Holme Valley Camping & Caravan Park

252 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 252 reviews in the last 12 months

98% would recommend this site

97% would stay here again

Excellent

71%

Very Good

24%

Average

4%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Enjoyable weekend break"

B Cicero - Stayed with family, Nov 2021

25/11/2021

Arrived to a warm friendly greeting from the staff who were helpful and provided all the information we required(information leaflets on bus times etc).

We had a fab pitch over the water and we......Read more.

Arrived to a warm friendly greeting from the staff who were helpful and provided all the information we required(information leaflets on bus times etc).

We had a fab pitch over the water and we loved sitting out on it .

It was a slow stroll into Holmfirth and a bus back.

A trip into Huddersfield on the bus the following day. All providing a great stay.

The only thing to say is make sure you have a torch if you walking back down to the site from the main road when it’s dark as there is no main lighting.

We will be back....Read less.

"Autumnal Yorkshire"

Miss K Hayes - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

18/11/2021

Lovely stay at Holm Valley, very pretty with the trees, river and pond

Owner replied to this review on the 20 November 2021

Good morning Kathy,

Thank you for your 4 star review.

We hope to welcome you back to the park......Read more.

Good morning Kathy,

Thank you for your 4 star review.

We hope to welcome you back to the park soon!

Kind regards

Jess...Read less.

"It was November"

Mr E Carling - Stayed with partner, Nov 2021

12/11/2021

The park was clean, tidy and easy to find, being November there was no onsite activities or entertainment (children or adult) to comment on. There are two facilities blocks, one is looking a bit......Read more.

The park was clean, tidy and easy to find, being November there was no onsite activities or entertainment (children or adult) to comment on. There are two facilities blocks, one is looking a bit tired and could do with some TLC, the other is brand new and excellent. The pitch I was allocated was right next to the river and had the weather been better (can't blame the site for that) would have been superb. the only complaint was that is was a corner site and I felt I would be obstructing the other pitch forming this corner as I could not reverse far enough back due to the bushes at the rear of the pitch needing to be trimmed (someone did get in though)....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 15 November 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you had problems with your pitch, we......Read more.

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you had problems with your pitch, we have now been down to the pitch area to make sure there is plenty of space. We will be renovating the older toilet and shower block over the winter 2022/23 - we hoped to complete the refurbishment this winter however, the space needs re-configuring and the building needs re-roofing. Hopefully we will see you again after the work so that you can enjoy the newly updated block. Best wishes, Naomi....Read less.

"Holmefirth camp site"

Mr C Ray - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

02/11/2021

Beautiful camp site friendly staff . In my opinion it was not a good base if you want to visit attractions in Yorkshire (long drive to get to attractions)

"Beautiful location, friendly relaxed atmosphere"

Miss D Green - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

01/11/2021

We loved our stay at Holme Valley, the staff were lovely. The campsite setting was so peaceful and beautiful, the amenities were clean and very well kept. Perfect location to go out exploring either ......Read more.

We loved our stay at Holme Valley, the staff were lovely. The campsite setting was so peaceful and beautiful, the amenities were clean and very well kept. Perfect location to go out exploring either walking distance or only a short drive away.

Our glamping pod was very clean, lovely and warm and perfect for our family, our boys are 3 and 4 and they absolutely loved it.

There wasn’t anything going on in camp entertainment wise which we would have liked but this was more due to the time of year we selected to go.

We will 100% be returning to Holme Valley and I have already recommended this site to people

Thank you for a wonderful stay :)...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 02 November 2021

Good morning Debbie,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed yours stay in one of our cabins.

Your......Read more.

Good morning Debbie,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed yours stay in one of our cabins.

Your recommendations are greatly appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards

Jess...Read less.

"Little Gem of a site"

R Sharp - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

01/11/2021

Lovely little site. In a quiet location but plenty of stuff to do in the local area.

Site very clean and tidy.

Showers nice and warm, above sinks could do with De-spidering! But then to be expected......Read more.

Lovely little site. In a quiet location but plenty of stuff to do in the local area.

Site very clean and tidy.

Showers nice and warm, above sinks could do with De-spidering! But then to be expected due to location (Wooded area).

Didn’t use the shop as only here for one night, but hear it is very well stocked....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 02 November 2021

Good morning Rob,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you to the park......Read more.

Good morning Rob,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you to the park again soon!

Regards

Jess...Read less.

"Really impressed"

Mr I Dixon - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

31/10/2021

Thank you to all staff , really excellent clean site

Owner replied to this review on the 02 November 2021

Good morning Ian,

Thank you for your 5 star review. I shall share your kind words with my......Read more.

Good morning Ian,

Thank you for your 5 star review. I shall share your kind words with my colleagues!

kind regards

Jess...Read less.

"First night in a motorhome"

Prof S Underwood - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

28/10/2021

We were passing by on the way to Wales and you were perfectly placed. All was fine, no regrets. The washing facilities were clean, warm and much better than some of our subsequent stops. Thank you.

Owner replied to this review on the 04 November 2021

Thank you Richard. We hope that you will visit us again sometime soon.

Kind regards,

Linda

"Helpfullness"

Miss R Corley - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

28/10/2021

The lady on reception was so helpful and accommodating- we were in a MoHo and due to the weather couldn’t have stayed on the allocated grass pitch - she tirelessly sought us an alternative.

However -......Read more.

The lady on reception was so helpful and accommodating- we were in a MoHo and due to the weather couldn’t have stayed on the allocated grass pitch - she tirelessly sought us an alternative.

However - some of the seasonal pitches are rather tatty and can give the site an unkempt look...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 04 November 2021

Thank you for Rachael for your comments, I'm glad that I could help, it wasn't at problem at all. I......Read more.

Thank you for Rachael for your comments, I'm glad that I could help, it wasn't at problem at all. I have passed on your comments regarding the the seasonal pitches to to owner. Hope to see you both again soon.

Kind regards, Linda...Read less.

"Very pleasant stay"

Mr G Yates - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

28/10/2021

Very warm and informative arrival at booking in. Very clean site with great relaxing atmosphere. Definitely would come back.

Owner replied to this review on the 04 November 2021

Lovely comments Gareth, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes, Linda

"Holme Valley Camping and Caravan Park"

Mrs C Webb - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

27/10/2021

Beautiful place to stay whilst visiting family with kind, caring staff and abundance of wildlife. Facilities are amazing!

Owner replied to this review on the 04 November 2021

Thank you for your lovely comments Carol :) We'll look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Best......Read more.

Thank you for your lovely comments Carol :) We'll look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Best wishes, Linda...Read less.

"Regular visitors"

Mrs E Langley - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

27/10/2021

Site is private and secluded with good facilities and helpful staff. Could be more security, particularly at night as some people still ignore "camp fire" rules and noise restrictions. Anyone......Read more.

Site is private and secluded with good facilities and helpful staff. Could be more security, particularly at night as some people still ignore "camp fire" rules and noise restrictions. Anyone arriving in the dark struggles to find their plot and the paths are extremely dark. Perhaps more lighting would be a good idea. Overall a good site needing a few tweaks....Read less.

"Weekend Getaway"

A Curtis - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

23/10/2021

Lovely park set in a beautiful location. Staff very welcoming and accommodating. Easy walking distance to local pubs who do delicous food and a mile into Holmfirth to shops. Look forward to returning......Read more.

Lovely park set in a beautiful location. Staff very welcoming and accommodating. Easy walking distance to local pubs who do delicous food and a mile into Holmfirth to shops. Look forward to returning again soon....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 25 October 2021

Good afternoon Ann,

Thank you for your 5 stars and lovely words.

We look forward to welcoming you......Read more.

Good afternoon Ann,

Thank you for your 5 stars and lovely words.

We look forward to welcoming you to the park again soon!

Kind regards

Jess...Read less.

"Lovely place with great facilities"

Mrs L Fielding - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

21/10/2021

Super quiet and peaceful, nice surroundings and very clean facilities

Owner replied to this review on the 25 October 2021

Good morning Lyndsay,

Thank you for your star review!

Kind regards

Jess

"My stay"

Mr A Redfern - Stayed with friends, Oct 2021

21/10/2021

Excellent all round site. But could do with the showers being upgraded in the second shower block

Owner replied to this review on the 09 November 2021

Thank you for your comments Austin. We are planning to refurbish our original toilet and shower......Read more.

Thank you for your comments Austin. We are planning to refurbish our original toilet and shower block, but the whole block needs a new roof putting on so for this year we will just be sprucing it up with a lick of paint and a clean and tidy up.

Kind regards, Linda...Read less.

"Immaculate site, perfect location, lovely staff"

Mr R Humphries - Stayed with friends, Oct 2021

14/10/2021

Spent 4 nights here in October. Delightful site, very tidy & clean. Very quiet, not many people around. Easy walk down to Bamburgh. Some great coastal cycle rides. My only area of dissatisfaction was......Read more.

Spent 4 nights here in October. Delightful site, very tidy & clean. Very quiet, not many people around. Easy walk down to Bamburgh. Some great coastal cycle rides. My only area of dissatisfaction was the WiFi which cost £3 for a day and £10 per week. I discovered after purchasing this that it can only be used on one device for the whole period, for example you can’t log off to allow your wife to log on and download her newspaper. I did complain about this as I wouldn’t have purchased the token had I known. It was resolved satisfactorily by a member of staff giving me an extra token. But I do think in this day and age that WiFi is as essential as running water and electricity, it should be included in the price (which was reasonable but certainly not cheap). The WiFi charging policy should be explained clearly on the website and on arrival at reception....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 15 October 2021

Thank you for writing a review, however this is a different park! We are not on the coast and don't......Read more.

Thank you for writing a review, however this is a different park! We are not on the coast and don't have WiFi! Perhaps our review is on their website :-) We hope you enjoyed your other stay with us at Holme Valley. Many thanks, Naomi....Read less.

"Camping"

Mr G Patrick - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

14/10/2021

Good park and enjoyable stay

Owner replied to this review on the 14 October 2021

Good morning Gary,

Thank you for your kind words.

Regards

Jess

"Fantastic night in a dome"

L Callaghan - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

14/10/2021

The park is fantastic! Such a well run park. Stayed in the dome as a birthday treat for myself and will definitely be back..it was so neat and tidy. A really lovely experience, and even though we......Read more.

The park is fantastic! Such a well run park. Stayed in the dome as a birthday treat for myself and will definitely be back..it was so neat and tidy. A really lovely experience, and even though we were only 6 miles from home I felt like I was in a different country!...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 14 October 2021

Good morning Laura,

Thank you for your 5 star review and kind words.

We are so glad you enjoyed......Read more.

Good morning Laura,

Thank you for your 5 star review and kind words.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards

Jess...Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Mr C Nickerson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

13/10/2021

Great location for visiting Holmfirth via nice walk through woods. Local pub Rock Inn was very pleasant. We stayed on the bottom field by the river. Lovely pitch but the field was a bit wet and the......Read more.

Great location for visiting Holmfirth via nice walk through woods. Local pub Rock Inn was very pleasant. We stayed on the bottom field by the river. Lovely pitch but the field was a bit wet and the grass a little long. Probably unable to mow due to previous days rain. New shower block is excellent. One minor complaint; access to grey water waste facilities for our motorhome was difficult without blocking the roadway. Overall we loved the site and will definitely return....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 13 October 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We......Read more.

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback about the grey waste disposal - unfortunately the positioning of the sewers makes it difficult, however we are working on a way to get round it as we know this is a facility which would benefit our motorhome guests.

We hope to see you again sometime.

Best wishes, Naomi....Read less.

"Great place to stay oct 2021"

Mrs C Lymbery - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

07/10/2021

Stayed here many times as it’s only 50mins from home, small play area for children,facilities top class and staff very helpful & polite,easy access to Holmfirth walking distance of shops/bars and......Read more.

Stayed here many times as it’s only 50mins from home, small play area for children,facilities top class and staff very helpful & polite,easy access to Holmfirth walking distance of shops/bars and restaurants.

Already booked for NEw Years Eve....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 08 October 2021

Thank you Cassie it was really nice seeing you again :) we look forward to seeing you on New Years......Read more.

Thank you Cassie it was really nice seeing you again :) we look forward to seeing you on New Years Eve. Regards, Linda...Read less.

"Lovely campsite in nice setting"

Mrs D Beck - Stayed with partner, Oct 2021

07/10/2021

We stayed for 2 nights with our dog and enjoyed the lovely woodland setting, had nice pitch at the side of the pond - nearby Holmfirth is only a mile walk away, staff friendly and always around to......Read more.

We stayed for 2 nights with our dog and enjoyed the lovely woodland setting, had nice pitch at the side of the pond - nearby Holmfirth is only a mile walk away, staff friendly and always around to ask directions etc - would stay again maybe for longer next time to explore more of the area....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 08 October 2021

Thank you Dawn for the lovely comments :) It's nice to hear that you would stay again, we look......Read more.

Thank you Dawn for the lovely comments :) It's nice to hear that you would stay again, we look forward to seeing you soon. Regards, Linda...Read less.

"Lovely Friendly Site"

Ms C Hareven - Stayed with family, Oct 2021

06/10/2021

Lovely site in a beautiful part of the world with very friendly helpful staff.

Owner replied to this review on the 06 October 2021

Good morning Claire,

Thank you for your 5 star review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us......Read more.

Good morning Claire,

Thank you for your 5 star review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Jess...Read less.

"Great weekend"

K Knight - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

04/10/2021

Peaceful setting, easy to get to local shops / towns.

Extremely clean and modern shower/toilet facilities

Will return next year

Owner replied to this review on the 05 October 2021

Good afternoon Katie,

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you to the park......Read more.

Good afternoon Katie,

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you to the park next year!

Kind regards

Jess...Read less.

"A site to return to"

Mr M Forsdyke - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

03/10/2021

We returned to this site after a very brief visit before. The booking system was not easy to use and we accidentally booked for the wrong day, but the helpful staff quickly sorted that out for us.......Read more.

We returned to this site after a very brief visit before. The booking system was not easy to use and we accidentally booked for the wrong day, but the helpful staff quickly sorted that out for us. Booking by telephone would be helpful.

Because this is a good site for families some areas can be noisy at times.The location by the pond is idyllic and surprisingly free of midges. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and there are many off road paths for walking.

There is no proper grey water draining point for motorhomes which is a definite disadvantage. We had to block a site road while draining....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 17 October 2021

Many thanks for your review. I'm sorry the online booking system didn't work well for you - we are......Read more.

Many thanks for your review. I'm sorry the online booking system didn't work well for you - we are very happy to take bookings over the phone if that's better for you and we can also arrange a quieter pitch as best we can away from younger families. Thanks also for your feedback about the grey waste disposal - unfortunately the positioning of the sewers makes it difficult, however we are working on a way to get round it as we know this is a facility which would benefit our motorhome guests. We hope to welcome you again sometime. Best wishes, Naomi....Read less.

"Beautiful quiet relaxing place"

I Hanson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

02/10/2021

You feel better the minute you arrive at this camp site. With the trees and lake which are beautiful. There are birds and squirrels and ducks to watch and a heron who appears regularly. The staff are......Read more.

You feel better the minute you arrive at this camp site. With the trees and lake which are beautiful. There are birds and squirrels and ducks to watch and a heron who appears regularly. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We have been going there in our motor home for over 12 years, and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 05 October 2021

Good afternoon Inge & John

Thank you for your 5 star review. It's great to hear your appreciation......Read more.

Good afternoon Inge & John

Thank you for your 5 star review. It's great to hear your appreciation for our local wildlife!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards

Jess...Read less.

"Pleasant surprise"

Mr P Harris - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

02/10/2021

We previously stayed at Holme Valley Camping about 4 years ago while visiting our daughter who lives about 5 miles away.

We were pleasantly surprised by the work which had been carried out since our......Read more.

We previously stayed at Holme Valley Camping about 4 years ago while visiting our daughter who lives about 5 miles away.

We were pleasantly surprised by the work which had been carried out since our last visit.

The access road had been resurfaced all the pitches were neat and tidy and the whole site appeared to be in a much better condition.

We will definatly revisit soon...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 05 October 2021

Good afternoon Peter,

Thank you for your lovely words. We are glad you are looking to book with us......Read more.

Good afternoon Peter,

Thank you for your lovely words. We are glad you are looking to book with us again!

Kind regards

Jess...Read less.

"Super campsite"

Dr A Wellings - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

30/09/2021

Holme Valley is a stunning, lovely picturesque campsite with excellent facilities and we had an excellent break away. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The showers were clean, good, hot and......Read more.

Holme Valley is a stunning, lovely picturesque campsite with excellent facilities and we had an excellent break away. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The showers were clean, good, hot and roomy to get changed. We will definitely be returning - thank you!!...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 01 October 2021

We are glad you enjoyed our picturesque camp site Andrea :)

We look forward to welcoming you again......Read more.

We are glad you enjoyed our picturesque camp site Andrea :)

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,

Leanne....Read less.

"Great site in Yorkshire"

E Best - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

30/09/2021

We have returned to this site a few times now and really enjoy the location and the facilities.

The thing that let it down this time was the grass cuttings which got everywhere and made it......Read more.

We have returned to this site a few times now and really enjoy the location and the facilities.

The thing that let it down this time was the grass cuttings which got everywhere and made it impossible to clean up. The result of this is that we have had to open everything out again when we got home to clean up the grass which is something nobody needs in their life....Read less.

"Excellent Weekend"

Mr M Adams - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

30/09/2021

We had a pond side pitch and it was wonderful. the facilities are kept spotless and the staff couldn't do enough to help.

Owner replied to this review on the 01 October 2021

Thank you for your kind words Mark!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Holme Valley Camping &......Read more.

Thank you for your kind words Mark!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Holme Valley Camping & Caravan Park.

Kind regards,

Leanne....Read less.

"Peaceful well kept site"

Mr P Underwood - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

26/09/2021

Excellent level pitches by the duck pond. Very clean and well maintained site. Good base for walking the hills and visiting Holmfirth.

Owner replied to this review on the 01 October 2021

We are pleased you enjoyed the site and the surrounding area Peter :)

We look forward to welcoming......Read more.

We are pleased you enjoyed the site and the surrounding area Peter :)

We look forward to welcoming in the future!

Kind Regards,

Leanne....Read less.

"Loved being there"

S Prince - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

23/09/2021

We were made very welcome and the facilities were very clean, we are going back as soon as we can

Owner replied to this review on the 27 September 2021

Good afternoon Sue,

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review.

Kind regards

Jess

"Nice location - Full of life"

Mrs B Salter - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

Campsite is ideal for families, perhaps less so for couples. A very busy, noisy park - full of life. We had lovelly location next to the pond, with a heron outside in the morning, beautifull. ......Read more.

Campsite is ideal for families, perhaps less so for couples. A very busy, noisy park - full of life. We had lovelly location next to the pond, with a heron outside in the morning, beautifull. However (and there is often a however) one night was a ruined by 2 women in the pod next door singing until 2 am in the morning ! Also people in the seasonal pitch had music till midnight. With no-one of authority to stop them we had to just put up with it. I realise the park cannot be responsible for such inconsiderate people, but customers should be aware of what to do if this occurs and despite everything else being so very good, we do now have reservations about returning, which is a shame....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 23 September 2021

Many thanks for writing a review, Brenda. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the heron near......Read more.

Many thanks for writing a review, Brenda. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the heron near your pondside pitch. Many of our guests are young families, however we do have strict noise rules for later in the evening and 2 members of staff walk round the park at around 10.30/11pm on Fridays and Saturdays. I did the noise check myself on Friday 17th September and everything in that area of the park was quiet. I am sorry if there was disturbance afterwards, however on the map you will have received when you arrived there is a 24 hour mobile number given, which we encourage guests to call if there are any problems when the shop/reception is closed. As nobody called during the night or made any complaints the following morning, we were unaware of it and therefore haven't been able talk to the guests who have caused the disturbance. We always like to deal with these problems straight away as it's very disappointing if a guest's stay has been disturbed. Despite this, we hope you will visit again sometime. Best wishes, Naomi....Read less.

"Very happy"

Ms E Cartledge - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

22/09/2021

I have stayed in various locations on this site in a caravan, tent and glamping pod . The site is very peaceful and surrounded by lovely woodland and rivers. My most recent stay was in Riverside......Read more.

I have stayed in various locations on this site in a caravan, tent and glamping pod . The site is very peaceful and surrounded by lovely woodland and rivers. My most recent stay was in Riverside corner ,which is for couples only and it was idyllic .

The toilets and showers were very clean , the staff were very helpful and friendly . This is a site that I will return to time and time again as we all have a really nice time .

Thankyou Holme valley for yet another lovely stay :)...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 05 November 2021

Emma, thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are so glad that you have had......Read more.

Emma, thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are so glad that you have had another enjoyable stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team. Thank you again, see you next year :)

Kind regards, Linda...Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mrs G Ogden - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

21/09/2021

Great site with fishing lake and traditional camping fields. Part seasonal pitches. Very freindly

Lovely new toilet / shower block

Brilliant local restaurant “Devoir” and walkable into Holmfirth

Owner replied to this review on the 27 September 2021

Good morning Gill,

Thank you for your 4 star review.

We hope to welcome you to the park again......Read more.

Good morning Gill,

Thank you for your 4 star review.

We hope to welcome you to the park again soon!

Kind regards

Jess...Read less.

"Lovely"

Mrs R Hunt - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

20/09/2021

The park was lovely, very clean and well kept. Very quiet, good location.

Owner replied to this review on the 20 September 2021

Many thanks for leaving a review, Rose - great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Naomi :-)

"Nice location within the Holme Valley"

Mrs H Kluge - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

16/09/2021

My partner and I stayed at Holme Valley for 3 nights in our motorhome because it was close to where our son lives and we wanted to visit him. We were therefore very disappointed to read in the......Read more.

My partner and I stayed at Holme Valley for 3 nights in our motorhome because it was close to where our son lives and we wanted to visit him. We were therefore very disappointed to read in the pre-visit email we received from Holme Valley that no family or friends were allowed to visit because of covid. Given that at this point, most restrictions had been lifted we felt this was a little over cautious. A camp site by its very nature being outside and groups are away from each other is fairly covid safe imo. And with the qr system already in place I saw no reason to prevent visitors.The toilet blocks closest to us had 4 toilets in the ladies, 2 of which were permanently locked and of the 4 washbasins, 2 were out of use again because of covid. We have never experienced this before on camp sites even before restrictions were lifted. In my view, not necessary. There was no hot water at the time in this toilet block so the showers were not available unless you were happy to have a cold one. Showers were available at another toilet block. Unfortunately these were then closed on the Saturday and Sunday between 10.15 and 11. Which could be extremely inconvenient for those that are late risers. Also something I have not experienced on other camp sites. The camp site is a pleasant one with a lovely stream running by and a pond in the middle with lots of ducks, all looking very idyllic. Hardstanding was reasonably level, on gravel and nicely located within the park. There were walks from the camp site.We walked to a cider cafe where they made their own cider and gin (fabulous) and the food was good too. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would recommend....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 20 September 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, Helen and thank you for your kind comments about......Read more.

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, Helen and thank you for your kind comments about the pitches and setting - we are glad you enjoyed the park and its location. I am sorry you were disappointed with some of the restrictions we have in place related to Covid. With so many of our guests keen to meet with family and friends living locally, on weekends when we are fully booked, if we accepted visitors, the number of people on the park using the facilities and play area would rise significantly. This wouldn't be fair on guests staying and some would feel uncomfortable on very busy park, therefore we ask for guests to socialise with friends/family elsewhere. Now that our peak season is over, we are welcoming visitors during the week and later in the autumn when we aren't fully booked, visitors will be able to return at the weekend. With regard to the facilities, like many other public areas, we have had to limit the numbers of people using the blocks at any one time. All toilets and sinks were opened once the busy period was over (which was shortly after your stay.) Despite blocking them off, there should have been enough facilities without people waiting. Unfortunately our boiler for the block near you had broken down and it was a few days before it was fixed - I'm sorry if this was a problem. We close the showers for 45 minutes on Saturdays and Sundays so that cleaning them is quick and thorough. We chose the time slot carefully after observing when the busy periods were. Again, pre-warning guests means they can plan and aren't having to wait at the blocks until the showers have been cleaned. I hope this didn't cause you any inconvenience. It is difficult to find a way to suit everyone, however we welcome feedback and use this to make changes and improvements. We hope to welcome you again sometime. Best wishes, Naomi....Read less.

"valley of tranquility"

Mr J Baxter - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

16/09/2021

we only stayed for the 1 night but will definitely be returning.

The greeting from the staff was so welcoming and friendly, instructions on how to get to our pitch were clear and simple.

The site is......Read more.

we only stayed for the 1 night but will definitely be returning.

The greeting from the staff was so welcoming and friendly, instructions on how to get to our pitch were clear and simple.

The site is a complete step away from reality, in the valley surrounded by trees and looking over the pond you could truly be anywhere in the world, our pitch was nothing short of perfect, being only our 2nd camping trip in a newly built van we made a couple of schoolboy errors, 1 being our ehu lead was too short and the other being we forgot to pack the kettle! we asked the lady on reception where we could buy a longer lead and within a couple of minutes she had found one to lend us for the night and followed that with the offer of lending us a kettle (we opted just to get on with opening up the bottle of JD and worry about coffee in the morning!).

i wouldn't hesitate in recommending this site to anyone and will definitely be looking forward to returning here in the not so distant future.

...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 20 September 2021

Great to hear you felt well looked after! Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We all forget......Read more.

Great to hear you felt well looked after! Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We all forget the odd essential when camping, but wouldn't want it to affect your stay! We hope to welcome you again sometime. Best wishes, Naomi....Read less.

"Peaceful place."

Mrs J Gilbey - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

16/09/2021

Lovely and peaceful on the hard standing, with a cute little duck pond to the left. Staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We were given a map of the walk into Holmfirth which was......Read more.

Lovely and peaceful on the hard standing, with a cute little duck pond to the left. Staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We were given a map of the walk into Holmfirth which was helpful. Missed the cafe being open as they do lovely food there, but the fish and chip van turning up made up for it!...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 19 September 2021

Thanks Jo for your kind words see you soon. Best wishes, Linda.

"Squirrel dodging"

G Pople - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

15/09/2021

Quiet 3night stay enlivened by hungry squirrel🥴

Owner replied to this review on the 05 November 2021

Thank you Gill for your review. Its nice see that you will definitely return despite the hungry......Read more.

Thank you Gill for your review. Its nice see that you will definitely return despite the hungry squirrel, hopefully they wont have so many babies to feed on your next visit :)

Best wishes, Linda...Read less.

"Spotless facilities, but..."

Mr P Wood - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

Facilities were very clean. Some traffic noise, lasting surprisingly late into night. Let down by campers ignoring "dogs on leads" rule, also by intrusive music from other campers - not the site's......Read more.

Facilities were very clean. Some traffic noise, lasting surprisingly late into night. Let down by campers ignoring "dogs on leads" rule, also by intrusive music from other campers - not the site's fault, but need to enforce rules as they were partly what attracted us to make the booking....Read less.

"Our stay at Holme Valley"

Mr N Garbutt - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

14/09/2021

Great location and lovely walk thro woods to Holmfirth.

Owner replied to this review on the 14 September 2021

Good afternoon Norman,

Thank you for your review.

Regards, Jess

"So peaceful and accessible"

Mr T Megson - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

12/09/2021

We stayed in the Willow glamping cabin by the lakeside this time with WC & Shower. We had around 40 Ducks as delightful neighbours. The site is very well maintained by friendly helpful staff and......Read more.

We stayed in the Willow glamping cabin by the lakeside this time with WC & Shower. We had around 40 Ducks as delightful neighbours. The site is very well maintained by friendly helpful staff and there are lots of places to venture out to. Loads of local footpaths to explore. Thoroughly enjoyed the 4 day stay....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 19 September 2021

Thank you for your lovely comments Trevor. I'm glad you had a lovely stay with us. See you again......Read more.

Thank you for your lovely comments Trevor. I'm glad you had a lovely stay with us. See you again soon.

Kind regards, Linda....Read less.

"Child safe and friendly site."

Mr G Kennedy - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

10/09/2021

This is a very friendly and safe site. The site owners are constantly improving the facilities year on year and the staff are the friendliest we have met. We have been coming to Holme Valley......Read more.

This is a very friendly and safe site. The site owners are constantly improving the facilities year on year and the staff are the friendliest we have met. We have been coming to Holme Valley Camping & Caravan Park for many years first with our children and now with our grandchildren, we highly recommend this site for families young and old....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 13 September 2021

Good afternoon Geoffrey and Hilary

Thank you for your lovely words. We look forward to welcoming......Read more.

Good afternoon Geoffrey and Hilary

Thank you for your lovely words. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Jess...Read less.

"A pleasant weekend"

L Laister - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

Lovely stay in Willow cabin. Worth every penny to have an en suite toilet and shower. Staff couldn't be more helpful and Holmfirth is such a beautiful town.

Owner replied to this review on the 13 September 2021

Good afternoon Liz,

Thank you for your 5 star comments.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming......Read more.

Good afternoon Liz,

Thank you for your 5 star comments.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards

Jess...Read less.

"Wonderful site with great walks and so close to Holmfirth and local facilities."

Mrs D Woods - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

Beautiful countryside, great views from the hills and lively villages. There are such nice, well kept areas including the pond and little lanes for walks.

Owner replied to this review on the 13 September 2021

Good afternoon Denise,

Thank you for your lovely words.

Kind regards

Jess

"Great campsite"

Mrs A Broadbent - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

This is a lovely small camp site which is nice and safe. Wash room and toilet facilities are very clean. We had a great stay.

"Nice and relaxed stay"

Mrs K Blacktin - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

08/09/2021

We stayed for 2 nights in the Fern dome and found it had everything we needed for our stay - still the feeling of camping with the added luxuries. The bed was really comfortable and the log burner......Read more.

We stayed for 2 nights in the Fern dome and found it had everything we needed for our stay - still the feeling of camping with the added luxuries. The bed was really comfortable and the log burner was a great feature.

Friendly pub, restaurant and local train station in walking distance and Holmfirth a little further out. The toilet blocks are clean but the older block needs a facelift.

We will definitely be back, thanks for a great stay!...Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 13 September 2021

Good afternoon Kimberly,

Thank you for your kind words!

We look forward to welcoming you gain......Read more.

Good afternoon Kimberly,

Thank you for your kind words!

We look forward to welcoming you gain soon.

Regards

Jess...Read less.

"Good stay and location"

Mr J Roberts - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

08/09/2021

Very good site with bus stop outside park entrance to go into holmfirth

Other toilet block needs modernising in respect of toilets and showers and on one morning no hot water .

Owner replied to this review on the 08 September 2021

Many thanks for your review and feedback, John. It's great to read that you enjoyed the park. I am......Read more.

Many thanks for your review and feedback, John. It's great to read that you enjoyed the park. I am sorry, there was no hot water for you on the Saturday morning, our boiler in this particular block broke down. Once staff were made aware of this we asked guests to use the new block. We are hoping to renovate the older block over the next 2 years. We hope to welcome you again sometime. Best wishes, Naomi....Read less.

"Gingerbread cabin"

Miss J Ainley - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

07/09/2021

We loved our stay at the gingerbread cabin, the accommodation was very comfortable and exciting for children, the private bathroom facility was excellent, it was a very peaceful, relaxing environment......Read more.

We loved our stay at the gingerbread cabin, the accommodation was very comfortable and exciting for children, the private bathroom facility was excellent, it was a very peaceful, relaxing environment and we will definately be returning....Read less.

Owner replied to this review on the 07 September 2021

Good afternoon Joanne,

Thank you for your lovely words!

Regards

Jess

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead