Ardtower Caravan Park

185 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 185 reviews in the last 12 months

96% would recommend this site

95% would stay here again

Excellent

82%

Very Good

15%

Average

2%

Poor

1%

Terrible

1%

"Nice place"

Mr. M Jamieson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

19/09/2020

A nice enough little park but a little bit too cramped with pitches quite close together. Access arrangements are the same. Felt like the owners want to maximise pitches over everything else. OK......Read more.

A nice enough little park but a little bit too cramped with pitches quite close together. Access arrangements are the same. Felt like the owners want to maximise pitches over everything else. OK for a one or two night short stay if you're passing through though....Read less.

"Sept break"

Mr J Brown - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

Great site we'll located easy access to everywhere great views clean tidy friendly

"Lovely stay at Ardtower"

Mr J Hadden - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

18/09/2020

we had a really nice stay at Ardtower on one of their fully serviced pitches with our motorhome. The onsite facilities were immaculate and clean which really gives you confidence especially at the......Read more.

we had a really nice stay at Ardtower on one of their fully serviced pitches with our motorhome. The onsite facilities were immaculate and clean which really gives you confidence especially at the moment with the covid situation. The staff were really helpful at check in. The ice cream van that visited when we stayed was a added bonus. We will certainly be back...Read less.

"Very good site"

Mr B Laws - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

This site is very well organised, immaculately clean, and provides excellent views ( if weather allows).

The staff were very helpful and although we only stayed for one night in transit it would be......Read more.

This site is very well organised, immaculately clean, and provides excellent views ( if weather allows).

The staff were very helpful and although we only stayed for one night in transit it would be very suitable for longer stays. Maybe a little pricey....Read less.

"Spotlessly clean!"

Mr G Youngson - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

The only gripe i have is that the wifi is very poor at the top end of the caravan park, thats all, the place (for us) is fantastic, we love it.

"Lovely clean site with great views"

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Camped for a week to tour the area. Site was compact, clean and tidy with good Covid control arrangements. Very good hot showers and laundry facilities but limited food supplies. Superb views but......Read more.

Camped for a week to tour the area. Site was compact, clean and tidy with good Covid control arrangements. Very good hot showers and laundry facilities but limited food supplies. Superb views but exposed on windy days....Read less.

"Will Definitely Be Back"

Mrs J Morris - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

This was our first visit to Ardtower and the next one can't come quick enough. We love Inverness and Ardtower will now be our go to park excellent.

"Autumn break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

Lovely site with great views ,friendly staff and very clean facilities,especially the new private bathrooms

"The best toilet/shower block in 55 years of caravaning."

Mr J Dugdale - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

I have been using caravan sites for 55 years, initially with my parents and then with my own family, and have owned my own site, and the toilet/shower block facilities are definitely the best I have......Read more.

I have been using caravan sites for 55 years, initially with my parents and then with my own family, and have owned my own site, and the toilet/shower block facilities are definitely the best I have used in this country and abroad. The whole site has been beautifully laid out and the views are stunning....Read less.

"Ideal location for Loch Ness"

P Lewis - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Stopped here for two nights to recharge batteries after coming up from the south. Close to Loch Ness and was a prime location for the start of the NC 500.

"Our first stay on this fabulous site"

A Gray - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

This was a first for us staying on a camp site , with our camper van ... BRILLIANT!!!! Faultless , exceptionally clean, beautiful shower and toilets , wonderful hair styling and make up station if......Read more.

This was a first for us staying on a camp site , with our camper van ... BRILLIANT!!!! Faultless , exceptionally clean, beautiful shower and toilets , wonderful hair styling and make up station if you need it. The grounds were immaculate, bins everywhere for rubbish and superset bins for dog poop if people could be bothered to use them ( some unfortunately not ! ) WD ... BRILLIANT. Excellent facilities to empty your Loos . I could go on and on , it was all so lovely and well thought out .. I would like to thank Ardtower for having us . You have a wonderful site 10 out of 10 with sea views .. I wish you all the very best .. THANK YOU XXX...Read less.

"Overnight stay"

Mr D Ferguson - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

15/09/2020

Lovely clean site just a bit off the beaten track. Very nice views over Inverness and l loved the enclosed dog walking area. Perhaps a bit more expensive than other sites but the washing/ toilet......Read more.

Lovely clean site just a bit off the beaten track. Very nice views over Inverness and l loved the enclosed dog walking area. Perhaps a bit more expensive than other sites but the washing/ toilet facilities are excellent...Read less.

"Great weekend in Ardtower"

Mr W McKinley - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

14/09/2020

Had a fabulous 3 day stay at Ardtower. Took the bus into Inverness centre for some retail therapy - very easy with bus stops very close. We managed to walk to the Culloden Moor Visitor Centre but it......Read more.

Had a fabulous 3 day stay at Ardtower. Took the bus into Inverness centre for some retail therapy - very easy with bus stops very close. We managed to walk to the Culloden Moor Visitor Centre but it meant either a longish walk along a busy 'B' road on the grass verge before a footpath was found or a very circuitous route through Culloden Woods - it would have been good to have a footpath all the way to the Visotor Centre.

The site is fabulous - super helpful staff and very clean. One of the nicest toilet/shower block we have ever used....Read less.

"NC 500"

Mrs M Kerr - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

Started off here on NC500 and wasn’t disappointed. Staff really lovely and helpful. I merely went to enquire if they sold wine ( they didn’t) but was met with an offer of them going to the local......Read more.

Started off here on NC500 and wasn’t disappointed. Staff really lovely and helpful. I merely went to enquire if they sold wine ( they didn’t) but was met with an offer of them going to the local store to get one for us and deliver it to us on our pitch. That is what I call going above and beyond. Lovely couple and a great site to start or finish your NC500 on. Would definitely return...Read less.

"Great Base for exploring Scotland"

Mrs V Hornby - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

14/09/2020

We chose Ardtower because of it location on the edge of Inverness. great for the North Coast 500, or staying on the East Coast . We camped with a large 9 man tent, even though at first we thought......Read more.

We chose Ardtower because of it location on the edge of Inverness. great for the North Coast 500, or staying on the East Coast . We camped with a large 9 man tent, even though at first we thought the hard standing was not suitable, it was great as it kept the Bottom of the Tent clean & dry.

Very secure site, great wash room facilities, and pot wash facilities. as this is a site more for caravan's and camper vans the facilities were never over crowed. Elaine and Iain were very good host's. great recommendations, and even gave Peter a Sponge to wash his Motorbike. we will be returning to Ardtower in the Future. Victoria & Peter Hornby...Read less.

"Brilliant site"

Mr J Deft - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

14/09/2020

Nice, clean and tidy site with easy access and friendly staff.

"Ardtower Caravan Park"

Mr C John - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

13/09/2020

Only stayed one night on our way north. The site is in a great location overlooking the ness river a beautiful place to stay, access and easy to find off Culloden Road

"Best Site I Have been to."

Mr P Dawson - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

12/09/2020

This site is very well planned and the facilities are top notch. It is very well maintained and the site I used had fresh water and drainage. The views are stunning. On a more humerous note , the......Read more.

This site is very well planned and the facilities are top notch. It is very well maintained and the site I used had fresh water and drainage. The views are stunning. On a more humerous note , the owner describes himself as being called locally as 'Doc Martin'. Although a man of few words he is quite passionate about the sire and has firm plans to expand. If you are staying in the area do not go past this site....Read less.

"Fabulous campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

12/09/2020

Very clean and neat. Loved the ladies toilets, all sparkly. Good facilities. Secure with a code on the gate to get in the campsite. Showers nice and warm, the only thing is you have to keep pressing......Read more.

Very clean and neat. Loved the ladies toilets, all sparkly. Good facilities. Secure with a code on the gate to get in the campsite. Showers nice and warm, the only thing is you have to keep pressing a button to keep it going, it switches off a bit too soon for me....Read less.

"Lovely camp site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

11/09/2020

First time here, lovely views, very friendly helpful staff. Excellent site. Thank you.

"Great view from the site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

11/09/2020

Very easy to find. Helpful and friendly staff. Very clean and COVID conscious which made using the facilities comfortable

"Nice Site"

Mr G Hancock - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

11/09/2020

Spent 2 night here staff very friendly and helpful very clean and well looked after site will be returning in the future

"Clean and great facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

For what it lacks in character it is made up for in outstanding facilities and Is very clean. We would go back as a stop off again.

"A good stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

10/09/2020

Well-run site with friendly and accomodationg staff. Great view.

"Great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

09/09/2020

The park is very conveniently located close to the main road network for touring the north of Scotland and almost next door to the famous Culloden battlefield.

The site is spacious, neat, tidy and......Read more.

The park is very conveniently located close to the main road network for touring the north of Scotland and almost next door to the famous Culloden battlefield.

The site is spacious, neat, tidy and well laid out with very good sanitary facilities. It is well managed in respect of the Covid 19 requirements and there were no safety concerns whatsoever....Read less.

"Good site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

09/09/2020

Let down by staff attitude, not very friendly or welcoming! Pitches very tight to reverse into and very uneven, you will need chucks/blocks. The positives are a nice clean site with great views. ......Read more.

Let down by staff attitude, not very friendly or welcoming! Pitches very tight to reverse into and very uneven, you will need chucks/blocks. The positives are a nice clean site with great views. Security good. On arrival some were a bit confused where to park and blocked cars trying to leave. Good children’s play park....Read less.

"Great site in a perfect location for town, countryside and lots of wildlife"

Mrs R Nowak - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

09/09/2020

We loved Ardtower. It is situated right on the edge of town, so you have very easy (a few minutes away) access to retail parks, supermarkets and restaurants. The other way, you are close to open......Read more.

We loved Ardtower. It is situated right on the edge of town, so you have very easy (a few minutes away) access to retail parks, supermarkets and restaurants. The other way, you are close to open countryside, Culloden Battlefield, woodland walks and easy driving to the Loch Ness area. From the site the view is across the Mpray Firth to the highlands. In fact we drove to Rosemarkie in about 20 minutes. During our 5 day visit we enjoyed dolphin spotting at Chanonry Point (Traveller Tip, park in Rosemarkie and walk along the beach, avoid the parking at Chanonry Point at all costs!) The other place we visited was Rogie Falls. It was just beaufiful and a lovely walk to reach it. We saw a number of Salmon jumping up stream, incredible! We also drove down to Foyers, on the east side of Loch Ness. We saw several large stags, some other deer beside the road and loads of Red Kites. If nature is of interest to you, Artower site is well situated for you to enjoy it all....Read less.

"Fabulous site"

Mr D McNey - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

08/09/2020

Great site - excellent facilities and management/staff

"Exceptionally Clean and tidy"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

07/09/2020

The park was kept very clean and tidy. All of the facilities were also exceptionally clean and really good. This is obviously the most important factor in the current climate. Besides this, the staff......Read more.

The park was kept very clean and tidy. All of the facilities were also exceptionally clean and really good. This is obviously the most important factor in the current climate. Besides this, the staff were very helpful and friendly and having water right beside the parking site was super handy. Very easy to check in and the views were lovely!...Read less.

"A"

Mrs M Conway - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

06/09/2020

Aa

"Motor how pitch"

A Johnstone - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

05/09/2020

Doing the NC500 booked a pitch was more than happy with the site and cleanliness of the facilities would recommend anybody thinking of booking do it you will not be disappointed can only describe it......Read more.

Doing the NC500 booked a pitch was more than happy with the site and cleanliness of the facilities would recommend anybody thinking of booking do it you will not be disappointed can only describe it as amazing...Read less.

"On the road Again"

Mr J Harris - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

First time in a Motorhome. Site excellent , clean and tidy, facilities very good and looked new.Spent a night in Inverness for a meal.Didnt use the playpark, getting on a bit !!😁 I think for the......Read more.

First time in a Motorhome. Site excellent , clean and tidy, facilities very good and looked new.Spent a night in Inverness for a meal.Didnt use the playpark, getting on a bit !!😁 I think for the price it's good value.Will return and thankyou.

Jimmy and Andrea...Read less.

"Very helpful and friendly staff"

Mr C Heaven - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

03/09/2020

Booked online, on arrival staff very helpful and friendly, they made sure all COVID Rules were followed. Also Showed and discussed Were I was to park up etc. Everything on sight was very clean and......Read more.

Booked online, on arrival staff very helpful and friendly, they made sure all COVID Rules were followed. Also Showed and discussed Were I was to park up etc. Everything on sight was very clean and tidy. Can’t fault anything from arrival to leaving.. big thank you

...Read less.

"Beautiful"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

03/09/2020

Very beautiful and worth it! Staff wasn’t as welcoming as first thought. But our stay was brilliant.

"Weekend stay"

Mr H Macleod - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

03/09/2020

Great location, near CUlloden battlefield.

Lovely welcoming staff and nice set up.

Clean toilets and showers, very nice, enjoyed the music.

Surprisingly quite sheltered in an elevated position for......Read more.

Great location, near CUlloden battlefield.

Lovely welcoming staff and nice set up.

Clean toilets and showers, very nice, enjoyed the music.

Surprisingly quite sheltered in an elevated position for great views....Read less.

"Cookies visit"

Mr T Cook - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

03/09/2020

Nice campsite, handy for Culloden Battlefield and bus into Inverness. Also good for cycling , cycled to Loch Ness no bother. Nice facilities, modern and clean. Definitely recommend.

"First time at Ardtower"

Mr M Clark - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

03/09/2020

Absolutely brilliant, couldn't fault anything. We will definitely be going back and thoroughly recommend Ardtower.

"Fantastic site"

Mrs W Sinclair - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

A fantastic site if your looking for somewhere near inverness to stay in we have stayed here a good few times now and will be returning great clean and tidy site as are the facilities and staff are......Read more.

A fantastic site if your looking for somewhere near inverness to stay in we have stayed here a good few times now and will be returning great clean and tidy site as are the facilities and staff are always there if you need any extra help fantastic site...Read less.

"Lovely site."

Mrs D Jones - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

02/09/2020

Spent a week here and enjoyed the visit, the site is clean and well maintained, staff are friendly and helpful and Inverness is beautiful. My only concern is the size and location of the tent......Read more.

Spent a week here and enjoyed the visit, the site is clean and well maintained, staff are friendly and helpful and Inverness is beautiful. My only concern is the size and location of the tent pitches. We have a 4 person air tent which is fairly modest in size and this just about fitted on the pitch (Astro-turf) some of the larger family tents would seriously struggle. The pitches are also furthest away from the shower block which can be a bit frustrating when needed in the middle of the night. Apart from that the site is excellent....Read less.

"Lovely site! Highly recommend"

Mr L Nicholson - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

01/09/2020

Lovely welcoming, friendly owners and a beautiful site, well kept, clean and perfect facilities. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay with two young children; the local area has so much to do and see, though......Read more.

Lovely welcoming, friendly owners and a beautiful site, well kept, clean and perfect facilities. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay with two young children; the local area has so much to do and see, though our kids would have happily just stayed in the play park at the site all day....Read less.

"Very Clean site And well maintained pitches"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

31/08/2020

This an a excellent site but the only thing thaT I’d up grade to make it in comparisons to other sites in this class is tarmac road on Around site as the small Stones are very noisy when people are......Read more.

This an a excellent site but the only thing thaT I’d up grade to make it in comparisons to other sites in this class is tarmac road on Around site as the small Stones are very noisy when people are walking around site back and forth to facilities and when vehicles are driving around site they skid on them

If it was tarmac and speed bumps this would be excellent and much cleaner too when wet...Read less.

"Very happy stay"

V Magnall - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

30/08/2020

A very lovely campsite , Ian and Elaine nice, cheerful and helpful. Well situated for all the beauty and interesting places near and far . Views from the site are gorgeous. Would gladly stay again.

"Good quality facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

30/08/2020

The site is a bit more expensive than many but the quality of the facilities justifies this. It has a commanding view of the Moray Firth.

Our pitch was not flat and we had to borrow levellers as......Read more.

The site is a bit more expensive than many but the quality of the facilities justifies this. It has a commanding view of the Moray Firth.

Our pitch was not flat and we had to borrow levellers as our fridge failed due to the slope. Will remember to take our own next time!...Read less.

"Overnight last minute stay"

Mrs S Chipperfield - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

30/08/2020

We booked the park while on a tour of the area in a motorhome. It was a great little park. Everything is very new, clean and well cared for. It was a great location for our visit to Inverness and......Read more.

We booked the park while on a tour of the area in a motorhome. It was a great little park. Everything is very new, clean and well cared for. It was a great location for our visit to Inverness and Culloden. Thank you to everyone who works there....Read less.

"First visit"

P Griffiths - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

29/08/2020

This was our visit to the site which gave us a very pleasant surprise. Everything about was excellent, however if management/owners would consider less additional charges in addition to the pitch......Read more.

This was our visit to the site which gave us a very pleasant surprise. Everything about was excellent, however if management/owners would consider less additional charges in addition to the pitch fees this site would be at the top of our list.

I can only say say that it was well worth the 400 plus mile trip from our home to the site and I'll make a return visit....Read less.

"Excellent Location"

K Walker - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

29/08/2020

The views were stunning to wake up to every morning, close to Inverness. Staff very friendly, toilet & showers excellent. Will return again.

"August 8 night stay 2020"

Mr M Durno - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

28/08/2020

Pitches are small and ours was quite steeply sloping. Other campers were parking on the access roads making it difficult to enter and leave. Big pot hole on entry to site gives a poor 1st impression.......Read more.

Pitches are small and ours was quite steeply sloping. Other campers were parking on the access roads making it difficult to enter and leave. Big pot hole on entry to site gives a poor 1st impression. Big rocks and wooden marker logs Rob small pitches of vital space - we couldn't put up our full size awning because of this. Over priced at £35 per night especially as Caravan Club site is quieter and roomier....Read less.

"Camper vans/ caravans"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

28/08/2020

I feel that priority to the best pitches is give to camper van. I find this annoying as for many many year it is caravans that have kept camp sites going.

However the site is good and I will return......Read more.

I feel that priority to the best pitches is give to camper van. I find this annoying as for many many year it is caravans that have kept camp sites going.

However the site is good and I will return making sure I get a better site.

...Read less.

"Disappointed"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

28/08/2020

We stayed at Ardtower Invrrness in our tent. The site has the most awful astroturf in place for tents. All the astroturf is one size and raised up by one foot, no matter what size your tent is. ......Read more.

We stayed at Ardtower Invrrness in our tent. The site has the most awful astroturf in place for tents. All the astroturf is one size and raised up by one foot, no matter what size your tent is. Our tent was bigger than the size of the astroturf so we had a step within the tent. Tent pegs struggle to be hammered into it, resulting in many bent pegs. It was very noisy to walk around in the tent with this artificial grass underneath. Really bad idea!

Also despite Scotland still being in stage 3 of coronavirus, Ardtower crammed in as many caravans and tents in as they could, there are set spaces for everyone but it's set out as one caravan, one car, one caravan, one car and so on, with no other space in between. The site was full and overcrowded, there were even 2 tents housing 2 families in one tent space and because of the CCTV camera right next to them, the campsite knew and allowed it.

We had just come from another camp site that was also full but each tent had lots of room between them and didnt feel crammed in. Obviously profit comes before customers at Ardtower....Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead