Lordstones Campsite

43 Reviews

4.2 / 5 overall rating based on 43 reviews in the last 12 months

91% would recommend this site

91% would stay here again

Excellent

58%

Very Good

23%

Average

14%

Poor

2%

Terrible

0%

"Special day at lord stones"

Mr D Smith - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

15/08/2019

I would just like to say a big thank you on behalf of me and my wife for such a great time at lord stones in the pods great staff very helpful lovely welcome beautiful scenery and so relaxing special......Read more.

I would just like to say a big thank you on behalf of me and my wife for such a great time at lord stones in the pods great staff very helpful lovely welcome beautiful scenery and so relaxing special thank you to Alison for sorting this special day and looking forward to the next stay

Kind regards

Derrick & June...Read less.

"No e"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

None

"Youth Group Camping Trip"

A Lonsdale - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

12/08/2019

We booked the campsite for a 1 night stay with a large group of young people and staff. This venue provides the ideal camping area for large groups and the on site facilities are excellent. The......Read more.

We booked the campsite for a 1 night stay with a large group of young people and staff. This venue provides the ideal camping area for large groups and the on site facilities are excellent. The immediate surrounding country park is fantastic for families and groups and if your a little more adventurous the surrounding hills, moorland and woods are the best in the area.

This is our 6th stay on site and We will defiantly be back !...Read less.

"Beautiful place"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

10/08/2019

Ideal for family getaway. With lovely scenery and walks. Also somewhere to get fantastic bite to eat. Can not wait to come back.

"Fantastic weekend in beautiful North Yorkshire"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

08/08/2019

We stayed in one of the Yurts and it was home from home. Very comfortable, with plenty of space. The kettle was a nice touch! The layout of the campsite made it feel very safe for young children to......Read more.

We stayed in one of the Yurts and it was home from home. Very comfortable, with plenty of space. The kettle was a nice touch! The layout of the campsite made it feel very safe for young children to play, where they could always be seen. The wash facilities were excellent with a high level of cleanliness. The weekend that we stayed there was a BBQ and live music with a great atmosphere. We will be back!...Read less.

"Wonderful stay in relaxing environment"

Mrs C Grant - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

08/08/2019

I love this area and was so pleased to see it was now somewhere I could stay. We hired a pod for two nights and it couldn’t have been better. Perfect for size for two adults and a dog, though you......Read more.

I love this area and was so pleased to see it was now somewhere I could stay. We hired a pod for two nights and it couldn’t have been better. Perfect for size for two adults and a dog, though you could comfortably take up to two children as well. All the food we ate was excellent, the only thing I would change is that I would like dogs to be accepted inside the cafe but other than that it was perfect...Read less.

"Lordstones"

Mr C Hartshorne - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

07/08/2019

Great to have a quality restaurant on site allowing for a lazy camping night whilst of coarse the opportunity exists to cook your own food. Facilities were very clean and views great like always.

"Awesome Location and Brilliant Facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

06/08/2019

A two day one night stay for a departmental team building escape.

Brilliant location, great facilities and awesome views (once the cloud cover lifted). Poor weather on the second day hampered an......Read more.

A two day one night stay for a departmental team building escape.

Brilliant location, great facilities and awesome views (once the cloud cover lifted). Poor weather on the second day hampered an otherwise great visit, but that's the nature of an English summer.

BBQ's could do with an inner grate for coals to sit on and breathe, improvised with heavy duty tent pegs tho!...Read less.

"Not much there on a wet Wed eve"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

05/08/2019

The staff were very friendly. We were walking the coast to coast and arrived 10 minutes before the cafe/shop closed. Staff were great as they made us a cup of tea (for a charge) and gave us a map of......Read more.

The staff were very friendly. We were walking the coast to coast and arrived 10 minutes before the cafe/shop closed. Staff were great as they made us a cup of tea (for a charge) and gave us a map of facilities. This didn't show the dish wash area and no one told us it was there (behind an unlabeled door) so we washed up in the toilet basins. The only other campers on site found the dish wash area in the morning, by mistake.

Luckily there was a marquee left over from some event so we sat in that for the evening to keep dry as there was nowhere else.

Basically, on a weekend it's probably a nice vibrant site with the restaurant open but on a Wed night if was just a place to pitch the tent. Shower/toilet facilities were excellent....Read less.

"Stay in Yurt"

Mrs E Kirk - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

I’m not normally a complainer but, the toilet /wash facilities for the Yurts were filthy. One toilet seat had a streak of excrement on it when we arrived - which was still there when we left. It......Read more.

I’m not normally a complainer but, the toilet /wash facilities for the Yurts were filthy. One toilet seat had a streak of excrement on it when we arrived - which was still there when we left. It seemed they were cleaned just once a day and even that wasn’t a deep clean. I lifted the seat to check the cleanliness and wished I hadn’t.

In our Yurt I found a cigarette lighter under the bed - so again would question how well they are cleaned.

The 2 nights we stayed there were only about 3 or 4 other families in the yurts/camping so no excuse for filthy toilets....Read less.

"Nice quiet site, toilets not cleaned for our entire stay"

Mr A Dixon - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

We chose the site as we have young twins and this was this first camping trip, we live close by so seemed ideal. Everything was as we expected it would be, aware there was no play park etc. The......Read more.

We chose the site as we have young twins and this was this first camping trip, we live close by so seemed ideal. Everything was as we expected it would be, aware there was no play park etc. The toilet and shower facilities are of a good standard so cannot understand why they are not claened? My wife raised this with the staff on site who said they would look into it and contact us about a partial refund. We have heard nothing since....Read less.

"Camp site stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

26/07/2019

Lovely camp site.

"Great place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Camped here for one night excellent place to stay vey helpful and friendly staff. Very modern and clean toilet and shower facilities, great food

"Lovely weekend"

J Slingsby - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

02/07/2019

We had a fabulous weekend at lordstones, everything about the site was excellent, the only slight hiccup was a blocked toilet but they apologised profusely and worked on repairing it.

"Camping trip"

Mrs G Richardson - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

27/06/2019

We had a great time camping at Lord Stones recentky

"Great relaxing place"

Mr D Smith - Stayed with partner, May 2019

16/06/2019

Booked for two days really enjoyed the first day in the pods so relaxing so cozy and peaceful but for unforeseen problem back at home we had to leave and return home losing all of the second day told......Read more.

Booked for two days really enjoyed the first day in the pods so relaxing so cozy and peaceful but for unforeseen problem back at home we had to leave and return home losing all of the second day told the staff what was happening as we handed keys back nothing was said but am sure we would of enjoyed the second day had the problem not of happened

Kind regards

Derrick and June...Read less.

"Lordstones visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

11/06/2019

Park is very well kept and in a very nice location. Only criticism would be that there was no out of hours emergency number. This would have been very helpful as when we stayed an alarm went off in......Read more.

Park is very well kept and in a very nice location. Only criticism would be that there was no out of hours emergency number. This would have been very helpful as when we stayed an alarm went off in the reception, and continued to go off all through the night as we could not contact anybody. All in all very satisfied nonetheless....Read less.

"Lovely stay with family and friends"

Mrs F Guppy - Stayed with family, May 2019

05/06/2019

Our pod was clean and spacious. Much larger than other pods we have stayed in and having a toilet was a great bonus. The area where the pods were was secure, clean and quiet. We used the cafe and......Read more.

Our pod was clean and spacious. Much larger than other pods we have stayed in and having a toilet was a great bonus. The area where the pods were was secure, clean and quiet. We used the cafe and shop during our stay and they were a great bonus. Fantastic views from the park....Read less.

"Lovely campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

01/06/2019

Beautiful location and very peaceful.

Was a wet weekend so the floors in the toilets were rather mucky but couldn’t be helped.

"Nice setting- facilities quite basic"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

31/05/2019

Neat campsite with numbered pitches. Reception not signed so spent a few mins driving around before trying the cafe. Washing facilities could have been cleaner. Cafe did a lovely breakfast

"Fab place in fab location"

Ms L Smith - Stayed with partner, May 2019

16/05/2019

Beautiful setting, peaceful yet easy access, parking close to pods and great on site facilities and walks from the site. Dog friendly too

"Nice overnight stay"

Mr A Norman - Stayed with family, May 2019

16/05/2019

Lovely location and facilities.

"Noisy Neighbours"

Mr N Maclean - Stayed with partner, May 2019

15/05/2019

The inability to bring a vehicle on to the campsite, even to unload, is a distinct disadvantage. We often use a tent that weighs in excess of 30KG so you really dont want to carry it very far.

One......Read more.

The inability to bring a vehicle on to the campsite, even to unload, is a distinct disadvantage. We often use a tent that weighs in excess of 30KG so you really dont want to carry it very far.

One thing missing from the review criteria is quality of sleep. For this, the campsite would rate very poorly because noisy families in the yurts kept us awake until 2:00am. We were allocated a pitch right next to the noisy yurt but the rest of the campsite was completely empty so we could have gone anywhere.

The toilet and shower facilities are good but a little quirky. The lights are PIR controlled so they switch off and leave you in the dark while having a shower. Some mirrors and places to hang clothes in the showers wouldn’t go amiss.

The value for money rating is based on quality of sleep....Read less.

"Lovely stay - our third visit."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

10/05/2019

Great stay as always. Only two areas for improvement. Showers were completely cold the last 24 hours and there is not enough choice for vegetarians on the Lordstones evening menu.

"New parking rule ??"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2019

10/05/2019

Lovely site and very good facilities.

Last year we were able to park the car next too the plot while we unpacked before parking in the car park , this year we weren’t supposed to as it was blocked......Read more.

Lovely site and very good facilities.

Last year we were able to park the car next too the plot while we unpacked before parking in the car park , this year we weren’t supposed to as it was blocked off to cars . We did break the rules as were the only ones there but this rule needs looking into if we were to return as impossible to carry everything from car park to field...Read less.

"Great stay"

Mr R Graham - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

06/05/2019

Myself and my family enjoyed a brilliant stay at Lordstones. All of the facilities i.e. shower block, restaurant were of excellent standard. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.......Read more.

Myself and my family enjoyed a brilliant stay at Lordstones. All of the facilities i.e. shower block, restaurant were of excellent standard. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The surrounding area is amazing. Parking facilities are excellent as it is very accessible. Also it is worth mentioning the food in the restaurant is absolutely first class. Would recommend....Read less.

"Great site, Great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

25/04/2019

Very pleasantly surprised at the quality of this campsite, the camping area is nice and private and very secure. The facilities are close by and there’s great views and walks in every direction, well......Read more.

Very pleasantly surprised at the quality of this campsite, the camping area is nice and private and very secure. The facilities are close by and there’s great views and walks in every direction, well worth a visit....Read less.

"Review of Trip"

B Davis - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

18/04/2019

Couldn't recommend the place enough. Staff went over and above to make our stay even more comfortable. Already looking to book up again. Highly recommend.

"Lovely place to stay"

Mrs C Helks - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

02/04/2019

Great location with stunning views.

Nearby cafe and 1.5 miles down the hill is the pub.

Easy access to site and easy to find.

"Winter Wonderland"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jan 2019

24/01/2019

Our stay coincided with the first snow of January 2019! Staff were concerned we might not get up to Lord Stones so phoned us on the morning to advise us which was very considerate. We made it and......Read more.

Our stay coincided with the first snow of January 2019! Staff were concerned we might not get up to Lord Stones so phoned us on the morning to advise us which was very considerate. We made it and had a wonderful overnight stay, meal at the Belted Bull was fantastic - Thank you...Read less.

"Glamping Pod- Dinner, Bed and Breakfast"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jan 2019

15/01/2019

I booked this stay for a Christmas present for my Boyfriend, I was recommended by my friend who currently works at the restaurant there and who has stayed there a few times. I would defiantly......Read more.

I booked this stay for a Christmas present for my Boyfriend, I was recommended by my friend who currently works at the restaurant there and who has stayed there a few times. I would defiantly recommend this campsite as the log fire inside the pod was amazing but when to hot you could open the doors or Windows available and got cool again. We will defiantly be coming up in the summer to use the bbq and outside seating.

We also would recommend the restaurant, we had the Mac n Cheese Parmesan and the sticky toffee pudding with a bottle of wine and it was amazing and enjoyed our starter breakfast in the morning with a glass of orange.

The staff were lovely and welcoming....Read less.

"Bonfire weekend escape with dog"

D Elliott - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

10/11/2018

We stayed at Lordstones to escape the constant clatter of fireworks which our dog hates.

Check-in was quick & friendly.

Glamping pod was far from basic & clean, comfortable, warm & more than adequate......Read more.

We stayed at Lordstones to escape the constant clatter of fireworks which our dog hates.

Check-in was quick & friendly.

Glamping pod was far from basic & clean, comfortable, warm & more than adequate for our needs.

We live just a few mile away so didn't use any facilities other than the cafe for coffee which was nice enough with pleasant staff.

Had a chat with the site warden (Kevin) who we found to be full of information & passionate about lordstones guests enjoying their stay.

We would definitely use lordstones again....Read less.

"Lordstones campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2018

18/10/2018

Staying in the pods was very comfortable and very clean and tidy with clean bedding. Such a lovley place to stay with lots of nearby walks and very close to Stokesley and a lovley friendly site.

"Family weekend away"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

17/10/2018

Really enjoyed our weekend before kids went back to school. Plenty of dove on the campsite for the kids to run around safely. We brought a kite and conditions were ideal to fly one. Our only concern......Read more.

Really enjoyed our weekend before kids went back to school. Plenty of dove on the campsite for the kids to run around safely. We brought a kite and conditions were ideal to fly one. Our only concern was in the Saturday night there were some people who stayed up til gone 2am playing music and chatting outside there tents. Thankfully it did not disturb our kids....Read less.

"Break"

Miss S Baker - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

11/10/2018

I would highly recommend this place absolutely stunning. This was our 2nd visit this year.love this place so peaceful and relaxing.

"Perfect little getaway"

Miss C Day - Stayed Oct 2018

08/10/2018

A wonderful 2 night stay with beautiful surroundings, friendly staff and great food!

"Stop off on The Coast to Coast Walk."

Ms P Gregson - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

30/09/2018

Decided to try Lordstones as it is the only accomodation right on the walk in the area.The Pod was better than expected. Really comfortable and the reception staff very helpful, Beautiful area. Would......Read more.

Decided to try Lordstones as it is the only accomodation right on the walk in the area.The Pod was better than expected. Really comfortable and the reception staff very helpful, Beautiful area. Would be nice for a few days. Only problem is that things close a little early and open again a little late for walkers especially on a Sunday. People camping doing the walk tell me it is too expensive. But it was great to be right on the path in the morning,...Read less.

"Mini break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

25/09/2018

We have stayed here before so we like the place just to get away from the rat race. Nice staff and the blackwell ox pub down the road is allways nice. Some decent walks in the surrounding areas.

"Ard moors camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2018

20/09/2018

Three of us camped here for the Ard Moors enduro. I booked it mainly because it was slightly cheaper than the event camping but as it turns out we got ‘exclusive’ use of the facilities (shower and......Read more.

Three of us camped here for the Ard Moors enduro. I booked it mainly because it was slightly cheaper than the event camping but as it turns out we got ‘exclusive’ use of the facilities (shower and toilet block). Unsurprisingly in the end quite a few guys used these facilities that were from the event camping field, and they got very busy, a bit messed up and one of the two toilets got blocked. I presume everyone at our site was a rider, or there for Ard Moors, think they might be a little put off if not!...Read less.

"Fabulous location"

Mr K Wales - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

16/09/2018

Toilets are clean and well maintained, shower facilities warm and clean, Barbecues available , Bar food absolutely fabulous, if at the top of pub grub prices, but worth it. Shop provides basics,......Read more.

Toilets are clean and well maintained, shower facilities warm and clean, Barbecues available , Bar food absolutely fabulous, if at the top of pub grub prices, but worth it. Shop provides basics, Stokesley, with all its facilities is ten minutes away. No playground for kids, but plenty of open space, and the best place in Yorkshire for kite flying....Read less.

"Not what we expected"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

02/09/2018

The campsite was expensive, therefore we expected more. The pitches were close together so you could hear conversations from the next tents. The layout of the pitches could be better thought......Read more.

The campsite was expensive, therefore we expected more. The pitches were close together so you could hear conversations from the next tents. The layout of the pitches could be better thought through. The woods behind seemed to be used as toilets (loo roll on the floor) this may be as the facilities where quite far away and the lighting was not great. Cars came to the public car park area in the early hours so you didn't feel very secure and safe. The toilet facilities did not seem to be cleaned each day over the weekend, loo roll running short, no hand drying towels for the whole weekend. The pot wash facility was not marked on the door, so we didn't think there was one. Overall we didn't really enjoy the weekend camping at the site, the food was excellent at the restaurant though and It is ideally situated for backpackers on the Cleveland Way....Read less.

"Small campsite in an exceptional location"

Mr T Downie - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

01/09/2018

We enjoyed our short stay here. The location makes it really - you're just a few hundred metres away from incredible views across the moors and valley beyond. The camp site itself if small and......Read more.

We enjoyed our short stay here. The location makes it really - you're just a few hundred metres away from incredible views across the moors and valley beyond. The camp site itself if small and surrounded by a conifer plantation, which although it restricts the view from the tent it does keep the wind off. There's plenty open space for kids to run around and it's quite a remote location.

One aspect that put me off a bit was that there are a number of glamping yurts all with woodburners. We were there on a cold night and right next to the yurts. The smoke was just dropping down and it was a bit much by the morning. It shouldn't be a problem on warm or windy days. Or if you're in a yurt and have benefit of the heat. Some of the pitches are further away so worth asking if it'll bother you.

The toilets were OK and no one is too far away from them. It's generally a tidy site but a few details could be improved, like the electric point covered in tape and bags beside the stand pipe.

...Read less.

"Lovely location with basic facilities"

Miss E Turner - Stayed Aug 2018

29/08/2018

The main park is surrounded by trees which means you do not get any of the amazing view around the site. The toilet/shower facilities are insufficient for the number of people to use them. Also,......Read more.

The main park is surrounded by trees which means you do not get any of the amazing view around the site. The toilet/shower facilities are insufficient for the number of people to use them. Also, the security code is very complex and probably unnecessary so it is very inconvenient trying to actually get into the facility. The 'main woman' in the cafe is unfriendly however the same cannot be said for the staff in the shop where you actually check in. Lordstones is in a fabulous location and has a 'captive audience' so there is little incentive for them to try harder to satisfy their customers....Read less.

© 2006 - 2019 CampStead