Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

235 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 235 reviews in the last 12 months

99% would recommend this site

98% would stay here again

Excellent

83%

Very Good

14%

Average

2%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"A high quality park in beautiful surroundings"

Mr K Caton - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

04/05/2021

This is a high quality holiday park in beautiful surroundings. The children's play area was very good and the whole park was quiet and peaceful at the time of our stay in late April. We have booked......Read more.

This is a high quality holiday park in beautiful surroundings. The children's play area was very good and the whole park was quiet and peaceful at the time of our stay in late April. We have booked to return in the Summer.

The site staff were very helpful when we wanted to change our booking....Read less.

"Good for walking"

Mr A Bamping - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

04/05/2021

We needed a site to relax and enjoy walking from site Skelwith Fold was ideal for us, the facilities where clean and staff very helpful.

"Holidays"

Mrs C Peers - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

04/05/2021

Will always stay here lovely park, kept emaculate always,staff more than helpful, see you soon 😊

"Beautiful Place to Stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

03/05/2021

Having stayed at this site a few times over the years, it always amazes us how peaceful and well kept it is. A large site in lovely mature woodland with plenty of wildlife and also within......Read more.

Having stayed at this site a few times over the years, it always amazes us how peaceful and well kept it is. A large site in lovely mature woodland with plenty of wildlife and also within walking/cycling distance of Ambleside....Read less.

"Touring break"

Mr M Reynolds - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

02/05/2021

Great place to stay toilet block is immaculately clean , everything about skelwith is great , we had to leave earlier due to family issues back gone but we will return for sure

"Superb location"

Mrs S Love - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

01/05/2021

We chose to return to Skelwith Fold as the site is superb and on a really good bus route for where we wanted to go. But, we do think it is impractical/unreasonable to expect customers to take their......Read more.

We chose to return to Skelwith Fold as the site is superb and on a really good bus route for where we wanted to go. But, we do think it is impractical/unreasonable to expect customers to take their glass recycling to the entrance barrier!! They should make them available next to other bins. It is also very expensive given that showers are closed at the moment. We could only use the toilets due to Covid-19 restrictions....Read less.

"Fantastic park"

Mr G Manns - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

01/05/2021

Skelwith fold, is a fantastic place to stay, facilities are amazing clean, staff are friendly and so helpful. This one of the most cleanest places we've stayed to date. I would highly recommend a......Read more.

Skelwith fold, is a fantastic place to stay, facilities are amazing clean, staff are friendly and so helpful. This one of the most cleanest places we've stayed to date. I would highly recommend a stay her you'll not be disappointed....Read less.

"Best site in the Lakes"

Mr Fall - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

01/05/2021

Great situation, great staff, good on site shop, perfect for walking/cycling,

several hundred yards from top of site incredible view (Wordsworths favourite) down to Skelwith bridge hotel, good food......Read more.

Great situation, great staff, good on site shop, perfect for walking/cycling,

several hundred yards from top of site incredible view (Wordsworths favourite) down to Skelwith bridge hotel, good food and range of beers...Read less.

"Favourite local site"

Mr S Rigby - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

29/04/2021

Within 80mins of home, we love the location and its access to much beautiful scenery and its closeness to Ambleside

"Very well maintained site, in an good location"

Mr D Latham - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

29/04/2021

We stayed for 2 nights in our motorhome on a premium pitch in April 2021. The welcome couldn't have been nicer, site is very well maintained and in an excellent location for Ambleside, the Langdales,......Read more.

We stayed for 2 nights in our motorhome on a premium pitch in April 2021. The welcome couldn't have been nicer, site is very well maintained and in an excellent location for Ambleside, the Langdales, Hawkshead etc. We were using bikes to get about, so be aware some uphill cycling cannot be avoided! Shop seemed well stocked with all we needed (except fresh vegetables). My only feedback (and this might be due to COVID restrictions) is that the gents toilets could benefit from a loo brush and/or greater water pressure in the flush, so that visitors could keep the toilets nicer between cleans....Read less.

"Lovely weekend at Skelwith Fold"

Mr M Helm - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

29/04/2021

Love this campsite, we always return every year.

"fab site, all must visit."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

29/04/2021

our first time in our Motor Home, loved it.

"Expensive Electricity"

Mr R Sproson - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

28/04/2021

Great in all respects except the charge for Electric for touring vans is really wrong at £4 per night. I do not use that at home. Wouldn’nt mind do much if pitch was dearer but £4 leaves a taste...

"Thoroughly enjoyable stay in a lovely country park setting"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

28/04/2021

Excellent base from which to explore the area around Ambleside. The park was well kept and tidy with friendly staff in the shop/reception and site wardens do regular rounds and made sure that......Read more.

Excellent base from which to explore the area around Ambleside. The park was well kept and tidy with friendly staff in the shop/reception and site wardens do regular rounds and made sure that pitching rules were adhered to in a friendly manner. Long drive to turn around if you miss the turn for Skelwith Fold on the road so pay attention when you see the 'caravan 100 yds' sign! Long walk uphill to empty waste water carriers if you opt for the 'Coppice' area of the park....Read less.

"Passing through"

Mr A Dowie - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

27/04/2021

A very well maintained site, very reasonably priced. Staff were very helpful, great place to stop over.

"5 star campsite"

Mr D Bartholomew - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

27/04/2021

Returned from a fantastic weeks break at this superb campsite, whilst restricted with some amenities due to COVID this didn’t detract from the excellent facilities and setting for perfect Lake......Read more.

Returned from a fantastic weeks break at this superb campsite, whilst restricted with some amenities due to COVID this didn’t detract from the excellent facilities and setting for perfect Lake District getaway.

Location was also perfect, great local walking and easy access to nearby villages and Ambleside for best lakes have to offer with bars and restaurants.

Staff on site were excellent and very helpful, pitches where well looked after and recommend premium if you can get one.

Only one very sligh negative which has been commented by others, the wifi is not at all reliable, whilst I wasn’t planning to work during this vacation future visits I may want to get on line and benefit from a decent signal. There is no O2 4G, appreciate other providers may be better, but also the site premium wifi service i paid for was not very good and regularly dropped out and disappeared ! This is minor issue as it’s common in lakes I know and not highest priority for a holiday like this, but in future would hope to see better service for 5 star.

Will definitely return and look forward to even better experience once the site is fully opened.

Many thanks....Read less.

"Perfect pitch"

Mrs J Rowlands - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

26/04/2021

Had 2 night stay here last week and it was perfect .

We didn’t look round site as we had to get straight to our daughters .

They live in horseforth . It was ideal for us and we definitely be......Read more.

Had 2 night stay here last week and it was perfect .

We didn’t look round site as we had to get straight to our daughters .

They live in horseforth . It was ideal for us and we definitely be returning .

Just 1 thing I do think the gates should be fitted with an entrance code or security fob

At night to activate the barriers other than that it’s a perfect site ... we will see you all soon . Thank you...Read less.

"A beautiful place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

25/04/2021

We have been going to Skeleith Fold with our tourer and hope to be able to continue.

"Excellent place to stay"

Mr A Murphy - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

23/04/2021

Excellent stay, all the family enjoyed it. Would definitely be booking again.

"HUGE SITE"

Mr Sowerby - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

23/04/2021

If you are fine on a huge site then this is the place for you.

The imagery on the website intimated that it had cost park ups, but thought it felt like a car park.

That said the facilities were......Read more.

If you are fine on a huge site then this is the place for you.

The imagery on the website intimated that it had cost park ups, but thought it felt like a car park.

That said the facilities were exceptional, clean and secure, with friendly staff

Simply not what we were looking for ....Read less.

"Weeks stay"

Mrs D Paskin - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

22/04/2021

Had a fabulous weeks stay on a premium pitch . The site as usual was immaculate and lots of safety measures in place with covid . Staff very friendly and helpful. We do live this site for its......Read more.

Had a fabulous weeks stay on a premium pitch . The site as usual was immaculate and lots of safety measures in place with covid . Staff very friendly and helpful. We do live this site for its woodland surroundings and walks from site . It is much more expensive than others we stay on in the Lake District so hoping the prices don’t go up too much more . Was glad to see phone reception was better we did require an extra Ariel to watch tv as poor signal . A great site for couples and families...Read less.

"Beautiful, peaceful retreat"

Mrs M Poxon - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

22/04/2021

If you want peace in a beautiful setting Skelwith Fold is perfect. We spent a blissful week during the childrens school holiday on the park. It was quite, despite being busy, every pitch was spaced......Read more.

If you want peace in a beautiful setting Skelwith Fold is perfect. We spent a blissful week during the childrens school holiday on the park. It was quite, despite being busy, every pitch was spaced out, immaculate and absolutely beautiful. We didn't want to leave. My only advice to anyone arriving and who cannot live without a TV, is check where on site has a TV signal before you pitch as only the pitches near the park have an aerial point....Read less.

"Excellent site, great staff, can't wait to stay again as usual."

Burrell - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

22/04/2021

We had a really nice stay once again, great site, very clean and tidy. All the staff we came in contact with were really friendly and helpful. We are so happy with going there that when it is full......Read more.

We had a really nice stay once again, great site, very clean and tidy. All the staff we came in contact with were really friendly and helpful. We are so happy with going there that when it is full and we can't get on we are very disappointed.

It is a beautiful area with lots of great walks....Read less.

"Beautiful setting"

Mrs G Fletcher - Stayed with partner, Apr 2021

21/04/2021

Fabulous caravan park, stunning location, great facilities and wonderful, helpful staff. the only problem for us is that we need wifi as my husband needed to attend a meeting on zoom so we had to......Read more.

Fabulous caravan park, stunning location, great facilities and wonderful, helpful staff. the only problem for us is that we need wifi as my husband needed to attend a meeting on zoom so we had to leave a day early !...Read less.

"Lovely stay"

Mrs C Clark - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

20/04/2021

Great area to stay and the safari tents were well positioned. Lots of walks in the area and a few mins drive from Ambleside. Helpful maintenance crew. Could do with somewhere to hang coats in the......Read more.

Great area to stay and the safari tents were well positioned. Lots of walks in the area and a few mins drive from Ambleside. Helpful maintenance crew. Could do with somewhere to hang coats in the tent, some fresh food in the shop would be a bonus....Read less.

"Lovely stay at Skelwith Fold"

Miss E Bright - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

19/04/2021

We stayed for 3 nights in our touring caravan with our 2 young daughters.

We chose a premium pitch and found it to be very convenient and spacious with the bonus of a picnic table.

Our girls loved......Read more.

We stayed for 3 nights in our touring caravan with our 2 young daughters.

We chose a premium pitch and found it to be very convenient and spacious with the bonus of a picnic table.

Our girls loved the play area and had a great time using it.

The park was very well maintained and would definitely return.

Personally for us the addition of somewhere to have a drink/food would be great. I appreciate there are lovely places near by but the convenience of having somewhere on site would bo good....Read less.

"Family Stay."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2021

18/04/2021

Good 2 night break at skelwith fold with family.

Great pitch and spotless facilities, showers unavailable due to COVID but looked spotless. 2 mile walk into Ambleside, easy enough with 2 young kids......Read more.

Good 2 night break at skelwith fold with family.

Great pitch and spotless facilities, showers unavailable due to COVID but looked spotless. 2 mile walk into Ambleside, easy enough with 2 young kids in tow.

Play park and football pitch for kids.

I would suggest that the site looks at some sort of cafe, food facility....Read less.

"November Stay"

Mr Swithenbank - Stayed with family, Nov 2020

09/11/2020

Yet again, peace and tranquility with beautiful surroundings and facilities. The wet weather was challenging at times, as we came back from dinner in town to shoes and boots floating in the awning......Read more.

Yet again, peace and tranquility with beautiful surroundings and facilities. The wet weather was challenging at times, as we came back from dinner in town to shoes and boots floating in the awning but within an hour it had all drained away (it was particularly heavy rain). One thing that was frustrating, on our last day (which was the last day of the season) the bin lorry came to empty the the bins and it emptied both the recycling and normal bin into the same truck. If we are taking the time to separate our rubbish, I would expect it to remain separated. There may be a reason for this not to happen on this occasion???!!!...Read less.

"A Great Caravan Park"

Miss H Worthington - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

06/11/2020

We only stayed for 2 nights but the park is very clean, has great facilities and for us personally, has a great location for the activities we planned to do.

We are looking forward to staying again,......Read more.

We only stayed for 2 nights but the park is very clean, has great facilities and for us personally, has a great location for the activities we planned to do.

We are looking forward to staying again, hopefully the weather will be better!...Read less.

"Lovely Stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

05/11/2020

We had a fantastic weekend in our motorhome here. The site is absolutely immaculate and beautifully kept. The pitches were well marked and set in a great spot. The facilities were all very clean. The......Read more.

We had a fantastic weekend in our motorhome here. The site is absolutely immaculate and beautifully kept. The pitches were well marked and set in a great spot. The facilities were all very clean. The park is obviously very well run and was a pleasure to stay at. I’ve already rebooked! Fantastic local walks in a beautiful place....Read less.

"Great site but rules and regulations restrictive"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

04/11/2020

This is our second visit to Skelwith, and as always the park was immaculate. The check in process was simple, although I do think due to the vacancies available we could have been allowed onto the......Read more.

This is our second visit to Skelwith, and as always the park was immaculate. The check in process was simple, although I do think due to the vacancies available we could have been allowed onto the pitch earlier than 14:00.

No discretion at all was given and many pitches were empty for days on end.

The toilet and shower blocks were lovely and warm , clean and equipped with everything you could need, however I do feel that closing them for extensive cleaning at peak times (09:00-11:00) is a little disruptive. Cleaning could have taken place at alternative times rather than "rush hour".

It is unfortunate that the demeanour of the park wardens is such that children are scared of them and adults are made to feel on edge when they are around, it is almost like they are there to check up on you and ensure that you are not breaking any "rules" rather than helping and assisting you to enjoy and relax on your holiday.

We will be looking for alternative sites to continue and enjoy the Lake District which is a shame because the site itself is lovely, clean, well kept and in a great location. Several families that we regularly holiday with are now also looking at alternative sites following our most recent experience.

...Read less.

"Great place to stay in Autumn"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

04/11/2020

This was our third visit to Slelwith Fold. It's a great location for local walks, cycling and museum visits in the local area. The facilities are great and the grounds always well kept. The kids......Read more.

This was our third visit to Slelwith Fold. It's a great location for local walks, cycling and museum visits in the local area. The facilities are great and the grounds always well kept. The kids especially love the playground, which has been much improved over the past couple of years so it is not affected by heavy rain I.e. it doesn't turn into a mud bath!

We will definitely return....Read less.

"Short glamping holiday"

Mrs H Prince - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

01/11/2020

We spent 2 nights at Skelwith Fold in a Hideaway called Woodpecker. The accommodation was excellent. Although It was small, it had everything we needed and it was spotlessly clean. The fact it wasn’t......Read more.

We spent 2 nights at Skelwith Fold in a Hideaway called Woodpecker. The accommodation was excellent. Although It was small, it had everything we needed and it was spotlessly clean. The fact it wasn’t dog friendly was a bonus for us as my husband has allergies. Other cabins are dog friendly so it was great to have the choice!

The location was stunning and all the amenities of the park were superb.

We would love to come back and stay longer!...Read less.

"ELECTRICAL FAULT"

Mr Richardson - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

30/10/2020

On the morning we were leaving we had an Electrical Fault with our Hitch,

The on site help (Carl) was very helpful in getting us away with rectifying the problem, what a hero

"Family Holiday"

Mrs J Maher - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

30/10/2020

We stayed 3 nights in a safari tent. We found the experience brilliant. It was such a good place for children to explore and really enjoy nature. There was lots of walks that were suitable for......Read more.

We stayed 3 nights in a safari tent. We found the experience brilliant. It was such a good place for children to explore and really enjoy nature. There was lots of walks that were suitable for children. We also visited the Peter Rabbit museum which was a delight. We will certainly return....Read less.

"Five star spa site in beautiful woodlands"

Mrs Burrows - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

29/10/2020

If you want a five star campsite in the Lake District with Spa for £30 book here.

Heated slate floors with power showers in bathroom

Wash up area has an electric Commercial dishwasher only £1......Read more.

If you want a five star campsite in the Lake District with Spa for £30 book here.

Heated slate floors with power showers in bathroom

Wash up area has an electric Commercial dishwasher only £1 glasses sparkling, cutlery gleaming, plates shining in 5 minutes.

Well distanced pitches in forest. 12 minutes walk to amazing hotel with local drinks and beautifully tasting and well presented food at Skelwith Bridge Hotel.

...Read less.

"Woodland camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

Went end of October, long drive up to reception but the colours of the trees was spectacular . The staff all very friendly and helpful. A beautiful clean and tidy site with good size pitches. There......Read more.

Went end of October, long drive up to reception but the colours of the trees was spectacular . The staff all very friendly and helpful. A beautiful clean and tidy site with good size pitches. There was a bus stop at the end of drive for easy access to Ambleside and district. We would stay here again....Read less.

"Well run campsite in beautiful surroundings"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

We have visited this campsite before and love it. The facilities are high quality and very clean (even more so due to extra cleaning because of Covid). The staff are very welcoming, helpful and......Read more.

We have visited this campsite before and love it. The facilities are high quality and very clean (even more so due to extra cleaning because of Covid). The staff are very welcoming, helpful and friendly. And the whole area is beautiful - what more could you want!...Read less.

"Skelwith Fold is situated in the ideal position"

Mrs K Haigh - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

Skelwith Fold is situated in the area of the Lake District we love and while we have a caravan we will keep returning we simply love the whole area

"Well maintained"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

Well looked after park. Pitches are well maintained. The must expensive park we have stayed at this year. A long walk / drive from the entrance to the touring pitches, but there is a handy side road......Read more.

Well looked after park. Pitches are well maintained. The must expensive park we have stayed at this year. A long walk / drive from the entrance to the touring pitches, but there is a handy side road to walk down....Read less.

"Good value but isolated."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

The grounds are very neat and clean, but it's a decent walk to Ambleside. The chemical disposal point is far from the Coppice pitches.

"Fantastic campsite"

Mrs S Coe - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

Absolutely lovely campsite! Booked slightly out of desperation (last minute travel plans changed) and without much thought but seriously...what a find!! We couldn't of asked for a nicer campsite. The......Read more.

Absolutely lovely campsite! Booked slightly out of desperation (last minute travel plans changed) and without much thought but seriously...what a find!! We couldn't of asked for a nicer campsite. The staff are so friendly and helpful. It's set in amazing grounds, surrounded by trees. Would definitely recommend. By far the best campsite we stayed on in our week and a half in the Lake District....Read less.

"Skelwith Fold"

Mr K Hodgskin - Stayed Oct 2020

26/10/2020

Close to Ambleside with good all round public transport travel links for Lake District

"Lovely park"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

25/10/2020

We don’t usually visit ‘large’ camp sites but we were very impressed on the size of the touring pitches. The price was actually a lot more than we usually pay but the facilities were warm and clean......Read more.

We don’t usually visit ‘large’ camp sites but we were very impressed on the size of the touring pitches. The price was actually a lot more than we usually pay but the facilities were warm and clean and COVID measures were good. We would visit again....Read less.

"Fantastic site, ideally placed, will be staying again soon!"

Mr P Grindrod - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

24/10/2020

Marvellous all round!

"Woodpecker Hideaway"

Mrs R Cable - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

24/10/2020

Found this site on a search round the internet for a luxury pod, that is certainly what we got, clear easy booking and clear easy and really informative instructions to the park, great video of how......Read more.

Found this site on a search round the internet for a luxury pod, that is certainly what we got, clear easy booking and clear easy and really informative instructions to the park, great video of how the Hideaway worked before and on arrival to your pod, on arrival we pulled up to the outside check in area, staff immediately on hand to hand you your key, very COVID safe, key had been sanitized and pt in a sealed bag, got to say Lorraine that checked us in made us feel so welcome and even with a mask on gave out such a feeling we had actually arrived on holiday at last, we then followed a ranger to our Hideaway. He was very good and when I opened the door it was so clean, he advised his wife had cleaned it, thank you to her as it was sparkling. Really comfortable hideaway pod, had everything we needed and more, needed some peace and we got it with visiting wildlife every day and the bird song what a joy of a place, it’s a beautiful park and you can see they all take pride in their park l. We will be back. Thank you...Read less.

"Excellent site"

Mrs V Robinson - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

23/10/2020

Beautiful location, friendly and welcoming staff, exceptionally clean

"Autumn Break in heart of Lakes"

Miss A Taylor - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

23/10/2020

Skelwith is set within a beautiful woodland area so completely unobtrusive in the landscape. Despite having a huge static capacity, it has embraced the natural environment and provides beautiful......Read more.

Skelwith is set within a beautiful woodland area so completely unobtrusive in the landscape. Despite having a huge static capacity, it has embraced the natural environment and provides beautiful views across the Brathay valley and well maintained footpaths through the woods. In our case, the autumn colours were splendid.

It is well serviced by buses to and cycle paths so no need to use one's car once there.

The washing facilities are outstanding and there is s constant presence of wardens ensuring everything is highly maintained.

For touring vans, we felt the standard pitches had a more picturesque location than the premium ones but thee premium pitches were excellent with plenty of room and a very useful picnic bench....Read less.

"Amazing tranquility’ and space"

Mrs S Gibson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

23/10/2020

Very well kept park with lots of local activities within easy reach. Bus Stop outside the park is very convenient. Great walks and bike rides direct from site. Faculties kept very clean in the......Read more.

Very well kept park with lots of local activities within easy reach. Bus Stop outside the park is very convenient. Great walks and bike rides direct from site. Faculties kept very clean in the current COVID situation and it felt safe. Staff very helpful....Read less.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead