Sands of Luce Holiday Park

75 Reviews

4.5 / 5 overall rating based on 75 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

77%

Very Good

17%

Average

1%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

24/03/2020

We picked Sands of Luce for its location next to a vast sandy beach. On arrival we were put off by the hundreds of static vans but when we got to the touring park it was nice, neat and quite......Read more.

We picked Sands of Luce for its location next to a vast sandy beach. On arrival we were put off by the hundreds of static vans but when we got to the touring park it was nice, neat and quite spacious. Each pitch had electric, water and drainage and pitches were fairly level. Most pitches seem to have great views, to the sea. A few steps from the site is the beach. There is a kiddies playground behind the site and then the facilities. Cannot comment on these as they were closed due to covid19. There is also a bar on site but that too was closed. The only thing missing was some dog waste bins, especially near the beach access. We really enjoyed our stay, but are not sure if we would like the site as much when its high season and all the statics are full too and lots of children running around. We would return but only in low season....Read less.

"Sands of Luce"

A Boyle - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

13/03/2020

I thought the new toilet block looked beautiful but found when I used showers they were adequate. I had one jet of water which did not spread out and would have made washing my hair impossible, there......Read more.

I thought the new toilet block looked beautiful but found when I used showers they were adequate. I had one jet of water which did not spread out and would have made washing my hair impossible, there is no curtain/barrier between shower and changing area which meant it got really wet so it was difficult to get dried. The room lights went off while I was in the shower and I had to go out into the main toilet part to make these come back on.

The park itself was beautiful, staff very friendly and helpful and the beach and view were lovely.

We are considering coming back to the park to use the rental vans with my mother....Read less.

"Wish we could've stayed longer"

Mrs F Herbertson - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

09/03/2020

Booked in for 2 nights but enjoyed it so much we stayed for a 3rd. We were the only tourers there as it's the beginning of the season, loved it. Blessed with decent weather we took advantage of many......Read more.

Booked in for 2 nights but enjoyed it so much we stayed for a 3rd. We were the only tourers there as it's the beginning of the season, loved it. Blessed with decent weather we took advantage of many beach walks made super easy with direct access from the site. Clean, spacious site and super friendly staff, thank you. We will definitely be back....Read less.

"Lovely park"

Mr J Howie - Stayed Oct 2019

07/11/2019

Lovely park, disappointed there is not a dog friendly area in the bar but this would not stop me coming back

"beautiful"

Mrs F Steele - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

04/11/2019

relaxing a chance to wind down, take life at a slower pace such a friendly site we keep coming back year after year

"Beautiful view"

Mrs A Crack - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

02/11/2019

We searched online for a place to stay on our travels and Sands of Luce carne up. We weren't disappointed. Booking online was vet easy and took away the concern that the site might be full. When we......Read more.

We searched online for a place to stay on our travels and Sands of Luce carne up. We weren't disappointed. Booking online was vet easy and took away the concern that the site might be full. When we arrived we checked in at the reception, were told about the facilities and sent to The Dunes. What an amazing spot. We had a sea view and woke to the most beautiful sunrise.

The site was immaculate. The facilities were clean, the showers were warm and large. We didn't use any of the entertainment but there was a bar with a restaurant available. We walked along the beach into the village. A fabulous stay that I would recommend. We drove along the coast but decided to return again in the evening as we liked the site so much....Read less.

"Lovely location"

Mr M Gurun - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

31/10/2019

Beautiful sandy beach. Little village near by with attractive pub serving real ale and good food. Helpful staff and good and clean facilities What else you are asking for ?

"Lovely base"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

23/10/2019

A wee temporary Holiday house on the beach, close to so many beautiful amenities surrounded by big sky. Perfect base for sightseeing but equally perfect just to walk and to relax at the coast.

"Constructive critism"

Mrs M Ross - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

22/10/2019

If it was possible i would have the restaurant open all week but have it on a made to order basis as we arrived later than most folk would & having young children we had to use a hotel in Sandhead at......Read more.

If it was possible i would have the restaurant open all week but have it on a made to order basis as we arrived later than most folk would & having young children we had to use a hotel in Sandhead at a cost of £70 which wasn't ideal on our 1st night information or even menus for local takeaways would be ideal at reception shower mats should also be in all rentals as a member of my slipped & hurt themselves coming out the shower...Read less.

"October Break"

Mr T Gray - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

22/10/2019

Lovely site, fully serviced pitches, with a great view overlooking the beach. We will certainly be back.

"Gallagher family"

C Gallagher - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

18/10/2019

We really loved the caravan could not fault it was beautiful. And the site was immaculate. Just there was no WiFi or Mobile reception and dogs were not allowed in bar even after food service, we......Read more.

We really loved the caravan could not fault it was beautiful. And the site was immaculate. Just there was no WiFi or Mobile reception and dogs were not allowed in bar even after food service, we didn’t like leaving our wee dog too long. Also our eight year old found it quite boring, but then again me and her dad enjoyed the peace so it was nice thanks so much for the kind staff and beautiful caravan xxx...Read less.

"Best in the area"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

16/10/2019

Excellent site but let down by poor chemical disposal facility.

"Stay at park"

Mrs J Andrews - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

13/10/2019

Had a lovely stay at Park will defo be back again

"Great location, great staff, great site !"

J Summers - Stayed with friends, Oct 2019

10/10/2019

Had a fantastic wend at the Kitesurf comp ,great bar and entertainment, food was very nice and friendly staff ,views over Luce bay amazing, overall a fantastic place to stay 👍👍

"Touring weekend"

Mr J Gilbert - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

10/10/2019

Great park with good facilities very clean and well kept, will defiantly be back

"T & B"

T McQuillan - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

05/10/2019

Excellent

"lovely sands of luce holiday park"

Mrs C Hiddleston - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

04/10/2019

I love this place its so relaxing and the caravan park is spotless and so quiet all caravans are so well looked after the Lighthouse bar is lovely inside and makes the best food the breakfasts and......Read more.

I love this place its so relaxing and the caravan park is spotless and so quiet all caravans are so well looked after the Lighthouse bar is lovely inside and makes the best food the breakfasts and pizzas are delicious and all is priced fairly. The staff and the owners are lovely and never stop and nothing is to much trouble theres something for everyone here....Read less.

"Bonnie scotland"

Mrs G James - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

01/10/2019

Comfortable caravan in a beautiful area, close to the beach and Sandhead village. We have stayed many times to visit my Scottish family.

"Stunning site!"

Mrs M Thompson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

29/09/2019

Usually pass through en route elsewhere so decided to test the area. We were so impressed with everything, especially the shower facilities, which were state of the art. Non-slip flooring definite......Read more.

Usually pass through en route elsewhere so decided to test the area. We were so impressed with everything, especially the shower facilities, which were state of the art. Non-slip flooring definite bonus. Clean, well kept, and our pitch was lovely, just above the dunes. We hope to come back next year and stay longer, as this was just an overnight close to our ferry. Great value as well, as we paid less than at some Caravan Club CL sites!...Read less.

"Sands of luce"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

27/09/2019

Lovely site location just a beautiful place

"3 night stay at the Sands of Luce"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

24/09/2019

Perfect location on one of the best beaches in the UK. Very clean, well maintained facilities. Ideal location for outdoor activities.

"Sands of luce"

Miss J Birch - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

23/09/2019

Great location, great beach, clean and well maintained site, good local attractions.

"Lighting"

M Gemmell - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

22/09/2019

Felt site could maybe have a bit more lighting along paths to toilets but otherwise had a great break as usual Thank you .

"our first caravan trip"

L Irving - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

20/09/2019

this was our first trip in our caravan ,site was brilliant ,facilities were immaculate and staff very helpful ,we took our dog and the walks were fantastic

"Peaceful site"

Mrs. E Walker - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

16/09/2019

Really enjoyed our 4nights stay in our touring caravan the pitch was fully service and a good size lovely sea views definitely recommend this site was worth travelling 240miles to get there

"Bart Bristow"

Mr B Bristow - Stayed with friends, Sep 2019

14/09/2019

Spot on

"Holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/09/2019

Second time we have been on this site. Beautiful caravan and beautiful location and grounds. First class site. We had the most amazing holiday, so good to relax and enjoy the beautiful......Read more.

Second time we have been on this site. Beautiful caravan and beautiful location and grounds. First class site. We had the most amazing holiday, so good to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings....Read less.

"My Favourite place"

Miss G McGuire - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

11/09/2019

Love coming to Sands if Luce holiday park. The rental homes are right in front of the lovely beach. The Lighthouse bar is great too and entertainment Saturday night is fab. It’s my little piece of......Read more.

Love coming to Sands if Luce holiday park. The rental homes are right in front of the lovely beach. The Lighthouse bar is great too and entertainment Saturday night is fab. It’s my little piece of heaven. Had a couple of suggestions for the owners....Read less.

"Relaxing"

Mrs M Williams - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

11/09/2019

Relaxing holiday. Stunning beach

"Well kept park"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

09/09/2019

First class accommodation in peaceful surroundings.

"Autumn Break"

Mr A Haddow - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

09/09/2019

Excellent campsite with great facilities. Spotlessly clean toilet and shower facilities. Great campsite bar. Close to village which has a well stocked shop and great pub/restaurant. Lovely beach......Read more.

Excellent campsite with great facilities. Spotlessly clean toilet and shower facilities. Great campsite bar. Close to village which has a well stocked shop and great pub/restaurant. Lovely beach which the campsite overlooks and is only a few minutes walk....Read less.

"Excellent all round"

Mr Galbraith - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

06/09/2019

Excellent all round facilities for all the family.

"Stick Sands of Luce on your Camping list!"

S Hunter - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

Having been recommended by a good friend, SoL did not disappoint. Being right on the beach was the standout for us. But the beach experience wouldn't have been possible without all aspects of the......Read more.

Having been recommended by a good friend, SoL did not disappoint. Being right on the beach was the standout for us. But the beach experience wouldn't have been possible without all aspects of the park being spot on - Lighthouse Bar, washing, showers, general ambiance. Great fun!...Read less.

"What a location"

Mr A Clarke - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

04/09/2019

Stunning views and top facilities.

"Relaxing, quiet holiday"

Mrs V Hall - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

04/09/2019

If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life then Sands of Luce is definitely the right place to be with excellent holiday accommodation looking out to the sand dunes......Read more.

If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life then Sands of Luce is definitely the right place to be with excellent holiday accommodation looking out to the sand dunes and expansive beaches. The caravans are all modern and clean and offer all the amenities you need with a wonderful decked area to enjoy the evening sunset. The location is near a small village which has a village shop and fantastic pub for meals (but make sure you book). The park itself provides excellent food in its modern bar/bistro and entertainment at weekend which doesn’t impinge on the peacefulness of the rest of the site. WARNING: If you are looking for a full on activity holiday with lots of clubs for the kids etc then this isn’t the one for you. But for those, like us, who just wanted to escape the rat race for a week and take life at our own pace with a little bit of peace and solitude this definitely is the place to be. Will definitely return to recharge the batteries again!!!...Read less.

"Very pretty"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

02/09/2019

The campsite was stunning and being a minute from the beach was perfect. We stayed in a tent on the field just be warned it can get very windy. The toilets were clean and the washroom was very tidy.......Read more.

The campsite was stunning and being a minute from the beach was perfect. We stayed in a tent on the field just be warned it can get very windy. The toilets were clean and the washroom was very tidy. However one thing I think the site lacked was lighting from the tent field to the toilets as the path was only lit up by faint fairy lights on the statics porches which is no good in the middle of the night. Apart from that I enjoyed our stay and would definetly reccomend....Read less.

"Peaceful, clean and amazing views"

M Fitzpatrick - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

02/09/2019

Stayed here for 1 night on route to Mull of Galloway.

Excellent booking in, excellent clean modern washroom etc and will stay here again.

"A real jem to find"

G Potter - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

What an amazing place to find. We feel we have found a real jem. Our first time into Scotland and we have fallen in love with the area. Amazed by the beaches and the clear water. Backed up by a great......Read more.

What an amazing place to find. We feel we have found a real jem. Our first time into Scotland and we have fallen in love with the area. Amazed by the beaches and the clear water. Backed up by a great holiday park as a base. We will be back. Thank you...Read less.

"Relaxation"

F Steel - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

29/08/2019

Perfect place to chill relax and leave the big bad world behind beautiful views great walks just lovely

"So family friendly and yet so peaceful"

Mr J Banton - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

29/08/2019

What a fabulous park to stay in. The location is stunning, and our caravan was 3 minutes walk from a glorious beach. The campsite is spotless and so peaceful, despite being a family friendly park.......Read more.

What a fabulous park to stay in. The location is stunning, and our caravan was 3 minutes walk from a glorious beach. The campsite is spotless and so peaceful, despite being a family friendly park. The only tiny criticism is that summer holiday activities ended too early. We were there August 17th-24th and it had pretty much all stopped. It would nice to have had the craft activities and kids disco to go on until the end of the English school holidays too. There were plenty of kids still in the park at the same time as us. It is such a minor point though, as we had a fab time....Read less.

"First time on site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

28/08/2019

Found camp very clean and tidy staff were very helpful and cheery,lots to do and see in the area,lovely beach,and the site also has a slipway for boats onto the beach

"Yet another visit!"

N Cobb - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

26/08/2019

Great site, we love this place, getting a little worried that it is becoming too popular!!!

Back next year.

"Footprints in the Sands of luce"

Mrs L Eastham - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

25/08/2019

Been several times with touring caravan and facilities where very clean and easily accessible decided this time to take up a holiday rental which was luxury very clean and well maintained a stone ......Read more.

Been several times with touring caravan and facilities where very clean and easily accessible decided this time to take up a holiday rental which was luxury very clean and well maintained a stone throw to the beach which is imaculate all staff very helpful and friendly the dog loved it x...Read less.

"Summer 2019"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

We have stayed at the caravan park previously. We were the first people to stay in the rental caravan which were brand new. We were disappointed to see that in only a few months the bed was broken,......Read more.

We have stayed at the caravan park previously. We were the first people to stay in the rental caravan which were brand new. We were disappointed to see that in only a few months the bed was broken, the cooker had lost a knob, not all crockery was there and other guests had left beer and wine glasses from the lighthouse. I was also disappointed by the certain parts of the lighthouse. We arrived for lunch at 1.45 to be told the kitchen was closed. The bands on a saturday night are great but I feel there needs to be a lure to encourage weekdays. Pound for a pint, curry night?...Read less.

"Beach side holiday"

Mrs. J Sauberlich - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

Rental caravan immaculate,spacious,good facilities. 5 mins walk through dunes to long sandy beach. Lots to do in area for adults & children, Mull of Galloway Lighthouse, Port Logan beach & Fishpond,......Read more.

Rental caravan immaculate,spacious,good facilities. 5 mins walk through dunes to long sandy beach. Lots to do in area for adults & children, Mull of Galloway Lighthouse, Port Logan beach & Fishpond, Logan Botanic Gardens, Creetown Gem Rock Museum Portpatrick. Park is very clean & tidy & well managed , facilities to recycle rubbish. There is a Games Room under construction & the Lighthouse Bar on site serves good food. Although Wifi is accessible part of the attraction was there was no need for it -so much else to do & so nice to see grandchildren not missing it !! Thank you Sands of Luce we will be back...Read less.

"Beautiful site"

Mrs M Shepperdson - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

20/08/2019

Really fabulous location, village within walking distance with a shop that sells everything. Facilities and showers are second to none and toilets big and roomy. Not the cheapest place but not the......Read more.

Really fabulous location, village within walking distance with a shop that sells everything. Facilities and showers are second to none and toilets big and roomy. Not the cheapest place but not the most expensive either, £60 for two nights in our MH, two adults and a 5 year old. We’d of stayed longer but couldn’t afford to. This won’t put us off returning in the future though...Read less.

"FAB"

G Corr - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

16/08/2019

Great location, pitches facilities and staff!

Will deffo return and have already reccomended to family and friends.

"Nice and safe place to camp."

K Prust - Stayed Aug 2019

16/08/2019

I enjoyed my time on the campsite, I hope the area for camping continues to exist. I fear the camping area will one day be taken up by static homes. I got the feeling the people in the static home......Read more.

I enjoyed my time on the campsite, I hope the area for camping continues to exist. I fear the camping area will one day be taken up by static homes. I got the feeling the people in the static home next to the campsite would prefer to be neighbours with another static homes and not campers, a bit of snobbery maybe, I may be wrong?

I particularly enjoyed seeing the rabbits at dusk and dawn !!

I was with my little dog and didn't venture to the lighthouse bar because the place didn't have a designated area to accommodate pets (it was raining) I was told plans were in place to build a sheltered area outside, this would be good for people and their beloved pets.

Also maybe outside the shower area there should be a dog lead hook??

There was no Wi-Fi, I think the camping area was out of range?

Overall it was a nice place to stay, thank you....Read less.

"Holiday fun"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

15/08/2019

Had a great couple of day at the park. Beach was easy to get to and the kids love it. The park was all good for the kids . The showers and toilets were nice and clean. Thou felt water could of been......Read more.

Had a great couple of day at the park. Beach was easy to get to and the kids love it. The park was all good for the kids . The showers and toilets were nice and clean. Thou felt water could of been warmer . But it was good . Evening entertainment on the Sat was great the band was great and Jean the local was great fun ....Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead