Bucklegrove Holiday Park

166 Reviews

4.1 / 5 overall rating based on 166 reviews in the last 12 months

82% would recommend this site

80% would stay here again

Excellent

49%

Very Good

31%

Average

14%

Poor

5%

Terrible

1%

"First Visit but not the last"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Dec 2020

27/12/2020

Booked this campsite as it was close to Wookey hole caves and also received a discount to caves

Site not busy due to time of year. All amenities spotlessly clean.

Returning in April

"Weekend break"

L Hock - Stayed with partner, Dec 2020

12/12/2020

Great welcome when we arrived, everything that was open was clean and tidy

"Quick break after lockdown"

R Beard - Stayed with partner, Dec 2020

10/12/2020

Just stayed at Bucklegrove Holiday Park for 2 nights and we really enjoyed it, the the staff were helpful and friendly and the park facilities were very clean and tidy will definitely be returning at......Read more.

Just stayed at Bucklegrove Holiday Park for 2 nights and we really enjoyed it, the the staff were helpful and friendly and the park facilities were very clean and tidy will definitely be returning at some point...Read less.

"Short half term break"

J Trigg - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

17/11/2020

Due to covid most of the facilities were not available.

The toilet block facilities were rather tired and in need of update eg the plastic floor of the men's shower lifting up from floor.

The......Read more.

Due to covid most of the facilities were not available.

The toilet block facilities were rather tired and in need of update eg the plastic floor of the men's shower lifting up from floor.

The 'standard' pitch we were given could not accommodate our car....Read less.

"Excellent Campsite"

P Woodward - Stayed Oct 2020

08/11/2020

Stayed for four nights in November. Obviously very quiet on site but all facilities still available. Clean toilets and hot showers. Hard standing electric pitches very nicely set up many with......Read more.

Stayed for four nights in November. Obviously very quiet on site but all facilities still available. Clean toilets and hot showers. Hard standing electric pitches very nicely set up many with hedging between pitches. Would recommend this site....Read less.

"I phoned to see if there were any spaces, the office was shut but the owner opened the office to take my booking. How helpful and was that 😊"

K Lucas - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

05/11/2020

The park was really clean, toilets were cleaned and checked throughout the day. The kids loved their camping experience and I would def go back.

"Excellent stay"

Miss H Everist - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

05/11/2020

I stayed in lodge number 2 with my partner and 2 friends. The lodge was beautiful, spacious and the hot tub was amazing! It was a fantastic 4 days and felt so homely, really sad to be home to be......Read more.

I stayed in lodge number 2 with my partner and 2 friends. The lodge was beautiful, spacious and the hot tub was amazing! It was a fantastic 4 days and felt so homely, really sad to be home to be honest! Would 100% stay here again. Only downside is WiFi wasn’t that great as we wanted to stream films, but that did not spoil our trip in any way! Amazing place... 5 stars *****...Read less.

"Ann"

A Kirkbride - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

05/11/2020

Another wonderful stay

"Mendip holiday"

Mrs S Rickets - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

04/11/2020

We had a lovely week at Bucklegrove, inspite of the weather and covid restrictions. Thoroughly recommend the campsite for families.

"Lovely break"

Mrs J Wilson - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

03/11/2020

We had a great stay at Bucklegrove. Lovely site and caravan, not too busy while we were here. Staff friendly and food was good. Lovely location. Ideal for sightseeing. Just what we needed

"Restfull"

J Clayton - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

03/11/2020

Lovely stay for my big birthday

"Lovely stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

03/11/2020

Lovely caravan spaced out from others, hot tub perfect. Everything you needed in the caravan. Clean and welcoming. Play park basic but nice addition. Swimming pool closed due to Covid.

Staff were......Read more.

Lovely caravan spaced out from others, hot tub perfect. Everything you needed in the caravan. Clean and welcoming. Play park basic but nice addition. Swimming pool closed due to Covid.

Staff were friendly when we saw them but contact minimal due to Covid.

Details beforehand were detailed including clear map so we could find our caravan in the dark.

Only things I would change was more recycling bins than just glass and not sure how but seems a waste of energy to have the hot tub on permanently. I understand they need to heat up but seemed to be on the whole time which was quite of waste of energy....Read less.

"Safe, clean and welcoming"

Mr C Ricketts - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

01/11/2020

Loved our stay here , with the way things are at the moment we really needed a family break and felt very safe here .

"Disappointed"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

30/10/2020

We thought the washroom at the bottom needed updating.

"First Time - but not the last!"

Anonymous - Stayed Oct 2020

30/10/2020

I was pleasantly surrised by the cleanliness and the many facilities available with the accommodation. A home away from home. Nightime quiet - always a bonus.

"Great stay"

Miss A Thatcher - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

29/10/2020

A great place to stay,very clean & staff were very friendly

"A week at bucklegrove"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

We stayed a week in October so it was very quiet which wasn't a problem . The grill and bar were open on Friday and Saturday night only, it was pleasant and the food was ok, but hated being served on......Read more.

We stayed a week in October so it was very quiet which wasn't a problem . The grill and bar were open on Friday and Saturday night only, it was pleasant and the food was ok, but hated being served on plastic plates, knifes and forks and plastic glasses. I felt this was lazy and could not see that Covid could be blamed for not using proper plates etc The toilets were clean but the showers had the floor lifting in two of them so we used our own in our caravan each day. We were in a fully serviced pitch that had the drain blocked with twigs and Mud from nearby trees and bushes so we had to get staff to clear it which they did. Just felt the site needed more regular maintenance to clear weeds and moss on and around pitches and was definitely not the best we had been on this year. But we still enjoyed the week as plenty to do nearby and beautiful countryside....Read less.

"Quick Break"

J Hobson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

Well kept and tidy site, quite compact, good facilities, and easy bus routes but walking or cycling difficult due to narrow winding road access

"Great site"

V Jones - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

23/10/2020

Site was really good.nicely set out with good facilities.reported a fault with the shower room lock and was fixed within half an hour.friendly staff

"Not a Great Stay"

Mr A Wyton - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

22/10/2020

Sadly the park didn't meet expectations it is fairly expensive and the facilities are not great. We booked a super pitch, the bushes need a tidy up as it made it difficult to change toilet etc and......Read more.

Sadly the park didn't meet expectations it is fairly expensive and the facilities are not great. We booked a super pitch, the bushes need a tidy up as it made it difficult to change toilet etc and the general surface of the pitch was poor. Unfortunately there was a large party staying on the site (we stayed the 16th - 18th October) running around shouting and screaming until the early hours and there were no staff to report this too.

Sadly we won't return....Read less.

"October break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

20/10/2020

This was a great site, very quiet with beautiful views. We booked here as it had a pool for the kids but unfortunately it wasn't open due to Covid restrictions (not sure if this was due to the size......Read more.

This was a great site, very quiet with beautiful views. We booked here as it had a pool for the kids but unfortunately it wasn't open due to Covid restrictions (not sure if this was due to the size of the pool as we know that other pools elsewhere have been opened at reduced capacity). We had cows in the field next to us that were our daily alarm clock and reappeared again at dinner time, kids loved this. Toilet blocks were clean, but very cold, again we think this was due to Covid and keeping windows/door open for ventilation. Which was fine, we mainly used our tourers facilities and kept ourselves to ourselves. We did need to ask where the waste disposal and recycling point was as we hadn't spotted it at the front entrance, nicely concealed. On the couple of occasions we spoke to anyone, they were very helpful and approachable. The only reason we aren't likely to visit again is that we like to visit different areas to keep the kids entertained, this was an 8hr journey for us, otherwise we would be back. Perfectly situated to visit Cheddar Gorge, the Wookey Caves, Glastonbury, Bristol and Bath. Do be mindful of the narrow roads, they kept us on our toes and don't come off the main A roads until you absolutely have to when towing the caravan....Read less.

"Great value for money"

L Probert - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

17/10/2020

Fantastic lodge great value for money lodge was fantastic all cleaned to a very high standard. So impressed I’ve booked again for January

"Great park in a great location"

K Brooks - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

16/10/2020

Excellent facilities

"Feedback"

S Cull - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

The man on reception on arrival was not very warm and welcoming

"Lovely quiet site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

Lovely peaceful stay. Very covid safe throughout.

"Clean, tidy little place"

Miss H Chaney - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

We enjoyed our weekend here, the facilities are clean and tidy. The only thing that let it down a bit for us as a family with a toddler and dogs is there is no dog walk field for the dogs to run......Read more.

We enjoyed our weekend here, the facilities are clean and tidy. The only thing that let it down a bit for us as a family with a toddler and dogs is there is no dog walk field for the dogs to run around, and the climbing equipment is for much older children, something for the young ones would be good. Wouldn't be able to stay longer than a weekend due to the above. The dinosaur trail was a massive hit though and my toddler wanted to go there most of the day! The staff were also very friendly and helpful....Read less.

"Long weekend away"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

14/10/2020

Lovely place,our caravan and hottub were clean and fresh,great facilities in a beautiful surrounding, this was our second visit and booked a third visit for next year,

"Bucklegrove"

Mrs S Knowles - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

13/10/2020

As we came late in the season not all amenities were open and with COVID going on apart from that what a lovely place to stay the lodge had all we needed we went out most days and managed to find......Read more.

As we came late in the season not all amenities were open and with COVID going on apart from that what a lovely place to stay the lodge had all we needed we went out most days and managed to find something to do surrounding area was just lovely to. I would definitely come again...Read less.

"Oct 2020 review"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

08/10/2020

Only thing I'd say that needs improvement was that the on site shop had more toys than food options. Can't comment about the swimming pool as this was closed due to covid.

"Static Home"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

06/10/2020

Excellent static holiday home, enjoyed visiting local walking routes.

Weather was brilliant except for last 2 days, but was still able to keep ourselves amused

"back again"

Mrs K Bowes - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

06/10/2020

have been coming to bucklegrove for 10 yrs now we love the location friendliness of the staff and the casual relaxing feel of the place- ideally situated for visiting other places with bus stop......Read more.

have been coming to bucklegrove for 10 yrs now we love the location friendliness of the staff and the casual relaxing feel of the place- ideally situated for visiting other places with bus stop outside- this is a small park and that is part of the charm it is good to see children enjoying the outdoors and having to make their own fun- as long as bucklegrove is here we'll be coming back...Read less.

"Excellent stay as usual"

Mrs M Higgs - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

06/10/2020

Just returned from another stay at bucklegrove think this was our 4th visit now it’s amazing value for money the location is perfect for us as we have two dogs with us and their is plenty of places......Read more.

Just returned from another stay at bucklegrove think this was our 4th visit now it’s amazing value for money the location is perfect for us as we have two dogs with us and their is plenty of places to visit especially Weston-Super-Mare and bath which we love , the caravan is always spotless and very homely will definitely be coming back again...Read less.

"Second visit"

J Clark - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

05/10/2020

Enjoyed our stay but Would have preferred a site overlooking grass as we were opposite the laundry and it felt cramped. Whilst a grill restaurant was advertised the menu was very limited. Other than......Read more.

Enjoyed our stay but Would have preferred a site overlooking grass as we were opposite the laundry and it felt cramped. Whilst a grill restaurant was advertised the menu was very limited. Other than this we loved the place and would return...Read less.

"Would highly recommend"

Mrs S Spurrier - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

Great stay had one night very pleased

"Late booking"

V Mason - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

Excellent value for money

"Quick break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

.

"First time in a holiday home"

Miss K Pooni - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

Absolutely loved it! Stayed in one of the two bed holiday homes and didn't know what to expect but was not disappointed. It was so spacious, all the rooms were clean and tidy and the kitchen utensils......Read more.

Absolutely loved it! Stayed in one of the two bed holiday homes and didn't know what to expect but was not disappointed. It was so spacious, all the rooms were clean and tidy and the kitchen utensils looked brand new. Oven was sparkling (putting my one at home to shame!) and linen was all fresh and ready for us to use. A couple of marks on the carpet but not a problem as it's not like we needed to roll around on the floor. When the gas bottle needed changing on a Sunday maintenance came within minutes of me calling to request some help. All the stagg were really friendly and helpful. The little shop was useful but there is also supermarkets about 1-2 miles up the road. About 10mins from Wookie Hole which was great for our 2 year old and the beach was only a 45min drive away so also a great location. Didn't get a chance to explore the local pubs with the little one but.saw loads of cosy places as we drove about so if I came down to this area again I'd probably stay at Bucklegrove and have a good explore. Thank you all for making our first holiday together so lovely!...Read less.

"Simple and comfortable (but eat elsewhere!)"

A Green - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

The camping pod was warm and cosy, it could do with a few small shelves and an internal curtain across the "bedroom" but was perfectly adequate for the 2 of us. Facilities were very basic but clean......Read more.

The camping pod was warm and cosy, it could do with a few small shelves and an internal curtain across the "bedroom" but was perfectly adequate for the 2 of us. Facilities were very basic but clean and functional. Due to the pandemic we had very little contact with staff but we received a phonecall before our visit to confirm our booking and give us instructions on the new checking in situation. The lodge was providing food both eat in and take away, food was basic and overpriced for what it was, I ate the same meal (chicken Korma) twice during my stay, the first time it was fine, the 2nd time it was almost inedible, dry and so overspiced it was gritty with seasoning. Over all a comfortable stay, but let down by the food offered on site....Read less.

"Good Location and Friendly Staff"

Mr B Stevens - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

We stayed here for a week in September. Office staff were helpful and friendly on arrival and access to the site was easy.

Our pitch was a fully serviced one on Strawberry field. It was a spacious......Read more.

We stayed here for a week in September. Office staff were helpful and friendly on arrival and access to the site was easy.

Our pitch was a fully serviced one on Strawberry field. It was a spacious pitch with a hard standing, car parking and a nice area of grass to sit out on. Plenty of room for our large twin axle and awning. Everything on this field was well maintained, with hedges and grass neatly cut. Although we didn't have children with us, the play area looked new and I'm sure our grandchildren would have loved it.

Due to the Covid emergency we used all our own facilities so we I can't comment on the toilet blocks or showers. However I did have to use the Chemical Disposal point and this was the only thing I wasn't happy with. Unlike the modern stainless steel facilities most sites now have, these were just lavatory pans set in concrete with a wooden lid over them. They were not cleaned once while we were there and to be honest looked as if they had not been cleaned for months. Absolutely filthy. These urgently need modernising and then adding to the daily cleaning schedule.

The above point is my only criticism of the site and in due course I'm sure we will go back. We really enjoyed ourselves.

...Read less.

"Not bad"

A Chandler - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

Not to bad

"bucklegrove"

M Kirsch - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

lovely views , showers and toilets were very clean ,would stay here again

"A short break"

Miss L Barnard - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

29/09/2020

We booked a four day break on the spur of the moment in a superior 2 caravan and was suitably surprised by how comfortable it was with two settees and everything we could want. It was a peaceful......Read more.

We booked a four day break on the spur of the moment in a superior 2 caravan and was suitably surprised by how comfortable it was with two settees and everything we could want. It was a peaceful park and lovely surroundings. Unfortunately we didn't use any of the park facilities but would definitely recommend the park....Read less.

"Excellent and great location"

Mr D Evans - Stayed Sep 2020

29/09/2020

Excellent site great location would definitely stay here again

"norfolk swedes holiday"

Mr A Coleman - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

29/09/2020

site very good and clean and tidy all of family enjoyed thier stay only down side we found was dogs allowed in the club house when food was being severed

"Review of first visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

27/09/2020

Lovely welcome, helpful staff. Clean facilities especially keeping to govt guidelines re virus. Level pitch with fantastic views. Lovely and quiet for our short break, will definitely stay again at......Read more.

Lovely welcome, helpful staff. Clean facilities especially keeping to govt guidelines re virus. Level pitch with fantastic views. Lovely and quiet for our short break, will definitely stay again at this time of year when children are back at school!

Thank you Bucklegrove....Read less.

"Great Little Find"

Mrs C Sugden - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

26/09/2020

Pitched up in The Grove pitch 129 for 3 nights in our camper with awning, great spot with lovely views. Even though it was almost full it was lovely and quiet. Wash facilities were ok, plenty of hot......Read more.

Pitched up in The Grove pitch 129 for 3 nights in our camper with awning, great spot with lovely views. Even though it was almost full it was lovely and quiet. Wash facilities were ok, plenty of hot water, not 5 star but you get what you pay for. Cleaned regularly, unfortunately you can't account for other peoples habits and the way they leave the facilities. Hand sanitiser as you enter. Washing up area has 3 sinks, again you can't account for other peoples habits and how they leave it!

On the whole a lovely site and central to the surrounding activities. Would stay again but pay a little extra for one of the EHU with a higher Amp, after 30 minutes the travel kettle was just warm, but toaster, phone charger, hairdryer were all fine. We also had Wifi so that was a bonus ;0)...Read less.

"Our stay"

K Goodyear - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

I found it lovely and clean , the food was very expensive. Site was nice. One early morning , few dogs were barking for long time. Staff very nice. Helpful . As when we arrived our plot as well as......Read more.

I found it lovely and clean , the food was very expensive. Site was nice. One early morning , few dogs were barking for long time. Staff very nice. Helpful . As when we arrived our plot as well as theirs as we had a tent to put up, was taken over by another person, so the staff were very kind gave us another place straight away.

...Read less.

"Mrs butcher"

Mrs L Butcher - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Great campsite. Clean and perfect location for the Mendip’s

"Very good park"

D Beacham - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

This park is clean tidy ideally located for cheddar wells etc and the staff are really friendly.and the views from the park are fantastic.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead