Riddings Wood Caravan and Camping Park

187 Reviews

4.5 / 5 overall rating based on 187 reviews in the last 12 months

96% would recommend this site

91% would stay here again

Excellent

66%

Very Good

26%

Average

5%

Poor

1%

Terrible

0%

"nice break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

24/03/2020

lovely park and excellent staff

"a short get away"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

23/03/2020

nice and quiet

"First visit will be back"

H Swann - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

21/03/2020

We picked this site as was not far away from home to try our caravan for the first time we found it to be a nice site

"Coat hooks"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

19/03/2020

We had a lovely stay, the only thing I would point out is minor, coat hooks on the back of toilet doors and somewhere to put a towel on in the shower, maybe a buffet, other than that very good

"Very pleasant site"

V Thompson - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

19/03/2020

We visited in March with our 2 Staffordshire Bull Terriers and were really pleased to see we had direct access to Riddings Wood to walk them - brilliant! Lovely site, very pleasant staff and lovely,......Read more.

We visited in March with our 2 Staffordshire Bull Terriers and were really pleased to see we had direct access to Riddings Wood to walk them - brilliant! Lovely site, very pleasant staff and lovely, warm and clean toilet/shower block too. Good value for money and easy access to All the Derbyshire/Peak District attractions. Would definitely recommend and we will be visiting again soon!...Read less.

"Lovely one night stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

19/03/2020

Just one night stay near home to clean the caravan but it's a lovely site. Will definitely return. Thanks

"Lovely stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

18/03/2020

Great value for money and very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely lodge we stayed in, it was perfect.

"March 2020"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2020

13/03/2020

Loved our stay, was a little disappointed the park is looking a bit frayed around the edges, like the glamping huts are getting all the attention, Not keen on the metered electricity, ours ran out......Read more.

Loved our stay, was a little disappointed the park is looking a bit frayed around the edges, like the glamping huts are getting all the attention, Not keen on the metered electricity, ours ran out over night.

But it is a lovely park and location, a walk down to 'the shak' and Sunday lunch in the 7 stars is a must...Read less.

"Fab!"

Mr R Spencer - Stayed with partner, Feb 2020

05/03/2020

Such a lovely place to stay! Greeted by a friendly, happy gentleman when we checked in and out. Can’t fault the lodge nor the hot tub. Really enjoyed our weekend and will return. Thank you!

"Peaceful site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

07/01/2020

Have family in the area so was easy for us to visit them. Very easy access, friendly staff and site well kept. Road around site a bit narrow, so made it a little awkward to reverse caravan onto......Read more.

Have family in the area so was easy for us to visit them. Very easy access, friendly staff and site well kept. Road around site a bit narrow, so made it a little awkward to reverse caravan onto pitch, causing to have to go on grass a bit and car skidding , due to all the rain over the weeks. Toilets and showers very clean. Would definitely go back....Read less.

"Great New Year's Eve stopover."

M Mewett - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

05/01/2020

Excellent site, friendly and helpful staff. Good size pitch and good facilities.

"New years celebrating"

G Chaplin - Stayed with family, Dec 2019

05/01/2020

Really enjoyed our brief say.Very friendly staff good value for money and would definitely go back.

"Resting stay"

L Folan - Stayed with family, Dec 2019

03/01/2020

Serene and secure site, has got great shower block and children's play area

"Carrington"

I Carrington - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

03/01/2020

Hot tub poor not working correctly

"An excellent site"

Mrs D Swann - Stayed with friends, Dec 2019

12/12/2019

We stayed here for 3 night to test out our new Motorhome purchased from Oaktrees locally. Friends joined us and we were all impressed by the facilities which were always warm and clean. The on-site......Read more.

We stayed here for 3 night to test out our new Motorhome purchased from Oaktrees locally. Friends joined us and we were all impressed by the facilities which were always warm and clean. The on-site food van was a lovely touch. There is a bus stop outside the main entrance which has a regular service which was also good value. We went into the village for an evening meal but found neither The Thatch or The seven Stars in Riddings served food however the landlady at The Seven Stars was lovely and helped us to order a take away to be delivered to the pub, she provided plates and cutlery. She was an excellent hostess who made us very welcome,I’ve never seen so many different gins! Nothing was too much trouble. The campsite guy stayed late to welcome onto the site and was really helpful. Website could do with a little more guidance on how to pay the balance for you booking but that was the only negative. Excellent site, excellent location, well maintained and I would recommend it. We will definitely come back....Read less.

"Riddings wood"

K Pyle - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

05/12/2019

Very pleasing stay 👍👍

"November Weekend Away"

Mr K Weston - Stayed with friends, Nov 2019

05/12/2019

Very clean site and facilities. Staff friendly and helpful.

A little difficult to reverse onto pitch on ‘blind’ side, could consideration be given to changing the direction of traffic around the site......Read more.

Very clean site and facilities. Staff friendly and helpful.

A little difficult to reverse onto pitch on ‘blind’ side, could consideration be given to changing the direction of traffic around the site to enable reversing on drivers side?

Nice stay, hope to return....Read less.

"Geotgie"

G Meldrum - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

05/12/2019

Very nice campsite great facilities lovely staff very helpful xo

"Hmmm"

M Hargraves - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

29/11/2019

Nicely situated two good friendly pubs just a 10 minute walk but no food. Park too highly priced for what it is, £1 for a shower and limited electric supply for £25 per night a bit of a ripoff.

"Vaughn & Elaine's stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

28/11/2019

We were very pleased with the camp site's costs, view, stand, and ablutions, the only thing I would like to see in the ablutions is a stool in each shower to sit on once out.

"Passing through"

T Bradbry - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

26/11/2019

Was on way to Cheshire , bike the journey up by staying at Riddings wood. Nice site plenty of places to walk the dog . Friendly staff . Would stay again

"Weekend stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

14/11/2019

Lovy weekend stay. Children loved exploring the woods and toddler enjoyed the park area.

"First Visit here with touring caravan."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

13/11/2019

What a lovely little campsite. Stayed here for a week to relax. Peaceful, lovely views surrounded by woods. Lovely dog walks.

Facilities were good and clean. It was nice to have radio music playing......Read more.

What a lovely little campsite. Stayed here for a week to relax. Peaceful, lovely views surrounded by woods. Lovely dog walks.

Facilities were good and clean. It was nice to have radio music playing in them.

Staff really friendly and helpful.

At weekends there is a food van that opens at breakfast for bacon cobs etc. Really nice touch especially when packing up to leave.

Would definitely return here again....Read less.

"Oct 2019"

B Shrewsbury - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

08/11/2019

Nice quite park, in woodland surroundings.

Friendly and helpful staff

"Great peaceful getaway"

K Bond - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

03/11/2019

Riddings wood is a lovely quiet site, the park is brilliant for the kids and not have to worry about them as you are able to see all around. I had to use the laundry facilites as a member of the......Read more.

Riddings wood is a lovely quiet site, the park is brilliant for the kids and not have to worry about them as you are able to see all around. I had to use the laundry facilites as a member of the family took ill but the tumble dryer hadnt dried after 2 hours!! The photograohs show hairdryers in the bathroom facilities which the gents had and ladies didnt?! Overall a perfect getaway to spend with the family, lovely area, nice forest walks and nothing too far away....Read less.

"Nice peaceful break"

D Knight - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

03/11/2019

Great break nice location. The wooden lodge was great had everything we needed and also very warm even though weather was wet or chilly. Hot tub is good and clean. The site had a bonfire for......Read more.

Great break nice location. The wooden lodge was great had everything we needed and also very warm even though weather was wet or chilly. Hot tub is good and clean. The site had a bonfire for Halloween which was a nice surprise, caravan ralley there who came with cakes and treats for kids and adults excellent. The burger van is a great addition to as well although fast food not nasty. Staff were great nothing was to much trouble and gave a few tips on where to visit. We would definitely return....Read less.

"No answer on emergency contact..."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

31/10/2019

Riddings Caravan Park is an idyllic little site. I would advise that you approach it via Ironville as trying to manoeuvre through Riddings itself would be very difficult especially with a large......Read more.

Riddings Caravan Park is an idyllic little site. I would advise that you approach it via Ironville as trying to manoeuvre through Riddings itself would be very difficult especially with a large vehicle. We booked our pitches very late to the date and took the remaining two pitches. One of our vehicles was a LWB transit and the other 8.5mtrs Motorhome. The pitches were on a slight slope. Due to the length of our vehicle the slope was intensified and even with levelling ramps (we went out and brought even larger ones) we were still very much at a angle. The smaller vehicle was not to bad.

We had need to call the emergency number on the Sunday morning around 8.00 am, about an hour before staff arrive on site. I tried calling twice but no one answered. All I can say was thank goodness the place was burning down or that it was a major emergency! If you provide an emergency contact, ensure that you answer it if called....Read less.

"Lovely weekend away"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

24/10/2019

We had a lovely weekend away the park was easy to find and get into this was our first trip away with a caravan so was happy to find the spaces large and easy to access! Thanks for a lovely stay will......Read more.

We had a lovely weekend away the park was easy to find and get into this was our first trip away with a caravan so was happy to find the spaces large and easy to access! Thanks for a lovely stay will be back next year!...Read less.

"Peaceful retreat"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

23/10/2019

Ideally situated in a semi rural location, Riddings Wood is a hidden gem. Despite being within easy reach of shops and sort of in-between Derby and Nottingham , it feels as though you are miles from......Read more.

Ideally situated in a semi rural location, Riddings Wood is a hidden gem. Despite being within easy reach of shops and sort of in-between Derby and Nottingham , it feels as though you are miles from anywhere. The prices for the '3 night minimum stay' Lodges was very reasonable AND we had our own Jacuzzi!!!! We had 3 nights from Friday, but If you arrive on a Monday they give you 4 nights for the same price. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the whole place felt laid back and relaxing. The 6 berth lodges are amazing!! Thank you for a lovely mini break, we will be back for a full week next summer (didn't get a chance to use the BBQ)...Read less.

"First impression."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

22/10/2019

When we arrived there was a nasty smell by our pitch which did go by the next day but was very unpleasant at the time! The toilet block was ok but the toilets didn’t flush properly which resulted in......Read more.

When we arrived there was a nasty smell by our pitch which did go by the next day but was very unpleasant at the time! The toilet block was ok but the toilets didn’t flush properly which resulted in flushing before use and twice after!!! Which most people didn’t do. A thorough clean would improve the block a great deal....Read less.

"Quiet wkend"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

19/10/2019

Quiet place not a lot to do on site , need to drive out to visit places , local pubs we're only a 15 minutes walk away

"Loved Every bit of it"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

18/10/2019

I will definitely be going a Gen loved all of it

"Excellent site, very friendly, nice and clean."

Mr M Sullivan - Stayed with friends, Oct 2019

10/10/2019

Had a great time camping with my friends and our dogs. Staff were helpful and friendly, site was clean and tidy. Wash facilities were spot on.

"1"

Mr S Sparrow - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

08/10/2019

1

"Nice campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

03/10/2019

We stayed here because we had family nearby it's a lovely area the campsite it very quiet, the only thing that was a bit awkward was remembering to bring a pound to have a shower, the push button......Read more.

We stayed here because we had family nearby it's a lovely area the campsite it very quiet, the only thing that was a bit awkward was remembering to bring a pound to have a shower, the push button showers are just as good, the shower block & toilets were always clean,we would definitely stay again, nice it had a play area for children & had good security with a code for the barrier to access in & out of the site...Read less.

"Great place"

Miss E Flynn - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

03/10/2019

Great campsite, highly recommended.

"Great place to take the dogs"

J Dickinson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

02/10/2019

Arrived on 23rd Sept so not too many other caravans/tents about. The site was quite all week which was nice. We stayed on a service pitch and had a lovely view over the valley. We went just for a......Read more.

Arrived on 23rd Sept so not too many other caravans/tents about. The site was quite all week which was nice. We stayed on a service pitch and had a lovely view over the valley. We went just for a chill and to walk the dogs. The woods that are accessible from the site is a great place to walk. The dogs loved it. There are other nice walks into the village and around the park. I can see the downside to the site would be in the summer when it is full of tents as there are only 3 showers in the ladies. To us it didn't matter. There a re a couple of pubs in walking distance and a corner shop but little else. I would go back again but not in high season...Read less.

"Lovely, clean, friendly site!"

N Oldfield - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Really impressed with Riddings Wood! Site was lovely, clean and staff were ever so friendly. Couple of nice pubs within walking distance. Also loved the GrillMaster onsite doing food! Thought it was......Read more.

Really impressed with Riddings Wood! Site was lovely, clean and staff were ever so friendly. Couple of nice pubs within walking distance. Also loved the GrillMaster onsite doing food! Thought it was a great idea, although wish they were trading on Sunday morning when everyone packs up...we’d have definitely bought something then, as I’m sure many others would have too! My only piece of constructive feedback was (not the sites fault) cars were going too fast when coming in and out. I know they may have only going 10-15 MPH but the limit is 5 and when kiddies are running/darting about they could be a nasty accident at some point. Please SLOW down people!...Read less.

"Very clean site with one drawback"

Mr A Scarlett - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Riddings Wood is a very clean, well maintained site. We stayed for two nights and would definitely stay again if the one drawback mentioned in the title was sorted out.

We were on one of the......Read more.

Riddings Wood is a very clean, well maintained site. We stayed for two nights and would definitely stay again if the one drawback mentioned in the title was sorted out.

We were on one of the hardstanding areas (number 10) and there was a drain cover on our piece of grass next to the hardstanding. The smell was very strong and made it unpleasant to sit outside on the grass.

Otherwise we had a really good stay - there was a burger van that did very good chips and the site was full with everybody having a good time....Read less.

"Friendly staff"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Helpful and pleasant staff. Pitches down right hand side of site never get any sun. £1 for a shower but plenty of hot water.

"Great weekend with friends"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Great site been many times,friendly staff,great play area,we will defo be back again

"Lovey clean and quiet site"

E Snowden - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

20/09/2019

We stayed here for the first time as a family with a 4m old and an 8yr old on the recommendation from Friends who also stayed with us. The site is peaceful and beautiful. The play park kept the......Read more.

We stayed here for the first time as a family with a 4m old and an 8yr old on the recommendation from Friends who also stayed with us. The site is peaceful and beautiful. The play park kept the children occupied for hours and gave us some much needed chill time. The showers are nice and warm with good power. The toilets are clean and work well. The staff are very helpful, we had a problem with our electric box (the money had run out on the meter) and they came over straight away and topped it up at past 9pm. Overall a great site and will definitely return....Read less.

"Highly recommended"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

19/09/2019

Small and scenic site surrounded by woodland to explore. A fab pub a few minutes down the road. A hidden gem

"Riddings wood"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

18/09/2019

An excellent cararvan & camping park, friendly staff & loverly wood to to walk, dog friendly. Worse a visit

"Stayed here more than once."

M Graves - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

16/09/2019

I have used the site for both a quick over night in a small tent and also for a weekend family camp. Easy access and clear marking on the hook up pitches and pleasant open field camping if no hook up......Read more.

I have used the site for both a quick over night in a small tent and also for a weekend family camp. Easy access and clear marking on the hook up pitches and pleasant open field camping if no hook up required. Toilets and wash up area also very clean. During our stay we didn't need much assistance from the site staff but we did see them throughout our stay helping other campers and delivering wood for those cosy campfires. I have also looked at, but not yet booked their new addition of the luxury cabins, they look very nice....Read less.

"Good site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

14/09/2019

Helpful and friendly staff. Very clean facilities. Flat camping pitches.

"Hardest working staff I have seen on a campsite"

Mr M Cook - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

10/09/2019

We picked this site because it is just outside the Peak District, hence it is cheaper than most and we thought it might be quieter. In reality the site attracts large groups who have no interest in......Read more.

We picked this site because it is just outside the Peak District, hence it is cheaper than most and we thought it might be quieter. In reality the site attracts large groups who have no interest in walking in the Peaks and spend all day drinking. Thankfully we were camped at the 'quieter' end of the site, though we were still kept up until 2am every night by people who don't understand rules.

I can't fault the staff, they have an extraordinarily hard job. They must have been working 16 hour days over the August Bank holiday, had they not the site would have been a disaster zone. In fact it was immaculate.

Despite the noisy groups, we enjoyed our stay but we won't return because we prefer a quieter site....Read less.

"Stay at Riddings"

R Davidson - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

07/09/2019

Excellent little quiet campsite with a relaxed atmosphere. The kids loved playing in the adjoining woods. The facilities were always clean and the staff were second to none. Jamie and Sylvie were......Read more.

Excellent little quiet campsite with a relaxed atmosphere. The kids loved playing in the adjoining woods. The facilities were always clean and the staff were second to none. Jamie and Sylvie were extremely friendly and welcoming and went out of their way for their guests whenever they could. Fabulous stay. Thank you Riddings Wood....Read less.

"Great site with friendly staff"

S Sennett - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

We visited the site on a very busy weekend

The site is very well maintained and all the facilities were kept clean and tidy

It's got some great walks directly from the site and a great local public......Read more.

We visited the site on a very busy weekend

The site is very well maintained and all the facilities were kept clean and tidy

It's got some great walks directly from the site and a great local public house for food and drinks...Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead