Lordstones Campsite

42 Reviews

4.2 / 5 overall rating based on 42 reviews in the last 12 months

90% would recommend this site

90% would stay here again

Excellent

36%

Very Good

50%

Average

10%

Poor

5%

Terrible

0%

"Reedman family break"

A Reedman - Stayed with family, Oct 2020

08/10/2020

Had a lovely stay the pod was warm; comfortable and well fitted The food in the restaurant was first class

"Brilliant stay. Shame about the communication on site!"

Miss K Abel - Stayed with partner, Oct 2020

08/10/2020

We stayed overnight in a luxury camping pod. The luxury pods are set in a brilliant location and the best pods we have stayed in. We checked in and were given an information pack with contact details......Read more.

We stayed overnight in a luxury camping pod. The luxury pods are set in a brilliant location and the best pods we have stayed in. We checked in and were given an information pack with contact details for overnight. We did not realise that no one stays overnight as a warden for emergencies.

We stayed in our pod which was brilliant. Through the night we had our carbon monoxide alarm continually sound for well over an hour and a half. We attempted to find someone on site as the numbers given in the brochure had no answer due to the dangers of carbon monoxide. We were able to walk around the full site in the dark with no security or restrictions. We ended up phoning an emergency gas engineer who travelled from Redcar in the middle of the night to check this. We were stuck what to do if it had been deemed as unsafe! Luckily it was safe to still stay there. Finally got into bed at 1am!

We informed the staff but did not hear from the duty manager until we contacted them ourselves. We know they were contacting customers due to the recent coronavirus case. We left our number as they were to reimburse us for a meal due to the inconvenience of the night. We are still waiting to hear anything a week later.

It hasn’t put us off from staying, but we feel that the contact details or emergency contact details so it doesn’t happen to anyone else in our position. We were informed by the duty manager that someone should have answered the phone number in the booklet as it is the correct number (we left voice message and rang over 30+ times).

All in all, it hasn’t put us off from staying as it is such a lovely experience and your furry friends can always go along with you as well!...Read less.

"Not really worth £22"

Ms S Wall - Stayed Sep 2020

04/10/2020

For £22 for a basic tent pitch, I was expecting more. The main disappointment was that breakfast didn’t start till 9am. As a walker doing the C2C I’m normally away by 9am with breakfast around 7-8am.......Read more.

For £22 for a basic tent pitch, I was expecting more. The main disappointment was that breakfast didn’t start till 9am. As a walker doing the C2C I’m normally away by 9am with breakfast around 7-8am. Also limited access to charge phones etc. No shelter to cook my own breakfast. But I suppose your paying for the location. Which didn’t seem that secure with the members of the public parking up late at night playing loud music from their cars....Read less.

"We have loved it for decades"

Taylor - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

04/10/2020

The pods are more recent and a most welcome addition, indeed. I've been going to Carlton Bank for over 65 years from before I could walk, when my Father carried me up until I could. ......Read more.

The pods are more recent and a most welcome addition, indeed. I've been going to Carlton Bank for over 65 years from before I could walk, when my Father carried me up until I could. It is tranquil and I loved the chaffinches, robin, blackbirds and coots from the pond with the occasional rabbit scampering past in the mornings and evenings. The air has always felt supremely healing for any ailment.

No complaints but a couple of comments. At the last hour, I couldn't find where my camping stove was and would have purchased one if the shop sold them. Nevertheless, biodynamic eggs and mushrooms were amazing done on the barbecue in my stainless steel pan! There was a small, child's toy under the bed along with crumbs otherwise everything was clean. Please no chemical plug ins. Some of us are highly alert to poisons.

Thank you for a WONDERFUL VISIT. Another memory that will remain with us always....Read less.

"Lovely place to stay!!"

Miss A Baker - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

04/10/2020

The glamming pods were lush! They are near to nice walks and a lovely village with a nice pub! Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to stay.

"Great value for money and helpful staff"

Mrs L Lowcock - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

02/10/2020

Great 1 night stay . Great value for money luxury for £65 . Nice and peaceful , staff friendly we had no milk so they gave us a cup full for free to last us for the night . Amazing surroundings

"Nice pod, shame about the lack of facilities after 4pm"

Mr J Laycock - Stayed Sep 2020

28/09/2020

I stayed one night in a pod during my recent coast to coast walk. The pod was excellent, and the cafe in the morning for breakfast was very good too.

However, I arrived at 4.50pm (ie not late) and......Read more.

I stayed one night in a pod during my recent coast to coast walk. The pod was excellent, and the cafe in the morning for breakfast was very good too.

However, I arrived at 4.50pm (ie not late) and everything was closed. I had called ahead so my key was available which was fine, but I was surprised to find there was literally nowhere to get food, not even a vending machine. I realise it was a Tuesday during a pandemic, but a relatively remote campsite on two long distance footpaths (coast to coast and Cleveland Way) is inevitably going to get people arriving after 4pm (when everything shut) without carrying food for the evening, and without being able to get to another location that is open. I know there was at least one other guest in the same position, probably more. If the cafe or shop at least had something to buy up until say 6pm it would help. I appreciate the full restaurant is only open on weekends, but something in it's place the rest of the week would be appreciated - perhaps the ability to pre order food that would be left in the pod if you arrive after closing?

Also, it would be good if in the morning the shop or cafe sold sandwiches, fruit and other packed lunch items to take away for long distance walkers. You are perfectly located for this - you would get custom! Not everyone arrives by car....Read less.

"Lovely location"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

25/09/2020

Facilities limited by CV-19 so no criticism there but the water supply to the whole site went off late in the afternoon and was still not fixed by 10:00 next day so no washing or toilet facilities.......Read more.

Facilities limited by CV-19 so no criticism there but the water supply to the whole site went off late in the afternoon and was still not fixed by 10:00 next day so no washing or toilet facilities. For adults this was manageable but had we included children within the group this could have been very difficult....Read less.

"2 nights dog friendly break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

22/09/2020

Having been shielding for 6mths due to Covid, this break was like a little slice of heaven. A spacious (2 adults, 1 dog) pod in a pretty enclosed area overlooking the countryside. The country park is......Read more.

Having been shielding for 6mths due to Covid, this break was like a little slice of heaven. A spacious (2 adults, 1 dog) pod in a pretty enclosed area overlooking the countryside. The country park is fantastic for walks (amazing views) & the staff in the shop & cafe were very friendly.

We had good weather for September but it was lovely to light the stove in the evening - super cosy!

The wash facilities in the pod were ok but the sink only has cold water, although the kitchenette has hot. However, the toasty shower block with its underfloor heating made up for this.

We were advised there would be no crockery at all & took our own, but plates, mugs, cups & basic cutlery were supplied. We used the BBQ & bought our wood, charcoal, firelighters etc from the site.

The only negative was the smell of sewage coming from the plant next to our pod but we got used to it!

Cleanliness overall was ok, not great (cobwebs round windows, no sanitiser in toilets). There was space for a larger sink in the kitchenette & some sort of drainer or rubber mat would be useful for washed mugs etc to prevent water spreading over the worktop.

Overall - a great place for a getaway, & good value for money.

...Read less.

"Lovely spot"

Miss K Banett - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

20/09/2020

Really enjoyed our overnight stay. The barbecue was a great facility. We also used it as a fire pit which helped with the midges.

The pod village area was beautiful and peaceful. There was a sewage......Read more.

Really enjoyed our overnight stay. The barbecue was a great facility. We also used it as a fire pit which helped with the midges.

The pod village area was beautiful and peaceful. There was a sewage smell though From beside pod 5

Loved the vegan breakfast option at the cafe. Could get some vegan spread for the toast (flora is fully vegan now)

Beautiful views of the North Yorkshire moors too

I’d love to return for a longer stay to explore the nearby Cleveland way...Read less.

"Beautiful"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

17/09/2020

Excellent accommodation in a beautiful surrounding

"Beautiful campsite"

M Nightingale - Stayed with partner, Sep 2020

16/09/2020

We loved camping at Lordstones. The site is in a beautiful setting on the Cleveland Way and in a sheltered spot. The facilities were very clean and the nearby cafe / restaurant has a good menu. The......Read more.

We loved camping at Lordstones. The site is in a beautiful setting on the Cleveland Way and in a sheltered spot. The facilities were very clean and the nearby cafe / restaurant has a good menu. The shop is also very useful. We had an evening meal and lunch at the café / restaurant during our stay. The food was delicious and the staff were very friendly. The campsite is a great place to relax in beautiful surroundings....Read less.

"A great weekend break"

Mrs S Llewellyn - Stayed with friends, Sep 2020

10/09/2020

😀

"A very wet week"

Mrs M Brooks - Stayed with partner, Aug 2020

08/09/2020

We really like this campsite as it is so small, however the facilities are being run down and not renewed or repaired quickly enough. This wasn't a huge issue as not many campers, for instance only......Read more.

We really like this campsite as it is so small, however the facilities are being run down and not renewed or repaired quickly enough. This wasn't a huge issue as not many campers, for instance only 1 female shower working. Other issues relating to the security of the site, one night a group of youths turned up in cars and had radios blaring at 3am, waking many of us on site, had the barrier been down and closed they would not have been able to access the over spill parking area. They also need notices up stating whether or not they are adhering to the no noise policy after a certain time, it is only covered in the initial paperwork and therefore some campers seem to be unaware of this. Having said all this - we love the location and the steaks at the restaurant are absolutely fantastic, we will visit again....Read less.

"Experience review"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2020

08/09/2020

The yurt was great size and quiet clean. The space around was amazing for the he kids to play around and kick. Beautiful walks around closeby and great fun experience. However, I feel small play area......Read more.

The yurt was great size and quiet clean. The space around was amazing for the he kids to play around and kick. Beautiful walks around closeby and great fun experience. However, I feel small play area for kids whether it's a few rocky stones to walk on or wooden swim and slides or some obstacles would be ideal. The cafe closeby was amazing and if we were to stay few more days will certainly resort to the cafe and the resturant food.

In these extreme circumstances the management around safety of covid19 appeared great.

The quality of stove was amazing and BBQ . Everything worked effectively and kettle and everything found was quiet clean.

The check out time was early but I think this was due to covid19 which is vital to ensure a deep clean. Hence, do not have anything negative to state. I, my family very much enjoyed their stay. Thank you for the amazing experience.

...Read less.

"Podtastic time"

Mrs V Elliman - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

04/09/2020

My husband and 2 boys stayed in the pod at Lordstones and we loved it. Started out well and was worried about where to dry things but the log burner helped loads.

The toilet in the pod made morning......Read more.

My husband and 2 boys stayed in the pod at Lordstones and we loved it. Started out well and was worried about where to dry things but the log burner helped loads.

The toilet in the pod made morning and night toilet routines much more convenient and the little sink and Worktop area was super handy.

Underfloor heated shower room made the facilities So cosy! Helpful staff and amazing food in the restaurant in the night. Will definitely be returning! 10/10...Read less.

"The staff & views outshine everything else"

Mrs L Barnes - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

31/08/2020

Really good campsite, just a shame on the torrential rainy weather & that there was no one to greet us at 4pm on arrival and that all facilities closed at 4pm

"Weekend break"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2020

28/08/2020

Beautiful location and setting , perfect for a getaway near to home and yet feels as good as been on holiday.

"Great place for a getaway"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

27/08/2020

This was our second time at Lordstones and we very much enjoyed it again. It’s a lovely quiet spot with only a small number of pitches which feels safe for the children to explore. Good clean......Read more.

This was our second time at Lordstones and we very much enjoyed it again. It’s a lovely quiet spot with only a small number of pitches which feels safe for the children to explore. Good clean facilities available. Beautiful walks straight from the campsite as it is on the Cleveland way....Read less.

"Wonderful location!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

25/08/2020

We had a lovely couple of days here staying in two of the pods overlooking the lake. Wonderful to wake up to the morning mist and seeing moorhens wandering past! Very peaceful! The staff were......Read more.

We had a lovely couple of days here staying in two of the pods overlooking the lake. Wonderful to wake up to the morning mist and seeing moorhens wandering past! Very peaceful! The staff were friendly and the full English breakfast is the best I've ever tried. The eggs must be local, as well as the black pudding as these were amazing. We had to use the shower block as the pods only have a small toilet and basin (which was fine) and the heating in the shower block was tropical and the hot water was almost too hot! The pods could do with a few extra hooks around the place to hang stuff, and maybe a couple of lamps to make it cosier in the evening, as the only lighting is a bedside light (too weak) or 8 LED downlighters (too bright)....Read less.

"Nice quiet campsite"

S Graham - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

24/08/2020

We gave stayed here before and love it but this year we had a few faults - the pitches are quite difficult to fit a large tent. The electric hook up was quite a distance from our pitch but we luckily......Read more.

We gave stayed here before and love it but this year we had a few faults - the pitches are quite difficult to fit a large tent. The electric hook up was quite a distance from our pitch but we luckily took an extension cable, the toilets and wash facilities weren’t as clean or stocked with enough toilet roll, soap, etc but i think this was due to walkers sneaking into use them when they shouldn’t.

The site is lovely and quiet in beautiful surroundings, with great walks and a lovely restaurant serving delicious food for all the family. Could not fault the lovely friendly staff here too. Thanks...Read less.

"Slightly disappointed"

Mr M Brown - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

23/08/2020

We have stayed before but this time the toilet facilities were dirty. Arrived on a Sunday and there was no handwash in the toilets and the sinks also had mud in them. The campsite bins were also......Read more.

We have stayed before but this time the toilet facilities were dirty. Arrived on a Sunday and there was no handwash in the toilets and the sinks also had mud in them. The campsite bins were also overflowing and both taps had signs saying do not use but we hadn’t been told where we could use as an alternative. The bins were emptied Monday morning. And the signs saying do not use water were removed? I think In this time it is not acceptable for the toilets not to be regularly checked.

That being said we would return it’s a lovely location and we do love the lordstones cafe....Read less.

"Short Break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

20/08/2020

Lovely two night stay at Lordstones in one of the Glamping Pods.

Great base to explore the surrounding countryside.

Onsite Bar, restaurant and cafe all lovely too

"Nightmare."

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

19/08/2020

We camped for one night at the start of August this year, as my wife and I were walking the Cleveland Way.

This has to be the worst campsite my wife and I have ever had the misfortune to stay at.

We......Read more.

We camped for one night at the start of August this year, as my wife and I were walking the Cleveland Way.

This has to be the worst campsite my wife and I have ever had the misfortune to stay at.

We were kept awake till 3.50 am with loud music, foul and disgusting language. And people lighting fire's.

I'm not against people having a drink, but trust me... I'm a builder and work on site's allover the country, but this was disgusting behaviour....

There was no sign of the so say warden, or music curfew.

We did complain in the morning, but might as well have spoken to a brick wall.

Regards,

Two very unhappy and tried camper's....Read less.

Dominic, replied to this review on the 20 August 2020

Good morning,

Thank you for your review and we would first of all like to apologise for your stay......Read more.

Good morning,

Thank you for your review and we would first of all like to apologise for your stay being ruined at Lordstones, by the behaviour of other guests on site.

I would be most greateful if you could send me your email address so I can reply personally & give us an opportunity to explain & hopefully rectify some of the problems detailed in your email. Please email me at urraestate@gmail.com

We take all feedback and criticism seriously, and are not a stone wall when our customers wish to express their dismay.

It is proving a difficult period for all due to the severe downturn in business with the imposed lockdown, restictions on opening & the fact that both ourselves and other campsites, lodges & UK guest accommodation have picked up the trade of covid customers who are not able to travel abroad but have been both unruly, inconsiderate & deterimental to small businesses.

I look forward to hearing from you so I can address your concerns in more detail and hope I can help in some capacity.

Kind regards,

Dominic Reeve...Read less.

"Lovely location and views."

A Cowley - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

19/08/2020

Great site but shower and toilet facilities are stylish but not practical. For example, shower rooms have infra red light switches. Great at saving power but as they don’t see into the shower......Read more.

Great site but shower and toilet facilities are stylish but not practical. For example, shower rooms have infra red light switches. Great at saving power but as they don’t see into the shower cubicles the light goes off and you have to open the shower door to reactivate. Not good when you and the floor is wet and you can’t see.

Water pressure is also an issue. The showers are activated by passing your hand over a reader. I stood through 5 cycles of activation with no water as someone was using in the ladies or washing. Showers are not heat adjustable and have rainfall heads only. Not practice if water pressure low. It’s a shame. Campers prefer practicality over style.

When we stayed there were a large number of very large family groups who really didn’t understand camping etiquette such as late night noise and respecting pitch boundaries.

All of this sounds as if we didn’t enjoy, but we did. And so will you. Lovely site with good staff....Read less.

"Nice stay at lordstones"

R Hinley - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

18/08/2020

Had a lovely two days at the campsite with my husband and two small children. The campsite is lovely, many wonderful views and walks nearby. Shower Block was nice but not well monitored. Went for......Read more.

Had a lovely two days at the campsite with my husband and two small children. The campsite is lovely, many wonderful views and walks nearby. Shower Block was nice but not well monitored. Went for over 24 hours without any soap in the women’s toilets. No sanitiser provided. Not acceptable in the middle of a pandemic...Read less.

"End Of Long Walk"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

16/08/2020

Great location on the Cleveland way. Very neat and well run. Great breakfast. Camping was busy that day with well behaved younger groups enjoying themselves. Only spoilt by neighbouring family......Read more.

Great location on the Cleveland way. Very neat and well run. Great breakfast. Camping was busy that day with well behaved younger groups enjoying themselves. Only spoilt by neighbouring family campers who thought it ok to leave their nippy sly dog off the lead to attack our black lab....Read less.

"Lovely veiws"

Mr D Gordon - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

16/08/2020

Our first stay at lord stones but definitely not the last

wanted a local but out of the way camp site and that’s what we got

the park was spacious and friendly and everyone respected the other......Read more.

Our first stay at lord stones but definitely not the last

wanted a local but out of the way camp site and that’s what we got

the park was spacious and friendly and everyone respected the other campers later on in the evenings

lovely site...Read less.

"Excellent location & facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

14/08/2020

My husband and son stayed here a couple of weeks back and both had a fabulous time.

The camping area is enclosed by beautiful trees and very private.

All facilities are very clean and......Read more.

My husband and son stayed here a couple of weeks back and both had a fabulous time.

The camping area is enclosed by beautiful trees and very private.

All facilities are very clean and tidy.

Excellent area for walking/hiking/biking.

Plus there is an on-site pub/restaurant and shop so all needs are catered for.

The shop has an excellent range of food including burgers and sausages for bbq’s.

My husband and son enjoyed it so much that they have re-booked to go again very soon and we have also booked for a few weeks time to go as a family and with friends....Read less.

"Covid 19"

Mrs A Beech - Stayed with family, Aug 2020

14/08/2020

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Lordstones mainly due to the superb location. However I would like to make a few recommendations:

Make sure that there is anti-bac spray and towels in toilets......Read more.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Lordstones mainly due to the superb location. However I would like to make a few recommendations:

Make sure that there is anti-bac spray and towels in toilets (there wasn't until I pointed this out to the staff who subsequently supplied this).

If cars are not allowed on camp ground except of course for unloading/loading make sure that this is enforced as several campers kept their vehicles on site during their stay also the 11pm curfew was not adhered to by some groups.

Info regarding Covid 19 and measures that Lordstones have in place would be helpful on arrival in the form of written info e.g cleaning of surfaces in toilets and also info regarding limiting numbers in toilets. The latter would be useful because there was only a note on display within the toilet area. Several times there were more that 2 people or family groups using the facilities. It would have been helpful to have a notice on display outside as well.

...Read less.

"It's all about location."

Mr N Docherty - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

13/08/2020

Lordstones is in the middle of nowhere which is its greatest appeal, there nothing to do except walking, enjoying the outdoors or having a bite to eat in the bar. It's all about the location with......Read more.

Lordstones is in the middle of nowhere which is its greatest appeal, there nothing to do except walking, enjoying the outdoors or having a bite to eat in the bar. It's all about the location with many great walks right on your doorstep....Read less.

"Lovely camping for the family"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

10/08/2020

Great camping , lovely staff , great location

"Lovely place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

09/08/2020

Nice place to stay with family and friends, children enjoyed the open air and walks local to the area.

"Great short break"

Mrs T Wilmshurst - Stayed with family, Jul 2020

14/07/2020

A few days of peace and quiet- very restful. Good food in the cafe /restaurant, all the staff very friendly.

Great local walks. Our second visit, will be back.

"Short Stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

13/07/2020

Quiet first camping trip since the re opening of the site. Concerned when first pulling up as a couple brought a speaker and was playing music for an hour atleast on arrival. Luckily this did not go......Read more.

Quiet first camping trip since the re opening of the site. Concerned when first pulling up as a couple brought a speaker and was playing music for an hour atleast on arrival. Luckily this did not go on and by the time we came back from our walk they had lowered this and it was off by a respectable time. Very satisfied with the area and the cleanliness and use of facilities within easy distance. Only preference would have been that we were spaces further away from said couple with the park being almost empty as this would have made our experience a bit more enjoyable as we wouldnt have been able to hear the music which was definitely not to our taste....Read less.

"Worst camping experience"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

13/07/2020

We stayed in a yurt and the first night of our stay was awful

The yurt was lovely but the Field had a party of 4 tents who partied all night long. Even had a disco light speaker. They were still......Read more.

We stayed in a yurt and the first night of our stay was awful

The yurt was lovely but the Field had a party of 4 tents who partied all night long. Even had a disco light speaker. They were still talking loudly at 7am sitting around a camp fire. They weren't supposed to have a camp fire. No staff came to check even though they knew they'd booked the large group. We didn't sleep that night. Next night we were moved to a pod which was quiet.

The showers didn't work so we made do with a wash until we carried on with our tour.

I strongly recommend having someone on site overnight. It's very remote to start with and would give peace of mind.

...Read less.

"First visitors after restrictions"

Mrs R Staton - Stayed with partner, Jul 2020

13/07/2020

We were one of the first guests after lockdown restrictions and were searching for a well earned rest after working through it all. Have visited the country park before several times and always......Read more.

We were one of the first guests after lockdown restrictions and were searching for a well earned rest after working through it all. Have visited the country park before several times and always enjoyed being there. Had an issue with the water while there but wasn’t really a problem and the park staff kept us informed on what was going on and said if we needed any to pop in the shop which was really nice of them. Facilities weren’t very clean but this was more due to the people staying and not cleaning after themselves than the staff on site. I did give the sinks a clean before I left on the Monday lol I can’t help myself. Will be returning very soon 😊...Read less.

"Great accommondation, great location, great staff"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

06/01/2020

We've stayed a few times now in the camping pods. Our last visit was staying over on New Years Eve. The camping pods are great! Bring some logs and get the fire on and it's proper cosy! Such a......Read more.

We've stayed a few times now in the camping pods. Our last visit was staying over on New Years Eve. The camping pods are great! Bring some logs and get the fire on and it's proper cosy! Such a brilliant location on the Cleveland Way as well. Lovely walks in either direction.

Special mention for the staff - they are an absolute credit to the place. Always been very friendly and helpful. When we rocked up starving only to find there was no food on, a staff member (sorry I didn't get her name), offered to knock us up some soup and bread to take on our walk. Such a nice thing to do. Stuff like this makes all the difference.

Wasn't out first visit and won't be the last! Always telling other folk to go and stay. Love it.

...Read less.

"Clamping pod"

Mrs C Smith - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

27/10/2019

It was October, very cold and we arrived on foot soaked through. We paid £80 for the night inc bedding. We had to buy a full sack of logs for the stove which would last 4-5 night's. We were given......Read more.

It was October, very cold and we arrived on foot soaked through. We paid £80 for the night inc bedding. We had to buy a full sack of logs for the stove which would last 4-5 night's. We were given a lighter but no fire lighters. The stove wouldn't light, smoke coming into pod and loads of blue bottle flys. The chimney was blocked with what must have been a dead bird which judging by the flies must have been dead for some time. We were eventually moved to another pod, though we had to wait while it was cleaned. We arrived at the cafe at 4.06 but they speed serving food at 4.00 so we didn't get to eat. Poor night, particularly for the amount we had paid....Read less.

"2 night stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

26/10/2019

Location location location. I used to live close by so I knew how lovely it is up there. The pod was great, well insulated with a warm log burner and radiators if needed. The breakfasts were very......Read more.

Location location location. I used to live close by so I knew how lovely it is up there. The pod was great, well insulated with a warm log burner and radiators if needed. The breakfasts were very good but it's a shame the restaurant is only open in the evening on a Thursday Friday and Saturday, this is understandable and Fish and chips were still hot when we got back from a nearby chippy. The wildlife, walking and views are special. Looking forward to going back....Read less.

"Walking Cleveland Way"

F Fidler - Stayed Oct 2019

26/10/2019

Perfectly situated on the Cleveland Way for a nights camping. Unfortunately I couldn't use the restaurant as they don't allow dogs and I didn't want to leave him alone in the tent. Washing......Read more.

Perfectly situated on the Cleveland Way for a nights camping. Unfortunately I couldn't use the restaurant as they don't allow dogs and I didn't want to leave him alone in the tent. Washing facilities were clean and heated but the water in the showers was not as hot as I like and could not be adjusted. Staff were all very friendly and helpful....Read less.

"Katie"

Miss K Appleby - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

26/10/2019

I stayed over for one night with my partner and it just wasn’t enough!!

So gorgeous, loved my stay and I’ll definitely be staying again!!

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead