Porthtowan Tourist Park

35 Reviews

4.7 / 5 overall rating based on 35 reviews in the last 12 months

100% would recommend this site

100% would stay here again

Excellent

89%

Very Good

9%

Average

0%

Poor

0%

Terrible

0%

"A little piece of heaven"

Mr & Ms T Jones / Roberts ( 30 ) - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

22/06/2017

Beautiful park, so peaceful and relaxing. The owners Andrew and Angie were lovely, very friendly and made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The park is spotlessly......Read more.

Beautiful park, so peaceful and relaxing. The owners Andrew and Angie were lovely, very friendly and made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The park is spotlessly clean and extremely well looked after. To sum it up we've just spent 7 days in a little piece of heaven and can't wait for our next visit. Thank you Andrew and Angie and we'll see you at ice cream o'clock very soon....Read less.

Andrew and Angie McKenzie, replied to this review on the 23 June 2017

Hi Terry & Angie it was an absolute pleasure having you stay and yes we have restocked and they rea......Read more.

Hi Terry & Angie it was an absolute pleasure having you stay and yes we have restocked and they rea ready in the freezer, see you soon kind regards Andrew, Angie & James x...Read less.

"A great place to stay"

Mrs A Hodges - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

20/06/2017

From the first minute of arrival we felt welcomed and at home. Owners are delightful and the park is immaculate. We were there when it was quiet so no problem with showers etc. Pitches are......Read more.

From the first minute of arrival we felt welcomed and at home. Owners are delightful and the park is immaculate. We were there when it was quiet so no problem with showers etc. Pitches are spacious. There are about 70 so if full it would be busy in the shower block. About 20 mins into Porthtowan and you can go off road once you get your bearings. The walk along the coast from Porthtowan to Portreath is about 2 hours each way with two very steep bits. St Ives about 15 miles and gorgeous....Read less.

"Aanrader"

H Odendaal - Stayed with partner, May 2017

15/06/2017

Zeer nette camping, super vriendelijke en behulpzame eigenaren. Grote Pitch.

Thank you Andrew and Angie for your enthusiastic service.

"Nannakens road trip"

P Slater - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

13/06/2017

Absolutely brill. Top class. Super couple who are running it. Sorry i broke the tip off the cue..

Facilities spotless . Only slight let down....The Great British Weather.but didnt stop us having fun.

Andrew and Angie McKenzie, replied to this review on the 13 June 2017

Hi Pauline so glad you had a fab time, no problem about pool cue all fixed and ready for next time,......Read more.

Hi Pauline so glad you had a fab time, no problem about pool cue all fixed and ready for next time, weather will be booked for sunny sunny for next time kind regards Andrew, Angie & James ( owners )...Read less.

"Cannot fault it"

Mr N Tory - Stayed with family, Jun 2017

12/06/2017

From the friendliness of the welcome through the quality of the site and its fixtures to the immaculate presentation, this site is the best I have stayed on.

Andrew and Angie McKenzie, replied to this review on the 13 June 2017

Dear Neil it was lovely meeting you and your brother, envious of the walk around the South West......Read more.

Dear Neil it was lovely meeting you and your brother, envious of the walk around the South West coast path that you are doing, thank you for the lovely review hopefully see you back again sometime kind regards Andrew, Angie & James ( owners )...Read less.

"Porthtowan tourist park"

Anonymous - Stayed Jun 2017

09/06/2017

Handy site in walking distance of the beach. Clean amenities.

"Excellent!"

Mr P Marshall - Stayed with partner, Jun 2017

09/06/2017

An amazing place to explore the west of Cornwall. Clean, friendly, and well cared for site with great owners.

"Porthtowan tourist pk"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2017

09/06/2017

Friendly, helpful staff, camp and facilities were immaculate

"Will definitely return"

M Jackson - Stayed with partner, May 2017

08/06/2017

Excellent pitches, with lots of space. Toilet facilities where spottless, could not be faulted. Ideal position for both Newquay. St Ives and most tourist attractions. The owners had only taken over......Read more.

Excellent pitches, with lots of space. Toilet facilities where spottless, could not be faulted. Ideal position for both Newquay. St Ives and most tourist attractions. The owners had only taken over the park at the beginning of the year, however they had everything running to an absolute fine art. The grass areas where regularly mowed and beautiful flowers surrounded the site. Excellent in every way...Read less.

"Great site in a fantastic area"

Mrs G Omeara ( 10 ) - Stayed with family, May 2017

08/06/2017

This site is excellent. The staff are friendly, helpful and keep the site very clean. It has all the facilities you would want from a smaller site - small shop, laundry room, games rooms and even a......Read more.

This site is excellent. The staff are friendly, helpful and keep the site very clean. It has all the facilities you would want from a smaller site - small shop, laundry room, games rooms and even a wetsuit wash area.

There is lots to do in and around the Porthtowan area - the beaches are stunning, St Agnes is a lovely village and the coastal walks are breath-taking. The Blue Bar more or less on the beach at Porthtowan is great for food - it doesn't matter what you wear and has an eclectic mix of people - it is always busy and has a great atmosphere....Read less.

"Brilliant campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2017

07/06/2017

Amazing

"Good times"

Mr G Buckby - Stayed with partner, May 2017

05/06/2017

Excellent

"Small, neat site with large pitches"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2017

04/06/2017

Very friendly, mostly caravans. Excellent flat pitches for tents. It's a steep mile down to the beach so a bit of a difficult hike back up for children. However, in May we always found a parking......Read more.

Very friendly, mostly caravans. Excellent flat pitches for tents. It's a steep mile down to the beach so a bit of a difficult hike back up for children. However, in May we always found a parking space at the beach....Read less.

"Stunning"

Mr T Scott - Stayed with partner, May 2017

04/06/2017

1st impressions of this site as you enter are stunning. Everything is neat and tidy, shining like a new pin. The welcome in reception is genuine and caring. The site is well laid out in sections and......Read more.

1st impressions of this site as you enter are stunning. Everything is neat and tidy, shining like a new pin. The welcome in reception is genuine and caring. The site is well laid out in sections and the pitches large. Facilities are spotlessly clean and generous in space. The shop is very well stocked. A wide range of information is available in the games room about the many places of interest nearby. The customer service is exceptional. Our time at this site was so enjoyable we have already booked for next year....Read less.

Andrew and Angie McKenzie, replied to this review on the 06 June 2017

Dear Mr & Mrs Scott we thank you for all of your lovely comments and look forward to welcoming you......Read more.

Dear Mr & Mrs Scott we thank you for all of your lovely comments and look forward to welcoming you back for your booking already made for 2018. Kind regards Andrew, Angie & James ( Owners )...Read less.

"Family trip"

Mrs R Alabaster - Stayed with family, May 2017

04/06/2017

This was the 1st camping trip for my partner n daughter and they loved it. It was helped by the fantastic park n people at porthtowan tourist park. Thank you for our terrific stay

Andrew and Angie McKenzie, replied to this review on the 06 June 2017

Dear Rebbecca we are so glad that you enjoyed our site which we take great pride in and enjoy......Read more.

Dear Rebbecca we are so glad that you enjoyed our site which we take great pride in and enjoy sharing with others, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Andrew, Angie & James ( Owners )....Read less.

"reveiw of campsite"

P Williams - Stayed with family, May 2017

02/06/2017

very clean frendly well laid out site

"Fantastic site"

Miss H Smith - Stayed with family, May 2017

01/06/2017

Stayed last weekend was very impressed with campsite it was organised the pitches were well maintained and the shower/toilet facilities were extremely clean!! The staff were very helpful and very......Read more.

Stayed last weekend was very impressed with campsite it was organised the pitches were well maintained and the shower/toilet facilities were extremely clean!! The staff were very helpful and very friendly! We will definitely be paying another visit here! 5stars!...Read less.

"A good base for outdoor activities"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2017

31/05/2017

We found this a very good and welcoming base for walkng some of the coastal paths and cycling the Cornish coast-to-coast trail. We also enjoyed walking the beautiful Porthtowan beach at low tide.

"Nice"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2017

25/05/2017

Nice

"Central site"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2017

19/05/2017

Have been using this site since 2001 excellent site clean, friendly well run

"Great site!"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, May 2017

12/05/2017

Friendly and we'll run site. Perfectly flat, sheltered, well sized pitches and nicely kept surroundings. Very good free showers with lots of hot water. The owners do go to great lengths to make......Read more.

Friendly and we'll run site. Perfectly flat, sheltered, well sized pitches and nicely kept surroundings. Very good free showers with lots of hot water. The owners do go to great lengths to make staying there a pleasure! Good walks and cycling (if quite hilly) straight from the site....Read less.

"Holiday stay BEST TOURIST PARK FOR A LONG TIME"

B Thomas - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

09/05/2017

Came down to you at the beginning of the season, 1st April

Had a very nice time, the site and pitch was very nice clean and well looked after.

The staff where very friendly and helpful. The dogs......Read more.

Came down to you at the beginning of the season, 1st April

Had a very nice time, the site and pitch was very nice clean and well looked after.

The staff where very friendly and helpful. The dogs enjoyed your dog walk area, as they could be let off there leads

in the dog walking area. Your little shop is very nice BUT had no newspapers or GINGER NUTS ?

WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN...Read less.

"Amazing stay"

L Johnson ( 37 ) - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

07/05/2017

What an amazing stay felt so welcome and can't wait to return. Great location!.

"Excellent !"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Apr 2017

04/05/2017

Andy (owner) and his family greeted us kindly and was very efficient on arrival.

Very well run camp site .

"Great"

Mr B Oliphant ( 36 ) - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

03/05/2017

The new owners are nice people and have made some great inprovements in last few month

"Clean and very neat site, with very friendly staff, will be coming back again."

P Northam - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

28/04/2017

Only one gripe my wife had, which was the empty soap dispensers in the ladies toilet, other than that, the site was very clean and quiet and we were made to feel very welcome by the staff.

Andrew and Angie McKenzie, replied to this review on the 28 April 2017

Dear Mr Northam we are glad you enjoyed your stay & appreciate your comments with regards to the......Read more.

Dear Mr Northam we are glad you enjoyed your stay & appreciate your comments with regards to the soap dispenser we check the levels regularly but on this occassion it slipped through the net, we hope to see you all again soon kind regards Andrew, Angie & James ( site owners )....Read less.

"Friendliness of park owner"

Mr & Mrs T Boyle ( 25 ) - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

27/04/2017

It was a pleasure to stay at Porthtowan Park, it was very clean with great facilities. They were very helpful and pleasant when we needed anything. We will definitely be returning. A real gem was......Read more.

It was a pleasure to stay at Porthtowan Park, it was very clean with great facilities. They were very helpful and pleasant when we needed anything. We will definitely be returning. A real gem was found here....Read less.

"First Time"

Mr D Jenkins - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

27/04/2017

Congratulations, our first visit but certainly not our last

"Easter break - first outing of the season"

A Nash ( 32 ) - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

24/04/2017

This was the first outing of this season - we arrived knowing that the caravan would be already sited and ready to use with minimal effort. There was no dis-appointment.

The new owners were very......Read more.

This was the first outing of this season - we arrived knowing that the caravan would be already sited and ready to use with minimal effort. There was no dis-appointment.

The new owners were very friendly and whilst maintaining the high existing standards, had added or were in the process of further improving the site's facilities.

A quiet, relaxing and very well maintained site - we would recommend to others.

Alan & Clare - Warwickshire....Read less.

"5 Nights in April 2017 Family of three."

Mr D Cook - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

24/04/2017

During the April bank holidays, we decided to quickly hire a 6 berth camper, and head towards Cornwall for a little break, We arrived at the Porthtowan tourist park, as a second choice, we had......Read more.

During the April bank holidays, we decided to quickly hire a 6 berth camper, and head towards Cornwall for a little break, We arrived at the Porthtowan tourist park, as a second choice, we had originally paid and booked into the Cambrose Touring Park, but upon seeing the showers and toilet facilities, we just left, after being there for about 30 mins, and headed towards the Porthtowan Tourist Park.

From the very first point of contact i.e. phoning them, we was immediately made welcome to visit, stay etc., so upon arriving onsite, the owners did nothing but go out of their way to make you feel very welcome.

We as a family are very fussy, i.e. we always travel well, and aim for a minimum of 5 star onwards, and I have to be totally honest, the washing facilities showers, toilets, no litter, every facility was just spotless, and where an absolute credit to the owners of this site, they was utterly immaculate, it was like being at home for us.

Because of this, we originally was going to stay just one night, but because we liked it so much and was made to feel nothing but very welcome, we ended up staying for 4 nights.

It’s rare thing these days, to find such amazing customer care, but this place just has that special rare gift in abundance, both Andrew and Angela, couldn’t do enough to make you truly feel at home, they were both utterly amazing towards making our stay there just brilliant.

As a result of those kind actions, we will most defiantly be going back soon, and possibly purchasing a caravan to store their onsite.

It’s a must stay place…and I’d recommend this place to anyone who enjoys a lovely, clean, quiet, family place to stay, and totally relax.

...Read less.

"Easter short stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

22/04/2017

Had a wonderful time. Wish it had been longer. Friendly staff. Very clean facilities. Loads of hot water in shower facilities which was fantastic. Cant wait to go back. 😊

"Welcomed stay ,"

Mrs S Lyall-Venables - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

lovely family welcome, we enjoyed our stay with you and will definitely will be back ,

Dog friendly ,

"Continued High Standard"

Mr D Gribble - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

We were very impressed with the greeting we received on arrival and the cleanliness of the site. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure we were happy on site.......Read more.

We were very impressed with the greeting we received on arrival and the cleanliness of the site. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure we were happy on site. They were especially helpful about our daughter coming to visit us whilst we were there which has encouraged them as a family to come next time. We particularly enjoy table tennis so were really pleased to be able to use the facilities whilst there. The shop was well stocked with very reasonable prices. There are several walks from the site with superb views along the coastal path albeit a bit up and down! Fabulous place, lovely people, and yes even the Fish and Chip van arrived whilst we were there! We shall certainly be back! Many thanks....Read less.

"Fantastic Easter stay"

Mr & Mrs C Freeman - Stayed with partner, Apr 2017

21/04/2017

We enjoyed a great 4 night stay. On arrival we wanted to move pitches, no problem for Andrew & Angie. Couldn't be more helpful. Andrew's moto is "attention to detail" and this clearly shows......Read more.

We enjoyed a great 4 night stay. On arrival we wanted to move pitches, no problem for Andrew & Angie. Couldn't be more helpful. Andrew's moto is "attention to detail" and this clearly shows everywhere on this site. Large flat pitches. We will return for sure. Thanks....Read less.

"Tidy and clean but not enough to do. Staff more than helpful"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Apr 2017

16/04/2017

For us and our 2 teenagers there was not enough to do of an evening and too far from anywhere without having to drive which when parked up we prefer not to have to ... site was high standard though

© 2006 - 2017 CampStead