Riddings Wood Holiday Park

122 Reviews

4 / 5 overall rating based on 122 reviews in the last 12 months

81% would recommend this site

75% would stay here again

Excellent

50%

Very Good

25%

Average

10%

Poor

12%

Terrible

2%

"Amazing"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

11/11/2020

Such a beautiful located site. the bew premium cabins are amazing! just what we needed for a few nights away

"Lisa"

Miss L Greenwood - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

07/11/2020

Good value for money and friendly staff. Would have liked to have been shown how things worked such as the heating ect however it probably wasn't possible due to covid. Some elements that were......Read more.

Good value for money and friendly staff. Would have liked to have been shown how things worked such as the heating ect however it probably wasn't possible due to covid. Some elements that were advertised were missing such as bedding sets (a double quilt) there was no coffee or sugar provided despite it being advertised as provided on website. Facilities were great and was a comfortable place to stay. Overall a good experience would highly recommend. Good value for money....Read less.

"Very Disappointed"

Ms T Seymour - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

03/11/2020

They hadn't even started cleaning when we arrived, was disappointing as considering I was called earlier for a security deposit, I can't understand why they didn't call to say they were running......Read more.

They hadn't even started cleaning when we arrived, was disappointing as considering I was called earlier for a security deposit, I can't understand why they didn't call to say they were running late.

Staff weren't apologetic at all.

When we did get in, it was clear it was a quick clean, considering current covid19 conditions this really surprised us. I had to clean all of the utensils and crockery.

Stained towels, crumbs under the sofa cushions.

We got into the hot tub and very quickly got out due to brown foam....I would have called to complain with the main office but due to their unhelpfulness at check in, didn't see the point of raising it...Read less.

"A great week"

Mr C Etherton - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

29/10/2020

A lovely clean site. Toilet and showers could do with a bit of detailed maintenance but we’re good all round. Great walks in the woods a nearby public footpaths down to reservoir and the old canal.......Read more.

A lovely clean site. Toilet and showers could do with a bit of detailed maintenance but we’re good all round. Great walks in the woods a nearby public footpaths down to reservoir and the old canal. We have family not too far away so is ideal for us. We would definitely stay again...Read less.

"Don't waste your money !"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

This is one of the worst sites we have ever stayed at, we left after 6 hours.

Caravan next to us swearing and shouting, at least 10 people in their van, adults and children.

Graffiti in toilets

Very......Read more.

This is one of the worst sites we have ever stayed at, we left after 6 hours.

Caravan next to us swearing and shouting, at least 10 people in their van, adults and children.

Graffiti in toilets

Very shabby shower facilities, fittings hanging off wall, loose door handles etc

Washing machine extortionate, tumble dryer doesn't dry

Dog mess, owners not picking up

For the price it felt very run down and we felt uncomfortable there hence leaving after 6 hours.

...Read less.

"Birthday stay with my partner"

Miss T Maskell - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

Me & my partner stayed recently as a change to usual hotel breaks away and we were 100% glad we did. It was great from start to finish, on arrival it was all set up for us, I asked for birthday......Read more.

Me & my partner stayed recently as a change to usual hotel breaks away and we were 100% glad we did. It was great from start to finish, on arrival it was all set up for us, I asked for birthday banners & balloons (originally they said they didn't provide this service) but I got an email to say they had done it for me which was amazing!! Kitchen area was very clean and tidy! With great facilities to use as we forgot most things so were thankful to the variety of things to use. Shower room was very clean with clean towels for us. Bed was freshly made and very comfy! We had booked our hour in the hot tub, which would be my only downfall to the evening, the jets didnt work, I received an email prior saying 'some of the jets dont work like they used too' but in actual fact it was all of the jets but it didnt stop us enjoying the use of it just would of been nice for it to be of been working.

Local pubs I would also recommend as we went out to explore for an hour as well all close to the park so easy to get back too.

Overall a 10/10 experience for us both, we enjoyed being somewhere unusual and it didnt disappoint was such a lovely place.

Thanks...Read less.

"Hidden Gem, quaint accommodation"

M Johnson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

I stayed here a few days ago with my partner and we had such a lovely time! The lodge was spotless with fresh bed linin and towels on arrival, as well as milk in the fridge for hot drinks. Very......Read more.

I stayed here a few days ago with my partner and we had such a lovely time! The lodge was spotless with fresh bed linin and towels on arrival, as well as milk in the fridge for hot drinks. Very spacious cabin with the added bonus of a hob if you wsnted a quick tea rather than a meal out. It was nice not having the option of WiFi in the lodge as it meant we could spend quality time together rather than being glued to our phones! We didn't use the hot tub, but it was nice to have the option to book for an hour a day if we wished to. Overall this was a really lovely stay and we will definitely be recommending this little gem to anyone nearby!...Read less.

"Weekend break for couples"

Miss L Carter - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

22/10/2020

Myself and my partner stayed here hush the two of us to celebrate our anniversary weekend. The contactless check in process was easy and the lodge was stunning, it was extremely clean and the hot tub......Read more.

Myself and my partner stayed here hush the two of us to celebrate our anniversary weekend. The contactless check in process was easy and the lodge was stunning, it was extremely clean and the hot tub was amazing after a long walk in the Peak District, which is less than an hour away!

The only fault I could find with the lodge was that if there had been the full 6 people staying it would have been a little bit snug, but for a couple or even 2 couple there would have been more than enough room. There also wouldn’t have been enough drinking glasses for 6 people, there were only 3 wine glasses and 4 normal glasses when we arrived, I don’t know how often these are checked. However I did end up buying some replacement ones whilst I was there as I accidentally broke 2 of the wine glasses! They were very understanding and just asked me to replace them before we left so I did not loose any deposit money. I would definitely stay here again!

...Read less.

"Last minute camper van stay"

K Zarebski - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

21/10/2020

Lovely little camp site, onsite facilities are brand new and very clean! This was a last minute stay after work on a Friday night, we booked late and was unsure to begin with as we hadn’t really been......Read more.

Lovely little camp site, onsite facilities are brand new and very clean! This was a last minute stay after work on a Friday night, we booked late and was unsure to begin with as we hadn’t really been to Alfreton and didn’t want to feel in a built up area, when we got in to the site we felt like we was in the country side it didn’t feel like we was so close to a built up area, it felt safe, will return with the children the little park looked nice, lovely little stay not too far from home...Read less.

"Great location for walking"

Mrs D Jones - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

20/10/2020

Chose Riddings Wood Holiday Park for its location to local walks with the dog, didn't disappoint. Lots of beautiful locations within a half hour drive.

Everything was as described and the lodge was......Read more.

Chose Riddings Wood Holiday Park for its location to local walks with the dog, didn't disappoint. Lots of beautiful locations within a half hour drive.

Everything was as described and the lodge was small but comfortable....Read less.

"Great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

Lovely site, neither too big nor too small. Good, clean facilities with hand sanitiser on entry and restricted to 3 at any time. On site burger van that also does breakfast sandwiches. EHU. Good......Read more.

Lovely site, neither too big nor too small. Good, clean facilities with hand sanitiser on entry and restricted to 3 at any time. On site burger van that also does breakfast sandwiches. EHU. Good value for money, we went in October. Lovely play area for the children. Beautiful surroundings. We will definitely re visit...Read less.

"Fab site"

Mr T Dryden - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

This was our 4th visit, never disappoints

"Brill"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

Spot on nice and local

"Lovely Park and very clean"

L Webster - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

Our first visit to this site, hopefully won’t be our last. On arrival we were met with a cheery face in the office who directed us to our pitch which was 24. I had previously emailed to ask for a......Read more.

Our first visit to this site, hopefully won’t be our last. On arrival we were met with a cheery face in the office who directed us to our pitch which was 24. I had previously emailed to ask for a flat pitch and this was given, thank you. Toilet and shower block was exceptionally clean and cleaners in full PPE adhering to social distancing regs. We found it to be a great little site and an added bonus of a burger food van selling breakfasts, burgers etc super idea....Read less.

"Site information"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

As a first time visiter to site wish we had more information about site amenities and dog walks .

"Anniversary"

Mrs L Biggin - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

Stayed here a few times before mainly because of the use of hot tub. Unfortunately it wasnt working very well, neither was it last year. Kitchen in lodge needs a bit of TLC.

"Went home"

Ms A Holler - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

12/10/2020

Booked to stay for one night for my partners birthday. Got a email to say the hot tub jets were not working but we could still use it as was still hot. I’m not one to complain so just thought we......Read more.

Booked to stay for one night for my partners birthday. Got a email to say the hot tub jets were not working but we could still use it as was still hot. I’m not one to complain so just thought we would make the most of it. However, when it was out turn to use it,the room with the shower and for you to change was out of order and the actual door to the hot tub room was broken so could not be shut. We still made the most of it. Once we had a lit a fire and sat outside for a bit we decided to call it a night. Once we got in bed we realised how bad the mattress was with springs sticking out. It was impossible to get comfortable, as we were only 30 minutes away from home we decided to pack up and leave instead of having a sleepless night. I did email when we got home. It was a really nice email to be fair, not even a complaint! Just to say what let it down and maybe they could improve, I haven’t had a reply yet, just this email asking for my review. Not a lot in the surrounding area that was in walking distance. We walked to a Pub for food that was closed. We walked back to get the car and drove into Alfreton to find somewhere to eat, most places closed down. We would return again if the problems we faced were sorted out....Read less.

"Weekend break"

Mrs L Buckland - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

09/10/2020

We chose here due to purchasing a new house locally, we never saw a member of staff in the 3 nights we were there , reception said they close at 5 we got there at 445 but office closed , we were......Read more.

We chose here due to purchasing a new house locally, we never saw a member of staff in the 3 nights we were there , reception said they close at 5 we got there at 445 but office closed , we were given barrier code & told pitch number so wasn’t a problem our pitch was on a bit of a slope. The sit looked nice with the surrounding trees however the toilet block wasn’t that great the floors were all spongy as though the flooring underneath had rotten especially in the shower area , we didn’t use it because if this. Although served its purpose it’s not somewhere we would come back to ....Read less.

"Recent stay not to be repeated"

D Hopkins - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

08/10/2020

The site was noisy with shouting and swearing from some adults. There was also a strong smell of drugs from some of the tents.

We were not provided with a site map and no-one directed us to our plot.......Read more.

The site was noisy with shouting and swearing from some adults. There was also a strong smell of drugs from some of the tents.

We were not provided with a site map and no-one directed us to our plot. The plot was sloped the only clue being 2 bricks left on the plot! We found out electricity via hook up was limited or had to pay extra, this was not in the booking information or advertised on the site information...Read less.

"Wouldn’t stay again"

D Smith - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

08/10/2020

Not told this was on a hill so struggle to pitch. Staff didn’t bother showing us any facilities just pointed us to the road and said follow that. Noisy at 6.30am young children allowed to roam and no......Read more.

Not told this was on a hill so struggle to pitch. Staff didn’t bother showing us any facilities just pointed us to the road and said follow that. Noisy at 6.30am young children allowed to roam and no supervision. Couples arguing and swearing at each other. Strong smell of drugs coming from a group of four tents. Wash facilities seemed good and clean but that’s about the only thing it had going for it....Read less.

"Lovely park"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

08/10/2020

The park is lovely and the staff are excellent the only downside of our trip was on the Saturday night someone dirtied up the toilets and washrooms and it wasn’t cleaned up

"."

G Saev - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

01/10/2020

.

"Short break"

S Greaves - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

28/09/2020

Lovely site, very well presented, very clean nice level pitch. Very quiet we will stay again next year sometime.

Well done to all your team

"mixed reveiw"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

28/09/2020

amazing location, lovely being next to the woods. toilets felt clean, didnt use the showers.

we heard rumours of 'local druggys ' in the woods. its a lovely walk in the woods and there was no......Read more.

amazing location, lovely being next to the woods. toilets felt clean, didnt use the showers.

we heard rumours of 'local druggys ' in the woods. its a lovely walk in the woods and there was no trouble while we was there.

we had no contact with staff which was ok but it would of been nice to see someone maybe walk around every now and then and check the campsite is being kept tidy and well.

there was a few very loud families that sounded like they were having a party till early hours which i thought was really rude to others. its a shame there was no staff to ask them to quieten down after 10pm or even 11pm....Read less.

"Love this place"

Miss C Michna - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

28/09/2020

I love staying here. It’s kept very nice and the staff are really helpful. Everyone is really respectful too.

"Great place"

Mrs H Edwards - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

27/09/2020

Excellent campsite.. good location. nice pitch sizes with good electric points.. great washing facilities but could be a little cleaner.. £1 for a shower is a bit steep.. overall 8/10

"Lovely little lodges"

Miss B Wheatley - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

27/09/2020

Booked for a couple of nights away with my sister and Dad. Was a lovely little lodge and easy to get to. Easy check in due to covid. Lovely surroundings and plenty of things to do around the area.......Read more.

Booked for a couple of nights away with my sister and Dad. Was a lovely little lodge and easy to get to. Easy check in due to covid. Lovely surroundings and plenty of things to do around the area. Facilities in the lodge were simple but enough for a couple of days. Ideal for a quiet break away....Read less.

"Had a two night stay as visiting local area"

M Loughrey - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

Stayed in the 4 bed lodge, basic but adequate accommodation for our stay and did not break the bank. Lodge was clean, bathroom facilities were good.Site was well kept and quiet. We visited Matlock......Read more.

Stayed in the 4 bed lodge, basic but adequate accommodation for our stay and did not break the bank. Lodge was clean, bathroom facilities were good.Site was well kept and quiet. We visited Matlock Bath and Chatsworth House, both a short drive away.

We brought our disposable barbecue and used it in the allocated area which was great.

All in all a quiet cosy stay. Only negative (and if you don’t want to prepare food, ignore this), there was a combi oven, microwave and grill in the kitchen area but no dishes we could use in it. The crockery provided had a metallic decoration on, and other than that there were 2 small saucepans and a frying pan. Would stay again and bring my own dish !!...Read less.

"Play area"

Miss J Paddon - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

The play area is great for the children,however I would like to suggest a bin being placed bear it as there were a few times when my toddler picked up empty dirty lager cans and water bottles, having......Read more.

The play area is great for the children,however I would like to suggest a bin being placed bear it as there were a few times when my toddler picked up empty dirty lager cans and water bottles, having a bin near it would hopefully help people keep the play area tidy and litter free....Read less.

"Great campsite"

Mrs N Shepston - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

Loved the campsite with woodland surroundings. The shower and toilet facilities were top notch, very clean and new, loved the music while showering. Local area not much to see but we didn’t go for......Read more.

Loved the campsite with woodland surroundings. The shower and toilet facilities were top notch, very clean and new, loved the music while showering. Local area not much to see but we didn’t go for that reason. Kids play area was fab and we felt very secure. Will definitely return next year....Read less.

"Beautiful camp site"

G Whitehead - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Loved my short stay so much I came back Monday and going back Friday! Brilliant for my dogs lots of space,Kids had fun on there bikes and in the woods!

"Nice site ."

Mr R Manley - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Pitches are well set out.security on gate in and out is good.toilets and shower block was clean and extra cleaning was in place.small park for children. A van selling hot food was on site .woods next......Read more.

Pitches are well set out.security on gate in and out is good.toilets and shower block was clean and extra cleaning was in place.small park for children. A van selling hot food was on site .woods next door ideal for kids and dogs ....Read less.

"Perfect"

Mr K Whitehead - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

24/09/2020

Prefect

"Amazing"

Miss S Jones - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

19/09/2020

We only stayed the one night as that is all we had off work, we travelled 100 miles to stay and it was so worth it, the lodge was perfect, it had everything in it that you could need, we wish we......Read more.

We only stayed the one night as that is all we had off work, we travelled 100 miles to stay and it was so worth it, the lodge was perfect, it had everything in it that you could need, we wish we could have stayed a week! Staff are so friendly and the views from the site are gorgeous, we can’t wait to come back for longer next time!...Read less.

"2 night stay with friends"

Mrs G Schmidt - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Only downside was the distance of the toilets From the tents on the lower field

"Really enjoyable week away"

Mr S Roe - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

We enjoyed our stay at Riddings wood. Really good lodge we stayed in, loved the hot tub and the location and access to Derbyshire.

"A great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Good site if a little to much of a slope and unnecessary music in toilets and shower block

"Disappointed"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

The camping field itself was pleasant enough, surrounded by trees. We didn’t use the facilities so can’t comment on those. The pitch we were allocated was quite sloping and we had difficulty using......Read more.

The camping field itself was pleasant enough, surrounded by trees. We didn’t use the facilities so can’t comment on those. The pitch we were allocated was quite sloping and we had difficulty using our stabilisers as they didn’t reach the ground. The pitch was poorly maintained and the grass on the pitch had clearly not been mown for some time. We were on pitch 16, which was directly opposite the road up to the toilets and we had a constant stream of people from the camping field walking across the pitch to reach the toilets, not exactly relaxing. The site was noisy during our stay, children playing on the park, screaming and shouting at 11 pm. There was noise and loud music playing from the camping field until around 1am and again people walking across our pitch talking loudly until 3 am, so it was not the peaceful break we had expected. There was no sign of any staff to manage the advertised ‘quiet time’. The site is advertised as being in 11 acres of woodland, but these were fenced off from the site and not easily accessible. Dogs are welcome, however there is no designated dog walk where dogs can be let off lead, so other guests dogs were let off lead to wander around. The advertised WiFi also seemed inaccessible.

The rubbish bins were full and no recycling facilities were obvious.

A motorhome service point would have been useful and I’m sure there is space to accommodate this close to the entrance.

There was a ‘burger van’ open morning and evening, we didn’t use it so can’t comment, but nice touch.

It’s a shame my review is negative, because with a bit better thought to the layout and more adherence to their own policies it could be a nice site, but sorry it’s not for us and we wouldn’t stay again....Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Ms P Evans - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Love coming to this campsite!

Very clean, good facilities and value for money

"Site on a hill. Smelly sewage."

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

11/09/2020

A no frills site which met my needs for a few days.

I suggest you look into the sewage smells around pitch 10.

"Brilliant"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

11/09/2020

We booked this site 15mins before arriving. Our stay was great from start to finish. Our experience was like back in time. Campers/staff all conversing with each other. Children playing games.......Read more.

We booked this site 15mins before arriving. Our stay was great from start to finish. Our experience was like back in time. Campers/staff all conversing with each other. Children playing games. Sitting around campfires and bbqs. Great place to walk our dogs. Toilet and showers very clean. What more could you ask for...Read less.

"Super helpful and super friendly"

Mrs T Mayne - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

We stayed here in our VW camper for a weekend just to get away and take some walks. We liked the idea of having access to walking in the wooded area which turned out to be lovely. We were expecting......Read more.

We stayed here in our VW camper for a weekend just to get away and take some walks. We liked the idea of having access to walking in the wooded area which turned out to be lovely. We were expecting the location to be cycle friendly as indicated on the website so was disappointed that it was on a hill so knowing this I will not go to the effort of loading the bikes and dig trailer next time! The campsite was a little exposed, we are used to a but more privacy with hedges etc but if anything it did make it a more sociable stay! We loved the rustic feel and the atmosphere was fab. The toilet/shower facilities were great and very clean. An unexpected but welcome addition was the burger man serving breakfasts and evening times. Everyone was friendly and helpful so would definitely consider going back. Perhaps not for a longer stay as not much to do in the area but for a short break it ticked the boxes....Read less.

"First impressions"

Mrs S Bessant - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

Good value for money, great location and very safe for children

"Smelly incinerator smoke"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

09/09/2020

The wardens were burning rubbish in an incinerator bin by the office on two days while we were there, it made the top of the site pretty smokey and smelly, think some from the smell was plastic......Read more.

The wardens were burning rubbish in an incinerator bin by the office on two days while we were there, it made the top of the site pretty smokey and smelly, think some from the smell was plastic rubbish...Read less.

"Lovely stay!"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

05/09/2020

We had a lovely stay at Riddings Wood last week. Great site, clean& well maintained, great location & all the children we were with enjoyed the play area very much! Would highly recommend:)

"Family holiday ruined by unhelpful staff, drunken behaviour and violence"

Mr C Cope - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

05/09/2020

We set out on a family holiday looking forward to spending a few days away. When we arrived someone had already taken our pitch so we were left to improvise. The entire site is on a hill so it’s not......Read more.

We set out on a family holiday looking forward to spending a few days away. When we arrived someone had already taken our pitch so we were left to improvise. The entire site is on a hill so it’s not ideal for camping. We had a great time outside of the campsite and organised to stay another day which was agreed via telephone with the campsite. Unfortunately that night at the campsite there was lots of drunken shouting and fighting around 2:00am. The police were called and this really did spoil our stay. Further to this, that morning the manager told us we had to go as there was no space available despite his team saying we could stay. He was very unhelpful and clearly set in his ways. Needless to say we had to pack up after a night of being kept up and I certainly will not be returning. There are other campsites nearby that are worth your first consideration....Read less.

"Night time..."

Miss R Werrett - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

We returned this year to Riddings as we enjoyed it last year. The park is fab. Gates to get in and out. But other than the cleaner in the wash rooms no staff on site due to Covid. We arrived to a......Read more.

We returned this year to Riddings as we enjoyed it last year. The park is fab. Gates to get in and out. But other than the cleaner in the wash rooms no staff on site due to Covid. We arrived to a pitch that had rubbish dumped from the previous guests but no one to report this to. On looking around after pitching we noticed large groups of people. One that was 7 tents! I don’t mind this normally. However when it gets to 11.30pm and then you have drunk teenagers then running around the park till 1.45am shooting and screaming and vandalising the park I think it’s a bit of a joke that there is no night time warden! Noise continued till 3am this night. The next night other families reported noise near them till 2.30am. I appreciate people having a good time but there should be some sort of line that isn’t crossed. Sorry for the complaining but I do think the nights need to be managed a little more effectively....Read less.

"Great site... but tired"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

Loved our stay here. Our pitch #3 very tight due to trees opposite our pitch... thank you motor mover.

Fully serviced pitch was great, site was lovely, on a slope but that didn't affect us.

The......Read more.

Loved our stay here. Our pitch #3 very tight due to trees opposite our pitch... thank you motor mover.

Fully serviced pitch was great, site was lovely, on a slope but that didn't affect us.

The kids park is quite tired and needs a bit of TLC but our kids were happy....Read less.

"Very poor"

Mr P Goodrum - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

Poor and unclean facilities, poor Wi-fi, noisy and overcrowded, sloping pitches. Very disappointing site.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead