Porthtowan Tourist Park

137 Reviews

4.8 / 5 overall rating based on 137 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

98% would stay here again

Excellent

92%

Very Good

7%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"Porthtowan - A Gem In North Cornwall"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

05/11/2017

Very convenient to good beaches and villages on the north coast - with good vehicular communication. Campsite is a great base from which to explore - both by car and on foot. Facilities provide all......Read more.

Very convenient to good beaches and villages on the north coast - with good vehicular communication. Campsite is a great base from which to explore - both by car and on foot. Facilities provide all basic requirements without being too restrictive....Read less.

"2017 campsite had new owners"

Mr & Mrs J Ludwell ( 4 ) - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

04/11/2017

2017 was our 14th year on site. The new owners, Andrew, Angie and James, what a lovely family. If you have any issues, nothing is too much trouble. They have done a lot to the campsite, especially in......Read more.

2017 was our 14th year on site. The new owners, Andrew, Angie and James, what a lovely family. If you have any issues, nothing is too much trouble. They have done a lot to the campsite, especially in the children's play area and Improving security. Would recommend site to family and friends. Showers and toilets are kept clean. Showering is like having nice hot shower at home. Shop well stocked, And I do recommend getting one of their nice hot sausage rolls from the shop. Local area has stunning views, lovely walks and good beaches with life guards during summer season. Thank you for a lovely season. Will be back in 2018.

...Read less.

"Camping"

E Lawrence - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

02/11/2017

Excellent site to stay at

"Fantastic"

G Simmons - Stayed Oct 2017

31/10/2017

I have stayed here 3 times this year, once wirh friends and twice on my own. The park us always imaculate, the staff are friendly and helpful, they cant do enough for you. The shower/toilet......Read more.

I have stayed here 3 times this year, once wirh friends and twice on my own. The park us always imaculate, the staff are friendly and helpful, they cant do enough for you. The shower/toilet fascilities are always clean and warm....Read less.

"Another excellent weekend stay at Porthtowan Tourist Park!"

Mr D Gribble - Stayed with friends, Oct 2017

26/10/2017

Once again we were impressed with the service and very warm welcome we received on arrival at Porthtowan. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make the weekend a great success. ......Read more.

Once again we were impressed with the service and very warm welcome we received on arrival at Porthtowan. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make the weekend a great success. With storm 'Brian' looming we rang the site for advice and were so impressed when we got there at the extend the staff went to to ensure we were as sheltered as possible for which we are very grateful. The facilities are to a very high standard. We will certainly be going there again in 2018....Read less.

"Quiet break"

Mr R Gill - Stayed with partner, Oct 2017

18/10/2017

Enjoyed our 1 night break lovely and quiet. Nice secure dog run and immaculate toilet and shower facilities .Looking forward to returning next season.

"Park review"

T Pavey - Stayed with family, Oct 2017

16/10/2017

One word .....perfect

"possibly the best campsite in cornwall"

A Edwards ( 28 ) - Stayed with family, Sep 2017

14/10/2017

the owners of the campsite go the extra mile to help everyone. Nothing is too much trouble. They are always cheerful and friendly. Mr. and Mrs. McKenzie make everyone feel welcome and part of the......Read more.

the owners of the campsite go the extra mile to help everyone. Nothing is too much trouble. They are always cheerful and friendly. Mr. and Mrs. McKenzie make everyone feel welcome and part of the community even older visitors....Read less.

"great base for accessing Cornwall"

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2017

06/10/2017

Lovely campsite, helpful and friendly staff, nice toilet/shower facilities and good location for day trips to other parts of the area and nice walks and bike rides close by. The grass was a bit......Read more.

Lovely campsite, helpful and friendly staff, nice toilet/shower facilities and good location for day trips to other parts of the area and nice walks and bike rides close by. The grass was a bit sparse in some parts of my pitch but it was September at the end of a busy season so this is understandable. The only real downside was the vicious speed humps but certainly slow everyone down...Read less.

"happy days"

Mrs E Willetts ( 1 ) - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

04/10/2017

love the place love the people x

"Our home from home"

Mr & Ms T Jones / Roberts - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

28/09/2017

We've been three times this year and it never fails to deliver. Wonderful surroundings, amazingly friendly owners, extremely clean and this is definitely the place to go to kick back and relax. Can't......Read more.

We've been three times this year and it never fails to deliver. Wonderful surroundings, amazingly friendly owners, extremely clean and this is definitely the place to go to kick back and relax. Can't wait for next season to go back again. See you then Andrew, Angie and James for ice cream o'clock....Read less.

"First holiday in our own camper van to a beautiful area."

P Clark - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

25/09/2017

This was our first holiday in our camper van and we enjoyed the location of the site. Easy access to other areas of outstanding natural beauty. Gwithian beach and the lovely Rock Pool bar and......Read more.

This was our first holiday in our camper van and we enjoyed the location of the site. Easy access to other areas of outstanding natural beauty. Gwithian beach and the lovely Rock Pool bar and restaurant. The facilities on site were excellent and spotlessly clean. The utilities were close to hand and our pitch was close to the facilities as requested due to disabled husband. Site staff were helpful and friendly.

Thank you

Mr and Mrs P Clark...Read less.

"Lovely part of Cornwall"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

25/09/2017

We visited this site in Mid September and although the weather was changeable had great time cycling to neighboring villages & walking the cliff path. The site is very central, very well laid out and......Read more.

We visited this site in Mid September and although the weather was changeable had great time cycling to neighboring villages & walking the cliff path. The site is very central, very well laid out and facilities were excellent....Read less.

"Simp,y the best in the area"

Mr S Hill - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

21/09/2017

This was our second stay at Porthtowan Tourist Park. We love the site, it's peaceful, the pitches give you plenty of room, the facilities are 1st class as is the friendliness and helpfulness of......Read more.

This was our second stay at Porthtowan Tourist Park. We love the site, it's peaceful, the pitches give you plenty of room, the facilities are 1st class as is the friendliness and helpfulness of Andy, Angie and James. So good we're going back again in a couple of weeks we're also hoping to spend a lot of time their in 2018....Read less.

"Perfect Porthtowan"

Mrs Higman - Stayed with friends, Sep 2017

19/09/2017

Porthtowan camp site is just the right size to remain friendly and welcoming. The facilities are well maintained and very clean. It is close to a super beach and also accessible to all of......Read more.

Porthtowan camp site is just the right size to remain friendly and welcoming. The facilities are well maintained and very clean. It is close to a super beach and also accessible to all of Cornwall.

My one very small criticism is that when walking through the campsite at night it is pitch black in places, therefore a few more lights would be good. I am pretty sure Andrew and Angie are aware of this and guess it will have been rectified by next season....Read less.

"Immaculately clean & tidy campsite!"

A Cursons - Stayed Sep 2017

17/09/2017

This site had the cleanest facilities and grounds of any campsite I have stayed at during the last 50 years! During my stay there were high winds and driving rain, however the trees layout gave......Read more.

This site had the cleanest facilities and grounds of any campsite I have stayed at during the last 50 years! During my stay there were high winds and driving rain, however the trees layout gave effective shelter. It is a challenging walk to the beach, pubs and restaurants, but with Hi Vis vest and torch, traffic gave way. My one suggestion is that they sow some ryegrass seed so that the grassed pitches are more durable particularly in wet weather....Read less.

"Nice break at Porthtown"

S Andrews - Stayed with family, Sep 2017

14/09/2017

We were very comfortable on our hard standing pitch ,sadly friends on the grass were not so happy ,most of the pitches were very muddy,but sadly nothing can be done about the inclement weather

"Lovely campsite"

Rev I Jones - Stayed with partner, Sep 2017

14/09/2017

Excellent family run site

"Graham and Lesley Hopkins"

L Hopkins ( 33 ) - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

11/09/2017

We always stay at Porthtowan tourist park would recommend it to anyone the owners are helpful and caring. The site is well maintained with good level pitches and the facilities are excellent wouldn't......Read more.

We always stay at Porthtowan tourist park would recommend it to anyone the owners are helpful and caring. The site is well maintained with good level pitches and the facilities are excellent wouldn't stay anywhere else....Read less.

"Making Memories"

S Parker - Stayed with family, Sep 2017

10/09/2017

From the very start to the end, the whole trip was amazing, the campsite and staff just add to the pleasure. One that the children will definitely talk about in years to come. 100% staying again

"Welcome site"

Mrs J Chedzey - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

08/09/2017

From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Andrew and Angie were so friendly and welcoming. The site was beyond spotless and very well maintained with many well thought out added extras to make our......Read more.

From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Andrew and Angie were so friendly and welcoming. The site was beyond spotless and very well maintained with many well thought out added extras to make our stay comfortable, easy and enjoyable. Having stayed a many great UK sites, this stands above those for its amenities. We will definitely be back and have already recommended several times.

...Read less.

"We walked!"

C Ennion - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

07/09/2017

It was lovely to be able to park up the van and not move it for the 4 days we stayed here. The lovely staff provided a great shuttle down to (and back from!) the lovely beach and the village which......Read more.

It was lovely to be able to park up the van and not move it for the 4 days we stayed here. The lovely staff provided a great shuttle down to (and back from!) the lovely beach and the village which had a good selection of eating places and shops. We took a walk to St Agnes and the bus to St Ives. The campsite facilities were just right and the kids (6 and 8) met loads of new friends in the playarea....Read less.

"What a memory!"

Mrs K Doyle - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

07/09/2017

Our first family holiday was absolutely fantastic!

Brilliant campsite, cannot fault it really, and the customer service skills are impeccable.

Lovely holiday with great memories made,

Thank you

"Great holiday"

Mr G Stevenson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

07/09/2017

We took our five grandchildren for the fifth time. Excellent site near the beach great fin

"Brilliant few days"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

06/09/2017

We stayed for 5nights in high season august. Very reasonable value for money considering the time of year. Very friendly staff who were happy to help with any queries. Brilliant and clean facilities......Read more.

We stayed for 5nights in high season august. Very reasonable value for money considering the time of year. Very friendly staff who were happy to help with any queries. Brilliant and clean facilities at all times. Amazing location to get to any area of the cornwall coast. We didn't take any children so can't really comment on any children views. Fantastic time!...Read less.

"Can't wait I come back!"

Mrs H Leaning - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

06/09/2017

This park is so fabulous, I almost don't want to write about it, for fear word with spread and we won't be able to get availability again! Without a doubt the friendliest staff we've ever encountered......Read more.

This park is so fabulous, I almost don't want to write about it, for fear word with spread and we won't be able to get availability again! Without a doubt the friendliest staff we've ever encountered in our many years of camping, nothing was too much trouble, and they went above and beyond to help when our caravan was playing up. Spotless facilities, gorgeous little onsite shop and close to a beautiful beach. We can't wait to return, thank you for a brilliant week!...Read less.

"Wonderful staff"

M Bartlett - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

06/09/2017

I can't praise the helpfulness of the staff enough. They lent us a tarpaulin (at no extra charge) when our tent leaked in the rain which proved to be invaluable to us. The grounds and facilities were......Read more.

I can't praise the helpfulness of the staff enough. They lent us a tarpaulin (at no extra charge) when our tent leaked in the rain which proved to be invaluable to us. The grounds and facilities were immaculately kept and was a wonderful place to stay....Read less.

"Camping holiday"

Mr P McNay - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

05/09/2017

Just a lovely relaxing site very well looked after by very hard working fantastic people who can not do enough for you and make everything special and part of it all

"Cornwall site not to be missed"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

03/09/2017

Lovely friendly and well maintained site with easy access to wonderful beach and cliff walks

"Lovely Owners and Perfect Location!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

02/09/2017

Nothing was too much for this lovely couple (and their son!) who went above and beyond to make sure that everyone had a fab holiday and never stopped working!

The site and facilities were immaculate,......Read more.

Nothing was too much for this lovely couple (and their son!) who went above and beyond to make sure that everyone had a fab holiday and never stopped working!

The site and facilities were immaculate, children's play area was a godsend and pitches are a good size.

The location of the site is perfect being near a number of lovely beaches and not far from local attractions the great British let you down!

Will definitely return in the future....Read less.

"Excellent Holiday at Porthtowan Campsite!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

02/09/2017

We have been coming to Porthtiwan campsite for many years with friends and family and we keep coming back so you must be doing something right!

The new owners made us feel very welcome, drink on......Read more.

We have been coming to Porthtiwan campsite for many years with friends and family and we keep coming back so you must be doing something right!

The new owners made us feel very welcome, drink on arrival and very friendly. The campsite is immaculate and well cared for. The new equipment in the games room was a hit with my teenage children. We stayed over the August bank holiday weekend. Beautiful area with stunning beaches. We were extremely lucky with the weather and had nine days of sun! The only problem we encountered was parking at the various beaches. We had to find parking for 4 families at the beach which was a big problem as busy time of year with the weather being so nice! The campsite provide a free shuttle bus to Porthtowan Beach. Fantastic idea. At the moment this is relatively new and only runs once a day at 10am and pickup at 4pm. Unfortunately for our large group 10 am is too early and 4pm is too early to come back off the beach. looking forward, an hourly shuttle service would be benificial there and back. We would be willing to pay a small amount as it's so difficult to park during peak times. Also a shuttle to Portreath beach would be handy.

Recommend Godrevy beach as large car park here and beautiful beach.

I like the idea of the new security gate at the man entrance. Recommend a couple more lights by the perimeter road to the play field. Very dark at night, definitely need a torch.

I would thoroughly recommend Porthtowan campsite and hope to be back next year. Thanks for a lovely stay. Big thumbs up to the new owners👍😀...Read less.

"Excellent stay"

Mrs R Gauntlett - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

31/08/2017

The owners were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Even had a compressor we could use to check caravan tyers with.

The facilities were always clean which can sometimes be......Read more.

The owners were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Even had a compressor we could use to check caravan tyers with.

The facilities were always clean which can sometimes be not the case in school holidays, showers nice and hot too.

The small onsite shop had all the basics , priced very reasonably.

Overall an excellent site. Will hopefully be returning next summer. 5*...Read less.

"Great campsite"

Mrs E Ainley - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

31/08/2017

This is a lovely well run campsite where the owners go out of their way to ensure you have a good holiday. They are very friendly and offer a warm welcome. The toilets and showers are kept really......Read more.

This is a lovely well run campsite where the owners go out of their way to ensure you have a good holiday. They are very friendly and offer a warm welcome. The toilets and showers are kept really clean and we never had to wait. The children enjoyed the playground and the site is quiet at night time. The shop is handy and is reasonably priced. It's a great location and close to many of cornwall's attractions. We will definitely be back to Porthtowan Touring Park for another holiday. Thanks to Andrew and Angie for all their hard work!...Read less.

"Well run, good facility's friendly helpfully owners."

Mr S Worthington - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

30/08/2017

Great site, no issues will be back.

"Brilliant 2 Week Stay at Porthtowan!"

Mr P Paintin - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

30/08/2017

First timers at Porthtowan this year, as guests of Andrew, Angie and of course James, we had a wonderful stay, camping on an electric pitch for two weeks in the Cornish sunshine (honestly!).

The site......Read more.

First timers at Porthtowan this year, as guests of Andrew, Angie and of course James, we had a wonderful stay, camping on an electric pitch for two weeks in the Cornish sunshine (honestly!).

The site is immaculately maintained; secluded yet accessible, and well placed for access up and down the North Cliffs coast, west to Gwithian, Hayle and St Ives, or East to St Agnes, Perranporth and Newquay.

Our hosts could not do enough for us, always happy to help, with gracious smiles and taking an honest interest in their guests, which makes such a huge difference and is a nice change, especially in this part of the world.

Cannot recommend Porthtowan Tourist Park highly enough!...Read less.

"Lovely site / Friendly staff / Great location"

J Mitchell - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

29/08/2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Porthtowan. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff and the site itself was kept immaculately clean. The facilities were first rate and the free shuttle......Read more.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Porthtowan. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff and the site itself was kept immaculately clean. The facilities were first rate and the free shuttle service to the beach to avoid the hassle and cost of parking is a nice touch.

More than happy to recommend this site and we hope to visit again soon....Read less.

"Happy Holiday"

J Evans - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

28/08/2017

Fantastic week break, loads of memories made and we look forward to our next visit x

"First trip to Porthtowan"

M Pimlott - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

27/08/2017

Lovely site, friendly staff. Kids loved it and left some decorated stones for the staff.

"excellent site"

Mr & Mrs Mumford - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

27/08/2017

Been visiting this site for good many years over four weeks each time

"Lovely place!!"

L North - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

24/08/2017

We were her for 9days and were welcomed from the first minute. Nothing was ever too much! Lovely people and lovely site and will definitely be returning. Thank you for making our week relaxing!

"Excellent site"

Mrs L Horton - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

Excellent site, definitely visit again. Very clean, staff excellent and always available to help. The only thing we thought they would benefit, is a separate field for football or cricket

"Amaizing place"

Miss A Gobe - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

We just spend a week on site, it's quite, clean and great place for holiday. Amazing playground for kids, plenty of information about area, very welcoming owners. We will definitely come back next......Read more.

We just spend a week on site, it's quite, clean and great place for holiday. Amazing playground for kids, plenty of information about area, very welcoming owners. We will definitely come back next year....Read less.

"A Cornish Holiday"

Mr W Bunney - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

23/08/2017

Having lived in the area several years ago when we were children and in our teens etc. my wife and I decided to take two of our granddaughters from our home in Torbay down to our past haunts for a......Read more.

Having lived in the area several years ago when we were children and in our teens etc. my wife and I decided to take two of our granddaughters from our home in Torbay down to our past haunts for a week of relaxation.

It proved to be a very productive time, catching up with family members and friends. The weather was not kind, but we managed to cope with our four man tent and found lots of things to do.

All in all, it was a very interesting week and we will do it again next year, if still able....Read less.

"Retutn visit"

L Lyons ( 45 A&a Van ) - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

22/08/2017

Stayed at Porthtowan as last mi ute break in May and book this return trip a week after our return home. Site is beautiful and well kept. Andy and Angie are great hosts and nothing is to much......Read more.

Stayed at Porthtowan as last mi ute break in May and book this return trip a week after our return home. Site is beautiful and well kept. Andy and Angie are great hosts and nothing is to much trouble. We will be returning next year...Read less.

"Porthtowan Family Holiday"

L Johnson - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

21/08/2017

I booked the holiday for a 2 week stay with my family in our motor home. I can honestly say what a wonderful holiday it was. The family Andrew, Angie & James could not do enough for you and made our......Read more.

I booked the holiday for a 2 week stay with my family in our motor home. I can honestly say what a wonderful holiday it was. The family Andrew, Angie & James could not do enough for you and made our stay so very enjoyable. The facilities were outstanding and very clean and tidy. They even lent us a net and a bucket to go crabbing at Portreath. I can honestly say that I will be book another holiday at Portowan and is the best site that we have ever stayed at. Thanks again and we shall see you all again next year ....Read less.

"Clean, friendly and well maintained"

S Miles - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

20/08/2017

Our family and dogs had a lovely stay at Porthtowan Tourist park. Ideally situated For Local Attractions Not Far From a good beach (dogs Allowed After 7 pm), excellent family Facilities, Games Room,......Read more.

Our family and dogs had a lovely stay at Porthtowan Tourist park. Ideally situated For Local Attractions Not Far From a good beach (dogs Allowed After 7 pm), excellent family Facilities, Games Room, Shop Everything You Need . Clean, Tidy And Friendly Atmosphere....Read less.

"Porthtowan"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

20/08/2017

Under new ownership, the park has been greatly improved. Very friendly staff, and a great location.

"August 2017"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

17/08/2017

"Ian,Mel Snd Sam -Summer holidays August 2017"

Mr & Mrs Littlewood - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

17/08/2017

Super friendly owners , and an extremely clean and tidy site . I don't think we could find a better site that offers you everything you could want or need to make you feel like your home and with......Read more.

Super friendly owners , and an extremely clean and tidy site . I don't think we could find a better site that offers you everything you could want or need to make you feel like your home and with friends . Love it x...Read less.

"Lovely site in a great location"

Mr M Lewis - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

17/08/2017

I've been coming to Porthtowan Tourist Park for 10 years and I always meet lots of familiar faces each year, which shows many people return annually, indicating the popularity of the site. The site......Read more.

I've been coming to Porthtowan Tourist Park for 10 years and I always meet lots of familiar faces each year, which shows many people return annually, indicating the popularity of the site. The site is always clean and tidy and the owners/staff are very helpful with a jovial manner. The location of the site means everywhere in Cornwall is easily accessible. I will return for many years to come....Read less.

"Brilliant holiday"

Mrs C Heritage - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

16/08/2017

Second year at porthtowen the improvements are great especially the shuttle down to the beach great addition. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Only suggestion some kind of entertainment for......Read more.

Second year at porthtowen the improvements are great especially the shuttle down to the beach great addition. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Only suggestion some kind of entertainment for older children/teenagers. Can't fault it and looking forward to coming next year....Read less.

"Will definitely return soon, excellent all round."

Mr S Cordon - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

16/08/2017

Liked:

An excellent touring park, clean facilities and well spaced pitches. We tented for a week with hook-up (2x adults, 1x 7yo, 1x jack russell dog). Due to the park's location it is very quiet,......Read more.

Liked:

An excellent touring park, clean facilities and well spaced pitches. We tented for a week with hook-up (2x adults, 1x 7yo, 1x jack russell dog). Due to the park's location it is very quiet, with virtually no road noise, therefore early morning crows and seagulls, but it still left you feeling very tucked away.

The clue is in the name "tourist" as it is great for touring and within easy drives for Perranporth, Newquay St.Ives, Truro etc. It is within walking distance of Porthtowan beach, but the site operates a FREE minibus to the beach and back everyday!!!!!!

We found one of the best features was that there were no static caravans onsite.

The park has a vehicular security gate and is shut between 11pm-8am and key fob controlled entry at other times, nice and secure.

Facilities are site are suitable for the size of the park, I never needed to queue for showers/toilets/pot wash/wetsuit wash. Again, all very clean and modern. There are also family and disabled shower/ toilet rooms. On site shop that offers iceblock hire (£2.50 refundable deposit, 25p per block). Kid's adventure playground and small play field and dog walk top it all off. Wifi is chargeable and we can't rate as we didn't use it. (£10 for 2 devices for 4 days if I remember correctly)

The owners gave us a very warm welcome on arrival and nothing seemed too much trouble, even baking sausage rolls after closing time and hand delivering to our pitch!!

Our family definitely agree we will return in the future.

Disliked:

Not really a dislike but....no scooters/skates/bikes etc during school holidays, our 7yo was very disappointed. I can see it's for safety as there might be increased traffic in high season but there didn't seem to be last week. And finally, no reflection on the site or owners as they cannot be held accountable for the attitudes of their guests onsite but some caravanning guests really really do need to get a grip and refrain from sucking the joy out of life, may your route home be forever full of traffic....Read less.

"Another fantastic holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

16/08/2017

Our 9th year at Porthtowan tourist park. The new owners have done a fantastic job which made our stay even better. We will be back next year.

"New broom..."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

15/08/2017

Impressed with improvements, there is even a complimentary mini bus to Porthtowan beach

"Very Happy"

Mrs Hawtrey-Eastwood - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

14/08/2017

Apart from the weather our stay was great. Owners relaxed but friendly and very helpful. Site was immaculate and very suitable for us as we needed somewhere to stay near our congregated family. Would......Read more.

Apart from the weather our stay was great. Owners relaxed but friendly and very helpful. Site was immaculate and very suitable for us as we needed somewhere to stay near our congregated family. Would definitely recommend....Read less.

"Second inpression"

Mr P Young - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

14/08/2017

Been before about 5yrs ago.staff much more friendly and approachable than before . A lovely site which I will return in the future

"Cornish camping"

E Wickers - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

13/08/2017

Andrew, Jane and James were so helpful...nothing was too much trouble, the shop is well stocked and great prices. The park was Spotless, in fact the cleanest I have stayed on....

Definitely will be......Read more.

Andrew, Jane and James were so helpful...nothing was too much trouble, the shop is well stocked and great prices. The park was Spotless, in fact the cleanest I have stayed on....

Definitely will be back...Read less.

"Porthtowan campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

12/08/2017

A lovely clean campsite. Friendly owners. Good clean showers and wash facilities. Flat pitches. Nice play area for kids and no bikes/ scooters racing around. Condsidering the owners have only been......Read more.

A lovely clean campsite. Friendly owners. Good clean showers and wash facilities. Flat pitches. Nice play area for kids and no bikes/ scooters racing around. Condsidering the owners have only been there 11mths and are still making improvements it can only get better!...Read less.

"Another excellant stay at Porthtowan Tourist Park"

Mr & Mrs Ames - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

11/08/2017

We have been visiting this site every summer for the last ten years and every year we book for the following year.

It's fantastic to see the new owners carrying on the excellent service that has......Read more.

We have been visiting this site every summer for the last ten years and every year we book for the following year.

It's fantastic to see the new owners carrying on the excellent service that has been experienced over many years, and good to see one or two new idea's coming through.

The location and surrounding area is great for beaches / walking and good places to eat.

Looking forward to returning in 2018.

Daniel Ames...Read less.

"Very satifsfied"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

10/08/2017

We are very satisfied. It was a quit camping, the owners are very kind and enthousiastic.

"Great Place"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2017

10/08/2017

Had a great few days here. Lovely clean site and facilities, could possibly do with more things for the kids but thats being picky. Owners are very welcoming and helpful, we will be going back for......Read more.

Had a great few days here. Lovely clean site and facilities, could possibly do with more things for the kids but thats being picky. Owners are very welcoming and helpful, we will be going back for sure....Read less.

Andrew and Angie, replied to this review on the 10 August 2017

Hi so glad you enjoyed your stay, we would be interested in any suggestions of other things we......Read more.

Hi so glad you enjoyed your stay, we would be interested in any suggestions of other things we could do for the kids, we already have a play area with adventure play equipment, new for 2017 a 6 swing unit, a football area and goal and netting, a games room with pool & table tennis table and football table, suggestions would be good so that we may consider, hope to see you again soon, kind regards Andrew, Angie & James ( Owners )....Read less.

"Great family site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2017

10/08/2017

This site was well kept, clean and a beautiful place to stay. The play area was great and there was space for kids to kick a ball around. On site shop sold all the basics and staff very friendly and......Read more.

This site was well kept, clean and a beautiful place to stay. The play area was great and there was space for kids to kick a ball around. On site shop sold all the basics and staff very friendly and helpful....Read less.

"As Good as Ever"

Mr Siddall - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

09/08/2017

It's been four years since we last stayed at Porthtowan Tourist Park. Andrew , Angie & James were most welcoming. The reason we have returned here over the years is mainly due to the cleanliness if......Read more.

It's been four years since we last stayed at Porthtowan Tourist Park. Andrew , Angie & James were most welcoming. The reason we have returned here over the years is mainly due to the cleanliness if this site. These hardworking new owners should be proud that they maintain the high standards of the previous owners and more! The shop is better stocked than I previously remember and the added touches such as the shuttle bus to the beach is a lovely idea. I do believe that 'Quiet Time' (from 11.00pm - 8.00am) could be better monitored as some guests were rather noisy until the early hours which is very selfish especially when trying to get young children to sleep....Read less.

"Fantastic hosts"

Mr & Mrs J Musson - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

09/08/2017

Been going for a few years , fantastic location, .

New owners very helpful can't wait to go back.

Thank you Jeanie x Jon

"Quality site"

Mr R Newton - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

09/08/2017

Although Portreath and Porthtowan beaches don't allow dogs on them, Porthtowan Tourist Park is more than dog friendly and, for that matter, is exceptionally human friendly as well. It would make an......Read more.

Although Portreath and Porthtowan beaches don't allow dogs on them, Porthtowan Tourist Park is more than dog friendly and, for that matter, is exceptionally human friendly as well. It would make an ideal hub for our holidays if the two close beaches allowed dogs, but other dog friendly beaches aren't too far away. The site itself is excellent as are the owners, Andrew, Angie and James. We are genuinely looking forward to our next stay....Read less.

"holiday review"

Mr G Kenning - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

08/08/2017

I found the park pretty much spot on. it has flat pitches (an extremely sought after and rateable commodity), all very neatly laid out in a well designed setting. The site is very well looked after.......Read more.

I found the park pretty much spot on. it has flat pitches (an extremely sought after and rateable commodity), all very neatly laid out in a well designed setting. The site is very well looked after. The washing/shower/toilet facilities

are very clean and well cared for, including a wet suit washing area which I found extremely useful.

The owners and staff are all extremely pleasant and helpful. All in all I don't think you could want for much more from a campsite....Read less.

"A Great Place To Stay"

Mr G Staniforth ( 44 ) - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

07/08/2017

We've been holidaying at Porthtowan Touring Park for the last three years since staying here with family in their caravan. We like this park as it's a nice family friendly quiet place. The owners......Read more.

We've been holidaying at Porthtowan Touring Park for the last three years since staying here with family in their caravan. We like this park as it's a nice family friendly quiet place. The owners Andrew and his wife are really friendly, helpful and go out of their way to make your holiday. Nice people. The facilities, toilets, showers and washing rooms are really clean and well maintained. There's a small games room with a table tennis table, pool table and football game. There's a small shop on sit and the prices are reasonable and there's a dog walking area. I can't wait to go back and I would definitely recommend Porthtowan Touring Park to my friends and family....Read less.

"Wonderful site and owners."

E Jessop - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

Both my wife, myself, and our friends were delighted with the welcome that Andrew and Angela gave us they were extremely helpful and courteous throughout our visit. firstly by greeting us with the......Read more.

Both my wife, myself, and our friends were delighted with the welcome that Andrew and Angela gave us they were extremely helpful and courteous throughout our visit. firstly by greeting us with the famous 'Cornish Pasty,' accompanied by a refreshing and very welcome fruit juice after our long and arduous journey there. Never in the past have we had such a welcome anywhere, as we had by these wonderfully generous and extremely likable people. Their son James was an inspiration and a credit to them, being well mannered and very polite at all times. Five stars does not do these people credit. They should have ten. We will return as many times as we feel we can make the journey from South Yorkshire, and we have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to anyone. Many thanks Andrew, Angela, and James for making our stay FIRST CLASS!

Coral and Eric Jessop. Barnsley, S Yorks....Read less.

"Porthtowan Tourist Park"

P Kenyon ( 26 ) - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

We have been going to this site for 5 or 6 years now and it has always been great, however since Andrew, Ange and James took ownership this year the changes made and warm friendly welcome received......Read more.

We have been going to this site for 5 or 6 years now and it has always been great, however since Andrew, Ange and James took ownership this year the changes made and warm friendly welcome received have improved enormously (including our dogs ) the site is now excellent , it is ideal for exploring the Delights of Cornwall and although it gets very busy it is always possible to rest and relax. I can strongly recommend a stay here 5Star . Paul and Julie from Manchester...Read less.

"Lovely clean and quiet park"

L Cosh - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

What a lovely park. Our arrival was greeted with the offer of a welcome cold drink while we booked in. Very friendly owners who were always cheerful and helpful. The park is well maintained with......Read more.

What a lovely park. Our arrival was greeted with the offer of a welcome cold drink while we booked in. Very friendly owners who were always cheerful and helpful. The park is well maintained with trees and shrubs providing an attractively laid out park. The facilities were clean and we were pleased to find privacy cubicles for washing, much better than a row of sinks. There was a laundry room, two disabled/family rooms and a dish wash room. Again all kept lovely and clean. There was also a games room and well planned play area. The site has a barrier at the entrance which is operated by a key fob which you receive on booking in and is locked between 11pm and 8am. The site is very quiet at night, no bar or club which we were happy with. The walk to Porthtowan is about a mile but along a reasonably busy road which I wouldn't want to do with children as there are no footpaths. We did receive a map of alternative footpaths to the village but were unable to find the route when we tried. We were very happy with our stay here and would certainly recommend it for a relaxing break....Read less.

"Very satisfied"

K Olley - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

02/08/2017

Brilliant campsite have been visiting for years. so accommodating great place to be

"Friendly, clean site"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

01/08/2017

This is an excellent site, the staff are very friendly, the facilities are clean and the camp site is very well maintained. We are really looking forward to going back.

"Happy campers"

Mr T Noden - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

31/07/2017

Lovely stay, we were impressed by all services and look forward to using the new shuttle service next time we visit. All staff including the youngsters were cheerful and helpful

"Lovely stay"

Mrs G Hennessy - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

31/07/2017

We had a really lovely stay at porthtowen tourist park.

The pitches are a great size and all the facilities and site itself are well maintained.

The only down point is the cycle ban during the......Read more.

We had a really lovely stay at porthtowen tourist park.

The pitches are a great size and all the facilities and site itself are well maintained.

The only down point is the cycle ban during the summer months.

As coming from a very busy area where we live the only opportunity the children get to cycle is one when we are away or out on a day out.

To cycle outside of the site was hard because of the busy roads.

Site/staff was great though. I would definitely recommend x...Read less.

Andrew and Angie, replied to this review on the 01 August 2017

Dear Geraldine so glad that you enjoyed your stay, yes we do have a cycle ban on the site during......Read more.

Dear Geraldine so glad that you enjoyed your stay, yes we do have a cycle ban on the site during the school holiday period but this is purely for the safety of all as there are so many vehicles coming and going during this very busy time, there is a cycle way only 1/2 mile from the site and bike hire centre which goes from the north coast to the south which is safe for all, look forward to seeing you again soon kind regards Andrew, Angie & James ( Site Owners )....Read less.

"Brilliant site for exploring Cornwall"

R Buiten - Stayed Jul 2017

30/07/2017

In itself a very decent campsite which I would recommend to anyone who longs for a relaxing, careless holiday in Cornwall. Very clean facilities, though maybe it should be said that the site wasn't......Read more.

In itself a very decent campsite which I would recommend to anyone who longs for a relaxing, careless holiday in Cornwall. Very clean facilities, though maybe it should be said that the site wasn't yet packed with people. The downside for me: One pays for the pitch, so if that's just one person with a small tent, you pay the same as a family with a caravan or motorhome -and therewith it wasn't 'value for money' for me. The campsite shop doesn't seem to focus on single travellers as well, but having been refused on another site just because I was by myself and not a family or couple, it was very pleasant to be welcomed with open arms and find everything I needed: friendly, helpful owners and a quiet couple of nights....Read less.

Andrew and Angie, replied to this review on the 30 July 2017

Dear Rico so glad that you enjoyed your stay, we are sorry that you felt we dont cater for single......Read more.

Dear Rico so glad that you enjoyed your stay, we are sorry that you felt we dont cater for single travellers in peak season, but as it is in peak season then the price is the same, which we believe is very reasonable based on Cornwall prices in the summer, the price we charged you per night was £21.00 inc vat. We stock the shop with as many items as a small campsite shop can provide given space at a very reasonable price for all items, we hope to see you again soon, kind regards Andrew, Angie & James ( Owners )...Read less.

"Porthtowan Tourist Park"

M Jackson - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

28/07/2017

Best campsite my partner and i have been to in Cornwall. The owners couldnt do enough for us.

"Porthtowan Tourist Site evaluated."

K Broadhead - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

28/07/2017

What a fantastic site! After a long long troublesome journey, we were met by Andy n Angie. They could not have been more helpful! They could see that both myself and friends were weary,and preceded......Read more.

What a fantastic site! After a long long troublesome journey, we were met by Andy n Angie. They could not have been more helpful! They could see that both myself and friends were weary,and preceded to help with siting and set up of our caravans. Further more Andy n Angie provided to us a meal, which was most welcome. Andy n Angie would not accept a penny off us. Truely a lovely gesture. At all times both Andy n Angie were the perfect hosts on every aspect of been on a touring site. The facilities were fastidiously kept clean. The grass was mowed regularly. The bins were emptied regularly. We totally commend these two people and the site. Although over 350 miles from home, we would not hesitate to recommend and also make the journey again to this great site, and also the beautiful surrounding area. 10 out of 10!! Thankyou....Read less.

"Porthtowan tourists park"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

27/07/2017

We have been visiting this site for the past 15 yrs. this year saw new owners take over, this transition for us was seamless, everything on site was to the same standards as the previous owners, as......Read more.

We have been visiting this site for the past 15 yrs. this year saw new owners take over, this transition for us was seamless, everything on site was to the same standards as the previous owners, as always we were greeted with a warm welcome. We will be returning again next year....Read less.

"Happy holidays!"

Mr N Bailey - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

27/07/2017

The campsite is very easy to find, spotless and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The campsite is situated perfectly for some beautiful walks along the coast path. We will be returning.

"Porthtowan campsite"

P Broom - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

23/07/2017

We had a great time in porthtowan caravan site. The facilities were excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The only down side is, it is quite a walk to the......Read more.

We had a great time in porthtowan caravan site. The facilities were excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The only down side is, it is quite a walk to the village and beach, with limited pavement and uphill coming back. There is a bus stop not far from the site but limited buses. There is one bus to st Ives at 11.02 in the morning and leaves St Ives at 4.15 there are buses to Truro every hour. There are some great cycle paths but there is always the hill to the camp site coming back....Read less.

"Excellent all round."

Mr & Mrs R Curtis - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

21/07/2017

We had no problems at all. One of the best sites we've been to, seems to have it all as long as you don't want Butlins-style entertainment! Recommend to anyone.

"Wonderful atmosphere, great value"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2017

19/07/2017

Myself and three friends (all 18 and under) were shocked at how helpful and accommodating the owners were with our group. Being a single sex, under 18 group, generally frowned upon by most campsites,......Read more.

Myself and three friends (all 18 and under) were shocked at how helpful and accommodating the owners were with our group. Being a single sex, under 18 group, generally frowned upon by most campsites, the staff did not think twice about welcoming us and making our stay every bit as wonderful as other visitors. From the second I picked up my phone to the campsite, to the second we left, i felt a great sense of satisfaction and upon arrival, the campsite itself fostered a warm sense of community and welcoming. I truly couldn't recommend this site anymore, and I will definately visit again....Read less.

"The best site in cornwall."

G Conway ( 12 ) - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

18/07/2017

Friendliness of owners Andrew,Angie James made really welcome. They cannot do enough for you.

"Realy good and friendly campingsite"

E Boender - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

16/07/2017

Unfortunatly we won't be able to come back to England due to our age. Otherwise we would sure consider returning

"Week break"

Mrs M Falivena - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

16/07/2017

Very clean and friendly place to stop local beach 1mile away and beach 1mile staff very helpful loved the site

"Two week stay at Porthtowan Tourist Park"

Mr & Mrs R Martin - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

15/07/2017

This is the 4th year we have stayed at this site and was not disappointed. The new owners have improved security on the site and their friendly welcoming nature added to our enjoyment of our stay......Read more.

This is the 4th year we have stayed at this site and was not disappointed. The new owners have improved security on the site and their friendly welcoming nature added to our enjoyment of our stay there. It is a lovely clean, well kept site. We will return.

Pat &Roger Bristol...Read less.

"Family wedding"

Morgan & Baker - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

14/07/2017

We booked here for a family wedding in Porthtowan. We were booked onto 3 a joining pitches each with plenty of room. Staff were very helpful and also recommended a good taxi firm for day of wedding.......Read more.

We booked here for a family wedding in Porthtowan. We were booked onto 3 a joining pitches each with plenty of room. Staff were very helpful and also recommended a good taxi firm for day of wedding. A very pleasant stay....Read less.

"Very pleasant site"

M Higgins - Stayed with family, Jul 2017

14/07/2017

Excellent site with very helpful staff. Pitches with plenty of room.

"First Impression"

M Billingsley - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

14/07/2017

This campsite is first class the staff are so friendly and helpful ,and the pitches are all well maintained.

"First time in Cornwall"

Mr & Mrs A Carter - Stayed with friends, Jun 2017

13/07/2017

Extremely impressed. Loved the place. Can't wait to go back next year booked for next year before we left this year. Brilliant

"Excellent site!"

Mr L Clarke - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

13/07/2017

This was our sixth year in a row at Porthtowan.

Access from the A30 has to be driven with considerable care, but part of the beauty of this place is that it remains relatively uncommercialised and......Read more.

This was our sixth year in a row at Porthtowan.

Access from the A30 has to be driven with considerable care, but part of the beauty of this place is that it remains relatively uncommercialised and is not crammed with excess numbers of holidaymakers. That said, everything most people would want can be found here and hereabouts. Fabulous beaches, superb walking along the coastal paths. Great places to eat and drink. Most sites in Cornwall are within a 30-40 minute drive. Redruth and the supermarkets are only a couple of miles up the road. This site is perfect for the location: people come here to enjoy all there is on offer, not to be rowdy. The park and facilities are very well maintained. My (critical) wife (I love her dearly) thinks an extra loo for the ladies might be worthwhile at 'peak' times if it could be fitted in. Other than that, just about perfect....Read less.

"Kernow adventure"

Mrs E Veasey - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

13/07/2017

Porthtowan caravan and camping site was a wonderful experience for us. It was very well kept and the facilities were immaculate. The surrounding area was constantly maintained in a very unobtrusive......Read more.

Porthtowan caravan and camping site was a wonderful experience for us. It was very well kept and the facilities were immaculate. The surrounding area was constantly maintained in a very unobtrusive way. Nothing was too much trouble for Andrew and Angela. We were even offered a cold drink on our arrival. Even though we were booked on a set pitch we were given a choice of about a dozen other pitches. The pitch size was extremely generous.

I can't suggest any improvements and am struggling to find anything wrong with how this site is run. Well done and thank you Andrew, Angela and the incorrigible James for a great holiday....Read less.

"All you can ask for."

P Davison - Stayed with partner, Jul 2017

11/07/2017

We throughly enjoyed our 6 night stay at Portowan tourist park, the site is well laid out the facilities are extremely clean along with the rest of the site, we were greeted by the owners on arrival......Read more.

We throughly enjoyed our 6 night stay at Portowan tourist park, the site is well laid out the facilities are extremely clean along with the rest of the site, we were greeted by the owners on arrival who gave us a refreshing drink after our travels which was very nice of them, they even loaned us a small fridge due to ours not been large enough.

The location is great very peaceful and 3-4 minutes drive to the A30 which will take you wherever you need to go in Cornwall.

If you thinking of this area to stay this site is a must.

Paul...Read less.

"First visit June 2017"

Mr & Mrs G Key - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

07/07/2017

A very neat, tidy and friendly site, plenty of pitch area. Andrew & Angie together with James were very welcoming and helpful.

"best site in Cornell"

Mr & Mrs M Gibbins ( 42 ) - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

01/07/2017

We always stay here when in Corwall its the best site around with a beach nearby and an excellent position for travel

"Brilliant site"

P Berry - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

01/07/2017

We stayed at Porthtowan Tourist Park for 5 days, we have been camping (tent) and now a campervan ( as we are pensioners) for fifty years and we spend several weeks in Cornwall every year. This is the......Read more.

We stayed at Porthtowan Tourist Park for 5 days, we have been camping (tent) and now a campervan ( as we are pensioners) for fifty years and we spend several weeks in Cornwall every year. This is the best site we have ever stayed on, The Owner/ Manager and family could not have been more helpful, The facilities were very clean and the small onsite shop had a good range of supplies. We will definitely be staying here again. Pam and John Berry....Read less.

"Excellent stay"

Mrs K Postlethwaite - Stayed with friends, Jun 2017

29/06/2017

5 16 year old girls had fabulous time celebrating the end of GCSEs together. Beautiful weather, sea swimming, sun bathing, cliff walks, dinner at Blue Bar - easy walk to beach - taxi back =£1 pp!!......Read more.

5 16 year old girls had fabulous time celebrating the end of GCSEs together. Beautiful weather, sea swimming, sun bathing, cliff walks, dinner at Blue Bar - easy walk to beach - taxi back =£1 pp!! First taste of freedom independence & adventure without parents in tow!...Read less.

"Very Friendly"

Mr R Jones - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

28/06/2017

We have been 3 times this year and have found the new owners very very friendly , helpful and always happy to help ( used the site previously with the old owners and this was not the case).

We would......Read more.

We have been 3 times this year and have found the new owners very very friendly , helpful and always happy to help ( used the site previously with the old owners and this was not the case).

We would highly recommend this site and have done so :) and plan on returning again and again this year, providing there is room....Read less.

Andrew and Angie, replied to this review on the 28 June 2017

Dear Richard we are so glad you enjoyed your stays our objective is to continually strive to make......Read more.

Dear Richard we are so glad you enjoyed your stays our objective is to continually strive to make our site one of the best in the South West look forward to seeing you again soon kind regards Andrew, Angie & James...Read less.

"Our Holiday At Porthtowan tourist Park May/ June 2017"

Mrs Morrell - Stayed with partner, May 2017

27/06/2017

We stayed here several times when the park was owned by the previous owners,. We enjoyed our stay every time , but this time it felt special with the new owners Angie Andrew and of course James.

The......Read more.

We stayed here several times when the park was owned by the previous owners,. We enjoyed our stay every time , but this time it felt special with the new owners Angie Andrew and of course James.

The standards have always been good and reliable.

The rules are quite strict to ensure that consideration is given to other holiday makers. there is no noise after and before certain times,the gates are locked at night to ensure ultimate security, there is a children's play area. and a dog run. All of this ensures peace for the older people and entertainment for the youngster

The gardens and pitches are immaculate and every pitch gives people the maximum space but the nice thing about the park this year was the high standards along with the friendliness of the new family. Andrew helped us within a very short time when I accidentally locked the keys in the caravan, and part way through our stay he was there to assist when there was a problem with the electrics.

Nothing seems to be too much trouble for Andrew and Angie, and Andrew shows such passion in the up keep of the park and we feel he has struck up a perfect balance extremely high standards, with a very friendly atmosphere.

Angie and Andrew offer many deals... 3 week for the price of 2 in September and October, and if you book before you leave you are guaranteed a price hold on next years holidays at the same price as this years, these are jut a couple of their offers

We have already made plans for our 2018 holiday in the UK and without hesitation we will be going back to Porthtowan and hope to be doing so for many years to come.

Andy and Cynthia Morrell

Stoke On Trent...Read less.

Andrew and Angie, replied to this review on the 28 June 2017

Dear Andy & Cynthia it was a pleasure to meet you in our first year here, we look forward to......Read more.

Dear Andy & Cynthia it was a pleasure to meet you in our first year here, we look forward to hopefully seeing you next year, thank you for your lovely comments, Kind regards Andrew, Angie & James...Read less.

"Fabulous two days"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

27/06/2017

It was recommended by a friend and lived up to expectation. Beautifully maintained site run by the most friendly of people. Great beaches at both Porthtowan and Portreath. Discovered a good cycle......Read more.

It was recommended by a friend and lived up to expectation. Beautifully maintained site run by the most friendly of people. Great beaches at both Porthtowan and Portreath. Discovered a good cycle path between the site and Portreath....Read less.

"Tranquillity in stunning Cornish countryside"

A Howe - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

27/06/2017

Wonderful warm friendly site with outstanding customer service. It even had a secure special "dog field" in which we could let our young dog run freely.

"great site very friendly helpful staff"

Mr K Churchouse - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

27/06/2017

Cannot fault this site!! One of the best we have ever stayed on.Strongly recommend it to anyone touring this area.Very friendly staff Antony. And Angie many thanks.

"A little piece of heaven"

Mr & Ms T Jones / Roberts - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

22/06/2017

Beautiful park, so peaceful and relaxing. The owners Andrew and Angie were lovely, very friendly and made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The park is spotlessly......Read more.

Beautiful park, so peaceful and relaxing. The owners Andrew and Angie were lovely, very friendly and made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The park is spotlessly clean and extremely well looked after. To sum it up we've just spent 7 days in a little piece of heaven and can't wait for our next visit. Thank you Andrew and Angie and we'll see you at ice cream o'clock very soon....Read less.

Andrew and Angie, replied to this review on the 23 June 2017

Hi Terry & Angie it was an absolute pleasure having you stay and yes we have restocked and they rea......Read more.

Hi Terry & Angie it was an absolute pleasure having you stay and yes we have restocked and they rea ready in the freezer, see you soon kind regards Andrew, Angie & James x...Read less.

"A great place to stay"

Mrs A Hodges - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

20/06/2017

From the first minute of arrival we felt welcomed and at home. Owners are delightful and the park is immaculate. We were there when it was quiet so no problem with showers etc. Pitches are......Read more.

From the first minute of arrival we felt welcomed and at home. Owners are delightful and the park is immaculate. We were there when it was quiet so no problem with showers etc. Pitches are spacious. There are about 70 so if full it would be busy in the shower block. About 20 mins into Porthtowan and you can go off road once you get your bearings. The walk along the coast from Porthtowan to Portreath is about 2 hours each way with two very steep bits. St Ives about 15 miles and gorgeous....Read less.

"Aanrader"

H Odendaal - Stayed with partner, May 2017

15/06/2017

Zeer nette camping, super vriendelijke en behulpzame eigenaren. Grote Pitch.

Thank you Andrew and Angie for your enthusiastic service.

"Nannakens road trip"

P Slater - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

13/06/2017

Absolutely brill. Top class. Super couple who are running it. Sorry i broke the tip off the cue..

Facilities spotless . Only slight let down....The Great British Weather.but didnt stop us having fun.

Andrew and Angie, replied to this review on the 13 June 2017

Hi Pauline so glad you had a fab time, no problem about pool cue all fixed and ready for next time,......Read more.

Hi Pauline so glad you had a fab time, no problem about pool cue all fixed and ready for next time, weather will be booked for sunny sunny for next time kind regards Andrew, Angie & James ( owners )...Read less.

"Cannot fault it"

Mr N Tory - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

12/06/2017

From the friendliness of the welcome through the quality of the site and its fixtures to the immaculate presentation, this site is the best I have stayed on.

Andrew and Angie, replied to this review on the 13 June 2017

Dear Neil it was lovely meeting you and your brother, envious of the walk around the South West......Read more.

Dear Neil it was lovely meeting you and your brother, envious of the walk around the South West coast path that you are doing, thank you for the lovely review hopefully see you back again sometime kind regards Andrew, Angie & James ( owners )...Read less.

"Porthtowan tourist park"

Anonymous - Stayed Jun 2017

09/06/2017

Handy site in walking distance of the beach. Clean amenities.

"Excellent!"

Mr P Marshall - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

09/06/2017

An amazing place to explore the west of Cornwall. Clean, friendly, and well cared for site with great owners.

"Porthtowan tourist pk"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2017

09/06/2017

Friendly, helpful staff, camp and facilities were immaculate

"Will definitely return"

M Jackson - Stayed with partner, May 2017

08/06/2017

Excellent pitches, with lots of space. Toilet facilities where spottless, could not be faulted. Ideal position for both Newquay. St Ives and most tourist attractions. The owners had only taken over......Read more.

Excellent pitches, with lots of space. Toilet facilities where spottless, could not be faulted. Ideal position for both Newquay. St Ives and most tourist attractions. The owners had only taken over the park at the beginning of the year, however they had everything running to an absolute fine art. The grass areas where regularly mowed and beautiful flowers surrounded the site. Excellent in every way...Read less.

"Great site in a fantastic area"

Mrs G Omeara ( 10 ) - Stayed with family, May 2017

08/06/2017

This site is excellent. The staff are friendly, helpful and keep the site very clean. It has all the facilities you would want from a smaller site - small shop, laundry room, games rooms and even a......Read more.

This site is excellent. The staff are friendly, helpful and keep the site very clean. It has all the facilities you would want from a smaller site - small shop, laundry room, games rooms and even a wetsuit wash area.

There is lots to do in and around the Porthtowan area - the beaches are stunning, St Agnes is a lovely village and the coastal walks are breath-taking. The Blue Bar more or less on the beach at Porthtowan is great for food - it doesn't matter what you wear and has an eclectic mix of people - it is always busy and has a great atmosphere....Read less.

"Brilliant campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2017

07/06/2017

Amazing

"Good times"

Mr G Buckby - Stayed with partner, May 2017

05/06/2017

Excellent

"Small, neat site with large pitches"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

04/06/2017

Very friendly, mostly caravans. Excellent flat pitches for tents. It's a steep mile down to the beach so a bit of a difficult hike back up for children. However, in May we always found a parking......Read more.

Very friendly, mostly caravans. Excellent flat pitches for tents. It's a steep mile down to the beach so a bit of a difficult hike back up for children. However, in May we always found a parking space at the beach....Read less.

"Stunning"

Mr T Scott - Stayed with partner, May 2017

04/06/2017

1st impressions of this site as you enter are stunning. Everything is neat and tidy, shining like a new pin. The welcome in reception is genuine and caring. The site is well laid out in sections and......Read more.

1st impressions of this site as you enter are stunning. Everything is neat and tidy, shining like a new pin. The welcome in reception is genuine and caring. The site is well laid out in sections and the pitches large. Facilities are spotlessly clean and generous in space. The shop is very well stocked. A wide range of information is available in the games room about the many places of interest nearby. The customer service is exceptional. Our time at this site was so enjoyable we have already booked for next year....Read less.

Andrew and Angie, replied to this review on the 06 June 2017

Dear Mr & Mrs Scott we thank you for all of your lovely comments and look forward to welcoming you......Read more.

Dear Mr & Mrs Scott we thank you for all of your lovely comments and look forward to welcoming you back for your booking already made for 2018. Kind regards Andrew, Angie & James ( Owners )...Read less.

"Family trip"

Mrs R Alabaster - Stayed with family, May 2017

04/06/2017

This was the 1st camping trip for my partner n daughter and they loved it. It was helped by the fantastic park n people at porthtowan tourist park. Thank you for our terrific stay

Andrew and Angie, replied to this review on the 06 June 2017

Dear Rebbecca we are so glad that you enjoyed our site which we take great pride in and enjoy......Read more.

Dear Rebbecca we are so glad that you enjoyed our site which we take great pride in and enjoy sharing with others, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Andrew, Angie & James ( Owners )....Read less.

"reveiw of campsite"

P Williams - Stayed with family, May 2017

02/06/2017

very clean frendly well laid out site

"Fantastic site"

Miss H Smith - Stayed with family, May 2017

01/06/2017

Stayed last weekend was very impressed with campsite it was organised the pitches were well maintained and the shower/toilet facilities were extremely clean!! The staff were very helpful and very......Read more.

Stayed last weekend was very impressed with campsite it was organised the pitches were well maintained and the shower/toilet facilities were extremely clean!! The staff were very helpful and very friendly! We will definitely be paying another visit here! 5stars!...Read less.

"A good base for outdoor activities"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2017

31/05/2017

We found this a very good and welcoming base for walkng some of the coastal paths and cycling the Cornish coast-to-coast trail. We also enjoyed walking the beautiful Porthtowan beach at low tide.

"Nice"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2017

25/05/2017

Nice

"Central site"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2017

19/05/2017

Have been using this site since 2001 excellent site clean, friendly well run

"Great site!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2017

12/05/2017

Friendly and we'll run site. Perfectly flat, sheltered, well sized pitches and nicely kept surroundings. Very good free showers with lots of hot water. The owners do go to great lengths to make......Read more.

Friendly and we'll run site. Perfectly flat, sheltered, well sized pitches and nicely kept surroundings. Very good free showers with lots of hot water. The owners do go to great lengths to make staying there a pleasure! Good walks and cycling (if quite hilly) straight from the site....Read less.

"Holiday stay BEST TOURIST PARK FOR A LONG TIME"

B Thomas - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

09/05/2017

Came down to you at the beginning of the season, 1st April

Had a very nice time, the site and pitch was very nice clean and well looked after.

The staff where very friendly and helpful. The dogs......Read more.

Came down to you at the beginning of the season, 1st April

Had a very nice time, the site and pitch was very nice clean and well looked after.

The staff where very friendly and helpful. The dogs enjoyed your dog walk area, as they could be let off there leads

in the dog walking area. Your little shop is very nice BUT had no newspapers or GINGER NUTS ?

WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN...Read less.

"Amazing stay"

L Johnson ( 37 ) - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

07/05/2017

What an amazing stay felt so welcome and can't wait to return. Great location!.

"Excellent !"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Apr 2017

04/05/2017

Andy (owner) and his family greeted us kindly and was very efficient on arrival.

Very well run camp site .

"Great"

Mr B Oliphant ( 36 ) - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

03/05/2017

The new owners are nice people and have made some great inprovements in last few month

"Clean and very neat site, with very friendly staff, will be coming back again."

P Northam - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

28/04/2017

Only one gripe my wife had, which was the empty soap dispensers in the ladies toilet, other than that, the site was very clean and quiet and we were made to feel very welcome by the staff.

Andrew and Angie, replied to this review on the 28 April 2017

Dear Mr Northam we are glad you enjoyed your stay & appreciate your comments with regards to the......Read more.

Dear Mr Northam we are glad you enjoyed your stay & appreciate your comments with regards to the soap dispenser we check the levels regularly but on this occassion it slipped through the net, we hope to see you all again soon kind regards Andrew, Angie & James ( site owners )....Read less.

"Friendliness of park owner"

Mr & Mrs T Boyle ( 25 ) - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

27/04/2017

It was a pleasure to stay at Porthtowan Park, it was very clean with great facilities. They were very helpful and pleasant when we needed anything. We will definitely be returning. A real gem was......Read more.

It was a pleasure to stay at Porthtowan Park, it was very clean with great facilities. They were very helpful and pleasant when we needed anything. We will definitely be returning. A real gem was found here....Read less.

"First Time"

Mr D Jenkins - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

27/04/2017

Congratulations, our first visit but certainly not our last

"Easter break - first outing of the season"

A Nash ( 32 ) - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

24/04/2017

This was the first outing of this season - we arrived knowing that the caravan would be already sited and ready to use with minimal effort. There was no dis-appointment.

The new owners were very......Read more.

This was the first outing of this season - we arrived knowing that the caravan would be already sited and ready to use with minimal effort. There was no dis-appointment.

The new owners were very friendly and whilst maintaining the high existing standards, had added or were in the process of further improving the site's facilities.

A quiet, relaxing and very well maintained site - we would recommend to others.

Alan & Clare - Warwickshire....Read less.

"5 Nights in April 2017 Family of three."

Mr D Cook - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

24/04/2017

During the April bank holidays, we decided to quickly hire a 6 berth camper, and head towards Cornwall for a little break, We arrived at the Porthtowan tourist park, as a second choice, we had......Read more.

During the April bank holidays, we decided to quickly hire a 6 berth camper, and head towards Cornwall for a little break, We arrived at the Porthtowan tourist park, as a second choice, we had originally paid and booked into the Cambrose Touring Park, but upon seeing the showers and toilet facilities, we just left, after being there for about 30 mins, and headed towards the Porthtowan Tourist Park.

From the very first point of contact i.e. phoning them, we was immediately made welcome to visit, stay etc., so upon arriving onsite, the owners did nothing but go out of their way to make you feel very welcome.

We as a family are very fussy, i.e. we always travel well, and aim for a minimum of 5 star onwards, and I have to be totally honest, the washing facilities showers, toilets, no litter, every facility was just spotless, and where an absolute credit to the owners of this site, they was utterly immaculate, it was like being at home for us.

Because of this, we originally was going to stay just one night, but because we liked it so much and was made to feel nothing but very welcome, we ended up staying for 4 nights.

It’s rare thing these days, to find such amazing customer care, but this place just has that special rare gift in abundance, both Andrew and Angela, couldn’t do enough to make you truly feel at home, they were both utterly amazing towards making our stay there just brilliant.

As a result of those kind actions, we will most defiantly be going back soon, and possibly purchasing a caravan to store their onsite.

It’s a must stay place…and I’d recommend this place to anyone who enjoys a lovely, clean, quiet, family place to stay, and totally relax.

...Read less.

"Easter short stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

22/04/2017

Had a wonderful time. Wish it had been longer. Friendly staff. Very clean facilities. Loads of hot water in shower facilities which was fantastic. Cant wait to go back. 😊

"Welcomed stay ,"

Mrs S Lyall-Venables - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

lovely family welcome, we enjoyed our stay with you and will definitely will be back ,

Dog friendly ,

"Continued High Standard"

Mr D Gribble - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

We were very impressed with the greeting we received on arrival and the cleanliness of the site. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure we were happy on site.......Read more.

We were very impressed with the greeting we received on arrival and the cleanliness of the site. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure we were happy on site. They were especially helpful about our daughter coming to visit us whilst we were there which has encouraged them as a family to come next time. We particularly enjoy table tennis so were really pleased to be able to use the facilities whilst there. The shop was well stocked with very reasonable prices. There are several walks from the site with superb views along the coastal path albeit a bit up and down! Fabulous place, lovely people, and yes even the Fish and Chip van arrived whilst we were there! We shall certainly be back! Many thanks....Read less.

"Fantastic Easter stay"

Mr & Mrs C Freeman - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

We enjoyed a great 4 night stay. On arrival we wanted to move pitches, no problem for Andrew & Angie. Couldn't be more helpful. Andrew's moto is "attention to detail" and this clearly shows......Read more.

We enjoyed a great 4 night stay. On arrival we wanted to move pitches, no problem for Andrew & Angie. Couldn't be more helpful. Andrew's moto is "attention to detail" and this clearly shows everywhere on this site. Large flat pitches. We will return for sure. Thanks....Read less.

"Tidy and clean but not enough to do. Staff more than helpful"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

16/04/2017

For us and our 2 teenagers there was not enough to do of an evening and too far from anywhere without having to drive which when parked up we prefer not to have to ... site was high standard though

© 2006 - 2017 CampStead