Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

399 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 399 reviews in the last 12 months

96% would recommend this site

94% would stay here again

Excellent

78%

Very Good

18%

Average

3%

Poor

1%

Terrible

0%

"excellent site"

Mr G Wildman - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

29/03/2020

Bit pricey, but high standards throughout the site, will definitely be returning

"Good review"

Mr Quinlan - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

29/03/2020

The park is attractive well run and very clean. A big bonus is the ability to walk directly from the site and there are a number of very good good walks locally. We were impressed by the courteous......Read more.

The park is attractive well run and very clean. A big bonus is the ability to walk directly from the site and there are a number of very good good walks locally. We were impressed by the courteous and friendly manner the park site staff dealt with us....Read less.

"Perfect location"

Mr Wilde - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

27/03/2020

Skelwith Fold caravan site is the best Park in the north west mainly because of the management on site and the family who run it. My favourite in the south of England is Swiss Farm in Henley on......Read more.

Skelwith Fold caravan site is the best Park in the north west mainly because of the management on site and the family who run it. My favourite in the south of England is Swiss Farm in Henley on Thames which is also family run and like Skelwith Fold the owners have a hands on policy. The other reasons we like Skelwith Fold are as follows

There is always something to do in surrounding areas

Picture house near by if weather is bad

Having visited America, Canada, and Europe many times I think the area and scenery is the best I have seen.

Local pubs and restaurants are very good

Holiday house let’s in area are also excellent.

The one way the Lake District in general should up its game is in the recycling of rubbish, In Swinton , Manchester where I live we have 4 bins. Paper, glass and plastic, food and general waste .

Hope this is of some help

Regards

Peter Wilde

...Read less.

".."

Mr C Lindley - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

26/03/2020

Excellent clean site including showers. Staff friendly & easy location to Ambleside and other walks.

"10 star rating"

Mrs M Brydson - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

26/03/2020

We were lucky enough to spend last week there just before closure due to coronovirus. Staff were exemplary in carrying out the extra precautions required to protect themselves and their......Read more.

We were lucky enough to spend last week there just before closure due to coronovirus. Staff were exemplary in carrying out the extra precautions required to protect themselves and their visitors.

This park is exceptional, beautifully kept, constantly improved and probably the best located caravan park I have been in 23 years caravanning....Read less.

"Very well run beautiful site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

26/03/2020

We have been regular visitors for 15 years

Great site right in the heart of central lakes

"Perfect Getaway"

Mrs I Carr - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

26/03/2020

Lovely quiet location. Good access to all local facilities. Very Clean and tidy

"Tranquility in Heaven"

Mr Sproson - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

23/03/2020

I,ve been driving up the red road (approach road for the site) for 50 years. Enter these gates and the world's problems cease. Listen to the birds, watch the deer all in the heart of the most......Read more.

I,ve been driving up the red road (approach road for the site) for 50 years. Enter these gates and the world's problems cease. Listen to the birds, watch the deer all in the heart of the most beautiful place on Earth. This place really does focus your mind on the cattle class travel to so called exotic locations. Nothing will bite or sting you, economics means a certain type of family enjoy this place, not least of which is the lack of so called organised entertainment. Make your own!!

Hope all is well with the wonderful staff for the next few months

Kind Regards,

Rod Sproson...Read less.

"Early season"

Mr I Dixon - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

14/03/2020

Site nice and quiet in March, probably the best time to visit the lake district !

"Lovely site. Great location"

Mrs Pritchard - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

13/03/2020

We have been visiting Skelwith Fold virtually every year for 28 years and have seen many changes in that time. It is maintained to a high standard with excellent facilities. Very friendly and......Read more.

We have been visiting Skelwith Fold virtually every year for 28 years and have seen many changes in that time. It is maintained to a high standard with excellent facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff. Never disappointed....Read less.

".."

Mrs R De La Mare - Stayed with family, Mar 2020

12/03/2020

...

"Love Skelwith"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

12/03/2020

Our third visit to Skelwith Fold in the Hideaways to spend time with friends who have a Static Home there. We love the Park & the area. Staff are always very friendly & helpful. We always see deer in......Read more.

Our third visit to Skelwith Fold in the Hideaways to spend time with friends who have a Static Home there. We love the Park & the area. Staff are always very friendly & helpful. We always see deer in the Park & the woodland walks are a highlight for us. We've had a great time when we've brought the children too & we'll be back with them in the summer. Can't wait. 😎

Jo & John Pennington Jones....Read less.

"One of our favourite places to stay"

Burrell - Stayed with partner, Mar 2020

11/03/2020

Once again a great site, had nice stay and will return as soon as we can.

"Lovely site"

Mrs N Deven - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

29/11/2019

We stayed for a week in November. This is one of the best run sites I have stayed at. The facilities are excellent and always clean. The grounds are beautiful with a wonderful woods to walk the dogs......Read more.

We stayed for a week in November. This is one of the best run sites I have stayed at. The facilities are excellent and always clean. The grounds are beautiful with a wonderful woods to walk the dogs around. Lots of wildlife ( deer and pheasant) so must keep dogs on a lead at all times. Staff very helpful and shop well stocked for a caravan site. We would definitely visit again. Excellent location for Ambleside and Grizedale Forest not too far away....Read less.

"Skelwith Fold"

G Moreton - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

28/11/2019

We stopped over just one night in November. Really good site. Last day of their season. Very clean and tidy site. Toilets and showers were clean and well heated. The staff were very pleasant and......Read more.

We stopped over just one night in November. Really good site. Last day of their season. Very clean and tidy site. Toilets and showers were clean and well heated. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Its a 30min walk to Ambleside, 8min by car or 15min by bike. I can't comment on the childrens facilities as its a large site and we didn't look for any. We will definitely go back and certainly recommend....Read less.

"Lovely site"

Mrs O Jones - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

28/11/2019

Very peaceful site. There was no noise and completely dark in the evening, no light pollution. The shower and toilet facilities were immaculate and lovely and warm. Didn’t explore too much as the......Read more.

Very peaceful site. There was no noise and completely dark in the evening, no light pollution. The shower and toilet facilities were immaculate and lovely and warm. Didn’t explore too much as the weather was not great but really enjoyed our stay. Will definitely go back to Skelwith Fold....Read less.

"November holoday"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

25/11/2019

Excellent

"Love this caravan park"

Mrs Jones - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

23/11/2019

We have visited Skelwith Fold many times and will continue to do so. It's a lovely quiet and really well kept site. The location is fantastic and all the facilities are excellent. The staff are......Read more.

We have visited Skelwith Fold many times and will continue to do so. It's a lovely quiet and really well kept site. The location is fantastic and all the facilities are excellent. The staff are really helpful and friendly. It is a bit on the expensive side, but it really is lovely. My only gripe is that it's not open all year....Read less.

"Brilliant site"

Mrs Bell - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

23/11/2019

What a beautiful site with lovely woodland walks, an amazing kids recreation area and a beautiful and safe walk/ cycle into the nearby town of Ambleside. Will definitely return.

"Friends weekend"

Mr S Fielding - Stayed with friends, Nov 2019

22/11/2019

We chose this site last year as we wanted to attend the Ambleside Christmas lantern parade and this seemed the closest site. The site is quite large and very picturesque. The staff, from the initial......Read more.

We chose this site last year as we wanted to attend the Ambleside Christmas lantern parade and this seemed the closest site. The site is quite large and very picturesque. The staff, from the initial phone call, down to the welcome on arrival were first class. Everyone we came into contact with were friendly, helpful and very welcoming. There was activities on site to attend should you wish and an on site shop for all your daily needs. The one small thing that we feel could improve this site would be a meeting room or onsite bar where people could meet for a get together, but understand not all sites want to do this. All in all would definitely recommend this site and will be returning...Read less.

"Great site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

21/11/2019

Very nice site and clean

"skelwith fold caravan site"

Mr C Cartner - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

21/11/2019

had stayed there before with touring caravan but this was first time in one of there Hideaways and was very satisfied with it and will use them again

"Been a few times now"

Mr Freeman - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

21/11/2019

Always very satisfying and never disappointed with skelwith fold caravan park

"First impression"

Mr I Mitchell - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

19/11/2019

Clean site.

"Excellent Site"

Mrs Houghton - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

17/11/2019

We have stayed several times, and have always been satisfied. Came this year for Bonfire Night, which was enjoyed by all.

"Lovely site, highly recommended"

Mrs J Kilford - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

15/11/2019

Super site, within walking distance of Ambleside, well cared for in all respects.

Poor television reception ( in the Touring area) but not a problem to us - we didn’t go there to watch TV!

"Weekend Break Motorhome"

Mr A Davidson - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

15/11/2019

4 days, some cycling

"Review"

L Sagar - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

14/11/2019

Great park in fantastic location

"Amazing Launderette"

B Revard - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

11/11/2019

This was the 37th camping park we’ve stayed at while traveling eleven countries so far in Europe. The launderette was far and above the best we’ve ever seen. Three sets of modern washers/dryers plus......Read more.

This was the 37th camping park we’ve stayed at while traveling eleven countries so far in Europe. The launderette was far and above the best we’ve ever seen. Three sets of modern washers/dryers plus a commercial type set for heavy items. Baskets are provided for placing finished laundry in if you’re waiting for a machine. Best of all, a warm drying room with racks, shelves and hangers for drying drip-dry items or damp shoes. Amazing! Everything else about the park was lovely as well. Superb!...Read less.

"Great Campsite set in lovely countryside"

Mr Wynn - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

10/11/2019

Brilliant yet again. Every time we come we like it even more. Thank you to all the staff for another brilliant weekend.

"Bonfire weekend"

Mrs D Paskin - Stayed with partner, Nov 2019

09/11/2019

Had a 5 day stay at this wonderful park . The facilities still spotless every time we visit and now even have a dishwasher to use free . We love the grounds and the many walks from site . Staff are......Read more.

Had a 5 day stay at this wonderful park . The facilities still spotless every time we visit and now even have a dishwasher to use free . We love the grounds and the many walks from site . Staff are lovely and keep the park immaculate all year round . The bonfire and fireworks were fab and well organised by staff . Looking forward to next weekend for our stay for the Ambleside lantern parade and Xmas lights . Would highly recommend this site it’s our favourite place in the lakes...Read less.

"Skelwith Fold - Destination Lake District"

Mr P Cartwright - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

08/11/2019

We LOVE Skelworth Park. It is simply the best caravan park we stay in across the UK. From the moment you arrive - the setting is stunning. The park is clean and well organised. Reception is smooth......Read more.

We LOVE Skelworth Park. It is simply the best caravan park we stay in across the UK. From the moment you arrive - the setting is stunning. The park is clean and well organised. Reception is smooth and efficient. The bays are clearly marked and of a good size. The facilities are simply top drawer. They are always clean, warm, smell nice and are simply the best! We love staying here and can't wait to come again....Read less.

"Blown away from the moment you arrive"

Mr G Chandler - Stayed with friends, Oct 2019

08/11/2019

Stayed here before , but from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave all the staff make you feel so welcome, such a lovely and well maintained site , amazing toilet facilities with underfloor......Read more.

Stayed here before , but from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave all the staff make you feel so welcome, such a lovely and well maintained site , amazing toilet facilities with underfloor heating, free roam to select what pitch to go on and such a massive site to explore with different areas also offering amazing views to go for a walk , such a beautiful location with plenty of things to do on and off the site couldn’t fault one thing . Would highly recommend to anybody...Read less.

"Chill time"

Mrs L Greathead - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

07/11/2019

Absolutely loved this site ,can't wait to return. We picked this site because of locality and being dog friendly. Best site i have been on for walking my dogs .

"Excellent facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

07/11/2019

Well organised, very helpful and friendly staff. Bathroom facilities very clean and warm. Good little shop on site. Well situated for good walks.

"Everything perfect apart from the neighbours!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Nov 2019

07/11/2019

Everything about the site was perfect and we could not find fault with anything. We attended the bonfire and firework event for the second time and it did not disappoint; it was spectacular in fact!......Read more.

Everything about the site was perfect and we could not find fault with anything. We attended the bonfire and firework event for the second time and it did not disappoint; it was spectacular in fact! The only issue we had was inconsiderate neighbouring caravans; three families had come away together and formed a commune right behind us, which is great but they refused to go to sleep, being really noisy in their awning until after 2am and this happened on both nights of our stay. We left feeling completely drained having had very little sleep. We reported the issue to the on call warden who did attend to remind them of the site rules but they started back up again as soon as they knew he was out of earshot. Not the site’s fault at all and not meant as a poor reflection of it in any way whatsoever, just a shame our time there was spoiled by the complete disregard for others by fellow campers....Read less.

"Excellent"

Mr I Loomes - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

06/11/2019

Could do with a bit more lighting at the top of the park . Wash facilities were excellent

"Skelwith Fold"

Mrs S Baker - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

05/11/2019

I arrived in the dark, having had to follow family later than their arrival, the duty warden was extremely helpful in assisting me in locating our pitch.

Toilets / Shower facilities were clean and......Read more.

I arrived in the dark, having had to follow family later than their arrival, the duty warden was extremely helpful in assisting me in locating our pitch.

Toilets / Shower facilities were clean and tidy, and remained so during our stay, although it was a trek from the touring pitches to the facilities, the site would benefit from having facilities close to the coppice pitches.

Although we didn't use the children's play area, it was well set out with lots of activities available for children of all ages and a good sized football pitch - something not seen often on a touring site.

Overall a good, well kept site with friendly staff, in a good location for visiting all areas of the lake district....Read less.

"ABC"

Mr I Fyffe - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

03/11/2019

XYZ

"Opening times and price"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

03/11/2019

We enjoyed our stay, but thought it was expensive. We were staying in a small converted camper van but didn’t need an electric hook up as we were only staying for three nights so had enough leisure......Read more.

We enjoyed our stay, but thought it was expensive. We were staying in a small converted camper van but didn’t need an electric hook up as we were only staying for three nights so had enough leisure battery power.

The only facilities we used were the wash rooms and shop.

I think £25 would be a fairer price.

Our three night stay cost just less than £100’s which felt steep.

It would be great if the site stayed open throughout the year....Read less.

"Excellent site"

Miss K Wellington - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

02/11/2019

Lovely site spotlessly clean, great views and perfect location highly recommend

"It’s our happy place"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Oct 2019

31/10/2019

It doesn’t matter what the weather is like , beautiful surroundings , very well organised . We find everything so relaxing , sometimes we don’t even leave the site . Tested fish & chip van which was......Read more.

It doesn’t matter what the weather is like , beautiful surroundings , very well organised . We find everything so relaxing , sometimes we don’t even leave the site . Tested fish & chip van which was excellent . Would love a permanent holiday home but site fees put it com out of our reach ! Never mind caravanning it is ....Read less.

"No windbreakers"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

30/10/2019

Had wind break up for 2 nights then told not aloud and it’s up to the boss that I had to take it down. Doesn’t state no wind breaks in the rules

"Best site in the Lakes"

Mr Murray - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

30/10/2019

Cannot fault it in any way great location...great setting....great staff ....simply great......

And ooooh its new dishwasher fantastic

Deserve every credit

"Peace and serenity"

Ms Whittaker - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

28/10/2019

If you need clean, tidy, excellent facilities in gorgeous surroundings in the midst of the Lake District beauty then this is the place for you. A peaceful haven with helpful staff which provides......Read more.

If you need clean, tidy, excellent facilities in gorgeous surroundings in the midst of the Lake District beauty then this is the place for you. A peaceful haven with helpful staff which provides everything you need....Read less.

"Autumn 2019"

Mr. A McGuirk - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

27/10/2019

Simply stunning, a gorgeous place to stay, well maintained park and excellent facilities

Staff were very helpful and we even got a small pocket torch and poo bags to help to keep the park clean.......Read more.

Simply stunning, a gorgeous place to stay, well maintained park and excellent facilities

Staff were very helpful and we even got a small pocket torch and poo bags to help to keep the park clean. Fantastic location with good walks in all directions. Highly recommend that you stay here the colour of the autumn trees were sublime....Read less.

"No bar and a tad expensive"

Mr I Young - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

27/10/2019

Needs a bar on site

"Excellent"

Mrs Raven - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

27/10/2019

We returned after 20 years after last visit , it still has the same feel, tranquility and relaxing atmosphere, loved our 3 night stay in our tourer . Lovely memories.

"Woodland delight"

Mrs Bradley - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

26/10/2019

Quiet peaceful

Natural surroundings. Beautifully maintained.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead