Bucklegrove Holiday Park

177 Reviews

4.1 / 5 overall rating based on 177 reviews in the last 12 months

84% would recommend this site

81% would stay here again

Excellent

47%

Very Good

32%

Average

14%

Poor

6%

Terrible

1%

"October break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

20/10/2020

This was a great site, very quiet with beautiful views. We booked here as it had a pool for the kids but unfortunately it wasn't open due to Covid restrictions (not sure if this was due to the size......Read more.

This was a great site, very quiet with beautiful views. We booked here as it had a pool for the kids but unfortunately it wasn't open due to Covid restrictions (not sure if this was due to the size of the pool as we know that other pools elsewhere have been opened at reduced capacity). We had cows in the field next to us that were our daily alarm clock and reappeared again at dinner time, kids loved this. Toilet blocks were clean, but very cold, again we think this was due to Covid and keeping windows/door open for ventilation. Which was fine, we mainly used our tourers facilities and kept ourselves to ourselves. We did need to ask where the waste disposal and recycling point was as we hadn't spotted it at the front entrance, nicely concealed. On the couple of occasions we spoke to anyone, they were very helpful and approachable. The only reason we aren't likely to visit again is that we like to visit different areas to keep the kids entertained, this was an 8hr journey for us, otherwise we would be back. Perfectly situated to visit Cheddar Gorge, the Wookey Caves, Glastonbury, Bristol and Bath. Do be mindful of the narrow roads, they kept us on our toes and don't come off the main A roads until you absolutely have to when towing the caravan....Read less.

"Great value for money"

L Probert - Stayed with friends, Oct 2020

17/10/2020

Fantastic lodge great value for money lodge was fantastic all cleaned to a very high standard. So impressed I’ve booked again for January

"Great park in a great location"

K Brooks - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

16/10/2020

Excellent facilities

"Feedback"

S Cull - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

The man on reception on arrival was not very warm and welcoming

"Lovely quiet site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

Lovely peaceful stay. Very covid safe throughout.

"Clean, tidy little place"

Miss H Chaney - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

We enjoyed our weekend here, the facilities are clean and tidy. The only thing that let it down a bit for us as a family with a toddler and dogs is there is no dog walk field for the dogs to run......Read more.

We enjoyed our weekend here, the facilities are clean and tidy. The only thing that let it down a bit for us as a family with a toddler and dogs is there is no dog walk field for the dogs to run around, and the climbing equipment is for much older children, something for the young ones would be good. Wouldn't be able to stay longer than a weekend due to the above. The dinosaur trail was a massive hit though and my toddler wanted to go there most of the day! The staff were also very friendly and helpful....Read less.

"Long weekend away"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

14/10/2020

Lovely place,our caravan and hottub were clean and fresh,great facilities in a beautiful surrounding, this was our second visit and booked a third visit for next year,

"Bucklegrove"

Mrs S Knowles - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

13/10/2020

As we came late in the season not all amenities were open and with COVID going on apart from that what a lovely place to stay the lodge had all we needed we went out most days and managed to find......Read more.

As we came late in the season not all amenities were open and with COVID going on apart from that what a lovely place to stay the lodge had all we needed we went out most days and managed to find something to do surrounding area was just lovely to. I would definitely come again...Read less.

"Oct 2020 review"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

08/10/2020

Only thing I'd say that needs improvement was that the on site shop had more toys than food options. Can't comment about the swimming pool as this was closed due to covid.

"Static Home"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

06/10/2020

Excellent static holiday home, enjoyed visiting local walking routes.

Weather was brilliant except for last 2 days, but was still able to keep ourselves amused

"back again"

Mrs K Bowes - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

06/10/2020

have been coming to bucklegrove for 10 yrs now we love the location friendliness of the staff and the casual relaxing feel of the place- ideally situated for visiting other places with bus stop......Read more.

have been coming to bucklegrove for 10 yrs now we love the location friendliness of the staff and the casual relaxing feel of the place- ideally situated for visiting other places with bus stop outside- this is a small park and that is part of the charm it is good to see children enjoying the outdoors and having to make their own fun- as long as bucklegrove is here we'll be coming back...Read less.

"Excellent stay as usual"

Mrs M Higgs - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

06/10/2020

Just returned from another stay at bucklegrove think this was our 4th visit now it’s amazing value for money the location is perfect for us as we have two dogs with us and their is plenty of places......Read more.

Just returned from another stay at bucklegrove think this was our 4th visit now it’s amazing value for money the location is perfect for us as we have two dogs with us and their is plenty of places to visit especially Weston-Super-Mare and bath which we love , the caravan is always spotless and very homely will definitely be coming back again...Read less.

"Second visit"

J Clark - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

05/10/2020

Enjoyed our stay but Would have preferred a site overlooking grass as we were opposite the laundry and it felt cramped. Whilst a grill restaurant was advertised the menu was very limited. Other than......Read more.

Enjoyed our stay but Would have preferred a site overlooking grass as we were opposite the laundry and it felt cramped. Whilst a grill restaurant was advertised the menu was very limited. Other than this we loved the place and would return...Read less.

"Would highly recommend"

Mrs S Spurrier - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

Great stay had one night very pleased

"Late booking"

V Mason - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

Excellent value for money

"Quick break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

.

"First time in a holiday home"

Miss K Pooni - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

03/10/2020

Absolutely loved it! Stayed in one of the two bed holiday homes and didn't know what to expect but was not disappointed. It was so spacious, all the rooms were clean and tidy and the kitchen utensils......Read more.

Absolutely loved it! Stayed in one of the two bed holiday homes and didn't know what to expect but was not disappointed. It was so spacious, all the rooms were clean and tidy and the kitchen utensils looked brand new. Oven was sparkling (putting my one at home to shame!) and linen was all fresh and ready for us to use. A couple of marks on the carpet but not a problem as it's not like we needed to roll around on the floor. When the gas bottle needed changing on a Sunday maintenance came within minutes of me calling to request some help. All the stagg were really friendly and helpful. The little shop was useful but there is also supermarkets about 1-2 miles up the road. About 10mins from Wookie Hole which was great for our 2 year old and the beach was only a 45min drive away so also a great location. Didn't get a chance to explore the local pubs with the little one but.saw loads of cosy places as we drove about so if I came down to this area again I'd probably stay at Bucklegrove and have a good explore. Thank you all for making our first holiday together so lovely!...Read less.

"Simple and comfortable (but eat elsewhere!)"

A Green - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

The camping pod was warm and cosy, it could do with a few small shelves and an internal curtain across the "bedroom" but was perfectly adequate for the 2 of us. Facilities were very basic but clean......Read more.

The camping pod was warm and cosy, it could do with a few small shelves and an internal curtain across the "bedroom" but was perfectly adequate for the 2 of us. Facilities were very basic but clean and functional. Due to the pandemic we had very little contact with staff but we received a phonecall before our visit to confirm our booking and give us instructions on the new checking in situation. The lodge was providing food both eat in and take away, food was basic and overpriced for what it was, I ate the same meal (chicken Korma) twice during my stay, the first time it was fine, the 2nd time it was almost inedible, dry and so overspiced it was gritty with seasoning. Over all a comfortable stay, but let down by the food offered on site....Read less.

"Good Location and Friendly Staff"

Mr B Stevens - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

We stayed here for a week in September. Office staff were helpful and friendly on arrival and access to the site was easy.

Our pitch was a fully serviced one on Strawberry field. It was a spacious......Read more.

We stayed here for a week in September. Office staff were helpful and friendly on arrival and access to the site was easy.

Our pitch was a fully serviced one on Strawberry field. It was a spacious pitch with a hard standing, car parking and a nice area of grass to sit out on. Plenty of room for our large twin axle and awning. Everything on this field was well maintained, with hedges and grass neatly cut. Although we didn't have children with us, the play area looked new and I'm sure our grandchildren would have loved it.

Due to the Covid emergency we used all our own facilities so we I can't comment on the toilet blocks or showers. However I did have to use the Chemical Disposal point and this was the only thing I wasn't happy with. Unlike the modern stainless steel facilities most sites now have, these were just lavatory pans set in concrete with a wooden lid over them. They were not cleaned once while we were there and to be honest looked as if they had not been cleaned for months. Absolutely filthy. These urgently need modernising and then adding to the daily cleaning schedule.

The above point is my only criticism of the site and in due course I'm sure we will go back. We really enjoyed ourselves.

...Read less.

"Not bad"

A Chandler - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

Not to bad

"bucklegrove"

M Kirsch - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

lovely views , showers and toilets were very clean ,would stay here again

"A short break"

Miss L Barnard - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

29/09/2020

We booked a four day break on the spur of the moment in a superior 2 caravan and was suitably surprised by how comfortable it was with two settees and everything we could want. It was a peaceful......Read more.

We booked a four day break on the spur of the moment in a superior 2 caravan and was suitably surprised by how comfortable it was with two settees and everything we could want. It was a peaceful park and lovely surroundings. Unfortunately we didn't use any of the park facilities but would definitely recommend the park....Read less.

"Excellent and great location"

Mr D Evans - Stayed Sep 2020

29/09/2020

Excellent site great location would definitely stay here again

"norfolk swedes holiday"

Mr A Coleman - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

29/09/2020

site very good and clean and tidy all of family enjoyed thier stay only down side we found was dogs allowed in the club house when food was being severed

"Review of first visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

27/09/2020

Lovely welcome, helpful staff. Clean facilities especially keeping to govt guidelines re virus. Level pitch with fantastic views. Lovely and quiet for our short break, will definitely stay again at......Read more.

Lovely welcome, helpful staff. Clean facilities especially keeping to govt guidelines re virus. Level pitch with fantastic views. Lovely and quiet for our short break, will definitely stay again at this time of year when children are back at school!

Thank you Bucklegrove....Read less.

"Great Little Find"

Mrs C Sugden - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

26/09/2020

Pitched up in The Grove pitch 129 for 3 nights in our camper with awning, great spot with lovely views. Even though it was almost full it was lovely and quiet. Wash facilities were ok, plenty of hot......Read more.

Pitched up in The Grove pitch 129 for 3 nights in our camper with awning, great spot with lovely views. Even though it was almost full it was lovely and quiet. Wash facilities were ok, plenty of hot water, not 5 star but you get what you pay for. Cleaned regularly, unfortunately you can't account for other peoples habits and the way they leave the facilities. Hand sanitiser as you enter. Washing up area has 3 sinks, again you can't account for other peoples habits and how they leave it!

On the whole a lovely site and central to the surrounding activities. Would stay again but pay a little extra for one of the EHU with a higher Amp, after 30 minutes the travel kettle was just warm, but toaster, phone charger, hairdryer were all fine. We also had Wifi so that was a bonus ;0)...Read less.

"Our stay"

K Goodyear - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

I found it lovely and clean , the food was very expensive. Site was nice. One early morning , few dogs were barking for long time. Staff very nice. Helpful . As when we arrived our plot as well as......Read more.

I found it lovely and clean , the food was very expensive. Site was nice. One early morning , few dogs were barking for long time. Staff very nice. Helpful . As when we arrived our plot as well as theirs as we had a tent to put up, was taken over by another person, so the staff were very kind gave us another place straight away.

...Read less.

"Mrs butcher"

Mrs L Butcher - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Great campsite. Clean and perfect location for the Mendip’s

"Very good park"

D Beacham - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

This park is clean tidy ideally located for cheddar wells etc and the staff are really friendly.and the views from the park are fantastic.

"A well run site."

Mr B Kirby - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

The location favours those with their own transport. There are relatively few footpaths in the immediate vicinity of the site, although there is access in the NE corner of the site to Westfield......Read more.

The location favours those with their own transport. There are relatively few footpaths in the immediate vicinity of the site, although there is access in the NE corner of the site to Westfield Lane, and thence to other relatively quiet lanes from which footpaths can be accessed. A further access point on the NW boundary with Westfield Lane would be of advantage. The A371 has no footway, is relatively narrow, and is a busy road - not for walkers!

Although motorhomes are accepted, there is no motorhome service point. The toilet cassette emptying/waste water disposal and rinsing facility is at best "rustic".

The shop is useful for basics, and has fresh goods delivered daily, although the bread bought (freshly delivered) on the day of our departure turned out to have been one day out of date when delivered!...Read less.

"visit"

Mr J Robinson - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

I don't fill in the comments section

"Bucklegrove"

Mr D Hancox - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

20/09/2020

Toilet and shower block in the top Field need updating pitches were very small

"Ok"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

19/09/2020

Ok

"Great stay"

Mr G Davison - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

19/09/2020

Overnight stop over. Easy to find location. Was ideal for my requirements.

"Nice site"

C Angell - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

19/09/2020

Nice site but not many walks for dogs but this was the only issue we had

"A weeks stay"

Mrs K Elt - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Park clean.

Ease to get to activies and tourism.

Didn't see 1 staff member walking around checking or just saying hi.

Nice food.

Could do with a time cufrefew when busy noise stopped at 01:30......Read more.

Park clean.

Ease to get to activies and tourism.

Didn't see 1 staff member walking around checking or just saying hi.

Nice food.

Could do with a time cufrefew when busy noise stopped at 01:30 anscholdren running around and parents shouting st them at 7am....Read less.

"Good stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

All good. The showers were free and hot but the facilities are getting a little tired looking, but were kept clean. Excellent wifi for browsing and email. Helpful staff.

"Midweek break"

P Lsaac - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

First time to visit Bucklegrove but I think we will be back in the future. Really enjoyed and the weather helped.

"First time camping & we loved it."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Had a great few days camping for the first time. The campsite was great spot on everything will definitely go back next year. Thank

"Our first visit, but not our last"

Mr P Watson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Found this little gem on Google maps while Searching for a campsite to visit both cheddar gorge and wookey hole.

This was perfect as it situated between both and used the campsite website to get the......Read more.

Found this little gem on Google maps while Searching for a campsite to visit both cheddar gorge and wookey hole.

This was perfect as it situated between both and used the campsite website to get the 25% discount on the wookey hole tickets.

Our allocated spot was level (as were most spots on the site to be fair) and well thought out when it comes to space for a camper/caravan awning and car and included electric hook up.

Toilets were of a good standard (I've seen a lot worse on my travels) and site very well kept.

Was only a 2 day stay as site was fully booked at the weekend but will definitely be back next year for longer and to try the onsite bar and restaurant.

Only thing I would say is the road leading to the touring site on the bend before the toilet block needs attention as it was tricky negotiating this while towing and also entering/exiting in my lowered car.

I look forward to visiting again in the near future...Read less.

"Great find"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Needed a place to stay near to Shepton mallet and found this gem via pitch up.com. Staff we're exceptionally friendly and helpful and will definitely return again for a longer stay when the pool......Read more.

Needed a place to stay near to Shepton mallet and found this gem via pitch up.com. Staff we're exceptionally friendly and helpful and will definitely return again for a longer stay when the pool reopens. Lovely atmosphere in the grass touring field with lovely sunrises and sunsets. Thank you Bucklegrove...Read less.

"A lovely week in Cheddar"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Buckle grove is perfectly placed for travel to Cheddar, Wells and Glastonbury.

We visited during the covid19 pandemic.

The park was peaceful and pleasant with good sized camping plots.

Social......Read more.

Buckle grove is perfectly placed for travel to Cheddar, Wells and Glastonbury.

We visited during the covid19 pandemic.

The park was peaceful and pleasant with good sized camping plots.

Social distancing was in place and we felt fairly safe.

The park became busier towards the weekend and the facilities became less well kept and maintained. This was rectified once we made the staff aware.

Overall good value for money and we will probably visit again....Read less.

"Good short break"

D Turnbull - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

Overall good holiday on the site. Unfortunately allocated a grass pitch but due to previous wet weather was unsuitable for my motorhome.

Helpful staff managed to find a hardstanding pitch for part......Read more.

Overall good holiday on the site. Unfortunately allocated a grass pitch but due to previous wet weather was unsuitable for my motorhome.

Helpful staff managed to find a hardstanding pitch for part of our stay....Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mrs J Lloyd - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

Booked for 3 nights stop of on way to Newquay, lovely site views from top pitch amazing close to Wells and cheddar, lovely little club would recommend and definitely stay again, toilets a little......Read more.

Booked for 3 nights stop of on way to Newquay, lovely site views from top pitch amazing close to Wells and cheddar, lovely little club would recommend and definitely stay again, toilets a little tired but no issue....Read less.

"Stay from 7/9/2020 to 12/9/2020"

V Dingley - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

We were very impressed with the site we were camping and had a fantastic time the cleaning staff, bar staff receptionists were exceptional and a credit to Bucklegrove the food was basic but very......Read more.

We were very impressed with the site we were camping and had a fantastic time the cleaning staff, bar staff receptionists were exceptional and a credit to Bucklegrove the food was basic but very tasty.The manager was amazing he let my son & daughter-in-law and baby Grandaughter stay with us for the one night and they loved it also many thanks to everyone for a fantastic stay...Read less.

"Y"

Mr A Jones - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Y

"Fantastic location"

K Storer - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

My wife and I discovered this site via the internet and it looked great and having recently camped on site for five days, neither of us were left disappointed, in fact, we were taken back by the......Read more.

My wife and I discovered this site via the internet and it looked great and having recently camped on site for five days, neither of us were left disappointed, in fact, we were taken back by the overall experience, friendly staff, great site, and we had daily excursions to the local attractions, such as Cheddar Gorge, Mendip Hills and the list goes on.

We can't recommend the site and area enough, in fact we are in talks with the family regarding a big family holiday next year at Bucklegrove ! Regards Kevan & Theresa...Read less.

"Wouldn't recommend."

Miss S Shaw - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Caravan wasn't as stated in pictures full of cobwebs, noisy people in the caravan at the back, park has nothing to do, nothing in local area miles from anywhere, reported my problem to the site and......Read more.

Caravan wasn't as stated in pictures full of cobwebs, noisy people in the caravan at the back, park has nothing to do, nothing in local area miles from anywhere, reported my problem to the site and they just ignored 3 emails about my concern about the noise and the caravan not being up to standard. I would not return and would not recommend to anyone.

I found staff ro be extremely rude to not reply to emails.

Also the toilet broke on the day before leaving reported that also via email to site staff and again surprisingly no reply again!...Read less.

"Peaceful, site in a super lcoation"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

Static van was very clean and plenty big enough for 3 adults

grounds well maintained

not much to do on site but that was why we chose it :)

restaurant was good value and reasonable quality - bit more......Read more.

Static van was very clean and plenty big enough for 3 adults

grounds well maintained

not much to do on site but that was why we chose it :)

restaurant was good value and reasonable quality - bit more choice would have been nice.

thank you for a lovely stay

we made use of the 25% of Wookey Hole visit...Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead