Sands of Luce Holiday Park

136 Reviews

4.5 / 5 overall rating based on 136 reviews in the last 12 months

97% would recommend this site

96% would stay here again

Excellent

68%

Very Good

26%

Average

2%

Poor

1%

Terrible

0%

"Sands of Luce"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

21/06/2019

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our caravan was excellent. We loved the location and the surrounding area. We will definitely return to this park.

"Overall review"

Ms C Stewart - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

20/06/2019

First time staying at this site , we found it very clean and well managed .

The walks and views were amazing .

We found the pitches spacious and level .

Would definitely recommend it .

"5* Holiday accomodation"

Mrs K Mossop - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

19/06/2019

Stayed in a brand new static caravan that was well equipped. The static was situated just off the beach but sheltered enough to enjoy sitting on the decking area.

Would recommended to anyone wanting......Read more.

Stayed in a brand new static caravan that was well equipped. The static was situated just off the beach but sheltered enough to enjoy sitting on the decking area.

Would recommended to anyone wanting to stay in the area...Read less.

"Early summer break"

Mrs S Farrell - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

18/06/2019

My friend and I spent a lovely few days at Sands of Luce the site was perfectly situated for us to visit the many things The Mull of Galloway has to offer.

It is perfectly suited for a beach holiday......Read more.

My friend and I spent a lovely few days at Sands of Luce the site was perfectly situated for us to visit the many things The Mull of Galloway has to offer.

It is perfectly suited for a beach holiday as well with a beautiful one right on your doorstep.

The site is dog friendly and it is a perfect place for them, I didn’t have my dog on this visit but would consider visiting again with our pet Labrador

We enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to visiting again sometime...Read less.

"Short break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

18/06/2019

Visited Park recently. Check in simple directions to caravan map easy to read. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Brand new caravan was brilliant. Only few steps to beach. Beach is highlight. No food......Read more.

Visited Park recently. Check in simple directions to caravan map easy to read. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Brand new caravan was brilliant. Only few steps to beach. Beach is highlight. No food was available Mon to Fri when we were there. So take supplies.Surprised area has very few eating places close-by....Read less.

"Discovering Dumfries and Galloway Coast"

Mr D Easby - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

16/06/2019

A large holiday park with excellent pitches for tourers offering panoramic views of Luce Bay. First class toilet , shower and laundry facilities

"Beautiful Galloway ideal base"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

14/06/2019

Please buy all items required no welcome pack in unit we had to go out and buy basics ie w up liquid etc we found Lidl in Stranraer.The surrounding areas are wonderful, Mull of Galloway stunning,......Read more.

Please buy all items required no welcome pack in unit we had to go out and buy basics ie w up liquid etc we found Lidl in Stranraer.The surrounding areas are wonderful, Mull of Galloway stunning, coast amazing. Site needs a shop...Read less.

"Site"

Mrs W McKeown - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

13/06/2019

Very very clean tidy and obviously well looked after kids enjoyed beach and we enjoyed relaxing with family and friends great park will definitely be back

"Returning tourer"

Mrs E McKeown - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

13/06/2019

We had a fantastic 2 day stay at Sands of Luce can’t wait to return with the family thanks again

"Another great long weekend 89 no"

A Duncan - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

13/06/2019

We have been to Sands of luce holiday park on several occasions over the last five years and have always enjoyed our stay. Facilities are great and the new toilets and showers are excellent. The park......Read more.

We have been to Sands of luce holiday park on several occasions over the last five years and have always enjoyed our stay. Facilities are great and the new toilets and showers are excellent. The park is well kept and the bar and cafe make your stay even better. If you like a sandy beach it goes on for miles....Read less.

"More than happy"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

13/06/2019

We were more than happy with our accommodation at Sands of Luce it was clean and warm and that is all we required as we slept and had breakfast there then we were out and about visiting the many......Read more.

We were more than happy with our accommodation at Sands of Luce it was clean and warm and that is all we required as we slept and had breakfast there then we were out and about visiting the many places of interest in the area....Read less.

"Up there with the best"

Mr J Morris - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

08/06/2019

Site can’t be faulted, everywhere well maintained.

"So Kind & Helpful"

Ms A Farrington - Stayed with family, May 2019

05/06/2019

Lived my stay at Sands of Luce, the location is superb and I woke every morning to fabulous sea views.

The washrooms and other fasciitis for tourers are very good and close to the pitches and the......Read more.

Lived my stay at Sands of Luce, the location is superb and I woke every morning to fabulous sea views.

The washrooms and other fasciitis for tourers are very good and close to the pitches and the pitches themselves have excellent service points.

The pitches are quite sharp gravel, which was tricky when putting up my garden windbreaks but they are a good size.

I was a little disappointed that the kitchen was only open at weekends but the bar and cafe are are clean and very well kept.

I was taken I’ll in the last day of my visit and had to go to hospital. I was unable to remove my caravan that day but the manager, Jack, was extremely helpful, let me stay on for an extra day and when I did go to pick up my van I was told there was no extra charge. Such kindness was much appreciated. Thank you....Read less.

"Quiet well kept park"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

04/06/2019

Stayed in one of the static caravans and it was superb, very clean and new plus wonderful sea views!

Good food at the Lighthouse Bar shame it has restricted opening hours for food.

Will definitely......Read more.

Stayed in one of the static caravans and it was superb, very clean and new plus wonderful sea views!

Good food at the Lighthouse Bar shame it has restricted opening hours for food.

Will definitely be back....Read less.

"Great location"

K Routledge - Stayed with friends, May 2019

04/06/2019

Great location flat pitch

"Lovely setting"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

31/05/2019

Our first time at Sands of Luce and will definitely return.

The touring area itself was well laid out with fantastic views over the bay, the toilet block which was recently refurbished were clean and......Read more.

Our first time at Sands of Luce and will definitely return.

The touring area itself was well laid out with fantastic views over the bay, the toilet block which was recently refurbished were clean and fresh and finished to a very high standard.

We had a lovely night in the Lighthouse bar with a Ceilidh band on with friendly staff and atmosphere.

...Read less.

"First class site"

Mr W Macbeth - Stayed with partner, May 2019

31/05/2019

Beautiful site, excellent facilities, great food and fantastic service.

"Great views and great staff"

Mr D Thomson - Stayed with partner, May 2019

27/05/2019

Staff very helpful. The only comment I would make is if there was a little shelf to put toiletries on and a shower curtain to help keep clothes dry in the beautiful toilet block. Everything else was......Read more.

Staff very helpful. The only comment I would make is if there was a little shelf to put toiletries on and a shower curtain to help keep clothes dry in the beautiful toilet block. Everything else was great. Fabulous views and beach is just a couple of steps away. The pizza is nice and the bar area is very nice....Read less.

"Camping area"

T Jones - Stayed with partner, May 2019

27/05/2019

The camping area was in a great location at the far end of the park, which makes it quiet and no passing traffic.

Though some of the camping area was been leve!ed and improved and we where told about......Read more.

The camping area was in a great location at the far end of the park, which makes it quiet and no passing traffic.

Though some of the camping area was been leve!ed and improved and we where told about this when we booked it didn't detract from our stay, of which we had a great time....Read less.

"Beautiful views"

Ms M Driver - Stayed with partner, May 2019

26/05/2019

Lovely park and being in our campervan we were parked right on beach front.

First trip out with our awning and we did find the ground quite challenging! Had rock pegs but did struggle to get them in......Read more.

Lovely park and being in our campervan we were parked right on beach front.

First trip out with our awning and we did find the ground quite challenging! Had rock pegs but did struggle to get them in with ease.

Fabulous first stay at a truly wonderful site....Read less.

"Sands of Luce Holiday Park"

Mr A Morley - Stayed with partner, May 2019

25/05/2019

Lovely clean park. Great beach. Friendly staff. Good pub.

"Good value & location"

Mr D Howard - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

24/05/2019

Overall neat and tidy site.

"Restaurant"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

24/05/2019

The bar and restaurant were beautifully laid out and staff more than helpful, however, although the food was freshly made, I do not feel that this type of food fits the clientele. Perhaps, fish and......Read more.

The bar and restaurant were beautifully laid out and staff more than helpful, however, although the food was freshly made, I do not feel that this type of food fits the clientele. Perhaps, fish and chips, steak pie, pub food etc might get people out of their caravans....Read less.

"WiFi is not working"

I Mignano - Stayed with partner, May 2019

22/05/2019

I chosen this caravan holiday park expecting WiFi is working soon I get there the staff told me lier with the navy has practicing at the sea and blocking WiFi signal but it is lie story nobody there......Read more.

I chosen this caravan holiday park expecting WiFi is working soon I get there the staff told me lier with the navy has practicing at the sea and blocking WiFi signal but it is lie story nobody there then I have to spend £30 for WiFi mobile Definitely Never Go Back Again one time that enough...Read less.

Jack, replied to this review on the 22 May 2019

Thank you for your review. You have given us a 2 star review based purely on our WiFi. May I point......Read more.

Thank you for your review. You have given us a 2 star review based purely on our WiFi. May I point out the information on our booking page.

"WiFi is available but has limited performance. Most networks have good 4G coverage in this area."

The limitations of our WiFi should not have come as a surprise. High speed WiFi is available in our bar free of charge.

Kind regards,

Jack...Read less.

"Touring Park"

Mr R Prince - Stayed with partner, May 2019

21/05/2019

Beautiful position opposite the beach all fully serviced pitches. Ideally located to visit the Mull of Galloway and surrounding areas.

"Exploring Mull of Galloway."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

20/05/2019

Sands of Luce site enabled just to have 4 beautiful days out.

1 The lighthouse and cliff walk.

2.Coastal walk from site to Logan Mills. Bus back.

3 Portpatrick and cliff walk.

4 Bike ride to Glenluce......Read more.

Sands of Luce site enabled just to have 4 beautiful days out.

1 The lighthouse and cliff walk.

2.Coastal walk from site to Logan Mills. Bus back.

3 Portpatrick and cliff walk.

4 Bike ride to Glenluce Abbey and New Luce

This shows what an excellent location it was. We also enjoyed the peace and quiet of the area which wasn't overly busy.

An excellent visit....Read less.

"HOG Meet"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2019

14/05/2019

Great location with a stunning beach so close by. Friendly and helpful staff. Third HOG Meet held here and all have been outstanding. Tigh Na Mara Hotel in Sandhead serves excellent food at fair......Read more.

Great location with a stunning beach so close by. Friendly and helpful staff. Third HOG Meet held here and all have been outstanding. Tigh Na Mara Hotel in Sandhead serves excellent food at fair prices....Read less.

"Wonderful location overlooking the beach"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

13/05/2019

It was lovely to wake up each morning and look out at such a wide expansive view of sea and sky. The shower block and wash up facilities were very clean It was a shame that as we were there Monday to......Read more.

It was lovely to wake up each morning and look out at such a wide expansive view of sea and sky. The shower block and wash up facilities were very clean It was a shame that as we were there Monday to Thursday the restaurant wasn’t open in the morning....Read less.

"Spectacular Sea Views, great facilities and well maintained site."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

09/05/2019

We really like staying at Sands of Luce, this was our fourth time there. We have only giving 3 stars for price and value for money, we were there for the bank holiday weekend and felt the extra......Read more.

We really like staying at Sands of Luce, this was our fourth time there. We have only giving 3 stars for price and value for money, we were there for the bank holiday weekend and felt the extra charge was excessive, especially as we have stayed previously on a holiday weekend and there was no extra charge....Read less.

"Mobilehome holiday"

Mr S Russell - Stayed with family, May 2019

09/05/2019

Great place and will be back

"Fantastic site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

06/05/2019

This was a stunning setting with lovely beach walks. The shower and toilet facilities were modern and very clean. Unfortunately the restaurant was not open the night we stayed but we did get a lovely......Read more.

This was a stunning setting with lovely beach walks. The shower and toilet facilities were modern and very clean. Unfortunately the restaurant was not open the night we stayed but we did get a lovely meal in the hotel in sand head, just a short walk along the beach. I will definitely return to this site in the future....Read less.

"Touring Caravan"

E Tennant - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

05/05/2019

Touring pitches are great

Water in the toilet block only just lukewarm no use for showers especially time of year we were there (March) we didn’t use them !!

"Stay at sands of luce"

Mr B Duffy - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

02/05/2019

Lovely park.only downfall was the weather

"Easter weekend"

Mr J Ramage - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

27/04/2019

Very clean toilets and showers staff very friendly and welcoming.the site was very clean and easy access to the beach

"Lovely holiday park, we will come back!"

Mrs C Henderson - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

24/04/2019

We've just had a great week at the park. Caravan was new this year and lovely and clean, with everything we needed. Great location so close to the beach and kids park. Owners and staff are all very......Read more.

We've just had a great week at the park. Caravan was new this year and lovely and clean, with everything we needed. Great location so close to the beach and kids park. Owners and staff are all very friendly and helpful, we were made to feel very welcome. Setting of the park is fantastic with the beautiful beach literally on its doorstep. Lots of places to visit nearby suitable for all ages....Read less.

"Nice park but....."

Mr S Phillips - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

24/04/2019

I cannot fault the cleanliness of the park and the caravan we stayed in. The park is perfectly situated with a lovely beach on the doorstep.

We had to take the spare keys for our caravan as the main......Read more.

I cannot fault the cleanliness of the park and the caravan we stayed in. The park is perfectly situated with a lovely beach on the doorstep.

We had to take the spare keys for our caravan as the main set were missing (security concerns) the keys still hadn’t appeared by the time we left.

On booking I spoke with the owners to ensure the caravan was dog friendly and secure and was told all caravan decking was fenced so secure. Unfortunately our caravans decking had the gate missing so was insecure. There were also no decking chairs (until the day before we left when they appeared)

Only small points, but they would have made a good stay perfect. I hope my review is constructive. Thankyou for a nice week....Read less.

"Great Park"

Mr P Canavan - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

20/04/2019

Stayed for 2 night in out motorhome with our dog right at the beach front amazingly view and great price. Staff where very welcoming on arrival. Lovely bar restaurant though we only had drinks did......Read more.

Stayed for 2 night in out motorhome with our dog right at the beach front amazingly view and great price. Staff where very welcoming on arrival. Lovely bar restaurant though we only had drinks did not try the food. 2 small parks for younger children but this park is more for the outdoor family. Think this park would be fantastic in the summer. Will definitely be coming back in the better wether....Read less.

"Holiday"

Mr K Capstick - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

18/04/2019

Lovely site will stay again

"Lovely views, friendly staff, close to beach"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

17/04/2019

We have stayed here twice. Both times, we have found the site to be friendly with some of the best views around. Lots of wildlife and my child was overjoyed to see an adder near the footpath (these......Read more.

We have stayed here twice. Both times, we have found the site to be friendly with some of the best views around. Lots of wildlife and my child was overjoyed to see an adder near the footpath (these are poisonous so be careful with children!) and crabs on the beach. Lots of gorse and wild rabbits. Stargazing is also a treat here.

There is a decent, quiet bar on-site which sometimes does food and has a pool table and a box of toys. Free wi-fi. The barstaff are very friendly.

Two play areas on-site. The larger one was sadly full of rubbish that had blown out of the bin (which wasn't emptied at all during our stay) and this would be my only criticism. In hindsight I should have mentioned it to the staff but we were too busy having fun. It looked as if someone had just emptied their van rubbish into/around the playground bin. We also had to tell a dog owner to pick up after themselves. Not the site's fault, just some disrespectful people about as everywhere!

Short walk to the village nearby (shop, pub, playground - tearoom is closed and up for sale). Beach is very clean.

Not much nearby so you need to enjoy every day at the beach or be prepared to cycle or drive out. Lots of windsurfing, kite flying and kite surfing opportunities.

The showers and toilets are fine. Clean as you'd expect from a campsite. Shower takes a couple of button pushes to get hot water.

We will definitely stay again....Read less.

"Sands of Luce"

Mrs C Houston - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

17/04/2019

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Fantastic beach and loved the Lighthouse pub. Very friendly and compliments to the chef as the Pizza were delicious 😋

"Lovely park"

Mr K Walker - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

16/04/2019

Nice site . Touring pitches by the beach with stunning sea views. Would definitely stay again if in the area

"nice clean site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

15/04/2019

nice clean site with brand new showers and loos pity the showers are stupid push button ones that only stay on for 14 seconds at a time! Water could be hotter too. took ages for it to warm up and the......Read more.

nice clean site with brand new showers and loos pity the showers are stupid push button ones that only stay on for 14 seconds at a time! Water could be hotter too. took ages for it to warm up and the shower area was not very warm....Read less.

Jack, replied to this review on the 15 April 2019

Hi, thank you for your review. We are aware of an issue with the shower run time. We have contacted......Read more.

Hi, thank you for your review. We are aware of an issue with the shower run time. We have contacted the manufacturer who are sending out new valves for the mixers. The showers should have a 30 sec run time and we hope this will be restored in the next few days. We have also asked our heating engineer to crank up the temperature a bit (it has been a bit chilly!). Thanks, Jack...Read less.

"April weekend in Galloway"

Mr L Moscardini - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

12/04/2019

Great location and facilities.thoroughly recommended

"Another lovely short break"

Mrs F Connelly - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

12/04/2019

I have been to this site many times over the last 14 years. The site is immaculately kept and every year there seems to be another improvement made to it. The hire caravans are 1st class with easy......Read more.

I have been to this site many times over the last 14 years. The site is immaculately kept and every year there seems to be another improvement made to it. The hire caravans are 1st class with easy access to a beautiful beach....Read less.

"April visit"

Mr R Stone - Stayed with friends, Mar 2019

10/04/2019

We decided to try Sand of Luce after the site was recommended to us whilst we were on a stay at Searles in Hunstanton and I think we were expecting more than the site provided. First the downside,......Read more.

We decided to try Sand of Luce after the site was recommended to us whilst we were on a stay at Searles in Hunstanton and I think we were expecting more than the site provided. First the downside, unfortunately we arrived to find that the bar on site was only open until 6pm on the Sunday not opening then until the following Friday, I understand that there may not be the demand this early in the season but the opening times need to be advertised better,not just a small paragraph in the Terms and conditions, this did spoil 2 birthday celebrations and unfortunately we do not care for the al a carte establishment in Sandshead (I note this is a personnel choice). The shower block is modern and was kept clean, unfortunately the water in the showers is only Luke warm at best and the run time is abysmal, change the springs in the operating valve to give a better experience and turn up the heat. The only other thing that spoiled the experience was the wind which is outside the control of the site owners, having a awning up in 30/40 mph winds was not pleasant and a worker on the site stated that the wind was the norm.

The positives are that this is a well laid out site, clean with a great beach location, but remember to take hard rock pegs and plenty of storm straps. It would have been great to sample the bar and food facilities to see how full the bar got but alas on this occasion as stated above was not to be. I think I choose the wrong week to visit?

Would we visit again, possibly but would need to look at later in the year when the weather may be more favourable to get the best experience of this site.

Please bear in mind that this review is meant to be constructive criticism to help improve the site.

...Read less.

"Not ideal for camping at start of April"

Mrs K Macalpine - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

10/04/2019

Not as advertised. Disappointed as bar/kitchen didn’t open til end of our stay, not advised prior to booking. Camping area not ideal, small child could have been run over by tractor dumping large......Read more.

Not as advertised. Disappointed as bar/kitchen didn’t open til end of our stay, not advised prior to booking. Camping area not ideal, small child could have been run over by tractor dumping large stones + soil on supposed camping area!...Read less.

Jack, replied to this review on the 10 April 2019

Hi Karen,

Thank you for your review. You are right to point these issues out. We have actually......Read more.

Hi Karen,

Thank you for your review. You are right to point these issues out. We have actually closed the camping area now until May as it is not ready. We did not want to cancel your stay and hoped with just your 1 tent there was enough of a good area to make it suitable. I will send you an e-mail, please check your inbox.

Thanks,

Jack...Read less.

"Lovely Park with amazing beach"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

05/04/2019

The park is in a great location with easy access to the beach. Fabulous views from the touring area. The showers were a little short on run time, only a few seconds before having to press the button......Read more.

The park is in a great location with easy access to the beach. Fabulous views from the touring area. The showers were a little short on run time, only a few seconds before having to press the button again which was a bit annoying....Read less.

"Excellent park"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

03/04/2019

Although touring campers are a small part of this park they are well catered for with serviced pitches and beautiful sea views. All staff very friendly, helpful and efficient. Park is clean and......Read more.

Although touring campers are a small part of this park they are well catered for with serviced pitches and beautiful sea views. All staff very friendly, helpful and efficient. Park is clean and tidy.

New shower block excellent, clean, hot showers and hairdryer at no extra charge. Only slight downside was having to keep pressing the button to keep the shower going and the movement sensor operated lights going off half way through a shower and would only come on if I left the cubicle. Otherwise brilliant....Read less.

"Maisie"

Mrs J Finlay - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

02/04/2019

Great stay

"Beautiful spot on sandy beach"

Mrs J Smith - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

31/03/2019

We stayed an extra night here as the Motorhome area was right next to the beach and in March we were the only van there! Huge skies, lots of stars.Lovely walk along the beach to a pub in the village......Read more.

We stayed an extra night here as the Motorhome area was right next to the beach and in March we were the only van there! Huge skies, lots of stars.Lovely walk along the beach to a pub in the village with great food. Spotlessly clean and tidy. Obviously a newly revamped shower block, beautifully decorated but let down by a lack of practical features. Not enough hooks or shelves for clothes and toiletries, no curtains so the water came right out onto the changing area, automatic timer button which only gave you a very short burst of water before stopping! This was the only downside at Sands of Luce and we would be happy to return....Read less.

"Great for Motorhome"

C McBride - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

03/11/2018

Lovely site and good facilities

However intermittent shower annoying!

Very peaceful and picturesque

"3 nights for October half term 2018."

Mr D Tickle - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

29/10/2018

My partner and I wanted to visit a new destination in our converted Sprinter. We wanted somewhere coastal as our little girl loves digging on the beach. A search of the web brought us to Sands of......Read more.

My partner and I wanted to visit a new destination in our converted Sprinter. We wanted somewhere coastal as our little girl loves digging on the beach. A search of the web brought us to Sands of Luce. It looked nice, was available and excellent value on price. When we arrived the site didn't disappoint. The beach side hard pitches had breathtaking views of the bay. The onsite facilities were excellent and the Lighthouse bar was welcoming. A stroll along the beach took you to the village with a lovely pub and a well stocked village shop. We will definitely go back to Sands of Luce....Read less.

"Perfect location"

Mrs S Hall - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

22/10/2018

We have visited the site for the last 6 years (sometimes twice). Its location is excellent for long walks on the beach and is central to local places of interest such as Stranraer and......Read more.

We have visited the site for the last 6 years (sometimes twice). Its location is excellent for long walks on the beach and is central to local places of interest such as Stranraer and Portpatrick.

The refurbished showers/toilets and site bar are also first class....Read less.

"Direct access to lovely beach."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

20/10/2018

Modern accommodation, clean and well maintained site. Direct access to a lovely long sandy beach, great for dog walks. Great base to visit Port Patrick, Mull of Galloway and Stranraer.

"Wonderful area mostly peaceful site,"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

17/10/2018

All good.

Lovely clean caravan,

Only complaint we found the tv far too small it really was unwatchable.

Perhaps not a problem in the summer but in a wet and windy October much needed.

Really needed......Read more.

All good.

Lovely clean caravan,

Only complaint we found the tv far too small it really was unwatchable.

Perhaps not a problem in the summer but in a wet and windy October much needed.

Really needed electric kettle the gas one took for ever to boil.

...Read less.

"special"

Mrs F Steele - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

11/10/2018

I picked this title because that is what this site is. To always be greeted with a smile, made to feel welcome, beautiful views, everything you need for relaxing or having fun.

"One of the best"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

11/10/2018

We are regulars at the Dunes, an excellent location.

Only one gripe; when emptying your chemical toilet make sure to have wellies on.

The sluice is set into the floor and has no flushing tank. There......Read more.

We are regulars at the Dunes, an excellent location.

Only one gripe; when emptying your chemical toilet make sure to have wellies on.

The sluice is set into the floor and has no flushing tank. There is a tap over the unit with a poor fitting hose. I had to retrieve it from the sluice....Read less.

"September stay"

Mr B Miller - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

05/10/2018

Had to wait in lounge bar for half an hour before anyone turned up to book us in...reception was locked and deserted..bar unattended. Eventually a woman turned up to book us in...Great big modern......Read more.

Had to wait in lounge bar for half an hour before anyone turned up to book us in...reception was locked and deserted..bar unattended. Eventually a woman turned up to book us in...Great big modern lounge clean decor, reasonable priced beer,as it was near the end of season,it only stayed open if there were customers buying,which is fair enough. The toilet block ,showers,laundry room ,disabled toilet/shower were excellent,one of the very best we have seen,although the water temperature in the showers could be warmer. The pitches were of a good size with elec..mains water and grey waste water drain , with great views over Luce bay.We paid £20.00 per night which I thought was reasonable for this time of year ,We would use this site again....Read less.

"home from home"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

04/10/2018

Been coming to this site for many years. The beach and surrounding area are ideal for a restful and relaxing holiday. Plenty of scope for children to explore and miles of unoccupied sand to enjoy.

"Great Stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

04/10/2018

excellent allround

"Immaculate site in a fabulous location."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

01/10/2018

Disappointed that only pizzas were being served in restaurant.

Showers are push button style and the button had to be pressed every few seconds - annoying. Washrooms we’re lovely.

Fabulous......Read more.

Disappointed that only pizzas were being served in restaurant.

Showers are push button style and the button had to be pressed every few seconds - annoying. Washrooms we’re lovely.

Fabulous location & an immaculate site....Read less.

"sept weekend.at sands of luce"

Mr D Sweeney - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

30/09/2018

great site.great location.the only thing that i feel needs to be improved is the shower control and water temp.having to push the button every 20/30 secs is a bit frustrating.

"Great site"

Mrs J Cunningham - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

29/09/2018

We were in a folding camper facilities were excellent beach access great

"Lovely Park"

Mr F Smith - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

28/09/2018

Had a great peaceful relaxing break at Sands of Luce. Caravan was very modern and spotlessly clean, bar staff were very friendly and pizzas were excellent. Will definitely return.

"Silly little things."

J Mell - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

23/09/2018

On arrival found our way to touring area with ease. Checked out toilet block with its own key pad very good idea!! All clean and very good. Shame that cleaning of the toilet block was not taken out......Read more.

On arrival found our way to touring area with ease. Checked out toilet block with its own key pad very good idea!! All clean and very good. Shame that cleaning of the toilet block was not taken out each day as a few issues would have been sorted straight away. For example the hand basin in gents toilet had a pop up waste that was stuck down in hold position and the basin full of dirty water. Had the toilet block been cleaned each morning this would have been attended to straight away. Ladies toilet block had a soap dispenser which was leaking onto the work top and the leaking soap was there for the remaining time of our stay. Same for mens toilet block. All silly little things because the place was a little gem for a visit. Our visit was mid week in September....Read less.

"Excellent place for a holiday"

Mr Galbraith - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

21/09/2018

.

"A very good site"

J Sedcole - Stayed Sep 2018

20/09/2018

An excellent site in a fantastic area of Scotland. A great place to visit especially if you enjoy fishing. The site was very well run. Y friendly professional staff. I will recommend it to my......Read more.

An excellent site in a fantastic area of Scotland. A great place to visit especially if you enjoy fishing. The site was very well run. Y friendly professional staff. I will recommend it to my friends....Read less.

"First impressions"

D Burns - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

20/09/2018

Fantastic beach access and very child friendly - will definitely return

"Great weekend stay"

K Mercer - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

18/09/2018

I've given 3 stars for security because we managed to exit the site through a rear open gate where there's no security checks.This is a site which has direct access onto & from the beach which again......Read more.

I've given 3 stars for security because we managed to exit the site through a rear open gate where there's no security checks.This is a site which has direct access onto & from the beach which again non residents guests can access the site,it is however in a location which is secluded.Our walk on the beach was fantastic with stunning views.We found the whole site to be spotless & well maintained...Read less.

"Brilliant site"

Miss H Simpson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

15/09/2018

My husband and I had a wonderful 10 days there. It is a beautifully kept site. There are easily accessible recycling facilities. Our caravan was lovely. I hope the housekeeping staff were happy with......Read more.

My husband and I had a wonderful 10 days there. It is a beautifully kept site. There are easily accessible recycling facilities. Our caravan was lovely. I hope the housekeeping staff were happy with how we left it! (Some of our fellow holiday makers were not as considerate as they might have been, clearing up after their dogs😣) camp staff shouldn't have to deal with that!!! I loved the site and will be back 💗...Read less.

"Sands of Luce Bay"

C Mathie - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

14/09/2018

Arrived at the park to a warm welcome from the reception staff, The Dunes is a great area for touring motorhomes and caravans, this site is pet and child friendly, there is a great beach right next......Read more.

Arrived at the park to a warm welcome from the reception staff, The Dunes is a great area for touring motorhomes and caravans, this site is pet and child friendly, there is a great beach right next to the site, which is superb for long walks as it is miles long and clean, there is a really nice bar/ restaurant which has great pizza.

Already booked up to return in April 2019...Read less.

"Brilliant site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

13/09/2018

Good value fully service caravan site brilliant views.

"7 night stay at sans of luce"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

09/09/2018

nice clean caravan, excellent access to a lovely peaceful beach.

"great location"

Mrs E Norman - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

08/09/2018

clean and tidy site.very well kept. lovely walks on beach.enjoyed our 4 nights we stayed.

"Lovely site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

07/09/2018

Really enjoyed the break, the beach was great for the dogs . We didn’t use the bar as we were told there was a function but we were welcome. Have used the bar on a previous visit and it’s really......Read more.

Really enjoyed the break, the beach was great for the dogs . We didn’t use the bar as we were told there was a function but we were welcome. Have used the bar on a previous visit and it’s really nice. Wi fi would have been good on the site but good television reception.

The pitches are amongst the best I have seen with good hard standing and fully serviced and a plus is they all face the beach

All in all a lovely visit despite the weather and I would recommend it to anyone....Read less.

"2018 August Bank Holiday at Sands of Luce in a Tourer."

Mr H Jackson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

05/09/2018

Top site for Tourer Caravan'ers or for hiring a site static caravan.

Great facilities, excellent meals in the Lighthouse bar, very friendly staff and mgt.

Beautiful beach and plenty of places to......Read more.

Top site for Tourer Caravan'ers or for hiring a site static caravan.

Great facilities, excellent meals in the Lighthouse bar, very friendly staff and mgt.

Beautiful beach and plenty of places to visit.

Local people very friendly.

My wife, dog and I will be back again.

Thanks to all for a great Holiday....Read less.

"Beautiful beaches"

Mr A Yates - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

05/09/2018

Another wonderful two weeks spent exploring the local area, taking the dog for endless walks on the beach and a few innings of beach cricket. Perfect for recharging the batteries

"What a fantastic place......"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

05/09/2018

The accommodation was perfect and in a great location right near to the beach access, the other residents on the park were friendly and the park itself was peaceful (no noisy reveller's).

"Absolutely beautiful quiet relaxing campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

01/09/2018

A campsite is in such a beautiful area of the country I have been to our campsites within this area but I must write this one has won the quiet is beautifulest campsite stop into in many years

"sands of luce is ace"

Mr D Owen - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

30/08/2018

we have taken the grandkids every year for the last 5 years

they are 17,14 and 11yrs now and they still love it

we also come on our own and we still love it

"Great 3 days!"

Mrs F Bray - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

30/08/2018

Camp was clean and tidy although the grass area was a little battered by the time we arrived but the availability of a tap by the van was very useful. The showers/toilets were very clean but the......Read more.

Camp was clean and tidy although the grass area was a little battered by the time we arrived but the availability of a tap by the van was very useful. The showers/toilets were very clean but the showers were not warm enough and the water from the showers did not drain effectively and flowed out into the walking area. Disposal of waste was an excellent set up. On the occasion I did meet one of the girls cleaning the shower block they were always very pleasant. I would certainly return, lovely beach for the grandchildren....Read less.

"Holiday August /18"

Mrs J McKnight - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

29/08/2018

We had a lovely family holiday in a rental van, returning for the 3rd time. However we took the dog this time and sadly couldn't use the verandah as the gaps were big enough for her to get through......Read more.

We had a lovely family holiday in a rental van, returning for the 3rd time. However we took the dog this time and sadly couldn't use the verandah as the gaps were big enough for her to get through and she jumped off as soon as we arrived. Can we suggest the verandahs have some lightweight mesh around them to make them secure and more dog friendly. We won't be able to bring the dog again if the verandah is open.

🙁...Read less.

"Stay at Sands of Luce"

Mr J Liley - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

29/08/2018

Very quiet and peaceful when we stayed. Tidy site with all the services we needed. Great location!

"First visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

29/08/2018

This was our first visit and we loved the park and the surrounding area. The static van was lovely, clean and spacious with a great view which the patio Sports made the most of.

We were very......Read more.

This was our first visit and we loved the park and the surrounding area. The static van was lovely, clean and spacious with a great view which the patio Sports made the most of.

We were very impressed with the Lighthouse Bar in terms of decor, price of drinks, friendliness of staff and the pizzas were delicious. We were however, disappointed that dogs were not allowed in, especially as the floor was a mixture of tile and wood, and the bar was often quite empty. We would have used the bar much more if we could have taken our dogs in. The entertainment was great and there was a nice atmosphere....Read less.

"Return to the Rhinns of Galloway"

H Eyre - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

22/08/2018

Our caravan was well-equipped and very comfortable with lots of space and storage and a good size for grandparents, two wee girls and their mum. Just right for rainy-day activities and plenty of safe......Read more.

Our caravan was well-equipped and very comfortable with lots of space and storage and a good size for grandparents, two wee girls and their mum. Just right for rainy-day activities and plenty of safe areas outside to run about. We belong to the area so we knew that the beach is magnificent and the sky is huge and blue.

...Read less.

"Good feeling"

Mrs M Todd - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

22/08/2018

Fabulous to go back ,maybe not the same atmosphere as it was once,but,times change! We loved the restful ,air,not so sure of where the rental vans are now situated,used to love watching the hustle......Read more.

Fabulous to go back ,maybe not the same atmosphere as it was once,but,times change! We loved the restful ,air,not so sure of where the rental vans are now situated,used to love watching the hustle and bustle near the club etc!!

Wish we had bought a van years ago, but was too “fear” to take the plunge!! Too lOld now to take on such a big responsibility!!Hindsight as they say is a great thing!!!...Read less.

"Holiday Let"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

22/08/2018

The caravan was fine, short of patio chairs and behind the couch cushions and the area where the sofa bed was stored was very dirty and we needed to clean it, as were the windows. The kitchen,......Read more.

The caravan was fine, short of patio chairs and behind the couch cushions and the area where the sofa bed was stored was very dirty and we needed to clean it, as were the windows. The kitchen, bathroom and bedrooms were very clean...Read less.

"Camping close to the beach"

Anonymous - Stayed Aug 2018

21/08/2018

Was lovely to listen to the waves as I lay in bed! Beautiful beach. Campsite was friendly, well laid out and clean, and I had a delicious gluten-free breakfast in the cafe!

"Good site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

21/08/2018

Nice park. washing facilities good but could be improved by a rubber cleaner rather that the old fashioned mop.

"Lovely relaxing getaway"

R Oxley - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

20/08/2018

Really enjoyed Sands of Luce campsite. Wouldn’t hesitate to return and recommend to friends.

Please could you put a pull handle on the ladies wash facility door though as very difficult to open with......Read more.

Really enjoyed Sands of Luce campsite. Wouldn’t hesitate to return and recommend to friends.

Please could you put a pull handle on the ladies wash facility door though as very difficult to open with wet/ arthritic hands. (Door where key code is entered). Thank you...Read less.

"An excellent site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

16/08/2018

Excellent site, great facilities, stunning views! One of the best sites we’ve visited.

Our pitch was slightly back from the sand dunes and elevated so we had a stunning view right over Luce Bay.......Read more.

Excellent site, great facilities, stunning views! One of the best sites we’ve visited.

Our pitch was slightly back from the sand dunes and elevated so we had a stunning view right over Luce Bay. Great to sit and watch at night. Beach is a couple of minutes walk and has miles of sand, our kids had a great time swimming and playing - what a tremendous asset to the park.

Area had lots to offer too- Mull of Galloway Lighthouse, Port Logan and it’s Fish Pond, Portpatrick - all not to be missed....Read less.

"Another great stay at Sands of Luce"

Mr H Gilbert - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

13/08/2018

Another great two week holiday in the static holiday homes at Sands of Luce. Accommodation absolutely top drawer.Gr

eat to see the continued improvements to the park both in landscaping and the......Read more.

Another great two week holiday in the static holiday homes at Sands of Luce. Accommodation absolutely top drawer.Gr

eat to see the continued improvements to the park both in landscaping and the café/bar.

Can't recommend it enough, can't wait until next year....Read less.

"Stunning!"

N Lamb - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

09/08/2018

We had a 3 night campervan break here. I choose the site because of the stunning location next to the beach while we were catching up with family living locally. We didn’t have great weather but our......Read more.

We had a 3 night campervan break here. I choose the site because of the stunning location next to the beach while we were catching up with family living locally. We didn’t have great weather but our kids had wetsuits so spent 3 days on the beach or flying their kites, very relaxing. The restaurant serves simple, homemade tasty food and is kitted our beautifully. My little girls loved the pancakes. Washroom is new and kept clean, great laundry facilities and the grassed tent area is just next to the park for the kids, but far enough away not be noisy. We’re weren’t interested in evening entertainment but I see there are things going on if you wish to get involved. Great site and we’ll definitely be back....Read less.

"wonderful"

Mrs F Steele - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

09/08/2018

so relaxing, friendly and something for all. The easy access to the beach means going for a stroll by the sea takes seconds and the view is lovely.

"Fantastic location"

Mrs Y Hanley - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

09/08/2018

This is the fourth time I have visited site and it has everything you need to have a great camping trip! Facilities are really good and staff are helpful pleasant and friendly,the beach is amazing......Read more.

This is the fourth time I have visited site and it has everything you need to have a great camping trip! Facilities are really good and staff are helpful pleasant and friendly,the beach is amazing and the bar is a lovely place to eat ,drink and socialise. Will definitely be back again!...Read less.

"Excellent park owners so friendly and they remember people"

Mrs C Pettingale - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

06/08/2018

Only one issue badly lit at night when returning to van after clubhouse everything else excellent xxx

"Fantastic location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

04/08/2018

Stayed in our camper van for 2 njghts in July. Gorgeous location on the beach. Lighthouse was fantastic for dinnner, lunch, breakfast and drinks and Sandhead was only 10 minute walk. Will definitely......Read more.

Stayed in our camper van for 2 njghts in July. Gorgeous location on the beach. Lighthouse was fantastic for dinnner, lunch, breakfast and drinks and Sandhead was only 10 minute walk. Will definitely be back....Read less.

"Good family site with spotless facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

03/08/2018

Great site for kids, however the park safety could be improved by putting sleeping policemen at the entrance. These are already in place elsewhere to slow traffic.

"A Gem in Scotland"

Mr P Baldry - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

02/08/2018

What a beautiful, well kept, friendly site. Would hesitate to recommend to all.

"Fantastic place to stay"

Mrs J Szafranek - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

02/08/2018

A brilliant holiday from start to finish. Friendly staff, clean facilities lotta for the kids to do. The beach was brilliant clear water and golden sand. Lots to do in the surrounding area and close......Read more.

A brilliant holiday from start to finish. Friendly staff, clean facilities lotta for the kids to do. The beach was brilliant clear water and golden sand. Lots to do in the surrounding area and close to the ferry for a wee trip to Belfast. Can’t recommend it more - excellent holiday...Read less.

"GREAT SITE GREAT VIEWS"

Mrs N Maccallum Millar - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

02/08/2018

First time out with our caravan could not off picked a better site , lovely pitches ,lovely views and great for kids , what more do you want , all other caravan sites now have a lot to live up to ,......Read more.

First time out with our caravan could not off picked a better site , lovely pitches ,lovely views and great for kids , what more do you want , all other caravan sites now have a lot to live up to , loved it...Read less.

"Maureen Fletcher"

Mrs C Fletcher - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

02/08/2018

We had a wonderful holiday . We were there to celebrate my 65th birthday the last time we were there we still had our own stactics and celebrated my 60th

"beach"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

01/08/2018

we love this caravan park & being right at the 7 miles of golden sand beach is fanatastic for family & dogs, we have been going to this site since we were kids & now take our kids, the site itself......Read more.

we love this caravan park & being right at the 7 miles of golden sand beach is fanatastic for family & dogs, we have been going to this site since we were kids & now take our kids, the site itself is spotless ,the new upgraded toilets/showers are beautiful (only problem is you have to press button on wall for shower ever 6 seconds) Jack & amy & staff are all friendly & helpfull when needed.The lighhouse bar on site is lovley.If you are looking for a relaxing holiday, beach on doorstep & the kids are safe to run around going to swingpark this is where you want to be.lots to see & do in surrounding areas....Read less.

"Sands of luce 2018"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

01/08/2018

Great spot for a family holiday by the beach

"Site"

Mr D Raggett - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

31/07/2018

Beautiful site, great location by the beach

"Fab Family Holiday Destination"

Mr J Hosie - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

31/07/2018

Booked with the Sands of Luce Holiday Park on recommendation from friends.

Very impressed with the site overall.

Very Clean tidy & well managed.

Clubhouse very tastefully decorated & nicely......Read more.

Booked with the Sands of Luce Holiday Park on recommendation from friends.

Very impressed with the site overall.

Very Clean tidy & well managed.

Clubhouse very tastefully decorated & nicely arranged. Didn’t feel like a “Campsite” establishment but more like a trendy beach cafe/bar ...

Ate twice during our stay Food was quality . Well priced & very tasty. Pizzas were awesome. Staff very friendly.

Toilets / showers always clean.

Gravel pitches quite hard so ensure you have rock pegs for your awning & a decent footprint to ensure your ground sheet doesn’t damage.

Overall .. fab family friendly site which I would thoroughly recommend to anyone wishing a trip to The Galloway area.

...Read less.

"Well presented"

Mr A Gilmour - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

30/07/2018

This was our first visit to Sands of Luce and we were impressed. The site is kept clean and tidy and is in a great position right on a fantastic beach, which is great for kids. The Dunes pitches......Read more.

This was our first visit to Sands of Luce and we were impressed. The site is kept clean and tidy and is in a great position right on a fantastic beach, which is great for kids. The Dunes pitches were fairly well laid out and most got some view of the sea, a slight negative is that not all pitches are of equal size, which can make it difficult to park the car. The modern bar is bright and fairly well stocked, prices are what you would expect for a campsite bar. However, we thought the menu was limited and on the high side for pricing. It's a nice site ideally placed for visiting the surrounding area and definately recommended....Read less.

"Family holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

29/07/2018

Only one slight criticism 10 second shower?

"Coastal"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

27/07/2018

We selected this site because it was by the coast with direct access to the sea. The spot for tents and campervans is pretty uninspiring mostly because the grass is parched with all the hot weather.......Read more.

We selected this site because it was by the coast with direct access to the sea. The spot for tents and campervans is pretty uninspiring mostly because the grass is parched with all the hot weather. However, we managed to get the spot closest to the sea with a view which was fabulous. The site is bigger than we like with a lot of statics but this area is separate which is good. The other real advantage of this site is the good facilities including s real nice bar/restaurant which is not easy to find usually. The staff are also really friendly and helpful....Read less.

"Another great time"

Mr P Tomnay - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

26/07/2018

Big thank you to Jack for keeping us entertained last week.

Glad you eventually got your pickup recovered from the sea, thought your tractor was going to tip going through the dunes.

Returning......Read more.

Big thank you to Jack for keeping us entertained last week.

Glad you eventually got your pickup recovered from the sea, thought your tractor was going to tip going through the dunes.

Returning next week for another entertaining stay hopefully...Read less.

"Granddaughters holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

25/07/2018

A large well organised site. Unusually tourers are given a prime position near the beach with modern wash facilities. Washing machines new and a very reasonable price. Will definitely be back with......Read more.

A large well organised site. Unusually tourers are given a prime position near the beach with modern wash facilities. Washing machines new and a very reasonable price. Will definitely be back with the other grandchildren....Read less.

"Satisfied customer"

J Buckley - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

25/07/2018

We could have done with a second shelf in the oven

"Love the beach, hate the lack of rule enforcement"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

21/07/2018

The Good:

- staff are wonderful

- electric hookup with no trips

- washroom is fantastic

- recycling and rubbish facilities are superb

- beach access is perfect

The Bad:

- rules are not enforced.......Read more.

The Good:

- staff are wonderful

- electric hookup with no trips

- washroom is fantastic

- recycling and rubbish facilities are superb

- beach access is perfect

The Bad:

- rules are not enforced. By this I mean hardly ANY dogs were on leads and the noise through the night was insane

- the kids park is very central which is great for them, but because nobody enforces the noise rules, kids are screaming until midnight!!

- the ground for tents is very very hard with lots of rocks under the surface in one area, and pure sand in the other. So you either lose your tent or break your tent pegs

- the tent pitches aren’t marked out so people pitch up far too close or spread out far too much...Read less.

"Satisfied holidaymaker"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

19/07/2018

A wonderful holiday in a lovely setting. The whole park was clean, friendly and all amenities were excellent. Will definitely visit again.

"Lovely location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

19/07/2018

Good lication next to stunning beach. However the touring area lacked attention, with no defined pitch areas (just pitch wherever sort of thing). It feels like the static holiday home side of the......Read more.

Good lication next to stunning beach. However the touring area lacked attention, with no defined pitch areas (just pitch wherever sort of thing). It feels like the static holiday home side of the park is far more important than a few tents and campers. Staff lovely. Not much in the way of entertainment for older kids though....Read less.

"Family friendly site"

Ms S Wood - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

18/07/2018

The whole caravan holiday was perfect from start to finish. Easy check in and out. All the staff are very friendly throughout the park. My three youngest children all had a blast hanging out daily at......Read more.

The whole caravan holiday was perfect from start to finish. Easy check in and out. All the staff are very friendly throughout the park. My three youngest children all had a blast hanging out daily at the park even if they were covered in sand from head to toe every day but as they say “a dirty child is a happy child” and mine certainly were.

The caravan we hired was first class as always and was very clean and tidy and well equipped. Also there is plenty room between the caravans that you don’t feel like your squashed in.

I would not hesitate to recommend the site and can’t wait to return....Read less.

"Great campsite"

R Murphy - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

18/07/2018

The only minor thing I would suggest would be some natural wind breaks for the tents. Possibly bushes/trees etc. It could get very windy in the camping field and found it difficult to set up tent......Read more.

The only minor thing I would suggest would be some natural wind breaks for the tents. Possibly bushes/trees etc. It could get very windy in the camping field and found it difficult to set up tent and we had to tie the tent up to the car in the evening.

Wash facilities were extremely well kept.

Well done Sands of Luce :)

...Read less.

"NICE LOCATION,GREAT BEACH ON DOORSTEP,"

M Cook - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

17/07/2018

LOVELY SITE AND GREAT STAFF,,SHAME THERE IS NO SHOP NOW ,BAR OK

20 MINS WALK INTO VILLAGE IF U HAVE A CAMPER AND NO TRANSPORT FOR SHOP AND LOCAL PUB

"Sand's of Luce - a very nice stay"

Mr P Webb - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

16/07/2018

We had three nights at Sand's of Luce as part of a two week tour of Western Scotland. We had a very nice time - the location and facilities were were great. Also lucky with the weather! Would......Read more.

We had three nights at Sand's of Luce as part of a two week tour of Western Scotland. We had a very nice time - the location and facilities were were great. Also lucky with the weather! Would definitely recommend and would stay again if in that area....Read less.

"On our way to Ireland"

A Wilkinson - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

16/07/2018

We only stayed one night before our ferry to Larne but were very satisfied with the camp site and would consider staying there again, it was a lovely area.

"One of many returning visits"

Mrs L Ross - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

11/07/2018

Fab weeks holiday. Fab site with access to lovely beach. Great hard standing pitch but ground quite difficult to get awning pegs into. Slight issue with other campers not tying up their dogs and......Read more.

Fab weeks holiday. Fab site with access to lovely beach. Great hard standing pitch but ground quite difficult to get awning pegs into. Slight issue with other campers not tying up their dogs and letting them wander and poo. Defo missing a shop onsite and perfect place would be where the old shop used to be next to the games room. Other than that absolutely love the site!...Read less.

"Another fantastic stay ☀️💖"

Mrs A McGuire - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

11/07/2018

Absolutely love Sands of Luce, caravans are outstanding! Introduced friends and they loved it will also be back! Not much entertainment as early in season but we don’t mind this as the weather was......Read more.

Absolutely love Sands of Luce, caravans are outstanding! Introduced friends and they loved it will also be back! Not much entertainment as early in season but we don’t mind this as the weather was outstanding and the beach is right on your doorstep ... love love love .... HIGHLY recommend from 3 families in 3 caravans xxx...Read less.

"dogs on site"

Mr A McGough - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

11/07/2018

Our holiday was marred by wandering dogs not kept tied up at their caravan, invading our space, peeing on our equipment, etc. More signage and enforcement is required to ensure all holiday makers......Read more.

Our holiday was marred by wandering dogs not kept tied up at their caravan, invading our space, peeing on our equipment, etc. More signage and enforcement is required to ensure all holiday makers enjoy their pitches. We also have a dog which was kept on lead at all times....Read less.

"Beautiful Location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

11/07/2018

.

"Lovely site and location"

Mrs J Strangwige - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

09/07/2018

Only downside is pathetic showers. Big shame. Restrooms fab but you just get dribbled on, and that was after trying 3 others first!

"Few things dissatisfied with"

Miss M Rennison - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

08/07/2018

Firstly on arrival on a Saturday we were informed that restaurant will be closed from Sunday till thurs ,no reason as to why was given ,, there were 6 of us 3 adults 3 children ,we didn't plan on......Read more.

Firstly on arrival on a Saturday we were informed that restaurant will be closed from Sunday till thurs ,no reason as to why was given ,, there were 6 of us 3 adults 3 children ,we didn't plan on cooking most of the week and it was a 15/20 min drive to town ,, would have appreciated being contacted before arrival about this , all the staff were great , I've marked it down slightly because of 1 member of bar staff who was unfriendly unhelpful and basically miserable looking most of the time , didn't get her name , blonde heavy set girl ,, the couple who run the site are just lovely and friendly ,always make time to chat ,, saying this we all would definately come back ,,...Read less.

"June at Sandhead"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

08/07/2018

Great location, stunning sea views at The Dunes, own hook up and water, friendly staff

"Fantastic motorhome stop off"

D Pell - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

05/07/2018

This is a fantastic site and we were lucky to have a motorhome pitch next to the sand dunes overlooking the sea. Yes the weather was hot but I have never been to such s peaceful, tranquil, clean and......Read more.

This is a fantastic site and we were lucky to have a motorhome pitch next to the sand dunes overlooking the sea. Yes the weather was hot but I have never been to such s peaceful, tranquil, clean and tidy site in the 5 weeks of touring Scotland. The staff were so helpful(family run), the showers etc. spotless and helpful. We stopped 8 nights, which was unusual for us, and could have stopped longer.

First class site and will return....Read less.

"Great place"

Mrs M Kelly - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

04/07/2018

Chose this site as it was close to Ardwell. Childhood memories for my husband. Throughly enjoyed a stay and will return.

"Stunning location"

Mrs T Nunn - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

04/07/2018

Caravan was of a very high standard. Beach is amazing and access to local attractions is good. Gorgeous area and a definite revisit being planned. The beach is so clean and water is shallow which......Read more.

Caravan was of a very high standard. Beach is amazing and access to local attractions is good. Gorgeous area and a definite revisit being planned. The beach is so clean and water is shallow which means you can paddle safely. Best holiday for years.

...Read less.

"Hard standing touring area"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

04/07/2018

Beautiful site n well kept. Touring area a stone's throw from fantastic beach. Toilets n showers spotless. Pizzas are lovely from the lighthouse restaurant n very gd value. Only small downside was......Read more.

Beautiful site n well kept. Touring area a stone's throw from fantastic beach. Toilets n showers spotless. Pizzas are lovely from the lighthouse restaurant n very gd value. Only small downside was we had a problem getting steel pegs into the concrete for our awning.

Overall fantastic place n we've booked to go back again in August....Read less.

"Static caravan holiday."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

04/07/2018

The caravan as always excellent. Easy access to the beach for walking the dog. Looking forward to next year already.

"great location clean and tidy will defiantly return for a longer stay"

C Armstrong - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

29/06/2018

great location brilliant beach you can walk for half a mile and still be only knee deep so great for the kids.

Dog friendly good shower blocks water a little on the cool side but it was red hot......Read more.

great location brilliant beach you can walk for half a mile and still be only knee deep so great for the kids.

Dog friendly good shower blocks water a little on the cool side but it was red hot outside. Staff friendly and welcoming the only thing we did not notice were dog bins for waste around the site or on way back from the beach?...Read less.

"Completely disorganised site"

R Stewart - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

28/06/2018

You only find out how good a service is when problems arise. We had several problems and the response was hopeless. Took them a week to fix Veranda windows which weren’t working properly. Although......Read more.

You only find out how good a service is when problems arise. We had several problems and the response was hopeless. Took them a week to fix Veranda windows which weren’t working properly. Although it was a new caravan they hadn’t checked how it was fitted out. We didn’t have any bedside lights and I ended up falling over in the pitch dark. No beer glasses in the caravan either which they hadn’t checked. Calls itself a holiday park when it doesn’t have the usual facilities like a shop on site....you have to drive for shopping. Not on Trip Advisor and attitude when I reported things was abysmal. I had to go down 3 times to get things done and also had to buy a bedside light ourselves. Information pack provided was hopeless, didn’t give you essential info about where local chemists , 24 hour chemists, doctors , hospitals and the like. Internet service is very poor and drops out a lot, so you really need to bring your own dongle. It’s very unusual too as when looking at the site before you book they don’t show you pictures of the caravans available, and as said earlier they hadn’t checked what was in ours. No electric kettle as they say if everyone had electric kettles it might overload their electricity supply !! That doesnt give much confidence, although they do supply a whistling kettle. I also found the small TV not very good as has to be near it to read the subtitles. We have a 32 inch at home and seems strange having a 21 inch to view. Radio reception in the area is also very poor and our dab/fm radio was useless. We had to use the stations on the tv , although there no local broadcasters on there which would be desirable.

All in all this site is very poorly managed as all the decisions have to go through the manager and the reception isn’t always manned. So if he’s not around it’s a problem. A large site like this with everything depending on one man is crazy.

Obviously we wouldn’t return here and would advise anyone wanting to rent a caravan here to ask questions beforehand....Read less.

"A truly hidden holiday site"

Mr F Clarkson - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

27/06/2018

A well run site that offers the very best of holiday rental accommodation, the site is ideally situated for journeying around the beautiful “Mull of Galloway” plus the clean sandy beaches that form......Read more.

A well run site that offers the very best of holiday rental accommodation, the site is ideally situated for journeying around the beautiful “Mull of Galloway” plus the clean sandy beaches that form part of the site.

This is the second year that we have visited and love it so much we have booked again for 2019....Read less.

"Very nice & relaxed stay"

Miss R Cunningham - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

27/06/2018

Overall we had a good experience and lovely location with good clean facilities while staying in our touring caravan for 8 nights. The staff that we did have contact with were very polite, cheery and......Read more.

Overall we had a good experience and lovely location with good clean facilities while staying in our touring caravan for 8 nights. The staff that we did have contact with were very polite, cheery and helpful. Only negative aspects were the lack of liquid soap in the toilet/shower block which seemed to be that way for a few days at least (or maybe just blocked) and my other half wanted to kill some time during the horrible weather in the games room, but this was (understandably) turned off during the week days. However, this wasn't a huge issue and he was happy to play pool in the bar.

I'm sure if we return we will probably bring our boat and spend more time checking out the beach and water which we didn't get a chance to do due to the weather when we were there.

Will hopefully be back in the near future 😃...Read less.

© 2006 - 2019 CampStead