Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

470 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 470 reviews in the last 12 months

97% would recommend this site

96% would stay here again

Excellent

81%

Very Good

16%

Average

2%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"A little piece of Heaven"

Mr R Sproson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

13/09/2021

Turn into that famous red drive and you can feel the relaxation before you have your first glass!. We are tourers so the lowest class on the site... but we are the seed corn for the mobile homes. Its......Read more.

Turn into that famous red drive and you can feel the relaxation before you have your first glass!. We are tourers so the lowest class on the site... but we are the seed corn for the mobile homes. Its 100 miles from our doorstep and we know every yard!. Walk to the Duck or Ambleside with ease, cracking facilities and lovely shop. Staff are wonderful and alway let on wherever in the park you are. DO NOT CHANGE A THING PLEASE...Read less.

"Touring Caravan, standard pitch"

Mrs L Johnson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

12/09/2021

Excellent location, facilities are spotlessly clean, staff very professional & friendly at all times

"In the Lake District yet again!"

Mr Watkinson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

12/09/2021

We have been coming to Skelwith for 30+ years, firstly with a touring caravan and latterly staying in a Hideaway. Its location tells why! The staff are helpful but leave you alone to enjoy your......Read more.

We have been coming to Skelwith for 30+ years, firstly with a touring caravan and latterly staying in a Hideaway. Its location tells why! The staff are helpful but leave you alone to enjoy your holiday. The site itself, and the lanes around it, have much to offer anyone with an interest in the countryside and wildlife and the location is a good base for exploring the rest of the Lake District.

Back again next year!...Read less.

"Visit - September 2021"

Mr Kelly - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

12/09/2021

A well kept managed site.

Approach to site can be difficult during busy periods.

The large site is set within a wood so lots of pitches are in the shade for long periods of the day.

We had an......Read more.

A well kept managed site.

Approach to site can be difficult during busy periods.

The large site is set within a wood so lots of pitches are in the shade for long periods of the day.

We had an excellent weeks stay helped by the very good weather.

Will probably return in the future...Read less.

"."

Mr K Caton - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

11/09/2021

.

"Great place to stay"

Mr N Granger - Stayed with family, Sep 2021

10/09/2021

Fantastic facilities, staff and location - would thoroughly recommend.

"Stunning"

Mrs J Howarth - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

10/09/2021

Stayed at Skelwith Fold on our way to Scotland, what a stunning place to stay! Just an hour walk into Ambleside to see Lake Windermere! As soon as we got to the campsite we wished we had longer ,......Read more.

Stayed at Skelwith Fold on our way to Scotland, what a stunning place to stay! Just an hour walk into Ambleside to see Lake Windermere! As soon as we got to the campsite we wished we had longer , well kept and maintained to a very high standard and we will definitely be returning....Read less.

"Skelwith Holiday"

Mr D Harrison - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

09/09/2021

Another superb break at Skelwith in our Motor Home. The park with its surrounding woodland walks are unbeatable. There is peace and tranquility on this site with plenty of space it is only when you......Read more.

Another superb break at Skelwith in our Motor Home. The park with its surrounding woodland walks are unbeatable. There is peace and tranquility on this site with plenty of space it is only when you venture off-site do you realise how busy the Lakes are. We will always return as this exceptional site suits us when we holiday away from our farm. Well-done Skelwith Fold...Read less.

"Superb"

J Cash - Stayed with friends, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

Great site, really clean, tidy and peaceful. I needed somewhere to stay for two nights when I took part in the Coniston end to end swim, and this is perfect for a good night's sleep before and after.......Read more.

Great site, really clean, tidy and peaceful. I needed somewhere to stay for two nights when I took part in the Coniston end to end swim, and this is perfect for a good night's sleep before and after. Just take care with satnav that wants to take you up really little roads to the back of the site instead of on bigger roads to the front!...Read less.

"Beautiful site & area"

Mrs N Wadsworth - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

The site is quite impressive on arrival, & it doesn’t disappoint. On arrival the staff are very helpful, nothing seems too much trouble for them.

We stayed in our touring caravan in The Coppice area.......Read more.

The site is quite impressive on arrival, & it doesn’t disappoint. On arrival the staff are very helpful, nothing seems too much trouble for them.

We stayed in our touring caravan in The Coppice area. The only downfall was the walk to the toilet block but there are pitches near to facilities ( first come first served). Overall this wasn’t a problem because everything else made our stay a great one.

Will definitely be going back- one of our favourite sites....Read less.

"Lovely country site"

Mrs J Garth - Stayed with partner, Sep 2021

09/09/2021

enjoyed exploring local area around the site and footpaths

"Stayed to travel the lake district"

Mrs A McNaul - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

08/09/2021

Hi I found the site quiet peaceful and very clean. I was able to travel to all areas I wished to see,

"Absolutely fantastic Caravan Park"

Mrs K Richmond - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

08/09/2021

The location is amazing. Facilities are excellent and of the highest standard. This is a beautiful caravan park where the statics and tourers are not crowded and pitches are amongst the trees. I......Read more.

The location is amazing. Facilities are excellent and of the highest standard. This is a beautiful caravan park where the statics and tourers are not crowded and pitches are amongst the trees. I would really recommend this caravan park and will be returning...Read less.

"Love this place ❤️"

Mrs K Madine - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

07/09/2021

Second time here for us and certainly not the last. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Children's areas are brilliant. The tarn is beautiful and well worth a walk around. We saw deer on both visits,......Read more.

Second time here for us and certainly not the last. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Children's areas are brilliant. The tarn is beautiful and well worth a walk around. We saw deer on both visits, just magical. 30 mins Max walk into Ambleside. Facilities are very clean and modern. Can't wait to go back ❤️...Read less.

"5* site"

Miss K Stonehouse - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

06/09/2021

Great spot & excellent location. Staff extremely friendly & helpful. Toilet block amazing & spotlessly clean. Perfect site for a base for the lakes. Would definitely come back here again

"Favourite campsite"

Mrs C Atkinson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

06/09/2021

We have now made several visits to Skelwith Fold since we started our camping adventures in September 2020, and love it so much for the site facility and location, we have yet to camp anywhere else!

"Holiday"

Mrs Johnson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

05/09/2021

Good location and lovely walks on and from the site. Pitches for caravans quite small and can feel abit cramped at times. There are some bigger ones but ours was quite small and in the bank holiday......Read more.

Good location and lovely walks on and from the site. Pitches for caravans quite small and can feel abit cramped at times. There are some bigger ones but ours was quite small and in the bank holiday period felt quite cramped. Good access to nearby activities. Useful shop with good range of groceries and caravan accessories. Grandchildren had great fun at the two well equipped and maintained playgrounds. Thank you....Read less.

"Washing line"

Mrs R Hankinson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

03/09/2021

We had a fantastic stay at Skelwith Fold it has to be my favourite site now.

My only grudge is not being able to put my washing line/wurly gig up. We have it up everywhere we go secured in the......Read more.

We had a fantastic stay at Skelwith Fold it has to be my favourite site now.

My only grudge is not being able to put my washing line/wurly gig up. We have it up everywhere we go secured in the ground with pegs so it doesn’t fall over blow away etc. I needed somewhere to dry beach towels, it was august bk holiday when we were there and the kids had been paddling as it was glorious. And also bath towels… I was a bit miffed when we were asked to take it down, which we did, but then after meandering around the site we saw another tourer with their washing line up?!

Maybe look into this and allow washing lines up that are pegged down?!?

Kind Regsrds

Ruth...Read less.

"Love Skelwith have been coming to the site for the last 14 years"

Mrs S Wallis - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

02/09/2021

Skelwith is a great park sat in Woodland easy walking access to Ambleside. Great place to stay

"Short break"

Mr Moss - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

02/09/2021

Clean and tidy. Well looked after. Helpful staff.

"Family trip"

Miss K Mather - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

01/09/2021

Lovely site would definitely return

"Great site"

Mr G Mather - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

01/09/2021

Site was great. Only down side is if your in the touring near the kids playground. You’ve got quite a walk to the showers and toilets. And an even further Walk to the chemical disposal. It would......Read more.

Site was great. Only down side is if your in the touring near the kids playground. You’ve got quite a walk to the showers and toilets. And an even further Walk to the chemical disposal. It would benefit from a shower block closer. Other than that the site is excellent in every way. And will definitely be back....Read less.

"Midweek break"

Mr W Holden - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

Enjoyed our stay with you, staff were attentive and polite, and the site was spotless . We found a good pitch to take advantage of the glorious weather. All in all a very pleasant experience

"Fantastic stay"

Mrs Burke - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

Brilliant stay . Location staff facilities brilliant.Even though site was full where we stayed consideration for other people and noise was amazing.Would recommend and definitely return.Great value......Read more.

Brilliant stay . Location staff facilities brilliant.Even though site was full where we stayed consideration for other people and noise was amazing.Would recommend and definitely return.Great value for money .....Read less.

"Disappointing"

Mrs T Wilkinson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

This park is good only for premium pitches ,unfortunately standard pitches are a forgotten entity. The chemical waste is a mile to get to, no lights on way to standard pitches, the one shower and......Read more.

This park is good only for premium pitches ,unfortunately standard pitches are a forgotten entity. The chemical waste is a mile to get to, no lights on way to standard pitches, the one shower and toilet block is also far to get to and not the same standard as the one premium get.sorry not one I would return to....Read less.

"Best place we have ever stayed"

Miss G Rutter - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

We absolutely love this caravan site can not fault anything friendly staff well stocked shop great play park and clean facilities!

"Safari tent stay 2021"

Mrs M Scott - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

This is our second year visiting Skelwith Fold Caravan park. We had a very enjoyable stay again. The safari tents are so clean and comfortable and staff are lovely and welcoming.

Everything was......Read more.

This is our second year visiting Skelwith Fold Caravan park. We had a very enjoyable stay again. The safari tents are so clean and comfortable and staff are lovely and welcoming.

Everything was exactly as it was the previous visit except for acouple of small things as last time we were given a bottle of prosecco and local beers in the tent which were absent this time and the only other thing was that the walkway over the little stream's lighting outside of the tent wasnt working like it was last time. However, this didnt affect us enjoying our time there.

Would definitely recommend staying here as ideal location in the Lakes and very good value for money. Great for kids too as they have a large park which our kids absolutely loved. Thanks again to the staff who make the campsite such a lovely place to visit. We will definitely be back in the future!...Read less.

"Lovely place to stay"

Mr J Grove - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

Lovely place to stay in the heart of the Lake District.

"Lovely park but would not return"

Mrs S West - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

31/08/2021

Had a 1 week stay on a standard touring pitch, although the park is lovely and well kept I would not return unless I could manage to book a fully serviced premium pitch as the standard pitches are......Read more.

Had a 1 week stay on a standard touring pitch, although the park is lovely and well kept I would not return unless I could manage to book a fully serviced premium pitch as the standard pitches are shoved out of the way of everything and do not feel part of the park the toilet is a distanced walk away and the chemical disposal is at the other end of the park in the premium section, I was away with my older parents and like many people we don’t use the caravan toilet for a number 2 and my father has a bowel problem/illness and had to go in the night there is not a enough lighting along the paths for safety during the night. Didn’t see many of the staff but what we did see were very polite, had a bit of a noisy family near us that light an open fire (not aloud here) the warden came and told them to put it out and as soon as it got dark the warden was back to tell them to keep the noise down I was impressed with how they handled that situation....Read less.

"Spectacular"

Mr & Mrs Bensley - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

30/08/2021

The garden and views along the Langdale valley are unbelievable.

"Summer holidays"

Mr D Miller - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

30/08/2021

Was nice to visit again for 10 nights.

My only criticism is that we wanted to relax this time and basically do very little due to the extremely hard time we have all been though,

However the......Read more.

Was nice to visit again for 10 nights.

My only criticism is that we wanted to relax this time and basically do very little due to the extremely hard time we have all been though,

However the constant noise of wood saws and hammering during the day was a little too much and so we had to go out more than we had intended.

We don't understand why this work could not have been done during almost 18 months of lockdown instead of when the park was opupied ?

Yours sincerely

David Miller....Read less.

"Great stay!"

Mrs F Fletcher - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

30/08/2021

We had a great stay on a lovely site. The only downside is how packed in the vans are. This site would be amazing if each pitch had a little more room!

"great"

Mrs M Buckell - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

28/08/2021

We had a lovely stay. We had stayed in an S Pod previously at another site and couldn't believe our luck to see one available at Skelwith Fold for our preferred dates. The location of the pods is......Read more.

We had a lovely stay. We had stayed in an S Pod previously at another site and couldn't believe our luck to see one available at Skelwith Fold for our preferred dates. The location of the pods is really lovely, privacy of terrace is really nice, we loved the bbq area too. The kids play areas on the site are brilliant. The site feels close to nature and is in a great location. And the staff were all so friendly and helpful without exception. Thanks very much for providing a lovely location for holiday makers, we couldn't have been happier with it.

Only suggestion would be an airer for hanging wet clothes in the porch....Read less.

"One of the best"

Mrs C Trout - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

27/08/2021

From driving onto the site every member of staff were welcoming, there’s a regular visual presence. The pitches are well signed and very clear on how to park on them, this saves on any falling out......Read more.

From driving onto the site every member of staff were welcoming, there’s a regular visual presence. The pitches are well signed and very clear on how to park on them, this saves on any falling out over space. The site was kept spotless including the facilities, location is a quiet area but within short distance to a few popular locations....Read less.

"August Ambleside staycation"

Miss J Cowan - Stayed with friends, Aug 2021

27/08/2021

A lovely campsite in a beautiful setting with wild deer in the woods nearby. We had a great stay, despite no very summer - like weather. So much to do in the vicinity and we frequently got the buses......Read more.

A lovely campsite in a beautiful setting with wild deer in the woods nearby. We had a great stay, despite no very summer - like weather. So much to do in the vicinity and we frequently got the buses from the end of the long drive. That is the one negative point, it is a good long walk to the main road and back again at the end of the day. Had the park thought about offering a bookable shuttle service to the end of the drive, even with a small charge, using the buggies they use around the site? There is nowhere you can walk to in the evening for a drink or meal. You need a car for that. No on-site cafe/bar, but a good basic shop. Having said all that, we'll be returning...Read less.

"Amazing Site"

Mr Prosser - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

26/08/2021

Skelwith is a beautiful site that we have been staying at for the past 10 years.

The toilet block near the Premium pitches is exceptionally clean and of a very high standard.

My only comment would be......Read more.

Skelwith is a beautiful site that we have been staying at for the past 10 years.

The toilet block near the Premium pitches is exceptionally clean and of a very high standard.

My only comment would be that the drying room is not really large enough for the size of the site in the school holidays when its busy if you get a wet weekend, our coats dried but our walking boots and trainers were still damp the next morning - the drying room could not cope with the amount of damp kit it in....Read less.

"Holiday"

Mr I Valentine - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

26/08/2021

Fantastic showers and toilets.

"Great location"

Mrs A Bonney - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

26/08/2021

The site is lovely and in a fab location for walking. However with the time of the year and due to covid site was so busy and was not happy to be kept awake with loud music and people talking until......Read more.

The site is lovely and in a fab location for walking. However with the time of the year and due to covid site was so busy and was not happy to be kept awake with loud music and people talking until the early hours. Pitches are just so close in some areas so you are on top of each other....Read less.

"Stunning site, beautiful location nice pitch everything we needed"

Mrs J Rolfe - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

26/08/2021

The site was beautiful, peaceful everything we needed would definitely return

"Well presented site"

Mr B McGeachie - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

24/08/2021

Lovely site. Toilet facilities are great apart from the push button for the shower which I find irritating, especially on a site that’s is quite dear per night. The staff I spoke to were very......Read more.

Lovely site. Toilet facilities are great apart from the push button for the shower which I find irritating, especially on a site that’s is quite dear per night. The staff I spoke to were very pleasant and had time for me. I found some of the residents rude when I said “Morning” and got ignored but this isn’t a reflection on the site. Very, very well equipped parks for the kids and great walks through the woods and surrounding area. There is a wooden climbing frame set behind the zip line in the trees that we didn’t know about until someone said. Having an aerial connection with the kids can be a godsend too. Plenty of wildlife around too, we spotted squirrels, badgers and a distant deer....Read less.

"A comfortable stay"

Mrs Hinton-Lever - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

24/08/2021

Skelwith Fold Caravan Park is situated in an extremely beautiful location but sadly we did not find the motorhome pitches reflective of the lush green surroundings - being shoved in, cheek by jowl,......Read more.

Skelwith Fold Caravan Park is situated in an extremely beautiful location but sadly we did not find the motorhome pitches reflective of the lush green surroundings - being shoved in, cheek by jowl, with other motorhomes and caravans on continuous hard standing is not our idea of heaven! With strict, tight pitching positioning our view from our seating area under our awning was that of the side of the next caravan and all its waste water containers and continuous dull grey hard standing aggregate all around - really not a delight. Such a shame, as the rest of the site was immaculately clean and beautifully presented. Some grass pitches set amongst the glorious trees would have been much more to our liking....Read less.

"Wonderful Place"

Mrs A Ball - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

24/08/2021

We only stayed for 2 nights at Skelwith as part of our 10 day tour of the North of England but did not want to leave! It is such a beautiful setting and so well maintained, it was an ideal base. The......Read more.

We only stayed for 2 nights at Skelwith as part of our 10 day tour of the North of England but did not want to leave! It is such a beautiful setting and so well maintained, it was an ideal base. The facilities were all that we needed and everybody was so friendly. We shall definitely be coming back. Best showers of our whole trip!...Read less.

"Holiday"

Mrs E Facey - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

24/08/2021

We had a lovely stay at the park. We had a motor home. Facilities were very good . The only thing that would of been nice would of been some grass for the pitch instead of all gravel.

"Fantastic Site"

Mrs J Townend - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

24/08/2021

A beautiful site accessed through a woodland drive and set in acres of woodland. Immaculately kept. The children’s playground is excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The shop has a......Read more.

A beautiful site accessed through a woodland drive and set in acres of woodland. Immaculately kept. The children’s playground is excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The shop has a very good selection and is fairly priced.

The only thing we missed was an on-site bar and place to eat. More toilet/ shower facilities would improve the site. Our nearest block was a 5 minute walk away and only had one shower. Overall an excellent site, very well kept and managed. We will def in Italy visit again....Read less.

"Peaceful and clean"

Miss H Roythorne - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

24/08/2021

Great showers, really warm, clean and dry. Site was lovely and peaceful and my son enjoyed the play area. Make sure you have a mallet and good pegs if you have an awning as the ground is hard. The......Read more.

Great showers, really warm, clean and dry. Site was lovely and peaceful and my son enjoyed the play area. Make sure you have a mallet and good pegs if you have an awning as the ground is hard. The only downside for us was being unable to use the road at the skelwith end of the park...we spent a lot of time in coniston as we had friends staying there and this made our journey time a good bit longer. So if using google maps be aware that the entrance/exit to the park is from the windermere side....Read less.

"First impressions"

Mr J Copson - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

23/08/2021

The park was really nice and clean . Really liked the walks in the surrounding area of the campsite

"Nice park but awkard to access the water supply in motorcamper."

Mr Fried - Stayed with partner, Jul 2021

23/08/2021

This was just a one-night stopover for us on our way north. Generally, the park is very pleasant and I would like to spend more time exploring the surrounding area at some point. - The only......Read more.

This was just a one-night stopover for us on our way north. Generally, the park is very pleasant and I would like to spend more time exploring the surrounding area at some point. - The only negatives for us were that we were on a pitch without its own water supply and it proved very awkward to manoeuvre the motorcamper close enough to the only tap in the vicinity in order to fill up. The tap was positioned on a narrow roadway junction. If staying again, we'd opt for one of the more expensive pitches with their own tap. That said, this was already (one of) the most expensive site(s) we stayed at in our two-week trip. Also, the standard pitch that we were on, although pleasant enough for one a one-night stay, seemed fairly close to other campers and there was no screening between the pitches. - In short, we would definitely consider staying again, but would look for a better pitch....Read less.

"The Lakes '21"

Mr S Phipps - Stayed with partner, Aug 2021

23/08/2021

Very well organised

"Great stay"

Mrs S Moxon - Stayed with family, Aug 2021

23/08/2021

Fantastic stay, we walked everywhere during our stay to the area. Location great for Ambleside and a trip on Windermere by boat. Shower and toilet facilities were great and very close to the touring......Read more.

Fantastic stay, we walked everywhere during our stay to the area. Location great for Ambleside and a trip on Windermere by boat. Shower and toilet facilities were great and very close to the touring bays....Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead