Holme Valley Camping & Caravan Park

23 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 23 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

83%

Very Good

17%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Lovely Site & Great Hosts"

Mr C Rigby - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

04/05/2021

Really enjoyed our stay here.

Linda, replied to this review on the 05 May 2021

Thank you :) We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Regards, Linda.

"Lovely weekend"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

04/05/2021

Lovely site, nice walk into Holmfirth, facilities not open due to Covid but we were self sufficient. Would have been nice to use a fire pit due to the cold weather in the evenings and we were on hard......Read more.

Lovely site, nice walk into Holmfirth, facilities not open due to Covid but we were self sufficient. Would have been nice to use a fire pit due to the cold weather in the evenings and we were on hard standing so no risk of damage to the grass. Otherwise we will be back, devour restaurant a must next time and at the side of the park....Read less.

"A tranquil place in a beautiful location"

Mr G Sagar - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

29/04/2021

A place that seems away from it all but it is quite close and walkable to Holmfirth. The site is really well presented and equipped and the pitches are large. We loved ours right on the edge of the......Read more.

A place that seems away from it all but it is quite close and walkable to Holmfirth. The site is really well presented and equipped and the pitches are large. We loved ours right on the edge of the pond. Will return for sure....Read less.

Naomi, replied to this review on the 02 May 2021

Thanks for your kind comments, Gary - we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. Naomi :-)

"Transporter pitch test"

Mr G Wood - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

29/04/2021

Nice and local to us in Penistone, needed somewhere to test camp with our new setup. 3rd lockdown so no facilities available. Site is well kept and recently re surfaced approach road. Nice spacious,......Read more.

Nice and local to us in Penistone, needed somewhere to test camp with our new setup. 3rd lockdown so no facilities available. Site is well kept and recently re surfaced approach road. Nice spacious, flat, electric pitch. Only downside and its not the owners fault, dog owners, lumps left by unattended dogs, the odd dog off the lead, site rule of no firepit not adhered to by half the field. Burnt grass..

Will return when the wash blocks are back open....Read less.

Naomi, replied to this review on the 02 May 2021

Many thanks for your review, positive comments and feedback. I am sorry you came across dog mess -......Read more.

Many thanks for your review, positive comments and feedback. I am sorry you came across dog mess - it is very disappointing and if we spot any, we will clear it up straight away - I'm sorry we missed it. It's also a shame when guests don't keep to our rules - on busy weekends, we will walk round late in the evening and sometimes have to ask guests to put out their fires. I believe this was done on the Friday, but no walk took place on the Saturday the night you stayed. Apologies if this caused you problems, Naomi....Read less.

"A very nice site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

29/04/2021

We enjoyed our stay at this well located site. A lovely tranquil location by the river.

"B"

Mr B Johnson - Stayed Apr 2021

29/04/2021

Really excellent

Linda, replied to this review on the 29 April 2021

Thank you : ) We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Linda

"Excellent site"

Mrs D Garfoot - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

29/04/2021

The site is lovely, it’s position on the edge of Holmfirth was really handy, we had a great pitch close to the stream. We hope to return in the future

Linda, replied to this review on the 29 April 2021

Thank you Dawn for your kind words : ) We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Linda

"One night stay in motorhome"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

28/04/2021

Lovely campsite with good playground for kids. Good for my toddler who was able to play out safely.

My pitch (pitch 1) was described as flat but was actually on quite a slope. I also only just......Read more.

Lovely campsite with good playground for kids. Good for my toddler who was able to play out safely.

My pitch (pitch 1) was described as flat but was actually on quite a slope. I also only just managed to reach the hookup point with 25m of cable.

I'd definitely stat again but would book a specific pitch...Read less.

Naomi, replied to this review on the 02 May 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and your valuable feedback. The pitches in the......Read more.

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and your valuable feedback. The pitches in the Bottom Field have been re-positioned recently so we will have another look at this one - I'm sorry if it caused you problems during your stay. We are also always happy to change your pitch on arrival if possible. Otherwise, you are very welcome to request a certain pitch when booking. Many thanks, Naomi....Read less.

"Gill"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

27/04/2021

Great site, couldn’t review everything due to lock down. Lots of information available on places to go

Leanne, replied to this review on the 27 April 2021

Thank you for your great review!

Kind regards

leanne :)

"April 21"

Ms S Park - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

23/04/2021

Just out of lockdown 1st night away beautiful weather and lovely campsite great location.

Linda, replied to this review on the 23 April 2021

Thank you for your lovely comments Stacey :) We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Linda

"Immaculate Site"

Mrs S Hughes - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

23/04/2021

Stayed for one night only, lovely site with a flowing stream and fishing lake. The shower/toilet blocks were closed due to Covid, but reading other reviews they are immaculate. Local pub within......Read more.

Stayed for one night only, lovely site with a flowing stream and fishing lake. The shower/toilet blocks were closed due to Covid, but reading other reviews they are immaculate. Local pub within walking distance, would definitely be returning...Read less.

Linda, replied to this review on the 23 April 2021

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you had a lovely stay with us and look forward to......Read more.

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you had a lovely stay with us and look forward to you returning sometime soon.

Regards,

Linda...Read less.

"17/04/21 last minute quick getaway 😊😊"

Mrs C Lymbery - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

22/04/2021

Fab site,extremely friendly staff (as always 😊)

Due to current rules toilets/showers closed but that doesn’t bother us ! Visit here often as only 50mins from home,looking forward to our next stay

Linda, replied to this review on the 22 April 2021

Thank you Cassie for your kind words. We are glad that you had another lovely stay with us again......Read more.

Thank you Cassie for your kind words. We are glad that you had another lovely stay with us again and look forward to you returning.

Regards,

Linda...Read less.

"First trip"

J Lodge - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

22/04/2021

We wanted to go away but local for our first trip of 2021. It was fantastic from start to finish. The site was lovely with a mix of hard standing and grass. Their was a lovely lake with ducks on......Read more.

We wanted to go away but local for our first trip of 2021. It was fantastic from start to finish. The site was lovely with a mix of hard standing and grass. Their was a lovely lake with ducks on where we saw a mother duck and 9 ducklings. The children loved it. My children loved playing by the pond and on the play area. We also had fun playing football on the grass area. Great local walks from the site into the woods and a 20 minute walk into Holmfirth. The staff were very helpful and it was really nice that we were able to stay later on the day of departure, we really appreciated it. Will definitely be coming back soon. Thank you for a fantastic little holiday....Read less.

Linda, replied to this review on the 28 April 2021

Hi Julie,

Wow! 5 stars thank you! We're really pleased that you had such a fantastic stay with us.......Read more.

Hi Julie,

Wow! 5 stars thank you! We're really pleased that you had such a fantastic stay with us. Thank you for all the lovely comments. We are glad we could help with the late check out, this must have rounded off your stay with us perfectly, and of course the beautiful weather helped.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Linda....Read less.

"Our favourite place"

Miss K Duckworth - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

20/04/2021

We go here at least twice a year. It's our favourite place to go. The kids love the open space. The site is amazing and so are the staff.

Linda, replied to this review on the 28 April 2021

Thank you Keely for you kind words and and 5 stars :) we really appreciate that thank you. We look......Read more.

Thank you Keely for you kind words and and 5 stars :) we really appreciate that thank you. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Regards,

Linda...Read less.

"Fantastic Stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

19/04/2021

Would highly recommend this lovely place

Linda, replied to this review on the 21 April 2021

Thank you for your kind words.

Regards,

Linda

"Excellent park"

Mr R Plews - Stayed with partner, Nov 2020

08/11/2020

We will be back says it all

Naomi, replied to this review on the 02 May 2021

Thanks very much Rick, looking forward to welcoming you again. Naomi.

"Idyllic spot nestled in the valley"

Mrs J Moran - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

02/11/2020

We've just enjoyed a cosy stay in the Glamping Cabin by the lake. Walking around the beautifully kept park you could believe you were in France! Such an idyllic spot nestled in the valley.

Our son......Read more.

We've just enjoyed a cosy stay in the Glamping Cabin by the lake. Walking around the beautifully kept park you could believe you were in France! Such an idyllic spot nestled in the valley.

Our son enjoyed the playground and we got a fantastic Woodland Log Book from the shop and strolled along the river spotting wildlife, including a heron!

The team are so friendly and helpful, the little shop is great and the amenities are excellent.

A wonderful change of scenery, we can't recommend it highly enough....Read less.

Naomi, replied to this review on the 03 November 2020

It's so lovely to hear you have enjoyed a cosy cabin stay with us and that you spotted wildlife......Read more.

It's so lovely to hear you have enjoyed a cosy cabin stay with us and that you spotted wildlife too! Thank you for your kind review :-) We look forward to welcoming you again sometime. Naomi....Read less.

"A great site to visit"

Mr K Charles - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

29/10/2020

A perfect site for visiting Holmfirth and surrounding area.

Great variety of pitches, our lakeside pitch was perfect. Very quiet and relaxing.

We had noted the negative comments regarding the lane......Read more.

A perfect site for visiting Holmfirth and surrounding area.

Great variety of pitches, our lakeside pitch was perfect. Very quiet and relaxing.

We had noted the negative comments regarding the lane down to the site, but it is not a problem if you take it slowly.

Whilst the facilities were a little dated they were clean.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would visit again....Read less.

Linda, replied to this review on the 01 November 2020

Thank you for your kind words. I'm really pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us and that you......Read more.

Thank you for your kind words. I'm really pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us and that you thought your pitch was perfect, thank you :)

The facilities that you had used are the original toilet and shower block which are about 34 years old but still very clean. We do have a newer block which is near the play park just below the check in, so hopefully you will be able to try that block out on your next visit.

We were due to have the lane resurfaced back in March the same time Boris announced the Lockdown, but hopefully we will be able to have it completed sometime in 2021.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Linda....Read less.

"A lovely weekend break :-)"

Mr M Denton - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

29/10/2020

We booked one of the cabins for the night so that we could explore the local area. The booking process was very good, simple and easy to use, The information given when booked was detailed and told......Read more.

We booked one of the cabins for the night so that we could explore the local area. The booking process was very good, simple and easy to use, The information given when booked was detailed and told us everything that we needed to know. We received a phone call before we arrived letting us know which cabin we were in so we were able to access this straight away when we arrived at the park. The cabin was lovely, very clean and had everything that we needed. We were also allocated the private use of a family bathroom for our stay which was extremely clean and not too far a walk from the cabin. There were some fantastic walks directly from the site and the location was ideal to explore Holmfirth and the wider local area. We were very impressed, the kids loved it and we would definitely return....Read less.

Linda, replied to this review on the 01 November 2020

Thank you for the lovely review Martin :) I was really pleased to read that you and the kids really......Read more.

Thank you for the lovely review Martin :) I was really pleased to read that you and the kids really enjoyed your stay with us in one of our Cabins. I will pass on your comments regarding the cleanliness of the Cabin and bathroom to my colleagues (who do a wonderful job) who will be pleased that all their hard work has been noticed, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the not to distant future.

Kind regards,

Linda....Read less.

"Excellent campsite in the Holme Valley"

P Denial - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

23/10/2020

Love this place, stayed many times with family under canvas and now in our new (to us) campervan. It's tucked away in the peace of the valley, down a slightly steep but not difficult access road. ......Read more.

Love this place, stayed many times with family under canvas and now in our new (to us) campervan. It's tucked away in the peace of the valley, down a slightly steep but not difficult access road. We cannot praise the friendliness of staff enough, Ben and Naomi are lovely people. The majority of the pitches are very flat and level, access to electric and water is good and the facilities are great with lots of free hot water. Small shop for essentials, nice walk in to Holmfirth as well as along the riverside. Aldi and Lidl just along the road....Read less.

, replied to this review on the 26 October 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review!

We are so pleased that you always enjoy your stay with......Read more.

Thank you so much for your lovely review!

We are so pleased that you always enjoy your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Many thanks again

Joanne...Read less.

"First review"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

15/10/2020

Great park and location, atrocious access road in.

Linda, replied to this review on the 16 October 2020

Thank you for your comments. I do apologise for the poor condition that our lane is in at the......Read more.

Thank you for your comments. I do apologise for the poor condition that our lane is in at the moment. We had planned to have it resurfaced back in March this year, but unfortunately because of the Coronavirus and the Lockdown it had to be cancelled. We are planning with fingers crossed to have it done in the Spring next year.

I'm glad this hasn't put you off returning and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Linda....Read less.

"Repeat customer"

Mr C Lowe - Stayed Oct 2020

13/10/2020

Holme valley is that place where you can get the chance to switch off and totally relax. The staff and owners have worked hard to ensure site safety during the pandemic and to minimize impact on your......Read more.

Holme valley is that place where you can get the chance to switch off and totally relax. The staff and owners have worked hard to ensure site safety during the pandemic and to minimize impact on your stay. I am a repeat return customer, and will continue to be for many more visits....Read less.

, replied to this review on the 13 October 2020

Thank you so much for the great review Colin!

We are pleased to hear that you can 'switch off and......Read more.

Thank you so much for the great review Colin!

We are pleased to hear that you can 'switch off and relax' whilst you are staying on the park.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Many thanks

Joanne...Read less.

"Our family mini break"

Mrs L Attwood - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

06/10/2020

We loved our 2 night stay and we were very lucky to be the only ones staying in the pods for the first night! We loved the fact that we could bring our 2 bulldogs and they had the best time. The......Read more.

We loved our 2 night stay and we were very lucky to be the only ones staying in the pods for the first night! We loved the fact that we could bring our 2 bulldogs and they had the best time. The bathroom we had was lovely very clean and our clamping pod was fab !...Read less.

Naomi, replied to this review on the 06 October 2020

Many thanks for your lovely review! Great to hear that the dogs enjoyed their holiday too :-) We......Read more.

Many thanks for your lovely review! Great to hear that the dogs enjoyed their holiday too :-) We hope to welcome you again sometime, Naomi....Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead