Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

221 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 221 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

98% would stay here again

Excellent

82%

Very Good

15%

Average

2%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"November Stay"

Mr Swithenbank - Stayed with family, Nov 2020

09/11/2020

Yet again, peace and tranquility with beautiful surroundings and facilities. The wet weather was challenging at times, as we came back from dinner in town to shoes and boots floating in the awning......Read more.

Yet again, peace and tranquility with beautiful surroundings and facilities. The wet weather was challenging at times, as we came back from dinner in town to shoes and boots floating in the awning but within an hour it had all drained away (it was particularly heavy rain). One thing that was frustrating, on our last day (which was the last day of the season) the bin lorry came to empty the the bins and it emptied both the recycling and normal bin into the same truck. If we are taking the time to separate our rubbish, I would expect it to remain separated. There may be a reason for this not to happen on this occasion???!!!...Read less.

"A Great Caravan Park"

Miss H Worthington - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

06/11/2020

We only stayed for 2 nights but the park is very clean, has great facilities and for us personally, has a great location for the activities we planned to do.

We are looking forward to staying again,......Read more.

We only stayed for 2 nights but the park is very clean, has great facilities and for us personally, has a great location for the activities we planned to do.

We are looking forward to staying again, hopefully the weather will be better!...Read less.

"Lovely Stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

05/11/2020

We had a fantastic weekend in our motorhome here. The site is absolutely immaculate and beautifully kept. The pitches were well marked and set in a great spot. The facilities were all very clean. The......Read more.

We had a fantastic weekend in our motorhome here. The site is absolutely immaculate and beautifully kept. The pitches were well marked and set in a great spot. The facilities were all very clean. The park is obviously very well run and was a pleasure to stay at. I’ve already rebooked! Fantastic local walks in a beautiful place....Read less.

"Great site but rules and regulations restrictive"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

04/11/2020

This is our second visit to Skelwith, and as always the park was immaculate. The check in process was simple, although I do think due to the vacancies available we could have been allowed onto the......Read more.

This is our second visit to Skelwith, and as always the park was immaculate. The check in process was simple, although I do think due to the vacancies available we could have been allowed onto the pitch earlier than 14:00.

No discretion at all was given and many pitches were empty for days on end.

The toilet and shower blocks were lovely and warm , clean and equipped with everything you could need, however I do feel that closing them for extensive cleaning at peak times (09:00-11:00) is a little disruptive. Cleaning could have taken place at alternative times rather than "rush hour".

It is unfortunate that the demeanour of the park wardens is such that children are scared of them and adults are made to feel on edge when they are around, it is almost like they are there to check up on you and ensure that you are not breaking any "rules" rather than helping and assisting you to enjoy and relax on your holiday.

We will be looking for alternative sites to continue and enjoy the Lake District which is a shame because the site itself is lovely, clean, well kept and in a great location. Several families that we regularly holiday with are now also looking at alternative sites following our most recent experience.

...Read less.

"Great place to stay in Autumn"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

04/11/2020

This was our third visit to Slelwith Fold. It's a great location for local walks, cycling and museum visits in the local area. The facilities are great and the grounds always well kept. The kids......Read more.

This was our third visit to Slelwith Fold. It's a great location for local walks, cycling and museum visits in the local area. The facilities are great and the grounds always well kept. The kids especially love the playground, which has been much improved over the past couple of years so it is not affected by heavy rain I.e. it doesn't turn into a mud bath!

We will definitely return....Read less.

"Short glamping holiday"

Mrs H Prince - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

01/11/2020

We spent 2 nights at Skelwith Fold in a Hideaway called Woodpecker. The accommodation was excellent. Although It was small, it had everything we needed and it was spotlessly clean. The fact it wasn’t......Read more.

We spent 2 nights at Skelwith Fold in a Hideaway called Woodpecker. The accommodation was excellent. Although It was small, it had everything we needed and it was spotlessly clean. The fact it wasn’t dog friendly was a bonus for us as my husband has allergies. Other cabins are dog friendly so it was great to have the choice!

The location was stunning and all the amenities of the park were superb.

We would love to come back and stay longer!...Read less.

"ELECTRICAL FAULT"

Mr Richardson - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

30/10/2020

On the morning we were leaving we had an Electrical Fault with our Hitch,

The on site help (Carl) was very helpful in getting us away with rectifying the problem, what a hero

"Family Holiday"

Mrs J Maher - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

30/10/2020

We stayed 3 nights in a safari tent. We found the experience brilliant. It was such a good place for children to explore and really enjoy nature. There was lots of walks that were suitable for......Read more.

We stayed 3 nights in a safari tent. We found the experience brilliant. It was such a good place for children to explore and really enjoy nature. There was lots of walks that were suitable for children. We also visited the Peter Rabbit museum which was a delight. We will certainly return....Read less.

"Five star spa site in beautiful woodlands"

Mrs Burrows - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

29/10/2020

If you want a five star campsite in the Lake District with Spa for £30 book here.

Heated slate floors with power showers in bathroom

Wash up area has an electric Commercial dishwasher only £1......Read more.

If you want a five star campsite in the Lake District with Spa for £30 book here.

Heated slate floors with power showers in bathroom

Wash up area has an electric Commercial dishwasher only £1 glasses sparkling, cutlery gleaming, plates shining in 5 minutes.

Well distanced pitches in forest. 12 minutes walk to amazing hotel with local drinks and beautifully tasting and well presented food at Skelwith Bridge Hotel.

...Read less.

"Woodland camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

Went end of October, long drive up to reception but the colours of the trees was spectacular . The staff all very friendly and helpful. A beautiful clean and tidy site with good size pitches. There......Read more.

Went end of October, long drive up to reception but the colours of the trees was spectacular . The staff all very friendly and helpful. A beautiful clean and tidy site with good size pitches. There was a bus stop at the end of drive for easy access to Ambleside and district. We would stay here again....Read less.

"Well run campsite in beautiful surroundings"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

28/10/2020

We have visited this campsite before and love it. The facilities are high quality and very clean (even more so due to extra cleaning because of Covid). The staff are very welcoming, helpful and......Read more.

We have visited this campsite before and love it. The facilities are high quality and very clean (even more so due to extra cleaning because of Covid). The staff are very welcoming, helpful and friendly. And the whole area is beautiful - what more could you want!...Read less.

"Skelwith Fold is situated in the ideal position"

Mrs K Haigh - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

Skelwith Fold is situated in the area of the Lake District we love and while we have a caravan we will keep returning we simply love the whole area

"Well maintained"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

Well looked after park. Pitches are well maintained. The must expensive park we have stayed at this year. A long walk / drive from the entrance to the touring pitches, but there is a handy side road......Read more.

Well looked after park. Pitches are well maintained. The must expensive park we have stayed at this year. A long walk / drive from the entrance to the touring pitches, but there is a handy side road to walk down....Read less.

"Good value but isolated."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

The grounds are very neat and clean, but it's a decent walk to Ambleside. The chemical disposal point is far from the Coppice pitches.

"Fantastic campsite"

Mrs S Coe - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

27/10/2020

Absolutely lovely campsite! Booked slightly out of desperation (last minute travel plans changed) and without much thought but seriously...what a find!! We couldn't of asked for a nicer campsite. The......Read more.

Absolutely lovely campsite! Booked slightly out of desperation (last minute travel plans changed) and without much thought but seriously...what a find!! We couldn't of asked for a nicer campsite. The staff are so friendly and helpful. It's set in amazing grounds, surrounded by trees. Would definitely recommend. By far the best campsite we stayed on in our week and a half in the Lake District....Read less.

"Skelwith Fold"

Mr K Hodgskin - Stayed Oct 2020

26/10/2020

Close to Ambleside with good all round public transport travel links for Lake District

"Lovely park"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

25/10/2020

We don’t usually visit ‘large’ camp sites but we were very impressed on the size of the touring pitches. The price was actually a lot more than we usually pay but the facilities were warm and clean......Read more.

We don’t usually visit ‘large’ camp sites but we were very impressed on the size of the touring pitches. The price was actually a lot more than we usually pay but the facilities were warm and clean and COVID measures were good. We would visit again....Read less.

"Fantastic site, ideally placed, will be staying again soon!"

Mr P Grindrod - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

24/10/2020

Marvellous all round!

"Woodpecker Hideaway"

Mrs R Cable - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

24/10/2020

Found this site on a search round the internet for a luxury pod, that is certainly what we got, clear easy booking and clear easy and really informative instructions to the park, great video of how......Read more.

Found this site on a search round the internet for a luxury pod, that is certainly what we got, clear easy booking and clear easy and really informative instructions to the park, great video of how the Hideaway worked before and on arrival to your pod, on arrival we pulled up to the outside check in area, staff immediately on hand to hand you your key, very COVID safe, key had been sanitized and pt in a sealed bag, got to say Lorraine that checked us in made us feel so welcome and even with a mask on gave out such a feeling we had actually arrived on holiday at last, we then followed a ranger to our Hideaway. He was very good and when I opened the door it was so clean, he advised his wife had cleaned it, thank you to her as it was sparkling. Really comfortable hideaway pod, had everything we needed and more, needed some peace and we got it with visiting wildlife every day and the bird song what a joy of a place, it’s a beautiful park and you can see they all take pride in their park l. We will be back. Thank you...Read less.

"Excellent site"

Mrs V Robinson - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

23/10/2020

Beautiful location, friendly and welcoming staff, exceptionally clean

"Autumn Break in heart of Lakes"

Miss A Taylor - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

23/10/2020

Skelwith is set within a beautiful woodland area so completely unobtrusive in the landscape. Despite having a huge static capacity, it has embraced the natural environment and provides beautiful......Read more.

Skelwith is set within a beautiful woodland area so completely unobtrusive in the landscape. Despite having a huge static capacity, it has embraced the natural environment and provides beautiful views across the Brathay valley and well maintained footpaths through the woods. In our case, the autumn colours were splendid.

It is well serviced by buses to and cycle paths so no need to use one's car once there.

The washing facilities are outstanding and there is s constant presence of wardens ensuring everything is highly maintained.

For touring vans, we felt the standard pitches had a more picturesque location than the premium ones but thee premium pitches were excellent with plenty of room and a very useful picnic bench....Read less.

"Amazing tranquility’ and space"

Mrs S Gibson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

23/10/2020

Very well kept park with lots of local activities within easy reach. Bus Stop outside the park is very convenient. Great walks and bike rides direct from site. Faculties kept very clean in the......Read more.

Very well kept park with lots of local activities within easy reach. Bus Stop outside the park is very convenient. Great walks and bike rides direct from site. Faculties kept very clean in the current COVID situation and it felt safe. Staff very helpful....Read less.

"Enjoyable holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

22/10/2020

We love coming to Skelwith Fold touring caravan site. The staff are extremely friendly, shop is well stocked and the toilets and shower cubicles are the best we have ever been to. The site is set in......Read more.

We love coming to Skelwith Fold touring caravan site. The staff are extremely friendly, shop is well stocked and the toilets and shower cubicles are the best we have ever been to. The site is set in beautiful countryside and there are many walks that can be made directly. Bus stop if needed is just at main entrance. Can’t think of any negatives, we visited one site can’t remember where but there was piped music in toilet and shower blocks. Thought this was a lovely idea as provides a background music when in loo, so not as self conscious....Read less.

"Beautiful location"

Mrs L Walker - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

22/10/2020

We've been coming to Skelwith for over 40 years both as an owner and as a tourer. There is no other place for us.......its our second home.

Great, quiet, unspoiled location with plenty to do without......Read more.

We've been coming to Skelwith for over 40 years both as an owner and as a tourer. There is no other place for us.......its our second home.

Great, quiet, unspoiled location with plenty to do without moving the car!!...Read less.

"This is an AMAZING park"

Mrs C Stevenson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

21/10/2020

We booked to stay at Skelwith Fold for one night. We love Ambleside and this park suited us perfectly. We hopped on the bus at the front gate of the park and were in Ambleside in 8 minutes, you......Read more.

We booked to stay at Skelwith Fold for one night. We love Ambleside and this park suited us perfectly. We hopped on the bus at the front gate of the park and were in Ambleside in 8 minutes, you can't get better than that! We'd never been at the park before but if we'd known just how good it was we definitely would have stayed for more nights.

The only one thing I would say is, there is a pretty savage speed bump on the way up to reception and even at a really slow pace it feels like you're going to leave the bottom of your car/campervan balancing on the top of it but that's the only negative feedback. Other than that, it was a fabulous stay.

Can't wait to be back again (soon).

Claire and Gordon...Read less.

"Skelwith Fold Camping."

Mrs S Cassidy - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

21/10/2020

Love this site, beautifully maintainef and super quiet at night. Great position fir enjoying the outdoor life of the Lake District.

"Quality site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

21/10/2020

We have used this park for many years either with a caravan or motorhome. The surrounding area has some of the best scenery that lakes district can offer so it’s location is ideal to use as a base.......Read more.

We have used this park for many years either with a caravan or motorhome. The surrounding area has some of the best scenery that lakes district can offer so it’s location is ideal to use as a base. Over the years the park has improved its amenities which are now of a very high standard. Staff are friendly and helpful and ensure things run smoothly, securely and safely....Read less.

"Great Park Only one let down"

Mr S Baker - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

21/10/2020

Had a great stay. The only negative is the toilet chemical waste facility

Every other park I have visited has a large stainless steel square funnel to deposite waste in a way that you dont see the......Read more.

Had a great stay. The only negative is the toilet chemical waste facility

Every other park I have visited has a large stainless steel square funnel to deposite waste in a way that you dont see the waste after it has been deposited. The toilet facility you offer makes the experience unpleasant....Read less.

"Beauty"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

20/10/2020

Although it is a large park it is entirely hidden within beautiful woodland. The spaces for motor home and caravan parking were generous and gravelled which avoids problems with mud in this wet......Read more.

Although it is a large park it is entirely hidden within beautiful woodland. The spaces for motor home and caravan parking were generous and gravelled which avoids problems with mud in this wet climate. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay....Read less.

"Excellent but two points...."

Dr & Mrs Dyson - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

20/10/2020

We have been customers for over 25 years and will always return. Great location of course, but coupled with lovely staff, helpful shop and top facilities.

Our only two points are that firstly, and......Read more.

We have been customers for over 25 years and will always return. Great location of course, but coupled with lovely staff, helpful shop and top facilities.

Our only two points are that firstly, and we have said this before, please

stop cleaning the toilets at eg 9.30am. It’s far too early and inconvenient. Other top sites clean at eg 12-1.00pm when most folk have had morning ablutions.

Secondly, just on this visit, the cardboard cutout of a rather grim looking policeman firing a gun at me is not conducive to a restful holiday experience!! Use eg some happy children playing asking me to slow down for their safety. Far more empathic and caring.

Otherwise great as ever!...Read less.

"Idilic surrounings"

Mrs Ross - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

20/10/2020

Friendly welcome on arrival,you can choose your own pitch with no pressure.lots of space between pitches,Idilic site for exploring the lakes.We visited in Autumn and it is very colourful at this time......Read more.

Friendly welcome on arrival,you can choose your own pitch with no pressure.lots of space between pitches,Idilic site for exploring the lakes.We visited in Autumn and it is very colourful at this time of year.Will return soon ....Read less.

"Top Class Facility"

Mr S Baillie - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

19/10/2020

First time Stay Oct 12th to Oct 15th 2020,

Recommended by friends who are regulars to Skelwith.

Everything about the facility is genuinely Top Class.

If you are looking for an excellent location in a......Read more.

First time Stay Oct 12th to Oct 15th 2020,

Recommended by friends who are regulars to Skelwith.

Everything about the facility is genuinely Top Class.

If you are looking for an excellent location in a beautiful setting, then just book this site - you will not be disappointed.

Stevie & Lorraine Baillie...Read less.

"Beautiful Place"

Mr L Bain - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

19/10/2020

Fantastic as always.

"Great stay"

Mrs Kipps - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

19/10/2020

First time here and great for lovely walks and nature. Bus Stop is at the bottom of the lane

"5star"

Mr I Starkey - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

18/10/2020

Beautiful site set in beautiful surroundings only problem we had was tried to book a premium pitch but told was not any available but when on site there was only one or two pitches took.

and there......Read more.

Beautiful site set in beautiful surroundings only problem we had was tried to book a premium pitch but told was not any available but when on site there was only one or two pitches took.

and there was loads available great site will be back...Read less.

"Beautiful park"

Mr A Appleby - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

18/10/2020

Skelwith Fold is a beautiful site in a lovely location and we will definitely return. Only 2 negatives for us: 1) the touring pitch area is well laid out but would benefit from some landscaping- it’s......Read more.

Skelwith Fold is a beautiful site in a lovely location and we will definitely return. Only 2 negatives for us: 1) the touring pitch area is well laid out but would benefit from some landscaping- it’s a little car park like

2) the free WiFi just doesn’t work. My phone on EE had a weak 4G signal but my wife’s 3Mobile phone had no signal at all. The free WiFi would have been useful if it had worked...Read less.

"First impression"

Mrs Woodward - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

17/10/2020

A beautiful site well maintained we thought a little pricey compared to other sites we visit in the Derbyshire Dales Devon Cornwall etc but will return one day hopefully

"Lovely stay"

Mr A Lingwood - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

16/10/2020

Having had no holiday this year due to the pandemic we booked a three night stay in a Safari Tent. Accommodation was first class the furniture and fittings were excellent even down to the knives and......Read more.

Having had no holiday this year due to the pandemic we booked a three night stay in a Safari Tent. Accommodation was first class the furniture and fittings were excellent even down to the knives and forks. The tent was spotless and the bottles of wine, beer and water was a nice touch, along with tea and coffee set which also included little pouches of squash. Set in a lovely quiet area it felt like a real home from home. My Son loved the football pitch, would highly recommend and will be returning....Read less.

"Lockdown Lake Fistrict"

Mr McArthur - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

15/10/2020

Great stay at Skelwith, well organised, clean and safe.

"Relaxing break"

Mrs L Firth - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

14/10/2020

We booked this site as a last minute replacement after a foreign holiday was cancelled, what a little gem of a find, we loved it, the peaceful location meant we had the relaxing break we needed. The......Read more.

We booked this site as a last minute replacement after a foreign holiday was cancelled, what a little gem of a find, we loved it, the peaceful location meant we had the relaxing break we needed. The internet wasnt the best but it didnt matter, the shower block was absolutely immaculately clean with the luxury of under floor heating we will definitely be coming back....Read less.

"Very nice site"

Mr S Degg - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

14/10/2020

The site was very well maintained and the facilities such as showers and toilets were very clean ,really impressed

"Lovely place"

Mr D Callow - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

14/10/2020

Nice extensive site in woods. Flat hard-standing pitches. Extremely well designed, warm and clean shower/toilet block. Pleasant 20-minute walk down a quiet lane to Skelwith Bridge. 45 minute walk,......Read more.

Nice extensive site in woods. Flat hard-standing pitches. Extremely well designed, warm and clean shower/toilet block. Pleasant 20-minute walk down a quiet lane to Skelwith Bridge. 45 minute walk, partly alongside a busy road, into Ambleside. The whole site is well looked-after. Lots of static caravans/chalets but they are scattered and hidden amongst the woods. There is a nice looking playground. Rainy weather prevented us from making enough use of the local area's offerings....Read less.

"Enjoy the Lakes in a Luxury Setting"

Mr D Harrison - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

13/10/2020

Skelwith is more than a motorhome/caravan site it has the most spectacular landscape and grounds. It must be the most beautiful site in operation. Even the rain does not affect your site due to the......Read more.

Skelwith is more than a motorhome/caravan site it has the most spectacular landscape and grounds. It must be the most beautiful site in operation. Even the rain does not affect your site due to the hardstanding. Skelwith will be a hard place to beat for its beauty and woodland walks. Amazing ....Read less.

"Hideaway holiday"

Miss K Clayton - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

13/10/2020

Having spent many happy holidays here in the 70's and early 80's I was not disappointed on returning. Incredibly welcoming staff from the start, impressive set up with our hideaway and great to find......Read more.

Having spent many happy holidays here in the 70's and early 80's I was not disappointed on returning. Incredibly welcoming staff from the start, impressive set up with our hideaway and great to find that the site hadn't resorted to commercialism. Perfect setting and location.

...Read less.

"First time staying here and very impressed"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

13/10/2020

We booked the Hideaway for 3 nights last minute due to the changes in lockdown rules meaning we couldn't stay with family at a holiday cottage in Ambleside. But we were so impressed we would......Read more.

We booked the Hideaway for 3 nights last minute due to the changes in lockdown rules meaning we couldn't stay with family at a holiday cottage in Ambleside. But we were so impressed we would definitely come back again!

The hideaway was beautiful inside and lovely and warm. Everything was set up perfectly when we got there, even dish soap and sponges etc. The free coffee and drinks were definitely appreciated.

The bed was extremely comfy and we slept well every night. One of the days we did a 4 hour walk around the area for which the campsite is perfectly located. It was really easy to get to Ambleside for rainy days shopping and we felt really secure on-site.

The staff were really friendly considering such difficulty they must be going through right now. We felt really safe with all the rules in place. The check in video sent out before hand was really useful!

The only thing I would suggest for the future would be to get wifi for the hideaway as the signal isn't great there. But then that's exactly why people like to get away so it wasn't a big deal for us, just something people should be aware of.

Thanks so much for a lovely stay, we'll definitely be back!...Read less.

"Great site, amazing location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

13/10/2020

Very difficult to find any faults with this great site, only one would be that at over £30 per night (off peak) it’s at a price point where I would expect water on my pitch, that said we will......Read more.

Very difficult to find any faults with this great site, only one would be that at over £30 per night (off peak) it’s at a price point where I would expect water on my pitch, that said we will definitely return. Location and local area is stunning....Read less.

"Nicest wash block ever seen"

Dr F Chaudhri - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

13/10/2020

A very spacious tidy high quality site with large pitches .

"Attractive woodland setting"

Mrs S Kenny - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

13/10/2020

We loved the woodland setting and the easy access to country lanes and footpaths. We enjoyed cycling out of the back gate onto quiet country lanes and cycling to Tarn Hows. We also walked down the......Read more.

We loved the woodland setting and the easy access to country lanes and footpaths. We enjoyed cycling out of the back gate onto quiet country lanes and cycling to Tarn Hows. We also walked down the hill to Skelwith Bridge and picked up the footpath that runs the full length of the Langdale Valley. Also easy walk to Ambleside and Windermere lake....Read less.

"Great place to stay"

Mr A Rooks - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

11/10/2020

Loved the park and area. Will be back.

© 2006 - 2021 CampStead