Ruthern Valley Holidays

138 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 138 reviews in the last 12 months

99% would recommend this site

99% would stay here again

Excellent

74%

Very Good

22%

Average

4%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Heidi"

Mrs H Winser - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

19/08/2017

Very nice location and beautiful setting.

"Cheap relaxing campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

19/08/2017

Lovely relaxing campsite , full of tress and simple but clean showers and washing facilities . The owners Father greeted us and was charming and informative . We picked this place due to ease of......Read more.

Lovely relaxing campsite , full of tress and simple but clean showers and washing facilities . The owners Father greeted us and was charming and informative . We picked this place due to ease of getting to Newquay , Padstow and wadebridge .

We had a lovely email three days before hand explaining how to get to them which was fantastic cause the Sat nav got us lost !

The site is kept clean and tidy and any problem is sorted quickly .

We didn't have children with us but the children that was on site all seemed happy .

Loads of wildlife about to see , a robin befriended us which was so lovely .

Will very much be returning...Read less.

"Excellent family campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

17/08/2017

We booked a 3 night stay in the campsite and took our 2 children and all had a fantastic time. The campsite is lovely and peaceful. The children loved the woodland area, park and animals.

"No problems"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

17/08/2017

Well organised and looked after campsite, would recommend staying here if you are visiting the area

"Stay in August"

E Germano - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

17/08/2017

Good location and friendly staff, dissatisfied with toilet/shower facilities

Not cheap

"ease of access"

Ms S Bodger - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

16/08/2017

we did find it very difficult to find but this was due to lack of signposting on local roads rather than any fault of the site itself

"Very pleasant stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

16/08/2017

Nice facilities, could use more shower facilities

"In de natuur lekker camperen"

S Veltman - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

16/08/2017

Het is een simpele maar schone nette camping. Het veld is omringt met bomen je wordt gewekt door een haan en je hoord de schapen in de weilanden er achter. Heerlijk geen auto geluiden. Camping zelf......Read more.

Het is een simpele maar schone nette camping. Het veld is omringt met bomen je wordt gewekt door een haan en je hoord de schapen in de weilanden er achter. Heerlijk geen auto geluiden. Camping zelf simpel maar erg schoon. De douches zijn aangebouwd aan een ouder toilet huis met daarbij een nieuw toilet het is allemaal netjes alleen als je uit de douche komt sta je onder een golf platendakje droog buiten. Niks mis mee maar het is geen modern toilet en douche huis maar wel schoon en netjes. Verder zijn de eigenaren Andrew en Nicole zeer behulpzaam en reageren direct als er iets niet in orde is. Al met al een prima camping om een fijne vakantie te houden....Read less.

"2 night stay"

Jenkins - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

15/08/2017

Good site very friendly well stocked shop and lots of information on what to do and where to visit. Handy for the camel trail would highly recommend

"Always a great holiday"

Mrs L Lahive - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

15/08/2017

We are a family of four who have rented a bungalow in ruthern valley a few years in a row, we love the campsite

, the kids can run around the woods and farm area by them selves and the owners are......Read more.

We are a family of four who have rented a bungalow in ruthern valley a few years in a row, we love the campsite

, the kids can run around the woods and farm area by them selves and the owners are always very helpful and friendly, also the site has a small shop that sales local produce with sausage that taste amazing. While we are there we always cycle the camel trail , visit the beaches west of Padstow and body board, crab fish in loo and visit local attractions, there is always something to do....Read less.

"Overnight stay in Pod"

Mrs C Whatson - Stayed with friends, Aug 2017

15/08/2017

My friend and I stayed in one of the pods for one night as we were walking the Saints Way and it was the nearest accommodation we could get. Whilst it was a good mile and a quarter's detour to the......Read more.

My friend and I stayed in one of the pods for one night as we were walking the Saints Way and it was the nearest accommodation we could get. Whilst it was a good mile and a quarter's detour to the campsite, when we arrived we received a very friendly welcome from the owner who was most helpful. The pod was just as it looked online, however one side of our pod was damp and my belongings were not dry in the morning. Otherwise the campsite was well kept and the shower and toilet facilities were clean. Would definitely recommend this site to other campers....Read less.

"Fabulous campsite"

J Etele - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

13/08/2017

We booked this campsite very last minute and we were so pleased we managed to get a site. The owner managed to squeeze us in for another night too. It is a lovely site with good facilities. The......Read more.

We booked this campsite very last minute and we were so pleased we managed to get a site. The owner managed to squeeze us in for another night too. It is a lovely site with good facilities. The Camel Trail is only a mile away from the site and we got to cycle to Padstow and Bodmin. We will definitely be back....Read less.

"Excellent holiday"

K Leck - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

12/08/2017

Had a great stay. Great location. Great lodges and very friendly helpful staff. Thanks for a great stay.

"Stayed for a weekend in the pods"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

11/08/2017

Well located, clean campsite

"Peace and quiet!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

11/08/2017

We only stayed for two nights but really loved the setting, woodland walks,peace and quiet, just what we were looking for! The owners were really friendly and we would most definitely return there.......Read more.

We only stayed for two nights but really loved the setting, woodland walks,peace and quiet, just what we were looking for! The owners were really friendly and we would most definitely return there. It's a nice mix of chalets bungalows, camping( which we did) and some intriguing "pods"!!...Read less.

"facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

09/08/2017

One of the showers does not have a light in it.at night time can be very dark and dangerous

"nature and comfort"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

07/08/2017

We loved staying in the bungalow - we were only there for two nights but it was brilliant. Within ten minutes of arriving Andrew came to welcome us and make sure we knew where everything was. The......Read more.

We loved staying in the bungalow - we were only there for two nights but it was brilliant. Within ten minutes of arriving Andrew came to welcome us and make sure we knew where everything was. The bungalow was definitely a home away from home, and we had everything we could have wanted. Oven, hob, fridge, toaster, microwave... in case you are there longer than we were would bring a laptop and hdmi or DVD player for in the evenings. We played boggle so we were fine :)

Would say to keep the heater on low through the night or bring a little extra bedding, and the mattress was a little uncomfortable but we are campers so we wernt too fussed.

It is a very picturesque and beautiful location with lots of trees and walks nearby. We also went to Eden Project, newquay beach and cairne caverns while we were there and highly recommend.

Thanks for such a great stay!!...Read less.

"Family friendly"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

3rd year staying at Ruthern Valley certainly won't be the last. Excellent value for money, perfect location for both coasts. Andrew and Nicola always very welcoming and happy to help you get the most......Read more.

3rd year staying at Ruthern Valley certainly won't be the last. Excellent value for money, perfect location for both coasts. Andrew and Nicola always very welcoming and happy to help you get the most out of your holiday with advice on good spots to visit. Perfect family holiday!...Read less.

"."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

.

"Altogether a very pleasant experience"

Mr I Murtagh - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

03/08/2017

Very clean, well run site with friendly staff and good facilities. Beautiful surroundings and abundant wildlife. A really relaxing experience all round. We would definitely stay again, and will book......Read more.

Very clean, well run site with friendly staff and good facilities. Beautiful surroundings and abundant wildlife. A really relaxing experience all round. We would definitely stay again, and will book another stay shortly. Site shop stocked with lots of local fresh produce was very convenient, keenly priced (and tasty too)

See you soon, Iain & Michael...Read less.

"Excellent last min booking"

Natas N Leoni - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

03/08/2017

Really last minute summer booking. Very friendly campsite - both staff and other campers.

Having stayed in this kind of accommodation before I felt it was maybe a little higher priced than others......Read more.

Really last minute summer booking. Very friendly campsite - both staff and other campers.

Having stayed in this kind of accommodation before I felt it was maybe a little higher priced than others with less facilities (a mattress or sleeping matt). We were told to bring our own but the price should reflect this.

Very peaceful though and great that you can park outside the huts :)

Will be back, maybe booking the upgraded huts....Read less.

"On the Camel trail"

Mr D Watton - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

This is a great eco-friendly option if you want to camp in attractive woodland surroundings near the Camel trail. We hired bikes for the day from reception and were on the lovely trail to Padstow......Read more.

This is a great eco-friendly option if you want to camp in attractive woodland surroundings near the Camel trail. We hired bikes for the day from reception and were on the lovely trail to Padstow within minutes.

Ruthern Valley is very well laid out & maintained and nature is all around - I particularly enjoyed watching the bats skimming through the trees at dusk. The mini football field, playground and nature trail is a great place for kids to play independently while parents put their feet up with a nice beer or glass of wine at the end of the day.

Highly recommended!...Read less.

"fantastic place to stay"

Mr M Halden - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the glamping pod we stayed in. Very clean with all basic kitchen items that you need. Shower blocks are very clean and nice to use. The site is perfect and very quiet with a fab......Read more.

We thoroughly enjoyed the glamping pod we stayed in. Very clean with all basic kitchen items that you need. Shower blocks are very clean and nice to use. The site is perfect and very quiet with a fab family friendly feel. Kids already want to go back and it was a shame we had to leave to come home!...Read less.

"Good"

Mr J May - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

Good

"Perfect site with something for every traveller"

Miss S Barnard - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

01/08/2017

It's great location to access rest of Cornwall. We've camped there in a tent in there pods and in the Mega pods. Quiet and friendly and really helpful staff. Showers are hot and powerful - just what......Read more.

It's great location to access rest of Cornwall. We've camped there in a tent in there pods and in the Mega pods. Quiet and friendly and really helpful staff. Showers are hot and powerful - just what you need after a day surfing. Shop is well stocked with all you might need and really cheap too. Great that you can hire bikes and wetsuits with them also....Read less.

"Lovely base"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

01/08/2017

We have stayed here twice now and use it as a base. Lovely family run site. Quite and tranquil atmosphere. Children love the small park and animals. Stayed in the same bungalow both times perfect for......Read more.

We have stayed here twice now and use it as a base. Lovely family run site. Quite and tranquil atmosphere. Children love the small park and animals. Stayed in the same bungalow both times perfect for our needs....Read less.

"A very quiet and natural place"

H Timmerman - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

25/07/2017

When we arrived at the place, there was an older men, who seemed to be the father of the owner. He was very kind and helpful and it gave us directly the feeling that we were very welcome. The place......Read more.

When we arrived at the place, there was an older men, who seemed to be the father of the owner. He was very kind and helpful and it gave us directly the feeling that we were very welcome. The place is quiet and natural and the owner and his wife are very kind and helpful. The sanitary blocks are old but they are very well cleaned up, so we were very satisfied about this place....Read less.

"A relaxing stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

24/07/2017

A lovely quiet site, a bit difficult to find even after a few nights there. Nothing much locally but doesn't take too long to get to Wadebridge, Bodmin and Padstow. Facilities were clean, not sure......Read more.

A lovely quiet site, a bit difficult to find even after a few nights there. Nothing much locally but doesn't take too long to get to Wadebridge, Bodmin and Padstow. Facilities were clean, not sure what the availability of showers would be like in peak season as there didn't seem enough to go around but didn't effect our stay. We stayed in a wigwam which was clean and spacious and it was nice to have a kettle, microwave and mattresses to sleep on.

A good location for travelling about and seeing Cornwall but not much nearby. A nice country pub/tearoom within walking distance would have been good!...Read less.

"cleaning"

Mr R Rickard - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

22/07/2017

It was a good place to stay for us it was off the beaten track so very handy and I had originly came from bodwen which is not too far from Lanivet. I only wish you had left some cleaning gear in the......Read more.

It was a good place to stay for us it was off the beaten track so very handy and I had originly came from bodwen which is not too far from Lanivet. I only wish you had left some cleaning gear in the cabin and only one toilet roll. Thanks hope to see you again in the future....Read less.

"Exactly what we wanted"

Mr J Hill - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

20/07/2017

We were looking for a site that would enable us to park the car, set up the tent and then not need to drive at all for a few days, using just bicycles and the Camel Trail to visit Padstow, Wadebridge......Read more.

We were looking for a site that would enable us to park the car, set up the tent and then not need to drive at all for a few days, using just bicycles and the Camel Trail to visit Padstow, Wadebridge and Bodmin. Spot on.

We didn't want / need kids clubs, shows, amusement halls etc. There's a time and place for that, and this trip it was just me and my wife and we just wanted a peaceful base, away from the crowds, and (as it happens) good value.

We found the staff (may have been the owner!?) very friendly and relaxed. I liked that vehicles weren't allowed on the grass, kept everything looking lovely, and it wasn't a problem - it's only a small site. Lovely woodland, pretty woodland walk and a small, surprise un-signposted area with chickens & pigs.

Basic shower and loos setup, but clean. Washing machines and spin dryers came in useful. Basic shop stocked all you'd need in an emergency, no problem.

10 mile cycle to Padstow - first 1.5 miles on country roads and then the lovely Camel Trail. Bodmin maybe just 5 miles the opposite way, past the looming, imperious Bodmin Jail, which simply has to be visited. Very atmospheric.

Great places to eat / drink all along the Camel Trail - the vineyard, the Camel Trail Tea Garden near Nunstallon and a great carvery at the Borough Arms on the edge of Bodmin.

As it happens, we did use the car for a couple of evenings to eat out in Wadebridge - there are no pubs within walking distance of the site. The Raj in Wadebridge was rammed, but they squeezed us in one night and it was fantastic. We even spent a damp night at the cinema there which was good fun.

We'd certainly go back to Ruthern Valley. It's a perfect base for a quiet break and has a slightly 'undiscovered' feel about it. In a world of overcrowded big chain sites, I really hope that it stays this way.

...Read less.

"Ruthern valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

19/07/2017

very good stay Sign posting could be in proved in the area

"Country retreat"

Mrs J Robertson - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

14/07/2017

We booked a 4 night break to visit friends in Bodmin. No expectations, just convenient.

However amazed to find a tranquil, scenic spotless site. First break in years earplugs not required. Staff......Read more.

We booked a 4 night break to visit friends in Bodmin. No expectations, just convenient.

However amazed to find a tranquil, scenic spotless site. First break in years earplugs not required. Staff as laid back/chilled as the countryside....Read less.

"Ruthin valley"

Mrs C Carey - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

14/07/2017

We stayed in lodge one. The accommodation was spotless and had everything you needed for self catering.

My mattress was uncomfortable but after looking at reviews this could have been changed.

The......Read more.

We stayed in lodge one. The accommodation was spotless and had everything you needed for self catering.

My mattress was uncomfortable but after looking at reviews this could have been changed.

The only downside is, when sat outside, there isa smell of sewerage.

I will definitely return in the future and highly recommend....Read less.

"Excellent"

Willetts - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

13/07/2017

Booked one night but enjoyed our wigwam so stayed an extra night. We will definitely return.

"An oasis of peace and calm with lots to do!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

12/07/2017

The site is spacious, beautifully spread out and yet relatively small. The chalets are well equipped and very comfortable. The lanes leading to the site are quite narrow in places but no more so than......Read more.

The site is spacious, beautifully spread out and yet relatively small. The chalets are well equipped and very comfortable. The lanes leading to the site are quite narrow in places but no more so than many other sites in Cornwall. The Camel Trail is about a 15 minute stroll away and is a safe trail and for walking & cycling away from the roads. Tintagel, Padstow and Newquay are all within easy reach with glorious walks along the Coastal path and fabulous beaches....Read less.

"Lovely, relaxing place to get away from everything"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

12/07/2017

Our visit was great and we felt really relaxed when we left. The park is really well maintained. And i would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to escape the pressures of life. The only......Read more.

Our visit was great and we felt really relaxed when we left. The park is really well maintained. And i would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to escape the pressures of life. The only recommendations i can make is that they put the area of the communal fire pit on the site map, that they give out with pod and lodge bookings....Read less.

"First stay in Cornwall"

Mrs E Woodworth - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

10/07/2017

We were impressed even before we arrived with an email giving us clear and concise directions to Ruthvern Holiday Park. On our arrival we were made welcome by Andrew, who was both friendly and......Read more.

We were impressed even before we arrived with an email giving us clear and concise directions to Ruthvern Holiday Park. On our arrival we were made welcome by Andrew, who was both friendly and knowledgeable, giving advice on how to reach the Camel Trail. The campsite shop was well stocked and not over priced. All in all a good experience....Read less.

"Value"

Mr. D Metcalfe - Stayed Jul 2017

09/07/2017

I walked the St's Way and stayed at 4 different campgrounds along the way. I have to say that Ruthern Valley was by far the best in terms of Value for money. But also for good clean washrooms. And it......Read more.

I walked the St's Way and stayed at 4 different campgrounds along the way. I have to say that Ruthern Valley was by far the best in terms of Value for money. But also for good clean washrooms. And it also had a well stocked shop. The owners of the site were also very friendly and helpful.

I have camped in many different places all over Europe and beyond. This is one of the best....Read less.

"Wigwam Long Weekend"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

07/07/2017

We had a very warm welcome and the wigwam was cosy, clean and in a lovely woodland area. The onsite pigs were also very cute!

"Peace and Quiet"

Mrs P Morton - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

07/07/2017

Beautiful site.Very peaceful. Natural habitat for birds etc. Surrounded by trees so air vwery fresh. A little oasis of calm.

"Mini break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

03/07/2017

Have been here on several occasions. Never fails to please. Andrew and Nicky friendly and helpful. Accommodation spotless and in tip-top condition. Peaceful, quiet and in an attractive setting,......Read more.

Have been here on several occasions. Never fails to please. Andrew and Nicky friendly and helpful. Accommodation spotless and in tip-top condition. Peaceful, quiet and in an attractive setting, central to most tourist attractions...Read less.

"June camping stay"

Ms S Lock - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

02/07/2017

We found this campsite on a south west camping trip in June. Didn't have much of a set plan but were lucky enough to find this campsite when looking for somewhere to stay near the coast and Bodmin.......Read more.

We found this campsite on a south west camping trip in June. Didn't have much of a set plan but were lucky enough to find this campsite when looking for somewhere to stay near the coast and Bodmin. Both are only approx 20-30 min drive away. The campsite is very neat, tidy, welcoming and clean. It was really quiet and we were able to have the back part of the campsite to ourselves which was lovely. There isn't loads of pitches so I don't think it would feel too busy even if full as the pitches are well organised and have their own little clearings. The showers and toilets facilities were excellent, hot and powerful showers and so clean. The owner greeted us and was lovely. They even have a book swap and a shop on site with basics and beer! We had a sneaky play on the playground which I would recommend. Loved the quiet after 9pm rule We also met the pigs who we adored!!!! It rained a lot while we were there for 2 days and I could see no trouble with flooded pitches. They also have lovely cabins, wooden tipis and wooden camping pods dotted about. We would definitely come back....Read less.

"Wonderful place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

29/06/2017

Love this campsite! Pretty, peaceful, right next to the Camel Trail, staff really helpful. Thank you!

"Another nice stay at Ruthern Valley"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

27/06/2017

This is the forth time that we have stayed at Ruthern Valley and the second time in their lodge/bungalow accommodation, the first two times we camped and would recommend that was well. As previous......Read more.

This is the forth time that we have stayed at Ruthern Valley and the second time in their lodge/bungalow accommodation, the first two times we camped and would recommend that was well. As previous experience here, the site is nice and well maintained and the owners very friendly and helpful. We would have no doubt recommending or using this site again, infact we have booked to go back later this year.

Very handy for the excellent Camel Trail which is about one mile down a quiet road, they even hire bikes.

Loads to see and do in the area and Cornwall is such a nice county....Read less.

"Peace and Quiet in a Cornish Woodland"

Mr. P Madley - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

26/06/2017

We wanted a quiet week in Cornwall somewhere near to the Camel Trail and we could not have chosen better. We normally camp under canvas (and if we had then Ruthern Valley would have been one of the......Read more.

We wanted a quiet week in Cornwall somewhere near to the Camel Trail and we could not have chosen better. We normally camp under canvas (and if we had then Ruthern Valley would have been one of the nicest sites where we've ever camped) but this year for medical reasons we needed something more substantial over our heads and the 'Mega Pod" we rented was absolutely ideal.

We hired bikes from the site which were of good quality and cheaper than the rates in the local towns. The cycle route to Wadebrige is so much more convenient than the route you have to drive.

We would highly recommend this site....Read less.

"Our weekend holiday"

Mrs J Headings - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

24/06/2017

On arrival the site was very clean and the cabin had everything we needed .The beds were made up already so all we had to do was put the kettle on! The children loved the play area and found the pigs......Read more.

On arrival the site was very clean and the cabin had everything we needed .The beds were made up already so all we had to do was put the kettle on! The children loved the play area and found the pigs and chickens fascinating to watch .The owner of the site managed to impress the children with the size of the eggs that the cockerel had laid which made us laugh.

Thanks for a great weekend and we hope to return later in the summer...Read less.

"A quiet secluded site in a lovely wooded setting"

B Raven - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

23/06/2017

The site was great for 3 night stay whilst we walked parts of The Saints Way. Very friendly owners running a well kept site. We had a very comfortable lodge. Access roads quite narrow but site......Read more.

The site was great for 3 night stay whilst we walked parts of The Saints Way. Very friendly owners running a well kept site. We had a very comfortable lodge. Access roads quite narrow but site details give details of best ways to site. Living in Cornwall we are used to narrow lanes!...Read less.

"Tranquility"

Mrs S Henry - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

22/06/2017

We stayed in one of the lodges in June. The setting is stunning. Very peaceful and quiet. Great base for days out all around Cornwall. You do need a car as It's in the middle of no where, which is......Read more.

We stayed in one of the lodges in June. The setting is stunning. Very peaceful and quiet. Great base for days out all around Cornwall. You do need a car as It's in the middle of no where, which is why we chose to stay there. The lodge was immaculate. There is an small shop on site which sells bread milk etc and local produce such as bacon, sausages and eggs. Would definitely recommend Ruthern Valley. It's just beautiful!...Read less.

"Short break in log cabin"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

21/06/2017

Lovely place for a short break. Log cabin set up perfect for family with young kids. On site shop a real bonus and well stocked. Playground, animals and woodland walks a hit with the kids! Beautiful......Read more.

Lovely place for a short break. Log cabin set up perfect for family with young kids. On site shop a real bonus and well stocked. Playground, animals and woodland walks a hit with the kids! Beautiful setting....Read less.

"peaceful and relaxing"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

21/06/2017

Total peace and quiet in wonderful setting. Very friendly staff. Great location for North and South Cornwall with great access to Camel trail.

"Ruthern Valley"

Mrs J Webb - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

19/06/2017

The site is easily accessible. Good clear instructions of how to get to the site. Warning !! do not go via Bodmin moor because of the roadworks! It added on an extra half an hour to our......Read more.

The site is easily accessible. Good clear instructions of how to get to the site. Warning !! do not go via Bodmin moor because of the roadworks! It added on an extra half an hour to our journey....off peak period as well!

The 2 bed log cabin was comfortable and met our requirements. It was lovely just to watch the wildlife from the sofa. The birds appreciated the crumbs we put out on the decking.

Perfect location for Eden Project and Lanhyrock.

Would defiantly return soon....Read less.

"Absolute gem"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

15/06/2017

We love this place! Beautiful location , away from bustling crowds, fabulous for families and friendly staff. We will be back.

"Brilliant holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

15/06/2017

Excellent value for money, beautiful location, perfect place for a holiday with our two young children!

"Meer dan verwacht"

A Helvert Van - Stayed with partner, May 2017

10/06/2017

We hadden een caravan gehuurd en gingen van het minste uit.

Het bleek een meer dan complete caravan alles erop en er aan.

"Excellent place to stay"

Mr G Hayward - Stayed with family, May 2017

08/06/2017

Very much a countryside site without club house, swimming pool etc. That is made clear on their website and was exactly what we were looking for. An abundance of wildlife, many birds that I do not......Read more.

Very much a countryside site without club house, swimming pool etc. That is made clear on their website and was exactly what we were looking for. An abundance of wildlife, many birds that I do not see in my own fairly rural garden. Included nuthatches, bullfinches, jays and a lot of the more common species. Very well maintained and the owners were very helpful....Read less.

"Relaxing Half Term Holiday"

Mrs E Sims - Stayed with friends, Jun 2017

08/06/2017

We arrived to the most beautiful country side location, birds everywhere, peaceful and quiet, a small and cosy campsite, perfect for our children to roam free safely, with pigs and chickens , a......Read more.

We arrived to the most beautiful country side location, birds everywhere, peaceful and quiet, a small and cosy campsite, perfect for our children to roam free safely, with pigs and chickens , a wooded area and playing park. Simple but perfect. We enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you!...Read less.

"Good value for money"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

07/06/2017

Very good holiday park,clean wigwams and bathrooms, very nice staff,thank you, definitely will come back :-)

"Tranquility but within easy distance to beaches!!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

06/06/2017

What a wonderful place, really peaceful and friendly. Ability to hire bikes, boards and wetsuit and real plus for space strapped campers! Everyone so helpful and friendly.

"Not as peaceful as hoped"

T Collins - Stayed with partner, May 2017

03/06/2017

As a couple seeking a peaceful site (as advertised), we were disappointed. The site without campers may be peaceful but, with the quantity of families with children holidaying there, it was......Read more.

As a couple seeking a peaceful site (as advertised), we were disappointed. The site without campers may be peaceful but, with the quantity of families with children holidaying there, it was extremely noisy....Read less.

"ONE NIGHT ONLY"

J Symes - Stayed with partner, May 2017

03/06/2017

STAFF WERE VERY WELCOMING, FACILITIES IN THE WIGWAM WERE GOOD, COMFORTABLE BEDS, SITE IS CLOSE TO NORTH AND SOUTH COAST. GREAT WALKS.

"Great"

Mr P Ryan - Stayed with partner, May 2017

02/06/2017

Very good.

"Mega pod stay!"

Miss N Glass - Stayed with partner, May 2017

27/05/2017

We booked the mega pod as I wanted to go camping for the weekend for my birthday and my boyfriend refused to take me away in a tent! He wasn't wrong! The pod was awesome! We wished we'd booked for a......Read more.

We booked the mega pod as I wanted to go camping for the weekend for my birthday and my boyfriend refused to take me away in a tent! He wasn't wrong! The pod was awesome! We wished we'd booked for a couple of extra days. We had a double bed. A sofa to snuggle up on. Freeview tv. A fridge to keep our ciders in. A toilet and handsink! A small kitchen area with kettle, sink and microwave and cupboard with plates etc in. We had a disposable bbq both nights on our decking area looking out into the trees. It was perfect! It was everything we needed. The showers weren't bad either. Clean and just what you need. Water was hot and the room was pretty spacious. All in all we had a lovely trip. We felt like we were in the middle of nowhere and escaped everything down the single track lanes in the countryside. And we spent our days exploring port Isaac, padstow and other Cornish towns....Read less.

"Beautiful Ruthern"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

27/05/2017

Fantastic break in lovely setting. Looking to book again.

"Loved it!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

25/05/2017

We hope to return

"snow's"

Snow - Stayed with family, May 2017

23/05/2017

Our third visit to Ruthern Valley all been very good. We like that we are far enough away from the towns but also close enough to some nice pubs for food and drink. We also like the proximity to the......Read more.

Our third visit to Ruthern Valley all been very good. We like that we are far enough away from the towns but also close enough to some nice pubs for food and drink. We also like the proximity to the Camel Trail....Read less.

"Lovely natural site"

K Webb - Stayed with partner, May 2017

23/05/2017

Think perfect site for those wanting to do pretend wild camping. Wash areas clean, water lovely and hot.

""FOUNDER" VISITORS"

Mr N Adams - Stayed with partner, May 2017

17/05/2017

We have been going to the Ruthernbridge site for over 20 years, sometimes on two occasions each year. We never cease to come away anything other than thoroughly refreshed (whatever the weather)......Read more.

We have been going to the Ruthernbridge site for over 20 years, sometimes on two occasions each year. We never cease to come away anything other than thoroughly refreshed (whatever the weather) following our holidays in the tranquil surroundings and beautiful countryside.

When this is aligned to the ever-improving facilities on the site and the friendliness of the proprietors what else could you want from your stay here?...Read less.

"Tranquil setting and neatly appointed"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

08/05/2017

Hubby and I stayed here for 4 relaxing nights. We were originally booked into a bungalow but were kindly upgraded by Andrew&Nicki the day of arrival. The setting is spectacular. Quiet and tranquil.......Read more.

Hubby and I stayed here for 4 relaxing nights. We were originally booked into a bungalow but were kindly upgraded by Andrew&Nicki the day of arrival. The setting is spectacular. Quiet and tranquil. Lovely walking routes too. The log cabin itself was comfortable and had all the basics for a glamping weekend. We visited a few places in the rain, cycled a bit and walked all day on the Moor. There are plenty of close places to eat/drink if you don't fancy using the well equipped kitchen in the lodge. Highly recommended for a quiet getaway not to faraway from our home. Thank you Andrew & Nicki...Read less.

"Lost count of visits"

Mr S Brown - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

05/05/2017

Nice quiet atmosphere, very friendly and welcoming. Looking forward to our next visit.

"Great quality for a short stay"

Miss E Strange - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

25/04/2017

Lovely one night stay in a wig wam, plenty of space for 2 people but would not reccomend any more. Clean and open space and lovely surroundings. Perfect for couples.

"Lovely for the kids to be able to roam free"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

24/04/2017

Like camping with a bit more luxury. The kids loved the play area and being independent. The surrounding countryside is beautiful with lots of walks and bike rides. A really special spot.

"Lovely area and natural surroundings"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

The wigwam was well equipped and clean. The nature in the campsite was lovely and it was well equipped. In a great area with lots to do in the surrounding area. You do need a car to get there and......Read more.

The wigwam was well equipped and clean. The nature in the campsite was lovely and it was well equipped. In a great area with lots to do in the surrounding area. You do need a car to get there and around....Read less.

"Great little site"

Mr N Long - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

Great site very peaceful and with very easy access to the Camel trail.

"Fantastic base location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

We were accommodated excellently, this is an ideal location to base yourself to allow for easy travel to Cornwall attractions

"Easter review"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

We really enjoyed our stay, only recommendation would be for more toilets to be open for gents, as there was only one working, otherwise it was perfect, thanks

"A lovely camping experience"

Mrs M Berdoy - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

Excellent facilities, super nice owner/manager. Wonderful holiday!

"PERFECT HOLIDAY"

Mr. S Farrow - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

20/04/2017

Been staying here for a weeks break for around 10 years now. Great location. Lovely setting. Children love it. Owners are more than helpful.

"Lovely Relaxing Break"

M Styles - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

19/04/2017

Lovely surroundings, lovely friendly staff. Would definately return again.

"Camping"

L Lester - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

11/04/2017

Beautiful, family friendly site...highly recommended

"Ruthern Valley Holidays"

Mr A Graves-Fournier - Stayed with friends, Apr 2017

09/04/2017

Superb accommodation, fantastic location which is so peaceful and idyllic and is so central for driving to all that Cornwall has to offer. The holiday lodge is immaculate has everything you need to......Read more.

Superb accommodation, fantastic location which is so peaceful and idyllic and is so central for driving to all that Cornwall has to offer. The holiday lodge is immaculate has everything you need to make it feel like a home from home. Andrew & Nicola are brilliant and are on hand if you need them. The onsite shop is reasonably priced and open at convenient times and great if you forget the odd little thing. We are already looking forward to our return visit next April. I would recommend it to anyone and it definitely gets a 5 star rating from us....Read less.

"Party girls"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2017

23/03/2017

Excellent ....

"Great base for the area"

M Hyde - Stayed with family, Mar 2017

16/03/2017

This was only the second time I had towed my caravan, and although the site is located in a rural area through country lanes it's is very easy to access. The site is a great base for visiting local......Read more.

This was only the second time I had towed my caravan, and although the site is located in a rural area through country lanes it's is very easy to access. The site is a great base for visiting local areas. My children loved it....Read less.

"Lovely area, great value, friendly"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Mar 2017

16/03/2017

We arrived at the site to a friendly welcome. We were staying in a lodge which was perfect for our needs. Everything was comfortable, clean and covered all our cooking needs. The setting is......Read more.

We arrived at the site to a friendly welcome. We were staying in a lodge which was perfect for our needs. Everything was comfortable, clean and covered all our cooking needs. The setting is wonderful, with plenty on-site and closeby to keep our 2 year old entertained for hours on end....Read less.

"Wigwam stay"

Mr L Upson - Stayed with partner, Mar 2017

09/03/2017

Very peaceful and friendly place to stay, with clean and comfy accommodation.

Been for the last 2 years since we discovered it, and will be booking again for next year.

"NA"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Feb 2017

02/03/2017

NA

"None"

Mr A Laming - Stayed with family, Feb 2017

25/02/2017

None

"Magical"

A Papini - Stayed with family, Feb 2017

23/02/2017

Its a must go place.

We definitely will go back.

Andrea

"Perfect quiet weekend"

T Murray - Stayed with partner, Feb 2017

19/02/2017

Booking was very quick and easy. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We were met on arrival and shown everything. They had ensured the heating was on which was very welcomed. The log cabin we......Read more.

Booking was very quick and easy. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We were met on arrival and shown everything. They had ensured the heating was on which was very welcomed. The log cabin we stayed in was perfect in every way. We loved the cabin, clean and plenty of facilities, it had everything we could ever need. We went for a walk and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the area. It was lovely to sit and relax and just watch all the wildlife outide. It was the perfect peaceful weekend we were hoping for. Without a doubt we will be returning. Hopefully next time the weather will be better so we can hire bikes and enjoy the local nearby cycle trail.

Thank you ruthern valley for a getaway that was far better then we could have hoped for!!!...Read less.

"First time great :)"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Feb 2017

08/02/2017

Lovely staff went above and beyond to make sure we was happy. stayed in a wigwam great accommodation and good value, will definitely come back :)

"A great location for a peaceful getaway"

Mr J Newall - Stayed with partner, Jan 2017

18/01/2017

we have visited on several occasions in the last 10 years and stayed in a chalet, a pod, our own tent, folding camper and now a campervan. This is a great base for touring the local area but, is......Read more.

we have visited on several occasions in the last 10 years and stayed in a chalet, a pod, our own tent, folding camper and now a campervan. This is a great base for touring the local area but, is ideal for cycling the Camel Trail - our particular reason for visiting. Andrew and Nicola are excellent and accommodating hosts, who run a lovely , peaceful campsite in the heart of North Cornwall....Read less.

"Away from the New Year Hussle and Bussle"

M Styles - Stayed with family, Dec 2016

06/01/2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend away as wanted a quiet New Year and stress free. This site ticked all the boxes, lovely accommodation, walks, cycle rides if you wanted to and not too far from the......Read more.

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend away as wanted a quiet New Year and stress free. This site ticked all the boxes, lovely accommodation, walks, cycle rides if you wanted to and not too far from the beaches either. Lovely break and would definately book again....Read less.

"Will be recommending and we hope to return"

Mrs T Hawking - Stayed with partner, Nov 2016

23/11/2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our week staying at Ruthern Valley. We stayed in a Mega Pod. This was the first time we had done anything like this so went on a friends recommendation.

We were greeted and......Read more.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week staying at Ruthern Valley. We stayed in a Mega Pod. This was the first time we had done anything like this so went on a friends recommendation.

We were greeted and made welcome at check in and when we got to our pod we fell in love with it- it was clean, warm (in November!) and very cosy, just what we needed.

The deck area outside the pod was perfect for breakfast in the fresh air, watching birds hop around and hearing them in the trees. Also served as a great space for a BBQ- which we purchased from the shop- including s'mores which we got EVERYTHING for (including the skewers) from the on site shop, which was very well stocked and good prices.

The wi-fi was great too, available at weakended strength inside the pod due to brilliant insulation! Free view worked well with full access to all channels. We took a DAB radio which struggled in places to get signal but with some effort we got it.

Sofa was comfortable and we had a friend stay for two nights and use the bed which was comfortable and she got two good nights sleep. I struggled with the bed a little, but with ongoing back problems this was a little expected.

Kitchen facilities in the pod were great. Good cupboard space for goodies and treats. The fridge was also excellent and very roomy and included a small freezer compartment. Hot water was very hot and came through quickly.

Toilet and basin was good in the pod too. Did what you needed it to!

The shower and wash block was clean. We used the shower room with the green door as advised on arrival and this was definitely newer, cleaner and generally nicer looking than the other options. There was washing machines and tumble dryers available too for a small charge which we didn't use but would have done if needed. The recycling facilities were great too.

It was a lovely place to be able to explore more of Cornwall. We visited Bodmin, Penzance, Newquay, Padstow (beautiful!) and Wadebridge which were all easy access. The site is set in the windy country lanes, which were very quiet.

There was no security at the entrance of the site that we were aware of but this wasn't a big issue to us as it was so remote. The pod was fully lockable of course.

Some sort of clock would be a great addition to the pods in my opinion. There was only one side of the bed that was accessible so if sleeping against the wall it was a pain to find out the time if you wanted.

We had a great week and we hope to return during the summer to spend some more time exploring....Read less.

"Lodge accommodation"

Mr I Glazebrook - Stayed with family, Oct 2016

05/11/2016

Very nice comfortable lodge. We were only staying because of a family funeral but would happily stay here again for a comfortable base to explore Cornwall from. Nice friendly owners.

"Being surrounded by trees"

Mrs G Hall - Stayed with family, Oct 2016

03/11/2016

The area in which the park is situated is just beautiful, being surrounded by big colourful trees. Very accessible to visiting the lovely towns of Padstow and Port Isaac, which are 2 of our......Read more.

The area in which the park is situated is just beautiful, being surrounded by big colourful trees. Very accessible to visiting the lovely towns of Padstow and Port Isaac, which are 2 of our favourite places and beautiful beaches too. We choose to go to Ruthern Valley because its so peaceful and it is nice just to be able to relax and not have lots of busy activities on site. Days out are only a short drive, which suits us perfectly....Read less.

"Perfect"

Mrs S Humpage - Stayed with family, Oct 2016

02/11/2016

The cabin was spacious, warm and very clean. We had a wonderful time, it was so peaceful, just what we wanted for our holiday.

"A peaceful, relaxing stay"

Mrs A Palmer - Stayed with family, Oct 2016

02/11/2016

Such a lovely lodge surrounded by the stunning colours of autumnal trees and nature. We had a lovely stay. Thank you

"Wigwam long weekend"

Mr M Knight - Stayed with family, Oct 2016

31/10/2016

The Wigwam was very comfortable and well laid out. The toilets were clean and the shower was powerful and hot but the older block was very dated and needs an overhaul in my opinion. The shop was......Read more.

The Wigwam was very comfortable and well laid out. The toilets were clean and the shower was powerful and hot but the older block was very dated and needs an overhaul in my opinion. The shop was great as was the service at reception. The children's play area is suffering a little bit from being made of wood and in a damp environment...I would say it is towards the end of its serviceable life. However the swing was a hit, it went very high....Read less.

"Our week"

Mr R Stitt - Stayed with partner, Oct 2016

29/10/2016

Our weeks stay was great, from a warm welcome to great location. The accommodation was explained and very helpful information. We found the local and far surrounding areas like towns, beaches and......Read more.

Our weeks stay was great, from a warm welcome to great location. The accommodation was explained and very helpful information. We found the local and far surrounding areas like towns, beaches and nature reserves wonderful. The overall package was very great value for what you received, this included car parking, onsite shop and accommodation.

We would loved to returned and have already got friends looking at booking.

Our thanks to all at Ruther Valley Holidays for their help and a great holiday,...Read less.

"Lovely, lovely Ruthernbridge"

Mrs. L Gieldon - Stayed with partner, Oct 2016

26/10/2016

We've been coming here for around 25 years. When we visited with children, the site always felt safe and provided a lovely ol fashioned playground for our kids. Woods, mud, wee bridges over the......Read more.

We've been coming here for around 25 years. When we visited with children, the site always felt safe and provided a lovely ol fashioned playground for our kids. Woods, mud, wee bridges over the burn, insects and trees! No games machines!

The owners and their small staff team are always friendly and helpful. We have always stayed in the chalets and Andrew and Nikki have completely solved the damp problems which used to plague them. Now they are cosy, dry and warm.

You need a car to stay here as there are no walking distance pubs or shops(although there is a teeny shop onsite, for the essentials). Bodmin is ten minutes away by car, Wadebridge about twenty minutes. Don't attempt to drive on the wonderful hedgerow roads unless your reversing skills are second to none, but that's the case with most of Cornwall. Beaches are twenty minutes away on the north coast or a wee bit farther on the south. Try Daymar Bay, at Rock, but there are dozens and dozens to choose from.

Have a wee day out on the steam train which leaves from Bodmin. Visit Lanhydrock House which is ten minutes away - it's the most interesting stately home you will ever visit. Bodmin jail is another interesting place to visit, reputed to be haunted, you can eat there too, in their bar/ restaurant. The Eden project is twenty minutes by car. It's unique but prices, so consider buying a yearly pass(same price as a one day admission) if you'll be down next year. We came down two years running, at almost the same time and this saved us fifty pounds admission. Lastly I'd try visiting Heligan Gardens with its interesting history of reclamation and resurrection.

Interesting villages? Try Port Isaac, Mousehole, Polperro and Mevagissey. My favourite tourist place in Cornwall sits unassumingly on the edge of Mevagissey harbour - a teeny weeny wee aquarium, populated by fish from the local waters and free! Museums in Truro and Bodmin are free too.

You'll never run out of things to do.

...Read less.

"A Tranquil Haven"

Mr J Newall - Stayed with partner, Oct 2016

25/10/2016

We have stayed here several times and enjoy the beautiful surroundings of this peaceful, relaxing and very friendly site. highly recommended if you are looking for a relaxing getaway and easy access......Read more.

We have stayed here several times and enjoy the beautiful surroundings of this peaceful, relaxing and very friendly site. highly recommended if you are looking for a relaxing getaway and easy access to the Camel Trail in particular....Read less.

"A step back in time."

M Crook - Stayed with family, Oct 2016

24/10/2016

Have stayed at Ruthern Valley many times over the last 20 years and pleased to say our last visit was as good as the first one! Andrew and Nicola are the third owners since we have been going and......Read more.

Have stayed at Ruthern Valley many times over the last 20 years and pleased to say our last visit was as good as the first one! Andrew and Nicola are the third owners since we have been going and great to see they have saved the peace and tranquillity the site is known for, the reason many return. We had 2 wigwams for 2 nights in October and had a great time, having camped on our previous visits but now looking more at comfort this was a massive luxury, will definitely book these in the future. Site is always clean and well looked after, bit of a hidden gem....Read less.

"Perfect"

Miss S Keane - Stayed with family, Oct 2016

19/10/2016

Perfect accommodation. So good we returned this year after holidaying in a cabin last year. This year we stayed with our 2 toddlers and in the neighbouring accommodation were our elderly parents. ......Read more.

Perfect accommodation. So good we returned this year after holidaying in a cabin last year. This year we stayed with our 2 toddlers and in the neighbouring accommodation were our elderly parents. Both young and old loved the accommodation, setting and everything about Ruthern Valley is brilliant....Read less.

"A nature lover's paradise ."

Mrs Faulkner - Stayed with partner, Sep 2016

10/10/2016

Well placed for the Camel trail and walking . Staff extremely friendly and helpful . A child's paradise for exploration. Minor criticisms would be that the grey water waste point is elevated making......Read more.

Well placed for the Camel trail and walking . Staff extremely friendly and helpful . A child's paradise for exploration. Minor criticisms would be that the grey water waste point is elevated making it difficult for caravan/motorhome disposal . Many of the caravan pitches are shaded by large trees making it dull and damp in poor weather. In busy periods manoeuvring our motorhome would be challenging....Read less.

"Wonderful weekend break"

N Everest - Stayed with partner, Sep 2016

06/10/2016

We only stayed for two nights with our two children but it was a wonderful last minute get away. My partner had been before with friends back in July and recommended as a break for us. Perfect......Read more.

We only stayed for two nights with our two children but it was a wonderful last minute get away. My partner had been before with friends back in July and recommended as a break for us. Perfect location, quiet secure and idillic scenery would absolutely come again but for longer absolutely love Cornwall....Read less.

"Good"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2016

06/10/2016

The lodge was spotlessly clean. Chairs very comfortable. I usually find them far too big so they give me backache. The bathroom could do with some towel rails and more hooks and a bedroom door......Read more.

The lodge was spotlessly clean. Chairs very comfortable. I usually find them far too big so they give me backache. The bathroom could do with some towel rails and more hooks and a bedroom door wouldnt stay shut but these are only minor things. The kitchen was well equipped and beds comfortable. Some parts of the camp could do with more lighting at night. Otherwise everything was excellent and the staff understanding and helpful. Excellent fish and chip shop and pub in village....Read less.

"This site is always our first choice in Cornwall"

Mr J Colmer - Stayed with partner, Sep 2016

05/10/2016

Absolutely Brilliant.

"neil"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2016

05/10/2016

We have been going to this wonderful site for about 20 years and never tire of the beauty of the area, the homely and clean

accommodation and the friendliness of the proprietors.

"Always a pleasureable holiday"

Mr L Owen - Stayed with family, Sep 2016

04/10/2016

The site is very well maintained in tune with the environment. I have been going for many years with the family and our lads found friends to reunite with returning every year. The site has good......Read more.

The site is very well maintained in tune with the environment. I have been going for many years with the family and our lads found friends to reunite with returning every year. The site has good spacious tent pitches or for caravan hook ups, caravans and lodges so you can have a range of options to fit your preference or budget. It's a family run site so it's very personal and friendly. They have produced a very professional folder with all you need to know about the accommodation facilities and best places to visit and eat. The site shop stock fresh local produce and most things that you may need if staying on the site and a noticeboard to let you know about local events. If you are looking for pubs, night entertainment and takeaways this probably isn't the holiday for you. It's just the two of us now so it's caravan/lodge instead of the tents but it's never lost that appeal....Read less.

"September Relaxation"

G Major - Stayed with partner, Sep 2016

01/10/2016

We chose Ruthern Valley for our September week away in the hope that what we we would find a suitable refuge from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, a place for some peace and quiet and a lot of......Read more.

We chose Ruthern Valley for our September week away in the hope that what we we would find a suitable refuge from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, a place for some peace and quiet and a lot of relaxation....

We found EXACTLY what we were looking for....

Our cabin was in excellent order throughout and spotlessly clean in every respect, with all the facilities one would expect and need for a very comfortable stay for a week or two.

If you are looking for an on-site Bar / Nightclub / swimming pool or "Kiddies Club" then best look elsewhere...

If you are looking for a great base for touring the rest of Cornwall, set in lovely countryside, with Excellent accommodation and the warmest of welcomes,,,,,,LOOK NO FURTHER.

...Read less.

"Mtbing holiday"

Mr S Sutton - Stayed with friends, Sep 2016

01/10/2016

Friendly staff definitely going again went with a friend mtbing only downside want to take the wife and 2 jackrussel but they don't allow dogs

"Thank you for helping us out"

Mr T Cleave - Stayed with family, Sep 2016

01/10/2016

I booked the wrong dates for our trip to Cornwall and arrived a day before the site was expecting us. The owners went out of their way to accommodate us anyway, which we were very grateful for.

On......Read more.

I booked the wrong dates for our trip to Cornwall and arrived a day before the site was expecting us. The owners went out of their way to accommodate us anyway, which we were very grateful for.

On investigating why this occurred I noticed that when selecting dates on the website, it then lists availability around the date selected not just the date selected. Adding an exact dates check box when selecting dates would be a useful addition to the website. It was my fault though as I should have double checked the booking confirmation but didn't!...Read less.

"Great location for the Camel Trail"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

25/09/2016

Staff very helpful. Relaxed atmosphere. Quiet site. About 10 min cycle ride on lane to join camel trail .

"Great holiday"

Mr K Austin - Stayed with partner, Sep 2016

21/09/2016

We enjoy our visit again this year as we always do this holiday park and we have been coming for about the last ten years

"Great place to stay, watch out for spiders though!"

Mr S Brown - Stayed with friends, Sep 2016

20/09/2016

Really enjoyed my stay here, stayed in a wigwam because we didn't fancy the smaller hut and liked the extra bits, only thing that let it down was lots of cobwebs and dead bugs around the door but I'm......Read more.

Really enjoyed my stay here, stayed in a wigwam because we didn't fancy the smaller hut and liked the extra bits, only thing that let it down was lots of cobwebs and dead bugs around the door but I'm just picking really...Read less.

"Cornwall holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

19/09/2016

Great holiday great location.idealic

"showers"

Mr R Cox - Stayed with family, Sep 2016

15/09/2016

showers could do with updating...

"Very happy"

P Ongkho - Stayed with friends, Sep 2016

14/09/2016

We are very happy with the services. The place was very quiet and relaxing. We stayed in wigwam and it was very comfortable and we slept well.. We are looking forward to come back next year with......Read more.

We are very happy with the services. The place was very quiet and relaxing. We stayed in wigwam and it was very comfortable and we slept well.. We are looking forward to come back next year with other friends.....Read less.

"Mega Pod"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2016

13/09/2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay easy to find and fab location for tourist towns and beaches, very private pod and wigwam areas and friendly staff. Photos on website are just how it is in real life.

"A brilliant gift ideas"

Mrs S Gratton - Stayed with partner, Sep 2016

09/09/2016

We received a voucher for a stay in a wigwam, not sure what to expect, but on arrival made to feel very welcome,the wigwam was clean and cosy , amenities were very good, set in beautiful......Read more.

We received a voucher for a stay in a wigwam, not sure what to expect, but on arrival made to feel very welcome,the wigwam was clean and cosy , amenities were very good, set in beautiful countryside with easy access to beaches and lovely walks. We would defiantly visit again and for a present it was a great ideas as we had a peaceful and relaxing weekend....Read less.

"Local weekend mini break"

S Talbot - Stayed with family, Sep 2016

09/09/2016

We stayed for a weekend, our timber cabin was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. We usually camp but fancied a bit of a treat, we did a lot of cycling, the camel trail and Lanhydrock.......Read more.

We stayed for a weekend, our timber cabin was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. We usually camp but fancied a bit of a treat, we did a lot of cycling, the camel trail and Lanhydrock. Staff and shop brilliant. Children loved the play area and animals. We would highly recommend and would definitely stay again....Read less.

"Ruthern Bridge review"

Mr N Kestle - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

08/09/2016

As Always an excellent site. Plenty of local walks in which to enjoy nature.

One must get used to very narrow roads (locally) and be prepared to back up when meeting other vehicles, fortunately......Read more.

As Always an excellent site. Plenty of local walks in which to enjoy nature.

One must get used to very narrow roads (locally) and be prepared to back up when meeting other vehicles, fortunately there are many vehicle passing places. One warning please adjust your speed as emergency braking is sometimes necessary. Nevertheless a delightfull area and a great camp site....Read less.

"Peaceful setting"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

07/09/2016

We stayed in a Wigwam for the first time and were not disappointed. Very spacious for 3 people and it has a microwave, a fridge and a kettle with a large sitting area that doubles up as your sleeping......Read more.

We stayed in a Wigwam for the first time and were not disappointed. Very spacious for 3 people and it has a microwave, a fridge and a kettle with a large sitting area that doubles up as your sleeping are for the night. There are plenty of plugs to charge your essential gadgets. It was very quiet throughout the park and very relaxing in the evenings. We stayed at the end of August/beginning of September and it seems we have picked the right time as it was not very busy. There is one negative I have to comment on and that is that there are not many showers. There are only 3 showers available throughout the whole park and I think if we would have stayed during the busy summer holiday season in July/ August, there would have been quite a wait to be able to have a shower in the morning. The ratio of people actually staying at the campsite at any one time and showers does not add up. But having said that, I can live with it as the quality of the surrounding area and the park location itself makes up for it. I would definitely stay again perhaps next time in one of the new Mega Pods! They look awesome!!...Read less.

"Family break"

Mrs L Rogers - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

05/09/2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in a mega pod and thourghly enjoyed our stay. The pod was very clean and had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. The shop was well stocked with amazing local......Read more.

We stayed here for 3 nights in a mega pod and thourghly enjoyed our stay. The pod was very clean and had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. The shop was well stocked with amazing local produce. Our 2 daughters who are under 5 loved the space and the park. Will come back again soon!...Read less.

"Mum and teenage son"

Mrs D Gee - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

04/09/2016

Lovely park clean and beautiful setting we enjoyed ourselves considering my son had a week without electric and wifi 😮 He did too

"August Bank Holiday Stay"

Mrs D Merrifield - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

04/09/2016

We stayed in a Mega Pod. They were very well equipped, with more than we expected.

The cleanliness of the accommodation and the whole site was spotless and faultless.

It was a perfect location, with......Read more.

We stayed in a Mega Pod. They were very well equipped, with more than we expected.

The cleanliness of the accommodation and the whole site was spotless and faultless.

It was a perfect location, with a park, shop and farm - ideal for a quiet get-a-way.

Perfectly located to get to places such as the beach, towns etc.

Would definitely go again....Read less.

"Great campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

31/08/2016

Great campsite

"Lovely campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

31/08/2016

First family holiday in our own caravan, we couldn't of picked a better campsite, tucked away in the valley, spacious plots and very private

"Mega pods"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2016

30/08/2016

Wonderful campsite, stayed in one of the mega pods which is very well built and maintained with a lovely decking area for bbqs and enjoying the sunshine. Only a short walk to the camel trail, and the......Read more.

Wonderful campsite, stayed in one of the mega pods which is very well built and maintained with a lovely decking area for bbqs and enjoying the sunshine. Only a short walk to the camel trail, and the campsite hire out decent bikes so you can enjoy a easy and accessible bike ride. Would definitely visit again when get the chance...Read less.

"Fantastic!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2016

30/08/2016

My partner and I stayed at Ruthern Valley for 4 nights in one of the Wigwams. We were slightly apprehensive about it as we hadn't stayed in one before and was unsure of what to expect but we were......Read more.

My partner and I stayed at Ruthern Valley for 4 nights in one of the Wigwams. We were slightly apprehensive about it as we hadn't stayed in one before and was unsure of what to expect but we were extremely impressed when we arrived. The Wigwam was clean with parking right outside which was perfect. The washing facilities were right by us and were also very clean. Ruthern valley holidays is in such a central location, on our five day trip we visited many different parts of Cornwall as most places were 20-30 minutes drive from where we stayed. We hired bikes from Ruthern Valley holidays for the entire day at a very cheap price, the camel trail access is very near by and is a great trail which we used to get to Wadebridge. The staff were very welcoming and informative! We had such a fantastic holiday, Cornwall is beautiful and there are so many active and interesting activities to do. We would 100% return to Cornwall and will definitely stay at Ruthern Valley holidays again....Read less.

"Camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

29/08/2016

Lovely and close to nature place where you can truely rest

"Lovely camp site in a woodland setting"

Mr K Draper - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

29/08/2016

Nestling in a wooded valley, very quiet, the perfect place to unwind from the crowds at the beaches. Not the easiest place to find but worth tracking down. Loved listening to the owls hooting at......Read more.

Nestling in a wooded valley, very quiet, the perfect place to unwind from the crowds at the beaches. Not the easiest place to find but worth tracking down. Loved listening to the owls hooting at night and the pigeons cooing in the morning. Hope to go again soon....Read less.

"Camping st Ruthern"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

29/08/2016

Ruthern valley

"Small, quiet and peaceful"

Mr T Sanderson - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

27/08/2016

Small, quiet and peaceful.

"Happy holidays"

E Howarth - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

25/08/2016

Having never camped as a family before, we wanted somewhere small, quiet and friendly. We knew from staying in a lodge previously that the campsite was perfect and Andrew and Nicola did everything......Read more.

Having never camped as a family before, we wanted somewhere small, quiet and friendly. We knew from staying in a lodge previously that the campsite was perfect and Andrew and Nicola did everything they could to make your stay special. Laundry, washing up, showers and toilet facilities were all good and as usual, the shop was well stocked and surprisingly well priced.

Staying here enabled us to relax and let our 3 and 5 five year old have adventures in the wood and have a chance to be independent as everything was in sight and we felt we were all safe.

Overall, thoroughly recommend....Read less.

"lovely break!!"

Mr M Parkes - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

24/08/2016

We stayed in a lodge and couldn't have been more pleased, cosy but plenty of room, had a bbq on decking most nights, the kids enjoyed the play area and goals for football,but even these are tucked......Read more.

We stayed in a lodge and couldn't have been more pleased, cosy but plenty of room, had a bbq on decking most nights, the kids enjoyed the play area and goals for football,but even these are tucked away near the entrance so not to disturb anyone.Site is convenient to explore coasts and inland areas, owners were very helpful with directions and tips on beaches etc., perfect for camel trail and Andrew sorted us all out with great bikes hired for the day.I would happily return, it's so peaceful just what a getting away from it all holiday should be....Read less.

"Beautiful surroundings"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2016

24/08/2016

We really enjoyed our stay and so happy when we arrived. WE arrived late but the hosts were still around to greet us and make us feel welcome.

"Pods Rock!"

Ms R Morris - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

24/08/2016

Great pod! Great privacy - loved it.

"Friendly and peaceful"

W Lancaster - Stayed with family, Aug 2016

23/08/2016

This is a lovely site and the shop is well stocked with great local produce. The burgers were a good remedy for a long drive!

Camping pods are brilliant! It rained on our last night but who......Read more.

This is a lovely site and the shop is well stocked with great local produce. The burgers were a good remedy for a long drive!

Camping pods are brilliant! It rained on our last night but who cares....not wet tent to pack and unpack and dry and repack!!!!...Read less.

© 2006 - 2017 CampStead