Riddings Wood Caravan and Camping Park

202 Reviews

4.3 / 5 overall rating based on 202 reviews in the last 12 months

88% would recommend this site

85% would stay here again

Excellent

56%

Very Good

28%

Average

11%

Poor

3%

Terrible

1%

"Quiet weekend retreat"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

20/08/2019

Weather not brilliant but lovely quiet park

"Adequate stop gap"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

19/08/2019

The staff were so lovely and friendly. Honestly cant fault how nice and helpful they were.

We were on a serviced pitch. It wasn’t busy but seem to be given the only one that was muddy on the ‘grass’......Read more.

The staff were so lovely and friendly. Honestly cant fault how nice and helpful they were.

We were on a serviced pitch. It wasn’t busy but seem to be given the only one that was muddy on the ‘grass’ bit, meaning our awning and caravan was filthy. There was plenty of room when we were staying.

Also a foul smell of sewage the whole time we were staying there. Not nice!

There is no where we can let the dogs off to run around. They have to stay on lead everywhere.

The whole site is on a steep hill which is fine in our caravan as we were on the serviced pitch so relatively flat but I can’t imagine staying in a tent was fun.

Most people know showers are £1 for 10 minutes, we decided to use our caravan shower instead.

It was fine to stay for a few nights but I would have been more disappointed if we were there for a full week.

Having said that, there is plenty to do in the surrounding area and we enjoyed visiting family and friends so were not at the site that much....Read less.

"Smell and showers"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

19/08/2019

At first glance it is a very nice park, the staff were friendly and helpful. However, the longer we were there, the more issues arise.

They seem to be expanding their site and the woodland that was......Read more.

At first glance it is a very nice park, the staff were friendly and helpful. However, the longer we were there, the more issues arise.

They seem to be expanding their site and the woodland that was being cleared was being burnt. Smoke and ash was everywhere. No chance for is to sit outside/let our son play out. Thankfully this was only the case for the first day.

Unfortunately as the smoke smell cleared, it was replaced by a faint sewage smell. We were at the top of the park. As we walked down to the bottom where the children's play area is, the smell became more intensive. We had been told by staff that the local woods had a good walk through for exploring. Unfortunately, the entrance to the woods seemed to be where the smell was worse.

What wasn't made clear at booking (although it is on the website if you read it in full) is there is a £1/10min charge for the showers. Guess what you can smell in the showers? Not nice when you're meant to be clean! And if you don't want to pay, or have a little one to wash down, the sinks don't have plug in so you can't fill them up.

Finally, the ladies toilets ran out of soap in both dispensers. I informed staff. 2 hours later, still empty. The following day...10mins after being cleaned...still empty.

Looks pretty, smells dirty....Read less.

"Lovely site, friendly staff"

Mrs N Stear - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

17/08/2019

We stayed here last for 5 nights. The staff were really lovely and helpful all weekend. Our pitch was a really good size giving us plenty of room. Lovely, clean shower/toilet facilities and a great......Read more.

We stayed here last for 5 nights. The staff were really lovely and helpful all weekend. Our pitch was a really good size giving us plenty of room. Lovely, clean shower/toilet facilities and a great play area for the kids with lots of room to run around on the bottom field.

The only minor issue was a strong drain smell quite a bit from the toilet block.

The site could probably benefit from selling a few more essentials like bread and milk as everything is a drive away but the food van is a great addition, the food was lovely and portions were huge.

...Read less.

"Lovely site with friendly, helpful staff"

A Lee - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

16/08/2019

Jamie and Silvi, in reception, were very friendly and helpful. I couldn't connect my gas bottle and Jamie kindly came to help. Silvi suggested some great walks in the area and printed me off a......Read more.

Jamie and Silvi, in reception, were very friendly and helpful. I couldn't connect my gas bottle and Jamie kindly came to help. Silvi suggested some great walks in the area and printed me off a map.

Nice walks close by.

Toilet and shower facilities are lovely and clean with plenty of toilet paper available!

...Read less.

"Lovely Mini Break"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

16/08/2019

Great few nights in this peaceful location, a good chance to meet up with friends and relax.

The ‘Griddle Van’ was a lovely touch!

"Fantastic"

Mrs S Redfearn - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

15/08/2019

Fantastic place for camping. Staff very helpful and friendly.kids had a great time. The surrounding woods were great to explore. Showers were a great value at £1 for 10 minute. nice and clean......Read more.

Fantastic place for camping. Staff very helpful and friendly.kids had a great time. The surrounding woods were great to explore. Showers were a great value at £1 for 10 minute. nice and clean facilities.we are definitely planning a return visit....Read less.

"My review!"

G Auton - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

Lovely well maintained site.

Was on pitch 10 when we come again will not go on pitch no 10 as the smell & flies were bad...otherwise all good.

"First time visit to Ridding Wood Site"

M Wright - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

Site was quiet from road noise etc. Fully serviced pitch we were on was not ideal for erecting an awning as well because the hard standings are too narrow and grass banking are sloping. The......Read more.

Site was quiet from road noise etc. Fully serviced pitch we were on was not ideal for erecting an awning as well because the hard standings are too narrow and grass banking are sloping. The individual waste drains are too remote from caravan outlet so waste pipes didn't reach.

Although the washing/toilet block was pleasant enough of the sinks Inc washing up room had all the plugs missing.

Plenty of Rubbish bins but no option for recycling your rubbish.

The circular one way access road to the pitches was in a bad state of repair with loads of pot holes etc.

I will say the staff were friendly enough though....Read less.

"Great price"

Miss S Jervis - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

Nice surroundings and facilities, could do with more on site activities to keep children of all ages entertained. My only down side was we pitched on a field that had a slight decline which made day......Read more.

Nice surroundings and facilities, could do with more on site activities to keep children of all ages entertained. My only down side was we pitched on a field that had a slight decline which made day to day tasks more difficult due to ground being in level. Overall a very nice welcoming site....Read less.

"One night stop"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2019

11/08/2019

I was only there for one night but was very impressed and would like to go back and spend a few nights there

"Wonderful place"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

11/08/2019

We have stayed here twice now and both times have been amazing we love the place! Peaceful and relaxing with a cosy lodge and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Will definitely be......Read more.

We have stayed here twice now and both times have been amazing we love the place! Peaceful and relaxing with a cosy lodge and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Will definitely be returning again this year and highly recommend to anyone to give this place a try. The hot tub is amazing too, so if you want somewhere peaceful, relaxing, to recharge your batteries or just to reconnect with a partner, this place is ideal...Read less.

"My stay at riddings"

Mr M Gardiner - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

09/08/2019

Nice stay very helpful staff

"Pleasant stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

09/08/2019

.

"Not for couples"

Mrs G Kelly - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

09/08/2019

My husband and I stayed here with our dog for a long weekend. The facilities were good and the tent pitching field a gteat size and not over crowded. Facilities were also good if quite a walk away......Read more.

My husband and I stayed here with our dog for a long weekend. The facilities were good and the tent pitching field a gteat size and not over crowded. Facilities were also good if quite a walk away from the tent field (perhaps pre-warn people that you have to pay £1 for the showers). Handy local co-op to stock up on things. We came in school holidays which was the let down. Noise, music, screaming etc went on until nearly midnight and disrespectful families left litter laying around. There was woodland behind us and we had motorbikes roaring around in it at night too. We also tried to walk our dog in the surrounding area and this was also heavily littered with unkept footpaths which actually felt a little unsafe. Nearby is Dale Abbey which is beautiful and worth a visit. Just not the place for us but im sure its lovely for families....Read less.

"To high price for the quallity they offer"

Mrs C Cristea - Stayed Jul 2019

08/08/2019

We payed 180 for 2 nights at wooden logs ,for an self catering accomodation,but we had to buy our own frying pan because they had one tinny and horible to can prepare food on it,the cleanees on the......Read more.

We payed 180 for 2 nights at wooden logs ,for an self catering accomodation,but we had to buy our own frying pan because they had one tinny and horible to can prepare food on it,the cleanees on the log wasn't properly made it,the floor was dirty ,the bed sheets not very clean,coffe mugs same.In the pictures they have on web site looks every thing so nice and clean but when you get there is a big disapointing,they have hamoks on the pictures but non hamoks there.the shower in the Holly Lodge not working properly ,water was to hot to can have a shower.And the location is on a big main road with all the time hearing cars and motors passing.I dont recomand and won't go again....Read less.

"Great sute"

S Fairley - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

08/08/2019

Had a lovely stay here. Extremely clean and friendly, helpful staff. We overlooked the park which was great so I could always see the children playing. Only thing negative was the ground wasnt flat......Read more.

Had a lovely stay here. Extremely clean and friendly, helpful staff. We overlooked the park which was great so I could always see the children playing. Only thing negative was the ground wasnt flat but that's all....Read less.

"Jane"

J Tinkler - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

08/08/2019

Relaxing time had just the tonic to unwind not to far from home 😊

"Short stay"

T Douglas - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

07/08/2019

Ground very soft jockey wheel got stuck whilst trying to position van & it was peeing down with rain bone shower broke & they needed a good scrub .

"perfect choice for our first motor home experience"

Mrs A Coyne - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

07/08/2019

Very helpful & friendly staff- well organised and spotlessly clean.

Would definitely return & recommend.

One slightly negative comment - paying a pound for each shower

"First Visit"

J Chandler - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

06/08/2019

Beautiful surroundings and good basic facilities. Two pubs in walking distance but neither offering food on a Monday night but local Chinese delivered first class meal to site.

"Great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

06/08/2019

Return visit and all had a great stay. Staff extremely friendly and facilities keep clean and tidy.

"Excellent camp site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

05/08/2019

Only stayed for 2 nights however I was impressed with the site. The staff were great and the toilets / showers were very clean. We took our dog who enjoyed the woods which surround the site. Loved......Read more.

Only stayed for 2 nights however I was impressed with the site. The staff were great and the toilets / showers were very clean. We took our dog who enjoyed the woods which surround the site. Loved the the local pub which is only a 5 minutes walk. Will definitely revisit....Read less.

"Great site with good customer service"

Anonymous - Stayed Jul 2019

05/08/2019

Well kept and secure park. Great facilities and clean. Good customer service with attentive staff.

"Peace and tranquility"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Awesome campsite for tents caravans/motorhomes. There's fully equipped glamping cabins and newer, bigger holiday lodges are being built. The grass pitches are slightly sloping but there's so much......Read more.

Awesome campsite for tents caravans/motorhomes. There's fully equipped glamping cabins and newer, bigger holiday lodges are being built. The grass pitches are slightly sloping but there's so much space on them you can position a tent whichever way round you like. The staff are the friendliest and most helpful we've come across and went out of their way to make our holiday perfect. Will definitely be back as soon as there's availability!!...Read less.

"Great site"

Ms H Hird - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Very helpful staff and lovely clean campsite

"Good park, good location"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

We enjoyed our stay here - the only real disappointments were the shop and lack of choice and the wash facilities where you had to pay to use the shower! Three shower cubicles also seemed a little......Read more.

We enjoyed our stay here - the only real disappointments were the shop and lack of choice and the wash facilities where you had to pay to use the shower! Three shower cubicles also seemed a little low considering the size of the camping area....Read less.

"Overall Personal opinion"

Mrs K Taylor - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

The site is clean and tidy however the toilets/showers was only cleaned once a day this is reasonable in low season but in high season they need cleaning at least twice a day the shop needs to sell......Read more.

The site is clean and tidy however the toilets/showers was only cleaned once a day this is reasonable in low season but in high season they need cleaning at least twice a day the shop needs to sell the basics milk, bread, etc I won't be booking again the only reason for this it that there is loads of campsites around the UK and I would like to try and visit most of them....Read less.

"Fab campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

It was a great campsite, really friendly, tidy and clean! Toilet block was regularly getting cleaned! Play area was great for kids too! Only thing I would mention was the hose on the drinking water......Read more.

It was a great campsite, really friendly, tidy and clean! Toilet block was regularly getting cleaned! Play area was great for kids too! Only thing I would mention was the hose on the drinking water tap was too long and was touching the floor and going in the drain etc needs cutting for hygiene...Read less.

"19 SFS Reunion."

S Linton - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Very nice site, really friendly helpful staff.

Good washroom facilities.

£1 for a shower is a bit steep, would have thought this should be included in price for stay.

"Hopkins"

Mrs S Hopkins - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Another fab stay. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. We love it at Riddings. Thank you.

"The Lodges"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

Whilst we loved the lodges and they were very clean the bedding and sofa bed were stained which was a shame and a bit off-putting!

"Downside of visit"

N Fountain - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

23/07/2019

On your information sheet it stated all dogs must be on leads at all times.There were several dogs around the campsite not on leads and not on leads around the childrens play area.Is it one rule for......Read more.

On your information sheet it stated all dogs must be on leads at all times.There were several dogs around the campsite not on leads and not on leads around the childrens play area.Is it one rule for one and another for everyone else.Some other sites we have visited have had a doggie play area for those wishing to exercise their pets in an enclosed area and children can play in a safe environment.

This said we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will come again.Lovely site....Read less.

"Family weekend away. Happy days"

Mr A Burnett - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

18/07/2019

Nice site. Great staff

Stephen, replied to this review on the 18 July 2019

many thanks Stephen, we loved meeting you.

"Highly recommended"

H Morgan - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

18/07/2019

Helpful, friendly staff

Clean facilities

Great price

Accepts dogs - fab!

Play area for the kids - fab!

Stephen, replied to this review on the 18 July 2019

Thanks Hannah for the lovely review.

"Fab place great people"

S Haywood - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

16/07/2019

The areas that scored 2 were only that because there wasn’t the option to but not applicable. There wasn’t any ‘entertainment’ and we weren’t aware of any local activities

"1 night stay"

S Stove - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

14/07/2019

tranquil and picturesque site, staff go above and beyond for you. i was late and they waited around for me. some pitches are on a incline which is a pain. i was on a fully serviced pitch. would not......Read more.

tranquil and picturesque site, staff go above and beyond for you. i was late and they waited around for me. some pitches are on a incline which is a pain. i was on a fully serviced pitch. would not recommend pitch 10 due to smell. i would return again, the staff are so nice....Read less.

"Lovely break away"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

12/07/2019

Lovely campsite and great staff. Toilets often not flushing well causing them to be dirty at times. Was sorted towards end of our stay. Showers also a little right for space!

"Weekend fun"

Mrs J Biddles - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

12/07/2019

The staff where very helpful, they printed map off for us to get to stream railway, they gave us tips on pubs for food, by the way the Thack pub is amazing, the landlord was very friendly, the food......Read more.

The staff where very helpful, they printed map off for us to get to stream railway, they gave us tips on pubs for food, by the way the Thack pub is amazing, the landlord was very friendly, the food was delicious and the service was impeccable, loved it, will be returning to site again.

Big thanks your all awesome 😎...Read less.

"A week end stay."

Mr T Sadler - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Staff were brilliant, as were the facilities for the most part. The pitch area was good and spacious, having said that and given 5 stars for most of the questions there are some down sides. It's a......Read more.

Staff were brilliant, as were the facilities for the most part. The pitch area was good and spacious, having said that and given 5 stars for most of the questions there are some down sides. It's a family site so you expect children to be letting off steam and making noise, but not until gone midnight when you want to sleep is too much, especially when accompanied by the constant "de de de" from a set of speakers. Not the children or the staff, it's the adults, who generally keep the children going, because they want to sit chat, dance and drink. Not wrong but if you are going to have a quiet field make sure its quiet. The other big bare was that their was the background waft from the cesspit/ sewage processor, which needed much needed...Read less.

"Riddings Wood"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Had a lovely time at Riddings Wood. There is nothing to do locally but we just needed a test run to try the tent. The park was good and the field kept nice and tidy. It’s very loud at night even......Read more.

Had a lovely time at Riddings Wood. There is nothing to do locally but we just needed a test run to try the tent. The park was good and the field kept nice and tidy. It’s very loud at night even though there are signs saying quiet time is at 11pm. It went on till midnight the two nights we were there. The shower cubicles are very small. Friendly and helpful staff....Read less.

"Georgie and co"

Mr G Meldrum - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Very pleasant always nice staff clean and tidy well worth a visit

"Good"

Mr M Turner - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Good

"Nice place"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

As above

"Overnight stay"

T Prendergast - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Nice campsite with friendly staff. Disappointed with state of washing block but more so that I had to pay a £1 for a shower. This is mostly contained in the pitch fee so I wasn’t happy at all with......Read more.

Nice campsite with friendly staff. Disappointed with state of washing block but more so that I had to pay a £1 for a shower. This is mostly contained in the pitch fee so I wasn’t happy at all with this....Read less.

Stephen, replied to this review on the 20 July 2019

Hello Terry,

Thank you for your feedback. We're very sorry to hear that our facilities didn't meet......Read more.

Hello Terry,

Thank you for your feedback. We're very sorry to hear that our facilities didn't meet your expectations. We check and clean them very regularly (at least four to five times a day) especially during busy period such as during your stay. Unfortunately, there may be time when we miss things so it's a shame you didn't come to see us in reception to let us know so we could have remedy to the situation straight away.

Our prices are very competitive compared to other campsites in the region. Making pay for showers was a very hard decision to make; it means that we can not only save on water and reduce our environmental impact but, most importantly, it means that our customers don't have to wait (or not too long) for showering, especially in busy periods.

We would have been happy to discuss the matter on the day with you, it’s a shame you didn’t come to our office/reception to let us know. We hope that it hasn’t put you off coming back to our site.

...Read less.

"Riddings Wood camping"

Mr R Oakes - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

10/07/2019

Whilst overall I was extremely satisfied with the friendly and helpful staff, location, camping and facilities I felt that the park was let down by the number of dogs allowed to wander free. As I dog......Read more.

Whilst overall I was extremely satisfied with the friendly and helpful staff, location, camping and facilities I felt that the park was let down by the number of dogs allowed to wander free. As I dog lover and a previous dog owner I was annoyed that some dogs were allowed to wander free and leave mess which wasn't cleaned up by the owners. With children playing in the area this was not good....Read less.

Stephen, replied to this review on the 20 July 2019

Hello Richard,

Thank you for your lovely comments and feedback. We are a dog friendly campsite and......Read more.

Hello Richard,

Thank you for your lovely comments and feedback. We are a dog friendly campsite and we do stress to everyone who arrives with a dog that they must be kept on a lead and all mess MUST be cleaned up after. However, sometimes people don't always abide by the rules, and we don't always see the mess during busy weekends, until we do our big litter pick / cleanup on a Sunday morning. We encourage campers who do see dog mess around the site to please let us know in reception and we will act on it immediately. We are sorry in this case that we missed it. We hope this hasn't put you off coming back to our site....Read less.

"Excellent"

Mr M Steer - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

04/07/2019

Very good reception on arrival by staff, was given all information needed, guided to parking area. Very good wash & toilet area's

"Nice friendly campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

04/07/2019

Great campsite with good facilities - washing machine , freezer etc. Good wash facilities - would be made even better with a couple of extra showers - make sure you bring £1 for the showers too!......Read more.

Great campsite with good facilities - washing machine , freezer etc. Good wash facilities - would be made even better with a couple of extra showers - make sure you bring £1 for the showers too! Would be even better with hairdryers in the women’s wash facilities rather than just the men’s! Overall a lovely stay and great for children with lots of roaming space , a great park area and woods to explore in! Would definitely return and they staff are extremely helpful and friendly....Read less.

"Riddings wood"

Mr & Mrs C Perry - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

04/07/2019

Very pleasant stay,lovely spot ,very friendly staff will go again cheers

"Great campsite"

R Coyle - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

04/07/2019

We've stayed twice now and both times had a really good stay, the facilities are great, the kids play area is fantastic and my kids enjoyed playing in the local woods next to the site, there are lots......Read more.

We've stayed twice now and both times had a really good stay, the facilities are great, the kids play area is fantastic and my kids enjoyed playing in the local woods next to the site, there are lots of great attractions within 30 mins drive, a good local takeaway that delivers, good local pubs, nothing to fault.make sure you take plenty of £1 coins to operate the shower!...Read less.

"A really great caravan park in a lovely area"

Mrs A Hogan - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

01/07/2019

Because of problems with our campervan, we only stayed one night but Jamie was really helpful in trying to resolve the heating in our van. He went the 'extra mile' in accessing information and spent......Read more.

Because of problems with our campervan, we only stayed one night but Jamie was really helpful in trying to resolve the heating in our van. He went the 'extra mile' in accessing information and spent ages doing his best for us. We very much appreciated his help and, because the park is so lovely and has good facilities, we will definitely go back soon....Read less.

"First Time Camping"

Mr C Barlow - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

28/06/2019

I took my 9 year old son camping for the first time at Riddings Wood as it was a short distance from where we live and it came recommended. The staff are very friendly, helpful and took us straight......Read more.

I took my 9 year old son camping for the first time at Riddings Wood as it was a short distance from where we live and it came recommended. The staff are very friendly, helpful and took us straight to our pitch. The campsite and the facilities are very clean and there’s a lot of space between each pitch.

We thoroughly enjoyed our little trip to Riddings and would definitely return again....Read less.

"Great weekend!"

L Myshrall - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

27/06/2019

Booked this campsite as it allowed a big group and campfires! Is a lovely campsite and the couple who run it work so hard and are super friendly. The toilet and shower block is one of the nicest I......Read more.

Booked this campsite as it allowed a big group and campfires! Is a lovely campsite and the couple who run it work so hard and are super friendly. The toilet and shower block is one of the nicest I have seen on a campsite. Great value for money too. We will return for sure :-)...Read less.

"Great stay!"

Mrs G Hardy - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

27/06/2019

Would highly recommend

"2 Night campervan stay."

Mr C Warriner - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

25/06/2019

Can't fault the site one bit, shower block excellent, obviously cleaned regularly, site nice cosy size, very well maintained, only down side, the size of the shop, need to drive out for provisions,......Read more.

Can't fault the site one bit, shower block excellent, obviously cleaned regularly, site nice cosy size, very well maintained, only down side, the size of the shop, need to drive out for provisions, but, go prepared and everything fine....Read less.

"Beautiful site"

M McWilliams - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

21/06/2019

Excellent site in all areas only thing to dislike is £1 for shower most other sites this is included in price

"Good facilities, lovely views, value for money"

Mr P Robinson - Stayed Jun 2019

20/06/2019

Good facilities, lovely views, value for money.

"Weekend stay"

Miss A Stickler - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

20/06/2019

Lovely clean campsite with great facilities. Loved the buffet van for breakfast saved us cooking for the visitors we had. Very reasonable priced and tasty. Would definitely stay again

"Excellent site but"

C Lambe - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

20/06/2019

Excellent site only comment it's a £1 for s shower and water comes out really slowly not worth the pound should be in with price

"Birthday treat"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

17/06/2019

Went for my partners birthday to stay in a wood cabin, very nice and clean... hot tub was brill too! And to top it off the staff i delt with was very nice and warming :)

"Smelly, uneven, steep with poor customer service"

Mr O Pellet - Stayed with family, May 2019

15/06/2019

Pitch was massively uneven and steep to the point that we had to use 2 ramps and an extra foot of blocks on the rear end while the hitch end was touching the ground. As a result we couldn’t set up......Read more.

Pitch was massively uneven and steep to the point that we had to use 2 ramps and an extra foot of blocks on the rear end while the hitch end was touching the ground. As a result we couldn’t set up our awning. Site refused to refund us despite the fact that we tried to set it up and it kept falling. All the more expensive serviced pitches were perfectly level though...... There was a persistent disgusting smell from the septic tank and toilets had human faeces on the floor for an entire day. Showers were not cleaned enough (I had to use the mop myself) despite having to pay an extra £1 for 10 minutes of use. Police were on site about someone trying to talk to kids inappropriately from outside the site. Poor security measures perhaps?? All in all a cheap site but not worth it with the steepness, stink of human waste and poor customer service....Read less.

"Riddings Wood Caravan park"

E Stocks - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

14/06/2019

We had booked for two nights, we then decided to stay an extra night. Staff were more than helpful and the site is beautiful. The view from the site is lovely. Unfortunately the weather was not good,......Read more.

We had booked for two nights, we then decided to stay an extra night. Staff were more than helpful and the site is beautiful. The view from the site is lovely. Unfortunately the weather was not good, but the Sunday was beautiful. Highly recommend this site and will definitely stay again....Read less.

"Brilliant"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

13/06/2019

Excellent place couldn’t recommend it enough if fantastic for the kids and the kids love it

"Fabolous little find"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

10/06/2019

We stayed for 3 night in may , we loved it so much as soon as we got home we told familey about it and we all booked to go again in mid june.

Great for famileys campfire and a cold drink kind of......Read more.

We stayed for 3 night in may , we loved it so much as soon as we got home we told familey about it and we all booked to go again in mid june.

Great for famileys campfire and a cold drink kind of camping ;)...Read less.

"Friendly little site"

Mr D Dreggs - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

08/06/2019

A really nice little site. Could do with a few little repairs before peak season with doors not locking on showers and hair dryers not working. But all in all a nice little site with friendly staff.......Read more.

A really nice little site. Could do with a few little repairs before peak season with doors not locking on showers and hair dryers not working. But all in all a nice little site with friendly staff. A good base camp for heading out to the Peak District....Read less.

"Weekend away"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

07/06/2019

Lovely quiet campsite. We had a fully serviced pitch and were really happy with it. Toilets and showers very clean and never to busy.

"Park lovely-neighbouring tent not so much."

Miss T Hancock - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

07/06/2019

Came to Riddings wood to test out our new camping gear as it’s close by-only 20 minutes away. Impressed with layout, cleanliness etc. Got a lovely non electric spot in the bottom corner. A group of......Read more.

Came to Riddings wood to test out our new camping gear as it’s close by-only 20 minutes away. Impressed with layout, cleanliness etc. Got a lovely non electric spot in the bottom corner. A group of about 10 adults turned up and were so noisy. They were shouting and swearing until gone midnight. They could clearly see we had a child with us but had no respect to keep the language down. They put up a windbreak and used the area as a toilet-I had the unfortunate delight of seeing one of the girls standing up and throwing tissue/wet wipes over the hedge into the bushes/wooded area. I think they went to the woods to do it as well as when I went for a walk with my son-there were dirty tissues and other ‘signs’. This was the only downside for us. It’s no reflection on the park or staff. However there are signs up stating after 11pm is quiet time so maybe the staff should have had a word? I didn’t want to as they were hammered and it wasn’t our job to. felt more sorry for an older couple who were slightly closer to them. Park overall was lovely and I’d definitely go back. Would just avoid the bottom right corner next time 😖...Read less.

"Great campsite set in woodlands"

Miss L Janiec - Stayed with partner, May 2019

07/06/2019

We were looking for a quick getaway for out first camping trip of the year. It’s a lovely clean site that is well maintained. The staff are very friendly and the local eggs for sale are delicious.......Read more.

We were looking for a quick getaway for out first camping trip of the year. It’s a lovely clean site that is well maintained. The staff are very friendly and the local eggs for sale are delicious. There are lovely woodland walks and a few pubs and shops nearby although we did not visit the libs as we made the most of the site with the weather being warm. We had pitch 79 and would definitely come back....Read less.

"Lodge review"

L Hampson - Stayed with family, May 2019

06/06/2019

Lovely idyllic place for a break with family

"lovely caravan park"

S Wainright - Stayed May 2019

06/06/2019

a lovely caravan park hoping to stay there again this weekend the staff was very helpful and kind I would recommend this park to anyone interested in a quiet and beautiful surroundings

"Clean and warm lodges"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

05/06/2019

Stayed for 3 nights in 3 lodges (extended family group). Lodges are relatively basic but had all facilities we required. Clean and tidy upon arrival. Loved the hot tub. Staff friendly and......Read more.

Stayed for 3 nights in 3 lodges (extended family group). Lodges are relatively basic but had all facilities we required. Clean and tidy upon arrival. Loved the hot tub. Staff friendly and informative. Great to sit out in communal area around the fire pit. Enjoyed our stay....Read less.

"Brilliant site"

Mrs E Grayson - Stayed with family, May 2019

05/06/2019

Riddingswood is a lovely camp site. Very clean and secure, helpful friendly staff. Good clean washing facilities and toilets. Play area for children. Overall very happy and thoroughly enjoyed our......Read more.

Riddingswood is a lovely camp site. Very clean and secure, helpful friendly staff. Good clean washing facilities and toilets. Play area for children. Overall very happy and thoroughly enjoyed our stay....Read less.

"Wooden huts"

V Jones - Stayed with family, May 2019

02/06/2019

Stayed in the wooden huts - fab! Site also lovely

"Bank holiday break"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2019

01/06/2019

Very nice campsite friendly staff good location great quality play area for children plus a rope swing in the woodland area for both adults and children !!

"Enjoyable stay"

Miss C Bradley - Stayed with family, May 2019

01/06/2019

We really enjoyed our stay at this site in our caravan.

The staff were very helpful & friendly.

The site is well laid out with generous pitch sizes.

Toilet & shower facilities were kept clean.

There......Read more.

We really enjoyed our stay at this site in our caravan.

The staff were very helpful & friendly.

The site is well laid out with generous pitch sizes.

Toilet & shower facilities were kept clean.

There is a wooded area to walk the dogs in, plenty of field & play area for the kids & pubs within walking distance.

Only two points to raise.......a dog waste bin would have been appreciated & would perhaps encourage owners to pick up (I must add there wasn’t any dog foul around the site), secondly there was an occasional drain smell drifting round - I’m unsure whether this was because it was a busy Bank Holiday & the toilets were getting a lot of use or whether it is always there.

We will definitely return to this site though....Read less.

"Lovely stay"

Mrs J Wilkinson - Stayed with friends, May 2019

01/06/2019

We have stayed at Riddings Wood a few times and have enjoyed all our stays.

The facilities are more than adequate and the play area is perfect.

The pitches would benefit from a little more......Read more.

We have stayed at Riddings Wood a few times and have enjoyed all our stays.

The facilities are more than adequate and the play area is perfect.

The pitches would benefit from a little more levelling as it takes some time getting the caravan seated right which then affects the fit of the awning....Read less.

"Lovely campsite"

Mrs A Churm - Stayed with friends, May 2019

31/05/2019

The only negative would be the sloping pitches!

"Family of four"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

31/05/2019

Sewage smell on site. Dirty toilet and showers. Had to lift waste master to empty. Play area boundary needed maintenance as timbers had warped.

"Lovely setting"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

31/05/2019

Didnt like paying for the showers

"Lovely place to stay"

S Wilson - Stayed with partner, May 2019

26/05/2019

Lovely place to stay staff very friendly and helpful pleasant quiet and clean site

"Clean camp great toilets"

Miss N Brookes - Stayed with family, May 2019

24/05/2019

Great campsite. Best toilet facilities I've found so far on my camping trips.

Very quiet site

"Weekend Break"

A Gray - Stayed with partner, May 2019

24/05/2019

The site was well maintained, WiFi was scratchy at times, some of the pitches were very slopy and we struggled to fit our car on the pitch, if we had taken an awning it wouldn’t have fit.

Please......Read more.

The site was well maintained, WiFi was scratchy at times, some of the pitches were very slopy and we struggled to fit our car on the pitch, if we had taken an awning it wouldn’t have fit.

Please check when booking the pitch you need.

Other than that I would go back for a short break...Read less.

"Pitch"

Mr P Meeney - Stayed with partner, May 2019

23/05/2019

We where on number 10 pitch and couldent decide where the sewage smell was coming we thought it was our gas leaking. But it was because we had the man hole right next to pitch and the exttacter......Read more.

We where on number 10 pitch and couldent decide where the sewage smell was coming we thought it was our gas leaking. But it was because we had the man hole right next to pitch and the exttacter pite was up in the Bush this is the only thing we had fault we o ly stayed over.night will go agai. But not on pitch 10 lovely staff...Read less.

"Park visit"

Mr K Bretherton - Stayed with partner, May 2019

23/05/2019

The park is very well maintained and very clean. Downside for me was that not all tent pitches were level. The showers were spotless but I would suggest installing a small bench/seat to enable you......Read more.

The park is very well maintained and very clean. Downside for me was that not all tent pitches were level. The showers were spotless but I would suggest installing a small bench/seat to enable you sit whilst drying your feet.. The snack wagon (open at weekends was a bonus)....Read less.

"Stopover site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

18/05/2019

Very good stopover site on the way to the peak district.

"Campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

17/05/2019

Extremely welcoming and friendly staff. Great location for children especially the woods and playground. The only thing that could be improved was that the hairdryers didn’t work.

"Weekend break"

Mr R Stone - Stayed with partner, May 2019

17/05/2019

Stayed at riddings camp site and what a beautiful site and fantastic staff so helpful and very clean would certainly go again

"Lovely location, well run site. Highly recommended."

R McKay - Stayed May 2019

16/05/2019

I was warmly welcomed and felt very safe on the site. I had a perfect fully serviced pitch and the setting amongst the trees is really lovely. Even when the site is busy it feels spacious and quiet.......Read more.

I was warmly welcomed and felt very safe on the site. I had a perfect fully serviced pitch and the setting amongst the trees is really lovely. Even when the site is busy it feels spacious and quiet. The village is 5 minutes walk away with pubs, shops and public transport is good. I was impressed by the facilities which were immaculately clean. I was working locally but would love to return on holiday! Thank you....Read less.

"A welcome celebration"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2019

16/05/2019

We booked to celebrate our friends anniversary weekend.

We were pleased with communications when booking.

We were very happy with the lovely welcome we received from Sylvie and Jamie. They were very......Read more.

We booked to celebrate our friends anniversary weekend.

We were pleased with communications when booking.

We were very happy with the lovely welcome we received from Sylvie and Jamie. They were very helpful and friendly over the whole weekend. They were flexible about our leaving time on the Sunday which was so helpful for us. We'd go back because they are there.

We enjoyed exploring the local area and local walks....Read less.

"Relaxing Stay"

Miss A Christofi - Stayed with family, May 2019

16/05/2019

We arrived at the park to be greeted by 2 friendly and helpful staff members. The location was quiet and beautiful, the woods nearby are lovely, lots of beautiful bird sounds. We would definitely......Read more.

We arrived at the park to be greeted by 2 friendly and helpful staff members. The location was quiet and beautiful, the woods nearby are lovely, lots of beautiful bird sounds. We would definitely recommend staying here. Thank you....Read less.

"Abbey Gates Camping Crew"

Mrs J Meads - Stayed with friends, May 2019

16/05/2019

The children loved the woods and the play park - we would definitely come again,

"Lovely site"

Mrs L Aucote - Stayed with family, May 2019

16/05/2019

Beautiful site, showers and amenities were really clean, lovely woods really pretty, staff were nice and friendly and helpful when we got to pitch and found out a large group had took over the pitch......Read more.

Beautiful site, showers and amenities were really clean, lovely woods really pretty, staff were nice and friendly and helpful when we got to pitch and found out a large group had took over the pitch we was ment to be on, was a quick fix tho, we found a nice spot that was actually nicer then the original one. had stunning views over the field down towards the well equipped play area. If I had to complain about anything it would be that the site is on a hill so u cant help but be pitched wonky, but I'll just remember bring none slip mats for the tables next time....Read less.

"Nice place shame about the staff Need more training"

Mrs J Wright - Stayed with family, May 2019

14/05/2019

The staff at the site didn’t seem to know much about what they were doingThat was on during the bank holiday weekend

"Lovely site ! Spotless ! Well worth a visit !"

A Aaron - Stayed with partner, May 2019

10/05/2019

Lovely site, Shower block was very clean, piped music and always warm, Great sized hard standing serviceable pitches, Lovely countryside views from the site. The staff were very helpful and friendly......Read more.

Lovely site, Shower block was very clean, piped music and always warm, Great sized hard standing serviceable pitches, Lovely countryside views from the site. The staff were very helpful and friendly ! We will definitely be returning....Read less.

"Nice Campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

10/05/2019

Lovely Campsite, clean Facility’s.

"Great friendly site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

10/05/2019

Great site, very friendly and accommodating staff. Very clean and tidy, great shower and toilet block. Good play area for the kids. Will definitely go back and would highly recommend.

"Relaxing stay but lots to do"

Miss S Baines - Stayed May 2019

09/05/2019

This is my 3rd visit to Riddings site in the lodges and I was delighted to see that it was still being maintained to a very high standard in both cleanliness and the facilities in the lodge even......Read more.

This is my 3rd visit to Riddings site in the lodges and I was delighted to see that it was still being maintained to a very high standard in both cleanliness and the facilities in the lodge even after being open 3 years in July. The lodges are located at the top of the campsite near the entrance in a nice wooded area and is quite private to the rest of the site making a nice relaxing atmosphere. The fire pit n bbq area is always spotless n for sole use of lodge guests as is the hot tub.

The site is a wonderful hidden gem which is central to lots of attractions and I will be soon booking my 4th visit for later this year.

...Read less.

"Nice quiet weekend break"

Mr R Dolan - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

02/05/2019

Been coming once a year for a weekend with the kids, lovely place peaceful and kids enjoy the freedom.

"Good family campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

02/05/2019

But please get a water standpipe (or two) in lower part of field and switch off the lights at night. Way too much light pollution.

"Lovely retreat"

Miss H Hawley - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

02/05/2019

Only spent one night in n a lodge for a getaway and was lovely and peaceful nice surroundings. Lodge was small but didn’t matter the bed was really comfy and cosy! We think the tv should be......Read more.

Only spent one night in n a lodge for a getaway and was lovely and peaceful nice surroundings. Lodge was small but didn’t matter the bed was really comfy and cosy! We think the tv should be positioned differently and be on the wall nearer bed so can lie and watch in bed but that’s just a personal preference. Hot tub was hot and bubbly just right . Perfect night away😃...Read less.

"Excellent camping place"

Mrs C Somek - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

02/05/2019

We had a great time. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The site was clean and the park was perfect for the kids.

"Our fist visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

01/05/2019

Very good site. A play park for the kids and surrounded by great woods for walks. A good friendly local pub a few minutes walk away. Great washing facilities, although on one day the showers where......Read more.

Very good site. A play park for the kids and surrounded by great woods for walks. A good friendly local pub a few minutes walk away. Great washing facilities, although on one day the showers where full of grass and overflowing, which was the only bad point of the all weekend. Our first visit and we will be back soon....Read less.

"EASTER WEEKEND FANLEY GETTO GETHER"

B Petty - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

30/04/2019

WE HADE A family GET TOGETHER THE WEATHER WAS PERFECT HAD B Qs we all had a fantastic time thank you

"Small simple lovely site."

T Pleasant - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

28/04/2019

Great place to just chill. Not loads of activities but just what we like. Thank you.

"Great meeting point for family and friends"

S Britt - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

27/04/2019

We had a lovely stay. Toilets were clean and warm although on a couple of occasions many of the cubicles were left without loo roll (it was a busy Easter weekend though) and the showers seemed to......Read more.

We had a lovely stay. Toilets were clean and warm although on a couple of occasions many of the cubicles were left without loo roll (it was a busy Easter weekend though) and the showers seemed to flood. Although a busy site it was quiet beyond 10pm. Plenty of things to do in the surrounding area. Would recommend....Read less.

"Weekend break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Camp is on a slop, but got wonderful views, would highly recommend

"Easter visit"

Mr B Boyle - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

***

"Great for visiting surrounding attractions"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Campsite was clean and there was plenty of space considering it was Easter weekend. Kids loved the play area. Showers had a tendency to flood and sometimes there was no toilet paper

"Not as a clean as you'd want"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

Smelly toilets, unclean broken showers, smell of sewage and no soap.

The site is in a nice location and the male staff member was friendly and helpful but the female receptionist was quite rude and......Read more.

Smelly toilets, unclean broken showers, smell of sewage and no soap.

The site is in a nice location and the male staff member was friendly and helpful but the female receptionist was quite rude and miserable.

Lovely woodland surrounding it and a nice atmosphere....Read less.

"Just a perfect long weekend"

Mrs G Price - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

26/04/2019

We booked at Riddings Wood to meet up with friends, staff were very helpful when we enquire and made sure we were all together and close to the park for the children. Facilities are clean and well......Read more.

We booked at Riddings Wood to meet up with friends, staff were very helpful when we enquire and made sure we were all together and close to the park for the children. Facilities are clean and well maintained. Bins did get very full but site was busy for the Easter holidays so understandable. Really lovely site and would definitely recommend!! Thank you...Read less.

"Lovely Lodges, 5* Rating"

Miss M Clewes - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

23/04/2019

The lodges were lovely and clean, the staff were more than helpful. I wish I could've stayed longer. The only thing I would say was that there was no scissors, tin opener or sharp knives in the......Read more.

The lodges were lovely and clean, the staff were more than helpful. I wish I could've stayed longer. The only thing I would say was that there was no scissors, tin opener or sharp knives in the lodges which was a pain when we were trying to cook dinner. It would be great if these items were made available. Other than that everything was perfect. I will definitely be returning!...Read less.

"Week stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

22/04/2019

Only my 2nd outing so little to compare to but found the park clean and tidy. Facilities were clean but a little more care to routine wouldn't go amiss (obvious things like a dead fly on a window......Read more.

Only my 2nd outing so little to compare to but found the park clean and tidy. Facilities were clean but a little more care to routine wouldn't go amiss (obvious things like a dead fly on a window sill stayed there for a few days). Showers were functional but obvious previous damaged had been 'taped together'. The fully serviced pitch wasn't easy although I seemed to have drawn the short straw and was on a corner pitch with the post on the wrong side. I needed an extension to my water pipe (ready now for next time) and no way could I run a waste pipe to the drain so a little let down by this. When I pay for facilities I do expect them to be usable not just for show. All in all though a good site and would recommend it and if they can solve the few niggles would be excellent....Read less.

"Good site but hillside pitches weren’t enjoyable"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

21/04/2019

Great site for access to beautiful countryside, very quiet and lovely forest nearby. Only downside for us was the pitch not being level-few scary moments with our caravan getting unhooked & setting......Read more.

Great site for access to beautiful countryside, very quiet and lovely forest nearby. Only downside for us was the pitch not being level-few scary moments with our caravan getting unhooked & setting off again!

Kids loved the play area and we liked how you can keep an eye on them easily. Toilet & shower block is superb-always warm & music was a bonus. Site described as eco but couldn’t find any recycling facilities....Read less.

"Lovely few days stay in the lodges"

L Pickering - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

21/04/2019

- great facilities, hot tub was great!

- All equipment included eg cutlery, mugs, pans, plates... didn’t need to bring a thing

- close to a woodland walk and short walk to the park, shop and pub......Read more.

- great facilities, hot tub was great!

- All equipment included eg cutlery, mugs, pans, plates... didn’t need to bring a thing

- close to a woodland walk and short walk to the park, shop and pub

- had a great stay and will definitely return...Read less.

"Peaceful getaway"

Mr D Collier - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

19/04/2019

Great value for money. Clean and tidy site. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this to others and will be coming back.

"Worth a stay."

A Law - Stayed Apr 2019

18/04/2019

Lovely lovely place to stay. Bring your levelling chocks and enjoy! Site has everything you need bar a bar! Toilets/showers are immaculate and with plenty of coat hooks, but bring yer own plug as......Read more.

Lovely lovely place to stay. Bring your levelling chocks and enjoy! Site has everything you need bar a bar! Toilets/showers are immaculate and with plenty of coat hooks, but bring yer own plug as usual. MUST visit - Seven Stars Pub - try The Thatch but you'll be a tourist......Read less.

"4 day breakk"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

17/04/2019

We had good weather so everything beautiful also had lots of walks in the woods.

"Overnight stay"

J Binch - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

17/04/2019

Very nice setting and facilities, nice and quite

"Riddings Wood"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

15/04/2019

Love coming to Riddings Wood, a very relaxing site with very helpful friendly staff. The breakfast bar just makes it perfect! We have been a few times now and will be back soon.

"Ridding Wood"

Dr I Farmer - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

13/04/2019

Great site, excellent facilities and good level of security. Would recommend highly.

"Friendly campsite"

N Sewell - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

13/04/2019

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

I would prefer to be able to have the ability to recycle my rubbish though.

"Lovely area"

Mrs M Coleman - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

12/04/2019

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of April and booked a super pitch for our motorhome. Pitch facilities were very good and a nice big pitch with a picnic bench which was a nice addition.

I am......Read more.

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of April and booked a super pitch for our motorhome. Pitch facilities were very good and a nice big pitch with a picnic bench which was a nice addition.

I am disabled so used the disabled facilities, the showers were free in here which was very good but due to the pitch of the floor it flooded and started to go out the door. It would have been very hard to clean up on my own.

My partner used the normal showers which were very clean but a bit expensive at £1.00 a shower.

Everyone in the office were lovely and very helpful....Read less.

"Caravan rally"

K Dickenson - Stayed with friends, Apr 2019

09/04/2019

Club booked the site for a rally, had a good time at the site, hopefully the club will organise another rally here this year.

"A lovely little stay at Riddings Wood Caravan and Camping Park"

Mrs L Fitzakerley - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

03/04/2019

We stayed for a couple of days while visiting a relative in Hospital in Nottingham, The staff were friendly and helpful, especially when taking down our Camper because the OH got a pole stuck!! We......Read more.

We stayed for a couple of days while visiting a relative in Hospital in Nottingham, The staff were friendly and helpful, especially when taking down our Camper because the OH got a pole stuck!! We had a lovely of the Hills. The Toilets and Showers are amazing, they are immaculately clean and has piped music all the time .... proper singing in the Shower Time!! We will definitely return in the future and recommend to Friends and Family for a nice little break....Read less.

"Value for money"

Mr R Murray - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

02/04/2019

Only downside was riddings village was a nightmare to get thro with caravan narrow road with loads of parked cars

"Camping"

Miss D Hallam - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

01/04/2019

We luv it here at Riddings wood. The facilities are clean & warm. Plenty of pitches not all flat tho....this is the only downside of Riddings. Theres a couple of pubs 5 minutes walk through the woods......Read more.

We luv it here at Riddings wood. The facilities are clean & warm. Plenty of pitches not all flat tho....this is the only downside of Riddings. Theres a couple of pubs 5 minutes walk through the woods in the village....some luvly old buildings. Never had a problem with the site or staff. Would definetly recommend....Read less.

"Riddings Wood - 1 night stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

30/03/2019

Nice park, will ask for a flatter pitch (towards entrance on left or right next time. Lovely showers/loo's. Did not use other facilities.

Drawback is access to the park through Ridding (J28 off......Read more.

Nice park, will ask for a flatter pitch (towards entrance on left or right next time. Lovely showers/loo's. Did not use other facilities.

Drawback is access to the park through Ridding (J28 off M1 from north according to sat nav) - dreadful but take J27 and it is much improved...Read less.

"Nice clean site"

D Burns - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

28/03/2019

Very clean, good friendly staff, excellent toilet facilities

"Phoenix club"

C Beange - Stayed with friends, Mar 2019

26/03/2019

I found it great as I paid for full service but thought grass pitches were too uneven even for a camp site . Did not use showers but thought if site was full 3 showers not enough .

"Caravan break"

M Hall - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

22/03/2019

Definertly recommend

"Excellent site"

Mrs J Gray - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

21/03/2019

We loved this site

"Poor facilities"

Mrs L Ward - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

14/03/2019

Very disappointed. Considering that we stayed here in early March (beginning of the season) We very surprised to find one of the shower cubicles in the ladies wash room was out of order and both......Read more.

Very disappointed. Considering that we stayed here in early March (beginning of the season) We very surprised to find one of the shower cubicles in the ladies wash room was out of order and both the hairdryers were not working. The rubbish bins were full and several black bin bags leaning up against them. Very surprised that they claim to be eco friendly yet don’t have any recycling bins??

Hard standing pitches very narrow so couldn’t sit outside the Motorhome....Read less.

"Stuck in the muc!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

14/03/2019

Once we had been given the pitch that we had booked, our stay was lovely. However I am disappointed that we were asked to park on the grass (as our hardstanding pitch had been given away) and advised......Read more.

Once we had been given the pitch that we had booked, our stay was lovely. However I am disappointed that we were asked to park on the grass (as our hardstanding pitch had been given away) and advised that it would be fine to do so with our twin axle caravan. Pretty much straight away we got stuck in the mud. Not the best start to a one night stay having to unhook your suv from the caravan and then have to push the car off the field. We would stop again but I would have preferred it if the site wardens had not given away the hardstanding pitch that we had booked and paid for in the beginning....Read less.

"Riddings wood"

Mrs H Davies - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

08/03/2019

We are regular customers to this lovely caravan park. However returning on the 1st of March having just opened for the new season I found the ladies washroom facilities very tired & in need of......Read more.

We are regular customers to this lovely caravan park. However returning on the 1st of March having just opened for the new season I found the ladies washroom facilities very tired & in need of repair. Both hairdryers were broken & a shower head was taped up which would not stay upright when shower was in use. I feel this work could have been Carriied out ready for the new season to begin. Other than this it is a beautiful site & wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others....Read less.

"X"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

07/03/2019

X

"Super site"

P Brenham - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

07/03/2019

Excellent facilities and great location. Pitches large and toilet block modern and very clean

"Review"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Feb 2019

27/02/2019

Great stay for the second time. Lovely little place!

"The haywoods"

A Speight - Stayed with family, Feb 2019

24/02/2019

It's very nice ,friendly staff and the accommodation was very nice

And the hot tub was great

"Lovely overnight stay."

B Ingram - Stayed with partner, Jan 2019

02/02/2019

Enjoyed a lovely overnight stay here recently, very friendly and helpful staff. Our lodge was comfortable, warm and clean and the hot tub was a super bonus, we will be back.

"Amazing value for money"

Miss L Ford - Stayed with family, Jan 2019

17/01/2019

We loved our stay in a lodge at Riddings Wood Campsite. I stayed with my baby and partner and loved the hour in the hot tub to relax! The room was actually not as small as I expected and overall......Read more.

We loved our stay in a lodge at Riddings Wood Campsite. I stayed with my baby and partner and loved the hour in the hot tub to relax! The room was actually not as small as I expected and overall compared to other lodges which are around £200-£300 per night - this was much better value !...Read less.

"Weekends away"

C Murden - Stayed with friends, Dec 2018

05/01/2019

Brillant site, fatilities are always clean, helpful staff, and will be returning

"Stay at riddings wood"

G Pardington - Stayed Sep 2018

04/01/2019

Great park

"Clean, Tidy and Very Helpful"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Dec 2018

03/01/2019

We had a great couple of nights here between Christmas and New Year. The staff were very helpful and the site had everything we needed. Very clean and tidy toilets and shower facilities. The on site......Read more.

We had a great couple of nights here between Christmas and New Year. The staff were very helpful and the site had everything we needed. Very clean and tidy toilets and shower facilities. The on site snack van was an added bonus too!...Read less.

"Facilities"

K O'Toole - Stayed with family, Dec 2018

06/12/2018

Shower had mould on the sealant around the tray. Hot water was not hot. The decking outside the lodge was very slippery. These are purely meant as constructive feedback and not a complaint

"Lovely Campsite"

Mrs L Cole - Stayed with family, Nov 2018

06/12/2018

Thank you for an enjoyable weekend

"Always Satisfied"

Mr F Williamson - Stayed Sep 2018

30/11/2018

I have used this site every autumn for the last few years. It is set in lovely surrounding and is run a managed by a warm and friendly team. Not that I used it but the site also has a hot food......Read more.

I have used this site every autumn for the last few years. It is set in lovely surrounding and is run a managed by a warm and friendly team. Not that I used it but the site also has a hot food service at weeknds....Read less.

"Our first night away in our new motorhome"

C Evans - Stayed with family, Nov 2018

22/11/2018

Fantastic site with great facilities. It was a first time away and we had a warm welcome. Our electric cable was too short but we were able to borrow one from the owner as well as some blocks to......Read more.

Fantastic site with great facilities. It was a first time away and we had a warm welcome. Our electric cable was too short but we were able to borrow one from the owner as well as some blocks to level our vehicle. Looking forward to going back again soon!...Read less.

"Lovely place although sewage smell from time to time"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

22/11/2018

It was a lovely was place nice views, unfortunatly we were on plot 10 and right next to our caravan was what i believe to be a slurry pump for waste which ran day and night which took away the......Read more.

It was a lovely was place nice views, unfortunatly we were on plot 10 and right next to our caravan was what i believe to be a slurry pump for waste which ran day and night which took away the tranquility the place could offer....Read less.

"Ist visit"

Mr. K Wilson - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

19/11/2018

Excellent site, helpful staff and well maintained facilities. Toilets and showers clean and warm. Definitely recommend site.

"Where I needed to be"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

19/11/2018

Its a good basic camp, although the facilities are old and tired. Think therefore charging £1 for shower was a liberty. The wood adjacent was a bonus though having a dog

"Mixed review"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

15/11/2018

We stayed in a lodge. It was a very pretty setting both in the day and at night( blue lights round each lodge) A gravel path leads you through to the buildings and there is good fire pit area and......Read more.

We stayed in a lodge. It was a very pretty setting both in the day and at night( blue lights round each lodge) A gravel path leads you through to the buildings and there is good fire pit area and another lodge that houses the hot tub. We checked in at the office....mind the wooden steps up as its not lit very well. Steve was friendly, welcoming and helpful. We went to our lodge which was warm and cosy. It was well kitted out and as it looked on the web page. We had been told that someone would come and set up the hot tub for us when our time slot came. We waited and waited and then just did it ourselves. It wasn't difficult, however only one jet was working , so, although we had pretty lights and Bluetooth speakers....it was more of a warm bath than jacuzzi!. No one appeared to help the next lot of people either. Not good if you want your equipment to be properly used and looked after. There are notices up asking that you clean up everything after you......clean the floor, wash up ...leave the place as you find it. While I am happy to do a basic clean, I am on a break from household duties. Also, if this is the case, do they wash all the plates and cutlery after each visitor or leave them to do it..... in that case, I would wash the lot before you use them! At checkout, we told Steve about the hot tub and he just said that he knew it wasn't working properly and it needed a service....no apology. Also, the kettle switch had to be held down while it boiled and when we mentioned this, he said there had been a lot of complaints about them....again, no apology. So, although the lodges are good value for money and in a pretty setting, I'm not sure I would stay again....Read less.

"Riddings"

Mrs K Ahmet - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

14/11/2018

What a lovely park. Lovely surroundings and central to where we needed to be. 1 pound for a 10 minute shower but didn’t mind as reminds you about water conservation. Plenty of time to wash. Could do......Read more.

What a lovely park. Lovely surroundings and central to where we needed to be. 1 pound for a 10 minute shower but didn’t mind as reminds you about water conservation. Plenty of time to wash. Could do with hooks on the inside of the toilet doors to hang coats on but apart from that no problems. Would definitely go back....Read less.

"Late October Camping"

Ms E Raine - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

08/11/2018

What a lovely campsite. When we arrived we were told we could pick where we wanted - in fact as we had a 4WD we were given the choice of the bottom field to ourselves - and that's where we went!

The......Read more.

What a lovely campsite. When we arrived we were told we could pick where we wanted - in fact as we had a 4WD we were given the choice of the bottom field to ourselves - and that's where we went!

The sites toilet and shower facilities are fab. 10 min shower for £1, it was lovely nice and hot and gosh 10 mins is a long time for a shower!!

Yes I would definitely come back here, it's a great location - quick for us to get to from Nottingham so we could pitch the tent in daylight on a Friday evening, and not too far away from the Peak District....Read less.

"Average site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

08/11/2018

Nice for a short stay .

Had to ask for all relevant info, nothing volunteered.

Toilet block ok but smelly.

"Touring"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

05/11/2018

Have marked this park as very good although would have scored higher if didn't have to pay extra for showers. The plots could do with another leveling but apart from that ok.

"Really good stay, would go again"

V Byrne - Stayed with family, Oct 2018

05/11/2018

Park was secure, it had the nice play area for my son, it was well lit up at night time, and thought the facilities were clean.

"Washroom facilities"

C Lockett - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

31/10/2018

Good caravan site, my only dissatisfaction was with the showers. There was only a small hook in the shower area and no seat. So it was very difficult to prevent your clothes getting wet in the shower......Read more.

Good caravan site, my only dissatisfaction was with the showers. There was only a small hook in the shower area and no seat. So it was very difficult to prevent your clothes getting wet in the shower area. Also I'm not disabled, but have injuries from a motor bike accident and find it impossible to put socks on without sitting down. Really need a chair in shower room....Read less.

"First class site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2018

27/10/2018

We stayed here for a week and when we had to extend our stay there wasn’t any problem the site was very tidy and quite we could hear the trains in the distance but they wasn’t a problem, if I could......Read more.

We stayed here for a week and when we had to extend our stay there wasn’t any problem the site was very tidy and quite we could hear the trains in the distance but they wasn’t a problem, if I could find fault with anything it would have to be that the roads could do with being in a smoother condition....Read less.

"fab weekend break"

P Pemberton - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

25/10/2018

fabulous location and lovely walks. only down side the pubs locally do not serve food although take away and delivery is available from other outlets further away.

"showers"

R Gabler - Stayed Oct 2018

24/10/2018

Your Showers need to be refurbished. Cleaning Staff is not able to get them properly cleaned. Mold all over the Place .

"Would stay again"

Anonymous - Stayed Oct 2018

23/10/2018

I was looking for a quiet overnight stop with well maintained facilities and I found it here. Would definitely stay again.

"First Impressions"

R White - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

22/10/2018

We approached the site from J27 of M1. You need to inform all caravanners taking this route and using satnav to ignore the instruction to turn right into Nottingham Lane just before reaching the......Read more.

We approached the site from J27 of M1. You need to inform all caravanners taking this route and using satnav to ignore the instruction to turn right into Nottingham Lane just before reaching the site, and to go straight ahead. This Lane is a narrow single-track road and totally unsuitable for caravans.

The site has excellent views of the surrounding countryside, but had some untidy areas. It was also let down by a toilet block which was badly in need of refurbishment - there was black mold in the shower cubicles, and laminate was peeling off cabinet doors in the washing-up area. We used our own facilities....Read less.

"One night stay"

K Maxwell - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

21/10/2018

Nice friendly site

"Great value for money!"

Mr J Keech - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

20/10/2018

This was our first stay at Riddings wood and we were pleasantly surprised. We received a very warm welcome from the Warden, A genuinely friendly guy.

The weather was poor for our stay but that......Read more.

This was our first stay at Riddings wood and we were pleasantly surprised. We received a very warm welcome from the Warden, A genuinely friendly guy.

The weather was poor for our stay but that really didn’t matter as we were only staying overnight and shopping through the day. The site was clean and well presented with toilets, Shoers, pot wash, laundry and bins all central to the park. Loved the paved walkway across the middle of the field to access the facilities. The pitch for the night was only £18.50 including the dog (hard standing with EHU) though we didn’t require electric. However there is a charge for the showers (£1 for 10 mins) so not too bad.

The shower and toilet block were very clean and really warm.

We will definitely return to Riddings wood look forward to seeing it during the summer 👍🏻...Read less.

"Loved the feeling of space"

Mr J Driscoll - Stayed Oct 2018

12/10/2018

Although it's within a short walk of the local village, the site gives the impression of being miles from anywhere. The pitches are laid out on a gently sloping hill which means that everyone can......Read more.

Although it's within a short walk of the local village, the site gives the impression of being miles from anywhere. The pitches are laid out on a gently sloping hill which means that everyone can enjoy the views across the valley. Pitches are level with the thoughtful provision of a wooden picnic table and benches if it's nice enough to eat outside. The central facilities block was spotless and warm. Definitely on the list for a return visit....Read less.

"Lovely lodges"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

10/10/2018

Husband and I stayed in one of the lodges for our anniversary. Lodges are lovely and have everything you need. We made use of the hot tub which is in another lodge and has shower facility and was......Read more.

Husband and I stayed in one of the lodges for our anniversary. Lodges are lovely and have everything you need. We made use of the hot tub which is in another lodge and has shower facility and was really clean. Staff welcoming and very helpful. Might be where we go every anniversary now....Read less.

"Very clean & tidy site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

06/10/2018

We caravan all over the country and we have marked this site as a definite site to return to. Staff were very helpful and cheerful. We are hoping to return at the end of this month.

"Nice site"

C Wright - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

04/10/2018

Good location, nice surroundings. Shop, burger van, park for kids what more could you want. Good value site.

"Great 1st impression"

P Marshall - Stayed with friends, Sep 2018

04/10/2018

Spent 2 nights here with a small group of 6units caravans and motorhomes. We had a great time and got a little noisy at times. Facilities are great, kept very clean with a play area for kids which......Read more.

Spent 2 nights here with a small group of 6units caravans and motorhomes. We had a great time and got a little noisy at times. Facilities are great, kept very clean with a play area for kids which looked ok but as we had no kids with us cant say for sure.

I couldn't understand why thet let on a large group of young people who occupied the bottom part of the camp field not camping, they, the men and women around 10/12 took over the shower block for quite some time. I think the campsite let itself down security wise as this group were not camping....Read less.

"Campsite"

M Butterell - Stayed with friends, Sep 2018

04/10/2018

The campsite suited our needs for a group get together.

"Quiet retreat"

H Hewkin - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

04/10/2018

Nice quiet and clean site

"Nice site"

Mrs P Gassor - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

23/09/2018

Stayed at Riddings Wood 2 years ago, was sad to find the previous site managers had left. Felt the site had gone down hill slightly. Obviously the facilities have been well used but although......Read more.

Stayed at Riddings Wood 2 years ago, was sad to find the previous site managers had left. Felt the site had gone down hill slightly. Obviously the facilities have been well used but although toilet/shower block cleaned regular some attention could be made to the wooden batons that are round the base of the timber cladding in the toilets, very dirty. Some taps not turning off. Never really saw much of staff on the field. Stayed from Monday to Friday and a lot of rubbish was laying around on bottom field, nobody attempted to clean it up, also never saw the field being mowed despite only few units on site. Previous visit the site manager couple walked round and spoke most days made us feel very welcome. Found 2 pubs within walking distance, one did not open until 2pm the other 4pm. Neither served food in the week. The Seven Stars did offer we could order a takeaway meal and eat it there, nice landlady there....Read less.

"In need of maintenance"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

18/09/2018

Facilities are a bit run down

"Solo camper"

M Graves - Stayed Sep 2018

17/09/2018

Used this site for a single night as a solo traveler whilst working in the area. Ideal for this purpose and will be using again and also may look at bring the rest of the family for a longer stay in......Read more.

Used this site for a single night as a solo traveler whilst working in the area. Ideal for this purpose and will be using again and also may look at bring the rest of the family for a longer stay in the future....Read less.

"Great site but a bit lacking in bar facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

14/09/2018

The sit is in a very good place for going to different resort centres, it kept clean and tidy all the time. Very good for dogs our dog loved it. \there is only thing that spoilt my stay a bit and......Read more.

The sit is in a very good place for going to different resort centres, it kept clean and tidy all the time. Very good for dogs our dog loved it. \there is only thing that spoilt my stay a bit and that was the fact that the bar was never open in the afternoon (that's when I prefer to have a couple of pints) and it did not open every day. I know in there advert that it stated that the bar had seasonal opening times but I think the opening times should have been made clearer. Otherwise we had a great stay....Read less.

"Very friendly and helpful warden"

Mrs C Squires - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

13/09/2018

Friendly helpful warden despite us arriving late on site.

The setting is beautiful and as the shrubs and trees mature it will be stunning.

Unfortunately there appears to be issues with the toilet/......Read more.

Friendly helpful warden despite us arriving late on site.

The setting is beautiful and as the shrubs and trees mature it will be stunning.

Unfortunately there appears to be issues with the toilet/ shower block. The shower I used had a cracked basin I suspect this leaking water has caused or is causing problems with the floor which was soft.

There is a strong aromour of sewage to the lower part of the site which is unpleasant at times.

This site has lots of potential with an upgrade of the toilet shower facilities.

...Read less.

"Short weekend stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

13/09/2018

Too much of a hill for us although our pitch was level. Would not want to be there when the camping is fully booked. Not enough space between camping pitches. Always a sewerage smell.

"First time visit"

I Smith - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

13/09/2018

This was our first visit, we chose it due to wanting a change of scenery from the West of Derbyshire. After reading many dissatisfied reviews we were pleasantly surprised. However if the site was at......Read more.

This was our first visit, we chose it due to wanting a change of scenery from the West of Derbyshire. After reading many dissatisfied reviews we were pleasantly surprised. However if the site was at full capacity we would be able to understand the overcrowding comments. We had a decent view from our caravan but if there were tents in the centre pitches this view would disappear. The caravan pitches were a decent size and it was made stress free by having a serviced pitch. The toilet block was always found to be clean and tidy and the staff seemed pleasant and willing to assist. It was a quiet site and a great place to let the kids run free without too much fear of traffic. Would we return again? Yes I think we would. I have scored the access down on the rating due to SATNAV taking us through a tight housing estate! The SATNAV error isn't necessarily the sites fault but a warning at time of booking would have steered us away from this problem....Read less.

"Very happy"

L Betts - Stayed Sep 2018

11/09/2018

Only stayed for one night in one of the cabins, wish It was longer! had all the usual amenities - towels, plates, coffee etc and the bed was super comfy. Was greeted by a very friendly and helpful......Read more.

Only stayed for one night in one of the cabins, wish It was longer! had all the usual amenities - towels, plates, coffee etc and the bed was super comfy. Was greeted by a very friendly and helpful chap who showed me around....Read less.

"Disappointing"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

10/09/2018

The site had huge potential, however the toilet blocks were not cleaned properly and not replenished with supplies.They need a thorough deep clean and more maintenance to be carried out (eg during......Read more.

The site had huge potential, however the toilet blocks were not cleaned properly and not replenished with supplies.They need a thorough deep clean and more maintenance to be carried out (eg during our visit two urinals were leaking and took 4 days to be repaired). When busy the toilet blocks need cleaning more frequently,Mats at the entrances would prevent some of the mud and grass being trampled in. The number of rubbish bins was totally inadequate for the number of campers and piles of rubbish accumulated at the weekend, more bins needed.There didn't seem to be anywhere near enough staff or cleaners....Read less.

"Good for family’s"

N Wilde - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

08/09/2018

We stayed her 2nd-4th September with our 3 year old son on a pitch site, we was right in front of the park which was great for our little boy we could keep a close eye on him, the showers and toilets......Read more.

We stayed her 2nd-4th September with our 3 year old son on a pitch site, we was right in front of the park which was great for our little boy we could keep a close eye on him, the showers and toilets were cleaned daily, they aren’t the cleanest of showers but what do u expect from a camp site? They were fine for what we paid for, only thing is the hair dryers weren’t working.. great two night away we enjoyed our stay would recommend for family’s...Read less.

"Very good"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

08/09/2018

Loved my stay

"Pitch Perfect"

Mrs L Wallington - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

07/09/2018

Good value stay. The park rules of quiet after 11pm worked really well and was a good addition. Toilet and wash facilities really good and cleaned in morning, could just do with a clean mop to allow......Read more.

Good value stay. The park rules of quiet after 11pm worked really well and was a good addition. Toilet and wash facilities really good and cleaned in morning, could just do with a clean mop to allow people to use after shower. Nice site, staff really helpful and a good base. It is near a train line which was sometimes noisy overnight but didn’t detract from stay. Security in site excellent and felt safe for kids. A good base with lots within half to one hour to do....Read less.

"Disappointed"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

06/09/2018

Rubbish piled high and all the bins were full. Toilet block not cleaned, water all over the floor. Not enough facilities for the amount of people that the park caters for.

Vehicles going too fast......Read more.

Rubbish piled high and all the bins were full. Toilet block not cleaned, water all over the floor. Not enough facilities for the amount of people that the park caters for.

Vehicles going too fast round the roadways where children are out and about....Read less.

"Great value. Lovely campsite."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

06/09/2018

Everything was great. Brilliant for children and it has a great atmosphere. However, the toilets/drainage system did start to smell as the weekend went on. Also the women’s toilets didn’t have any......Read more.

Everything was great. Brilliant for children and it has a great atmosphere. However, the toilets/drainage system did start to smell as the weekend went on. Also the women’s toilets didn’t have any soap on offer for the entire weekend which was unfortunate....Read less.

"Noisy"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

06/09/2018

Unfortunately quiet time was not adhered too both nights we stayed. I put up with it first night but second night at 12.30 I complained to warden who didn't answer his phone so I had to go and find......Read more.

Unfortunately quiet time was not adhered too both nights we stayed. I put up with it first night but second night at 12.30 I complained to warden who didn't answer his phone so I had to go and find him. I had to deal with one group myself at 01.30 however who i guessed hadn't been spoken to by warden or they ignored him.

Not enough toilet paper and soap dispensers not filled up.

...Read less.

"Sewerage smell and VERY small shower cubicals"

N Robinson - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

06/09/2018

There was a sewer manhole cover with a truly awful stench emanating from it. It looked like it may have overflowed recently as the top of the cover looked quite mucky. When we were downwind it was......Read more.

There was a sewer manhole cover with a truly awful stench emanating from it. It looked like it may have overflowed recently as the top of the cover looked quite mucky. When we were downwind it was awful.

The showers were a bit expensive £1 for 10 mins (who needs 10mins ?) and the space for drying and getting dressed was tiny. A large person would have to open the external door before opening the shower cubical door.

Lots of rules - most of which seemed to be ignored - Dogs on leads and only 1 car per pitch !...Read less.

"Badly Managed"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

06/09/2018

The smell of sewage waste, bins not being emptied, dirty toilets and showers. Lack of security on site. Other campers playing music and making noise late into the night.

"Riddings wood camping trip"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

05/09/2018

I was really looking forward to staying here as the photos looked lovely, there were some bad reviews about problems with sewage but they were dated from may so i wasn't worried as i presumed it......Read more.

I was really looking forward to staying here as the photos looked lovely, there were some bad reviews about problems with sewage but they were dated from may so i wasn't worried as i presumed it would be sorted by the end of august, but i was wrong there was still issues with sewage, it was absolutely disgusting their was actually sewage running through the grass into the woods the smell was disgusting and got worse when it was hot, the toilet and shower block stunk of sewage there was a tent pitched up straight across from where the sewage was I'm surprised no ones ended up ill!

The staff were never anywhere to be seen , the kids park was ok the tent pitches just felt abandoned the layout was rubbish i imagine a bit of a free for all when busy the hike to the toilet from the tent pitches gets a bit tiresome by the end of the week as the tents are at the bottom of the hill and the toilets at the top although not much you can do about that.

We still had a good time but it has put me off going back.

Also the two pubs that are a five minute walk away from the site do not serve food as it has been stated on some of the reviews as we found out which spoilt our plans a bit....Read less.

"Dirty and not well equipped."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

04/09/2018

We were really excited to stay somewhere where we had access to a hot tub and why we were willing to pay a bit extra. We had all got ready to go in and when we looked the hot tub was filthy. There......Read more.

We were really excited to stay somewhere where we had access to a hot tub and why we were willing to pay a bit extra. We had all got ready to go in and when we looked the hot tub was filthy. There was bits of food, hair and scum floating in the water and the sides were filthy and full of dirt. My son was the only one who dared go in but only for 5 minutes as it was really unpleasant. We were there 2 nights so could have gone in again but we couldn't face it so were really disappointed. The lodge looked great but was still dirty inside. I had to clean toothpaste from the basin and when we put the sofa bed up the matress was full of crumbs, hair and dirt so we had to shake the matress outside. We were unable to cook in the lodge as there were very few pans or cooking implements and there were no glasses or beakers so the children were drinking juice from mugs. We were also unable to access the internet which was disappointing. Overall an expensive couple of nights and a bit disappointing....Read less.

"Riddings holiday lodges"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

04/09/2018

Very near road

"good site in lovely area"

S Coulson - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

04/09/2018

Stayed here last week for four nights. Showers and toilets cleaned everyday no issue with that only the fact that there is an awful stench coming from septic tank fortunately we weren't too close to......Read more.

Stayed here last week for four nights. Showers and toilets cleaned everyday no issue with that only the fact that there is an awful stench coming from septic tank fortunately we weren't too close to it but I know a couple of people cut their Sta short because of it. The site is quite hilly so your pitch may not be level. We stayed on pitch eight which is a hardstanding pitch and had no problems. There are two nice pubs a few minutes walk away, note neither do food as its states on their own websites, having said that at the moulders arms we were told we could order a takeaway and eat it in there. There are some very nice walks in the area...Read less.

"Campsite oasis"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

01/09/2018

Nice location with good facilities ... Lots of local family activities. Would recommend tissington trail and casington water

"Review"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

31/08/2018

Overall good but showers and dish-washing facilities need more regular cleaning.

"Overall site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

31/08/2018

We were very disappointed with the pitch. It was on a slope which doesn’t bode well when pitching a trailer tent......... or making a drink.

The facilities were some of the worst we’ve seen/used. The......Read more.

We were very disappointed with the pitch. It was on a slope which doesn’t bode well when pitching a trailer tent......... or making a drink.

The facilities were some of the worst we’ve seen/used. The showers, toilets and sinks were all dirty. Three showers is not enough for the size of the site. To be honest the showers were so unclean that on our last day we travelled home in our pj’s rather than have a shower.

The facilities were closed for 30mins everyday for cleaning. The facilities were definitely not cleaned for 30mins!!

The washing up facilities were actually not bad but two sinks is not enough for the size of the site.

The site needs more facilities and there should be more attention to cleaning.

...Read less.

"Hilly and packed in"

M Flavin - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

31/08/2018

This site is very hilly and I would liken it to festival type camping tents of packed very close together shower and toilet facilities look very nice but during our stay there was a leak from a......Read more.

This site is very hilly and I would liken it to festival type camping tents of packed very close together shower and toilet facilities look very nice but during our stay there was a leak from a toilet and this was only cleaned once a day not ideal for the amount of people staying on this site...Read less.

"Disappointing"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

31/08/2018

The staff were friends and very welcoming. Unfortunately this was where the positivity ended.

The toilet facilities were filthy, no toilet paper and no hand wash. The fact it was bank holiday extra......Read more.

The staff were friends and very welcoming. Unfortunately this was where the positivity ended.

The toilet facilities were filthy, no toilet paper and no hand wash. The fact it was bank holiday extra provisions should have been provided. On the site they were described as luxury.....I’m afraid this is setting false expectation.

The site was on a slop so not ideal when in a tent...

We didn’t sleep well as the night light on the electric hook up stayed on all night.

...Read less.

"Left a day early..."

Mr J Madden - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

31/08/2018

Went to look at this caravan site two weeks before we stayed and it looked great. But on the day of our arrival that being the recent August bank holiday weekend, you couldn't move for tents. The......Read more.

Went to look at this caravan site two weeks before we stayed and it looked great. But on the day of our arrival that being the recent August bank holiday weekend, you couldn't move for tents. The facility's could not cope with the demand. The toilets were a mess. Urine on the floor and queuing to use the showers.

We stayed two nights and came home a day early. If there was a blade of grass spare someone was erecting a tent on it.

Reminded me of Glastonbury and OK if your a teenager.

Music should have been off at 11 but went on till midnight and nothing was done about it.

Will not be going again.

Found a perfect caravan site just a few miles away called Lickpenny and they don't allow tents....Read less.

"Needs to be cleaner"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

31/08/2018

The ladies toilets were not cleaned often enough for a bank holiday weekend.

The bins were over flowing.

The camping pitches are on a slope

"First camping experience for my friends who came."

Miss M Dumelow - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

28/08/2018

We camped for just one night. For my friend and son who also came this was they first camping experience and despite some heavy rain they loved it which was partly due to the fact this was a great......Read more.

We camped for just one night. For my friend and son who also came this was they first camping experience and despite some heavy rain they loved it which was partly due to the fact this was a great site for kids. We were given a pitch right by the play park that wasn’t far from the toilet block either. With access into the woods also kids all had a brilliant time....Read less.

"Tlc"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

27/08/2018

I feel some of the toilet facilities need a little tlc and so does the park, we love to stay here but not everyone treats things how they would like to find it!

"Great location and neat looking facilities"

Mr C Chua - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

24/08/2018

Riddings Wood camping park is in a great location, right next to Ironville making easy to grab extra supplies. The facilities looked great in the pictures which matched the actual place, however......Read more.

Riddings Wood camping park is in a great location, right next to Ironville making easy to grab extra supplies. The facilities looked great in the pictures which matched the actual place, however cleanliness was a bit of an issue. A toilet was always clogged over our 3d/2n stay, and the floor was damp.

For the cost of staying at the campsite, I was surprised that showers weren't free. Also at £1 for 10minutes, not really worth it....Read less.

© 2006 - 2019 CampStead