Bucklegrove Holiday Park

146 Reviews

3.9 / 5 overall rating based on 146 reviews in the last 12 months

82% would recommend this site

77% would stay here again

Excellent

38%

Very Good

34%

Average

16%

Poor

7%

Terrible

4%

"Two night stay in july 20"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

10/08/2020

Quiet, clean and had adequete facilities. A little bit pricey due to the fact not everything was able to be open, not the sites fault, due to covid. The site was well placed for trips to cheddar and......Read more.

Quiet, clean and had adequete facilities. A little bit pricey due to the fact not everything was able to be open, not the sites fault, due to covid. The site was well placed for trips to cheddar and wells. For the two nights booked it served the purpose we needed it for....Read less.

"First time visitor"

Mr K Toner - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

10/08/2020

Overall we had a good stay, considering that the site had only just reopened. Being in the top field did feel a little cramped. Although our pitch was too be fair a good way from the next tent

The......Read more.

Overall we had a good stay, considering that the site had only just reopened. Being in the top field did feel a little cramped. Although our pitch was too be fair a good way from the next tent

The facilities were clean but felt a little dated. I know the bottom field facilities were renovated and a few tended to walk down there to use those instead.

The staff were friendly and very helpful on the occasions I spoke with them. The bar looked nice but we never visited it.

The surround area was very picturesque, the only downside were no footpaths so quite dangerous to go walking along the main roads.

We enjoyed our weekend break and had the covid-19 outbreak no affected the whole country, I'm sure it would have been an excellent weekend.

I'm sure I would return at some point....Read less.

"Very disappointed"

Mr S Matthews - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

10/08/2020

Paid for a superior fully serviced pitch. It was overgrown so much that we couldn't get to any of our caravan lockers, covered in weeds and dog excrement. We moved to the next pitch up as we......Read more.

Paid for a superior fully serviced pitch. It was overgrown so much that we couldn't get to any of our caravan lockers, covered in weeds and dog excrement. We moved to the next pitch up as we complained on the office. The young man in there was great but unfortunately that's the only time we saw him. Opposite us was the grass pitch area. Here was a group taking up 10 pitches with over 50 people including lots of kids with all the adults just getting drunk and not caring where the kids were running about. I feel this is unacceptable as it was like a mini festival going on right outside from us and in these current covid times there was absolutely no reinforcement for social distancing what's so ever. It didn't feel safe at all but when we spoke to the site manager about our concerns he told us not to preach and hung up on me. Following on from this we then asked for a refund and was just told a flat no. I've stayed in hundreds of sites and none have been this poor and during this covid the other site we have stayed at are enforcing strict safety and social distancing measures....Read less.

"Ideal location, excellent cleanliness"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

10/08/2020

The park was immaculately clean, it really helped put my Covid worries at ease. The park is on a great location. The pool wasnt open which was a shame but the bar and grill was. The food was lovely.......Read more.

The park was immaculately clean, it really helped put my Covid worries at ease. The park is on a great location. The pool wasnt open which was a shame but the bar and grill was. The food was lovely. The only slight negative was that there wasnt much open space where we were for the kids to run around and play....Read less.

"Very friendly nice size pitches"

J Anscomb Johnson - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

09/08/2020

We will be back.

"Everything good!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

09/08/2020

Stayed for 11 nights in our touring caravan. The site is friendly, clean and tidy. A good mix of caravans and tents.

"Lovely clean site with helpful staff"

N Guest - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

07/08/2020

We stayed for three nights and the staff couldn’t of been Helpful. The park was clean and quiet . Will be visiting again next year.

"Nice & chilled"

A Welch - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

07/08/2020

Nice tidy site, nice views, really enjoyed it and chilled out, the only thing a few loud campers didnt shut up until early hours of the morning you always get a few lol, staff helpful and friendly, ......Read more.

Nice tidy site, nice views, really enjoyed it and chilled out, the only thing a few loud campers didnt shut up until early hours of the morning you always get a few lol, staff helpful and friendly, defo will return....Read less.

"Covid camping"

Dr T Young - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

06/08/2020

I have stayed at this campsite before and rate highly the swimming pool and other facilities. This time the campsite manager informed us in advance of all the changes required and managed......Read more.

I have stayed at this campsite before and rate highly the swimming pool and other facilities. This time the campsite manager informed us in advance of all the changes required and managed expectations due to Covid. The washrooms were clean and we felt safe that all other factors were being treated seriously and with professionalism....Read less.

"Fabulous Staff, nearby roads challenging"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

05/08/2020

Can't really fault the park, facilities or staff .... all were brilliant. Staff went above and beyond to help us and our friends. If you're looking for a quiet location this might not be for you as......Read more.

Can't really fault the park, facilities or staff .... all were brilliant. Staff went above and beyond to help us and our friends. If you're looking for a quiet location this might not be for you as it was very popular with families which comes with the accompanying noise factor. However having been in lockdown for so long it was lovely to see families enjoying time together and hosting children laugh as they were playing. Our only down side was that the approach roads are very winding and narrow in places (as pointed out in the directions on the website) and during the week are heavily used by big lorries. On our approach we met one such lorry at a very narrow place and whilst we managed to pass successfully we did find scratches from the bushes and trees along the length of our caravan, including, the windows, which was enjoying as it was the first time of using our brand new van. The window scratches will polish out but we've had to buy specialist product for this purpose. There's obviously nothing that can be done about the location which is perfect for exploring the surrounding area but the road is not really suitable for all the heavy lorries who use it nowadays...Read less.

"Bucklegrove was OK!"

Mrs L Motteram - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

04/08/2020

We feel the accommodation didn’t match the price! Very overpriced for a simple caravan. The staff were helpful and friendly. The food on site was good. The shop could have done with more essential......Read more.

We feel the accommodation didn’t match the price! Very overpriced for a simple caravan. The staff were helpful and friendly. The food on site was good. The shop could have done with more essential items. Our caravan didn’t have enough cutlery for our family, I should have mentioned this but we just made do! It would also have been helpful to receive details of our accommodation and check in time, as I had been told we would get this the day before our arrival. We arrived at 4pm which was the check in time I had read on the website and we were told check in wasn’t until 5pm. I had emailed the site on more than one occasion for this information. I would return to the site in my own accommodation but not in a static caravan....Read less.

"bucklegrove 2020"

Mr P Gosney - Stayed with friends, Jul 2020

15/07/2020

thanks for a very enjoyable stay , the pitch location had easy access and a good position for us on the park. we would love to come back in the near future and have the same pitch. very friendly and......Read more.

thanks for a very enjoyable stay , the pitch location had easy access and a good position for us on the park. we would love to come back in the near future and have the same pitch. very friendly and helpful staff . thanks paul & janey gosney ....Read less.

"Excellent stay"

M Andrews - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

15/07/2020

We found the site on pitch up.com and booked two nights away in our camper with two of our daughters,

The booking was very easy, and we found the site with no problem, the location was excellent with......Read more.

We found the site on pitch up.com and booked two nights away in our camper with two of our daughters,

The booking was very easy, and we found the site with no problem, the location was excellent with amazing views and the site was well laid out. The shower block was very clean and tidy and well maintained. We like the small touch’s like the “Dino tour” And the on site restaurant Looked good although had limited menu due to Covid I expect. The only criticism would be the amount extra we had to pay to bring our two daughters £10 extra each person per night doubled the cost of the stay and although I understand it’s cheaper than a hotel it was more expensive than Mose other sites we have stayed at. That said we would return and recommend to a friend. Great stay....Read less.

"Bucklegrove is a site which offers great facilities in a wonderful location with a very warm welcome."

Mr N Ashby - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

14/07/2020

We have previously enjoyed holidays at Bucklegrove and we were very happy to return. The holiday home that we stayed in was very clean and comfortable, with excellent facilities. Bucklegrove is......Read more.

We have previously enjoyed holidays at Bucklegrove and we were very happy to return. The holiday home that we stayed in was very clean and comfortable, with excellent facilities. Bucklegrove is always very well cared for and it is very well laid out. Also it is very well located to explore Somerset and the surrounding areas, and the staff are always very friendly and helpful. We always have a relaxing time at Bucklegrove and we highly recommend it....Read less.

"Quiet park with friendly staff"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

13/07/2020

The site was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only negatives are there was marks on the bedding. Also, there was some black mold on the bedroom walls and in most of the windows and......Read more.

The site was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only negatives are there was marks on the bedding. Also, there was some black mold on the bedroom walls and in most of the windows and door frames. This is probably due to being closed during lockdown/Winter ect but concerned me a bit as my children slept on those rooms....Read less.

"Great stay"

Ms D Niblett - Stayed with family, Mar 2020

27/03/2020

Lovely place. Lovely staff.

Lodge was lovely with it's on hot tub.

Stunning surroundings. Great value for money.

"Just love this camp site"

Mr M O Neil - Stayed Mar 2020

24/03/2020

I have stayed a few times now and without doubt this site is the friendliest ,staff just can't do enough.

I was off season and i love the non busy pool .

Restaurant food and prices are great . A......Read more.

I have stayed a few times now and without doubt this site is the friendliest ,staff just can't do enough.

I was off season and i love the non busy pool .

Restaurant food and prices are great . A toilet / shower facility upgrade will make this site one of my favourite ....Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2020

20/03/2020

Stayed here many times and sure to return

"Great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2020

19/03/2020

Great site with good facilities. Really appreciated bar for food and drink on arrival after a long journey. Swimming pool was great and kids also enjoyed playing pool in the club house. Abundance of......Read more.

Great site with good facilities. Really appreciated bar for food and drink on arrival after a long journey. Swimming pool was great and kids also enjoyed playing pool in the club house. Abundance of wash facilities and large pitches...Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Feb 2020

15/03/2020

The Site is well maintained and clean, and everything easy to do for a motor home (CDP, waste water etc).

"Weekend Stay"

D Taylor-Steel - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

28/02/2020

Me, my brother and his girlfriend stayed a weekend at Bucklegrove holiday park in a camper-van. The facilities on site shower, toilets and hand sinks were very clean and kept very tidy and warm it......Read more.

Me, my brother and his girlfriend stayed a weekend at Bucklegrove holiday park in a camper-van. The facilities on site shower, toilets and hand sinks were very clean and kept very tidy and warm it was really nice walking into a clean toilet for a change. On are last night we went to the restaurant to have dinner the food was also very good and the same for the portion size. The staff were very helpful and smiled when they see you which is a big tick from me as i work in the hospitality industry. Thank you very much and keep up the good work....Read less.

"Very disappointed"

Mrs D Huckin - Stayed Feb 2020

27/02/2020

This site looks lovely on the website but is very shabby and needs some major TLC. I booked a hard standing pitch which turned out to be at the very top of the site on a hillside and although the......Read more.

This site looks lovely on the website but is very shabby and needs some major TLC. I booked a hard standing pitch which turned out to be at the very top of the site on a hillside and although the pitch had gravel and was levelish, I had to drive up a rough road to the top and down over the sloping muddy and slippery grass to get onto the pitch and could only get off by going down over some more bumpy grass and onto another little rough road as it was too slippery to reverse back. This is not so bad if you dont want to leave the pitch for the duration of your stay but I was going out in the van everyday. There was no motorhome point and all the taps were in awkward places where you couldn't park and use a hose so I ended up having to temporarily park on one of the empty pitches with it's own tap at the bottom of the site in order to fill up my water tank, also nowhere to empty the grey water if you had a motorhome with a built in tank. All drains and taps seemed to be behind the toilet blocks out of reach. On the upside the staff were friendly and polite and me and my dog enjoyed going to Cheddar which is a short drive from the site....Read less.

"The staff was very helpful."

S Paisey - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

27/02/2020

We had a problem with are caravan battery not changing so thay took the battery charged it up for us think this was over and above helpful for us pls the staff was helpful in any place u was on site.

"First time, not the last time!!"

A Plews - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

26/02/2020

Really lovely facilities, great location, free showers, loads of hot water, fab pools, lots for kids to do, great value for money, really happy and will book again.

"Best thing was the staff and friendliness to children"

C Eaton - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

25/02/2020

Very friendly staff excellent facilities

"Lovely location and comfortable caravan"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

25/02/2020

We were there the weekend of Storm Dennis so were doubtful about staying in a caravan with the weather forecast. However we found the caravan excellent, warm and comfortable with everything we......Read more.

We were there the weekend of Storm Dennis so were doubtful about staying in a caravan with the weather forecast. However we found the caravan excellent, warm and comfortable with everything we needed. We enjoyed the local attractions of Wells, Wookey Hole and Cheddar Gorge in spite of the rain and when the sun shone for a short time, views from the site were beautiful....Read less.

"Very Poor and substandard"

Mr D Wright - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

25/02/2020

This place hides behind the Wookey hole resort name in giving the impression it is a great holiday park.

Reality is an unkempt site, shower and toilet facilities not fit for use and especially kids,......Read more.

This place hides behind the Wookey hole resort name in giving the impression it is a great holiday park.

Reality is an unkempt site, shower and toilet facilities not fit for use and especially kids, dirty, worn out and overall substandard.

I could go on but there isn’t enough room. My personal advice, stay away. We were so disappointed and it spoilt a family holiday....Read less.

"Disappointing Swimming Pool!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

24/02/2020

Chose this site because it had a pool - children only used it once; even they were disappointed!

"Good stay"

Mr B Allen - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

24/02/2020

Great staff , Great pool and lodge . Shame on condition of main wash room with rising damp and miss fitting Lino in showers

"Amazing stay"

Mrs S Read - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

22/02/2020

Despite staying during the largest storm for many years we were safe. Had a brilliant time. Heated pool was brilliant as we had something to do no matter the weather. The bar was great good value......Read more.

Despite staying during the largest storm for many years we were safe. Had a brilliant time. Heated pool was brilliant as we had something to do no matter the weather. The bar was great good value food and atmosphere....Read less.

"Winter Weekend"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

20/02/2020

A very friendly site. Plenty of hot water. Food and drink was excellent value. Location great for visiting Cheddar and Wookey Caves.

Would definately recommend.

"Tired"

Ms W Paterson - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

20/02/2020

We chose Bucklegrove as we had our 2 grandchildren for the weekend and was attracted by the swimming pool. Checking in was easy however disappointed we couldn’t choose our own pitch. Grass overgrown.......Read more.

We chose Bucklegrove as we had our 2 grandchildren for the weekend and was attracted by the swimming pool. Checking in was easy however disappointed we couldn’t choose our own pitch. Grass overgrown. Dog mess on the path. Toilet block needs refurbished. Changing area in pool smelled of stale urine. Lighting poor walking through the park in the dark. Swimming pool was great. Nice and warm and food in the restaurant was amazing. Dinosaur hunt was fun. We would probably return for a night or two but not for any longer....Read less.

"First but not the last visit!"

Mrs S Webb - Stayed with family, Feb 2020

20/02/2020

Good mix of grass and hardstandings. Wonderfully helpful staff (we had electric issues!). The Lodge is a lovely place for a drink - food looked plentiful and popular. Loved the woodland walk, even in......Read more.

Good mix of grass and hardstandings. Wonderfully helpful staff (we had electric issues!). The Lodge is a lovely place for a drink - food looked plentiful and popular. Loved the woodland walk, even in the dark- great touch having the dinosaurs! Hopefully returning with friends and we'll have more time to explore nearby village and Wells. Great value site too!...Read less.

"Virgin motorhomers"

Mr A Gent - Stayed with partner, Feb 2020

06/02/2020

First trip in a motorhome.

Easy to find, very friendly staff. Only stayed the one night, close to many attractions and pubs in walking distance. Bus to Wells and Cheddar.

Everything as expected on......Read more.

First trip in a motorhome.

Easy to find, very friendly staff. Only stayed the one night, close to many attractions and pubs in walking distance. Bus to Wells and Cheddar.

Everything as expected on site, the only thing we couldn't find was a grey waste area....Read less.

"Bucklegrove"

Mr A Clayton - Stayed with partner, Jan 2020

31/01/2020

Enjoyed our stay . Loved the indoor swimming pool .

"The site is well positioned and staff were both friendly and welcoming."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jan 2020

30/01/2020

Thank you for an enjoyable stay at Bucklegrove. Staff were both friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed a dip in your indoor pool, a few games of pool and an evening meal on the Saturday night. Only......Read more.

Thank you for an enjoyable stay at Bucklegrove. Staff were both friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed a dip in your indoor pool, a few games of pool and an evening meal on the Saturday night. Only one disappointment was that there were only chips available to accompany the main dishes, having said that though I did have a rather lovely steak and large salad which I thoroughly enjoyed, thank you all....Read less.

"Winter break"

Mrs. B Goodenough - Stayed with partner, Jan 2020

30/01/2020

My partner and I wanted somewhere between both of our houses in Cornwall and Wales to stay. I came across Bucklegrove whilst searching for campsites with WiFi, electric hook up and a swimming pool.......Read more.

My partner and I wanted somewhere between both of our houses in Cornwall and Wales to stay. I came across Bucklegrove whilst searching for campsites with WiFi, electric hook up and a swimming pool. The place and price looked perfect!

The showers at the pool were freezing but the showers blocks next to our van were fantastically hot and steamy. The pool itself was a great temperature. The WiFi worked intermittently at the top of the site where we were sited (and we were warned of this on arrival and told we could move to the lower part of site if we wanted) All in all we were impressed by the site and the friendly and helpful staff and I would % return! Thank you for a lovely stay!...Read less.

"Short stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jan 2020

28/01/2020

Very good site, clean facilities, well set out, space. Lovely swimming pool, we had a winter stay so nice and quiet

"Kitchen equipment"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Dec 2019

14/01/2020

We stayed in lodge 1 for Christmas and we loved everything other than the lack of utensils, tableware cooking equipment, especially as it sleeps 6 people. We spent so much time washing up just so we......Read more.

We stayed in lodge 1 for Christmas and we loved everything other than the lack of utensils, tableware cooking equipment, especially as it sleeps 6 people. We spent so much time washing up just so we would have enough plated etc to use. Other then that it was great and would definitely return and recommend...Read less.

"Warm, clean and friendly"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jan 2020

09/01/2020

Visited out of season, so the park was relatively quiet which suited us. Lodge was pleasant place to spend a chilly evening for a drink and a game of cards. Kids enjoyed the indoor pool. Dog......Read more.

Visited out of season, so the park was relatively quiet which suited us. Lodge was pleasant place to spend a chilly evening for a drink and a game of cards. Kids enjoyed the indoor pool. Dog made very welcome too.

Lovely staff and very clean shower / toilet blocks. Plenty of hot water....Read less.

"Great staff and tidy place"

Mr C Aldridge - Stayed with family, Jan 2020

09/01/2020

We enjoyed our stay very much, staff were great and place was nice and tidy , needs a re model of toilet block very outdated , bar and swimming pool too really ... food was awful unfortunately.

"Dog walk"

Miss K Niblett - Stayed with friends, Jan 2020

09/01/2020

Its states it has a dog walking but it is not on site. You can walk dog around the park on lead but the area i was advised to go was out the back off the park onto a round with no pavements then 200......Read more.

Its states it has a dog walking but it is not on site. You can walk dog around the park on lead but the area i was advised to go was out the back off the park onto a round with no pavements then 200 yds there is a sty to go over and dogs and run in that field. There was no way i could lift my two large dogs over the sty plus it was a farmers field. Not ideal if you have dogs. Other than that the swimming pool was open which the kids used everyday and the small play area....Read less.

"Hidden gem in the centre of everywhere"

Mr A Appleby - Stayed with partner, Jan 2020

09/01/2020

Chose this site for its location and facilities, so we could visit the local attractions, the site, people and facilities are amazing, one of the best small sites I have ever visited. Unbelievable......Read more.

Chose this site for its location and facilities, so we could visit the local attractions, the site, people and facilities are amazing, one of the best small sites I have ever visited. Unbelievable value for money too, thank you for a great stay, Andy and Lynn...Read less.

"return visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Dec 2019

08/01/2020

have visited many times location superb have always had a really good time and hope to continue staying

"Short stay"

S Whittall - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

06/01/2020

Was ok shower not brilliant but adequate

"Just passing through"

S Holloway - Stayed with family, Jan 2020

06/01/2020

Had a one night stop here in Jan 2020. Generally it was fine and suited our needs (we were in a motorhome). However, there was an issue with hot water in the showers. Also, the grey water facilities......Read more.

Had a one night stop here in Jan 2020. Generally it was fine and suited our needs (we were in a motorhome). However, there was an issue with hot water in the showers. Also, the grey water facilities were not ideal. In fact, we saw more than one other user releasing their grey water on their pitch. The one place we were shown to release grey water was a small drain very close to one of the facilities.

Also, as it was low season, the restaurant and bar were only open on the weekend....Read less.

"Friendly atmosphere"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

06/01/2020

Our pitch was very good close to all facilities

"New Years Eve"

L Little - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

06/01/2020

Fantastic service from booking on line to arriving on site. Really helpful and friendly staff. The facilities fantastic although yet to use on return visit. New year was great fun really friendly and......Read more.

Fantastic service from booking on line to arriving on site. Really helpful and friendly staff. The facilities fantastic although yet to use on return visit. New year was great fun really friendly and with a fab disco. All the staff were fun and nothing too much trouble. Really enjoyed our short stay. We will definitely be returning soon....Read less.

"Pleasant surprise for first visit"

A Hobby - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

05/01/2020

We picked the site due to the availability of a New Years function but were very pleasantly surprised with the whole site and clubhouse. The views were superb and we would love to come back in better......Read more.

We picked the site due to the availability of a New Years function but were very pleasantly surprised with the whole site and clubhouse. The views were superb and we would love to come back in better weather to enjoy them more. There is plenty of walking opportunities and bus stops to Wells or Cheddar. The only serious improvement I could suggest is a better grey waste drain for Motorhomes and maybe a little TLC for the showers, but even without these we would still return later this year...Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead