Sands of Luce Holiday Park

131 Reviews

4.5 / 5 overall rating based on 131 reviews in the last 12 months

98% would recommend this site

96% would stay here again

Excellent

71%

Very Good

24%

Average

2%

Poor

2%

Terrible

0%

"Gallagher family"

C Gallagher - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

18/10/2019

We really loved the caravan could not fault it was beautiful. And the site was immaculate. Just there was no WiFi or Mobile reception and dogs were not allowed in bar even after food service, we......Read more.

We really loved the caravan could not fault it was beautiful. And the site was immaculate. Just there was no WiFi or Mobile reception and dogs were not allowed in bar even after food service, we didn’t like leaving our wee dog too long. Also our eight year old found it quite boring, but then again me and her dad enjoyed the peace so it was nice thanks so much for the kind staff and beautiful caravan xxx...Read less.

"Best in the area"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

16/10/2019

Excellent site but let down by poor chemical disposal facility.

"Stay at park"

Mrs J Andrews - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

13/10/2019

Had a lovely stay at Park will defo be back again

"Great location, great staff, great site !"

J Summers - Stayed with friends, Oct 2019

10/10/2019

Had a fantastic wend at the Kitesurf comp ,great bar and entertainment, food was very nice and friendly staff ,views over Luce bay amazing, overall a fantastic place to stay 👍👍

"Touring weekend"

Mr J Gilbert - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

10/10/2019

Great park with good facilities very clean and well kept, will defiantly be back

"T & B"

T McQuillan - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

05/10/2019

Excellent

"lovely sands of luce holiday park"

Mrs C Hiddleston - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

04/10/2019

I love this place its so relaxing and the caravan park is spotless and so quiet all caravans are so well looked after the Lighthouse bar is lovely inside and makes the best food the breakfasts and......Read more.

I love this place its so relaxing and the caravan park is spotless and so quiet all caravans are so well looked after the Lighthouse bar is lovely inside and makes the best food the breakfasts and pizzas are delicious and all is priced fairly. The staff and the owners are lovely and never stop and nothing is to much trouble theres something for everyone here....Read less.

"Bonnie scotland"

Mrs G James - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

01/10/2019

Comfortable caravan in a beautiful area, close to the beach and Sandhead village. We have stayed many times to visit my Scottish family.

"Stunning site!"

Mrs M Thompson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

29/09/2019

Usually pass through en route elsewhere so decided to test the area. We were so impressed with everything, especially the shower facilities, which were state of the art. Non-slip flooring definite......Read more.

Usually pass through en route elsewhere so decided to test the area. We were so impressed with everything, especially the shower facilities, which were state of the art. Non-slip flooring definite bonus. Clean, well kept, and our pitch was lovely, just above the dunes. We hope to come back next year and stay longer, as this was just an overnight close to our ferry. Great value as well, as we paid less than at some Caravan Club CL sites!...Read less.

"Sands of luce"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

27/09/2019

Lovely site location just a beautiful place

"3 night stay at the Sands of Luce"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

24/09/2019

Perfect location on one of the best beaches in the UK. Very clean, well maintained facilities. Ideal location for outdoor activities.

"Sands of luce"

Miss J Birch - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

23/09/2019

Great location, great beach, clean and well maintained site, good local attractions.

"Lighting"

M Gemmell - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

22/09/2019

Felt site could maybe have a bit more lighting along paths to toilets but otherwise had a great break as usual Thank you .

"our first caravan trip"

L Irving - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

20/09/2019

this was our first trip in our caravan ,site was brilliant ,facilities were immaculate and staff very helpful ,we took our dog and the walks were fantastic

"Peaceful site"

Mrs. E Walker - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

16/09/2019

Really enjoyed our 4nights stay in our touring caravan the pitch was fully service and a good size lovely sea views definitely recommend this site was worth travelling 240miles to get there

"Bart Bristow"

Mr B Bristow - Stayed with friends, Sep 2019

14/09/2019

Spot on

"Holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/09/2019

Second time we have been on this site. Beautiful caravan and beautiful location and grounds. First class site. We had the most amazing holiday, so good to relax and enjoy the beautiful......Read more.

Second time we have been on this site. Beautiful caravan and beautiful location and grounds. First class site. We had the most amazing holiday, so good to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings....Read less.

"My Favourite place"

Miss G McGuire - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

11/09/2019

Love coming to Sands if Luce holiday park. The rental homes are right in front of the lovely beach. The Lighthouse bar is great too and entertainment Saturday night is fab. It’s my little piece of......Read more.

Love coming to Sands if Luce holiday park. The rental homes are right in front of the lovely beach. The Lighthouse bar is great too and entertainment Saturday night is fab. It’s my little piece of heaven. Had a couple of suggestions for the owners....Read less.

"Relaxing"

Mrs M Williams - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

11/09/2019

Relaxing holiday. Stunning beach

"Well kept park"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

09/09/2019

First class accommodation in peaceful surroundings.

"Autumn Break"

Mr A Haddow - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

09/09/2019

Excellent campsite with great facilities. Spotlessly clean toilet and shower facilities. Great campsite bar. Close to village which has a well stocked shop and great pub/restaurant. Lovely beach......Read more.

Excellent campsite with great facilities. Spotlessly clean toilet and shower facilities. Great campsite bar. Close to village which has a well stocked shop and great pub/restaurant. Lovely beach which the campsite overlooks and is only a few minutes walk....Read less.

"Excellent all round"

Mr Galbraith - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

06/09/2019

Excellent all round facilities for all the family.

"Stick Sands of Luce on your Camping list!"

S Hunter - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

Having been recommended by a good friend, SoL did not disappoint. Being right on the beach was the standout for us. But the beach experience wouldn't have been possible without all aspects of the......Read more.

Having been recommended by a good friend, SoL did not disappoint. Being right on the beach was the standout for us. But the beach experience wouldn't have been possible without all aspects of the park being spot on - Lighthouse Bar, washing, showers, general ambiance. Great fun!...Read less.

"What a location"

Mr A Clarke - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

04/09/2019

Stunning views and top facilities.

"Relaxing, quiet holiday"

Mrs V Hall - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

04/09/2019

If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life then Sands of Luce is definitely the right place to be with excellent holiday accommodation looking out to the sand dunes......Read more.

If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life then Sands of Luce is definitely the right place to be with excellent holiday accommodation looking out to the sand dunes and expansive beaches. The caravans are all modern and clean and offer all the amenities you need with a wonderful decked area to enjoy the evening sunset. The location is near a small village which has a village shop and fantastic pub for meals (but make sure you book). The park itself provides excellent food in its modern bar/bistro and entertainment at weekend which doesn’t impinge on the peacefulness of the rest of the site. WARNING: If you are looking for a full on activity holiday with lots of clubs for the kids etc then this isn’t the one for you. But for those, like us, who just wanted to escape the rat race for a week and take life at our own pace with a little bit of peace and solitude this definitely is the place to be. Will definitely return to recharge the batteries again!!!...Read less.

"Very pretty"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

02/09/2019

The campsite was stunning and being a minute from the beach was perfect. We stayed in a tent on the field just be warned it can get very windy. The toilets were clean and the washroom was very tidy.......Read more.

The campsite was stunning and being a minute from the beach was perfect. We stayed in a tent on the field just be warned it can get very windy. The toilets were clean and the washroom was very tidy. However one thing I think the site lacked was lighting from the tent field to the toilets as the path was only lit up by faint fairy lights on the statics porches which is no good in the middle of the night. Apart from that I enjoyed our stay and would definetly reccomend....Read less.

"Peaceful, clean and amazing views"

M Fitzpatrick - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

02/09/2019

Stayed here for 1 night on route to Mull of Galloway.

Excellent booking in, excellent clean modern washroom etc and will stay here again.

"A real jem to find"

G Potter - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

What an amazing place to find. We feel we have found a real jem. Our first time into Scotland and we have fallen in love with the area. Amazed by the beaches and the clear water. Backed up by a great......Read more.

What an amazing place to find. We feel we have found a real jem. Our first time into Scotland and we have fallen in love with the area. Amazed by the beaches and the clear water. Backed up by a great holiday park as a base. We will be back. Thank you...Read less.

"Relaxation"

F Steel - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

29/08/2019

Perfect place to chill relax and leave the big bad world behind beautiful views great walks just lovely

"So family friendly and yet so peaceful"

Mr J Banton - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

29/08/2019

What a fabulous park to stay in. The location is stunning, and our caravan was 3 minutes walk from a glorious beach. The campsite is spotless and so peaceful, despite being a family friendly park.......Read more.

What a fabulous park to stay in. The location is stunning, and our caravan was 3 minutes walk from a glorious beach. The campsite is spotless and so peaceful, despite being a family friendly park. The only tiny criticism is that summer holiday activities ended too early. We were there August 17th-24th and it had pretty much all stopped. It would nice to have had the craft activities and kids disco to go on until the end of the English school holidays too. There were plenty of kids still in the park at the same time as us. It is such a minor point though, as we had a fab time....Read less.

"First time on site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

28/08/2019

Found camp very clean and tidy staff were very helpful and cheery,lots to do and see in the area,lovely beach,and the site also has a slipway for boats onto the beach

"Yet another visit!"

N Cobb - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

26/08/2019

Great site, we love this place, getting a little worried that it is becoming too popular!!!

Back next year.

"Footprints in the Sands of luce"

Mrs L Eastham - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

25/08/2019

Been several times with touring caravan and facilities where very clean and easily accessible decided this time to take up a holiday rental which was luxury very clean and well maintained a stone ......Read more.

Been several times with touring caravan and facilities where very clean and easily accessible decided this time to take up a holiday rental which was luxury very clean and well maintained a stone throw to the beach which is imaculate all staff very helpful and friendly the dog loved it x...Read less.

"Summer 2019"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

We have stayed at the caravan park previously. We were the first people to stay in the rental caravan which were brand new. We were disappointed to see that in only a few months the bed was broken,......Read more.

We have stayed at the caravan park previously. We were the first people to stay in the rental caravan which were brand new. We were disappointed to see that in only a few months the bed was broken, the cooker had lost a knob, not all crockery was there and other guests had left beer and wine glasses from the lighthouse. I was also disappointed by the certain parts of the lighthouse. We arrived for lunch at 1.45 to be told the kitchen was closed. The bands on a saturday night are great but I feel there needs to be a lure to encourage weekdays. Pound for a pint, curry night?...Read less.

"Beach side holiday"

Mrs. J Sauberlich - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

Rental caravan immaculate,spacious,good facilities. 5 mins walk through dunes to long sandy beach. Lots to do in area for adults & children, Mull of Galloway Lighthouse, Port Logan beach & Fishpond,......Read more.

Rental caravan immaculate,spacious,good facilities. 5 mins walk through dunes to long sandy beach. Lots to do in area for adults & children, Mull of Galloway Lighthouse, Port Logan beach & Fishpond, Logan Botanic Gardens, Creetown Gem Rock Museum Portpatrick. Park is very clean & tidy & well managed , facilities to recycle rubbish. There is a Games Room under construction & the Lighthouse Bar on site serves good food. Although Wifi is accessible part of the attraction was there was no need for it -so much else to do & so nice to see grandchildren not missing it !! Thank you Sands of Luce we will be back...Read less.

"Beautiful site"

Mrs M Shepperdson - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

20/08/2019

Really fabulous location, village within walking distance with a shop that sells everything. Facilities and showers are second to none and toilets big and roomy. Not the cheapest place but not the......Read more.

Really fabulous location, village within walking distance with a shop that sells everything. Facilities and showers are second to none and toilets big and roomy. Not the cheapest place but not the most expensive either, £60 for two nights in our MH, two adults and a 5 year old. We’d of stayed longer but couldn’t afford to. This won’t put us off returning in the future though...Read less.

"FAB"

G Corr - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

16/08/2019

Great location, pitches facilities and staff!

Will deffo return and have already reccomended to family and friends.

"Nice and safe place to camp."

K Prust - Stayed Aug 2019

16/08/2019

I enjoyed my time on the campsite, I hope the area for camping continues to exist. I fear the camping area will one day be taken up by static homes. I got the feeling the people in the static home......Read more.

I enjoyed my time on the campsite, I hope the area for camping continues to exist. I fear the camping area will one day be taken up by static homes. I got the feeling the people in the static home next to the campsite would prefer to be neighbours with another static homes and not campers, a bit of snobbery maybe, I may be wrong?

I particularly enjoyed seeing the rabbits at dusk and dawn !!

I was with my little dog and didn't venture to the lighthouse bar because the place didn't have a designated area to accommodate pets (it was raining) I was told plans were in place to build a sheltered area outside, this would be good for people and their beloved pets.

Also maybe outside the shower area there should be a dog lead hook??

There was no Wi-Fi, I think the camping area was out of range?

Overall it was a nice place to stay, thank you....Read less.

"Holiday fun"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

15/08/2019

Had a great couple of day at the park. Beach was easy to get to and the kids love it. The park was all good for the kids . The showers and toilets were nice and clean. Thou felt water could of been......Read more.

Had a great couple of day at the park. Beach was easy to get to and the kids love it. The park was all good for the kids . The showers and toilets were nice and clean. Thou felt water could of been warmer . But it was good . Evening entertainment on the Sat was great the band was great and Jean the local was great fun ....Read less.

"Green's family holiday"

Mr J Green - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

15/08/2019

Beautiful views. Friendly neighbours. Really nice holiday. Thank you.

"Lovely site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

Lovely site, immaculately clean facilities. Kids love the play area and quick access to beach.

"4 Days in Sands of Luce"

S Nixon - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

Excellent experience for first time camping so much so we came home and bought a new tent. We shall return!!

"Excellent stay - we'll be back"

Mr D Russell - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

12/08/2019

The site is large, but never felt crowded. Facilities were excellent, with a large pub on site which seemed well attended. Recycling facilities were excellent too with seperated waste for plastic,......Read more.

The site is large, but never felt crowded. Facilities were excellent, with a large pub on site which seemed well attended. Recycling facilities were excellent too with seperated waste for plastic, cans and paper.

The caravan itself was almost new so modern, well appointed, clean and spacious. A large decked area outside let us enjoy the sunshine all day.

Perhaps the best feature is direct access to the beach from the vans, so no roads to cross and great views over luce bay and miles of sandy beach to enjoy.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back to stay at Sands of Luce. Recommeded!...Read less.

"Beautiful Setting great for young and old"

Mrs J Queen - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

12/08/2019

Lovely setting, safe for kids bikes, nice park for them too. Great warn showers, very clean and modern. Downsides are restaurant (excellent) only open Thursday to Sunday and only a handful of hookups......Read more.

Lovely setting, safe for kids bikes, nice park for them too. Great warn showers, very clean and modern. Downsides are restaurant (excellent) only open Thursday to Sunday and only a handful of hookups for tourers left due to statics expansion. We do love this site though and the surrounding area....Read less.

"Helpful sugestion"

Mr J Ness - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

10/08/2019

We loved the site....the only minor disappointment was the lack of an on-site shop for rolls in the morning and the 8pm cut off for food in the restaurant at night. I'm sure you had your reasons..it......Read more.

We loved the site....the only minor disappointment was the lack of an on-site shop for rolls in the morning and the 8pm cut off for food in the restaurant at night. I'm sure you had your reasons..it won't deter us from returning.

Best wishes,

Dr James Ness...Read less.

"Overnight stay"

Mr S Simpson - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

10/08/2019

Facilities first class. Restaurant service very fast, and food excellent/ good value for money. Staff v friendly and helpful throughout the site. Toilet block immaculate and newly refurbished.......Read more.

Facilities first class. Restaurant service very fast, and food excellent/ good value for money. Staff v friendly and helpful throughout the site. Toilet block immaculate and newly refurbished. Building work ongoing for creation of a games room. Beach location stunning. Would recommend without hesitation....Read less.

"The Rinns of Galloway"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

10/08/2019

Sands of Luce campsite is located right next to an amazing sandy beach and is a a perfect place for both couples and families . The pitches for motor-homes and touring caravans each have their own......Read more.

Sands of Luce campsite is located right next to an amazing sandy beach and is a a perfect place for both couples and families . The pitches for motor-homes and touring caravans each have their own water tap which is very convenient . The nearby village of Sandhead has a shop and Hotel and is an easy stroll along the beach . It is the perfect base for visits to the many surrounding places of interest such as The Mull of Galloway lighthouse , Logan Botanic Gardens , Port Logan and Port Patrick . This was our first visit to the area and we will definitely be back in the future as there is so much more to see . To sum up - this area is RELAXING , SCENIC and VERY INTERESTING ....Read less.

"Sands of Luce"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

09/08/2019

Just back from sands of luce and I will certainly be booking again , what a lovely site it was a great location, very clean facilities and staff were excellent .

Well done Sands of Luce

"Excellent Family Holiday"

Mrs D Abbott - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

07/08/2019

We chose to stay at Sands of Luce holiday park as the site is dog friendly and was reasonably priced. In addition, I thought it would be a good topportunity for my Husband to do some fishing during......Read more.

We chose to stay at Sands of Luce holiday park as the site is dog friendly and was reasonably priced. In addition, I thought it would be a good topportunity for my Husband to do some fishing during our stay. The site is well kept and our accommodation lovely with everything we needed for a self-catering break. We were in sight of the sea and it was lovely to hear the waves during the evening. We were fortunate to have glorious weather which enabled us to make good use of the deck around our van. While we didn't use the shower block or laundry facilities, they were excellent and I believe, quite new. The park was beautifully quiet at night, perhaps owing to the size and the lack of facilities which can be found at larger sites such as amusements and other entertainment which draw families who ate perhaps looking for something busier.

We had breakfast at the on-site club house which we couldn't fault and the staff were extremely friendly and polite. There evasive music on Saturday night which we missed as it would have meant leaving the dog in the caravan and she is very much part of the Family.

The site is well situated for visiting surrounding areas which provided some lovely days out and is a short drive from Stranraer for shopping.

We had such a fantastic time that we were sad to leave and are already planning our next stay....Read less.

"Family holiday"

J Cave - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

07/08/2019

I recently stayed at Sands of Luce, it is in a lovely location , near the beach. The caravan we stayed in was a new one. But I must say I prefer the one we stayed in last time. I don't like the......Read more.

I recently stayed at Sands of Luce, it is in a lovely location , near the beach. The caravan we stayed in was a new one. But I must say I prefer the one we stayed in last time. I don't like the bedrooms all being together. I love the shower cubicle, more room. The caravan we stayed in had a few issues, needed a maintenance check.

Overall though I love the campsite as you could see the sea from our caravan....Read less.

"Returning visitor to Sands of Luce"

Mr H Gilbert - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

05/08/2019

Returning for the umpteenth year to Sands of Luce. Once again the family had a fantastic time. The site is spotless and very well kept. The club is fantastic and facilities well used.

A games room......Read more.

Returning for the umpteenth year to Sands of Luce. Once again the family had a fantastic time. The site is spotless and very well kept. The club is fantastic and facilities well used.

A games room is in progress for older kids which we are really happy about as our kids are now of an age to use it.

We have been here many times and love both the site and the area. Always plenty of things to do: castles, activity centres, beaches, gardens, historic sites, villages etc.

Every year we return the site has new additions to facilities and landscaping and this has continued again this year.

Would recommend to anyone....Read less.

"Happy Cumbrians."

Mr H Jackson - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

Once again a great holiday at Sands of Luce.

Only live across the Solway, but a great holiday park.

No problems.

Thank you.

"Review"

J Buckley - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

03/08/2019

Very satisfied generally.

"Really good for campervan with awnings"

Mr M Canney - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

03/08/2019

Fantastic park and facilities, really good location and the local shop is a nice 20 minute walk down the beach. Staff are friendly and the toilets and wash rooms are fantastic.

The only improvement......Read more.

Fantastic park and facilities, really good location and the local shop is a nice 20 minute walk down the beach. Staff are friendly and the toilets and wash rooms are fantastic.

The only improvement needed is the menu in the bar (more choice + kids menu) but the food on the menu is still good quality.

I would recommend the park to anyone who wants peace and quiet with a fantastic beach.

...Read less.

"Our sands review"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

03/08/2019

Overall v happy. Only suggestion would be to have spring loaded toilet seats. Seen these in some service stations. Can't understand why they are not commonplace. As a bloke I hate it when a bloke......Read more.

Overall v happy. Only suggestion would be to have spring loaded toilet seats. Seen these in some service stations. Can't understand why they are not commonplace. As a bloke I hate it when a bloke chooses to urinates in a toilet cubicle even when a urinal is free. Why a lot of blokes do this I don't know but a lot do and don't bother lifting the seat when they do it...Read less.

"Allan"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

03/08/2019

Sands of Luce was an excellent park with fabulous surroundings. The beach literally on your doorstep as well as the nature surrounding the park is excellent. The lighthouse bar was lovely and being a......Read more.

Sands of Luce was an excellent park with fabulous surroundings. The beach literally on your doorstep as well as the nature surrounding the park is excellent. The lighthouse bar was lovely and being a meat eater it was easy to eat here more than a few times. If the menu had a vegetarian pasta or burger option it would have been ideal. The staff were lovely making staying there more enjoyable. I look forward to a return visit....Read less.

"Nice park, great location."

L McFarlane - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

03/08/2019

Stayed in camping area which was nice and secluded. Facilities are lovely, modern and clean. Fantastic location right on the beach.

"Another brilliant holiday"

Mrs L Aldritt - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

25/07/2019

The family really love coming up this site. The only piece of feedback I have relates to the Sunday Garden Party. My grandchildren struggled to get any safe time on the bouncy castle due to the......Read more.

The family really love coming up this site. The only piece of feedback I have relates to the Sunday Garden Party. My grandchildren struggled to get any safe time on the bouncy castle due to the number of older larger children, could I suggest time slots for different age groups that way all children regardless of age will have the opportunity to have a go....Read less.

"Fantastic site"

Mr I Miller - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

24/07/2019

Another brilliant week at Sands of Luce. Superb caravan with stunning views. Beautifully clean with everything you need. Terrific big deck for entertaining and enjoying the sun. Lighthouse has......Read more.

Another brilliant week at Sands of Luce. Superb caravan with stunning views. Beautifully clean with everything you need. Terrific big deck for entertaining and enjoying the sun. Lighthouse has fantastic food and friendly helpful staff. A lovely site we always come back to....Read less.

"Holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

23/07/2019

Brilliant all round

"One night stay with motorhome"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

23/07/2019

Small touring section on large site mainly composed of statics. Large level hard standing pitches close to huge sandy beach. Nice toilet facilities, didn't use shower. Make sure you get a pitch......Read more.

Small touring section on large site mainly composed of statics. Large level hard standing pitches close to huge sandy beach. Nice toilet facilities, didn't use shower. Make sure you get a pitch closest to beach unless you want to be right next to play park....Read less.

"fantastic holiday park"

Mr A McColl - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

23/07/2019

one of the best parks ive been to over the years

negative points are

no shop for essentials

if its raining no indoor kids play area

otherwise 10 out of 10

"Family Holiday"

Mr S Hunter - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

23/07/2019

My wife and two young children had a fantastic time at Sands of Luce. We stayed in the touring caravan area and our children loved being close to the terrific play park. The toilet/shower facilities......Read more.

My wife and two young children had a fantastic time at Sands of Luce. We stayed in the touring caravan area and our children loved being close to the terrific play park. The toilet/shower facilities were clean with ample hot water. We had dinner in the on-site restaurant one of the nights. ‘Kids eat free’ made it great value for money, especially with our children being young and unpredictable when it comes to eating out! We enjoyed a selection of pizzas and a burger, followed by a delicious Nutella and banana calzone to share! Some vegetables would have been good on the children’s burger option. The extra entertainment (Garden Party on the Sunday afternoon with live music and the RSPB bug hunt on the Monday morning), as well as having a glorious beach minutes from your caravan, all added to our extremely positive experience. We will be back!...Read less.

"5 STARS FOR SANDS OF LUCE"

Ms M McElroy - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

18/07/2019

We did not use any of the amenities (pub and entertainment) and there were no children in the group. The location and the caravan were more than enough to keep us very happy. Thank you so much.

"Peaceful and clean site in a perfect location"

Ms E Mackenzie - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

17/07/2019

I chose the Sands of Luce Holiday Park as I was competing in the SkiffieWorld Championships in Stranraer for a week in July and wanted to camp with my non-rowing partner. The fact that the park......Read more.

I chose the Sands of Luce Holiday Park as I was competing in the SkiffieWorld Championships in Stranraer for a week in July and wanted to camp with my non-rowing partner. The fact that the park offered wild camping, with the use of the park's bathroom facilities, and was a stone's throw from the beach and only 15 minutes drive from Stranraer made it the perfect location for us. It was also ideally situated for trips out to Kirkcudbright, Wigtown, Port Patrick, the Mull of Galloway and the beautiful Logan Botanic Gardens.

The camp site was small and quiet - for tents only - and level, with a water tap. The toilet and shower block were only 5 minutes walk from the camp site and were clean and spacious, with endless hot water.

The staff at the park were very friendly and helpful.

The bar/restaurant provided a good breakfast, pizza in the evening and live music some nights. We also walked (10 minutes) along the beach to Sandhead to the Tigh Na Mara restaurant where we had a delicious evening meal made with local ingredients.

Although my partner and I were brought up in Scotland we had never been to the South West area before. We were amazed at the beautiful rural countryside and its proximity to the sea and wonderful beaches. We had a great trip and will definitely be back to the Sands of Luce Holiday Park in the near future.

...Read less.

"Motorhome stay"

Mrs N Cowie - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Just loved this site ,staff were so friendly and helpfull ,especially Lee and Racheal but all staff were great ,even holiday home owners as my hubby is a keen at fishing and was able to talk to men......Read more.

Just loved this site ,staff were so friendly and helpfull ,especially Lee and Racheal but all staff were great ,even holiday home owners as my hubby is a keen at fishing and was able to talk to men in the pub and got advise...Read less.

"Great atmosphere, very friendly staff, very clean and excellent facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed Jun 2019

10/07/2019

I have recently returned to Sands of Luce Holiday Park after a twenty year absence. I'm so pleased I gave it another try as the current owners and staff have taken two sites combined them into one......Read more.

I have recently returned to Sands of Luce Holiday Park after a twenty year absence. I'm so pleased I gave it another try as the current owners and staff have taken two sites combined them into one and improved everything. The facilities for Tourers are superb with friendly staff and lots of activities for the family. The bar and restaurant and the nearby pub in Sandhead in easy walking distance plus the excellent sea fishing in the area provides plenty of entertainment....Read less.

"Motorhome Stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2019

08/07/2019

July 2019

"A little piece of heaven"

Mrs T Parry-Jones - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

06/07/2019

We returned to Sands of Luce and loved it just as much this time as we did our first visit. The touring pitches are a very good size. Everything is so neat and tidy and the beach is right on your......Read more.

We returned to Sands of Luce and loved it just as much this time as we did our first visit. The touring pitches are a very good size. Everything is so neat and tidy and the beach is right on your doorstep. The facilities are so clean and very modern. And the countryside around is stunning with lots to see and do. Sandhead is an idyllic little place and has a fabulous restaurant and shop that stocks everything you could possibly need. The lighthouse bar is very comfortable on site however we found the limited menu and opening times a little disappointing and an improvement here would only enhance what is a fabulous site. Finally, I'd like to see the possibility of booking a particular pitch introduced as it's a first come first served approach at the moment. If people are willing to book and pay in advance, I think it would be nice to have the choice of where you pitch....Read less.

"One night wonder"

Mr D Malin - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

05/07/2019

Fabulous park. Touring pitches were first class. Facilities clean and tidy. Good food on site. Beautiful location. Will be back for sure.

"Great holiday, thanks"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

03/07/2019

We had a wonderful week at the park. The washing facilities are the best we have come across having taken the caravan around the country. the location is unbeatable, and we enjoyed walks on the......Read more.

We had a wonderful week at the park. The washing facilities are the best we have come across having taken the caravan around the country. the location is unbeatable, and we enjoyed walks on the beach, even on the last night when it was cloudy and overcast.The park was quiet and friendly and very good value for money. Well done to all the staff....Read less.

"Good holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

03/07/2019

Friendly and clean holiday park have only one disappointment and that is that there is little for teenagers to do. The beaches are clean and easy to access. The shops and restaurants are very good.......Read more.

Friendly and clean holiday park have only one disappointment and that is that there is little for teenagers to do. The beaches are clean and easy to access. The shops and restaurants are very good. If you choose Sands of Luce caravan park you will not be disappointed....Read less.

"Great site and great walks on beach for dogs."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

01/07/2019

Only slight fault is a lack of a dog waste bin on the beach access path.

"Nice clean site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

29/06/2019

No hand soap In washroom. No bin

close to touring site.

"Our new caravan retreat at Sands of Luce"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

29/06/2019

We have just had a lovely time at Sands of Luce holiday park. We had a great pitch right near the beach. The pitches are all a good size, bigger than most we've been to.

The views were beautiful.......Read more.

We have just had a lovely time at Sands of Luce holiday park. We had a great pitch right near the beach. The pitches are all a good size, bigger than most we've been to.

The views were beautiful. Lovely walk along the beach. We will most definitely be returning and would recommend this camp site to anyone....Read less.

"sands of luce"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

27/06/2019

enjoyed our stay and found it good centre for getting around and paddling .Lovely location

local shop excellent

we arrived without tower but soon remedy this at Morrison

No bedside lights it took 4......Read more.

enjoyed our stay and found it good centre for getting around and paddling .Lovely location

local shop excellent

we arrived without tower but soon remedy this at Morrison

No bedside lights it took 4 days to remedy this...Read less.

"Dissatisfied"

Mr B Boardman - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

27/06/2019

Sands of Luce was due to finish off a perfect holiday. After looking on the internet we were thoroughly enjoying coming to enjoy the private beach, spending time bodyboarding and relaxing on what......Read more.

Sands of Luce was due to finish off a perfect holiday. After looking on the internet we were thoroughly enjoying coming to enjoy the private beach, spending time bodyboarding and relaxing on what seems to be the perfect camp site. On arrival we drove through a very nice site, the ‘wild camping’ was located on the very edge of the site. After thinking we we had taken the wrong turn we drove to what looked like a dump. In actual fact there was a site dumping area right next to the proposed camp site. Looking at the ground on which we needed to put up a tent, all we could see was sand, small patches of uneven grass and nettles. We attempted to pop the tent up, we could not get a single peg in without burying it. After half an hour of torment, the rain came pouring in. Any camper would understand that camping on sand is not ideal, especially with rain. At which point we went back to reception to see if that was the only tent site, or if they can give the money back because the site was abysmal. My partner went back to take the half up tent down and got covered in sand and mud. In that time the owner of the site came to speak to me. No hesitation, we got a refund, the owner did not want to keep our custom as to him it was only a cheap tent pitch. The owner all chirpy explained the reason for the poor ground, he advertised in advance the camping pitches without having seeded the ground to create an acceptable pitch. After feeling that the website and company missed sold to us, we felt that the situation could have been avoided by a polite phone call to explain. We travelled 232 miles to get to the location for the last stint of our holiday, arriving at 7pm and ending up without a place to stay. We ended up in a b&b and felt much more welcome and appreciated. Thanks to this experience, we cut our holiday short and went on another mini break in Wales....Read less.

Jack, replied to this review on the 27 June 2019

Hi,

Sorry we did not meet your expectations. You are quite right; our 'Wild Camping Area' is quite......Read more.

Hi,

Sorry we did not meet your expectations. You are quite right; our 'Wild Camping Area' is quite 'Wild'. This year the camping area is a bit 'Marmite' some love the proximity to the beach, being within the sand dunes and that it is away from our static caravans. Others wish for better proximity to the park and a level properly grassed area which we completely appreciate. It turns out turning a sand dune to a green lawn is harder than we anticipated!

In response to your comments we have chosen to take our camping 'off line'.

Kind regards,

Jack...Read less.

"Great park"

Mr L Gara - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

25/06/2019

We hired one of the new vans which was fantastic. The only downside was lack of lamps in bedroom which meant if reading in bed you would need to get up to turn off light The park location is......Read more.

We hired one of the new vans which was fantastic. The only downside was lack of lamps in bedroom which meant if reading in bed you would need to get up to turn off light The park location is fantastic and the beach is just wonderful...Read less.

"Sands of Luce Holiday Park"

S Birro - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

24/06/2019

Great place to stay, immaculate facilities and stunning views, what a place to wake up in

"Sands of Luce"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

21/06/2019

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our caravan was excellent. We loved the location and the surrounding area. We will definitely return to this park.

"Overall review"

Ms C Stewart - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

20/06/2019

First time staying at this site , we found it very clean and well managed .

The walks and views were amazing .

We found the pitches spacious and level .

Would definitely recommend it .

"5* Holiday accomodation"

Mrs K Mossop - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

19/06/2019

Stayed in a brand new static caravan that was well equipped. The static was situated just off the beach but sheltered enough to enjoy sitting on the decking area.

Would recommended to anyone wanting......Read more.

Stayed in a brand new static caravan that was well equipped. The static was situated just off the beach but sheltered enough to enjoy sitting on the decking area.

Would recommended to anyone wanting to stay in the area...Read less.

"Early summer break"

Mrs S Farrell - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

18/06/2019

My friend and I spent a lovely few days at Sands of Luce the site was perfectly situated for us to visit the many things The Mull of Galloway has to offer.

It is perfectly suited for a beach holiday......Read more.

My friend and I spent a lovely few days at Sands of Luce the site was perfectly situated for us to visit the many things The Mull of Galloway has to offer.

It is perfectly suited for a beach holiday as well with a beautiful one right on your doorstep.

The site is dog friendly and it is a perfect place for them, I didn’t have my dog on this visit but would consider visiting again with our pet Labrador

We enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to visiting again sometime...Read less.

"Short break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

18/06/2019

Visited Park recently. Check in simple directions to caravan map easy to read. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Brand new caravan was brilliant. Only few steps to beach. Beach is highlight. No food......Read more.

Visited Park recently. Check in simple directions to caravan map easy to read. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Brand new caravan was brilliant. Only few steps to beach. Beach is highlight. No food was available Mon to Fri when we were there. So take supplies.Surprised area has very few eating places close-by....Read less.

"Discovering Dumfries and Galloway Coast"

Mr D Easby - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

16/06/2019

A large holiday park with excellent pitches for tourers offering panoramic views of Luce Bay. First class toilet , shower and laundry facilities

"Beautiful Galloway ideal base"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

14/06/2019

Please buy all items required no welcome pack in unit we had to go out and buy basics ie w up liquid etc we found Lidl in Stranraer.The surrounding areas are wonderful, Mull of Galloway stunning,......Read more.

Please buy all items required no welcome pack in unit we had to go out and buy basics ie w up liquid etc we found Lidl in Stranraer.The surrounding areas are wonderful, Mull of Galloway stunning, coast amazing. Site needs a shop...Read less.

"Site"

Mrs W McKeown - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

13/06/2019

Very very clean tidy and obviously well looked after kids enjoyed beach and we enjoyed relaxing with family and friends great park will definitely be back

"Returning tourer"

Mrs E McKeown - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

13/06/2019

We had a fantastic 2 day stay at Sands of Luce can’t wait to return with the family thanks again

"Another great long weekend 89 no"

A Duncan - Stayed with family, Jun 2019

13/06/2019

We have been to Sands of luce holiday park on several occasions over the last five years and have always enjoyed our stay. Facilities are great and the new toilets and showers are excellent. The park......Read more.

We have been to Sands of luce holiday park on several occasions over the last five years and have always enjoyed our stay. Facilities are great and the new toilets and showers are excellent. The park is well kept and the bar and cafe make your stay even better. If you like a sandy beach it goes on for miles....Read less.

"More than happy"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

13/06/2019

We were more than happy with our accommodation at Sands of Luce it was clean and warm and that is all we required as we slept and had breakfast there then we were out and about visiting the many......Read more.

We were more than happy with our accommodation at Sands of Luce it was clean and warm and that is all we required as we slept and had breakfast there then we were out and about visiting the many places of interest in the area....Read less.

"Up there with the best"

Mr J Morris - Stayed with partner, Jun 2019

08/06/2019

Site can’t be faulted, everywhere well maintained.

"So Kind & Helpful"

Ms A Farrington - Stayed with family, May 2019

05/06/2019

Lived my stay at Sands of Luce, the location is superb and I woke every morning to fabulous sea views.

The washrooms and other fasciitis for tourers are very good and close to the pitches and the......Read more.

Lived my stay at Sands of Luce, the location is superb and I woke every morning to fabulous sea views.

The washrooms and other fasciitis for tourers are very good and close to the pitches and the pitches themselves have excellent service points.

The pitches are quite sharp gravel, which was tricky when putting up my garden windbreaks but they are a good size.

I was a little disappointed that the kitchen was only open at weekends but the bar and cafe are are clean and very well kept.

I was taken I’ll in the last day of my visit and had to go to hospital. I was unable to remove my caravan that day but the manager, Jack, was extremely helpful, let me stay on for an extra day and when I did go to pick up my van I was told there was no extra charge. Such kindness was much appreciated. Thank you....Read less.

"Quiet well kept park"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

04/06/2019

Stayed in one of the static caravans and it was superb, very clean and new plus wonderful sea views!

Good food at the Lighthouse Bar shame it has restricted opening hours for food.

Will definitely......Read more.

Stayed in one of the static caravans and it was superb, very clean and new plus wonderful sea views!

Good food at the Lighthouse Bar shame it has restricted opening hours for food.

Will definitely be back....Read less.

"Great location"

K Routledge - Stayed with friends, May 2019

04/06/2019

Great location flat pitch

"Lovely setting"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

31/05/2019

Our first time at Sands of Luce and will definitely return.

The touring area itself was well laid out with fantastic views over the bay, the toilet block which was recently refurbished were clean and......Read more.

Our first time at Sands of Luce and will definitely return.

The touring area itself was well laid out with fantastic views over the bay, the toilet block which was recently refurbished were clean and fresh and finished to a very high standard.

We had a lovely night in the Lighthouse bar with a Ceilidh band on with friendly staff and atmosphere.

...Read less.

"First class site"

Mr W Macbeth - Stayed with partner, May 2019

31/05/2019

Beautiful site, excellent facilities, great food and fantastic service.

"Great views and great staff"

Mr D Thomson - Stayed with partner, May 2019

27/05/2019

Staff very helpful. The only comment I would make is if there was a little shelf to put toiletries on and a shower curtain to help keep clothes dry in the beautiful toilet block. Everything else was......Read more.

Staff very helpful. The only comment I would make is if there was a little shelf to put toiletries on and a shower curtain to help keep clothes dry in the beautiful toilet block. Everything else was great. Fabulous views and beach is just a couple of steps away. The pizza is nice and the bar area is very nice....Read less.

"Camping area"

T Jones - Stayed with partner, May 2019

27/05/2019

The camping area was in a great location at the far end of the park, which makes it quiet and no passing traffic.

Though some of the camping area was been leve!ed and improved and we where told about......Read more.

The camping area was in a great location at the far end of the park, which makes it quiet and no passing traffic.

Though some of the camping area was been leve!ed and improved and we where told about this when we booked it didn't detract from our stay, of which we had a great time....Read less.

"Beautiful views"

Ms M Driver - Stayed with partner, May 2019

26/05/2019

Lovely park and being in our campervan we were parked right on beach front.

First trip out with our awning and we did find the ground quite challenging! Had rock pegs but did struggle to get them in......Read more.

Lovely park and being in our campervan we were parked right on beach front.

First trip out with our awning and we did find the ground quite challenging! Had rock pegs but did struggle to get them in with ease.

Fabulous first stay at a truly wonderful site....Read less.

"Sands of Luce Holiday Park"

Mr A Morley - Stayed with partner, May 2019

25/05/2019

Lovely clean park. Great beach. Friendly staff. Good pub.

"Good value & location"

Mr D Howard - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

24/05/2019

Overall neat and tidy site.

"Restaurant"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

24/05/2019

The bar and restaurant were beautifully laid out and staff more than helpful, however, although the food was freshly made, I do not feel that this type of food fits the clientele. Perhaps, fish and......Read more.

The bar and restaurant were beautifully laid out and staff more than helpful, however, although the food was freshly made, I do not feel that this type of food fits the clientele. Perhaps, fish and chips, steak pie, pub food etc might get people out of their caravans....Read less.

"WiFi is not working"

I Mignano - Stayed with partner, May 2019

22/05/2019

I chosen this caravan holiday park expecting WiFi is working soon I get there the staff told me lier with the navy has practicing at the sea and blocking WiFi signal but it is lie story nobody there......Read more.

I chosen this caravan holiday park expecting WiFi is working soon I get there the staff told me lier with the navy has practicing at the sea and blocking WiFi signal but it is lie story nobody there then I have to spend £30 for WiFi mobile Definitely Never Go Back Again one time that enough...Read less.

Jack, replied to this review on the 22 May 2019

Thank you for your review. You have given us a 2 star review based purely on our WiFi. May I point......Read more.

Thank you for your review. You have given us a 2 star review based purely on our WiFi. May I point out the information on our booking page.

"WiFi is available but has limited performance. Most networks have good 4G coverage in this area."

The limitations of our WiFi should not have come as a surprise. High speed WiFi is available in our bar free of charge.

Kind regards,

Jack...Read less.

"Touring Park"

Mr R Prince - Stayed with partner, May 2019

21/05/2019

Beautiful position opposite the beach all fully serviced pitches. Ideally located to visit the Mull of Galloway and surrounding areas.

"Exploring Mull of Galloway."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

20/05/2019

Sands of Luce site enabled just to have 4 beautiful days out.

1 The lighthouse and cliff walk.

2.Coastal walk from site to Logan Mills. Bus back.

3 Portpatrick and cliff walk.

4 Bike ride to Glenluce......Read more.

Sands of Luce site enabled just to have 4 beautiful days out.

1 The lighthouse and cliff walk.

2.Coastal walk from site to Logan Mills. Bus back.

3 Portpatrick and cliff walk.

4 Bike ride to Glenluce Abbey and New Luce

This shows what an excellent location it was. We also enjoyed the peace and quiet of the area which wasn't overly busy.

An excellent visit....Read less.

"HOG Meet"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2019

14/05/2019

Great location with a stunning beach so close by. Friendly and helpful staff. Third HOG Meet held here and all have been outstanding. Tigh Na Mara Hotel in Sandhead serves excellent food at fair......Read more.

Great location with a stunning beach so close by. Friendly and helpful staff. Third HOG Meet held here and all have been outstanding. Tigh Na Mara Hotel in Sandhead serves excellent food at fair prices....Read less.

"Wonderful location overlooking the beach"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

13/05/2019

It was lovely to wake up each morning and look out at such a wide expansive view of sea and sky. The shower block and wash up facilities were very clean It was a shame that as we were there Monday to......Read more.

It was lovely to wake up each morning and look out at such a wide expansive view of sea and sky. The shower block and wash up facilities were very clean It was a shame that as we were there Monday to Thursday the restaurant wasn’t open in the morning....Read less.

"Spectacular Sea Views, great facilities and well maintained site."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

09/05/2019

We really like staying at Sands of Luce, this was our fourth time there. We have only giving 3 stars for price and value for money, we were there for the bank holiday weekend and felt the extra......Read more.

We really like staying at Sands of Luce, this was our fourth time there. We have only giving 3 stars for price and value for money, we were there for the bank holiday weekend and felt the extra charge was excessive, especially as we have stayed previously on a holiday weekend and there was no extra charge....Read less.

"Mobilehome holiday"

Mr S Russell - Stayed with family, May 2019

09/05/2019

Great place and will be back

"Fantastic site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2019

06/05/2019

This was a stunning setting with lovely beach walks. The shower and toilet facilities were modern and very clean. Unfortunately the restaurant was not open the night we stayed but we did get a lovely......Read more.

This was a stunning setting with lovely beach walks. The shower and toilet facilities were modern and very clean. Unfortunately the restaurant was not open the night we stayed but we did get a lovely meal in the hotel in sand head, just a short walk along the beach. I will definitely return to this site in the future....Read less.

"Touring Caravan"

E Tennant - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

05/05/2019

Touring pitches are great

Water in the toilet block only just lukewarm no use for showers especially time of year we were there (March) we didn’t use them !!

"Stay at sands of luce"

Mr B Duffy - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

02/05/2019

Lovely park.only downfall was the weather

"Easter weekend"

Mr J Ramage - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

27/04/2019

Very clean toilets and showers staff very friendly and welcoming.the site was very clean and easy access to the beach

"Lovely holiday park, we will come back!"

Mrs C Henderson - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

24/04/2019

We've just had a great week at the park. Caravan was new this year and lovely and clean, with everything we needed. Great location so close to the beach and kids park. Owners and staff are all very......Read more.

We've just had a great week at the park. Caravan was new this year and lovely and clean, with everything we needed. Great location so close to the beach and kids park. Owners and staff are all very friendly and helpful, we were made to feel very welcome. Setting of the park is fantastic with the beautiful beach literally on its doorstep. Lots of places to visit nearby suitable for all ages....Read less.

"Nice park but....."

Mr S Phillips - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

24/04/2019

I cannot fault the cleanliness of the park and the caravan we stayed in. The park is perfectly situated with a lovely beach on the doorstep.

We had to take the spare keys for our caravan as the main......Read more.

I cannot fault the cleanliness of the park and the caravan we stayed in. The park is perfectly situated with a lovely beach on the doorstep.

We had to take the spare keys for our caravan as the main set were missing (security concerns) the keys still hadn’t appeared by the time we left.

On booking I spoke with the owners to ensure the caravan was dog friendly and secure and was told all caravan decking was fenced so secure. Unfortunately our caravans decking had the gate missing so was insecure. There were also no decking chairs (until the day before we left when they appeared)

Only small points, but they would have made a good stay perfect. I hope my review is constructive. Thankyou for a nice week....Read less.

"Great Park"

Mr P Canavan - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

20/04/2019

Stayed for 2 night in out motorhome with our dog right at the beach front amazingly view and great price. Staff where very welcoming on arrival. Lovely bar restaurant though we only had drinks did......Read more.

Stayed for 2 night in out motorhome with our dog right at the beach front amazingly view and great price. Staff where very welcoming on arrival. Lovely bar restaurant though we only had drinks did not try the food. 2 small parks for younger children but this park is more for the outdoor family. Think this park would be fantastic in the summer. Will definitely be coming back in the better wether....Read less.

"Holiday"

Mr K Capstick - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

18/04/2019

Lovely site will stay again

"Lovely views, friendly staff, close to beach"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

17/04/2019

We have stayed here twice. Both times, we have found the site to be friendly with some of the best views around. Lots of wildlife and my child was overjoyed to see an adder near the footpath (these......Read more.

We have stayed here twice. Both times, we have found the site to be friendly with some of the best views around. Lots of wildlife and my child was overjoyed to see an adder near the footpath (these are poisonous so be careful with children!) and crabs on the beach. Lots of gorse and wild rabbits. Stargazing is also a treat here.

There is a decent, quiet bar on-site which sometimes does food and has a pool table and a box of toys. Free wi-fi. The barstaff are very friendly.

Two play areas on-site. The larger one was sadly full of rubbish that had blown out of the bin (which wasn't emptied at all during our stay) and this would be my only criticism. In hindsight I should have mentioned it to the staff but we were too busy having fun. It looked as if someone had just emptied their van rubbish into/around the playground bin. We also had to tell a dog owner to pick up after themselves. Not the site's fault, just some disrespectful people about as everywhere!

Short walk to the village nearby (shop, pub, playground - tearoom is closed and up for sale). Beach is very clean.

Not much nearby so you need to enjoy every day at the beach or be prepared to cycle or drive out. Lots of windsurfing, kite flying and kite surfing opportunities.

The showers and toilets are fine. Clean as you'd expect from a campsite. Shower takes a couple of button pushes to get hot water.

We will definitely stay again....Read less.

"Sands of Luce"

Mrs C Houston - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

17/04/2019

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Fantastic beach and loved the Lighthouse pub. Very friendly and compliments to the chef as the Pizza were delicious 😋

"Lovely park"

Mr K Walker - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

16/04/2019

Nice site . Touring pitches by the beach with stunning sea views. Would definitely stay again if in the area

"nice clean site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

15/04/2019

nice clean site with brand new showers and loos pity the showers are stupid push button ones that only stay on for 14 seconds at a time! Water could be hotter too. took ages for it to warm up and the......Read more.

nice clean site with brand new showers and loos pity the showers are stupid push button ones that only stay on for 14 seconds at a time! Water could be hotter too. took ages for it to warm up and the shower area was not very warm....Read less.

Jack, replied to this review on the 15 April 2019

Hi, thank you for your review. We are aware of an issue with the shower run time. We have contacted......Read more.

Hi, thank you for your review. We are aware of an issue with the shower run time. We have contacted the manufacturer who are sending out new valves for the mixers. The showers should have a 30 sec run time and we hope this will be restored in the next few days. We have also asked our heating engineer to crank up the temperature a bit (it has been a bit chilly!). Thanks, Jack...Read less.

"April weekend in Galloway"

Mr L Moscardini - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

12/04/2019

Great location and facilities.thoroughly recommended

"Another lovely short break"

Mrs F Connelly - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

12/04/2019

I have been to this site many times over the last 14 years. The site is immaculately kept and every year there seems to be another improvement made to it. The hire caravans are 1st class with easy......Read more.

I have been to this site many times over the last 14 years. The site is immaculately kept and every year there seems to be another improvement made to it. The hire caravans are 1st class with easy access to a beautiful beach....Read less.

"April visit"

Mr R Stone - Stayed with friends, Mar 2019

10/04/2019

We decided to try Sand of Luce after the site was recommended to us whilst we were on a stay at Searles in Hunstanton and I think we were expecting more than the site provided. First the downside,......Read more.

We decided to try Sand of Luce after the site was recommended to us whilst we were on a stay at Searles in Hunstanton and I think we were expecting more than the site provided. First the downside, unfortunately we arrived to find that the bar on site was only open until 6pm on the Sunday not opening then until the following Friday, I understand that there may not be the demand this early in the season but the opening times need to be advertised better,not just a small paragraph in the Terms and conditions, this did spoil 2 birthday celebrations and unfortunately we do not care for the al a carte establishment in Sandshead (I note this is a personnel choice). The shower block is modern and was kept clean, unfortunately the water in the showers is only Luke warm at best and the run time is abysmal, change the springs in the operating valve to give a better experience and turn up the heat. The only other thing that spoiled the experience was the wind which is outside the control of the site owners, having a awning up in 30/40 mph winds was not pleasant and a worker on the site stated that the wind was the norm.

The positives are that this is a well laid out site, clean with a great beach location, but remember to take hard rock pegs and plenty of storm straps. It would have been great to sample the bar and food facilities to see how full the bar got but alas on this occasion as stated above was not to be. I think I choose the wrong week to visit?

Would we visit again, possibly but would need to look at later in the year when the weather may be more favourable to get the best experience of this site.

Please bear in mind that this review is meant to be constructive criticism to help improve the site.

...Read less.

"Not ideal for camping at start of April"

Mrs K Macalpine - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

10/04/2019

Not as advertised. Disappointed as bar/kitchen didn’t open til end of our stay, not advised prior to booking. Camping area not ideal, small child could have been run over by tractor dumping large......Read more.

Not as advertised. Disappointed as bar/kitchen didn’t open til end of our stay, not advised prior to booking. Camping area not ideal, small child could have been run over by tractor dumping large stones + soil on supposed camping area!...Read less.

Jack, replied to this review on the 10 April 2019

Hi Karen,

Thank you for your review. You are right to point these issues out. We have actually......Read more.

Hi Karen,

Thank you for your review. You are right to point these issues out. We have actually closed the camping area now until May as it is not ready. We did not want to cancel your stay and hoped with just your 1 tent there was enough of a good area to make it suitable. I will send you an e-mail, please check your inbox.

Thanks,

Jack...Read less.

"Lovely Park with amazing beach"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

05/04/2019

The park is in a great location with easy access to the beach. Fabulous views from the touring area. The showers were a little short on run time, only a few seconds before having to press the button......Read more.

The park is in a great location with easy access to the beach. Fabulous views from the touring area. The showers were a little short on run time, only a few seconds before having to press the button again which was a bit annoying....Read less.

"Excellent park"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

03/04/2019

Although touring campers are a small part of this park they are well catered for with serviced pitches and beautiful sea views. All staff very friendly, helpful and efficient. Park is clean and......Read more.

Although touring campers are a small part of this park they are well catered for with serviced pitches and beautiful sea views. All staff very friendly, helpful and efficient. Park is clean and tidy.

New shower block excellent, clean, hot showers and hairdryer at no extra charge. Only slight downside was having to keep pressing the button to keep the shower going and the movement sensor operated lights going off half way through a shower and would only come on if I left the cubicle. Otherwise brilliant....Read less.

"Maisie"

Mrs J Finlay - Stayed with family, Mar 2019

02/04/2019

Great stay

"Beautiful spot on sandy beach"

Mrs J Smith - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

31/03/2019

We stayed an extra night here as the Motorhome area was right next to the beach and in March we were the only van there! Huge skies, lots of stars.Lovely walk along the beach to a pub in the village......Read more.

We stayed an extra night here as the Motorhome area was right next to the beach and in March we were the only van there! Huge skies, lots of stars.Lovely walk along the beach to a pub in the village with great food. Spotlessly clean and tidy. Obviously a newly revamped shower block, beautifully decorated but let down by a lack of practical features. Not enough hooks or shelves for clothes and toiletries, no curtains so the water came right out onto the changing area, automatic timer button which only gave you a very short burst of water before stopping! This was the only downside at Sands of Luce and we would be happy to return....Read less.

"Great for Motorhome"

C McBride - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

03/11/2018

Lovely site and good facilities

However intermittent shower annoying!

Very peaceful and picturesque

"3 nights for October half term 2018."

Mr D Tickle - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

29/10/2018

My partner and I wanted to visit a new destination in our converted Sprinter. We wanted somewhere coastal as our little girl loves digging on the beach. A search of the web brought us to Sands of......Read more.

My partner and I wanted to visit a new destination in our converted Sprinter. We wanted somewhere coastal as our little girl loves digging on the beach. A search of the web brought us to Sands of Luce. It looked nice, was available and excellent value on price. When we arrived the site didn't disappoint. The beach side hard pitches had breathtaking views of the bay. The onsite facilities were excellent and the Lighthouse bar was welcoming. A stroll along the beach took you to the village with a lovely pub and a well stocked village shop. We will definitely go back to Sands of Luce....Read less.

© 2006 - 2019 CampStead