Watermouth Cove Holiday Park

93 Reviews

4.6 / 5 overall rating based on 93 reviews in the last 12 months

98% would recommend this site

96% would stay here again

Excellent

76%

Very Good

20%

Average

2%

Poor

1%

Terrible

0%

"A Very Peaceful Haven"

Mr T Marchant - Stayed with partner, Oct 2019

15/10/2019

My wife and I recently returned from our 6th or 7th? visit to Watermouth Cove Holiday Park. We love it here so much as it's so much quieter than Oxford. We always visit the same time each year and......Read more.

My wife and I recently returned from our 6th or 7th? visit to Watermouth Cove Holiday Park. We love it here so much as it's so much quieter than Oxford. We always visit the same time each year and really enjoy lovely scenic walks around Ilfracombe and the many seaside towns and villages dotted around North Devon. My wife enjoys it so much she has a holiday countdown calendar that she has started already! Would not hesitate to recommend Watermouth Cove Holiday Park to my friends and family as we guarantee you will have a holiday to remember!...Read less.

Vivienne, replied to this review on the 16 October 2019

Thank you so much for your comments, so glad that you continue to enjoy your visits here to......Read more.

Thank you so much for your comments, so glad that you continue to enjoy your visits here to Watermouth Cove and also our local surroundings. We are very lucky to live in a fantastic part of the British Isles and are very proud of our locality here in North Devon. Keep coming back!!...Read less.

"Awesome"

Mr N Emms - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

26/09/2019

Great place to stay, it’s a little gem, great people that run it, very dog friendly, and just awesome, happy days 👍

"Perfect for kayaking"

Mrs L Bailey - Stayed with friends, Sep 2019

25/09/2019

Returned to this well kept site to use our kayaks which is so easy as you can launch directly from their own slipway. Plenty of clean facilities. Access to site is a little tight but was helped......Read more.

Returned to this well kept site to use our kayaks which is so easy as you can launch directly from their own slipway. Plenty of clean facilities. Access to site is a little tight but was helped through bends and directed to pitch by sfaff. Nice heated swimming pool but no shower by the pool. Will definitely be returning in the future....Read less.

"Watermouth Cove holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

23/09/2019

Friendly relaxed site with helpful staff. Nice having access on foot to nearby harbour. Pools were lovely and nice and warm particularly for September. We live going to that site

"Lovely place"

Mr G Reynolds - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

23/09/2019

Lovely place, clean, friendly staff

"Worth a try"

Mr R Salway - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

23/09/2019

Good park but not the best we have stayed at food just ok there were pot holes in the park track that could easily have been filled in but were not.

"Wonderful park"

Mr M Franklin - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

22/09/2019

2nd time here, love this place, so pretty and dog friendly, love the site and the location, will definitely be back a 3rd year.

"first stay"

Mr D Foster - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

21/09/2019

we did not have children with us and were staying out of main season hence the "no comment "

The site is in an ideal location

The pool was warm and nice to have a swim in. The food in the bar was......Read more.

we did not have children with us and were staying out of main season hence the "no comment "

The site is in an ideal location

The pool was warm and nice to have a swim in. The food in the bar was good as were the local draft beers

This was a great site to stay at . It seemed to have a lot or water / sea activities but we were not looking for this but would have been fun if we were . thanks for a great stay...Read less.

"great site"

Mr J Gittins - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

21/09/2019

great site Nice position, not to big .

"A credit to campsites, Where other owners could learn valuable lessons on how to run a site."

Mr D James - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

20/09/2019

The site is spotless, well maintained, the staff are friendly and cannot do enough to help you overcome any problems. The food is good and priced at what you would expect.

The site is set in a......Read more.

The site is spotless, well maintained, the staff are friendly and cannot do enough to help you overcome any problems. The food is good and priced at what you would expect.

The site is set in a beautiful area of North Devon and has its own shingle beach, set in between Ilfracombe and woolacombe (only a few minutes to either).

The only fault I found is that the owners legs look a bit dodgy in a wetsuit.

...Read less.

"General"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

18/09/2019

Lovely site in a good location. Says has private beach but I would say it is more of a slipway to launch water sports equipment so great for people who love water sports but not suitable for relaxing......Read more.

Lovely site in a good location. Says has private beach but I would say it is more of a slipway to launch water sports equipment so great for people who love water sports but not suitable for relaxing on a sun bed. Great pool area....Read less.

"It's so good we have stayed here twice in the last three months"

Mr C Price - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

18/09/2019

Very clean in all areas. I think you would make a big profit at the bar, if you had a group or DJ in the club house.

Vivienne, replied to this review on the 19 September 2019

Thanks for your review, good to know that you appreciated our standards on the Park. We always......Read more.

Thanks for your review, good to know that you appreciated our standards on the Park. We always used to have entertainment on site in the Bar area, but over the years times change and customers' requirements move away from noise in the evening.

Whilst we can understand some customers would enjoy a DJ, a lot are thankful that evenings are calm and peaceful.

I guess you just can't please everybody. Hope you will still make a return visit....Read less.

"very laidback yet friendly park"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

17/09/2019

A very laidback yet friendly park with helpful staff. Lovely cafe, shop, outdoor pool areas . Not full of rules and regulations and our dog was free to go anywhere on site. in a lovely spot on......Read more.

A very laidback yet friendly park with helpful staff. Lovely cafe, shop, outdoor pool areas . Not full of rules and regulations and our dog was free to go anywhere on site. in a lovely spot on Watermouth Cove....Read less.

Vivienne, replied to this review on the 19 September 2019

So good to know that you enjoyed your visit to Watermouth Cove. We try so very hard to make our......Read more.

So good to know that you enjoyed your visit to Watermouth Cove. We try so very hard to make our guests comfortable, hope you will return some time in the future....Read less.

"great location"

Mr P Clinton - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

16/09/2019

was a great site shame about the weather rained for a couple of days which put a block on things we wanted to do but apart from that it was great and you are not responsible for the weather . great......Read more.

was a great site shame about the weather rained for a couple of days which put a block on things we wanted to do but apart from that it was great and you are not responsible for the weather . great food great service ok prices great location and views lovely walk along coastal paths...Read less.

Vivienne, replied to this review on the 19 September 2019

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - just wish we had a giant umbrella.

"What a gem of a place!"

Mr C Chapman - Stayed with friends, Sep 2019

15/09/2019

I booked this site after a brief scan of sites for tent camping with a group of motorcycling friends on a tour of the south coast. We found the site immaculate, friendly, quiet and enjoyable, with......Read more.

I booked this site after a brief scan of sites for tent camping with a group of motorcycling friends on a tour of the south coast. We found the site immaculate, friendly, quiet and enjoyable, with plenty of space and great flat pitches. Food on site was excellent, bar too as well as a chippy! Bar shuts at 9pm but understandable for keeping the site quiet and calm for all users. Would certainly return there if visiting Plymouth/Dartmoor areas again....Read less.

Vivienne, replied to this review on the 19 September 2019

It's good to know that you enjoyed your visit here at Watermouth, I recall you were on your way......Read more.

It's good to know that you enjoyed your visit here at Watermouth, I recall you were on your way down to Cornwall, hope you completed your "Round Robin".

Anytime you are back in our area do please call in, I'm sure our Jimbo would be able to spend hours nattering "Bikes"...Read less.

"holiday"

Mr R Groves - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

15/09/2019

nice place to stay , our only complaint would be that we felt the tents/campervans are packed in together too closely , hardly any open space left for kids to run around etc , bit festival like ,

Vivienne, replied to this review on the 19 September 2019

Thank you for submitting your review, good to know that you enjoyed your holiday here with us. ......Read more.

Thank you for submitting your review, good to know that you enjoyed your holiday here with us.

In an ideal world it would be good to provide every amenity for every type of customer, we do try to please most families with children, doggies, kayaks, jet skis, walking boots etc. etc. The list is quite extensive.

Luckily for us, we have customers returning year on year, hope you will be one of them....Read less.

"Great family camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

12/09/2019

Can't fault the staff or facilities! Everything we could want in a family camping break.

Vivienne, replied to this review on the 19 September 2019

Good to know you enjoyed your stay - hopefully see you again

"A nice tidy park"

Mr Metcalfe-Boyen - Stayed with family, Sep 2019

12/09/2019

Friendly staff and easy of booking in. We have a big tent and found the pitch barely big enough but we coped with it. Toilets and showers were clean and tidy. Over all we enjoyed our stay.

"A great break ."

Mrs J Lopez - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

11/09/2019

Relaxed holiday feel, great attitude to how you pitch on your space. Very easy to use the watersports.

Nice office staff. Showers, loo's & CDP all kept clean. Great views and walls around the site.......Read more.

Relaxed holiday feel, great attitude to how you pitch on your space. Very easy to use the watersports.

Nice office staff. Showers, loo's & CDP all kept clean. Great views and walls around the site. Really ace dog walk. Warm swimming pool. Bar & cafe very convenient. The local pub was dog friendly and served great food. Ilfracoombe very near & easy to park. The harbour adjacent to the site has a superboat cafe with scrumptious cakes. At low tide there is a lovely stretch of beach. I think it is worth mentioning my husband is disabled and dependent on mobility aids,the site & facilities were all easily accessed.

Everything provided was great, if there were any issues it was about the respect other campers had for the integrity of the site....Read less.

Vivienne, replied to this review on the 19 September 2019

Good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try hard to accommodate all our guests......Read more.

Good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try hard to accommodate all our guests requirements. Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review.

Hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future. Not quite sure about your comment on "integrity of other campers"...Read less.

"5 star site"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Sep 2019

11/09/2019

This was our 2nd visit , will not be our last love this site. Great walks from site.

"Another great holiday"

Mr G Barber - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

08/09/2019

Another fantastic holiday each year it gets better and better, facilities are first class staff are wonderful, its dog friendly, it's close to other towns , great walks along the coastal path. All in......Read more.

Another fantastic holiday each year it gets better and better, facilities are first class staff are wonderful, its dog friendly, it's close to other towns , great walks along the coastal path. All in all a great place to stay....Read less.

"Lovely holiday"

Ms Goodson - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

08/09/2019

We had a lovely time at Watermouth, the location couldn’t be better for us, such a luxury having access to the cove, the site is full of character, clean, impeccably well-run, the swimming pool is a......Read more.

We had a lovely time at Watermouth, the location couldn’t be better for us, such a luxury having access to the cove, the site is full of character, clean, impeccably well-run, the swimming pool is a perfect sun-trap, good food, and best of all, friendly owners, going out of their way to be helpful and welcoming....Read less.

"Fantastic - commercial level facilities on family led campsite."

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

07/09/2019

Immaculate, family friendly campsite with exceptionally clean facilities.

Dog friendly ( as opposed to dog tolerant which is far too often the case ! ) dog excercise area was beyond expectations.

A......Read more.

Immaculate, family friendly campsite with exceptionally clean facilities.

Dog friendly ( as opposed to dog tolerant which is far too often the case ! ) dog excercise area was beyond expectations.

A really great place to spend a weekend.

Will return....Read less.

"A Magical place for a holiday"

Mr Wright - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

07/09/2019

Been 5 years in a row for a holiday here, plenty of things to do on the park or surrounding areas, Beautiful picturesque area, run by a friendly family who make you feel very welcome and will go out......Read more.

Been 5 years in a row for a holiday here, plenty of things to do on the park or surrounding areas, Beautiful picturesque area, run by a friendly family who make you feel very welcome and will go out of there way to help you. will be going back again. Give it a try you wont be disappointed....Read less.

"Fantastic dog site"

Mr A Whitehead - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

Dogs are really welcomed here! Doggie welcome bag given per dog upon arrival, containing treats, tag & poo bags. Exercise field a good size & interesting for the dogs, poo bins emptied regularly.......Read more.

Dogs are really welcomed here! Doggie welcome bag given per dog upon arrival, containing treats, tag & poo bags. Exercise field a good size & interesting for the dogs, poo bins emptied regularly. Despite this some owners let the side down by not clearing up after their dogs, shame on them!! Facilities & activities for the rest of the family were equally good especially the gin bar of which we did our best to empty. Will be back again!...Read less.

"watermouth cove"

Mr Phillips - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

05/09/2019

great place lots to do

"A gem of a campsite in Devon"

Mrs C Thoroughgood - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

04/09/2019

We loved our visit to Watermouth Cove Holiday Park, the location is stunning and the pitches are huge. Love the facilities and how dog friendly everything is. We will definitely be returning next......Read more.

We loved our visit to Watermouth Cove Holiday Park, the location is stunning and the pitches are huge. Love the facilities and how dog friendly everything is. We will definitely be returning next year. If I could change one thing it would be to have a slightly later checkout as packing everything down by 10am is a push whilst trying to entertain the kids!...Read less.

"My holiday"

Mr N Shaw-Case - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

04/09/2019

Had a very enjoyable stay, love the pool and bar area and the views, my only negative would be the access and the uneven road surface down the middle of the site, the other 2 roads are smooth tarmac,......Read more.

Had a very enjoyable stay, love the pool and bar area and the views, my only negative would be the access and the uneven road surface down the middle of the site, the other 2 roads are smooth tarmac, other than that, see you next year...Read less.

"Great family camping"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

03/09/2019

Lovely area, nice coastal walk from campsite to Coombe Martin. Luckily we pitched next to a family who had visited several times and gave us directions.

Water sports from the campsites private cove......Read more.

Lovely area, nice coastal walk from campsite to Coombe Martin. Luckily we pitched next to a family who had visited several times and gave us directions.

Water sports from the campsites private cove and outdoor pools were great and once we even had it all to ourselves despite it being the school summer hols.

Only down side was the size of our pitch which was tight with no room to play outside. Luckily we were close to the top camping field which was in my mind by far the best pitches as they had amazing views and more room.

All in all a lovely well maintained site in a beautiful area....Read less.

"A Nice Site"

Mr A Hush - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

01/09/2019

A nice site in a nice location. Staff very friendly. Toilet and washing facilities kept nice and clean, and site managed well.

"Great campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

31/08/2019

Great campsite with friendly helpful staff

"Lovely campsite"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

29/08/2019

Fab campsite staff are friendly and always helpful, been here for many years , great facilities and loads of water sports, local beaches and walks, my only complaint is that of the food and it’s very......Read more.

Fab campsite staff are friendly and always helpful, been here for many years , great facilities and loads of water sports, local beaches and walks, my only complaint is that of the food and it’s very expense price list, and poor valve for money, and a pizza that cost nearly £15.00 and turned out to be the stuffcrust ones you get from the local supermarket for £3.00 !! Otherwise fab campsite just bring your own food !!...Read less.

Vivienne, replied to this review on the 30 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, good to know that you find our staff helpful......Read more.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, good to know that you find our staff helpful and that our facilities are pleasing.

As each year goes on we do try to upgrade and move forward so as to keep our returning guests happy, the modernisation of our swimming pool area and the patio frontage has proved to be extremely popular.

I am however, very disappointed to read your comments regarding our food. I have to advise you that the pizzas that we use do not come from Tesco!! It is very easy to compare the cost of an item in the local supermarket with an item on any menu. Most food items do not have VAT added to them but as you are probably aware before we add any operating or preparation costs to the final price, 20% of whatever the final printed price is goes to HMRC. Everything on our menu has VAT included, sorry but it is the law.

I'm not sure that your pizza would have cost £15.00, they are priced at £12.50 and £13.50!! In fact matching the local eatery houses prices, kiddies menu in fact £2 -£3 cheaper and including a drink!. Maybe if you visit with us again and I really hope you will, you will pop into Reception and we can discuss this further. Such a shame you advise guests to bring their own food, thank goodness many disagree with you.

...Read less.

"Brilliant Site"

Mr J Dudok - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

29/08/2019

A lovely clean tidy well organised site, very friendly helpful staff.

Surprisingly quiet given the number of children and dogs that were on site.

Have already booked return for next year and ......Read more.

A lovely clean tidy well organised site, very friendly helpful staff.

Surprisingly quiet given the number of children and dogs that were on site.

Have already booked return for next year and inviting lots of family to join us....Read less.

"The park and dogs"

Mrs J Timberlake - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

29/08/2019

The park is in a great location and laid out well 4 stars for ease of accses is due to coming through combe martin with a caravan during a busy period ,( not that you have any control over that and......Read more.

The park is in a great location and laid out well 4 stars for ease of accses is due to coming through combe martin with a caravan during a busy period ,( not that you have any control over that and devon roads and villages are what atracts us to your area) but once on your site we could not have had more help in taking it through your park and pitching up. The pool was a real bonus for my son and the views over the cove for us. Such a relaxed friendly atmosphere enabled us to have a real relaxing family holiday. As Dog owners it was totally dog friendly to the max and that makes all the difference we loved that dogs could go anywhere, and treated like part of the family. we also noted everyone with a dog respected the Doggy rules so everyone on site could relax . The only thing that could be better for us ( owning a Gordon setter , bird hunting dog with a love to run wild) having a fully enclosed dog area seperate or within part of the Dog area. This is because of the cliffs we would not feel comfortable letting her off lead in the dog area ,and just to have a small off lead enclosed area to let her off to go to toillet or just wriggle free for a bit early morning and late evening would help. I did observe many dogs off lead in the designated area and it is very securly fenced of from the campsite ( just not from the cliff edges) and clearly labelled , so non dog owners and those with kids would feel relaxed knowing there would be no free roaming dogs on site and where to expect some if they choose to go up into that area. We are deffinatly booking to have a full week to 10 days on your site next summer....Read less.

"Great for watersports"

Mr J Gregson - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

28/08/2019

Enjoyed launching kayak from slipway and paddling round to nearby beach. Loved ActiveEscapes coasteering. Coastal path nearby. Ilfracombe good walk away. Staff very friendly and helpful. Never had to......Read more.

Enjoyed launching kayak from slipway and paddling round to nearby beach. Loved ActiveEscapes coasteering. Coastal path nearby. Ilfracombe good walk away. Staff very friendly and helpful. Never had to wait for toilet/shower or pot wash. Outdoor pool heated - kept kids occupied. Access to site was tight - never turn up early as nowhere to park. Straight in an pitch though. Pitch muddy after wet summer but plenty big enough....Read less.

"Good 25 years ago...very good now"

Mr K Brooks - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

28/08/2019

Was a regular visitor to Watermouth cove as a teenager 25 years ago so I knew it was a good holiday park in a good location but it's even better now than it was back then. Decent swimming pools and......Read more.

Was a regular visitor to Watermouth cove as a teenager 25 years ago so I knew it was a good holiday park in a good location but it's even better now than it was back then. Decent swimming pools and plenty of water-sport activities. We stayed in Poppy chalet which was a reasonable enough size for a family of 3. The chalet could perhaps do with a new carpet and a lick of paint in the bathroom but it was clean enough. The children's play area is ok, maybe due a bit of maintenance and would benefit from another couple of items. I seem to remember it had a zip-wire back in the early 90s which it doesn't now, however there's more other equipment than there used to be. Overall though, it's a nice little holiday park with good facilities in a great setting....Read less.

"Great all round site with plenty to do or just chill out!!"

Mr N Eldridge - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

28/08/2019

Excellent campsite with good amenities and great for water sports. Ideal base for walking the coast path. Very picturesque with clifftop views, caves, harbour adjacent to site, castle across the......Read more.

Excellent campsite with good amenities and great for water sports. Ideal base for walking the coast path. Very picturesque with clifftop views, caves, harbour adjacent to site, castle across the road and a bus stop just outside the gate. Good food available from onsite bar/restaurant or if you fancy something a bit posher there's a good pub 5 minutes walk down the road although a little pricey. (Take a torch if you stay late as the footpath is unlit). Staff very helpful and knowledgeable, would have liked to have stayed longer but being mid August you need to book up earlier. All in all a lovely few days break ....would certainly go back again. Heated outdoor pool looked nice but didnt get time to use it as doing other things. Site was well kept and clean would recommend staying here as there's something for everyone....Read less.

"Short camping trip August 2019"

Mrs F Hammonds - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

The second time visiting this park. Great improvements. Cleanliness much improved and recycling facilities now in place. Will definitely stay again. Kids loved the pool and games room

"Relaxing"

Anonymous - Stayed with partner, Aug 2019

22/08/2019

Watemouth Cove is by far one of the best places I have stayed, Everything has been thought of in making sure your holiday is a good one even down to the doggy bags given on arrival, the surrounding......Read more.

Watemouth Cove is by far one of the best places I have stayed, Everything has been thought of in making sure your holiday is a good one even down to the doggy bags given on arrival, the surrounding areas and views are incredible too...Read less.

"Great Holiday"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

A great site with lots of potential for water based activities. we stayed in a one bed-roomed chalet which was very clean and comfortable, though rather sparsely equipped in the kitchen. All staff......Read more.

A great site with lots of potential for water based activities. we stayed in a one bed-roomed chalet which was very clean and comfortable, though rather sparsely equipped in the kitchen. All staff very friendly and helpful. This was our second visit to the site....Read less.

"OUr Review"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

Had a great time, weather not perfect but that didn't stop the water-based activities which were great fun for all the family and friends.

"Only one thing missing"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

Our stay was a great success - just one thing would make it better next year.

We brought our dog and were pleased to see there was a fenced dog exercise area. However there were a couple of gaps in......Read more.

Our stay was a great success - just one thing would make it better next year.

We brought our dog and were pleased to see there was a fenced dog exercise area. However there were a couple of gaps in the bracken/brambles which were unprotected and so we could not let our inquisitive dog off as she would probably be tempted to go down the steep/cliffs path to her doom! I see that wild animal will always make their own paths but a fence across any gaps - while not guaranteed - would have been reassuring.

Also the steps between levels were very steep -I am getting older and knees are not 100% but I certainly got fitter - thanks!...Read less.

"Very overpriced , internet miss-leading"

Mrs D Lee - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

Came home 2 nights early from a stay at watermouth . I was glad to be leaving . The only positive I have about our entire stay is the pool . The pool for the kids was great . Sadly that’s the only......Read more.

Came home 2 nights early from a stay at watermouth . I was glad to be leaving . The only positive I have about our entire stay is the pool . The pool for the kids was great . Sadly that’s the only thing positive I can say !

I paid around £50 a night to camp ! The pitch was £35 a night to start with before all the extras were added , electric , awning etc etc . Upon arrival and during our stay couldn’t understand what we were getting for all the extra money paid .the all weather pitches, we had (2 of them ) were tiny and crammed in like sardines . Only just enough room for rent and car before you were standing on your neighbours pitch .

Facilities were ok but nothing more . Hardly ever clean . No where to put your shampoo etc in the shower . I’ve paid a lot less for more luxurious facilities that were always clean .

The only area children could play with a ball was a shared dog walking area . Which on the internet suggested it was fenced off from camping areas and safe . Did NOT at any point mention the dangerous sheer drop off a cliff until you get there and see the danger sign !!! It was not fenced off mearly separated by braken and bushes I would have lost my dog if I had let her off lead .not to mention all the really long grass . Tick haven !!only a small area was actually mowed . small children would have gotten lost in it .tgerd really wasn’t any where they could play ballgames . Dog poo everywhere from those who do NOT pick up ! So not suitable for children or dogs .

So I paid £4 a night for my dog for what ? The poo bags they gave my on arrival ? I always carry my own ! Waste of money my dog could not enjoy a safe off lead experience . Children couldn’t play ball .

This actually RUINED our expensive holiday.

Staff were not helpful when we asked for places locally that are good for kids and dogs, Pretty sure we were not the first people to ask that question yet they had no answers .

Food at the bar was ok but nothing more so we ended up cooking ourselves instead .

Shop on the internet looked large and well stocked , it was actually tiny with not much in it .

In all it cost us over £450 for 3 nights camping in the rain it would have been cheaper to stay in a cabin .

I feel robbed . I’ve been camping lots to some amazing places for a lot less money .

...Read less.

Vivienne, replied to this review on the 21 August 2019

So sorry to hear that you left early due to the most awful weather conditions.

Picking up on......Read more.

So sorry to hear that you left early due to the most awful weather conditions.

Picking up on all of your comments it would appear that you disagree with the majority of all our other guests who have stayed and are currently spending holiday time at Watermouth and booking again for next year before they leave. The reviews before and after your comments certainly show that we would appear to have very friendly staff and care very much about our Park, making every effort to help our guests enjoy their stay.

I have to say that the shower and toilet block is cleaned 3 times per day and also checked between. With some 300 people on site, the constant torrential rain coupled with the grass pitches, keeping the floors clean has been challenging but I cannot and will not agree with your comment that the facilities were not kept clean.

Our shop is not tiny and quite frankly how you can say that there was not much stock in there is beyond me.

I have come to the conclusion that at times we cannot please some people and whilst I always try to be fair and respectful in the replies and information contained in the 'Review Replies" I find that on this occasion whatever reply I give will just not achieve anything.

The cost of your holiday was not the amount you quoted, your invoice clearly shows it to have been £245 for 5 nights.

Regretfully there is nothing further I can add.

...Read less.

"A Windy week in Water"

Mr P Taylor - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

Watermouth cove touring park is a wonderful site,

The setting is stunning with awesome scenery & many caves & rock pools to explore.

The site staff could not be more helpful if they tried.

The site......Read more.

Watermouth cove touring park is a wonderful site,

The setting is stunning with awesome scenery & many caves & rock pools to explore.

The site staff could not be more helpful if they tried.

The site is very dog friendly and even has a secure dog run to give your pooch a proper run around.

There is an onsite bar with good beer and top notch food.

Great outdoor heated pool and a small amusement arcade.

All in all a great little park..

10/10...Read less.

"Family and friends holiday"

Mrs G Headen - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

21/08/2019

Stayed on serviced pitch in camping field, lovely spot it was private and sheltered from much of the terrible windy weather we had ( typical English summer ! )

Walking up to top of field in a......Read more.

Stayed on serviced pitch in camping field, lovely spot it was private and sheltered from much of the terrible windy weather we had ( typical English summer ! )

Walking up to top of field in a morning with coffee to watch dolphins was great.

Jim and his staff are so helpful but as we had no issues no need to call on them as the park is well run.

...Read less.

"Fabulous family holiday"

Mrs C Jones - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

19/08/2019

Wonderful place to stay !!

2nd time of staying and will be back

Beautiful setting, friendly helpful staff, facilities great

Love it

"Holiday stay"

Mrs J Jones - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

19/08/2019

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing I would suggest is that campers in the top field need their own small toilet block as we paid for a serviced pitch as they are usually the closest......Read more.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing I would suggest is that campers in the top field need their own small toilet block as we paid for a serviced pitch as they are usually the closest to all facilities. It is a good walk to the toilet block during the night and especially when it's raining....Read less.

Vivienne, replied to this review on the 19 August 2019

Thanks very much for your comments. We agree with you regarding a toilet facility in the top......Read more.

Thanks very much for your comments. We agree with you regarding a toilet facility in the top field, unfortunately the local Council planners don't!!!!!!

We did have 4 toilets and 4 showers in the top field, sited where the wash-up area is now. We managed to keep it there for 6 years but sadly the Enforcement Section of the council won the game!!! We did put up a fight but sometimes you just can't win.

...Read less.

"The Only Place to Camp!"

Anonymous - Stayed with family, Aug 2019

19/08/2019

We’ve been going to Watermouth for a number of years now. It truly is a little piece of heaven. Jim and family cannot do enough for you and it feels like you’re part of the family.

Toilets and......Read more.

We’ve been going to Watermouth for a number of years now. It truly is a little piece of heaven. Jim and family cannot do enough for you and it feels like you’re part of the family.

Toilets and showers are kept immaculate.

Restaurant prices are on the expensive side and we found the menu a little limited.

The water sports activities are superb and the cove with its caves is a magical place for kids (and adults) to explore.

An exceptionally dog-friendly resort- even offering a doggy-swimming pool and treats on the bar counter.

We can’t imagine camping anywhere else.

We did notice quite a few people in the swimming pool who were not residents, despite Watermouth trying to control this by checking for the required wrist bands. This did make the pool quite crowed at times.

Overall, it would be a struggle to find another resort that offers so much! This is definitely “our favourite holiday destination”.

...Read less.

Vivienne, replied to this review on the 19 August 2019

Thank you very much for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Watermouth, it's good to......Read more.

Thank you very much for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Watermouth, it's good to know that you enjoy our little gem as much as we do. Long may you continue to return.

I have to say I was more than a little disappointed regarding your remark apertaining to the menu and pricing, and would mention the following.

We always endeavour to provide something for everybody, covering vegetarians, vegans and many allergies. There are more than 13 lunch options not including 6 types of jacket potatoes and 7 panini choices plus 2 types of ploughmans. Some 18 choices in the evenings including curries, chilli, lasagne and salad. Breakfast also has a varied choice, full English, lighter options, cereals, eggs, toast etc.

Compared to local choices we feel we offer value for money in our cafe-bar.

However, I guess we can't please everybody. :(

...Read less.

"Fantastic holiday again 4th year and rebooked for next year"

Anonymous - Stayed with friends, Aug 2019

18/08/2019

We would like to say thanks to the watermouth cove team for making our holiday fantastic again.

The site is spotlessly clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

If you want to relax in......Read more.

We would like to say thanks to the watermouth cove team for making our holiday fantastic again.

The site is spotlessly clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

If you want to relax in beautiful surroundings you can or you can enjoy the pools and water sports in the cove.

...Read less.

© 2006 - 2020 CampStead