Bucklegrove Holiday Park

77 Reviews

4.2 / 5 overall rating based on 77 reviews in the last 12 months

92% would recommend this site

87% would stay here again

Excellent

52%

Very Good

34%

Average

9%

Poor

3%

Terrible

0%

"First impressions"

Miss A Lane - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

20/06/2017

We arrived a bit late but was welcomed with a smile, polite friendly staff. Clean tidy shower blocks. Well maintained site with good security. The one reason we booked this site was the on site bar......Read more.

We arrived a bit late but was welcomed with a smile, polite friendly staff. Clean tidy shower blocks. Well maintained site with good security. The one reason we booked this site was the on site bar and restaurant, we got changed and walked over to find it shut till Friday our stay was Wednesday and Thursday night very disappointed....Read less.

"Holiday"

Mr T Pearson - Stayed with friends, Jun 2017

17/06/2017

The site, facilities and staff were excellent.

"Sadly too many unsupervised children around"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

16/06/2017

The park and facilities were top notch..it was very clean and well maintained. Sadly for us our peace and quiet was constantly interupted by screeching, shouting and screaming by children that were......Read more.

The park and facilities were top notch..it was very clean and well maintained. Sadly for us our peace and quiet was constantly interupted by screeching, shouting and screaming by children that were going around the camp day and night on mountain bikes unsupervised as parents were in the pub...there are notices around camp saying that children should be supervised but this didn't happen whilst we were staying there...lots of campers left early due to the disruption and we will not be returning...there is an adult only camp just up the road that we have booked for next time...hopefully we will get the peace and quiet that we were looking for next time...!!!...Read less.

"Feedback on Our Stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

15/06/2017

We camped recently and have the following feedback which I hope will help in making improvements as it does have the potential to be a great site. Unfortunately the following things really did spoil......Read more.

We camped recently and have the following feedback which I hope will help in making improvements as it does have the potential to be a great site. Unfortunately the following things really did spoil our visit so we are unlikely to return at the current time:

* There was dog poo on our pitch right where we needed to pitch our text, so before we could do anything I had to find a bag to dispose of it. The pitch was also covered with cigarette butts.

* The wash blocks were outdated and unpleasant to use. Each time I went in there there was urine around the toilet on the floor and some awful smells coming from the cubicles. It needed a good bleach and a very good airing!

* The smell from the changing rooms between the inner and outer door to the swimming pool was absolutely awful and there was no working light so I had to get someone to stand with the exterior door open so I could actually see to put the code on the indoor door. The ladies changing room shower also had no working water when I tried to shower after swimming.

* The steps on the ladders to get into the pools were wobbly, particularly the ones on the inside of the small pool and both I and my children nearly fell in and hurt ourselves! They're really very dangerous and should be replaced or adjusted so that the steps are no longer loose.

* There were very loud noises coming from a TV from half a field away from us until after midnight and the campers weren't particularly nice people! It would have been good if a member of staff could take a quick late-night wander once in a while for the benefit of campers who would like some sleep and don't want to have confrontations with their neighbours.

On the plus side the man we dealt with working on reception was incredibly friendly and welcoming, so first impressions were good. It really is a shame about the other things though because we plan on camping in the area regularly (and my parents are looking for a nice site to buy a new static caravan) so first impressions were that we'd found somewhere with great potential....Read less.

Gayle Pennington, replied to this review on the 21 June 2017

Thank you for your recent review, we value all feedback and act accordingly where necessary.

Each......Read more.

Thank you for your recent review, we value all feedback and act accordingly where necessary.

Each morning a site check is carried out and a tidy and clean up done ready for new arrivals. There is always the chance that areas require a further clean up, so spot checks are also carried out throughout the day. Also any reported feedback from guests is acted on, and we would happily have cleared this for you had we known.

The toilet and shower blocks are having recently been redecorated, new boilers fitted and new flooring. Cleaning checks are done in the morning and again throughout the day.

Your comments regarding the pool and changing area have been passed to the Maintenance Team. Again, checks are carried out daily.

Our Team patrol the site at night to ensure the safety and comfort of guests and will act accordingly if any issues arise. We are sorry if you were disturbed by any noise.

We are glad you enjoyed the rest of the Park and your comments about our Team have been passed to them.

We very much hope you will consider staying with us again, we have an ongoing million pounds investment to improve and maintain the Park that we hope you will come back and see....Read less.

"Excellent camping"

L Rawlings - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

14/06/2017

Excellent park would return

"Very disappointing"

P Stevens - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

12/06/2017

Very disappointing stay. None of the facilities were open (apart from pool) we were not informed of this prior to booking - only upon arrival. Play area not suitable for under 5yrs.

Gayle Pennington, replied to this review on the 21 June 2017

Thank you for your recent review. We endeavour to inform guests at the time of booking about our......Read more.

Thank you for your recent review. We endeavour to inform guests at the time of booking about our Lodge opening hours - we are sorry if this was not the case when you booked. We also keep updated opening times on our website.

The Lodge was the only facility that was not open when you stayed.

We hope you will consider booking again in the future....Read less.

"A nice site with good facilities."

Mr K Holdstock - Stayed with family, May 2017

12/06/2017

We stayed at Bucklegrove during Half Term holiday in May 2017.

We had a fully serviced pitch for our motorhome. The pitch was level'ish but still required ramps to get closer to level.

We were......Read more.

We stayed at Bucklegrove during Half Term holiday in May 2017.

We had a fully serviced pitch for our motorhome. The pitch was level'ish but still required ramps to get closer to level.

We were located within direct eyesight of the children's play area. I was so glad that we were not the poor souls who were adjacent to that area since, as you would expect, children do not play in silence and they are there from first thing to dusk. We spoke to a family who were immediately adjacent and they found it very overwhelming and lacking in privacy.

For us, our annoyance with this play area was that the kids also played football in this area and our motorhome was frequently bashed with a leather football since the 'goals' (water bottles on the floor) were in front of our pitch. The Wardens did come over to tell them to get a lighter weight ball but the heavier ball was soon back. It is a shame that there's not a dedicated area in the massive camping field that's adjacent but, apparently, that's a football free zone! This is my only real criticism.

Other than that, the facilities are good. The pub/clubhouse has a good food selection which is good value and presented nicely. The pool is not massive but, choose your time wisely, and it's not too busy either. 9am - 10am is adults only time, supposedly.

We enjoyed our stay and may return sometime....Read less.

"First Impressions"

Mr D Witham - Stayed with family, May 2017

11/06/2017

We have been coming to Bucklegrove 10+ years and have only been once under the new management first impressions is very good at the moment and will be back in August as previously booked. Still......Read more.

We have been coming to Bucklegrove 10+ years and have only been once under the new management first impressions is very good at the moment and will be back in August as previously booked. Still hoping to see discounts for early booking and loyalty which I feel would be helpful and to your benefit and the customers....Read less.

"May Half Term break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

09/06/2017

We had a really amazing time at Bucklegrove Park. It was a lovely community of campers and caravaners, all mixed together in the sunshine! The bar was a real treat and the food was really good. We......Read more.

We had a really amazing time at Bucklegrove Park. It was a lovely community of campers and caravaners, all mixed together in the sunshine! The bar was a real treat and the food was really good. We had such a lovely time, we will def be doing back....Read less.

"Overall view"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2017

08/06/2017

Camping area could have been tidier. Pitches could have been a little larger.

Toilet facilities could have been cleaned more often.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

"Shower Block and Too Noisey"

L Durrant - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

08/06/2017

We stayed at Bucklegrove for three nights, the reception and strawberry field looked clean and well maintained but we were in the over spill field the grove which needed some TLC, the shower block......Read more.

We stayed at Bucklegrove for three nights, the reception and strawberry field looked clean and well maintained but we were in the over spill field the grove which needed some TLC, the shower block had two showers and only one worked properly for a whole field of campers and i'm afraid they wasn't the best cleaned if cleaned at all. I also found Bucklegrove campsite no good for very young toddlers, most sites have a 10pm quiet down time so you can get your children off to sleep but unfortunatly it was too noisey, i know everyones on holiday but when it is surposed to be a family site you would think there would be some kind of policy. Cheddar Gorge is deffinetly worth a visit but next time we'll look for another campsite....Read less.

"half term holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

08/06/2017

Xx

"Extremely happy, already recommended"

Mrs D Clarke - Stayed with family, May 2017

08/06/2017

We stayed with daughter and 2 grandchildren. The site was extremely neat and tidy, a lot of consideration has been given to the lay out.

It was quiet and there was no noise heard when club......Read more.

We stayed with daughter and 2 grandchildren. The site was extremely neat and tidy, a lot of consideration has been given to the lay out.

It was quiet and there was no noise heard when club closed.

Only lacking amenities we found lacking were egg cups and a few hooks near the shower in the pool....Read less.

"Beautiful setting"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

08/06/2017

This campsite is set in the most beautiful of settings and has many attractions such as Wookey Hole, Cheddar Gorge and Weston-super-mare nearby. We stayed in the lodge which was amazing, finished to......Read more.

This campsite is set in the most beautiful of settings and has many attractions such as Wookey Hole, Cheddar Gorge and Weston-super-mare nearby. We stayed in the lodge which was amazing, finished to the highest standard. A great week, in a beautiful setting with lots around for the whole family to do....Read less.

"Great Site and Facilities"

Mr R Lees - Stayed with family, May 2017

08/06/2017

This is a great site, excellent facilities, HOT showers (almost too hot??) and an ideal location. It's quite compact and close but we were OK with that. Really enjoyed our time here and looking......Read more.

This is a great site, excellent facilities, HOT showers (almost too hot??) and an ideal location. It's quite compact and close but we were OK with that. Really enjoyed our time here and looking forward to returning soon....Read less.

"Great site, but too noisy!"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2017

07/06/2017

We loved the site, facilities & it's location but unfortunately its clientele let it down. Our first night was entertainment night at the small club house with a small playground opposite. This was......Read more.

We loved the site, facilities & it's location but unfortunately its clientele let it down. Our first night was entertainment night at the small club house with a small playground opposite. This was extremely loud but at least finished around 8:45pm. Children as young as 3 ran riot whilst the parents drank more & more at the club house. Unfortunately this was a reoccurring theme just without the live entertainment! The screams etc of a large gang of children persisted every night until 10:30pm. There was a distinct lack of consideration for fellow campers and the noise started again around 7am, we will not be returning. Shame really as facilities were great....Read less.

Gayle Pennington, replied to this review on the 21 June 2017

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay, we endeavour......Read more.

Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay, we endeavour to resolve any issues at the time if they are brought to our attention.

Our Team carry out night patrols to ensure the safety and comfort of our guests.

If we feel guests are behaving outside of the Park rules or we receive comments from other guests we will act accordingly.

We very much hope you will reconsider visiting us again, as you mention we have fantastic facilities, including an indoor swimming pool, refurbished The Lodge Bar, Grill & Restaurant and an ongoing million pounds investment across the site.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your feedback....Read less.

"Disappointing Stay"

A Wright - Stayed with family, May 2017

07/06/2017

After checking in we made our way to our pitches. My husband and I had difficulty parking the caravan on our pitch, for a number of reasons:

Overcrowding – the tents opposite our pitches had parked......Read more.

After checking in we made our way to our pitches. My husband and I had difficulty parking the caravan on our pitch, for a number of reasons:

Overcrowding – the tents opposite our pitches had parked their cars in the space we needed to manoeuvre the van into place. They kindly moved them for us however my in-laws had to take their van off the car and use the motor-movers

There was a birch tree ¾ of the way in meaning we couldn’t reverse fully into the pitch. The overgrown tree was hanging all over the caravan and awning to the point we couldn’t open the skylight, and had to wash the sap from the roof of the awning before we left. We don’t mind trees, but not in that close a proximity

We had to leave 1-2ft between the van and hedge to access the water/waste etc, but the hedge was so overgrown that this wasn’t an easy task

By the time we had put the awning up we had about 2ft between it and the hedge (also overgrown) on the opposite side

The car had to be parked immediately in front of the caravan/awning which wasn’t a problem as such, however considering all of the above issues we now had nowhere to sit out or for my three young children to play safely

All of the above points apply to the pitch my in-laws were on too

I addressed the pitch size to the gentleman in the office the day after we arrived and he did look to move us to an alternate pitch but there were none available. However, even if there had been we were already set up and the upheaval with young children would have no doubt added to our frustration.

The general size of the pitches across the whole site are small with no ample space for sitting out, children to play around the van etc without being sat on top of the tent/van next door. My small children were playing on the road in front of our van, there was no room whatsoever on the field opposite as it was crammed with tents and vehicles. In fact, there was so little room outside of our vans that we ended up going out and about away from the site every day and weren’t able to just sit by our vans and enjoy the sun.

The facilities were less than adequate. The toilet and shower areas were not clean – in fact I don’t think I saw anyone cleaning these areas during our whole stay. The shower water was luke warm and we decided not to use these and stick to the better facilities and hot water in our vans. The facilities in the pub were just as dismal; dated and unclean and unfortunately left to the lady behind the bar to tidy up at one point. Having the toilets and the swimming pool changing area all located in the same area is just not practical; dodging pool users who are trying to get showered and changed whilst all the while pub customers are in and out to use the toilets giving them no privacy whatsoever.

The food in the pub was very tasty albeit late in arriving, cold and missing key ingredients! We ate in the pub on two occasions. The first time I was told there was a 30 min wait on food. After 40 mins I queried how long it would be until our food arrived. After 45 mins the lady asked us how we wanted our steaks cooked. So all in all we waited approx. an hour for the meals, not 30 mins. When they arrived parts of the dishes were missing; eggs, garlic bread…. The second time we ate, the food arrived and all of the veg was cold, not even luke-warm. We sent it back and on its return the veg was piping hot but the meat cold! We ate it anyway, we were starving!

To summarise, I chose your site as the website seemed to offer all of the facilities we needed and appeared to offer plenty of space and rolling green grassy areas…. In reality this just wasn’t the case and the pictures are very misleading, and of course left us entirely disappointed....Read less.

Gayle Pennington, replied to this review on the 21 June 2017

Hi Amy,

We have since had separate email communications and dealt with your feedback. We hope to......Read more.

Hi Amy,

We have since had separate email communications and dealt with your feedback. We hope to see you again at Bucklegrove....Read less.

"Another fanatasic holiday at Bucklegrove Holiday Park"

Mrs J Chatwin - Stayed with partner, May 2017

06/06/2017

We stayed for 4 nights and had a great time from start to finish. We stayed in one of the new caravans which was very cosy with everything you need for a comfortable stay. My son had a great time he......Read more.

We stayed for 4 nights and had a great time from start to finish. We stayed in one of the new caravans which was very cosy with everything you need for a comfortable stay. My son had a great time he made lots of friends and they played on the playground and football on the big field. The club house is great and even thought we didn't try the food this time, lots of other family commented on how nice the food was. There has been lot of little improvements since our last stay the beach mural around the pool area is lovely. We will be booking again very soon :))...Read less.

"Lovely family site"

J Hersey - Stayed with family, May 2017

06/06/2017

We very much enjoyed this site. The playground and pool were great for the kids. Lovely views. Good location for wells and cheddar

"Our first stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2017

06/06/2017

Very happy with the campsite

Staff very helpful, it's clean with good facilities

The only improvement would be better toilet facilities within the bar area which was shared with swimming pool - not......Read more.

Very happy with the campsite

Staff very helpful, it's clean with good facilities

The only improvement would be better toilet facilities within the bar area which was shared with swimming pool - not ideal!

Excellent food served from the bar

The only thing that would make me hesitate in booking again is the noise from other guests. Both nights we stayed were very noisy - noise after 12am & that was difficult with a 5 year old child...Read less.

"Camping"

Mrs C Horne - Stayed with family, May 2017

05/06/2017

We stayed in the field and whilst the view and facilities were excellent, the proximity to the busy road kept me awake for the 3 nights we stayed and only for this reason alone I will not return.

"Wonderful Family Friendly Site with Excellent Facilities"

K Lenihan - Stayed with family, May 2017

05/06/2017

We had a great time at Bucklegrove. The campsite was clean and flat. The facilities were well maintained - though the hairdryer was not working at the pool there was another in the main shower block.......Read more.

We had a great time at Bucklegrove. The campsite was clean and flat. The facilities were well maintained - though the hairdryer was not working at the pool there was another in the main shower block. Lovely friendly staff. Will return....Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

05/06/2017

We had a great couple of nights at this site. The pub food was really yummy and big portions. It was lovely to have a drink and watch little one play in the park. The live music on Saturday was good,......Read more.

We had a great couple of nights at this site. The pub food was really yummy and big portions. It was lovely to have a drink and watch little one play in the park. The live music on Saturday was good, we didn't go, but could hear it from our tent. It stopped at a reasonable hour.

The pool was clean and got very busy. Our 3 year old did get a little cold.

All in all great family stay.

...Read less.

"GREAT FAMILY CAMPSITE"

F Delaney - Stayed with family, May 2017

04/06/2017

my husband and I, with our 2 daughters, 7 and 3 stayed 3 nights. great campsite, very helpful and friendly staff. would stay again and recommend to others.

"Fantastic family holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

03/06/2017

We were one of the first groups to stay in the new luxury cabins with a hot tub, absolute stunning inside and out. Not one speck of dirt found. Children had a wonderful time.

"Wash facilities and booking"

Mrs S Brown - Stayed with friends, May 2017

03/06/2017

I visited Bucklegrove with a group of friends.

Firstly, I booked three pitches next to each other and when arriving found out that the pitch 120 was no longer my friends although I had booked it.......Read more.

I visited Bucklegrove with a group of friends.

Firstly, I booked three pitches next to each other and when arriving found out that the pitch 120 was no longer my friends although I had booked it. There was no explanation either. But luckily it didn't ruined our weekend.

Secondly, the bathroom . The shower was ridiculous. There was no pressure from it only a drip and the water wasn't even hot. Having a cold drip for a shower really is not pleasant and is almost a put off from coming back.

I like to keep clean. It wasn't exactly cheap to stay there so no excuse for a shower that's cold and has no pressure....Read less.

Gayle Pennington, replied to this review on the 06 June 2017

Thank you for your recent review.

When booking a pitch we endeavour to meet any requests, however......Read more.

Thank you for your recent review.

When booking a pitch we endeavour to meet any requests, however this is not guaranteed. We are sorry if this caused any upset.

As new owners to the Park, we have invested in huge improvements and changes, one being new boilers for the toilet and shower blocks. Your comments have been passed to the maintenance team to look into, as no reports about this were received at Reception.

Our prices for 2017 have remained at 2016 rates - no price increase. We feel we are priced accordingly and in line with our local competitors.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give your review....Read less.

"Beautiful Bucklegrove"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

02/06/2017

Great holiday park, great location, I would highly recommend for families

"Good family holiday."

K Westwood - Stayed with family, May 2017

02/06/2017

When we booked last minute and asked if we could have a late arrival it was no problem for the staff to keep reception open abit later. When we arrive staff were very welcoming and understanding of......Read more.

When we booked last minute and asked if we could have a late arrival it was no problem for the staff to keep reception open abit later. When we arrive staff were very welcoming and understanding of our very late arrival. When pitched up we had a look around the facilities to find they were very clean and modern. A new clubhouse was ideal with a very nice pint served. Swimming pool was a bonus but not large. Didnt hamper the kids play though. Staff were all very polite and helpful through our stay. Will definitely return....Read less.

"Bucklegrove campsite - brilliant"

L Clarke - Stayed with family, May 2017

02/06/2017

The people who ran the site were excellent and so helpful and friendly. The facilities were very clean and all staff were very friendly. Children's park was good. Pool was great and clean. Can't......Read more.

The people who ran the site were excellent and so helpful and friendly. The facilities were very clean and all staff were very friendly. Children's park was good. Pool was great and clean. Can't fault this campsite. Great location too. Will definitely return....Read less.

"Basic camping but a little bit of a let down"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2017

02/06/2017

The campsite was a little bit of a let down. The facilities were really very basic and often ran out of loo roll with no spares to be seen. Main block near reception was better. Camping area was......Read more.

The campsite was a little bit of a let down. The facilities were really very basic and often ran out of loo roll with no spares to be seen. Main block near reception was better. Camping area was quite small and the 'road was a little ropey. I can deal with all that.... I'm all up for basic when Camping! What annoyed me was being told we could sit outside at the cafe with our dog BUT to get there we had to walk through a no dog zone... so how were we meant to get there. Thought we would just go to the shop instead.... No way would I buy anything at that price! Crazy hike in prices!

Luckily we still enjoyed ourselves, not going to let silly bugbears ruin a break.

Cheddar is beautiful and so dog friendly, will definetly visit the area again but maybe sample some other campsites....Read less.

Gayle Pennington, replied to this review on the 06 June 2017

Thank you for your recent review.

We are new owners to the Park and really do appreciate feedback......Read more.

Thank you for your recent review.

We are new owners to the Park and really do appreciate feedback to further improve our services to guests.

We are currently replacing old signage with new, in particular the signs stating no dogs allowed. We have relaxed this rule and require dogs to just be kept on a lead. We are sorry for any confusion.

The toilets are checked, cleaned and maintained daily, and throughout the day. Toilet rolls are usually left in abundance, however we are sorry if this was not the case when you entered. We do act immediately on information given to us by guests at the time.

Our pitches are usually enjoyed by guests and comment that they find them spacious and roomy.

We really hope you will consider us again in the future, more investment is being spent on the Park and we very much hope to see you again.

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.

...Read less.

"Family and friends camping trip"

F Bowden - Stayed with family, May 2017

02/06/2017

Good clean, family friendly site. Kids loved the pool and park.

"Nice place"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2017

01/06/2017

Lovely park would of loved to of stayed longer

"Great holiday"

B Hawker - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

23/05/2017

Stayed here for a week and had a fantastic time. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good food in the restaurant/bar with very friendly staff. Shower block clean and pleasant, showers hot. Would......Read more.

Stayed here for a week and had a fantastic time. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good food in the restaurant/bar with very friendly staff. Shower block clean and pleasant, showers hot. Would definitely return again....Read less.

"An excellent little site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

19/05/2017

the site is really nice, we didn't try the bar/cafe but the pool is excellent if a little chilly for a 1yo. The rest of the park is clean and tidy.

"Showers Heads Need Cleaning Or New Heads"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2017

19/05/2017

Showers Need Updating.

"Stop over"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2017

18/05/2017

Great stay, boys loved the pool!

"Weekend away with friends and family"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

18/05/2017

Great weekend for our first camping trip with two ten months old babies. Good shop onsite and a very relaxing weekend. The regulars were extremely feiendly

"Lovely views around this site"

P Goodwin - Stayed May 2017

16/05/2017

As I am new to caravan in the people and staff were very friendly and helpful, nice quiet clean tidy site, superb toilets and showers, lovely bar and shop, would for sure recommend this site, many......Read more.

As I am new to caravan in the people and staff were very friendly and helpful, nice quiet clean tidy site, superb toilets and showers, lovely bar and shop, would for sure recommend this site, many thanks to the owners for making me feel so welcome, Paul

...Read less.

"Faultless best site weve been to"

C Jones - Stayed with partner, May 2017

15/05/2017

We cannot praise the site enough, very clean & well kept. We used the pool, lodge for a drink, showers & toilets and the washing up facilities, we had a jumbo pitch for our tent. It was quiet and......Read more.

We cannot praise the site enough, very clean & well kept. We used the pool, lodge for a drink, showers & toilets and the washing up facilities, we had a jumbo pitch for our tent. It was quiet and what a good idea to have a space where dogs aren't allowed, we love dogs - well behaved one's & nice not to be kept awake with barking. The staff friendly and helpful. It's situated in a lovely spot in between Cheddar and Wells. We enjoyed sightseeing in the area to both the above, Bath & Glastonbury. Have already recommended & will most definitely return. Free WiFi too. The lodges looked very inviting also & May consider in the future. Birds of prey flying over regularly was lovely to see. Thank you bucklegrove you are doing it right we've been to several sites in England and Wales and this has to be top !...Read less.

"Lovely out of stay"

S Underwood - Stayed with family, May 2017

12/05/2017

Went with our new caravan and the hookups and pitch were just lovely.

Quiet for us as early May. Nice clean facilities and pool. Definitely go again, our smaller grandchildren loved the location.......Read more.

Went with our new caravan and the hookups and pitch were just lovely.

Quiet for us as early May. Nice clean facilities and pool. Definitely go again, our smaller grandchildren loved the location. Friendly and helpful manager....Read less.

"Great caravan park"

Mrs K Stokes - Stayed with partner, May 2017

11/05/2017

We came to stay here for our first camping trip and would definitely recommend it. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It was a lovely quiet little park with some lovely views and is close......Read more.

We came to stay here for our first camping trip and would definitely recommend it. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It was a lovely quiet little park with some lovely views and is close distance to cheddar gorge and wookey hole. The washing facilities were really good and clean and the bar/restaurant served lovely food (huge portions!!) and although we didn't use the swimming pool, we did have a quick look and it looked really good and clean. We are definitely planning on coming back at some point with the kids. Highly recommended!!...Read less.

"Biking weekend"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Apr 2017

08/05/2017

Used as a base for a motorcycling weekend around Somerset

"Weekend to remember."

Mrs E Morgan - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

06/05/2017

It was a lovely weekend. The campsite was directly between the two places we planned to visit. The facilities were comfortable and staff welcoming. The food in the restaurant was good but only got......Read more.

It was a lovely weekend. The campsite was directly between the two places we planned to visit. The facilities were comfortable and staff welcoming. The food in the restaurant was good but only got to eat there one night and they didn't serve food Sunday evening that's the only negative about our stay....Read less.

"Great park"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

05/05/2017

We had a great time all the grand children had an amazing time, could have stayed longer if we had the time

"Camp site very clean tidy also washing facilities"

S Tonks - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

05/05/2017

Excellent will call again

"Lovely campsite."

Mrs C Ayres - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

29/04/2017

Recently stayed here whilst visiting Wookey Hole. Easy to find, just the right size campsite, toilets/showers always clean, plenty of hot water, no annoying buttons to keep pressing whilst in shower.......Read more.

Recently stayed here whilst visiting Wookey Hole. Easy to find, just the right size campsite, toilets/showers always clean, plenty of hot water, no annoying buttons to keep pressing whilst in shower. Small safe play area, small pool, bar. Didn't eat her but food available. Quiet at night.

Would definitely stay here again....Read less.

"Some changes since our last visit"

Mr W Savill - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

29/04/2017

Returned to Bucklegrove to find it had changed hands, not a problem though as it still retains its friendly family run atmosphere with everything being spotlessly clean and well manicured. Only one......Read more.

Returned to Bucklegrove to find it had changed hands, not a problem though as it still retains its friendly family run atmosphere with everything being spotlessly clean and well manicured. Only one small minus point ( this is purely a matter of PERSONAL TASTE) we thought the menu was wrong for campers and my wife found it difficult to find something she liked. However, we had no complaints regarding the cooking/presentation and speed of service.

...Read less.

"Lodge"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

28/04/2017

We were really impressed with the Lodge we hired for a long weekend.

It was furnished to a very high standard, had everything we needed for a very relaxing stay - all that plus excellent views over......Read more.

We were really impressed with the Lodge we hired for a long weekend.

It was furnished to a very high standard, had everything we needed for a very relaxing stay - all that plus excellent views over the Mendip Hills & conveniently situated between Cheddar & Glastonbury.

Will definitely be returning soon....Read less.

"Fantastic campsite"

M Hatton - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

28/04/2017

Thoroughly enjoyed staying here. Good tent pitch close to showers/toilets (which were lovely and warm) everywhere is clean. The bar was good, didn't use the pool but already booked another trip here......Read more.

Thoroughly enjoyed staying here. Good tent pitch close to showers/toilets (which were lovely and warm) everywhere is clean. The bar was good, didn't use the pool but already booked another trip here so will try it out next time. Dog friendly 👍🏼 Kids had a fab time. I would highly recommend....Read less.

"Suggestions for small improvements"

Mrs C Young - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

28/04/2017

Only things that we could really suggest is that as you are clearly expanding would be

1. More bins to put rubbish in rather than walk all the way down to the entrance.

2.Signage for chemical waste......Read more.

Only things that we could really suggest is that as you are clearly expanding would be

1. More bins to put rubbish in rather than walk all the way down to the entrance.

2.Signage for chemical waste points as the bottom Strawberry area didn't appear to have any and had to ask where it was.

3.One way system and clearly marked/painted on the tarmac? People appeared to be going in and out both ways of the Strawberry Area and when you meet another tourer its a bit tricky with lack of room to manoeuvre.past.

Lovely peaceful site and very central to all attractions....Read less.

"Nice site"

Mr A Curran - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

27/04/2017

I really like this site. Great location for the coast some great views and a safe place for the kids to run around and explore plus my daughter loves the in door swimming pool. Only downsides they......Read more.

I really like this site. Great location for the coast some great views and a safe place for the kids to run around and explore plus my daughter loves the in door swimming pool. Only downsides they don't allow open fires at tent pitches, the on site shop is pretty basic and pricey, the club house has limited entertainment and the food at the bar is a bit pricey; however the portion size is good and quality is excellent so I guess you get what you pay for.

I'd happy recommend this place...Read less.

"Smart"

C Smart - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

27/04/2017

Lovely park will definitely be back

"Bucklegrove"

P Wills - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

27/04/2017

Great holiday - we will be back!

"Lovely break near Glastonbury"

Ms L Faulkner - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

27/04/2017

We had a lovely stay at Bucklegrove Holiday Park in April 2017. This is a well kept camp site with a nice mixture of static caravans as well as tourer pitches. My family stayed in a standard caravan......Read more.

We had a lovely stay at Bucklegrove Holiday Park in April 2017. This is a well kept camp site with a nice mixture of static caravans as well as tourer pitches. My family stayed in a standard caravan which was spotlessly clean for our arrival. Very nice welcome from the owners at reception and the offer to use a bed guard for our youngest child free of charge was very kind and thoughtful. We enjoyed the pool table, swimmimg pool and play area. The campsite was very clean in all areas. The location was ideal for us to have days out in local Cheddar, Wells and Glastonbury. We would recommend anyone to stay here and we may well return ourselves next year....Read less.

"Views"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

26/04/2017

Stunning views, great off season, wouldn't stay when full of families as we are a quiet camping pair, clean tidy site, having a bath was a massive highlight, never done before, please please......Read more.

Stunning views, great off season, wouldn't stay when full of families as we are a quiet camping pair, clean tidy site, having a bath was a massive highlight, never done before, please please never get rid of it, it is unique. Will be back off peak!...Read less.

"Easter holiday"

Mr D Hart - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

25/04/2017

We had a lovely stay here at Easter great facilities provided through out would highly recommend

"Lovely stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

24/04/2017

Really enjoyed our stay, clean,helpful and very friendly...will definetly return soon.

Swimming pool encluded in price for guests, so added bonus for the kids.

"Small family holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

23/04/2017

Good small family friendly site close to mendips and cheddar gorge, fab day out.

"First visit to Bucklegrove"

Mrs E Bayley - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

23/04/2017

Overall standard of site satisfactory, however camping field for motor home s very compact and close to other campers.

Shower block , swimming pool and washing up facilities, water tepid ,swimming......Read more.

Overall standard of site satisfactory, however camping field for motor home s very compact and close to other campers.

Shower block , swimming pool and washing up facilities, water tepid ,swimming block not very warm .

Washing up area and toilets not very clean ....Read less.

Gayle Pennington, replied to this review on the 18 May 2017

Thank you for your review.

We have recently completed the first stage of our upgrading works,......Read more.

Thank you for your review.

We have recently completed the first stage of our upgrading works, including a refurbished toilet block and showers, club house and restaurant and swimming pool areas.

We hope you will visit us again and see all the new improvements we have made.

...Read less.

"Lovely site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

23/04/2017

Lovely quiet campsite, fantastic friendly staff, great for young children! only improvement I would make is adding another park/play area for slightly older kids, my son is 10 and he was too big for......Read more.

Lovely quiet campsite, fantastic friendly staff, great for young children! only improvement I would make is adding another park/play area for slightly older kids, my son is 10 and he was too big for the play area...Read less.

"no review"

Mrs S Smith - Stayed with friends, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

No review

"Great accommodation"

Dr J Winter - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

Great facilities, lovely van

Van could do with more hanging hooks and there was no tin opener

"Lovely Campsite, Great Location"

C Weir - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

This is a lovely little campsite that is kept in very good condition. The pitches were decent size and it was all kept very clean. Bathrooms were tidy and well maintained. However, I had one......Read more.

This is a lovely little campsite that is kept in very good condition. The pitches were decent size and it was all kept very clean. Bathrooms were tidy and well maintained. However, I had one lukewarm shower, one freezing shower and one hot and lovely shower. Children also loved your wildlife trail....Read less.

"Everything you need"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

We had two larger electric pitches for our Easter break with friends and family, and we had a huge amount of room. The site is compact and friendly, with all the facilities you'd need. It's......Read more.

We had two larger electric pitches for our Easter break with friends and family, and we had a huge amount of room. The site is compact and friendly, with all the facilities you'd need. It's well-maintained and pretty. The showers turn on and off (rather than the annoying push button ones) with good water pressure and temperature, and were always very clean.

The kids especially loved the woodland walk, with its animal statues and pretty flowers.

The onsite cafe/restaurant/pub has lovely staff and good pub-style food, and it's great being able to sit out on the benches outside and keep an eye on your kids in the playground.

The pool is lovely - like the rest of the site it's not huge but it's clean and well-presented, the kids loved it.

This site had everything we wanted for a weekend away....Read less.

"Visiting family."

S Davies - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

Park is OK, but not a lot for children to do.

Gayle Pennington, replied to this review on the 17 May 2017

Thank you for your review.

Our Park offers a newly revamped cub house 'The Lodge' - Bar, Grill &......Read more.

Thank you for your review.

Our Park offers a newly revamped cub house 'The Lodge' - Bar, Grill & Restaurant, and we are now holding regular music nights during the holiday periods. We also have a play area for children.

When staying at the Park we offer a 25% discount to our guests for Wookey Hole Caves & Attractions.

Nearby we are very lucky to have numerous places to visit for the day - www.visitsomerset.co.uk...Read less.

"Short break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

Pleasant surroundings.

"Well located site for the area"

Mr N Berry - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

20/04/2017

This park is well located for Cheddar and Bath. The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean and well looked after. The shower block in the top field is a little bit tired but still......Read more.

This park is well located for Cheddar and Bath. The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean and well looked after. The shower block in the top field is a little bit tired but still clean....Read less.

"1st Impressions"

Mrs Y Blackburn - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

18/04/2017

The caravan looked and smelt like we were the first to stay in it.....fantastic more than we were expecting

only two minor recommendations and that would be to add sheets to the beds rather than just......Read more.

The caravan looked and smelt like we were the first to stay in it.....fantastic more than we were expecting

only two minor recommendations and that would be to add sheets to the beds rather than just a duvet, the heaters were great i just prefer warmer bedding , and a bedside lamp in each room for reading x...Read less.

"Review"

T Allen - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

18/04/2017

There had been a mishap with our original booking and the campsite went above and beyond to rectify the situation. Can't thank them enough for that - we had an amazing week as a result of it.

"Cozy stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

11/04/2017

The cabin was perfect for our needs. Much more comfortable than camping especially with length of darkness at this time of year.

"Early Easter Overnight"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

11/04/2017

Just want to mention the excellent evening meal we had in your restaurant. Thank you.

"Great place to stay"

Mrs J Begbie-Dilks - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

08/04/2017

Excellent site

"Lovely family weekend"

Mrs E Williams - Stayed with family, Mar 2017

08/04/2017

We enjoyed a lovely family weekend at Bucklegrove. would definitely recommend to any family and if we lived closer would be visiting more often. All staff were friendly and provided a great service.......Read more.

We enjoyed a lovely family weekend at Bucklegrove. would definitely recommend to any family and if we lived closer would be visiting more often. All staff were friendly and provided a great service. Accommodation was clean and food in the bar was enjoyable. Thank you for the extra Easter Egg Hunt laid on for the children, they loved it....Read less.

"First visit under new ownership"

Mr J Roebuck - Stayed with partner, Mar 2017

07/04/2017

The site was definitely looking tired prior to the new ownership but would appear that they have already started to address that situation by revamping the reception/shop area, refuse/information......Read more.

The site was definitely looking tired prior to the new ownership but would appear that they have already started to address that situation by revamping the reception/shop area, refuse/information areas and laying gravel parking alongside some of the caravans. Whilst no doubt there is more on the agenda to come. However a big plus for many will be availability of free WiFi connection even though the literature provided on arrival did not provide indication of that service....Read less.

"Nice"

Mr C Blunn - Stayed with partner, Mar 2017

06/04/2017

Fabulous views close to Cheddar and Wells.

Unfortunately when we arrived we were told that the full facilities were not going yo be available for a couple of days as the new owners had not yet......Read more.

Fabulous views close to Cheddar and Wells.

Unfortunately when we arrived we were told that the full facilities were not going yo be available for a couple of days as the new owners had not yet completed the refurb. The basic facilities that were available to us was acceptable. I expect that when everything is up and running the site would be most attractive....Read less.

"..."

Miss G Willis - Stayed with partner, Mar 2017

05/04/2017

Excellent - we stayed for a month between moving from one place to another , the staff were lovely the facilities always clean, shame the pool and bar weren't open but as it was march and we were the......Read more.

Excellent - we stayed for a month between moving from one place to another , the staff were lovely the facilities always clean, shame the pool and bar weren't open but as it was march and we were the only people there I understand it would be pointless to open them!...Read less.

"weekend stay"

Mr I Mote - Stayed with family, Mar 2017

30/03/2017

exalent site would recommend you try very frendly staff and spotlessly clean

© 2006 - 2017 CampStead