Lordstones Campsite

39 Reviews

4.3 / 5 overall rating based on 39 reviews in the last 12 months

87% would recommend this site

79% would stay here again

Excellent

59%

Very Good

26%

Average

10%

Poor

5%

Terrible

0%

"Great accommondation, great location, great staff"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Dec 2019

06/01/2020

We've stayed a few times now in the camping pods. Our last visit was staying over on New Years Eve. The camping pods are great! Bring some logs and get the fire on and it's proper cosy! Such a......Read more.

We've stayed a few times now in the camping pods. Our last visit was staying over on New Years Eve. The camping pods are great! Bring some logs and get the fire on and it's proper cosy! Such a brilliant location on the Cleveland Way as well. Lovely walks in either direction.

Special mention for the staff - they are an absolute credit to the place. Always been very friendly and helpful. When we rocked up starving only to find there was no food on, a staff member (sorry I didn't get her name), offered to knock us up some soup and bread to take on our walk. Such a nice thing to do. Stuff like this makes all the difference.

Wasn't out first visit and won't be the last! Always telling other folk to go and stay. Love it.

...Read less.

"Clamping pod"

Mrs C Smith - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

27/10/2019

It was October, very cold and we arrived on foot soaked through. We paid £80 for the night inc bedding. We had to buy a full sack of logs for the stove which would last 4-5 night's. We were given......Read more.

It was October, very cold and we arrived on foot soaked through. We paid £80 for the night inc bedding. We had to buy a full sack of logs for the stove which would last 4-5 night's. We were given a lighter but no fire lighters. The stove wouldn't light, smoke coming into pod and loads of blue bottle flys. The chimney was blocked with what must have been a dead bird which judging by the flies must have been dead for some time. We were eventually moved to another pod, though we had to wait while it was cleaned. We arrived at the cafe at 4.06 but they speed serving food at 4.00 so we didn't get to eat. Poor night, particularly for the amount we had paid....Read less.

"2 night stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2019

26/10/2019

Location location location. I used to live close by so I knew how lovely it is up there. The pod was great, well insulated with a warm log burner and radiators if needed. The breakfasts were very......Read more.

Location location location. I used to live close by so I knew how lovely it is up there. The pod was great, well insulated with a warm log burner and radiators if needed. The breakfasts were very good but it's a shame the restaurant is only open in the evening on a Thursday Friday and Saturday, this is understandable and Fish and chips were still hot when we got back from a nearby chippy. The wildlife, walking and views are special. Looking forward to going back....Read less.

"Walking Cleveland Way"

F Fidler - Stayed Oct 2019

26/10/2019

Perfectly situated on the Cleveland Way for a nights camping. Unfortunately I couldn't use the restaurant as they don't allow dogs and I didn't want to leave him alone in the tent. Washing......Read more.

Perfectly situated on the Cleveland Way for a nights camping. Unfortunately I couldn't use the restaurant as they don't allow dogs and I didn't want to leave him alone in the tent. Washing facilities were clean and heated but the water in the showers was not as hot as I like and could not be adjusted. Staff were all very friendly and helpful....Read less.

"Katie"

Miss K Appleby - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

26/10/2019

I stayed over for one night with my partner and it just wasn’t enough!!

So gorgeous, loved my stay and I’ll definitely be staying again!!

"Handy, novel, though expensive place to stay while walking the Cleveland Way"

Ms C Manning - Stayed Oct 2019

06/10/2019

I stayed in a ‘glamping pod’ while walking the Cleveland Way. Lordstones is right on the route and meant I didn’t need to attempt 22 miles in one day, or arrange to be collected for accommodation off......Read more.

I stayed in a ‘glamping pod’ while walking the Cleveland Way. Lordstones is right on the route and meant I didn’t need to attempt 22 miles in one day, or arrange to be collected for accommodation off the path.

The pods are pretty, comfortable and compact, though they contain no cooking utensils save a kettle, and no bed linen. I paid extra for bed linen but unhelpfully it didn’t include a towel. There is no shower in the pod. There is hot water and a loo, and a small heater but it’s not that effective.

As suggested by the name this ‘pod’ is closer to a camping experience, however the cost is more akin to a high end hotel!

Novel but definitely overpriced, especially for October.

The staff were friendly, and breakfast at the cafe was fab.

I can’t comment on the general park facilities.

...Read less.

"Quaint setting"

Miss S Corbey - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

05/10/2019

Lovely little enclosure. We were lucky with the weather one day but not so lucky the following day however still managed to do some lovely walks. Very pretty setting and would love to come back in......Read more.

Lovely little enclosure. We were lucky with the weather one day but not so lucky the following day however still managed to do some lovely walks. Very pretty setting and would love to come back in the summer to make more use of the facilities. Friendly staff and will most definitely return....Read less.

"Cosy"

Mrs L Archer - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

03/10/2019

Beautiful location even in the rain . Great walks from your door.

After a long walk nice to pop to Lordstones cafe or a pint / coffees and a bite to eat. Although if you have a dog you must sit......Read more.

Beautiful location even in the rain . Great walks from your door.

After a long walk nice to pop to Lordstones cafe or a pint / coffees and a bite to eat. Although if you have a dog you must sit outside.

It would be nice just to have a small place indoors for people walking with dogs....Read less.

"welcome break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

02/10/2019

I enjoyed a nice relaxing break with good food and good company

"Yurt rental"

M Young - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

16/09/2019

We rented a yurt to be part of a group event. Everything was fine apart from privacy; five different people were witnessed opening the zipped entrance to our yurt without permission or good reason.......Read more.

We rented a yurt to be part of a group event. Everything was fine apart from privacy; five different people were witnessed opening the zipped entrance to our yurt without permission or good reason. To this end I rate yurt privacy (and therefore security) a zero at Lordstones....Read less.

"Last minute"

Miss J Graham - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

13/09/2019

This stay was very last minute, I also didn’t realise it closed at 5 until we got the phone call after having a few hiccups within our day. It’s says if you arrive a little late and want something......Read more.

This stay was very last minute, I also didn’t realise it closed at 5 until we got the phone call after having a few hiccups within our day. It’s says if you arrive a little late and want something from the shop but we couldn’t get hold of anyone?

The place is beautiful, and couldn’t believe how spacious it was inside. The only thing I’d probably say is, it would have been nice to have maybe a little tea bag and a little bar of soap, as these are little things we forgot On our one night stay, just a complimentary tea or coffee might be a nice idea, as this was our first glamping....Read less.

"Expensive."

Anonymous - Stayed Sep 2019

12/09/2019

I have never paid as much to stay on a campsite. For the money I would have at least expected a flat pitch. Also too close to each other and a trek to the small toilet facilities.

Dominic, replied to this review on the 12 September 2019

Good morning,

Thanks for your review of your stay at Lordstones.

We refute your Claim about our......Read more.

Good morning,

Thanks for your review of your stay at Lordstones.

We refute your Claim about our site being expensive as we offer a discretionary and reduced rate for our Camping guests who are either camping solo, or passing through our site. Our website clearly states that you can call and we can book accordingly. We have many guests that use this offer & stay with us at a more appropiate rate.

The pitch rate was devised using our VAT element incorporation and the fact that larger tents on one pitch can accommodate 4 guests quite easily and therefore the rate of £22.50 offers good value for money.

Our camping field is located in the North York Moors and offers the best and most level ground we can find in the National Park. We of course cannot make any excavations or engineering works in this senstive area and we have not received any negative feedback or comments with the above in mind. It is well drained and secluded which are again of great attraction.

The amenity block is situted as close as could to the camping field and glamping sites; again we are located in a senswtive area with stringent planning conditions and guidance, so the excellent & well appointed facilities.

I hope that this might give some clarity & explanation to your negativity with your stay at Lordstones....Read less.

"Beautiful spot, lovely pods"

Mrs P Bullock - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

07/09/2019

A last minute booking for one night only. Great opportunity for a quick night away. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely warm pods.

"Beautiful site"

M Hall - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

02/09/2019

Beautiful site would highly recommended

"Weekend away"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

30/08/2019

Had a great weekend away in glamping pods which were comfortable although the mattress on the bed was not the most comfortable. The pod area is stated as for residents only but this appears to......Read more.

Had a great weekend away in glamping pods which were comfortable although the mattress on the bed was not the most comfortable. The pod area is stated as for residents only but this appears to include access for families and friends which can be numerous although this didn’t stop us enjoying our weekend and wouldn’t prevent us staying again this did not give the experience we thought we would have in this secluded area. Facilities around the park are excellent and we felt that whatever the weather we could have enjoyed our stay...Read less.

"Weekend break"

Mrs T Bell - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

28/08/2019

Our only problem was the plastic covering on mattress which meant we had a poor nights sleep as was squeaking on every movement.. the futon did not offer more comfort as worn down on seating side......Read more.

Our only problem was the plastic covering on mattress which meant we had a poor nights sleep as was squeaking on every movement.. the futon did not offer more comfort as worn down on seating side with use ... had a great stay but would have to have differed mattress next time as need a goodnights sleep...Read less.

"Camping with a 7 week old? No problem"

Mrs P Palmer - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

27/08/2019

We stayed in the glamping pods when we visited Lordstones and another party camped in a tent all booked last minute. Our youngest was 7 weeks old and we had space for a travel cot. Accommodation was......Read more.

We stayed in the glamping pods when we visited Lordstones and another party camped in a tent all booked last minute. Our youngest was 7 weeks old and we had space for a travel cot. Accommodation was lovely and warm for baby. Facilities in the pods were all we needed to keep the whole family happy! The area surrounding the pods is lovely, quiet and secluded with a little pond just outside, so we got to enjoy some wildlife walking past our front door. Plenty of things to do during the day with walks included in the Cleveland Way. We had our own BBQ one night and the following night we ate at the site restaurant and had one of the best steaks we’ve ever had. Toilet facilities clean and well looked after with lovely warm running water readily available. We all thoroughly enjoyed our little stay and would not hesitate to recommend or return for another trip...Read less.

"First impression"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

24/08/2019

Great pod , very cosy , lady who booked me in could do with brushing up her inter personal skills as was a bit brusque and for whatever reason decided to serve people after me first !

"Overnight camp"

Ms J Allen - Stayed Aug 2019

24/08/2019

I stayed here as a stop on the Cleveland Way. It is located actually on the path so couldn’t be more convenient. This was by far the most expensive site as they are really after the glamping market.......Read more.

I stayed here as a stop on the Cleveland Way. It is located actually on the path so couldn’t be more convenient. This was by far the most expensive site as they are really after the glamping market. The toilet facilities are really smart, couldn’t be better, however they are quite a walk from where I was camping. I think they should provide a composting toilet on the camping field in addition to their 5 star facilities.

They have a really excellent cafe/ restaurant serving delicious locally sourced food. The service was amazing and prices were reasonable considering the quality of the food....Read less.

"Peaceful location with amazing views"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

The bed in the pod was poor quailty and uncomftable. Expected more for the price. Ended up sleeping on the pull out bed. The restaurant and food were great.

"Review"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

.

"Special day at lord stones"

Mr D Smith - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

15/08/2019

I would just like to say a big thank you on behalf of me and my wife for such a great time at lord stones in the pods great staff very helpful lovely welcome beautiful scenery and so relaxing special......Read more.

I would just like to say a big thank you on behalf of me and my wife for such a great time at lord stones in the pods great staff very helpful lovely welcome beautiful scenery and so relaxing special thank you to Alison for sorting this special day and looking forward to the next stay

Kind regards

Derrick & June...Read less.

"No e"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

13/08/2019

None

"Youth Group Camping Trip"

A Lonsdale - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

12/08/2019

We booked the campsite for a 1 night stay with a large group of young people and staff. This venue provides the ideal camping area for large groups and the on site facilities are excellent. The......Read more.

We booked the campsite for a 1 night stay with a large group of young people and staff. This venue provides the ideal camping area for large groups and the on site facilities are excellent. The immediate surrounding country park is fantastic for families and groups and if your a little more adventurous the surrounding hills, moorland and woods are the best in the area.

This is our 6th stay on site and We will defiantly be back !...Read less.

"Beautiful place"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

10/08/2019

Ideal for family getaway. With lovely scenery and walks. Also somewhere to get fantastic bite to eat. Can not wait to come back.

"Fantastic weekend in beautiful North Yorkshire"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

08/08/2019

We stayed in one of the Yurts and it was home from home. Very comfortable, with plenty of space. The kettle was a nice touch! The layout of the campsite made it feel very safe for young children to......Read more.

We stayed in one of the Yurts and it was home from home. Very comfortable, with plenty of space. The kettle was a nice touch! The layout of the campsite made it feel very safe for young children to play, where they could always be seen. The wash facilities were excellent with a high level of cleanliness. The weekend that we stayed there was a BBQ and live music with a great atmosphere. We will be back!...Read less.

"Wonderful stay in relaxing environment"

Mrs C Grant - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

08/08/2019

I love this area and was so pleased to see it was now somewhere I could stay. We hired a pod for two nights and it couldn’t have been better. Perfect for size for two adults and a dog, though you......Read more.

I love this area and was so pleased to see it was now somewhere I could stay. We hired a pod for two nights and it couldn’t have been better. Perfect for size for two adults and a dog, though you could comfortably take up to two children as well. All the food we ate was excellent, the only thing I would change is that I would like dogs to be accepted inside the cafe but other than that it was perfect...Read less.

"Lordstones"

Mr C Hartshorne - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

07/08/2019

Great to have a quality restaurant on site allowing for a lazy camping night whilst of coarse the opportunity exists to cook your own food. Facilities were very clean and views great like always.

"Awesome Location and Brilliant Facilities"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

06/08/2019

A two day one night stay for a departmental team building escape.

Brilliant location, great facilities and awesome views (once the cloud cover lifted). Poor weather on the second day hampered an......Read more.

A two day one night stay for a departmental team building escape.

Brilliant location, great facilities and awesome views (once the cloud cover lifted). Poor weather on the second day hampered an otherwise great visit, but that's the nature of an English summer.

BBQ's could do with an inner grate for coals to sit on and breathe, improvised with heavy duty tent pegs tho!...Read less.

"Not much there on a wet Wed eve"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jul 2019

05/08/2019

The staff were very friendly. We were walking the coast to coast and arrived 10 minutes before the cafe/shop closed. Staff were great as they made us a cup of tea (for a charge) and gave us a map of......Read more.

The staff were very friendly. We were walking the coast to coast and arrived 10 minutes before the cafe/shop closed. Staff were great as they made us a cup of tea (for a charge) and gave us a map of facilities. This didn't show the dish wash area and no one told us it was there (behind an unlabeled door) so we washed up in the toilet basins. The only other campers on site found the dish wash area in the morning, by mistake.

Luckily there was a marquee left over from some event so we sat in that for the evening to keep dry as there was nowhere else.

Basically, on a weekend it's probably a nice vibrant site with the restaurant open but on a Wed night if was just a place to pitch the tent. Shower/toilet facilities were excellent....Read less.

"Stay in Yurt"

Mrs E Kirk - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

I’m not normally a complainer but, the toilet /wash facilities for the Yurts were filthy. One toilet seat had a streak of excrement on it when we arrived - which was still there when we left. It......Read more.

I’m not normally a complainer but, the toilet /wash facilities for the Yurts were filthy. One toilet seat had a streak of excrement on it when we arrived - which was still there when we left. It seemed they were cleaned just once a day and even that wasn’t a deep clean. I lifted the seat to check the cleanliness and wished I hadn’t.

In our Yurt I found a cigarette lighter under the bed - so again would question how well they are cleaned.

The 2 nights we stayed there were only about 3 or 4 other families in the yurts/camping so no excuse for filthy toilets....Read less.

"Nice quiet site, toilets not cleaned for our entire stay"

Mr A Dixon - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

04/08/2019

We chose the site as we have young twins and this was this first camping trip, we live close by so seemed ideal. Everything was as we expected it would be, aware there was no play park etc. The......Read more.

We chose the site as we have young twins and this was this first camping trip, we live close by so seemed ideal. Everything was as we expected it would be, aware there was no play park etc. The toilet and shower facilities are of a good standard so cannot understand why they are not claened? My wife raised this with the staff on site who said they would look into it and contact us about a partial refund. We have heard nothing since....Read less.

"Camp site stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2019

26/07/2019

Lovely camp site.

"Great place to stay"

Anonymous - Stayed Jul 2019

11/07/2019

Camped here for one night excellent place to stay vey helpful and friendly staff. Very modern and clean toilet and shower facilities, great food

"Lovely weekend"

J Slingsby - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

02/07/2019

We had a fabulous weekend at lordstones, everything about the site was excellent, the only slight hiccup was a blocked toilet but they apologised profusely and worked on repairing it.

"Camping trip"

Mrs G Richardson - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

27/06/2019

We had a great time camping at Lord Stones recentky

"Great relaxing place"

Mr D Smith - Stayed with partner, May 2019

16/06/2019

Booked for two days really enjoyed the first day in the pods so relaxing so cozy and peaceful but for unforeseen problem back at home we had to leave and return home losing all of the second day told......Read more.

Booked for two days really enjoyed the first day in the pods so relaxing so cozy and peaceful but for unforeseen problem back at home we had to leave and return home losing all of the second day told the staff what was happening as we handed keys back nothing was said but am sure we would of enjoyed the second day had the problem not of happened

Kind regards

Derrick and June...Read less.

"Lordstones visit"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2019

11/06/2019

Park is very well kept and in a very nice location. Only criticism would be that there was no out of hours emergency number. This would have been very helpful as when we stayed an alarm went off in......Read more.

Park is very well kept and in a very nice location. Only criticism would be that there was no out of hours emergency number. This would have been very helpful as when we stayed an alarm went off in the reception, and continued to go off all through the night as we could not contact anybody. All in all very satisfied nonetheless....Read less.

"Lovely stay with family and friends"

Mrs F Guppy - Stayed with family, May 2019

05/06/2019

Our pod was clean and spacious. Much larger than other pods we have stayed in and having a toilet was a great bonus. The area where the pods were was secure, clean and quiet. We used the cafe and......Read more.

Our pod was clean and spacious. Much larger than other pods we have stayed in and having a toilet was a great bonus. The area where the pods were was secure, clean and quiet. We used the cafe and shop during our stay and they were a great bonus. Fantastic views from the park....Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead