Lordstones Campsite

50 Reviews

4.1 / 5 overall rating based on 50 reviews in the last 12 months

96% would recommend this site

96% would stay here again

Excellent

50%

Very Good

28%

Average

16%

Poor

2%

Terrible

0%

"Fab place in fab location"

Ms L Smith - Stayed with partner, May 2019

16/05/2019

Beautiful setting, peaceful yet easy access, parking close to pods and great on site facilities and walks from the site. Dog friendly too

"Nice overnight stay"

Mr A Norman - Stayed with family, May 2019

16/05/2019

Lovely location and facilities.

"Noisy Neighbours"

Mr N Maclean - Stayed with partner, May 2019

15/05/2019

The inability to bring a vehicle on to the campsite, even to unload, is a distinct disadvantage. We often use a tent that weighs in excess of 30KG so you really dont want to carry it very far.

One......Read more.

The inability to bring a vehicle on to the campsite, even to unload, is a distinct disadvantage. We often use a tent that weighs in excess of 30KG so you really dont want to carry it very far.

One thing missing from the review criteria is quality of sleep. For this, the campsite would rate very poorly because noisy families in the yurts kept us awake until 2:00am. We were allocated a pitch right next to the noisy yurt but the rest of the campsite was completely empty so we could have gone anywhere.

The toilet and shower facilities are good but a little quirky. The lights are PIR controlled so they switch off and leave you in the dark while having a shower. Some mirrors and places to hang clothes in the showers wouldn’t go amiss.

The value for money rating is based on quality of sleep....Read less.

"Lovely stay - our third visit."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, May 2019

10/05/2019

Great stay as always. Only two areas for improvement. Showers were completely cold the last 24 hours and there is not enough choice for vegetarians on the Lordstones evening menu.

"New parking rule ??"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, May 2019

10/05/2019

Lovely site and very good facilities.

Last year we were able to park the car next too the plot while we unpacked before parking in the car park , this year we weren’t supposed to as it was blocked......Read more.

Lovely site and very good facilities.

Last year we were able to park the car next too the plot while we unpacked before parking in the car park , this year we weren’t supposed to as it was blocked off to cars . We did break the rules as were the only ones there but this rule needs looking into if we were to return as impossible to carry everything from car park to field...Read less.

"Great stay"

Mr R Graham - Stayed with family, Apr 2019

06/05/2019

Myself and my family enjoyed a brilliant stay at Lordstones. All of the facilities i.e. shower block, restaurant were of excellent standard. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.......Read more.

Myself and my family enjoyed a brilliant stay at Lordstones. All of the facilities i.e. shower block, restaurant were of excellent standard. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The surrounding area is amazing. Parking facilities are excellent as it is very accessible. Also it is worth mentioning the food in the restaurant is absolutely first class. Would recommend....Read less.

"Great site, Great location"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

25/04/2019

Very pleasantly surprised at the quality of this campsite, the camping area is nice and private and very secure. The facilities are close by and there’s great views and walks in every direction, well......Read more.

Very pleasantly surprised at the quality of this campsite, the camping area is nice and private and very secure. The facilities are close by and there’s great views and walks in every direction, well worth a visit....Read less.

"Review of Trip"

B Davis - Stayed with partner, Apr 2019

18/04/2019

Couldn't recommend the place enough. Staff went over and above to make our stay even more comfortable. Already looking to book up again. Highly recommend.

"Lovely place to stay"

Mrs C Helks - Stayed with partner, Mar 2019

02/04/2019

Great location with stunning views.

Nearby cafe and 1.5 miles down the hill is the pub.

Easy access to site and easy to find.

"Winter Wonderland"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jan 2019

24/01/2019

Our stay coincided with the first snow of January 2019! Staff were concerned we might not get up to Lord Stones so phoned us on the morning to advise us which was very considerate. We made it and......Read more.

Our stay coincided with the first snow of January 2019! Staff were concerned we might not get up to Lord Stones so phoned us on the morning to advise us which was very considerate. We made it and had a wonderful overnight stay, meal at the Belted Bull was fantastic - Thank you...Read less.

"Glamping Pod- Dinner, Bed and Breakfast"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jan 2019

15/01/2019

I booked this stay for a Christmas present for my Boyfriend, I was recommended by my friend who currently works at the restaurant there and who has stayed there a few times. I would defiantly......Read more.

I booked this stay for a Christmas present for my Boyfriend, I was recommended by my friend who currently works at the restaurant there and who has stayed there a few times. I would defiantly recommend this campsite as the log fire inside the pod was amazing but when to hot you could open the doors or Windows available and got cool again. We will defiantly be coming up in the summer to use the bbq and outside seating.

We also would recommend the restaurant, we had the Mac n Cheese Parmesan and the sticky toffee pudding with a bottle of wine and it was amazing and enjoyed our starter breakfast in the morning with a glass of orange.

The staff were lovely and welcoming....Read less.

"Bonfire weekend escape with dog"

D Elliott - Stayed with partner, Nov 2018

10/11/2018

We stayed at Lordstones to escape the constant clatter of fireworks which our dog hates.

Check-in was quick & friendly.

Glamping pod was far from basic & clean, comfortable, warm & more than adequate......Read more.

We stayed at Lordstones to escape the constant clatter of fireworks which our dog hates.

Check-in was quick & friendly.

Glamping pod was far from basic & clean, comfortable, warm & more than adequate for our needs.

We live just a few mile away so didn't use any facilities other than the cafe for coffee which was nice enough with pleasant staff.

Had a chat with the site warden (Kevin) who we found to be full of information & passionate about lordstones guests enjoying their stay.

We would definitely use lordstones again....Read less.

"Lordstones campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Oct 2018

18/10/2018

Staying in the pods was very comfortable and very clean and tidy with clean bedding. Such a lovley place to stay with lots of nearby walks and very close to Stokesley and a lovley friendly site.

"Family weekend away"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

17/10/2018

Really enjoyed our weekend before kids went back to school. Plenty of dove on the campsite for the kids to run around safely. We brought a kite and conditions were ideal to fly one. Our only concern......Read more.

Really enjoyed our weekend before kids went back to school. Plenty of dove on the campsite for the kids to run around safely. We brought a kite and conditions were ideal to fly one. Our only concern was in the Saturday night there were some people who stayed up til gone 2am playing music and chatting outside there tents. Thankfully it did not disturb our kids....Read less.

"Break"

Miss S Baker - Stayed with partner, Oct 2018

11/10/2018

I would highly recommend this place absolutely stunning. This was our 2nd visit this year.love this place so peaceful and relaxing.

"Perfect little getaway"

Miss C Day - Stayed Oct 2018

08/10/2018

A wonderful 2 night stay with beautiful surroundings, friendly staff and great food!

"Stop off on The Coast to Coast Walk."

Ms P Gregson - Stayed with family, Sep 2018

30/09/2018

Decided to try Lordstones as it is the only accomodation right on the walk in the area.The Pod was better than expected. Really comfortable and the reception staff very helpful, Beautiful area. Would......Read more.

Decided to try Lordstones as it is the only accomodation right on the walk in the area.The Pod was better than expected. Really comfortable and the reception staff very helpful, Beautiful area. Would be nice for a few days. Only problem is that things close a little early and open again a little late for walkers especially on a Sunday. People camping doing the walk tell me it is too expensive. But it was great to be right on the path in the morning,...Read less.

"Mini break"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2018

25/09/2018

We have stayed here before so we like the place just to get away from the rat race. Nice staff and the blackwell ox pub down the road is allways nice. Some decent walks in the surrounding areas.

"Ard moors camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Sep 2018

20/09/2018

Three of us camped here for the Ard Moors enduro. I booked it mainly because it was slightly cheaper than the event camping but as it turns out we got ‘exclusive’ use of the facilities (shower and......Read more.

Three of us camped here for the Ard Moors enduro. I booked it mainly because it was slightly cheaper than the event camping but as it turns out we got ‘exclusive’ use of the facilities (shower and toilet block). Unsurprisingly in the end quite a few guys used these facilities that were from the event camping field, and they got very busy, a bit messed up and one of the two toilets got blocked. I presume everyone at our site was a rider, or there for Ard Moors, think they might be a little put off if not!...Read less.

"Fabulous location"

Mr K Wales - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

16/09/2018

Toilets are clean and well maintained, shower facilities warm and clean, Barbecues available , Bar food absolutely fabulous, if at the top of pub grub prices, but worth it. Shop provides basics,......Read more.

Toilets are clean and well maintained, shower facilities warm and clean, Barbecues available , Bar food absolutely fabulous, if at the top of pub grub prices, but worth it. Shop provides basics, Stokesley, with all its facilities is ten minutes away. No playground for kids, but plenty of open space, and the best place in Yorkshire for kite flying....Read less.

"Not what we expected"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

02/09/2018

The campsite was expensive, therefore we expected more. The pitches were close together so you could hear conversations from the next tents. The layout of the pitches could be better thought......Read more.

The campsite was expensive, therefore we expected more. The pitches were close together so you could hear conversations from the next tents. The layout of the pitches could be better thought through. The woods behind seemed to be used as toilets (loo roll on the floor) this may be as the facilities where quite far away and the lighting was not great. Cars came to the public car park area in the early hours so you didn't feel very secure and safe. The toilet facilities did not seem to be cleaned each day over the weekend, loo roll running short, no hand drying towels for the whole weekend. The pot wash facility was not marked on the door, so we didn't think there was one. Overall we didn't really enjoy the weekend camping at the site, the food was excellent at the restaurant though and It is ideally situated for backpackers on the Cleveland Way....Read less.

"Small campsite in an exceptional location"

Mr T Downie - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

01/09/2018

We enjoyed our short stay here. The location makes it really - you're just a few hundred metres away from incredible views across the moors and valley beyond. The camp site itself if small and......Read more.

We enjoyed our short stay here. The location makes it really - you're just a few hundred metres away from incredible views across the moors and valley beyond. The camp site itself if small and surrounded by a conifer plantation, which although it restricts the view from the tent it does keep the wind off. There's plenty open space for kids to run around and it's quite a remote location.

One aspect that put me off a bit was that there are a number of glamping yurts all with woodburners. We were there on a cold night and right next to the yurts. The smoke was just dropping down and it was a bit much by the morning. It shouldn't be a problem on warm or windy days. Or if you're in a yurt and have benefit of the heat. Some of the pitches are further away so worth asking if it'll bother you.

The toilets were OK and no one is too far away from them. It's generally a tidy site but a few details could be improved, like the electric point covered in tape and bags beside the stand pipe.

...Read less.

"Lovely location with basic facilities"

Miss E Turner - Stayed Aug 2018

29/08/2018

The main park is surrounded by trees which means you do not get any of the amazing view around the site. The toilet/shower facilities are insufficient for the number of people to use them. Also,......Read more.

The main park is surrounded by trees which means you do not get any of the amazing view around the site. The toilet/shower facilities are insufficient for the number of people to use them. Also, the security code is very complex and probably unnecessary so it is very inconvenient trying to actually get into the facility. The 'main woman' in the cafe is unfriendly however the same cannot be said for the staff in the shop where you actually check in. Lordstones is in a fabulous location and has a 'captive audience' so there is little incentive for them to try harder to satisfy their customers....Read less.

"Min break with friends"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

19/08/2018

Overall our stay was very enjoyable. The pod we hired was very clean and tidy and provided everything we needed. The cafe was not open late enough for us especially as the restaurant was also closed......Read more.

Overall our stay was very enjoyable. The pod we hired was very clean and tidy and provided everything we needed. The cafe was not open late enough for us especially as the restaurant was also closed and there were no other campers staying. No on site facilities for children which may deter families. The staff were very friendly and informative and we had a very peaceful stay....Read less.

"Brilliant"

Mr J Peat - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

16/08/2018

Outstanding place,staff superb polite and really friendly and helpful

Only one problem which was mentioned to management,smell from slice which could

Partly be down to recent spell of hot weather

"2 night stay with family"

Mr A Bolton - Stayed with family, Aug 2018

16/08/2018

We stayed in the pods in August. They were very clean and cosy, especially liked throwing logs on the log burner in the evening. The mattress could of been comfier though.

The cafe was pretty......Read more.

We stayed in the pods in August. They were very clean and cosy, especially liked throwing logs on the log burner in the evening. The mattress could of been comfier though.

The cafe was pretty expensive so keep that in mind. Incredible views though!...Read less.

"Camp Facilites"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

15/08/2018

We had a lovely stay but there were no seats on two out of three of the ladies toilets which would not be expected.

We will definately be back though. Thank you

"Brilliant views"

Miss S Kingdon - Stayed with partner, Aug 2018

12/08/2018

The campsite is perfect. Private enough. The views are perfect.

"First stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2018

10/08/2018

This was my first stay at your camp site, It was for our end of school year get together and we all throughly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you

"Camping in horrendous weather"

S Newman - Stayed with friends, Jul 2018

05/08/2018

Lordstones is a lovely site, with the most beautiful views and definitely worth a stay. My only issue with this site is when we stayed we had horrendous weather, thunder and lightning the lot and......Read more.

Lordstones is a lovely site, with the most beautiful views and definitely worth a stay. My only issue with this site is when we stayed we had horrendous weather, thunder and lightning the lot and with being up high it was very noisy for the children and scary. I know this is an act of god, however when it knocked all the electric out we would have appreciated someone from the site coming to check on us all, we lost all the food in the cool boxes so had to order takeaway and had nothing for breakfast in the morning. So just a little offer of shelter and a free drink on either the night or the morning would have been much appreciated and a quite nip round to check on us all and make us aware you were doing all you could to get the electric back on would have given the site a 5 star rating....Read less.

"Beautiful location"

Mr B Jones - Stayed with friends, Jul 2018

02/08/2018

Having been to the area many times (but not for many years) I was interested to see how things had changed. The pods are excellent to stay in. Such a beautiful spot and so relaxing. Everything you......Read more.

Having been to the area many times (but not for many years) I was interested to see how things had changed. The pods are excellent to stay in. Such a beautiful spot and so relaxing. Everything you need for a break at any time of the year....Read less.

"Useful stop on Coast to Coast"

Mrs N Woodward - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

02/08/2018

We stopped here while walking the Coast to Coast route, carrying our tent etc.

The restaurant isn't open some evenings, so you need to bring your own food - less good for walkers.

Although we......Read more.

We stopped here while walking the Coast to Coast route, carrying our tent etc.

The restaurant isn't open some evenings, so you need to bring your own food - less good for walkers.

Although we rang to say we would arrive after 6pm, and were told information would be left on the door for us, it wasn't. Fortunately when we knocked we found a member of staff still there, she didn't know about our booking but was happy to let us choose our own space to pitch.

The restaurant was very pleasant for breakfast, and the covered over area outside was good for having our packed tea in when it rained. Showers etc good, no laundry.

Washing up facilities are unlocked and could be a source of water for passers-by who need it....Read less.

"Lord stones glamping pods"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

25/07/2018

Stayed for two nights, very comfortable and clean accomodation. Food in the cafe/restaurant was very good quality and reasonably priced. Very peaceful getaway.

"Glamping great!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

23/07/2018

Great place to chillax and leave the world behind. Clare's warm and hospitable welcome and chats were an added bonus. The surrounding countryside takes ones breath away. Direct access to the......Read more.

Great place to chillax and leave the world behind. Clare's warm and hospitable welcome and chats were an added bonus. The surrounding countryside takes ones breath away. Direct access to the Cleveland Way.

We intend to return....Read less.

"Special place"

Mr G Spiers - Stayed with friends, Jul 2018

23/07/2018

This is our second stay at Lordstones in the yurts and it was fantastic. The campsite is lovely in a beautiful location. Facilities are spot on and the staff are really friendly and helpful. We will......Read more.

This is our second stay at Lordstones in the yurts and it was fantastic. The campsite is lovely in a beautiful location. Facilities are spot on and the staff are really friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again....Read less.

"Only half an hour from Teesside"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

21/07/2018

Fantastic getaway in beautiful countryside. All staff friendly and helpful. Can't fault it.

"Excellent"

Miss S Baker - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

20/07/2018

Lovely place .will defiantly be returning

"July 2018"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

19/07/2018

We arrived to our pitch to find a large family group had spread over on to our pitch. They quickly moved back over to their pitch but we spent our stay feeling like an unwelcome gooseberry as we were......Read more.

We arrived to our pitch to find a large family group had spread over on to our pitch. They quickly moved back over to their pitch but we spent our stay feeling like an unwelcome gooseberry as we were in between their yurts.

The toilets were filthy. We raised this with the staff, in the evening, who said they would send someone out but they remained in the same state as we left at 10am the next day.

It's such a shame as our last visit to this beautiful location was perfect!...Read less.

"Lovely break"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

18/07/2018

Great pitch with electric hook up, lovely secluded camp site with large Central area which the kids all mixed and played in.

Staff in the shop and anywhere on site couldn't do enough to help with any......Read more.

Great pitch with electric hook up, lovely secluded camp site with large Central area which the kids all mixed and played in.

Staff in the shop and anywhere on site couldn't do enough to help with any problems.

Food in the restaurant was great as was the atmosphere, will definitely be coming back....Read less.

"Midweek short stay"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Jul 2018

15/07/2018

We live close by but wanted a couple of nights away for walking with our dog. Pods were perfect, staff all friendly, everywhere clean and tidy and plenty of walks around.

"Camping trip"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

13/07/2018

Very good time, staff very good

"Beautiful location"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Jul 2018

12/07/2018

We camped two nights, first night was beer pigs event and second night was to ourselves. I enjoyed both.

Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Toilets were very clean although could have had an......Read more.

We camped two nights, first night was beer pigs event and second night was to ourselves. I enjoyed both.

Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Toilets were very clean although could have had an extra clean in the night after the event (Friday night/Saturday morning) as no toilet rolls left and a little grubby and could have been 5* if cleaned for early risers on Saturday morning. That’s my only complaint which speaks volume! Next time I’ll remember to take loo roll ;) Great site, great weather, great company/entertainment = perfect weekend...Read less.

"First stay that won't be the last."

Mrs R Ferrier - Stayed with friends, Jun 2018

01/07/2018

Loved the location and the pod was perfect. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Highly recommended.

"A lovely pod with an uncomfortable matress"

Mrs L Robertson - Stayed with partner, Jun 2018

26/06/2018

Our stay at Lordstones was lovely, we were doing the Coast to Coast walk and staying in a pod was a great alternative to camping. Unfortunately we stayed on a Wednesday so couldn’t try the......Read more.

Our stay at Lordstones was lovely, we were doing the Coast to Coast walk and staying in a pod was a great alternative to camping. Unfortunately we stayed on a Wednesday so couldn’t try the restaurant. The pod was lovely and clean but the matress on the bed was very uncomfortable and every time thou rolled over you got a spring in your side! Other than that it was great....Read less.

"Dog facilities"

L Buckton - Stayed Jun 2018

21/06/2018

I came with my 2 dogs, great surrounding area for walks. I was looking forward to a full English the next morning, but dogs were not allowed in to dining area or pub and shop area. A dog friendly......Read more.

I came with my 2 dogs, great surrounding area for walks. I was looking forward to a full English the next morning, but dogs were not allowed in to dining area or pub and shop area. A dog friendly area would be nice indoors, but will definitely go back....Read less.

"Lordstones"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Jun 2018

21/06/2018

Great weekend to watch local band The Fallen!

Great place for tranquility but not much for children to do other than make their own entertainment - a park or play area would be good here.

We had a......Read more.

Great weekend to watch local band The Fallen!

Great place for tranquility but not much for children to do other than make their own entertainment - a park or play area would be good here.

We had a BBQ on the night as part of ticket price however they were cooking it as quick as the queue went down so we were given undercooked pink beef burgers and the pheasant skewer was also undercooked which was not good at all

The toilets were constantly out of toilet roll, the hand towel dryer was out of service the whole time and 2 toilets were blocked which was very frustrating

The shop is lovely and the restaurant is good although a little pricey £7.50 for Eggs Benedict (plus they were out of ham) and £9 for an English breakfast I thought we’re a little over priced

Apart from that the location is beautiful but the amentites need work...Read less.

"Yurts"

Mr. J Bramfitt - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

21/06/2018

Lovely setting but the quality of the yurt was not reflected in price. The bed was extremely basic and at the end of the day it's about sleep quality.

"Long time visitor, 1st time camper"

Mr M Fowler - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

18/06/2018

Having visited since I was a baby with my parents, all the way through to having my own son, I wanted to try camping at Lordstones. I was not disappointed. The walk to the seat on Carlton Bank has......Read more.

Having visited since I was a baby with my parents, all the way through to having my own son, I wanted to try camping at Lordstones. I was not disappointed. The walk to the seat on Carlton Bank has been a tradition in our family for years. My son and I went on several walks in the area and even one at midnight to see the lights of the Cleveland area. We also found other hikers out on the Cleveland way which was a fun interaction. The pitch was level and well kept, a nice secluded area surrounded by trees. The wash/shower facilities were of a good standard but could have been cleaner. The same bit of sodden piece of toilet roll was on the floor of the cubicle the whole day. This is only a minor point though as generally the facilities are excellent. The on site restaurant is fantastic and we had one of the nicest meals ever there. I have recommended Lordstones to my colleagues and friends already and we will definitely return....Read less.

"Lordstones was a great venue for the wedding"

Mr P Wain - Stayed with family, May 2018

18/06/2018

The family wedding was our reason to to pitch up at Lordstones and it was a super site with great dog walks around and beyond the site. The camping staff were fantastic in their friendliness and......Read more.

The family wedding was our reason to to pitch up at Lordstones and it was a super site with great dog walks around and beyond the site. The camping staff were fantastic in their friendliness and helpfulness and the site itself is great. The cafe was a slow in serving up the food but it was good food when it arrived - probably a victim of their popularity, and being right on the local footpath network - but could be something to focus on for improvement....Read less.

"Bought as a gift for my parents after staying here myself"

Mr D Anderson - Stayed with family, Jun 2018

17/06/2018

Great pods excellent value for money my parents loved the place

© 2006 - 2019 CampStead