We stayed here for two nights to visit the attractions of Cheddar. Great little campsite with everything that you would need. Great friendly staff that went out of their way to help us due to a late arrival. A must stay for a short break....Read less.

"Our first stay at Bucklegrove"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

16/11/2019

We had a very enjoyable stay and all the staff were very polite and helpful. In particular Sally was fantastic at keeping the children entertained. So much so that my daughter Freya insisted that we......Read more.

We had a very enjoyable stay and all the staff were very polite and helpful. In particular Sally was fantastic at keeping the children entertained. So much so that my daughter Freya insisted that we went to the club house to do the arts and craft. Sally also arranged a Halloween party for the children, which the Witch from Wookey Hole attended. Also two days before Halloween Sally arranged Pumpkin carving for the children. Gary who also worked alongside Sally played a big part in creating a good family atmosphere in the club house, and also providing excellent food.

All the front facing staff in the club house and in the office were excellent in providing us with an excellent stay.

My daughter Freya, and the friends she made at the site enjoyed the use of the Swimming pool even though at times it was cold. It was heated to a higher temperature towards the end of our stay.

...Read less.

"great place"

Mr M White - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

15/11/2019

i had booked Bucklegrove to take my dogs away from the fireworks,great location nice and quiet,dog walks could be better

"Cobwebs"

T Murfin - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

13/11/2019

We were later than anticipated due to a diversion and the young lady kindly waited open, she was polite and helpful . The wash facilities badly need updating but we’re warm and cleanish, was out of......Read more.

We were later than anticipated due to a diversion and the young lady kindly waited open, she was polite and helpful . The wash facilities badly need updating but we’re warm and cleanish, was out of season and would not pay anymore in peak season . The swimming pool was also warm, but yes cobwebs everywhere!!! The shower badly needed replacing in the changing room. Pitch was a decent size but unkempt, perhaps the don’t do gardening out of season? Best thing location and lovely view but due to maintenance or lack of will not return or recommend....Read less.

"Feed back"

Mrs A O'Brien - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

13/11/2019

The only problem I found was when I went over for my shower in the morning someone had used all the hot water so had to have a cold shower

"Na"

Mr K Gair - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

08/11/2019

Na

"October"

A Attwood - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

07/11/2019

X

"Great entertainment."

K Smith - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

05/11/2019

Felt very welcome when we arrived and check in was very easy.

We went when it was Halloween and the pub on site put on some children's activities. Both that we attended were free and staff were great......Read more.

Felt very welcome when we arrived and check in was very easy.

We went when it was Halloween and the pub on site put on some children's activities. Both that we attended were free and staff were great and provided everything.

A very well organised site and great for the whole family.

...Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead