Ruthern Valley Holidays

141 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 141 reviews in the last 12 months

99% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

71%

Very Good

24%

Average

5%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Lovely for short breaks"

Mrs G Hall - Stayed with family, Nov 2017

24/11/2017

Lovely setting for a short break. Easily accessible to visiting any part of Cornwall and a real gem hidden in the beautiful countryside. We will definitely be back for another visit soon.

"Another lovely stay at Ruthern Valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

09/11/2017

Second time staying there this year and we booked again for next year. A nice site, accommodation and very helpful owners.

Very handy and quiet location. About 1 mile to the nice Camel Trail for......Read more.

Second time staying there this year and we booked again for next year. A nice site, accommodation and very helpful owners.

Very handy and quiet location. About 1 mile to the nice Camel Trail for walking and cycling. Would thoroughly recommend it....Read less.

"Great place to stay for peace & quiet"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

06/11/2017

Spent a week at Ruthernbridge lodge and it was delightful. Would recommend.

"Will be back soon!"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Oct 2017

03/11/2017

Stayed in a Megapod October 2017, utterly loved it! So peaceful and tranquil on site, loved sitting in the cost warm pod watching the autumn leaves fall and the birds flutter around.

Geographical......Read more.

Stayed in a Megapod October 2017, utterly loved it! So peaceful and tranquil on site, loved sitting in the cost warm pod watching the autumn leaves fall and the birds flutter around.

Geographical location is good - near equidistant from plenty of places to explore on the north or south coast or surrounding areas inland - spoilt for choice for outings really, or enjoying podlife and not going far at all! Price was great - excellent value for money. And the Megapod itself - brilliant!! Big enough not to be cramped but small enough to be, well, a comfortable glamping pod... Very much appreciated the comforts of toilet/kitchenette and electricity/heating/wifi - I was sad to leave and that's the best sign of a good break - reluctant to hand over the key to close our holiday but reassured the lovely, friendly member of staff (owner?) that helped us on arrival and departure that we'll definitely be back.

Peaceful retreat away from the world, special, quirky alternative to a hotel base or a combination of the two - spot on! Thank you!...Read less.

"Great back to basics camping experience"

R Clark - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

02/11/2017

A superb little site. We stayed in a wig wam which for a first time experience was superb. Comfortable, warm and cosy. Free Wi-fi was also a added bonus. Excellent customer service from the owners.......Read more.

A superb little site. We stayed in a wig wam which for a first time experience was superb. Comfortable, warm and cosy. Free Wi-fi was also a added bonus. Excellent customer service from the owners. We hired wetsuits on site and the trust of paying for them upon our return from the beech was a breath of fresh air. We will definitely be returning in the future....Read less.

"Caching in Cornwall"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

31/10/2017

Perfect spot for us to attempt the 360° compass series

"AUTUMN HALF-TERM"

Mrs. L Rhodes - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

30/10/2017

Relaxing break in a very chilled peaceful area. The supplies in the on site shop are reasonably priced and good quality. Plenty of space for children to run around. Perfectly placed to join the camel......Read more.

Relaxing break in a very chilled peaceful area. The supplies in the on site shop are reasonably priced and good quality. Plenty of space for children to run around. Perfectly placed to join the camel trail....Read less.

"Great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

30/10/2017

Great location and facilities

"October weekend"

Chapman Burrell - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

21/10/2017

We four and our baby grandson were attending a friend's wedding so Ruthern Valley was well placed for us. Delighted to find such reasonably priced accomodation for us all. Am now thinking that our......Read more.

We four and our baby grandson were attending a friend's wedding so Ruthern Valley was well placed for us. Delighted to find such reasonably priced accomodation for us all. Am now thinking that our other, teenage, grand-children would enjoy the park and surrounding activities. We could be back!...Read less.

"very nice surroundings for a peaceful break."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

14/10/2017

Lovely, well maintained grounds. A variety of types of accommodation, well spaced and equipped.

Will come back for another break.

"Nice Location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

13/10/2017

Nice and Quiet

"Pod Holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

12/10/2017

.

"Rural idyll"

Mrs A Radford - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

06/10/2017

So peaceful, beautiful surroundings, lovely wildlife. Not for those that want a hectic nightlife. Ideally placed for exploring Cornwall. Nothing ever a problem. Only criticism? It's a long haul from......Read more.

So peaceful, beautiful surroundings, lovely wildlife. Not for those that want a hectic nightlife. Ideally placed for exploring Cornwall. Nothing ever a problem. Only criticism? It's a long haul from Yorkshire, but we'll be back!...Read less.

"Exceeded expectations"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

05/10/2017

We arrived and checked in with a very helpful friendly gentleman that was looking after the things while the owners are away. We had some friends that had no where to stay and he helped accommodate......Read more.

We arrived and checked in with a very helpful friendly gentleman that was looking after the things while the owners are away. We had some friends that had no where to stay and he helped accommodate them without any hesitation.

Showers were very clean and warm.

Will definitely return and recommend....Read less.

"Rural idyll"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

05/10/2017

Our journey to the site took us through the rundown town of Bodmin but it was such a pleasant surprise to get out into the countryside surrounding it. Ruthernbridge is well off the beaten track and......Read more.

Our journey to the site took us through the rundown town of Bodmin but it was such a pleasant surprise to get out into the countryside surrounding it. Ruthernbridge is well off the beaten track and the site suffers little in the way of noise, allowing us to enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside. The site does not endeavour to appeal to those seeking activities onsite but with cycle hire available many can enjoy more leisurely travel to some of nearby coastal resorts....Read less.

"Brilliant"

Mr S Brimble - Stayed with family, Sep 2017

04/10/2017

Lovely place best holiday park

"Charming, quiet camping and chalet site in the countryside"

Mr M Morris - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

04/10/2017

In the middle of the countryside between Bodmin and Wadebridge, Ruthern Valley Holidays is a charming and secluded site that offers everything you need for a wonderful stay. Friendly hosts and a well......Read more.

In the middle of the countryside between Bodmin and Wadebridge, Ruthern Valley Holidays is a charming and secluded site that offers everything you need for a wonderful stay. Friendly hosts and a well equipped shop make the experience pleasant. The grounds are well tended and looked good for camping, the camp pods and the chalets, the chalets were nicely set and tidy too. Being so central meant that many locations weren't more than a 30 min drive away - Wadebridge (nearest Tesco I think), Padstow, Polezeth, Newquay and obviously Bodmin all relatively close-by. You were also no more than a 20 min drive from the A30 to get deeper into Cornwall quickly. Would highly recommend a visit here, you won't be disappointed and we'll definitely be back!!...Read less.

"Beautiful quiet campsite!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

26/09/2017

We were passing through the area and came across this wonderful campsite. Really beautiful little site with private bays for campers available. Toilets and showers clean and modern. Washing up area......Read more.

We were passing through the area and came across this wonderful campsite. Really beautiful little site with private bays for campers available. Toilets and showers clean and modern. Washing up area is more than adequate with plenty of room and hot water. Little shop is nicely stocked. Staff were lovely and even helped us out with a bit of engine oil for the van! Although we came to this campsite by chance I would definately be back!...Read less.

"Perfect getaway"

Miss M Seymour - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

26/09/2017

We only live in Newquay but staying at ruthern valley made us feel like we were a million miles away, great value for money (especially in comparison to other campsites) perfect well equipt mega pod......Read more.

We only live in Newquay but staying at ruthern valley made us feel like we were a million miles away, great value for money (especially in comparison to other campsites) perfect well equipt mega pod with gorgeous quiet surroundings, we loved staying and are planning our next trip to stay again within the next few months! Thank you :)...Read less.

"Lovely stay at a quiet and clean site"

Miss T Riggall - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

22/09/2017

We had a peaceful stay here which was why we booked a quiet site.

The wigwam we stayed in was clean and comfortable.

The facilities were fine and what we needed.

it was good value for money and the......Read more.

We had a peaceful stay here which was why we booked a quiet site.

The wigwam we stayed in was clean and comfortable.

The facilities were fine and what we needed.

it was good value for money and the staff were helpful.

Would recommend to others....Read less.

"Glamping (pod)"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2017

21/09/2017

Very nice and quit place to stay. Good and clean facilities and everything very nicely set up. Great for nature!

"A perfect place to stay to relax and chill out"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

20/09/2017

It is a lovely site. So peaceful, well kept and a great place to recharge!

"Log cabin"

Mr M Lawrance - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

16/09/2017

The cabin was adequate but a little 'tired' The mattresses were the most uncomfortable I've slept on in all my years of travelling.

"Great location for a weekend away!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

16/09/2017

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay at Ruthern Valley campsite in the mega pod. There was everything that we needed for a few days holiday. We were greeted by the friendly staff at reception......Read more.

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay at Ruthern Valley campsite in the mega pod. There was everything that we needed for a few days holiday. We were greeted by the friendly staff at reception and had an information booklet at the pod which included all the information needed about the site and local area which was very helpful, although may need to be updated as one of the walks took us in the wrong direction! The pod was very clean, could not find any faults with cleanliness. However the showers could have possibly been cleaner as there was some mud and leaves inside the cubicle and cobwebs, although it is an outside shower so was to be expected. The local fish and chip shop was lovely although would have liked to be closer to more beaches and local attractions as we had to drive about 30 minutes to most attractions. The campsite is surrounded by many narrow uneven roads on the way in which may limit accessibility. A lovely 3 night stay and would recommend to anyone!...Read less.

"Escape to the country"

K Hopes - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

16/09/2017

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2017., curtesy of a glamping voucher given to us as a present. We had about 20 sites to choose from around the country and chose this one as we love Cornwall and......Read more.

Stayed here for 2 nights in September 2017., curtesy of a glamping voucher given to us as a present. We had about 20 sites to choose from around the country and chose this one as we love Cornwall and Bodmin is fairly central. Had a warm welcome and directions to our glamping wigwam. There are 4 wigwams and several other types of accomodation, lodges, pods and a main field for camping.

The wigwam was cosy...weather sunshine and showers but the wigwam was well insulated. There is a heater which we put on for an hour and then did not need to use again. Microwave, kettle and fridge were useful luxuries. Toilet and shower facilities were close by and plentiful. There are also washing machines (we didn't need to use these) Mattresses were comfortable and we slept well. Bench table outside front door for alfresco eating but again we didn't use these. Site was lovely, in woodland with a small shop which sold the basics. We ate out in Roche, the Victoria Inn, about 12 mins drive, which we would recommend. The location of Ruthern valley is good for both the North (30 min drive to Newquay) and South (40 min drive to St Austell) Cornwall. I would recommend this site if you want to get away from it all and go back to nature but still have good links to places of interest....Read less.

"Excellent secluded location"

Mr A Bedford - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

14/09/2017

A nice quiet tranquil site. we stayed in our caravan, and found it very handy for cycling on the camel trail to Padstow. The lanes on the approach were a ittle narrow for the caravan, but not too......Read more.

A nice quiet tranquil site. we stayed in our caravan, and found it very handy for cycling on the camel trail to Padstow. The lanes on the approach were a ittle narrow for the caravan, but not too bad.

One piece of advice - if there is a choice of pitches, go for the middle of the field - the squirrels knocked acorns from the top of the tree onto our roof and we jumped every time at the noise!...Read less.

"Mega pod"

Miss T Murkin - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

12/09/2017

Mega pods are spacious clean and very well kept ! Had everything you need for a cozy break away, Would stay in them again. On site showers could do with some maintenance very dated and water was......Read more.

Mega pods are spacious clean and very well kept ! Had everything you need for a cozy break away, Would stay in them again. On site showers could do with some maintenance very dated and water was running cold. Other than that had a lovely stay.Thankyou....Read less.

"Great Skys"

K Stamp - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

08/09/2017

The campsite is not crowded, quite after 9 when the kids all go to sleep. Great star watching. The owners were really helpful. The shop is good apart from it could do with a bit of veg and fruit.......Read more.

The campsite is not crowded, quite after 9 when the kids all go to sleep. Great star watching. The owners were really helpful. The shop is good apart from it could do with a bit of veg and fruit. There does need to be another wash room that has a sink in and chairs In the shower rooms.

There is no mobile reception so not so good for teenagers but they coped! ...

Close to both coasts, Heligan, Eden and Lanhydrock.

Lovely friendly site....Read less.

"Fab week"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

08/09/2017

Great quiet campsite, with space for the kids to roam free safely. Lovely staff and good location for access to north and south coast's. The boys cycling down for warm bread/ croissants in the morning

"Small and friendly"

Mr T Sanderson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

06/09/2017

Ruthern Valley

"Super family campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

06/09/2017

A lovely safe site and at the same time great for the children to go off and explore. The right balance of facilities (a shop, washing machines, tumble dryers) but not taking away the camping /......Read more.

A lovely safe site and at the same time great for the children to go off and explore. The right balance of facilities (a shop, washing machines, tumble dryers) but not taking away the camping / outside experience. We have visited many times and there are many more visits to come....Read less.

"Ruthern Valley Wigwam"

Mrs G Lawson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

05/09/2017

We had a lovely stay in one of your wigwam. Very spacious and comfortable inside. Quiet campsite. Would definitely recommend.

"Close to Camel Trail"

Miss Y Fox - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

04/09/2017

Very convenient for the Camel Trail. I stayed in a wooden lodge with my 3 children. The lodge was ok, could do with a revamp, damp, a bedroom door hanging off and a bedside light and outside light......Read more.

Very convenient for the Camel Trail. I stayed in a wooden lodge with my 3 children. The lodge was ok, could do with a revamp, damp, a bedroom door hanging off and a bedside light and outside light not working.

The kids had a great time every evening making friends, playing in the park and seeing the animals.

Not sure if I'd go back until updated more....Read less.

"Quiet, beautiful campsite very well taken care of!"

B Clarkson - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

04/09/2017

This has been our favourite campsite this year, we will be back. Piches were flat, it was a quiet site despite lots of families. We had a restless nights sleep but from what we assume was a hen group......Read more.

This has been our favourite campsite this year, we will be back. Piches were flat, it was a quiet site despite lots of families. We had a restless nights sleep but from what we assume was a hen group though coming home at 1am drunk, but thats not your fault. The pitches were great and flat, I thought the wash facilities were a real draw and the toilets maybe didnt live up to the shower/kitchen facilities but that is really nit picking. We also loved the chalkboard with information. Great central location for exploring Padstow, Fowey, Newquay and Eden so was exactly what we wanted as a couple....Read less.

"Glamping in Cornwall"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

03/09/2017

We were delighted with the experience we had for four nights - too brief to do justice to all that was on offer. The information in our accommodation was brilliant and signposted several really......Read more.

We were delighted with the experience we had for four nights - too brief to do justice to all that was on offer. The information in our accommodation was brilliant and signposted several really useful tips including a fabulous family beach. Thank you very much for such hospitality and helpfulness, we definitely intend to be back!...Read less.

"Short stay wished it could have been longer!"

P Walden - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

02/09/2017

As soon as we arrived at the park we knew we had made the right choice, safe, clean and family friendly all wrapped up in the most beautiful setting

The Walden's

"Great Getaway"

A Tomuli - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

01/09/2017

Last minute trip to get away from the grind. Found this via Air BnB. Comfortable, clean and cosy.

"Summer 2017"

D Field - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

31/08/2017

Spent a week in August, expecting a busy week, although the site was busy we had a relaxing week. Kids loved the park and trail through the woods. Location is great for exploring both coast lines and......Read more.

Spent a week in August, expecting a busy week, although the site was busy we had a relaxing week. Kids loved the park and trail through the woods. Location is great for exploring both coast lines and the camel trail. Site facilities are well placed to get away from the rat race, they are not luxury but theye are fit for purpose and functional. Great site to visit Cornwall with the kids....Read less.

"Awesome place!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

30/08/2017

Best campsite we've ever been to! Enough said.

"Our stay at Ruthern Valley"

R Wieringa - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

29/08/2017

We had a very pleasant stay at R V. It was easy to find and the campsite is very green and friendly. We hired a log cabin. We had a problem with one of the matrasses, the staff helped us very quickly......Read more.

We had a very pleasant stay at R V. It was easy to find and the campsite is very green and friendly. We hired a log cabin. We had a problem with one of the matrasses, the staff helped us very quickly and friendly. The environment is beautiful and it's easy to go to the sea....Read less.

"Idyllic place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

29/08/2017

I used to visit Ruthern Valley every year as a child and have just started visiting again as an adult. It is an idyllic, beautiful place to stay – it feels like a hidden secret, away from the hustle......Read more.

I used to visit Ruthern Valley every year as a child and have just started visiting again as an adult. It is an idyllic, beautiful place to stay – it feels like a hidden secret, away from the hustle and bustle of Cornwall's tourist hotspots. The owners have done a great job maintaining and improving the site, with new facilities like bike hire, fresh bread and pastries and a campfire area. The only improvement I would suggest is having more toilets and showers for campers. Would highly recommend!...Read less.

"Sustainable camping site, peaceful yet friendly"

A Holmes - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

28/08/2017

Smaller than expected but not disappointing, beautifully set deep in a Cornish valley. Our tent pitch (without electrics) was ample for our needs and hard-standing parking was next to or nearby for......Read more.

Smaller than expected but not disappointing, beautifully set deep in a Cornish valley. Our tent pitch (without electrics) was ample for our needs and hard-standing parking was next to or nearby for all pitches. Our young children could play happily with others in the woods and the play area without us worrying about safety. Other campers were equally friendly and considerate. The showers were a decent heat and enough of them for everyone to use without huge queues. Also available were washing up sinks, disposal points, recycling bins, compost bin and drinking water tap. The washing machines and tumble drier were available for a very reasonable cost. All were in a one block for use by both campers an those using wigwams but facilities weren't busy even in mid august. The campsite shop is well stocked and good value for money. We particularly enjoyed warm bread and croissants from there most mornings! Some of the lanes in the area are very narrow so not surprisingly there were few caravans and only two hard-standing for campervans. The site is remote but we visited the most popular areas easily by car: Padstow (Park and Ride), Eden Project, Lanhydrock House (Parkrun on Saturdays), Bodmin. All great places but best of all was a day out to Lappa Valley. Steam and diesel train rides, boating, crazy golf, a peddle car track for toddlers, brilliant adventure playground, paved maze, two refreshment buildings and picnic tables: everything to suit all family members set around interesting historical tower of a disused mine. We cannot fault our holiday to Ruthern Valley and would love to visit again....Read less.

"Lovely stay"

Mrs K Dennison - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

26/08/2017

It's in a beautiful rural setting,quite central for using as a base to explore Cornwall. We stayed in a lodge, it's basic but comfortable with everything you need. The bird feeder on the patio on......Read more.

It's in a beautiful rural setting,quite central for using as a base to explore Cornwall. We stayed in a lodge, it's basic but comfortable with everything you need. The bird feeder on the patio on arrival was a nice touch we watched all sorts of birds feeding. Robins tits and nuthatches. Would definitely stay there again....Read less.

"Staying in a pod."

Mrs A Sibley - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

We picked Rutgers Valley because of its closeness to the Camel Trail and thought we would give a pod ago as during August it was just under £50.00 a night compared to a popular inn coming in at......Read more.

We picked Rutgers Valley because of its closeness to the Camel Trail and thought we would give a pod ago as during August it was just under £50.00 a night compared to a popular inn coming in at £125.00 a night.

On arrival early evening,they opened the shop up for us , so that we could buy essentials. Very kind. The shop was extremely basic but we had food. If we weren't so fussy about what we ate, there wouldn't have been a problem.

Our pod was clean enough but on closer inspection there was quite a lot of dirt around the edges, which shouldn't really of been there. Oh well we were camping.

We had a large and secluded plot to ourselves, under a thick canopy of trees. The down side of this was that it was rather dark and cool and we were jealous of the tourers sitting in the sunny field.

The toilet and washing facilities were clean and in good working order and we were fortunate enough to be quite close. However in our opinion two male and two female toilet plus one unisex and four showers is not enough for the occupants of the site. We exprianced queues for the showers.

Staying in a pod was fun but more cramped than a decent sized tent, would have been better if the door was bigger, you had to step over a high threshold and duck your head. We stayed 5 nights, that was enough....Read less.

"Hazel Elks"

Mrs H Elks - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

Spent a great week here on a family holiday. Between us all we had 2 bungalows, 3 lodges and the caravan. The owners of the site from booking until we left were very helpful and friendly. We......Read more.

Spent a great week here on a family holiday. Between us all we had 2 bungalows, 3 lodges and the caravan. The owners of the site from booking until we left were very helpful and friendly. We arrived early and were allowed access to our bungalow, which was very clean. Would defiantly recommend this site and will hopefully return....Read less.

"A great place for a large extended family to meet up and spend time together"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

We booked a week at Ruthern and packed a lot into it. Great location in Cornwall, a lovely site with lots of outdoor activity opportunities for older teenagers as well as young primary age children......Read more.

We booked a week at Ruthern and packed a lot into it. Great location in Cornwall, a lovely site with lots of outdoor activity opportunities for older teenagers as well as young primary age children in our group. Lovely owners, always helpful and friendly, quick to respond to any questions. We particularly liked the mature trees, bird feeders and open feel to the site - it's the opposite to the "pack 'em in and make lots of money" places that we always avoid....Read less.

"A lovely campsite in a great area"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

A great campsite with lots of local attractions and places to go. We stayed in a pod, which was warm, dry, clean and perfect for a camping getaway. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and......Read more.

A great campsite with lots of local attractions and places to go. We stayed in a pod, which was warm, dry, clean and perfect for a camping getaway. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and are a great source of knowledge of the local area....Read less.

"best campsite we've ever stayed on"

Mrs A Murphy - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

absolutely loved it

"Very good"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

22/08/2017

A lovely quiet site which is great for families.

My only quibble is the shower rooms, they all need to have a seat/stool, a shelf and hooks.

"Fabulous!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

20/08/2017

This is the second time I have stayed here, the first having been a few years ago and it just keeps getting better. We stayed in the megapod, just brilliant. Highly recommended for those who want a......Read more.

This is the second time I have stayed here, the first having been a few years ago and it just keeps getting better. We stayed in the megapod, just brilliant. Highly recommended for those who want a glamping holiday in tranquil surroundings....Read less.

"Heidi"

Mrs H Winser - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

19/08/2017

Very nice location and beautiful setting.

"Cheap relaxing campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

19/08/2017

Lovely relaxing campsite , full of tress and simple but clean showers and washing facilities . The owners Father greeted us and was charming and informative . We picked this place due to ease of......Read more.

Lovely relaxing campsite , full of tress and simple but clean showers and washing facilities . The owners Father greeted us and was charming and informative . We picked this place due to ease of getting to Newquay , Padstow and wadebridge .

We had a lovely email three days before hand explaining how to get to them which was fantastic cause the Sat nav got us lost !

The site is kept clean and tidy and any problem is sorted quickly .

We didn't have children with us but the children that was on site all seemed happy .

Loads of wildlife about to see , a robin befriended us which was so lovely .

Will very much be returning...Read less.

"Excellent family campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

17/08/2017

We booked a 3 night stay in the campsite and took our 2 children and all had a fantastic time. The campsite is lovely and peaceful. The children loved the woodland area, park and animals.

"No problems"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

17/08/2017

Well organised and looked after campsite, would recommend staying here if you are visiting the area

"Stay in August"

E Germano - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

17/08/2017

Good location and friendly staff, dissatisfied with toilet/shower facilities

Not cheap

"ease of access"

Ms S Bodger - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

16/08/2017

we did find it very difficult to find but this was due to lack of signposting on local roads rather than any fault of the site itself

"Very pleasant stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

16/08/2017

Nice facilities, could use more shower facilities

"In de natuur lekker camperen"

S Veltman - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

16/08/2017

Het is een simpele maar schone nette camping. Het veld is omringt met bomen je wordt gewekt door een haan en je hoord de schapen in de weilanden er achter. Heerlijk geen auto geluiden. Camping zelf......Read more.

Het is een simpele maar schone nette camping. Het veld is omringt met bomen je wordt gewekt door een haan en je hoord de schapen in de weilanden er achter. Heerlijk geen auto geluiden. Camping zelf simpel maar erg schoon. De douches zijn aangebouwd aan een ouder toilet huis met daarbij een nieuw toilet het is allemaal netjes alleen als je uit de douche komt sta je onder een golf platendakje droog buiten. Niks mis mee maar het is geen modern toilet en douche huis maar wel schoon en netjes. Verder zijn de eigenaren Andrew en Nicole zeer behulpzaam en reageren direct als er iets niet in orde is. Al met al een prima camping om een fijne vakantie te houden....Read less.

"2 night stay"

Jenkins - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

15/08/2017

Good site very friendly well stocked shop and lots of information on what to do and where to visit. Handy for the camel trail would highly recommend

"Always a great holiday"

Mrs L Lahive - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

15/08/2017

We are a family of four who have rented a bungalow in ruthern valley a few years in a row, we love the campsite

, the kids can run around the woods and farm area by them selves and the owners are......Read more.

We are a family of four who have rented a bungalow in ruthern valley a few years in a row, we love the campsite

, the kids can run around the woods and farm area by them selves and the owners are always very helpful and friendly, also the site has a small shop that sales local produce with sausage that taste amazing. While we are there we always cycle the camel trail , visit the beaches west of Padstow and body board, crab fish in loo and visit local attractions, there is always something to do....Read less.

"Overnight stay in Pod"

Mrs C Whatson - Stayed with friends, Aug 2017

15/08/2017

My friend and I stayed in one of the pods for one night as we were walking the Saints Way and it was the nearest accommodation we could get. Whilst it was a good mile and a quarter's detour to the......Read more.

My friend and I stayed in one of the pods for one night as we were walking the Saints Way and it was the nearest accommodation we could get. Whilst it was a good mile and a quarter's detour to the campsite, when we arrived we received a very friendly welcome from the owner who was most helpful. The pod was just as it looked online, however one side of our pod was damp and my belongings were not dry in the morning. Otherwise the campsite was well kept and the shower and toilet facilities were clean. Would definitely recommend this site to other campers....Read less.

"Fabulous campsite"

J Etele - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

13/08/2017

We booked this campsite very last minute and we were so pleased we managed to get a site. The owner managed to squeeze us in for another night too. It is a lovely site with good facilities. The......Read more.

We booked this campsite very last minute and we were so pleased we managed to get a site. The owner managed to squeeze us in for another night too. It is a lovely site with good facilities. The Camel Trail is only a mile away from the site and we got to cycle to Padstow and Bodmin. We will definitely be back....Read less.

"Excellent holiday"

K Leck - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

12/08/2017

Had a great stay. Great location. Great lodges and very friendly helpful staff. Thanks for a great stay.

"Stayed for a weekend in the pods"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

11/08/2017

Well located, clean campsite

"Peace and quiet!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

11/08/2017

We only stayed for two nights but really loved the setting, woodland walks,peace and quiet, just what we were looking for! The owners were really friendly and we would most definitely return there.......Read more.

We only stayed for two nights but really loved the setting, woodland walks,peace and quiet, just what we were looking for! The owners were really friendly and we would most definitely return there. It's a nice mix of chalets bungalows, camping( which we did) and some intriguing "pods"!!...Read less.

"facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

09/08/2017

One of the showers does not have a light in it.at night time can be very dark and dangerous

"nature and comfort"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

07/08/2017

We loved staying in the bungalow - we were only there for two nights but it was brilliant. Within ten minutes of arriving Andrew came to welcome us and make sure we knew where everything was. The......Read more.

We loved staying in the bungalow - we were only there for two nights but it was brilliant. Within ten minutes of arriving Andrew came to welcome us and make sure we knew where everything was. The bungalow was definitely a home away from home, and we had everything we could have wanted. Oven, hob, fridge, toaster, microwave... in case you are there longer than we were would bring a laptop and hdmi or DVD player for in the evenings. We played boggle so we were fine :)

Would say to keep the heater on low through the night or bring a little extra bedding, and the mattress was a little uncomfortable but we are campers so we wernt too fussed.

It is a very picturesque and beautiful location with lots of trees and walks nearby. We also went to Eden Project, newquay beach and cairne caverns while we were there and highly recommend.

Thanks for such a great stay!!...Read less.

"Family friendly"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

3rd year staying at Ruthern Valley certainly won't be the last. Excellent value for money, perfect location for both coasts. Andrew and Nicola always very welcoming and happy to help you get the most......Read more.

3rd year staying at Ruthern Valley certainly won't be the last. Excellent value for money, perfect location for both coasts. Andrew and Nicola always very welcoming and happy to help you get the most out of your holiday with advice on good spots to visit. Perfect family holiday!...Read less.

"."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

.

"Altogether a very pleasant experience"

Mr I Murtagh - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

03/08/2017

Very clean, well run site with friendly staff and good facilities. Beautiful surroundings and abundant wildlife. A really relaxing experience all round. We would definitely stay again, and will book......Read more.

Very clean, well run site with friendly staff and good facilities. Beautiful surroundings and abundant wildlife. A really relaxing experience all round. We would definitely stay again, and will book another stay shortly. Site shop stocked with lots of local fresh produce was very convenient, keenly priced (and tasty too)

See you soon, Iain & Michael...Read less.

"Excellent last min booking"

Natas N Leoni - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

Really last minute summer booking. Very friendly campsite - both staff and other campers.

Having stayed in this kind of accommodation before I felt it was maybe a little higher priced than others......Read more.

Really last minute summer booking. Very friendly campsite - both staff and other campers.

Having stayed in this kind of accommodation before I felt it was maybe a little higher priced than others with less facilities (a mattress or sleeping matt). We were told to bring our own but the price should reflect this.

Very peaceful though and great that you can park outside the huts :)

Will be back, maybe booking the upgraded huts....Read less.

"On the Camel trail"

Mr D Watton - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

This is a great eco-friendly option if you want to camp in attractive woodland surroundings near the Camel trail. We hired bikes for the day from reception and were on the lovely trail to Padstow......Read more.

This is a great eco-friendly option if you want to camp in attractive woodland surroundings near the Camel trail. We hired bikes for the day from reception and were on the lovely trail to Padstow within minutes.

Ruthern Valley is very well laid out & maintained and nature is all around - I particularly enjoyed watching the bats skimming through the trees at dusk. The mini football field, playground and nature trail is a great place for kids to play independently while parents put their feet up with a nice beer or glass of wine at the end of the day.

Highly recommended!...Read less.

"fantastic place to stay"

Mr M Halden - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the glamping pod we stayed in. Very clean with all basic kitchen items that you need. Shower blocks are very clean and nice to use. The site is perfect and very quiet with a fab......Read more.

We thoroughly enjoyed the glamping pod we stayed in. Very clean with all basic kitchen items that you need. Shower blocks are very clean and nice to use. The site is perfect and very quiet with a fab family friendly feel. Kids already want to go back and it was a shame we had to leave to come home!...Read less.

"Good"

Mr J May - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

Good

"Perfect site with something for every traveller"

Miss S Barnard - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

01/08/2017

It's great location to access rest of Cornwall. We've camped there in a tent in there pods and in the Mega pods. Quiet and friendly and really helpful staff. Showers are hot and powerful - just what......Read more.

It's great location to access rest of Cornwall. We've camped there in a tent in there pods and in the Mega pods. Quiet and friendly and really helpful staff. Showers are hot and powerful - just what you need after a day surfing. Shop is well stocked with all you might need and really cheap too. Great that you can hire bikes and wetsuits with them also....Read less.

"Lovely base"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

01/08/2017

We have stayed here twice now and use it as a base. Lovely family run site. Quite and tranquil atmosphere. Children love the small park and animals. Stayed in the same bungalow both times perfect for......Read more.

We have stayed here twice now and use it as a base. Lovely family run site. Quite and tranquil atmosphere. Children love the small park and animals. Stayed in the same bungalow both times perfect for our needs....Read less.

"A very quiet and natural place"

H Timmerman - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

25/07/2017

When we arrived at the place, there was an older men, who seemed to be the father of the owner. He was very kind and helpful and it gave us directly the feeling that we were very welcome. The place......Read more.

When we arrived at the place, there was an older men, who seemed to be the father of the owner. He was very kind and helpful and it gave us directly the feeling that we were very welcome. The place is quiet and natural and the owner and his wife are very kind and helpful. The sanitary blocks are old but they are very well cleaned up, so we were very satisfied about this place....Read less.

"A relaxing stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

24/07/2017

A lovely quiet site, a bit difficult to find even after a few nights there. Nothing much locally but doesn't take too long to get to Wadebridge, Bodmin and Padstow. Facilities were clean, not sure......Read more.

A lovely quiet site, a bit difficult to find even after a few nights there. Nothing much locally but doesn't take too long to get to Wadebridge, Bodmin and Padstow. Facilities were clean, not sure what the availability of showers would be like in peak season as there didn't seem enough to go around but didn't effect our stay. We stayed in a wigwam which was clean and spacious and it was nice to have a kettle, microwave and mattresses to sleep on.

A good location for travelling about and seeing Cornwall but not much nearby. A nice country pub/tearoom within walking distance would have been good!...Read less.

"cleaning"

Mr R Rickard - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

22/07/2017

It was a good place to stay for us it was off the beaten track so very handy and I had originly came from bodwen which is not too far from Lanivet. I only wish you had left some cleaning gear in the......Read more.

It was a good place to stay for us it was off the beaten track so very handy and I had originly came from bodwen which is not too far from Lanivet. I only wish you had left some cleaning gear in the cabin and only one toilet roll. Thanks hope to see you again in the future....Read less.

"Exactly what we wanted"

Mr J Hill - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

20/07/2017

We were looking for a site that would enable us to park the car, set up the tent and then not need to drive at all for a few days, using just bicycles and the Camel Trail to visit Padstow, Wadebridge......Read more.

We were looking for a site that would enable us to park the car, set up the tent and then not need to drive at all for a few days, using just bicycles and the Camel Trail to visit Padstow, Wadebridge and Bodmin. Spot on.

We didn't want / need kids clubs, shows, amusement halls etc. There's a time and place for that, and this trip it was just me and my wife and we just wanted a peaceful base, away from the crowds, and (as it happens) good value.

We found the staff (may have been the owner!?) very friendly and relaxed. I liked that vehicles weren't allowed on the grass, kept everything looking lovely, and it wasn't a problem - it's only a small site. Lovely woodland, pretty woodland walk and a small, surprise un-signposted area with chickens & pigs.

Basic shower and loos setup, but clean. Washing machines and spin dryers came in useful. Basic shop stocked all you'd need in an emergency, no problem.

10 mile cycle to Padstow - first 1.5 miles on country roads and then the lovely Camel Trail. Bodmin maybe just 5 miles the opposite way, past the looming, imperious Bodmin Jail, which simply has to be visited. Very atmospheric.

Great places to eat / drink all along the Camel Trail - the vineyard, the Camel Trail Tea Garden near Nunstallon and a great carvery at the Borough Arms on the edge of Bodmin.

As it happens, we did use the car for a couple of evenings to eat out in Wadebridge - there are no pubs within walking distance of the site. The Raj in Wadebridge was rammed, but they squeezed us in one night and it was fantastic. We even spent a damp night at the cinema there which was good fun.

We'd certainly go back to Ruthern Valley. It's a perfect base for a quiet break and has a slightly 'undiscovered' feel about it. In a world of overcrowded big chain sites, I really hope that it stays this way.

...Read less.

"Ruthern valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

19/07/2017

very good stay Sign posting could be in proved in the area

"Country retreat"

Mrs J Robertson - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

14/07/2017

We booked a 4 night break to visit friends in Bodmin. No expectations, just convenient.

However amazed to find a tranquil, scenic spotless site. First break in years earplugs not required. Staff......Read more.

We booked a 4 night break to visit friends in Bodmin. No expectations, just convenient.

However amazed to find a tranquil, scenic spotless site. First break in years earplugs not required. Staff as laid back/chilled as the countryside....Read less.

"Ruthin valley"

Mrs C Carey - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

14/07/2017

We stayed in lodge one. The accommodation was spotless and had everything you needed for self catering.

My mattress was uncomfortable but after looking at reviews this could have been changed.

The......Read more.

We stayed in lodge one. The accommodation was spotless and had everything you needed for self catering.

My mattress was uncomfortable but after looking at reviews this could have been changed.

The only downside is, when sat outside, there isa smell of sewerage.

I will definitely return in the future and highly recommend....Read less.

"Excellent"

Willetts - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

13/07/2017

Booked one night but enjoyed our wigwam so stayed an extra night. We will definitely return.

"An oasis of peace and calm with lots to do!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

12/07/2017

The site is spacious, beautifully spread out and yet relatively small. The chalets are well equipped and very comfortable. The lanes leading to the site are quite narrow in places but no more so than......Read more.

The site is spacious, beautifully spread out and yet relatively small. The chalets are well equipped and very comfortable. The lanes leading to the site are quite narrow in places but no more so than many other sites in Cornwall. The Camel Trail is about a 15 minute stroll away and is a safe trail and for walking & cycling away from the roads. Tintagel, Padstow and Newquay are all within easy reach with glorious walks along the Coastal path and fabulous beaches....Read less.

"Lovely, relaxing place to get away from everything"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

12/07/2017

Our visit was great and we felt really relaxed when we left. The park is really well maintained. And i would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to escape the pressures of life. The only......Read more.

Our visit was great and we felt really relaxed when we left. The park is really well maintained. And i would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to escape the pressures of life. The only recommendations i can make is that they put the area of the communal fire pit on the site map, that they give out with pod and lodge bookings....Read less.

"First stay in Cornwall"

Mrs E Woodworth - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

10/07/2017

We were impressed even before we arrived with an email giving us clear and concise directions to Ruthvern Holiday Park. On our arrival we were made welcome by Andrew, who was both friendly and......Read more.

We were impressed even before we arrived with an email giving us clear and concise directions to Ruthvern Holiday Park. On our arrival we were made welcome by Andrew, who was both friendly and knowledgeable, giving advice on how to reach the Camel Trail. The campsite shop was well stocked and not over priced. All in all a good experience....Read less.

"Value"

Mr. D Metcalfe - Stayed Jul 2017

09/07/2017

I walked the St's Way and stayed at 4 different campgrounds along the way. I have to say that Ruthern Valley was by far the best in terms of Value for money. But also for good clean washrooms. And it......Read more.

I walked the St's Way and stayed at 4 different campgrounds along the way. I have to say that Ruthern Valley was by far the best in terms of Value for money. But also for good clean washrooms. And it also had a well stocked shop. The owners of the site were also very friendly and helpful.

I have camped in many different places all over Europe and beyond. This is one of the best....Read less.

"Wigwam Long Weekend"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

07/07/2017

We had a very warm welcome and the wigwam was cosy, clean and in a lovely woodland area. The onsite pigs were also very cute!

"Peace and Quiet"

Mrs P Morton - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

07/07/2017

Beautiful site.Very peaceful. Natural habitat for birds etc. Surrounded by trees so air vwery fresh. A little oasis of calm.

"Mini break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

03/07/2017

Have been here on several occasions. Never fails to please. Andrew and Nicky friendly and helpful. Accommodation spotless and in tip-top condition. Peaceful, quiet and in an attractive setting,......Read more.

Have been here on several occasions. Never fails to please. Andrew and Nicky friendly and helpful. Accommodation spotless and in tip-top condition. Peaceful, quiet and in an attractive setting, central to most tourist attractions...Read less.

"June camping stay"

Ms S Lock - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

02/07/2017

We found this campsite on a south west camping trip in June. Didn't have much of a set plan but were lucky enough to find this campsite when looking for somewhere to stay near the coast and Bodmin.......Read more.

We found this campsite on a south west camping trip in June. Didn't have much of a set plan but were lucky enough to find this campsite when looking for somewhere to stay near the coast and Bodmin. Both are only approx 20-30 min drive away. The campsite is very neat, tidy, welcoming and clean. It was really quiet and we were able to have the back part of the campsite to ourselves which was lovely. There isn't loads of pitches so I don't think it would feel too busy even if full as the pitches are well organised and have their own little clearings. The showers and toilets facilities were excellent, hot and powerful showers and so clean. The owner greeted us and was lovely. They even have a book swap and a shop on site with basics and beer! We had a sneaky play on the playground which I would recommend. Loved the quiet after 9pm rule We also met the pigs who we adored!!!! It rained a lot while we were there for 2 days and I could see no trouble with flooded pitches. They also have lovely cabins, wooden tipis and wooden camping pods dotted about. We would definitely come back....Read less.

"Wonderful place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

29/06/2017

Love this campsite! Pretty, peaceful, right next to the Camel Trail, staff really helpful. Thank you!

"Another nice stay at Ruthern Valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

27/06/2017

This is the forth time that we have stayed at Ruthern Valley and the second time in their lodge/bungalow accommodation, the first two times we camped and would recommend that was well. As previous......Read more.

This is the forth time that we have stayed at Ruthern Valley and the second time in their lodge/bungalow accommodation, the first two times we camped and would recommend that was well. As previous experience here, the site is nice and well maintained and the owners very friendly and helpful. We would have no doubt recommending or using this site again, infact we have booked to go back later this year.

Very handy for the excellent Camel Trail which is about one mile down a quiet road, they even hire bikes.

Loads to see and do in the area and Cornwall is such a nice county....Read less.

"Peace and Quiet in a Cornish Woodland"

Mr. P Madley - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

26/06/2017

We wanted a quiet week in Cornwall somewhere near to the Camel Trail and we could not have chosen better. We normally camp under canvas (and if we had then Ruthern Valley would have been one of the......Read more.

We wanted a quiet week in Cornwall somewhere near to the Camel Trail and we could not have chosen better. We normally camp under canvas (and if we had then Ruthern Valley would have been one of the nicest sites where we've ever camped) but this year for medical reasons we needed something more substantial over our heads and the 'Mega Pod" we rented was absolutely ideal.

We hired bikes from the site which were of good quality and cheaper than the rates in the local towns. The cycle route to Wadebrige is so much more convenient than the route you have to drive.

We would highly recommend this site....Read less.

"Our weekend holiday"

Mrs J Headings - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

24/06/2017

On arrival the site was very clean and the cabin had everything we needed .The beds were made up already so all we had to do was put the kettle on! The children loved the play area and found the pigs......Read more.

On arrival the site was very clean and the cabin had everything we needed .The beds were made up already so all we had to do was put the kettle on! The children loved the play area and found the pigs and chickens fascinating to watch .The owner of the site managed to impress the children with the size of the eggs that the cockerel had laid which made us laugh.

Thanks for a great weekend and we hope to return later in the summer...Read less.

"A quiet secluded site in a lovely wooded setting"

B Raven - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

23/06/2017

The site was great for 3 night stay whilst we walked parts of The Saints Way. Very friendly owners running a well kept site. We had a very comfortable lodge. Access roads quite narrow but site......Read more.

The site was great for 3 night stay whilst we walked parts of The Saints Way. Very friendly owners running a well kept site. We had a very comfortable lodge. Access roads quite narrow but site details give details of best ways to site. Living in Cornwall we are used to narrow lanes!...Read less.

"Tranquility"

Mrs S Henry - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

22/06/2017

We stayed in one of the lodges in June. The setting is stunning. Very peaceful and quiet. Great base for days out all around Cornwall. You do need a car as It's in the middle of no where, which is......Read more.

We stayed in one of the lodges in June. The setting is stunning. Very peaceful and quiet. Great base for days out all around Cornwall. You do need a car as It's in the middle of no where, which is why we chose to stay there. The lodge was immaculate. There is an small shop on site which sells bread milk etc and local produce such as bacon, sausages and eggs. Would definitely recommend Ruthern Valley. It's just beautiful!...Read less.

"Short break in log cabin"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

21/06/2017

Lovely place for a short break. Log cabin set up perfect for family with young kids. On site shop a real bonus and well stocked. Playground, animals and woodland walks a hit with the kids! Beautiful......Read more.

Lovely place for a short break. Log cabin set up perfect for family with young kids. On site shop a real bonus and well stocked. Playground, animals and woodland walks a hit with the kids! Beautiful setting....Read less.

"peaceful and relaxing"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

21/06/2017

Total peace and quiet in wonderful setting. Very friendly staff. Great location for North and South Cornwall with great access to Camel trail.

"Ruthern Valley"

Mrs J Webb - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

19/06/2017

The site is easily accessible. Good clear instructions of how to get to the site. Warning !! do not go via Bodmin moor because of the roadworks! It added on an extra half an hour to our......Read more.

The site is easily accessible. Good clear instructions of how to get to the site. Warning !! do not go via Bodmin moor because of the roadworks! It added on an extra half an hour to our journey....off peak period as well!

The 2 bed log cabin was comfortable and met our requirements. It was lovely just to watch the wildlife from the sofa. The birds appreciated the crumbs we put out on the decking.

Perfect location for Eden Project and Lanhyrock.

Would defiantly return soon....Read less.

"Absolute gem"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

15/06/2017

We love this place! Beautiful location , away from bustling crowds, fabulous for families and friendly staff. We will be back.

"Brilliant holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

15/06/2017

Excellent value for money, beautiful location, perfect place for a holiday with our two young children!

"Meer dan verwacht"

A Helvert Van - Stayed with partner, May 2017

10/06/2017

We hadden een caravan gehuurd en gingen van het minste uit.

Het bleek een meer dan complete caravan alles erop en er aan.

"Excellent place to stay"

Mr G Hayward - Stayed with family, May 2017

08/06/2017

Very much a countryside site without club house, swimming pool etc. That is made clear on their website and was exactly what we were looking for. An abundance of wildlife, many birds that I do not......Read more.

Very much a countryside site without club house, swimming pool etc. That is made clear on their website and was exactly what we were looking for. An abundance of wildlife, many birds that I do not see in my own fairly rural garden. Included nuthatches, bullfinches, jays and a lot of the more common species. Very well maintained and the owners were very helpful....Read less.

"Relaxing Half Term Holiday"

Mrs E Sims - Stayed with friends, Jun 2017

08/06/2017

We arrived to the most beautiful country side location, birds everywhere, peaceful and quiet, a small and cosy campsite, perfect for our children to roam free safely, with pigs and chickens , a......Read more.

We arrived to the most beautiful country side location, birds everywhere, peaceful and quiet, a small and cosy campsite, perfect for our children to roam free safely, with pigs and chickens , a wooded area and playing park. Simple but perfect. We enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you!...Read less.

"Good value for money"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

07/06/2017

Very good holiday park,clean wigwams and bathrooms, very nice staff,thank you, definitely will come back :-)

"Tranquility but within easy distance to beaches!!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

06/06/2017

What a wonderful place, really peaceful and friendly. Ability to hire bikes, boards and wetsuit and real plus for space strapped campers! Everyone so helpful and friendly.

"Not as peaceful as hoped"

T Collins - Stayed with partner, May 2017

03/06/2017

As a couple seeking a peaceful site (as advertised), we were disappointed. The site without campers may be peaceful but, with the quantity of families with children holidaying there, it was......Read more.

As a couple seeking a peaceful site (as advertised), we were disappointed. The site without campers may be peaceful but, with the quantity of families with children holidaying there, it was extremely noisy....Read less.

"ONE NIGHT ONLY"

J Symes - Stayed with partner, May 2017

03/06/2017

STAFF WERE VERY WELCOMING, FACILITIES IN THE WIGWAM WERE GOOD, COMFORTABLE BEDS, SITE IS CLOSE TO NORTH AND SOUTH COAST. GREAT WALKS.

"Great"

Mr P Ryan - Stayed with partner, May 2017

02/06/2017

Very good.

"Mega pod stay!"

Miss N Glass - Stayed with partner, May 2017

27/05/2017

We booked the mega pod as I wanted to go camping for the weekend for my birthday and my boyfriend refused to take me away in a tent! He wasn't wrong! The pod was awesome! We wished we'd booked for a......Read more.

We booked the mega pod as I wanted to go camping for the weekend for my birthday and my boyfriend refused to take me away in a tent! He wasn't wrong! The pod was awesome! We wished we'd booked for a couple of extra days. We had a double bed. A sofa to snuggle up on. Freeview tv. A fridge to keep our ciders in. A toilet and handsink! A small kitchen area with kettle, sink and microwave and cupboard with plates etc in. We had a disposable bbq both nights on our decking area looking out into the trees. It was perfect! It was everything we needed. The showers weren't bad either. Clean and just what you need. Water was hot and the room was pretty spacious. All in all we had a lovely trip. We felt like we were in the middle of nowhere and escaped everything down the single track lanes in the countryside. And we spent our days exploring port Isaac, padstow and other Cornish towns....Read less.

"Beautiful Ruthern"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

27/05/2017

Fantastic break in lovely setting. Looking to book again.

"Loved it!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

25/05/2017

We hope to return

"snow's"

Snow - Stayed with family, May 2017

23/05/2017

Our third visit to Ruthern Valley all been very good. We like that we are far enough away from the towns but also close enough to some nice pubs for food and drink. We also like the proximity to the......Read more.

Our third visit to Ruthern Valley all been very good. We like that we are far enough away from the towns but also close enough to some nice pubs for food and drink. We also like the proximity to the Camel Trail....Read less.

"Lovely natural site"

K Webb - Stayed with partner, May 2017

23/05/2017

Think perfect site for those wanting to do pretend wild camping. Wash areas clean, water lovely and hot.

""FOUNDER" VISITORS"

Mr N Adams - Stayed with partner, May 2017

17/05/2017

We have been going to the Ruthernbridge site for over 20 years, sometimes on two occasions each year. We never cease to come away anything other than thoroughly refreshed (whatever the weather)......Read more.

We have been going to the Ruthernbridge site for over 20 years, sometimes on two occasions each year. We never cease to come away anything other than thoroughly refreshed (whatever the weather) following our holidays in the tranquil surroundings and beautiful countryside.

When this is aligned to the ever-improving facilities on the site and the friendliness of the proprietors what else could you want from your stay here?...Read less.

"Tranquil setting and neatly appointed"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

08/05/2017

Hubby and I stayed here for 4 relaxing nights. We were originally booked into a bungalow but were kindly upgraded by Andrew&Nicki the day of arrival. The setting is spectacular. Quiet and tranquil.......Read more.

Hubby and I stayed here for 4 relaxing nights. We were originally booked into a bungalow but were kindly upgraded by Andrew&Nicki the day of arrival. The setting is spectacular. Quiet and tranquil. Lovely walking routes too. The log cabin itself was comfortable and had all the basics for a glamping weekend. We visited a few places in the rain, cycled a bit and walked all day on the Moor. There are plenty of close places to eat/drink if you don't fancy using the well equipped kitchen in the lodge. Highly recommended for a quiet getaway not to faraway from our home. Thank you Andrew & Nicki...Read less.

"Lost count of visits"

Mr S Brown - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

05/05/2017

Nice quiet atmosphere, very friendly and welcoming. Looking forward to our next visit.

"Great quality for a short stay"

Miss E Strange - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

25/04/2017

Lovely one night stay in a wig wam, plenty of space for 2 people but would not reccomend any more. Clean and open space and lovely surroundings. Perfect for couples.

"Lovely for the kids to be able to roam free"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

24/04/2017

Like camping with a bit more luxury. The kids loved the play area and being independent. The surrounding countryside is beautiful with lots of walks and bike rides. A really special spot.

"Lovely area and natural surroundings"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

The wigwam was well equipped and clean. The nature in the campsite was lovely and it was well equipped. In a great area with lots to do in the surrounding area. You do need a car to get there and......Read more.

The wigwam was well equipped and clean. The nature in the campsite was lovely and it was well equipped. In a great area with lots to do in the surrounding area. You do need a car to get there and around....Read less.

"Great little site"

Mr N Long - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

Great site very peaceful and with very easy access to the Camel trail.

"Fantastic base location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

We were accommodated excellently, this is an ideal location to base yourself to allow for easy travel to Cornwall attractions

"Easter review"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

We really enjoyed our stay, only recommendation would be for more toilets to be open for gents, as there was only one working, otherwise it was perfect, thanks

"A lovely camping experience"

Mrs M Berdoy - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

Excellent facilities, super nice owner/manager. Wonderful holiday!

"PERFECT HOLIDAY"

Mr. S Farrow - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

20/04/2017

Been staying here for a weeks break for around 10 years now. Great location. Lovely setting. Children love it. Owners are more than helpful.

"Lovely Relaxing Break"

M Styles - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

19/04/2017

Lovely surroundings, lovely friendly staff. Would definately return again.

"Camping"

L Lester - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

11/04/2017

Beautiful, family friendly site...highly recommended

"Ruthern Valley Holidays"

Mr A Graves-Fournier - Stayed with friends, Apr 2017

09/04/2017

Superb accommodation, fantastic location which is so peaceful and idyllic and is so central for driving to all that Cornwall has to offer. The holiday lodge is immaculate has everything you need to......Read more.

Superb accommodation, fantastic location which is so peaceful and idyllic and is so central for driving to all that Cornwall has to offer. The holiday lodge is immaculate has everything you need to make it feel like a home from home. Andrew & Nicola are brilliant and are on hand if you need them. The onsite shop is reasonably priced and open at convenient times and great if you forget the odd little thing. We are already looking forward to our return visit next April. I would recommend it to anyone and it definitely gets a 5 star rating from us....Read less.

"Party girls"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2017

23/03/2017

Excellent ....

"Great base for the area"

M Hyde - Stayed with family, Mar 2017

16/03/2017

This was only the second time I had towed my caravan, and although the site is located in a rural area through country lanes it's is very easy to access. The site is a great base for visiting local......Read more.

This was only the second time I had towed my caravan, and although the site is located in a rural area through country lanes it's is very easy to access. The site is a great base for visiting local areas. My children loved it....Read less.

"Lovely area, great value, friendly"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2017

16/03/2017

We arrived at the site to a friendly welcome. We were staying in a lodge which was perfect for our needs. Everything was comfortable, clean and covered all our cooking needs. The setting is......Read more.

We arrived at the site to a friendly welcome. We were staying in a lodge which was perfect for our needs. Everything was comfortable, clean and covered all our cooking needs. The setting is wonderful, with plenty on-site and closeby to keep our 2 year old entertained for hours on end....Read less.

"Wigwam stay"

Mr L Upson - Stayed with partner, Mar 2017

09/03/2017

Very peaceful and friendly place to stay, with clean and comfy accommodation.

Been for the last 2 years since we discovered it, and will be booking again for next year.

"NA"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Feb 2017

02/03/2017

NA

"None"

Mr A Laming - Stayed with family, Feb 2017

25/02/2017

None

"Magical"

A Papini - Stayed with family, Feb 2017

23/02/2017

Its a must go place.

We definitely will go back.

Andrea

"Perfect quiet weekend"

T Murray - Stayed with partner, Feb 2017

19/02/2017

Booking was very quick and easy. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We were met on arrival and shown everything. They had ensured the heating was on which was very welcomed. The log cabin we......Read more.

Booking was very quick and easy. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We were met on arrival and shown everything. They had ensured the heating was on which was very welcomed. The log cabin we stayed in was perfect in every way. We loved the cabin, clean and plenty of facilities, it had everything we could ever need. We went for a walk and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the area. It was lovely to sit and relax and just watch all the wildlife outide. It was the perfect peaceful weekend we were hoping for. Without a doubt we will be returning. Hopefully next time the weather will be better so we can hire bikes and enjoy the local nearby cycle trail.

Thank you ruthern valley for a getaway that was far better then we could have hoped for!!!...Read less.

"First time great :)"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Feb 2017

08/02/2017

Lovely staff went above and beyond to make sure we was happy. stayed in a wigwam great accommodation and good value, will definitely come back :)

"A great location for a peaceful getaway"

Mr J Newall - Stayed with partner, Jan 2017

18/01/2017

we have visited on several occasions in the last 10 years and stayed in a chalet, a pod, our own tent, folding camper and now a campervan. This is a great base for touring the local area but, is......Read more.

we have visited on several occasions in the last 10 years and stayed in a chalet, a pod, our own tent, folding camper and now a campervan. This is a great base for touring the local area but, is ideal for cycling the Camel Trail - our particular reason for visiting. Andrew and Nicola are excellent and accommodating hosts, who run a lovely , peaceful campsite in the heart of North Cornwall....Read less.

"Away from the New Year Hussle and Bussle"

M Styles - Stayed with family, Dec 2016

06/01/2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend away as wanted a quiet New Year and stress free. This site ticked all the boxes, lovely accommodation, walks, cycle rides if you wanted to and not too far from the......Read more.

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend away as wanted a quiet New Year and stress free. This site ticked all the boxes, lovely accommodation, walks, cycle rides if you wanted to and not too far from the beaches either. Lovely break and would definately book again....Read less.

© 2006 - 2017 CampStead