Riddings Wood Caravan and Camping Park

196 Reviews

4.5 / 5 overall rating based on 196 reviews in the last 12 months

95% would recommend this site

91% would stay here again

Excellent

66%

Very Good

26%

Average

6%

Poor

1%

Terrible

0%

"Quiet wkend"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

19/10/2019

Quiet place not a lot to do on site , need to drive out to visit places , local pubs we're only a 15 minutes walk away

"Loved Every bit of it"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

18/10/2019

I will definitely be going a Gen loved all of it

"Excellent site, very friendly, nice and clean."

Mr M Sullivan - Stayed with friends, Oct 2019

10/10/2019

Had a great time camping with my friends and our dogs. Staff were helpful and friendly, site was clean and tidy. Wash facilities were spot on.

"1"

Mr S Sparrow - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

08/10/2019

1

"Nice campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

03/10/2019

We stayed here because we had family nearby it's a lovely area the campsite it very quiet, the only thing that was a bit awkward was remembering to bring a pound to have a shower, the push button......Read more.

We stayed here because we had family nearby it's a lovely area the campsite it very quiet, the only thing that was a bit awkward was remembering to bring a pound to have a shower, the push button showers are just as good, the shower block & toilets were always clean,we would definitely stay again, nice it had a play area for children & had good security with a code for the barrier to access in & out of the site...Read less.

"Great place"

Miss E Flynn - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

03/10/2019

Great campsite, highly recommended.

"Great place to take the dogs"

J Dickinson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

02/10/2019

Arrived on 23rd Sept so not too many other caravans/tents about. The site was quite all week which was nice. We stayed on a service pitch and had a lovely view over the valley. We went just for a......Read more.

Arrived on 23rd Sept so not too many other caravans/tents about. The site was quite all week which was nice. We stayed on a service pitch and had a lovely view over the valley. We went just for a chill and to walk the dogs. The woods that are accessible from the site is a great place to walk. The dogs loved it. There are other nice walks into the village and around the park. I can see the downside to the site would be in the summer when it is full of tents as there are only 3 showers in the ladies. To us it didn't matter. There a re a couple of pubs in walking distance and a corner shop but little else. I would go back again but not in high season...Read less.

"Lovely, clean, friendly site!"

N Oldfield - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Really impressed with Riddings Wood! Site was lovely, clean and staff were ever so friendly. Couple of nice pubs within walking distance. Also loved the GrillMaster onsite doing food! Thought it was......Read more.

Really impressed with Riddings Wood! Site was lovely, clean and staff were ever so friendly. Couple of nice pubs within walking distance. Also loved the GrillMaster onsite doing food! Thought it was a great idea, although wish they were trading on Sunday morning when everyone packs up...we’d have definitely bought something then, as I’m sure many others would have too! My only piece of constructive feedback was (not the sites fault) cars were going too fast when coming in and out. I know they may have only going 10-15 MPH but the limit is 5 and when kiddies are running/darting about they could be a nasty accident at some point. Please SLOW down people!...Read less.

"Very clean site with one drawback"

Mr A Scarlett - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Riddings Wood is a very clean, well maintained site. We stayed for two nights and would definitely stay again if the one drawback mentioned in the title was sorted out.

We were on one of the......Read more.

Riddings Wood is a very clean, well maintained site. We stayed for two nights and would definitely stay again if the one drawback mentioned in the title was sorted out.

We were on one of the hardstanding areas (number 10) and there was a drain cover on our piece of grass next to the hardstanding. The smell was very strong and made it unpleasant to sit outside on the grass.

Otherwise we had a really good stay - there was a burger van that did very good chips and the site was full with everybody having a good time....Read less.

"Friendly staff"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Helpful and pleasant staff. Pitches down right hand side of site never get any sun. £1 for a shower but plenty of hot water.

"Great weekend with friends"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Great site been many times,friendly staff,great play area,we will defo be back again

"Lovey clean and quiet site"

E Snowden - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

20/09/2019

We stayed here for the first time as a family with a 4m old and an 8yr old on the recommendation from Friends who also stayed with us. The site is peaceful and beautiful. The play park kept the......Read more.

We stayed here for the first time as a family with a 4m old and an 8yr old on the recommendation from Friends who also stayed with us. The site is peaceful and beautiful. The play park kept the children occupied for hours and gave us some much needed chill time. The showers are nice and warm with good power. The toilets are clean and work well. The staff are very helpful, we had a problem with our electric box (the money had run out on the meter) and they came over straight away and topped it up at past 9pm. Overall a great site and will definitely return....Read less.

"Highly recommended"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

19/09/2019

Small and scenic site surrounded by woodland to explore. A fab pub a few minutes down the road. A hidden gem

"Riddings wood"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

18/09/2019

An excellent cararvan & camping park, friendly staff & loverly wood to to walk, dog friendly. Worse a visit

"Stayed here more than once."

M Graves - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

16/09/2019

I have used the site for both a quick over night in a small tent and also for a weekend family camp. Easy access and clear marking on the hook up pitches and pleasant open field camping if no hook up......Read more.

I have used the site for both a quick over night in a small tent and also for a weekend family camp. Easy access and clear marking on the hook up pitches and pleasant open field camping if no hook up required. Toilets and wash up area also very clean. During our stay we didn't need much assistance from the site staff but we did see them throughout our stay helping other campers and delivering wood for those cosy campfires. I have also looked at, but not yet booked their new addition of the luxury cabins, they look very nice....Read less.

"Good site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

14/09/2019

Helpful and friendly staff. Very clean facilities. Flat camping pitches.

"Hardest working staff I have seen on a campsite"

Mr M Cook - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

10/09/2019

We picked this site because it is just outside the Peak District, hence it is cheaper than most and we thought it might be quieter. In reality the site attracts large groups who have no interest in......Read more.

We picked this site because it is just outside the Peak District, hence it is cheaper than most and we thought it might be quieter. In reality the site attracts large groups who have no interest in walking in the Peaks and spend all day drinking. Thankfully we were camped at the 'quieter' end of the site, though we were still kept up until 2am every night by people who don't understand rules.

I can't fault the staff, they have an extraordinarily hard job. They must have been working 16 hour days over the August Bank holiday, had they not the site would have been a disaster zone. In fact it was immaculate.

Despite the noisy groups, we enjoyed our stay but we won't return because we prefer a quieter site....Read less.

"Stay at Riddings"

R Davidson - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

07/09/2019

Excellent little quiet campsite with a relaxed atmosphere. The kids loved playing in the adjoining woods. The facilities were always clean and the staff were second to none. Jamie and Sylvie were......Read more.

Excellent little quiet campsite with a relaxed atmosphere. The kids loved playing in the adjoining woods. The facilities were always clean and the staff were second to none. Jamie and Sylvie were extremely friendly and welcoming and went out of their way for their guests whenever they could. Fabulous stay. Thank you Riddings Wood....Read less.

"Great site with friendly staff"

S Sennett - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

We visited the site on a very busy weekend

The site is very well maintained and all the facilities were kept clean and tidy

It's got some great walks directly from the site and a great local public......Read more.

We visited the site on a very busy weekend

The site is very well maintained and all the facilities were kept clean and tidy

It's got some great walks directly from the site and a great local public house for food and drinks...Read less.

"A nice clean campsite"

Mr A Manners - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

A very clean and tidy site with staff available almost all the time. It has a great play area for the kids and well placed electric pitches. We camped none electric and so was in the bottom field,......Read more.

A very clean and tidy site with staff available almost all the time. It has a great play area for the kids and well placed electric pitches. We camped none electric and so was in the bottom field, only downside was the facilities were more centred for electric pitches and was a bit of an effort for none electric campers....Read less.

"Holiday highlights"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

The hot tub was an amazing bonus, kids and us mums loved it. The surrounding area was lovely and quiet and enjoyed the fact it was separate to the camping area. Need to improve our fire making......Read more.

The hot tub was an amazing bonus, kids and us mums loved it. The surrounding area was lovely and quiet and enjoyed the fact it was separate to the camping area. Need to improve our fire making skills!!

Thanks for a lovely stay...Read less.

"Family stay"

Mr B Clay - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

03/09/2019

We stayed at ridding wood for three nights the oarkcand facilities were spotless.Jamie and his partner are very welcoming and keep the park in great shape.we will definitely stay again.only downside......Read more.

We stayed at ridding wood for three nights the oarkcand facilities were spotless.Jamie and his partner are very welcoming and keep the park in great shape.we will definitely stay again.only downside was a couple of young groups who didn't seem to understand that its "quiet time" at 11p.m apart from that great....Read less.

"Long weekend with teenagers"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

02/09/2019

This was a lovely campsite.

We pitched our tent in the non-electric field which was big and wide with soft earth. There was some gradient to the washrooms each morning and evening which was good......Read more.

This was a lovely campsite.

We pitched our tent in the non-electric field which was big and wide with soft earth. There was some gradient to the washrooms each morning and evening which was good exercise. A portaloo in the lower field would be appreciated for during the night!...Read less.

"We will come back"

D Musser - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

01/09/2019

Clean bathrooms, high standard pitches, good quality play ground for kids, friendly & helpful staff, perfect location

"Really nice clean and quiet site"

Mr S Hugill - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

01/09/2019

Stayed here for two nights on a plot with all services. Site was easy to access, reception staff very helpful and made the booking in process very quick.

Got a great plot with lovely views. Great......Read more.

Stayed here for two nights on a plot with all services. Site was easy to access, reception staff very helpful and made the booking in process very quick.

Got a great plot with lovely views. Great for walking the dog and close to get to the nearest pub, just a 10 minute walk through the woods.

Would definitely return.

...Read less.

"2 different experiences!"

Mr P Kurze - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

Stayed over the August Bank Holiday and site had a very different character over the course of the weekend.

Firstly the good stuff

Nice location which is a good base for exploring the local area.......Read more.

Stayed over the August Bank Holiday and site had a very different character over the course of the weekend.

Firstly the good stuff

Nice location which is a good base for exploring the local area. Woods adjacent to the site are nice for walking the dogs. Site is well kept and maintained.

Lots of good local attractions (Tram museam, Chatsworth etc) and amenities close by - pubs, supermarket etc.

Very nice welcome - was shown to the pitch and advised about the site etc.

And the Not so good...

So noisy on the Friday, Saturday and Sunday!! Lots of other guests on site playing loud music or talking loudly until late with no consideration for other people on site or requests from site staff to reduce the volume. Have stayed on many other busier sites at the same times of year where this was better managed. Also get road noise from boy racers speeding on the local road and trains on the railway line nearby.

Shop doesn’t stock anything apart from firewood, fizzy drinks, chocolate and ice cream which is disappointing. Fortunately, there are a couple of Coop supermarkets in the nearby towns.

Amenities block is clean but too small for the size of site at peak capacity - only 2 sinks in the washing up area and 3 toilets & showers in the gents so got overwhelmed by the volume of use. Showers are charged for at £1 for 10 mins which is fair enough but 10 mins is too long so leads to people staying in there for longer than is necessary.

On the Monday and Tuesday the site emptied out and became much quieter. Could have had a very different experience if we hadn’t visited over the Bank Holiday weekend....Read less.

Stephen, replied to this review on the 31 August 2019

Hi Paul,

Thanks for leaving us your review. We are sorry you had the negative points, I myself did......Read more.

Hi Paul,

Thanks for leaving us your review. We are sorry you had the negative points, I myself did many noise rounds on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. I tried my best to ask people to keep the music down and told off many repeat offenders. But I can only do so much.

It also helps when campers also tell other noisy campers to keep the music down, or if they have a specific noisy neighbour, then we widely publicise our emergency noise phone number which is shown on our office door and welcome info. If you had called the emergency number we would have responded straight away and dealt with individuals making noise.

Anyway, thanks for coming and we hope you choose to come back and stay with us in the future....Read less.

"Honesty"

M Thomas - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

We were very pleased with the tidiness of the park . However we were in pitch 10 which is next to the septic tank and the smell was abhorrent .

"Good place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

We have visited the site a couple of times now and always receive a lovely welcome. The site is lovely, clean and nicely spread out. The only slight downside I have with it is having to pay extra for......Read more.

We have visited the site a couple of times now and always receive a lovely welcome. The site is lovely, clean and nicely spread out. The only slight downside I have with it is having to pay extra for showers. It really should be included in the price...Read less.

"Lovely bank holiday break"

Miss W Butler - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

Site has great facilities. Local tourist attractions are close bytes

"Nice pitch"

E Devine - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

Fully serviced gravel pitch perfect !

Wouldn’t want to have been on any other pitch. Not a lot on site just a kids park as a very small amount of produce in the reception shop. Not enough showers to......Read more.

Fully serviced gravel pitch perfect !

Wouldn’t want to have been on any other pitch. Not a lot on site just a kids park as a very small amount of produce in the reception shop. Not enough showers to cater for the entire site. Also after paying over £115 for the pitch a £1 shower charge didn’t go down well!...Read less.

"Glamping"

Mrs D Hatch - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

27/08/2019

We had a great time glamping, though I felt sorry for others there as there was only a small area for all to BBQ and we seemed to take it over as we were a large group. More bbq areas needed 1 per 3......Read more.

We had a great time glamping, though I felt sorry for others there as there was only a small area for all to BBQ and we seemed to take it over as we were a large group. More bbq areas needed 1 per 3 huts max (or at least increase the seating).

Spa facilities were great but could be a little little cleaner (dead bugs and debris) - not bad enough to stop you using.

There needs to be a gate to the car park to prevent little ones wondering off. Also the construction work was not really bothering us until the last day as it was away from the huts but then they started dumping great mounds of soil near the huts, no barriers to prevent the kids wondering into the area and really ruined the last few hours of our stay. You should pre-warn people that there was construction going on.

Over all the huts were really cosy and well equipped, exceptionally clean too.

Firewood cost was extremely high, the wheelbarrows were half full at best. I would say that the bed sheets also need to be replaced they are showing their age, one set was very grey and bubbly - kids didn’t complain!

I know there are mostly negative points but we did have a lovely time.

...Read less.

"Glamping"

Mrs S Knutsen - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

27/08/2019

Fantastic for families, the pods are well equipped and extremely clean. The communal BBQ and fire pit were great and we all thoroughly enjoyed use of the hot tub. The only setback was that our......Read more.

Fantastic for families, the pods are well equipped and extremely clean. The communal BBQ and fire pit were great and we all thoroughly enjoyed use of the hot tub. The only setback was that our kitchen sink had no hot water, but I only had to boil the kettle to do the dishes so it wasn't too much of a hardship. Ensuite facilities were great, all beautifully presented. We had a great time, very laid back atmosphere, will definitely return....Read less.

"Lovely location, good value for money and clean toilet block!"

Mrs S Phillips - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

23/08/2019

Overall, a lovely, picturesque location on a small site, so felt peaceful and relaxed. Staff were friendly and helpful and the pitch we ended up with was very generous. The children's play area was......Read more.

Overall, a lovely, picturesque location on a small site, so felt peaceful and relaxed. Staff were friendly and helpful and the pitch we ended up with was very generous. The children's play area was good quality and large enough for lots of children to be entertained at the same time :-)

Couple of points - Some of the pitches looked relatively small, but perhaps they are designed for small tents? The bottom end of the field was very waterlogged due to heavy rain the night before, which made accessing and leaving without four wheel drive very tricky....Read less.

"Great little site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

We arrived when it was raining heavy but this did not stop the lovely young lady walking us to our pitch....The original pitch allocated was muddy just where we would have been stepping out of our......Read more.

We arrived when it was raining heavy but this did not stop the lovely young lady walking us to our pitch....The original pitch allocated was muddy just where we would have been stepping out of our motorhome so we asked to move to next pitch and this was no problem to them

Site is set in woodlands so it was great for walking with our two little dogs

We didnt need facilities but we looked in on them and they were of good standard with everything you could need

Only criticism I would have is that we paid for fully serviced pitch and any others we have been on you have your own tap...this was situated between two pitches so our hose would not reach...therefore we were in same position as would have been on normal pitch...

However this is a site we would definitely return to...Read less.

"Quiet weekend retreat"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

20/08/2019

Weather not brilliant but lovely quiet park

"Adequate stop gap"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

19/08/2019

The staff were so lovely and friendly. Honestly cant fault how nice and helpful they were.

We were on a serviced pitch. It wasn’t busy but seem to be given the only one that was muddy on the ‘grass’......Read more.

The staff were so lovely and friendly. Honestly cant fault how nice and helpful they were.

We were on a serviced pitch. It wasn’t busy but seem to be given the only one that was muddy on the ‘grass’ bit, meaning our awning and caravan was filthy. There was plenty of room when we were staying.

Also a foul smell of sewage the whole time we were staying there. Not nice!

There is no where we can let the dogs off to run around. They have to stay on lead everywhere.

The whole site is on a steep hill which is fine in our caravan as we were on the serviced pitch so relatively flat but I can’t imagine staying in a tent was fun.

Most people know showers are £1 for 10 minutes, we decided to use our caravan shower instead.

It was fine to stay for a few nights but I would have been more disappointed if we were there for a full week.

Having said that, there is plenty to do in the surrounding area and we enjoyed visiting family and friends so were not at the site that much....Read less.

"Smell and showers"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

19/08/2019

At first glance it is a very nice park, the staff were friendly and helpful. However, the longer we were there, the more issues arise.

They seem to be expanding their site and the woodland that was......Read more.

At first glance it is a very nice park, the staff were friendly and helpful. However, the longer we were there, the more issues arise.

They seem to be expanding their site and the woodland that was being cleared was being burnt. Smoke and ash was everywhere. No chance for is to sit outside/let our son play out. Thankfully this was only the case for the first day.

Unfortunately as the smoke smell cleared, it was replaced by a faint sewage smell. We were at the top of the park. As we walked down to the bottom where the children's play area is, the smell became more intensive. We had been told by staff that the local woods had a good walk through for exploring. Unfortunately, the entrance to the woods seemed to be where the smell was worse.

What wasn't made clear at booking (although it is on the website if you read it in full) is there is a £1/10min charge for the showers. Guess what you can smell in the showers? Not nice when you're meant to be clean! And if you don't want to pay, or have a little one to wash down, the sinks don't have plug in so you can't fill them up.

Finally, the ladies toilets ran out of soap in both dispensers. I informed staff. 2 hours later, still empty. The following day...10mins after being cleaned...still empty.

Looks pretty, smells dirty....Read less.

"Lovely site, friendly staff"

Mrs N Stear - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

17/08/2019

We stayed here last for 5 nights. The staff were really lovely and helpful all weekend. Our pitch was a really good size giving us plenty of room. Lovely, clean shower/toilet facilities and a great......Read more.

We stayed here last for 5 nights. The staff were really lovely and helpful all weekend. Our pitch was a really good size giving us plenty of room. Lovely, clean shower/toilet facilities and a great play area for the kids with lots of room to run around on the bottom field.

The only minor issue was a strong drain smell quite a bit from the toilet block.

The site could probably benefit from selling a few more essentials like bread and milk as everything is a drive away but the food van is a great addition, the food was lovely and portions were huge.

...Read less.

"Lovely site with friendly, helpful staff"

A Lee - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

16/08/2019

Jamie and Silvi, in reception, were very friendly and helpful. I couldn't connect my gas bottle and Jamie kindly came to help. Silvi suggested some great walks in the area and printed me off a......Read more.

Jamie and Silvi, in reception, were very friendly and helpful. I couldn't connect my gas bottle and Jamie kindly came to help. Silvi suggested some great walks in the area and printed me off a map.

Nice walks close by.

Toilet and shower facilities are lovely and clean with plenty of toilet paper available!

...Read less.

"Lovely Mini Break"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

16/08/2019

Great few nights in this peaceful location, a good chance to meet up with friends and relax.

The ‘Griddle Van’ was a lovely touch!

"Fantastic"

Mrs S Redfearn - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

15/08/2019

Fantastic place for camping. Staff very helpful and friendly.kids had a great time. The surrounding woods were great to explore. Showers were a great value at £1 for 10 minute. nice and clean......Read more.

Fantastic place for camping. Staff very helpful and friendly.kids had a great time. The surrounding woods were great to explore. Showers were a great value at £1 for 10 minute. nice and clean facilities.we are definitely planning a return visit....Read less.

"My review!"

G Auton - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

Lovely well maintained site.

Was on pitch 10 when we come again will not go on pitch no 10 as the smell & flies were bad...otherwise all good.

"First time visit to Ridding Wood Site"

M Wright - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

Site was quiet from road noise etc. Fully serviced pitch we were on was not ideal for erecting an awning as well because the hard standings are too narrow and grass banking are sloping. The......Read more.

Site was quiet from road noise etc. Fully serviced pitch we were on was not ideal for erecting an awning as well because the hard standings are too narrow and grass banking are sloping. The individual waste drains are too remote from caravan outlet so waste pipes didn't reach.

Although the washing/toilet block was pleasant enough of the sinks Inc washing up room had all the plugs missing.

Plenty of Rubbish bins but no option for recycling your rubbish.

The circular one way access road to the pitches was in a bad state of repair with loads of pot holes etc.

I will say the staff were friendly enough though....Read less.

"Great price"

Miss S Jervis - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

Nice surroundings and facilities, could do with more on site activities to keep children of all ages entertained. My only down side was we pitched on a field that had a slight decline which made day......Read more.

Nice surroundings and facilities, could do with more on site activities to keep children of all ages entertained. My only down side was we pitched on a field that had a slight decline which made day to day tasks more difficult due to ground being in level. Overall a very nice welcoming site....Read less.

"One night stop"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2019

11/08/2019

I was only there for one night but was very impressed and would like to go back and spend a few nights there

"Wonderful place"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

11/08/2019

We have stayed here twice now and both times have been amazing we love the place! Peaceful and relaxing with a cosy lodge and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Will definitely be......Read more.

We have stayed here twice now and both times have been amazing we love the place! Peaceful and relaxing with a cosy lodge and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Will definitely be returning again this year and highly recommend to anyone to give this place a try. The hot tub is amazing too, so if you want somewhere peaceful, relaxing, to recharge your batteries or just to reconnect with a partner, this place is ideal...Read less.

"My stay at riddings"

Mr M Gardiner - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

09/08/2019

Nice stay very helpful staff

"Pleasant stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

09/08/2019

.

"Not for couples"

Mrs G Kelly - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

09/08/2019

My husband and I stayed here with our dog for a long weekend. The facilities were good and the tent pitching field a gteat size and not over crowded. Facilities were also good if quite a walk away......Read more.

My husband and I stayed here with our dog for a long weekend. The facilities were good and the tent pitching field a gteat size and not over crowded. Facilities were also good if quite a walk away from the tent field (perhaps pre-warn people that you have to pay £1 for the showers). Handy local co-op to stock up on things. We came in school holidays which was the let down. Noise, music, screaming etc went on until nearly midnight and disrespectful families left litter laying around. There was woodland behind us and we had motorbikes roaring around in it at night too. We also tried to walk our dog in the surrounding area and this was also heavily littered with unkept footpaths which actually felt a little unsafe. Nearby is Dale Abbey which is beautiful and worth a visit. Just not the place for us but im sure its lovely for families....Read less.

"To high price for the quallity they offer"

Mrs C Cristea - Stayed Jul 2019

08/08/2019

We payed 180 for 2 nights at wooden logs ,for an self catering accomodation,but we had to buy our own frying pan because they had one tinny and horible to can prepare food on it,the cleanees on the......Read more.

We payed 180 for 2 nights at wooden logs ,for an self catering accomodation,but we had to buy our own frying pan because they had one tinny and horible to can prepare food on it,the cleanees on the log wasn't properly made it,the floor was dirty ,the bed sheets not very clean,coffe mugs same.In the pictures they have on web site looks every thing so nice and clean but when you get there is a big disapointing,they have hamoks on the pictures but non hamoks there.the shower in the Holly Lodge not working properly ,water was to hot to can have a shower.And the location is on a big main road with all the time hearing cars and motors passing.I dont recomand and won't go again....Read less.

"Great sute"

S Fairley - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

08/08/2019

Had a lovely stay here. Extremely clean and friendly, helpful staff. We overlooked the park which was great so I could always see the children playing. Only thing negative was the ground wasnt flat......Read more.

Had a lovely stay here. Extremely clean and friendly, helpful staff. We overlooked the park which was great so I could always see the children playing. Only thing negative was the ground wasnt flat but that's all....Read less.

"Jane"

J Tinkler - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

08/08/2019

Relaxing time had just the tonic to unwind not to far from home 😊

"Short stay"

T Douglas - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

07/08/2019

Ground very soft jockey wheel got stuck whilst trying to position van & it was peeing down with rain bone shower broke & they needed a good scrub .

"perfect choice for our first motor home experience"

Mrs A Coyne - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

07/08/2019

Very helpful & friendly staff- well organised and spotlessly clean.

Would definitely return & recommend.

One slightly negative comment - paying a pound for each shower

"First Visit"

J Chandler - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

06/08/2019

Beautiful surroundings and good basic facilities. Two pubs in walking distance but neither offering food on a Monday night but local Chinese delivered first class meal to site.

"Great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

06/08/2019

Return visit and all had a great stay. Staff extremely friendly and facilities keep clean and tidy.

"Excellent camp site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

05/08/2019

Only stayed for 2 nights however I was impressed with the site. The staff were great and the toilets / showers were very clean. We took our dog who enjoyed the woods which surround the site. Loved......Read more.

Only stayed for 2 nights however I was impressed with the site. The staff were great and the toilets / showers were very clean. We took our dog who enjoyed the woods which surround the site. Loved the the local pub which is only a 5 minutes walk. Will definitely revisit....Read less.

"Great site with good customer service"

Anonymous - Stayed Jul 2019

05/08/2019

Well kept and secure park. Great facilities and clean. Good customer service with attentive staff.

"Peace and tranquility"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Awesome campsite for tents caravans/motorhomes. There's fully equipped glamping cabins and newer, bigger holiday lodges are being built. The grass pitches are slightly sloping but there's so much......Read more.

Awesome campsite for tents caravans/motorhomes. There's fully equipped glamping cabins and newer, bigger holiday lodges are being built. The grass pitches are slightly sloping but there's so much space on them you can position a tent whichever way round you like. The staff are the friendliest and most helpful we've come across and went out of their way to make our holiday perfect. Will definitely be back as soon as there's availability!!...Read less.

"Great site"

Ms H Hird - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Very helpful staff and lovely clean campsite

"Good park, good location"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

We enjoyed our stay here - the only real disappointments were the shop and lack of choice and the wash facilities where you had to pay to use the shower! Three shower cubicles also seemed a little......Read more.

We enjoyed our stay here - the only real disappointments were the shop and lack of choice and the wash facilities where you had to pay to use the shower! Three shower cubicles also seemed a little low considering the size of the camping area....Read less.

"Overall Personal opinion"

Mrs K Taylor - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

The site is clean and tidy however the toilets/showers was only cleaned once a day this is reasonable in low season but in high season they need cleaning at least twice a day the shop needs to sell......Read more.

The site is clean and tidy however the toilets/showers was only cleaned once a day this is reasonable in low season but in high season they need cleaning at least twice a day the shop needs to sell the basics milk, bread, etc I won't be booking again the only reason for this it that there is loads of campsites around the UK and I would like to try and visit most of them....Read less.

"Fab campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

It was a great campsite, really friendly, tidy and clean! Toilet block was regularly getting cleaned! Play area was great for kids too! Only thing I would mention was the hose on the drinking water......Read more.

It was a great campsite, really friendly, tidy and clean! Toilet block was regularly getting cleaned! Play area was great for kids too! Only thing I would mention was the hose on the drinking water tap was too long and was touching the floor and going in the drain etc needs cutting for hygiene...Read less.

"19 SFS Reunion."

S Linton - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Very nice site, really friendly helpful staff.

Good washroom facilities.

£1 for a shower is a bit steep, would have thought this should be included in price for stay.

"Hopkins"

Mrs S Hopkins - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Another fab stay. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. We love it at Riddings. Thank you.

"The Lodges"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Whilst we loved the lodges and they were very clean the bedding and sofa bed were stained which was a shame and a bit off-putting!

"Downside of visit"

N Fountain - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

23/07/2019

On your information sheet it stated all dogs must be on leads at all times.There were several dogs around the campsite not on leads and not on leads around the childrens play area.Is it one rule for......Read more.

On your information sheet it stated all dogs must be on leads at all times.There were several dogs around the campsite not on leads and not on leads around the childrens play area.Is it one rule for one and another for everyone else.Some other sites we have visited have had a doggie play area for those wishing to exercise their pets in an enclosed area and children can play in a safe environment.

This said we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will come again.Lovely site....Read less.

"Family weekend away. Happy days"

Mr A Burnett - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

18/07/2019

Nice site. Great staff

Stephen, replied to this review on the 18 July 2019

many thanks Stephen, we loved meeting you.

"Highly recommended"

H Morgan - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

18/07/2019

Helpful, friendly staff

Clean facilities

Great price

Accepts dogs - fab!

Play area for the kids - fab!

Stephen, replied to this review on the 18 July 2019

Thanks Hannah for the lovely review.

"Fab place great people"

S Haywood - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

16/07/2019

The areas that scored 2 were only that because there wasn’t the option to but not applicable. There wasn’t any ‘entertainment’ and we weren’t aware of any local activities

"1 night stay"

S Stove - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

14/07/2019

tranquil and picturesque site, staff go above and beyond for you. i was late and they waited around for me. some pitches are on a incline which is a pain. i was on a fully serviced pitch. would not......Read more.

tranquil and picturesque site, staff go above and beyond for you. i was late and they waited around for me. some pitches are on a incline which is a pain. i was on a fully serviced pitch. would not recommend pitch 10 due to smell. i would return again, the staff are so nice....Read less.

"Lovely break away"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

12/07/2019

Lovely campsite and great staff. Toilets often not flushing well causing them to be dirty at times. Was sorted towards end of our stay. Showers also a little right for space!

"Weekend fun"

Mrs J Biddles - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

12/07/2019

The staff where very helpful, they printed map off for us to get to stream railway, they gave us tips on pubs for food, by the way the Thack pub is amazing, the landlord was very friendly, the food......Read more.

The staff where very helpful, they printed map off for us to get to stream railway, they gave us tips on pubs for food, by the way the Thack pub is amazing, the landlord was very friendly, the food was delicious and the service was impeccable, loved it, will be returning to site again.

Big thanks your all awesome 😎...Read less.

"A week end stay."

Mr T Sadler - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Staff were brilliant, as were the facilities for the most part. The pitch area was good and spacious, having said that and given 5 stars for most of the questions there are some down sides. It's a......Read more.

Staff were brilliant, as were the facilities for the most part. The pitch area was good and spacious, having said that and given 5 stars for most of the questions there are some down sides. It's a family site so you expect children to be letting off steam and making noise, but not until gone midnight when you want to sleep is too much, especially when accompanied by the constant "de de de" from a set of speakers. Not the children or the staff, it's the adults, who generally keep the children going, because they want to sit chat, dance and drink. Not wrong but if you are going to have a quiet field make sure its quiet. The other big bare was that their was the background waft from the cesspit/ sewage processor, which needed much needed...Read less.

"Riddings Wood"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Had a lovely time at Riddings Wood. There is nothing to do locally but we just needed a test run to try the tent. The park was good and the field kept nice and tidy. It’s very loud at night even......Read more.

Had a lovely time at Riddings Wood. There is nothing to do locally but we just needed a test run to try the tent. The park was good and the field kept nice and tidy. It’s very loud at night even though there are signs saying quiet time is at 11pm. It went on till midnight the two nights we were there. The shower cubicles are very small. Friendly and helpful staff....Read less.

"Georgie and co"

Mr G Meldrum - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Very pleasant always nice staff clean and tidy well worth a visit

"Good"

Mr M Turner - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Good

"Nice place"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

As above

"Overnight stay"

T Prendergast - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Nice campsite with friendly staff. Disappointed with state of washing block but more so that I had to pay a £1 for a shower. This is mostly contained in the pitch fee so I wasn’t happy at all with......Read more.

Nice campsite with friendly staff. Disappointed with state of washing block but more so that I had to pay a £1 for a shower. This is mostly contained in the pitch fee so I wasn’t happy at all with this....Read less.

Stephen, replied to this review on the 20 July 2019

Hello Terry,

Thank you for your feedback. We're very sorry to hear that our facilities didn't meet......Read more.

Hello Terry,

Thank you for your feedback. We're very sorry to hear that our facilities didn't meet your expectations. We check and clean them very regularly (at least four to five times a day) especially during busy period such as during your stay. Unfortunately, there may be time when we miss things so it's a shame you didn't come to see us in reception to let us know so we could have remedy to the situation straight away.

Our prices are very competitive compared to other campsites in the region. Making pay for showers was a very hard decision to make; it means that we can not only save on water and reduce our environmental impact but, most importantly, it means that our customers don't have to wait (or not too long) for showering, especially in busy periods.

We would have been happy to discuss the matter on the day with you, it’s a shame you didn’t come to our office/reception to let us know. We hope that it hasn’t put you off coming back to our site.

...Read less.

"Riddings Wood camping"

Mr R Oakes - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

10/07/2019

Whilst overall I was extremely satisfied with the friendly and helpful staff, location, camping and facilities I felt that the park was let down by the number of dogs allowed to wander free. As I dog......Read more.

Whilst overall I was extremely satisfied with the friendly and helpful staff, location, camping and facilities I felt that the park was let down by the number of dogs allowed to wander free. As I dog lover and a previous dog owner I was annoyed that some dogs were allowed to wander free and leave mess which wasn't cleaned up by the owners. With children playing in the area this was not good....Read less.

Stephen, replied to this review on the 20 July 2019

Hello Richard,

Thank you for your lovely comments and feedback. We are a dog friendly campsite and......Read more.

Hello Richard,

Thank you for your lovely comments and feedback. We are a dog friendly campsite and we do stress to everyone who arrives with a dog that they must be kept on a lead and all mess MUST be cleaned up after. However, sometimes people don't always abide by the rules, and we don't always see the mess during busy weekends, until we do our big litter pick / cleanup on a Sunday morning. We encourage campers who do see dog mess around the site to please let us know in reception and we will act on it immediately. We are sorry in this case that we missed it. We hope this hasn't put you off coming back to our site....Read less.

"Excellent"

Mr M Steer - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

04/07/2019

Very good reception on arrival by staff, was given all information needed, guided to parking area. Very good wash & toilet area's

"Nice friendly campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

04/07/2019

Great campsite with good facilities - washing machine , freezer etc. Good wash facilities - would be made even better with a couple of extra showers - make sure you bring £1 for the showers too!......Read more.

Great campsite with good facilities - washing machine , freezer etc. Good wash facilities - would be made even better with a couple of extra showers - make sure you bring £1 for the showers too! Would be even better with hairdryers in the women’s wash facilities rather than just the men’s! Overall a lovely stay and great for children with lots of roaming space , a great park area and woods to explore in! Would definitely return and they staff are extremely helpful and friendly....Read less.

"Riddings wood"

Mr & Mrs C Perry - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

04/07/2019

Very pleasant stay,lovely spot ,very friendly staff will go again cheers

"Great campsite"

R Coyle - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

04/07/2019

We've stayed twice now and both times had a really good stay, the facilities are great, the kids play area is fantastic and my kids enjoyed playing in the local woods next to the site, there are lots......Read more.

We've stayed twice now and both times had a really good stay, the facilities are great, the kids play area is fantastic and my kids enjoyed playing in the local woods next to the site, there are lots of great attractions within 30 mins drive, a good local takeaway that delivers, good local pubs, nothing to fault.make sure you take plenty of £1 coins to operate the shower!...Read less.

"A really great caravan park in a lovely area"

Mrs A Hogan - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

01/07/2019

Because of problems with our campervan, we only stayed one night but Jamie was really helpful in trying to resolve the heating in our van. He went the 'extra mile' in accessing information and spent......Read more.

Because of problems with our campervan, we only stayed one night but Jamie was really helpful in trying to resolve the heating in our van. He went the 'extra mile' in accessing information and spent ages doing his best for us. We very much appreciated his help and, because the park is so lovely and has good facilities, we will definitely go back soon....Read less.

"First Time Camping"

Mr C Barlow - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

28/06/2019

I took my 9 year old son camping for the first time at Riddings Wood as it was a short distance from where we live and it came recommended. The staff are very friendly, helpful and took us straight......Read more.

I took my 9 year old son camping for the first time at Riddings Wood as it was a short distance from where we live and it came recommended. The staff are very friendly, helpful and took us straight to our pitch. The campsite and the facilities are very clean and there’s a lot of space between each pitch.

We thoroughly enjoyed our little trip to Riddings and would definitely return again....Read less.

"Great weekend!"

L Myshrall - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

27/06/2019

Booked this campsite as it allowed a big group and campfires! Is a lovely campsite and the couple who run it work so hard and are super friendly. The toilet and shower block is one of the nicest I......Read more.

Booked this campsite as it allowed a big group and campfires! Is a lovely campsite and the couple who run it work so hard and are super friendly. The toilet and shower block is one of the nicest I have seen on a campsite. Great value for money too. We will return for sure :-)...Read less.

"Great stay!"

Mrs G Hardy - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

27/06/2019

Would highly recommend

"2 Night campervan stay."

Mr C Warriner - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

25/06/2019

Can't fault the site one bit, shower block excellent, obviously cleaned regularly, site nice cosy size, very well maintained, only down side, the size of the shop, need to drive out for provisions,......Read more.

Can't fault the site one bit, shower block excellent, obviously cleaned regularly, site nice cosy size, very well maintained, only down side, the size of the shop, need to drive out for provisions, but, go prepared and everything fine....Read less.

"Beautiful site"

M McWilliams - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

21/06/2019

Excellent site in all areas only thing to dislike is £1 for shower most other sites this is included in price

"Good facilities, lovely views, value for money"

Mr P Robinson - Stayed Jun 2019

20/06/2019

Good facilities, lovely views, value for money.

"Weekend stay"

Miss A Stickler - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

20/06/2019

Lovely clean campsite with great facilities. Loved the buffet van for breakfast saved us cooking for the visitors we had. Very reasonable priced and tasty. Would definitely stay again

"Excellent site but"

C Lambe - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

20/06/2019

Excellent site only comment it's a £1 for s shower and water comes out really slowly not worth the pound should be in with price

"Birthday treat"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

17/06/2019

Went for my partners birthday to stay in a wood cabin, very nice and clean... hot tub was brill too! And to top it off the staff i delt with was very nice and warming :)

"Smelly, uneven, steep with poor customer service"

Mr O Pellet - Stayed with family, May 2019

15/06/2019

Pitch was massively uneven and steep to the point that we had to use 2 ramps and an extra foot of blocks on the rear end while the hitch end was touching the ground. As a result we couldn’t set up......Read more.

Pitch was massively uneven and steep to the point that we had to use 2 ramps and an extra foot of blocks on the rear end while the hitch end was touching the ground. As a result we couldn’t set up our awning. Site refused to refund us despite the fact that we tried to set it up and it kept falling. All the more expensive serviced pitches were perfectly level though...... There was a persistent disgusting smell from the septic tank and toilets had human faeces on the floor for an entire day. Showers were not cleaned enough (I had to use the mop myself) despite having to pay an extra £1 for 10 minutes of use. Police were on site about someone trying to talk to kids inappropriately from outside the site. Poor security measures perhaps?? All in all a cheap site but not worth it with the steepness, stink of human waste and poor customer service....Read less.

"Riddings Wood Caravan park"

Mrs E Stocks - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

14/06/2019

We had booked for two nights, we then decided to stay an extra night. Staff were more than helpful and the site is beautiful. The view from the site is lovely. Unfortunately the weather was not good,......Read more.

We had booked for two nights, we then decided to stay an extra night. Staff were more than helpful and the site is beautiful. The view from the site is lovely. Unfortunately the weather was not good, but the Sunday was beautiful. Highly recommend this site and will definitely stay again....Read less.

"Brilliant"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

13/06/2019

Excellent place couldn’t recommend it enough if fantastic for the kids and the kids love it

"Fabolous little find"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

10/06/2019

We stayed for 3 night in may , we loved it so much as soon as we got home we told familey about it and we all booked to go again in mid june.

Great for famileys campfire and a cold drink kind of......Read more.

We stayed for 3 night in may , we loved it so much as soon as we got home we told familey about it and we all booked to go again in mid june.

Great for famileys campfire and a cold drink kind of camping ;)...Read less.

"Friendly little site"

Mr D Dreggs - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

08/06/2019

A really nice little site. Could do with a few little repairs before peak season with doors not locking on showers and hair dryers not working. But all in all a nice little site with friendly staff.......Read more.

A really nice little site. Could do with a few little repairs before peak season with doors not locking on showers and hair dryers not working. But all in all a nice little site with friendly staff. A good base camp for heading out to the Peak District....Read less.

"Weekend away"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

07/06/2019

Lovely quiet campsite. We had a fully serviced pitch and were really happy with it. Toilets and showers very clean and never to busy.

"Park lovely-neighbouring tent not so much."

Miss T Hancock - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

07/06/2019

Came to Riddings wood to test out our new camping gear as it’s close by-only 20 minutes away. Impressed with layout, cleanliness etc. Got a lovely non electric spot in the bottom corner. A group of......Read more.

Came to Riddings wood to test out our new camping gear as it’s close by-only 20 minutes away. Impressed with layout, cleanliness etc. Got a lovely non electric spot in the bottom corner. A group of about 10 adults turned up and were so noisy. They were shouting and swearing until gone midnight. They could clearly see we had a child with us but had no respect to keep the language down. They put up a windbreak and used the area as a toilet-I had the unfortunate delight of seeing one of the girls standing up and throwing tissue/wet wipes over the hedge into the bushes/wooded area. I think they went to the woods to do it as well as when I went for a walk with my son-there were dirty tissues and other ‘signs’. This was the only downside for us. It’s no reflection on the park or staff. However there are signs up stating after 11pm is quiet time so maybe the staff should have had a word? I didn’t want to as they were hammered and it wasn’t our job to. felt more sorry for an older couple who were slightly closer to them. Park overall was lovely and I’d definitely go back. Would just avoid the bottom right corner next time 😖...Read less.

"Great campsite set in woodlands"

Miss L Janiec - Stayed with partner, May 2019

07/06/2019

We were looking for a quick getaway for out first camping trip of the year. It’s a lovely clean site that is well maintained. The staff are very friendly and the local eggs for sale are delicious.......Read more.

We were looking for a quick getaway for out first camping trip of the year. It’s a lovely clean site that is well maintained. The staff are very friendly and the local eggs for sale are delicious. There are lovely woodland walks and a few pubs and shops nearby although we did not visit the libs as we made the most of the site with the weather being warm. We had pitch 79 and would definitely come back....Read less.

"Lodge review"

L Hampson - Stayed with family, May 2019

06/06/2019

Lovely idyllic place for a break with family

"lovely caravan park"

S Wainright - Stayed May 2019

06/06/2019

a lovely caravan park hoping to stay there again this weekend the staff was very helpful and kind I would recommend this park to anyone interested in a quiet and beautiful surroundings

"Clean and warm lodges"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

05/06/2019

Stayed for 3 nights in 3 lodges (extended family group). Lodges are relatively basic but had all facilities we required. Clean and tidy upon arrival. Loved the hot tub. Staff friendly and......Read more.

Stayed for 3 nights in 3 lodges (extended family group). Lodges are relatively basic but had all facilities we required. Clean and tidy upon arrival. Loved the hot tub. Staff friendly and informative. Great to sit out in communal area around the fire pit. Enjoyed our stay....Read less.

"Brilliant site"

Mrs E Grayson - Stayed with family, May 2019

05/06/2019

Riddingswood is a lovely camp site. Very clean and secure, helpful friendly staff. Good clean washing facilities and toilets. Play area for children. Overall very happy and thoroughly enjoyed our......Read more.

Riddingswood is a lovely camp site. Very clean and secure, helpful friendly staff. Good clean washing facilities and toilets. Play area for children. Overall very happy and thoroughly enjoyed our stay....Read less.

"Wooden huts"

V Jones - Stayed with family, May 2019

02/06/2019

Stayed in the wooden huts - fab! Site also lovely

"Bank holiday break"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2019

01/06/2019

Very nice campsite friendly staff good location great quality play area for children plus a rope swing in the woodland area for both adults and children !!

"Enjoyable stay"

Miss C Bradley - Stayed with family, May 2019

01/06/2019

We really enjoyed our stay at this site in our caravan.

The staff were very helpful & friendly.

The site is well laid out with generous pitch sizes.

Toilet & shower facilities were kept clean.

There......Read more.

We really enjoyed our stay at this site in our caravan.

The staff were very helpful & friendly.

The site is well laid out with generous pitch sizes.

Toilet & shower facilities were kept clean.

There is a wooded area to walk the dogs in, plenty of field & play area for the kids & pubs within walking distance.

Only two points to raise.......a dog waste bin would have been appreciated & would perhaps encourage owners to pick up (I must add there wasn’t any dog foul around the site), secondly there was an occasional drain smell drifting round - I’m unsure whether this was because it was a busy Bank Holiday & the toilets were getting a lot of use or whether it is always there.

We will definitely return to this site though....Read less.

"Lovely stay"

Mrs J Wilkinson - Stayed with friends, May 2019

01/06/2019

We have stayed at Riddings Wood a few times and have enjoyed all our stays.

The facilities are more than adequate and the play area is perfect.

The pitches would benefit from a little more......Read more.

We have stayed at Riddings Wood a few times and have enjoyed all our stays.

The facilities are more than adequate and the play area is perfect.

The pitches would benefit from a little more levelling as it takes some time getting the caravan seated right which then affects the fit of the awning....Read less.

"Lovely campsite"

Mrs A Churm - Stayed with friends, May 2019

31/05/2019

The only negative would be the sloping pitches!

"Family of four"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

31/05/2019

Sewage smell on site. Dirty toilet and showers. Had to lift waste master to empty. Play area boundary needed maintenance as timbers had warped.

"Lovely setting"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

31/05/2019

Didnt like paying for the showers

"Lovely place to stay"

S Wilson - Stayed with partner, May 2019

26/05/2019

Lovely place to stay staff very friendly and helpful pleasant quiet and clean site

"Clean camp great toilets"

Miss N Brookes - Stayed with family, May 2019

24/05/2019

Great campsite. Best toilet facilities I've found so far on my camping trips.

Very quiet site

"Weekend Break"

A Gray - Stayed with partner, May 2019

24/05/2019

The site was well maintained, WiFi was scratchy at times, some of the pitches were very slopy and we struggled to fit our car on the pitch, if we had taken an awning it wouldn’t have fit.

Please......Read more.

The site was well maintained, WiFi was scratchy at times, some of the pitches were very slopy and we struggled to fit our car on the pitch, if we had taken an awning it wouldn’t have fit.

Please check when booking the pitch you need.

Other than that I would go back for a short break...Read less.

"Pitch"

Mr P Meeney - Stayed with partner, May 2019

23/05/2019

We where on number 10 pitch and couldent decide where the sewage smell was coming we thought it was our gas leaking. But it was because we had the man hole right next to pitch and the exttacter......Read more.

We where on number 10 pitch and couldent decide where the sewage smell was coming we thought it was our gas leaking. But it was because we had the man hole right next to pitch and the exttacter pite was up in the Bush this is the only thing we had fault we o ly stayed over.night will go agai. But not on pitch 10 lovely staff...Read less.

"Park visit"

Mr K Bretherton - Stayed with partner, May 2019

23/05/2019

The park is very well maintained and very clean. Downside for me was that not all tent pitches were level. The showers were spotless but I would suggest installing a small bench/seat to enable you......Read more.

The park is very well maintained and very clean. Downside for me was that not all tent pitches were level. The showers were spotless but I would suggest installing a small bench/seat to enable you sit whilst drying your feet.. The snack wagon (open at weekends was a bonus)....Read less.

"Stopover site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

18/05/2019

Very good stopover site on the way to the peak district.

"Campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

17/05/2019

Extremely welcoming and friendly staff. Great location for children especially the woods and playground. The only thing that could be improved was that the hairdryers didn’t work.

"Weekend break"

Mr R Stone - Stayed with partner, May 2019

17/05/2019

Stayed at riddings camp site and what a beautiful site and fantastic staff so helpful and very clean would certainly go again

"Lovely location, well run site. Highly recommended."

R McKay - Stayed May 2019

16/05/2019

I was warmly welcomed and felt very safe on the site. I had a perfect fully serviced pitch and the setting amongst the trees is really lovely. Even when the site is busy it feels spacious and quiet.......Read more.

I was warmly welcomed and felt very safe on the site. I had a perfect fully serviced pitch and the setting amongst the trees is really lovely. Even when the site is busy it feels spacious and quiet. The village is 5 minutes walk away with pubs, shops and public transport is good. I was impressed by the facilities which were immaculately clean. I was working locally but would love to return on holiday! Thank you....Read less.

"A welcome celebration"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2019

16/05/2019

We booked to celebrate our friends anniversary weekend.

We were pleased with communications when booking.

We were very happy with the lovely welcome we received from Sylvie and Jamie. They were very......Read more.

We booked to celebrate our friends anniversary weekend.

We were pleased with communications when booking.

We were very happy with the lovely welcome we received from Sylvie and Jamie. They were very helpful and friendly over the whole weekend. They were flexible about our leaving time on the Sunday which was so helpful for us. We'd go back because they are there.

We enjoyed exploring the local area and local walks....Read less.

"Relaxing Stay"

Miss A Christofi - Stayed with family, May 2019

16/05/2019

We arrived at the park to be greeted by 2 friendly and helpful staff members. The location was quiet and beautiful, the woods nearby are lovely, lots of beautiful bird sounds. We would definitely......Read more.

We arrived at the park to be greeted by 2 friendly and helpful staff members. The location was quiet and beautiful, the woods nearby are lovely, lots of beautiful bird sounds. We would definitely recommend staying here. Thank you....Read less.

"Abbey Gates Camping Crew"

Mrs J Meads - Stayed with friends, May 2019

16/05/2019

The children loved the woods and the play park - we would definitely come again,

"Lovely site"

Mrs L Aucote - Stayed with family, May 2019

16/05/2019

Beautiful site, showers and amenities were really clean, lovely woods really pretty, staff were nice and friendly and helpful when we got to pitch and found out a large group had took over the pitch......Read more.

Beautiful site, showers and amenities were really clean, lovely woods really pretty, staff were nice and friendly and helpful when we got to pitch and found out a large group had took over the pitch we was ment to be on, was a quick fix tho, we found a nice spot that was actually nicer then the original one. had stunning views over the field down towards the well equipped play area. If I had to complain about anything it would be that the site is on a hill so u cant help but be pitched wonky, but I'll just remember bring none slip mats for the tables next time....Read less.

"Nice place shame about the staff Need more training"

Mrs J Wright - Stayed with family, May 2019

14/05/2019

The staff at the site didn’t seem to know much about what they were doingThat was on during the bank holiday weekend

"Lovely site ! Spotless ! Well worth a visit !"

A Aaron - Stayed with partner, May 2019

10/05/2019

Lovely site, Shower block was very clean, piped music and always warm, Great sized hard standing serviceable pitches, Lovely countryside views from the site. The staff were very helpful and friendly......Read more.

Lovely site, Shower block was very clean, piped music and always warm, Great sized hard standing serviceable pitches, Lovely countryside views from the site. The staff were very helpful and friendly ! We will definitely be returning....Read less.

"Nice Campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

10/05/2019

Lovely Campsite, clean Facility’s.

"Great friendly site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

10/05/2019

Great site, very friendly and accommodating staff. Very clean and tidy, great shower and toilet block. Good play area for the kids. Will definitely go back and would highly recommend.

"Relaxing stay but lots to do"

Miss S Baines - Stayed May 2019

09/05/2019

This is my 3rd visit to Riddings site in the lodges and I was delighted to see that it was still being maintained to a very high standard in both cleanliness and the facilities in the lodge even......Read more.

This is my 3rd visit to Riddings site in the lodges and I was delighted to see that it was still being maintained to a very high standard in both cleanliness and the facilities in the lodge even after being open 3 years in July. The lodges are located at the top of the campsite near the entrance in a nice wooded area and is quite private to the rest of the site making a nice relaxing atmosphere. The fire pit n bbq area is always spotless n for sole use of lodge guests as is the hot tub.

The site is a wonderful hidden gem which is central to lots of attractions and I will be soon booking my 4th visit for later this year.

...Read less.

"Nice quiet weekend break"

Mr R Dolan - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

02/05/2019

Been coming once a year for a weekend with the kids, lovely place peaceful and kids enjoy the freedom.

"Good family campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

02/05/2019

But please get a water standpipe (or two) in lower part of field and switch off the lights at night. Way too much light pollution.

"Lovely retreat"

Miss H Hawley - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

02/05/2019

Only spent one night in n a lodge for a getaway and was lovely and peaceful nice surroundings. Lodge was small but didn’t matter the bed was really comfy and cosy! We think the tv should be......Read more.

Only spent one night in n a lodge for a getaway and was lovely and peaceful nice surroundings. Lodge was small but didn’t matter the bed was really comfy and cosy! We think the tv should be positioned differently and be on the wall nearer bed so can lie and watch in bed but that’s just a personal preference. Hot tub was hot and bubbly just right . Perfect night away😃...Read less.

"Excellent camping place"

Mrs C Somek - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

02/05/2019

We had a great time. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The site was clean and the park was perfect for the kids.

"Our fist visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

01/05/2019

Very good site. A play park for the kids and surrounded by great woods for walks. A good friendly local pub a few minutes walk away. Great washing facilities, although on one day the showers where......Read more.

Very good site. A play park for the kids and surrounded by great woods for walks. A good friendly local pub a few minutes walk away. Great washing facilities, although on one day the showers where full of grass and overflowing, which was the only bad point of the all weekend. Our first visit and we will be back soon....Read less.

"EASTER WEEKEND FANLEY GETTO GETHER"

B Petty - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

30/04/2019

WE HADE A family GET TOGETHER THE WEATHER WAS PERFECT HAD B Qs we all had a fantastic time thank you

"Small simple lovely site."

T Pleasant - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

28/04/2019

Great place to just chill. Not loads of activities but just what we like. Thank you.

"Great meeting point for family and friends"

S Britt - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

27/04/2019

We had a lovely stay. Toilets were clean and warm although on a couple of occasions many of the cubicles were left without loo roll (it was a busy Easter weekend though) and the showers seemed to......Read more.

We had a lovely stay. Toilets were clean and warm although on a couple of occasions many of the cubicles were left without loo roll (it was a busy Easter weekend though) and the showers seemed to flood. Although a busy site it was quiet beyond 10pm. Plenty of things to do in the surrounding area. Would recommend....Read less.

"Weekend break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Camp is on a slop, but got wonderful views, would highly recommend

"Easter visit"

Mr B Boyle - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

***

"Great for visiting surrounding attractions"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Campsite was clean and there was plenty of space considering it was Easter weekend. Kids loved the play area. Showers had a tendency to flood and sometimes there was no toilet paper

"Not as a clean as you'd want"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Smelly toilets, unclean broken showers, smell of sewage and no soap.

The site is in a nice location and the male staff member was friendly and helpful but the female receptionist was quite rude and......Read more.

Smelly toilets, unclean broken showers, smell of sewage and no soap.

The site is in a nice location and the male staff member was friendly and helpful but the female receptionist was quite rude and miserable.

Lovely woodland surrounding it and a nice atmosphere....Read less.

"Just a perfect long weekend"

Mrs G Price - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

We booked at Riddings Wood to meet up with friends, staff were very helpful when we enquire and made sure we were all together and close to the park for the children. Facilities are clean and well......Read more.

We booked at Riddings Wood to meet up with friends, staff were very helpful when we enquire and made sure we were all together and close to the park for the children. Facilities are clean and well maintained. Bins did get very full but site was busy for the Easter holidays so understandable. Really lovely site and would definitely recommend!! Thank you...Read less.

"Lovely Lodges, 5* Rating"

Miss M Clewes - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

23/04/2019

The lodges were lovely and clean, the staff were more than helpful. I wish I could've stayed longer. The only thing I would say was that there was no scissors, tin opener or sharp knives in the......Read more.

The lodges were lovely and clean, the staff were more than helpful. I wish I could've stayed longer. The only thing I would say was that there was no scissors, tin opener or sharp knives in the lodges which was a pain when we were trying to cook dinner. It would be great if these items were made available. Other than that everything was perfect. I will definitely be returning!...Read less.

"Week stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

22/04/2019

Only my 2nd outing so little to compare to but found the park clean and tidy. Facilities were clean but a little more care to routine wouldn't go amiss (obvious things like a dead fly on a window......Read more.

Only my 2nd outing so little to compare to but found the park clean and tidy. Facilities were clean but a little more care to routine wouldn't go amiss (obvious things like a dead fly on a window sill stayed there for a few days). Showers were functional but obvious previous damaged had been 'taped together'. The fully serviced pitch wasn't easy although I seemed to have drawn the short straw and was on a corner pitch with the post on the wrong side. I needed an extension to my water pipe (ready now for next time) and no way could I run a waste pipe to the drain so a little let down by this. When I pay for facilities I do expect them to be usable not just for show. All in all though a good site and would recommend it and if they can solve the few niggles would be excellent....Read less.

"Good site but hillside pitches weren’t enjoyable"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

21/04/2019

Great site for access to beautiful countryside, very quiet and lovely forest nearby. Only downside for us was the pitch not being level-few scary moments with our caravan getting unhooked & setting......Read more.

Great site for access to beautiful countryside, very quiet and lovely forest nearby. Only downside for us was the pitch not being level-few scary moments with our caravan getting unhooked & setting off again!

Kids loved the play area and we liked how you can keep an eye on them easily. Toilet & shower block is superb-always warm & music was a bonus. Site described as eco but couldn’t find any recycling facilities....Read less.

"Lovely few days stay in the lodges"

L Pickering - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

21/04/2019

- great facilities, hot tub was great!

- All equipment included eg cutlery, mugs, pans, plates... didn’t need to bring a thing

- close to a woodland walk and short walk to the park, shop and pub......Read more.

- great facilities, hot tub was great!

- All equipment included eg cutlery, mugs, pans, plates... didn’t need to bring a thing

- close to a woodland walk and short walk to the park, shop and pub

- had a great stay and will definitely return...Read less.

"Peaceful getaway"

Mr D Collier - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

19/04/2019

Great value for money. Clean and tidy site. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this to others and will be coming back.

"Worth a stay."

A Law - Stayed Apr 2019

18/04/2019

Lovely lovely place to stay. Bring your levelling chocks and enjoy! Site has everything you need bar a bar! Toilets/showers are immaculate and with plenty of coat hooks, but bring yer own plug as......Read more.

Lovely lovely place to stay. Bring your levelling chocks and enjoy! Site has everything you need bar a bar! Toilets/showers are immaculate and with plenty of coat hooks, but bring yer own plug as usual. MUST visit - Seven Stars Pub - try The Thatch but you'll be a tourist......Read less.

"4 day breakk"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

17/04/2019

We had good weather so everything beautiful also had lots of walks in the woods.

"Overnight stay"

J Binch - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

17/04/2019

Very nice setting and facilities, nice and quite

"Riddings Wood"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

15/04/2019

Love coming to Riddings Wood, a very relaxing site with very helpful friendly staff. The breakfast bar just makes it perfect! We have been a few times now and will be back soon.

"Ridding Wood"

Dr I Farmer - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

13/04/2019

Great site, excellent facilities and good level of security. Would recommend highly.

"Friendly campsite"

N Sewell - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

13/04/2019

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

I would prefer to be able to have the ability to recycle my rubbish though.

"Lovely area"

Mrs M Coleman - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

12/04/2019

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of April and booked a super pitch for our motorhome. Pitch facilities were very good and a nice big pitch with a picnic bench which was a nice addition.

I am......Read more.

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of April and booked a super pitch for our motorhome. Pitch facilities were very good and a nice big pitch with a picnic bench which was a nice addition.

I am disabled so used the disabled facilities, the showers were free in here which was very good but due to the pitch of the floor it flooded and started to go out the door. It would have been very hard to clean up on my own.

My partner used the normal showers which were very clean but a bit expensive at £1.00 a shower.

Everyone in the office were lovely and very helpful....Read less.

"Caravan rally"

K Dickenson - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

09/04/2019

Club booked the site for a rally, had a good time at the site, hopefully the club will organise another rally here this year.

"A lovely little stay at Riddings Wood Caravan and Camping Park"

Mrs L Fitzakerley - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

03/04/2019

We stayed for a couple of days while visiting a relative in Hospital in Nottingham, The staff were friendly and helpful, especially when taking down our Camper because the OH got a pole stuck!! We......Read more.

We stayed for a couple of days while visiting a relative in Hospital in Nottingham, The staff were friendly and helpful, especially when taking down our Camper because the OH got a pole stuck!! We had a lovely of the Hills. The Toilets and Showers are amazing, they are immaculately clean and has piped music all the time .... proper singing in the Shower Time!! We will definitely return in the future and recommend to Friends and Family for a nice little break....Read less.

"Value for money"

Mr R Murray - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

02/04/2019

Only downside was riddings village was a nightmare to get thro with caravan narrow road with loads of parked cars

"Camping"

Miss D Hallam - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

01/04/2019

We luv it here at Riddings wood. The facilities are clean & warm. Plenty of pitches not all flat tho....this is the only downside of Riddings. Theres a couple of pubs 5 minutes walk through the woods......Read more.

We luv it here at Riddings wood. The facilities are clean & warm. Plenty of pitches not all flat tho....this is the only downside of Riddings. Theres a couple of pubs 5 minutes walk through the woods in the village....some luvly old buildings. Never had a problem with the site or staff. Would definetly recommend....Read less.

"Riddings Wood - 1 night stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

30/03/2019

Nice park, will ask for a flatter pitch (towards entrance on left or right next time. Lovely showers/loo's. Did not use other facilities.

Drawback is access to the park through Ridding (J28 off......Read more.

Nice park, will ask for a flatter pitch (towards entrance on left or right next time. Lovely showers/loo's. Did not use other facilities.

Drawback is access to the park through Ridding (J28 off M1 from north according to sat nav) - dreadful but take J27 and it is much improved...Read less.

"Nice clean site"

D Burns - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

28/03/2019

Very clean, good friendly staff, excellent toilet facilities

"Phoenix club"

C Beange - Stayed with friends, Mar 2019

26/03/2019

I found it great as I paid for full service but thought grass pitches were too uneven even for a camp site . Did not use showers but thought if site was full 3 showers not enough .

"Caravan break"

M Hall - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

22/03/2019

Definertly recommend

"Excellent site"

Mrs J Gray - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

21/03/2019

We loved this site

"Poor facilities"

Mrs L Ward - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

14/03/2019

Very disappointed. Considering that we stayed here in early March (beginning of the season) We very surprised to find one of the shower cubicles in the ladies wash room was out of order and both......Read more.

Very disappointed. Considering that we stayed here in early March (beginning of the season) We very surprised to find one of the shower cubicles in the ladies wash room was out of order and both the hairdryers were not working. The rubbish bins were full and several black bin bags leaning up against them. Very surprised that they claim to be eco friendly yet don’t have any recycling bins??

Hard standing pitches very narrow so couldn’t sit outside the Motorhome....Read less.

"Stuck in the muc!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

14/03/2019

Once we had been given the pitch that we had booked, our stay was lovely. However I am disappointed that we were asked to park on the grass (as our hardstanding pitch had been given away) and advised......Read more.

Once we had been given the pitch that we had booked, our stay was lovely. However I am disappointed that we were asked to park on the grass (as our hardstanding pitch had been given away) and advised that it would be fine to do so with our twin axle caravan. Pretty much straight away we got stuck in the mud. Not the best start to a one night stay having to unhook your suv from the caravan and then have to push the car off the field. We would stop again but I would have preferred it if the site wardens had not given away the hardstanding pitch that we had booked and paid for in the beginning....Read less.

"Riddings wood"

Mrs H Davies - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

08/03/2019

We are regular customers to this lovely caravan park. However returning on the 1st of March having just opened for the new season I found the ladies washroom facilities very tired & in need of......Read more.

We are regular customers to this lovely caravan park. However returning on the 1st of March having just opened for the new season I found the ladies washroom facilities very tired & in need of repair. Both hairdryers were broken & a shower head was taped up which would not stay upright when shower was in use. I feel this work could have been Carriied out ready for the new season to begin. Other than this it is a beautiful site & wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others....Read less.

"X"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

07/03/2019

X

"Super site"

Mr P Brenham-Foster - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

07/03/2019

Excellent facilities and great location. Pitches large and toilet block modern and very clean

"Review"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Feb 2019

27/02/2019

Great stay for the second time. Lovely little place!

"The haywoods"

A Speight - Stayed with family, Feb 2019

24/02/2019

It's very nice ,friendly staff and the accommodation was very nice

And the hot tub was great

"Lovely overnight stay."

B Ingram - Stayed with partner, Jan 2019

02/02/2019

Enjoyed a lovely overnight stay here recently, very friendly and helpful staff. Our lodge was comfortable, warm and clean and the hot tub was a super bonus, we will be back.

"Amazing value for money"

Miss L Ford - Stayed with family, Jan 2019

17/01/2019

We loved our stay in a lodge at Riddings Wood Campsite. I stayed with my baby and partner and loved the hour in the hot tub to relax! The room was actually not as small as I expected and overall......Read more.

We loved our stay in a lodge at Riddings Wood Campsite. I stayed with my baby and partner and loved the hour in the hot tub to relax! The room was actually not as small as I expected and overall compared to other lodges which are around £200-£300 per night - this was much better value !...Read less.

"Weekends away"

C Murden - Stayed with friends, Dec 2018

05/01/2019

Brillant site, fatilities are always clean, helpful staff, and will be returning

"Stay at riddings wood"

G Pardington - Stayed Sep 2018

04/01/2019

Great park

"Clean, Tidy and Very Helpful"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Dec 2018

03/01/2019

We had a great couple of nights here between Christmas and New Year. The staff were very helpful and the site had everything we needed. Very clean and tidy toilets and shower facilities. The on site......Read more.

We had a great couple of nights here between Christmas and New Year. The staff were very helpful and the site had everything we needed. Very clean and tidy toilets and shower facilities. The on site snack van was an added bonus too!...Read less.

"Facilities"

K O'Toole - Stayed with family, Dec 2018

06/12/2018

Shower had mould on the sealant around the tray. Hot water was not hot. The decking outside the lodge was very slippery. These are purely meant as constructive feedback and not a complaint

"Lovely Campsite"

Mrs L Cole - Stayed with family, Nov 2018

06/12/2018

Thank you for an enjoyable weekend

"Always Satisfied"

Mr F Williamson - Stayed Sep 2018

30/11/2018

I have used this site every autumn for the last few years. It is set in lovely surrounding and is run a managed by a warm and friendly team. Not that I used it but the site also has a hot food......Read more.

I have used this site every autumn for the last few years. It is set in lovely surrounding and is run a managed by a warm and friendly team. Not that I used it but the site also has a hot food service at weeknds....Read less.

"Our first night away in our new motorhome"

C Evans - Stayed with family, Nov 2018

22/11/2018

Fantastic site with great facilities. It was a first time away and we had a warm welcome. Our electric cable was too short but we were able to borrow one from the owner as well as some blocks to......Read more.

Fantastic site with great facilities. It was a first time away and we had a warm welcome. Our electric cable was too short but we were able to borrow one from the owner as well as some blocks to level our vehicle. Looking forward to going back again soon!...Read less.

"Lovely place although sewage smell from time to time"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

22/11/2018

It was a lovely was place nice views, unfortunatly we were on plot 10 and right next to our caravan was what i believe to be a slurry pump for waste which ran day and night which took away the......Read more.

It was a lovely was place nice views, unfortunatly we were on plot 10 and right next to our caravan was what i believe to be a slurry pump for waste which ran day and night which took away the tranquility the place could offer....Read less.

"Ist visit"

Mr. K Wilson - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

19/11/2018

Excellent site, helpful staff and well maintained facilities. Toilets and showers clean and warm. Definitely recommend site.

"Where I needed to be"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

19/11/2018

Its a good basic camp, although the facilities are old and tired. Think therefore charging £1 for shower was a liberty. The wood adjacent was a bonus though having a dog

"Mixed review"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

15/11/2018

We stayed in a lodge. It was a very pretty setting both in the day and at night( blue lights round each lodge) A gravel path leads you through to the buildings and there is good fire pit area and......Read more.

We stayed in a lodge. It was a very pretty setting both in the day and at night( blue lights round each lodge) A gravel path leads you through to the buildings and there is good fire pit area and another lodge that houses the hot tub. We checked in at the office....mind the wooden steps up as its not lit very well. Steve was friendly, welcoming and helpful. We went to our lodge which was warm and cosy. It was well kitted out and as it looked on the web page. We had been told that someone would come and set up the hot tub for us when our time slot came. We waited and waited and then just did it ourselves. It wasn't difficult, however only one jet was working , so, although we had pretty lights and Bluetooth speakers....it was more of a warm bath than jacuzzi!. No one appeared to help the next lot of people either. Not good if you want your equipment to be properly used and looked after. There are notices up asking that you clean up everything after you......clean the floor, wash up ...leave the place as you find it. While I am happy to do a basic clean, I am on a break from household duties. Also, if this is the case, do they wash all the plates and cutlery after each visitor or leave them to do it..... in that case, I would wash the lot before you use them! At checkout, we told Steve about the hot tub and he just said that he knew it wasn't working properly and it needed a service....no apology. Also, the kettle switch had to be held down while it boiled and when we mentioned this, he said there had been a lot of complaints about them....again, no apology. So, although the lodges are good value for money and in a pretty setting, I'm not sure I would stay again....Read less.

"Riddings"

Mrs K Ahmet - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

14/11/2018

What a lovely park. Lovely surroundings and central to where we needed to be. 1 pound for a 10 minute shower but didn’t mind as reminds you about water conservation. Plenty of time to wash. Could do......Read more.

What a lovely park. Lovely surroundings and central to where we needed to be. 1 pound for a 10 minute shower but didn’t mind as reminds you about water conservation. Plenty of time to wash. Could do with hooks on the inside of the toilet doors to hang coats on but apart from that no problems. Would definitely go back....Read less.

"Late October Camping"

Ms E Raine - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

08/11/2018

What a lovely campsite. When we arrived we were told we could pick where we wanted - in fact as we had a 4WD we were given the choice of the bottom field to ourselves - and that's where we went!

The......Read more.

What a lovely campsite. When we arrived we were told we could pick where we wanted - in fact as we had a 4WD we were given the choice of the bottom field to ourselves - and that's where we went!

The sites toilet and shower facilities are fab. 10 min shower for £1, it was lovely nice and hot and gosh 10 mins is a long time for a shower!!

Yes I would definitely come back here, it's a great location - quick for us to get to from Nottingham so we could pitch the tent in daylight on a Friday evening, and not too far away from the Peak District....Read less.

"Average site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

08/11/2018

Nice for a short stay .

Had to ask for all relevant info, nothing volunteered.

Toilet block ok but smelly.

"Touring"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

05/11/2018

Have marked this park as very good although would have scored higher if didn't have to pay extra for showers. The plots could do with another leveling but apart from that ok.

"Really good stay, would go again"

V Byrne - Stayed with family, Oct 2018

05/11/2018

Park was secure, it had the nice play area for my son, it was well lit up at night time, and thought the facilities were clean.

"Washroom facilities"

C Lockett - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

31/10/2018

Good caravan site, my only dissatisfaction was with the showers. There was only a small hook in the shower area and no seat. So it was very difficult to prevent your clothes getting wet in the shower......Read more.

Good caravan site, my only dissatisfaction was with the showers. There was only a small hook in the shower area and no seat. So it was very difficult to prevent your clothes getting wet in the shower area. Also I'm not disabled, but have injuries from a motor bike accident and find it impossible to put socks on without sitting down. Really need a chair in shower room....Read less.

"First class site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2018

27/10/2018

We stayed here for a week and when we had to extend our stay there wasn’t any problem the site was very tidy and quite we could hear the trains in the distance but they wasn’t a problem, if I could......Read more.

We stayed here for a week and when we had to extend our stay there wasn’t any problem the site was very tidy and quite we could hear the trains in the distance but they wasn’t a problem, if I could find fault with anything it would have to be that the roads could do with being in a smoother condition....Read less.

"fab weekend break"

P Pemberton - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

25/10/2018

fabulous location and lovely walks. only down side the pubs locally do not serve food although take away and delivery is available from other outlets further away.

"showers"

R Gabler - Stayed Oct 2018

24/10/2018

Your Showers need to be refurbished. Cleaning Staff is not able to get them properly cleaned. Mold all over the Place .

"Would stay again"

Anonymous - Stayed Oct 2018

23/10/2018

I was looking for a quiet overnight stop with well maintained facilities and I found it here. Would definitely stay again.

"First Impressions"

R White - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

22/10/2018

We approached the site from J27 of M1. You need to inform all caravanners taking this route and using satnav to ignore the instruction to turn right into Nottingham Lane just before reaching the......Read more.

We approached the site from J27 of M1. You need to inform all caravanners taking this route and using satnav to ignore the instruction to turn right into Nottingham Lane just before reaching the site, and to go straight ahead. This Lane is a narrow single-track road and totally unsuitable for caravans.

The site has excellent views of the surrounding countryside, but had some untidy areas. It was also let down by a toilet block which was badly in need of refurbishment - there was black mold in the shower cubicles, and laminate was peeling off cabinet doors in the washing-up area. We used our own facilities....Read less.

© 2006 - 2019 CampStead