Ullswater Holiday Park

85 Reviews

4.3 / 5 overall rating based on 85 reviews in the last 12 months

94% would recommend this site

92% would stay here again

Excellent

55%

Very Good

32%

Average

11%

Poor

1%

Terrible

0%

"August Bank Holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

10/09/2017

Best suited to families with children. Facilities stretched for the amount of campers on site. Was available at the last minute on the bank holiday weekend which was why we booked.

"Ullswater holiday park"

Mrs S Millership - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

07/09/2017

Caravan was superb fantastic views but could have been better equipped, TV quite small, kitchen utensils not many needed toaster, shower mats would be useful and lamps in bedrooms. Children's......Read more.

Caravan was superb fantastic views but could have been better equipped, TV quite small, kitchen utensils not many needed toaster, shower mats would be useful and lamps in bedrooms. Children's playground needs some hardcore or something down to stop it being mud bath but all in all lovely quiet park . Fish and chips added bonus very nice if on expensive side...Read less.

"Touring caravan review"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

05/09/2017

We stayed in a tent several years ago in a waterlogged site, still has the same drainage issues. The touring pitches notbon the main camp field are very close together and on top of static caravans......Read more.

We stayed in a tent several years ago in a waterlogged site, still has the same drainage issues. The touring pitches notbon the main camp field are very close together and on top of static caravans or what looks like a car park. Think they could be better....Read less.

"holiday"

Mrs Lowe - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

05/09/2017

Excellent holiday cottage ,views unbelievable

"Short break to ullswater camping site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

05/09/2017

Lovely location. Lovely dog friendly site cabin very clean and comfortable. Great fish and chip shop. Friendly helpful staff . Will defiantly visit again

"Always happy to teturn"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

04/09/2017

Grt place to stay. Return every year. Nice staff. Good facilities. Clean. Grt location

"Overall"

Mr D Carey - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

03/09/2017

There was not enough shower or toilet blocks, or not enough showers or toilets in those that were there, but still they were very clean. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, extremely helpful......Read more.

There was not enough shower or toilet blocks, or not enough showers or toilets in those that were there, but still they were very clean. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, extremely helpful and friendly. The site is large and spacely and plenty for kids to do with a very good playground. The fish are chip shop on site was excellent, and if I had to stay at a nearby camp site I would travel to this chip shop. Overall I would give it 8 out of 10....Read less.

"Pontins"

Mrs L Warren-Temple - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

03/09/2017

The small wash facilities at the back of the park was not big enough to cope with the amount of people.

Susan, replied to this review on the 03 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we do have 3 toilet and shower facilities on the park to cater for all......Read more.

Thank you for your feedback, we do have 3 toilet and shower facilities on the park to cater for all our customers. We will certainly take your comments on board....Read less.

"Last minute find!"

Mrs Greasley - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

02/09/2017

We booked 2 camping cabins. We were very lucky to have got available accommodation at such short notice. We were thrilled on arrival to find what looked like little hobbit houses, the kids absolutely......Read more.

We booked 2 camping cabins. We were very lucky to have got available accommodation at such short notice. We were thrilled on arrival to find what looked like little hobbit houses, the kids absolutely loved them. With the play park exactly opposite it felt like our own private space and garden. The camping cabins together are pretty far away from any other guests. With their own BBQ an pd decked area. My husband and 2 children aged 6 and 3 stayed in the one with bunk beds and our friend and 6 year old had the one with benches around, the facilities were all we could need and want, we spent the evening having a BBQ, and playing charades until it rained, we then took the party inside our cabin where there was plenty of room for all of us to play. Can't wait to return and would recommend to anyone! Thank you for a fabulous, last minute night away!

...Read less.

"Four nights at ullswater holiday park"

Mr P Hutchinson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

02/09/2017

Great holiday park, my son and I had a great time staying at ullswater holiday park, it's just a shame that the kids play area is like a mud bath, facilities are great but difficult to get a seat in......Read more.

Great holiday park, my son and I had a great time staying at ullswater holiday park, it's just a shame that the kids play area is like a mud bath, facilities are great but difficult to get a seat in the onsite club and regulars didn't seem to happy to share a table with a man and son on there own but overall we had a great time and the location is perfect....Read less.

"Needs improvement"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

02/09/2017

The play park whilst big with lots of equipment was a mud bath! It needs resurfacing with child friendly play ground rubber or something similar. The toilets were dirty (largely from all the mud) and......Read more.

The play park whilst big with lots of equipment was a mud bath! It needs resurfacing with child friendly play ground rubber or something similar. The toilets were dirty (largely from all the mud) and not enough of them. A tiny toilet block (2 toilets & 1 shower) servicing 3 big non electric camping fields, whilst amongst the static caravan (a good walk away) a big toilet block that was largely unused. The female staff in the shop and reception were friendly and helpful, and the shop was good for kids sweets and essentials. The views were great. But then it us the lake district....Read less.

Susan, replied to this review on the 02 September 2017

We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay with us. It was unfortunate that we experienced......Read more.

We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay with us. It was unfortunate that we experienced some appauling weather conditions this year previous to your stay with the amount of rain, which obviously played an important part in the conditions of the grass area of the playground.

We always try and keep on top of our wash facilities on the park and we do have members of staff cleaning the toilet and shower facilities at least 3 times daily during these peak times. We offer 3 toilet and shower facilities on the park with only a short distance between them all to cater for all our customers. We are sorry you have experienced these issues and will certainly take your comments on board....Read less.

"Family break"

M Cunliffe - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

02/09/2017

Stayed here for 3 nights over august bank holiday. Lovely site , chip shop, cafe, shop and bar with entertainment...

Close to keswick and Penrith ..

The only downfall is the showers, not enough of......Read more.

Stayed here for 3 nights over august bank holiday. Lovely site , chip shop, cafe, shop and bar with entertainment...

Close to keswick and Penrith ..

The only downfall is the showers, not enough of them and not much water coming out of them, but we all managed perfectly...

Would definitely return to this park...

😀😀😀😀😃😃😃...Read less.

Susan, replied to this review on the 02 September 2017

We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay with us. We do offer 3 toilet and shower......Read more.

We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay with us. We do offer 3 toilet and shower facilities on the park with only a short distance between them all. We are sorry you have experienced these issues and will certainly take your comments on board....Read less.

"Water logged field but can't be helped"

Mrs R Barion - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

01/09/2017

Only things I'm going to pick up on were the toilets and shower areas weren't overly clean but grass was muddy so again can't be helped just cleaner could of been more than once and also park was......Read more.

Only things I'm going to pick up on were the toilets and shower areas weren't overly clean but grass was muddy so again can't be helped just cleaner could of been more than once and also park was great but kids ranging from 5 upwards were throwing stones and mis behaving swearing etc so we avoided that area which was a shame other than that was fantastic camping holiday...Read less.

"Ullswater Holiday Park"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

29/08/2017

My partner, myself and our young daughter thoroughly enjoyed our first caravan holiday at the park, set in lovely surroundings in a beautiful part of the country. It was very relaxing. The......Read more.

My partner, myself and our young daughter thoroughly enjoyed our first caravan holiday at the park, set in lovely surroundings in a beautiful part of the country. It was very relaxing. The facilities were perfect and we had ample space for the caravan. We would definitely recommend to others and we would visit again....Read less.

"Ullswater holiday park first stay."

Mrs J Livingstone - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

29/08/2017

Well impressed ,everything clean and tidy no litter . The staff freindly helpfull , some really good pitches , water at hand . Try the fish and chips lovely. The bar area well set up lots of room......Read more.

Well impressed ,everything clean and tidy no litter . The staff freindly helpfull , some really good pitches , water at hand . Try the fish and chips lovely. The bar area well set up lots of room clean tidy ,beer nice as well. Good places for dog walks on site . Will be back enjoyed our stay on a well presented holiday park. Jim Jackie Riley the pooch...Read less.

"Lovely campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

29/08/2017

We enjoyed our stay at this campsite. The toilet floors were muddy at times - it was raining at night so is to be expected. There is entertainment on Saturday night but that was a little dated. The......Read more.

We enjoyed our stay at this campsite. The toilet floors were muddy at times - it was raining at night so is to be expected. There is entertainment on Saturday night but that was a little dated. The chippy is onsite and worth a visit - tasty and fresh! Even though you book your plot ours was too wet and so they moved us with no trouble at all....Read less.

"Uncomfortable stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

29/08/2017

Site was well set out,staff very helpful and friendly. Cottage was dreadful, cold,damp and smelly. Settee was like sitting on a box and beds very uncomfortable. We actually left halfway through week......Read more.

Site was well set out,staff very helpful and friendly. Cottage was dreadful, cold,damp and smelly. Settee was like sitting on a box and beds very uncomfortable. We actually left halfway through week as we couldn't take another night sleeping on bed. With small investment cottage could be made much more homely and comfortable....Read less.

"Camping, short stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

27/08/2017

Brilliant, friendly site.

"Road system to hire vans."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

25/08/2017

This is really nit picking as we really enjoyed every minute but the roads to get to the front caravans are a bit strange. Driving past the entrances to other people's caravans isn't ideal. We......Read more.

This is really nit picking as we really enjoyed every minute but the roads to get to the front caravans are a bit strange. Driving past the entrances to other people's caravans isn't ideal. We sometimes had to request people to move their cars so we could get through. However, this wasn't a problem and people were very accommodating....Read less.

"return visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

25/08/2017

Lovely location , views amazing,

"Caravan review"

Mr C Skrimshire - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

25/08/2017

1.insufficient cooking utensils.

2. Lacked a toaster.

3. Toilet roll holder was broken- surprised it hadn't been fixed.

4. Bedroom door sticking on carpet.

5. Otherwise excellent.

"Excellent view, fantastic chippy and not noisy!"

Mrs G Gore - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

Even great value - kids play park can get a bit boggy but it seems that this is being resolved with gravel.

"Our second visit"

Mr L Bosman - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

23/08/2017

We stayed for three weeks in the summer holidays and had a wonderful time.

The site is well-maintained, peaceful at night and has beautiful views.

"Weather Suspect but Holiday Saved by Static Caravan"

Mr D Wilkinson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

22/08/2017

Having been considering camping on the site my wife was more than a little perturbed by the weather forecast and investigated caravan availability. Fortunately I went along with her and thoroughly......Read more.

Having been considering camping on the site my wife was more than a little perturbed by the weather forecast and investigated caravan availability. Fortunately I went along with her and thoroughly enjoyed being able to keep dry whilst the wet stuff came down. The site (as usual) was very clean and well maintained. Thoroughly enjoyed the break and the excessive moisture simply made the waterfalls and lakes look even better.

...Read less.

"ullswater park experience"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

21/08/2017

Went to this park on a last minute trip to try our new awning out. Site was very cramped and not picturesque at all from our pitch. We felt like we were on a travellers site especially on the second......Read more.

Went to this park on a last minute trip to try our new awning out. Site was very cramped and not picturesque at all from our pitch. We felt like we were on a travellers site especially on the second night when the people around us changed to a family of about 4 caravans. The main problem with them was the swearing and fight that broke out at around 10 .00 on the Saturday night just as my children were returning from their last visit from the toilet. The language was disgraceful and said in a very violent tone that frightened my two boys of 11 and 13 who are not used to witnessing this sort of behaviour . Other than that the park was kept clean and tidy , although the pitch we were given was a mud slide. We managed to find enough to do around Lake Ullswater and had a great day on the Saturday exploring this close lake.Take a ground sheet if camping as our new awning was extremely dirty from 2 nights on the pitch....Read less.

"Nice site, lovely area"

Mr Budge - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

20/08/2017

Good site, good shop, nice bar, slightly disappointed with limited choice in the coffee shop but it was still low season. Hard standing pitch could have been slightly larger for length as two large......Read more.

Good site, good shop, nice bar, slightly disappointed with limited choice in the coffee shop but it was still low season. Hard standing pitch could have been slightly larger for length as two large caravans were very close together....Read less.

"early morning coffee while watching the sun rise over the fells(most days) and the perfect base for many walkes and attractions"

Mr P Dickinson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

20/08/2017

just had a fab week staying here in august,the park site is the perfect base for the north and mid lakes.staff are so friendly and helpful.shower blockes clean and tidy.on site club house/pub (and......Read more.

just had a fab week staying here in august,the park site is the perfect base for the north and mid lakes.staff are so friendly and helpful.shower blockes clean and tidy.on site club house/pub (and for those days you run out of gas half way through cooking damn it)on site fish n chip shop open till 9pm yeahhhh...Read less.

"Passing through from Scotland"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

19/08/2017

Lovely site beautiful views. Chippy great best fish ever.

"Camping pod"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

17/08/2017

Very clean and addition of wc/sink and fridge convenient. Addition of kettle would be useful

"Our stay in the lakes"

Mrs M White - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

17/08/2017

Our stay at Ullswater was excellent. The staff campsite and facilities are first class . The staff are really helpful and friendly and nothing is any trouble to them. The campsite is in a prime......Read more.

Our stay at Ullswater was excellent. The staff campsite and facilities are first class . The staff are really helpful and friendly and nothing is any trouble to them. The campsite is in a prime location to all surrounding local attractions. We would recommend this campsite to everyone and we will definitely stay there again....Read less.

"Fablous"

Mr T McMahon - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

16/08/2017

The campsite is Situated on a hillside overlooking fabulous views of lake Ullswater and the surrounding mountains.

We were surprised at the amenities the site had .. A convience store, coffee shop,......Read more.

The campsite is Situated on a hillside overlooking fabulous views of lake Ullswater and the surrounding mountains.

We were surprised at the amenities the site had .. A convience store, coffee shop, Bar and its own chip shop.

The site is well organised, with plenty of nice little touches, a great play area for kids including a zip wire, a covered area for eating which had its own charging point for phones and a microwave which anyone could use. There are toilets and wash areas situated throughout the site and all were very clean and of an excellent standard, with walk in showers.

We stayed in a tent and pitched on an overflow area which had great views of the lake and we managed to have a great nights sleep as the site was very quiet.

I have stayed in many campsites throughout England and Scotland and I have to say This is probably one of the best I've stayed at.

My only advice would be to factor in at least 20-30minutes wait to get served at the fish and chip shop as it gets busy ... But it's well worth the wait ... The food is great!!...Read less.

"Summer 2017"

Mr R Hughes - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

15/08/2017

Lovely location and lovely people. Great cottages to stay in and the site has it's own marina, which was ideal for mooring the boat during the two weeks we were there.

Downside was the very noisy......Read more.

Lovely location and lovely people. Great cottages to stay in and the site has it's own marina, which was ideal for mooring the boat during the two weeks we were there.

Downside was the very noisy fan or shower in the adjacent cottage and my wife would have liked a bath, rather than just a shower. Some extra creature comforts would be nice too: a larger fridge freezer, foot stools, coffee table. These items are just our own preference, but would not stop us staying again.

...Read less.

"Family holiday"

Mrs J Prouse - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

14/08/2017

Excellent site and caravan 4 had amazing view of the lake which we were not expecting. The play area was very muddy, but it is the Lake district so usually need your Wellington boot's. Lots of wild......Read more.

Excellent site and caravan 4 had amazing view of the lake which we were not expecting. The play area was very muddy, but it is the Lake district so usually need your Wellington boot's. Lots of wild life and views. Only down side was the kitchen not very equipped. We could have done with a toaster and more cutlery and crockery. But would just bring my own next time as will definitely be back....Read less.

"Family camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

14/08/2017

First time visited and it was lovely, beautiful surroundings just a shame it was muddy. Due to it being so muddy the play area was just a bog perhaps looking into an alternative surface? The shower......Read more.

First time visited and it was lovely, beautiful surroundings just a shame it was muddy. Due to it being so muddy the play area was just a bog perhaps looking into an alternative surface? The shower block in the middle appeared to be the older one it was kept clean but not as warm as the other two shower areas. Staff friendly and welcoming and chip shop was delicious....Read less.

"Wet weekend"

Mrs A Oshin - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

14/08/2017

Unfortunately when we stayed there had been a period of wet weather with continuous use of the pent pitch. It was quite boggy but we managed okay and the lady at reception had offered to move us......Read more.

Unfortunately when we stayed there had been a period of wet weather with continuous use of the pent pitch. It was quite boggy but we managed okay and the lady at reception had offered to move us should we need to which was good. The staff were all helpful and pleasant the only thing we weren't that impressed with was how dated, cold and in need of a revamp the toilet and shower facilities were.

The kids play area was really good and the idea of the shelted dining area outside. It was a great location for a lovely area of the lakes....Read less.

"⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️"

Mrs P Murray - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

12/08/2017

Would use this site again we stayed for a weekend unfortunately the weather wasn't great but still enjoyed it.

Also it's Dog friendly which is always a plus.

"Nice stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

11/08/2017

Enjoyed staying in camping cabin. Nice and clean, plenty of room. Would have been better if cabin located in better position in park as prefer more privacy and the site is starting to feel like some......Read more.

Enjoyed staying in camping cabin. Nice and clean, plenty of room. Would have been better if cabin located in better position in park as prefer more privacy and the site is starting to feel like some of the more over run sites but apart from this no problems. Nice helpful staff at site too....Read less.

"Enjoyed our stay"

Miss L Olver - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

09/08/2017

Enjoyed our stay, our children prefered the caravan to our home! Nice break, lovely surroundings, would recommend to others

"Recent stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

08/08/2017

The site was clean enough but with a young family there just wasn't enough for them to do. The fish & chips take away was good for one night but didn't fancy them anymore, the games room was very......Read more.

The site was clean enough but with a young family there just wasn't enough for them to do. The fish & chips take away was good for one night but didn't fancy them anymore, the games room was very disappointing- just a money pit.

The site was fine as a base to leave the caravan but not to stay on the site during the day or evening...Read less.

"Family birthday accomodation"

Mr J Wilkinson - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

05/08/2017

Two cottages rented for weekend of 70th birthday. Nice accommodation one with lake view. Good furnishings and sufficient crockery except for decent size cereal bowls. Site friendly and some child......Read more.

Two cottages rented for weekend of 70th birthday. Nice accommodation one with lake view. Good furnishings and sufficient crockery except for decent size cereal bowls. Site friendly and some child facilities and good amenities in the area. A nice place for a self catering stay in the Ullswater area with several different cottages to choose from. Would recommend....Read less.

"Could have been superb"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

05/08/2017

Very well maintained site with superb clean and modern toilets and showers. Layout very good with good roads around the site.

Let down by miserable staff. No smiles and made us feel like an......Read more.

Very well maintained site with superb clean and modern toilets and showers. Layout very good with good roads around the site.

Let down by miserable staff. No smiles and made us feel like an inconvenience to their private conversations with each other.

We were travelling in a motorhome so the lack of anything close by - preferably walking distance -meant we didn't visit Ullswater or anything else nearby....Read less.

"Excellent time"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

04/08/2017

Great play area, kids loved it!!

"Good place for families"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

04/08/2017

Enjoyed our stay and the sites facilities

"Cabin stay"

Miss L Chamberlain - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

Stayed in one of the cabins as we were attending a wedding in watermillock. Check in was friendly and efficient. The cabin was clean, spacious and perfect for our stopover. Wash block was clean and......Read more.

Stayed in one of the cabins as we were attending a wedding in watermillock. Check in was friendly and efficient. The cabin was clean, spacious and perfect for our stopover. Wash block was clean and had plenty of facilities. Didn't get chance to explore the other facilities as it was a flying visit but it all looked great and would love to come back for a proper stay!...Read less.

"Fantastic place to stay"

Mr P Cooper - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

We had a lovely time at this site, cannot find fault with anything, staff we're very friendly and helpful, there is nothing not to like about it, we will certainly be back next year

"Camping"

Mr P Cokayne - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

The park is nice, but the drainage on the pitch was poor and it was very muddy. Everything was pretty good.

"Number 1 camp site!"

Mr D Henderson - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

3rd time I've visited this site now and every time has been fantastic! Not a single floor with any minute of my visits, I would highly recommend to anyone

"Fabulous !"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

01/08/2017

Beautiful caravan with stunning views, even red squirrels! Park feels really safe with kids able to play in the park and games room. Easy access to Pooley bridge and Glenridding will definitely be......Read more.

Beautiful caravan with stunning views, even red squirrels! Park feels really safe with kids able to play in the park and games room. Easy access to Pooley bridge and Glenridding will definitely be back ....Read less.

"Holiday cottages"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

01/08/2017

We found the cottage number 9 to be very spacious and well equipped with everything you would need. We needed £1coins for the electricity and these were kindly given at reception when we booked in.......Read more.

We found the cottage number 9 to be very spacious and well equipped with everything you would need. We needed £1coins for the electricity and these were kindly given at reception when we booked in. We loved the outside BBQ area and the children loved the space to play outside in and the games room at night. Overall a great family site...Read less.

"Norman"

Mr N Owen - Stayed Jul 2017

01/08/2017

Nothing to add except everything as good as or better than expected

"Pitches"

Mrs . Lynch - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

01/08/2017

Was pitched in a section for 4 tents with ehu, found the pitches to be too close together resulting in other campers crossing over our pitch

"July break"

Mrs G Rogers - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

01/08/2017

The cottage was clean . The bathroom was clean but a smelly. Beds were rock hard . Funiture in bedroom old fashioned. The sofas were really ucomfortable to sit on. It served a purpose . But we give......Read more.

The cottage was clean . The bathroom was clean but a smelly. Beds were rock hard . Funiture in bedroom old fashioned. The sofas were really ucomfortable to sit on. It served a purpose . But we give up and came home a day early . Ideal site for camping out the way . But i wont stay here again sorry ....Read less.

"Lovely."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

01/08/2017

Lovely holiday park our cottage was very clean with great facilities. Games room was the only let down, absolutely atrocious. None of the games worked but took all your money anyway. Very poor.......Read more.

Lovely holiday park our cottage was very clean with great facilities. Games room was the only let down, absolutely atrocious. None of the games worked but took all your money anyway. Very poor. However the kids outdoor park was great, our kids aged between 3 and 13 were entertained by it. Good location to local towns and walks. Would stay here again....Read less.

"seating area required"

Mrs Halfpenny - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

01/08/2017

I have only one comment to make with regard to cottages and that is the lack of outdoor seating

"Highly recommend for visiting with younger children"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

30/07/2017

We stayed with our 3 1/2 and 6 1/2 year old and the site was ideal. Nice and quiet and the park was well equipped and well located for supervising the children. Little things like a microwave were a......Read more.

We stayed with our 3 1/2 and 6 1/2 year old and the site was ideal. Nice and quiet and the park was well equipped and well located for supervising the children. Little things like a microwave were a bonus too! Showers were great and clean. Toilet block regularly cleaned. Helpful staff. We will definitely be returning!...Read less.

"Fab playground"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

29/07/2017

This was the second time we visited this site. The play ground is the best I've seen and if the kids are happy we're all happy 😀

"Brief but enjoyable stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

28/07/2017

We stayed here after looking for a site at short notice, so it was booked without really researching on the fly. However it turned out the site was perfect for our short stay. The site has plenty of......Read more.

We stayed here after looking for a site at short notice, so it was booked without really researching on the fly. However it turned out the site was perfect for our short stay. The site has plenty of space and is well looked after. The facilities were clean, and the showers nice and hot. There is a fish and chip shop on site which proved too much of a temptation but was excellent. We would definitely return. The other slight downside is that really a car is needed, especially for motorhomers. This is just due to location which there is nothing wrong with as it is really quiet and peaceful, and the same goes for any sites in the close vicinity of which there are a few. There is a bus stop at the bottom of the road....Read less.

"Weekend away"

Mrs Robinson - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

27/07/2017

Travelling only 5 miles from home and you end up in a little bit of heaven. Staff are joy nothing is to much trouble. We visit when life gets to much rest a little,walk a little ,drink a little......Read more.

Travelling only 5 miles from home and you end up in a little bit of heaven. Staff are joy nothing is to much trouble. We visit when life gets to much rest a little,walk a little ,drink a little 😂😂😂 and the fish and chips are amazing . Won't be long before we're back...Read less.

"Lovely place"

Mrs D Dickinson - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

27/07/2017

Lovely place, kids loved it playing on the park and out on there bikes and making new friends

"Delightful, helpful staff"

Mrs Hodges - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

23/07/2017

We had an issue with the original area we had been allocated for our tent, as the family next to us had placed their tent overlapping into our area. The staff were extremely helpful in showing us a......Read more.

We had an issue with the original area we had been allocated for our tent, as the family next to us had placed their tent overlapping into our area. The staff were extremely helpful in showing us a choice of several alternative spots, any of which would have been suitable. Every member of site staff we met was pleasant and helpful.

The only unusual aspect we noticed was parents allowing their children to sit or even crawl across the basins in the washing up area! I found this behaviour unacceptable, as children's shoes have been on the ground, and parents may not clean the washing up area adequately.( I have never seen this behaviour before, in over 40 years camping, anywhere, and I saw two families doing this at Ullswater Holiday Park!)...Read less.

"SUP weekend"

Mrs C Pettinger - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

20/07/2017

Really good wash facilities. Excellent idea for the under cover eating area. Will be returning. Perfect pitch so will be requesting this again.

"Lovely family getaway"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

18/07/2017

We recently stayed in the Helmsley Lodge 3 bed caravan for 4 nights. It was great for my husband, 2 young children and I. Plenty space, nice and clean and amazing views. Staff were all friendly and......Read more.

We recently stayed in the Helmsley Lodge 3 bed caravan for 4 nights. It was great for my husband, 2 young children and I. Plenty space, nice and clean and amazing views. Staff were all friendly and helpful. We couldn't use the bar area as it didn't open until 8.30pm and the shop closed earlier than we would have liked but we would definitely stay again....Read less.

"Showers and site bins"

C Williams Party - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

18/07/2017

The shower block in the middle of the site should be updated with better pressure and hotter water systems.

The block behind reception should have adjustable water temperature in each of the showers......Read more.

The shower block in the middle of the site should be updated with better pressure and hotter water systems.

The block behind reception should have adjustable water temperature in each of the showers rather than just very hot.

Top block not used.

Maybe waste bins around the site could be changed to heavy duty plastic so they can be cleaned regularly as waste food accumulates at the bottom of the bins and as very few bin lids fit attract flies and crows.

Noticed the heavy duty bins sliding lids kept sticking so could not close properly attracting flies/crows.

As our group had a selection of tents, cottage and caravan there appeared to be an infestation of house flies in each accommodation on the site....Read less.

"Beautiful Location"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

18/07/2017

Very clean and friendly site lovely location with views over lake.

"Good site"

D Sears - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

18/07/2017

Overall a good site to stay at in a great location. Shower block near our pitch only had 1 toilet & 1 shower in gents and 2 toilets 1 shower in ladies. As a lot of camping area around this block......Read more.

Overall a good site to stay at in a great location. Shower block near our pitch only had 1 toilet & 1 shower in gents and 2 toilets 1 shower in ladies. As a lot of camping area around this block could be difficult to get in at busy times but it was clean. Cannot understand the charge for dogs as no special bins for dog waste and dog walk just a patch of overgrown land and at £3 per night for 2 Chihuahuas a bit extortionate but overall would go back again....Read less.

"Pitch"

Mrs C Priest - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

16/07/2017

Hated the pitch we were on,as it was on,y a couple of nights it didn't matter,or I would have asked to be moved, pitch 31

It was small,dark,hemmed in by leylandi trees and surrounded by park homes a......Read more.

Hated the pitch we were on,as it was on,y a couple of nights it didn't matter,or I would have asked to be moved, pitch 31

It was small,dark,hemmed in by leylandi trees and surrounded by park homes a few feet away,I on,y have a small VW campervan so would have liked to be in a more open and spacious area,

Also tents behind us were playing loud music and or tv untill very late !

If i returned I would need reassurance about pitch area and noise at night rules,...Read less.

"Caravan break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

13/07/2017

Mainly clean and tidy. , Reception and coffee shop open all day with useful maps and local info. Onsite chip shop very good Friday and Saturday evenings. Bar area could do with modernising and no......Read more.

Mainly clean and tidy. , Reception and coffee shop open all day with useful maps and local info. Onsite chip shop very good Friday and Saturday evenings. Bar area could do with modernising and no choice of real ales. Children (or their parents didn't seem to understand the No under 18s sign on the door!! Some static vans perhaps could be better looked after by their owners. But an overall pleasant site....Read less.

"Lovely mid week but too noisy weekend"

M Pye - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

13/07/2017

Really lovely site until the weekend when noisy groups turned up and it felt like 18-30 holiday despite being family groups!

"Great stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

12/07/2017

Thank you for a great stay

"A Nice Place to stay"

Mrs A Fawcett - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

10/07/2017

I have been visiting this holiday park for many years, firstly the cottages as a teen and then touring and camping with my family from young to their 20s and we still keep coming back. The park has......Read more.

I have been visiting this holiday park for many years, firstly the cottages as a teen and then touring and camping with my family from young to their 20s and we still keep coming back. The park has constantly improved over the years and we have always enjoyed our visits here although these days we prefer the quieter midweek as opposed the busier summer weekends and bank holiday we used to do....Read less.

"Have been visiting for 16 years but this is the last time."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

07/07/2017

I've been coming once or twice a year for 16 years. This year was the first time with our 6 month old baby. On the day of leaving I had a major problem with my car and was left stranded at the......Read more.

I've been coming once or twice a year for 16 years. This year was the first time with our 6 month old baby. On the day of leaving I had a major problem with my car and was left stranded at the campsite with my wife and small baby. They wanted the cabin back by 12pm which was understandable. When I asked if there was somewhere sheltered that my wife could sit with the baby for a few hours indoors out of the weather while l tried to sort out getting a car window replaced before our 6 hour drive home the response was "no there isn't". That was it, no help whatsoever. I couldn't total up how much I've spent with this organisation in all those years. As for the cabin we stayed in, they can't even be bothered to put hooks up for visitors to hang their wet coats. Won't be coming again....Read less.

"Our stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

06/07/2017

Staff on reception didn't seem quite friendly, shop closed a lot earlier than stated on windows. On the bright side bar staff very chearfull and helpful and the fish n chips were great.

"Ullswater Holiday Park"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

06/07/2017

We had a fabulous weekend with family and friends here. Lovely site and very well kept by the friendly staff.

"Excellent location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

05/07/2017

Quiet area with lovely views . Easy access to Ullswater and good walks from campsite.

"Great venue for a family party"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

30/06/2017

We were in a tourer and others in static, pod, tent, and cottage. Facilities are fine, especially space and playground for the kids. A couple of the statics make the place look a bit tatty.The......Read more.

We were in a tourer and others in static, pod, tent, and cottage. Facilities are fine, especially space and playground for the kids. A couple of the statics make the place look a bit tatty.The touring pitches are excellent with water and drainage. Great fish and chip shop and decent shop / cafe. The bar is functional but a bit dated.

Will be back as it is a great walking centre....Read less.

"Camper van weekend away"

Mr P Birbeck - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

30/06/2017

Good points:

Nice clean site, friendly staff, good shop, chip shop on site, nice toilets and showers, play park

Bad points:

Toilet block although nice inside only had one urinal, one sink and one......Read more.

Good points:

Nice clean site, friendly staff, good shop, chip shop on site, nice toilets and showers, play park

Bad points:

Toilet block although nice inside only had one urinal, one sink and one shower so at times had to wait. No entertainment in bar, half the arcade machines in the games room Didn't work, 2 large families on site who had several dogs didn't keep them under control, were off the lead a lot and even seen the owners allowing dogs to roam around the children's play area, the dogs were large dogs, didn't see any staff presence round site to stop this, we had our dog on the lead if we are they should as well....Read less.

"Great experience"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

29/06/2017

Stayed for two nights in a cabin, it was a great experience

"Lovely place"

Mr J Jackson - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

26/06/2017

Excellent site with ease to the surrounding area and spectacular views.

"Picturesque site over Ullswater"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

25/06/2017

A very picturesque site with well laid out amenities and camping spaces. Good play park for children and a club for adults (no entertainment when we were there so can't comment on that). Club a......Read more.

A very picturesque site with well laid out amenities and camping spaces. Good play park for children and a club for adults (no entertainment when we were there so can't comment on that). Club a little tired and could do with an update and a bit pricey. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The entrance is via a very steep hill about a mile uphill from the lake side. The marina belonging to the site is good if you want to access the water. Good walks from the site if you're fit. (easy on the way down!) All in all, a very nice site with occasional views of the lake....Read less.

"To me its just perfect."

Mr P Ferguson - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

23/06/2017

I have been going here since 1971 and it feels like a second home to our family, we have never had a bad experience. The staff are friendly, helpful and work hard to make the site a place to relax......Read more.

I have been going here since 1971 and it feels like a second home to our family, we have never had a bad experience. The staff are friendly, helpful and work hard to make the site a place to relax and enjoy the beautiful views. We have been fortunate to travel to many places around the world but still look forward to going to the ullswater for a "Proper English Holiday"...Read less.

"Great park to stay"

Mr A Richardson - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

23/06/2017

We found the park online and when we arrived it was wayabove our expectations . The grass hook up pitch was perfect and all nice and peaceful. The fish and chips on a Friday and Saturday were......Read more.

We found the park online and when we arrived it was wayabove our expectations . The grass hook up pitch was perfect and all nice and peaceful. The fish and chips on a Friday and Saturday were probably the best I have had in a long time. Everything in we had a great time there....Read less.

"Great camping"

Mr Newlands - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

22/06/2017

We were recommended Ullswater Holiday Park by a friend and we were not disappointed. Lovely campsite in a beautiful and accessible part of the Lake District. Plenty of room to pitch our tent,......Read more.

We were recommended Ullswater Holiday Park by a friend and we were not disappointed. Lovely campsite in a beautiful and accessible part of the Lake District. Plenty of room to pitch our tent, friendly staff, very clean facilities and a superb on-site fish & chip shop. We'll be back...Read less.

"short break in ullswater"

Mr A Coglan - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

22/06/2017

site not far on the main road alongside ullswater , check in done quickly only moan was that you were not shown to your pitch . Some were numbered some were not . Site was very clean as was the......Read more.

site not far on the main road alongside ullswater , check in done quickly only moan was that you were not shown to your pitch . Some were numbered some were not . Site was very clean as was the toilets and washrooms . Dog walking area for pet lovers . Campsite is a mix of caravans/ tents , and camping pods . Electirc pitch were very spacious . Another good point as they had a fish shop open on Friday and Saturday , bar on site though we did not try it . Would return again without hesitation ....Read less.

"Friendly site with good facilities and great chippy"

Mrs M Ainsworth - Stayed with family, May 2017

20/06/2017

Staff were friendly and the site is well maintained and clean. Good shop & chippy is excellent. Beautiful location.

"Excellent site"

Mr Armstrong - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

19/06/2017

I've been coming to this site for around 26 years and because of its friendly staff and homely feel I keep coming back. It's location is ideal as you are near to a lot of attractions or local places......Read more.

I've been coming to this site for around 26 years and because of its friendly staff and homely feel I keep coming back. It's location is ideal as you are near to a lot of attractions or local places to visit, whether your an avid hiker or walker or even if you just want somewhere nice to get away for a while then the ullswater holiday park is an ideal place to visit....Read less.

© 2006 - 2018 CampStead