Riddings Wood Holiday Park

112 Reviews

4 / 5 overall rating based on 112 reviews in the last 12 months

82% would recommend this site

76% would stay here again

Excellent

50%

Very Good

27%

Average

9%

Poor

11%

Terrible

2%

"Amazing"

Miss S Jones - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

19/09/2020

We only stayed the one night as that is all we had off work, we travelled 100 miles to stay and it was so worth it, the lodge was perfect, it had everything in it that you could need, we wish we......Read more.

We only stayed the one night as that is all we had off work, we travelled 100 miles to stay and it was so worth it, the lodge was perfect, it had everything in it that you could need, we wish we could have stayed a week! Staff are so friendly and the views from the site are gorgeous, we can’t wait to come back for longer next time!...Read less.

"2 night stay with friends"

Mrs G Schmidt - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Only downside was the distance of the toilets From the tents on the lower field

"Really enjoyable week away"

Mr S Roe - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

We enjoyed our stay at Riddings wood. Really good lodge we stayed in, loved the hot tub and the location and access to Derbyshire.

"A great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Good site if a little to much of a slope and unnecessary music in toilets and shower block

"Disappointed"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

The camping field itself was pleasant enough, surrounded by trees. We didn’t use the facilities so can’t comment on those. The pitch we were allocated was quite sloping and we had difficulty using......Read more.

The camping field itself was pleasant enough, surrounded by trees. We didn’t use the facilities so can’t comment on those. The pitch we were allocated was quite sloping and we had difficulty using our stabilisers as they didn’t reach the ground. The pitch was poorly maintained and the grass on the pitch had clearly not been mown for some time. We were on pitch 16, which was directly opposite the road up to the toilets and we had a constant stream of people from the camping field walking across the pitch to reach the toilets, not exactly relaxing. The site was noisy during our stay, children playing on the park, screaming and shouting at 11 pm. There was noise and loud music playing from the camping field until around 1am and again people walking across our pitch talking loudly until 3 am, so it was not the peaceful break we had expected. There was no sign of any staff to manage the advertised ‘quiet time’. The site is advertised as being in 11 acres of woodland, but these were fenced off from the site and not easily accessible. Dogs are welcome, however there is no designated dog walk where dogs can be let off lead, so other guests dogs were let off lead to wander around. The advertised WiFi also seemed inaccessible.

The rubbish bins were full and no recycling facilities were obvious.

A motorhome service point would have been useful and I’m sure there is space to accommodate this close to the entrance.

There was a ‘burger van’ open morning and evening, we didn’t use it so can’t comment, but nice touch.

It’s a shame my review is negative, because with a bit better thought to the layout and more adherence to their own policies it could be a nice site, but sorry it’s not for us and we wouldn’t stay again....Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Ms P Evans - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Love coming to this campsite!

Very clean, good facilities and value for money

"Site on a hill. Smelly sewage."

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

11/09/2020

A no frills site which met my needs for a few days.

I suggest you look into the sewage smells around pitch 10.

"Brilliant"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

11/09/2020

We booked this site 15mins before arriving. Our stay was great from start to finish. Our experience was like back in time. Campers/staff all conversing with each other. Children playing games.......Read more.

We booked this site 15mins before arriving. Our stay was great from start to finish. Our experience was like back in time. Campers/staff all conversing with each other. Children playing games. Sitting around campfires and bbqs. Great place to walk our dogs. Toilet and showers very clean. What more could you ask for...Read less.

"Super helpful and super friendly"

Mrs T Mayne - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

We stayed here in our VW camper for a weekend just to get away and take some walks. We liked the idea of having access to walking in the wooded area which turned out to be lovely. We were expecting......Read more.

We stayed here in our VW camper for a weekend just to get away and take some walks. We liked the idea of having access to walking in the wooded area which turned out to be lovely. We were expecting the location to be cycle friendly as indicated on the website so was disappointed that it was on a hill so knowing this I will not go to the effort of loading the bikes and dig trailer next time! The campsite was a little exposed, we are used to a but more privacy with hedges etc but if anything it did make it a more sociable stay! We loved the rustic feel and the atmosphere was fab. The toilet/shower facilities were great and very clean. An unexpected but welcome addition was the burger man serving breakfasts and evening times. Everyone was friendly and helpful so would definitely consider going back. Perhaps not for a longer stay as not much to do in the area but for a short break it ticked the boxes....Read less.

"First impressions"

Mrs S Bessant - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

Good value for money, great location and very safe for children

"Smelly incinerator smoke"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

09/09/2020

The wardens were burning rubbish in an incinerator bin by the office on two days while we were there, it made the top of the site pretty smokey and smelly, think some from the smell was plastic......Read more.

The wardens were burning rubbish in an incinerator bin by the office on two days while we were there, it made the top of the site pretty smokey and smelly, think some from the smell was plastic rubbish...Read less.

"Lovely stay!"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

05/09/2020

We had a lovely stay at Riddings Wood last week. Great site, clean& well maintained, great location & all the children we were with enjoyed the play area very much! Would highly recommend:)

"Family holiday ruined by unhelpful staff, drunken behaviour and violence"

Mr C Cope - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

05/09/2020

We set out on a family holiday looking forward to spending a few days away. When we arrived someone had already taken our pitch so we were left to improvise. The entire site is on a hill so it’s not......Read more.

We set out on a family holiday looking forward to spending a few days away. When we arrived someone had already taken our pitch so we were left to improvise. The entire site is on a hill so it’s not ideal for camping. We had a great time outside of the campsite and organised to stay another day which was agreed via telephone with the campsite. Unfortunately that night at the campsite there was lots of drunken shouting and fighting around 2:00am. The police were called and this really did spoil our stay. Further to this, that morning the manager told us we had to go as there was no space available despite his team saying we could stay. He was very unhelpful and clearly set in his ways. Needless to say we had to pack up after a night of being kept up and I certainly will not be returning. There are other campsites nearby that are worth your first consideration....Read less.

"Night time..."

Miss R Werrett - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

We returned this year to Riddings as we enjoyed it last year. The park is fab. Gates to get in and out. But other than the cleaner in the wash rooms no staff on site due to Covid. We arrived to a......Read more.

We returned this year to Riddings as we enjoyed it last year. The park is fab. Gates to get in and out. But other than the cleaner in the wash rooms no staff on site due to Covid. We arrived to a pitch that had rubbish dumped from the previous guests but no one to report this to. On looking around after pitching we noticed large groups of people. One that was 7 tents! I don’t mind this normally. However when it gets to 11.30pm and then you have drunk teenagers then running around the park till 1.45am shooting and screaming and vandalising the park I think it’s a bit of a joke that there is no night time warden! Noise continued till 3am this night. The next night other families reported noise near them till 2.30am. I appreciate people having a good time but there should be some sort of line that isn’t crossed. Sorry for the complaining but I do think the nights need to be managed a little more effectively....Read less.

"Great site... but tired"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

Loved our stay here. Our pitch #3 very tight due to trees opposite our pitch... thank you motor mover.

Fully serviced pitch was great, site was lovely, on a slope but that didn't affect us.

The......Read more.

Loved our stay here. Our pitch #3 very tight due to trees opposite our pitch... thank you motor mover.

Fully serviced pitch was great, site was lovely, on a slope but that didn't affect us.

The kids park is quite tired and needs a bit of TLC but our kids were happy....Read less.

"Very poor"

Mr P Goodrum - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

Poor and unclean facilities, poor Wi-fi, noisy and overcrowded, sloping pitches. Very disappointing site.

"Sorry to say our experience was very poor - Sloping pitch, noisy until very late, densely packed, untidy and poorly kept"

A White - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

03/09/2020

Sorry for the poor review but I have to be honest:

The site was densely packed with vehicles and tents. In particular the area of pitches 1-10 was difficult to navigate towing a large caravan. Lots......Read more.

Sorry for the poor review but I have to be honest:

The site was densely packed with vehicles and tents. In particular the area of pitches 1-10 was difficult to navigate towing a large caravan. Lots of cars/trucks parked and tents pitched very close to the road.

Our pitch (13) is sloping and was impossible to get a caravan level even with a set of levelling ramps and two sets of steady-blocks. To get fully level would mean having the van uncomfortably high at the rear, and i noted people having issues with awnings not reaching the ground.

The electrical connection point was not properly attached or watertight. The box is not attached to the post and the waterproof grommet on top of the box not in place.

The site was very noisy with loud parties and music going on well after the permitted quiet time until around 1am. Your site advertises itself as quiet/peaceful etc, if you wont enforce quiet times and want to attract the group/party market you should indicate that in your advertising and remove the quiet policy.

Lots of other guests were using our pitch as a thoroughfare, walking very close and shouting across the site to friends late at night- it really wasn't pleasant and we felt very vulnerable and insecure whilst trying to get some rest after a long day.

One of the first views after opening our curtains was the site of someone exercising their dog on our pitch and making small effort to remove the evidence. The site was also generally untidy with blue paper towels all over the site.

We chose the site due to location and only stayed as a stopover. Had we been booked on for a holiday we would have left after one night. As it was we were glad to leave quickly and continue our tour.

...Read less.

"Disappointing, inadequate, poor value for money"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

The email contact was fine and efficient but my friend who dealt directly with staff on the telephone said that the person was rude and abrupt. That was our only contact with staff throughout the......Read more.

The email contact was fine and efficient but my friend who dealt directly with staff on the telephone said that the person was rude and abrupt. That was our only contact with staff throughout the whole process and stay.

The tents spaces were squashed together with guide ropes having to cross each other. No social distancing and adequate space without the matter of an ongoing pandemic aftermath! We were put on a slope! Never a good sleep or stay on a slope. Should be levelled! Toilet facilities poor. No working hair dryers. No hot water in the ladies. Showers that are so tiny you have to do yoga moves to get in and out whilst your £1 for 10 minutes dwindles down whilst you undress! Ridiculous having to pay for showers and in such poor cramped conditions. Bathrooms checked once a day! Always a mess when we went in. Had to go into the kitchen area for hot water to wash face. One sink of two had only cold water, the other one scalding hot water! No meet and greet or any kind. Friends had stayed at other sites through the summer break where this was managed safely with social distancing. Nothing there. No shops, pub nearby or café. On a flight and train path so noise was bad through the night. Tents so close we could hear every noise from neighbouring tents. We left after 2 nights instead of staying the 3rd. We had had enough. We will not come back and will not be recommending....Read less.

"Short stay"

Miss G Thompson - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

As above

"Will return here"

Mrs A Marshall - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

A attractive location with plenty to do in the surrounding area even with the restrictions in place due to Covid. Very impressed with the camps social distancing efforts. Never actually had to wait......Read more.

A attractive location with plenty to do in the surrounding area even with the restrictions in place due to Covid. Very impressed with the camps social distancing efforts. Never actually had to wait to use the facilities at any point and there seemed to be someone cleaning day and night. It is dog friendly though still exceptionally clean. No evidence of fouling anywhere on the site. Unfortunately we couldn't eat at any of the local pubs mentioned on the parks website. One was no longer serving meals and the others were booked up too far in advance which was disappointing....Read less.

"Noisy!"

Mrs C Hicks - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

The site was set in a nice field, unfortunately the description of set in 11 acres of woodland wasn’t completely accurate. It was all barbed wire around the woods so no access apart from where the......Read more.

The site was set in a nice field, unfortunately the description of set in 11 acres of woodland wasn’t completely accurate. It was all barbed wire around the woods so no access apart from where the wire had been cut and two posts pulled out. Not my idea of woodland walks!

Upon asking one of the employees on bus travel advice, she had no idea. The office was closed so we could not find any more information out.

Toilets and showers were tatty, floor needed repairing.

The 11am-7pm ‘quiet time’ was definitely not observed and have no idea where the 24 hour warden was and no contact numbers available. The last night of our stay, there was arguing and shouting until 2.30am, not good for a family site. I think the police were called!

Luckily won’t be returning!!...Read less.

"Slope"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

The campsite is on a slope

"Gradient"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

28/08/2020

We hadn’t realised that the site had quite a gradient which retracted from our enjoyment

"Needs to be improved"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

27/08/2020

coming in with a motorhome we could not find an accessible fresh water point. Luckily this was our last night with it, so managed with what we had and filled couple of bottles to brush in the......Read more.

coming in with a motorhome we could not find an accessible fresh water point. Luckily this was our last night with it, so managed with what we had and filled couple of bottles to brush in the morning. It would have been a pain if we really had to fill up. Also could not find recycling bins not sure if there are any....Read less.

"first time there"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

27/08/2020

really nice area and campsite however showers needed a bit of tlc as the floor was broken and wet and a bit gross

"Definitely returning"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

25/08/2020

Would highly recommend this site, washing/ toilet facilities very clean, felt extremely safe during this covid time. The site itself is quiet we stayed in a tent with electric hook up with plenty of......Read more.

Would highly recommend this site, washing/ toilet facilities very clean, felt extremely safe during this covid time. The site itself is quiet we stayed in a tent with electric hook up with plenty of space. A lot of good attractions within 1/2 hours drive will definitely be returning....Read less.

"Excellent holiday thank you"

Mrs E Ceiley - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

25/08/2020

we throughly enjoyed our stay with you. The campsite was set in a beautiful area. The kids enjoyed the play park and playing in the woods. The pitches were nice and grassy. Lovely sized pitches. Very......Read more.

we throughly enjoyed our stay with you. The campsite was set in a beautiful area. The kids enjoyed the play park and playing in the woods. The pitches were nice and grassy. Lovely sized pitches. Very friendly and helpful staff always smiley and chatty.

The only thing which let the site down was the cleanliness of the toilets and showers. They were lovely in the late morning and early afternoon after they had just been cleaned but by night time and early morning the floors were all dirty and the bins overflowing. They could do with another quick clean round in the early evening.

We would definitely stay again if looking another holiday in the area....Read less.

"Very little to do"

K Tomlinson - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

25/08/2020

The park itself is OK but there is very little to do or see in the local area. Can be a bit smelly near the toilet block. There is a quiet time from 11pm and this was respected by everyone during our......Read more.

The park itself is OK but there is very little to do or see in the local area. Can be a bit smelly near the toilet block. There is a quiet time from 11pm and this was respected by everyone during our stay. A little park for very young children to play on....Read less.

"We loved our holiday and would return but.."

Miss S Smith - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

25/08/2020

We really did love our holiday and the scenery and surrounding woods is beautiful. There's just a few things I'd like to address in the hopes that if we return they won't cause us issues. So firstly......Read more.

We really did love our holiday and the scenery and surrounding woods is beautiful. There's just a few things I'd like to address in the hopes that if we return they won't cause us issues. So firstly we planned to get there for check in time at 11.30 but got caught in traffic so got to the site for 12.15pm. The people there before us still hadn't put their tent away and hadn't vacated the pitch, which isn't the end of the world as they left within half and hour of us arriving, but if we had arrived at check in time I know myself, my partner and the kids would've got frustrsted sat waiting for that long. When they did eventually leave they'd left empty bottles around and food which we had to clean ourselves. It seemed like noone monitored check in or check out as it's supposed to be at 11am and cleaned prior to the next person using it. The next thing is the WiFi. So a big thing that attracted us to this site was the free WiFi as my partners sister had no data and needed to check in with her mom throughout the week, and teens being teens and all that she wanted wifi lol. We asked on arrival about the internet and was told it hadn't worked since the beginning of lockdown due to an accident. Totally understand it not being fixed based the circumstances due to COVID-19 etc however I don't get why this couldn't have been communicated on their website as it seems like false advertising after 6 months of being unavailable. Lastly thing is the drainage in the shower areas needs to be a bit better as when you enter there are puddles of water on the floor from whoever used it last.

My review sounds really negative and honestly I don't mean it to be, because we had such an amazing time especially after this awful year and I would possibly return in the future!...Read less.

"Quiet setting"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

24/08/2020

We lived our stay here, wash facilities were to a high standard and the staff were friendly and very accommodating. The only thing I suggest is that the 11am leave of pitch is enforced as we arrived......Read more.

We lived our stay here, wash facilities were to a high standard and the staff were friendly and very accommodating. The only thing I suggest is that the 11am leave of pitch is enforced as we arrived at 11.15 was told we could get on the pitch when we found it there was still people on the pitch who hadn't started to pack at this point, but can say the staff accommodate us with the option to have another pitch....Read less.

"Needs attention"

Mr J Faulkner - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

24/08/2020

The access and security onto the site is really good Because of the present COVID-19 situation reception was closed no site staff about and I only once saw one man mowing the grass The showers are a......Read more.

The access and security onto the site is really good Because of the present COVID-19 situation reception was closed no site staff about and I only once saw one man mowing the grass The showers are a little restrictive and would be very difficult for a larger person to get in and out of. In one shower cubicle the top bracket of the shower head slide was away from the wall needing screwing back on all hand dryers were not working and the paper towels would be overflowing the waste bin (although that is down to the campers as well) I felt that during lockdown would have been an ideal time for the owners to do all maintenance jobs around the site sprucing it up a bit. I am not nit picking as I’ve been on some rough campsites in my time but when you paying £30 a night I did expect a little better...Read less.

"Disappointed"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

23/08/2020

The site itself was pleasant enough but the toilet and shower facilities were neglected and as it was in the middle of nowhere there was little to do unless you travelled.

"First visit"

Mrs H Yates - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

23/08/2020

Spacious pitches, clean and well kept facilities. Enjoyed the kids play area although the ground here could be better maintained.

A gap in the fence at the bottom means that anyone could get onto......Read more.

Spacious pitches, clean and well kept facilities. Enjoyed the kids play area although the ground here could be better maintained.

A gap in the fence at the bottom means that anyone could get onto the site which isn't great for security.

Disappointed that there were no recycling facilities, all rubbish went in the same bins....Read less.

"Unhappy camper"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

23/08/2020

Nice enough spot , ruined by lack of staff . Owners allowed to let dogs roam off leads resulting in us being bothered by a vicious dog witch also did its business outside our camper van . Woods......Read more.

Nice enough spot , ruined by lack of staff . Owners allowed to let dogs roam off leads resulting in us being bothered by a vicious dog witch also did its business outside our camper van . Woods nearby littered with rubbish . Bins overflowing on campsite . Social distancing not adhered to in the washrooms . Very noisy and could here trains throughout the night. Not the quiet camping in the country side that was advertised....Read less.

"Only problem!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

22/08/2020

The standpipe near toilet block had only a short hose that couldn't be used to fill the camper tank and couldn't be unscrewed to enable use of the longer on we carry in the camper. At 86 it was a......Read more.

The standpipe near toilet block had only a short hose that couldn't be used to fill the camper tank and couldn't be unscrewed to enable use of the longer on we carry in the camper. At 86 it was a pain to carry water to our pitch!...Read less.

"Premium lodge"

S Randle - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

22/08/2020

The lodge was very clean and had everything we needed. We did not realise that it was next to a busy road and in a line with the other lodges - this was a problem for the kids playing out, ball......Read more.

The lodge was very clean and had everything we needed. We did not realise that it was next to a busy road and in a line with the other lodges - this was a problem for the kids playing out, ball games etc. Scooters we had brought with us were useless. Main problem was the internet. I booked the lodge because it had been WiFi which I’m afraid was non existent. I recommend not going if you need good connections. It is a lie that the lodges have WiFi. Don’t advertise what you can’t deliver....Read less.

"Cheap and clean"

Mrs J Hull - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

22/08/2020

Enjoyed our stay with family and friends. Asked for our 3 pitches to be together which they were. Not a massive amount of things to do nearby which didn’t bother us at all.

"First visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

22/08/2020

Hard standing for caravan (pitch 16) difficult to level due to slope. As it is at the bottom of the road up to the facilities the people in the tents at the bottom of the park were using the areas ......Read more.

Hard standing for caravan (pitch 16) difficult to level due to slope. As it is at the bottom of the road up to the facilities the people in the tents at the bottom of the park were using the areas either side of the pitch as pathways and there were all so car tracks at one side were it had been used for access to the tent pitches. The General Waste bins were overflowing, there were no bins for recycling and considering it is supposed to be an “eco” friendly site this was bad. We were there for 4 nights and the bins were full when we arrived and still full when we left. It is supposed to be a quiet site after11.00pm, but at 12.30am there was still a group causing a lot of noise and no staff did anything about it on any of the nights we were there.

Drainage is bad, when the rained, the water ran down the slope from the facilities and directly through our awning. The only good thing on site was the Burger Bar. Would not recommend this site, it is not a cheap site and for what we paid we will definitely not be returning....Read less.

"3rd time staying"

Miss S Baines - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

21/08/2020

Close to home for us. 1st time staying we were camping under canvas with friends and following 2 times we were in our new caravan. Love this campsite the fellow campers are friendly and there is lots......Read more.

Close to home for us. 1st time staying we were camping under canvas with friends and following 2 times we were in our new caravan. Love this campsite the fellow campers are friendly and there is lots to do nearby.....whether it be a short stroll to the local pubs or a short car journey to other attractions. Will defo be coming back!!!...Read less.

"Was not impressed"

Mrs J Prescott - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

21/08/2020

We booked 2 nights for a family camping trip. The actual campsite is surrounded by trees on a big hill with a nice view. The immediate surroundings are not very nice and there isn't anything to do......Read more.

We booked 2 nights for a family camping trip. The actual campsite is surrounded by trees on a big hill with a nice view. The immediate surroundings are not very nice and there isn't anything to do within walking distance, but it is only a 25 min drive to the peak district. The kids play equipment could have been nice, but it was littered with empty cans and bottles that remained there all day. Would be helpful to have a bin in this area. We tried to use the family shower room which flooded after a couple of minutes so tried the normal showers. You have to pay £1 for 10 mins, which I would not expect for the price of the campsite. There is not enough room in the shower facilities to swing a cat and the floors were dirty, making it almost impossible to get my kids showered. By the morning the toilets and showers were not very clean at all and we did not feel comfortable using them. Also, one of the sinks for washing dishes was not draining properly. We had booked 2 nights but left a night early as we did not like the campsite or the surrounding area. Definitely not worth £38 a night. Stayed in far superior places for this price. I did raise some of my concerns by email with the campsite, but never did get a response....Read less.

"Amazing value and beautiful surroundings"

Miss L Mellor - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

21/08/2020

We needed a last minute getaway and was not disappointed. We will be returning.

"Good site, would use again"

H Dobinsteen - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

21/08/2020

Booked at Riddings Wood when visiting family locally. Location is good, close to large Tesco and Aldi stores for supplies.

Site is quite sloped! There are some flatter pitches right at the bottom......Read more.

Booked at Riddings Wood when visiting family locally. Location is good, close to large Tesco and Aldi stores for supplies.

Site is quite sloped! There are some flatter pitches right at the bottom near the woodland.

Facilities were good, decent showers and a family shower room available. You do have to pay for the showers in a meter (but not the family one?!) Tip - get your shower cubicle ready and in your towel before doing the meter as it starts straight away!

Would’ve liked to have cleaning supplies on hand in the bathrooms so I could clean them before and after use myself.

Overall, a good site and would use again for a short, local visit....Read less.

"Nice setting but far from peaceful"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

21/08/2020

Details sent before arrival were very clear and made finding our pitch easy & location was good for easy access to Derbyshire & Nottingham attractions as well as many big chain supermarkets nearby......Read more.

Details sent before arrival were very clear and made finding our pitch easy & location was good for easy access to Derbyshire & Nottingham attractions as well as many big chain supermarkets nearby for supplies.

Was disappointed with the cleanliness of the toilet block given the current climate & had expected increased regular cleaning. The block was only cleaned once a day after the morning rush, by evening, paper towels had run out and were all over the floor, showers were filthy and flooded and some toilets were blocked. I appreciate that campers are also responsible in part for this but I feel more regular checks should have been done. A previous site I had stayed on had antibac sprays and rolls of paper towel for guests to spray down the sinks and taps before and after use which was great & encouraged cleanliness.

In the pot wash area there were no taps which made washing pots more difficult, particularly when a queue was forming, and one sink had no hot water.

The freezer for ice packs was mainly full of frozen food making it difficult to put packs in.

The site advertises quiet time from 11pm and there are signs in the toilet block stating this, however on the first night a young group on the camping field were shouting and singing until 3am and on the second night there were kids screaming and running around on the play area at midnight. We never saw any site staff or owners during our stay and the noise was definitely not policed.

Whilst the woodland setting is lovely and great you can have a walk through the woods, you are definitely not in the middle of nowhere with some road noise, a train track nearby with trains that run through the night and an airport not too far away with fairly low flying plane noise, again through the night.

The site was only half if not less than half full so I cannot imagine what it would be like when up to normal capacity.

All in all, we did enjoy our holiday, it was great for children but it just wasn't for us....Read less.

"Lovely place"

A Hawkins - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

20/08/2020

Really nice camp site. This was our second visit and there will be more.

"A beautiful campsite immaculately maintained"

Mrs K Pratt - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

20/08/2020

This is a lovely little campsite with cows, sheet, goats and chickens. A lock, canal, large local park and town centre all within walking distance

"Overpriced and unclean!"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2020

18/08/2020

We arrived home from a 2 nights stay today in the lark. Upon arrival we went into the lodge and were disappointed at the size for 6 so asked a member of staff if there was anywhere bigger. He said he......Read more.

We arrived home from a 2 nights stay today in the lark. Upon arrival we went into the lodge and were disappointed at the size for 6 so asked a member of staff if there was anywhere bigger. He said he would enquire and come back but he never. We couldn’t set the bed up at the back so I went to reception and the man just told us how to do it but after trying we asked a lady next door who came and did it for us. The kids wanted to go in the hot tub so we took the lid off and there were all black hairs around the sides which we had to clean off! Obviously not fresh water! Myself and my friend didn’t use it because of this. It was so noisy on the main rd, couldn’t hear each other talking. No internet so kids couldn’t go onto Netflix. The door wouldn’t close so slept with it open both nights as you had to slam it so hard to close and would wake the children. Slug on the toilet, dirty mugs no hot water. Thought the place would of been deep cleaned???? Very disappointed and very overpriced. We would please like a partial refund as we have definitely been ripped off. We do have pics if needed.

This email was sent to owner but no response, plus 2 phone calls but no one hot back to us. Really disappointing customer service and accommodation.

...Read less.

"Good site and location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

18/08/2020

More than happy with our family stay for 2 nights. Location ideal to explore Peak District. Facilities very good for personal washing and for pot and clothing washing. Good value for money. Would......Read more.

More than happy with our family stay for 2 nights. Location ideal to explore Peak District. Facilities very good for personal washing and for pot and clothing washing. Good value for money. Would stay again....Read less.

"Overall great stay."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

18/08/2020

The site was lovely, great views, very private, it was great. The only thing that let it down was the bins. We got there in a thursday and they were full, with people placing their rubbish at the......Read more.

The site was lovely, great views, very private, it was great. The only thing that let it down was the bins. We got there in a thursday and they were full, with people placing their rubbish at the side, everytime you passed them they smelt really bad. We couldnt smell them from our tent but they were in our line of sight which wasnt very nice because all the lids were half open because of how full they were.

I wouldnt normally comment on that but we were there 2 whole nights and they got emptied saturday morning as we were packing up. It made me think that if the site only has the bins emptied once a week, they should probably up it to twice a week, or even get another 2 bins to accommodate for busy periods?

Other than that though, it was lovely!...Read less.

"Lovely site for glamping!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

18/08/2020

Booked as we wanted a nice glamping holiday with hot tub and bbq facilities. Lived up to expectations, nice modern interior with good cooking utensils available. Lovely to sit outside, eat and enjoy......Read more.

Booked as we wanted a nice glamping holiday with hot tub and bbq facilities. Lived up to expectations, nice modern interior with good cooking utensils available. Lovely to sit outside, eat and enjoy the hot tub! Comfy beds and a quiet nights sleep. Only slight improvements would be cleaner floors in corners ect. and better wifi available to make use of the smart TV. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay, would definitely recommend....Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead